About Barsa Taberna

26 Market Street
Toronto, ON M5E1A9
View Larger Map

Contemporary Spanish eatery housed in a designer 19th century building.

Our philosophy of contemporary Spanish cuisine has its roots in the traditional Spanish Cocina – meaning, tapas to larger plates that include the recipes and ingredients from the Iberian Peninsula. Barsa's menu is designed to also pay tribute the avant garde movement of the Nueva Cocina Española in what we call contemporary Spanish gastronomy.

At Barsa, art is not optional. It’s our salt and pepper, we think Gaudi, dare Dali and play Picasso. We are housed in a 19th century heritage protected building where internationally acclaimed designer John Tong has recreated the atmosphere of Barcelona, while paying tribute to the City’s culture and immortalized artists.

Barsa story and concept was derived by Toronto native Aras Azadian’s passion and inspiration to recreate the atmosphere and experience of his time living in Barcelona and his travels through the Iberian Peninsula

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Mondays to Tuesday 4:30 pm to 11 pm
Wednessay to Saturday 11:30 am to 11 pm
Sunday 11:30 am to 10 pm

Cross Street:
Front St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(647) 341-3642

Website:
http://www.barsataberna.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday nights, live Flamenco guitar performance

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the street or at the Green P lots south of Market street

Public Transit:
King Station is a short 3 minute walk

Executive Chef:
Justin Van Der Berg

Private Party Facilities:
Barsa Taberna offers a truly unique experience for private and corporate events. Our management team including Chef Chris Mcdonald are happy to work with you to create a custom menu and experience for your special event.

Private Party Contact:
Aras Azadian: 8663060351

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Barsa offers private events and buy-outs

Restaurant Photos

Barsa Taberna
Barsa Taberna
Barsa Taberna
Barsa Taberna
Panelle Frites
BBQ Pork Ribs
Korean Short Rib Sandwich
Barsa Fc Club Bocadillo
Manchego Churros
Sangria Blanco
Jerk Quail With Salsa Jamaica
Sangria
Chorizo Tasting
Cumbrae Beef Tartare
Sea Bream Ceviche
Grilled Octopus
Woodchuck Hard Cider
lemon tart
Iberico Croquettes
Braised Beef Short Rib

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:30AM - 1:00PM 4:30PM - 6:00PM

Mon - Tue 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Thu 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM

Barsa Taberna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Toronto / Ontario
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Toronto

fit for foodies (59)
good for groups (47)
special occasion (45)
See All
romantic (40)
neighborhood gem (39)
hot spot (27)
great for outdoor dining (24)
great for lunch (19)
notable wine list (15)
great for brunch (13)
late-night find (12)
scenic view (9)
vibrant bar scene (9)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
274 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was hit / miss, but it was quit ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was hit / miss, but it was quite pricey. The tasting menu was just the server ordering dishes from the menu for us amounting to about (actually a little over) $50. That's not really what a tasting menu is, and the dishes came out two or even three at a time, which meant that we had to eat fast to avoid things getting cold.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Crystal the manager and Evan our waiter ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Crystal the manager and Evan our waiter were incredible. The service, food, wine and ambience was perfect! Looking forward to going back again and taking friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu and ambiance for lunch. Found ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great menu and ambiance for lunch. Found the lunch pastas a little on the small side but augmented with a great desert so all good.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It wasn't nothing special Decent food te ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

It wasn't nothing special

Decent food testing menu 60 dollars per person got us only 3 courses the waitress was never around

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Couldn't have been better. The food was ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Couldn't have been better. The food was great, and we got to try a lot of it. Four out of our group of six did the tasting menu, and it was definitely excellent value and more than enough to justify the price per person. Highly recommend it for groups. The drinks were all delicious as well, and the atmosphere on the patio was perfect for a relaxed summer evening. However, the thing that really made our night was the service. Crystal did an amazing job recommending things from the menu (and picking out the courses of the tasting menu for us), and made us feel welcome and relaxed from the moment we arrived. Hard to truly describe what makes service so great sometimes, but every member of our group works in the service industry and we all genuinely appreciated how our night together was enhanced by the treatment we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

tuck away in the side st. of St. Lawrenc ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

