About Barsa Tapas Lounge & Bar

Spanish tapas with a southern drawl. We are open 7 days a week, and serve brunch every Sunday from 11:00 - 3:00! We source our ingredients as close to home and we are vegetarian, gluten-free, and vegan friendly.

630 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: noon - 10:00
Thursday - Saturday: noon - until
Sunday: 11:00 - 10:00 [Sunday BRUNCH 11:00-3:00]

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-5393

Website:
http://barsacharleston.com/

Barsa Tapas Lounge & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (37)
Good for a Date (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
See All
Good for Groups (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Happy Hour (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Fun (15)
Authentic (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Casual (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Cozy (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Live Music (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Romantic (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
People Watching (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Spicy (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Business Meals (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
406 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

The food is pretty good. Not a great value, but hey, tapas are fun. Location is easy to park at, but there isn't anything else going for it.
The manager is either absent or dressed like a runner. Not terribly reassuring. This isn't Oak.
The big problem I have had is the little things. Example: there is (and has been for months) a huge hole in the ceiling. By the bathrooms. Like 4'x4'. You can actually feel the heat and smell the scent of old wood. It's odd, bordering on bizarre. The issue is not just that they are spending $100+ on air conditioning they don't need to per month, it's that there was a goddam fly bothering us ALL dinner. The server didn't really care. She was basically a gen-Y slacker. There is no excuse for having flies bothering customers like some kind of second rate breakfast joint while there is a huge passageway to the attic present.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Really enjoyed all of the many tapas we ordered, just wish they would have let us order the paella ahead of time since we had children with us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Family beach trip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Different type of menu. Enjoy it every time we go.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Jessica was awesome and so much fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Wonderful service and great foods! Seafood paella was amazing!

Tags: Tapas, Spicy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We went to Barsa on a Sunday evening as part of our "Girls Trip" and it was fabulous! We had been out in the sun all day and were pretty tired, but as soon as we walked in we were greeted by our fabulous server, Ted, who brought back our energy and made us feel at home. The drinks were fabulous and the food was AMAZING. We started with the shrimp small plate, patatas bravas, and a meat and cheese plate. There were 5 of us girls and we split the medium seafood paella and it was AMAZING! Everything about this experience was great and we would highly recommend it to everyone!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Always a wonderful experience! Great food! Great staff! Great atmosphere!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We are frequent visitors to Charleston and Barsa Tapas has become our favorite destination for an early meal - parking is free and adjacent. The shrimp and stuffed peppers are outstanding the former has a bit of a kick. Happy hour wine and beer and the discounted seafood paella are great values. A small paella is more than enough for 2. We will keep returning.

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Fantastic food, cocktails and service. Looking forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Too noisy inside, too many fly's outside, but worth it!!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We had very good food and excellent service while Thursday night jazz played! We'll make this our go to venue!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My wife and I always like to come and get the Paella. During happy hour the large is $15 off and is enough food for 3 meals each. Love this spot!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Good variety on tapas menu. Excellent paella.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Food is always delicious every time we go. Get the Paella!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

My wife and I had a great dining experience at Barsa. The food and service was fantastic. Our order consisted of the Roasted Beet Salad, Local Shrimp, Pan con Tomate and (best of all) the Chicken and Chorizo paella. All of it was delicious, but the paella was the topper. Tender, crunchy, flavorful - all blended together in a beautiful package. Great value for the cost and a nice lively atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

One of my favorite places to go downtown. Never a bad meal. Great service. Perfect for a group.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The paella was outstanding last night.The other memorable tapas were the shrimp and brussel sprouts.
Our drinks were not very cold when served and we asked for ice.

