About Bardi's Steakhouse

56 York St.
Toronto, ON M5J 1S8
View Larger Map

Bardi’s Steak House is a single unit, traditional steakhouse, owner operated since 1966. We are located in Toronto’s theatre and financial districts, adjacent to the Fairmont Royal York Hotel, and steps from Metro Toronto Convention Centre, Rogers Centre, and Air Canada Centre. Over the years Bardi’s has developed an international reputation for quality food and exceptional service; Serving only "Certified Angus Beef" TM, naturally aged, cut and trimmed on premise. Fresh Atlantic salmon, chicken and ribs are also available. We offer an extensive wine list and are the recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine “Award of Excellence” since 1994.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
just north of Front St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 366-9211

Website:
http://www.bardis.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Private Dining

We are pleased to offer a private setting for about 24 guests adjacent to our wine cellar and overlooking historic York St. buildings such as the Fairmont Royal York Hotel and Union Station. Bardi’s boardroom, with a floor to ceiling marble fireplace, presents a perfect setting for up to 16.

Bardi's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Toronto
Steakhouse
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Financial District ›

Special Occasion (16)
Notable Wine List (12)
Romantic (11)
See All
Good for Groups (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Authentic (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Business Meals (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Historic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Casual (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Private Room (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Cozy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
188 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very attentive service. Remarkable win ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Very attentive service. Remarkable wine list. This restaurant is celebrating its 50 year anniversary, so lots of wood, close seating, and challenging restrooms!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was there for a business dinner, excelle ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Was there for a business dinner, excellent service and the best steak in the City.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Historic, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

On my second visit to Toronto this resta ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

On my second visit to Toronto this restaurant was suggested by the Concierge at my hotel when I asked for an upscale steak place nearby. Great central location close to all of the tourist stuff as well as the financial district. Very nice decor and ambience, great staff, very friendly and informative. Wine list was amazing and food was outstanding. I had the bone-in rib eye and my date had the Sea Bass. Both were well above average in taste and preparation. After dinner we chatted with the Manager for quite a while past closing time and enjoyed it all immensely. Best meal we had while in Toronto, and the first place I'll eat next time I'm in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The manager, Jamie was extremely helpful ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The manager, Jamie was extremely helpful and cordial. It was a nice, traditional steakhouse.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was for my wife's birthday and th ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Dinner was for my wife's birthday and the food was excellent and the service was exceptional. Would definitely recommend this to anyone for a special occasions

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband ordered the 20 0z bone-in rib ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My husband ordered the 20 0z bone-in rib steak and was very happy with his choice. I had the boef bourginon and it tasted very tomato-y. as if it had not been simmered on the stove long enough to truly blend all the flavors. The feta cheese on my tomato salad beforehand was excellent, as was the bread that was brought out to our table. Service was a bit slow, especially given the fact that it was a very quiet evening.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I highly recommend Bardis. Whenever I am ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I highly recommend Bardis. Whenever I am in town I always plan 1-2 meals. The wind list and cellar is unbelievable

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unlike most Toronto steakhouses, Bardi's ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Unlike most Toronto steakhouses, Bardi's is unpretentious and a good value for the money. It was a relaxing experience and the service wasn't too over-the-top. We'll definitely come back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We held a business lunch / going away sp ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We held a business lunch / going away special occasion at Bardi's today. It was nothing short of fantastic. The food was delicious and well-priced, the ambiance was wonderful as we had the second floor and a great table, not noisy, extremely comfortable seating and the staff was the best. Very friendly, experienced and professional. I recommend Bardi's for executive business meetings, as well as personal special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for a dinner, and to try the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Went there for a dinner, and to try the steak since we like to try different steak houses.

This place certainly is old-school; the ambiance is nothing really special, though.

The steak however was quite tasty. But the salads especially the caesar were lackluster--tasted like store-bought fare, and not the kind you get at the finer steak houses where they prepare the dressing in front of you.

