About Barsa Taberna

26 Market Street
Toronto, ON M5E1A9
View Larger Map

Contemporary Spanish eatery housed in a designer 19th century building.

Our philosophy of contemporary Spanish cuisine has its roots in the traditional Spanish Cocina – meaning, tapas to larger plates that include the recipes and ingredients from the Iberian Peninsula. Barsa's menu is designed to also pay tribute the avant garde movement of the Nueva Cocina Española in what we call contemporary Spanish gastronomy.

At Barsa, art is not optional. It’s our salt and pepper, we think Gaudi, dare Dali and play Picasso. We are housed in a 19th century heritage protected building where internationally acclaimed designer John Tong has recreated the atmosphere of Barcelona, while paying tribute to the City’s culture and immortalized artists.

Barsa story and concept was derived by Toronto native Aras Azadian’s passion and inspiration to recreate the atmosphere and experience of his time living in Barcelona and his travels through the Iberian Peninsula

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Mondays to Tuesday 4:30 pm to 11 pm
Wednessay to Saturday 11:30 am to 11 pm
Sunday 11:30 am to 10 pm

Cross Street:
Front St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(647) 341-3642

Website:
http://www.barsataberna.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday nights, live Flamenco guitar performance

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the street or at the Green P lots south of Market street

Public Transit:
King Station is a short 3 minute walk

Executive Chef:
Justin Van Der Berg

Private Party Facilities:
Barsa Taberna offers a truly unique experience for private and corporate events. Our management team including Chef Chris Mcdonald are happy to work with you to create a custom menu and experience for your special event.

Private Party Contact:
Aras Azadian: 8663060351

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Barsa offers private events and buy-outs

Restaurant Photos

Barsa Taberna
Barsa Taberna
Barsa Taberna
Barsa Taberna
Sangria Tinto
BBQ Pork Ribs
Panelle Frites
Korean Short Rib Sandwich
Barsa Fc Club Bocadillo
Sangria Blanco
Manchego Churros
Jerk Quail With Salsa Jamaica
Woodchuck Hard Cider
Sangria
Cumbrae Beef Tartare
Chorizo Tasting
Sea Bream Ceviche
Grilled Octopus
lemon tart
Iberico Croquettes
Braised Beef Short Rib

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:30AM - 1:00PM 4:30PM - 6:00PM

Mon - Tue 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Thu 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM

Barsa Taberna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (46)
Special Occasion (44)
Good for Groups (41)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Romantic (32)
Great for Lunch (22)
Hot Spot (18)
Great for Brunch (16)
Late-night Find (14)
Notable Wine List (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Scenic View (9)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quiet Conversation (1)
 (1)
Casual (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Tapas (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
292 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice place for a tapas-style dinner, tho ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Nice place for a tapas-style dinner, though it is a little pricey. Huge drink menu, and the sangrias are wonderful. Food was really tasty -- the ribs with white chocolate and the octopus were my personal favourites. And they surprised us with churros because it was my birthday!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Really enjoy the food and service. Looki ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Really enjoy the food and service. Looking forward to my next visit. Great for special occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The tomato water gaspacho was to die for ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The tomato water gaspacho was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our lunch on the patio ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We really enjoyed our lunch on the patio. Sangria was wonderful, ceviche was outstanding! In my neighbourhood and I will be recommending this place highly! Thank you as well to our lovely server!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great dinner at Barsa Taberna! good was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

great dinner at Barsa Taberna! good was wonderful, especially the grilled octopus and seafood paella. our waitress was really nice and shared all the flavours of each dish. would recommend and for sure go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely evening on the patio, great food ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Lovely evening on the patio, great food and great service. We all had different meals and everyone enjoyed them. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my wife BD and I order the $60 ta ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It was my wife BD and I order the $60 tasting menu. It was just unbelievable. Everything was good specially the meat portion and the appetizers. The seafood was great but not as great as the other two. We ate that much that we couldnt even eat our dessert (which was actually included ). One note, we chose not order Paella. As for the waitress, Crystal, she is from another world. Thanks for making this day that special :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I was transported to Spain. It was aweso ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I was transported to Spain. It was awesome. I recommend this foodie-find for everyone who are looking for a unique experience, spectacular service and beautifully presented food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little bit of Spain in Toronto! We ha ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

