About Bartlett Hall

242 O' Farrell Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Bartlett Hall, located in the heart of San Francisco’s Union Square neighborhood, is a modern saloon and eatery that fuses the city’s historic elements with today’s conveniences. A menu of California-inspired American fare, including a variety of pizzas, small plates and entrees, are served daily for lunch, dinner and late night, with a beverage program that features barrel-aged cocktails, California-focused wines, and local and house-brewed beers. Bartlett Hall is located at 242 O’Farrell Street www.bartletthallsf.com, or call 415-433-4332.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily until 1:30am

Monday to Friday
Lunch menu 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Limited menu: 2:30pm- 5:3 0pm
Dinner menu: 5:30 pm -10:00 pm
Late night menu: 10:00 pm- 12:30 am

Saturday and Sunday
Brunch menu: 10:30-1:00
Lunch menu: 10:30-5:30
Dinner menu: 5:30 - 10:00
Late night menu - 10:00 - 12:30 am

Cross Street:
Powell Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 433-4332

Website:
http://www.bartletthallsf.com/

Parking Details:
There are dozens of nearby parking options, including local hotels and an assortment of parking garages. We encourage guests to take MUNI to our establishment.

Public Transit:
38, 38L, Powell Station,

Executive Chef:
Anthony Lee

Private Party Facilities:
We have both private and semi-private options for your next event. Email events@bartletthall.com for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Anathea Meade: (415) 684-7136x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bartlett Hall Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Late-night Find (7)
See All
Quick Bite (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Casual (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great Beer (4)
People Watching (4)
Live Sports (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Fireplace (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Bartlett Hall's menu is great. There is ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Bartlett Hall's menu is great. There is something for everyone. Our party of 8 was there on 9/24 before an A.C.T. matinee. Our table was ready. Our server was responsive. We all tried a variety of items from the brunch menu: eggs benedict, avocado toast, mahi mahi tacos, Bartlett burger plus more. My only minor complaint was we could have had our beverages (coffee, ice tea) refilled and our water. We finished everything off and enjoyed the meal very much. I would also add the restrooms were very clean and tidy. I always judge that as part of the care the manager has for the whole operation. Give it a try.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A fun place for an occasional meal...pub ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

A fun place for an occasional meal...pub like atmosphere and the food is quite good.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Would never have gone here were not on A ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Would never have gone here were not on ACT's wesite page for where to dine near the theater. Turned out to be a very good choice: the food service and environment were all good-quality, particularly for the money. The bonus complementary appetizer for showing our ticket stub made the meal even more of a good value.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice Change of pace service excellent, s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Nice Change of pace service excellent, special food fish and chips had little taste. Bill had to be redone as was offered at half off and bill came at full price. Was supposed to be a special pub night to ACT play. Enjoyed it anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Fish Tacos and the Fish and Chips were o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Fish Tacos and the Fish and Chips were outstanding. Very noisy on game days but the food was great.

Tags: Quick Bite, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We received a notice from ACT that Bartl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We received a notice from ACT that Bartlett Hall was taking part in ACT's current production KING CHARLES III by offering ticket holders 1/2 off their Fish and Chips. Decided to try something new so met friends there for lunch before the show. Told our server we had ACT tickets, he asked to see them and acknowledged we had them. We ordered two orders of F & C to be shared along with three arugla salads, one fruit bowl, two glasses of cuvee and one iced tea. He offered to split the F & C which was very thoughtful and appreciated. The salads were wonderful and the fruit bowl one of the nicest we had seen in a very long time. F & C were tasty, although the chips were not very hot. We enjoyed our window seat, the food and our server. The bills were presented, separately, without us asking, which also was very nice. However, we realized after paying our bills (in cash, with a very adequate tip) that we had not been given the 1/2 price for the F & C. I decided to mention this to the hostess (two of them) and they apologized and finally, after many trips, did refund each couple 1/2 of the cost of the F & C. That left a disappointing feeling and felt like we had been "taken." While it is certainly close enough to ACT to revisit easily who knows if we ever will. What started out as a great experience ended up being disappointing and embarrasing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a nice time- it was a little nois ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a nice time- it was a little noisy but we are glad we tried it. The food was really good- we had a cheese/meat platter and a po'boy we had bloody mary, and a beer tester. The desserts looked amazing- we will try those another time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Great Beer, Casual, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The hostess was rude, the ambiance terri ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The hostess was rude, the ambiance terrible. Food was ok. A touristy sports bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was great and our server, Alfre ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was great and our server, Alfredo, went out of his way to accommodate our needs. Wonderful service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find in SF. Prices more reasonable ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great find in SF. Prices more reasonable than most, so I could have a decent meal on my business expense travel budget. Halibut was so delicious. Energy level was high, loud, but made it easier for a one diner. I sat at a table across from the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Went to Bartlett Hall for a work happy h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Went to Bartlett Hall for a work happy hour with four people. This worked out great for us, but next time we will show up earlier so we have longer to enjoy the happy hour specials!

