Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.67mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.67mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.67mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.67mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About Barolo Grill

Barolo Grill, an award winning Cherry Creek North restaurant, prides itself on serving authentic northern Italian food while maintaining a comfortable, elegant ambience. Known for hand crafted modern Piemontese cuisine, spectacular wine cellar, and knowledgeable, attentive staff, Barolo can be a perfect choice for a special occasion or just a fun night out. Chef Darrel Truett's cuisine focuses on the Northern Italian provinces of Piedmont and Tuscany. Seasonally changing menus feature locally sourced ingredients, proudly supporting regional farms and producers.



Owner and wine director Ryan Fletter are proud to feature small family wineries that are dedicated to Earth-friendly farming and winemaking philosophies. Barolo Grill has one of the largest collections of Barolo wines outside of Italy.

3030 E 6th Ave
Denver, CO 80206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 5:15pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Between Milwaukee & St Paul

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 393-1040

Website:
http://www.barologrilldenver.com/

Parking Details:
Barolo Grill offers complimentary valet directly in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
RTD route 6 - Milwakee Stop

Executive Chef:
Darrel Truett

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer special prix fixe menus for New Year's Eve & Valentine's day each year.
We also host Truffle & Wine Dinners throughout the year. All reservations for these special events must be made directly through the restaurant.
For more information contact Morgan Wolfe, 303.393.1040

Barolo Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (72)
Special Occasion (72)
Fit for Foodies (59)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Good for a Date (59)
Romantic (57)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Creative Cuisine (55)
Worth the Drive (43)
Authentic (40)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Tasting Menu (35)
Local Ingredients (23)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Cozy (23)
Business Meals (20)
Fun (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Seasonal (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Healthy (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
People Watching (7)
Casual (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Disabled Access (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Organic (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
2205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

We have heard about this restaurant for many years and finally had the good fortune to viait there last Saturday evening.
The food was creative, delicious and served at just the right temperature.
Our server was very attentive and did not rush us but was there whenever we needed her. It is evident now why Barolo Grill receives such high marks in a busy Denver restaurant market.
Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

The food and service were exceptional. Usually we find this sort of restaurant and experience tucked away in a small Italian village. It is wonderful to know that we don't have to travel to Italy for such a delightful culinary experience. We will certainly return to Barolo Grill in the near future!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Great restaurant in a great location. Impeccable wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2017

This was our first time here and we were not let down. Everything about our experience was amazing. The service, food, and drinks were perfect. We will be back again to enjoy more of this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Hands down best Italian Restaurant in Denver. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Excellent food and service. The tenderloin was amazing! The lobster salad was very creative. The wine was very good. The coffee was served hot and the biscotti was nicely made, the best I've ever tasted. Everything arrived in a timely manner, and when we went outside, our valet parked car was waiting for us without a request to anybody. How do they do that?

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Good food and great service at this Denver stalwart.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 4, 2017

A favorite of mine for over 20 years. Always excellent, just expensive

Tags: Vegan, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The food was incomparable. The sea bream was perfection. But the service on Sept 29 was far too slow. I expect a leisurely pace, but we four diners each questioned the slowness. We weren't brought a wine list for twenty minutes after being seated.Once ordered, wine was very slow to arrive, as was the food. With a 7:45 reservation, we did not have food until after 9:00. The elevated dining space, while cozy, is reached by two steps which should be lighted. Two in our group stumbled.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Good food, good service, and good wine. And a shout-out to our waitress, Abby.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

One diner's dinner was 10 minutes late due to a kitchen mix-up. The others waited or tried to eat slowly. It was awkward. Also not much crab meat in the dish. We did get a free dessert , but maybe the late meal should have been free also. The rest of the service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Excellent!! A family favorite for many years and we are never disappointed. The food, especially the duck, is wonderful and the staff is courteous, friendly, and well informed.

