About Barsa Tapas Lounge & Bar

Spanish tapas with a southern drawl. We are open 7 days a week, and serve brunch every Sunday from 11:00 - 3:00! We source our ingredients as close to home and we are vegetarian, gluten-free, and vegan friendly.

630 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: noon - 10:00
Thursday - Saturday: noon - until
Sunday: 11:00 - 10:00 [Sunday BRUNCH 11:00-3:00]

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-5393

Website:
http://barsacharleston.com/

Barsa Tapas Lounge & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (22)
Happy Hour (12)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Casual (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
People Watching (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Authentic (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Family Style (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Spicy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Fun (3)
Live Music (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Healthy (2)
Cozy (2)
Romantic (2)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dancing (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
319 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The chicken paella was delicious and the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

The chicken paella was delicious and the roasted beer salad made for a great shared starter. Nice vibe in a moderately energetic bar lounge atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Barsa is consistently great. The food i ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Barsa is consistently great. The food is very tasty, creative, and amazingly for Charleston, not to expensive. The Happy Hour is outstanding with significant discounts from their normal prices. A real bargain.

This particular evening, the octopus, empanadas, seafood paella, and roasted winter vegetables were the standouts. Everything we have tried is good, but these were exceptional.

You really can't miss with Barsa.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Diamond in the rough. Went for a special ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Diamond in the rough. Went for a special event. Will return again and take a date.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Barsa brunch is definitely my favorite b ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Barsa brunch is definitely my favorite brunch in Charleston. The portions are perfect, the food is delicious and very reasonably priced, and the service is great and very accommodating. I've probably been 20 times and the poblano hash was so good the first time that I've never gotten anything else. Highly recommend this underrated brunch gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really love the food. I never tell my fr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Really love the food. I never tell my friends about food at a restruant. It is never the same. However this is one I reccomed over and over and bring friends. Very excellent in every way..OUTSTANDING.❤️❤️❤️

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I had been here before but twice had the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I had been here before but twice had the same experience. Service is spotty and food is decent, but not mind-blowing. Would recommend for casual friend-type get togethers. Not great for special occasions. Ask to NOT sit in the back by the kitchen/serving station. The lighting is off and the constant orders coming out are distracting.

Tags: Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Food was good. Wait or acted as if he w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was good. Wait or acted as if he wanted to be anywhere but there. I suppose we all have those days, but he wasn't pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

Bars a has been delicious every time we ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Bars a has been delicious every time we have been. The tapas are so good the paella is amazing. It is so good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arrived at 6 pm, on time after finding a ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Arrived at 6 pm, on time after finding a muddy rut filled parking lot. We were greeted promptly and shown to our table. This was a high bar table. We asked the manager if we could get a lower table, none were available. Upon seating, told us we had to be out by 8 pm because of jazz night. She was quite abrup and told us to request a regular table upon reservation! The reservation was confirmed by phone earlier that day and no mention of the above mandates!

The food wasn't good . The beet salad was salty. The empanadas too spivey. The meet balls ok. The dates were good . The paella was barely passable ( I lived in Spain for seven years). The only good thing was the Jazz . Find another tapas bar. This didn't live up to the quality of venues in Charleston

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

We really enjoyed the food here but unfo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We really enjoyed the food here but unfortunately had terrible service. Vicky (Victoria I think) did not seem interested in when we wanted to order or what we wanted to order, in fact showed no interest in our needs. We ordered a bottle of wine and three glasses and she put the glasses on the table, opened the wine and emptied the bottle between the three glasses. No offer to taste and each of our glasses had 1/3 of a bottle. We also ordered cheese and tapas meats and were not offered bread, had to ask couple of times for bread to be brought. Another waiter seemed to take pity on us and offer to get stuff. Vicky needs to find a new job.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

All the dishes were fabulous! The mushr ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 22, 2016

All the dishes were fabulous! The mushrooms with the fresh herbed goat cheese was spot on. We also had the roasted olives, baked dates, and empanadas with the final dish of paella with chicken and chorizo was good but the bottom was burnt so we ate around it. The flan for dessert was also fabulous with the fresh crisp apple to offset the creaminess of the flan. The live music just added to the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Best Tapas and wonderful sangria! We e ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Best Tapas and wonderful sangria! We enjoyed the entire evening. It was a fabulous array of food! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bartender offered great wine choices to ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Bartender offered great wine choices to pair with meal. We stuck with tapas vs. paella and were not disappointed. Great ambiance. Good place for a couple or small group. Service was excellent! Will definitely go back next time we visit Charleston!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful dinner as always!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Wonderful dinner as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was quite good. It was a little lo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Food was quite good. It was a little loud for my taste, but young adults would love it. The main problem is that Barsa is on the far edge of a gentrifying neighborhood. We walked two miles from our hotel to get there, intending to get a cab back. Our waiter did call us a cab, and he called again when it hadn't come after 20 minutes he called again to be told "it was on the way." After 35 minutes of waiting for the cab, we walked the two miles back to our hotel in rain at 10 pm. This wasn't the restaurant's fault, though it might be wise to cultivate a relationship with the cab companies. I realize that the cab companies are being driven out of business by Uber, and the lesson to us was to update our Uber app for the future. But patrons need to know that they are on their own for transportation. If you don't want to drink and drive--and we did want to enjoy our wine--then you need to plan on your own transportation because you can't rely on a cab.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Spicy, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The wait staff is extraordinary. The foo ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The wait staff is extraordinary. The food is amazing. We love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our go to place for good food and great ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Our go to place for good food and great happy hour drinks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The spicy chicken and herb croquetas wer ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The spicy chicken and herb croquetas were excellent. The octopus and potato could do with more octopus - but was otherwise very good. The steak was better than very good and satisfyingly rare. The chef made me a plate of naked (unbreaded) squid that was superb. The only downside was that we walked from the heart of the historic district and it was a looong walk!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall it was really good. However, the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Overall it was really good. However, the server asked us to move to the bar we cause we had apparently exceeded the time for a table. I felt embarrassed as I recommended the restaurant and essentially got told to leave. Not even chain restaurants do that. I am a repeat customer and recommend Barsa to everyone. But I probably wouldn't come with a group again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always - friendly staff, great food, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

As always - friendly staff, great food, nice variety of wine!

