About Barolo Grill

3030 E 6th Ave
Denver, CO 80206
View Larger Map

Barolo Grill, an award winning Cherry Creek North restaurant, prides itself on serving authentic northern Italian food while maintaining a comfortable, elegant ambience. Known for hand crafted modern Piemontese cuisine, spectacular wine cellar, and knowledgeable, attentive staff, Barolo can be a perfect choice for a special occasion or just a fun night out. Chef Darrel Truett's cuisine focuses on the Northern Italian provinces of Piedmont and Tuscany. Seasonally changing menus feature locally sourced ingredients, proudly supporting regional farms and producers.



Owner and wine director Ryan Fletter are proud to feature small family wineries that are dedicated to Earth-friendly farming and winemaking philosophies. Barolo Grill has one of the largest collections of Barolo wines outside of Italy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 5:15pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Between Milwaukee & St Paul

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 393-1040

Website:
http://www.barologrilldenver.com/

Parking Details:
Barolo Grill offers complimentary valet directly in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
RTD route 6 - Milwakee Stop

Executive Chef:
Darrel Truett

Private Party Facilities:
Barolo Grill has three private dining rooms available for groups of 6 to 30 people. Please contact Morgan Wolfe , our event coordinator, for details. 303.393.1040

Private Party Contact:
Morgan Wolfe: 3033931040x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer special prix fixe menus for New Year's Eve & Valentine's day each year.
We also host Truffle & Wine Dinners throughout the year. All reservations for these special events must be made directly through the restaurant.
For more information contact Morgan Wolfe, 303.393.1040

Restaurant Photos

Barolo Grill
Barolo Grill
Tagliatelle Al Capra
Insalata Di Mele
Tortellini Con Zucca
Pork And Veal Ragu With Fresh Pasta
Torte Di Carote Con Gelato Di Salvia
Filetto Con Carciofi
Chef's Compliment
Fritto Misto
Risotto Con Aragosta E Funghi
Plin Alla Fonduta Con Tartufi Bianchi
Rolls
Insalata Autunno
Souffle Di Macaroni Alla
Chardonnay
Bread Sticks
Tagliatelle al Funghi
Steamed PEI Mussels
Tajarin con Salsiccia e Zafferano
Fritto Misto Di Mare
Hazelnut & Almond Cake
Truffle
Tagliatelle Bolognese
Black Truffle Explosion
Amuse Buche, Melon Soup, Crustini With Proscutto
Pork Tenderloin

Barolo Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Denver / Colorado
Italian
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Denver
5 More
Best Service
Denver
Fit for Foodies
Denver
Notable Wine List
Denver
Special Occasion
Denver
Italian
Denver
Best Restaurants in Cherry Creek ›

special occasion (138)
fit for foodies (125)
notable wine list (121)
See All
romantic (103)
neighborhood gem (86)
good for groups (24)
hot spot (16)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1670 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not a bad thing to say about Barolo Gril ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

Not a bad thing to say about Barolo Grill. Favorite spot in Denver for any special occasion or just some appetizers and cocktails at the bar. Perfect blend of cutting edge cuisine mixed in with the traditional Italian flare. Very knowledgeable and professional staff and that's just as much of a reason to go than the great food. I'd give it six stars if I could!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We found this as an Open table Rec and r ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

We found this as an Open table Rec and read reviews ! It truly is one if not the best place I have been in Denver . We had a fabulous waitress Rachel who told chef about my allergy and spoiled us with a spectacular menu ! We were celebrating our anniversary and it was perfect !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love going to Barolo. The service was ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

We love going to Barolo. The service was outstanding. We love the new menu lots of great choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great and service was AMAZING

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great and service was AMAZING

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous, memorable experience. The rest ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous, memorable experience. The restaurant closes for 2 weeks each summer for the entire staff and chefs to travel to Piedmont region of Italy to explore tastes and trends. The night we dined with them they were unveiling the new menu based on this year's tour. Our server was incredibly knowledgable and gracious in answering questions, reviewing choices, introducing each wine and course.

Really superlative food, wine, setting, service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Barolo Grille is our favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Barolo Grille is our favorite restaurant in Denver. A very special place!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have dined here a number o ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife and I have dined here a number of times and the experience is always top notch. Service, food, wine and ambiance rock. You can't go wrong.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We split four courses and dessert. Each ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We split four courses and dessert. Each course built on the next and was better than the one before it. Our server made the meal perfect because she was excited about what she did, knowledgeable about the food and generally enjoyed her job. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

It was a Perfect evening, one where I ne ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was a Perfect evening, one where I never had to worry about anything.

