Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Barsa Taberna

Contemporary Spanish eatery housed in a designer 19th century building.

Our philosophy of contemporary Spanish cuisine has its roots in the traditional Spanish Cocina – meaning, tapas to larger plates that include the recipes and ingredients from the Iberian Peninsula. Barsa's menu is designed to also pay tribute the avant garde movement of the Nueva Cocina Española in what we call contemporary Spanish gastronomy.

At Barsa, art is not optional. It’s our salt and pepper, we think Gaudi, dare Dali and play Picasso. We are housed in a 19th century heritage protected building where internationally acclaimed designer John Tong has recreated the atmosphere of Barcelona, while paying tribute to the City’s culture and immortalized artists.

Barsa story and concept was derived by Toronto native Aras Azadian’s passion and inspiration to recreate the atmosphere and experience of his time living in Barcelona and his travels through the Iberian Peninsula

26 Market Street
Toronto, ON M5E1A9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Mondays: 4:30 pm to 11 pm
Tuesdays: 4:30 pm to 11 pm
Wednesdays: 4:30 pm to 11 pm
Thursdays: 4:30 pm to 12 am
Fridays: 11:30 am to 12 am
Saturdays: 11:30 am to 12 am
Sunday 11:30 am to 10 pm

Cross Street:
Front St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(647) 341-3642

Website:
http://www.barsataberna.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday nights, live Flamenco guitar performance

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the street or at the Green P lots south of Market street

Public Transit:
King Station is a short 3 minute walk

Executive Chef:
Justin Van Der Berg

Private Party Facilities:
Barsa Taberna offers a truly unique experience for private and corporate dining. Our management team including team of chefs are happy to work with you to create a custom menu and experience for your special event. Ranked Top New Restaurant 2014 Ranked Top 100 Restaurants in the world 2016

Private Party Contact:
Aras Azadian: (866) 306-0351

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Barsa offers private events and buy-outs

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:30AM - 1:00PM 4:30PM - 6:00PM

Mon - Tue 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Thu 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM

Barsa Taberna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (24)
Special Occasion (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
See All
Fun (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Romantic (11)
Casual (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Cozy (10)
Authentic (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Historic (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Spicy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Business Meals (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
410 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Lamb Shank is a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was quite tasty but portions were a bit small. The tapas were very pricey for such a small amount of food. The restaurant itself was very cozy and had a nice ambiance. We were a party of four for lunch and all though the place was not very busy, there was only one server for about 6 or more tables. Fortunately the server was pleasant but should have been honest when we asked if our order was enough for us four ladies. The gazpacho tasted okay but I think the chef forgot to add the veggies. The sangria was the highlight of our lunch. We were still hungry after our meal so we decided to skip dessert and cross over to St. Lawrence Market for some crepes.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was good. It's dark inside so waitress had to clean our table twice. Portions are on the smaller side so go with a larger group to share more items. Food is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The tapas were so delicious!! And the sangria was best we ever had! Service was great. My second visit, I invited a friend, she loved it too! I've been telling all my friends how good this tapas bar is.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food and sangrias were amazing. The service was great. I can't wait to come back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Lovely birthday lunch with a wonderful friend. The food was great, service spot on and ambiance wonderful. Thanks for a great lunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Went for a special occasion with my partner and tried the tasting menu ($50 option). What a wonderful array! Our server chatted with us a bit to get our likes/dislikes and then set up a surprise tasting menu based off of what she thought we would enjoy. She nailed it - spot on! We went on a Thursday so there was live flamenco guitar which was also wonderful. A really great experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Amazing food! Horrible service. We had to inquire about dishes twice, even three times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food and service was great! We were in from our of town and would totally come back. Food was on point and we felt like overall it was great value for our money.

Our server tabatha was friendly approachable and super professional. We just thought she was a gem.

It was hipster central on a boisterous Saturday night, and the noise was out of control. I'm not an old lady but it doesn't really think they thought about any sort of noise dampening.

Will definitely back but unlikely during prime times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Went with a group. Tried the tasting menu. Food was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. Service was excellent and we all thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It was a bit pretentious and not in a good way. Agreeing to what others have said, the food is ridiculously overpriced for those portions. I appreciate a good presentation of food on my plate as much aa the next guy but at the end the food (in terms of flavors and sheer satisfaction) needs to hold up its end.