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service staff was very friendly and ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The service staff was very friendly and attentive. We got the crispy white fish and the mushrooms with goat cheese and both were very good. The only thing is that the place itself needs an update. The leather in the booths is seriously beat down and it just doesn't look as nice in there as it used to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was not authentic Spanish. The chef ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food was not authentic Spanish. The chef had never traveled to Spain, nor trained with any Spanish chefs. Paella was extremely salty, and did not contain the ingredients in a traditional paella. The patatas bravas were fried potatoes with cheese on them, more like potatoe skins. Not what I was expecting. If you have never been to Spain, then you might like this place. I can understand why others gave lower ratings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Our first time. Friends had recommended ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our first time. Friends had recommended Barsa. It didn't disappoint. Great selection of tapas. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our experience at Barsa. Our ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We enjoyed our experience at Barsa. Our favorite part was the dessert. The chocolate cake was so good that I will come back just for that. I wasn't too comfortable with the parking location after dark. Needs more lighting back there for safety.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

U should not offer everything paella and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

U should not offer everything paella and not tell customers it is $30 extra. $70 for happy hour paella with 5 shrimp, really.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, good value for the money. F ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food, good value for the money. Friendly staff. Will visit again.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had lunch outside. Had fish (bass) w ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We had lunch outside. Had fish (bass) with green sauce, piquillo peppers stuffed with Roncal cheese and mushrooms with goat cheese. Was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, knowledgeable and friendly s ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food, knowledgeable and friendly server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious and the atmospher ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The food was delicious and the atmosphere lively as the jazz group was playing. We enjoy this restaurant and will be back again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This place was an absolute treasure that ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This place was an absolute treasure that I found on a whim. We were down in the Holy City for a bachelorette ladies weekend and this was the highlight of our trip. It was easy to make a reservation online for the perfect time for us. Though, the ideal hour of 7 pm seems to fill up quickly, so don't delay on making your reservation for this awesome joint! We were walking, so we ended up running about 5 minutes late but a quick phone call was met with a laugh and a "see you soon". The hostess was so sweet and funny, I wish I had caught her name so I could call her out for being awesome. Manager team of Barsa, your hostess that evening was a perfect ambassador and an amazing beginning to what ended up being the perfect dining experience.

Our server that evening was Tim, who was hands down the best server I've had in what feels like forever. He was incredibly knowledgeable about the menu, made superb recommendations, and made us feel like we were VIPs. I don't know if I can rave about him enough. He was a delight and led us through an amazing experience from start to finish. He was incredibly accommodating when I pulled him aside to ask for to split our checks awkwardly (we wanted to treat the bride to be but also pay for our own drinks individually) but made magic happen and brought us champagne to celebrate with! I hate to say this, but I definitely think you should for ask for him next time you stop in...I probably will be.

Then there was the food. Holy cheesus, the food. It was perfection. Every bite was a little sliver of heaven. We each ordered two different plates to share and we enjoyed each one. Trying to pick a favorite was nigh impossible. The guys in the kitchen were on their A game that night and you could see the care on each plate.

I seriously don't have enough good things to say about this experience. Barsa, you're doing great! I can't wait to come back...we already are planning our return trip!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Organic, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, unique and different. We ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent food, unique and different. We were there on a Friday night and the noise level was very high, so just be aware. Service was outstanding - patient, fun, easygoing and attentive but not overly so. They were there to pick up plates as soon as they were empty!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Loved our time at Barsa! It was my mom's ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Loved our time at Barsa! It was my mom's birthday and coordinating with the whole family was a bit of feat. Their staff took everything in stride, and made our dinner a fun and delicious event. Would recommend for any occasion!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best paella ever!! Went to Spain las ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The best paella ever!! Went to Spain last month and this place may even be better. Overall very good. Def recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

lovely lunch outside with a great select ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 21, 2016

lovely lunch outside with a great selection of tappas plates, all delicious, served by a kind and upbeat waitress

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding, simply outstanding food and ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Outstanding, simply outstanding food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and good service...noise level ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Good food and good service...noise level inside is horrendous!! There is a nice looking patio so if the weather is good I would suggest using that option.

Tags: Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent tapas, paella at very fair pri ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Excellent tapas, paella at very fair prices. Extensive wine list, not expensive. Not a place for a quick bite, go for a slow, relaxed meal.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very loud but food was great

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Very loud but food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoyed out tapas dinne ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 29, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed out tapas dinner very much. There were more things we wanted to try so we'll be back for sure. The jazz band was excellent. Our server was very helpful in navigating the wine list. For dessert, my husband had the tawny port and proclaimed it de-lish!

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Very spacious bar, prompt service, exten ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Very spacious bar, prompt service, extensive tapas menu. try the paella. takes a while to make but worth it. live music on Thursdays.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.