About Barolo Grill

3030 E 6th Ave
Denver, CO 80206
View Larger Map

Barolo Grill, an award winning Cherry Creek North restaurant, prides itself on serving authentic northern Italian food while maintaining a comfortable, elegant ambience. Known for hand crafted modern Piemontese cuisine, spectacular wine cellar, and knowledgeable, attentive staff, Barolo can be a perfect choice for a special occasion or just a fun night out. Chef Darrel Truett's cuisine focuses on the Northern Italian provinces of Piedmont and Tuscany. Seasonally changing menus feature locally sourced ingredients, proudly supporting regional farms and producers.



Owner and wine director Ryan Fletter are proud to feature small family wineries that are dedicated to Earth-friendly farming and winemaking philosophies. Barolo Grill has one of the largest collections of Barolo wines outside of Italy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 5:15pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Between Milwaukee & St Paul

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 393-1040

Website:
http://www.barologrilldenver.com/

Parking Details:
Barolo Grill offers complimentary valet directly in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
RTD route 6 - Milwakee Stop

Executive Chef:
Darrel Truett

Private Party Facilities:
Barolo Grill has three private dining rooms available for groups of 6 to 30 people. Please contact Morgan Wolfe , our event coordinator, for details. 303.393.1040

Private Party Contact:
Morgan Wolfe: 3033931040x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer special prix fixe menus for New Year's Eve & Valentine's day each year.
We also host Truffle & Wine Dinners throughout the year. All reservations for these special events must be made directly through the restaurant.
For more information contact Morgan Wolfe, 303.393.1040

Restaurant Photos

Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Gli Piramidi - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Ippoglosso Primavera - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Tagliatelle Al Capra - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Insalata Di Mele - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Tortellini Con Zucca - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Pork And Veal Ragu With Fresh Pasta - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Torte Di Carote Con Gelato Di Salvia - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Filetto Con Carciofi - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Chef's Compliment - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Fritto Misto - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Risotto Con Aragosta E Funghi - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Plin Alla Fonduta Con Tartufi Bianchi - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Rolls - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Insalata Autunno - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Souffle Di Macaroni Alla - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Chardonnay - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Bread Sticks - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Tagliatelle al Funghi - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Tajarin con Salsiccia e Zafferano - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Steamed PEI Mussels - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Fritto Misto Di Mare - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Truffle  - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Black Truffle Explosion - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Tagliatelle Bolognese - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Hazelnut & Almond Cake - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Amuse Buche, Melon Soup, Crustini With Proscutto - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO
Pork Tenderloin - Barolo Grill, Denver, CO

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

We are serving a five course Prix Fixe menu ONLY. $95 per person. Credit card is required to reserve a table. Last day to cancel without a being charged a cancellation fee is FRIDAY DEC 23, by 10pm. If cancelled after deadline, $95 per seat reserved will be charged to the credit card provided.

Barolo Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Denver / Colorado
Italian
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Denver
3 More
Romantic
Denver
Special Occasion
Denver
Italian
Denver
Best Restaurants in Cherry Creek ›

Notable Wine List (85)
Special Occasion (80)
Romantic (64)
See All
Fit for Foodies (62)
Creative Cuisine (52)
Good for a Date (52)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Tasting Menu (36)
Authentic (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Cozy (27)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Worth the Drive (23)
Fireplace (20)
Business Meals (16)
Seasonal (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Fun (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Private Room (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Healthy (6)
Disabled Access (5)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Organic (3)
Historic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
 (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Dancing (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1785 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service, ambiance and food was spect ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

The service, ambiance and food was spectacular as always.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been wanting to eat here for years. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Have been wanting to eat here for years. Finally on my 62nd birthday we dined here.

