About Barra Rossa – Philadelphia

929 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Barra Rossa is a bustling burst of Italian flavor and energy. The lively atmosphere is perfect for sharing a meal with friends or family, or for a late night snack. The dynamic bar provides a vibrant venue for sampling from a selection of 50 Italian wines served by the bottle or quartino. Begin your meal with a sampling of Italian meats, cheeses and olives. Next, try several of our signature hot and cold small plates. Then, choose from a selection of our wood-fired pizzas and pastas, or one of our signature entrees.

Creative and traditional dishes are brought to life with local and fresh ingredients. An extensive wine and specialty cocktail list pairs with each dish to complete the dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11 am to 10 pm

Tuesday: 11 am to 10 pm

Wednesday: 11 am to 10 pm

Thursday: 11 am to 2 am

Friday: 11 am to 2 am

Saturday: 11 am to 2am

Sunday: 11 am to 9pm

Cross Street:
10th & Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 644-9074

Website:
http://www.barrarossa.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering available.

Parking Details:
Indoor Parking Garage with Valet is right next door! Central Parking entrance located at 925 Walnut Street. $8 Valet Sunday-Thursday after 3pm. $12 Valet Saturday & Sunday after 3pm. Metered Street Parking also available.

Public Transit:
Septa Bus Stop on the corner of 10th & Walnut for routes 9, 12, 21, and 42.

Executive Chef:
Chef William Connelly

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Group Events. Business & Professional Events. Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners, & Family Events.

Restaurant Photos

  • Barra Rossa – Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
  • Barra Rossa – Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Barra Rossa – Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Barra Rossa – Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Barra Rossa – Philadelphia can accommodate all your special event needs.

Barra Rossa – Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (42)
Casual (33)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
See All
Comfort Food (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Quick Bite (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Outstanding Value (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Cozy (9)
Romantic (9)
Authentic (9)
Gluten Free Options (7)
People Watching (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Family Style (7)
Fun (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Healthy (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Historic (3)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
613 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Staff was friendly, patient, and well or ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Staff was friendly, patient, and well organized! Food was amazing and arrived very quickly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious, always reasonably pric ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Always delicious, always reasonably priced, always friendly

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just had lunch and loved it. Great lo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

We just had lunch and loved it. Great location, food and service. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was conveniently located near our show w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Was conveniently located near our show which was at the Walnut St Theatre. We received a 15% off with our ticket stubs and a free appetizer which I received in the mail. Our wine was very good and so was the food which arrived hot and promptly. We enjoyed our meal and the service was good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is our second visit pre theater and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

This is our second visit pre theater and had great food good prices for a quick bite.

Service was great too!!

Tags: Wood Oven, Outstanding Value, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at this r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our first time dining at this restaurant. The food and service was great. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upstairs dining room was very quiet. Fo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Upstairs dining room was very quiet. Food was excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a rather disappointing visit. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 29, 2016

This was a rather disappointing visit. I had previously been to the restaurant and, although it was not a gourmet experience, the food and service were perfectly acceptable for a neighborhood convenience.

This time, however, things did not go so well. Our waiter appeared to be new, unfamiliar with even basic procedures and he had to be prompted to bring drinks. Our meals were not great either. I ordered an entree salad with shrimp (4 of them) that was almost entirely lettuce. My companion ordered a chicken dish that she said was tasteless, even having to request the capers and mushrooms indicated on the menu.

The place was extremely busy -- lots of theater traffic (including us!) -- but it will probable remain more of a pizza place in my mind.

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

had pre-theater dinner there for the fir ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 29, 2016

had pre-theater dinner there for the first time. we waited way too long for the waiter to come over and waited too long again for our drinks to be served. the waiter, although very sweet, seemed very green.

i ordered chicken piccata which the menu described as having capers and mushrooms on it. it had nothing on it and was utterly tasteless. i complained to the waiter who apologized and then brought out mushrooms with capers and it still was lacking in flavor. i kept reaching for the salt so that i could be marginally satisfied with my meal. no time to send it back as we had a show to go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Bar service was terrible We would have ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Bar service was terrible We would have spent more money but waited 15 min for a drink They need to fix this

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Four of us had a pre-theater dinner ther ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Four of us had a pre-theater dinner there recently. Our curtain time was 6:30, but the theater is just a few blocks away, and we told the staff that we had a deadline, and they were very accommodating. 3 people ordered main courses off the Italian-themed menu and pronounced them very good. I had the salad with seared tuna, and the waitress reconfirmed a few time just exactly how I wanted it cooked, which I thought reflected how much the restaurant cares about a diner's preference and how flexible they can be. It came out just right. The dinner was good, and at a reasonable price. We'll most likely go back there the next time we need to have dinner at that location.

Tags: Quick Bite, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I had lunch at the bar and the service w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 29, 2016

I had lunch at the bar and the service was excellent. The bartender was my server and also had to contend with the rest of the restaurant, and she was very helpful and attentive. I had a great time and will be back. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We made this reservation at the last min ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We made this reservation at the last minute and I must say we were more than pleasantly surprised. From the hostess to the wait staff all were quite professional and made the dining experience before our show quite memorable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Once again a homerun! Had sausage and pe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Once again a homerun! Had sausage and pepper sandwich with french fries. Meal arrived quickly and to my delight, it was HOT, HOT, HOT ! Everything was excellent, including the service.