There are definitely better Tapas out there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This, by far, was our favorite dining experience my husband and I have had in a long time. We decided to do the Chef's Choice of options, which they kindly asked if we had any allergies/things we don't like. Every dish that arrived at our table was a complete surprise with how delightful and colorful the flavors were. We ate here weeks ago and we are still dreaming about the Blue Cheese Ice Cream, the Chicken Liver Pate, the Empanadas, the Sangria, the Grilled Octopus; everything was delightful! The timing of the dishes (since we ordered so many) was also on point. We weren't crowded with so many at one time and we could savor each item. Also, our wonderful waitress (last name was Wolf?) was such a joy to be around. This place is a must in Toronto!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The tapas plates are meant to be shared. But each "community" plate/bowl should have its own serving spoon. It is very unhygienic to expect people to use the same fork that has been in their mouth to serve from a shared bowl.
We had to ask for an additional serving spoon every.single. time. It was annoying. And you really should offer clean plates/cutlery between courses.
Sangria from a plastic container. Food came out either all at once or after waiting a while with nothing.
Great ambience and food was good.
Just needs a bit of polish with etiquette.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was a great superb restaurant. First time my wife and I had been to a Spanish restaurant and would definitely be coming back. Our server was excellent.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching, Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food is good and service is really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Had an amazing time! Our server, Crystal, provided excellent service. We opted for the tasting menu and she suggested great wine pairings throughout the meal. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Service was okay, food was expensive, don't expect to get traditional recipes: in Spain, I've never seen a Gazpacho so oily

Tags: Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We had a voucher for brunch which included a pitcher of sangria for two, a shared tapas plate, and two brunch mains. The voucher was $35 and the actual total would've been $60 plus tax and tip. We got the Blanco sangria which was good and we shared the clams and chorizo tapa which was delicious. We chose the benedict for our mains which were a cool spin on the original eggs benedict but if I had to get at full price, I would go with traditional eggs benedict from a breakfast place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Ignored an identified food allergy when preparing the tasting menu (3 of 6 dishes could/should not have been eaten), and ended up getting sick as a result. Unfortunately, this ruined the overall experience, which I think would otherwise have been very positive. When the staff was notified no adjustment to the bill was made, even after requesting to opt out of the tasting menu and offering to order off of the regular menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food was very good but the staff seemed a bit disorganized as after a 20-minute wait we had to proactively ask the hostess to assign a waiter for us. A waiter came to finally take our order immediately after our complaint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Our waiter Alex was very good. He was very knowledgeable and helpful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food was good but service was slow, if you ask for different tapas they will arrive separate and some of them take long time to arrive to the table.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I was looking for a new type of restaurant. We live in Pittsburgh, and were visiting Toronto for the weekend. I had known for months about this trip to Toronto, so I did my homework. This restaurant was cool,eclectic,and the food was awesome.!! Art is King,as you will see when you visit.

I have been to a number of Spanish restaurants and Tapas bars. Barsa Taberna is a treasure.The food was excellent,fairly priced.I would eat there often if I lived in Toronto.

A very special Thank You to our server Jamie. She made the evening very special for my wife and I. She was awesome!!

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We had purchased the travel zoo coupon and decided to use it that evening.

We were given the chefs choice option however the meal consisted of beans, potatoes and more starch. We received two very small pieces of octopus and four mussels.

there was no meat to speak of. The starter soup was very good though.

It took a very long time to get our drinks and the first course was served before we had had a drink.

I should comment that we were there on a Wednesday and it was not busy at all.

I feel that Barsa should no longer offer the travel zoo option as their value is not great.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We celebrated our 22nd anniversary with a wonderful dinner. We chose the $50.00 tasting menu and were more than satisfied. The ceviche and all tapas in general were great tasting. The atmosphere and service also great. Looking forward to visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

March 11, 2017

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Amazing food. Dishes were very good. Not cheap but the food is worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great tasting menu. Love the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great value for the travelzoo coupon! Taste is good but not spectacular. Fun range of sangrias :)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Food was amazing
atmosphere was great
servers were kind and polite


only thing was that the back of the handles of the silverware was sticky

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Incredible as always, the food and service seems to always get better and better. This place really makes you feel like you are Europe and the variety of the food really challenges your taste buds while again providing the taste of Europe. As the ratings show this is one of the best restaurants in the City, certainly the best Paella and Sangrias.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Horrible experience. After sitting for 10 minutes the power went off and so did the fire alarm. Apparently this had been happening all day and they didn't think to close the restaurant. Instead they had people come in and allow them to order drinks but no hot food was available. Horrible experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I was thinking of calling the manager and speaking to him about the horrible waiter we had. He was so rude and not helpful at all. Our whole group was really upset with the attitude we received from the waiter when asking questions.
The food was very salty and not worth the really expensive prices.
It becomes a bar so be prepared for lots of people coming in at the end of the night and doing shots while you are finishing your meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Amazing food, great service, but extremely loud... terrible acustics.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Too noisy, very large party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent service but not great food, the paella was ok not great and some tapas are really poor taste.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very nice ambiance and efficient service. Food was plentiful and tasty and good wine selections.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband & I had a date night here recently. What a wonderful place. Had the tasting menu and the last paella course took forever to come out. They explained to us that the chef wasn't happy with the dish and wanted to make us a new one. They didn't charge us for it and brought additional drinks to us. What great service! We will be back for sure!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Spicy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Enjoyed our meal, everything was delicious! Just bit too loud but that's okay :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This is an intimate yet lively restaurant with excellent food and awesome service. Great selection of tasty tapas and wines. Lots of choices and great portions (we couldn't finish our patatas bravas, as much as we wanted to). The atmosphere is perfect for an evening out.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.