About Barking Frog

14580 NE 145th Street
Woodinville, WA 98072
View Larger Map

It's difficult to say what is most appealing about the Barking Frog - the food, the wine, the atmosphere. All of the above earned this casual bistro featuring country fresh Northwest cuisine rave reviews. Honors have included "Restaurant of the Year", "Most Innovative Wine List" and "Wine Grand Award" awards, presented by the Washington Wine Commission. Delectable dishes entice guests to linger in the light-filled dining room or to gather around the fireplace. While in the summer, lunch and dinner are served in the courtyard.

Wine tasting in Fireside Cellars - Many wineries are open for public tastings, others are not. However, there is one place where you can relax with friends and fellow guests to taste the finest that Woodinville Wine Country has to offer - Fireside Cellars at Willows Lodge. Join us from 4PM-11PM Sunday-Thursday and 4PM-12AM Friday and Saturday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:00am - 10:30am; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 6:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Rte 202

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 424-2999

Website:
http://www.willowslodge.com/wine_dine/barking_frog.html

Catering:
We offer an ideal setting for social, professional and personal events, where every gathering is handled with the utmost care. Whether you’re planning a wedding or a family reunion, a fundraiser, board meeting to corporate teambuilding retreat, we’ll work with you to identify and manage every detail. The unique ambiance of the Lodge adds an extra dimension of charm to all occasions, while our five acres of gardens lend themselves to truly unforgettable events. Facilities
include six separate meeting rooms with over 5,000 square feet of space.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $7, or you can self park in the hotel lot.

Executive Chef:
Bobby Moore

Private Party Facilities:
We offer an ideal setting for social, professional and personal events, where every gathering is handled with the utmost care. Whether you’re planning a wedding or a family reunion, a fundraiser, board meeting to corporate teambuilding retreat, we’ll work with you to identify and manage every detail. The unique ambiance of the Lodge adds an extra dimension of charm to all occasions, while our five acres of gardens lend themselves to truly unforgettable events. Facilities
include six separate meeting rooms with over 5,000 square feet of space.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Laccinole: 4254242587

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer an ideal setting for social, professional and personal events, where every gathering is handled with the utmost care.

Parties of 6 or more include an automatic 18% gratuity and one check is appreciated, however multiple checks are available.

Parties of 7 or more may be seated around our fireplace based on dining room availability.

Restaurant Photos

Cactus Fries
Lamb Burger
Huevos rancheros
Sweet Breads
Carrot Cake
Butterscotch Creme Brulee
Foie Gras
Eggs Benedict
Seared Ahi
Scallops
steak tartare
Roasted Beet Salad
Grilled Foccacia
Pizza Margherita
brioche french toast
Pepper Seared Ahi Tuna
Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras
Watermelon and Tomato Salad
Gazpacho
Wild Salmon Sandwich With Sweet Potato Fries
Seared Muscovy Duck Breast
warm Dungeness crab salad
Buttermilk Fried Quail & Waffle
Grilled Hanger Steak: Leccino Olives With Pit, Poached Pearl Onions, Shimiji Mushrooms, Black Pepper Gnocchi
Lamb Shank Crepinette With Creamy Yukon Gold Potato Puree
Jivara Ganache, Coconut Marshmallows, Lime Ginger Gelée
Duck
Shrimp Ala Grand Marnier
Tenderloin
Cheese Sampler
Buttermilk Fried Quail & Black Pepper Waffle
Prosciutto, Gorgonzola Dulce, and Fig Panini
Coffee
French Toast
Latte
Dungeness Crab Cakes Benedict
Croque Madame
The Flat Liner
Swiss Chard And Kale Salad: Roasted Delicatta Squash, Asian Pears, Cougar Gold Cheese, Cranberries, Warm White Balsamic Garlic Vinaigrette
Guinness Gingerbread Cake & Oatmeal Stout Ice Cream, Stella Foam, Candied Cashews, Macerated Bananas
Bread And Tapenade
Pork Terrine: Baby Frisée, Apple Tarragon Vinaigrette, Pretzel Bread Crosstini, & Roasted Garlic Dijon
Grand Marnier Prawns
Pulled Pork Sandwich w/sweet potato fries
Carrot Soup
Macrina Foccacia And Barking Frog Bruchetta
Banana Cream Tart
Hazelnut Crusted Scallops With Polenta, Crushed Hazelnuts, And Honey
Chocolate Brownie And Chocolate Chantilly
Pulled Pork Sandwich
Cioppino
Baby Arugula And Goats Cheese With Beet
Shrimp Tarmales
Lamb
Breakfast Scramble
Cauliflower Soup
Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee
Northwest Local Beef Burger
Cafe Latte
Crab & Bacon Wrapped Prawns Cobb Salad
Burger
Caramelized Bacon Wrapped Local Asparagus With Sous Vide Egg En Croute
Pork Cheeks With Mustard Greens, Bacon Fried Smashed Potato, Onion Nage
Black Pudding Scotch Egg
Beignets
Meditererranean Grilled Chicken Baby Green Salad
Chocolate Pot De Crème: Coffee Gelee Orange Vanilla Chantilly

