Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Bass Street Chop HouseBass Street Chop House
(866)
$$$$
Steak | Moline, Quad Cities
Booked 13 times today
TGI FRIDAYS - MolineTGI FRIDAYS - Moline
(11)
$$$$
American | Moline, Quad Cities
Keller's American Grill - Isle Casino BettendorfKeller's American Grill - Isle Casino Bettendorf
(9)
$$$$
American | Bettendorf, Quad Cities
Booked 3 times today
The J Bar - DavenportThe J Bar - Davenport
(19)
$$$$
Gastro Pub | Davenport, Quad Cities
Ruthie's Steaks & Seafood at the Rhythm City CasinoRuthie's Steaks & Seafood at the Rhythm City Casino
(50)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Davenport, Quad Cities
DJ's Steakhouse-Jumers Casino and HotelDJ's Steakhouse-Jumers Casino and Hotel
(135)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Rock Island, Quad Cities

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

About Barley & Rye

With a solid dedication to local and sustainably grown foods, Barley & Rye in Moline, IL features an innovative menu inspired by the seasons and the best available ingredients. The lunch and dinner menus will change as the seasons do, and the restaurant is noted for a great wine list that pairs flawlessly with the dishes available.

Dinner at Barley & Rye can include greens and starters such as the hot fried chicken pickles or the brisket poutine. There are also burgers and other hand held meals that include a grass-fed lamb Philly sandwich, a port wine duck burger and a chicken and waffle sandwich. Barley & Rye also features land and sea specialties that work well with the simple but appealing sides, such as the smoky white cheddar mac and cheese. When looking for fresh and different, look to this unique destination.

1320 Fifth Ave
Moline, IL 61265
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm,
Friday: 11:00am to 11:00pm,
Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
14th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(309) 757-1557

Website:
http://barleyrye.com/

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking, behind our building there is a public lot that is available for our customers.

Executive Chef:
Jared Linn

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
164 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 3, 2016

My wife and I were visiting Bettendorf and were looking for a unique and healthy restaurant. We found Barley and Rye on the kiosk of our hotel and were glad to be able to visit a farm to table restaurant. We made a reservation through open table and were seated immediately in the outside patio (our request). They have a nice open space inside as well. I ordered the bison burger and turkey burger and my wife ordered the chicken burger. Everything was perfect and extremely tasty! Our service was excellent and the food wasn't expensive considering that it was farm to table! We definitely recommend this for anyone and we will definitely repeat when in the area! Thank you to the Barley and Rye staff and owners for offering a healthy option for dining!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Delicious food! Portions were huge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 10, 2016

Best restaurant in the QC. It's the only place that reminds me of the great quality and unique restaurants in Minneapolis

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We were disappointed from the start as we sat at our table for 15 minutes before we had to wave down any server to assist us. Even when we found one, he appeared confused about how to serve a table. We asked him to explain the menu and he responded by asking what we wanted to know. The actual server then lurked around the table perturbed that another server was assisting us. It was odd because he had clearly been assisting other tables who arrived after us.

When we asked the new server about specific items on the menu, he appeared uninformed. We asked about the buttermilk fried chicken. He told us it was a breast and wing dipped in buttermilk....obviously....

Food was good, but the service left us with a disappointing experience that makes us question whether to return.

Parking is also atrocious. If you get within a block, you'll be lucky.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Creative menu, great tastes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2016

On this night, you could tell that all restaurants in Downtown Moline would be crowded due to an event at the IWireless Center. We arrived to dinner 2 hours before the event started, giving us plenty of time to enjoy ourselves and to understand that it might be slower than normal due to volume of people. We were seated for 15 minutes before our waitress made her way to our table for a drink order. It took another 15 minutes before those drinks arrived at our table. Tables around us that were seated after us, had already recieved their drinks at this point. We were all very excited about the dinner options and were having a difficult time deciding. Due to the delays in our drinks, we all ordered something as easy and basic to prepare, out of fear that anything else would take too long. We ordered 2 salads and a burger. Normally, we would've had appetizers, steaks and multiple drinks. We were at the restaurant for over and hour and a half even with basic meals such as these. We were hoping for a much better experience than we had. More servers, or better servers could've helped everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2016