A little bit of Spain in Toronto! We had sangria and paella, and both were authentic and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing overall experience, but particul ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Amazing overall experience, but particularly great ambiance and vibe - feels almost like you're in Europe!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I gave my recommendation to the waitress ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I gave my recommendation to the waitress about the lamb ribs. It is best to remove the fat cap on the lamb rib. It's tough and not very good to eat. It still tasted amazing with the flavours!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Visiting Toronto for the first time. Li ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Visiting Toronto for the first time. Liked it so much went back again 2 nights later. Interesting and imaginative menu , especially if you like small plates. Also had the whole bass, which was excellent.

Conveniently located near our hotel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was tasty but for a tapas place ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was tasty but for a tapas place some of the dishes were disappointing. Grilled octopus dish which only had two tentacles on it filled with potato and cauliflower ?

Flamenco/Spanish music was not worth the trip on Thursday evening. It was nothing like seeing it in Spain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

a touch (or better, a taste) of barcelon ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

a touch (or better, a taste) of barcelona in toronto. a very creative menu, small enough to be properly managed but extensive enough to offer tastes for everyone. tried several tapas and loved them all. manchego cheese churros, savoury not sweet - eat them while they are warm - excellent. octopus was perfectly cooked. tasty sangria and a wonderful server. we will try a larger tasting menu next time and allow for more time for the meal. highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress selected items for a tasting me ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Waitress selected items for a tasting menu based on our dietary restrictions, likes & dislikes. Fantastic selection of dishes. Perfect amount of food. Everything tasted amazing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

As the restaurant continues to struggle ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

As the restaurant continues to struggle to define itself in a rather obscure, albeit interesting location it is increasingly apparent that improvements in service are needed. The menu is interesting and fun but far from outstanding. But having an outstanding menu does not make an outstanding restaurant. When the service is at the highest level the clientele will return week after week and Barsa will become that neighborhood gem it so desperate wants to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Love tapas, waitresses were friendly pro ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Love tapas, waitresses were friendly professional and know their menu well. Not afraid to give recommendation with confidence... great portions, great patio, great environment

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My family & I enjoyed our brunch at Bars ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My family & I enjoyed our brunch at Barsa Taberna. Service was excellent!

Price I paid from Travelzoo was incredible. Will definitely come back to this place again.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was hit / miss, but it was quit ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was hit / miss, but it was quite pricey. The tasting menu was just the server ordering dishes from the menu for us amounting to about (actually a little over) $50. That's not really what a tasting menu is, and the dishes came out two or even three at a time, which meant that we had to eat fast to avoid things getting cold.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Crystal the manager and Evan our waiter ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Crystal the manager and Evan our waiter were incredible. The service, food, wine and ambience was perfect! Looking forward to going back again and taking friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu and ambiance for lunch. Found ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great menu and ambiance for lunch. Found the lunch pastas a little on the small side but augmented with a great desert so all good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It wasn't nothing special Decent food te ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

It wasn't nothing special

Decent food testing menu 60 dollars per person got us only 3 courses the waitress was never around

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Couldn't have been better. The food was ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Couldn't have been better. The food was great, and we got to try a lot of it. Four out of our group of six did the tasting menu, and it was definitely excellent value and more than enough to justify the price per person. Highly recommend it for groups. The drinks were all delicious as well, and the atmosphere on the patio was perfect for a relaxed summer evening. However, the thing that really made our night was the service. Crystal did an amazing job recommending things from the menu (and picking out the courses of the tasting menu for us), and made us feel welcome and relaxed from the moment we arrived. Hard to truly describe what makes service so great sometimes, but every member of our group works in the service industry and we all genuinely appreciated how our night together was enhanced by the treatment we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

