Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Barsa Taberna

Contemporary Spanish eatery housed in a designer 19th century building.

Our philosophy of contemporary Spanish cuisine has its roots in the traditional Spanish Cocina – meaning, tapas to larger plates that include the recipes and ingredients from the Iberian Peninsula. Barsa's menu is designed to also pay tribute the avant garde movement of the Nueva Cocina Española in what we call contemporary Spanish gastronomy.

At Barsa, art is not optional. It’s our salt and pepper, we think Gaudi, dare Dali and play Picasso. We are housed in a 19th century heritage protected building where internationally acclaimed designer John Tong has recreated the atmosphere of Barcelona, while paying tribute to the City’s culture and immortalized artists.

Barsa story and concept was derived by Toronto native Aras Azadian’s passion and inspiration to recreate the atmosphere and experience of his time living in Barcelona and his travels through the Iberian Peninsula

26 Market Street
Toronto, ON M5E1A9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Mondays: 4:30 pm to 11 pm
Tuesdays: 4:30 pm to 11 pm
Wednesdays: 4:30 pm to 11 pm
Thursdays: 4:30 pm to 12 am
Fridays: 11:30 am to 12 am
Saturdays: 11:30 am to 12 am
Sunday 11:30 am to 10 pm

Cross Street:
Front St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(647) 341-3642

Website:
http://www.barsataberna.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday nights, live Flamenco guitar performance

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the street or at the Green P lots south of Market street

Public Transit:
King Station is a short 3 minute walk

Executive Chef:
Justin Van Der Berg

Private Party Facilities:
Barsa Taberna offers a truly unique experience for private and corporate dining. Our management team including team of chefs are happy to work with you to create a custom menu and experience for your special event. Ranked Top New Restaurant 2014 Ranked Top 100 Restaurants in the world 2016

Private Party Contact:
Aras Azadian: (866) 306-0351

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Barsa offers private events and buy-outs

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:30AM - 1:00PM 4:30PM - 6:00PM

Mon - Tue 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Thu 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM

Barsa Taberna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (29)
Good for a Date (23)
Fit for Foodies (19)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Fun (16)
Romantic (14)
Cozy (13)
Authentic (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Casual (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Historic (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Family Style (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
People Watching (3)
Business Meals (3)
Healthy (3)
Spicy (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Music (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
388 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was good but service was slow, if you ask for different tapas they will arrive separate and some of them take long time to arrive to the table.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I was looking for a new type of restaurant. We live in Pittsburgh, and were visiting Toronto for the weekend. I had known for months about this trip to Toronto, so I did my homework. This restaurant was cool,eclectic,and the food was awesome.!! Art is King,as you will see when you visit.

I have been to a number of Spanish restaurants and Tapas bars. Barsa Taberna is a treasure.The food was excellent,fairly priced.I would eat there often if I lived in Toronto.

A very special Thank You to our server Jamie. She made the evening very special for my wife and I. She was awesome!!

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We celebrated our 22nd anniversary with a wonderful dinner. We chose the $50.00 tasting menu and were more than satisfied. The ceviche and all tapas in general were great tasting. The atmosphere and service also great. Looking forward to visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

March 11, 2017

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Amazing food. Dishes were very good. Not cheap but the food is worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great tasting menu. Love the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great value for the travelzoo coupon! Taste is good but not spectacular. Fun range of sangrias :)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Food was amazing
atmosphere was great
servers were kind and polite


only thing was that the back of the handles of the silverware was sticky

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Incredible as always, the food and service seems to always get better and better. This place really makes you feel like you are Europe and the variety of the food really challenges your taste buds while again providing the taste of Europe. As the ratings show this is one of the best restaurants in the City, certainly the best Paella and Sangrias.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Horrible experience. After sitting for 10 minutes the power went off and so did the fire alarm. Apparently this had been happening all day and they didn't think to close the restaurant. Instead they had people come in and allow them to order drinks but no hot food was available. Horrible experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I was thinking of calling the manager and speaking to him about the horrible waiter we had. He was so rude and not helpful at all. Our whole group was really upset with the attitude we received from the waiter when asking questions.
The food was very salty and not worth the really expensive prices.
It becomes a bar so be prepared for lots of people coming in at the end of the night and doing shots while you are finishing your meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Amazing food, great service, but extremely loud... terrible acustics.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Too noisy, very large party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent service but not great food, the paella was ok not great and some tapas are really poor taste.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very nice ambiance and efficient service. Food was plentiful and tasty and good wine selections.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband & I had a date night here recently. What a wonderful place. Had the tasting menu and the last paella course took forever to come out. They explained to us that the chef wasn't happy with the dish and wanted to make us a new one. They didn't charge us for it and brought additional drinks to us. What great service! We will be back for sure!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Spicy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Enjoyed our meal, everything was delicious! Just bit too loud but that's okay :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This is an intimate yet lively restaurant with excellent food and awesome service. Great selection of tasty tapas and wines. Lots of choices and great portions (we couldn't finish our patatas bravas, as much as we wanted to). The atmosphere is perfect for an evening out.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

