About Barsa Tapas Lounge & Bar

630 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Barsa is a Spanish tapas restaurant on Upper King Street Charleston, South Carolina (Corner of King & Line). Spanish Tapas, Bar, and Lounge serving late night on the weekends! *Vegetarian and vegan friendly using locally-sourced ingredients.*
We are serving same menu whole day - seven days a week!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 12:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-5393

Website:
http://barsacharleston.com/

Barsa Tapas Lounge & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
South Carolina
Best Value
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Charleston ›

fit for foodies (54)
neighborhood gem (51)
good for groups (50)
See All
great for outdoor dining (40)
special occasion (36)
vibrant bar scene (25)
romantic (21)
notable wine list (19)
hot spot (18)
late-night find (11)
great for lunch (9)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
237 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant has great happy hours sp ...

Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant has great happy hours specials on Paella and drinks. Everything we ate/drank was delicious! They were very accommodating when I group went from 4 people to 6, and our server was so friendly and helpful. The restaurant also has free parking, which was a great convenience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Splendid alternative in Charleston - awa ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Splendid alternative in Charleston - away from the tourists, great food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Unbelievably flavorful food! Fresh and p ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Unbelievably flavorful food! Fresh and perfectly seasoned. The live jazz band was a treat. Our sever was delightful! They even managed to mix up an off menu Pimm's Cup cocktail for me! We will continue to return over and over!

food4
ambience4
service4

Too expensive. Not enough variety. Too ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Too expensive. Not enough variety. Too loud when the music started otherwise fun.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We really enjoyed Happy Hour at Barsa, e ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We really enjoyed Happy Hour at Barsa, especially the great deal on their outstanding paella. Service and food were both excellent. The local draft list is awesome too. We highly recommend it for great tapas and a good place for groups.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there with my wife and order the pa ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Went there with my wife and order the paella to share. WOW!!! The best paella ever. I read it takes about 45 minutes to be prepared because is made fresh to order. It took less. But the waitress was always paying attention to us while waiting for the paella. Once It arrived it was just beautiful. Perfectly made. The fish, shrimp and the rest were all fresh. When you go to this place you must order the paella.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding tapas at a reasonable price. ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Outstanding tapas at a reasonable price. Staff was friendly and accomodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Arrived as sun was setting behind buildi ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Arrived as sun was setting behind buildings. We sat outside, so pleasant! Wait staff very helpful. Have some Great and inventive tapas and beverages. On the latter, try the cava sangria. The most tasty, tasteful and relaxing dining my wife and I have experienced in Charleston. Oh, yes, we are going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Will return

Dined on June 8, 2016

We sat up high at a high table unlike the usual seatings, and that started out our night on the right note. We were eye-level with the wait staff and could glance at the busy chefs at work. Sharing each delicious tapas and then the awaited paella had us engaged with one another in the best of ways. Knowledgeable wait staff. Recommendations for our first time visit was all spot on. The wine by the glass was too high by our standards, so we ordered beer on tap which was just right. It was a great night at Barsa.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

We had 6 dishes and they were all amazin ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

We had 6 dishes and they were all amazing.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Thursday nights!

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

We arrived late, but caught the last set of the band playing on Thursday night. Our service started out a little rocky with mis-information about some of the contents of the starters, but all was resolved quickly. We loved the vibe here and the seafood paella was terrific. We'll be back for sure!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The IN club for music and ambience in Ch ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

The IN club for music and ambience in Charleston

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Tapas and music

Dined on June 2, 2016

The ambiance included inside as well as outside service. Inside, the music was loud but well performed and varied. Happy environment. Outside service was quieter but we could still hear the music, a better option if conversation is desired. The tapas menu was distinctive, well prepared. We enjoyed the small seafood paella which was sufficient for two. Chocolate tart for dessert was ultra rich; strawberry crisp delicious. Friendly service throughout.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great tapas bar

Dined on June 1, 2016

Waitress was very helpful suggesting specialities. Had a very nice experience of tapas tastings. Unique and fresh ingredients. Would definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Updates

Dined on May 28, 2016

Barsa has never let me down whenever I visit Charleston. Definitely a go-to in Charleston. The paella was amazing and the dates were still unbelievable. The only thing that was different was that they do not sell sangria by the pitcher anymore. Other than that, it was a really good time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Interesting tapas with a low country flair

Dined on May 27, 2016

We ate inside in the dark yet open, high ceilings atmosphere since it was a bit warm outside. Shaded patio dining is available. Ordered the vegetable paella first thing since it is cooked when ordered and takes almost 45 minutes. They have meat and seafood paella too. Nice bar selection so we started with a Barsa Mule and red sangria, both of which were yummy. Ordered small plates of wreck fish (our least favorite), shrimp, leeks, and bread with tomato spread and cheese (delicious). Our food came out in a good order and we also tried the white sangria, which was very refreshing on a hot day. Good and helpful service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed the vegetarian paella and lot ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

We enjoyed the vegetarian paella and lots of tapas. Our favorites were the dates and stuffed peppers. The jazz is always great on Thursdays.

food5
ambience4
service5

The pan con tomate was outstanding!

