About Bartlett Hall

242 O' Farrell Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Bartlett Hall, located in the heart of San Francisco’s Union Square neighborhood, is a modern saloon and eatery that fuses the city’s historic elements with today’s conveniences. A menu of California-inspired American fare, including a variety of pizzas, small plates and entrees, are served daily for lunch, dinner and late night, with a beverage program that features barrel-aged cocktails, California-focused wines, and local and house-brewed beers. Bartlett Hall is located at 242 O’Farrell Street www.bartletthallsf.com, or call 415-433-4332.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily until 1:30am

Monday to Friday
Lunch menu 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Limited menu: 2:30pm- 5:3 0pm
Dinner menu: 5:30 pm -10:00 pm
Late night menu: 10:00 pm- 12:30 am

Saturday and Sunday
Brunch menu: 10:30-1:00
Lunch menu: 10:30-5:30
Dinner menu: 5:30 - 10:00
Late night menu - 10:00 - 12:30 am

Cross Street:
Powell Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 433-4332

Website:
http://www.bartletthallsf.com/

Parking Details:
There are dozens of nearby parking options, including local hotels and an assortment of parking garages. We encourage guests to take MUNI to our establishment.

Public Transit:
38, 38L, Powell Station,

Executive Chef:
Anthony Lee

Private Party Facilities:
We have both private and semi-private options for your next event. Email events@bartletthall.com for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Anathea Meade: (415) 684-7136x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bartlett Hall Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Lunch (4)
See All
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went for happy hour which is great. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

We went for happy hour which is great. Prices are right and their regular french fries are the best! They also offer sweet potato fries but we stick to the regular fries. Seems like they fry the potatoes twice -- the crunch on them are what makes them great. Thanks, Barlett!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

There was no one else in the restaurant ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

There was no one else in the restaurant but my group of 8 for lunch. But still the waitress left us unattended most of the time. We waited too long for the food and for drinks and water. The menu was extremely limited, and the food was mediocre. A disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The menu is very creative, unique and de ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The menu is very creative, unique and delicious! Fun place with great wine and beer selections.

Service was excellent....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went with friends during a recent visi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I went with friends during a recent visit to San Francisco. Bartlett Hall was a half block from our hotel and a welcome variety to the very pricey, Italian or steak restaurants that the group had been going to for dinner. There was a range of food options (salads, sandwiches, pizza, entrees, small plate/starters), which was great for our group, and the prices were reasonable, especially compared to other Union Square restaurant prices. We also enjoyed the microbrew offerings. We were seated in the back and dined a bit on the early side and the noise was still moderate -- it seems like it could be quite loud when packed. That being said, there was a decent happy hour crowd at the bar and we were sheltered enough to be able to hear each other speak. They offer a range of seating options which could appeal to different kinds of groups.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was adequate, food less than ave ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was adequate, food less than average and welcome poor.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Go to for MLB and NBA Games!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I really enjoy going to BH to watch the Giants and the Warriors! The drinks are on point especially the Goose Greyhound! The vibe is typically dictated by the crowd of course but the atomosphere has been vibrant every time we've gone!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic Restaurant in Union Square District

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Fantastic place with wide variety of top quality American cuisine dishes, the service is very good with always attentive and friendly staff, well-organized for reservations, fun bar scene, excellent mixologist bartenders and cocktail bar variety, with many large panel flat screens to enjoy sports games.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great for casual business lunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

We were attending a professional conference at the Moscone West Conference Center. Barltetts was within walking distance and provided a nice respite from the crowds at the conference.

We ordered the caselvenetro olives, fried pepper and riasted mixed nut appetizer and they were delicious. I had the kale salad and it is a good sized serving. I probably ate to much of the appetizers because I could not finish it. The other members of my party had the poached Salmon and a marguerta pizza and that did not disapoint either. We were able to have an effective easy, low key business lunch and met all our objectives, both for business and for a great lunch.

