HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Barren Hill Tavern & Brewery

3.9
117 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Gastro Pub
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for Groups
  • Fit for Foodies

Similar Restaurants

About

Barren Hill Tavern & Brewery brings exceptional craft beer and an accomplished menu to Lafayette Hill, just up the road from Chestnut Hill. With 30 craft and import beers on draft, including house-made brews from Head Brewer Dave Wood.
The cuisine at Barren Hill Tavern complements the leading beverage program with beer-infused dishes and inspired pairings. Executive Chef Paul Trowbridge brings his elevated comfort food to Barren Hill with delicious options including a variety of mussels, Confit Duck Fries, Sandwiches on house-made breads, with salads and entrees among the offerings as well as Brunch on Sundays. Barren Hill Tavern proudly offers a 20% Police, Fire & Military discount with ID everyday.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American, Brewery
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday – Wednesday
12:00pm - 11:00pm

Thursday - Saturday
11:00am - 1:00am

Sunday
10:30am - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(484) 344-5438
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Paul Trowbridge
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Off-site catering is available
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Church Road
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Bus #27
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Plan your next Business Luncheon, Graduation Party, Holiday Party, Beer Dinner, Beer Class, Reunion, Rehearsal Dinner, Bridal Shower, Baby Shower and More!

Private space available for groups of various sizes.

Buffet and Coursed Menus available.


Contact us at Events@Barrenhilltavern.com to get more information for planning your next event at Barren Hill Tavern & Brewery
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 117 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.9  based on all time ratings
4.0
food
4.0
service
3.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipmtairygirl2 (Philadelphia)
3.0  Dined on March 27, 2016

Basic brunch food, not much creativity. Perhaps Barren Hill is a better dining experience for dinner or evening snacks/drinks. Great waitress, attentive and pleasant.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
4.0  Dined on March 13, 2016

We were looking for a light dinner and some good beer without driving far. Saw Barren Hill on TripAdvisor and decided to give it a try. Ended up being a great choice. Delicious pub food, there brews were good and they have some better know Crafts on tap as well with a decent small wine list.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
3.0  Dined on March 9, 2016

The beer is good. Surprised the menu is the same for lunch and dinner and there aren't any organic or vegetarian options.

Report
Helpful
Loui (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellent food. At our table, we enjoyed the pork belly reuben, duck fries, honey Sriracha wings and specials of a filet tip sandwich and turkey corn chowder. Everything was delicious and we can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
4.0  Dined on March 4, 2016

The menu was a little lacking in my opinion in fact so much that we almost left after looking at menu but we decided to give it a go since it was getting late. We thoroughly enjoyed our food and drinks and will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on February 26, 2016

Great food and terrific service !! Our waitress Victoria was very knowledgable about each item on the menu and very attentive!!
Thanks for making our first time experience a great time!! Can't wait to return!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2016

It was fantastic as always. Great service and great food and even better beer. I never have a bad time here.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
4.0  Dined on February 6, 2016

Recently had dinner here, Beer list in extensive with a great selection of their own beers and guest taps. Dinner was excellent all four people had different items and each was impressed. The only problem with the experience was room was recently renovated and there was a problem with the lights in our room. Waiter told us he tried to adjust lights and they would just go out. Would only last a second or two then back on. A little annoying, however food and beverage was excellent. Will definitely return

Report
Helpful
coltigh (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on January 15, 2016

We sat on the 2nd floor for the first time. It was a great surprise to the both of us. Felt very historic.

Report
Helpful
vipMelisa (Philadelphia)
4.0  Dined on January 11, 2016

Took a chance on this place, as beer drinking company was visiting. We had free samplings and awesome craft beers. Better yet was the bar menu! Superb. Well balanced sandwiches left you wanting more. Not too filling. Unique combinations of food. Extremely knowledgable waiter and very patient. A relaxing night for all. We left very happy!

Report
Helpful
JimT (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on January 9, 2016

An excellent local spot. Wide selection of their beers plus other local breweries. The Shepards's pie was a special and 3 of us enjoyed that item. Good value and pleasant staff.

Report
Helpful
MSholl26 (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2015

The food was delicious!! It's a cozy setting and our waiter was very friendly. We enjoyed our experience and will be back!

Report
Helpful
vipsputnik1784 (Denver)
3.0  Dined on December 27, 2015

This brewery and restaurant makes a lot of its own beer, and everything that I tried was unique and delicious. The food, service, and atmosphere were all nice but the beer is what shines. I would recommend this for a casual gathering among friends and family.

Report
Helpful
vipCaraM831 (Philadelphia)
3.0  Dined on December 17, 2015

We won a gift certificate so we decided to try it out. The duck fries were very good and nice to see on a menu in our area. The burger and crab cake sandwich were also good. There were only 7 large plate options and 4 of them were mussels. It would have been nice to have more options/variety. We had an ok night, but I think there are better options in the area that have better quality and variety and a better atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
ssg1227 (Philadelphia)
4.0  Dined on December 12, 2015

This place's food was very good. While there was not that much variety on the menu, every dish that our table has was delicious. More importantly though, Barren Hill's beer is fantastic. I have not had one that I have not liked from their saison to stout, I have not been disappointed. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a great beer adventure. My only complaint is that the server did not stop by our table frequently, so we were not able to get another round of drinks.

Report
Helpful
vipBravo5 (Philadelphia)
3.0  Dined on November 20, 2015

It was a mixed experience. Our appetizers and mains were very good and the portions huge -- although the flavoring of the pulled pork may well have come from a bottle, not real woodsmoke. The beer list is extensive, varied, and excellent, both as to in-house and guest brews, and the prices for both food and beer are reasonable. Our server was cheerful but badly inattentive, and dumped our leftovers despite an express request for a doggie bag. As to ambience, there is surprisingly little for such a charming and historic building -- bare walls, bare floor, and a cold hearth. If we go again, we'll just eat at the bar.

