About BARcelona Tapas - Indianapolis

201 N Delaware
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

BARcelona Tapas prides itself on creating a traditional authentic Tapas Bar atmosphere. This includes a warm decor and the traditional hanging of Serrano hams and dried bacalaos. The service reflects a traditional tapas experience as you might find in Madrid, Barcelona or Sevilla. Small plates of food are prepared to order and delivered one or two at a time, as to encourage sharing of the plates and conversation together with great Sangria.

Barcelona Tapas Indianapolis is an open air restaurant when the weather is nice! Come and enjoy one of our two large patios or sit at the bar and enjoy a breeze through the restaurant on warm summer days.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Mediterranean, European

Hours of Operation:
Full Tapas Menu Served:

Monday through Thursday 11am to 10pm

Friday and Saturday 11am to 11pm

Sunday 4pm to 10pm



Sunday Sangria Brunch:

Sundays 10:30am to 2pm



All you can eat Tapas Lunch Buffet:

Monday through Friday 11am to 2pm



Two for Tuesdays menu:

Tuesday evenings 4pm to 10pm



Happy Hour Menu:

Monday through Friday 3pm to 6pm (bar area only)

Cross Street:
Corner of Delaware and Ohio

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 638-8272

Website:
http://www.barcelonatapas.com/

Entertainment:
Great Spanish Music piped in all day and night!

Catering:
Tapas Party at your home or office? We can do it! We accommodate everything from box lunches to full on-site catering and everything in-between! Please look at our website for more details or call 317-638-TAPA and ask for Michelle or Dennis to set up a delivery or full fledged Tapas Party with or without our Tapas Crew to serve it all for you!

Parking Details:
All surrounding streets are meeter parking on both sides. The meters are free after 9pm through the week. There is a parking garage on the Northwest corner of Ohio and Delaware, a parking garage on the south side of Ohio street between Delaware and Alabama, and a $3 honor lot just north of our building on Delaware which is open after 5pm weekdays and all weekends.

Public Transit:
There are numerous IndyGo bus stops on all streets surrounding us. Please see www.indygo.net/routes.htm for bus schedules.

Executive Chef:
Zachary Rohn

Private Party Facilities:
We have the space for you! Up to 30 of you - that is...... A seperate private dining room with large Barndoors that close, your own music and, of course, our "Party Platters" or simply choose from the Tapas Menu. Call us to help you make this a successful "private party" to remember. In the summer we also have a patio that can be reserved for parties which seats up to 25.

Private Party Contact:
Dennis Gurnell or Michelle Sirum: (317) 638-8272

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

BARcelona Tapas - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (25)
Good for a Date (21)
Casual (19)
See All
Fun (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Authentic (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Family Style (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Spicy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Romantic (4)
Great Beer (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Live Sports (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (0)
Sort By:
S
1242 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food for the price. Service was a l ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food for the price. Service was a little shy, but I would return the next time I am in Indianapolis!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Would have been perfect if just slightly ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Would have been perfect if just slightly more comfortable chairs!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I picked BARcelona because it was late, ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I picked BARcelona because it was late, I didn't want to drive, and it was only a block from my hotel. I am familiar with tapas restaurants and often dine at one in my home town.

The selection was more than adequate. I was surprised at the size of each order - the three tapas I ordered could easily have fed two where I am used to needing three tapas per person, so a big plus on value.

The three I ordered were tasty, but not extraordinary.

The spinach salad was everything it said in the menu, not over-dressed, and very filling, almost a meal in itself.

The sausages were nicely browned but not outstanding in flavor, more like a selection of high-end hotdogs.

The mussels were juicy with a really good, spicy broth that I soaked up with the giant croutons from my salad, but two of them were unopened. Even so there were more than enough that I could have shared.

The dark chocolate brownie suffered from dryness, possibly because by the time I ordered it the brownie was several hours old.

The beer I had was tasty, a seasonal from the Bell brewery. It was not what I ordered, though, as I had ordered the seasonal from Biers, a local brewery. It also did not arrive until well into my meal.

If I was back in Indianapolis I would like to give BARcelona a second try, earlier in the evening, to see if the service was better and the deserts gooier.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy, Tapas, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We really enjoyed our first visit here. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We really enjoyed our first visit here. Dine Indy was the reason we picked BARcelona Tapas! We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten tapas all over the world an ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I have eaten tapas all over the world and I was very disappointed by this restaurant. It was overpriced for what it was. The food was not bad but it wasn't great. The croquettes order only came with three small balls. The cauliflower dish was good but it was in a weird broth that spoiled the dish. The crispy artichokes were very good and I would recommend that. The patatas bravas were not eventually cooked. If you know your tapas food, I wouldn't recommend this spot.