One hint is to ask for a table in the back, it is a little quieter, but even in the front of the restaurant it is still ok.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Came for the beer, stayed for the cocktails

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

I originally wanted to try Bartlett Hall because of the beers that they make, which I tried during SF Beer week. I really like them! But after a few, I get full so I tried a cocktail - also very good. The food wasn't bad either.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything fine, except...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

The energy is great, the servers are friendly, the cocktails are strong - but our guest of honor got food poisoning from his meal and had to leave abruptly to go...er...recover in his hotel room. Not the ideal conclusion to his birthday dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Fantastic reliable eatery close to union ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Fantastic reliable eatery close to union square! I was surprised to find this restaurant NOT bustling with tourists! We had time to enjoy a burger and several beers with out of town friends uninterrupted by the throngs outside!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I'd go for a beer or a simple plate if I ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

I'd go for a beer or a simple plate if I return.

Overall, the 7 of us weren't too impressed for the amount of money we paid (~$50/each person).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Unexpected treat!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I booked brunch for Valentine's Day and was hoping for a spot that wasn't crazy loud, and I got it! Beautiful ambiance, and extremely pleasant and professional service. The eggs benedict was tasty, if a little deconstructed, but that certainly was not a deterrent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good value. Good food. Fun casual night.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

First, I loved that they have Pear Cider. Then the food was all very good. We had drinks, appetizers, and dinner for a very low, reasonable price. It was a bit loud but we could talk and hear each other at the table. A fun, casual Saturday night out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Quite nice

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Pleasant servers. Food good but not great. Crust too thick on pizzas.

Very good beer list!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Surprisingly Good!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Essentially a bar food menu, but extremely high quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

A disappointment for sure! Had fish & ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

A disappointment for sure! Had fish & chips and found them greasy as was the calamari - Caesar salad was not good & tasted as though they had made it yesterday. Probably a good place to drink a beer at the bar with a pal & watch the Dubs - but not for conversation and good food!

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Almost a good restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Why does it take 45 minutes to pan roast a half chicken? If you tell me it takes a half hour after I have been waiting forever and you've held up everyone else's meal at the table because of my meal why not tell me in advance or at least put it on the menu? I think you might have the weakest cesar salad on the planet too. The chicken was actually good and I assume it takes so long because the cook has to try several times to get it right? The mushroom sandwich was just ok. The kale salad was OK to but both salads that came out with chicken which was ROCK HARD and I think they are afraid to give out sharp knives to anyone for fear they might stab the server for their lack of skills. This is a sports bar with hidden big TVs which get turned on at every moment. Also don't expect anything ORGANIC here even though it says organic chicken on the menu as it does for many restaurants on OT. Check here for the real deals http://nongmoorganicrestaurants.com/sanfrancisco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

Fun Upscale Gastropub

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

The restaurant and bar is a fun upscale Gastropub in the Union Square area with lively atmosphere and full service cocktail and brew bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place, but inflexible menu

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

They are inflexible with meal combinations, which is the greatest drag. The place has got a good vibrant atmosphere though, and nice staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

Don't order the calamari--incredibly oily.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on January 4, 2016

All the dishes ordered by our group were outstanding, except the calamari. The calamari was ordered by two in our party and it was incredibly oily. I ate about 1/2 of mine and another person in our party ate a much smaller portion. The pot pie and steaks were excellent. Our waiter was very good. I probably should have complained about the calamari, but did not want to spoil the night for the rest of the group. The ambiance is wonderful. I would return. Fortunately the craft beer, Founders, saved the day for me.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

Could be better. . .

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

The best part of the experience was the day before our reservation when someone called to confirm and asked us where we would like to sit. When we were seated our waitress appeared and explained the person with her was her shadow as it was only her second day. She took our drink order and we also asked for water. We placed our dinner order and enjoyed our drinks. Once dinner arrived I asked for more water - she took the water glass and walked around the corner to fill it. My husband's glass was half full but she didn't take his to fill. During this entire time we never saw her shadow, but we did see our waitress walking back and forth. It was busy that night and all the other servers were hustling, not our girl. She finally checked on us and due to the extreme saltiness of my chicken I needed more water. She once again walked around the corner to fill my glass. Again, she didn't check on my husband. This happened at least two more times. The last time I asked for water, she picked up both glasses, huffed a little then put them back down and went to get a water pitcher. During our meal we saw that 90% of the other tables had water bottles on the table (the water glasses are short). We ordered a dessert and another server brought it within a few minutes. When they put it on the table they walked away rather quickly. Well, we sat there thinking our server would come back with spoons since we couldn't eat the dessert as we had no utensils. We waited and waited. I finally snagged someone and asked for spoons. He brought two spoons back - soup spoons that is, but they worked.

