About Barsa Taberna

26 Market Street
Toronto, ON M5E1A9
View Larger Map

Contemporary Spanish eatery housed in a designer 19th century building.

Our philosophy of contemporary Spanish cuisine has its roots in the traditional Spanish Cocina – meaning, tapas to larger plates that include the recipes and ingredients from the Iberian Peninsula. Barsa's menu is designed to also pay tribute the avant garde movement of the Nueva Cocina Española in what we call contemporary Spanish gastronomy.

At Barsa, art is not optional. It’s our salt and pepper, we think Gaudi, dare Dali and play Picasso. We are housed in a 19th century heritage protected building where internationally acclaimed designer John Tong has recreated the atmosphere of Barcelona, while paying tribute to the City’s culture and immortalized artists.

Barsa story and concept was derived by Toronto native Aras Azadian’s passion and inspiration to recreate the atmosphere and experience of his time living in Barcelona and his travels through the Iberian Peninsula

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Mondays to Tuesday 4:30 pm to 11 pm
Wednessay to Saturday 11:30 am to 11 pm
Sunday 11:30 am to 10 pm

Cross Street:
Front St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(647) 341-3642

Website:
http://www.barsataberna.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday nights, live Flamenco guitar performance

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the street or at the Green P lots south of Market street

Public Transit:
King Station is a short 3 minute walk

Executive Chef:
Justin Van Der Berg

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Barsa offers private events and buy-outs

Restaurant Photos

Barsa Taberna, Toronto, ON
Barsa Taberna, Toronto, ON
Barsa Taberna, Toronto, ON
Barsa Taberna, Toronto, ON
Barsa Taberna, Toronto, ON
Sangria Tinto - Barsa Taberna, Toronto, ON
Korean Short Rib Sandwich - Barsa Taberna, Toronto, ON
Barsa Fc Club Bocadillo - Barsa Taberna, Toronto, ON
Sangria Blanco - Barsa Taberna, Toronto, ON
Manchego Churros - Barsa Taberna, Toronto, ON
BBQ Pork Ribs - Barsa Taberna, Toronto, ON
Panelle Frites - Barsa Taberna, Toronto, ON
Jerk Quail With Salsa Jamaica - Barsa Taberna, Toronto, ON
Woodchuck Hard Cider - Barsa Taberna, Toronto, ON
Sangria - Barsa Taberna, Toronto, ON
Cumbrae Beef Tartare - Barsa Taberna, Toronto, ON
Chorizo Tasting - Barsa Taberna, Toronto, ON
Sea Bream Ceviche - Barsa Taberna, Toronto, ON
Grilled Octopus - Barsa Taberna, Toronto, ON
lemon tart - Barsa Taberna, Toronto, ON
Iberico Croquettes - Barsa Taberna, Toronto, ON
Braised Beef Short Rib - Barsa Taberna, Toronto, ON

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:30AM - 1:00PM 4:30PM - 6:00PM

Mon - Tue 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Thu 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM

Private Dining

Barsa Taberna offers a truly unique experience for private and corporate dining. Our management team including team of chefs are happy to work with you to create a custom menu and experience for your special event. Ranked Top New Restaurant 2014 Ranked Top 100 Restaurants in the world 2016

Barsa Taberna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (40)
Good for a Date (30)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Fit for Foodies (28)
Romantic (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Fun (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Authentic (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Casual (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Cozy (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Historic (6)
People Watching (6)
Business Meals (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Scenic View (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Family Style (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Private Room (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Spicy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Music (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
340 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Interesting historical space. Food was d ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 3 days ago

Interesting historical space. Food was disappointing. Octopus so so- rubbery overcooked. Croquettes heavy and doughy. Should have stuck to a simple cheese or charcuterie board

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent food and great service. The am ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent food and great service. The ambiance is so lovely. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

first time in Toronto and picked it due ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

first time in Toronto and picked it due to the menu and trying tapa's - it was the best meal we had for the 4 days we were there and the waitress was very helpful and knowledgeable; she suggested the tasting menu and the sangria which was an excellent choice - it was tailored to our taste after a few questions from her and the table next to us did the same but had a few different plates brought to them so you know the meal was for just for you.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time would definitely go back agai ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

