About Bardi's Steakhouse

56 York St.
Toronto, ON M5J 1S8
View Larger Map

Bardi’s Steak House is a single unit, traditional steakhouse, owner operated since 1966. We are located in Toronto’s theatre and financial districts, adjacent to the Fairmont Royal York Hotel, and steps from Metro Toronto Convention Centre, Rogers Centre, and Air Canada Centre. Over the years Bardi’s has developed an international reputation for quality food and exceptional service; Serving only "Certified Angus Beef" TM, naturally aged, cut and trimmed on premise. Fresh Atlantic salmon, chicken and ribs are also available. We offer an extensive wine list and are the recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine “Award of Excellence” since 1994.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
just north of Front St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 366-9211

Website:
http://www.bardis.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Bardis - Bardi's Steakhouse, Toronto, ON
  • Bardis - Bardi's Steakhouse, Toronto, ON
  • Bardi's Steakhouse, Toronto, ON
  • Bardis - Bardi's Steakhouse, Toronto, ON

Report a photo problem

Bardis - Bardi's Steakhouse, Toronto, ON
Bardis - Bardi's Steakhouse, Toronto, ON
Bardis - Bardi's Steakhouse, Toronto, ON

Private Dining

We are pleased to offer a private setting for about 24 guests adjacent to our wine cellar and overlooking historic York St. buildings such as the Fairmont Royal York Hotel and Union Station. Bardi’s boardroom, with a floor to ceiling marble fireplace, presents a perfect setting for up to 16.

Bardi's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (16)
Special Occasion (13)
Business Meals (10)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Cozy (7)
Historic (7)
Authentic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Romantic (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Casual (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Private Room (3)
Family Style (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were celebrating our 24th anniversary ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

We were celebrating our 24th anniversary, the service was fantastic the food was outstanding. So glad we selected Bardi's. I am sure you will enjoy the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good business restaurant... excellent wi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Good business restaurant... excellent wine list and selection

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good. And for a lower pric ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was good. And for a lower price bracket I would have given this place a better score. For the price paid I expected service and ambiance at the level of a Ruth Chris Steak house. The soup was spilled on the plate and was served that way. The atmosphere felt more like the good boys going out fro a steak before a hockey game and not like a fine dinning experience - the price was definitely fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Excellent location and a restaurant you ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent location and a restaurant you can rely upon for consistently good food and service.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Over price and below average service.

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Over price and below average service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

First visit , in Toronto for the IIHF ga ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

First visit , in Toronto for the IIHF game on New Years Eve wonderful dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and ambiance was good. Main dish to ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food and ambiance was good. Main dish took too long to get served considering it wasn't a busy time. We noticed after we paid our bill that 6 items worth $200 were added on our bill that we didn't order. Called the restaurant back and they refunded us back our $200. Could be an error but 6 items added seemed odd.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Lovely restaurant, cozy and a bit old-sc ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Lovely restaurant, cozy and a bit old-school style. Food is great, probably the best I had in Toronto!

Server is professional and nice. Value for money.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, , Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Even though we booked through open table ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Even though we booked through open table, the waiter literally greeted us as such: "hah, well we're almost closed but whatever" in a rude and snarky way. I wasn't even able to mouth the words "we have a reservation" before he rushed us to a table. It was clear we ruined this guy's night. Sorry that we booked an 8:45 reservation and the place closes at 10pm. I get it, but maybe don't offer 8:45 tables? For the record, 9pm was even an option. This was a Friday night too. This waiter was pushy and clearly wanted us out as quick as possible. He was able to at least remain somewhat professional, and then seemingly disappeared (I'm guessing went home?) while another waiter took over. This man was much more polite and even a little humorous. I wish we had this guy from the beginning. Though more polite, I couldn't help but to feel awkward and rushed throughout the entire meal. This all because of the way we were initially greeted us. It literally ruined our experience as it made us feel like we were inconveniencing the staff. For the record the shrimp in garlic butter was delicious, and the steaks were perfect. The meal ended in a bit of a rushed way as well, as we even had a non-staff member help clear our table. This man was a friend of the polite waiter who introduced himself to my date and I as such. Again, though polite, this was a bit awkward and made us feel even more rushed. Not to mention he stood by our table and made awkward small talk for close to 5 minutes. I guess he couldn't take a hint, but maybe this was also a way to hurry us up as we were the only table left in the restaurant. It was a tad uncomfortable. Overall, the delicious meals were overshadowed by the first waiter and his initial comments, which made everything feel rushed, even if at this point it was just in my head. Would still recommend I suppose, just go well before close.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Family Style, Special Occasion, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Whenever I come to town I always go to B ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Whenever I come to town I always go to Bardis. They make the best steaks in Toronto!! I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Promised more than it delivered. Charmin ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Promised more than it delivered. Charming older vibe, but rather disappointing. Felt like nobody really cares. Tasty food, but it arrived lukewarm at the table. Offered a taster of wine for the lady, then was charged extra for it. We won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Great dining experience.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fast service, friendly, great food, stea ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Fast service, friendly, great food, steak was cooked perfectly, great meal before the hockey game.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food but room is REALLY tired, pee ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Great food but room is REALLY tired, peeling paint on the ceilings. Needs a major refresh/clean up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Always enjoyable for food and quiet atmo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Always enjoyable for food and quiet atmosphere for lunch time. Only thing wrong was I was looking for the scallops for lunch and you did not have any which I absolutely love at Bardi's -- BOO HOO!!

