About Barcocina - Baltimore

1629 Thames St
Baltimore, MD 21231
View Larger Map

From the group behind Bond Street Social and executive chef Marc Dixon, Barcocina, Baltimore's newest restaurant and social scene in Fell's Point waterfront. The restaurant features Mexican inspired cuisine with fresh ingredients and original twists meant to share amongst friends. Barcocina's cocktail list emphasize fresh squeezed juices for next level freshness and taste. With amazing outdoor space and uninhibited views of the harbor, Barcocina is a premier place to eat, drink and socialize. The beautiful and fully renovated space features glass and aluminum garage door walls that open to the harbor, so every seat indoor and outdoor will make the beautiful harbor view a part of the Barcocina experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Sunday through Thursday 4pm - 10pm
Dinner Friday & Saturday 4pm - 11pm
Lunch Monday through Friday 11 AM - 4 PM
Brunch Saturday 10am - 3pm
Brunch Sunday 10am - 3pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 563-8800

Website:
http://www.barcocina.com/

Additional:
Outdoor dining

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Barcocina is the perfect place to host your next event! Whether you are celebrating a birthday, wedding reception, or a corporate event, we have the flexibility to offer an experience that is tailor made to your needs. We have a dedicated event coordinator that will assist you from beginning to end.

Barcocina - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Baltimore
Scenic View
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Fells Point ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (57)
Scenic View (55)
Good for Groups (48)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Great for Brunch (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Hot Spot (27)
Great for Lunch (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Romantic (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Kid-friendly (7)
Sort By:
Newest
285 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The highly touted Barcocina Guacamole di ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

The highly touted Barcocina Guacamole did not taste very fresh, and was clearly worked too hard by a food processor. You should be able to recognize that an avocado has recently been cut open in a nearby kitchen when you eat guac - this had been machined into a homogeneous green paste with no character of the avocado left to be enjoyed.

In addition, we had the Ancho Fried Chicken, which was nicely cooked (i.e. not over cooked), but was blandly seasoned, and had the annoying problem of the breading separating from the chicken where ever touched by fork or knife. The 'rice grits and legume salsa' was by far the highlight of the meal - delicious!!! Twenty bucks for mediocre chicken with delicious rice doesn't seem to be worth repeating though.

Finally, the restaurant was out of the one beer I selected, so I passed - yet that beer still showed up on the bill. To our waitress's credit, she caught this mistake between presenting the check and picking up my credit card.

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

A great place to share soft tacos and be ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

A great place to share soft tacos and beer. Our group was easily accommodated by the window view to the harbor and in an area away from the noise of the bar. We still had a view of sports on TV and could hear each other. Great value for waterfront dining and an easy walk to Insomnia for cookie dessert after. Obviously a fun spot for singles, but families can co-exist because the front greeters care. Wait staff and bartenders insure you have a good time and help you to navigate the best food and drinks.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Live Sports, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Went with a few friends for a Sunday bru ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went with a few friends for a Sunday brunch, and overall had a good experience. We ate inside due to a sweltering heat wave, but the view was still fantastic and the inside is very modern. The mimosas were a bit on the weak side. The menu had a lot of great choices, and it was explained to us that most of the brunch meals were meant less for sharing than a typical Barcocina entre. Most of my friends enjoyed their food, in particular the chips and salsa trio was amazing. I got the benedict, and while it was maybe a bit bland for my taste it was still enjoyable overall. Service was good and I would definitely go again, but the food was just a little less than I was expecting.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved the guacamole, crab and tomato, ju ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Loved the guacamole, crab and tomato, just the start of a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and cocktails were wonderful, a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food and cocktails were wonderful, and the outdoor seating is the best in Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was great! Friendly staff. Grea ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service was great! Friendly staff. Great job. Food was fair. Hash brown tacos too greasy. Pancake sliders underdone and sauce not very complimentary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great night out for dinner and drinks. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great night out for dinner and drinks. Will return again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Came as a group of 9 for a special 10 ye ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Came as a group of 9 for a special 10 year wedding anniversary celebration. Excellent food as always!! Service could have been better. Bottomless mimosas turned into only 3 because our waitress was no where to be found majority of the time. I come here often and this could make me rethink that. Very disappointed in that. Also we had a few in the party that were waiting for her to come back to the table so they could pay because their parking was about to run out and that was a scare.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Lots of space especially for Fells Point ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Lots of space especially for Fells Point. Good for groups. A little loud unless you're dining outside which is great on a summer night. You get the breeze from the harbor. Food is good. Fresh with clean flavors. I had some picky eaters with me and everyone was able to find something that looked enticing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Barcocina was great. Good was awesome - ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Barcocina was great. Good was awesome - an eclectic Mexican flair with unique options and full of flavor. Our waitress was top notch. Cocktails very refreshing and delicious. The only thing that would have been better is the price. Drinks were outrageous! If it were less expensive I would be a regular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our waterside view and the re ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We enjoyed our waterside view and the refreshing breeze off the Inner Harbor. Food was served in generous portions. We enjoyed the quinoa mango salad, crab guacamole dip and pork tacos. All were most worthy presentations. Our single complaint is that our drink order...a pitcher of a jalapeno gin concoctions was delivered AFTER two of our orders were served and was poorly blended. This was realized only as the final serving contained highly concentrated jalapeno syrup. Spicy!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The best thing about Barcocina is the vi ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The best thing about Barcocina is the view. It's beautiful. It was really really loud though. Our server was sweet. But the food was lacking. We went for brunch. The best part of our meal were the cocktails and corn salsa and fresh chips, which were great.