We did dinner -Saturday night if s major concert. Had reservations and were seated promptly. Fairly quick service. Many good choices for food. The prep was truly inventive. Unfortunately my food arrived cool. Thus the reason for less than 5's. Would return if in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Everything we had was delicious! My husband had something similar to bouillabaisse. He loved it! I had spaghetti with seafood (shrimp, mussels, clams, etc.). It was fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 3, 2016

The wait staff was great and a direct reflection of the chef. The food was awesome as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Great place to grab some lunch. Also great selection of beers & wines.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We were there 1/2 hr before we were acknowleged.Our reservation was at 7pm.
Finally went to hostess and complained and it still took 15 min before we were waited on..The waitress that finally took care of us was nice and exceptional in service etc.It was her birthday.Never did know why we were ignored .trust me it felt deliberate as many service staff that walked by us and other people got waited on that came after us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Delicious ! Enough said. Chef Jared rocks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Friday night with friends. Sat in the bar in a nice corner. The table was ours for the night. didn't feel rushed. Had a great server, Aubrey. She made good food suggestions and knew the menu and bar menu. She made the experience fun. The menu changes about every six weeks so there is always something new to try. The flat with cheese and meat is a great starter to share with the table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great dinner
Menu changes frequently
Foi grass Brussels sprout salad and filet were all first rate

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Met friends at B&R for dinner. Attentive service. Entres were delicious. Average appetizers. Good wine and drink menu. Server forgot our dessert order so we skipped it. Down note to an otherwise enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 7, 2016

High quality ingredients transformed into delicious menu items by local professionals. We like the "farm to table" story. The freshness comes through in every item served. Good menu choices - broad range of tastes and calories. Great menu for sharing. Good beer, wine and liquor choices. Overall positive experience. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Our server, (Joseph) was absolutely wonderful, he made several recommend dations. The fried bread pudding he recommended was fantastic. Only issue our group of 4 had was the overall noise level of the patrons was quite hi. Very hard to hold a normal conversation at a normal decibel level. Aside from that one issue it was a good dining experience. Would definitely recommend and revisit, possibly looking to do so on the patio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 30, 2016

We'd been given a gift card, so we were using it this night. We'd been told both great details, and more moderate. The waitress was good, the greeting was terrific. There were three in the party, and we ordered both beef, and seafood. Items were good, but I was expecting exceptional. One steak was not tender, and in the steak and shrimp dish, there was one shrimp. The bright spot was the dessert; the bread pudding was AWESOME!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 24, 2016

The food was below average for the price. If I'm going to pay $35 for a meal it needs to blow me away. The short ribs I ordered were 80% fat/bone and 20% meat. The burger and sandwich selection looked good for half the price. If we try this place again it will be for that and be half the price. The meat and cheese plate we ordered as an appetizer was very good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 17, 2016

The bison dish was outstanding and the rockfish was very good until...too many scales left on the fish. Killed the entire experience. When brought up it was clear that no one cared whatsoever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2016

Best food in the Quad Cities. Sriracha and sweet asian Calamari. Brussels with an egg, sweet potato and chorizo, inventive and delicious.

Included sides of a nice small salad and soy brussels. Perfectly prepared pan seared rockfish with blood orange. Wonderful mushroom marsala fettuchini. All for way under $100 with tax and tip

Great draft beers. Now with their own bakery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 9, 2016

My wife ordered the brisket. It was amazing. It melted in her mouth and was very tasty. I ordered the buttermilk chicken. It was filled with flavor throughout and it was tender throughout and was amazingly delicious. This restaurant is very casual, yet has a chef driven, creative menu reminiscent of a formal, expensive restaurant. It is a perfect restaurant for those seeking creative food preparation with amazing quality in a relaxed, hip atmosphere. I would say the desserts are perhaps not quite as good as the entrees, however. The beer selection available is filled with quality with some amazing microbrews and the bar is very well stocked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2016

Great value for varied, tasty American menu. Plus you actually get 'sides' with your entrée - salad or soup and a starch or vegie and a bread plate variety.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 5, 2015

This is a good find in the Quad City area which is otherwise devoid of good restaurants, in either the casual or fine dining area. This is a farm to table type place. The food was very good and the service was attentive and prompt. The ambience was casual and fitting for the farm-table concept.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 28, 2015

My wife and I always go to Barley and Rye for special occasions. Best service and food in town. Drink menu is never ending and very reasonable prices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 28, 2015

Some dishes were great like the french fries with gravy and others were misses (Mac n cheese). My salad dressing was tasteless but others had great dressings. I appreciate the innovative food and think the chef should spend more time tasting the menu and putting out only the best dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 17, 2015

Barley & Rye offers an eclectic menu and it's always fun to experience their innovation. We were there for lunch, and my friend and I were both looking for a light lunch. Not that easy to do at any Midwestern restaurant...we probably should have skipped the brussel sprouts appetizer (very good...but it's big). My friend ended up with a salad, I had a turkey sandwich and neither of us could finish our meals. Both were very good

One area I'd like to see B&R improve are parking (you're basically limited to street parking...tough mid-day, and it was raining).

