About Barn and Company

950 West Wrightwood
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Barn & Company redefines the all American smokehouse and BBQ shack, with interior elements like reclaimed barn wood walls, rusted tin ceilings, warehouse barn lighting, sleek cement countertops, large open kitchen, wood burning pit, big boy smoker and a wrap around courtyard for al fresco dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday– Friday: 4:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am
Sunday: 11:00am

Please Call for closing times.

Cross Street:
Wrightwood and Lincoln and Sheffield

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 832-4000

Website:
http://barnandcompany.com/

Entertainment:
Catch your favorite team on our massive TV wall, relax with some bourbon or craft beers, or stick around for some late night socializing. Stop by barnandcompany.com to see what's happening this week!

Catering:
We'd love to cater your event! We offer catering for any number of people, just call us for details!

Public Transit:
Take the Brown Line to Diversey, then take Sheffield a couple blocks south to Wrightwood. Take a left on Wrightwood and we'll be on your left.

Take the Brown or Red Line to Fullerton, then take Sheffield a couple blocks north to Wrightwood. Take a right on Wrightwood and we'll be on your left.

Executive Chef:
Gary Wiviott

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We can handle any sort of special event, from birthday parties to awards dinners and more!

Barn and Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Barbecue
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Park ›

good for groups (15)
neighborhood gem (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
See All
great for lunch (7)
hot spot (6)
fit for foodies (6)
great for outdoor dining (6)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (1)
special occasion (1)
Sort By:
Newest
131 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The wings are huge and taste great! The ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The wings are huge and taste great! The sauces are delish!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best BBQ in Chicago. Hands down. Try the ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Best BBQ in Chicago. Hands down. Try the wings!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best wings and Mac n cheese in Chicago!

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Best wings and Mac n cheese in Chicago!

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

It was a little noisy for me, but everyo ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

It was a little noisy for me, but everyone seemed to be having a good time and the food was tasty.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service2

First, I was told that there weren't any ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

First, I was told that there weren't any open tables, even tho I had a reservation, unless I wanted to sit outside where it was about to rain. When finally at the table I was served warm water. The salad I ordered whish was mostly a plate of iceberg lettuce was served with a tiny cup of dressing and not very good. My friends brisket was dry and not very good. Rarely checked on. Nothing about the experience was good

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

Dined on April 20, 2016

Great food

food3
ambience3
service3

Great sports bar but menu needs work.

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Great sports bar but menu needs work.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and excellent service

Dined on March 30, 2016

Been here a couple of times now and always had excellent service and excellent food. It can get a little loud but it's a great place to go with friends. One of the best bbq places around. Will be back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience2
service2

You could tell the food had been sitting ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

You could tell the food had been sitting all day. I ordered ribs and the meat was cold and I could barely pull it off the bone. It was awful. Will never go back.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

terrific BBQ

Dined on March 19, 2016

One of the best pulled pork sandwiches I have ever had! Spicy fries yum! Owner came over to chat, just a fun place and right across from the Appolo Theatre?

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service2

We went for saturday brunch. There weren ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

We went for saturday brunch. There weren't many people there so the ambiance was a little strange. I got the Diablo drink which took about 15 minutes to get and tasted similar to an alcohol Hi C lemonade (I'm not a fan of that). We also ordered the loaded potato skins, brisket sandwich and brisket eggs benedict. The brisket was too tough and fatty without much flavor. The fries tasted like oil. The service was pretty slow, but alright - the waitress was friendly. Overall I was not impressed and I will not be returning.

food1
ambience1
service3

I went here with my family, group of 8, ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

I went here with my family, group of 8, not a good idea. The only complaint with the food was that the brisket was way too fatty. A group of 6 or more you can not sit comfortably.,They had us squeeze into a picnic table. Also the waitress was extremely slow with bringing us drinks or checking to see if we wanted another round.

food5
ambience1
service5

Very smoky with the food smell in the di ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Very smoky with the food smell in the dining area!! Make sure ur not going out afterwards!! You will smell like smoke

food4
ambience5
service5

Superb service and great food!

