About Bari

22 South Cooper St.
Memphis, TN 38104
View Larger Map

Bari Ristorante Enoteca is the city's only Southeastern Italian restaurant and wine bar. Creating the regional cuisine of his family, Chef Jason Severs' renditions of antipasto, salads, meats and seafood, over 20 Italian cheeses, plus homemade pasta, bread, and desserts, give diners a true taste of this Italian Region. Whether you order a multi-course meal like they do in Italy, or only one or two dishes, you will love the simplicity and freshness of Bari's food and excellent Italian wines. The Enoteca is open an hour before and after the dining room, offering and extensive all-Italian wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Madison Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 722-2244

Website:
http://www.barimemphis.com/

Catering:
Call us for catering information.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant, on the side, or across the street.

Executive Chef:
Jason Severs

Private Party Facilities:
Contact us for private party information

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Severs: 9017222244

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Piave, Prosciutto, Asiago
Filet
Chocolate Tart
Cauliflower
Strawberry Marscapone Cream And Balsamic Pie
Tomato Garbanzo Soup
Pecorino Ginepro
Seared Ahi Tuna
Rosemary Potatoes
Rapini
Balsamic Gelato
Verde Capra

Bari Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Neighborhood Gem
Memphis
Notable Wine List
Memphis
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Neighborhood Gem
Memphis
Notable Wine List
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Cooper ›

fit for foodies (30)
special occasion (25)
neighborhood gem (24)
See All
romantic (21)
notable wine list (18)
vibrant bar scene (9)
good for groups (5)
great for brunch (3)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
760 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Leigh was top notch. Offered ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our server Leigh was top notch. Offered good cheeses and great wine. Would recommend her to anyone.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bari continues to impress me. Great and ...

Dined 5 days ago

Bari continues to impress me. Great and unique dishes, well prepared and well presented.

food1
ambience3
service3

The chef is not flexible. The brazino ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

The chef is not flexible. The brazino lacked flavor. If we had known they do not do any changes to the dishes, we never would have chosen this place. Service was bad. For a little place our server managed to disappear for long strethes. My halibut Mas miniscule and I am not a big eater. Stay away.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great Father's Day Dinner at Bari. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a great Father's Day Dinner at Bari. Food was great. Will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Dining Experience

Dined on June 8, 2016

Interesting menu, good food, bar was good. The setting was intimate and not in your face. The service was good and responsive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Sardines were very "fishy". Good cheese ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Sardines were very "fishy". Good cheese menu

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Another great meal

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We had another great meal here at Bari. There were 4 of us, service was excellent. We had some of the specials, and some of our old stand by's. Great food and staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place.

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bari never disappoints.

Dined on April 24, 2016

I love sitting at Bari's bar with my partner. Cocktails are great, bartender is always friendly. It's a chill, cozy environment. Food is delicious. Small pasta plates are perfect size. You can't go wrong with their veggie sides.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Bari

Dined on April 22, 2016

I make sure I have at least one dinner at Bari each time I come to Memphis. I also enjoy the cozy intimacy of the bar before dinner. The food is superb, the wait staff knowledgeable and easy. Exceptional wine list. More cheeses than anyone has ever seen on a menu list. I will rarely miss a dinner at Bari when I am in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food.

Dined on April 19, 2016

There were four of us. We had cocktails that were wonderful, a cheese plate that was excellent, soup and salad ,and entrees that were very good. We split a bottle of wine. Our server was very helpful and took very good care of us. Everyone says the prices are too high but we had a lot of food and our bill was about $60.00 plus tip. Was well worth it. Oh yea, I forgot, we also split this wonderful strawberry pie. Yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely evening!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Bari is a unique experience in Memphis. Southern Italian food, always delicious! I especially love the scallops. Our server was efficient and delightful, very professional. The atmosphere is quiet even though we were there on prom night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to go before the theater

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great soup. Good wine list. Good choice of items that are resonably priced. Absolutly the best coffee I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service5

I chose this restaurant for my birthday ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