I might return--but I wouldn't go out of my way. For a bit more than this pricing you can go to Hy's where the ambiance, salad and service is much better. Or for even a bit more you can go to the king, Jacob & Co.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Service was exceptional. Our waiter was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Service was exceptional. Our waiter was kind, attentive and made great recommendations. Truly remarkable and memorable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

My favourite steak house in Toronto

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

I always come back to Bardis. It is your traditional steak house with fantastic cuts of beef and the best wine list in Toronto. I always like having my meals on the second floor adjacent to the wine cellar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the best

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

been coming here for 25 years..still the best! great for clients and getting take out...they don't smother in butter like ruth chris

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and wonderful service!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

My husband and I would definitely return to Bardi's again! We had an absolutely delicious meal from start to finish, and the service was excellent. Our server Sal was very attentive and had great tableside manner. :) Thank you Bardi's!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not a good value

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

I asked the waiter for their "signature steak" and he told me it was the New York. I ordered it and it was disappointing to be honest. There was nothing extraordinary about the steak, how it was prepared, etc. Not a good value for the price. I have had a New York at The Keg many times and it is a better steak for better price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Great Steak!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The NY Strip steak is very good. It was cooked to perfection, and tasted very good. We weren't overly impressed with the demeanor of the waiters, they barely spoke. We had to ask for water halfway through the meal, to me when you are paying over $50 bucks a meal you shouldn't have to do that. The bread at the beginning could have been better, reminded me of heated up Aunt Millies or something. The place could use a renovation also...... but the steak WAS good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great steaks and server was attentive. Expensive!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Though the steaks were delicious and cooked to our preference, I could not afford to eat at Bardi's for other than special occasions once per year. AIso, I am celiac, and I don't believe the server knew what that meant. Educating servers on dietary restrictions should be part of a restaurant's responsibility to its patrons.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It is like an 80's steakhouse but we are in 2016

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Food is salty. The quality of food dose not worth the price. We ordered medium rare sirloins but it turned out medium well. The fries are salty and soggy. The garlic bread is made of cheap toast. I would like to suggest owners and the chef should go explore other restaurants and see how do they make good steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Steak was AWESOME!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

The service was excellent. Steak was cooked to perfection - nothing missing when it was brought to the table. Our party of 3 was delighted with everything and will definitely go back next time we are in Toronto. The steak melted in your mouth.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bardies is the Best

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

The food, ambiance, service has not changed in decades, nor have the staff, who greet you and take care of you in an unobtrusive but observant manner. Best steakhouse in Toronto. Steaks done perfectly as is everything else.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Throwback to the 1970s

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

I was prepared for an old-fashioned dining experience, and in that sense Bardi's doesn't disappoint. It looks like it hasn't been redecorated for several decades, nor has the menu changed in that time period. This would have been fine had the food and service been good - they weren't. The salmon was over-cooked and the accompanying vegetables very bland. My friend's ribs and fries looked like they were frozen. The server first forgot the fries, then later forgot our requested dessert. Might be understandable if the restaurant was busy, but it was about one third full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Saturday night at Bardi's

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The food and steaks here were very good. However, it is a real mistake for customers to come to this place on a Saturday night when hockey is in town. The waiters were hurrying around to serve hockey patrons first so we were left ignored. 50 mins between appetizer and dinner. When you are paying 200$ for dinners for two you should be treated like royalty. Nobody asked us if we would like coffee afterwards and dessert menu appeared 30 mins after dinner when we really had enough of the place. Avoid this restaurant on hockey - basketball nights. There are some excellent alternatives in the City for top class steaks where you will not have to put up with this nonsense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

We went to celebrate, and had a lovely t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We went to celebrate, and had a lovely time. Although I don't drink there was a lovely wine list. My favourite part was the simple, one-page menu, all in dollars. Excellent service.

It was All-Star weekend, so the crowd was mostly tourists, and it got loud by dessert.

Otherwise an A+

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Luxurious dining

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

The place is great for a business dinner (small group) and also perfect for a romantic dining. The meal quality/presentation/service are perfect.

The manager and the staff are very professional.

Be ready to spend $$$$. We had a 'Travelzoo dinner for 2' voucher, so that was a pretty good affordable deal, otherwise we wouldn't go bcz it's expensive. But, we appreciate the given opportunity to visit that high rank restourant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

In Toronto for a business event and have eaten here twice in 3 days. Salvatore, our waiter was so accommodating and friendly, given we had an expense limit. All the staff was funny and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed the steak, which was perfect. The salmon dish was also very good. The scallops were amazing! You won't be disappointed. Telling all my co-workers about it.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Downtown Gem!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

A fabulous meal to end our T.O. trip. Wine list was impressive, and our server understood client service!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Melt in your mouth filet!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