Had the chef tasting paired with wine.Fabulous. Everything was wonderful.Amazing birthday dinner.Only saddened a wee bit by no birthday recognition. Cheers!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was surprisingly lackluster. I ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was surprisingly lackluster. I ordered the grouper, which was highly recommended by the waiter. It was dry and overcooked. My husband had the lobster and crab pasta which he said was "not good". Both of our salads were OK, but made with ingredients that I could find in my cupboard. My son choose well - the filet mignon. It was beautifully cooked and the polenta and greens were delicious. With a bottle of wine and tip, almost $300 for a less than satisfying meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

All great. Coming from out of town we wi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

All great. Coming from out of town we will make it a yearly stop for the Xmas season.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have waited to go to Barolo for years- ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I have waited to go to Barolo for years--Denver native, have heard wonderful things consistently. I made a reservation on Friday for 8pm to celebrate my engagement with my folks. We waited for about an hour for our food and the wait staff never addressed the issue. We were starving by the time our entrees arrived, and though the food was fantastic, the delay effectively ruined a long-awaited dining experience. Again, NOTHING was done about the significant delay ( no courtesy notice, no comped drinks or dessert or--to my mind what should have been done--comp the meal because it was so so so so late). This was NOT a good experience at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Our first visit and we will return. Ha ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our first visit and we will return. Have ended up disappointed with other top Denver restaurant's hit or miss performance. Reviews here make us think years of consistent quality are a cornerstone of Barolo's top ratings.

My fish was grilled perfectly with nicely chard skin and just cooked to firm flesh. The other meal was game hen on a bed of fine beans. Excellent complex flavors. The green salads were fresh, interesting and well presented.

Our server was professional, had good wine suggestions and was attentive without requiring our attention.

We will take out of town guests soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Always excellent service, food ambiance!

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Always excellent service, food ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We tend to go to Barolo Grill for specia ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We tend to go to Barolo Grill for special occasions such as birthdays and anniversaries as well as with out of town guests as it never disappoints! We started with cocktails and I had a Negroni that was delightful! I had the pheasant salad with shaved celery which was outstanding. My friend, who was in town from southern California, and I both had the cassoulet with game hen. It was one of the best dishes I've ever had at Barolo Grill! The flavors were intense, deep and rich. Who knew beans could be so wonderful!! My husband had the pasta with two types of mushrooms and a poached egg. It was OK, but he was disappointed. It was bland compared to other pasta dishes he has had in the past. The sommelier was great picked a wonderful Italian Cabernet that was incredible with the cassoulet but not so great with the pasta. She went and found a Barolo for him to taste and it was perfect with his pasta. We shared the creme brûlée for dessert and it was crunchy and creamy, a perfect end to an overall fabulous meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding. My only compla ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was outstanding. My only complaint is the service was a bit slow, but not to the point if ruining the evening. The tortolini was amazing. It was expensive but I wasn't disappointed with the quality of the food relative to the price, so no complaint.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Barolo Grill is our go-to restaurant for ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Barolo Grill is our go-to restaurant for special nights out. It never disappoints. Service is outstanding. Food is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our 17th wedding ann ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We were celebrating our 17th wedding anniversary and my husband had never been to Barolo Grill after years of driving by and I had not been in more than 15 years so we decided to try it. Our waiter was excellent and the meal was simply delicious! The menu featured many locally sourced, in season ingredients and we had a wonderful evening.

Tags: Organic, Cozy, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The wine list is immense, the food is fa ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The wine list is immense, the food is fantastic, the wait staff is knowledgeable. My friend and I spent almost 4 hours here for our birthday dinner and we did not even realize that much time had passed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderfull food and professional service ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Wonderfull food and professional service makes for a special evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Awesome. Delicious food plus everyone al ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Awesome. Delicious food plus everyone always comes to our table and makes us feel welcome. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazingly good food and service

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazingly good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding for any occasion, formal, ca ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Outstanding for any occasion, formal, casual, business. Great wine list, taster menu, outstanding service.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Authentic, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointed with the service and ambien ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Disappointed with the service and ambience! A lot of commotion and very hectic! We were ignored!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We have eaten at most of the better rest ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We have eaten at most of the better restaurants in Denver. Went here on a friend's recommendation for wedding anniversary and it was right at the top of the list. Different, yet authentic menu, service was outstanding (even the valet remembered us by name and sight), and the meal was outstanding! We will be returning often.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They will pair wines for your meal and i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

They will pair wines for your meal and it really adds to the experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We loved that the pasta courses come in ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We loved that the pasta courses come in tasting, medium and entree size. It allows you to try a couple of dishes but not fill up so much that you can't/don't get an entree. They also will easily accommodate splitting plates, which was nice!

