About Barcola Bistro

5607, Parc Ave
Montreal, QC H2V 4H2
View Larger Map

At Barcola Bistro you will experience authentic Italian cuisine inspired by the traditional recipes of Northern Italy and a menu that changes every day.

Chef Fabrizio Caprioli will bring you on a culinary journey to the heart of the old continent, where local tradition takes root in the rich Italian soil.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday - Friday: 7:30am - 11:00pm
Saturday: 8:30am - 11pm
Sunday: 8:30am- 4pm

Cross Street:
St-Viateur

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(438) 384-1112

Website:
http://www.barcolabistro.com/

Catering:
Fresh seafood entrees, cold cuts and cheese, classic Italian specialties and much, much more. We can work with your specific requirements to offer you service that will fit your need.

Executive Chef:
Fabrizio Caprioli

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Barcola Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.8

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (3)
Romantic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
See All
Fit for Foodies (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
21 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful authentic Italian cuisine. The ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Wonderful authentic Italian cuisine. The menu is original yet familiar at the same time.

down to earth ambiance with great service and upscale wine choices.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stupidity Trumps the Food

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

The restaurant is very cozy and considerably more quiet than most, but the banquette seats (if you're unfortunate enough to sit in one instead of a chair) are most uncomfortable (you're sitting on a hard wooden bench with no pillow, and wood molding on the wall at the back of the banquette pushes you forward), and the menu is extremely limited. I fail to understand how an Italian restaurant can offer only 3 choices of main course, and 2 of them are pasta. Most infuriating is that when I asked for some parmesan or other cheese to sprinkle over my pasta, I was told the restaurant had none, even though one of my dining companions chose a pasta that in fact had parmesan cheese on top of it. Was the restaurant running short? Do they actually mete out the cheese so that they only have enough for that one dish? It's really too bad that I was not made to feel comfortable in either the literal or figurative sense, because the overall food quality is very good, with the freshness of the ingredients really coming through.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Divine tastes, mouthwatering !

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

Although I am italian, I am so impressed by this haute cuisine, high quality, and taste of the spectacular dishes presented, unlike the traditional basic. It was a wow effect every time. Pleasant atmosphere, smiley service, clean.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I was disappointed that the people takin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2015

I was disappointed that the people taking care of the reservation didn't bother to look at the note I had written while making my table booking.

I did not get the table I wanted that stayed empty all night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great home made food !

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 22, 2015

Great homemade food .. simple menu but great taste !!

A wonderful experience!!!! Very friendly service, great quality for price.

Highly recommended!!! Going back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Agreeable spot and savvy menu; service disappoints

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 19, 2015

On a cold Thursday at lunch time, I instantly warmed to the simple but welcoming decor. The menu was short and focussed (3 starters, 3 mains) all of which were very appealing. We tried four of the six options and each was nicely presented and tasty. Tuna Carpaccio Salad and Tagliatelle alla Matriciana were especially good. The sweet potato gnocchi were classy comfort food although the sage was a bit overwhelming. We were unfortunately next to a very noisy group but could have moved since the resto was not full. Prices were predicable for the quality of the food but service was puzzlingly out of keeping with the professionalism in the kitchen -- inaudible server consistently gave the wrong wine, starter, main, and coffee to the wrong person.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Excellent food. Very kind owners.

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 2, 2015

Food is great. Only few choices, meaning fresh products. Always original and looking good. Even our kids of 10 and 4 years old loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 18, 2014

Le menu est simple mais tout avait l'air bon! Bel endroit avec service convivial et sympathique. Le lunch était tout simplement délicieux.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Virée d'un soir en Italie

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 23, 2014

Je recommande ce restaurant avec plaisir. La repas était délicieux. Portions parfaite pour manger les trois services. Le service était très bien et la suggestion de vin très appréciée. Ce n'est pas donné mais on en a pour notre argent. Le fait que le menu change tous les jours donne envie d'y retourner à la découverte de l'Italie dans notre assiette. Ça vaut le détour.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Heartwarming

