Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Barsa Taberna

Contemporary Spanish eatery housed in a designer 19th century building.

Our philosophy of contemporary Spanish cuisine has its roots in the traditional Spanish Cocina – meaning, tapas to larger plates that include the recipes and ingredients from the Iberian Peninsula. Barsa's menu is designed to also pay tribute the avant garde movement of the Nueva Cocina Española in what we call contemporary Spanish gastronomy.

At Barsa, art is not optional. It’s our salt and pepper, we think Gaudi, dare Dali and play Picasso. We are housed in a 19th century heritage protected building where internationally acclaimed designer John Tong has recreated the atmosphere of Barcelona, while paying tribute to the City’s culture and immortalized artists.

Barsa story and concept was derived by Toronto native Aras Azadian’s passion and inspiration to recreate the atmosphere and experience of his time living in Barcelona and his travels through the Iberian Peninsula

26 Market Street
Toronto, ON M5E1A9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Mondays: 4:30 pm to 11 pm
Tuesdays: 11:30 pm to 11 pm
Wednesdays: 11:30 pm to 11 pm
Thursdays: 11:30 pm to 12 am
Fridays: 11:30 am to 12 am
Saturdays: 11:00 am to 12 am
Sunday 11:00 am to 10 pm

Cross Street:
Front St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(647) 341-3642

Website:
http://www.barsataberna.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday nights, live Flamenco guitar performance

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the street or at the Green P lots south of Market street

Public Transit:
King Station is a short 3 minute walk

Executive Chef:
Justin Van Der Berg

Private Party Facilities:
Barsa Taberna offers a truly unique experience for private and corporate dining. Our management team including team of chefs are happy to work with you to create a custom menu and experience for your special event. Ranked Top New Restaurant 2014 Ranked Top 100 Restaurants in the world 2016

Private Party Contact:
Aras Azadian: (866) 306-0351

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Barsa offers private events and buy-outs

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:30AM - 1:00PM 4:30PM - 6:00PM

Mon - Tue 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Thu 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM

Barsa Taberna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (34)
Tasting Menu (31)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Romantic (21)
Authentic (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Fun (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Casual (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Cozy (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Business Meals (3)
People Watching (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (2)
Historic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Live Music (2)
Seasonal (1)
Scenic View (1)
Waterfront (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
448 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Seafood Paella - the rice was bland and on the wet side. Shrimp was cooked perfectly but there wasn't enough.

Octopus - yummy

Crochets - nothing amazing, doesn't yell to me to order more

1/2 price Sangria was worth it. I would not pay full price $50 for pitcher

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Cozy patio across from St Lawrence Market, excellent Sangria with interesting choices on the menu, food was good. Service was a bit slow, but staff were helpful and friendly. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Exceptional value in the tasting menu. We had the $40 option for three of us and it was almost more food than we could eat - and all delicious! The lamb shank has subtle flavours, the grilled octopus was tender and the cheese, ham, - all superb. The half price bottle of Cava just capped it off perfectly! Our server Crystal put together the perfect combination for us!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved the food, the chicken and cauliflower dish was top notch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a great time! Our server, Angeline, was amazing. Very friendly and accommodating. She made us feel right at home. Food was great too. I recommend the albacore croquetas ! amazing! good lamb shank too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

I haven't been to Barsa for several months. I always enjoy tapas. I notice that the menu has several larger plates which kind of takes away from the tapas concept. I guess some people are more comfortable with a more conventional menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We had a great time. The food came out promptly, and it was GREAT! The waiter was very knowledgeable, friendly and offered good recommendations. The patio is really cute and cozy for a small group or couple, it's also shaded (*), so it's good even if there's some light rain. Spanish food both authentic and reinvented.

You HAVE to try the manchego churros

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food selection was somewhat limited. We ate the beet and pear salad and lamb shank which were both excellent. We travel often including Spain. This resturant doesn't offer Sangria by the glass which is entirely unacceptable. After a little pursuasion we were given a single glass. It could have used more fruit. Otherwise they sell it by the jug which is fine if you don't have to drive. The outdoor seating and tables need a face lift or replacing. I didn't see too many authentic dished on the menu but what we had was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Great ambiance and friendly service. The pallella and sangria were amazing. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 2, 2017

What a great addition to our list of favourites. Very authentic menu with lots to choose from. Good specialty drink selection and specials Very nice ambiance a great way to spend the evening. Great food great service.

