About Barolo Grill

3030 E 6th Ave
Denver, CO 80206
View Larger Map

Barolo Grill, an award winning Cherry Creek North restaurant, prides itself on serving authentic northern Italian food while maintaining a comfortable, elegant ambience. Known for hand crafted modern Piemontese cuisine, spectacular wine cellar, and knowledgeable, attentive staff, Barolo can be a perfect choice for a special occasion or just a fun night out. Chef Darrel Truett's cuisine focuses on the Northern Italian provinces of Piedmont and Tuscany. Seasonally changing menus feature locally sourced ingredients, proudly supporting regional farms and producers.



Owner and wine director Ryan Fletter are proud to feature small family wineries that are dedicated to Earth-friendly farming and winemaking philosophies. Barolo Grill has one of the largest collections of Barolo wines outside of Italy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 5:15pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Between Milwaukee & St Paul

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 393-1040

Website:
http://www.barologrilldenver.com/

Parking Details:
Barolo Grill offers complimentary valet directly in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
RTD route 6 - Milwakee Stop

Executive Chef:
Darrel Truett

Private Party Facilities:
Barolo Grill has three private dining rooms available for groups of 6 to 30 people. Please contact Morgan Wolfe , our event coordinator, for details. 303.393.1040

Private Party Contact:
Morgan Wolfe: 3033931040x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer special prix fixe menus for New Year's Eve & Valentine's day each year.
We also host Truffle & Wine Dinners throughout the year. All reservations for these special events must be made directly through the restaurant.
For more information contact Morgan Wolfe, 303.393.1040

Restaurant Photos

Barolo Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Denver / Colorado
Italian
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Denver
7 More
Best Food
Denver
Best Service
Denver
Best Ambiance
Denver
Best Value
Denver
Fit for Foodies
Denver
Notable Wine List
Denver
Italian
Denver
Best Restaurants in Cherry Creek ›

special occasion (139)
fit for foodies (134)
notable wine list (123)
See All
romantic (109)
neighborhood gem (93)
good for groups (26)
hot spot (21)
vibrant bar scene (13)
 (4)
late-night find (4)
 (3)
 (3)
 (3)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
great for lunch (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1630 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary Celebration

Dined 6 days ago

Everything was excellent and we'll certainly return EXCEPT the coffee was below expectation and there were no pistascios in the pistascio gelato! How dare they...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service3

We had a dark table next to loud people ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a dark table next to loud people and could not be moved. Our food was just fair... Scallops and seafood pasta, overall not a great memory to celebrate our anniversary. Won't go back, which is too bad, this was our favorite restaurant in Denver.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

An overall excellent evening but a bit ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

An overall excellent evening but a bit overpriced.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place

Dined on May 20, 2016

This is an excellent restaurant in every way. The server told us a little more than we wanted to know about the menu, but he did an excellent job. The food is always delicious, and the wine menu, in my opinion, is world class. Barolo is on the expensive side, but I'll be back again and again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a treat

Dined on May 14, 2016

This is my 3rd visit at this restaurant and each one has been special, from the appetizers to the pasta dishes, to the main course, one better than the other. The only uninviting item: dessert which comes in too small servings

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Barolo is like a fine Italian wine

Dined on May 11, 2016

An old pal (she an author in town for book signing, plus a radio talk show host) was as impressed as we always are at Barolo Grill. For my money (it's not inexpensive), it's the best dining place in town, our go-to in a pinch or on special occasions. Never rushed, great oasis to eat, drink and share ideas. Our lovely waitress even gave a young person's opinion on current politics. We look forward to the next occasion, after sampling Italian fare in NYC for 2 weeks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

We enjoy our meals. Had duck and Veal.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoy our meals. Had duck and Veal.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Anniversary

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Another wonderful anniversary celebrated at Barolo Grill. A super place for celebrating anything or just a great meal out! Our favorite!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Special occasion place

Dined on May 6, 2016

We've been here several times, and it's always nice to know that we'll get consistently good food and service when we do decide to splurge. They've one of the best wine lists in Denver. If you're after a romantic dinner, ask for the seat in front of the fire place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

It was just okay...

