About Barsa Tapas Lounge & Bar

630 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Barsa is a Spanish tapas restaurant on Upper King Street Charleston, South Carolina (Corner of King & Line). Spanish Tapas, Bar, and Lounge serving late night on the weekends! *Vegetarian and vegan friendly using locally-sourced ingredients.*
We are serving same menu whole day - seven days a week!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 12:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-5393

Website:
http://barsacharleston.com/

Barsa Tapas Lounge & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
South Carolina
Best Value
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Charleston ›

fit for foodies (41)
neighborhood gem (38)
good for groups (36)
See All
great for outdoor dining (28)
special occasion (24)
vibrant bar scene (22)
notable wine list (16)
romantic (15)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (8)
great for lunch (7)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

The pan con tomate was outstanding!

Dined on May 22, 2016

The pan con tomate was outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum!

Dined on May 21, 2016

We went here for lunch and it was delicious! Very nice staff and lovely outdoor patio!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

If they are offering the strawberry cris ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

If they are offering the strawberry crisp - get two!

food5
ambience4
service5

The music was amazing, but if you're loo ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The music was amazing, but if you're looking for a quiet Thursday, this might not be the place for you. The food was awesome!

food4
ambience4
service4

Love the back patio.

Dined on May 17, 2016

Love the back patio.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went early and practically had the pl ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We went early and practically had the place to ourselves. Wonderful experience! Delicious food! Will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place! Fun, great Tapas, wonderfu ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Great place! Fun, great Tapas, wonderful paella! Staff was friendly and efficient. Would highly recommend Barsa to everyone!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved all the small plates we ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Absolutely loved all the small plates we tried and the seafood paella was done perfectly. Very reasonably priced especially for the quality of the food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great value in Charlest

Dined on May 9, 2016

We happened to arrive during happy hour on a weeknight and enjoyed 4 beers and 4 small plates for less than $50.00. The waiter was very upbeat and attentive. We will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic tapas and cocktails

Dined on May 8, 2016

Really enjoyed the birthday meal with 8 friends. Great tapas, cocktails, and service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

A very tasty tapas option with very fres ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

A very tasty tapas option with very fresh tasting selection. Everything tastes great but I especially recommend the mushrooms they were amazing!

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Everything we ate was delicious. There ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Everything we ate was delicious. There were three people in are party and we decided to order the medium seafood paella. We had severfal tapas dishes while we waited. We had the croquettes, empanadas and the dates. Everything was wonderful. We were almost full when the paella came, so we took most of that home. I would suggest, if you have that many tapas dishes, that you get a small paella and that would be the perfect size. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Foodie find outside tourist area

Dined on April 30, 2016

Used Open Table to find restaurant with available table on a busy Saturday night -- so glad Barsa is near the beginning of the alphabet! What a pleasant surprise. Superb, friendly, and helpful service helped us with our tapas selections. All 4 of us rated the paella as the best we've ever had. Cheese-stuffed red peppers were outstanding. Mushrooms and the other tapas dishes we ordered were also good. Prices were quite reasonable. The restaurant is a bit north of the tourist area, but is well worth the short drive.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice selection of Tapas plates. The stuf ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Nice selection of Tapas plates. The stuffed dates were memorable. Excellent service and nice decor.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Barsa is a hidden gem

Dined on April 22, 2016

This was our first trip to Charleston and we found Barsa on Open Table. It was exactly as described. Great small plates of excellent food prepared with tasty sauces and spiced just right. We enjoyed the Shrimp, Calamari, Patatas, and pork skewer special. We enjoyed the Bar mule, and cabernet and chardonnay wines. The extra was free parking in a lot next to the door. The atmosphere was trendy and upscale with just enough laugher and talking to be enjoyable. We will be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A superb evening with wonderful small pl ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

A superb evening with wonderful small plates and tasty wine/beer. The paella was as good as it gets!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Basra is very good taps. However, they h ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Basra is very good taps. However, they have paellas, which take 45 minutes to an hour to prepare. When we ordered ahead on a previous visit to make sure the paellas would be ready a short time agent we arrived, we found ou that they would not prepare them in advance, saying they took up too much cook space to risk a no show! Very disappointing and misleading. On this visit, we offered to guarantee the paellas with a credit card--and they were ready shortly after we arrived. We'll go back but won't trouble them or ourselves with the paellas!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience!

Dined on April 9, 2016

We loved every minute of our time at Barsa. We started with drinks outside on their patio - nicely private and beautifully appointed. When we moved inside for our dinner, we were so impressed with our happy, knowledgeable waitress and friendly kitchen staff. The food was excellent!!! We loved everything we tried - especially the vegetable paella! Give this place a try - you won't be disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

So good! The croquettes and albondigas a ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

So good! The croquettes and albondigas are a must! For two of us we split 5 tapas and a small seafood paella. Will definitely be back!