Waitress was attentive without being intrusive, hard to do I know. We were seated on arrival, order taken quickly, and food delivered shortly.

I will be back, this has become one of my favorite places to share a meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere. Pleasant servers. Good ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great atmosphere. Pleasant servers. Good value with pre-theatre discount. Convenient location and nearby parking

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The homemade pasta dishes are amazing! W ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The homemade pasta dishes are amazing! We love the gnocchi is simply amazing! We also had the eggplant parm and chicken parm. Everything was delicious.

Tags: Historic, Happy Hour, Cozy, Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined there several times and th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We have dined there several times and the food and service has always been excellent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Nice restaurant with good atmosphere. Ou ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Nice restaurant with good atmosphere. Our food was good but the waiter definitely detracted from the experience. We waited for quite some time after we were seated to be acknowledged. He was not very attentive and we even heard him arguing with a co-worker. Aside from that I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Waiter was great. Very accommodating. F ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Waiter was great. Very accommodating. Food made fresh. Should have a veggie option included in main meal as a substitute for pasta without it being an up charge. Would like more vegan...veggie options. Overall enjoyed out dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I always feel so welcome whenever I come ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I always feel so welcome whenever I come in the door.

The manager is exceptional, best in the city

Yesterday my friend got ill & I walked in ready to cancel

Manager would not hear of it..gave me a good table off to the side

Waitress the best one I ever had here

& it was a delicious meal.

Glad I stayed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Bar Seating, Casual, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dined with a friend on Friday night. Arr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Dined with a friend on Friday night. Arrived early for our reservation and the friendly host staff was able to seat us right away at a beautiful table by the window on the second floor. Our server was attentive and professional. The food was delicious, came out quickly and was priced fairly. Would definitely return when back in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent gluten free menu with many opt ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

excellent gluten free menu with many options!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Really enjoy the warm ambience and great ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Really enjoy the warm ambience and great food!!! One of my fav Places!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good and arrived quickly. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food was good and arrived quickly. The service was good. Restaurant is very noisy.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Lunch before a play. Calamari was excel ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Lunch before a play. Calamari was excellent. Our table ordered Beet goat cheese salad, chicken panini, sausage sandwich and chicken Caesar salad. Nice portions excellent food. Our waiter was awesome and made it a comfortable experience for the 2 senior citizens that were dining with us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quick to seat, waited awhile to order an ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Quick to seat, waited awhile to order and part of order was wrong but by the time server came back it was not worth the trouble. Dessert was suppose to be cake/mouse. No cake in it and did not like it. Server did not even realize we only took a spoonful and left rest of it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Really enjoyed dinner here. Will go bac ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Really enjoyed dinner here. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This place is really nothing special, ex ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This place is really nothing special, except if you have tickets for the Walnut Street Theater it is very convenient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Nice atmosphere and not too noisy. The f ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Nice atmosphere and not too noisy. The food was just so so. Not likely to return, as there are too many good Italian restaurants. Our server was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

My group of four friends meet here befor ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My group of four friends meet here before going to the Walnut Street Theatre. We love the convenience from the High-Speed line station, proximity to the theater, and the food! The eggplant parm is the best!

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the food and the service was ex ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We loved the food and the service was exceptional. All kinds of dishes we liked.

Eggplant , crab, and meatball appetizers were great. We wound up getting several small

plates instead of an entree, each one excellent. Just try not to sit at the center row of tables.

Servers were zooming by us on both sides a lot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

OMG, had a great dinner, outstanding men ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 21, 2016

OMG, had a great dinner, outstanding menu. We'll be back...soon!!

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food as always. But due to several ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Good food as always. But due to several large parties we were seated in the back over the kitchen where we felt the kitchen fans throughout the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Pretty standard Italian food. The meatba ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Pretty standard Italian food. The meatballs in the braised meatball appetizer lacked flavor. My girlfriend got the Linguine w/ crabmeat, which was a kinda small portion for the price and didn't really taste outstanding to make up for it. I had the 4 cheese Ravioli in Pesto. The Pesto sauce was far too cheesy in itself. However the portion size was good.

We were on the second floor and it was very hot. Great service though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Love the friendly ambiance. Whether you ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Love the friendly ambiance. Whether you are sitting at the bar, at a table with friends or snuggled in a booth for a more private occasion it fits the perfect mood!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I have returned to Barra ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2016

My husband and I have returned to Barra Rossa several times for dinner when we are in Philadelphia because they never disappoint us! The service is excellent and the food is always delicious. We enjoy the ambiance that the second floor offers to make our evenings there special.

Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Have eaten there before and have never b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Have eaten there before and have never been disappointed. Ate upstairs this time and enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice decor and music. White pizza ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very nice decor and music. White pizza and tuna salad very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Always a pleasant experience. If you ha ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Always a pleasant experience. If you have a special seating request when making your reservation they honor it. Wait staff is excellent and both pleasantly attentive and helpful. Very good food value with a nice variety of tasty options. I had a salmon that was cooked to perfection. Very moist, great temperature and well seasoned.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were looking for a place for a pre-th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We were looking for a place for a pre-theatre dinner and this turned out to be a gem! So many good-looking choices on the menu. Two of us had the ravioli in pesto sauce. Delicious! Serving was just the right size, too. The zucchini frite was tasty, but a bit disappointing. More breading than zucchini. Our servers were very aware that we wanted to get to the theatre and made that happen easily. We will definitely return to try this restaurant again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.