About Barra Rossa – Philadelphia

929 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Barra Rossa is a bustling burst of Italian flavor and energy. The lively atmosphere is perfect for sharing a meal with friends or family, or for a late night snack. The dynamic bar provides a vibrant venue for sampling from a selection of 50 Italian wines served by the bottle or quartino. Begin your meal with a sampling of Italian meats, cheeses and olives. Next, try several of our signature hot and cold small plates. Then, choose from a selection of our wood-fired pizzas and pastas, or one of our signature entrees.

Creative and traditional dishes are brought to life with local and fresh ingredients. An extensive wine and specialty cocktail list pairs with each dish to complete the dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11 am to 10 pm

Tuesday: 11 am to 10 pm

Wednesday: 11 am to 10 pm

Thursday: 11 am to 2 am

Friday: 11 am to 2 am

Saturday: 11 am to 2am

Sunday: 11 am to 9pm

Cross Street:
10th & Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 644-9074

Website:
http://www.barrarossa.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering available.

Parking Details:
Indoor Parking Garage with Valet is right next door! Central Parking entrance located at 925 Walnut Street. $8 Valet Sunday-Thursday after 3pm. $12 Valet Saturday & Sunday after 3pm. Metered Street Parking also available.

Public Transit:
Septa Bus Stop on the corner of 10th & Walnut for routes 9, 12, 21, and 42.

Executive Chef:
Chef William Connelly

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Group Events. Business & Professional Events. Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners, & Family Events.

Restaurant Photos

  • Barra Rossa – Philadelphia
  • Barra Rossa – Philadelphia
Barra Rossa – Philadelphia
Barra Rossa – Philadelphia

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Barra Rossa – Philadelphia can accommodate all your special event needs.

Barra Rossa – Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Groups (31)
Fit for Foodies (29)
See All
Great for Lunch (29)
Special Occasion (19)
Notable Wine List (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Romantic (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Great for Brunch (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
524 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food wasn't bad. Just not exceptional.

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food wasn't bad. Just not exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

AMAZING pizza and great service. Defini ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

AMAZING pizza and great service. Definitely not a date spot (i made that mistake). It is a little pricey and very warm inside the restaurant but the food and hospitality made up for it.

A little pricey for pizza but worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food and the quality/price ratio wer ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food and the quality/price ratio were good. We enjoyed a lot the atmosphere and the friendly environment.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and outstanding service! Per ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food and outstanding service! Perfect location for pre-theater dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was good and service was fast. Rest ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was good and service was fast. Restaurant was so hot that it was hard to enjoy.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Had a great pre-theater meal here! Ster ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Had a great pre-theater meal here! Steric was very good and quick. Enjoyed pasta and a three-course fixed price menu of fried ravioli and veal chop. Will be back again! Only negative was it was very warm in the restaurant. Fresh bread was great! Cannoli for dessert finished off a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was beyond outstanding. Food was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Service was beyond outstanding. Food was excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been to Barra Rossa many times and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Have been to Barra Rossa many times and always love coming back. The food is outstanding (Gnocchi is my personal favorite), the wine is list is wonderful, and the service is top notch. Even the manager comes by to check in. Was a great place to meet friends before seeing a great show at the Walnut Street Theatre.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We found the menu limited. My husband ha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We found the menu limited. My husband had chicken piccata and it was okay, but not as good as many other places where he orders the same thing. I found it difficult to find anything that wasn't either pasta or spicy. I ended up with a hamburger. It was good, but certainly not what I was hoping to find.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Very nice team, good food. Good value f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very nice team, good food. Good value for the money and very conducive too Walnut Street Theater attendees. Only issue to mention is that they should dress up the rest rooms better . Clean, but not visually acceptable, especially on entry. Friendly staff, good service, and very good food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food! Very friendly staff, especi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food! Very friendly staff, especially our server, Ethan. He was an absolute pleasure. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went pre-theatre, Walnut Street Theatre. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Went pre-theatre, Walnut Street Theatre. Perfect location. Fantastic gazpacho, soup of the day! I don't eat pasta and really enjoyed pairing the sauteed spinach with the grilled chicken piccata. That and a glass of house Chardonnay, and I was a happy camper! Others in my party enjoyed Capellini Primavera. The restaurant is open to adjustments to menu, which is very thoughtful and makes coming here a delight. We also had a wonderful, energetic and friendly server. I feel badly for not remembering her name!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had Father's Day brunch there. I greatl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had Father's Day brunch there. I greatly appreciate how quiet the upstairs was. Food was solid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I really wanted to like this place, and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I really wanted to like this place, and while there is a lot to love about it, I didn't have the best experience. The food was great and the house wine is nicely priced. However, we had a reservation, and we were put at the smallest table in the restaurant (just at the top of the stairs). I had no complaints about the location of where we were seated - it's a very cute upstairs room. However, the table was ridiculously small. My food plate, which was very hot, was hanging off the edge of the table, as was my boyfriend's. We almost knocked our wine and water glasses over several times. None of the other tables around us were like that, so I'm not sure why they have one table that is so small, but I would really recommend that they get rid of it - it was not a pleasant experience because I was constantly conscious of where my hands were.

