About Barking Frog

14580 NE 145th Street
Woodinville, WA 98072
View Larger Map

It's difficult to say what is most appealing about the Barking Frog - the food, the wine, the atmosphere. All of the above earned this casual bistro featuring country fresh Northwest cuisine rave reviews. Honors have included "Restaurant of the Year", "Most Innovative Wine List" and "Wine Grand Award" awards, presented by the Washington Wine Commission. Delectable dishes entice guests to linger in the light-filled dining room or to gather around the fireplace. While in the summer, lunch and dinner are served in the courtyard.

Wine tasting in Fireside Cellars - Many wineries are open for public tastings, others are not. However, there is one place where you can relax with friends and fellow guests to taste the finest that Woodinville Wine Country has to offer - Fireside Cellars at Willows Lodge. Join us from 4PM-11PM Sunday-Thursday and 4PM-12AM Friday and Saturday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:00am - 10:30am; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 6:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Rte 202

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 424-2999

Website:
http://www.willowslodge.com/wine_dine/barking_frog.html

Catering:
We offer an ideal setting for social, professional and personal events, where every gathering is handled with the utmost care. Whether you’re planning a wedding or a family reunion, a fundraiser, board meeting to corporate teambuilding retreat, we’ll work with you to identify and manage every detail. The unique ambiance of the Lodge adds an extra dimension of charm to all occasions, while our five acres of gardens lend themselves to truly unforgettable events. Facilities
include six separate meeting rooms with over 5,000 square feet of space.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $7, or you can self park in the hotel lot.

Executive Chef:
Bobby Moore

Private Party Facilities:
We offer an ideal setting for social, professional and personal events, where every gathering is handled with the utmost care. Whether you’re planning a wedding or a family reunion, a fundraiser, board meeting to corporate teambuilding retreat, we’ll work with you to identify and manage every detail. The unique ambiance of the Lodge adds an extra dimension of charm to all occasions, while our five acres of gardens lend themselves to truly unforgettable events. Facilities
include six separate meeting rooms with over 5,000 square feet of space.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Laccinole: 4254242587

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer an ideal setting for social, professional and personal events, where every gathering is handled with the utmost care.

Parties of 6 or more include an automatic 18% gratuity and one check is appreciated, however multiple checks are available.

Parties of 7 or more may be seated around our fireplace based on dining room availability.

Restaurant Photos

Cactus Fries - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Lamb Burger - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Huevos rancheros - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Sweet Breads - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Carrot Cake - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Butterscotch Creme Brulee - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Foie Gras - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Eggs Benedict - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Seared Ahi - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Scallops - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
steak tartare - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Roasted Beet Salad - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Grilled Foccacia - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Pizza Margherita - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
brioche french toast - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Pepper Seared Ahi Tuna - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Watermelon and Tomato Salad - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Gazpacho - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Wild Salmon Sandwich With Sweet Potato Fries - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Seared Muscovy Duck Breast - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
warm Dungeness crab salad - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Buttermilk Fried Quail & Waffle - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Grilled Hanger Steak: Leccino Olives With Pit, Poached Pearl Onions, Shimiji Mushrooms, Black Pepper Gnocchi - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Lamb Shank Crepinette With Creamy Yukon Gold Potato Puree - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Jivara Ganache, Coconut Marshmallows, Lime Ginger Gelée - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Duck - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Shrimp Ala Grand Marnier - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Tenderloin - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Cheese Sampler - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Buttermilk Fried Quail & Black Pepper Waffle - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Prosciutto, Gorgonzola Dulce, and Fig Panini - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Coffee - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
French Toast - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Latte - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Dungeness Crab Cakes Benedict - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Croque Madame - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
The Flat Liner - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Swiss Chard And Kale Salad: Roasted Delicatta Squash, Asian Pears, Cougar Gold Cheese, Cranberries, Warm White Balsamic Garlic Vinaigrette - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Guinness Gingerbread Cake & Oatmeal Stout Ice Cream, Stella Foam, Candied Cashews, Macerated Bananas - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Bread And Tapenade - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Pork Terrine: Baby Frisée, Apple Tarragon Vinaigrette, Pretzel Bread Crosstini, & Roasted Garlic Dijon - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Grand Marnier Prawns - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Pulled Pork Sandwich w/sweet potato fries - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Carrot Soup - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Macrina Foccacia And Barking Frog Bruchetta - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Banana Cream Tart - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Hazelnut Crusted Scallops With Polenta, Crushed Hazelnuts, And Honey - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Chocolate Brownie And Chocolate Chantilly - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Pulled Pork Sandwich - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Cioppino - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Baby Arugula And Goats Cheese With Beet - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Shrimp Tarmales - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Lamb - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Breakfast Scramble - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Cauliflower Soup - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Northwest Local Beef Burger - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Cafe Latte - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Crab & Bacon Wrapped Prawns Cobb Salad - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Burger - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Caramelized Bacon Wrapped Local Asparagus With Sous Vide Egg En Croute - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Pork Cheeks With Mustard Greens, Bacon Fried Smashed Potato, Onion Nage - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Black Pudding Scotch Egg - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Beignets - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Meditererranean Grilled Chicken Baby Green Salad - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA
Chocolate Pot De Crème: Coffee Gelee Orange Vanilla Chantilly - Barking Frog, Woodinville, WA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Barking Frog Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Eastside
Northwest
Eastside
Most Booked
Eastside
Best Restaurants in Woodinville ›

