About Barking Frog

14580 NE 145th Street
Woodinville, WA 98072
View Larger Map

It's difficult to say what is most appealing about the Barking Frog - the food, the wine, the atmosphere. All of the above earned this casual bistro featuring country fresh Northwest cuisine rave reviews. Honors have included "Restaurant of the Year", "Most Innovative Wine List" and "Wine Grand Award" awards, presented by the Washington Wine Commission. Delectable dishes entice guests to linger in the light-filled dining room or to gather around the fireplace. While in the summer, lunch and dinner are served in the courtyard.

Wine tasting in Fireside Cellars - Many wineries are open for public tastings, others are not. However, there is one place where you can relax with friends and fellow guests to taste the finest that Woodinville Wine Country has to offer - Fireside Cellars at Willows Lodge. Join us from 4PM-11PM Sunday-Thursday and 4PM-12AM Friday and Saturday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:00am - 10:30am; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 6:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Rte 202

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 424-2999

Website:
http://www.willowslodge.com/wine_dine/barking_frog.html

Catering:
We offer an ideal setting for social, professional and personal events, where every gathering is handled with the utmost care. Whether you’re planning a wedding or a family reunion, a fundraiser, board meeting to corporate teambuilding retreat, we’ll work with you to identify and manage every detail. The unique ambiance of the Lodge adds an extra dimension of charm to all occasions, while our five acres of gardens lend themselves to truly unforgettable events. Facilities
include six separate meeting rooms with over 5,000 square feet of space.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $7, or you can self park in the hotel lot.

Executive Chef:
Bobby Moore

Private Party Facilities:
We offer an ideal setting for social, professional and personal events, where every gathering is handled with the utmost care. Whether you’re planning a wedding or a family reunion, a fundraiser, board meeting to corporate teambuilding retreat, we’ll work with you to identify and manage every detail. The unique ambiance of the Lodge adds an extra dimension of charm to all occasions, while our five acres of gardens lend themselves to truly unforgettable events. Facilities
include six separate meeting rooms with over 5,000 square feet of space.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Laccinole: 4254242587

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer an ideal setting for social, professional and personal events, where every gathering is handled with the utmost care.

Parties of 6 or more include an automatic 18% gratuity and one check is appreciated, however multiple checks are available.

Parties of 7 or more may be seated around our fireplace based on dining room availability.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Barking Frog Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Eastside
Best Service
Eastside
Best Ambiance
Eastside
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Eastside
Notable Wine List
Eastside
Northwest
Eastside
Most Booked
Eastside
Best Restaurants in Woodinville ›

fit for foodies (146)
special occasion (143)
notable wine list (121)
See All
romantic (90)
great for lunch (67)
great for brunch (60)
neighborhood gem (56)
good for groups (44)
great for outdoor dining (27)
hot spot (10)
scenic view (10)
kid-friendly (9)
late-night find (9)
vibrant bar scene (4)
 (4)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2437 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I was terribly disappointed that for the ...

Dined 3 days ago

I was terribly disappointed that for the second year in a row, they had my reservation down for a different time than was booked. Even after showing the hostess my reservation and the reservation number, they could not get us in at the reserved time. We waited again, but will not book for brunch here. Too many errors and too much time wasted.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better than expected

Dined 6 days ago

My girlfriend and I ate here twice for breakfast and once for dinner. All of the meals were wonderful. We thought the dinner might have been one of the best we've ever had. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and thoroughly engaging. Other restaurants should train here!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and the fish is Wild!

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Great food and the fish is Wild!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

great

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

love the food, ambience and wait staff. In the summer, the patio is beautiful

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Great food. However, a friend and I aske ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food. However, a friend and I asked if we could split French toast. We were catty corner with things between us in the middle of the table. When we asked if we could share,; we were given one plate (where we'd have dripped syrup all over the table). I asked if we could get 2 plates. The server brought 2, but then there was a (non-disclosed) charge of $3 for doing it. Uncool. Plus they should have brought us 2 plates to begin with.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First courses were outstanding with man ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

First courses were outstanding with many interesting choices. Main courses only OK. Deserts were similarly just OK. Wine and scotch selection were both good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food. loved every bit of it. Small ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

great food. loved every bit of it. Small place so its hard to get a table but its well worth it. Good service and amazing amazing amazing food

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and food to celebrate ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Excellent service and food to celebrate on my wife's birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brian was an attentive but not intrusive ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Brian was an attentive but not intrusive waitperson. Food was well presented and excellent. The Rose Panacotta dessert was an art piece - kudos Dessert Chef Kelley.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Master Gee

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went there for mothers day brunch. Food was good enough, but not all that as advertised. Service was marginal. Granted it was mothers day and busy, but our order took approximately 45 minutes to get out and wait staff did not come by to explain. Finally i asked and was told they were behind because of the room service orders they were preparing for Willows lodge. These folks were all snug in there room, I was sitting with my family waiting. seemed backwards?

