About Barsa Taberna

Contemporary Spanish eatery housed in a designer 19th century building.

Our philosophy of contemporary Spanish cuisine has its roots in the traditional Spanish Cocina – meaning, tapas to larger plates that include the recipes and ingredients from the Iberian Peninsula. Barsa's menu is designed to also pay tribute the avant garde movement of the Nueva Cocina Española in what we call contemporary Spanish gastronomy.

At Barsa, art is not optional. It’s our salt and pepper, we think Gaudi, dare Dali and play Picasso. We are housed in a 19th century heritage protected building where internationally acclaimed designer John Tong has recreated the atmosphere of Barcelona, while paying tribute to the City’s culture and immortalized artists.

Barsa story and concept was derived by Toronto native Aras Azadian’s passion and inspiration to recreate the atmosphere and experience of his time living in Barcelona and his travels through the Iberian Peninsula

26 Market Street
Toronto, ON M5E1A9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Mondays: Closed
Tuesdays: 4:30 pm to 11 pm
Wednesdays: 4:30 pm to 11 pm
Thursdays: 4:30 pm to 12 am
Fridays: 11:30 am to 12 am
Saturdays: 11:30 am to 12 am
Sunday 11:30 am to 10 pm

Cross Street:
Front St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(647) 341-3642

Website:
http://www.barsataberna.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday nights, live Flamenco guitar performance

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the street or at the Green P lots south of Market street

Public Transit:
King Station is a short 3 minute walk

Executive Chef:
Justin Van Der Berg

Private Party Facilities:
Barsa Taberna offers a truly unique experience for private and corporate dining. Our management team including team of chefs are happy to work with you to create a custom menu and experience for your special event. Ranked Top New Restaurant 2014 Ranked Top 100 Restaurants in the world 2016

Private Party Contact:
Aras Azadian: (866) 306-0351

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Barsa offers private events and buy-outs

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:30AM - 1:00PM 4:30PM - 6:00PM

Mon - Tue 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Thu 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM

Barsa Taberna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (40)
Good for a Date (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
See All
Special Occasion (22)
Fun (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Authentic (18)
Romantic (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Cozy (17)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Casual (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Historic (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Business Meals (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Family Style (4)
Private Room (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Live Music (3)
Spicy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
377 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was thinking of calling the manager an ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

I was thinking of calling the manager and speaking to him about the horrible waiter we had. He was so rude and not helpful at all. Our whole group was really upset with the attitude we received from the waiter when asking questions.

The food was very salty and not worth the really expensive prices.

It becomes a bar so be prepared for lots of people coming in at the end of the night and doing shots while you are finishing your meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Amazing food, great service, but extreme ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food, great service, but extremely loud... terrible acustics.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Too noisy, very large party.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Too noisy, very large party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent service but not great food, th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent service but not great food, the paella was ok not great and some tapas are really poor taste.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice ambiance and efficient service ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very nice ambiance and efficient service. Food was plentiful and tasty and good wine selections.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband & I had a date night here rec ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband & I had a date night here recently. What a wonderful place. Had the tasting menu and the last paella course took forever to come out. They explained to us that the chef wasn't happy with the dish and wanted to make us a new one. They didn't charge us for it and brought additional drinks to us. What great service! We will be back for sure!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Spicy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our meal, everything was delicio ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Enjoyed our meal, everything was delicious! Just bit too loud but that's okay :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is an intimate yet lively restauran ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This is an intimate yet lively restaurant with excellent food and awesome service. Great selection of tasty tapas and wines. Lots of choices and great portions (we couldn't finish our patatas bravas, as much as we wanted to). The atmosphere is perfect for an evening out.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must-try and now a repeat location for ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

A must-try and now a repeat location for sure!! Really cool lower level restaurant in an old horse stable building with cool stone walls and original stable archways! Comfortable environment, super friendly and fast service! We went for brunch and had amazing choices of sangria, tapas (manchengo churros were amazing) and then had house-made chorizo eggs Benny! Best meal of the weekend. We will be back for sure.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food,very good service and rea ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent food,very good service and reasonable prices

Tasting menu was excellent

We will definitely be back soon

Thank you Guys!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

A great meal. Great service. Amazing fl ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A great meal. Great service. Amazing flavours and every dish was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food and exceptional service, ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Delicious food and exceptional service, nice spot for pre-show meal and drinks

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super good food, reasonably authentic. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Super good food, reasonably authentic. Very nice and clean, reasonably priced for the location.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Authentic, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the $60 tasting menu and it was a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had the $60 tasting menu and it was amazing! Our server asked for our preferences and any dietary restrictions and together with the chef, was able to put together a customized tasting menu for us. It was definitely a great value for the number and variety of tapas we had. The rose sangria was excellent as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful dinner recommended by Crysta ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 20, 2017

A wonderful dinner recommended by Crystal. Loved the choices. Romi was a delight to talk to afterwards and find out about the history of the building.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we had B DAY celebration, thank you for ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 19, 2017

we had B DAY celebration, thank you for the restaurant free BDAY desert

druns m were very nic e, nice creativem we love it

meals vere intersting , some very nice, but overall good

we missed more art creativity on plate as the wow efect

we were all in barcelona before, had experinced differnt tapas around the worls, so litle more art may be cool to have as presentation

thank you

Tags: Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This was a friends get together before a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was a friends get together before a concert at the Sony centre. The centre had recommended several places to check out before the performance. We picked Barsa because of our appreciation of spanish cousine. We could not be more happy with our choice. The taverna is located in a beautiful historical building and stylishly designed. The total ambience is modern and posh. The service is friendly and professional. All the tapas we tried were amazing. We ordered a sea food paella which was very good. Having tasted paellas in Spain, I would comment that it lacked saffron a bit, but overall it was great. Will definitely return and highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

