About Barsa Tapas Lounge & Bar

630 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Spanish tapas with a southern drawl. We are open 7 days a week, and serve brunch every Sunday from 11:00 - 3:00! We source our ingredients as close to home and we are vegetarian, gluten-free, and vegan friendly.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: noon - 10:00
Thursday - Saturday: noon - until
Sunday: 11:00 - 10:00 [Sunday BRUNCH 11:00-3:00]

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-5393

Website:
http://barsacharleston.com/

Barsa Tapas Lounge & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
South Carolina
Best Food
Charleston
Best Value
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Charleston ›

Neighborhood Gem (14)
Tapas (14)
Happy Hour (14)
See All
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Authentic (6)
Fun (6)
Casual (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Live Music (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Family Style (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Cozy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
291 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed our experience at Barsa. Our ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We enjoyed our experience at Barsa. Our favorite part was the dessert. The chocolate cake was so good that I will come back just for that. I wasn't too comfortable with the parking location after dark. Needs more lighting back there for safety.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

U should not offer everything paella and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

U should not offer everything paella and not tell customers it is $30 extra. $70 for happy hour paella with 5 shrimp, really.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, good value for the money. F ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food, good value for the money. Friendly staff. Will visit again.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had lunch outside. Had fish (bass) w ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We had lunch outside. Had fish (bass) with green sauce, piquillo peppers stuffed with Roncal cheese and mushrooms with goat cheese. Was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, knowledgeable and friendly s ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food, knowledgeable and friendly server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious and the atmospher ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The food was delicious and the atmosphere lively as the jazz group was playing. We enjoy this restaurant and will be back again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This place was an absolute treasure that ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This place was an absolute treasure that I found on a whim. We were down in the Holy City for a bachelorette ladies weekend and this was the highlight of our trip. It was easy to make a reservation online for the perfect time for us. Though, the ideal hour of 7 pm seems to fill up quickly, so don't delay on making your reservation for this awesome joint! We were walking, so we ended up running about 5 minutes late but a quick phone call was met with a laugh and a "see you soon". The hostess was so sweet and funny, I wish I had caught her name so I could call her out for being awesome. Manager team of Barsa, your hostess that evening was a perfect ambassador and an amazing beginning to what ended up being the perfect dining experience.

Our server that evening was Tim, who was hands down the best server I've had in what feels like forever. He was incredibly knowledgeable about the menu, made superb recommendations, and made us feel like we were VIPs. I don't know if I can rave about him enough. He was a delight and led us through an amazing experience from start to finish. He was incredibly accommodating when I pulled him aside to ask for to split our checks awkwardly (we wanted to treat the bride to be but also pay for our own drinks individually) but made magic happen and brought us champagne to celebrate with! I hate to say this, but I definitely think you should for ask for him next time you stop in...I probably will be.

Then there was the food. Holy cheesus, the food. It was perfection. Every bite was a little sliver of heaven. We each ordered two different plates to share and we enjoyed each one. Trying to pick a favorite was nigh impossible. The guys in the kitchen were on their A game that night and you could see the care on each plate.

I seriously don't have enough good things to say about this experience. Barsa, you're doing great! I can't wait to come back...we already are planning our return trip!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Organic, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, unique and different. We ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent food, unique and different. We were there on a Friday night and the noise level was very high, so just be aware. Service was outstanding - patient, fun, easygoing and attentive but not overly so. They were there to pick up plates as soon as they were empty!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Loved our time at Barsa! It was my mom's ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Loved our time at Barsa! It was my mom's birthday and coordinating with the whole family was a bit of feat. Their staff took everything in stride, and made our dinner a fun and delicious event. Would recommend for any occasion!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lovely lunch outside with a great select ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 21, 2016

lovely lunch outside with a great selection of tappas plates, all delicious, served by a kind and upbeat waitress

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding, simply outstanding food and ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Outstanding, simply outstanding food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and good service...noise level ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Good food and good service...noise level inside is horrendous!! There is a nice looking patio so if the weather is good I would suggest using that option.

Tags: Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent tapas, paella at very fair pri ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Excellent tapas, paella at very fair prices. Extensive wine list, not expensive. Not a place for a quick bite, go for a slow, relaxed meal.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoyed out tapas dinne ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 29, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed out tapas dinner very much. There were more things we wanted to try so we'll be back for sure. The jazz band was excellent. Our server was very helpful in navigating the wine list. For dessert, my husband had the tawny port and proclaimed it de-lish!

