HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.

Bardi's Steakhouse

4.2
289 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Business Meals
  • Good for a Date
  • Notable Wine List
Bardi’s Steak House is a single unit, traditional steakhouse, owner operated since 1966. We are located in Toronto’s theatre and financial districts, adjacent to the Fairmont Royal York Hotel, and steps from Metro Toronto Convention Centre, Rogers Centre, and Air Canada Centre. Over the years Bardi’s has developed an international reputation for quality food and exceptional service; Serving only "Certified Angus Beef" TM, naturally aged, cut and trimmed on premise. Fresh Atlantic salmon, chicken and ribs are also available. We offer an extensive wine list and are the recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine “Award of Excellence” since 1994.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(416) 366-9211
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
just north of Front St.
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine
What 289 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2  based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.0
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Quiet
79% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
PeterK (Central Coast)
1.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Very disappointed sad to say. Looked like a classic and I have heard some good things but the steaks were overdone and there was not much thought given to service at all once the food came out...in fact, the waiter didn't even stick around to grab the chit from the debit machine.

Location is great before a game but way overpriced. I don't mind paying at all, but the value and the food was lousy. Heading back to Mortons next time.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
4.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Great food and great service. However I think it’s a $$ not a $$

Report
Helpful
MichaelD (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Awesome place. Great staff. The food was hot and very tasty! 👍

Report
Helpful
IanM (Miami)
5.0  Dined on January 18, 2018

Conveniently located to major venues. Top and consistent quality, and first-rate, efficient and courteous service regardless of the number of patrons. Good wine menu, and generous bar drinks.

Report
Helpful
vipJCSK (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on January 16, 2018

Nothing has changed in 30 years, and I like it that way!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Las Vegas)
2.0  Dined on January 10, 2018

disappointing food quality for the price. Steaks unimpressive for $40 each; asparagus over cooked; service adequate but seemly reluctant; good atmosphere for a business dinner with appropriate noise level to allow good conversation

Report
Helpful
Abbagaile2017 (Toronto)
2.0  Dined on January 6, 2018

Truly disappointed, party of 3, friends night out. The host literally threw the menus at us on the table, he then stood at the bar and complained about a table, calling them socialites, 1 of 3 meals ordered came out cold. ( this was taken off the bill) . We all felt that we were an inconvenience and the overall experience there was less than enjoyable. I felt badly as they gave me the choice to pick and they too, will not refer this place. Very unfortunate.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
1.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

I was very disappointed by this restaurant. The service was very pleasant and my rib steak was very good. My wife had the salmon and it was mediocre. The meal was extremely expensive, the restaurant was filthy (I don't think the carpet has been cleaned, let alone changed in the 50+ years of operation). One would think that at these prices they could afford someone to clean under the baseboard heaters that are clearly visible to the diners. a one once, watered-down single malt scotch fro $27.50 is outrageous!! The prices on the website are not the prices on the menu.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
2.0  Dined on December 27, 2017

Very disappointed for upscale restaurant -we staying at Royal York. caesar salad..no bacon..no fresh parm..crab cakes almost burnt- served as soon as ordered..almost like leftovers. Steak served with plain cold baked potatoe and frozen butter cube, a piece of parsley and one cherry tomatoe!! .i sent back to reheat. Pathetic !! Only good thing was the $55 bottle of cheap white wine & my 3 friends company. Better off going to Loose Moose for excellent service, hot pub food!!

Report
Helpful
Molly (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on December 20, 2017

We enjoyed a very good meal. The Brussel sprouts are exceptional!

Report
Helpful
vipRJJN (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on December 19, 2017

As always, Bardi’s did not disappoint. Great food and truly professional staff. Excellent

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on December 16, 2017

Birthday celebration. We had a great time and the food was outstanding! Excellent service and value for money!

Report
Helpful
LegalBegal2015dreamteamsm (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on December 16, 2017

The service was great, out waiter was polite, knowledgeable, funny and more. Food was great, not too much and not too little. Steak was done to perfection! Thoroughly enjoyed all of it.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on December 15, 2017

Friendly waiters and comfortable environment. Really good steak!!

Report
Helpful
stpdls (Toronto)
2.0  Dined on December 12, 2017

Ordered a medium rare and got an almost well done steak. Should have sent the steak back to the kitchen. At this price range, there are better choices. Would not go back.

Report
Helpful
LEAFGAME (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on December 6, 2017

Medium rare steak came out medium well. Apart from that, this one time, this is my favorite pre-Leaf game steak house. Hands down my favorite.

Report
Helpful
Grant (Calgary)
4.0  Dined on November 30, 2017

Great evening and relatively good wine list.