tuck away in the side st. of St. Lawrence market. Lovely décor. Wait stuff and server are friendly and down-to-earth. We shared numerous dishes like octopus, chorizo platter, paella, patatas brava....all delicious. We shared a pitcher of sangria...it looks pale and as if not enough red wine...but man, it was so refreshing and delicious. Had churro as dessert....very very good...one of the best I had in Toronto. Can't wait til next time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful tomato gazepacho and cerviche. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Wonderful tomato gazepacho and cerviche. 5/5 Squid ink noodles 4/5, Rose sangria 4/5, grilled octopus 3/5. Wonderful service 5/5.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent place and my guests really enj ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Excellent place and my guests really enjoyed. They were celebrating their anniversary and were looking for a place for Paella and good wine and we found it. Good service and excellent menu. I will be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are a bit disappointed with this resy ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We are a bit disappointed with this resyaurant. All i can say is it is mediocre. Sangria is expensive - a jug of sparkling wine with tons of water and ice for $25. Might as well order two glasses of wine n enjoy more. Service is not bad. Best is the

location at the Market.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Easy to use and book. I don't like the f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Easy to use and book. I don't like the fact that I have not received any points for the visit .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

As tourists in Toronto we wanted to visi ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

As tourists in Toronto we wanted to visit St. Lawrence Market. We noticed Barsa on Open Table as a 1000 point restaurant for lunch so decided to try it - and are we glad we did! Interesting combination of dishes on the lunch menu with all very authentic Spanish. Nice selection of wines that paired nicely with the entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food is okay, but way overpriced. Better ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food is okay, but way overpriced. Better off going somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We introduced two friends to Barsa and t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We introduced two friends to Barsa and they told us even before the dinner ended that they would be back. We all enjoyed the food, ambiance and service. The lamb ribs, sea bass, chorizo platter and octopus were our favourite items.

We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Noise level can be very high. Service i ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Noise level can be very high. Service is spotty depending on the server. I was not greeted on arrival even though I stood at the reservation desk and had a reservation. Overall I expected a better experience and unless I hear back from the restaurant I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Good good good ambiance Will come back ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Good good good ambiance

Will come back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

if the intention was to recreate the foo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

if the intention was to recreate the food and art of bacelona,they nailed it,fabulous paella,pleasant palette surprise with lamb ribs,server very knowleageable and interesting, Gaudi would have given the decor 2 thumbs up,can't wait to return,wine suggestion excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointment

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food quality is way overrated, the chacuterie board was such a disappointment, store bought quality at best, the iberico ham was mah , oysters were fresh(well, I expect nothing less) , paella, average, the service was acceptable , but all in all, I would not recommend to others

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent Spanish Restaurant

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is one of our favorite places - love to order the tasting dinner and be delightfully suprised with every delicious dish that comes to our table!

Love the atmosphere and the food!

Highly recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner before MeatLoaf

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I've been here before for brunch and it was wonderful. Went again for a dinner before a concert and it was just as wonderful. The food is unique and very tasty and the drinks are wonderful. I especially like the decor. I would highly recommend this place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I have always been a big fan of tapas ba ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I have always been a big fan of tapas bars and this is a really great one. Love the location of the restaurant and the chef's choice menu that is always interesting. Excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Although we had a pretty good lunch, the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Although we had a pretty good lunch, the menu was small.

\not as good as the last time, no specials. like the 1st time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I liked the food a lot..it was interesti ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

I liked the food a lot..it was interesting, done properly and tasted great. My wife on the other hand did not particularly like the menu choices. Chacun a son gout..service was inconsistent-- friendly but they seemed to forget about us between courses and needed a couple of prompts. The outdoor dining was nice as Market St.Is quiet with little traffic at night. The indoor wine bar and dining area was great design, lots of natural stone and did capture a bit of Spanish flavour. If you like Spanish food, give it a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The service was very good but it stops t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The service was very good but it stops there. The food was just terrible. Don't waste your money. The only good thing was the Sangria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4

Excellent meal, great ambiance. Unfortun ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Excellent meal, great ambiance. Unfortunately one of our guest's white wine was forgotten a few times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great Meal!

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

This was my second time at Barsa and it definitely will not be my last. The food is delicious, creative and well-presented. The service is also very friendly, well-informed on the menu/wine list and intuitive. Keep up the fantastic work!

