About Barsa Tapas Lounge & Bar

630 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Spanish tapas with a southern drawl. We are open 7 days a week, and serve brunch every Sunday from 11:00 - 3:00! We source our ingredients as close to home and we are vegetarian, gluten-free, and vegan friendly.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: noon - 10:00
Thursday - Saturday: noon - until
Sunday: 11:00 - 10:00 [Sunday BRUNCH 11:00-3:00]

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-5393

Website:
http://barsacharleston.com/

Barsa Tapas Lounge & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
South Carolina
Best Value
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Charleston ›

Fit for Foodies (54)
Neighborhood Gem (53)
Good for Groups (49)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Special Occasion (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Hot Spot (23)
Romantic (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Great for Lunch (11)
Great for Brunch (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
265 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Megan Amey was the best server in the wo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Megan Amey was the best server in the world!! Very attentive and has a beautiful smile!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go here! We were so incredibly impressed ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Go here! We were so incredibly impressed with our meal. We ordered four tapas and a dessert. It was divine! Get the mushrooms and goat cheese! Champignons! AWESOME. We also ordered a jamon & queso board that included two meats and the blue cheese. Perfect! The empanadas of the day were ground lamb and the stuffed peppers were perfected charred and cheesy roasted red peppers. We finished off with pistachio bread pudding. It was an awesome meal. Our total came to $72+ tip with the food above plus two glasses of wine and a beer. We will surely be back! Fantastic meal, unique vibe, great service. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Paella is a must, worth the 45 min made ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Paella is a must, worth the 45 min made to order wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Barsa is one of our favorite spots. We h ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 7 days ago

Barsa is one of our favorite spots. We have shared it with many friends. The service is always excellent - Glad to see Avery back, but Trevor and Carolyn and Michael and others are all great. We miss Jen, though!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is outstanding.... It's easy to ord ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food is outstanding.... It's easy to order too much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience as always!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wonderful experience as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Late dining after an event. It was a T ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Late dining after an event. It was a Tuesday night and only a few tables were taken. Immediately, we ordered the paella and drinks and then a few tapas items. Everything was very tasty and our waiter was spot on.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a great place for happy hour: ni ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This is a great place for happy hour: nice drink choices and a decent veggie paella. The service is very good: friendly servers who seem to want to please.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The broccolini, scallops, pork ribs, and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The broccolini, scallops, pork ribs, and champignons were wonderful, but the portions were skimpy, even for small plates. We made our reservation on OpenTable, but were disappointed to be seated next to the the bathroom hallway. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable, and thorough. The restaurant was very dim even though there was still daylight and the blinds were open. I like low lighting, but it would have been nice to have had the candle lit at our table and/or the blinds adjusted.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

Awesome Tapas and Paella! I've studied a ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Awesome Tapas and Paella! I've studied abroad in Spain, and their menu is a great representation of true Tapas and Paella! Plus awesome happy hour specials! And parking available, which is hard to come by in downtown Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun place, great food and service! Fave ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Fun place, great food and service! Fave place in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to Barsa with a group of friends wh ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Went to Barsa with a group of friends who recently traveled to Spain together. We all had a fabulous time. Both the food and the service were excellent! We all appreciated the free ample parking directly behind the restaurant. I plan to return for dinner outside in the courtyard when the weather cools down.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a nice meal at Barsa. Every time ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Always a nice meal at Barsa. Every time we enjoy a couple of tapas and then paella. Can't beat the happy hour.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and staff! My favorite re ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Amazing food and staff! My favorite restaurant in Charleston!If you have never been, you must try it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The tapas menu was excellent. So many mo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The tapas menu was excellent. So many more things we need to come back and try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very enjoyable restaurant. Enjoyed the a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Very enjoyable restaurant. Enjoyed the abundant tapas as well as the chicken and chorizo paella. Happy hour prices are great for drinks and a good place to unwind.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent food; all six of us shared in ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food; all six of us shared in many different plates, and enjoyed each one. Paella is wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our second time dining at Barsa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our second time dining at Barsa and it was just as good as our first experience in April . I recognized one of the waitresses as being the hostess from our last visit. In a college town it's good to see some of the same people working during the summer. Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgable about the menu. We ordered lots of dishes and shared them all. The calamari was one of the tables favorites, everyone commented it's tenderness. We also had smoked pork empanadas which had great flavor.

The food at Barsa is high quality and reasonably priced I would definitely recommend this to everyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Barsa is a fun experience, the food is o ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Barsa is a fun experience, the food is outstanding and the lively crowd makes it interesting.

The seafood pallela is the very best and we love so many other of the tapas style foods we tend to over order! Its a very social way to dine because we usually share all the items and they come out of the kitchen as they are done.

