About Barsa Tapas Lounge & Bar

630 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Spanish tapas with a southern drawl. We are open 7 days a week, and serve brunch every Sunday from 11:00 - 3:00! We source our ingredients as close to home and we are vegetarian, gluten-free, and vegan friendly.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: noon - 10:00
Thursday - Saturday: noon - until
Sunday: 11:00 - 10:00 [Sunday BRUNCH 11:00-3:00]

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-5393

Website:
http://barsacharleston.com/

Barsa Tapas Lounge & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (27)
Casual (14)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Happy Hour (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Authentic (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Romantic (7)
People Watching (6)
Healthy (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fun (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Family Style (4)
Live Music (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Cozy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Business Meals (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dancing (1)
Historic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
336 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Vibrant scene, food was great, however o ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined a day ago

Vibrant scene, food was great, however our waiter seemed annoyed when we kept ordering more food and wine. It's a tapas restaurant, so I would think he would be used to people putting in multiple orders. We spent $120.00 between 2 people , and I would have giving 5 stars but the waiter needs to learn some better customer service skills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was delicious & the jazz perfor ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was delicious & the jazz performance was exceptionally great!!!

Tags: Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hangar steak tapas was one of our fa ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

The hangar steak tapas was one of our favorite starts and we couldn't resist both types of paella. Try the Tia Maria as an after dinner dessert wine. Delicious spot!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing. My friends were im ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was amazing. My friends were impressed by the menu options and delighted by the freshness of the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Casual, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was great. The wine was excellent and the price adequate. The only issue I had is that the upholstery on the bench is in bad shape and torn. A too restaurant should pay attention to details such as these. I would recommend it and go there again myself.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My new favorite spot in Charleston. Amaz ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My new favorite spot in Charleston. Amazing food and great wine. Perfect spot to eat with friends or family or have a date night. I will be back for sure.

Tags: Vegan, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, , Cozy, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I could tell the plates and food in gene ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I could tell the plates and food in general are made with expertise and care. Everything I ordered was flavorful and worth it. For how busy the restaurant was(Friday night) the wait staff was attentive and pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steve Simon Band worth the visit irrespe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Steve Simon Band worth the visit irrespective of the great food.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Been there several times always great f ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Been there several times always great food and service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our party of 3 enjoyed sampling several ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Our party of 3 enjoyed sampling several shareable plates including the chicken paella. The dinner was delicious and satisfying without breaking the budget. Service was excellent and we WILL be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Tapas, Special Occasion, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food and atmosphere were amazing. Cannot ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food and atmosphere were amazing. Cannot wait to get back to the area for more!

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Barsa is fun, the food is creative, it i ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Barsa is fun, the food is creative, it is very popular for good reason. People love the food, the choices of tapas, the reasonably price wine list and the friendly service. We go there often.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Casual, Tapas, Good for Groups, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place but this time had a rese ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Love this place but this time had a reservation that ran 45 minutes past our seat time . Also, the music was so loud that you could not even yell to the person sitting next to you and we had a table next to the entrance to the restroom. Waitress disappeared a few times. The food was good. That did not suffer and it was ready and hot.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value4

We went with a party of 6 people to this ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We went with a party of 6 people to this restaurant on a Thursday night. I picked Barsa because I read about it on OpenTable. I do not live in Charleston and didn't realize it was Jazz night. Some of our party had been there before. We get seated ordered drinks, and asked the waitress, Jen, if we could put in an order for paella, since it takes a while and we were all hungry. She immediately makes it know that we would need to order more than paella. Strange, its a tapas restaurant and we were eating and drinking. Jen could not have been ruder, every step of the way. We ordered more drinks, 6 more tapas, and then when one of your guests wanted to order another tapa, we were told we needed to leave, they needed the table! I have never been asked to leave a restaurant before in my life. We had been there for 1 hour and 45 minutes! JEN definitely ruined the experience for us. Wondering if this was a Charleston custom, but didn't think so.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

My wife and I were in town for a medical ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 25, 2017

My wife and I were in town for a medical procedure for me and to visit our son, who is a senior at the Citadel. We all decided to try Barsa and loved it!! Our server was so polite and helpful. The food was fabulous, portions were perfect, all made for a memorable evening. We will certainly return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food as always, and can't beat ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent food as always, and can't beat it at the price. Still one of our favorite restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken paella was delicious and the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The chicken paella was delicious and the roasted beer salad made for a great shared starter. Nice vibe in a moderately energetic bar lounge atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Barsa is consistently great. The food i ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Barsa is consistently great. The food is very tasty, creative, and amazingly for Charleston, not to expensive. The Happy Hour is outstanding with significant discounts from their normal prices. A real bargain.

This particular evening, the octopus, empanadas, seafood paella, and roasted winter vegetables were the standouts. Everything we have tried is good, but these were exceptional.

You really can't miss with Barsa.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Diamond in the rough. Went for a special ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Diamond in the rough. Went for a special event. Will return again and take a date.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Barsa brunch is definitely my favorite b ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Barsa brunch is definitely my favorite brunch in Charleston. The portions are perfect, the food is delicious and very reasonably priced, and the service is great and very accommodating. I've probably been 20 times and the poblano hash was so good the first time that I've never gotten anything else. Highly recommend this underrated brunch gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really love the food. I never tell my fr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Really love the food. I never tell my friends about food at a restruant. It is never the same. However this is one I reccomed over and over and bring friends. Very excellent in every way..OUTSTANDING.❤️❤️❤️

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I had been here before but twice had the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I had been here before but twice had the same experience. Service is spotty and food is decent, but not mind-blowing. Would recommend for casual friend-type get togethers. Not great for special occasions. Ask to NOT sit in the back by the kitchen/serving station. The lighting is off and the constant orders coming out are distracting.