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Best Thursday in Charleson

Dined on April 7, 2016

Jazz, paella and sangria are pitch perfect. A great way to spend an evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service3

The server was friendly and she did a go ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The server was friendly and she did a good job but we had five people and the food came out one dish at a time so if you waited for everybody to have their meal before you ate, yours would be cold. Also, we ordered Mimosas which were not chilled enough because the orange juice was not refrigerated. I saw it sitting on the counter in the bar area. I think they were new bottles that had just been opened but they would have been much better if they had been refrigerated the night before. There were not that many customers for Sunday Brunch and they had a fully staffed kitchen. I am thinking that this is standard procedure. Maybe a professional restaurant manager can change some things up because CHARLESTON has some of the best restaurants in the country therefore the competition is great and if you want to last you have to get with the program.

food5
ambience4
service5

Our server was great at making suggestio ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Our server was great at making suggestions, I cannot recommend the paella enough! We had the seafood one, and it was fantastic.

food5
ambience5
service5

Just wanted to say thank you to our wait ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Just wanted to say thank you to our waitress...I asked for iced tea which the restaurant didn't have so I asked for a club soda which they have, however, the waitress offered to have the bartender make me a non-alcoholic drink, which I really appreciated given that I'm pregnant and can't drink and all of my girlfriends were ordering cocktails! It was delicious by the way :-)

food5
ambience5
service5

We were there on a Thursday night when t ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

We were there on a Thursday night when they have live jazz. The music was great, but difficult to carry on a conversation while the music was being played. In the future I think we would sit outside on their large patio.

food4
ambience4
service5

Tapas are fun and delicious -- especiall ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Tapas are fun and delicious -- especially the beet salad and asparagus with crab sauce special. Flan and Crisp desserts are not to be missed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five Star Experience

Dined on March 24, 2016

We have lived in Charleston since 1976. Barsa's is our go-to restaurant for outstanding food, service, music, and value ... and Barsa's has its own parking! We highly recommend it for a great night out in Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

The stuffed peppers and empanadas were d ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

The stuffed peppers and empanadas were delicious.

food4
ambience3
service1
value4

We are regulars, excellent food!

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food here is excellent! We are regulars, however we had a very bad service experience this past time... the food is always great, especially the veggie paella, so hoping the bad service was a one time thing!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The shrimp tapas was our favorite. Highl ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

The shrimp tapas was our favorite. Highly recommend!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Relaxing atmosphere and very good servic ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Relaxing atmosphere and very good service. Got an amazing spanish white wine and was cooled to perfection. Tapas were outstanding, the specials are the way to go as well! Overall great experience!!!

food2
ambience3
service3
value3

not so hot

Dined on February 28, 2016

we made plans for an early dinner before a show. it was a Sunday and that might have been the problem. the small plates were ok...not as good as previously; but ok. We also ordered the seafood paella. It has always been awesome previously, but this time it was a big miss. the seafood was way overdone, the rice had little, if any of the crusty bottom we love so much and the flaovor was bland. We didn't finish the dish or take it away. If you knew us you'd know that is an indication of how mediocre it was. this won't keep us away, but if it happened again, we'd have to look for another place for tapas and paella.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

barsa never fails to please

Dined on February 28, 2016

we have brought friends, neighbors and relatives to barsa over the past two years and we always have a great time. they always spread the news and bring new people to share the food and we have not heard one negative comment from anyone. the tapas are hot and come at a good pace so that we are not overwhelmed with too many dishes at once. if you like paella, try theirs; it is made to order and tasty. it's not my favorite as I like to go with the tapas, but there is nothing on the menu that we have not enjoyed. and we seriously have tried almost everything they serve. the drinks are strong and reasonably priced so a night out here costs less than most restaurants in the area.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Paella!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Wow, the paella. WORTH the wait (though it didn't seem to take that long, recommend ordering tapas/appetizers during the wait). Not too much in the area but the restaurant on the inside and patio is nice. The special grilled cheese and spicy tomato soup was fantastic. Service was excellent and value for the food is very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the Tapas!

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

This was my first time at Barsa. My husband and I ordered six tapas, and all were delicious. Hard to pick a favorite, but the roasted peppers, broccolini, pan roasted fish and lamb meatballs were outstanding. Also tried the beet salad and grilled leeks. We're going back again this weekend. Barsa is definitely a new favorite for lunch or dinner!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night!

Dined on February 19, 2016

We really enjoyed ourselves and loved the food, live jazz music and sangria. Will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was incredible!! Awesome bar staff!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was incredible!! Awesome bar staff!

food2
ambience1
service4
value4

Not a tapas restaurant

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Very nice people and fine food and I would give it high marks if it were a diner. But this is supposed to be a tapas restaurant which it falls far short from in the way of wines and menu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SO good!

Dined on February 6, 2016

I have been here several times. It is always very good but this time was outstanding! The server was very friendly and gave excellent descriptions. The food was very tasty - stuffed peppers, daily empanadas, local shrimp and shrimp slider! It was the first time for my friend and she absolutely loved it! Can't wait to try it out on the new outside patio!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Service, food, and atmosphere are always ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Service, food, and atmosphere are always top-notch here!

food5
ambience5
service5

This place has a jazz band on Thursday. ...

Dined on January 22, 2016

This place has a jazz band on Thursday. Make sure that you order the paella early on.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.