Dined on May 22, 2016

The pan con tomate was outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum!

Dined on May 21, 2016

We went here for lunch and it was delicious! Very nice staff and lovely outdoor patio!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

If they are offering the strawberry cris ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

If they are offering the strawberry crisp - get two!

food5
ambience4
service5

The music was amazing, but if you're loo ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The music was amazing, but if you're looking for a quiet Thursday, this might not be the place for you. The food was awesome!

food4
ambience4
service4

Love the back patio.

Dined on May 17, 2016

Love the back patio.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went early and practically had the pl ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We went early and practically had the place to ourselves. Wonderful experience! Delicious food! Will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place! Fun, great Tapas, wonderfu ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Great place! Fun, great Tapas, wonderful paella! Staff was friendly and efficient. Would highly recommend Barsa to everyone!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great Happy Hours

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Enjoy the Paiea specials during HH - and love that they have their own parking lot!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved all the small plates we ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Absolutely loved all the small plates we tried and the seafood paella was done perfectly. Very reasonably priced especially for the quality of the food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great value in Charlest

Dined on May 9, 2016

We happened to arrive during happy hour on a weeknight and enjoyed 4 beers and 4 small plates for less than $50.00. The waiter was very upbeat and attentive. We will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic tapas and cocktails

Dined on May 8, 2016

Really enjoyed the birthday meal with 8 friends. Great tapas, cocktails, and service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

A very tasty tapas option with very fres ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

A very tasty tapas option with very fresh tasting selection. Everything tastes great but I especially recommend the mushrooms they were amazing!

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Everything we ate was delicious. There ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Everything we ate was delicious. There were three people in are party and we decided to order the medium seafood paella. We had severfal tapas dishes while we waited. We had the croquettes, empanadas and the dates. Everything was wonderful. We were almost full when the paella came, so we took most of that home. I would suggest, if you have that many tapas dishes, that you get a small paella and that would be the perfect size. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Foodie find outside tourist area

Dined on April 30, 2016

Used Open Table to find restaurant with available table on a busy Saturday night -- so glad Barsa is near the beginning of the alphabet! What a pleasant surprise. Superb, friendly, and helpful service helped us with our tapas selections. All 4 of us rated the paella as the best we've ever had. Cheese-stuffed red peppers were outstanding. Mushrooms and the other tapas dishes we ordered were also good. Prices were quite reasonable. The restaurant is a bit north of the tourist area, but is well worth the short drive.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice selection of Tapas plates. The stuf ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Nice selection of Tapas plates. The stuffed dates were memorable. Excellent service and nice decor.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Barsa is a hidden gem

Dined on April 22, 2016

This was our first trip to Charleston and we found Barsa on Open Table. It was exactly as described. Great small plates of excellent food prepared with tasty sauces and spiced just right. We enjoyed the Shrimp, Calamari, Patatas, and pork skewer special. We enjoyed the Bar mule, and cabernet and chardonnay wines. The extra was free parking in a lot next to the door. The atmosphere was trendy and upscale with just enough laugher and talking to be enjoyable. We will be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A superb evening with wonderful small pl ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

A superb evening with wonderful small plates and tasty wine/beer. The paella was as good as it gets!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Basra is very good taps. However, they h ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Basra is very good taps. However, they have paellas, which take 45 minutes to an hour to prepare. When we ordered ahead on a previous visit to make sure the paellas would be ready a short time agent we arrived, we found ou that they would not prepare them in advance, saying they took up too much cook space to risk a no show! Very disappointing and misleading. On this visit, we offered to guarantee the paellas with a credit card--and they were ready shortly after we arrived. We'll go back but won't trouble them or ourselves with the paellas!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience!

Dined on April 9, 2016

We loved every minute of our time at Barsa. We started with drinks outside on their patio - nicely private and beautifully appointed. When we moved inside for our dinner, we were so impressed with our happy, knowledgeable waitress and friendly kitchen staff. The food was excellent!!! We loved everything we tried - especially the vegetable paella! Give this place a try - you won't be disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

So good! The croquettes and albondigas a ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

So good! The croquettes and albondigas are a must! For two of us we split 5 tapas and a small seafood paella. Will definitely be back!

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Best Thursday in Charleson

Dined on April 7, 2016

Jazz, paella and sangria are pitch perfect. A great way to spend an evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service3

The server was friendly and she did a go ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The server was friendly and she did a good job but we had five people and the food came out one dish at a time so if you waited for everybody to have their meal before you ate, yours would be cold. Also, we ordered Mimosas which were not chilled enough because the orange juice was not refrigerated. I saw it sitting on the counter in the bar area. I think they were new bottles that had just been opened but they would have been much better if they had been refrigerated the night before. There were not that many customers for Sunday Brunch and they had a fully staffed kitchen. I am thinking that this is standard procedure. Maybe a professional restaurant manager can change some things up because CHARLESTON has some of the best restaurants in the country therefore the competition is great and if you want to last you have to get with the program.

food5
ambience4
service5

Our server was great at making suggestio ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Our server was great at making suggestions, I cannot recommend the paella enough! We had the seafood one, and it was fantastic.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.