Dined on February 7, 2016

Superb service and great food!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Greta BBQ

Dined on February 7, 2016

BBQ ribs were outstanding, plenty of meat and flavor. Our Servicer was outstanding and very helpful. Wings were magnificent cooked to perfection lots of flavor

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Ribs and a Good Value

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

Wednesday night all you can ribs and $10 bottles of wine- can't be beat PLUS we had a great server and she noted that y friend brought me a birthday gift (2 weeks early)and offered us a fabulous "Skillet cookie"Perfect. YUM. Fun evening

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

Good was really good, but the restaurant ...

Dined on February 2, 2016

Good was really good, but the restaurant didn't have much energy. I think the reason is because it was Monday.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the barbeque

Dined on January 28, 2016

The BBQ ribs were great. I went on a Wednesday late afternoon for the all you can eat ribs.They had great smoke flavor and the dry rub had a wonderful kick. The table sauces were very good as well. I particularly loved the mustard sauce. There was not many people there at that time so it was quiet. However, about 30 minutes later, business picked up. The atmosphere was what I would imagine a Texas-themed bar would look like. Although I did not have any alcohol, there was an extensive collection of beers, wines and spirits available. I had a great time and would love to return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Chicago's best bar food!!!

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

Chicago's best bar food!!!

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Better than I expected

Dined on January 7, 2016

There was no booth when we arrived so we had to sit at a high top. Then when we left there was a whole table seating area that had people in it they did not offer. I had the ribs and some chicken wings. food was hot and barbecue sauce was unique but good. my wife had chicken Cobb salad that was huge and good but the amount of chicken was limited.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

Good for groups - everything else ok

Dined on January 1, 2016

Plenty of spots for small to moderate group size. Bloody Mary's and drinks are at a great price! Service was slow unfortunately, but they might have just been understaffed. Waited awhile for drinks and coffee.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Pretty Good Food

Dined on December 30, 2015

The food was very good - we had a pulled pork sandwich and a brisket sandwich. It was near the Apollo Theatre, which was why we chose it a for pre-theatre dinner. My only complaint is that it was very loud even though the place was only about half-full (a Tue night at 6:00pm).

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

The drink & food menus are Awesome. If y ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

The drink & food menus are Awesome. If you order Smoke house tacos you can split that up between 2-3 people.

food4
ambience2
service3

Great food - small portions of meats and ...

vip
Dined on December 22, 2015

Great food - small portions of meats and sides. Odd menu selections. Need to rework the menu to offer multiple combo options.

food2
ambience4
service3

First time. The idea of all you can eat ...

Dined on December 16, 2015

First time. The idea of all you can eat Ribs is extremely appealing. But these fell far from the mark. The first and second batch that we ate (half slabs), were under cooked, warm at best and chewy. The last, was actually hot and cooked correctly, but now we're disapointed and ready to leave. They were out of the beer I asked for & I'm not a fan of these IPA/Craft beers. Not great pearings with the ribs. Will not return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Neighborhood Gem

Dined on November 22, 2015

My husband and I ate dinner there after a play at the Apollo on a Saturday night. We are from a small town of 2000 and had a little chuckle at the staff in flannel shirts. The crowd was a little boisterous since the Oklahoma Sooners were playing in a playoff game, the bar owner must be a Sooners fans. The menu was not extensive but that was just fine for what we were looking for. We both enjoyed our pulled pork sandwiches and the service was decent. Would definitely return and recommend to friends. BTW, the restaurant appears new, therefore looked very clean to me and was nicely decorated for the holidays.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Buffalo Wings to die for!

Dined on November 2, 2015

This is a nice, comfortable place. I was there at a non-peak time but I imagine this place could be a hot spot at peak times. I normally can't stomach buffalo wings but tried and LOVED theirs! Can't wait to get back there again.

food4
ambience4
service4

Illinois football afternoon

Dined on October 24, 2015

Made a last minute reservation on open table and when I arrived appeared to have the last table waiting for me while a few other groups were standing. Food and service were both pretty good, sometimes a longer wait than I'd like but it was pretty crowded.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Food + Great Atmosphere = Great Times

