Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Bardi's Steakhouse

Bardi’s Steak House is a single unit, traditional steakhouse, owner operated since 1966. We are located in Toronto’s theatre and financial districts, adjacent to the Fairmont Royal York Hotel, and steps from Metro Toronto Convention Centre, Rogers Centre, and Air Canada Centre. Over the years Bardi’s has developed an international reputation for quality food and exceptional service; Serving only "Certified Angus Beef" TM, naturally aged, cut and trimmed on premise. Fresh Atlantic salmon, chicken and ribs are also available. We offer an extensive wine list and are the recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine “Award of Excellence” since 1994.

56 York St.
Toronto, ON M5J 1S8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
just north of Front St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 366-9211

Website:
http://www.bardis.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Bardi's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (11)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Notable Wine List (7)
Casual (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Healthy (2)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 3 days ago

The steaks were superb, accompaniments were good, the ambiance was friendly and welcoming. While the decor is a little tired it adds to the charm. Very much recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Over the years my wife and I have made a point of getting to Toronto's classic steak houses. We finally got to Bardi's.

It is adequate and, as such, overpriced.

The Caesar salad of iceberg lettuce seems to have come from a ready-to-serve, mix-and-eat kit in a bag. It was fresh and tasty. But at $12, which is the top of the price range for that product, there is a lack of value. It gave me the impression they weren't really trying and that there was a bigger concern about consistency over quality.

It was the same with the rice I had as a side. It seemed like a boil-in-bag product. (I would have ordered mashed potatoes had they been an option.) My wife had no complaints about her baked potato, which she had with a generous dollop of sour cream and a sprinkling of chives.

The steak -- a 10oz, New York -- was fine. Juicy, tasty, good density and properly cooked. At $55 it comes in at the top of the price range for that cut. I've had better for less.

The portions were good. Not too small, not too big. The presentation was plain.

I felt the service was very good. Our waiter was good natured, knowledgeable and attentive without being intrusive. He doubled as the bartender for us and the drinks were well made.

The atmosphere is a little "worn-out". I noticed a slight musty smell, which may mean it's time to change the carpets/upholstery. We dined relatively early, 7pm, and it was quiet. Bardi's is not a big restaurant so it might "feel" different when it's busy.

The location makes it a convenient choice.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

We were celebrating a friend's birthday The food was good. The service was great. The only comment I would have is that we didn't get to choose dessert. We were given dessert for my friend's birthday, but it would have been nice to have a choice.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Expectation was greater than the overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent food and Wine, the steaks were great, the staff created a tasty dish for a vegetarian in our group who said the meal was lovely. The service was good except for skipping one person asking if they would like wine and the other for a dessert. We were given a great quiet table upstairs which was perfect for our not so quiet group. We all had a great time.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

The service was professional and personable. The food was tasty and served appropriately within timeframe. Will recommend to others.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great wine selection. Fantastic veal chop. Escargot was great as well. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The steaks were very tasty and tender, but mine was slightly overcooked. Overall, the meal was tasty but a fair bit overpriced. Wine list was extensive and service was awesome. The ambience was nice for a quiet night out with my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was delicious and service was outstanding. Great atmosphere which made for an overall wonderful experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Super service. Tasty food. What more can I say......................?

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Steak was over cook asked for Medium Well it was well done. Food was grossly overpriced for the substandard quality. Waiter was inattentive almost snobbish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

My daughter and I wanted to get out for a nice steak dinner after attending some work events during the day. We searched around for a steak house, and many had full reservations until late in the evening. Bardi's had immediate seating, so we went.

Upon arrival, the place looked a bit dark and dated. However, as I adjusted to the lighting and environment, I realized that this old, eclectic place was full of history. The fast and friendly waiters proceeded to give us a full history of the joint, as well as some insight into their sourcing practices and training.

Of course, the food was fabulous and our experience overall was amazing. If you're looking for a super modern, fancy steak house, this is not your place. If you appreciate a long running restaurant with a great history, service, and food, check it out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Pricey but worth it. Hubby loves his steak Pittsburgh blue and Bardi's is one of the few restaurants that do it well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Not overly impressed. Service was perfunctionary. The restaurant looks old and tired on both levels. The food was overpriced for the very mediocre quality. Five of us had steak, and they were all tough. Tasted more like a steak at a diner than what I expect for $40. The lettuce was wilted or rusted in 3 out of 4 salads at our table. I would have had a better meal and paid less at the keg. For a restaurant claiming to be at the level of Jacobs, Harbour or the Barbarian, it isn't. The wine list was excellent but that does not make s restaurant. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Qatar)·Dined on June 20, 2017

good feel, good steak, good service, good wine, says it all

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Low key place with excellent steak. Cooked perfectly with great sides.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (東京)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Was a little disappointed, having not been to Bardis in a while and had previously always had a good experience. However, I went with my three sons for a special "boys' night out", and all of us received steaks that were overlooked versus what was requested. The side dishes were all very good - steamed vegetables, Brussels sprouts and asparagus. It would have been good if they had told us that the steamed veggies included asparagus though! The service was attentive, and the desserts at the end did help finish the night on a high, but overall less than expected from a premium steakhouse.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great place to share a meal with friends. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 25, 2017

