About Barking Frog

14580 NE 145th Street
Woodinville, WA 98072
View Larger Map

It's difficult to say what is most appealing about the Barking Frog - the food, the wine, the atmosphere. All of the above earned this casual bistro featuring country fresh Northwest cuisine rave reviews. Honors have included "Restaurant of the Year", "Most Innovative Wine List" and "Wine Grand Award" awards, presented by the Washington Wine Commission. Delectable dishes entice guests to linger in the light-filled dining room or to gather around the fireplace. While in the summer, lunch and dinner are served in the courtyard.

Wine tasting in Fireside Cellars - Many wineries are open for public tastings, others are not. However, there is one place where you can relax with friends and fellow guests to taste the finest that Woodinville Wine Country has to offer - Fireside Cellars at Willows Lodge. Join us from 4PM-11PM Sunday-Thursday and 4PM-12AM Friday and Saturday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:00am - 10:30am; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 6:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Rte 202

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 424-2999

Website:
http://www.willowslodge.com/wine_dine/barking_frog.html

Catering:
We offer an ideal setting for social, professional and personal events, where every gathering is handled with the utmost care. Whether you’re planning a wedding or a family reunion, a fundraiser, board meeting to corporate teambuilding retreat, we’ll work with you to identify and manage every detail. The unique ambiance of the Lodge adds an extra dimension of charm to all occasions, while our five acres of gardens lend themselves to truly unforgettable events. Facilities
include six separate meeting rooms with over 5,000 square feet of space.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $7, or you can self park in the hotel lot.

Executive Chef:
Bobby Moore

Private Party Facilities:
We offer an ideal setting for social, professional and personal events, where every gathering is handled with the utmost care. Whether you’re planning a wedding or a family reunion, a fundraiser, board meeting to corporate teambuilding retreat, we’ll work with you to identify and manage every detail. The unique ambiance of the Lodge adds an extra dimension of charm to all occasions, while our five acres of gardens lend themselves to truly unforgettable events. Facilities
include six separate meeting rooms with over 5,000 square feet of space.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Laccinole: 4254242587

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer an ideal setting for social, professional and personal events, where every gathering is handled with the utmost care.

Parties of 6 or more include an automatic 18% gratuity and one check is appreciated, however multiple checks are available.

Parties of 7 or more may be seated around our fireplace based on dining room availability.

Restaurant Photos

Cactus Fries
Lamb Burger
Huevos rancheros
Sweet Breads
Carrot Cake
Butterscotch Creme Brulee
Foie Gras
Eggs Benedict
Seared Ahi
Scallops
steak tartare
Roasted Beet Salad
Grilled Foccacia
Pizza Margherita
brioche french toast
Pepper Seared Ahi Tuna
Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras
Watermelon and Tomato Salad
Gazpacho
Wild Salmon Sandwich With Sweet Potato Fries
Buttermilk Fried Quail & Waffle
warm Dungeness crab salad
Seared Muscovy Duck Breast
Jivara Ganache, Coconut Marshmallows, Lime Ginger Gelée
Lamb Shank Crepinette With Creamy Yukon Gold Potato Puree
Grilled Hanger Steak: Leccino Olives With Pit, Poached Pearl Onions, Shimiji Mushrooms, Black Pepper Gnocchi
Duck
Shrimp Ala Grand Marnier
Tenderloin
Cheese Sampler
Buttermilk Fried Quail & Black Pepper Waffle
Prosciutto, Gorgonzola Dulce, and Fig Panini
Latte
French Toast
Coffee
Dungeness Crab Cakes Benedict
Croque Madame
The Flat Liner
Swiss Chard And Kale Salad: Roasted Delicatta Squash, Asian Pears, Cougar Gold Cheese, Cranberries, Warm White Balsamic Garlic Vinaigrette
Pork Terrine: Baby Frisée, Apple Tarragon Vinaigrette, Pretzel Bread Crosstini, & Roasted Garlic Dijon
Bread And Tapenade
Guinness Gingerbread Cake & Oatmeal Stout Ice Cream, Stella Foam, Candied Cashews, Macerated Bananas
Grand Marnier Prawns
Pulled Pork Sandwich w/sweet potato fries
Chocolate Brownie And Chocolate Chantilly
Macrina Foccacia And Barking Frog Bruchetta
Pulled Pork Sandwich
Carrot Soup
Hazelnut Crusted Scallops With Polenta, Crushed Hazelnuts, And Honey
Banana Cream Tart
Cioppino
Baby Arugula And Goats Cheese With Beet
Shrimp Tarmales
Lamb
Breakfast Scramble
Cauliflower Soup
Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee
Northwest Local Beef Burger
Crab & Bacon Wrapped Prawns Cobb Salad
Cafe Latte
Burger
Black Pudding Scotch Egg
Caramelized Bacon Wrapped Local Asparagus With Sous Vide Egg En Croute
Pork Cheeks With Mustard Greens, Bacon Fried Smashed Potato, Onion Nage
Beignets
Chocolate Pot De Crème: Coffee Gelee Orange Vanilla Chantilly
Meditererranean Grilled Chicken Baby Green Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Barking Frog Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Eastside
Best Service
Eastside
Best Ambiance
Eastside
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Eastside
Notable Wine List
Eastside
Northwest
Eastside
Most Booked
Eastside
Best Restaurants in Woodinville ›