We have introduced many friends to Barsa, and they all love the experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

A good experience overall. Wish we had t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

A good experience overall. Wish we had time for paella but had to catch a movie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great tapas restaurant offering good s ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

A great tapas restaurant offering good service, great food, and laid back eclectic atmosphere. Really cool live jazz on Thursdays.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Have been here many times and the food i ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Have been here many times and the food is always wonderful. My daughter-in-law's favorite restaurant, every time she and my son visit from Charlotte they insist on going to Barsa.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

When the menu states to tell your waitre ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

When the menu states to tell your waitress about any food allergies and you do.

Then special attention should be paid to the food coming out.

2 of the tapas we ordered came out with onions on the side, they should have been NEVER been put on the plate. Then the Paella which was the main reason why we went there came out full of onions after we had EXPLICITLY stated the my wife was ALLERGIC to onions.

My whole dinner was ruined! we traveled from Myrtle Beach just to dine there because they made Paella.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

The service was great. We felt very wel ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The service was great. We felt very welcome. Very laid back atmosphere. The food and wine were excellent. I will go again soon and I will recommend it to my friends. I have never thought much of Spanish wine. Our waitress introduced us to a delicious one. Can't remember the name. It was at the top of the list of Spanish wines. Well worth the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We love Barsa. The croquttes, empenadas, ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We love Barsa. The croquttes, empenadas, and especially the Paella. The best part is the rice that gets to the edge of the pan and gets juse a little bit crispy. Great place for a date or friends getting together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Barsa for lunch with a friend ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I went to Barsa for lunch with a friend - there was plenty of free parking and the food was all absolutely delicious. We had various tapas items, all of which were beautifully prepared and totally yummy. Highly recommended. On Thursday evenings they also have live jazz 7-10pm and $4 sangrias.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stopped here for a quick bite after shop ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Stopped here for a quick bite after shopping down King for awhile. Barsa is a little far off King, but definitely walkable. We ordered the Patatas Bravas (great, could have used more aioli) and the Albondigas (lamb meatballs). Wish we would have ordered the croquette - but alas, we were trying to keep it at the snack level and not go overboard!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

This restaurant has great happy hours sp ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This restaurant has great happy hours specials on Paella and drinks. Everything we ate/drank was delicious! They were very accommodating when I group went from 4 people to 6, and our server was so friendly and helpful. The restaurant also has free parking, which was a great convenience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Splendid alternative in Charleston - awa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Splendid alternative in Charleston - away from the tourists, great food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unbelievably flavorful food! Fresh and p ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Unbelievably flavorful food! Fresh and perfectly seasoned. The live jazz band was a treat. Our sever was delightful! They even managed to mix up an off menu Pimm's Cup cocktail for me! We will continue to return over and over!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too expensive. Not enough variety. Too ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Too expensive. Not enough variety. Too loud when the music started otherwise fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We really enjoyed Happy Hour at Barsa, e ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We really enjoyed Happy Hour at Barsa, especially the great deal on their outstanding paella. Service and food were both excellent. The local draft list is awesome too. We highly recommend it for great tapas and a good place for groups.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went there with my wife and order the pa ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Went there with my wife and order the paella to share. WOW!!! The best paella ever. I read it takes about 45 minutes to be prepared because is made fresh to order. It took less. But the waitress was always paying attention to us while waiting for the paella. Once It arrived it was just beautiful. Perfectly made. The fish, shrimp and the rest were all fresh. When you go to this place you must order the paella.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding tapas at a reasonable price. ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Outstanding tapas at a reasonable price. Staff was friendly and accomodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Arrived as sun was setting behind buildi ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Arrived as sun was setting behind buildings. We sat outside, so pleasant! Wait staff very helpful. Have some Great and inventive tapas and beverages. On the latter, try the cava sangria. The most tasty, tasteful and relaxing dining my wife and I have experienced in Charleston. Oh, yes, we are going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Will return

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We sat up high at a high table unlike the usual seatings, and that started out our night on the right note. We were eye-level with the wait staff and could glance at the busy chefs at work. Sharing each delicious tapas and then the awaited paella had us engaged with one another in the best of ways. Knowledgeable wait staff. Recommendations for our first time visit was all spot on. The wine by the glass was too high by our standards, so we ordered beer on tap which was just right. It was a great night at Barsa.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had 6 dishes and they were all amazin ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We had 6 dishes and they were all amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Thursday nights!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We arrived late, but caught the last set of the band playing on Thursday night.

Our service started out a little rocky with mis-information about some of the contents of the starters, but all was resolved quickly. We loved the vibe here and the seafood paella was terrific.

We'll be back for sure!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The IN club for music and ambience in Ch ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The IN club for music and ambience in Charleston

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tapas and music

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The ambiance included inside as well as outside service. Inside, the music was loud but well performed and varied. Happy environment. Outside service was quieter but we could still hear the music, a better option if conversation is desired. The tapas menu was distinctive, well prepared. We enjoyed the small seafood paella which was sufficient for two. Chocolate tart for dessert was ultra rich; strawberry crisp delicious. Friendly service throughout.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.