Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 18 times today

Barolo Grill

4.7
2461 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Notable Wine List
  • Good for Anniversaries
Barolo Grill, an award winning Cherry Creek North restaurant, prides itself on serving authentic northern Italian food while maintaining a comfortable, elegant ambience. Known for hand crafted modern Piemontese cuisine, spectacular wine cellar, and knowledgeable, attentive staff, Barolo can be a perfect choice for a special occasion or just a fun night out. Chef Darrel Truett's cuisine focuses on the Northern Italian provinces of Piedmont and Tuscany. Seasonally changing menus feature locally sourced ingredients, proudly supporting regional farms and producers.



Owner and wine director Ryan Fletter are proud to feature small family wineries that are dedicated to Earth-friendly farming and winemaking philosophies. Barolo Grill has one of the largest collections of Barolo wines outside of Italy.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Farm-to-table
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 5:15pm - 10:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(303) 393-1040
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Darrel Truett
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between Milwaukee & St Paul
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Barolo Grill offers complimentary valet directly in front of the restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
RTD route 6 - Milwakee Stop
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Wine Dinners:
Wednesday February 7th- Anne Trimbach- $150 All inclusive. Tickets available on our website
Tuesday March 7th-Marco Capri- $175 All inclusive. Tickets available on our website.
We offer special prix fixe menus for New Year's Eve & Valentine's day each year.

For more information contact Julie Jensen, 303.393.1040
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 2461 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Finally able to put my 50th Bday gift certificate from my sister to good use! She found this place as an "out of towner" as "outstanding Italian" in Denver and she wasn't steered incorrectly. Everything was delightful and now that we know how amazing it is, we will definitely be making the trip up from Castle Rock more often.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

We had a lovely evening. The service was very good, our waiter terrific! The food was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

This was a graduation celebration. Because events of the day preceding dinner we called and ask if it was possible to delay at bit. they accommodated us, we had an exceptional meal and great wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Always a special occasion at Barolo's no matter the occasion. From the service to the food it's always a treat to go to Barolo Grill.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

It had been several years since my last visit to The Barolo Grill so I was excited to try the t again. I have to say it was a little disappointing. The service was very good but the food was average at best. My wife’s dish contained lobster which was very fishy. With all the new places in Denver they need to step it up a little.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The waiter (an ex-chef) was pompous and arrogant (almost condescending). The Sommelier (who was pouring our decanted $160 bottle of Amarone into the glasses of another couple) reluctantly apologized by offering us a half bottle of the same wine. She used up half of the half bottle on us then disappeared. She was also pompous and arrogant. Unlikely we will return. There are way too many better options out there. Barolo Grill used to be special. They seem to have forgotten what made them special....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Souffle & cheesecake are delicious & beautiful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Great food, wine, and very knowledgeable staff. Not only was the food the best I’ve ever had listening to our waiter talk about the food and where it came from was fantastic. We hope to be back again some day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

While visiting Denver we passed by and noted how “nice” the restaurant looked from outside. We took a chance and reserved a table. What a lucky break!
Everything was above par. Andrew was an impeccable waiter. His knowledge of the restaurant’s history, the menu and of the applicable regions of Italy was impressive. When he was unsure of a particular ingredient, the bus person stepped in and described its preparation and flavor as if she had prepared it herself. The manager, Adam, stopped by to see how everything was and we had a very personable conversation. The food was amazing. The combination of ingredients in every dish was flavorful and interesting. I’ve never found myself asking so many questions about each dish - they were just so different, precisely orchestrated and delicious. When I turned down ordering a dessert I was hesitant to try, Andrew brought it anyway, insisted I try it, his treat. It was amazing!!! Barolo Grill is by far one of the best restaurants I’ve dined in.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Everything was top notch at this restaurant. The three of us were all very happy with our dinner choices. My duck was among the best I’ve had. Expensive but excellent wine list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent as always! Ryan and associates always provide the best in food , service and family!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Best place in Denver for dinner, authentic Modern Italian

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Perfectly paced service and unique tasting menu with wine pairings is a great way to spend an evening with someone special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Wonderful as always. While the service is always good, our waiter was exceptional. Perfect meal to celebrate our daughter’s college graduation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Can't express with words how fantastic this dinner was. Just go there. Yesterday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We had a great time. Our server was great and recommended a great wine that we loved!

More vegetarian options would be nice but the options you did have were delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Never let's me down - great food and great service - nice for special occasion. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Impeccable! From the servers who’s breath and depth of knowledge is unsurpassed to an exquisite menu (and even better wine list) in a fabulous environment, this place is sensational in every way .