I chose this restaurant for my birthday dinner. I had 5 guests, including me. Our server was fantastic! Our food came out in a decent time period & the restaurant was very clean. The only problem I had was the 5 oz filet that 3 out of the 5 of us ordered, came w/ one side, was $40. I just didn't expect that at all! I mean, I go out to eat, sometimes three times a week, & have NEVER seen a 5 oz filet cost $40. The Brussels sprouts that I got with mine were not good either. I was very let down, to say the least. The dessert was fantastic but was not offered to me for free for my birthday, which I also thought was odd. I prob won't be going back anytime soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal with friends

Dined on April 3, 2016

All the food was excellent. This includes the appetizers, the pasta carbonara and the seafood dinner. Everyone's meal was perfect. Our waitress was also very good and attentive but not intrusive. Would absolutely recommend going again. Need reservations as the venue is not very large so plan ahead.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent food and service.

Dined on April 3, 2016

Always excellent food and service.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great meal. Limited menu. Service was go ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great meal. Limited menu. Service was good. Wine menu very limited but you can bring your own wine for a small corkage fee- would rec doing this.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another special dinner @Bari last night! Love it!

Dined on March 25, 2016

Dinner Friday night at Bari was as great as ever. Fantastic brocolli and parmesan soup with no cream milk or butter! Service was perfect balance of attentiveness without invasiveness. Server's suggestions for antipasti was perfecto! When we want high quality great tasting food with terrific atmosphere, Bari never lets us down!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious dishes

Dined on March 25, 2016

Delicious dishes

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great meal

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

This restaurant never fails to deliver awesome food and service. The specials are great, and the small plates are very very good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3

I went with several friends to celebrate ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

I went with several friends to celebrate an engagement. The wine and cheese were amazing! Some of the food was very disappointing, and they clearly weren't taking it off the bill even with all the "subtle hints" that restaurants typically understand. They were willing to split the check five ways so I appreciate that.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

From making the reservation to paying the check, we had a wonderful experience. The food was delicious and our waiter was perfectly attentive and responsive. Eating at Bari made Valentine's Day a very special day. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Price Gouged on Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

The restaurant is nice, quite, and romantic. They do a good job keeping the food authentic. The server we had did a great job. The let down was the menu. They decided to do a Valentine's Day menu. Unfortunately, it was our first time to the restaurant, and the Valentine's Day menu was limited. So, we didn't get to pick items that we would enjoy the most. They knew they would get the crowd because of Valentine's Day, and they decided to price gouge because of it. We learned our lesson. There are other places in town that are just as interested in quality food while not over pricing their food.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Romantic gem

Dined on February 6, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Memphis. Fresh ingredients with portion sizes that are perfect and full of flavor. Nothing better than cheese and wine and they have an extensive list to choose from. The atmosphere is relaxing and great for either a romantic evening or a night out with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Best items are the small plates and the ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

Best items are the small plates and the cheese selection.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Evening Get Together

Dined on January 25, 2016

Enjoyed four cheese plates that were selected by the Chef, along with wines that were recommended. Tried the Cod, Steak, Scallops that were specials for the evening, along with a pasta dish. All excellent, as were the soup and salads. No room for dessert - maybe next time. Great staff - prompt and attentive. Food presented well. Only suggestions: lose the paper on tables and go with cloth. Coffee needs to be served hotter, and maybe cream instead of milk (heated, please).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

We had the specials and they were superb ...

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

We had the specials and they were superb. Great food and service. One of our favorites!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend

Dined on January 16, 2016

I highly recommend Bari. Our server was knowledgeable, friendly, and attentive. She created a wine and cheese pairing for us that was delicious. The food was amazing- the dishes were creative and full of flavor. The ambience was perfect for a relaxing and intimate dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Bari

Dined on December 14, 2015

The past few times I've visited Bari every dish has been perfect. My wife and I brought some friends on a Sunday night and while most of the dishes were great the execution was missing on a few of the dishes. But I will still be back because over the years they have definitely delivered.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the selection of wines and cheeses

Dined on December 6, 2015

We are hooked on cheese boards - the list was extensive, so we asked the kitchen to choose for us. Perfect starter for the meal! Fresh pastas did not disappoint - carbonara was recommended by a friend & was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Bari is one of the "hidden gems" for Memphis