Special Occasion (73)
Notable Wine List (57)
Fit for Foodies (53)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Good for a Date (42)
Fireplace (41)
Romantic (39)
Local Ingredients (39)
Worth the Drive (36)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Cozy (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Great for Lunch (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Seasonal (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Authentic (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Modern Decor (12)
Fun (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Business Meals (10)
Healthy (9)
Casual (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Disabled Access (4)
People Watching (3)
Organic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2582 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service, fantastic food and pr ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent service, fantastic food and presentation. Creative kitchen...

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome anniversary evening! Thanks to t ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Awesome anniversary evening! Thanks to the wonderful staff at the Barking Frog for a great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our breakfast/brunch was excellent. I o ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our breakfast/brunch was excellent. I only wish that we could access great food and wonderful service in close proximity to where we live. Food is always consistent. Servers are efficient, friendly, and pleasant. Everyone seems to enjoy working at the restaurant. The noise level can be high if families bring small children as the restaurant has a very open design. The menu choices are limited as they focus on a smaller range but do everything to perfection. We always eat at The Barking Frog when we stay in the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Choices are somewhat limited but the foo ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Choices are somewhat limited but the food is always outstanding. Whether you are eating pancakes for breakfast or having dinner, you will not be disappointed. Only the highest quality ingredients are used. Plating is perfect and service is good. We always dine several times at The Frog during each of our visits. During our recent visit we sampled the Thanksgiving buffet. Although the snow crab and prawns were average, the turkey and dressing was the best I have ever eaten! Prices are a bit high but not unreasonable. We have NEVER been disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

We have stayed at Willows and dined at B ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have stayed at Willows and dined at BF many times, but this time we were surprised to see a Chef's selection for a vegetarian option. We told our server that we are actually vegans and she spoke with the chef and he came up with an outstanding vegan dinner for us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Chefs creatively use seasonally availabl ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Chefs creatively use seasonally available ingredients, lending a fresh take on some usual items as lamb, brussels sprouts, etc. The oyster starter was super and incredibly fresh!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great appetizers, dinners and the cream ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great appetizers, dinners and the cream brûlée was the best we have ever tasted

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent lunch. Notable wine selection. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent lunch. Notable wine selection. Our s ever was polite and efficient

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A little pricey, but the food and servic ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 17, 2016

A little pricey, but the food and service were both above average. Noise level was moderate, until a loud party was seated at the next table. We were lucky to find parking, as the parking lot was almost full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great service, lovely room, great lunch ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great service, lovely room, great lunch and yummy maple cake dessert

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice welcoming. Service was very profess ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Nice welcoming. Service was very professional and good. We had pappardelle pasta; well balanced and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Normally excellent. Not this time. At 6: ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Normally excellent. Not this time. At 6:39 out of the featured menu item that I would have ordered. Service was very slow, and the main courses, especially the pork and pork bell were below average at best. Apps were fine as usual. Not with the $$ on this particular night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Another great experience at the Barking ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Another great experience at the Barking Frog. The staff is friendly, the restaurant is always clean, and the food is always outstanding. Our waiter really knew his stuff and gave us advice on what to choose and how to enjoy the dish.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Seattle and heard that ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were visiting Seattle and heard that this restaurant was a must-see. The decor was somewhat odd. We didn't quite understand the circular fire element table at the front of the restaurant. Otherwise, it was structured like a regular restaurant. The food was good. I had the butternut squash soup and the fish special. My husband had the Brussel sprouts and the venison. The experience would have been more enjoyable with a more attentive and friendly server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