Wine specialist was great! She chose a really good wine in the middle of the price range we were looking to spend. She didn't try to "upscale" that.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Surpassed our expectations in every way. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Surpassed our expectations in every way. The food and service are truly remarkable. It was a perfect dining experience. Looking forward to going back!

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. My favorite ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Excellent food and service. My favorite restaurant in Denver.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Tracy, was extremely knowled ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Our server, Tracy, was extremely knowledgeable and helpful in recommending wines and meals. Enjoyed her extensive knowledge of the wine list and chose a wine that fit our taste perfectly. The salads were very good and the entrees were excellent; all very inventive and presented beautifully. We highly recommend Barolo for the food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for a date and the food was am ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Went here for a date and the food was amazing. I had the Beef tenderloin, she had the lamb and they were both great. Our server was very knowledgeable of the menu and wine list and made good recommendations. It's a little pricey but worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband's special birthday and it was ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My husband's special birthday and it was truffle season! What more could you ask for?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant, ever. F ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant, ever. For oh so many reasons. Our friends and family also love dining here and we will be back again in December (we don't live nearby). The food and service is outstanding, from reception to finish. If we lived closer, we would be visit far more often. We could not recommend Barolo more - a truly lovely experience, always.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Erin is always so great with the wine ch ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Erin is always so great with the wine choices and her selections -- makes our night extra special; appetizers were great; entrees were good not as great as some other menus you have had in the past

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great option for dinner with fr ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always a great option for dinner with friends or professional clients. Overall dining experience is simply amazing!

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there, everything was PERFECT ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 2, 2016

First time there, everything was PERFECT! Celebrated a birthday, the staff was very helpfull in selections, Thanks you!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great but watch the wine prices ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was great but watch the wine prices as the mark up on their wine is substantial. Use your Vivino app before you buy anything. Some Italian Barolos and Barbarescas are listed in their wine list with 300% markups.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fabulous, as always!! Our favorite rest ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fabulous, as always!! Our favorite restaurant in all of Denver, bar none!

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner after our wedding! Would to ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great dinner after our wedding! Would totally come back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Dancing, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent, Barolo Grill has fine ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always excellent, Barolo Grill has fine dining down to a science, wonderful dishes, great service, a foodies place but not cheap.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went for our anniversary. Had an amaz ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We went for our anniversary. Had an amazing, relaxed dinner by the fire place. Service was fun and relaxed, food was unique, interesting and tasted amazing. We love this place, they have it all; food, service, wines and even good cocktails.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It had been a while since we last dined ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 25, 2016

It had been a while since we last dined at Barolo Grill, and, boy, are we sure happy that we decided to go there to celebrate our anniversary. Everything was top-notch. Food was beyond delicious, and the service was impeccable. A couple of very nice touches, though, had nothing to do with food: My husband had checked his jacket, and as we approached the front desk, the receptionist had it there, waiting to help him into it. And as we stepped out the front door, the parking valet had our car ready and waiting. The whole experience was outstanding. Keep up the good work!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to this restaurant for our weddi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We went to this restaurant for our wedding anniversary celebration. It was a delight. The sommelier, Erin, was particularly helpful and gracious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a delightful experience. The duc ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always a delightful experience. The duck is one of the best dishes in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Barolo Grill is our favorite restaurant ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Barolo Grill is our favorite restaurant in Denver. The servers are knowledgeable and the food and wine pairings are wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has quickly launched to ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2016

This restaurant has quickly launched to the top of my favorites list. I was seated at a beautiful table next to the fireplace, where my date and I were treated to EXCEPTIONAL service and a truly delicious meal. We ate Vegetarian and left feeling like we had indulged beautifully. Thank you to the people operating this magnificent restaurant, for such a delicious, warm and romantic evening.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very knowledgeable regardi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The staff was very knowledgeable regarding wine pairings. They explained the menu options thoroughly. The atmosphere was very nice. Even though there were a lot of people there, it was quiet. Great for conversation. The food was incredible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.