Also, our server was nice, but the service was way too fast. We got an appetizer and our food came out about 2 minutes after the appetizer did (which did not bode well for the tiny table at all). When I go to a restaurant and order multiple courses, even if they are casual or inexpensive, I expect to be able to finish one, or at least make a decent start on it, before the next is brought out.

The food was great. I think I wanted too much out of the experience - I would definitely go back for pizza or pasta with a group of friends for a quick dinner, but I would not recommend for date night or a drawn out meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Ethan our waiter was wonderful, a very n ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Ethan our waiter was wonderful, a very nice young person. The food as usual was outstanding ! We celebrated my father in birthday and recieved a 10% discount by showing our Walnut Street Theater tickets. We often do dinner before a show. Excellent place to have dinner!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I like the ambiance, we had reservation ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I like the ambiance, we had reservations so we were seated quickly, prices were good and reasonable, but my entrée was dry and the meat was over done. We had tickets to the Walnut Street Theater so I didn't want to delay our dinner and send the entrée back. The sauce on my entrée was nearly non existent. The others in my party enjoyed their meals, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

.We had glass of wine up stairs and the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

.We had glass of wine up stairs and the waiter asked if we wanted 5 0r 7 ounce i never was asked that at any restaurant before. And i might say if seamed as if he really did measure it.And the table next to us also made many remarks about the wine the waiter gave them more wine.......

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The server was horrible. She really seem ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The server was horrible. She really seemed as if she didn't want to be there. Her tone was so low we couldn't hear her. She never stated her name. & she was not impressed to have any urgency with simple request. The food was mediocre. I expected much more for what I ordered, as well as my friends. The taste was bland. The margarita I ordered was amazing, yet my meal could have been better. The service made the visit unpleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Very disappointing :(

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I really wanted to like this place because we have been looking for a good place to eat close to the Walnut Street Theater. The atmosphere is nice but the food is very overpriced for small portions and the service was not good. I don't mind a pricey place if the food is good and this place didn't measure up. I had the steak "salad" which was tasty but was really just a piece of meat on top of a few greens with pine nuts. For $18 something besides lettuce drenched in dressing would have been nice. My friend had the egg plant parmesan which had a ragu type orange sauce that was awful. We also shared a buffalo chicken pizza and the chicken was in small chunks and very tough. Our server was polite but very inefficient. He spilled my friends wine and brought her back the same amount that was in the glass instead of a full one. We also had to wait 10 minutes for a spoon for our desert. The worst part was that it says on their website that they give a %15 percent discount for Walnut Street Theater patrons. We showed our ticket but when we got the check there was only a 10% discount and we were told we needed to be subscribers. We were and showed our waiter and he came back and had only taken $3 off the bill instead of the extra 5%. After all that we were running late for the show so just paid the bill. Overall it was not a good experience and we will NOT be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Great place!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy this restaurant

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This restaurant is a great place to enjoy good food prior to performances at the Walnut. The food is always good. The service is sporadic.on my most recent visit it was very bad.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I love this place.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We have dinner here overtime we have a Walnut Street Theatre show. We would dine there more often but for the distance from home. The charcuterie has a wonderful selection. The crab stuffed portobello and mussels are to die for. My favorite is gnocchi with bolognese sauce. The meat in it looks as though it was pulled, not ground. Seafood is great. We don't eat dessert, but I'm sure you could find something you like. For the price, there is value. We like upstairs best although we have eaten in both places. I usually give service five stars also. This time, I can't. The waitress was very forgetful. Someone else brought one drink and she was surprised that I had ordered a drink. She had to ask us several times what we had ordered. I just think she needs to write things down. We always get the Meat/olives/cheese plate for our appetizer. The wrong one was served (two separate appetizers, not a combination of three on one plate). This had two consequences 1)We were charged for two appetizers instead of one and, 2)it was just too much food. It was a minor annoyance. Everything else was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

GOOD BEFORE THE THEATER

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Barra Rosa is a great casual spot before or after the theater. The food and the presentation are very good, but the wine prices are a bit high for the pour. Service was very pleasant.

I lost a bracelet that night somewhere within a block of BR. When I called to retrace my steps hours later, Roger did a cursory look around where I was seated and the walkway. The next day, I called back in the daylight and again, Nick and the staff did what seemed like a thorough search. Unfortunately, nothing showed up, but maybe it will be found somewhere. I was pleased that they made such an effort.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had tickets to Walnut Street..great place to start

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We were looking for a place to have dinner before the theater. My daughter suggested Barra Rossa and it was a great suggestion. Service and food were excellent. Prices were extremely fair for the value.

