About Barra Rossa – Philadelphia

929 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Barra Rossa is a bustling burst of Italian flavor and energy. The lively atmosphere is perfect for sharing a meal with friends or family, or for a late night snack. The dynamic bar provides a vibrant venue for sampling from a selection of 50 Italian wines served by the bottle or quartino. Begin your meal with a sampling of Italian meats, cheeses and olives. Next, try several of our signature hot and cold small plates. Then, choose from a selection of our wood-fired pizzas and pastas, or one of our signature entrees.

Creative and traditional dishes are brought to life with local and fresh ingredients. An extensive wine and specialty cocktail list pairs with each dish to complete the dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11 am to 10 pm

Tuesday: 11 am to 10 pm

Wednesday: 11 am to 10 pm

Thursday: 11 am to 2 am

Friday: 11 am to 2 am

Saturday: 11 am to 2am

Sunday: 11 am to 9pm

Cross Street:
10th & Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 644-9074

Website:
http://www.barrarossa.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering available.

Parking Details:
Indoor Parking Garage with Valet is right next door! Central Parking entrance located at 925 Walnut Street. $8 Valet Sunday-Thursday after 3pm. $12 Valet Saturday & Sunday after 3pm. Metered Street Parking also available.

Public Transit:
Septa Bus Stop on the corner of 10th & Walnut for routes 9, 12, 21, and 42.

Executive Chef:
Chef William Connelly

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Group Events. Business & Professional Events. Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners, & Family Events.

Restaurant Photos

  • Barra Rossa – Philadelphia
  • Barra Rossa – Philadelphia
Barra Rossa – Philadelphia
Barra Rossa – Philadelphia

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Barra Rossa – Philadelphia can accommodate all your special event needs.

Barra Rossa – Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (31)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Great for Lunch (26)
See All
Good for Groups (24)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Special Occasion (12)
Casual (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Romantic (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Authentic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Outstanding Value (3)
Cozy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Scenic View (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Family Style (2)
Live Sports (1)
Business Meals (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
551 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is usually a good place for a pre t ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is usually a good place for a pre theater dinner. This time however it took more than an hour to get our entrees. However, the poor service was somewhat mitigated by a substantial discount on the bill.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value4

Great food and excellent service!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good service and décor, although too qui ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Good service and décor, although too quick and anxious to clear away plates. The margarita pizza was ok and the pasta primavera broth tasted only of mushrooms, which is too strong, and not what I was expecting. It included minimal broccoli, some spinach and mushrooms. Really could have used more broccoli and some garlic for flavor.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Was there for lunch and the food was goo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Was there for lunch and the food was good. Went back with friends and food came out of kitchen wrong, same drinks ordered twice made by different bartenders and obviously different tasting, food orders came out wrong and were bland. Overpriced for the quality and drinks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We enjoyed our visit, the food and the s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

We enjoyed our visit, the food and the service. Pre-Theater.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tapas, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was excellent. My waiter Harry ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

The food was excellent. My waiter Harry was very good. The noise level on this day (a theatre day) was very noisy but I would still go here before the matinee. I would recommend this place to people.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service is always friendly restauran ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

The service is always friendly restaurant is very clean there is a good selection of food it is very, very noisy

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

it is a good restaurant, but they have r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

it is a good restaurant, but they have real problem with their air conditioning system. It was too warm inside on a night when the outside was in the low 80s.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

For our visit to Barra Rosa, a small gro ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

For our visit to Barra Rosa, a small group of us from work decided to go during Restaurant Week. We ordered different appetizers & entrees but the same dessert. Everything was delicious and well prepared. We had the salmon, sausage frittata and chicken saltimbuca followed by the ricotta, berries & honey. Our server was very helpful and attentive without being overbearing. We sat upstairs and it's a beautiful space. Our only complaint was the upstairs seating was a bit warm. We know late summer is hard to predict but a floor fan isn't enough to cool such a large area. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delightful location and use of converted ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Delightful location and use of converted space. Close to theater. Extensive and diverse menu. Creative food preparation. Informed server. Only negative was failure to receive discount associated with theater membership despite advising server and showing him discount card prior to ordering.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

the owner is getting cheap..........we o ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

the owner is getting cheap..........we ordered a bowl of olives and there were only 13 olives in the bowl..........penny wise............will not be returning .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Our server Donalda was wonderful- great ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our server Donalda was wonderful- great service, pleasant , delicious food and beautiful restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I really appreciated the care our waiter ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I really appreciated the care our waiter took in seeing that my daughters gluten free dinner was correct. He knew the importance of the special diet that someone with celiac disease has to follow.

Thank you !!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Staff is always friendly. Food is good. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Staff is always friendly. Food is good. Reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went for Restaurant Week. There were ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We went for Restaurant Week. There were items different from the regular menu. It was superlative. The service was excellent. That will be the same when you go.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice place with nice serves. Menu is a l ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Nice place with nice serves. Menu is a little pricey but the food is good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Staff, food and ambiance was great. Woul ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Staff, food and ambiance was great. Would definitely go back if I'm in the area.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We arrived to learn that the air conditi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We arrived to learn that the air conditioning was broken; and the portable units that were installed were not up to the task of keeping up with 95 degree heat from outside. It was Saturday dinner time so finding someplace else without a reservation was not an option. It was a hot and sweaty experience.