Excellent food and cuisine, noise levels not being too loud nor energetic,

attentive, caring, and the very knowledgeable entire staff.

Our waitress Carmen was a 5 Star!

Please share with her out thanks.

I so love evenings like these!

Perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food, amazing service, prices a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fabulous food, amazing service, prices are reasonable, good looking place. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have to start by saying that I general ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I have to start by saying that I generally give a restaurant the benefit of the doubt and that this is the first negative review that I've written.

My wife and I went to Barolo Grill for our anniversary on July 14th. We'd been there once before and had a wonderful experience. This time was quite another story. We spent nearly 3 hours at the restaurant waiting most of the time for our food, including 45 minutes alone from appetizer course to the second course. After finally having to ask the server why it was taking so long she reported that the pasta chef was "new" and that the kitchen was backed up. We actually felt bad for the server because she was caught in the middle of the problem and tried her best, including reducing our bill. I'm not sure how an Italian restaurant of this caliber has problems with pasta but that was apparently the case.

After finally being served our second course (risotto) a second server, which turned out to be the Manager (but did not identify herself), cleared the dishes and continued the "kitchen is backed up"theme and provided no recourse to the situation. Our main course eventually arrived and while my lamb was good my wife's pork loin was nothing but fat.

Needless to say we were not pleased with our dining experience and will not be returning to Barolo Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Food was "ok" -- certainly nothing bad, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was "ok" -- certainly nothing bad, but nothing great. Kitchen was "backed up" (a Thursday): >1hr between starters and main course. Waiter was very apologetic and pleasant. Although we weren't in a rush, it was still a pretty long wait. Cooking was longer on style than substance (olive oil "dirt"? Really?), and not great $ value for quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The second time we have celebrated our a ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The second time we have celebrated our anniversary at Barolo Grill. Never a disappointment! Food and service exceptional! And extensive wine list. Great dining!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating our 42nd anniversary at Baro ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Celebrating our 42nd anniversary at Barolo was wonderful. A meal we'll never forget.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Picked this restaurant off the Internet. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Picked this restaurant off the Internet. We had no expectations or preconceived notions and decided to give it a try for a Saturday evening. The restaurant was filled, but we only had a very short wait for our table. Our meal was superb, but what made it extra special was our waiter Jason. He was well-informed and very helpful in advising us on our food choices. We were in the restaurant for two and a half hours, but didn't realize it until we checked watches as we were leaving. Our whole experience last night was exceptional. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was good, the service was just ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was good, the service was just okay. Maybe it was an off night for the server.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food, great service; will make Bar ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food, great service; will make Barolo Grill our go-to for any special occasion although I can also envision making it a spot to just enjoy a salad or appetizer and a glass of wine. It is what many restaurants aspire to be but Barolo definitely sets the standard!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was outstanding and authentic. ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was outstanding and authentic. Our server was expert and delightful. I will go back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great staff, great place. S ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food, great staff, great place. Staff just getting ready to leave next day for an annual two week trip to Italy to experience the food and wine of the Alba region. Great way to keep and train staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Barolo is always an impressive experienc ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Barolo is always an impressive experience. Great staff, incredible food! We were a large group and were able to dine in the wine area. There wine list is extensive and can hit all ranges, even cult wines like Harlan. A few of my friends were from out of town and they all had an enjoyable experience. Fantastico!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was amazing. Best staff I ha ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The service was amazing. Best staff I have ever seen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The meal was really exceptional. A bit s ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The meal was really exceptional. A bit slow on the service when the restaurant got crowded, but other than that, it was a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Still fantastic. Had moved away from Den ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Still fantastic. Had moved away from Denver for several years. So great to see that Barolo is as great as ever, maybe even better. True professionals who will work hard to make sure each person's needs are more than met. The menu is a starting point but it can be customized to, for example, provide a small pasta course or items to share, to provide a wonderful experience. For a quality Italian meal, with an amazing wine list, look no further. As others have mentioned, the restaurant closes for 2 weeks each July for 10 of the servers/staff to go on a culinary tour of Italy. The knowledge, and style, that they bring back shows and makes this a "must-go" when in Denver. Lucky for me, I'm back. But were I really lucky, I'd work there. My Passport is ready!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made reservations at the Borolo Grill ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We made reservations at the Borolo Grille for an anniversary dinner. The service was very good and highly professional. The food was also very good. They are happy to split dishes and offer tasting size plates. Most memorable was their modern take on a Caprice Salad. It was perhaps the best I ever had, including while vacationing in Italy. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place. Our first time. The s ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Wonderful place. Our first time. The service was a five-star but a minor stumble in an excellent restaurant should be noted. A particular Rose was recommended for our lamb and duck entrees. Unfortunately there was not a chilled bottle available. Acceptable mis-step in a two star but not at Barolos. I am very impressed with the training program in Italy for the staff every year. The food and the presentation were excellent. I woul return in a heartbeat!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is a must for any special occasion ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

