About Barolo Grill

3030 E 6th Ave
Denver, CO 80206
View Larger Map

Barolo Grill, an award winning Cherry Creek North restaurant, prides itself on serving authentic northern Italian food while maintaining a comfortable, elegant ambience. Known for hand crafted modern Piemontese cuisine, spectacular wine cellar, and knowledgeable, attentive staff, Barolo can be a perfect choice for a special occasion or just a fun night out. Chef Darrel Truett's cuisine focuses on the Northern Italian provinces of Piedmont and Tuscany. Seasonally changing menus feature locally sourced ingredients, proudly supporting regional farms and producers.



Owner and wine director Ryan Fletter are proud to feature small family wineries that are dedicated to Earth-friendly farming and winemaking philosophies. Barolo Grill has one of the largest collections of Barolo wines outside of Italy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 5:15pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Between Milwaukee & St Paul

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 393-1040

Website:
http://www.barologrilldenver.com/

Parking Details:
Barolo Grill offers complimentary valet directly in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
RTD route 6 - Milwakee Stop

Executive Chef:
Darrel Truett

Private Party Facilities:
Barolo Grill has three private dining rooms available for groups of 6 to 30 people. Please contact Morgan Wolfe , our event coordinator, for details. 303.393.1040

Private Party Contact:
Morgan Wolfe: (303) 393-1040

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer special prix fixe menus for New Year's Eve & Valentine's day each year.
We also host Truffle & Wine Dinners throughout the year. All reservations for these special events must be made directly through the restaurant.
For more information contact Morgan Wolfe, 303.393.1040

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Gli Piramidi - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Ippoglosso Primavera - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Tagliatelle Al Capra - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Insalata Di Mele - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Pork And Veal Ragu With Fresh Pasta - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Torte Di Carote Con Gelato Di Salvia - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Filetto Con Carciofi - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Chef's Compliment - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Fritto Misto - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Risotto Con Aragosta E Funghi - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Plin Alla Fonduta Con Tartufi Bianchi - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Rolls - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Insalata Autunno - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Souffle Di Macaroni Alla - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Chardonnay - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Bread Sticks - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Tagliatelle al Funghi - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Tajarin con Salsiccia e Zafferano - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Steamed PEI Mussels - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Fritto Misto Di Mare - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Truffle  - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Black Truffle Explosion - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Tagliatelle Bolognese - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Hazelnut & Almond Cake - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Amuse Buche, Melon Soup, Crustini With Proscutto - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Pork Tenderloin - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

We will be serving a $95 prix fixe menu ONLY on Valentines Day. Credit card required to reserve, last day to cancel without cancellation fee is Tuesday Feb 7th. If cancelled after Feb 7th, the card will be charged $95 per person. We cannot accept specific table requests on Valentine's Day.

Barolo Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (71)
Notable Wine List (65)
Fit for Foodies (55)
See All
Romantic (51)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Good for a Date (45)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Tasting Menu (38)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Authentic (34)
Worth the Drive (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Cozy (26)
Fireplace (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Business Meals (20)
Seasonal (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Fun (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Private Room (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Healthy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Historic (4)
People Watching (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Organic (2)
Casual (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dancing (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1925 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent, as always! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent, as always!

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was incredible.

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great service. We had not been in a whi ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service. We had not been in a while and it was even better than we remembered!! Nice surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really think it is over priced for wha ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

I really think it is over priced for what you get the main dish was good,the desert and salad not so much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

As a college student, know what you're g ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

As a college student, know what you're getting yourself into. Food was fantastic, but my wallet cried a little bit after the date, but it was totally worth it to me.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We both loved the fantastic tasting menu ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We both loved the fantastic tasting menu. Opted not to have the wine parings, but enjoyed a great bottle of bubbles and a glass of Barolo. It was another wonderful evening at Barolo Grill.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always excellent food, service is outsta ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Always excellent food, service is outstanding. Most consistent restaurant in Denver.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This had been a place I had been wanting ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This had been a place I had been wanting to try for some time, but was unimpressed with mediocrity around every corner. The fritto misto appetizer had tough, fried calamari that was no different than an average chain restaurant. Chopping up 2 scallops into small pieces was not really enough to speak of that item being in the dish. With an "Italian inspired menu" I struggled to find Italian influence in the dishes. A wine encyclopedia, especially with some of the price tags, was extremely unnecessary for a restaurant serving up $35 plates. Waitor, although nice and somewhat knowledgeable, was over bearing and interruptive at times. All in all, a disappointing experience. Nothing to overtly complain about, but nothing that would get me to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

One of our diners is a vegetarian with s ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

One of our diners is a vegetarian with special requirements. The restaurant has done a great job of accommodation every time we have been there. Their reputation for the quality of the servers is well deserved. Not cheap but quality is given for the price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We received a gift card to this restaura ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We received a gift card to this restaurant as a Christmas gift, so we didn't know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. The tables were spaced out just right so you don't feel boxed in. The food was excellent. The waiter was friendly and knowledgeable, and the cost was reasonable. Overall, it was a great night out. I would high recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious!