A little slow getting our drinks when we ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A little slow getting our drinks when we got there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our waitress went out of her way to ensu ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our waitress went out of her way to ensure we had a great night. My husband feeling picky for the night didn't want what was on the menu but that didn't throw our waitress for a curve. She was quick to offer a customize meal catering to our desire. Of course it was based on the ingredients available at the time but that special attention won me over! I will definitely be back.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Barking Frog is so amazing!! The food i ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Barking Frog is so amazing!! The food is divine! Every dish is so creative and flavorful. I had the oyster appetizer (served on crushed ice with pomegranate juice and chopped asian pear; this slid right out of the shell) and the venison entree (tender, paired with cranberries and granola; delicious in every bite). The waiters are professional and friendly. They really make you feel special.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Historic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always love the food and wine at Barking ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Always love the food and wine at Barking Frog. the counter table around the fire pit is also nice and warm on a cold stormy night. For those hard of hearing the acoustics are poor and the noise level can make it hard to have a conversation, especially if there is a large group yelling at each other around the fire pit. Staff and servers were wonderful though, and together with great food, make for a nice dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent, as always. Favorite place W ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Excellent, as always. Favorite place What else is there to say

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually visit during one the resturant w ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Usually visit during one the resturant weeks. Service and food presentation are always excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for our first wedding annivers ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Went here for our first wedding anniversary. To be honest the ambiance was a little less romantic than I had hoped, in that 90% of the tables appeared to be business meals. That said though... come for the food, stay for the food, then dream about when you can come back for the food. This may be the best food I've ever tasted. Everything was prepared and seasoned perfectly. Something as simple as the carrot puree they gave us a sample of before our meal was seasoned so well that it became delicious. We both did the $75 four course tasting menu, which lets you pick two starters and two entrees to try a smaller portion of. Highly recommended as there are far too many delicious things on the menu.

Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a dinner to day thank you to so ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 7, 2016

This was a dinner to day thank you to some amazing friends. The staff accommodated putting a card and flowers on the table before we got there as well as letting me put my credit card down on file so everything was taking care of! Very appreciative of the staff going above and beyond for our night. I highly recommend Barking Frog for a special night out or business dinner.

Thank you!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food. Fresh seasonal foods. Gr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wonderful food. Fresh seasonal foods. Great service! Creative presentation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Barking Frog remains a favorite dini ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The Barking Frog remains a favorite dining venue. The menu is always innovative, local, beautifully presented and served. They keep a balance of "favorites" and new offerings. The staff is friendly, professional and helpful. The location is just perfect, away from town but not too far.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always we were treated to an amazing ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 3, 2016

As always we were treated to an amazing evening from the top down. Garrett our cruise director was spot on with starter as well as entree suggestions. Cara the captain made sure everything was smooth and all our comforts were beyond met! Such a fun night, and the Cubs won!!!! Love you guys. Thanks

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We brought our teenage grandsons for a t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We brought our teenage grandsons for a tasting experience. They loved it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service is excellent. The e ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The food and service is excellent. The environment is a great setting for any special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful experience. Looking for ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Had a wonderful experience. Looking for a very nice special place for a dinner during a weekend away and we were not disappointed. Excellent meal and impeccable service. Have dined. Here before and will return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was over priced. The venison d ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food was over priced. The venison dish was not cooked well, tasted too gamey. When bringing out our food the one server spilled my dish into my lap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Our experience was quite disappointing c ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Our experience was quite disappointing considering the quality of the restaurant and the prices they charge. One person ordered an appetizer which they forgot about until the main courses were served. They brought it out afterwards. Given the mistake you would think they would have comped it, but no. I ordered the lamb burger without a bun. It got served on a bun. After the meal the waitress said, oh yea there was supposed to be no bun. The food was OK but nothing great for the price. Service was OK. They recommended a super expensive bottle of wine for lunch. We had that but the rest of the meal and experience did not live up to the wine pricing. I would skip this restaurant since there are so many excellent alternatives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Kudos. The Barking Frog exceeded our ex ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Kudos. The Barking Frog exceeded our expectations for a quiet breakfast with friends. Food was excellent, ambiance was warm and inviting, service was pleasant and anticipated our needs without hovering. The location is close to walking trails, wineries and breweries. We will definitely come again.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every time we visit Barking Frog mostly ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Every time we visit Barking Frog mostly for breakfast, my Wife or I remark how much we enjoy eating there. We often take friends from church, mostly our Pastor and his Wife who, while being our best friends, also enjoy coming there. The staff are so nice while being helpful, courteous and friendly, everyone smiles! Sometimes we feel like we stay to long just talking and having fellowship with one another after our meal, what a terrific place you have!

