About Bari

22 South Cooper St.
Memphis, TN 38104
View Larger Map

Bari Ristorante Enoteca is the city's only Southeastern Italian restaurant and wine bar. Creating the regional cuisine of his family, Chef Jason Severs' renditions of antipasto, salads, meats and seafood, over 20 Italian cheeses, plus homemade pasta, bread, and desserts, give diners a true taste of this Italian Region. Whether you order a multi-course meal like they do in Italy, or only one or two dishes, you will love the simplicity and freshness of Bari's food and excellent Italian wines. The Enoteca is open an hour before and after the dining room, offering and extensive all-Italian wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Madison Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 722-2244

Website:
http://www.barimemphis.com/

Catering:
Call us for catering information.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant, on the side, or across the street.

Executive Chef:
Jason Severs

Private Party Facilities:
Contact us for private party information

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Severs: 9017222244

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Piave, Prosciutto, Asiago
Filet
Chocolate Tart
Cauliflower
Strawberry Marscapone Cream And Balsamic Pie
Tomato Garbanzo Soup
Pecorino Ginepro
Seared Ahi Tuna
Rosemary Potatoes
Rapini
Balsamic Gelato
Verde Capra

Bari Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Neighborhood Gem
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
1 More
Neighborhood Gem
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Cooper ›

fit for foodies (28)
special occasion (28)
neighborhood gem (23)
See All
romantic (22)
notable wine list (19)
vibrant bar scene (8)
good for groups (5)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
767 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A very nice restaurant with friendly and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

A very nice restaurant with friendly and helpful waitstaff. The food was very good but definitely not worth the cost. The portion sizes were small and the prices were high for a la carte items. For example, the scallops were 24 dollars for 2 large scallops and nothing else. Don't go hungry because you'll leave hungry. They are also very stingy with the bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Bari's has been one of my go to places f ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 7 days ago

Bari's has been one of my go to places for special dining experiences. I had business dinner there with out of town guests. It was embarrassing. We had to ask twice to be seated. It was 15 min before anyone even came to the table. The waitress explained our waiter was busy but she would bring water. Another long wait... She eventually came back with drinks and when I asked her about the specials, she seemed agitated. She ended up as our waitress the entire meal. She was unattentive and the meal dragged. We couldn't wait to finally get the bill and leave. Having said that, the food was excellent but I come to restaurants like Bari for the entire dining experience including good service. I would not recommend Bari's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Bari is a small but quaint place with go ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined 7 days ago

Bari is a small but quaint place with good food, good service, an amazing cheese list and a nice selection of Italian liqueurs. Because it's small, the tables are close and you can hear nearby conversations clearly, so I wouldn't recommend it if you have anything sensitive to discuss. The cheese options can easily overwhelm but our server was very knowledgeable and was able to make a very good recommendation based on our likes and dislikes. The chef was also able to accommodate an unusual food allergy, which we really appreciated. Definitely make a reservation - we dined early but the place was completely filled before we finished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

All was great! Megan did great handling ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

All was great! Megan did great handling all the tables by herself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bari is my favorite date night spot. Th ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Bari is my favorite date night spot. The food is always good, the wait staff friendly and helpful, and a stop at the bar before or after is a must.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very attentive but not ov ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our server was very attentive but not over attentive.

The food came out in a timely manner and was delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We always have a great meal here. All o ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We always have a great meal here. All of the salads are special and let the waitstaff pick you out some cheeses. Spaghetti carbonara can't be beat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Leigh was top notch. Offered ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our server Leigh was top notch. Offered good cheeses and great wine. Would recommend her to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bari continues to impress me. Great and ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Bari continues to impress me. Great and unique dishes, well prepared and well presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef is not flexible. The brazino ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The chef is not flexible. The brazino lacked flavor. If we had known they do not do any changes to the dishes, we never would have chosen this place. Service was bad. For a little place our server managed to disappear for long strethes. My halibut Mas miniscule and I am not a big eater. Stay away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Had a great Father's Day Dinner at Bari. ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a great Father's Day Dinner at Bari. Food was great. Will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Dining Experience

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Interesting menu, good food, bar was good. The setting was intimate and not in your face. The service was good and responsive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sardines were very "fishy". Good cheese ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Sardines were very "fishy". Good cheese menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Another great meal

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had another great meal here at Bari. There were 4 of us, service was excellent. We had some of the specials, and some of our old stand by's. Great food and staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bari never disappoints.

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I love sitting at Bari's bar with my partner. Cocktails are great, bartender is always friendly. It's a chill, cozy environment. Food is delicious. Small pasta plates are perfect size. You can't go wrong with their veggie sides.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Bari

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

I make sure I have at least one dinner at Bari each time I come to Memphis. I also enjoy the cozy intimacy of the bar before dinner. The food is superb, the wait staff knowledgeable and easy. Exceptional wine list. More cheeses than anyone has ever seen on a menu list. I will rarely miss a dinner at Bari when I am in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food.

