Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Bass Street Chop HouseBass Street Chop House
(748)
$$$$
Steak | Moline, Quad Cities
Booked 4 times today
Centro RestaurantCentro Restaurant
(1379)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown Des Moines, Des Moines
Booked 49 times today
The J Bar - DavenportThe J Bar - Davenport
(7)
$$$$
Gastro Pub | Davenport, Quad Cities
Booked 1 time today
DJ's Steakhouse-Jumers Casino and HotelDJ's Steakhouse-Jumers Casino and Hotel
(117)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Rock Island, Quad Cities
Booked 2 times today
Ruthie's Steaks & Seafood at the Rhythm City CasinoRuthie's Steaks & Seafood at the Rhythm City Casino
(2)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Davenport, Quad Cities
Booked 10 times today

About Barley & Rye

1320 Fifth Ave
Moline, IL 61265
View Larger Map

Chef/Owner Jared Linn and the staff at Barley & Rye Bistro, Inc. believe in local, sustainable food. Along with many local farmers we pride ourselves on providing our customers with the freshest and most local ingredients.

By choosing to adhere to the ‘Farm-to-Table’ aspect, we are also supporting the local community. Barley & Rye Bistro is honored to be one of the first restaurants in the Quad City area to provide their customers with the Farm-to-Table experience!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm,
Friday: 11:00am to 11:00pm,
Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
14th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(309) 757-1557

Website:
http://barleyrye.com/

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking, behind our building there is a public lot that is available for our customers.

Executive Chef:
Jared Linn

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
203 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A must visit - Outstanding food and service!

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 3, 2016

My wife and I were visiting Bettendorf and were looking for a unique and healthy restaurant. We found Barley and Rye on the kiosk of our hotel and were glad to be able to visit a farm to table restaurant. We made a reservation through open table and were seated immediately in the outside patio (our request). They have a nice open space inside as well. I ordered the bison burger and turkey burger and my wife ordered the chicken burger. Everything was perfect and extremely tasty! Our service was excellent and the food wasn't expensive considering that it was farm to table! We definitely recommend this for anyone and we will definitely repeat when in the area! Thank you to the Barley and Rye staff and owners for offering a healthy option for dining!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed the meal.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 25, 2016

The food was delicious, the service pleasant and attentive. I need to go back to sample the extensive whiskey, bourbon and rye collection. I'll be back. Only thing missing was vegetarian option (not for me).

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious food! Portions were huge!

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Delicious food! Portions were huge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in the QC. It's the only ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 10, 2016

Best restaurant in the QC. It's the only place that reminds me of the great quality and unique restaurants in Minneapolis

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were disappointed from the start as w ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We were disappointed from the start as we sat at our table for 15 minutes before we had to wave down any server to assist us. Even when we found one, he appeared confused about how to serve a table. We asked him to explain the menu and he responded by asking what we wanted to know. The actual server then lurked around the table perturbed that another server was assisting us. It was odd because he had clearly been assisting other tables who arrived after us.

When we asked the new server about specific items on the menu, he appeared uninformed. We asked about the buttermilk fried chicken. He told us it was a breast and wing dipped in buttermilk....obviously....

Food was good, but the service left us with a disappointing experience that makes us question whether to return.

Parking is also atrocious. If you get within a block, you'll be lucky.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Menu is hit or miss

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Group of 4 all with different entrees. 3 apps. Menu is very creative but it is hit or miss. Apps were all very good ample in size. Stay away from chicken. Steaks were 50% successful at table. If you like bourbon go in, have a few drinks (300 kinds available) and order some apps to play it safe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Creative menu, great tastes

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Creative menu, great tastes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service Matters

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2016

On this night, you could tell that all restaurants in Downtown Moline would be crowded due to an event at the IWireless Center. We arrived to dinner 2 hours before the event started, giving us plenty of time to enjoy ourselves and to understand that it might be slower than normal due to volume of people. We were seated for 15 minutes before our waitress made her way to our table for a drink order. It took another 15 minutes before those drinks arrived at our table. Tables around us that were seated after us, had already recieved their drinks at this point. We were all very excited about the dinner options and were having a difficult time deciding. Due to the delays in our drinks, we all ordered something as easy and basic to prepare, out of fear that anything else would take too long. We ordered 2 salads and a burger. Normally, we would've had appetizers, steaks and multiple drinks. We were at the restaurant for over and hour and a half even with basic meals such as these. We were hoping for a much better experience than we had. More servers, or better servers could've helped everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Delicious dishes, options you do not get ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Delicious dishes, options you do not get from a lot of restaurants in the area. Refreshing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Disappointing.....