special occasion (126)
fit for foodies (125)
notable wine list (101)
See All
romantic (78)
neighborhood gem (59)
great for brunch (55)
great for lunch (54)
great for outdoor dining (43)
good for groups (43)
hot spot (17)
scenic view (14)
kid-friendly (10)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2471 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We came in today for brunch and had an a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined a day ago

We came in today for brunch and had an amazing experience. Our server was very attentive, the food was great, and the experience was overall spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been their before...will go again. Serv ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

Been their before...will go again. Server Kristen was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great for an early dinner prior to a con ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great for an early dinner prior to a concert at St Michelle winery

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best place to dine in Redmond/Woodinvill ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best place to dine in Redmond/Woodinville area. And it's right next to the Willows Lodge and wine tasting. Great meal and great stay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food. Good service. The noise level ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Good food. Good service. The noise level is high when the place fills up

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Really nice ambiance! They all seemed to ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Really nice ambiance! They all seemed to know it was the start of our honeymoon. The food was great as well. Pricing is decent for an upscale place.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had an excellent meal that lived up t ...

vip
 (El Paso)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had an excellent meal that lived up to the high reviews. Casey was our waiter and did a great job explaining all of the menu options and suggestions. From the Cosmo to the wine to the alderwood plank salmon and the salmon special for the evening, everything was perfect. The ambiance of the restaurant was very nice and we would definitely go back again when we are in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We very much liked the service aspects o ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We very much liked the service aspects of our anniversary dinner. All service elements were delivered flaweless. Kristin was well versed and knowledgeable about the menu.

The food was good but not great. This is just my personal opinion and should not hold anyone going to Barking Frog, but I was missing on some dishes the imagination from the Chef. All was good as I said but perhaps my expectations were too high. As an example the tenderloin which we had as part of the 4 course tasting was good in flavor of the meet but would have expected more composition on the dish

Overall very good and we will be back just wish they would have blown me away on our anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We loved the freedom with their tasting ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We loved the freedom with their tasting menu. We were each able to select 4 smaller sized items of our own choice from the regular menu, meaning between us we sample 8 different things. It was hard to pick a favorite! Beautiful presentation, lively flavors. We had a wonderful anniversary dinner there and look forward to dining there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All in all it was positive. One of our e ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

All in all it was positive. One of our entries (the tenderloin steak) was prepared real well but the cut was less than a premium cut!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The barking frog was a perfect place to ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The barking frog was a perfect place to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Warm and friendly service, great food, menu catered to all tastes, loved the location particularly since we were staying the night at willows lodge. Highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were fantastic. We ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food and service were fantastic. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The only thing I would comment on is that the food is a bit rich, so those with delicate systems might want to take note.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food and service. The exper ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Incredible food and service. The experience at the Barking Frog (and Willows Lodge) was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delicious breakfast on a summer ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We had a delicious breakfast on a summer day. Our table was near an open door leading to outdoor dining surrounded by blooming flowers. A truly delightful morning.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice end to our wine tasting We we ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Very nice end to our wine tasting

We were on a week long visit to Seattle for a wedding and left the Waterfront area to visit the Ste Michele winery and Woodinville--well worth the change in venue. We had taken a private tour of the winery at 10:00 AM and the timing worked out perfectly for a lunch at Barking Frog after, which is right across the street. The food and wine selections were fantastic and what made it all the better was the service. Our waiter was well-informed about the menu, the kitchen was accommodating about diet restrictions and all in all was a very pleasant experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a nice evening at Barking Frog bu ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We had a nice evening at Barking Frog but it did not live up to expectation. The service is a little forced, a little too intrusive. The food is good but the continued explaining to you of why the food's taste and texture should be good is annoying.