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

There were four of us. We had cocktails that were wonderful, a cheese plate that was excellent, soup and salad ,and entrees that were very good. We split a bottle of wine. Our server was very helpful and took very good care of us. Everyone says the prices are too high but we had a lot of food and our bill was about $60.00 plus tip. Was well worth it. Oh yea, I forgot, we also split this wonderful strawberry pie. Yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely evening!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Bari is a unique experience in Memphis. Southern Italian food, always delicious! I especially love the scallops. Our server was efficient and delightful, very professional. The atmosphere is quiet even though we were there on prom night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go before the theater

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Great soup. Good wine list. Good choice of items that are resonably priced. Absolutly the best coffee I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I chose this restaurant for my birthday ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

I chose this restaurant for my birthday dinner. I had 5 guests, including me. Our server was fantastic! Our food came out in a decent time period & the restaurant was very clean. The only problem I had was the 5 oz filet that 3 out of the 5 of us ordered, came w/ one side, was $40. I just didn't expect that at all! I mean, I go out to eat, sometimes three times a week, & have NEVER seen a 5 oz filet cost $40. The Brussels sprouts that I got with mine were not good either. I was very let down, to say the least. The dessert was fantastic but was not offered to me for free for my birthday, which I also thought was odd. I prob won't be going back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Excellent meal with friends

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

All the food was excellent. This includes the appetizers, the pasta carbonara and the seafood dinner. Everyone's meal was perfect. Our waitress was also very good and attentive but not intrusive. Would absolutely recommend going again. Need reservations as the venue is not very large so plan ahead.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent food and service.

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Always excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal. Limited menu. Service was go ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Great meal. Limited menu. Service was good. Wine menu very limited but you can bring your own wine for a small corkage fee- would rec doing this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Another special dinner @Bari last night! Love it!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Dinner Friday night at Bari was as great as ever. Fantastic brocolli and parmesan soup with no cream milk or butter! Service was perfect balance of attentiveness without invasiveness. Server's suggestions for antipasti was perfecto! When we want high quality great tasting food with terrific atmosphere, Bari never lets us down!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious dishes

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Delicious dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great meal

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

This restaurant never fails to deliver awesome food and service. The specials are great, and the small plates are very very good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went with several friends to celebrate ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

I went with several friends to celebrate an engagement. The wine and cheese were amazing! Some of the food was very disappointing, and they clearly weren't taking it off the bill even with all the "subtle hints" that restaurants typically understand. They were willing to split the check five ways so I appreciate that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great Valentine's Day

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

From making the reservation to paying the check, we had a wonderful experience. The food was delicious and our waiter was perfectly attentive and responsive. Eating at Bari made Valentine's Day a very special day. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Price Gouged on Valentine's Day

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The restaurant is nice, quite, and romantic. They do a good job keeping the food authentic. The server we had did a great job. The let down was the menu. They decided to do a Valentine's Day menu. Unfortunately, it was our first time to the restaurant, and the Valentine's Day menu was limited. So, we didn't get to pick items that we would enjoy the most. They knew they would get the crowd because of Valentine's Day, and they decided to price gouge because of it. We learned our lesson. There are other places in town that are just as interested in quality food while not over pricing their food.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Romantic gem

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Memphis. Fresh ingredients with portion sizes that are perfect and full of flavor. Nothing better than cheese and wine and they have an extensive list to choose from. The atmosphere is relaxing and great for either a romantic evening or a night out with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best items are the small plates and the ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Best items are the small plates and the cheese selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Sunday Evening Get Together

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

Enjoyed four cheese plates that were selected by the Chef, along with wines that were recommended. Tried the Cod, Steak, Scallops that were specials for the evening, along with a pasta dish. All excellent, as were the soup and salads. No room for dessert - maybe next time. Great staff - prompt and attentive. Food presented well.

Only suggestions: lose the paper on tables and go with cloth. Coffee needs to be served hotter, and maybe cream instead of milk (heated, please).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the specials and they were superb ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

We had the specials and they were superb. Great food and service. One of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Highly recommend

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

I highly recommend Bari. Our server was knowledgeable, friendly, and attentive. She created a wine and cheese pairing for us that was delicious. The food was amazing- the dishes were creative and full of flavor. The ambience was perfect for a relaxing and intimate dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bari

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 14, 2015

The past few times I've visited Bari every dish has been perfect. My wife and I brought some friends on a Sunday night and while most of the dishes were great the execution was missing on a few of the dishes. But I will still be back because over the years they have definitely delivered.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Loved the selection of wines and cheeses

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

We are hooked on cheese boards - the list was extensive, so we asked the kitchen to choose for us. Perfect starter for the meal! Fresh pastas did not disappoint - carbonara was recommended by a friend & was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Bari is one of the "hidden gems" for Memphis

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

If you want to visit a Memphis restaurant that is a little "bit off the beaten" path it might be Bari Restaurant which is conveniently located on the "fringe" of Overton Square.

A small intimate restaurant that is operated by the owner/operator and her husband. The menu includes a variety of deliciously prepared Italian Food with a extensive menu and wine list. The Service is always friendly and professional and not pushy.

Many locals enjoy eating at the small bar where you will enjoy a great "Mid Town" Memphis Vibe.....lot's of 20 - 40 ' ish folks but everyone is welcome.

Insider info......if you have a party of 2 - 4 folks ....ask for Table #35 in the corner...........

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bread and Cream!! What's up with that?

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Always a wonderful experience, EXCEPT for two glaring errors in service. . .

1) One time we were told that we could not get bread at the table when we ordered our drinks. We were told that we could ONLY have bread once our meal came. The very next time we came I brought a loaf of bread from Panera. The bread problem seems to be fixed, but you still have to request it.

2) This Sunday I asked for a cup of coffee with cream.. Instead I received skim milk that was sour and curdled. When I asked for cream, I was told that cream was saved for the cooks, not for the customers. Our server finally managed to find a tiny bit of cream. Next time I go to Bari, should I stop at Kroger first and bring a pint of cream!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Always Great!

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Bari always meets my expectation for delicious food. Everything tasted terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.