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Dined here on a Saturday night. Had reservations for 5:00 pm. I had the Philly Sandwich. Description said that is was served with caramelized mushrooms and onions and a cheese sauce. It had a smattering of onions, no mushrooms and no cheese whatsoever. The beef itself was very tough. Definitely not worth the $15.00 price tag. The other 3 people in my party had fish stew, a cuban, and a burger. They said their meals were OK, but nothing special. It took over an hour to get our food, and then we tempted fate by ordering dessert. It was supposed to be a chocolate cake with chocolate ganache, strawberries and whipped cream. No strawberries and you guessed it no whipped cream. The waiter said he would bring it out in a bit because she was just making it. We were done with the cake before it came out and just had a bowl of whipped cream sitting on the table. Waited 15 minutes for the check and then discovered the waiter had mixed up the orders and put them on the wrong bills, which given the time, we just went with it. Overall we were there for 2 hours. This was the first and the last time I will be dining at Barley and Rye.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Good and nice

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2016

We did dinner -Saturday night if s major concert. Had reservations and were seated promptly. Fairly quick service. Many good choices for food. The prep was truly inventive. Unfortunately my food arrived cool. Thus the reason for less than 5's. Would return if in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Barley and Rye is my new favorite restaurant!

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Everything we had was delicious! My husband had something similar to bouillabaisse. He loved it! I had spaghetti with seafood (shrimp, mussels, clams, etc.). It was fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went there and had a fantastic experience.

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 3, 2016

The wait staff was great and a direct reflection of the chef. The food was awesome as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for Lunch

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Great place to grab some lunch. Also great selection of beers & wines.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Clueless hostess amamzing waitress

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We were there 1/2 hr before we were acknowleged.Our reservation was at 7pm.

Finally went to hostess and complained and it still took 15 min before we were waited on..The waitress that finally took care of us was nice and exceptional in service etc.It was her birthday.Never did know why we were ignored .trust me it felt deliberate as many service staff that walked by us and other people got waited on that came after us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious ! Enough said. Chef Jared roc ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Delicious ! Enough said. Chef Jared rocks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Had a great time.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Friday night with friends. Sat in the bar in a nice corner. The table was ours for the night. didn't feel rushed. Had a great server, Aubrey. She made good food suggestions and knew the menu and bar menu. She made the experience fun. The menu changes about every six weeks so there is always something new to try. The flat with cheese and meat is a great starter to share with the table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing and unique take on dishes. So de ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2016

Amazing and unique take on dishes. So delicious. Brussel sprout salad and halibut were both top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great dinner they did a fabulous job

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great dinner

Menu changes frequently

Foi grass Brussels sprout salad and filet were all first rate

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance but...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 13, 2016

This restaurant is a great place for a date. Great ambiance, interesting decor, and the service is excellent. Unfortunately, the food was only average for the price point. Desserts also were only so so.. My biggest complaint however was the preparation. I ordered a simple burger medium well. When it arrived it was rare. Blood was actually oozing onto the bun. The server apologized and returned it to the kitchen. She brought it back within 2 minutes (microwaved of course) with the same bun. No compensation was offered, no apology from the kitchen, no offer to get me something different. That kind of response is what you would expect from a fast food restaurant, not a place that is charging $13 for a hamburger!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Local Farm to Table Gem

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Met friends at B&R for dinner. Attentive service. Entres were delicious. Average appetizers. Good wine and drink menu. Server forgot our dessert order so we skipped it. Down note to an otherwise enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

High quality ingredients transformed int ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 7, 2016

High quality ingredients transformed into delicious menu items by local professionals. We like the "farm to table" story. The freshness comes through in every item served. Good menu choices - broad range of tastes and calories. Great menu for sharing. Good beer, wine and liquor choices. Overall positive experience. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Our server, (Joseph) was absolutely wond ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Our server, (Joseph) was absolutely wonderful, he made several recommend dations. The fried bread pudding he recommended was fantastic. Only issue our group of 4 had was the overall noise level of the patrons was quite hi. Very hard to hold a normal conversation at a normal decibel level. Aside from that one issue it was a good dining experience. Would definitely recommend and revisit, possibly looking to do so on the patio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Using a gift card

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 30, 2016

We'd been given a gift card, so we were using it this night. We'd been told both great details, and more moderate. The waitress was good, the greeting was terrific. There were three in the party, and we ordered both beef, and seafood. Items were good, but I was expecting exceptional. One steak was not tender, and in the steak and shrimp dish, there was one shrimp. The bright spot was the dessert; the bread pudding was AWESOME!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Great business dinner!

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 29, 2016

On a business trip from in the QC and gave Barley and Rye a try. Wow - what a treat. The decision around which of the 300+ bourbons to try was exhausting but the waiters recommendation of Jefferson Reserve was spot on. The food was interesting and delicious. I had the salmon and the barley which was fantastic. I've never had barley other than in soup and am going to try to recreate it at home. The salmon was cooked perfectly and the sauces was light and delicious. My colleague had the Poutine burger who much was on the crazy side of indulgent and he loved it. Definitely a keeper for my visits to the QC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was below average for the price ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 24, 2016

The food was below average for the price. If I'm going to pay $35 for a meal it needs to blow me away. The short ribs I ordered were 80% fat/bone and 20% meat. The burger and sandwich selection looked good for half the price. If we try this place again it will be for that and be half the price. The meat and cheese plate we ordered as an appetizer was very good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

The bison dish was outstanding and the r ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 17, 2016

The bison dish was outstanding and the rockfish was very good until...too many scales left on the fish. Killed the entire experience. When brought up it was clear that no one cared whatsoever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Service & Management Poor