As usual awesome. This has become one of ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2017

As usual awesome. This has become one of our favourite 'go to' place in the Market

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and delicious food. Will d ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great service and delicious food. Will definitely be going back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Tapas, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience in food and would defin ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great experience in food and would definitely suggest it to friends. Dined with someone who frequents many spanish resurants & they described Barsa Taberna as their new favourite.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Tapas, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

So I'm a bit ambivalent about Bersa Tabe ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

So I'm a bit ambivalent about Bersa Taberna. It's a really funky cave-like spot, perfect for a cold winter night. The server we had was really good. She was attentive without being in our face and offered some helpful tips on navigating the menu. Over all the food was competently prepared but nothing stood out. Price wise it was a bit on the high side given the quality of the food. Almost $400 for 4 people, with 1 pre-dinner cocktail each and 1 bottle of wine. You can eat at Cava and the food is several notches better.

I can't say I'd recommend this place for dinner but if you're in the neighborhood and want a pre-show drink and snack, I'd give it a go.

Tags: Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and ambiance is amazing!! It's ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food and ambiance is amazing!! It's tapas style so you need to get at least two dishes per person. The sparkling Sangrias are so good! Great appt for foodies!

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a pre-theatre dinner with fr ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We went for a pre-theatre dinner with friends. The reservation was recognized and we were seated immediately. Our server was very helpful and polite and got us through the longer-than-expected mid-range ($50) tasting menu in good time. All four of us found that the food was excellent - lots of variety, well-presented and great tastes. Our only complaint was that there were probably 2 dishes too many - we would have been well satisfied with slightly less food. But it would have been hard to choose what to leave out as the dishes were all great. We will go back and try our luck with the $40 menu!

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fantastic. Definitely recom ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was fantastic. Definitely recommend the tasting menu

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

great food, lots of options on the menu. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

great food, lots of options on the menu. authentic Spanish tapas. Wine list is ok, could be heavier on the Spanish options. the cavas are delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Tapas, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We enjoyed our visit.Food was amazing an ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We enjoyed our visit.Food was amazing and a lot!

We tried tasting menu.

We definitely will come back.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend the tasting menu. Allow ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Highly recommend the tasting menu. Allows you to try various dishes for one price. Family style. Provide as much information to your server about likes and dislikes, as they chose the dishes for you.

Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

There was a large group of us for a 50th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2016

There was a large group of us for a 50th birthday - loved the tasting menu! Excellent option for foodies, lots of variety, and plenty of food. Service was excellent, and they divided the bill in exactly the way we requested. Made for a perfectly stress-less ending to a great evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and place. Pricey but worth i ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great food and place. Pricey but worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I absolutely loved it! Lots of great var ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I absolutely loved it! Lots of great variety on the menu, and the food was delish! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great space. I was rather disappointe ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great space. I was rather disappointed by the high priced food and wine, average quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Nice place for tapas. Great service and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Nice place for tapas. Great service and yummy food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Came for a birthday dinner and the waitr ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Came for a birthday dinner and the waitress recommended the tasting menu since we had never tried the restaurant before. Man oh man were the choices by the Chef good.

Had a very enjoyable night!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service - overall a c ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great food, great service - overall a cool little spot in the heart of St.Lawrence market.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

2nd time at Barsa at lunch time. It's ve ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 7, 2016

2nd time at Barsa at lunch time. It's very quiet and the staff are just waking up, too. Three of us did the prix fixe ($25) and a 1/2 price bottle of white Rioja ($25 down from $50), so the price was right. Mains were delicious and the pinxchos were very tasty, but the beet salad was too sweet but the flan at dessert was a little salty. So, some hits and some misses.

The space itself is a gorgeous hidden cellar. Maybe a post-work tapas and drink is the right call.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

We had been to Basra on several occasion ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had been to Basra on several occasions and were looking forward to going again to celebrate my birthday. The sangria is one of the best I have had. Everything we tried on the menu was delicious. As usual, the service was also outstanding. We were not charged one of our desserts due to having to wait a little longer than usual for a dish, even though we did not complain. This kind of experience is why we will continue to come to Basra. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Tapas, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Interesting historical space. Food was d ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Interesting historical space. Food was disappointing. Octopus so so- rubbery overcooked. Croquettes heavy and doughy. Should have stuck to a simple cheese or charcuterie board

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent food and great service. The am ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent food and great service. The ambiance is so lovely. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time would definitely go back agai ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

First time would definitely go back again. Staff was helpfull explaining menu and food exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

first time in Toronto and picked it due ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

first time in Toronto and picked it due to the menu and trying tapa's - it was the best meal we had for the 4 days we were there and the waitress was very helpful and knowledgeable; she suggested the tasting menu and the sangria which was an excellent choice - it was tailored to our taste after a few questions from her and the table next to us did the same but had a few different plates brought to them so you know the meal was for just for you.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.