Overall, it's more style than substance

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Quite possibly one of the best dining ex ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Quite possibly one of the best dining experiences I'very ever had.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A half hour for a server to come by. Ov ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A half hour for a server to come by. Over an hour for food to arrive. Ridiculous, and not the first time. I'm tired of the server apologizing. I've given this place 3 tries. They don't seem to be learning from their mistakes, but I am. No more tries barking frog.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

I love Barking Frog for dinner. It has ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I love Barking Frog for dinner. It has such a special , unique, and extravagant selection of items great for special occasions. We were really looking forward to the food! However, their lunch selection has breakfast items and only 4 lunch entree choices. The food was good but we all agreed we would not go again for lunch, it missed the mark with the limited options and lack of appetizers. Bit of a challenge with the reservation as well, it worked itself out but caused stress and wasted time. Overall wonderful place with wonderful food - but will stick to dinner only.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointing -- again. Food was good, n ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Disappointing -- again. Food was good, not memorable. Fois gras keeps getting smaller. Ungodly noise from fire pit table keeps getting worse. Expect that of a sports bar, not pseudo five-star. Won't return until that table is ripped out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

We had the salmon and lamb chops. The s ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We had the salmon and lamb chops. The salmon was so-so and the lamb chops were not cooked as I ordered; the chops still tasted so good, that I didn't send them back. It was nice dinner experience, but we wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Always wonderful food with excellent ser ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Always wonderful food with excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We did the tasting menu for the 4 of us ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We did the tasting menu for the 4 of us and it was definitely the way to go! Great portion sizes for the tasting and we got to try everything that way. The salmon is as fresh as it gets...it was amazing!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed when we come for brun ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Never disappointed when we come for brunch. We brought our Daughter and her Husband this time. They enjoyed their dishes, crab benedict, and huckleberry pancakes! We'll be back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had such a great time!! Service was ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We had such a great time!! Service was fantastic!! Heather was amazing!! We told her a story of how we like to compete to see who orders the best meal and she served each dish, one by one, with a fresh plate, so we could try everything and savor every bite. We felt so special. There is nothing about this restaurant that anyone could complain about. The best experience!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food,wine was excellent. What made o ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food,wine was excellent. What made our evening so wonderful was mostly in part by our waiter . His knowledge of the food and wine was very good. He also was able to tell us us a lot about the history of The Barking Frog. Definely a keeper.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A lovely lunch

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

From the first moment of check-in until we left, it was an amazing experience. Service was perfect--interactive but not omnipresent--and the food was fantastic. The menu was creative, but not weird! I plan to return for birthday dinners in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If only money was never an issue...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Went here to celebrate my anniversary and had a wonderful meal and nice bottle of wine. I had the scallops that were prepared wonderfully and were very tender, my husband got the salmon that he also enjoyed very much. The waiter recommended a very nice and expensive bottle of wine. We ate outside on a very nice evening and the patio was very pleasant. There was nothing to complain about here, but the price (scallops were around $37, same for the salmon). Since it was a special occasion I was fine paying it, but for just a date night, probably not.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great birthday dinner!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We loved our four course meal at Barking Frog. Wonderful ambiance- incredible salmon and tenderloin, overall it was amazing! Highly recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant in a beautiful setting

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We had a 4 course tasting dinner which let us choose one course from each of the four sections on the menu. Would highly recommend. Not only are the portions generous, despite being labeled as 'tasting' but exceptionally tasty and well presented.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Wonderful food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

perfection

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The variety of options was great and each one of us chose a different meal. All cooked to perfection. The staff was attentive, helpful and very professional.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner Before The Paul Simon Concert

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great place for a pre concert dinner and the shuttle over to the concert, drink after to wait out the traffic. For this concert the after show drink was Mexican Coffee so we could warm up and dry out, it rained for the whole concert.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was terribly disappointed that for the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I was terribly disappointed that for the second year in a row, they had my reservation down for a different time than was booked. Even after showing the hostess my reservation and the reservation number, they could not get us in at the reserved time. We waited again, but will not book for brunch here. Too many errors and too much time wasted.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Better than expected

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

My girlfriend and I ate here twice for breakfast and once for dinner. All of the meals were wonderful. We thought the dinner might have been one of the best we've ever had. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and thoroughly engaging. Other restaurants should train here!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and the fish is Wild!

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Great food and the fish is Wild!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

love the food, ambience and wait staff. In the summer, the patio is beautiful

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food. However, a friend and I aske ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food. However, a friend and I asked if we could split French toast. We were catty corner with things between us in the middle of the table. When we asked if we could share,; we were given one plate (where we'd have dripped syrup all over the table). I asked if we could get 2 plates. The server brought 2, but then there was a (non-disclosed) charge of $3 for doing it.

Uncool.

Plus they should have brought us 2 plates to begin with.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

First courses were outstanding with man ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

First courses were outstanding with many interesting choices. Main courses only OK. Deserts were similarly just OK. Wine and scotch selection were both good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

great food. loved every bit of it. Small ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

great food. loved every bit of it. Small place so its hard to get a table but its well worth it. Good service and amazing amazing amazing food

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.