Praise to all!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried this restaurant during Seattle ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We tried this restaurant during Seattle Restaurant Week. The menu & service were excellent. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chefs and servers didn't disappoint. ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The chefs and servers didn't disappoint. Excellent and friendly service despite the fact that I arrived almost 10 minutes before my husband. The food was great and the timing wonderful. This visit was during Seattle Restaurant week, but the kitchen and the servers did a great job nonetheless!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went as part of restaurant week for lu ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I went as part of restaurant week for lunch with my husband. This was our 3rd time and I have to say the restaurant setting is not intimate at all - not cozy either. Tables for 2 are very close to each other. No white linens on table, so for the high price it is not what we expect. Lunch restaurant pre-set menu was $18 p/p for 3 course meal. I order the scallops - I got 2 scallops in my plate - TWO ONLY!!! Seriously!! I had a smashed potatoes smeared on my plate that I had to scrub in and 8 halfs of brussel sprouts which were the main food that filled the plate - half of them badly burned. My husband order the rib sandwich - that was a half sandwich but good portion of french fries as side to compensate. I understand is lunch and part of restaurant week but for $18 it was ridiculous to get 2 scallops and not even 1 scoop of mashed potatoes. For dessert I ordered the sorbet but it had this awful overly powering mango taste. Thankfully the waitress was sympathetic so she replaced it with the pear sorbet which was delicious. Over the tables are so close to each other, the overall feel of the place is cold and unwelcome and quality of food is good but quantity and presentation not worth the money!! If you are staying at the Lodge it's convenient location, but there are others much better restaurants in Woodinville . I don't think we will go there again. 3 times dine in and the same underwhelming experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

portions are a bit on the small side, bu ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 20, 2016

portions are a bit on the small side, but nicely presented. the restaurant week special with wine pairings make a nice combination

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ask if Brian can be your server - he's t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Ask if Brian can be your server - he's the best in the restaurant. And save room for dessert! The pastry chef, Matt, does not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We went to the Barking Frog for lunch du ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We went to the Barking Frog for lunch during restaurant week. The food and service were both excellent. We very much appreciated that they were participating with both a lunch and dinner option. As we learned this gives the restaurant an opportunity to try new dishes and gauge the feedback from clients before possibly adding them to the menu going forward. The flavors were layered and interesting. We have always enjoyed our time at the Barking Frog and look forward to many more terrific meals.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for Seattle Restaurant Week. Th ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We came for Seattle Restaurant Week. The food was outstanding and the service was good. The pecan pie, celery soup, shrimp appetizer and scallops were all great. I rated the ambience lower because the noise level was too loud. At times we had difficulty conversing on top of the noise. If you like loud background conversation, you might view this as "energetic," if you don't, "intrusive" and "annoying" would be better terms to describe the experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We chose this restaurant for one of our ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We chose this restaurant for one of our Seattle Restaurant Week lunch choices. $18 for 3 courses; wine pairing was an additional $15. Our lunch choices were ALL delicious. That said, we did feel that the appetizer and entree were somewhat on the small side. We noticed that portions were not very uniform, as we looked around during our wait. Our chosen desserts appeared to be regular serving size. The restaurant was filled to capacity, which made it quite noisy, but that's to be expected during SRW in most places. There were a few hiccups in the service and I have to assume it was because it was so busy. We brought them to the server's attention and each item was received very positively. Example: my salad was to have goat cheese on it (the reason I chose it). Not my last meal, so I ate it (very tasty) and asked our server to mention it to the kitchen for future orders. She appreciated it. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.