About Barolo Grill

3030 E 6th Ave
Denver, CO 80206
View Larger Map

Barolo Grill, an award winning Cherry Creek North restaurant, prides itself on serving authentic northern Italian food while maintaining a comfortable, elegant ambience. Known for hand crafted modern Piemontese cuisine, spectacular wine cellar, and knowledgeable, attentive staff, Barolo can be a perfect choice for a special occasion or just a fun night out. Chef Darrel Truett's cuisine focuses on the Northern Italian provinces of Piedmont and Tuscany. Seasonally changing menus feature locally sourced ingredients, proudly supporting regional farms and producers.



Owner and wine director Ryan Fletter are proud to feature small family wineries that are dedicated to Earth-friendly farming and winemaking philosophies. Barolo Grill has one of the largest collections of Barolo wines outside of Italy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 5:15pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Between Milwaukee & St Paul

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 393-1040

Website:
http://www.barologrilldenver.com/

Parking Details:
Barolo Grill offers complimentary valet directly in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
RTD route 6 - Milwakee Stop

Executive Chef:
Darrel Truett

Private Party Facilities:
Barolo Grill has three private dining rooms available for groups of 6 to 30 people. Please contact Morgan Wolfe , our event coordinator, for details. 303.393.1040

Private Party Contact:
Morgan Wolfe: (303) 393-1040

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer special prix fixe menus for New Year's Eve & Valentine's day each year.
We also host Truffle & Wine Dinners throughout the year. All reservations for these special events must be made directly through the restaurant.
For more information contact Morgan Wolfe, 303.393.1040

Barolo Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (78)
Notable Wine List (57)
Fit for Foodies (56)
See All
Romantic (52)
Good for a Date (49)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Tasting Menu (37)
Authentic (36)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Cozy (26)
Business Meals (22)
Fireplace (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for Groups (13)
Seasonal (12)
Fun (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Private Room (8)
Healthy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Historic (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Casual (4)
People Watching (3)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1975 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

The best Italian food in Denver. The service is wonderful. A favorite.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Fun, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

This was a nice restaurant. Or server and her team was exceptional. However, I was a bit disappointed in the food...which surprised me! The salad with amazing mushrooms was the highlight out of the appetizers, entrees and dessert we had. It was nice overall, but didn't knock my socks off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Yet again, Barolo doesn't cease to amaze us. The foie gras and Barolo salad are absolutely divine! Impeccable wine pairings! Our favorite restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were disappointed in the food. It wasn't bad necessarily it just wasn't as good as we were led to believe. We felt the desserts were overpriced and quite small.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Always excellent. One of the few high-end dinning experience we have that consistently lives up to or exceeds expectations.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I have taken a number of friends and colleagues to Barolo Grill when I am in the Denver area for business. It has been a go to restaurant for me. In the past, the food and service were excellent. My visit with five friends last Saturday was not our usual experience. The service was slow. The menu selection sounded good but most of my party found the food to be bland. I plan to return to Barolo Grill and hope that my next visit will see a return of the excellent food and menu and the great service that I am accustom to receiving at this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service me was slow but the remaining staff were very attentive. We enjoyed ourselves but have been to better Italian joints, steakhouses and higher end casual restaurants in Denver. Having this restaurant be ranked as high as it is on many sites such as 5280 and denver eater it was less than impressive and doesn't live up to the hype. Don't plan on returning as there are much better places in town to experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Both service and food were excellent. Our server, JJ, was especially good, providing a great wine selection.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Barolo Grill is one of Denver's best restaurants: outstanding food, knowledgeable and personable staff - simply a great place to go for a delightful evening of great food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our flight landed late and we were having a hard time finding a place for dinner that was nice and still serving. I came across Barolo which was perfect considering we were staying in Cherry Creek. The food was amazing and the service was excellent. They catered to our needs to have dairy free food due to my fiancées allergy

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Froie Gras was outstanding as was the wine that was selected for me. Out of the main meals ordered, one dish was delicious, the second pasta dish was ok, but tasted off and the third entre was served cold. It was reheated, thrown back on plate and so poorly presented, I chose not to eat it. At this point, we just asked for to- go boxes.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The only downside was we waited 40 minutes to sit even though we had a reservation. (Valentine's day). Furious, I was certain the old man that told me 'it's worth the wait' was wrong, but I was a fool in the end, for when I sat down I had the finest dining experience in probably 5 years.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good preset valentine's day dinner. Great service and wonderful environment.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Phenomenal all the way around! Exceptional service and great food! Will definitely be going back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Barolo Grill never disappoints. Very good food/wine tasting menu. Our favorite date night restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Outstanding pasta dinner for my husband and myself!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always a wonderful experience. Excellent service, creative food choices, and a quiet, peaceful atmosphere.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Just excellent all the way around, food , service, ambiance, value. This is one of the best restaurants in Denver

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The staff was excellent! Our waiter was friendly and personable throughout the evening. The food was good, but a bit too rich for our liking. We were celebrating our 26th wedding anniversary, and we were surprised that they didn't do anything special for us for dessert. Overall, still an 8 out of 10.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I love this place! Every meal I have had there has been superb!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This was a wonderful experience. My out of town guest was quite impressed and took a card to remember when he is back in town. The food was beautifully prepared and interesting as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Probably one of the very best restaurants in Denver and tops in Cherry Creek. Awesome menu with great food and the most attentive service. Never hesitate going to this for dinner with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Very nice evening, except it seemed that every 5-10 minutes we were interrupted by a worker asking how everything was. If not the waiter, then someone else. Rather annoying.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

You will not be disappointed here if you're looking for off-the-charts excellent food at what I'd call a moderate price, great service, top notch wine list, and experienced bar tenders who know how to make a top shelf drink of any kind. 2000 varieties of wine - which translates into 13,000 bottles. The sommelier/wine experts will gladly choose a bottle for you. What I found very honorable and appreciated, is that our sommelier picked out an excellent bottle of wine for us that was below the "budget" we gave her. Atmosphere - it has somewhat of a neighborhood feel, with a cool sophistication, without being snooty. Not that there's a dress code, but I'd suggest at least opting for jeans and a nice shirt / sweatshirt / sport coat - or "casual elegant", but you will also be comfortable here if you want to dress to the nines for a night out and be the people who people are watching. Enjoy!

