Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 19 times today

Barsa Tapas Lounge & Bar

4.7
501 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Tapas / Small Plates
Top Tags:
  • Tapas
  • Authentic
  • Happy Hour
Spanish tapas with a southern drawl. We are open 7 days a week, and serve brunch every Sunday from 11:00 - 3:00! We source our ingredients as close to home and we are vegetarian, gluten-free, and vegan friendly.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Tapas / Small Plates
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday through Saturday: noon until 10:00
Sunday: 11:00 - 10:00 [Sunday BRUNCH 11:00-3:00]
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(843) 577-5393
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Poolaw
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Line Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We have use of the lot behind our restaurant on the Line Street side.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music with the Kings of Jazz every Thursday from 7:00 until 10:00. We offer seatings at 6:00 and again at 8:00. In order to accommodate we require all tables from the 6:00 seating to be returned to us no later than 7:45.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access
What 501 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.5
ambience
4.6
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Had the best experience at Barsa this past weekend. Service was consistent and tentative to everything we asked for. Going back soon.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

We had a Paella, it was good but not authentic as they discribe. The service was great but I will not go back for a paella.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Will be back for sure. All the food was amazing and our waitress was very good and helpful

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We had a favorite tapas restaurant in the Chicago area which we enjoyed many times with our family and friends, but had not been to a tapas restaurant in Charleston during the 10 years we've lived here until this past Sunday night. Although the menu was not as extensive as Emilio's in Chicago, the dishes we and our friends shared were equally tasty, and the white sangria was delicious. The prices were also reasonable, and we will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

I would recommend this restaurant. The food was good and they had a nice menu for both food and wine. Our waitress was very friendly but we were misled on portion size (larger than described). Also, we forced our waitress to slow things down as the the three items we ordered came to us in 5 minutes and the overall pace was to frenetic. Recommend you order one or two items at a time if your are sharing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

I love tapas! This restaurant was a recommendation from a friend. I’m a creature of habit and so I will always order patatas bravas when I can. Their patatas bravas looked great, the taste was OK. The calamari was paired with a cilantro aeoli which was a bit bland compared to pairing with a garlic aeoli (I requested some). Now the dish that blew my mind was their chicken paella!!! I tend to stay away from paella but my husband ordered it and insisted I try it. WOW! I could have eaten the entire dish.

Service was good. Loved the outdoor patio.

I will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Super reasonable prices and really delicious food! The chimichurri steak was amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Hands down this restaurant has been my number 1 since the day it opened. Im not a habit person at all, but this place has never disappointed me and my guest.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

The tapas was superb, with not one weak offering of the dishes we tried. The brussels sprouts were spot on, the grilled octopus and the hanger steak were divine.

The restaurant has a comfortable atmosphere, with a great music selection. And the wait staff was great, helping guide us through our selections and giving us some good options for surrounding nightlife after dinner.

Would recommend highly, just wish i found it earlier in my trip to Charleston as i did not get a chance to try their paella.... but now i have a valid reason to return to the city.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Such a wonderful experience. Great food and a wonderful staff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Just trying it out. Very pleasant experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We lived in Spain and had loved Tapas and these are as close as you can get to being there. Do wish they had garlic shrimp like the coast of Spain.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Have wanted to eat here for a very long time and it was well worth the wait. Food was great, wonderful ambiance and very good service. The foot of us were very pleased and will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Food is always great at Barsa. The ambiance is nice, but the music is typically played a little louder than it should be.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

They totally ignored my request for bithday acknowledgement. Food and service was very good anyway but we were disappointed that they didn’t recognize special occasion.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

1st time in, parking is wonderfully convenient. We ordered patatas and octopus while waiting for small seafood paella. Romesco with octopus was full of flavor, the 2 sauces with the potatoes were perfect accompaniment. The paella for 2 is proper portion but lacked flavor. We were served hot sauce but just not quite right. Rice needs something. Look forward to trying more from the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Second time at Barsa and I can definitely say they do not disappoint. The Patatas Bravas along with the Happy hour Paella are to die for! Great value, delicious food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Great atmosphere. Great waiter, Max! Skip the not-so-chocolate bread pudding. But don’t skip the amazing cocktails 🍹