This is a must for any special occasion to feel pampered. The service is unbeatable, the food is amazing.... every dish is a work of art.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extensive wine list. Knowledgeable and ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Extensive wine list. Knowledgeable and attentive wait staff. Everything we tasted was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Pretentious. Overrated. Not at all as ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Pretentious. Overrated. Not at all as good as I expected

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Great food, ambiance and service. Great ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food, ambiance and service. Great wine selection and they know how to serve it! Food is authentic Italian (we are from Piedmont, Italy). Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Barolo and Carolyn is an excelle ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We love Barolo and Carolyn is an excellent server and wine pairer. We can't eat all of the chefs menu so we pick two or three selections and let Carolyn match wines with each course of our choosing. Always enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Denver's Best Italian

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Absolutely fantastic in every category. The ambiance, wine list, menu, service, and location are all top notch. You won't find better Italian in Denver.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was phenominal, the food fan ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The service was phenominal, the food fantastic and so unique. Our daughter just graduated from DU. Wish we'd discovered Barol Grill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall near perfection.

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The experience, my first, was near perfect. The staff was determined to provide a top flight evening. The Barolo wine suggested for the tasting did not stand up - not bold enough for the tastes, flavors and textures encounter in the various courses. Will remedy that the next time - hopefully soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

What fantastic experience. We brought a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

What fantastic experience. We brought a couple of out of town guests here and it was our second time. Our guests (as well as us)did not stop raving about the experience. The service was fantastic and the food was off the charts. In fact our guests who are definite foodies said it was one of the best meals they have ever had. The atmosphere was relaxed elegance. You knew you were at a nice restaurant but one that wasn't pretentious or snooty.

The most commented on event of the night was the sommelier. Given their huge wine menu (and to be fair high prices) the sommelier is almost a necessity. Fortunately the young lady was a joy and recommended very enjoyable wines at a reasonable (for a restaurant) prices. In addition to the great wine she was seen throughout the evening pouring water, busing tables, and doing anything she could to make guests dinner more enjoyable. She saw me peeking into one of the wine rooms after a visit to the men's room and I although I thought she was going to tell me not to bother the special guests she proceeded to tell me about the wine room and then tour me through the other two wine rooms.

Sometimes everything just goes right on a night out. The food, wine, service, and company all blend together to create a very special evening. That's was our experience.

Thanks to the Barolo grill staff for a fantastic experience. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful atmosphere and food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We were at Barolo Grill to celebrate our daughter's university graduation and enjoyed a wonderful evening. The decor is elegant and tranquil and the food delicious. We all had the tasting menu which consisted of 5 courses, plus the graduate was treated to a special extra treat (much appreciated).

The wine list is massive consisting mostly of Italian wines, although there are some other options. I just wish the bar offered crafted cocktails - we were told the bartender could make anything we wanted, but we had to come up with the drink idea ourselves.

All dishes were well prepared and well seasoned. Our multi generational group all enjoyed their dinners immensely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The experience was wonderful. Very atte ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The experience was wonderful. Very attentive service. My Caprese salad was fabulous; every component was wonderful. Everything else was great as well and we were glad that we had picked Barolo for our private celebration!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some very good dishes.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The macaroni souffle appetizer was excellent as was the crab salad. The mushroom pasta and the veal pasta were good, the duck plate was a little sweet but really good. The panna cotta was good, not great. Service was very good. I'll go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been coming here for years

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Barolo is my absolute , hands down, favorite fine dining experience.

The valet , hostesses , servers and chef all provide exceptional service and the food is outstanding.

My favorite thing about the Barolo fine dining experience is the seasonal menu with textures and tastes combine in a truly unique way.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered the chefs menu and were immed ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We ordered the chefs menu and were immediately informed that you will feel satisfied with the amount of food, not stuffed. We understood.

However the portions were so tiny a baby would still be hungry. And if that were not enough the food was unseasoned and bland. A disappointing dinner in a very nice restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Andrew was the consummate professional!

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Andrew was the consummate professional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.