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Excellent restaurant, marvelous service from Alex and the staff. It was my dad's birthday, and we wanted to find some Spanish place classy as well as unique. About the food, super tasty well prepared delicious food, congrats to the chef every dish was new delicious, splendid meal!. We had a really nice experience with the tasting menu, a lot of surprises, good surprises on every dish and also great value. I really recommend this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food and service were amazing. Really enjoyed a wonderful evening at this restaurant. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great spot, amazing sangria and friendly service. Love this place and will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Love Barsa! The food, cocktails, wine and above all the food are truly wonderful! This is definitely one of my favorite neighborhood restaurants.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tapas, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Always a cute place just not good value on the food for portions. Go for drinks and just a few dishes as they have a very nice patio

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Sangria was excellent. We chose the $50 tasting menu Ate 6 dishes including dessert. the raw meat dish (sorry can't remember the name) was truly outstanding and would recommend.

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The place, the food and the service were good. However there was a drunk client in the bar (and this was Sunday at 2-3 pm! where I went for a family lunch ), he was being very disrespectful to the rest of us at the restaurant. He tried to pick up fights with my husband and my dad! The staff didn't do anything to kick that guy out of the restaurant, we were the ones who had to leave right after paying because the situation was getting very hard. For the reason I would not come back to this place and I wont recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Had a lovely meal for my birthday with my friends and family! Very tasty, the servers/wait staff were polite, friendly and wanted to make our dinner great. Definitely coming back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great service. Great staff. Great food. Thank you for the great experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Incredible service from a person who knew the dishes in detail and was very comfortable making recommendations based on our preferences. This was our first visit and we will definitely go back. Great food, stunning presentation and amazing service !

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great food, but the place is crazy noisy from poor sound design, plus the music was being pumped to drown it out. I couldn't hear the person sitting next to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Tapas are very flavorful. This is a high end tapas place. To me the chorizo sausages were the highlight ... like nothing I have tasted before and I have been to Spain a lot. But, everthing was delicious. Unfortunately, like too many restaurants today, it was too noisy. Can't hear the people sitting across from you.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 13, 2017

I love Spanish food, especially paella so when I found this place online I had to check it out. Barcelona is one of my favourite places in the world and man did Barsa ever deliver on an amazing night. I felt like I was back in the gothic quarters. The food was exceptional and the sangria was to die for. I could have had three more pitchers. We split the sea food paella and it leaves you speechless. It was so delicious with so many flavours, the perfect ratio of rice to seafood and a beautifully presented meal. We went for my birthday dinner and they surprised me with the most amazing churro dessert. I highly recommend this place to everyone I know.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fun, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My new favorite place. The vibe, the service (Alex) and the food were exceptional. Have not been this impressed in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great food and even better service. Would go back and try and fixed price menu

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Fabulous tapas. Extremely creative. Delicious. Beautiful presentation. Awesome wine parings. Friendly and accommodating service. Beautifully done space.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great tapas and sangria was deliscious. Wonderful cavelike atmosphere. Food was really creative and beautifullly presented

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Tapas, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food was delicious and the wait staff were great and friendly :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Had a wonderful time, our hostess was very helpful and knowledgeable, we went for the 50$ pre set menu and loved every dish!!

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The food and service were amazing. The lamb dish is a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Amazing food, we did the $60 tasting menu, honestly the best food I've eaten in Toronto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Beautiful set up, very authentic. Wonderful musician playing the guitar. Overall positive experience. Can do better on the tapas though. Patatas Bravas are very good. Other items were hit and miss. Glad to see such venue in Toronto at last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Good for groups/sharing, this is a fun spot for mostly traditional tapas with a few inventive twists. Several varieties of sangria are available by the pitcher, as well as a nice selection of wines and cocktails; a few of these, combined with the cheese and charcuterie plates and somebody of the standards like pan con tomate or patatas bra as, make for a fun evening with friends.

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2017

super evening the sampling menu was a great start ( food came a little to fast ) ,,, will surely come again ... best grilled octopus...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Had a nearly 3hr lunch with my Mom. We ordered a range of food, all for sharing. They spaced out the dishes, as we had requested, so that we weren't rushed through eating and talking. I will be taking my husband back there and probably a few other friends. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed all the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Lamb Shank is a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was quite tasty but portions were a bit small. The tapas were very pricey for such a small amount of food. The restaurant itself was very cozy and had a nice ambiance. We were a party of four for lunch and all though the place was not very busy, there was only one server for about 6 or more tables. Fortunately the server was pleasant but should have been honest when we asked if our order was enough for us four ladies. The gazpacho tasted okay but I think the chef forgot to add the veggies. The sangria was the highlight of our lunch. We were still hungry after our meal so we decided to skip dessert and cross over to St. Lawrence Market for some crepes.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was good. It's dark inside so waitress had to clean our table twice. Portions are on the smaller side so go with a larger group to share more items. Food is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was just okay, portions small

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The tapas were so delicious!! And the sangria was best we ever had! Service was great. My second visit, I invited a friend, she loved it too! I've been telling all my friends how good this tapas bar is.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.