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Barking Frog Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Eastside
Best Ambiance
Eastside
Fit for Foodies
Eastside
3 More
Romantic
Eastside
Northwest
Eastside
Most Booked
Eastside
Best Restaurants in Woodinville ›

Special Occasion (116)
Fit for Foodies (101)
Notable Wine List (87)
See All
Romantic (81)
Great for Outdoor Dining (58)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Great for Brunch (45)
Great for Lunch (39)
Good for Groups (32)
Scenic View (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Kid-friendly (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2496 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was interesting & well-plated. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was interesting & well-plated. Service was outstanding. Best martini I've had in a long time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a excellent choice when dining in ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always a excellent choice when dining in Woodinville! High quality product with masterful creations!

When in Woodinville we always dine at the Frog!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent. Highly recommend

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Absolutely amazing! Loved the food and a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Absolutely amazing! Loved the food and ambiance. Would definitely go back again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wide selection of entrees and starte ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The wide selection of entrees and starters was a plus. The beef tartare was too salty. Iberico pork loin was little tuff. Flavors were all good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I had wanted to visit this restaurant fo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I had wanted to visit this restaurant for quite some time as I'd heard great things about it. It did not disappoint. We were seated at an outdoor patio table during a warm summer evening. The food was fabulous, filled with wonderful flavors. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food and service were excellent. Our ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food and service were excellent. Our server took care to make sure a dietary allergy was addressed, and made sure we ere finished in time for a show.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First, the food, which is most important ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

First, the food, which is most important was incredible. The crab benedict and beignets were incredible. Hands down the best thing we had. The juice was fresh squeezed and the coffee strong and hot. For the food, I give this restaurant very high remarks. The service wasn't up to par on this particular visit but hopefully this is the exception, rather than the norm.

It took about 10 minutes after being seated before we had our drink order taken. We ordered beignets to start and they came after our food was delivered (the manager apologized for the mistake and they were very very good once they arrived). The food took a long time to arrive as well and it sat in the window for a while as we watched and waited.

We'll give the restaurant another try in the future but our first visit wasn't a standout.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Overall, one of the best meals I've had ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Overall, one of the best meals I've had in a long time. Everything was excellent including the octopus appetizer, heirloom tomato salad, and dessert. But what stood out was the fish of the day, black cod. It was probably the best black cod I've ever had, fresh and flavorful with a crispy skin. Terrific.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food service and beautiful patio

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food service and beautiful patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was good but pork dish was to ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything was good but pork dish was tough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service as always. Hi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food and service as always. Highly recommended for brunch or lunch as its more cost effective.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fabulous food with unusual combinations. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

fabulous food with unusual combinations. enjoyed being able to have a 4 course sampler as there are so many delicious sounding items on the menu that these small portions allow you to sample several. Staying at the Lodge, we ordered dessert to enjoy in our room listening to live music and it's delivered and served just as it would be in the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was very tasty. The service was sup ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food was very tasty. The service was superb; relax, friendly, yet very professional

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We ran into a bit of traffic getting out ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We ran into a bit of traffic getting out of Seattle and were late for our reservation. The Barking Frog kept the kitchen open to accommodate us having dinner. We weren't rushed, our meal was excellent and I would recommend it highly to anyone who enjoys good food and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and wine selection and quality was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food and wine selection and quality was exceptional. Service was remarkable!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent creative dishes and great pres ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Excellent creative dishes and great presentation. Attentive service start to finish. Recommend the 4-dish set price menu option. Prices rather high compared to other top shelf places, but a very nice experience for a special occasion. I would not take kids there for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had Sunday brunch just before restaur ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had Sunday brunch just before restaurant closed. We ate outside, very pleasant. Staff was very, very accommodating, let customer order steak off menu. Then they let us stay and chat after wait staff left. Very good and pleasant experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I felt that Barking Frog was overrated, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I felt that Barking Frog was overrated, at the price point I expected much more attention to detail. The menu read different between my husband and I for the same items. We had to ask for our water to be refilled. I can say we want but at this price point we can go other places and have better food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We came in today for brunch and had an a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We came in today for brunch and had an amazing experience. Our server was very attentive, the food was great, and the experience was overall spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The setting is very pretty. You have a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The setting is very pretty. You have a choice of indoor or outdoor seating. We sat outdoors. Our service was prompt, our food was very good. Combine that with an hip rustic feel, and you have a recipe for a great dining experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