The entrée was done to perfection. The shrimp cocktail was a nice 5-10 count. The peppercorn sauce on the side was yummy but expensive. The staff understood we had a timeline to meet. Service was friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Niced but rushed.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Reservation was for 8pm and we seated on time. Greeted quickly and offered a cocktail which appeared in seconds it seemed. That would be the pace for the rest of the evening. The previous course replaced instantly with the next in rapid succession. Made the evening seemed rushed and the table busy as people came and went hurriedly. No time for conversation with our company. Maybe Saturday night isn't a good time. I think everyone wanted to go home.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We found the menu very limited and very ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

We found the menu very limited and very expensive. They was no reasonably priced wine. A glass of house wine was even expensive. Our waiter was not at all friendly. None of our party of four would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Great for steak

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

The steaks were excellent but on the large size, so go hungry! Not cheap....a classic steak house with very few other choices. Salads were very good and the service was what you'd expect from a high end restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I took my boyfriend for his 50th birthda ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

I took my boyfriend for his 50th birthday. Great food and service. Dated building but that was perfect for us . The steak was amazing and cooked to perfection. Most memorable dinner😊

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steak

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

Their Bardi's special is one of the best bone-in Rib eye in GTA. For app the cheese bread is amazing and so are the escargots. I have been going to tis steakhouse for the last 15 years and the steak has been cooked right EVERY single time. I would like to see a few more wines under $50 to make it easy on the wallet for everyone. The staff are always polite which makes the dining experience that much better

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good steak dated decor

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

We received a gift card, or else we would have passed. The food was decent, it is an ok steakhouse, service is very attentive, but the decor is depressing and it feels like a step back in time. Prices are on the higher end (but moderate for a steak house) but other than the steak itself none of the sides were very distinctive or memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

Good place for a steak dinner before the game

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

The Good:

Ordered the Bardi's Special steak and it was tender, flavourful and cooked as requested.

Brussels sprouts ordered as a side were excellent

Very good, albeit expensive wine list. Nothing under $45 and majority are well over $100. Lots of high-end choices for those on expense account dinners

Fried Calamari was very tender and accompanying sauce had just the right bite. Big enough for two people to share as an appetizer. Good value for $12.

Service was pretty quick

My turn-offs:

Although our table was set with bread plates, we were never offered bread/rolls

No draft beer - just bottles

We were seated upstairs and the room felt cramped and decor nothing special

The waiter pretty much shook our 10 year old bottle of wine as he looked at it and moved it around before offering to decant it. If you are going to have a high-end "Wine spectator" wine list, could you at least train your staff on how to handle wine?

For the price we paid, there are FAR better restaurants serving innovative cuisine with a more professional staff in nicer ambience

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Classic and quaint with top quality cuts.

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

Being a regular business traveller to the downtown Toronto area, often staying at the Royal York or Intercontinental I had passed Bardi's more times that I could count, but always opted for another spot for various reasons. This past trip I told myself I would quit wondering and make a reservation. Bardi's is the classic steakhouse. It's small and offer a warm authentic charm. The bar area is limited and doesn't offer much atmosphere so don't show up too early, however the food was very good and the quality of meat in my opinion rivals other tops steakhouses in the area such as Hy's, Jacobs, Habour etc. If you want a very nice meal without interuptions and a lot of noise, but not a stuffy atmosphere then Bardi's is a solid choice. And the location is incredibly convenient. 3 minute walk from Union, ACC etc

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Perfect business lunch

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 2, 2015

A steakhouse classic. Great service...

Clearly have the steak, but only after the garlic cheese bread !

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

Very friendly personnel, excellent food. The steaks were extraordinary and the wine was excellent. And all for a reasonable price. The perfect place for our 20th anniversary.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wine list

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 18, 2015

Excellent wine list, however should include a few more less expensive wines

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bardi's Steakhouse ... a big hit!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 4, 2015

We enjoyed out wedding anniversary at Bardi's having never been there before. Service was on the slow side, if you were in a rush for a hockey game. However, the food was excellent. Unfortunately, some of the patrons in our small room were very outspoken and loud, This was the only disappointing feature of our visit. Assuming this is rarely the case, we would heartily recommend this eatery to our friends.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid lunch spot

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 29, 2015

Hadn't noticed Bardi's before their new sign was put up.

Old style steakhouse with solid lunch menu (good value steaks when compared with the regular steak menu) and good service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.