To make the experience worse, our main course arrived about 2 minutes after the appetizers and the staff seemed surprised when we complained.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

The restaurant was so hot and poorly ven ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The restaurant was so hot and poorly ventilated we left before eating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great food and service....always!!! Many ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food and service....always!!! Many friend also in attendance after enjoying South Pacific at the WST.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for happy hour and dinner. The ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We went for happy hour and dinner. The AC was broken and it was 95 outside. It might have been hotter inside. We did not have time to go someplace else so we suffered the heat, had a light bite and hurried out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Had an excellent meal with great servic ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Had an excellent meal with great service a nice people to talk with

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. We were welcomed warm ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Excellent service. We were welcomed warmly upon arriving and waitress was excellent. We were in restaurant at 6:00 and at that time noise level was fine. Don't know how it would be when more crowds. My meal (meat tortellini) was overcooked .I did not send it back because I was on a tight schedule with an appointment at 7:00 close by. My daughters meal (salmon) came with pasta - no vegetables. It was a disappointing meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Decent food, with some interesting dishe ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Decent food, with some interesting dishes. A couple of dishes way over-salted. Probably not a repeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This restaurant has turned into one of m ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This restaurant has turned into one of my favorites visually and the food. I went on a first date here around 12 so it was considered brunch. We sat upstairs and the environment was beautiful. My date ordered the Texas Toast Style French Toast and I ordered their crab and linguini rossa which was to die for. We will definitely be back for another visit soon. Ask to sit upstairs and enjoy!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great the only complaint is ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food was great the only complaint is that the air conditioning didn't seem to be working well. And there was stand up fan blowing right at us. Otherwise great meal.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food wasn't bad. Just not exceptional.

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food wasn't bad. Just not exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

AMAZING pizza and great service. Defini ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

AMAZING pizza and great service. Definitely not a date spot (i made that mistake). It is a little pricey and very warm inside the restaurant but the food and hospitality made up for it.

A little pricey for pizza but worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food and the quality/price ratio wer ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food and the quality/price ratio were good. We enjoyed a lot the atmosphere and the friendly environment.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and outstanding service! Per ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food and outstanding service! Perfect location for pre-theater dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was good and service was fast. Rest ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was good and service was fast. Restaurant was so hot that it was hard to enjoy.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Had a great pre-theater meal here! Ster ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Had a great pre-theater meal here! Steric was very good and quick. Enjoyed pasta and a three-course fixed price menu of fried ravioli and veal chop. Will be back again! Only negative was it was very warm in the restaurant. Fresh bread was great! Cannoli for dessert finished off a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was beyond outstanding. Food was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Service was beyond outstanding. Food was excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been to Barra Rossa many times and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Have been to Barra Rossa many times and always love coming back. The food is outstanding (Gnocchi is my personal favorite), the wine is list is wonderful, and the service is top notch. Even the manager comes by to check in. Was a great place to meet friends before seeing a great show at the Walnut Street Theatre.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We found the menu limited. My husband ha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We found the menu limited. My husband had chicken piccata and it was okay, but not as good as many other places where he orders the same thing. I found it difficult to find anything that wasn't either pasta or spicy. I ended up with a hamburger. It was good, but certainly not what I was hoping to find.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Very nice team, good food. Good value f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very nice team, good food. Good value for the money and very conducive too Walnut Street Theater attendees. Only issue to mention is that they should dress up the rest rooms better . Clean, but not visually acceptable, especially on entry. Friendly staff, good service, and very good food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food! Very friendly staff, especi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food! Very friendly staff, especially our server, Ethan. He was an absolute pleasure. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went pre-theatre, Walnut Street Theatre. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Went pre-theatre, Walnut Street Theatre. Perfect location. Fantastic gazpacho, soup of the day! I don't eat pasta and really enjoyed pairing the sauteed spinach with the grilled chicken piccata. That and a glass of house Chardonnay, and I was a happy camper! Others in my party enjoyed Capellini Primavera. The restaurant is open to adjustments to menu, which is very thoughtful and makes coming here a delight. We also had a wonderful, energetic and friendly server. I feel badly for not remembering her name!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had Father's Day brunch there. I greatl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had Father's Day brunch there. I greatly appreciate how quiet the upstairs was. Food was solid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I really wanted to like this place, and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I really wanted to like this place, and while there is a lot to love about it, I didn't have the best experience. The food was great and the house wine is nicely priced. However, we had a reservation, and we were put at the smallest table in the restaurant (just at the top of the stairs). I had no complaints about the location of where we were seated - it's a very cute upstairs room. However, the table was ridiculously small. My food plate, which was very hot, was hanging off the edge of the table, as was my boyfriend's. We almost knocked our wine and water glasses over several times. None of the other tables around us were like that, so I'm not sure why they have one table that is so small, but I would really recommend that they get rid of it - it was not a pleasant experience because I was constantly conscious of where my hands were.

Also, our server was nice, but the service was way too fast. We got an appetizer and our food came out about 2 minutes after the appetizer did (which did not bode well for the tiny table at all). When I go to a restaurant and order multiple courses, even if they are casual or inexpensive, I expect to be able to finish one, or at least make a decent start on it, before the next is brought out.

The food was great. I think I wanted too much out of the experience - I would definitely go back for pizza or pasta with a group of friends for a quick dinner, but I would not recommend for date night or a drawn out meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.