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 17, 2016

The service was really poor - could be a great place;

I didn't get my 1st or 2nd beer right away -

Waitress never asked if we needed anything

There were 2 maître di's doing nothing right behind us - small place -don't need two full time maître de

The entrees took a long time to get to us - salmon portion on salad was small for price

Olives appetizer good, ambience good... beer selection good - waitress didn't know explain

There was another table where I saw the patron trying to signal to the male waiter (no response) - same table the other patron got up to talk to mgr. and maître di on getting them a Bud Light

There is something wrong here with the service - we saw mgr. bartender arguing with wife mgr. on service - this place could really be good but service needs some real revamping

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Best food in the Quad Cities. Sriracha a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2016

Best food in the Quad Cities. Sriracha and sweet asian Calamari. Brussels with an egg, sweet potato and chorizo, inventive and delicious.

Included sides of a nice small salad and soy brussels. Perfectly prepared pan seared rockfish with blood orange. Wonderful mushroom marsala fettuchini. All for way under $100 with tax and tip

Great draft beers. Now with their own bakery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Review of Barley and Rye

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 9, 2016

My wife ordered the brisket. It was amazing. It melted in her mouth and was very tasty. I ordered the buttermilk chicken. It was filled with flavor throughout and it was tender throughout and was amazingly delicious. This restaurant is very casual, yet has a chef driven, creative menu reminiscent of a formal, expensive restaurant. It is a perfect restaurant for those seeking creative food preparation with amazing quality in a relaxed, hip atmosphere. I would say the desserts are perhaps not quite as good as the entrees, however. The beer selection available is filled with quality with some amazing microbrews and the bar is very well stocked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

best in Quad Cities

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2016

Great value for varied, tasty American menu. Plus you actually get 'sides' with your entrée - salad or soup and a starch or vegie and a bread plate variety.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent, filling dishes. Creative drin ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 23, 2015

Excellent, filling dishes. Creative drinks and a wide variety of craft beer selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Unique

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 5, 2015

This is a good find in the Quad City area which is otherwise devoid of good restaurants, in either the casual or fine dining area. This is a farm to table type place. The food was very good and the service was attentive and prompt. The ambience was casual and fitting for the farm-table concept.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Hidden gem in the Quad Cities

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 28, 2015

My wife and I always go to Barley and Rye for special occasions. Best service and food in town. Drink menu is never ending and very reasonable prices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Some dishes were great like the french f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 28, 2015

Some dishes were great like the french fries with gravy and others were misses (Mac n cheese). My salad dressing was tasteless but others had great dressings. I appreciate the innovative food and think the chef should spend more time tasting the menu and putting out only the best dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Very good food...and a few opportunities...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 17, 2015

Barley & Rye offers an eclectic menu and it's always fun to experience their innovation. We were there for lunch, and my friend and I were both looking for a light lunch. Not that easy to do at any Midwestern restaurant...we probably should have skipped the brussel sprouts appetizer (very good...but it's big). My friend ended up with a salad, I had a turkey sandwich and neither of us could finish our meals. Both were very good

One area I'd like to see B&R improve are parking (you're basically limited to street parking...tough mid-day, and it was raining).

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

This is what heaven tastes like

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 8, 2015

We love this gem. We are so glad we have found it and now are converting all of our friends and family members as well. The menu changes frequently so that it contains fresh, local ingredients served in a new yet approachable way. The prices are outstanding for the quality delivered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I've heard negative commentary from othe ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 7, 2015

I've heard negative commentary from other people about this place, but it all depends on what you order. It's no different than any other restaurant. They have the best filet in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Farm to Table

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 7, 2015

Excellent food in a fun and funky atmosphere! We were present at their 2 year anniversary weekend and overall had excellent service and fabulous food. What a gem in Moline, IL!!! Highly recommended

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our new favorite!

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 4, 2015

This is our new favorite place to go for special occasions. The only reason it isn't our new go-to for more frequent visits is the cost, even though it is justified. The food is amazing, the drink selection is amazing, the atmosphere is fun, and the outdoor patio is like a "night on the town." The caution I give to new comers is based on what to expect. This place is for people who enjoy the company they are with, enjoy their food, and to spend some time. Start to finish, my wife and I were there for about 2 hours. While it is not a full blown Italian dinner that takes 4 hours, it isn't a typical Olive Garden in and out quickly meal. Drinks, appetizers, soup/salad, entree, dessert. A 4 course meal doesn't come quickly, keep that in mind. Second thing to mention is that this food is cooked/prepared "properly." So say some cured pork? To the untrained eye, it may seem "under cooked," but that is how it is supposed to be prepared. Similar with steak. Medium rare is the proper level it should be cooked to to retain proper moisture/taste/texture. Basically said, if you are looking for a bucket of wings and a Bud Light? Probably isn't the joint for you. Lastly the cost can be a deterrent for some. The website I saw was showing it was a fairly low cost establishment. All of the times my wife and I have been, we haven't left with under a $100 tab. On average in the $110-130 range. That is with 1-2 drinks a piece, appetizer, entree, and 1 dessert. In my opinion it is easily worth the cost, just be mindful it will cost you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.