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful and customer is allow ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was wonderful and customer is allowed to order small portions of pasta.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never had a bad meal or poor service at ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Never had a bad meal or poor service at Barolo. Probably our favorite restaurant in Denver.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten at Barolo Grill a number of t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I've eaten at Barolo Grill a number of times with my SO, other friends, and professional colleagues. It is a superb restaurant, one of my all-time favorites (and I say this as an avid foodie who travels regularly and has the luxury of finding and patronizing terrific restaurants in NYC, DC, New Orleans, Memphis and Nashville, and other parts of the country). The wine list is extensive; the food wonderful (and varies by season). I particularly like taster and half-orders are available, which allows diners to sample a number of menu items at one sitting. The service is excellent; everyone at the restaurant is personable, friendly, and helpful. I will be returning (often). I would recommend this restaurant unequivocally to everyone!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blair Taylor keeps doing it so well. Bar ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Blair Taylor keeps doing it so well. Barolo Grill is a gem.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Barolo is a quiet gem, serving up authen ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Barolo is a quiet gem, serving up authentic Italian cuisine (their staff visits the namesake town annually, and is thus intimately familiar with what they bring back to Denver); spoiled and old, we've been to the original region, and speak from experience. They deserve more stars!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Very noisy this time, worse ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food. Very noisy this time, worse than in the past. Young screamers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We went for the special NYE dinner. Food ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for the special NYE dinner. Food was great, service ok, but prices were absurd. $100 per person and the portions were ridiculously small. When I made the reservation I didn't realize it was a set menu. I told the waiter my husband and I were vegetarians and he assured us they could make a special vegetarian meal. It was a 5 course meal, so we understood that portions would be a bit smaller, but when the final entree arrived, I couldn't believe it. The polenta was literally 2" x 1" which equates to two bites total and it was gone. There was also a small cut up carrot included which didn't add much. We go to 5 star restaurants all the time and are used to paying a premium for good food. I would never go back here when they have a set menu. Food tastes great but I left hungry.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

A fantastic evening. All the food was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A fantastic evening. All the food was delicious and innovative and the wine pairing were spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic blend of textures, ingredients ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic blend of textures, ingredients and flavor. We don't get here as often as we would like, so we sometimes forget how great it is. They came as close to perfect as you can with everything, and we were just floored. Our server was knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. We spent some time at the bar having a glass of wine prior to our meal, and both bartenders were friendly and attentive. Barolo Grill is in the upper range from a price standpoint, but for a special occasion, it is well worth it.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow! We chose this restaurant because we ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wow! We chose this restaurant because we live close by. Incredible wine selection, great sommelier, and the food is exceptional. They take their staff to Italy every year to stay current - definitely makes for knowledgeable employees. Highly recommend!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding, nothing more to say than Ou ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding, nothing more to say than Outstanding! !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my husband here for his Birthday. W ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Took my husband here for his Birthday. We had a great time. Customer service was great and our food was delicious! We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were disappointed in what we thought ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We were disappointed in what we thought was going to be an exceptional meal. The $17 Frito Misto appetizer was bland and boring. Not even the aioli had a distinct flavor.

We were eager to taste a variety of flavors and textures, so we ordered the Ricotta filled tortellini served with a delicate broth which was poured over the top. The Ricotta filling was light, airy and very delicate. And the concept of it being served in a broth was interesting, but there was something that missed . It was a study in texture more than flavor. The lamb and beef "secondi piatti" were delicious, prepared well, nicely plated and had a good balance flavors. A welcomed relief. For a restaurant that has been in the "top 25" of Denver for so many years, our expectations were not met.

I would be remiss if I didn't compliment the waiter for his wine recommendations. Nice job JJ.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was excellent! The service was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was excellent!

The service was excellent UNTIL the server asked me - in front of my guest - how I would like to handle the tip!!