Other than that, everything was either not good or meh. I got the pork belly brunch dish and it was just soggy chips with a couple very small chunks of indiscernible meat. I had eaten so much of the corn salsa and chips that I was pretty full so I didn't send it back. My husband got a salad with strawberries. I didn't try it but he said it tasted like the lettuce had turned bad and was really soggy and way over-dressed. He ate less than a third of it. My sister got the huevos rancheros and she said it was good but not great.

I would go back again to sit outside with the great view, and where it's quieter, but only order drinks and chips/dips.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

We had an excellent time. Tacos were ama ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had an excellent time. Tacos were amazing, service was fantastic. Would highly recommend going here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great house margaritas - tasty tacos wit ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great house margaritas - tasty tacos with a variety of flavors. Great to share!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great house margarita. Server was very f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great house margarita. Server was very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my new favorite places. The windo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

One of my new favorite places. The windows and light make you feel like you are outside everywhere in the building. Food was good. But a bit cold and lacking in spice and flavor. My drinks where good. I enjoyed myself here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Barcocina has an AWESOME brunch. All of ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Barcocina has an AWESOME brunch. All of their omelets were delicious and the brunch quesadilla was excellent. Prices were reasonable. The option of including a salad or fruit to the entrée was very good. Will definitely go back and try a different entrée.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was great, we will go back. The ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was great, we will go back. The waiter was very unfriendly and non helpful. I took it as RUDE! Maybe it was an off night, or that's how they treat their customers, but he never asked how things were, or recomended anything, or asked about drinks or dessert. I witnessed another waiter, and he seemed friendly and personable, how I like wait staff to be. Hoping for better service next time.

P.S. Nice man bun

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value5

A delicious brunch -- huevos rancheros a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A delicious brunch -- huevos rancheros and ancho cinnamon french toast -- to celebrate my brother's birthday. I especially liked the tangy lime cream on my huevos. The weather was gorgeous and the garage-style windows were all up bringing the outside in. And , of course, the harbor view was sensational. A winner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome view, brunch portions very small ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Awesome view, brunch portions very small, if fruit were added to the meal it would of been filling. Mojitos were ok.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food and service. I love the corn ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great food and service. I love the corn salsa appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious creative tacos!! Highly recomm ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Delicious creative tacos!! Highly recommend the cheeseburger tacos and sangria rosada! Loved the view of the Baltimore Harbor and the service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location and ambience. Good place ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great location and ambience. Good place for drinks and grabbing something to eat without spending a ton of money.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a summer day and wanted a refresh ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It was a summer day and wanted a refreshing beer. My choice was a summer shandy which they didn't have on tap. Megan (I believe her name was) decided to take it upon herself to try and duplicate a summer shandy. She made two samplers which were on point and definitely hit the spot. The food was delicious, my date was hot as balls, and the service was quick and friendly. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall great experience. Vibrant scene ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Overall great experience. Vibrant scene. Great appetizers, salads and tacos. The guacamole was a little disappointing

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I enjoy good Mexican food and sampling g ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I enjoy good Mexican food and sampling good Tequila. You can do that here. Food was very good and the waitress did a good job of explaining their small plates style of sharing. I highly recommend their guac. with balsamic and basil.

Service was somewhat spotty. Several requests for some ice to go along with a martini were ignored. One order was lost altogether but was promptly retrieved when the mistake was acknowledge. Part of the problem wit communication was the noise level. Our petite waitress with a soft voice to match could hardly be heard over the din. We asked her to repeat many of the offerings.