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Great service . The food is portioned well and very tasty. Definitely one of our “go to” places.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The food was amazing and the restaurant was very accommodating. We came in a little early and they were kind enough to let us order of the dinner menu, instead of the brunch menu. Great food, great staff, would definitely recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Great tapas, awesome variety and yummy sangria! It's a nice break from the shrimp and grits, crab cake, southern cuisine that is so prevalent in Charleston. Something for everyone and VERY reasonable. We did not try the paella but it looked very good and popular.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 26, 2018

The service was good, absolutely no one else in the restaurant. They ran out of bread, and the tapas were ok. Paella was very bland.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

A group of us shared the shrimp dish, dates, empanadas, and a beet salad. We also ordered the medium paella upon arriving at our table. Everything was excellent. Plenty of food and a cocktail for each person and we left with a bill of about 100 bucks.. very reasonable and fun time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We had not been to Barsa for quite some time having eaten there not too long after they first opened. I was very surprised to see that their happy hour went to 7 PM and was every day. Four of us shared an excellent paella and several delicious tapas. Our server was very pleasant, attentive and efficient. With their own parking lot, Barsa is a very attractive alternative to the many excellent restaurants that we go to when visiting Charleston.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Third time here.
Love this place!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Lots of good energy! Thank goodness for the parking.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Truly enjoyable first experience. Individual plates perfectly sized. Excellent flavors. Looking forward to exploring more of the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

LOVED THIS PLACE! Will definitely dine here again when I'm in Charleston! Real Spanish Tapas! What a treat! Reasonable prices!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Birthday celebration

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

As my husband is from Spain, we have traveled back and forth throughout our 35 year marriage. We love Spanish food and always look forward to the authentic flavors of Barsa. We particularly enjoy the Jazz on Thursday nights and LOVE the seat by the King Street window. I also appreciate the lovely paintings with Spanish flair.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Food came out timely, correct, and delicious and service was very attentive and kind.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We enjoyed it. The food was amazing and so was the service! Very friendly! Menu was great - love being able to try a bunch of different things.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The small paella is sometimes a little burnt on the bottom of the pan, but everything else is great

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Went at lunch time which was wonderful as it wasn't crowded or noisy. The food was better than I expected, especially the grilled octopus. Ordered far too much but enjoyed having the leftovers. Would go back again especially since I discovered they have their own parking lot!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Food was fantastic. Great variety of options and paella was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Great restaurant with authentic Spanish food and good service. The only issue is the noise level mostly from the extremely drunk people.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 6, 2018

Though at the upper end of King St. Barsa is worth the drive- very good tapas plates and on a nice day the outside patio is a good spot to enjoy a unique meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2018

The food, service and atmosphere where exceptional! We look forward to coming back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2018

2nd time visiting Barsa. Fantastic food, great staff and servers, I definitely recommend for a date night. Service is actually unusually fast...we ordered drinks and a couple apps, then 3 or 4 plates all together, and we were finished eating everything in 30 minutes...no rush from Barsa, they are very welcoming and engaging...We've been twice and we will absolutely be back!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 14, 2018

My friends and I reserved our table for a birthday brunch. The location was barely half filled, so we figured we’d be taken care of relatively quickly. It took about ten minutes for our waitress to come and take the drink order. I instantly took that as a bad sign, but the guest of honor really wanted to eat at Barsa. Once we received the drinks, we asked a couple of questions and looked over the menu a little more. Again, our waitress took FOREVER to return. There were no biscuits for the chicken biscuits, so we offered rolls as a substitute. We ordered two “biscuits/sandwiches” and one poached egg sandwich that took almost 45 mins to prepare. The “biscuit/sandwiches” arrived, but my friend was informed her sandwich was made incorrectly and had to be remade. About 15 minutes later, the sandwich came and was still cooked wrong. We asked for the check and the manager came to apologize. We were told that the kitchen was setting up for dinner, which was confusing because it was only 2:00. The next explanation was that all the tickets came in at one time. Most of the guests in the restaurant were already eating when we arrived and about 3 or 4 parties came after us. The manager offered to remake the sandwich again. I asked if we would have to wait another 30/45 minutes and she replied, “Yes. We already have tickets ahead of you.” FYI, we seated across from the ticket window and the cooks were preparing an order and there was only one ticket in the window. The manager was very apologetic, but the waitress was so unconcerned about the entire situation. Overall, the food was great, but we will not be returning.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13