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Fun, People Watching, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There are not many good wild mushroom pi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

There are not many good wild mushroom pizzas. This restaurant has a very good one (porcini & wild mushrooms) and I will put it on my list for lunch. Less than a block from Macy's it is a good location for shoppers.

This is a bar & restaurant. The place has a dark rich ambience. As there were only 6 people in the restaurant for lunch I cannot give good advice as to the noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was greasy and the portions wer ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The food was greasy and the portions were extremely small. Will not return...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Good downtown Friday night dinner. Servi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good downtown Friday night dinner. Service quick and friendly. Very loud table of six just behind us who seemed oblivious to the noise they were making but hardly the fault of Bartlett Hall. Would recommend and would go again.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for happy hour which is great. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We went for happy hour which is great. Prices are right and their regular french fries are the best! They also offer sweet potato fries but we stick to the regular fries. Seems like they fry the potatoes twice -- the crunch on them are what makes them great. Thanks, Barlett!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

There was no one else in the restaurant ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

There was no one else in the restaurant but my group of 8 for lunch. But still the waitress left us unattended most of the time. We waited too long for the food and for drinks and water. The menu was extremely limited, and the food was mediocre. A disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The menu is very creative, unique and de ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The menu is very creative, unique and delicious! Fun place with great wine and beer selections.

Service was excellent....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went with friends during a recent visi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I went with friends during a recent visit to San Francisco. Bartlett Hall was a half block from our hotel and a welcome variety to the very pricey, Italian or steak restaurants that the group had been going to for dinner. There was a range of food options (salads, sandwiches, pizza, entrees, small plate/starters), which was great for our group, and the prices were reasonable, especially compared to other Union Square restaurant prices. We also enjoyed the microbrew offerings. We were seated in the back and dined a bit on the early side and the noise was still moderate -- it seems like it could be quite loud when packed. That being said, there was a decent happy hour crowd at the bar and we were sheltered enough to be able to hear each other speak. They offer a range of seating options which could appeal to different kinds of groups.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was adequate, food less than ave ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was adequate, food less than average and welcome poor.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Go to for MLB and NBA Games!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I really enjoy going to BH to watch the Giants and the Warriors! The drinks are on point especially the Goose Greyhound! The vibe is typically dictated by the crowd of course but the atomosphere has been vibrant every time we've gone!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic Restaurant in Union Square District

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Fantastic place with wide variety of top quality American cuisine dishes, the service is very good with always attentive and friendly staff, well-organized for reservations, fun bar scene, excellent mixologist bartenders and cocktail bar variety, with many large panel flat screens to enjoy sports games.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great for casual business lunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

We were attending a professional conference at the Moscone West Conference Center. Barltetts was within walking distance and provided a nice respite from the crowds at the conference.

We ordered the caselvenetro olives, fried pepper and riasted mixed nut appetizer and they were delicious. I had the kale salad and it is a good sized serving. I probably ate to much of the appetizers because I could not finish it. The other members of my party had the poached Salmon and a marguerta pizza and that did not disapoint either. We were able to have an effective easy, low key business lunch and met all our objectives, both for business and for a great lunch.

One hint is to ask for a table in the back, it is a little quieter, but even in the front of the restaurant it is still ok.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Came for the beer, stayed for the cocktails

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

I originally wanted to try Bartlett Hall because of the beers that they make, which I tried during SF Beer week. I really like them! But after a few, I get full so I tried a cocktail - also very good. The food wasn't bad either.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything fine, except...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

The energy is great, the servers are friendly, the cocktails are strong - but our guest of honor got food poisoning from his meal and had to leave abruptly to go...er...recover in his hotel room. Not the ideal conclusion to his birthday dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Fantastic reliable eatery close to union ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Fantastic reliable eatery close to union square! I was surprised to find this restaurant NOT bustling with tourists! We had time to enjoy a burger and several beers with out of town friends uninterrupted by the throngs outside!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I'd go for a beer or a simple plate if I ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

I'd go for a beer or a simple plate if I return.