Wine was too pricey for value and not enough nice reasonably priced choices however I will go back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Edmonton)
2.0  Dined on November 20, 2017

Would not go back to this restaurant. I go to many high end steakhouses in my business travels and this by far ranks near the bottom. My associate ordered chicken which was extremely crispy dry and when brought to the waiter's attention he just shrugged his shoulders and commented that we were in a steakhouse! While my blue cheese crusted filet was very good, don't order the chicken or seafood that they offer, the apparently take no responsibility! The waiter acted as though he just didn't want to be there and quite frankly should be working in a job that involves machines, not people.

For an aged 'classic' restaurant it lacked charm and personality. When you are paying their menu prices I expect much better. Be warned!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
3.0  Dined on November 20, 2017

I brought my son for a pre-Leaf game meal. He always loved the filet-mignon and I always chose the bone in rib eye. Prices were higher than I remember and both my son and I agreed the steaks were not as tasty as our previous visits. I mark the score for value as poor because of the overall food experience was not up to par.

Report
Helpful
vipMikeB (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on November 17, 2017

Outstanding as usual! I frequent this restaurant at least quarterly and consider it the best steakhouse in Toronto.

Report
Helpful
JustMe 
4.0  Dined on November 8, 2017

We visit Toronto occasionally and my husband had noticed Bardi's and had wanted to try it for years. Fortunately, we made a reservation for 7pm on a Wednesday night as it was full when we arrived. We had a short wait however, and we found the waiter friendly and very efficient. The steak we ordered was excellent, as was the Caesar salad and the side of asparagus was done perfectly. Our only criticism was the pricey wine list. We had read a review that mentioned the dated decor but in this age of chain restaurants it was a nice contrast to be in a place that values food and service over decor. That observation seemed to be shared by the other diners who seemed to be local business people.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
1.0  Dined on November 4, 2017

We should have gotten a hint when we walked in on a Saturday night and the place was empty.
It looks like it was probably nice once but it's quite shabby looking now. The crab cakes were small, oily and mostly just flavored bread crumbs. the brussel sprouts were clearly old and reheated. My $60.00 steak was thin and fatty. Our waiter was friendly and did his best, but overall it was a huge disappointment. It's really frustrating when you spend a lot of money for a lousy meal. We were planning on going out afterwards but had to go home because I felt ill.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Ottawa)
3.0  Dined on October 26, 2017

Very average a big disappointment from other visits

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on October 21, 2017

My steak was exceptional - there's a reason why they've been around forever. Also, the best fried calamari I've ever had. Sure, it's expensive, but what would you expect? Morton's, Barberian's, this is what you're paying for.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on October 18, 2017

service was great, food was delicious and great ambiance

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on October 13, 2017

Great Food would go again when we are back in Toronto! GREAT SERVICE!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on September 30, 2017

What a great place! You won't get a better steak in the city. Service was friendly and flawless.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Ottawa)
4.0  Dined on September 23, 2017

The steaks were superb, accompaniments were good, the ambiance was friendly and welcoming. While the decor is a little tired it adds to the charm. Very much recommended.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
2.0  Dined on September 21, 2017

Over the years my wife and I have made a point of getting to Toronto's classic steak houses. We finally got to Bardi's.

It is adequate and, as such, overpriced.

The Caesar salad of iceberg lettuce seems to have come from a ready-to-serve, mix-and-eat kit in a bag. It was fresh and tasty. But at $12, which is the top of the price range for that product, there is a lack of value. It gave me the impression they weren't really trying and that there was a bigger concern about consistency over quality.

It was the same with the rice I had as a side. It seemed like a boil-in-bag product. (I would have ordered mashed potatoes had they been an option.) My wife had no complaints about her baked potato, which she had with a generous dollop of sour cream and a sprinkling of chives.

The steak -- a 10oz, New York -- was fine. Juicy, tasty, good density and properly cooked. At $55 it comes in at the top of the price range for that cut. I've had better for less.

The portions were good. Not too small, not too big. The presentation was plain.

I felt the service was very good. Our waiter was good natured, knowledgeable and attentive without being intrusive. He doubled as the bartender for us and the drinks were well made.

The atmosphere is a little "worn-out". I noticed a slight musty smell, which may mean it's time to change the carpets/upholstery. We dined relatively early, 7pm, and it was quiet. Bardi's is not a big restaurant so it might "feel" different when it's busy.

The location makes it a convenient choice.

Report
Helpful
Molly (Toronto)
3.0  Dined on September 21, 2017

We were celebrating a friend's birthday The food was good. The service was great. The only comment I would have is that we didn't get to choose dessert. We were given dessert for my friend's birthday, but it would have been nice to have a choice.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10