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 7, 2016

We absolutely love Barking Frog & count it as one of our local favorites. That said, this visit started off on the wrong foot as our server was totally absent for the first 15 minutest. We ordered our espresso from the gal who was filling water. After 15 minutes, we asked the hostess to please find our waiter. When he arrived, he didn't apologize for not coming sooner & was a bit arrogant. But after we ordered, his service was fine & the food was amazing as it always is!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

for the most part our experience was goo ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

for the most part our experience was good. the food was delicious. my wife and I love the concept of having sample plates (course of 4). we appreciated the wine steward actually tried our wine that we brought for dinner and had good things to say about it. three things that lowered their rating down to "good", 1st - the restaurant was extremely loud, it was impossible to have a normal conversation with my wife. 2nd, the service was very very very slow. dinner should have lasted 1.5 hrs, it lasted 3.5 hrs and we never received an apology or visit from the manager or hostess about the slow service. 3rd is the $30.00 corkage fee, especially when we were staying as guest at the willow's lodge and spa for the weekend. since we were able to bring drinks in from the lodge, I should have opened my own bottle of wine in my room and walked into the restaurant and saved $30.00. these three reasons make me pause to recommend someone to dine at the restaurant especially at the price amount for a meal.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect dinner after wine tasting

Dined on May 7, 2016

We made reservations for six of us after wine tasting. The entire experience could not have been better. We stayed so late they gave us the option to give up our table for the next reservation, in return they would set us up at a new table and bring us our coffees we had just ordered on the house. We had no problem moving. They not only brought us an amazing coffee setup but they also included chocolates and chocolate covered strawberries.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service

Dined on May 7, 2016

Every bite of food we had was delicious from chicken mousse to poached octopus to seared scallops to tenderloin. The service was also spectacular. The server and bussers knew every aspect of every dish and we're all kind and helpful.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Overpriced and Table next to Waitstaff cart

Dined on May 7, 2016

Friday 5:30 Reservation for a special occasion, turned out to be a big disappointment. Asked to move as the hostess put us next to kitchen/wait-staff cart, with +50% tables open, they made a big deal about requesting to move. Food was OK and overpriced for quality and presentation. Waiter and hostess spent more time together than filling table water or table needs.

food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Disappointing Night.

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had to ask someone if we could order drinks, after being seated for 18 minutes. I don’t think we had a regular server. Service was extremely slow. My wife’s lamb chops were up for over ten minutes before they brought us our meal. She had to send it back for it was not only rare, not medium rare, but it was could. I was half way done with my meal before hers came back. Food was good, service was way to slow and disappointing. We have been to the Barking Frog a lot and now my wife never wants to return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great overall with one miss

Dined on May 6, 2016

the meals were amazing, every dish but one was a hit. the only dish that was a miss was the Pork belly and tagliatelle. It was pretty flavorless, and the person who ordered it didnt eat more than one bite. Every other dish was a 10 out of 10!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Still a favorite for special occasions

Dined on May 2, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary on 5/1 with the 4-course Chef's Tasting menu and wine pairing, which gave us the opportunity to sample so many of the wonderful, fresh, and beautifully presented dishes. (The beef tenderloin was sublime as was the lemon cake we chose to share for dessert). There is a reason we come back to Barking Frog - they go above and beyond to make every experience a special one.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Fine dining after wine tasting

Dined on May 1, 2016

Good food, small portions but nice spot for after wine tasting. Good spot for small plates and more wine!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Barking Frog is amazing!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Chef is truly an "Iron Chef"! My wife said her steak was "best ever". My lamb chop dish had amazing flavors. Home made desserts of sorbets and creme brulele were generous and delightful. Our waiter and staff ensured that we had an awesome experience. A must for your bucket list.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My new Favorite spot

Dined on April 29, 2016

It always starts with the service. Genuinely kind and welcoming staff will greet you upon arrival. Each member has their own great personality and can hold a true conversation with you. The menu is exactly what you'd want if you're searching for fine dining with items you won't find in any other places around. I had never tried bone marrow and always wanted to, the Barking Frog set a high bar. Their entrées are beautiful, delicious and filling regardless of your serving size. A nice quiet place for brunch and dinner, a romantic setting, lovely staff, worth every penny.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful Dinner

Dined on April 25, 2016

We eat at The Barking Frog several times during our stay in Woodinville. Breakfast is one of our favorites. Although weekends tend to be a bit hectic it is worth the trouble to make reservations and do a bit of planning. Since the hotel has many events the restaurant can be rather crowded so weekdays are our favorite! We have never been served something less than spectacular. Since the menu does change I can only say that it is worth the effort to try something different each time you go! Fabulous find!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superior food with fabulous service. Lov ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Superior food with fabulous service. Loved the comfortable and welcoming decor. It was busy but we were totally able to talk at a normal decible!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Noisy!