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Continues to impress and amaze after years. But better than all the accolades I could heap upon them is how they treat their staff. The annual trip to Italy is somewhat legendary but it is the day-to-day treatment that impresses. In places like San Francisco, New York or London, you couldn't get near Barolo Grill without booking months ahead. We're very lucky to have them here in Denver and where a more laid-back style goes with dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fantastic well

Prepared food. The service was as good as the food! The duck is amazing, and the handout pasta with wild mushrooms will bring me back soon!!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was great. The food and service were wonderful! I can't wait to return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great wine list! And always service that is not over done but there when you need it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

One of the best meals I and my hubby have ever had!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Had a wonderful time celebrating my husband's 50th birthday. Reservation was for 2 but ended up taking our daughter last minute, they were very accommodating when we arrived with the extra person. All the staff were kind & made his birthday special.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Consistently amazing! I highly recommend this restaurant to everyone--one of my all-time favorites! My boyfriend and I had our first date here 8 years ago (almost) and have celebrated every special occasion--and lots of regular date nights also--here ever since. We bring friends from in town, out of town, and out of the country here and it has always impressed our guests. The wait staff knowledge of the menu and wine list, the professional and friendly staff (starting with the valet, and carrying through the host and wait staff and the management), the unique menu items, the consistently high quality of the food...I can't say enough. If you haven't tried it, you owe it to yourself to enjoy this timeless classic Denver favorite :-) Always interesting to hear a little bit about the annual Italy trip they take the staff on to find new wines and menu items and learn about the Italian countryside, etc--just another indication how much Barolo Grill wants to provide an authentic Italian experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always excellent. Quiet birthday dinner. They tucked us at the fire place. Great meal, great service, beautiful food and wine.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We've been to Barolo Grill several times over the years, and it's definitely a Denver staple. In the past, we've been very happy with our meals, but this experience fell a little short of expectations. All of the courses were underseasoned and could have benefited from a stronger hand with the salt. Nothing was bad, per se, but nothing was memorable either. Even the wine was just meh. After describing our preference for a big, strong white wine, they recommended a bland, insipid white that did not stand up to the food. The only bright spot was the creme brulee - we appreciated the shallow dish that allowed the perfect ratio of crispy crust to creamy interior. Probably our last visit to Barolo Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

As always, we had an exceptional evening at Barolo Grill. Esther was wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Seated promptly without all members present. Outstanding service. A great birthday dinner for four. Outstanding service. Ambience great - not rushed. Did I mention outstanding service?

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

If you like authentic Italian, this is a great find in Denver. Menu varies with the seasons and always has something new. A tad expensive, but well worth it. Waite persons are attentive, but not intrusive, and very knowledgeable of the menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Casual, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Barolo Grill delivers another amazing meal. Chef Daryl and Andrew killing it! Soon to be best restaurant in Denver(currently rated #2 on Eater) server Extremely knowledgeable on all food and FINE quality Italian wine. As a chef and someone that enjoys the finer things in life I cannot recommend this place enough. Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The pasta dishes were by far the best dishes that we had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Our server was the best in the business. Knew his food and wine well and helped us make some good menu choices. The service alone was worth the visit. Well done!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The waitress did a great job but the service was incredibly slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I like the variety of the seasonal menus that are always tastefully created. Food is excellent and adults can have a conversation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always great! This visit was our best yet! Special thanks to Katie, Andrew & Ryan

FernetFamily

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Amazing! Food- fabulous- ambiance- perfect- staff and service- exquisite and lovely- evening- priceless!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food was wonderful, but the staff made it a special evening. So warm and welcoming. They also know their food and wine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Very disappointed in this highly touted northern Italian Cherry Creek restaurant. My husband and I were hoping to find that special neighborhood gem that could deliver Northern Italian cuisine . Instead we found a pretentious restaurant that didn't come close to delivering: not on food, not on service, not on value. We began with a salad of rucola e fungi which compared to the frito mist was a home run. The latter was over cooked and came with a watery aioli that had little taste. Our entrees were not much better. Tortellini ai cinghiale was the worst dish of the night with an overcooked sauce of wild boar, a dry flavorless sauce at best. The Bronzino, actually striped bass, was better but offered hardly a 3 ounce serving. Service really killed the evening. Our waiter seemed to be overwhelmed. We asked him to bring the wine list so we could order more wine to go with our entree. We were down to the last few bites when he finally got around to asking if we wanted anything else. Yes, they have gotten several good reviews but this one visit did it for us. Denver has so many hi-end restaurants that deliver more for your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The waiter was terrific. Knowledgeable and friendly and gave good suggestions.

The food was delicious and not the run of the mill. Had fried eggplant appetizer, orange roughy entree and lamb entree. We were both very happy. Delicious glass of wine. Also yummy free birthday dessert...small but enough for us. We will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always wonderful! The best place in Denver for any special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent, as always!

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The service was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great service. We had not been in a while and it was even better than we remembered!! Nice surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.