I think the waitress needed some more training before just leaving her.

It was OK, but I would asked for someone else if I got her again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

They accepted a reservation but weren't ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

They accepted a reservation but weren't open. Didn't eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Loved the setting and loved the food.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Loved the setting and loved the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great beer election, food was wonderful

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

Easy to get to, parking area easy to find, they accommodated our 1 1/2 yr old granddaughter. Very clean courteous staff food was great and loved the vibe, we would definitely go back

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Like a an airport Chili's.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

Nice interior design but loud and full of tourists visiting from local hotels. Not at all up to par in terms of San Francisco level food. Wine arrived after entree. Just felt like a mid-western chain restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Bartlett Hall is great for a bright and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 2, 2015

Bartlett Hall is great for a bright and breezy few drinks and snacks, or watching sport

They brew their own beer on site which i think is very cool, make fantastic cocktails, and serve excellent bar food. The wings are great, pizza's pretty epic.

Service is impeccable too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall a good restaurant. Service was s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Overall a good restaurant. Service was somewhat disconnected for the amount of business at dinner time. . We had different servers during dinner. Drinks and food were good.

They had a real good homemade beef jerky. I'd done there again...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

great atmosphere

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

great for date night in a social setting, but still an intimate vibe and not too loud. booking online through open table was super easy and convient

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bartlett Hall: great food, service, active crowds

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

Bartlett Hall is a great restaurant for upscale American gastro-pub food, attentive service and wait staff, busy place and active crowds in lively atmosphere for sports games on big screen TV's; The food is excellent and the cocktails are made very well by bartenders; Large selection of quality beers. The place can get busy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had to come back

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

I originally stumbled across Bartlett Hall for an early Wednesday cocktail on the way to somewhere else. I knew I must return and try the food. We came late Saturday and there was a great vibe in the place. A great mix of people. The food was delicious, the drinks were tasty, the Warriors were on all the TVs and the bar cheering. As soon as the game ended, the live music started. Great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

-Overpriced food. -Everything is fried. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

-Overpriced food.

-Everything is fried.

-Tall beams in the building which blocked view of football games.

-Touristy place so we had a hard time competing with the tourist for putting the local Niners game on the big screen.

-Played the sound for the Browns game and not the Niners, which is absurd.

I've been here twice with a big group and probably will not come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

First time and will go back. Waiter's re ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 28, 2015

First time and will go back. Waiter's recommendations were excellent . Food was great. The kale salad was truly outstanding. I felt rushed by the wait staff wanting to turn around the table though and would have preferred to linger and have another drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Goof For Brunch

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

We liked the weekend brunch offered. There are lots of TVs and an NFL game was playing so it was a bit loud, but overall was a fun and clean atmosphere. My family liked that we were in a separate area from the rowdy NFL fans at the bar but we were still close enough to feel like we were in a lively place

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Limited menu

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 19, 2015

Went mid day for a quick lunch. Food was fine, service was good. Probably better at happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Fair

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

Even though the service was terrible--took 30 minutes to get food but we swear it's because the waitress forgot to put it in--I'm recommending Bartlett Hall because I enjoyed the food so I'd give it a second chance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Nice lively spot

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Good beers, good service and the Fish and Chips were tasty. Give it a go.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It is a definitely a good place to meet ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

It is a definitely a good place to meet for drinks and food. Though this is not fine dining. We had a great seat in the window. The house beers were good, the burger was excellent!, service pretty good. But the steak frites was just terrible for the high price. Really low quality steak. I would go again for the burgers but I would be wary of ordering other entrees at those prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Something for everyone

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

I needed to find a spot that could accommodate eight people on a Saturday night as close to Union Square as possible, with small plates for those who will have already had something to eat as well as big plates for those that would show up ravenous. It also needed to not be expensive, have a good beer list and offer a variety of types of foods for my extremely picky friends. I found all of this and more at Bartlett Hall - thank you SO much!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food, terrible service

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 14, 2015

Food took forever and the brought our food to the wrong table. They then let us know that they were out of salad and we would have to wait even longer. Luckily management stepped in but was very frustrating to sit there and wait for so long. Food was delicious once we actually got it but wish we could have had our salads

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.