About Bardi's Steakhouse

56 York St.
Toronto, ON M5J 1S8
View Larger Map

Bardi’s Steak House is a single unit, traditional steakhouse, owner operated since 1966. We are located in Toronto’s theatre and financial districts, adjacent to the Fairmont Royal York Hotel, and steps from Metro Toronto Convention Centre, Rogers Centre, and Air Canada Centre. Over the years Bardi’s has developed an international reputation for quality food and exceptional service; Serving only "Certified Angus Beef" TM, naturally aged, cut and trimmed on premise. Fresh Atlantic salmon, chicken and ribs are also available. We offer an extensive wine list and are the recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine “Award of Excellence” since 1994.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
just north of Front St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 366-9211

Website:
http://www.bardis.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Bardis - Bardi's Steakhouse, Toronto, ON
  • Bardis - Bardi's Steakhouse, Toronto, ON
  • Bardi's Steakhouse, Toronto, ON
  • Bardis - Bardi's Steakhouse, Toronto, ON
Bardis - Bardi's Steakhouse, Toronto, ON
Bardis - Bardi's Steakhouse, Toronto, ON
Bardi's Steakhouse, Toronto, ON
Bardis - Bardi's Steakhouse, Toronto, ON

Private Dining

We are pleased to offer a private setting for about 24 guests adjacent to our wine cellar and overlooking historic York St. buildings such as the Fairmont Royal York Hotel and Union Station. Bardi’s boardroom, with a floor to ceiling marble fireplace, presents a perfect setting for up to 16.

Bardi's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Toronto / Ontario
Steakhouse
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Financial District ›

Special Occasion (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Authentic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Business Meals (7)
Historic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Casual (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Romantic (4)
Cozy (4)
Private Room (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
208 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fast service, friendly, great food, stea ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Fast service, friendly, great food, steak was cooked perfectly, great meal before the hockey game.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food but room is REALLY tired, pee ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food but room is REALLY tired, peeling paint on the ceilings. Needs a major refresh/clean up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Always enjoyable for food and quiet atmo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Always enjoyable for food and quiet atmosphere for lunch time. Only thing wrong was I was looking for the scallops for lunch and you did not have any which I absolutely love at Bardi's -- BOO HOO!!

Tags: Historic, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bardi's is a classic "madmen" era steak ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Bardi's is a classic "madmen" era steak house. Food is tremendous, although to be honest, I've never actually considered eating anything but steak - I mean, why would you? Most of the staff have been there for as long as I can remember, and they are beyond professional.

My son and I were coming downtown (from Guelph) for a basketball game, and we got caught in traffic. They honoured our reservation, in spite of being an hour late, and rushed our meal through the kitchen, so we wouldn't be late for the game.

I would (have) recommend Bardi's to anyone who will listen.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The striploan was grilled to perfection ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The striploan was grilled to perfection and tasted great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An old Toronto favourite that didn't dis ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 26, 2016

An old Toronto favourite that didn't disappoint. Excellent attentive service and the steaks were cooked to perfection and very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great restaurant. Excellent service and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great restaurant. Excellent service and they prepare a steak perfectly! Great selection of scotch and the ambiance is fantastic. The only knoock is that the restaurant is a little on the pricey side.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Steaks we're good but overdone. No mashe ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Steaks we're good but overdone. No mashed potatoes or gravy/au jus which was a bit disappointing. Staff very friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Pretty nice meal. Main complaint was th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Pretty nice meal. Main complaint was the cheap wine glasses used to serve wine ordered by the glass. A restaurant as upscale as this should always use good wine glasses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Bardi's has been our place to go for a g ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Bardi's has been our place to go for a great steak dinner. We've been coming here for years and have always had a great meal! The service is great and the wait staff are very knowledgeable. You can't go wrong here!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met expectations a perfect restaurant fo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Met expectations a perfect restaurant for a lunch where you want have a conversation and enjoy well prepared food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good, traditional steakhouse. Steak was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Good, traditional steakhouse. Steak was good but cooked medium instead of medium rare as ordered. Asparagus was cooked perfecly: tender but crisp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

A classic old school steakhouse experien ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

A classic old school steakhouse experience, with a great wine list. The servers are all seasoned professionals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It's an old restaurant that has sustaine ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

It's an old restaurant that has sustained over time with good food, good service and now on-line booking. It's close to work. Never noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This steak house is totally overpriced. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2016

This steak house is totally overpriced. Food was good and not close to being worth $59 for a filet. Went on a night that the Leafs were playing and thus subject to an overpriced limited menu. Garlic cheesetoast for $8.50??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

I was at the Toronto Bardi's restaurant ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I was at the Toronto Bardi's restaurant on Saturday night. It is the location beside the Royal York Hotel. The service was excellent and the food was phenomenal. It was literally the best steak I have ever eaten in my entire life!! I had the French Onion Soup, Brussel sprouts with Pancetta, the filet mignon and a side order of onion rings. I really wanted to try the dessert, but had no more room since I ordered many appetizers. (the appetizers were shared with my husband). He also had the filet mignon and said that he's never had better steak. Thank you!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Authentic, Comfort Food, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was exceptional. Lots of good qu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was exceptional. Lots of good quality food

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved, Loved, Loved Bardis. Excellent se ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Loved, Loved, Loved Bardis. Excellent service - not rushed - delicious food and wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A good steakhouse that focuses on qualit ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 1, 2016