Service was nice and there is lot of seating available. Nice location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Really love the food here. Everything t ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Really love the food here. Everything tasted amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The place was fun. I didn't like the fo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The place was fun. I didn't like the food so well.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We went there after symphony. Our table ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We went there after symphony. Our tables were ready quickly. The waitress greeted us very soon after we were seated; she was friendly and helpful. The tapas on the menu were quite varied. I chose gazpacho to start. It was a bit saltier than I like -- not sure if that was from added salt or impact of inclusion of something that was roasted, but taste otherwise was good, with nice texture. Fried artichokes were very good. Sausage was very filling, not all that tasty. My wife loved her lamb chops and the chocolate brownie dessert. This restaurant has a tendency to get noisy but we sat in a side room that was quieter than the main room. Barcelona has outside seating but it was closed as weather was very cold; looks like it would be fun to sit outside during warmer weather. Overall, a nice evening -- not spectacular -- but we will return to try other menu items.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very much enjoyed the cuisine and the se ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Very much enjoyed the cuisine and the setting. Casual and comfortable. Very good food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Family Style, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I always enjoy Barcelona. The food is v ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I always enjoy Barcelona. The food is very consistent--I always order the roasted cauliflower, then switch up meats. This time, tried the tuna and it was just what I wanted--something light and healthy. We often get the empanadas, which are a favorite, too. The prices are reasonable and the food comes quickly. Now that I've been eating at BARcelona for 7 years (it was 7 years this weekend since first time I ate there!), I wish they'd make some updates. I like that the place has character, but some soft surfaces in the main dining area and bar would go a long way to make it warmer and absorb the noise. The red booths are hard and lumpy. I don't care for the restroom, it's usually a mess and dark. This restaurant is around because it's reliably good food, but I wish they'd do something to give it some love through the years. Literally, the only thing that's changed is they had red plastic Coke cups, then they went to Pepsi for awhile, not sure what they have now since I haven't had a soft drink there in a long time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Very good place for a casual, fun night ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very good place for a casual, fun night out! Waiter really knew the menu and suggested great dishes. Food was very good!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Tapas, Good for Groups, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Happy we got a chance to go while we wer ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Happy we got a chance to go while we were visiting Indy. Great service, the food was excellent, and it had a fun vibe.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had dinner with another co ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 13, 2017

My wife and I had dinner with another couple. The rice in the paella was little undercooked, but the different tapas were fantastic. Our waiter was very attentive and did a great job. Most tables were full, but the crowd wasn't too boisterous. Parking was available close by (street meter and parking garage).

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

NIce friendly, casual atmosphere, good b ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 10, 2017

NIce friendly, casual atmosphere, good bar. Unfortunately, stopping by for a cocktail or beer is all I would recommend this place for. The food is not great. A goat cheese dish I ordered consisted of spaghetti sauce with some goat cheese in the middle, served over pieces of toast. Steak was OK and was cooked to proper degree, but was served with a rich, overly-sweet sauce, as were the accompanying mushrooms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Always enjoy the food at Barcelona. Grea ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always enjoy the food at Barcelona. Great service too. We look forward to dining here when we are in Indy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was hoping for so much more from this ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I was hoping for so much more from this place but my friends and I all left rather disappointed and we'll never go back. This restaurant felt like a chain restaurant with mediocre food quality - not the upscale tapas bar presented online at all. I ended up with major stomach issues for 48 hours after eating a variety of tapas. The waitress was not very attentive nor friendly as she rushed; she seemed too busy making personal phone calls the whole time. It took a long time to get drinks and they were never brought out at the same time. Food quality was subpar, unfortunately.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

I have been going here for years - I am ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I have been going here for years - I am never disappointed! Our Servers - Alexa (at the Bar) and Robert (the teens sat at a separate table) were efficient, knowledgeable and personable. Since I live 45 minutes away, I don't get to eat there as often as I'd like but this was our 6th year of eating there as a family (usually with friends or family in tow) for New Year's Eve.

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food & drink quality has gone downhill. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food & drink quality has gone downhill. This used to be one of our favorite places, but on our last trip our food was sub-par and the sangria tasted watered down. We won't be back after this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Absolutely wonderful food and fun vibes! ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Absolutely wonderful food and fun vibes! A must-do in Indy.

