Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Barsa Taberna

Contemporary Spanish eatery housed in a designer 19th century building.

Our philosophy of contemporary Spanish cuisine has its roots in the traditional Spanish Cocina – meaning, tapas to larger plates that include the recipes and ingredients from the Iberian Peninsula. Barsa's menu is designed to also pay tribute the avant garde movement of the Nueva Cocina Española in what we call contemporary Spanish gastronomy.

At Barsa, art is not optional. It’s our salt and pepper, we think Gaudi, dare Dali and play Picasso. We are housed in a 19th century heritage protected building where internationally acclaimed designer John Tong has recreated the atmosphere of Barcelona, while paying tribute to the City’s culture and immortalized artists.

Barsa story and concept was derived by Toronto native Aras Azadian’s passion and inspiration to recreate the atmosphere and experience of his time living in Barcelona and his travels through the Iberian Peninsula

26 Market Street
Toronto, ON M5E1A9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Mondays: 4:30 pm to 11 pm
Tuesdays: 4:30 pm to 11 pm
Wednesdays: 4:30 pm to 11 pm
Thursdays: 11:30 pm to 12 am
Fridays: 11:30 am to 12 am
Saturdays: 11:00 am to 12 am
Sunday 11:00 am to 10 pm

Cross Street:
Front St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(647) 341-3642

Website:
http://www.barsataberna.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday nights, live Flamenco guitar performance

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the street or at the Green P lots south of Market street

Public Transit:
King Station is a short 3 minute walk

Executive Chef:
Justin Van Der Berg

Private Party Facilities:
Barsa Taberna offers a truly unique experience for private and corporate dining. Our management team including team of chefs are happy to work with you to create a custom menu and experience for your special event. Ranked Top New Restaurant 2014 Ranked Top 100 Restaurants in the world 2016

Private Party Contact:
Aras Azadian: (866) 306-0351

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Barsa offers private events and buy-outs

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:30AM - 1:00PM 4:30PM - 6:00PM

Mon - Tue 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Thu 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM

Barsa Taberna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (46)
Good for a Date (36)
Creative Cuisine (26)
See All
Cozy (26)
Romantic (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Special Occasion (22)
Tasting Menu (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Authentic (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Casual (17)
Fun (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Healthy (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Business Meals (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Live Music (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Spicy (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
504 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

I really love it here. Great food especially the Paella. I will be back. The only negative thing about the night is we were seated next to a party celebrating a birthday and they were extremely loud and took away from our service. They might consider putting large parties in the back room. Other than that it was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Excellent food. Our server Jamie is always terrific--we love seeing her there. She did a fantastic job of crafting a chef's tasting menu for us.

Overall, one of the better dining experiences we've ever had in Toronto or anywhere else, including Barcelona.

Special highlights: the leek and chorizo soup, the hen, the trout, the Catalan noodles, the pulpo. Dessert was also excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Celebrated our wedding anniversary here. The food was good, enjoyed the ceviche and grilled octopus. We ordered the paella which is large enough for 4 people to share. The grilled sea bass was okay, it was grilled perfectly but we were looking forward to trying it with hummus and olives but the menu has changed and it’s with a corn purée instead.
There was a musician playing the guitar which was nice, reminded me of Barcelona.

Thank you to the staff! The staff was very pleasant, they gave us the churros to celebrate. They made our overall experience positive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Had a great time at Barsa! We had the tasting menu and it was just perfect! Every dish was unique and delicious. Perfectly timed and chosen for our preferences.
Great vibe and excellent service. We would absolutely come back here and recommend to friends.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 5, 2017

The tapas were delicious but we felt the rice in the paella was not the right rice and there was no saffron. Otherwise enjoyed the place and thought they were very accommodating and efficient.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Food was very overpriced and was not high quality.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

Great restaurant! Great ambiance. Fantastic service. Creative plating. The beet and pear salad was so fantastic. Lamb ribs were really tender. They will accommodate service sizes if sharing. They didn't rush us at all. We stayed a while and the manager came over to ensure we enjoyed our meal. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We had the open table at $40 per person and had approximately 5 courses with 2-3 tapas each. It was perfectly timed and was the perfect amount of food. I found the shrimp and octopus tapas undercooked, and the sangria (the one with blueberries) disappointing, but aside from that everything was delicious. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Tapas, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Tapas dinning is fun with a bigger group, the food was excellent, the dinning ambiance is good, and the noise level is low compared to some of the larger Spanish restaurants, we’ll go back.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