The service was slow and decibel level was high .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Yikes! Limited selection of tapas. We ordered the paella which indicates a 45 minute prep time. An hour and 15 minutes later we told them to forget it. It arrive a few minutes later. Good but not great. Server was indifferent to our frustration. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We're crazy for Barsa! We try to come twice a year from Charlotte. Delectable food, warm and friendly service, comfortable atmosphere. You have to have the Pan con tomate with manchego cheese and serrano ham. Our table had 3 orders! The small plates are amazing and the paella delicious. Happy hour specials make it all reasonably priced too! To die for!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Tapas, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Really, really good tapas.
Great outdoor patio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great! Awesome happy hour :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Love this Restaurant. We're from out of town and our son took us there before and we wanted to return. Great Happy Hour! Everything great! Will return on our next visit!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fun, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Service was great and the happy hour deal is significant, especially if you are buying a large paella. They don't offer any happy hour deals on tapas, I guess that's where they make the profit since they are expensive little plates. I like the outdoor seating and parking in the back. My biggest complaint is the amount of seafood. The large paella "served 6-8" but I would say 6 is the maximum and three of the people would basically be eating rice. We ordered seafood paella and there were literally 8 small chunks of fish, 8 mussels, and 8 shrimp in the entire pan. Additionally, the rice at the bottom of the pan was very burnt, which made some of the rice inedible. The rice was tasty though.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 3, 2017

As always Barsa had excellent food and service. The happy hour drink specials are nice. The food is varied and the menu changes enough to keep it interesting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Even better than last visit! Food was excellent, great service...Fun, unique place; a great option among all the choices in Charleston.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

A group of 8 went for a bachelorette party. We had some picky eaters with us but everyone was VERY happy with their meals. We got about 12 to split and literally all of them were delicious. Very affordable too!

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Another fun and delicious meal at Barsa! We thoroughly enjoyed our Saturday lunch on the patio - brisket empanadas, cheese croquettes, spicy shrimp, pan y tomate, Brussels sprouts with grapefruit (yum!) and the stuffed piquillo peppers were all fantastic! Our server was top notch - always there right when we needed him. Because the patio backs up to the parking lot, there was a bit of extra noise as cars came and went, but it's still worth dining al fresco for sure! Additionally, the flan was not our favorite, but I'd certainly try something else next time...if I have any room left after all the amazing tapas!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Jazz night at Barsa is a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Barsa has a lovely patio and great happy hour specials! The paella was delicious and the signature cocktails were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 23, 2017

A special gem in the food landscape in Charleston. The paella is unique dish worth the visit. Make a reservation, the tables can fill up on off nights. Popular with locals and special visits from out of town visitors. Great drink selection as well and a nice bar. More casual than formal, you could be in business formal or grabbing a drink in jeans and feel comfortable.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Barsa is such fun to visit and the tapas are really great! The servers are very knowledgeable and have good timing on when to check with the patrons and when to leave them alone to enjoy the food and drink and company! Paella is one of the signature dishes but I have found it to be somewhat inconsistent, so will probably just enjoy the other alternatives on future visits. I definitely recommend Barsa!

Tags: Vegan, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Amazing menu!! The food is spectacular! One of the best meals I've ever had in Charleston. I highly recommend this place to foodies everywhere!!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took wife to Barsa on Mother's Day. Great atmosphere, fantastic tapas, overall wonderful experience! Will be back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Awesome food, great drinks, great service. Try if you haven't as it's definitely worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Please don't let people smoke, even if it's outside. WAY more non-smokers will appreciate this than smokers who get mad. The table smoking left as soon on as we got there, but we'd probably just have left if not.

Server was great, food was delicious especially octopus and Brussels and charcuterie - will def be back.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We nearly always enjoy visiting Barsa. The food is good (and reasonably priced), the service is usually great and the ambiance is perfect for a relaxing or fun evening with family, friends or a date. I will say, however, that when we visited this past Friday night, we ordered the paella and found a rather long hair baked into the food. After taking the rest to go, the next day, we found another hair in the food. Very disappointed but we'll likely give Barsa another chance if the occasion calls for it.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was awesome, server knew the menu and favorites. Hostess, the first person you meet, had major attitude and not in a good way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 1, 2017

It's by far the best Paella ( Seafood ) I've ever had, cudos to Barsa, will be coming back often

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

What a gem! We had a reservation and were seated immediately. Our waitress explained that the paella is cooked to order and takes about 30-45 minutes so we ordered seafood paella along with our drinks. After looking at the small plates menu, we decided on the pan con tomate and the patatas bravas, although there were lots of other great sounding ones, too. Both were ample sized portions and were very good. We'd ordered the small seafood paella, which was delicious and, along with the two small plates, was definitely enough food for two.

We'll be back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.