About Barolo Grill

3030 E 6th Ave
Denver, CO 80206
View Larger Map

Barolo Grill, an award winning Cherry Creek North restaurant, prides itself on serving authentic northern Italian food while maintaining a comfortable, elegant ambience. Known for hand crafted modern Piemontese cuisine, spectacular wine cellar, and knowledgeable, attentive staff, Barolo can be a perfect choice for a special occasion or just a fun night out. Chef Darrel Truett's cuisine focuses on the Northern Italian provinces of Piedmont and Tuscany. Seasonally changing menus feature locally sourced ingredients, proudly supporting regional farms and producers.



Owner and wine director Ryan Fletter are proud to feature small family wineries that are dedicated to Earth-friendly farming and winemaking philosophies. Barolo Grill has one of the largest collections of Barolo wines outside of Italy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 5:15pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Between Milwaukee & St Paul

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 393-1040

Website:
http://www.barologrilldenver.com/

Parking Details:
Barolo Grill offers complimentary valet directly in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
RTD route 6 - Milwakee Stop

Executive Chef:
Darrel Truett

Private Party Facilities:
Barolo Grill has three private dining rooms available for groups of 6 to 30 people. Please contact Morgan Wolfe , our event coordinator, for details. 303.393.1040

Private Party Contact:
Morgan Wolfe: 3033931040x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer special prix fixe menus for New Year's Eve & Valentine's day each year.
We also host Truffle & Wine Dinners throughout the year. All reservations for these special events must be made directly through the restaurant.
For more information contact Morgan Wolfe, 303.393.1040

Restaurant Photos

Barolo Grill
Barolo Grill
Gli Piramidi
Ippoglosso Primavera
Tagliatelle Al Capra
Insalata Di Mele
Tortellini Con Zucca
Pork And Veal Ragu With Fresh Pasta
Torte Di Carote Con Gelato Di Salvia
Filetto Con Carciofi
Chef's Compliment
Fritto Misto
Risotto Con Aragosta E Funghi
Plin Alla Fonduta Con Tartufi Bianchi
Rolls
Insalata Autunno
Souffle Di Macaroni Alla
Chardonnay
Bread Sticks
Tagliatelle al Funghi
Tajarin con Salsiccia e Zafferano
Steamed PEI Mussels
Fritto Misto Di Mare
Truffle
Black Truffle Explosion
Tagliatelle Bolognese
Hazelnut & Almond Cake
Amuse Buche, Melon Soup, Crustini With Proscutto
Pork Tenderloin

Barolo Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Denver / Colorado
Italian
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Denver
5 More
Best Service
Denver
Notable Wine List
Denver
Romantic
Denver
Special Occasion
Denver
Italian
Denver
Best Restaurants in Cherry Creek ›

Special Occasion (122)
Notable Wine List (113)
Fit for Foodies (107)
See All
Romantic (98)
Neighborhood Gem (69)
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Groups (15)
Authentic (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Cozy (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Fireplace (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (4)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (2)
Historic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
 (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Casual (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1726 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

TheplaceissupercoolAndalltheserversareve ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

TheplaceissupercoolAndalltheserversareveryfriendly. Thefoodwasgreat, too. It'sjust lol. Butthattobeexpectedforwhite-table-clothtypeshit. Definitelyagoodexperience

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently one of the best in Denver. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Consistently one of the best in Denver. Not inexpensive, but you get what you pay for and it's worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

As always the food was delicious and the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

As always the food was delicious and the waitstaff was very good!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I went here after my boyfriend proposed ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I went here after my boyfriend proposed to me and we had the best time. Amazing recommendations from the sommelier and delicious dinner. I ordered the scallops tortellini and it was amazing. Also recommend the truffles for dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Barolo is a treat in this life, calm amb ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Barolo is a treat in this life, calm ambiance, consistently great service, flexible menu portions, and wonderful food that stays interesting and is so satisfying. Order the pannacotta!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My go to place for special events and go ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My go to place for special events and good friends. Always very satisfied with my dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had high hopes going there because it's ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Had high hopes going there because it's supposed to be the best Italian

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Excellent food and wine selection as usu ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent food and wine selection as usual. Only one disappointment in the evening. We let them know that we were there to celebrate 2 birthdays for a couple who had never been there before. They must have forgotten how to acknowledge those sorts of things because all they offered at the end of the evening was the check.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always one of my favorite restaurants in ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always one of my favorite restaurants in Denver because of the high quality of the food and service and the knowledgable staff and management.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat here every time we visit our son. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We eat here every time we visit our son. The food is excellent as is the service. The food always tastes so fresh due to the quality ingredients used in the kitchen. The lady in the bar makes the best Cosmopolitans! The wine "book" is rather daunting as it is so thick. Maybe a shorter list could also be offered.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. However the recom ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Service was excellent. However the recommendation for half portions for my husband & friend turned out to be rather paltry for the price. Also the sauce for my duck was cloyingly sweet, which sort of ruined the duck. The dip for the bread was mediocre. Would have much preferred EVOO & some italian herbs mixed in. Cost for 3 was $150, this included salad, half portion entree & dessert. No wine. With tip it was close to $180. Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Im so glad we found a restaurant that ha ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Im so glad we found a restaurant that has such exquisite cuisine. You can tell that the dishes have been carefully put together and the flavors balance each other out and complement each other beautifully. The ingredients are incredibly fresh and well sourced and of course this results in the most exquisite dining experience! The octopus we ordered was cooked to perfection, and my main dish, featuring sea bass, lobster bisque and black rice was delicate but flavorful. Thank you for the wonderful meal, we will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic meal. If you love red sauce or ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Fantastic meal. If you love red sauce or bolognese, ask them for the off-the-menu dish served over tagliatelle!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding service and amazing food. I ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Outstanding service and amazing food. I highly recommend Barolo Grill.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing night. Service was top of the li ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Amazing night. Service was top of the line. One of the best restaurants in Denver.