celebrated my partner's birthday and it ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

celebrated my partner's birthday and it was perfect! It was so romantic, luxurious and top notch service not to mention excellent food. Cara, the sommelier was not only extremely knowledgeable but so nice, fun and a sweetheart. She recommended not only a great wine for dinner that was in advance of our food order so that it encompassed any type of flavor as well as a phenomenal desert wine. She even suggested the top wineries to visit for tastings. The food was great; yet, one critique is the chicken was a super small portion (two tiny 3 inch long strips that 1/3 of the top of them was all fat). The lamb chops were amazing, the creme brulee was to die for and their presentation and taste of the french press was out of this world. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our time at Barking Frog. The ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We enjoyed our time at Barking Frog. The ambiance and Service were Superb.

I would recommend it to anyone especially if they want a fantastic time at a local establishment. Of course a Special Occasion would be the best.

I enjoyed the Halibut and Beluga very much and My husband loved the Beef Tenderloin as well.

The Bottle of Veuve Cliquot topped it off!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Been their before...will go again. Serv ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Been their before...will go again. Server Kristen was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was excellent, as was the servi ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was excellent, as was the service. We ate outside which was wonderful. Inside dining can be very noisy - there is little of the inside décor that absorbs sound. But it was a warm evening, & outside dining was perfect. We started with salad, then main dishes, wine & dessert. Some of the food flavor combinations were unusual but so delicious. A memorable meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for an early dinner prior to a con ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great for an early dinner prior to a concert at St Michelle winery

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best place to dine in Redmond/Woodinvill ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best place to dine in Redmond/Woodinville area. And it's right next to the Willows Lodge and wine tasting. Great meal and great stay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food. Good service. The noise level ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Good food. Good service. The noise level is high when the place fills up

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Really nice ambiance! They all seemed to ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Really nice ambiance! They all seemed to know it was the start of our honeymoon. The food was great as well. Pricing is decent for an upscale place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Top notch across the board. An amazing r ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Top notch across the board. An amazing restaurant that's consistently good. The grand mariner prawns are not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent meal that lived up t ...

vip
 (El Paso)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had an excellent meal that lived up to the high reviews. Casey was our waiter and did a great job explaining all of the menu options and suggestions. From the Cosmo to the wine to the alderwood plank salmon and the salmon special for the evening, everything was perfect. The ambiance of the restaurant was very nice and we would definitely go back again when we are in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We very much liked the service aspects o ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We very much liked the service aspects of our anniversary dinner. All service elements were delivered flaweless. Kristin was well versed and knowledgeable about the menu.

The food was good but not great. This is just my personal opinion and should not hold anyone going to Barking Frog, but I was missing on some dishes the imagination from the Chef. All was good as I said but perhaps my expectations were too high. As an example the tenderloin which we had as part of the 4 course tasting was good in flavor of the meet but would have expected more composition on the dish

Overall very good and we will be back just wish they would have blown me away on our anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We loved the freedom with their tasting ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We loved the freedom with their tasting menu. We were each able to select 4 smaller sized items of our own choice from the regular menu, meaning between us we sample 8 different things. It was hard to pick a favorite! Beautiful presentation, lively flavors. We had a wonderful anniversary dinner there and look forward to dining there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All in all it was positive. One of our e ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

All in all it was positive. One of our entries (the tenderloin steak) was prepared real well but the cut was less than a premium cut!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The barking frog was a perfect place to ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The barking frog was a perfect place to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Warm and friendly service, great food, menu catered to all tastes, loved the location particularly since we were staying the night at willows lodge. Highly recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were fantastic. We ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food and service were fantastic. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The only thing I would comment on is that the food is a bit rich, so those with delicate systems might want to take note.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food and service. The exper ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Incredible food and service. The experience at the Barking Frog (and Willows Lodge) was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delicious breakfast on a summer ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We had a delicious breakfast on a summer day. Our table was near an open door leading to outdoor dining surrounded by blooming flowers. A truly delightful morning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice end to our wine tasting We we ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Very nice end to our wine tasting

We were on a week long visit to Seattle for a wedding and left the Waterfront area to visit the Ste Michele winery and Woodinville--well worth the change in venue. We had taken a private tour of the winery at 10:00 AM and the timing worked out perfectly for a lunch at Barking Frog after, which is right across the street. The food and wine selections were fantastic and what made it all the better was the service. Our waiter was well-informed about the menu, the kitchen was accommodating about diet restrictions and all in all was a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a nice evening at Barking Frog bu ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We had a nice evening at Barking Frog but it did not live up to expectation. The service is a little forced, a little too intrusive. The food is good but the continued explaining to you of why the food's taste and texture should be good is annoying.

Overall, it's more style than substance

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.