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 8, 2014

Made an Opentable reservation to celebrate my daughters admission to university. Showed up on a chilly fall night with a "mans cold" and little enthousiasm (beceause of my cold). Barcola brought me back to life with its warm atmosphere, freindly service yet knolegable staff, heartwarming italian food with nice wine pairing recommendations. The chef clearly loves food... and music, his creativness is reflected in his cooking and in his playlists. My 19 yr old daughter enjoyed this first experience as much as her proud old man!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good, but need one more try

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2014

Great little place. Friendly staff. Food was innovative and well pulled together. A little pricey for just a quick night out, but not too bad. Menu was very paired down, but the restaurant does say they change it frequently. Hence, I am tempted to go back and see what else they can do. Then I can make a final decision. Tables are small and very close together. Place was a little dark inside. I did not get a feeling of Italy or Europe, but would not hold that against the place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Dorade royale

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 26, 2014

Nous étions 4 .Mon amie et moi avons choisi la dorade qui s'est avéré plutôt fade, ayant été simplement grillée, sans épices, sans sauce, avec seul accompagnement quelques feuilles d'épinards et une pomme de terre; ce n'était pas mauvais mais c'était decevAnt. Mon mari a adoré son spaghetti aux palourdes et ma fille a appréciée sa pizza. Les entrées et desserts étaient parfAits. J'y retournerais pour essayer le brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

outstanding little gem

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 19, 2014

The chef and his wife are absolutely charming and devoted to the restaurant and the service of their clientele.

My colleague and I could not get over the quality of the food -- the creativity, seasoning, just a 10 out of 10.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Bon, mais pas excellent

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 14, 2014

Quand il n'y a que trois entrées et trois plats sur une carte, le chef a le devoir que ces plats soient parfaits. Ce n'est pas le cas.

L'entrée de brandade de morue et polenta était plate, il manquait du sel? de l'ail? du piment? pour la faire vivre et lui donner un coup de fouet.

Le risotto aux asperges et huile de truffe manquait complètement.... d'huile de truffe!! Aucune trace dans le plat, qui était d'une lassitude extreme.

Par contre, les desserts sont parfaits et généreux.

Une erreur de service a fait que les trois convives n'ont pas mangé leur plat principal en meme temps. Dommage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Delightful neighbourhood bistro

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 12, 2014

Once again I brought an out-of-town visitor -- and once again, my guest was delighted by the food, the service and the warmth of Barcola. It is simple and delightfully so. The food selection is limited -- made from available locally-sourced ingredients. After my third visit, I notice some consistent items which I like very much... I am going again with another visitor this week. Thank goodness I have a reason to return so soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fabulous lunch

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 7, 2014

A birthday lunch for a friend turned out to be much better than expected. Small menu changes every day and highlights local fresh ingredients. Heavenly combinations e. G. Crepes stuffed with squash purée and sausage. Chocolate torte dessert was divine. Excellent wine list wth a reasonably priced white or red by the glass. Warm, welcoming lovely service. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Lowered Expectations

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 5, 2014

I found my experience to be somewhat underwhelming considering all the positive reviews. The meals were delicious but I found the portions to be small in comparison to the price. My girlfriend ordered a risotto that wasn't very visually appealing as it was quite soggy. In terms of service, I found it odd that our waiter was somewhat clueless as to what was on the menu. His description of the meals were lackluster not to mention his ignorance of the ingredients - it isn't normal for a waiter, working in an Italian Bistro, to mention that polenta is a some form of cheese. Even worse, he had no idea that tiramisu contained mascarpone and coffee. We all left a bit disappointed of our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Review Barcola Bistro

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 5, 2014

The quality of the food and value was excellent. However, the choice is rather limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Down to earth, lovely dinner spot

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 1, 2014

Barcola is simple, the way the best things in life are... I have been twice -- once with my family, and once with my dear friend visiting from Toronto. Both experiences were intimate, relaxed and graced by simply delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Cute spot

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 22, 2014

Barcola est un très chouette resto de quartier, on mange comme à la maison mais en mieux :) menu très succinct et simple, nous avons beaucoup aimé. Service discret et compétent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Très déçue par ce petit restaurant

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 21, 2014

Très déçue par ce petit restaurant italien. La nourriture et la présentation étaient très moyennes. Le service était extrêmement lent. Le chef avait également décidé de ne pas faire de dessert ce soir là!? Seul côté positif, ce n'était pas cher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.