The food was expensive for the amount you got. they should have a better choice of Tapas that are not as expensive. The bread with tomato sauce had barely any sauce on it.
We were on the wall at the back and it was cold.
All in all a very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 20, 2017

We had a reservation, and were all ready to order since we looked up the menu online beforehand. When we got there, not only was the menu not the one on the website, but it was also cut down severely. For lunch, the only things on the menu were a few shareable dishes, and a 3 course set meal. The waitress told us that they reduced the menu because it wasn’t that busy at lunch. Also, she mentioned that we weren’t the only ones to complain about the “new” lunch menu. Given that the only thing of substance were charcuterie boards (not much prep needed), we ordered two of them and a few set courses. Even with this, there were only 4 other people in the entire restaurant at noon on a Friday, and service still ended up being very sluggish. This place used to be very good; I can’t see how it could’ve become this poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Found this place from Sony Center referral email because we were there for a concert. The food and experience was beyond my expectations. Our server was very attentive and made us feel special. I definitely recommend the tasting menu because you really get the best bag for your buck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

The server went out of her way to ensure we had an item which was not on the lunch menu. The menu offerings had changed since our previous visit .

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Staff was attentive, food was very good. Happening place :)

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The food was grossly over priced. Given that it's "tapas", sure we understand the portions are small. But we've had tapas even in Spain, and we never leave the restaurant feeling being gypped. The taste was also not great. Had the price point been lower, I think we would have been ok. But at the price point charged? The expectation was certainly much higher.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Great atmosphere, great wine and great tapas. Manchego churros were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

4 of us had the tasting menu. Everything we tried was delicious. There were some dietary restrictions in our group and the staff were really accommodating.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great food and service!
Suggestion: Spanish music instead of house/techno

Tags: Tapas, Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 29, 2017

This is one of my favourite restaurants in the city. We did the smallest tasting menu and absolutely everything was delicious. Service was great, the wine was exceptional and very reasonably priced. It's a great place to go with a bigger group because of the shared plates.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2017

My husband and I went with some of our friends on a Saturday night. The food was amazing (as was the sangria) however service was quite slow and at one point they forgot about one of our dishes and it took a while to ask the server for an update. They were however apologetic and gave us a discount on the tapas).

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was incredible, but I was disappointed but how poorly equipped they were to deal with a larger party. We had a party of 8 for a birthday party, and we ordered a tasting menu for the entire table.

They failed to deliver our courses within a reasonable time frame. One half of our table would receive a course while the other half of the table would wait for half an hour or more. The time between courses was also hard to place... Sometimes a course would arrive within minutes of us finishing the last course (whenever both sides of the table would receive a course) and sometimes we'd be wondering if the tasting course was over.

Food was amazing... Servers did their best.... But something is lacking in this restaurant's ability to handle a large party.

Will definitely return, but not with a larger party on an important occasion. I was throughly embarrassed for booking this place for my friend on a special occasion and would not repeat that mistake again.

To the credit of the servers, they covered some wine and desert to try and compensate for the poor overall service. We found no fault with the wait staff at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Horrific service. Unacceptable seating, where we were repeatedly bumped by staff. I went to the bar, to get my own drink, after the rest of our group had finished theirs. Very loud kitchen, with no noise barriers to the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary at Barsa Taberna and the food and atmosphere was the best we've had! It was perfect patio weather, so we sat outside. The privacy screens topped with lush flower boxes offered privacy from sidewalk pedestrians. We noticed that the restaurant emphasized on fresh ingredients and combining herbs and spices in unique and creative ways, giving customers a new food experience. The dishes were not over-salted nor too sweet, but a perfect balance of natural flavours. We loved all the tapas dishes we ordered and each was photo-worthy. We ordered one too many dishes , but we were fine with saving the paella for next day's lunch...it was still yummy! The tapas dishes were outstanding compared to the paella. If you had paellas before, I would recommend filling your tummy with tapas. Aside from the paella, most of the tapas dishes we ordered were larger than most other tapas restaurants. So, generally 3 shared dishes with dessert are enough for two people, unless you are big eater. The wait staff were attentive and polite, and gave us an unexpected 'gift' at the end of our meal for our anniversary. Barsa Taberna is now officially our top favourite restaurant! We definitely want to return and enjoy more dishes with some friends! I hear that their sangrias are very good...more to try next time!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Large variety of authentic tapas menu, good selection of delicious sangria. Unfortunately the braised octopus wasn't available due to a supplier issue and I appreciated the restaurant's choice to remove it from the menu for a quality experience.
The restaurant was very noisy so not great for our celebration. Also the restaurant was very warm.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Had a great Sunday brunch on the patio. Food was tasty, good drinks, and friendly service. Looking forward to return for a tapas dinner. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Cheshire)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great meal & wine. Very attentive waiter. Would definitely go again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Food, atmosphere, and sangria was amazing. The only down side would be the service is a bit slow.