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 21, 2017

my favorite restaurant of all time! Very authentic Italian. Like eating in Italy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 20, 2017

The Barolo Grill the best Italian restaurant in Denver and has long been one of our favorite restaurants. We hadn't been here in about 2 years. There are so many outstanding new restaurants, and we only go out to the top tier places 3-4 times per year. We'd heard that the food quality at Barolo had taken a downward turn last year, but had worked hard to get it back to its historic high quality. We can definitely say that the food was wonderful - flavorful, fresh, and presented in an appealing manner. The service was excellent, though our server was could have been just a bit warmer.

We won't wait another 2 years for our next visit!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 20, 2017

A perfect anniversary celebration! Food and service were incredible as always. Thank you for an evening that was special in every way!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Best Italian restaurant I've been to since being in Italy! One of my favorite in Cherry Creek and fantastic service. Also, the complimentary valet is great considering parking in the area is difficult. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Always great. Enthusiastic and very knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Our evening at the rollers was fantastic. We were celebrating and 89th birthday and couldn't have chosen a more perfect place – – the food, the service, the ambience ....We could have not asked for more. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Our appetizers were inventive, amazingly delicious, and fun! I had the squid ink pasta - to DIE for!!! My husband had the duck, which was mediocre, at best. It was dry and ordinary (I think the appetizers had us ready to be WOWed for the following dishes). The creme brûlée was one of the best I ever had - and because we were celebrating a special anniversary, they were very kind to bring out a special treat for us. All in all, we would definitely return (but just not order the duck).

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had a WONDERFUL meal. The food was out of control good. The quality of the ingredients as well as the prep were outstanding. We will go back soon.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Price was just over $200 for 4 of us, that included two appetizers and 3 glasses of wine. So definitely on the higher side as far as value. But the food was really outstanding. A lot of places in Denver charge 4 star prices for what is really 2.5-3 star food. Not here. Everything we had was wonderful from the appetizers, special breads, entrees and dessert. Staff was very knowledgable and friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was my third visit to Barolo. The two previous visits were very special, but the food and service during this visit were beyond exceptional. My guest and I both ordered the caprese salad and were in awe of the heirloom tomatoes, the olive oil powder (yes, powder), the house-made burrata cheese, and the balsamic vinaigrette that looked like caviar all came together exquisitely. (Before the salad, we enjoyed the breadsticks with a white bean hummus that was made with kalmata olives, parmesan, and rosemary...it exceeded all expectations by a mile.) The rolls, sprinkled with thyme, were warm and delicious. Our entrees were again the same, a delightful sea bass that was serve with a vegetable side dish that included roasted Olathe sweet corn (the best). The fish was cooked perfectly. For dessert, we shared a chocolate dipped biscotti and a crème brulee. Both were excellent. Our waiter was attentive without being overbearing, and answered all of our questions with ease. I wish I lived within walking distance, but am glad I'm only about 15 minutes away by car. (Oh, loved the valet parking, too, especially since parking is at a premium in that beautiful residential area.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Barolo impresses, once again. Everything was fabulous - from the appetizer (the cheese flan) to the dessert. We especially enjoyed the risotto and Agnolotti. Atmosphere is great and service is wonderful (thanks, Spencer). Enthusiastic thumbs up.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We bring our son here every time we visit Denver. This restaurant is outstanding! The food is amazing, the service is excellent, the lady bartender (Katie?) makes the best Cosmopolitans we have ever had. Carolyn , who has been our server on previous occasions is wonderful and very knowledgeable about the menu and the wines. The lobster salad was incredible - so fresh. The veal pastas have layers of flavours and our son thought the beef fillet was the best meal he has eaten at Barolo even though he rated all the others A+. We will return on our next visit.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I had been looking for a nice spot to celebrate our anniversary. Barolo kept popping up in my research, and I figured it was time to give it a try. I'm glad we did! We had reservations and were promptly seated. The menus (food and wine) were both very appealing. My wife and I both decided to go with the tasting menu (and accompanying wine pairings) to get a good feel for the restaurant's offerings and chef's style. We were very impressed. The menu changes, depending on what is seasonal, but the listed 5 courses and wines were absolutely delightful. Two additional food items and an additional wine were also brought to the table, making us pleasantly filled. The service was fantastic, with our primary server (Esther) taking excellent care of us with a wonderful presentation of each dish and wine. The other servers who assisted bringing out each dish were also knowledgeable and friendly.

