HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 19 times today

Barsa Tapas Lounge & Bar

4.8
473 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Tapas / Small Plates
Top Tags:
  • Tapas
  • Authentic
  • Creative Cuisine
Spanish tapas with a southern drawl. We are open 7 days a week, and serve brunch every Sunday from 11:00 - 3:00! We source our ingredients as close to home and we are vegetarian, gluten-free, and vegan friendly.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Tapas / Small Plates
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Wednesday: noon - 10:00
Thursday - Saturday: noon - until
Sunday: 11:00 - 10:00 [Sunday BRUNCH 11:00-3:00]
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(843) 577-5393
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
What 473 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8  based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.7
service
4.5
ambience
4.8
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Charleston)
4.0  Dined 5 days ago

Truly enjoyable first experience. Individual plates perfectly sized. Excellent flavors. Looking forward to exploring more of the menu.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Charleston)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

Birthday celebration

Report
Helpful
TonyDiz (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

As my husband is from Spain, we have traveled back and forth throughout our 35 year marriage. We love Spanish food and always look forward to the authentic flavors of Barsa. We particularly enjoy the Jazz on Thursday nights and LOVE the seat by the King Street window. I also appreciate the lovely paintings with Spanish flair.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Orlando)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Food came out timely, correct, and delicious and service was very attentive and kind.

Report
Helpful
MarinaR (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

We enjoyed it. The food was amazing and so was the service! Very friendly! Menu was great - love being able to try a bunch of different things.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

The small paella is sometimes a little burnt on the bottom of the pan, but everything else is great

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Charleston)
4.0  Dined on February 12, 2018

Went at lunch time which was wonderful as it wasn't crowded or noisy. The food was better than I expected, especially the grilled octopus. Ordered far too much but enjoyed having the leftovers. Would go back again especially since I discovered they have their own parking lot!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Food was fantastic. Great variety of options and paella was delicious!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Great restaurant with authentic Spanish food and good service. The only issue is the noise level mostly from the extremely drunk people.

Report
Helpful
wbMTP (Charleston)
4.0  Dined on February 6, 2018

Though at the upper end of King St. Barsa is worth the drive- very good tapas plates and on a nice day the outside patio is a good spot to enjoy a unique meal.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on January 21, 2018

2nd time visiting Barsa. Fantastic food, great staff and servers, I definitely recommend for a date night. Service is actually unusually fast...we ordered drinks and a couple apps, then 3 or 4 plates all together, and we were finished eating everything in 30 minutes...no rush from Barsa, they are very welcoming and engaging...We've been twice and we will absolutely be back!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on January 21, 2018

The food, service and atmosphere where exceptional! We look forward to coming back soon!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charleston)
2.0  Dined on January 14, 2018

My friends and I reserved our table for a birthday brunch. The location was barely half filled, so we figured we’d be taken care of relatively quickly. It took about ten minutes for our waitress to come and take the drink order. I instantly took that as a bad sign, but the guest of honor really wanted to eat at Barsa. Once we received the drinks, we asked a couple of questions and looked over the menu a little more. Again, our waitress took FOREVER to return. There were no biscuits for the chicken biscuits, so we offered rolls as a substitute. We ordered two “biscuits/sandwiches” and one poached egg sandwich that took almost 45 mins to prepare. The “biscuit/sandwiches” arrived, but my friend was informed her sandwich was made incorrectly and had to be remade. About 15 minutes later, the sandwich came and was still cooked wrong. We asked for the check and the manager came to apologize. We were told that the kitchen was setting up for dinner, which was confusing because it was only 2:00. The next explanation was that all the tickets came in at one time. Most of the guests in the restaurant were already eating when we arrived and about 3 or 4 parties came after us. The manager offered to remake the sandwich again. I asked if we would have to wait another 30/45 minutes and she replied, “Yes. We already have tickets ahead of you.” FYI, we seated across from the ticket window and the cooks were preparing an order and there was only one ticket in the window. The manager was very apologetic, but the waitress was so unconcerned about the entire situation. Overall, the food was great, but we will not be returning.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Truly enjoyed the fabulous food!
Would highly recommend it.

Report
Helpful
vipJeff (Charlotte)
5.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

Absolutely consistently fabulous in every way! We visit Charleston every couple of months and dining at Barsa is like a visit with a dear friend: authentic dishes wonderfully prepared and delivered by a wait staff who know their kitchen and love what they do. Happy hour is a bonus; try to sit at the high tops or at the bar for the real atmosphere

Report
Helpful
Madge (Charleston)
4.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

I usually enjoy this restaurant, but I was deterred on my last visit when I was asked to evacuate my table after 1.5h of dining so that the next reservation could be seated. I was never notified that my reservation had an expiration. I regret making this reservation, because the staff made my party feel very unwelcome. I do hope this was a one-time bad instance and not the regular practice for those who make reservations.

Report
Helpful
vipDCfromSAV (Savannah)
4.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

This is a neighborhood gem: great paella (in three sizes and varieties) and small plates that utilized many veggies. Caiprinhas a bit strange in composition (too much ice, not enough muddled lime), but overall worth the trip out of the historic area.

Report
Helpful
vipBabs (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on December 20, 2017

Each visit to Barsa never disappoints. On our recent visit there was a large, loud group that made it difficult to have a conversation. Noise level is often times loud. We’ll continue to dine there!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charleston)
4.0  Dined on December 19, 2017

As always, the paella was outstanding - lots of fresh veg and seasoned to perfection. My niece who said she doesn't like peppers went back for seconds after being coerced to try the stuffed peppers. Empanada filling was plentiful and had just the right amount of spice to complement the venison. Mule, martini, and pink lady cocktails were delish. I suspect our server was new - never received coffee we requested with initial cocktail order, second cocktail order took forever, took too long to clear dirty plates, and he seemed to disappear once the restaurant began to fill up. No matter, we'll definitely return to one of our favorite restaurants.

Report
Helpful
vipFrequentDiner (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on December 9, 2017

Barsa is one of the best values in Charleston these days. Four of us for dinner was under $100 (not including tip) although alcohol was very minimal for the group. Small plates are still big enough for sharing and even small paella was enough with everything else. We didn't have room for dessert which was too bad when we saw the flan on the next table. We plan to make this a more frequent stop.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
24