I had the scallops. It was one of the best meals I have ever had. The creme brulée was perfection. They have an amazing wine cellar. Wonderful established restaurant, top in it's class.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The staff is attentive, personally remembers you. Extremely clean environment. Welcoming. Food is absolutely delicious and done to your ask.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The prices were ridiculous. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I am in Toronto regularly and thought I would give this highly rated restaurant a try. The service was terrible (it appears on purpose). The food is VERY expensive (no doubt they were going for that). The over all experience was unimpressive. There are fantastic options in Toronto and avoid this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Our server Jamie was great, very knowledgable about wines. Supper was great too.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 25, 2017

As always an excellent choice. Food was perfect as well as the service. Only problem was the Leafs lost to the Habs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Fantastic service and great wine list. One of the best steak houses in the city.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

A little pricey but you pay for the ambiance and service. The steak was good but for that price I expect to be wowed. Presentation of food was nothing special. This place seems great for a special/romantic occasion or for wine lovers (nice big wine room on the second floor). Service is fantastic including the people at the front taking your coat and showing you to your seat, very classy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Bardi's is a throwback to an old time steak house . Simple , but well done menu . Can be rushed pre Leafs or Raptors . Steaks are cooked to perfection . Friendly and not pretentious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Great service, food and wine. Jaime is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Lovely, quiet restaurant with very friendly staff. Although it is a steakhouse - and the steaks we saw going by looked lovely - we both had the salmon that was perfectly cooked, along with perfectly cooked vegetables. The service was exceptional. It is nice to find a downtown restaurant that you can actually have a conversation in.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The steak was okay but not nearly good enough for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were celebrating our 24th anniversary, the service was fantastic the food was outstanding. So glad we selected Bardi's. I am sure you will enjoy the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Good business restaurant... excellent wine list and selection

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was good. And for a lower price bracket I would have given this place a better score. For the price paid I expected service and ambiance at the level of a Ruth Chris Steak house. The soup was spilled on the plate and was served that way. The atmosphere felt more like the good boys going out fro a steak before a hockey game and not like a fine dinning experience - the price was definitely fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent location and a restaurant you can rely upon for consistently good food and service.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Over price and below average service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

First visit , in Toronto for the IIHF game on New Years Eve wonderful dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food and ambiance was good. Main dish took too long to get served considering it wasn't a busy time. We noticed after we paid our bill that 6 items worth $200 were added on our bill that we didn't order. Called the restaurant back and they refunded us back our $200. Could be an error but 6 items added seemed odd.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Lovely restaurant, cozy and a bit old-school style. Food is great, probably the best I had in Toronto!
Server is professional and nice. Value for money.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Even though we booked through open table, the waiter literally greeted us as such: "hah, well we're almost closed but whatever" in a rude and snarky way. I wasn't even able to mouth the words "we have a reservation" before he rushed us to a table. It was clear we ruined this guy's night. Sorry that we booked an 8:45 reservation and the place closes at 10pm. I get it, but maybe don't offer 8:45 tables? For the record, 9pm was even an option. This was a Friday night too. This waiter was pushy and clearly wanted us out as quick as possible. He was able to at least remain somewhat professional, and then seemingly disappeared (I'm guessing went home?) while another waiter took over. This man was much more polite and even a little humorous. I wish we had this guy from the beginning. Though more polite, I couldn't help but to feel awkward and rushed throughout the entire meal. This all because of the way we were initially greeted us. It literally ruined our experience as it made us feel like we were inconveniencing the staff. For the record the shrimp in garlic butter was delicious, and the steaks were perfect. The meal ended in a bit of a rushed way as well, as we even had a non-staff member help clear our table. This man was a friend of the polite waiter who introduced himself to my date and I as such. Again, though polite, this was a bit awkward and made us feel even more rushed. Not to mention he stood by our table and made awkward small talk for close to 5 minutes. I guess he couldn't take a hint, but maybe this was also a way to hurry us up as we were the only table left in the restaurant. It was a tad uncomfortable. Overall, the delicious meals were overshadowed by the first waiter and his initial comments, which made everything feel rushed, even if at this point it was just in my head. Would still recommend I suppose, just go well before close.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Whenever I come to town I always go to Bardis. They make the best steaks in Toronto!! I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.