About Barsa Tapas Lounge & Bar

630 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Spanish tapas with a southern drawl. We are open 7 days a week, and serve brunch every Sunday from 11:00 - 3:00! We source our ingredients as close to home and we are vegetarian, gluten-free, and vegan friendly.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: noon - 10:00
Thursday - Saturday: noon - until
Sunday: 11:00 - 10:00 [Sunday BRUNCH 11:00-3:00]

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-5393

Website:
http://barsacharleston.com/

Barsa Tapas Lounge & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
South Carolina
Best Value
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Charleston ›

fit for foodies (53)
neighborhood gem (50)
good for groups (48)
See All
great for outdoor dining (34)
special occasion (32)
vibrant bar scene (23)
notable wine list (20)
hot spot (20)
romantic (19)
late-night find (11)
great for lunch (10)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food; all six of us shared in ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food; all six of us shared in many different plates, and enjoyed each one. Paella is wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our second time dining at Barsa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our second time dining at Barsa and it was just as good as our first experience in April . I recognized one of the waitresses as being the hostess from our last visit. In a college town it's good to see some of the same people working during the summer. Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgable about the menu. We ordered lots of dishes and shared them all. The calamari was one of the tables favorites, everyone commented it's tenderness. We also had smoked pork empanadas which had great flavor.

The food at Barsa is high quality and reasonably priced I would definitely recommend this to everyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Barsa is a fun experience, the food is o ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Barsa is a fun experience, the food is outstanding and the lively crowd makes it interesting.

The seafood pallela is the very best and we love so many other of the tapas style foods we tend to over order! Its a very social way to dine because we usually share all the items and they come out of the kitchen as they are done.

We have introduced many friends to Barsa, and they all love the experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

A good experience overall. Wish we had t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

A good experience overall. Wish we had time for paella but had to catch a movie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great tapas restaurant offering good s ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

A great tapas restaurant offering good service, great food, and laid back eclectic atmosphere. Really cool live jazz on Thursdays.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Have been here many times and the food i ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Have been here many times and the food is always wonderful. My daughter-in-law's favorite restaurant, every time she and my son visit from Charlotte they insist on going to Barsa.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

When the menu states to tell your waitre ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

When the menu states to tell your waitress about any food allergies and you do.

Then special attention should be paid to the food coming out.

2 of the tapas we ordered came out with onions on the side, they should have been NEVER been put on the plate. Then the Paella which was the main reason why we went there came out full of onions after we had EXPLICITLY stated the my wife was ALLERGIC to onions.

My whole dinner was ruined! we traveled from Myrtle Beach just to dine there because they made Paella.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

The service was great. We felt very wel ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The service was great. We felt very welcome. Very laid back atmosphere. The food and wine were excellent. I will go again soon and I will recommend it to my friends. I have never thought much of Spanish wine. Our waitress introduced us to a delicious one. Can't remember the name. It was at the top of the list of Spanish wines. Well worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We love Barsa. The croquttes, empenadas, ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We love Barsa. The croquttes, empenadas, and especially the Paella. The best part is the rice that gets to the edge of the pan and gets juse a little bit crispy. Great place for a date or friends getting together.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Barsa for lunch with a friend ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I went to Barsa for lunch with a friend - there was plenty of free parking and the food was all absolutely delicious. We had various tapas items, all of which were beautifully prepared and totally yummy. Highly recommended. On Thursday evenings they also have live jazz 7-10pm and $4 sangrias.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stopped here for a quick bite after shop ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Stopped here for a quick bite after shopping down King for awhile. Barsa is a little far off King, but definitely walkable. We ordered the Patatas Bravas (great, could have used more aioli) and the Albondigas (lamb meatballs). Wish we would have ordered the croquette - but alas, we were trying to keep it at the snack level and not go overboard!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

This restaurant has great happy hours sp ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This restaurant has great happy hours specials on Paella and drinks. Everything we ate/drank was delicious! They were very accommodating when I group went from 4 people to 6, and our server was so friendly and helpful. The restaurant also has free parking, which was a great convenience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Splendid alternative in Charleston - awa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Splendid alternative in Charleston - away from the tourists, great food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unbelievably flavorful food! Fresh and p ...

