About Bartlett Hall

242 O' Farrell Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Bartlett Hall, located in the heart of San Francisco’s Union Square neighborhood, is a modern saloon and eatery that fuses the city’s historic elements with today’s conveniences. A menu of California-inspired American fare, including a variety of pizzas, small plates and entrees, are served daily for lunch, dinner and late night, with a beverage program that features barrel-aged cocktails, California-focused wines, and local and house-brewed beers. Bartlett Hall is located at 242 O’Farrell Street www.bartletthallsf.com, or call 415-433-4332.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily until 1:30am

Monday to Friday
Lunch menu 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Limited menu: 2:30pm- 5:3 0pm
Dinner menu: 5:30 pm -10:00 pm
Late night menu: 10:00 pm- 12:30 am

Saturday and Sunday
Brunch menu: 10:30-1:00
Lunch menu: 10:30-5:30
Dinner menu: 5:30 - 10:00
Late night menu - 10:00 - 12:30 am

Cross Street:
Powell Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 433-4332

Website:
http://www.bartletthallsf.com/

Parking Details:
There are dozens of nearby parking options, including local hotels and an assortment of parking garages. We encourage guests to take MUNI to our establishment.

Public Transit:
38, 38L, Powell Station,

Executive Chef:
Anthony Lee

Private Party Facilities:
We have both private and semi-private options for your next event. Email events@bartletthall.com for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Anathea Meade: (415) 684-7136x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bartlett Hall Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (11)
Great Beer (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
See All
Casual (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Fun (6)
Live Sports (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Late-night Find (5)
People Watching (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fireplace (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Business Meals (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
163 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was horrific as we sat for over ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Service was horrific as we sat for over 20 minutes watching workers simply continue to walk right by us and they weren't even busy. One of the bus boys even came to the table and grabbed the empty water bottle they leave for you to drink if you choose but didn't bother to bring it back refilled!

I finally had to grab someone to take a drink order so we could at least start with a cocktail. The service improved slightly after that but still that original wait left a lingering bad taste in my mouth.

Then the bill comes and it's got a 20% gratuity already added to the check. WTF is that? If you're going to automatically charge a 20% gratuity make damn sure your employees work their arses off to earn that much. They certainly didn't earn it on my visit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Loved it! Perfect spot after the tree li ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Loved it! Perfect spot after the tree lighting in SF! Waitress was great but don't remember her name!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a couple of appetizers, a cou ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We enjoyed a couple of appetizers, a couple of small plates, and cocktails and dessert. I booked our table for pre-theatre dining, but didn't expect such whiz bang fast service. Which is fine, but I would have liked to relax more. The server Alfredo was super attentive and I appreciated his thoroughness. The food came out so fast and all at the same time, and the waiter traffic next to our table was constantly moving. So, not the most romantic setting, especially because of noise level, but still fun. Shishito peppers and the kale salad were fantastic. Pork meatballs and fried fish very good. An interesting menu.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We've been to Bartlett Hall many times. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We've been to Bartlett Hall many times. The food is good and the atmosphere is fun.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great Kale salad. Service was great, th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great Kale salad. Service was great, the waitress might have been a bit too formal and eager but it wasn't a problem.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Ond of the best dinners we had during ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Ond of the best dinners we had during our stay in San Fransisco

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was quite good. Portabella mus ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was quite good. Portabella mushroom sandwich was delicious. Could be vegan if the diner requested no cheese included. They are accommodating. Pub food and better. Lots of dark wood in the establishment and they are going for an old timey feel; it is also a more masculine feel. There are several flat screens with current sports, however it is possible to sit close to the front on the sofas or table in the window, or request a table in the back. The back room is a nice touch. It will accommodate a medium size group or just a few tables for 4, where the people want to talk. It works for before theater. It was weird though that ACT touted the theater deal as an appetizer for the table. It isn't actually so. They offer fish and chips at half off.