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 10, 2018

The menu was a little bit misleading. My friend ordered a lobster dish that turned out to be very spicy and was more pasta than lobster. I ordered the only meat free option on the menu because I don’t eat red meat and then they brought it out with a type of meat and said it was “for saltiness” but it hadn’t been originally listed on the menu. I feel like if someone is adding meat to a meal it should definitely be pre empted. The food was good but not good enough to justify the price. However everyone was friendly and nice and we didn’t wait long.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 8, 2018

need more grill items, the paste dished need more meat, lamb shank, lobster etc

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We arrived 15 minutes in advance... and got seated after waiting 45 minutes at the bar. And they were not exactly proactive about managing that: it seems it is up to the customer to enquire about whether their table will be ready soon or not. After that the service while we were seated was top-notch.
The kir royal made the wait more bearable. The bartender added some lemon in the champagne, which is something us French people are not used to, but it was an interesting touch.
We went for the degustation menu and it was good: the foie gras terrine was excellent, but the person who prepares the wine pairing should get their ratio of "crème de fruit" to wine right (it was way too sweet). The spring salad was refreshing but a bit too bland. The ink pasta was good but would require a bit more dressing. The filet mignon was the best part, and downright delicious, as was the pairing wine. We had a "pre-dessert" that was really good, so the dessert by comparison was not that impressive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Excellent food 🥘 and service. The menu is unique with a flair of filet, seafood and even duck. Presentation is as pleasing as each bite on the palette.

The seating is tight and the atmosphere is engaging—some could argue a bit loud but still so quaint and inviting. I had no problem conversing with the one I love.

Great dining experience. Enjoy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Barolo continues to deliver at the highest level of food, server knowledge, wine selection and expertise, and ambiance. It really cannot be beaten for a special occasion or high end night out in Denver.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC -- EVERY SINGLE SIP AND BITE. It is wonderful to know that I can always trust the quality of wine and food at Barolo, especially for special occasions and out of town guests. My two guests, both serious foodies- one from Salt Lake and one from San Francisco-- could not praise Barolo enough. Unbelievable food! We will talk and drool about the creme brulee FOREVER. It was the absolute best brulee that any of us have EVER had!!!Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

The food was excellent and Missy our waitress was exceptional. She loves to talk about food and is very engaging. We will be back !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Barolo Grill is one of my favorite places for a special meal with friends. Great food, wine...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2018

The food is always good but the service was lacking this time. We go there a few times a year and first time ever the service was not exceptional.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 29, 2018

What a bummer. We’ve dined here 4 times in the past 6 months and for some reason, this time was a bust. Based on this visit, the past 3 great experiences are negated and we will not return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Probably our favorite restaurant in Denver. They have delicious gluten-free pasta, which is a huge bonus for me. The wine selection is wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The food was delicious and unique, the wine person was very knowledgeable and helpful, and the service was unique!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

BAROLO IS THE BEST OF THE BEST. FOR ME IT IS A FORETASTE OF HEAVEN.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

We enjoyed our evening but the dinner quality was mixed. Our appetizers were excellent --fois gras and yellowtail with jalapeno. My wife had a lamb pasta that was very good. I had the halibut with a green sauce that added nothing to the dish. Most disappointing were the vegetables served with my dinner which were covered with what the waitress told me was "vegetable char" which was heavy handed and made all the vegetables taste like licking the grates on my charcoal grill. What made anyone think that vegetables should taste like charcoal ash is beyond me!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

We came for my mother’s birthday, and granted, it was off to a rocky start, but everything turned around incredibly. Seth, our server, was absolutely wonderful! Everyone in the restaurant made my mother’s birthday special and the food was to die for! Definitely will be coming back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

We had five people for a birthday dinner. It was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 27, 2018

We were very disappointed with the quality of the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Spot on. The service food and wine were all perfect!, I hope Project Angel Heart raised a few dollars the night we were there!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Excellent quality ingredients, nothing over-sauced. Tasting menu was perfect. Very high quality. New favorite.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

I had not been to Barolo Grill for quite awhile. After dining there again I remembered why it had been a favorite of mine when I worked in that neighborhood. Everything was outstanding--the food, the service, the ambience. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Barolo's was recommended to us by James Beard award winner Jasper Mirabilis, of Jasper's Marco Polo in Kansas City MO. He and his brother, Leonard, eat there when in Denver.

We had the Tasting Menu paired with wine. We were served by Spencer who knew not only what the product was, and what the produce was, but he knew how everything fit together. Erin, the sommelier, created the pairings which were perfect.

Barolo's, unlike Jasper's, is Northern Italian, primarily Tuscan. Excellent is an understatement.

Jasper's is Southern Italian, and also excellent.

We will be making Barolo's our Denver "go to" restaurant.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 22, 2018

A standby for us for a long time but we won’t be going back anytime soon. They just book way too many tables and they’ve done nothing to improve the sound. On all their trips to Italy, haven’t they noticed that high end restaurants in Europe (and South America for that matter) do not resemble and sound like clubs or cafes.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
62

Tweets by Barolo Grill