Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Brittingham's PubBrittingham's Pub
(156)
Comfort Food | Conshohocken, Western Suburbs
Reserve Now
Spring Mill CafeSpring Mill Cafe
(683)
French | Conshohocken, Western Suburbs
Reserve Now
Arugula Ristorante At Cold Point Village (BYOB)Arugula Ristorante At Cold Point Village (BYOB)
(378)
Italian | Plymouth Meeting, Western Suburbs
Reserve Now
Bar LuccaBar Lucca
(447)
Italian | Conshohocken, Western Suburbs
Reserve Now
The StoneRose RestaurantThe StoneRose Restaurant
(427)
American | Conshohocken, Western Suburbs
Reserve Now
Osaka - Chestnut HillOsaka - Chestnut Hill
(253)
Japanese | Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
JansenJansen
(204)
American | Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Blackfish - ConshohockenBlackfish - Conshohocken
(1942)
American | Conshohocken, Western Suburbs
Reserve Now
Redstone American Grill - Plymouth MeetingRedstone American Grill - Plymouth Meeting
(2186)
American | Plymouth Meeting, Western Suburbs
Reserve Now
MicaMica
(742)
American | Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Iron Hill Brewery - Chestnut HillIron Hill Brewery - Chestnut Hill
(1046)
American | Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Paris Bistro - Chestnut HillParis Bistro - Chestnut Hill
(770)
French | Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Pepperoncini Restaurant & Bar ConshohockenPepperoncini Restaurant & Bar Conshohocken
(379)
Italian | Conshohocken, Western Suburbs
Reserve Now
Coyote Crossing - ConshohockenCoyote Crossing - Conshohocken
(969)
Mexican | Conshohocken, Western Suburbs
Reserve Now
El PoquitoEl Poquito
(222)
Mexican | Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia
Reserve Now

About Barren Hill Tavern & Brewery

646 Germantown Pike
Lafayette Hill, PA 19444
View Larger Map

Barren Hill Tavern & Brewery brings exceptional craft beer and an accomplished menu to Lafayette Hill, just up the road from Chestnut Hill. With 30 craft and import beers on draft, including house-made brews from Head Brewer Dave Wood.
The cuisine at Barren Hill Tavern complements the leading beverage program with beer-infused dishes and inspired pairings. Executive Chef Paul Trowbridge brings his elevated comfort food to Barren Hill with delicious options including a variety of mussels, Confit Duck Fries, Sandwiches on house-made breads, with salads and entrees among the offerings as well as Brunch on Sundays. Barren Hill Tavern proudly offers a 20% Police, Fire & Military discount with ID everyday.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Wednesday
12:00pm - 11:00pm

Thursday - Saturday
11:00am - 1:00am

Sunday
10:30am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Church Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(484) 344-5438

Website:
http://www.barrenhilltavern.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available

Public Transit:
Bus #27

Executive Chef:
Paul Trowbridge

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Plan your next Business Luncheon, Graduation Party, Holiday Party, Beer Dinner, Beer Class, Reunion, Rehearsal Dinner, Bridal Shower, Baby Shower and More!

Private space available for groups of various sizes.

Buffet and Coursed Menus available.


Contact us at Events@Barrenhilltavern.com to get more information for planning your next event at Barren Hill Tavern & Brewery

Sort By:
Newest
115 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nothing special . . .

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Basic brunch food, not much creativity. Perhaps Barren Hill is a better dining experience for dinner or evening snacks/drinks. Great waitress, attentive and pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Find

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We were looking for a light dinner and some good beer without driving far. Saw Barren Hill on TripAdvisor and decided to give it a try. Ended up being a great choice. Delicious pub food, there brews were good and they have some better know Crafts on tap as well with a decent small wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The beer is good. Surprised the menu is ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

The beer is good. Surprised the menu is the same for lunch and dinner and there aren't any organic or vegetarian options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Excellent food. At our table, we enjoye ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellent food. At our table, we enjoyed the pork belly reuben, duck fries, honey Sriracha wings and specials of a filet tip sandwich and turkey corn chowder. Everything was delicious and we can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu was a little lacking in my opin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

The menu was a little lacking in my opinion in fact so much that we almost left after looking at menu but we decided to give it a go since it was getting late. We thoroughly enjoyed our food and drinks and will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Great food and terrific service !! Our w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Great food and terrific service !! Our waitress Victoria was very knowledgable about each item on the menu and very attentive!!