Our first visit (on a Thursday ) also featured a flamenco guitarist which added nicely to the ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great and the server was ex ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was great and the server was excellent and unusually thoughtful. Barsa has a very good kitchen and bar, with some innovative options. They need to do more to attract people in the neighbourhood. Opening for brunch was a great idea but they need to add a few more options. It doesn't have to be a lot, or fancy, just a couple of simpler sweet and savory dishes and maybe some fresh fruit. My friends and I would go more often.

They are in a beautifully restored old building that unfortunately is inaccessible to many potential customers. Surely the Ontario accessibility act would allow some simple modifications to make the entrance and washrooms accessible.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic taste of spain

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Simply a fantastic meal. The waitress was very helpful in giving ordering advice and the ambience was wonderful. Thank-you

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent atmosphère and I would recomme ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent atmosphère and I would recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great setting. Very reminiscent of Spain ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Great setting. Very reminiscent of Spain. Authentic. Beautiful stone walls. A true taberna. Service was very good. Ditto the tapas and the margarita. My friend was celebrating her birthday. Dessert was on the house complete with candle. Nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow Super Tapas ..

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

This place is fantastic! I cannot believe that I had never been here before! anywho, the Tapas is to die for, and the wait staff are fantastic! If you sit in the grotto area, be ready for loud talking as the place echos ...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tapas and Margarittas

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Barasa Taberna offered an interesting and tasty selection of food. The paella though delicious was a very large portion (and priced accordingly) - only order that if you have a very large group. The salad and olives were very good as was the shrimp and couscous. The food came staggered and in the good flow. The server was very knowledgable and accommodating. The lamb was notable though the octopus was not. Would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious but not very intimate

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Food, decor, service was amazing. It was just way too loud to have an actual conversation. I wouldn't recommend this for an intimate evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Excellent as usual

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Last reservation I had at Barsa it was for my bday. Everything was great as usual, especially the fact they have Juve i Camps. The bison burger was great and the service as well.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Meh.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Not worth the hype.

Sangria was not delicious or strong, too much ice, very watery. Fruit was not macerated.

Food was overpriced and servings were measly. Not impressed by the lack of quality.

Patatas Bravas were hardly seasoned and reheated so they were extremely dry and the skins were very chewy. Chorizo charcuterie had hardly any accompaniments, very bland. Scallop ceviche was alright but there is far better places to eat with true taste and value all over the city.

Not bothering going here again. Sad, considering how much hype is garnered. Lame.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Excellent experience

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

This was my first time to Barsa and what an experience it was. It is a restaurant decorated in the traditional Cave style, with stone arches and old and painted glass. It have a very secretive and romantic feel to it. We opted for a tasting menu and we thoroughly thrilled that we did!! Every bite was a taste of what I imagine Spain to be. Our waitress was fun and friendly and very informative!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was mediocre at best My Iberi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

The food was mediocre at best My Iberico ham was salty and dry not like any Iberico I have ever had before. The patatas where reheated up and soggy. I ordered a Cabernet Called Rule that sells for 32 dollars and the price on the wine list was 100 dollars I don't mind paying more to cover expenses but over 3times mark up is gouging so now I question everything like my overlooked Scallops at 37 dollars just a big disappointment. Can not recommend this place. If the food and service was spectacular I might even overlook the wine ripe off

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Great food, great service, good location.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

It was our first time and we loved it.

Food was full of flavor, portions were not too big.

Service was nice and attentive to our needs.

Nice experience for Spanish food.

Good wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved it!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great food, great service and nice ambiance. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Love this restaurant! Been here twice and both times have tried the tasting menu and once again most delightfully treated to some fabulous food! We both love seafood and let them know that, and they did not disappoint! The Paella at the end was one of the best I tasted.

We cannot wait to come back!

The only issue - the alcohol is expensive. We love wine with our dinner, and a specialty coffee after, but wow, the prices for the alcohol drinks are high, so make sure to plan for that!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very intimate and cozy during the week

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

This was my second visit and while different it was again wonderful. My previous visit was on a weekend where the taberna was full and lively, even the bar is completely full and it reminds me of other popular bars in Europe. During the week however the taberna is a much more intimate and cozy restaurant where one can take in and enjoy the remarkable décor and fascinating food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.