Tags: Live Sports, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Great Beer, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place to watch game 7. Problem was ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great place to watch game 7. Problem was one of my colleagues purses was stolen from the back of her chair. Reminder that nice though this place is inside, it's still in downtown SF with all that goes with that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Good food in a slightly touristy environ ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Good food in a slightly touristy environment. Great for casual dining. Consider bringing a flair gun to attract the waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Alfredo was a most attentive server. And ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Alfredo was a most attentive server. And the kale salad was delicious, as was the mushroom pizza.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This was the worst dining experience I h ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This was the worst dining experience I have had in San francisco. We were ignored by multiple servers when we asked to place both drink and food orders. When I mentioned this to the manager he said basically said too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a wonderful lunch at Bartlett Hal ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch at Bartlett Hall. Burgers were cooked perfectly and the service was outstanding. House made Manhattans were a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Not very impressed by the food. Margher ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Not very impressed by the food. Margherita pizza was quite bland and the overloaded sauce that came on it tasted like it came straight from a tomato sauce can. Price seemed somewhat steep as well. There are so many other good restaurants in the area that I would recommend prior to wasting your money here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Bartlett's Hall is a great sports bar/re ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Bartlett's Hall is a great sports bar/restaurant. The fish & chips are outstanding - really fresh. Very good service. A great pre-theater spot, for a drink & bite with friends, and brew pub.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, it was not very good. The food ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Overall, it was not very good. The food was fairly mediocre in terms of taste and the portions, given the prices, were small. I had macaroni and cheese with bacon added and, while it was perhaps a hair beyond Kraft out-of-the-box, there wasn't very much flavor to it. It was more watery than rich. My wife had a salad with chicken added and, strangely, the chicken was neatly arrayed on the side of the salad plate rather than mixed with the salad. We had nothing to drink beyond water, no appetizer or dessert, and our bill, out the door, was nearly $50, including tax and tip. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

We've been looking for a place to have a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We've been looking for a place to have a light lunch before attending matinees at the A.C.T. theater two or three blocks away on Geary. Bartlett Hall is a great find. We had the house-brewed ale and it's excellent. The fish and chips is also very good and we found several other things on the menu we want to try. We'll be back.

Tags: Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Bartlett Hall's menu is great. There is ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Bartlett Hall's menu is great. There is something for everyone. Our party of 8 was there on 9/24 before an A.C.T. matinee. Our table was ready. Our server was responsive. We all tried a variety of items from the brunch menu: eggs benedict, avocado toast, mahi mahi tacos, Bartlett burger plus more. My only minor complaint was we could have had our beverages (coffee, ice tea) refilled and our water. We finished everything off and enjoyed the meal very much. I would also add the restrooms were very clean and tidy. I always judge that as part of the care the manager has for the whole operation. Give it a try.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A fun place for an occasional meal...pub ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2016

A fun place for an occasional meal...pub like atmosphere and the food is quite good.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Would never have gone here were not on A ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Would never have gone here were not on ACT's wesite page for where to dine near the theater. Turned out to be a very good choice: the food service and environment were all good-quality, particularly for the money. The bonus complementary appetizer for showing our ticket stub made the meal even more of a good value.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice Change of pace service excellent, s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Nice Change of pace service excellent, special food fish and chips had little taste. Bill had to be redone as was offered at half off and bill came at full price. Was supposed to be a special pub night to ACT play. Enjoyed it anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Fish Tacos and the Fish and Chips were o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Fish Tacos and the Fish and Chips were outstanding. Very noisy on game days but the food was great.

Tags: Quick Bite, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We received a notice from ACT that Bartl ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We received a notice from ACT that Bartlett Hall was taking part in ACT's current production KING CHARLES III by offering ticket holders 1/2 off their Fish and Chips. Decided to try something new so met friends there for lunch before the show. Told our server we had ACT tickets, he asked to see them and acknowledged we had them. We ordered two orders of F & C to be shared along with three arugla salads, one fruit bowl, two glasses of cuvee and one iced tea. He offered to split the F & C which was very thoughtful and appreciated. The salads were wonderful and the fruit bowl one of the nicest we had seen in a very long time. F & C were tasty, although the chips were not very hot. We enjoyed our window seat, the food and our server. The bills were presented, separately, without us asking, which also was very nice. However, we realized after paying our bills (in cash, with a very adequate tip) that we had not been given the 1/2 price for the F & C. I decided to mention this to the hostess (two of them) and they apologized and finally, after many trips, did refund each couple 1/2 of the cost of the F & C. That left a disappointing feeling and felt like we had been "taken." While it is certainly close enough to ACT to revisit easily who knows if we ever will. What started out as a great experience ended up being disappointing and embarrasing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a nice time- it was a little nois ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a nice time- it was a little noisy but we are glad we tried it. The food was really good- we had a cheese/meat platter and a po'boy we had bloody mary, and a beer tester. The desserts looked amazing- we will try those another time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Great Beer, Casual, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The hostess was rude, the ambiance terri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The hostess was rude, the ambiance terrible. Food was ok. A touristy sports bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was great and our server, Alfre ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was great and our server, Alfredo, went out of his way to accommodate our needs. Wonderful service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find in SF. Prices more reasonable ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great find in SF. Prices more reasonable than most, so I could have a decent meal on my business expense travel budget. Halibut was so delicious. Energy level was high, loud, but made it easier for a one diner. I sat at a table across from the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Went to Bartlett Hall for a work happy h ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Went to Bartlett Hall for a work happy hour with four people. This worked out great for us, but next time we will show up earlier so we have longer to enjoy the happy hour specials!