Thanks for making our first time experience a great time!! Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

awesome

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

It was fantastic as always. Great service and great food and even better beer. I never have a bad time here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Microbrew with excellent guest taps

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Recently had dinner here, Beer list in extensive with a great selection of their own beers and guest taps. Dinner was excellent all four people had different items and each was impressed. The only problem with the experience was room was recently renovated and there was a problem with the lights in our room. Waiter told us he tried to adjust lights and they would just go out. Would only last a second or two then back on. A little annoying, however food and beverage was excellent. Will definitely return

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Great food, beer variety, great waitress Victoria

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

We sat on the 2nd floor for the first time. It was a great surprise to the both of us. Felt very historic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a microbrewery for the northwest suburbs!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 12, 2016

Took a chance on this place, as beer drinking company was visiting. We had free samplings and awesome craft beers. Better yet was the bar menu! Superb. Well balanced sandwiches left you wanting more. Not too filling. Unique combinations of food. Extremely knowledgable waiter and very patient. A relaxing night for all. We left very happy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good beer and food at Barren Hill Brewery

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

An excellent local spot. Wide selection of their beers plus other local breweries. The Shepards's pie was a special and 3 of us enjoyed that item. Good value and pleasant staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

The food was delicious!! It's a cozy setting and our waiter was very friendly. We enjoyed our experience and will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Beer and Lots of It

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

This brewery and restaurant makes a lot of its own beer, and everything that I tried was unique and delicious. The food, service, and atmosphere were all nice but the beer is what shines. I would recommend this for a casual gathering among friends and family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

So-So Dining

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

We won a gift certificate so we decided to try it out. The duck fries were very good and nice to see on a menu in our area. The burger and crab cake sandwich were also good. There were only 7 large plate options and 4 of them were mussels. It would have been nice to have more options/variety. We had an ok night, but I think there are better options in the area that have better quality and variety and a better atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great Spot for Great Beer

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

This place's food was very good. While there was not that much variety on the menu, every dish that our table has was delicious. More importantly though, Barren Hill's beer is fantastic. I have not had one that I have not liked from their saison to stout, I have not been disappointed. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a great beer adventure. My only complaint is that the server did not stop by our table frequently, so we were not able to get another round of drinks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

A Mixed Experience

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

It was a mixed experience. Our appetizers and mains were very good and the portions huge -- although the flavoring of the pulled pork may well have come from a bottle, not real woodsmoke. The beer list is extensive, varied, and excellent, both as to in-house and guest brews, and the prices for both food and beer are reasonable. Our server was cheerful but badly inattentive, and dumped our leftovers despite an express request for a doggie bag. As to ambience, there is surprisingly little for such a charming and historic building -- bare walls, bare floor, and a cold hearth. If we go again, we'll just eat at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Nice surprise!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Couldn't find a restaurant in Lafayette Hill that took a reservation or seemed decent until we saw this one. Fun night with my friends. Decent craft beer selection. Duck fries fabulous!

Service was so so. But we will try again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Please see below.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 21, 2015

An excellent experience again. However, when server was asked about the "North of the Wall IPA" advertised on your website, he didn't have a clue and did not check for us. I settled for something else, a fine porter. Perhaps website needs to be updated, or servers need to be kept better informed. Still, food, drink and service was otherwise quote good as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cool beer list, but underwhelming

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Cute spot, but quiet for a Friday night. Service was fantastic, but the food didn't blow us away. The fries were so spicy I couldn't eat them. But the beer selection was expansive and they feature their own brews.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Ehhhh, won't go back

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2015

Tried for the first time the other night after finding on a list of "Places to try in Philly" type list. Good beer list and looked like good food. Made reservations and arrived early and we were sat right away, the place was dead, which was fine as it was a Tuesday night. Keep in mind, the place was dead....took about 10mins for the server to come over and take our drink order, then another 10-12mins to get our drinks. Took our order and the food came out within a "normal" amount of time. They were out of ranch to go with wings. Tried a few different beers, each was just OK at best.

Overall, don't need to go back. VERY turned off by the fact that the place was not busy and it took 20-25 minutes to get a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Barren Hill

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 5, 2015

This was our third visit and not as good as the other times. The salads were ordinary. Our mussels were OK but the sausage & potatoes were not as good. The first room we were taken to was much too noisy that we requested another. Not our best experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great Beer

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 31, 2015

Great brews and food in a quaint old building. Two bars and some small dining rooms, went for Sunday Brunch during Beer Week, service was excellent as was beer selections and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and beer

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 29, 2015

The food was great and so were the drinks. We would definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Really great local hangout

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

If you are up for a lively and noisy scene with good bar food and then some, this is the place. Also nice because it attracts a wide age group--multi-generational. The outside patio is pretty nice, though some of it is noisy from the parking lot and cars coming and going. The bar food is pretty good. A cut above a lot of taverns and if you want a real meal--an entree--they offer up some very decent options. We go here when we're in the mood for a lot of activity and don't mind the noise of the crowd. It can be hard to have a conversation in proximity to either of the bars. There isn't much sound muffling in the decor. But the decor is really quite lovely. Their adult milkshakes and fresh, hot home made cookies are quite the treat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great selection of house made beers on t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2015

Great selection of house made beers on tap. We all tried a different type and enjoyed every one. Highly recommend their mussels and burgers. Also great French fries. Our server was attentive and timely. Great neighborhood pub!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was good

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 17, 2015

The four of us had dinner and found the food to be very good. The restaurant noise level made dinner conversation a little difficult. Would highly recommend for those who enjoy craft beers.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

wonderful, historic brewpub

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 10, 2015

Great beer list, some made kn premises. Menu was awesome, especially the mussel options. Thai curry mussels were MY choice....loved em!