A good steakhouse that focuses on quality food rather than a flashy new decor. I wonderfully quite place to enjoy great food and conversation.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent and service was v ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The food was excellent and service was very good. Overall, a very enjoyable meal and evening. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very attentive service. Remarkable win ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Very attentive service. Remarkable wine list. This restaurant is celebrating its 50 year anniversary, so lots of wood, close seating, and challenging restrooms!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was there for a business dinner, excelle ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Was there for a business dinner, excellent service and the best steak in the City.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Historic, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

On my second visit to Toronto this resta ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 16, 2016

On my second visit to Toronto this restaurant was suggested by the Concierge at my hotel when I asked for an upscale steak place nearby. Great central location close to all of the tourist stuff as well as the financial district. Very nice decor and ambience, great staff, very friendly and informative. Wine list was amazing and food was outstanding. I had the bone-in rib eye and my date had the Sea Bass. Both were well above average in taste and preparation. After dinner we chatted with the Manager for quite a while past closing time and enjoyed it all immensely. Best meal we had while in Toronto, and the first place I'll eat next time I'm in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The manager, Jamie was extremely helpful ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 11, 2016

The manager, Jamie was extremely helpful and cordial. It was a nice, traditional steakhouse.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was for my wife's birthday and th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Dinner was for my wife's birthday and the food was excellent and the service was exceptional. Would definitely recommend this to anyone for a special occasions

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband ordered the 20 0z bone-in rib ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 30, 2016

My husband ordered the 20 0z bone-in rib steak and was very happy with his choice. I had the boef bourginon and it tasted very tomato-y. as if it had not been simmered on the stove long enough to truly blend all the flavors. The feta cheese on my tomato salad beforehand was excellent, as was the bread that was brought out to our table. Service was a bit slow, especially given the fact that it was a very quiet evening.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I highly recommend Bardis. Whenever I am ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 27, 2016

I highly recommend Bardis. Whenever I am in town I always plan 1-2 meals. The wind list and cellar is unbelievable

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unlike most Toronto steakhouses, Bardi's ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Unlike most Toronto steakhouses, Bardi's is unpretentious and a good value for the money. It was a relaxing experience and the service wasn't too over-the-top. We'll definitely come back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We held a business lunch / going away sp ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 13, 2016

We held a business lunch / going away special occasion at Bardi's today. It was nothing short of fantastic. The food was delicious and well-priced, the ambiance was wonderful as we had the second floor and a great table, not noisy, extremely comfortable seating and the staff was the best. Very friendly, experienced and professional. I recommend Bardi's for executive business meetings, as well as personal special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for a dinner, and to try the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 11, 2016

Went there for a dinner, and to try the steak since we like to try different steak houses.

This place certainly is old-school; the ambiance is nothing really special, though.

The steak however was quite tasty. But the salads especially the caesar were lackluster--tasted like store-bought fare, and not the kind you get at the finer steak houses where they prepare the dressing in front of you.

I might return--but I wouldn't go out of my way. For a bit more than this pricing you can go to Hy's where the ambiance, salad and service is much better. Or for even a bit more you can go to the king, Jacob & Co.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Service was exceptional. Our waiter was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2016

Service was exceptional. Our waiter was kind, attentive and made great recommendations. Truly remarkable and memorable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

My favourite steak house in Toronto

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 20, 2016

I always come back to Bardis. It is your traditional steak house with fantastic cuts of beef and the best wine list in Toronto. I always like having my meals on the second floor adjacent to the wine cellar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the best

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 19, 2016

been coming here for 25 years..still the best! great for clients and getting take out...they don't smother in butter like ruth chris

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and wonderful service!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 17, 2016

My husband and I would definitely return to Bardi's again! We had an absolutely delicious meal from start to finish, and the service was excellent. Our server Sal was very attentive and had great tableside manner. :) Thank you Bardi's!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not a good value

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 13, 2016

I asked the waiter for their "signature steak" and he told me it was the New York. I ordered it and it was disappointing to be honest. There was nothing extraordinary about the steak, how it was prepared, etc. Not a good value for the price. I have had a New York at The Keg many times and it is a better steak for better price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Great Steak!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 26, 2016

The NY Strip steak is very good. It was cooked to perfection, and tasted very good. We weren't overly impressed with the demeanor of the waiters, they barely spoke. We had to ask for water halfway through the meal, to me when you are paying over $50 bucks a meal you shouldn't have to do that. The bread at the beginning could have been better, reminded me of heated up Aunt Millies or something. The place could use a renovation also...... but the steak WAS good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great steaks and server was attentive. Expensive!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 18, 2016

Though the steaks were delicious and cooked to our preference, I could not afford to eat at Bardi's for other than special occasions once per year. AIso, I am celiac, and I don't believe the server knew what that meant. Educating servers on dietary restrictions should be part of a restaurant's responsibility to its patrons.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It is like an 80's steakhouse but we are in 2016

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 14, 2016

Food is salty. The quality of food dose not worth the price. We ordered medium rare sirloins but it turned out medium well. The fries are salty and soggy. The garlic bread is made of cheap toast. I would like to suggest owners and the chef should go explore other restaurants and see how do they make good steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Steak was AWESOME!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 10, 2016

The service was excellent. Steak was cooked to perfection - nothing missing when it was brought to the table. Our party of 3 was delighted with everything and will definitely go back next time we are in Toronto. The steak melted in your mouth.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bardies is the Best

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 9, 2016

The food, ambiance, service has not changed in decades, nor have the staff, who greet you and take care of you in an unobtrusive but observant manner. Best steakhouse in Toronto. Steaks done perfectly as is everything else.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.