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just wonderful. As always. The attenti ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Just wonderful. As always. The attention to detail is very much appreciated

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here in 2011 and were disappoin ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We dined here in 2011 and were disappointed, so we decided in 2016 to give it another chance. Disappointed again. On a positive note, the small plates were very good, main dishes not so much. Service is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Been there several times and its always ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Been there several times and its always amazing. Great service, food and great wine selection. Food is high quality and great variety. One of my all time favorite places.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Haven't been in 3-4 years. Things have ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Haven't been in 3-4 years. Things have changed, for the better! Our meal was outstanding. Each course better than the one before. The pasta dishes were amazing. Our Insalata Caprese was wonderful, with end of season tomatoes and some great burrata.

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary this time...we were coming each year until things kind of went down hill. We are BACK NOW !

Thank you for a wonderful experience Barolo Grill.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappoints. For us, my wife is t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Never disappoints. For us, my wife is third generation and 100% Italian - she prepares homemade wholewheat pasta once a week - this is the Italian restaurant to go to. They are so creative and also reliable. We will be back again and again.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time and the staff was mo ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a great time and the staff was more than willing to help me set up my marriage proposal! Top notch food and service! We will definitely be returning whenever we visit Denver!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great experience. The food an ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

It was a great experience. The food and service were A+

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our meal at Barolo Grill was very good. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our meal at Barolo Grill was very good. My husband had a lamb dish and I ordered the scallop and crab tortellini. Both were delicious. Service was excellent with our waiter attentive and considerate. He gave advice when we asked, which we appreciate. Try the creme brûlée for dessert- amazing! Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful service! The food was excelle ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Wonderful service! The food was excellent. Lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience overall- food quali ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent experience overall- food quality no portions superb.

Tags: Organic, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and, as always, amazing s ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Wonderful food and, as always, amazing service. Consistently charming place for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food, extraordinary service, g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Wonderful food, extraordinary service, great ambience. Highly addictive!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here, and would gladly come b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

First time here, and would gladly come back. Really enjoyed the food, the Colorado Lamb Loin was fantastic. Crème Brulee for dessert was great as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the wine paired chef's special di ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had the wine paired chef's special dinner. It was amazing! It is now one of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Beau, at my request, brought ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our server, Beau, at my request, brought me the best glass of wine I've had in a very long time. All I requested was "a delicious glass of wine that's not overly sweet and pairs well with the duck". He hit it out of the park! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience. Would recommend ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great dining experience. Would recommend o anyone wanting great Italian food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

On of my favorite dining experiences in ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

On of my favorite dining experiences in Denver. the food is fabulous and the wait staff are some of the best. The wine selection is outstanding and the staff is very helpful on selections.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is simply the BEST restaurant in to ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This is simply the BEST restaurant in town... We had a wonderful night of friends, great food and incredible wine. Barolo Grill never disappoints!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend sharing each course or ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Highly recommend sharing each course or only getting taster size portions of pastas if they are not your entrée.The entrée was like a whole meal in itself- too large for a place that recommends all courses. I LOVE dessert and I was soooo full so full I couldn't eat a 1/4 of my pasta or even think about dessert, lol! Bar none the some of the best food I've had in my life-however!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place with amazing food!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent place with amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite restaurants; this is ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants; this is my first negative experience there. Clearly a great restaurant comes with great service - Barolo always has before this. We came away quite disappointed

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

This was our anniversary and my wife's b ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This was our anniversary and my wife's birthday celebration. We have been coming here since

Blair opened the doors. The service was slow. The bar did not have the basic ingredient for a

Green apple Martini. The fisto misto was dried out. The Duck was dried out and had to request

more sauce. The potatoes had very little garlic.

Overall, we were disappointed because we have had so many great dinning experiences at Barolo.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent food & atmosphere. A great pla ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food & atmosphere. A great place to celebrate an anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Knowledgeable, attentive and friendly wa ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Knowledgeable, attentive and friendly wait staff, outstanding food and nice arty posters. Who could ask for more!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service and lovely design insi ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wonderful service and lovely design inside. The food fell victim to some of the new trends, such as abundant sauce and heavily salted.

The souffle was bland, though the cheese flavor came though slightly, and the duck was slightly overcooked.

The lobster salad was superb, with a light champagne vinigrette complementing fresh, plump pieces of genuine main lobster and sweet bits of melon. Real, fresh tasting halibut came heavily sauced, with fresh asparagas and black rice.

The wine list had little to offer for less than $100.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.