First time would definitely go back again. Staff was helpfull explaining menu and food exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was very underwhelming. Our pae ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was very underwhelming. Our paella was brurnt pretty badly, sharing apps are so small (1 person small) and there was nothing special about the flavour of the items we ordered. However the place itself is very cool. Maybe skip the food and grab a drink there instead.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great value! Some fantastic dishes. The ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great value! Some fantastic dishes. The grilled octopus was a winner

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Went for a friend's get together and eve ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Went for a friend's get together and everyone loved the creativity of the dishes and the interesting flavours. Also loved the stone grotto ambience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all had a wonderful time and enjoyed ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We all had a wonderful time and enjoyed our meal. We are looking forward to going back.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Warning - having booked a 6 PM table two ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Warning - having booked a 6 PM table two days ahead I got a "please confirm" message from the restaurant the night before in which they told me we had to be out by 8:30 to make way for the next table. Then as the hostess seated us she told us we had until 8:15. Never before had this experience where I had a prior reservation. Tarnished the whole experience for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

My wife and I enjoyed a great lunch on S ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a great lunch on Saturday. Food was excellent. Service was top notch. Will definitely be back. The octopus was fabulous and the picked oinion was a very nice addition to the dish. We could have spent all afternoon there . We felt very relaxed.Well done

Also i foolishly left my phone on the table and they looked after it for me until Sunday when i picked it up .

Big thank you !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very tasty. Tapas selection is a surpri ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Very tasty. Tapas selection is a surprise. Give your preferences and they are accommodated. Would go back to try other tapas.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing, very tasty! I woul ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was amazing, very tasty!

I would definitely go back there

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful find! I went with a big group ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful find! I went with a big group of friends and the tapas style was great! Sangria is a must!

Tags: Tapas, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I had a great time at Barsa; however we ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I had a great time at Barsa; however we were seated right next to the musician and it was difficult to carry on a conversation. Probably better to ensure the musician have a dedicated space away from the diners so we can enjoy the music at the same time enjoy each other's company and conversation as well.

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food pricing was certainly on the hi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The food pricing was certainly on the high end especially considering the tapas format - the $55 paella was good but not $55 great. The sangria was a special price and was very palatable and served 3 people for $10 whereas an individual glass of red wine was $13 - overall the experience was quite good we did have a largish birthday party on the next table so the ambient noise level was high. The hostess was efficient, pleasant and helpful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food and service are very good. Price i ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food and service are very good. Price is reasonable compare to the other restaurants. But compare to Spain 30% overpriced. I wish Toronto restaurants can

mark the price more reasonable

. If compare to all Europe . Toronto restaurants overall overpriced at less 25%.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very pleasant and polite staff. We order ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very pleasant and polite staff.

We ordered different dishes to try and all of them were just great.

I have tasted Spanish dishes in Madrid and Toledo before and I have to say Basa brought all good memories back. Just wish they added a small piece of bread to seviche and leg of lamb.

Overall our meal was lovely and we will be back to try the rest of the menu

Crystal thank you for changing our table it ment a lot and made our evening perfect.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A great tapas selection, well presented ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

A great tapas selection, well presented with attentive friendly staff. Will recommend to others and shall return for another enjoyable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent service and amazing food! Ever ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent service and amazing food! Every dish was so flavorful! I would recommend to anyone whose looking to try something new. Tabhitha our server went above and beyond. Best experience I've had in a very long time.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some plates were pricey for the portion ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Some plates were pricey for the portion size. Service was top notch! Lamb and scallops were winners

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was very good, service was outs ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food was very good, service was outstanding. Took the time to explain and good followup after plates were served.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved everything ! The sangria , grilled ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Loved everything ! The sangria , grilled octopus , paella , churros ! Only thing that was a little too acidic was the ceviche . Will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Surpised bf by taking here before show, ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Surpised bf by taking here before show, did the tasting menu, was very pleased with it (you tell them the things you like and don't like on the menu and they select dishes that they bring to you). The food was delicious and nicely presented and the atmosphere was romantic. I liked that you could actually hear the other person talking. Service was great too. We plan to go back for sangria night (don't skip the sangrias!). Great for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portions are too small for the value. We ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Portions are too small for the value. We were 6 adults and started ordering without a clue of the sizes, I think that waiters should take the lead and do better suggestions. Ambiance and drinks were good.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

This was a very cool spot with great ser ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2016