Dined on December 6, 2015

If you want to visit a Memphis restaurant that is a little "bit off the beaten" path it might be Bari Restaurant which is conveniently located on the "fringe" of Overton Square. A small intimate restaurant that is operated by the owner/operator and her husband. The menu includes a variety of deliciously prepared Italian Food with a extensive menu and wine list. The Service is always friendly and professional and not pushy. Many locals enjoy eating at the small bar where you will enjoy a great "Mid Town" Memphis Vibe.....lot's of 20 - 40 ' ish folks but everyone is welcome. Insider info......if you have a party of 2 - 4 folks ....ask for Table #35 in the corner...........

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2

Bread and Cream!! What's up with that?

Dined on November 29, 2015

Always a wonderful experience, EXCEPT for two glaring errors in service. . . 1) One time we were told that we could not get bread at the table when we ordered our drinks. We were told that we could ONLY have bread once our meal came. The very next time we came I brought a loaf of bread from Panera. The bread problem seems to be fixed, but you still have to request it. 2) This Sunday I asked for a cup of coffee with cream.. Instead I received skim milk that was sour and curdled. When I asked for cream, I was told that cream was saved for the cooks, not for the customers. Our server finally managed to find a tiny bit of cream. Next time I go to Bari, should I stop at Kroger first and bring a pint of cream!

food5
ambience5
service4

Always Great!

Dined on November 22, 2015

Bari always meets my expectation for delicious food. Everything tasted terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1

Poor service; good--if somewhat overpriced--food

Dined on November 11, 2015

I've always liked the food at Bari, but the service on my recent visit was very poor. It was a weeknight with only 3-4 tables occupied and yet it took an hour for even bread to arrive. Our pre dinner drinks took about 20 minutes. Salads came 1.5 hours in, though we ordered within 20 minutes of arrival. Wine delivered only after a reminder (another 20 minutes). My silverware was cleared with my salad and not replaced with my next course. After a few minutes unable to eat, and as server looked on, I stood up, walked to another table and grabbed a knife and fork. Server watched but said nothing; no apology was forthcoming. Not really sure what the breakdown was, aside from a large-ish table. But if our bill comes to $90 for a few small plates and drinks on a slow weeknight, I do expect at least adequate service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Had a good meal and a nice time. Love t ...

Dined on November 10, 2015

Had a good meal and a nice time. Love the endive salad and Bronzini fish. Thanks, Jocie

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Restaurant; Even Better Bar!

Dined on November 1, 2015

Bari is an excellent restaurant and an even better bar. We have always enjoyed our food when we go and typically sit in the bar area. This was our first Brunch outing and they did not disappoint. Cinnamon roll is decadent and great for two to share. Enjoyed our egg dishes, pancakes and our cocktails including a distinctive Bloody Mary, which had some smokiness to it. Bari's food items for brunch are very reasonably priced.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently excellent

Dined on November 1, 2015

Have dined at Bari many times. You have to understand a couple of things about Bari: 1) the portions are "normal" not gigantic so that you can actually have a few courses and not leave feeling stupid and 2) it's just not a meat-eaters venue. My whole, deep-fried black bass was superb, tender, and juicy, the fish itself providing most of the flavor -- another thing I like about Bari is: the kitchen doesn't desecrate fine ingredients with overambitious seasonings and presentations. All very Italian. One of Memphis' best wine lists for diversity (within Italy) and value, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Another way to enjoy my favorite restaurant

Dined on October 25, 2015

Bari has been one of my favorites whether on a date night with husband or my best friend. Now they have be brunch, and it is amazing! The food and service was wonderful, exactly what would expect from Bari.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1

Will not return

Dined on October 25, 2015

Table location - crowded. Service - poor. I wanted to leave before I finished my meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous dining experience

Dined on October 19, 2015

This is my favorite place to eat. The food is always outstanding, and the restaurant is romantic and subtle in its decor. It's the first place I think of when I'm dining out. I don't ever get tired of going. The wait staff is superb, friendly, but not overpowering. Love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.