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 8, 2015

We love this gem. We are so glad we have found it and now are converting all of our friends and family members as well. The menu changes frequently so that it contains fresh, local ingredients served in a new yet approachable way. The prices are outstanding for the quality delivered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 7, 2015

Excellent food in a fun and funky atmosphere! We were present at their 2 year anniversary weekend and overall had excellent service and fabulous food. What a gem in Moline, IL!!! Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 7, 2015

I've heard negative commentary from other people about this place, but it all depends on what you order. It's no different than any other restaurant. They have the best filet in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 4, 2015

This is our new favorite place to go for special occasions. The only reason it isn't our new go-to for more frequent visits is the cost, even though it is justified. The food is amazing, the drink selection is amazing, the atmosphere is fun, and the outdoor patio is like a "night on the town." The caution I give to new comers is based on what to expect. This place is for people who enjoy the company they are with, enjoy their food, and to spend some time. Start to finish, my wife and I were there for about 2 hours. While it is not a full blown Italian dinner that takes 4 hours, it isn't a typical Olive Garden in and out quickly meal. Drinks, appetizers, soup/salad, entree, dessert. A 4 course meal doesn't come quickly, keep that in mind. Second thing to mention is that this food is cooked/prepared "properly." So say some cured pork? To the untrained eye, it may seem "under cooked," but that is how it is supposed to be prepared. Similar with steak. Medium rare is the proper level it should be cooked to to retain proper moisture/taste/texture. Basically said, if you are looking for a bucket of wings and a Bud Light? Probably isn't the joint for you. Lastly the cost can be a deterrent for some. The website I saw was showing it was a fairly low cost establishment. All of the times my wife and I have been, we haven't left with under a $100 tab. On average in the $110-130 range. That is with 1-2 drinks a piece, appetizer, entree, and 1 dessert. In my opinion it is easily worth the cost, just be mindful it will cost you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 31, 2015

This is our favorite restaurant to "treat" ourselves and guests in the Quad Cities. The food is outstanding, service is attentive, atmosphere is always energetic and the bar selections are top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 31, 2015

Barley & Rye was happy to accommodate my food restrictions and served me a delicious dinner. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 24, 2015

Efficiency of staff. All staff helped each other make our visit memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 24, 2015

The scallops. O.M.G!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 17, 2015

Excellent food! Menu changes a lot, so I keep finding new favorites. Service is always attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2015

I brought my 92 year old father here to celebrate his birthday. We were treated royally and the food and drink were amazing! My father wants us to rent the restaurant after he dies to celebrate his life, he was so impressed. We both had the salmon and it was perfect. They surprised by father with an amazing bread pudding dessert that he is still raving about eating.
Thank you for an amazing time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2015

Great food and service as always. This is my favorite restaurant in the Quad Cities. Unique food and great drink selection. The service is top notch as well

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2015

We go here quite often & the Wagyu filet is delicious! We normally don't order steak when we go out, because I grill quite often. We make an exception here. Mac & white cheddar cheese is a great side.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 14, 2015

Barley & Rye has been in business for almost 2 years and they've really hit their stride. I tried them when they first opened and was disappointed. I went back last spring and have since returned 3 times since. The charcuterie platter is outstanding, with some excellent options. The ham, bison summer sausage, smoked gouda and chevre are especially good. I do wish their bread was a little more interesting or that they offered a couple options. That said, the mustards, etc. served with the platter are very good. If you want a lighter meal on a budget, get the platter on Wednesday, half-price bottle of wine night. Their beer and bourbon options are also very good, along with a solid wine list. I've been pleasantly surprised by the budget-friendly, local wines on offer. The entrees are also very good, with the scallops being especially good. Service is excellent and one would be equally comfortable in nice jeans or dressier clothes. I do suggest reservations on week-ends, as the word is out how good this place is.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.