Tags: Tapas, Cozy, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The serving staff did a fabulous job preparing a tasting menu. The food was delicious and tastefully presented. Definitely merits a return visit!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Barsa Taberna

My party and I had absolute wonderful time at your resturant. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The staff were most accomodating with my friend's twin babies boys. We really appreciated your assistance with entry and exit of your establishment. Along with your wonderful service, the food was absolutely amazing without complaint and paired nicely with Cava. I recommend to anyone to try the tasting menu. We all loved the Chef's selection of foods that came out with a great array of flavours and textures. I cannot wait to return here in the future for another lovely dinning experince.

Thank you once again so much for your hospitality and superb food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This was my second visit and I enjoyed it immensely. Go for the Sangria!! They make the best ones I've found in Toronto so far! The tasting menus are the way to go and they also offer good oysters and appetizers. All in all and excellent place.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Spicy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The sangria options were fun, charcuterie trays were ordinary, ceviche fantastic!! The patio is best place to sit with a wall of flowers blocking street noise. Fun place for tapas!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on August 24, 2017

This restaurant is a great example of the Spanish palate and the architecture and ambience has Barcelona written all over it. Excellent service and great food. The owner has done a great job and hats off to him, Aras! The Bajans love it there!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Tapas, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Live Music, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Dinner started off well and we picked the $50 tasting menu. We were pleased that the hostess made a conscious effort to ask us about any allergies (shellfish or nuts) and preferences (raw seafood etc). We mentioned one of the diners had a nut allergy.

Second dish that we were served contained walnuts and we both ate the dish unknowingly! It was not called out in the dish description when it was served and the walnuts were not noticeable due to the red sauce on it.

Immediately we had to leave to the nearest pharmacy and cut our dinner short.

Never have we ever dined at a restaurant in Toronto where when you explicitly tell them about a nut allergy, you are served nuts without mentioning it!

I'm expecting a message from the restaurant manager so maybe my mind will change. For now, diners with allergies beware!

Update: Its been now a few months, no contact from the restaurant even though they promised to. I question how much they actually care about their customers.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

The food was amazing but the wait time was too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The best. We had tgextasting menu. Highly recommended as you sample the wide array of culinary delights. We had a vegetarian in our group of 4 and she was delighted with her own special creations. Too many highlights to single any out. The gazpacho and scallop ceviche were eye candy, works of art. Sit back and enjoy the banquet. Well beyond classic Spanish fare. Teaser: 5 Sangrias varieties!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 22, 2017

A very underwhelming dining experience. My wife and I were hoping for an authentic Spanish experience and to be honest, it was not even close. Nothing about Barsa is authentic, although the staff may look Spanish and even try to pronounce dishes in Spanish, they are not Spanish! I honestly don't think there is a single a soul within the restaurant that actually understands a weekthe language or the culture itself...

As for the food, we decided on their $60 tasting menu and for the value, we definitely expected better...every dish that we had lacked authenticity and the only thing that was remotely close to something Spanish was the chorizo sausage they used in their dishes..but that's it! They also had the audacity to serve us a savoury style churro dish as one of the starter dishes, which was fine, but we realized this restaurant definitely did not know what they are doing when they try to serve sweet churros for dessert as well..... Kinda redundant for a tasting menu. However, the biggest upset was their Paella, if you can even call it that, was a super let down....They used incorrect type of rice, made with what tasted like boxed chicken broth or even soup bouillon. The chicken and chorizo was definitely cooked and seasoned separately then placed on top so the dish did not really come together cohesively. Since we sent back our dessert churro, it was replaced with a block of dark chocolate ganache with some sliced fruit, cinnamon whip cream in some watery sweet soupy liquid, weird to say the least.

The patio was cute, but there are way a better options within the city. Overall experience was a 4/10 due to the fact that the quality was not all there and did not match the cost. If anyone is looking for a nice authentic Spanish restaurant, this would not be it and would not recommend it. We are never going back again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 22, 2017

You cant go wrong with 1/2 price sangrias :)
They had a ~4 options for sangrias

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tapas, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great food, amazing atmosphere. I highly recommend eating inside, the building and decore is very interesting and welcoming.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 20, 2017

A comfortable dining experience. Would return when in the neighborhood. Loved the sangria and the paella. The service was friendly and timely.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fantastic place to come for Spanish tapas & paella!! One of our favourites!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.