Report
Helpful
vipJennD (Philadelphia)
4.0  Dined on November 14, 2015

Couldn't find a restaurant in Lafayette Hill that took a reservation or seemed decent until we saw this one. Fun night with my friends. Decent craft beer selection. Duck fries fabulous!
Service was so so. But we will try again.

Report
Helpful
localfan (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on October 21, 2015

An excellent experience again. However, when server was asked about the "North of the Wall IPA" advertised on your website, he didn't have a clue and did not check for us. I settled for something else, a fine porter. Perhaps website needs to be updated, or servers need to be kept better informed. Still, food, drink and service was otherwise quote good as usual.

Report
Helpful
vipCarla (Philadelphia)
3.0  Dined on September 4, 2015

Cute spot, but quiet for a Friday night. Service was fantastic, but the food didn't blow us away. The fries were so spicy I couldn't eat them. But the beer selection was expansive and they feature their own brews.

Report
Helpful
Ehhhhh (Philadelphia)
2.0  Dined on June 9, 2015

Tried for the first time the other night after finding on a list of "Places to try in Philly" type list. Good beer list and looked like good food. Made reservations and arrived early and we were sat right away, the place was dead, which was fine as it was a Tuesday night. Keep in mind, the place was dead....took about 10mins for the server to come over and take our drink order, then another 10-12mins to get our drinks. Took our order and the food came out within a "normal" amount of time. They were out of ranch to go with wings. Tried a few different beers, each was just OK at best.

Overall, don't need to go back. VERY turned off by the fact that the place was not busy and it took 20-25 minutes to get a drink.

Report
Helpful
vipKathy (Philadelphia)
3.0  Dined on June 5, 2015

This was our third visit and not as good as the other times. The salads were ordinary. Our mussels were OK but the sausage & potatoes were not as good. The first room we were taken to was much too noisy that we requested another. Not our best experience

Report
Helpful
vipMare (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on May 31, 2015

Great brews and food in a quaint old building. Two bars and some small dining rooms, went for Sunday Brunch during Beer Week, service was excellent as was beer selections and food.

Report
Helpful
vipMike (Philadelphia)
4.0  Dined on May 29, 2015

The food was great and so were the drinks. We would definitely return.

Report
Helpful
vipdcrdcr (Philadelphia)
3.0  Dined on May 9, 2015

If you are up for a lively and noisy scene with good bar food and then some, this is the place. Also nice because it attracts a wide age group--multi-generational. The outside patio is pretty nice, though some of it is noisy from the parking lot and cars coming and going. The bar food is pretty good. A cut above a lot of taverns and if you want a real meal--an entree--they offer up some very decent options. We go here when we're in the mood for a lot of activity and don't mind the noise of the crowd. It can be hard to have a conversation in proximity to either of the bars. There isn't much sound muffling in the decor. But the decor is really quite lovely. Their adult milkshakes and fresh, hot home made cookies are quite the treat.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on May 8, 2015

Great selection of house made beers on tap. We all tried a different type and enjoyed every one. Highly recommend their mussels and burgers. Also great French fries. Our server was attentive and timely. Great neighborhood pub!

Report
Helpful
vipFansofOpenTable (Philadelphia)
4.0  Dined on April 17, 2015

The four of us had dinner and found the food to be very good. The restaurant noise level made dinner conversation a little difficult. Would highly recommend for those who enjoy craft beers.

Report
Helpful
vipBarry (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on April 10, 2015

Great beer list, some made kn premises. Menu was awesome, especially the mussel options. Thai curry mussels were MY choice....loved em!

The service was superb too!

Will be back soon!!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
4.0  Dined on March 21, 2015

Had another excellent but casual dinner here. The food is a cut above what we've come to expect at "boutique beer pub" places. Service is shared by all wait-staff so even on a busy Saturday night the drinks and food keep coming. Special note for the short rib quesadilla, duck fat fries, brisket sandwich, garlic sausage roll, and the pork belly reuben. The house beers are quiet varied, and they have a nice selection of other lcoal breweries' offerings.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
4.0  Dined on March 1, 2015

Went to brunch with a few friends. Prices looked good and so did the food. We were very excited to try this place but found it a little disappointing. I asked for a sticky bun without nuts, but got nuts anyhow. I could scrape them off but would have preferred none. My friend asked for her Bloody Mary to be extra spicy and they could not oblige. Veggie Omelet was good, potatoes (which I normally don't eat) were great. I had to ask for salt and pepper. Also had to request toast and a side of bacon with the omelet, instead of the server asking me if I wanted anything else with it. Biggest disappointment was for my 2 friends who ordered the "Scottish Salmon Benedict" and got a slab of what was clearly Alaskan salmon, which was not very breakfast like. They thought it would be smoked salmon. It was bad weather so the place was empty. Flooring is old and needs to be replaced. Would not hurry back.

Report
Helpful
Hines555 (Washington DC)
4.0  Dined on February 14, 2015

I went for Valentine's day, and it was fairly busy. But since I made my reservation I was able to get my table as soon as I got there. The service was a bit slow but as expected due to the holiday. But the staff was over all very nice, and were very accommodating. I was happy with my food, my date just didn't seem to find anything that she really liked, except for the mac and cheese. The beers were very good, which I enjoyed! They also had a complimentary beer for Valentine's Day which was very nice! I think I will check this place out again some time.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4