Tags: Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Food was good. Wait or acted as if he w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was good. Wait or acted as if he wanted to be anywhere but there. I suppose we all have those days, but he wasn't pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

Bars a has been delicious every time we ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Bars a has been delicious every time we have been. The tapas are so good the paella is amazing. It is so good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arrived at 6 pm, on time after finding a ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Arrived at 6 pm, on time after finding a muddy rut filled parking lot. We were greeted promptly and shown to our table. This was a high bar table. We asked the manager if we could get a lower table, none were available. Upon seating, told us we had to be out by 8 pm because of jazz night. She was quite abrup and told us to request a regular table upon reservation! The reservation was confirmed by phone earlier that day and no mention of the above mandates!

The food wasn't good . The beet salad was salty. The empanadas too spivey. The meet balls ok. The dates were good . The paella was barely passable ( I lived in Spain for seven years). The only good thing was the Jazz . Find another tapas bar. This didn't live up to the quality of venues in Charleston

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

We really enjoyed the food here but unfo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We really enjoyed the food here but unfortunately had terrible service. Vicky (Victoria I think) did not seem interested in when we wanted to order or what we wanted to order, in fact showed no interest in our needs. We ordered a bottle of wine and three glasses and she put the glasses on the table, opened the wine and emptied the bottle between the three glasses. No offer to taste and each of our glasses had 1/3 of a bottle. We also ordered cheese and tapas meats and were not offered bread, had to ask couple of times for bread to be brought. Another waiter seemed to take pity on us and offer to get stuff. Vicky needs to find a new job.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Casual, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

All the dishes were fabulous! The mushr ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 22, 2016

All the dishes were fabulous! The mushrooms with the fresh herbed goat cheese was spot on. We also had the roasted olives, baked dates, and empanadas with the final dish of paella with chicken and chorizo was good but the bottom was burnt so we ate around it. The flan for dessert was also fabulous with the fresh crisp apple to offset the creaminess of the flan. The live music just added to the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Best Tapas and wonderful sangria! We e ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Best Tapas and wonderful sangria! We enjoyed the entire evening. It was a fabulous array of food! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner as always!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Wonderful dinner as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bartender offered great wine choices to ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Bartender offered great wine choices to pair with meal. We stuck with tapas vs. paella and were not disappointed. Great ambiance. Good place for a couple or small group. Service was excellent! Will definitely go back next time we visit Charleston!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was quite good. It was a little lo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Food was quite good. It was a little loud for my taste, but young adults would love it. The main problem is that Barsa is on the far edge of a gentrifying neighborhood. We walked two miles from our hotel to get there, intending to get a cab back. Our waiter did call us a cab, and he called again when it hadn't come after 20 minutes he called again to be told "it was on the way." After 35 minutes of waiting for the cab, we walked the two miles back to our hotel in rain at 10 pm. This wasn't the restaurant's fault, though it might be wise to cultivate a relationship with the cab companies. I realize that the cab companies are being driven out of business by Uber, and the lesson to us was to update our Uber app for the future. But patrons need to know that they are on their own for transportation. If you don't want to drink and drive--and we did want to enjoy our wine--then you need to plan on your own transportation because you can't rely on a cab.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Spicy, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The wait staff is extraordinary. The foo ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The wait staff is extraordinary. The food is amazing. We love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our go to place for good food and great ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Our go to place for good food and great happy hour drinks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The spicy chicken and herb croquetas wer ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The spicy chicken and herb croquetas were excellent. The octopus and potato could do with more octopus - but was otherwise very good. The steak was better than very good and satisfyingly rare. The chef made me a plate of naked (unbreaded) squid that was superb. The only downside was that we walked from the heart of the historic district and it was a looong walk!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall it was really good. However, the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Overall it was really good. However, the server asked us to move to the bar we cause we had apparently exceeded the time for a table. I felt embarrassed as I recommended the restaurant and essentially got told to leave. Not even chain restaurants do that. I am a repeat customer and recommend Barsa to everyone. But I probably wouldn't come with a group again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always - friendly staff, great food, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

As always - friendly staff, great food, nice variety of wine!

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service staff was very friendly and ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The service staff was very friendly and attentive. We got the crispy white fish and the mushrooms with goat cheese and both were very good. The only thing is that the place itself needs an update. The leather in the booths is seriously beat down and it just doesn't look as nice in there as it used to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was not authentic Spanish. The chef ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food was not authentic Spanish. The chef had never traveled to Spain, nor trained with any Spanish chefs. Paella was extremely salty, and did not contain the ingredients in a traditional paella. The patatas bravas were fried potatoes with cheese on them, more like potatoe skins. Not what I was expecting. If you have never been to Spain, then you might like this place. I can understand why others gave lower ratings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Our first time. Friends had recommended ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our first time. Friends had recommended Barsa. It didn't disappoint. Great selection of tapas. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.