Dined on May 5, 2016

My date and I shared a $14 salad which only took us each about four bites to finish... The portions were way too small to charge $14 per salad and ~$25 an entrée. Also, my date and I both felt like the service was too helpful actually - we couldn't go more than 3 minutes without the waitress or bus boy asking how everything was, refilling or water or wine for us... basically, we felt interrupted several times while in conversation, which was just a little overkill.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Wednesday

Dined on May 5, 2016

I have always thought of Borolo Grill as one of the best upscale restaurants in Denver. Last Wednesday's meal confirmed that impression. The chef's tasting menu with wine is a real indulgent treat. The duck was excellent. The service is outstanding. All the tables were filled with people having good meals.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal ever

Dined on May 4, 2016

Barolo grill was such an incredible experience. The wine list was amazing and the service was paced perfectly. All of the food was superb and the service was great as well. Overall I would highly recommend making this your next special occasion spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

birthday dinner

Dined on May 4, 2016

Three of the four meals were wonderful. My wife ordered scallops. there were four very small scallops and the presentation on plate was not very good for $31.00

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A true dining experience. Had a business ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

A true dining experience. Had a business dinner with two colleagues. Calm atmosphere which allowed for conversation but lively enough to enjoy the atmosphere. Food was tremendous. Very authentic Italian. Server was great at offering recommendations. Excellent wine menu. Will return.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always Fantastic

Dined on May 3, 2016

Barolo Grill never disappoints. Service is always on point. I never feel forgotten nor overwhelmed. Whatever you do, you have to try their take on creme brulee. The custard is the silkiest and they serve it thin on a large plate so there's plenty of caramelized surface.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visiting Barolo Grill. All s ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

First time visiting Barolo Grill. All service (valet, hosts, bar, & server) was stellar. Tasting menu was delicious and beautifully executed. Wine pairings & additional wine suggestions were spot-on. Beautiful spot to celebrate my husband's birthday. Bravo!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal overall. Food was fantast ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent meal overall. Food was fantastic and out waiter was great about answering and helping us get what we wanted! I would definitely go again

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wine List

Dined on April 30, 2016

The wine list is extensive to say the least. In addition, the staff's knowledge of the wines is great. Since we were not familiar with the wines, our service was able to recommend wines that were perfect for our palate and paired perfectly with our meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great restaurant with great food and service

Dined on April 30, 2016

I went there for a date and the place was impeccable. It is an unassuming restaurant in a neighborhood setting. The food was great and the experience was awesome with the wait staff. Try the duck, it's stupendous

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food and Service

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We were at the Barolo Grill this past weekend to celebrate my daughter's graduation. We enjoyed dinner in the wine room which was perfect for our small family group, and had great service throughout the meal. The server took time to explain the menu and make recommendations, and the food was outstanding. They had a very nice wine list with prices similar to other restaurants of this level. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

One of my favorite Denver Restauants

Dined on April 30, 2016

We were seated promptly our waiter was great and recommended awesome red wine that was reasonably priced. The appetizer was very good with a ample food, my entrée the halibut was bland it was as though the seasoning and searing was missed. My girlfriend had the Tortelli and it was awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My Favorite Denver Restaurant

Dined on April 29, 2016

Barolo Grill has been devoted to region specific tastes and food for years and they continue to deliver amazing, thoughful and creative northern Italian food. The wait staff knows the traditions of Italian food, the ingredients and the cooking inside and out. The service is good and the Italian wine list is thoughtful and reasonably priced. One of my favorite places to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful!

Dined on April 29, 2016

We went for both a birthday and to participate in Angel Heart fundraising. First time for each of us--the food was wonderful and the wine recommendations were great. Every member of staff was friendly, welcoming and provided more than we expected.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always top notch

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

We returned to Barolo Grill once again for the tasting menu. Last visit was an unbelievable dinner. This time the courses were all great. The kitchen has consistently remarkable execution. The pasta was the best course (as usual). Wine pairings were good but not so much to my taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Good food with quality ingredients, but overpriced

Dined on April 28, 2016

A fine place for a date with good food, thought not on par with the price. However, this may be seasonal. Our previous visit (Fall two years ago) was incredible but Wednesday's (April 27th 2016) was merely good, which is not sufficient for a $75 per person meal (including one drink). As they do source quality ingredients, it may be their spring selection needs improvement. It could also be they have gone done hill. It is questionable if I will be returning to find out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had the chef's tasting menu with the wine pairings -- service and food was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food, annoying wine list.

