Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Bardi's Steakhouse

Bardi’s Steak House is a single unit, traditional steakhouse, owner operated since 1966. We are located in Toronto’s theatre and financial districts, adjacent to the Fairmont Royal York Hotel, and steps from Metro Toronto Convention Centre, Rogers Centre, and Air Canada Centre. Over the years Bardi’s has developed an international reputation for quality food and exceptional service; Serving only "Certified Angus Beef" TM, naturally aged, cut and trimmed on premise. Fresh Atlantic salmon, chicken and ribs are also available. We offer an extensive wine list and are the recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine “Award of Excellence” since 1994.

56 York St.
Toronto, ON M5J 1S8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
just north of Front St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 366-9211

Website:
http://www.bardis.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Private Dining

We are pleased to offer a private setting for about 24 guests adjacent to our wine cellar and overlooking historic York St. buildings such as the Fairmont Royal York Hotel and Union Station. Bardi’s boardroom, with a floor to ceiling marble fireplace, presents a perfect setting for up to 16.

Bardi's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Business Meals (13)
See All
Notable Wine List (11)
Cozy (11)
Good for a Date (7)
Historic (7)
Authentic (6)
Romantic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Casual (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 25, 2017

As always an excellent choice. Food was perfect as well as the service. Only problem was the Leafs lost to the Habs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fantastic service and great wine list. One of the best steak houses in the city.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A little pricey but you pay for the ambiance and service. The steak was good but for that price I expect to be wowed. Presentation of food was nothing special. This place seems great for a special/romantic occasion or for wine lovers (nice big wine room on the second floor). Service is fantastic including the people at the front taking your coat and showing you to your seat, very classy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Bardi's is a throwback to an old time steak house . Simple , but well done menu . Can be rushed pre Leafs or Raptors . Steaks are cooked to perfection . Friendly and not pretentious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Great service, food and wine. Jaime is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Lovely, quiet restaurant with very friendly staff. Although it is a steakhouse - and the steaks we saw going by looked lovely - we both had the salmon that was perfectly cooked, along with perfectly cooked vegetables. The service was exceptional. It is nice to find a downtown restaurant that you can actually have a conversation in.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The steak was okay but not nearly good enough for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were celebrating our 24th anniversary, the service was fantastic the food was outstanding. So glad we selected Bardi's. I am sure you will enjoy the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Good business restaurant... excellent wine list and selection

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was good. And for a lower price bracket I would have given this place a better score. For the price paid I expected service and ambiance at the level of a Ruth Chris Steak house. The soup was spilled on the plate and was served that way. The atmosphere felt more like the good boys going out fro a steak before a hockey game and not like a fine dinning experience - the price was definitely fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent location and a restaurant you can rely upon for consistently good food and service.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Over price and below average service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

First visit , in Toronto for the IIHF game on New Years Eve wonderful dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food and ambiance was good. Main dish took too long to get served considering it wasn't a busy time. We noticed after we paid our bill that 6 items worth $200 were added on our bill that we didn't order. Called the restaurant back and they refunded us back our $200. Could be an error but 6 items added seemed odd.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Lovely restaurant, cozy and a bit old-school style. Food is great, probably the best I had in Toronto!
Server is professional and nice. Value for money.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Even though we booked through open table, the waiter literally greeted us as such: "hah, well we're almost closed but whatever" in a rude and snarky way. I wasn't even able to mouth the words "we have a reservation" before he rushed us to a table. It was clear we ruined this guy's night. Sorry that we booked an 8:45 reservation and the place closes at 10pm. I get it, but maybe don't offer 8:45 tables? For the record, 9pm was even an option. This was a Friday night too. This waiter was pushy and clearly wanted us out as quick as possible. He was able to at least remain somewhat professional, and then seemingly disappeared (I'm guessing went home?) while another waiter took over. This man was much more polite and even a little humorous. I wish we had this guy from the beginning. Though more polite, I couldn't help but to feel awkward and rushed throughout the entire meal. This all because of the way we were initially greeted us. It literally ruined our experience as it made us feel like we were inconveniencing the staff. For the record the shrimp in garlic butter was delicious, and the steaks were perfect. The meal ended in a bit of a rushed way as well, as we even had a non-staff member help clear our table. This man was a friend of the polite waiter who introduced himself to my date and I as such. Again, though polite, this was a bit awkward and made us feel even more rushed. Not to mention he stood by our table and made awkward small talk for close to 5 minutes. I guess he couldn't take a hint, but maybe this was also a way to hurry us up as we were the only table left in the restaurant. It was a tad uncomfortable. Overall, the delicious meals were overshadowed by the first waiter and his initial comments, which made everything feel rushed, even if at this point it was just in my head. Would still recommend I suppose, just go well before close.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Family Style, Special Occasion, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Whenever I come to town I always go to Bardis. They make the best steaks in Toronto!! I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent steaks! You