For that, I should have tipped 10%!!!

Did I look like I didn't belong there??

I've been a server! I would risk not receiving a tip before I would EVER say anything like that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Amazing as usual! Love the numerous & ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Amazing as usual! Love the numerous & varied wines available and the many unusual

(delicious) dinner offerings . The ambiance is fun casual elegance. Great for a date night or

a special celebration.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Fun, Fireplace, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect - the food was ou ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Everything was perfect - the food was outstanding and the service was stellar! Would definitely recommend for a special occasion celebration!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absoutely fantastic in every way! Food i ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Absoutely fantastic in every way! Food is delicoius and very creative. Atosmphere perfect. Right combination of lovely and relaxed and yet, not over the top. Wonderful service form the hostess to the servers to the valets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Barolo is a place we choose rarely but w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Barolo is a place we choose rarely but with anticipation. We enjoyed two salads - caramelized Brussels sprouts and pheasant. They were reasonable in size and very tasty. I had a mushroom risotto that was perfectly prepared. My wife enjoyed her pasta dish, whose title escapes me. We each tasted an glass of one of their interesting and diverse list of Italian wines. Barolo is a bit pricey, but does deliver value and a pleasing environment. An excellent complement to Blossoms of Light for Christmas entertainment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently great experience. The serv ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Consistently great experience. The service is impeccable and we always have a wonderfully prepared meal...this time the autumn salad with Brussels sprouts and kale, tortellini en brodo and the veal ag lotto to start/share and then the lamb lion and pork loin. The sommelier helped us with an excellent Barolo selection. There are other restaurants with great food in Denver...what sets Barolo apart is the combination of service, warm atmosphere and consistently good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall it was nice as usual, however my ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Overall it was nice as usual, however my husband and I both had the tagliatelle cinghiale and it was really bland and not very good. It was disappointing because it was our special Christmas dinner with our adult children. Their food was nice though.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Ambience service was good appertizers go ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Ambience service was good appertizers good salad were just ok I would expect better at that level of restaurant not dressed well I had boar Ragu very disappointing meat tender but other favors not so much and I feel I know Italian cuisine

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The wine list is the best Barolo wine li ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The wine list is the best Barolo wine list I have ever seen anywhere. The other wines of the region and world were also well represented. The staff was as friendly and accommodating as could be. The mushroom risotto was as good as it gets. Great Italian!!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently an exceptional experience. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Consistently an exceptional experience. Perfect service and extraordinary food -- once again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service, ambiance and food was spect ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The service, ambiance and food was spectacular as always.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been wanting to eat here for years. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Have been wanting to eat here for years. Finally on my 62nd birthday we dined here.

Had the chef tasting paired with wine.Fabulous. Everything was wonderful.Amazing birthday dinner.Only saddened a wee bit by no birthday recognition. Cheers!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was surprisingly lackluster. I ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food was surprisingly lackluster. I ordered the grouper, which was highly recommended by the waiter. It was dry and overcooked. My husband had the lobster and crab pasta which he said was "not good". Both of our salads were OK, but made with ingredients that I could find in my cupboard. My son choose well - the filet mignon. It was beautifully cooked and the polenta and greens were delicious. With a bottle of wine and tip, almost $300 for a less than satisfying meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

All great. Coming from out of town we wi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

All great. Coming from out of town we will make it a yearly stop for the Xmas season.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have waited to go to Barolo for years- ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I have waited to go to Barolo for years--Denver native, have heard wonderful things consistently. I made a reservation on Friday for 8pm to celebrate my engagement with my folks. We waited for about an hour for our food and the wait staff never addressed the issue. We were starving by the time our entrees arrived, and though the food was fantastic, the delay effectively ruined a long-awaited dining experience. Again, NOTHING was done about the significant delay ( no courtesy notice, no comped drinks or dessert or--to my mind what should have been done--comp the meal because it was so so so so late). This was NOT a good experience at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Our first visit and we will return. Ha ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our first visit and we will return. Have ended up disappointed with other top Denver restaurant's hit or miss performance. Reviews here make us think years of consistent quality are a cornerstone of Barolo's top ratings.

My fish was grilled perfectly with nicely chard skin and just cooked to firm flesh. The other meal was game hen on a bed of fine beans. Excellent complex flavors. The green salads were fresh, interesting and well presented.

Our server was professional, had good wine suggestions and was attentive without requiring our attention.

We will take out of town guests soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.