The service was superb too!

Will be back soon!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Not just another brew pub

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 21, 2015

Had another excellent but casual dinner here. The food is a cut above what we've come to expect at "boutique beer pub" places. Service is shared by all wait-staff so even on a busy Saturday night the drinks and food keep coming. Special note for the short rib quesadilla, duck fat fries, brisket sandwich, garlic sausage roll, and the pork belly reuben. The house beers are quiet varied, and they have a nice selection of other lcoal breweries' offerings.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice Brunch but a little disappointed

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 1, 2015

Went to brunch with a few friends. Prices looked good and so did the food. We were very excited to try this place but found it a little disappointing. I asked for a sticky bun without nuts, but got nuts anyhow. I could scrape them off but would have preferred none. My friend asked for her Bloody Mary to be extra spicy and they could not oblige. Veggie Omelet was good, potatoes (which I normally don't eat) were great. I had to ask for salt and pepper. Also had to request toast and a side of bacon with the omelet, instead of the server asking me if I wanted anything else with it. Biggest disappointment was for my 2 friends who ordered the "Scottish Salmon Benedict" and got a slab of what was clearly Alaskan salmon, which was not very breakfast like. They thought it would be smoked salmon. It was bad weather so the place was empty. Flooring is old and needs to be replaced. Would not hurry back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Went for Valentine's day

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

I went for Valentine's day, and it was fairly busy. But since I made my reservation I was able to get my table as soon as I got there. The service was a bit slow but as expected due to the holiday. But the staff was over all very nice, and were very accommodating. I was happy with my food, my date just didn't seem to find anything that she really liked, except for the mac and cheese. The beers were very good, which I enjoyed! They also had a complimentary beer for Valentine's Day which was very nice! I think I will check this place out again some time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great beer, service; Good food

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Barren Hill has a fantastic lineup of house and guest beers. The servers were all very prompt and attentive. Food arrived amazingly quickly. Wonderful presentation on the plates, but a little bland overall. From the menu descriptions, I was expecting a much bolder flavor. My wife had the Beer Battered Fish & Chips, and one of the smaller cuts of fish was a little too overdone. My scallops were very good. Overall we had a very nice experience and would gladly return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Very nice!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

it was our first time, and on Valentine's Day. We enjoyed the amazing beer and hard cider options. And many wonderful food items to pair.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Went for lunch. Place pretty empty. Fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 7, 2015

Went for lunch. Place pretty empty. Food was good as were the beers we sampled. Waiter was helpful. Biggest negative is the interior. Looks like no one has given it a new coat of paint or done anything to make it look attractive. Looks like an old run down bar.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Another great lunch. Beers were great as ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 7, 2015

Another great lunch. Beers were great as usual. Mussels Aventino were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great time

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 25, 2015

Brunch here was great. Our server read us off the specials and helped us decide. We each got a flight of beer. I had Flight 2 and it was delicious, nice size too. The only downside to our whole meal was that our server didn't tell us anything about any of the beers we got. We had to look up each of the 16 beers we got and read about them off the menu. The food was delicious and it was a good time. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great food!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 19, 2015

Food is always great. Love the decor/ambiance. We ate lunch this time with a group of 10 and had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great lunch!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 17, 2015

We tried some different beers this time and they were great. Food was excellent and our server was very personable and remembered us from our last visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My husband and I enjoy dining at this es ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 16, 2015

My husband and I enjoy dining at this establishment weekly. We love the happy hour and variety of beers and recommendations from our server Tracy! This is a gem of a Tavern in Lafayette Hill to eat comfort food such as delicious hamburgers, grilled cheese, and mussels. Everything is made from scratch starting with the spicy ketchup and ending with delicious, decadent desserts. A must try is the 7 deadly sins cake, and peanut butter chocolate tart!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

Hangover cure for us! Loved the brunch menu, everything was great. Their beers were great as usual, and they have added a ton of other beers to their beer list. Decor could still use some pictures, maybe of old General Lafayette, or the old war memorabilia. I think that would really pick up the interior.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Historic inn with good food and beer.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 31, 2014

Our group split four apps which were great. Short Ribb quesadillas. Corn and cheese empanadas, duck fries and the bacon wrap shrimp. I had two beer flights that included the barren hill beers but also some guest beers. My entree (pull pork with Asian slaw) was good but nothing to rave about. Overall very good but missed the last star. Out server Yolanda was so nice, friendly and very attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.