Dined on April 22, 2016

We had lunch here a few days ago. Mid week. The restaurant is clearly designed to be noisy, and 4-5 little kids making lots of noises that kids naturally make just added to the din. My friend ordered a burger. She was not asked how she would like it prepared, and was very surprised to be served a very rare burger. The server was gracious when my friend asked for it to be further cooked to to medium, but unfortunately it returned looking rare. She didn't say anything further, but she only ate it around the edges. I ordered the prawn salad dish. The salad and dressing were uninspired. The prawns were very sweet, like eating dessert. I'll give this place one more try since several friends really like it, but only if already in the area.

food5
ambience5
service5

The ruby trout was really nice.

Dined on April 21, 2016

The ruby trout was really nice.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden gem

Dined on April 21, 2016

A friend and I ate at the Barking Frog for the first time during Seattle Restaurant Week and what a great choice. The food was excellent and the service and the setting were outstanding. If you are lucky enough to be there on a beautiful sunny day as we were, definitely take the opportunity to stroll through the gardens and check out the adjacent Williws Lodge. I will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprise

Dined on April 21, 2016

I knew it would be good but this was an excellent lunch experience for my friends & me. Pricey for my budget but worth coming monthly with friends. Very good service & Stephanie was delightful with her recommendations. I also liked the semi casual dress code.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on April 21, 2016

Went to the Barking Frog for my husbands birthday and loved it! The staff was all very friendly and accommodating and was one of the best meals I've EVER had! The beet salad and the scallop risotto were sooooo good!!! I will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun, lively spot

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

The Barking Frog is a fun, casual, elegant restaurant with a great menu. I've enjoyed each visit, whether for lunch or dinner. The Potato Leek Soup was creamy and delicious. The fish was cooked perfectly and the Beet Salad fresh. Past meals have always been great. I especially enjoy dining on the patio (casual), but the main restaurant is good for dates and romantic dinners.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food was wonderful!

Dined on April 20, 2016

We go to The Barking frog once a year during Seattle Restaurant Week.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Seattle Restaurant Week

Dined on April 20, 2016

Wonderful meal during Seattle Restaurant Week. Barking Frog used the event as a chance to show off their excellent food with an outstanding menu and wine pairing. We enjoyed all courses but the entrees, the black cod and the risotto, really stood out. We will be going back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We were there just for lunch and the ent ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

We were there just for lunch and the entire experience was less than average. We were very disappointed in the food, ambiance, and pricing. Better options are available on the Eastside.

food4
ambience3
service3

I have been there for dinner couple. Th ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

I have been there for dinner couple. This was my first time trying lunch during Seattle Restaurant Week. As for the quality of food, I believe dinner absolutely has higher quality. I ordered Trout but they gave me Salmon. No complaints about Salmon but just weird as the server didn't give any explanations and I didn't bother to ask her. The appetizer was a tiny portion of salad with two prawns in salad dressing. It tasted ok. The service was also so so compared to the outstanding servers we had at dinner time. I will go there for only dinners in the future.

food5
ambience5
service5

My Wife and I celebrated our 4 year Anni ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

My Wife and I celebrated our 4 year Anniversary from our wedding at Willows Lodge and we always love dinning at Barking Frog! Everything we have had there over the years is amazing and this last dinner was so good! The wait staff was great and the atmosphere is wonderful!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Romantic date night. Great breakfast too.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great service. Wonderful wine selection. It is a dining experience- you will be there awhile so be patient. Interesting and delicious food with a few exceptions. Poulet Bleu was quite tough and tasteless. Scallops and grilled octopus very good and the gado gado quite wonderful. Huckleberry pancakes to die for and seriously, the oatmeal was the best I've ever eaten.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing as always!

Dined on April 15, 2016

The food was amazing as always!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A little disappointing

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

We both had the mushroom sherry soup. It was a brothy-type soup which neither of us were expecting. We thought it would have a thicker consistency. I did not detect any sherry flavor nor did my friend. It was still fairly good all the same. We both order the same entree which was the ruby trout. It was overcooked and had no seasoning! We had to eat it with our risotto so add some flavor. I also dined there the week before and had the cod that was very small and was not up to par in my estimation. The dessert that I ordered was a lemon cake with a blueberry sauce. The cake was hard, but the blueberry sauce was flavorful. Who serves cake that is hard?!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What service!

Dined on April 14, 2016

The food was excellent but our server, Claire, was exceptional. She obviously enjoys her job and went out of her way to make our lunch special. She was just attentive enough to take care of us but was not overly so and she was so friendly and cheerful. The 3 of us shared a dessert and because we asked for separate checks Claire divided the cost of the dessert onto the 3 checks - I've never had a server take that extra step. I would go back and have Claire wait on me anytime.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Lunch during Seattle Restaurant week.

Dined on April 14, 2016

The food and service were fantastic. This restaurant is located in a perfect location for lunch and a wine tasting trip. We had never been here so we took the opportunity during Seattle restaurant week. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall a great place in wine country

Dined on April 13, 2016

We did lunch during Seattle Restaurant week and were not disappointed. Great pasta. Our only concerns were the wine by the glass is too spendy with top local wine for $32 a GLASS! Plus the woodwork is in need of some maintenance as the place is looking a little tired. But it is still a great restaurant that just needs a little TLC .

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.