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Very spacious bar, prompt service, exten ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Very spacious bar, prompt service, extensive tapas menu. try the paella. takes a while to make but worth it. live music on Thursdays.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent chicken and chorizo paella

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Excellent chicken and chorizo paella

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Group of 10 for my girlfriend's birthday ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Group of 10 for my girlfriend's birthday. Service was attentive and the menu catered well to a group setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Glad we made the effort to walk to Barsa ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Glad we made the effort to walk to Barsa from our historic district hotel. Tapas were excellent and very well priced. $4 Sangria all day Thursday's and Happy Hour until 7 pm made for great prices. Plus Jazz night on Thursday made for a fun night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We come here all the time and have taken ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 13, 2016

We come here all the time and have taken lots of guests. Everyone loves it!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little further from the central hub, b ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2016

A little further from the central hub, but absolutely worth the short walk. The Happy Hour is outstanding and you absolutely get your moneys worth. The service was great, they were really helpful in suggestions and modifications for allergies.

Try everything, its all excellent.

Tags: Happy Hour, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My new favorite restaurant downtown. Aut ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

My new favorite restaurant downtown. Authentic Spanish cuisine!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great new restaurant on Upper King away ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great new restaurant on Upper King away from everything. Graet tapas although some were a bit pricey. Live music on Thursday was a nice touch although a bit noisy for conversation. The highlight was the paella. Great dish which was worth the wait.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Tapas, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a great hidden gem on King Stre ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2016

This was a great hidden gem on King Street! Away from the bars, it's a quieter spot to enjoy a nice dinner that has GREAT food at a great value.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This place is pretty good, and makes a f ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This place is pretty good, and makes a fair attempt at authentic Spanish cuisine. We did feel like our severs were kind of rushing us out at the end, despite it not being very busy. I think there are better restaurants in charleston, but this one is fun to go to for what it is.

Tags: Modern Decor, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Megan Amey was the best server in the wo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Megan Amey was the best server in the world!! Very attentive and has a beautiful smile!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go here! We were so incredibly impressed ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Go here! We were so incredibly impressed with our meal. We ordered four tapas and a dessert. It was divine! Get the mushrooms and goat cheese! Champignons! AWESOME. We also ordered a jamon & queso board that included two meats and the blue cheese. Perfect! The empanadas of the day were ground lamb and the stuffed peppers were perfected charred and cheesy roasted red peppers. We finished off with pistachio bread pudding. It was an awesome meal. Our total came to $72+ tip with the food above plus two glasses of wine and a beer. We will surely be back! Fantastic meal, unique vibe, great service. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Paella is a must, worth the 45 min made ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Paella is a must, worth the 45 min made to order wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Barsa is one of our favorite spots. We h ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Barsa is one of our favorite spots. We have shared it with many friends. The service is always excellent - Glad to see Avery back, but Trevor and Carolyn and Michael and others are all great. We miss Jen, though!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is outstanding.... It's easy to ord ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food is outstanding.... It's easy to order too much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Food and it was a relaxing amb ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Delicious Food and it was a relaxing ambiance ❤

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience as always!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wonderful experience as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Late dining after an event. It was a T ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Late dining after an event. It was a Tuesday night and only a few tables were taken. Immediately, we ordered the paella and drinks and then a few tapas items. Everything was very tasty and our waiter was spot on.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a great place for happy hour: ni ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

This is a great place for happy hour: nice drink choices and a decent veggie paella. The service is very good: friendly servers who seem to want to please.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The broccolini, scallops, pork ribs, and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The broccolini, scallops, pork ribs, and champignons were wonderful, but the portions were skimpy, even for small plates. We made our reservation on OpenTable, but were disappointed to be seated next to the the bathroom hallway. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable, and thorough. The restaurant was very dim even though there was still daylight and the blinds were open. I like low lighting, but it would have been nice to have had the candle lit at our table and/or the blinds adjusted.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

Awesome Tapas and Paella! I've studied a ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Awesome Tapas and Paella! I've studied abroad in Spain, and their menu is a great representation of true Tapas and Paella! Plus awesome happy hour specials! And parking available, which is hard to come by in downtown Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun place, great food and service! Fave ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Fun place, great food and service! Fave place in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to Barsa with a group of friends wh ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Went to Barsa with a group of friends who recently traveled to Spain together. We all had a fabulous time. Both the food and the service were excellent! We all appreciated the free ample parking directly behind the restaurant. I plan to return for dinner outside in the courtyard when the weather cools down.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a nice meal at Barsa. Every time ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Always a nice meal at Barsa. Every time we enjoy a couple of tapas and then paella. Can't beat the happy hour.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and staff! My favorite re ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Amazing food and staff! My favorite restaurant in Charleston!If you have never been, you must try it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The tapas menu was excellent. So many mo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The tapas menu was excellent. So many more things we need to come back and try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.