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Ours was a special occasion dinner for seven. We are generally ok with lingering long over dinner, but three and half hours seemed a bit much. The food was good to great, but the wine list was a real problem. It ran to at least 30 or 40 pages and most of the wines were $200 and up a bottle. I would say 90% or more of the wines were Italian, which were the most expensive in the book. I own a wine distributorship in Colorado and am part owner of an Australian wine company; so I can assure you this kind of expense for the wine is absolutely unnecessary; even in the finest restaurants. So, please Barolo, better and fewer choices and better prices for your wine.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the best restaurants in the world!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Barolo is an exceptional dining experience. From the greeting, the personal attention by the owner/maitre d' to the wait staff...and finally to the food and paired wines. The experience is simply exquisite. I could only compare Barolo to Charlie Trotter's in Chicago of days gone by. It's simply delightful. Thank you, Ryan and team

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top notch dining experience

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Our dinner at Barolo Grill was outstanding and memorable. Our table of five had the tasting menu paired with wines, and each course was a new adventure. This restaurant has never let me down. One of my all-time favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For my money, Barolo Grill is the best r ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

For my money, Barolo Grill is the best restaurant in town: quiet, comfortable, excellent choices of food, great flavors/cooking and incomparable service. We're always encouraged to share, which means we can have 4, 5 or 6 courses without emptying the wallet. As good as it gets.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Timer

Dined on April 22, 2016

I've passed this restaurant many times and always wanted to give it a try. The food did not disappoint. Excellent meal with excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Italy anytime

Dined on April 16, 2016

The service was excellent. Our waiter recommended the pork loin and I went with the duck, but after trying my sister's pork loin I could see his wisdom. The tagliatelle with lamb was also exceptional; honestly the duck was good but it paled in comparison to the other things at the table. The cheese souffle appetizer was amazing. If I'd had a wine-drinking crowd with me they'd have been happy people; I noticed a few wines on the menu that I would have liked to do by the bottle but the glass of Montepulciano D'Abruzzo I ended up with struck me as a classic Italian red, not too complex but delicious all the way through ... and vastly better than what you'll generally find as the cheapest glass of red on a menu. We brought a 1-year-old which I wouldn't recommend doing at this restaurant, but it was a special occasion so we came early and they were very accommodating. I have actually already recommended this restaurant to a friend, so that answers that question.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb Italian Restaurant!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Barolo is an excellent restaurant. The cocktails at the bar are exceptionally good. The wine list is extensive but caters to all price ranges. The food is outstanding ! The crab salad was so fresh and the "pinches" of pasta in the browns age butter were out of this world. The staff are a cut above the usual restaurant staff and are very knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Portions SUPER small

Dined on April 8, 2016

New management serving really small plates. $31 for a plate with just three small scallops. Expect to order multiple courses just to be satiated. Food was not even that good!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and service! We always en ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Wonderful food and service! We always enjoy dining here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, attention to detail, and ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Excellent food, attention to detail, and professional service. My husband and I had a wonderful evening! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice experience

Dined on March 26, 2016

This was our second experience there; the first experience was more romantic. The first experience, we were seated in a quiet area on the back wall side of the bar. This experience, we wanted to sit at a window seat, but because we did not request it in our reservation, we were seated toward the back near the kitchen in the main dining area. We enjoyed our initial experience better.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice to venture out

Dined on March 23, 2016

Great waiter JJ. Outgoing and fun. Delicious food!! Only issue was the smallest serving of Gelato ever. (the side of a cork). I asked to speak to the owner and the hostess wanted to see if anything was wrong. (I hope people give compliments too). Spoke to the owner to tell him about our night and wonderful waiter. (Wasn't expecting anything but a "come back and I'll buy you a drink" would have sealed the evening)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible service and food! I really en ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Incredible service and food! I really enjoyed the testing menu.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sets the Standard for Excellence

Dined on March 20, 2016

My wife and I have eaten at Barolo Grill on a number of occasions when we've stayed overnight in Denver. Love the place. The ambiance is great: up-scale, yet welcoming and comfortable, and the service is always flawless. Barolo is one of our "go-to" restaurants whenever we are celebrating a birthday, anniversary, etc. On this visit we started with a wonderful soufflé, followed by Diver Scallops (very good) and the Veal (a bit tough, but plated beautifully). We washed it down with a nice Albarino, which was reasonably priced and matched well with the food. Both servings were plentiful, such that we had to forego dessert, other than coffee. Barolo Grill always seems to be busy and it's easy to see why......

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.