The ambiance was cozy and friendly, and though it was a fine dining experience, it did not have the pretentious airs one might expect given the price level. When I go out for a fine dining experience, this is exactly what I am looking to find. I am prepared to spend a larger amount of money and expect a top-notch product in return, but I want it done in a comfortable and enjoyable atmosphere. My wife and I want to know the names of all of our servers and have friendly conversation with them as we experience our dinner. Barolo Grill most certainly provided the exact experience we sought, and I will absolutely recommend it and patronize again in the future!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 8, 2017

I have eaten at Barolo Grill on several prior occasions and it is my favorite restaurant in the Denver area. It is a bit pricey but it is the world class wine list that contributes to that, not the outstanding food. The service was outstanding. I really liked it when our waiter got down on his knees beside our table (and all his other also) to explain the menu. This out him face to face with us. I have never seen that before but loved it. Just a great place to eat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 6, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants! The menu changes seasonally and is always full of wonderful appetizers, salads, pastas and entrees. The wine list is one the best in town!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 6, 2017

As always - food was great and wine was even better. Highly recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Beautiful presentation of unusual foods, elegant atmosphere. Great for special occasions and elegant sophisticated dining.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Absolutely perfect in EVERY way❣️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Disappointing. For years I had been wanting to go to Barolo. Some of the food was pretty good, but some wasn't impressive.

Fritto misto was so-so. The Tagliatelle with veal was very good, Agnolotti not so much. Duck was pretty good, though I liked the veggies on my plate (excellent) more than the duck. DH was a fan of his pork dish. I like that you can order a tasting size of the pasta, it is fun to taste multiple dishes but not fill up.

The biggest disappointment was with sub par service. Waitress couldn't recall my drink order and came back to ask again. Then the cocktails came out several minutes apart - huh? My cocktail was meh.

Waitress messed up our primi order and they brought out wrong dish. They brought out the correct one fairly quickly but with the prices you are paying the service should be flawless. Not one of the better meals (food or service) I have had in Denver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Last meal we had at Barolo was off - but they have certainly righted the ship. Menu was impressive and the octopus dish I had was the best thing I've eaten this year.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Always exceeds our expectations from the taste and quality of the food to the service. I'd recommend for any great occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

The tortellini was phenomenonal, but even more impressive was the somm's encyclopedic knowledge of wineries in Northern Italy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Barolo has been a reliably good restaurant-one of the nicest in denver- for at least 30 years. It has not changed. Great food, atmosphere, service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Excellent menu, perfect service. Darrel Truett is one fine Chef.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I've lived in Denver for 18 years, and this was my first time to Barolo Grill. I'd heard so many amazing things about this place; my boyfriend and I decided to try it for a celebration. It was amazing! The wine list is quite substantial; it would take you a lifetime (and lots of moo-lah) to get through it. The food was impressive; but we were not a fan of the pre-meal breadsticks (seemed a little dry/stale). Our waiter, Andrew, was awesome...very friendly, very accommodating, very helpful and knowledgeable. The bill was a little steep, but we did indulge in some very tasty vino that was pricey and totally worth it!! Big thanks to the sommelier for her help and recommendations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Wonderful evening! The combination of incredible food, impeccable service and inviting atmosphere was perfect. We had the tasting menu and I added the wine course. Every bite was an adventure and the wine pairings were a perfect complement to each course.

We are definitely planning to return and look forward to our next special occasion dinner at Barolo's.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Barolo Grill always impresses my husband and me. We brought friends who hadn't eaten and the food as well as service were outstanding.
Especially love the size options of the pasta course. Truly enjoyed the wine and food from salad through dessert. We'll be back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Overall a great experience. Our waiter was professional and on point with his recommendations. A definite must for a great meal!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.