Tags: Spicy, Tapas, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place. Outstanding food. Great ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Love this place. Outstanding food. Great atmosphere & service. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered a set of plates for the table ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We ordered a set of plates for the table of six and shared. All items were good. Lamb, mac and cheese, and calamari were outstanding. Decor is not fancy, but staff friendly and fast. Easy walk from Banker's Life or Circle Center.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Alwasys love this place for spanish tapa ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Alwasys love this place for spanish tapas. Not quite like spain, but great for Indiana!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Compared to Tapas in Spain, some dishes ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Compared to Tapas in Spain, some dishes are a bit disappointing . I can recommend the tuna and the goat cheese, the bacalau was also good. Overall it is americanized tapas especially some of the sauces. On the positive side, it is good for groups to share tapas and the wine is decently priced and of good quality. Some real wine glasses would be nice.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food as usual. We enjoy the ar ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent food as usual. We enjoy the artichokes and all the great small plate variety. For dessert the tres leches is great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have a late lunch and we wanted somet ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We have a late lunch and we wanted something light but delicious. The variety of tapas dishes fit the bill. The Sangria was great. The décor made me feel like I was in a tapas bar in Barcelona.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went in before the memorial circle light ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Went in before the memorial circle lighting- and waitress was great at keeping pace and on time to make it. Food great as well and had a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our experience at Barcelona Tapas is alw ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our experience at Barcelona Tapas is always a pleasant dining experience. It is actually our "go to".

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took the wife there for a lunch before ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I took the wife there for a lunch before the ISO as she has spent time in Spain. We both enjoyed it and will go back again. Our watress was very good and she helped on several dishes by knowing what was in them.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, , Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and server were great. We were seat ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food and server were great. We were seated to a large group (12+) of 20-something Anti-Trump Rally protesters who were very loud and very free with their opinions. This seating arrangement and their loud interactions put a damper on the overall experience. We had had reservations for several days in advance and wondered how we got seated next to such a group.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Bar Seating, Tapas
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Food was good. Service was great. Atmo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was good. Service was great. Atmosphere a bit noisy due to acoustics. Everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. We had a party of 4 adults. Table ordered 3 drinks, plenty of food to fill us up, and we split 2 deserts. Total bill $80. Averages to $20 per person. Good value for a good, unique international meal with drinks and deserts. We will definitely be going again with friends !!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Sunday brunch is excellent, the French t ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Sunday brunch is excellent, the French toast is the best ever!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Casual, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful and energetic waitress! This i ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wonderful and energetic waitress! This is a fun casual eating experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was better than average. We were ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was better than average. We were first met by a disgruntled waiter but moved to a different section and received better service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was horrible. We assume that th ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was horrible. We assume that they use frozen food, microwave it and bring it to the table. Their concept has nothing to do with tapas unless they think putting a little amount of food on a regular size of a white plate is Spanish/ Mexican. We are very disappointed with the quality of good. Their food was not fresh, they do not even make the food there. Additionally, my sangiria was so served in a small water glass full of ice. Everything felt like left over food. Horrible! I would not go to this place again an I also would not recommend it to anyone. Sorry, Barcelona, but my experience was a wAste of money, you need to get a real chef, fresh ingredients, tapas plates and then call yourself a tapas restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

When we arrived, the restaurant was a li ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 9, 2016

When we arrived, the restaurant was a little noisy, requested an outside table. The staff was happy to oblige. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and made excellent recommendations after asking us a few questions. This was our first visit, but will not be our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Try the Salmon!!!!

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Try the Salmon!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great meal and good service! T ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had a great meal and good service! The only thing that was a little less than perfect was the asparagus which was just lukewarm. The chicken wings are absolutely amazing, and the churros are the best ever, hands down!! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I took four teenage girls on Saturday ev ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I took four teenage girls on Saturday evening and they all loved it. We shared several dishes and one paella, as well as two desserts and we all happy and very full!! Loved the goat cheese and mushrooms.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and experience! Will definit ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great food and experience! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating 2 birthdays and had ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were celebrating 2 birthdays and had reserved a table for for 9. Everything was ready even as some of us arrived early. Our waitress was attentive and helpful with menu choices. She brought complimentary tres leches cakes for the birthday celebrants - a nice surprise. We all look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.