About Barsa Tapas Lounge & Bar

Spanish tapas with a southern drawl. We are open 7 days a week, and serve brunch every Sunday from 11:00 - 3:00! We source our ingredients as close to home and we are vegetarian, gluten-free, and vegan friendly.

630 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: noon - 10:00
Thursday - Saturday: noon - until
Sunday: 11:00 - 10:00 [Sunday BRUNCH 11:00-3:00]

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-5393

Website:
http://barsacharleston.com/

Barsa Tapas Lounge & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (40)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Casual (19)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Authentic (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Fun (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Romantic (9)
Live Music (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Family Style (6)
Cozy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Healthy (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Business Meals (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Dancing (2)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious tapas, authentic Paella, great wait staff. We made reservations on a Thursday because there is a jazz group there on Thursdays. We brought an out of town visitor and was delighted to find out that there is a great happy hour from 4-7. So we ordered a delicious tapas and put in our order for their authentic Paella that takes 45 minutes to cook. The food was delicious and the jazz group terrific! I asked about gluten free options because my daughter has celiac disease and needs to eat completely gluten free. The seafood paella is gluten free as we thought it was. I highly recommend Barsa and can't wait to go back to try some more of their tapas choices.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Fun, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food and great service. Only negative was bringing all of the tapas at once instead of pacing them so nothing would get cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A fantastic true tapas restaurant and now in our top three Charleston restaurants! Great choices, wonderfully prepared, plated with care and perfectly executed. We dined on a busy Saturday evening and chose to sit at the bar and we're fortunate to have bartender Ben look after us. His comprehensive knowledge of the menu AND preparation techniques made our selections more exciting and absolutely made our evening.
Can't wait to return on our next visit in May! Well done all!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Loved the ceviche and lamb appetizer! The paella was delicious! Great place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Authentic Spanish cuisine. A favorite in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Delicious paella. Exquisite tapas. A great place to meet up with friends. Great happy hour specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Brussel sprouts were amazing! I suggest getting 3-4 Tapas and an order of paella. Jazz band was so much fun!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Dancing, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My daughters and I had dinner at Barsa; it was wonderful! The paella is really good and the prices are reasonable. We'll be back!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Live Music, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Paella and sangria are the best! We also tried the new Brussels sprouts-amazing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Was in Charleston for the first time and enjoyed happy hour specials on St. Patty's evening and great paella. Thought they had live jazz every night but found out only on Thursdays. With NCAA basketball tourney in full court press, no music ambiance but otherwise a fantastic little place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Please do not go to this restaurant so I can have it to myself. Best undiscovered in Charleston.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Authentic, Tapas, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Barsa was so great with accommodating our large group. We made a reservation for 8, upped it to 11 the day of, and 13 showed up! Nobody batted an eyelash. Our server, Renee, was patient and helpful. Really enjoyed this experience! And can't beat their happy hour!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Went to Barsa on a Sunday night about 6:00. Surprised it was somewhat busy already. Still received excellent service from the waiter. The spanish paella was excellent and waiter provided good recommendations on quantity to order. Tapas options were very nice. Overall good place to go and sample types of food and enjoy good conversation with friends.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent Paella and the pork spare rib tapas are outstanding. Great service as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Papaya was burnt this time. Disappointed about that. It the dates and calamari were fantastic. Wine good and reasonably priced.

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing brunch. We started with the apple fritters, light and fluffy with an awesome chocolate sauce. The almost toast and the steak & eggs were delicious! Good beer selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food, service and price are good. The atmosphere is something left to be desired. The leather seating against the wall is falling apart and you really don't want to sit on it.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The food is great. Having lived in Spain this has s lot of authentic Tapas. There are also a lot of creative twists to taps favorites. Happy hot had great value. I have been here a few times and the service is always excellent .

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We are very pleased with this restaurant! Can hardly wait to come again...loved the roasted livers and the shrimp...next time will come soon!

Tags: Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Bars and is one of my favorite places, especially visitors from out of town. Small plates and paella are both excellent and so is the jazz. Call for a reservation and a high table if you can get one. Sangria special all night Thursday. We love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Everything was amazing. The paella is too die for. Get the shrimp and the meatballs. Only negative is the booths could really use a reupholster. Other than that, one of my favorite Charleston restaurants.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

very special food, atmosphere and staff. that's why we keep going back again and again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The atmosphere on the patio is tranquil, spacious, and intimate. The inside of Barsa feels a bit more upscale but still relaxed. The cocktails are great but the food was the main event; we dined on a selection of 4 tapas and each was outstanding in its own right (we actually ended up ordering a second plate of the roasted olives). The service was consistent and hospitable. We will be back on our next Charleston visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I went here for a birthday dinner. The server was very attentive, as we kept ordering more food and drinks throughout our meal. The food came out quickly and was delicious. I will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good food, pretty good cocktails, and friendly staff. My only issue was that the meal felt very rushed. We ordered charcuterie and four tapas items. We expected to receive them one by one as separate courses, but we received two of the tapas while we were still working on the charcuterie, and the rest of the plates were quick to follow. We thought we'd be hanging out for a while, having some drinks and a leisurely meal, but we were in and out in about 45 minutes.

I wish we'd had more time to enjoy everything, because the food really was good. Maybe the trick is to order as you go.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Vibrant scene, food was great, however our waiter seemed annoyed when we kept ordering more food and wine. It's a tapas restaurant, so I would think he would be used to people putting in multiple orders. We spent $120.00 between 2 people , and I would have giving 5 stars but the waiter needs to learn some better customer service skills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent choice! We had the chicken & chorizo paella-perfection!

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Love this place and visit frequently! Has the best Sangria in town and you can't beat the Happy Hour prices! We always order the dates! Yum!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The food was delicious & the jazz performance was exceptionally great!!!

Tags: Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The hangar steak tapas was one of our favorite starts and we couldn't resist both types of paella. Try the Tia Maria as an after dinner dessert wine. Delicious spot!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was amazing. My friends were impressed by the menu options and delighted by the freshness of the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Casual, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was great. The wine was excellent and the price adequate. The only issue I had is that the upholstery on the bench is in bad shape and torn. A too restaurant should pay attention to details such as these. I would recommend it and go there again myself.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My new favorite spot in Charleston. Amazing food and great wine. Perfect spot to eat with friends or family or have a date night. I will be back for sure.

Tags: Vegan, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I could tell the plates and food in general are made with expertise and care. Everything I ordered was flavorful and worth it. For how busy the restaurant was(Friday night) the wait staff was attentive and pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Steve Simon Band worth the visit irrespective of the great food.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Been there several times always great food and service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Our party of 3 enjoyed sampling several shareable plates including the chicken paella. The dinner was delicious and satisfying without breaking the budget. Service was excellent and we WILL be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Tapas, Special Occasion, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food and atmosphere were amazing. Cannot wait to get back to the area for more!

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Barsa is fun, the food is creative, it is very popular for good reason. People love the food, the choices of tapas, the reasonably price wine list and the friendly service. We go there often.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Casual, Tapas, Good for Groups, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Love this place but this time had a reservation that ran 45 minutes past our seat time . Also, the music was so loud that you could not even yell to the person sitting next to you and we had a table next to the entrance to the restroom. Waitress disappeared a few times. The food was good. That did not suffer and it was ready and hot.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.