About Bari

22 South Cooper St.
Memphis, TN 38104
View Larger Map

Bari Ristorante Enoteca is the city's only Southeastern Italian restaurant and wine bar. Creating the regional cuisine of his family, Chef Jason Severs' renditions of antipasto, salads, meats and seafood, over 20 Italian cheeses, plus homemade pasta, bread, and desserts, give diners a true taste of this Italian Region. Whether you order a multi-course meal like they do in Italy, or only one or two dishes, you will love the simplicity and freshness of Bari's food and excellent Italian wines. The Enoteca is open an hour before and after the dining room, offering and extensive all-Italian wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Madison Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 722-2244

Website:
http://www.barimemphis.com/

Catering:
Call us for catering information.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant, on the side, or across the street.

Executive Chef:
Jason Severs

Private Party Facilities:
Contact us for private party information

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Severs: 9017222244

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Piave, Prosciutto, Asiago - Bari, Memphis, TN
Cauliflower - Bari, Memphis, TN
Filet - Bari, Memphis, TN
Chocolate Tart - Bari, Memphis, TN
Strawberry Marscapone Cream And Balsamic Pie - Bari, Memphis, TN
Tomato Garbanzo Soup - Bari, Memphis, TN
Pecorino Ginepro - Bari, Memphis, TN
Balsamic Gelato - Bari, Memphis, TN
Rapini - Bari, Memphis, TN
Seared Ahi Tuna - Bari, Memphis, TN
Rosemary Potatoes - Bari, Memphis, TN
Verde Capra - Bari, Memphis, TN

Bari Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
5 More
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Overall
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Cooper ›

Special Occasion (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Romantic (17)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Authentic (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Fun (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Healthy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Business Meals (2)
Organic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
797 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was amazing and Rebecca was a wonde ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was amazing and Rebecca was a wonderful server, very knowledgeable and attentive!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a delicious meal here recently. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We had a delicious meal here recently. The cheese plate was an outstanding appetizer

, and our salads and entrees (all different) were all a hit with our party. Even dessert was especially good, with a birthday candle for the member of our party whose birthday we were celebrating! A great restaurant we always enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I have been wanting to try Bari - and my ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I have been wanting to try Bari - and my birthday was a perfect occasion. Our waiter Brandon, was excellent. The food was delightful. I would have thought we were in Italy except for a noisy group of work associates at the next table. Maybe they had a bit too much to drink, but they were loud enough for us to hear every word! It affected the mood.

Anyway, we loved Bari!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time to eat at Bari, ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was our first time to eat at Bari, but we will be back! The service was excellent and the food and drinks were delicious. Great place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First timers at this Memphis jewel. Serv ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

First timers at this Memphis jewel. Service started off good, but waned as the night progressed. Food was exceptional. Will definitely try again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Went for date night with my boyfriend, m ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Went for date night with my boyfriend, made a reservation just in case but there were a couple of open tables in the dining room when we arrived at 8pm on a Saturday night. The bar area in the front was full. The dining room had a very nice intimate, romantic feel although there were definitely people in there that were not couples/on dates. Pretty much everything is served a la carte so you will be ordering several courses. We started with cheese from their extensive (and somewhat overwhelming) cheese menu, it was delicious and creamy, we spread it on the bread served to our table. I believe it was called cravanzina. I definitely wanted to try more of the cheese but I didn't want to fill myself up, I will make a point to go there for just wine and cheese. Then we ordered pasta, spaghetti carabonara, another good choice. For our main dishes, I got the swordfish special which was served over green beans and my boyfriend got the steak and we ordered a side of potatoes to share. The sides are family style so there was more than enough to share. We were both very pleased with our main dish choices, the swordfish was excellent and when my boyfriend saw the steak, he looked at it the way he looks at me sometimes, it was love at first sight. For dessert, we shared an apple cheesecake that was so delicious. I think it was made with ricotta cheese which made it really thick and flavorful. My boyfriend had the Italian beer that they serve, don't remember the name but it's the only beer that they have and he really liked it. I had a dessert wine that was surprisingly strong but very good. Our server was the best, and very knowledgeable about the menu which was super helpful for us. All in all, it was a fantastic dining experience, great food, awesome service and a lovely atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After spending the previous evening on B ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 10, 2016