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Promised more than it delivered. Charming older vibe, but rather disappointing. Felt like nobody really cares. Tasty food, but it arrived lukewarm at the table. Offered a taster of wine for the lady, then was charged extra for it. We won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Fast service, friendly, great food, steak was cooked perfectly, great meal before the hockey game.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Great food but room is REALLY tired, peeling paint on the ceilings. Needs a major refresh/clean up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Always enjoyable for food and quiet atmosphere for lunch time. Only thing wrong was I was looking for the scallops for lunch and you did not have any which I absolutely love at Bardi's -- BOO HOO!!

Tags: Historic, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Bardi's is a classic "madmen" era steak house. Food is tremendous, although to be honest, I've never actually considered eating anything but steak - I mean, why would you? Most of the staff have been there for as long as I can remember, and they are beyond professional.

My son and I were coming downtown (from Guelph) for a basketball game, and we got caught in traffic. They honoured our reservation, in spite of being an hour late, and rushed our meal through the kitchen, so we wouldn't be late for the game.

I would (have) recommend Bardi's to anyone who will listen.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The striploan was grilled to perfection and tasted great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 26, 2016

An old Toronto favourite that didn't disappoint. Excellent attentive service and the steaks were cooked to perfection and very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great restaurant. Excellent service and they prepare a steak perfectly! Great selection of scotch and the ambiance is fantastic. The only knoock is that the restaurant is a little on the pricey side.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Steaks we're good but overdone. No mashed potatoes or gravy/au jus which was a bit disappointing. Staff very friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Pretty nice meal. Main complaint was the cheap wine glasses used to serve wine ordered by the glass. A restaurant as upscale as this should always use good wine glasses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Bardi's has been our place to go for a great steak dinner. We've been coming here for years and have always had a great meal! The service is great and the wait staff are very knowledgeable. You can't go wrong here!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Met expectations a perfect restaurant for a lunch where you want have a conversation and enjoy well prepared food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Good, traditional steakhouse. Steak was good but cooked medium instead of medium rare as ordered. Asparagus was cooked perfecly: tender but crisp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

A classic old school steakhouse experience, with a great wine list. The servers are all seasoned professionals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

It's an old restaurant that has sustained over time with good food, good service and now on-line booking. It's close to work. Never noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2016

This steak house is totally overpriced. Food was good and not close to being worth $59 for a filet. Went on a night that the Leafs were playing and thus subject to an overpriced limited menu. Garlic cheesetoast for $8.50??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I was at the Toronto Bardi's restaurant on Saturday night. It is the location beside the Royal York Hotel. The service was excellent and the food was phenomenal. It was literally the best steak I have ever eaten in my entire life!! I had the French Onion Soup, Brussel sprouts with Pancetta, the filet mignon and a side order of onion rings. I really wanted to try the dessert, but had no more room since I ordered many appetizers. (the appetizers were shared with my husband). He also had the filet mignon and said that he's never had better steak. Thank you!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Authentic, Comfort Food, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was exceptional. Lots of good quality food

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Loved, Loved, Loved Bardis. Excellent service - not rushed - delicious food and wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 1, 2016

A good steakhouse that focuses on quality food rather than a flashy new decor. I wonderfully quite place to enjoy great food and conversation.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The food was excellent and service was very good. Overall, a very enjoyable meal and evening. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.