tuck away in the side st. of St. Lawrenc ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

tuck away in the side st. of St. Lawrence market. Lovely décor. Wait stuff and server are friendly and down-to-earth. We shared numerous dishes like octopus, chorizo platter, paella, patatas brava....all delicious. We shared a pitcher of sangria...it looks pale and as if not enough red wine...but man, it was so refreshing and delicious. Had churro as dessert....very very good...one of the best I had in Toronto. Can't wait til next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful tomato gazepacho and cerviche. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Wonderful tomato gazepacho and cerviche. 5/5 Squid ink noodles 4/5, Rose sangria 4/5, grilled octopus 3/5. Wonderful service 5/5.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent place and my guests really enj ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Excellent place and my guests really enjoyed. They were celebrating their anniversary and were looking for a place for Paella and good wine and we found it. Good service and excellent menu. I will be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are a bit disappointed with this resy ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We are a bit disappointed with this resyaurant. All i can say is it is mediocre. Sangria is expensive - a jug of sparkling wine with tons of water and ice for $25. Might as well order two glasses of wine n enjoy more. Service is not bad. Best is the

location at the Market.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Easy to use and book. I don't like the f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Easy to use and book. I don't like the fact that I have not received any points for the visit .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

As tourists in Toronto we wanted to visi ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

As tourists in Toronto we wanted to visit St. Lawrence Market. We noticed Barsa on Open Table as a 1000 point restaurant for lunch so decided to try it - and are we glad we did! Interesting combination of dishes on the lunch menu with all very authentic Spanish. Nice selection of wines that paired nicely with the entrees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Although the food is fine, it is waaaaay ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Although the food is fine, it is waaaaay overpriced. For its price, the food should be much better. Better to spend your money at other Spanish restaurants like Patria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We introduced two friends to Barsa and t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We introduced two friends to Barsa and they told us even before the dinner ended that they would be back. We all enjoyed the food, ambiance and service. The lamb ribs, sea bass, chorizo platter and octopus were our favourite items.

We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Noise level can be very high. Service i ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Noise level can be very high. Service is spotty depending on the server. I was not greeted on arrival even though I stood at the reservation desk and had a reservation. Overall I expected a better experience and unless I hear back from the restaurant I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Good good good ambiance Will come back ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Good good good ambiance

Will come back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

if the intention was to recreate the foo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

if the intention was to recreate the food and art of bacelona,they nailed it,fabulous paella,pleasant palette surprise with lamb ribs,server very knowleageable and interesting, Gaudi would have given the decor 2 thumbs up,can't wait to return,wine suggestion excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointment

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food quality is way overrated, the chacuterie board was such a disappointment, store bought quality at best, the iberico ham was mah , oysters were fresh(well, I expect nothing less) , paella, average, the service was acceptable , but all in all, I would not recommend to others

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent Spanish Restaurant

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is one of our favorite places - love to order the tasting dinner and be delightfully suprised with every delicious dish that comes to our table!

Love the atmosphere and the food!

Highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner before MeatLoaf

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I've been here before for brunch and it was wonderful. Went again for a dinner before a concert and it was just as wonderful. The food is unique and very tasty and the drinks are wonderful. I especially like the decor. I would highly recommend this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I have always been a big fan of tapas ba ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I have always been a big fan of tapas bars and this is a really great one. Love the location of the restaurant and the chef's choice menu that is always interesting. Excellent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Although we had a pretty good lunch, the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Although we had a pretty good lunch, the menu was small.

\not as good as the last time, no specials. like the 1st time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I liked the food a lot..it was interesti ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

I liked the food a lot..it was interesting, done properly and tasted great. My wife on the other hand did not particularly like the menu choices. Chacun a son gout..service was inconsistent-- friendly but they seemed to forget about us between courses and needed a couple of prompts. The outdoor dining was nice as Market St.Is quiet with little traffic at night. The indoor wine bar and dining area was great design, lots of natural stone and did capture a bit of Spanish flavour. If you like Spanish food, give it a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.