About Barsa Tapas Lounge & Bar

Spanish tapas with a southern drawl. We are open 7 days a week, and serve brunch every Sunday from 11:00 - 3:00! We source our ingredients as close to home and we are vegetarian, gluten-free, and vegan friendly.

630 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: noon - 10:00
Thursday - Saturday: noon - until
Sunday: 11:00 - 10:00 [Sunday BRUNCH 11:00-3:00]

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-5393

Website:
http://barsacharleston.com/

Barsa Tapas Lounge & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (41)
Fun (24)
Good for a Date (22)
See All
Happy Hour (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Casual (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Authentic (11)
Cozy (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Live Music (8)
Romantic (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Comfort Food (5)
People Watching (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Spicy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Business Meals (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
430 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Excellent meal! We enjoyed trying several small plates and a seafood paella. Dessert was yummy also!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Love Barsa! We went for brunch and it was delicious. Excellent service. Best shrimp and grits in town. Looking forward to checking out their happy hour!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Had a great time. Perfect for a date. The band was fantastic. Will me back for sure.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Live Music, People Watching, Happy Hour, Tapas, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great food! Good music on Thursday nights. Fun place to hang with friends.

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Fantastic tapas! Loved the Brussels sprouts and calamari. Also enjoyed the sangria.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Good food but way too loud inside for friends trying to talk. I sounded hoarse from shouting over the music the next morning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Fantastic live music! Steve Simon and the Kings of Jazz are great. Wonderful bartenders, Ben and Ben!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Our waiter, Kelly was the sweetest man and made our meal easy, fun and his attention to detail made everyone happy!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We had the seafood paella. I am from Spain and in my opinion it was very good. Our reservation happened to be during Happy Hour, so the paella was $10 off!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fun place, quick service, most drinks were good. Our group had some beers, some mixed drinks, some wine, some sangria, all were good except the house wine in our opinion. We had a cheese plate which we loved, and a veggie paella. We thought the paella was overly burned, as the predominant flavor for half the paella was char. The waiter said that was how it was supposed to be, but no paella I have ever had in Spain or Cuba was charred to an overwhelming flavor of char only. The part that was not totally black was tasty, but the waiter said that our paella was charred as they normally do it, so I would say expect to taste heavy char predominantly. That is what he said they aim for.

Tags: Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

One of our favorites for Happy Hour with their paella that is half priced and good drink specials. Went for brunch though, meals were pretty small portion sizes but tasty. Always good for large groups and good staff.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Brilliant service. Memorable small plates. Superb!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Food was outstanding, service terrific, fun atmosphere and incredible value!!! Our whole group agreed that we can't wait to return!

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

This place is a Charleston gem. Consistent delicious food and awesome happy hour prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great tapas and wine! Service and atmosphere awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We sampled 4 tapas; each was great! We also ordered a seafood paella. I thought it was overly salted. I've had paella numerous times in Spain (& elsewhere) and never experienced it being salty. I was disappointed by the paella; although, everything else was quite good. We also took home 2 desserts because we love to sample from all areas of a menu. The desserts we tried (flan and chocolate torte) were not exceptional. Overall, our experience at Barsa was very good.

Another diner commented on flies in the restaurant. Unfortunately, we also found this problem. The meal would've been more enjoyable if we had not been consistently swatting away a fly from our table.

In sum, it was a good experience. We enjoyed the meal, ambiance, and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was creative and delicious. Drinks were great, but We sat by a window that was full of flies and the blinds were filthy. Probably wouldn't go back because of this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food and nice place. Our server was great at the beginning but towards the end he was a little bit distracted talking to the bartender... it took us at least 10 min to pay our check, but besides from that, great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Always enjoy going to Barsa. Great happy hour and always get the paella.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Wonderful food as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Not our favorite place in Charleston, but certainly not a place for tourist. Seems like a very local restaurant. Although the food may sound crazy it's not at all. No complaints, but it was JUST okay.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food is outstanding first of all. Service was disappointing. 2 of 5 at the table ordered 2 small plate and 3 ordered 1 small plate and paella. The timing of delivery was terrible. The first round of small plates came together which was fine, but the second small plates ordered by 2 at the table came before they were finished with the first and at leat 20 minutes before the paella ever came. We fully undersyood that the paella takes 45 minutes but they should have brought the second round of small plates when the paella came. We also asked two questions about the cocktail menu and the server's response was he was new and didn't know rather than I'll get that answer for you. Train your people Barsa before putting them on the floor alone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great food. It's always great. Awesome service. Really great for happy hour.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food is pretty good. Not a great value, but hey, tapas are fun. Location is easy to park at, but there isn't anything else going for it.
The manager is either absent or dressed like a runner. Not terribly reassuring. This isn't Oak.
The big problem I have had is the little things. Example: there is (and has been for months) a huge hole in the ceiling. By the bathrooms. Like 4'x4'. You can actually feel the heat and smell the scent of old wood. It's odd, bordering on bizarre. The issue is not just that they are spending $100+ on air conditioning they don't need to per month, it's that there was a goddam fly bothering us ALL dinner. The server didn't really care. She was basically a gen-Y slacker. There is no excuse for having flies bothering customers like some kind of second rate breakfast joint while there is a huge passageway to the attic present.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Really enjoyed all of the many tapas we ordered, just wish they would have let us order the paella ahead of time since we had children with us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Family beach trip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Different type of menu. Enjoy it every time we go.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Jessica was awesome and so much fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Wonderful service and great foods! Seafood paella was amazing!

Tags: Tapas, Spicy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We went to Barsa on a Sunday evening as part of our "Girls Trip" and it was fabulous! We had been out in the sun all day and were pretty tired, but as soon as we walked in we were greeted by our fabulous server, Ted, who brought back our energy and made us feel at home. The drinks were fabulous and the food was AMAZING. We started with the shrimp small plate, patatas bravas, and a meat and cheese plate. There were 5 of us girls and we split the medium seafood paella and it was AMAZING! Everything about this experience was great and we would highly recommend it to everyone!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Always a wonderful experience! Great food! Great staff! Great atmosphere!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We are frequent visitors to Charleston and Barsa Tapas has become our favorite destination for an early meal - parking is free and adjacent. The shrimp and stuffed peppers are outstanding the former has a bit of a kick. Happy hour wine and beer and the discounted seafood paella are great values. A small paella is more than enough for 2. We will keep returning.

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Fantastic food, cocktails and service. Looking forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Too noisy inside, too many fly's outside, but worth it!!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We had very good food and excellent service while Thursday night jazz played! We'll make this our go to venue!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My wife and I always like to come and get the Paella. During happy hour the large is $15 off and is enough food for 3 meals each. Love this spot!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Good variety on tapas menu. Excellent paella.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Food is always delicious every time we go. Get the Paella!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

My wife and I had a great dining experience at Barsa. The food and service was fantastic. Our order consisted of the Roasted Beet Salad, Local Shrimp, Pan con Tomate and (best of all) the Chicken and Chorizo paella. All of it was delicious, but the paella was the topper. Tender, crunchy, flavorful - all blended together in a beautiful package. Great value for the cost and a nice lively atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.