This was a very cool spot with great servers who are super nice and attentive. A definite visit if u are on a date or celebrating something !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had an great experience here. I had no ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I had an great experience here. I had no idea what to order so my friend and I just got the 50 dollar tasting menu so we get to try a little bit of everything that was good on the menu based on the waitress, chef and by popular orders. By the time we got to our last dish we were so full! Its literally perfect if the both of you have a big appetite. The waitress and bussers were so attentive, they always watching our drinks to make sure its filled up, and removed empty dishes as soon as they were done. Every dish one after another was amazing, different flavours every time and even the most understated looking dish was packed with flavour. The only thing I would suggest especially if you get the tasting menu is to tell your waiter to not give you this potato dish that I got .. it had like homestyle potatoes in it with some tomato sauce on top.. i can't find it on the menu but I got it and it just tasted like fries with ketchup and it didn't taste unique to me and wasnt a great ending neither was it worth being a part of a 50 dollar tasting menu. By the time it was near the end, the last thing I wanted was heavy carbs. I DO however recommend the ceviche, pulpo ezpeleta, gambas aji and the costillas con chocolate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and atmosphere are great. We had a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food and atmosphere are great. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Loved it - have the octopus - 5 star ra ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Loved it - have the octopus - 5 star rating on all aspects

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The resturaunt was truly amazing! The bu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The resturaunt was truly amazing! The building and decor made the ambiance perfect for our girls' night out. The tapas were so delicious. We ordered the chef's selection which was an assortment of different tapas prepared by the chef. It just felt like the food kept coming and each dish was better than the last. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, the chef's selection menu wa ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great food, the chef's selection menu was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

It was a beautiful October day and we sa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 7, 2016

It was a beautiful October day and we sat on the patio. Our server was very nice and our 3 course lunch was very good. Been here before and the sangria is excellent and well worth ordering. Great place.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was good but didnot remind me o ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was good but didnot remind me of the food en España. I reccomend the octapus, the ceviche was very good and had me thinking about ot all night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good place to get tapas and wine downtow ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Good place to get tapas and wine downtown. Attentive staff, good service.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Second visit to this restaurant, can't w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Second visit to this restaurant, can't wait to return for the 3rd one. Our server was very friendly and made good recommandations. We had a lamb paella with fresh peas and mint. It was delicious.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Catalan-style food in a great under ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Good Catalan-style food in a great underground space that conjures up the look and feel of Barcelona. The menu is a bit limited. The ambiance would have been better if prepared tapas items were displayed on the bar, as they do in Spanish tavernas.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best white sangria!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Best white sangria!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very very very tiny pieces of meat: (no ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Very very very tiny pieces of meat: (no veggies!): $17

1/3 glass of wine: $11

(Plus tax)

Total rip-off!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Sweet vermouth should not be served neat ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Sweet vermouth should not be served neat . Bar scotch should not be premium. Wine was good. Out of tapas we ordered, only 1 was good. Manchego croquetas was the appetizer special and there was only 1 order available even though we were one of the first tables of the night. After tapas, we had main dishes. The duck paella we were informed would not have duck as they were out, chicken instead which was terribly overcooked. We were charged $55 for bland chicken with rice. The seafodd paella was equally disappointing. Absolutely tasteless. With the paellas, we also asked for the main special, trout, and the chocolate ribs which were brought out at different times and the presentation was terrible. The ribs were by far the worst dish of the night. It was not chocolate, it tasted like icing on carrot cake. We ordered 3 deserts. Rice pudding was as overcooked and tasteless as the paellas. The crema catalana was average and the churros were as good as any other restaurant. All and all, this is not what Spanish cuisine is .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

It was good, however I found that it was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 21, 2016

It was good, however I found that it was not worth the price. After spending $200 for dinner, I should not be hungry. I realize it is tapas, but when one orders a rack of lamb ribs to share, 3 ribs the size of rabbit ribs does not a meal make - let alone a sharing meal.

The food was good. But I would not go while hungry again.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

A terrific find for dining in Toronto. E ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2016

A terrific find for dining in Toronto. Excellent Spanish food. Terrific Cava Sangria, which was refreshing given how hot the day was. Shrimp and clam dishes were exquisite and very flavorful.

They have a lovely, small patio, and our server, Jamie, was attentive and friendly and made great suggestions.

A must stop for my every trip to Toronto going forward.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.