Dined on October 11, 2015

Had the Sunday brunch which allowed us to sample a great deal of the fare. Brisket was spot on, pulled pork was delicious, ribs were just right, mac n cheese perfectly cheesy and got to meet the chef, Gary, who was a lot of fun to chat with. Great experience all around. I am accused of being a bit of BBQ snob and this place met, and in some cases exceeded, my expectations. Hard to find truly good BBQ in these parts - will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Good BBQ

Dined on October 10, 2015

Great place for casual dining and drink while watching the game.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Neighborhood BBQ Joint

Dined on October 3, 2015

When you walk through the doors of this neighborhood gem, there is no question that there's a reason they call it Barn & Co. It's rustic with a long bar, and the bbq kitchen is in the back. The tables are unique and the menu is inviting. I had the bbq ribs and the meat fell off the bone and was well seasoned. There's plenty of extra bbq sauce at your table. I order the french fries "extra crispy" and they were perfect. And the service speed worked---we were headed to a performance at the Apollo Theatre a block away and our server made things happen to get us in and out without having us rush through our meal. Great experience, especially if you like rustic and bbq...I will go back.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service2

More bar than restaurant, yet there were ...

Dined on September 30, 2015

More bar than restaurant, yet there were kids. LOUD kids. and obnoxious parents. The food does not warrant another visit. Chalking it up to an experience and move on. I would not recommend. Even if there were no kids.

food2
ambience5
service3

Great for the game

Dined on September 12, 2015

We went for game day and were not disappointed in the abundance of tv screens and fans. However, the food left a lot to be desired. The fries were flimsy and tasted like the grease in the fryer was old. I ordered the brisket chili and it kind of seemed like tomatoey soup filled with jalapenos. I kept picking them out and looking for actual brisket. And my companions were equally unimpressed. I did get a burger the last time I went and it was fantastic so hopefully this was just a fluke. If you go, prepare to yell any conversation you try to have and leave with a sore throat. It is way too loud in there. I'll definitely go back, but I might stick to the burgers from now on.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5

good but loud

Dined on September 3, 2015

The food was good solid BBQ and the service was friendly. we enjoyed our meal. There are a lot of TVs to watch a game. However, they switched the main TV from a preseason Bears game to a Michigan/Utah game during the middle of the 2nd quarter of the Bears game. The music was too loud to hear the person next to me. They have a kids menu and kids eat free on Thursday. Overall we had a good meal and will be coming back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

All-you-can-eat Ribs? Yes please!

Dined on August 26, 2015

All-you-can-eat Ribs? Yes please! Will be back! Great staff, great food, great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great outdoor space!

vip
Dined on August 23, 2015

We had a great time hanging out in the outdoor space...wonderful pulled pork nachos, and the mixed drinks were excellent! We will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

A Good Stand-By

vip
Dined on August 9, 2015

I enjoyed my dining experience at Barn & Company; the food was delicious and the atmosphere was more fun than other places in the city (i.e. I felt like I could get a little messy and be a little more loud than other restaurants). We asked to sit outside, but I didn't realize how dark it was going to get. I would go there again with a group of visitors for a casual night out.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Was a great place with great service.

Dined on July 25, 2015

My wife and I wanted some BBQ. we searched the area and found them from our downtown hotel. we took a cab and we were very pleased when we walked in the door. We are from the south and wanted a country feel and we got it. The service was fast and friendly. was some great food and great portions so you don't go away hungry. We will be back on our next trip to Chicago.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service1

We waited atleast 15 -20 min before anyo ...

Dined on July 25, 2015

We waited atleast 15 -20 min before anyone even came over to greet us and bring water. I had to go up to the hostess and ask her if we could have someone come over. Very disappointing... considering I had already noted in my reservation that we were going to a show and would need to be in and out. Food was ok. This was our 2nd try with this place also.. there won't be a 3rd time for us.

food4
ambience3
service4

FINALLY GOT HERE!

vip
Dined on July 22, 2015

Ribs were wonderful in a perfect casual atmosphere. Wed night specials (all you can eat ribs for price of half slab) that we didn't know about before we arrived! VERY helpful server. Only complaint is that the noise of the EL made conversation have to stop every time one went by. But that is the tradeoff with sitting outside on a lovely summer night. Will go back again

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.