After spending the previous evening on Beale Street my foodie father-in-law and I were looking for something different in Memphis and found Bari. Really nice place, service was great, and they squeezed us in without a reservation even though by the time we left the place was pretty full. Great food, ambiance, service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Always a great meal One of Mem ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Wonderful

Always a great meal

One of Memphis's better restaurants

Brussels Spouts are a must eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Authentic Italian food in a quaint setti ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Authentic Italian food in a quaint setting. Very intimate restaurant with romantic tables available. Great experience!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent cuisine. Great place for conv ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Excellent cuisine. Great place for conversation. Top notch southern Italian menu with cheese and wine to go along. Outstanding service staff with experience and knowledge. Highest recommendation, but get reservations as it is a small, cozy place.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hands down the best Italian restaurant M ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Hands down the best Italian restaurant Memphis! Fresh food that is simple and prepared well, great staff. This is my favorite place eat.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bari has been my go-to in Midtown for ye ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Bari has been my go-to in Midtown for years. I have never had a bad meal here. White tablecloths on every table. Great bar. Also, easily the best cheese menu in Memphis. Great wine list. Many of the menu items have been staples for years, but Bari always has specials (on Friday they had a grouper, a halibut, and an organic ribeye, as well as a special dessert and side). The perfect place to get together with friends (bar or restaurant), have a date, special occasion, etc etc. Unreservedly recommended.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a nice surprise, I haven't been to ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 22, 2016

What a nice surprise, I haven't been to a restaurant in a long time where I was actually astounded by the amazing menu. The cheese menu particularly. The food was amazing, our server, Bobby, was polite, knowledgeable, and had a good sense of humor, and the ambience was very nice. I'm glad Open Table suggested this as I may not have looked at Bari otherwise. I grew up on the East Coast and really didn't think an Italian restaurant out here could stand up to my standards, but this one did.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The very tasty dishes were perfectly pre ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The very tasty dishes were perfectly prepared and served by a very professional and knowledgeable wait staff. The wine selection is above par.

All dishes are served ala carte which can run up the bill. This makes Bari's a special occasion restaurant and not a place to visit on a regular basis.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Bari had been one of our favorites. But, ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Bari had been one of our favorites. But, the flavor and quality of the food was drastically less than on previous visits. Not sure if the chef was having an off night or if there was a new chef? Will not go back for a while.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall a very nice experience. The hal ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Overall a very nice experience. The halibut entree was a rather small portion although the prawns made up for it (heads in all!) I think the next time we diner there, ordering a couple of starters (fried zucchini and goat cheese was amazing), salads, and then 2-3 pasta dishes will be the way to go.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I've been dining at Bari for last 6 year ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 17, 2016

I've been dining at Bari for last 6 years and always had exceptional service. Was upset because waitress was not top notch quality as we typically get. It was very slow and she seemed to be in the kitchen quite a bit. Fortunately, we had bartender help us a few times.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Love Bari! The carbonara is my favorite! ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Love Bari! The carbonara is my favorite! Also a great place to meet for wine and cheese.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another good meal at Bari. Great salads ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Another good meal at Bari. Great salads, pastas, olives, and cheeses. Don't miss the cheeses!!! Also a great strawberry dessert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

If you are looking for great Italian foo ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 12, 2016

If you are looking for great Italian food; this is the spot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pasta offerings were not what I expe ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The pasta offerings were not what I expected. There was no risotto. The side of pasta was tough and had little flavor. My halibut was a little "fishy" tasting. The meal was good, but not fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and great food, love the a ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great service and great food, love the atmosphere. And the food was great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Again, fabulous food like nowhere else i ...

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Again, fabulous food like nowhere else in Memphis. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We LOVE Bari- always!!!