 
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Unbelievably flavorful food! Fresh and perfectly seasoned. The live jazz band was a treat. Our sever was delightful! They even managed to mix up an off menu Pimm's Cup cocktail for me! We will continue to return over and over!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too expensive. Not enough variety. Too ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Too expensive. Not enough variety. Too loud when the music started otherwise fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We really enjoyed Happy Hour at Barsa, e ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We really enjoyed Happy Hour at Barsa, especially the great deal on their outstanding paella. Service and food were both excellent. The local draft list is awesome too. We highly recommend it for great tapas and a good place for groups.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went there with my wife and order the pa ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Went there with my wife and order the paella to share. WOW!!! The best paella ever. I read it takes about 45 minutes to be prepared because is made fresh to order. It took less. But the waitress was always paying attention to us while waiting for the paella. Once It arrived it was just beautiful. Perfectly made. The fish, shrimp and the rest were all fresh. When you go to this place you must order the paella.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding tapas at a reasonable price. ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Outstanding tapas at a reasonable price. Staff was friendly and accomodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Arrived as sun was setting behind buildi ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Arrived as sun was setting behind buildings. We sat outside, so pleasant! Wait staff very helpful. Have some Great and inventive tapas and beverages. On the latter, try the cava sangria. The most tasty, tasteful and relaxing dining my wife and I have experienced in Charleston. Oh, yes, we are going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Will return

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We sat up high at a high table unlike the usual seatings, and that started out our night on the right note. We were eye-level with the wait staff and could glance at the busy chefs at work. Sharing each delicious tapas and then the awaited paella had us engaged with one another in the best of ways. Knowledgeable wait staff. Recommendations for our first time visit was all spot on. The wine by the glass was too high by our standards, so we ordered beer on tap which was just right. It was a great night at Barsa.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had 6 dishes and they were all amazin ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We had 6 dishes and they were all amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Thursday nights!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We arrived late, but caught the last set of the band playing on Thursday night.

Our service started out a little rocky with mis-information about some of the contents of the starters, but all was resolved quickly. We loved the vibe here and the seafood paella was terrific.

We'll be back for sure!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The IN club for music and ambience in Ch ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The IN club for music and ambience in Charleston

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tapas and music

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The ambiance included inside as well as outside service. Inside, the music was loud but well performed and varied. Happy environment. Outside service was quieter but we could still hear the music, a better option if conversation is desired. The tapas menu was distinctive, well prepared. We enjoyed the small seafood paella which was sufficient for two. Chocolate tart for dessert was ultra rich; strawberry crisp delicious. Friendly service throughout.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great tapas bar

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Waitress was very helpful suggesting specialities. Had a very nice experience

of tapas tastings. Unique and fresh ingredients. Would definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Updates

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Barsa has never let me down whenever I visit Charleston. Definitely a go-to in Charleston. The paella was amazing and the dates were still unbelievable. The only thing that was different was that they do not sell sangria by the pitcher anymore. Other than that, it was a really good time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting tapas with a low country flair

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We ate inside in the dark yet open, high ceilings atmosphere since it was a bit warm outside. Shaded patio dining is available. Ordered the vegetable paella first thing since it is cooked when ordered and takes almost 45 minutes. They have meat and seafood paella too. Nice bar selection so we started with a Barsa Mule and red sangria, both of which were yummy. Ordered small plates of wreck fish (our least favorite), shrimp, leeks, and bread with tomato spread and cheese (delicious). Our food came out in a good order and we also tried the white sangria, which was very refreshing on a hot day. Good and helpful service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed the vegetarian paella and lot ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We enjoyed the vegetarian paella and lots of tapas. Our favorites were the dates and stuffed peppers. The jazz is always great on Thursdays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The pan con tomate was outstanding!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The pan con tomate was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Yum!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We went here for lunch and it was delicious! Very nice staff and lovely outdoor patio!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If they are offering the strawberry cris ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

If they are offering the strawberry crisp - get two!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The music was amazing, but if you're loo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The music was amazing, but if you're looking for a quiet Thursday, this might not be the place for you. The food was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love the back patio.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Love the back patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We went early and practically had the pl ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

We went early and practically had the place to ourselves. Wonderful experience! Delicious food! Will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place! Fun, great Tapas, wonderfu ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Great place! Fun, great Tapas, wonderful paella! Staff was friendly and efficient. Would highly recommend Barsa to everyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Happy Hours

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Enjoy the Paiea specials during HH - and love that they have their own parking lot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Absolutely loved all the small plates we ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Absolutely loved all the small plates we tried and the seafood paella was done perfectly. Very reasonably priced especially for the quality of the food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great value in Charlest

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We happened to arrive during happy hour on a weeknight and enjoyed 4 beers and 4 small plates for less than $50.00. The waiter was very upbeat and attentive. We will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic tapas and cocktails

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Really enjoyed the birthday meal with 8 friends. Great tapas, cocktails, and service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A very tasty tapas option with very fres ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

A very tasty tapas option with very fresh tasting selection. Everything tastes great but I especially recommend the mushrooms they were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.