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Fun, People Watching, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There are not many good wild mushroom pi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2016

There are not many good wild mushroom pizzas. This restaurant has a very good one (porcini & wild mushrooms) and I will put it on my list for lunch. Less than a block from Macy's it is a good location for shoppers.

This is a bar & restaurant. The place has a dark rich ambience. As there were only 6 people in the restaurant for lunch I cannot give good advice as to the noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was greasy and the portions wer ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2016

The food was greasy and the portions were extremely small. Will not return...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Good downtown Friday night dinner. Servi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good downtown Friday night dinner. Service quick and friendly. Very loud table of six just behind us who seemed oblivious to the noise they were making but hardly the fault of Bartlett Hall. Would recommend and would go again.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for happy hour which is great. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We went for happy hour which is great. Prices are right and their regular french fries are the best! They also offer sweet potato fries but we stick to the regular fries. Seems like they fry the potatoes twice -- the crunch on them are what makes them great. Thanks, Barlett!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

There was no one else in the restaurant ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 25, 2016

There was no one else in the restaurant but my group of 8 for lunch. But still the waitress left us unattended most of the time. We waited too long for the food and for drinks and water. The menu was extremely limited, and the food was mediocre. A disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The menu is very creative, unique and de ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 25, 2016

The menu is very creative, unique and delicious! Fun place with great wine and beer selections.

Service was excellent....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went with friends during a recent visi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2016

I went with friends during a recent visit to San Francisco. Bartlett Hall was a half block from our hotel and a welcome variety to the very pricey, Italian or steak restaurants that the group had been going to for dinner. There was a range of food options (salads, sandwiches, pizza, entrees, small plate/starters), which was great for our group, and the prices were reasonable, especially compared to other Union Square restaurant prices. We also enjoyed the microbrew offerings. We were seated in the back and dined a bit on the early side and the noise was still moderate -- it seems like it could be quite loud when packed. That being said, there was a decent happy hour crowd at the bar and we were sheltered enough to be able to hear each other speak. They offer a range of seating options which could appeal to different kinds of groups.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was adequate, food less than ave ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was adequate, food less than average and welcome poor.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Go to for MLB and NBA Games!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I really enjoy going to BH to watch the Giants and the Warriors! The drinks are on point especially the Goose Greyhound! The vibe is typically dictated by the crowd of course but the atomosphere has been vibrant every time we've gone!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic Restaurant in Union Square District

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Fantastic place with wide variety of top quality American cuisine dishes, the service is very good with always attentive and friendly staff, well-organized for reservations, fun bar scene, excellent mixologist bartenders and cocktail bar variety, with many large panel flat screens to enjoy sports games.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great for casual business lunch

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2016

We were attending a professional conference at the Moscone West Conference Center. Barltetts was within walking distance and provided a nice respite from the crowds at the conference.

We ordered the caselvenetro olives, fried pepper and riasted mixed nut appetizer and they were delicious. I had the kale salad and it is a good sized serving. I probably ate to much of the appetizers because I could not finish it. The other members of my party had the poached Salmon and a marguerta pizza and that did not disapoint either. We were able to have an effective easy, low key business lunch and met all our objectives, both for business and for a great lunch.

One hint is to ask for a table in the back, it is a little quieter, but even in the front of the restaurant it is still ok.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Came for the beer, stayed for the cocktails

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2016

I originally wanted to try Bartlett Hall because of the beers that they make, which I tried during SF Beer week. I really like them! But after a few, I get full so I tried a cocktail - also very good. The food wasn't bad either.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything fine, except...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2016

The energy is great, the servers are friendly, the cocktails are strong - but our guest of honor got food poisoning from his meal and had to leave abruptly to go...er...recover in his hotel room. Not the ideal conclusion to his birthday dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.