Overall, the 7 of us weren't too impressed for the amount of money we paid (~$50/each person).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Unexpected treat!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I booked brunch for Valentine's Day and was hoping for a spot that wasn't crazy loud, and I got it! Beautiful ambiance, and extremely pleasant and professional service. The eggs benedict was tasty, if a little deconstructed, but that certainly was not a deterrent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good value. Good food. Fun casual night.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

First, I loved that they have Pear Cider. Then the food was all very good. We had drinks, appetizers, and dinner for a very low, reasonable price. It was a bit loud but we could talk and hear each other at the table. A fun, casual Saturday night out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Quite nice

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Pleasant servers. Food good but not great. Crust too thick on pizzas.

Very good beer list!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Surprisingly Good!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Essentially a bar food menu, but extremely high quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

A disappointment for sure! Had fish & ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

A disappointment for sure! Had fish & chips and found them greasy as was the calamari - Caesar salad was not good & tasted as though they had made it yesterday. Probably a good place to drink a beer at the bar with a pal & watch the Dubs - but not for conversation and good food!

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Almost a good restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Why does it take 45 minutes to pan roast a half chicken? If you tell me it takes a half hour after I have been waiting forever and you've held up everyone else's meal at the table because of my meal why not tell me in advance or at least put it on the menu? I think you might have the weakest cesar salad on the planet too. The chicken was actually good and I assume it takes so long because the cook has to try several times to get it right? The mushroom sandwich was just ok. The kale salad was OK to but both salads that came out with chicken which was ROCK HARD and I think they are afraid to give out sharp knives to anyone for fear they might stab the server for their lack of skills. This is a sports bar with hidden big TVs which get turned on at every moment. Also don't expect anything ORGANIC here even though it says organic chicken on the menu as it does for many restaurants on OT. Check here for the real deals http://nongmoorganicrestaurants.com/sanfrancisco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

Fun Upscale Gastropub

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

The restaurant and bar is a fun upscale Gastropub in the Union Square area with lively atmosphere and full service cocktail and brew bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place, but inflexible menu

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

They are inflexible with meal combinations, which is the greatest drag. The place has got a good vibrant atmosphere though, and nice staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

Don't order the calamari--incredibly oily.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on January 4, 2016

All the dishes ordered by our group were outstanding, except the calamari. The calamari was ordered by two in our party and it was incredibly oily. I ate about 1/2 of mine and another person in our party ate a much smaller portion. The pot pie and steaks were excellent. Our waiter was very good. I probably should have complained about the calamari, but did not want to spoil the night for the rest of the group. The ambiance is wonderful. I would return. Fortunately the craft beer, Founders, saved the day for me.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

Could be better. . .

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

The best part of the experience was the day before our reservation when someone called to confirm and asked us where we would like to sit. When we were seated our waitress appeared and explained the person with her was her shadow as it was only her second day. She took our drink order and we also asked for water. We placed our dinner order and enjoyed our drinks. Once dinner arrived I asked for more water - she took the water glass and walked around the corner to fill it. My husband's glass was half full but she didn't take his to fill. During this entire time we never saw her shadow, but we did see our waitress walking back and forth. It was busy that night and all the other servers were hustling, not our girl. She finally checked on us and due to the extreme saltiness of my chicken I needed more water. She once again walked around the corner to fill my glass. Again, she didn't check on my husband. This happened at least two more times. The last time I asked for water, she picked up both glasses, huffed a little then put them back down and went to get a water pitcher. During our meal we saw that 90% of the other tables had water bottles on the table (the water glasses are short). We ordered a dessert and another server brought it within a few minutes. When they put it on the table they walked away rather quickly. Well, we sat there thinking our server would come back with spoons since we couldn't eat the dessert as we had no utensils. We waited and waited. I finally snagged someone and asked for spoons. He brought two spoons back - soup spoons that is, but they worked.

I think the waitress needed some more training before just leaving her.

It was OK, but I would asked for someone else if I got her again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

They accepted a reservation but weren't ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

They accepted a reservation but weren't open. Didn't eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Loved the setting and loved the food.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Loved the setting and loved the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great beer election, food was wonderful

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

Easy to get to, parking area easy to find, they accommodated our 1 1/2 yr old granddaughter. Very clean courteous staff food was great and loved the vibe, we would definitely go back

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Like a an airport Chili's.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

Nice interior design but loud and full of tourists visiting from local hotels. Not at all up to par in terms of San Francisco level food. Wine arrived after entree. Just felt like a mid-western chain restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.