Definitely will be back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food and service very acceptable

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

great place to go before show at Walnut Street Theater

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good rustic Italian, with a by-the- ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Very good rustic Italian, with a by-the-glass wine list in the $10/glass neighborhood. About 6-8 reds and 6-8 whites. It is a 'wine bar'. I had veal parmesan, excellent, $26 with one glass of cabernet sauvignon

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Italian food

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food and service. Perfect before theater, which is a block away.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent if Going to The Walnut Street Theatre

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This is an excellent restaurant for proximity to The Walnut Street Theatre. It is within a block of the theatre, on the same side of the street. A parking garage is adjacent to the restaurant. We got a good Italian dinner. The food, service and value are all good. This restaurant is a little more noisy than I prefer for good conversation with my dinner companion.

We would absolutely go for dinner again if we were going to an evening show at The Walnut Street Theatre.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great portions no matter what you order! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great portions no matter what you order! And fairly priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This place is fantastic! Great food and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

This place is fantastic! Great food and great prices. The house red is smooth. Buy a bottle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always when I eat at Barra Rossa, I h ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

As always when I eat at Barra Rossa, I had a good meal and the service was excellent. The food is a good value for Center City eating. We go before the theatre at the Walnut Street and they are very conscious of the fact that we may have limited time. Also, they give a discount for folks who are having a theatre experience. The restaurant is fairly centrally located (especially close to the Walnut Street Theatre) and there is a parking lot right next door. A good time was had by my whole party of three people. Kudos to Barra Rossa - a standing ovation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Good, not sure I would make a special trip.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a reservation and were sat upstairs. The table was very nice and so was the area itself. Nice high ceilings, modern looking touches on a charming old building.

We had two servers, not really sure why. They both asked the same questions and both tried to tell us the specials. One of them was very nice, the other seemed like she was annoyed but putting on a "friendly" face. I guess the reason was they were splitting the whole area or something but it was distracting.

You could tell the dual server set up was not working as a second plate of calamari was delivered (did not order two). Even more annoying was asking for the mistaken second calamari to be removed from the final bill.

Food was good, my wife really liked the Penne in Vodka Sauce. She asked for it without the sundried tomatoes but they came on it anyway.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Argh

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I picked Barra Rossa as a fun Saturday night dinner option. I had never been and finally decided to pull the trigger and book a reservation. What drew me in was the adorable interior pictures I saw on their website and google images. Upon seating, I felt miffed. Where are the fancy chairs and white washed walls I had seen online? Where are the intimate lighting fixtures? As far as I could tell, I was transferred to a typical Philly bar. Is this the twilight zone or did someone capture me and place me in a run of the mill happy hour establishment?

I have no problem with bar decor, but it wasn't what I signed up for and that is what irked me. How can you advertise your restaurant as this super cute HGTV inspired venue, and then seat your guests at some alternate world. It felt as though I was boarding the titanic and I discovered last minute that I was in the lowest cabin. This happens to be one of my biggest restaurant pet peeves - When all sections are not equal in star value. If I had any ounce of chutzpah in me, I would have just been asked to be seated upstairs, but alas, I am socially anxious and scared of people. So here I stay, at my dismay.

All ranting aside, the food was rather good and so was the wine. Our waiter was nice. It really is nicely priced for what you get, which this ballin' on a budget millennial can appreciate.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value5

We celebrated a graduation with a really ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We celebrated a graduation with a really nice lunch. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Mother's Day Lunch at Barra Rossa

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Arrived at 3pm for a late lunch on Mother's Day just my husband and I. Disappointed that three of the five beers sold by the pitcher were sold out, including the house Italian beer Perroni.

Server new and unsure of herself. Did not ask to remove empty glasses, we had to move around the table when food served.

I enjoyed the beet salad but the beets were sparce, their should have been more since this was the name of the salad "Beet and Goat Cheese."

Will most likely try again when visiting the Walnut Theater nearby.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good Food, Great Service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner, we had an 8 person group. Our drinks were always filled, our apps and food came out when they are supposed to. Our server was outstanding, and very attentive. I would recommend this place to anyone!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had an excellent dinner, and our wait ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We had an excellent dinner, and our waitress was outstanding !! Very hard worker and very attentive to our needs!! Excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the meatballs Thin crust pizzas a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Love the meatballs Thin crust pizzas are excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My friends and I go here after we attend ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My friends and I go here after we attend the Matinee at the Walnut Street Theater (we're subscribers). The food is very good, as is the service. However, it would be nice to see some changes in the menu (or perhaps more specials).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Who Could Ask for Anything More?

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

I had tickets to a show at the Walnut Street Theater. My dinner at Barra Rossa more than made up for a (disappointing) deconstructionist prequel to Barrie's Peter Pan. Stopped there for a glass of wine before dinner later followed by the prix fixe meal. Very happy both times. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.