Tags: Historic, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bardi's is a classic "madmen" era steak ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Bardi's is a classic "madmen" era steak house. Food is tremendous, although to be honest, I've never actually considered eating anything but steak - I mean, why would you? Most of the staff have been there for as long as I can remember, and they are beyond professional.

My son and I were coming downtown (from Guelph) for a basketball game, and we got caught in traffic. They honoured our reservation, in spite of being an hour late, and rushed our meal through the kitchen, so we wouldn't be late for the game.

I would (have) recommend Bardi's to anyone who will listen.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The striploan was grilled to perfection ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The striploan was grilled to perfection and tasted great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An old Toronto favourite that didn't dis ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 26, 2016

An old Toronto favourite that didn't disappoint. Excellent attentive service and the steaks were cooked to perfection and very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great restaurant. Excellent service and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great restaurant. Excellent service and they prepare a steak perfectly! Great selection of scotch and the ambiance is fantastic. The only knoock is that the restaurant is a little on the pricey side.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Steaks we're good but overdone. No mashe ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Steaks we're good but overdone. No mashed potatoes or gravy/au jus which was a bit disappointing. Staff very friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Pretty nice meal. Main complaint was th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Pretty nice meal. Main complaint was the cheap wine glasses used to serve wine ordered by the glass. A restaurant as upscale as this should always use good wine glasses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Bardi's has been our place to go for a g ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Bardi's has been our place to go for a great steak dinner. We've been coming here for years and have always had a great meal! The service is great and the wait staff are very knowledgeable. You can't go wrong here!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, , Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met expectations a perfect restaurant fo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Met expectations a perfect restaurant for a lunch where you want have a conversation and enjoy well prepared food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good, traditional steakhouse. Steak was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Good, traditional steakhouse. Steak was good but cooked medium instead of medium rare as ordered. Asparagus was cooked perfecly: tender but crisp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

A classic old school steakhouse experien ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

A classic old school steakhouse experience, with a great wine list. The servers are all seasoned professionals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It's an old restaurant that has sustaine ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

It's an old restaurant that has sustained over time with good food, good service and now on-line booking. It's close to work. Never noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This steak house is totally overpriced. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2016

This steak house is totally overpriced. Food was good and not close to being worth $59 for a filet. Went on a night that the Leafs were playing and thus subject to an overpriced limited menu. Garlic cheesetoast for $8.50??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

I was at the Toronto Bardi's restaurant ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I was at the Toronto Bardi's restaurant on Saturday night. It is the location beside the Royal York Hotel. The service was excellent and the food was phenomenal. It was literally the best steak I have ever eaten in my entire life!! I had the French Onion Soup, Brussel sprouts with Pancetta, the filet mignon and a side order of onion rings. I really wanted to try the dessert, but had no more room since I ordered many appetizers. (the appetizers were shared with my husband). He also had the filet mignon and said that he's never had better steak. Thank you!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Authentic, Comfort Food, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was exceptional. Lots of good qu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was exceptional. Lots of good quality food

Tags: Worth the Drive, , Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved, Loved, Loved Bardis. Excellent se ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Loved, Loved, Loved Bardis. Excellent service - not rushed - delicious food and wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A good steakhouse that focuses on qualit ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 1, 2016

A good steakhouse that focuses on quality food rather than a flashy new decor. I wonderfully quite place to enjoy great food and conversation.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent and service was v ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The food was excellent and service was very good. Overall, a very enjoyable meal and evening. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very attentive service. Remarkable win ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Very attentive service. Remarkable wine list. This restaurant is celebrating its 50 year anniversary, so lots of wood, close seating, and challenging restrooms!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was there for a business dinner, excelle ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Was there for a business dinner, excellent service and the best steak in the City.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Historic, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

On my second visit to Toronto this resta ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 16, 2016

On my second visit to Toronto this restaurant was suggested by the Concierge at my hotel when I asked for an upscale steak place nearby. Great central location close to all of the tourist stuff as well as the financial district. Very nice decor and ambience, great staff, very friendly and informative. Wine list was amazing and food was outstanding. I had the bone-in rib eye and my date had the Sea Bass. Both were well above average in taste and preparation. After dinner we chatted with the Manager for quite a while past closing time and enjoyed it all immensely. Best meal we had while in Toronto, and the first place I'll eat next time I'm in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The manager, Jamie was extremely helpful ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 11, 2016

The manager, Jamie was extremely helpful and cordial. It was a nice, traditional steakhouse.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was for my wife's birthday and th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Dinner was for my wife's birthday and the food was excellent and the service was exceptional. Would definitely recommend this to anyone for a special occasions

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband ordered the 20 0z bone-in rib ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 30, 2016

My husband ordered the 20 0z bone-in rib steak and was very happy with his choice. I had the boef bourginon and it tasted very tomato-y. as if it had not been simmered on the stove long enough to truly blend all the flavors. The feta cheese on my tomato salad beforehand was excellent, as was the bread that was brought out to our table. Service was a bit slow, especially given the fact that it was a very quiet evening.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I highly recommend Bardis. Whenever I am ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 27, 2016

I highly recommend Bardis. Whenever I am in town I always plan 1-2 meals. The wind list and cellar is unbelievable

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unlike most Toronto steakhouses, Bardi's ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Unlike most Toronto steakhouses, Bardi's is unpretentious and a good value for the money. It was a relaxing experience and the service wasn't too over-the-top. We'll definitely come back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.