A must-try and now a repeat location for sure!! Really cool lower level restaurant in an old horse stable building with cool stone walls and original stable archways! Comfortable environment, super friendly and fast service! We went for brunch and had amazing choices of sangria, tapas (manchengo churros were amazing) and then had house-made chorizo eggs Benny! Best meal of the weekend. We will be back for sure.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent food,very good service and reasonable prices
Tasting menu was excellent
We will definitely be back soon
Thank you Guys!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A great meal. Great service. Amazing flavours and every dish was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Delicious food and exceptional service, nice spot for pre-show meal and drinks

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Super good food, reasonably authentic. Very nice and clean, reasonably priced for the location.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Authentic, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had the $60 tasting menu and it was amazing! Our server asked for our preferences and any dietary restrictions and together with the chef, was able to put together a customized tasting menu for us. It was definitely a great value for the number and variety of tapas we had. The rose sangria was excellent as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 20, 2017

A wonderful dinner recommended by Crystal. Loved the choices. Romi was a delight to talk to afterwards and find out about the history of the building.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 19, 2017

we had B DAY celebration, thank you for the restaurant free BDAY desert

druns m were very nic e, nice creativem we love it

meals vere intersting , some very nice, but overall good
we missed more art creativity on plate as the wow efect

we were all in barcelona before, had experinced differnt tapas around the worls, so litle more art may be cool to have as presentation

thank you

Tags: Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was a friends get together before a concert at the Sony centre. The centre had recommended several places to check out before the performance. We picked Barsa because of our appreciation of spanish cousine. We could not be more happy with our choice. The taverna is located in a beautiful historical building and stylishly designed. The total ambience is modern and posh. The service is friendly and professional. All the tapas we tried were amazing. We ordered a sea food paella which was very good. Having tasted paellas in Spain, I would comment that it lacked saffron a bit, but overall it was great. Will definitely return and highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2017

As usual awesome. This has become one of our favourite 'go to' place in the Market

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Took advantage of their sangrias which were half off on Tuesdays. Had the Rosado which was super refreshing. Service was also phenomenal and very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great service and delicious food. Will definitely be going back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Tapas, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great experience in food and would definitely suggest it to friends. Dined with someone who frequents many spanish resurants & they described Barsa Taberna as their new favourite.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Tapas, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

So I'm a bit ambivalent about Bersa Taberna. It's a really funky cave-like spot, perfect for a cold winter night. The server we had was really good. She was attentive without being in our face and offered some helpful tips on navigating the menu. Over all the food was competently prepared but nothing stood out. Price wise it was a bit on the high side given the quality of the food. Almost $400 for 4 people, with 1 pre-dinner cocktail each and 1 bottle of wine. You can eat at Cava and the food is several notches better.

I can't say I'd recommend this place for dinner but if you're in the neighborhood and want a pre-show drink and snack, I'd give it a go.

Tags: Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food and ambiance is amazing!! It's tapas style so you need to get at least two dishes per person. The sparkling Sangrias are so good! Great appt for foodies!

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We went for a pre-theatre dinner with friends. The reservation was recognized and we were seated immediately. Our server was very helpful and polite and got us through the longer-than-expected mid-range ($50) tasting menu in good time. All four of us found that the food was excellent - lots of variety, well-presented and great tastes. Our only complaint was that there were probably 2 dishes too many - we would have been well satisfied with slightly less food. But it would have been hard to choose what to leave out as the dishes were all great. We will go back and try our luck with the $40 menu!

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was fantastic. Definitely recommend the tasting menu

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

great food, lots of options on the menu. authentic Spanish tapas. Wine list is ok, could be heavier on the Spanish options. the cavas are delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Tapas, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We enjoyed our visit.Food was amazing and a lot!
We tried tasting menu.
We definitely will come back.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Highly recommend the tasting menu. Allows you to try various dishes for one price. Family style. Provide as much information to your server about likes and dislikes, as they chose the dishes for you.

Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2016

There was a large group of us for a 50th birthday - loved the tasting menu! Excellent option for foodies, lots of variety, and plenty of food. Service was excellent, and they divided the bill in exactly the way we requested. Made for a perfectly stress-less ending to a great evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great food and place. Pricey but worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.