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 25, 2016

We LOVE Bari- always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made our reservations for a party of ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 25, 2016

We made our reservations for a party of 5 through Open Table. We were seated shortly after arriving on a non-busy Monday night. My husband ordered beer and they have only 1 kind so that was easy to decide upon. We were asked if we wanted some Italian meats and cheeses as an appetizer. We said yes and added olives to that order for I believe $7 or $8. One of the meats was prosciutto and the other was very much like a spicy pepperoni - these came out in thin rolls in which you have to cut off how much you desire. The 3 cheeses that came on the plate were minuscule and again, you have to cut your tiny serving from them yourself . This was hard to share among 5 guests at a round table. The server did pass around bread from a basket - it was good though not warm at all and you had to ask for more from the server because the basket stayed with her. After reviewing the menu, I noticed many items had tomatoes included many of the dishes and I am highly allergic to tomatoes so I was looking for something without them. One of the specials that night was amberjack, but it came with tomatoes. I told the server of my desire to have the amberjack, but I asked if something else could be used instead of the tomatoes because of my allergy (my husband reiterated this too). I was told that she could go ask the chef but she highly doubted he would make any adjustments to the dish. So, I chose the scallops instead. They were $24.00 for 3 scallops. They were good but the sauce / glaze on them was a bit too sweet. At the advice of our server, I ordered red potatoes. We ate a nice restaurant 2 nights before and I ordered scallops - dish at that rest. came w/4 large scallops served over risotto & 4 stalks of asparagus for same price. The appetizers were on our bill. After we left, we discussed it - turns out we were charged separately for the 2 meats $15 for one; $14 for the other & $8 for the cheeses. Olives were $8 so that was $45 for that app. Ambiance is very basic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

As always Bari has some great food, the ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 23, 2016

As always Bari has some great food, the it is definitely a little pricey. Will go again, but not too often.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

A very nice restaurant with friendly and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2016

A very nice restaurant with friendly and helpful waitstaff. The food was very good but definitely not worth the cost. The portion sizes were small and the prices were high for a la carte items. For example, the scallops were 24 dollars for 2 large scallops and nothing else. Don't go hungry because you'll leave hungry. They are also very stingy with the bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Bari's has been one of my go to places f ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Bari's has been one of my go to places for special dining experiences. I had business dinner there with out of town guests. It was embarrassing. We had to ask twice to be seated. It was 15 min before anyone even came to the table. The waitress explained our waiter was busy but she would bring water. Another long wait... She eventually came back with drinks and when I asked her about the specials, she seemed agitated. She ended up as our waitress the entire meal. She was unattentive and the meal dragged. We couldn't wait to finally get the bill and leave. Having said that, the food was excellent but I come to restaurants like Bari for the entire dining experience including good service. I would not recommend Bari's.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Bari is a small but quaint place with go ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Bari is a small but quaint place with good food, good service, an amazing cheese list and a nice selection of Italian liqueurs. Because it's small, the tables are close and you can hear nearby conversations clearly, so I wouldn't recommend it if you have anything sensitive to discuss. The cheese options can easily overwhelm but our server was very knowledgeable and was able to make a very good recommendation based on our likes and dislikes. The chef was also able to accommodate an unusual food allergy, which we really appreciated. Definitely make a reservation - we dined early but the place was completely filled before we finished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

All was great! Megan did great handling ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 19, 2016

All was great! Megan did great handling all the tables by herself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bari is my favorite date night spot. Th ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Bari is my favorite date night spot. The food is always good, the wait staff friendly and helpful, and a stop at the bar before or after is a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very attentive but not ov ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our server was very attentive but not over attentive.

The food came out in a timely manner and was delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We always have a great meal here. All o ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 1, 2016

We always have a great meal here. All of the salads are special and let the waitstaff pick you out some cheeses. Spaghetti carbonara can't be beat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Leigh was top notch. Offered ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our server Leigh was top notch. Offered good cheeses and great wine. Would recommend her to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bari continues to impress me. Great and ...

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Bari continues to impress me. Great and unique dishes, well prepared and well presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef is not flexible. The brazino ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 22, 2016

The chef is not flexible. The brazino lacked flavor. If we had known they do not do any changes to the dishes, we never would have chosen this place. Service was bad. For a little place our server managed to disappear for long strethes. My halibut Mas miniscule and I am not a big eater. Stay away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Had a great Father's Day Dinner at Bari. ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a great Father's Day Dinner at Bari. Food was great. Will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Dining Experience

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Interesting menu, good food, bar was good. The setting was intimate and not in your face. The service was good and responsive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was delicious. A bit on the pricey ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 6, 2016

Food was delicious. A bit on the pricey side but still fair. Amount of food was average, quality was good.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Sardines were very "fishy". Good cheese ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Sardines were very "fishy". Good cheese menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.