I would go back but not on a Saturday night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

DELICIOSOS Contemporary Mexican AMAZINGLY TASTY!!!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Barcocina has an amazing wrap-around patio, and the entire place opens up giving it a great water-side vibe. The food was absolutely amazing. We enjoyed several different shared dishes - enchiladas, tacos, quesadillas and the B-sprouts. The portions were much larger than anticipated. Make sure to save room for dessert. The chocolate ice cream taco was amazing, and the strawberry shortcake (which was actually a fresh, hot glazed doughnut) was unbelievable! Can't wait to go back for more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On the water in a cool neighborhood, mak ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

On the water in a cool neighborhood, make for a nice afternoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Barcocina was a nice restaurant spot for ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Barcocina was a nice restaurant spot for a casual double date dinner. The view was spectacular and the weather was perfect for sitting outside. The atmosphere was young and vibrant with a lot of 20-30-somethings watching a soccer game on television, drinking, and laughing. The staff was attentive. The food was good, but not spectacular. I had three tacos which were small and tasty, but not out-of-this-world amazing. This restaurant is more up-scale with portions and prices matching the atmosphere, but the food could be better.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Good food and great atmosphere. Went for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Good food and great atmosphere. Went for lunch on a Sunday. It was busy but we were seated right away. The highlight of the meal was the corn salsa--I'm definitely going to try to replicate this at home, it was so yummy. Would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

What a great spot! Right on the water i ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

What a great spot! Right on the water in Fells Point! We were visiting from NY and picked this place on a whim...it was absolutely fantastic. Food was amazing, the staff had great recommendations and we had a lot of fun! Couldn't ask for more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food we ordered was great but they w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food we ordered was great but they were out of so many items on a Saturday night including guacamole.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Surprisingly delightful

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I took a date here over Memorial Day weekend, a Saturday around 1pm. They were very accommodating concerning reservations. I had scheduled one online, but had to call about pushing it back and the hostess was very polite and accommodating. It was a little busy and our waitress gave us plenty of time to talk and catch up, and we nearly forgot that we had to order. We picked two items from the brunch menu, and when they first got to the table,pretty quickly at that, it seemed a bit small for two people to share. Pretty surprisingly though, it was very filling. The atmosphere was very pleasant as friends, families, and dates alike were sharing food and drinks and a breeze rolled in from the harbor with the windows and doors open, providing incredible views. My date and I surely had a great time at Barcocina.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view was better than the food.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The menu is latin themed but mostly a variety of tacos with some unique and some not so unique fillings. My colleagues each had tacos and they shared. In fitting with the theme of the night the tacos looked better than they tasted. Flavors were very meh. Ingredients seemed fresh enough but delivery was sorely lacking. They looked fresh and pretty but flavor wise were really rather mediocre. The Guac was good as was the pan fried brussel sprouts. Staff was happy to push these especially as it added to the overall bill at the end of the night 10 bucks for chip and guac...???

It's hard to beat the open seating atmosphere alongside Baltimore's Inner Harbor, especially on a nice late summer afternoon. But the view was much better than the food and that's not a good thing for hungry diners. Our server seemed overwhelmed despite less than a half full house. She really didn't have a good handle on the meal or the interaction with us from beginning to end. Her top was embarrassingly tight. I liked it but it wasn't appropriate for the venue and made for some interesting dinner discussion among myself and my colleagues. Overall I'd give two out of five stars as a dining experience but drinks for the evening and some apps might be a better fit.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Fun dining on the waterfront. Tasty mod ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Fun dining on the waterfront. Tasty modern Mexican with friendly professional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took our daughter and some of her col ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

We took our daughter and some of her college friends here for dinner. It was mid-week and the place was still quite lively. We were seated by the terrace doors as it was a bit chilly to sit all the way outside, and it was a lovely location. My daughter asked for the table to have the three salsas with chips and they were all very good - we had fun voting on which one was the best. Our part of 6 all ordered tacos for dinner. Each one was fresh, nicely seasoned and delicious. There were no leftovers. The service was efficient, knowledgeable and friendly. It was a terrific evening -- highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Parking was of course a B* at Fells Poin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Parking was of course a B* at Fells Point. Food was good but not great. Beer selection was fair. Not so good on wine. Waitress was a little slow though all in all a good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Barcocina Good Food But Loud!

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

This mexican restaurant on the Baltimore harbor in Fells Point has a great view and walls that open in mild weather. The food, especially the tacos (try the lamb and the pulled pork, maybe stay away from the lemon fish) is very tasty, as is the house margarita ($11). Tacos are about $11 for 3, which is adequate for a meal. The quacamole is bland, and the chip sauces range from mild to very spicy but miss the middle ground. I'll go back for lunch, but not diner -- which was PAINFULLY loud. It's one thing to have an "energetic" vibe, but this is over the top noisy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Always love it! See the same servers oft ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Always love it! See the same servers often so I guess there is little turnover in staff - which is a good sign! Only great comments about the food, flexibility with bringing a toddler, and the orange crushes are a fan fave!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A special Mother's Day

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our first time dining at Barcocina for Mother's Day brunch. Food was tasty, fresh and innovative. Will definitely return for dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.