About BARcelona Tapas - Indianapolis

201 N Delaware
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

BARcelona Tapas prides itself on creating a traditional authentic Tapas Bar atmosphere. This includes a warm decor and the traditional hanging of Serrano hams and dried bacalaos. The service reflects a traditional tapas experience as you might find in Madrid, Barcelona or Sevilla. Small plates of food are prepared to order and delivered one or two at a time, as to encourage sharing of the plates and conversation together with great Sangria.

Barcelona Tapas Indianapolis is an open air restaurant when the weather is nice! Come and enjoy one of our two large patios or sit at the bar and enjoy a breeze through the restaurant on warm summer days.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Mediterranean, European

Hours of Operation:
Full Tapas Menu Served:

Monday through Thursday 11am to 10pm

Friday and Saturday 11am to 11pm

Sunday 4pm to 9pm



Sunday Sangria Brunch:

Sundays 10:30am to 2pm



All you can eat Tapas Lunch Buffet:

Monday through Friday 11am to 2pm



Two for Tuesdays menu:

Tuesday evenings 4pm to 10pm



Happy Hour Menu:

Monday through Friday 3pm to 6pm (bar area only)

Cross Street:
Corner of Delaware and Ohio

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 638-8272

Website:
http://www.barcelonatapas.com/

Entertainment:
Great Spanish Music piped in all day and night!

Catering:
Tapas Party at your home or office? We can do it! We accommodate everything from box lunches to full on-site catering and everything in-between! Please look at our website for more details or call 317-638-TAPA and ask for Michelle or Dennis to set up a delivery or full fledged Tapas Party with or without our Tapas Crew to serve it all for you!

Parking Details:
All surrounding streets are meeter parking on both sides. The meters are free after 9pm through the week. There is a parking garage on the Northwest corner of Ohio and Delaware, a parking garage on the south side of Ohio street between Delaware and Alabama, and a $3 honor lot just north of our building on Delaware which is open after 5pm weekdays and all weekends.

Public Transit:
There are numerous IndyGo bus stops on all streets surrounding us. Please see www.indygo.net/routes.htm for bus schedules.

Executive Chef:
Zachary Rohn

Private Party Facilities:
We have the space for you! Up to 30 of you - that is...... A seperate private dining room with large Barndoors that close, your own music and, of course, our "Party Platters" or simply choose from the Tapas Menu. Call us to help you make this a successful "private party" to remember. In the summer we also have a patio that can be reserved for parties which seats up to 25.

Private Party Contact:
Dennis Gurnell or Michelle Sirum: 3176388272x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

BARcelona Tapas - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (68)
good for groups (66)
neighborhood gem (35)
See All
special occasion (29)
great for lunch (29)
hot spot (22)
romantic (19)
vibrant bar scene (14)
great for brunch (14)
late-night find (12)
great for outdoor dining (12)
kid-friendly (10)
scenic view (3)
notable wine list (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1110 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and great service! Thanks ...

Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food and great service! Thanks for helping make our anniversary special!!!! Can't wait to visit again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food and quite the bargain

Dined 5 days ago

Dined as a party of two and scored a high-top in the bar area. Our server was polite and knowledgeable steering us to a moderately priced and exceedingly tasty carafe of red wine. We tried four tapas plates - marinated olives, baked goat cheese, grilled asparagus, garlic shrimp and lamp chops. We selected four plates to start, thinking that based on the price we would still be hungry and could order another plate or two later. While the lamb and shrimp were what we consider tapas-sized, the olives, asparagus and baked goat cheese could each feed a group of four quite easily. The price of each item did not hint at this. We asked our waiter about the plate size and he said, "well, this is mid-west tapas." And you know, I'm completely fine with that. I suppose you would rather have someone complain about too much food than too little. All four plates were delicious - especially the garlic shrimp and baked goat cheese - and I didn't leave hungry. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

This was our second visit. First time w ...

Dined 7 days ago

This was our second visit. First time we went for dinner this time lunch buffet. Would have liked to have seen more variety but what was on the buffet was very tasty. I did have to ask them to refill the goat cheese in marinara sauce, the staff was not keeping the items filled. I thought our party was very pleased with the curry chicken delicious and the mac and cheese was absolutely the best I have tasted. The value was outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service4

Baked goat cheese with spicy tomato sauc ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Baked goat cheese with spicy tomato sauce was delicious

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Average experience

Dined on May 14, 2016

Had reservations..seated in an area that was a small room that had large groups of 8-12 per party. So loud we couldn't hear each other talk. Waitress didn't write down our order and forgot one of the things we ordered. Also got the garlic bread but no olive oil like it said on the menu. Would have been helpful if had some guidance on how much food we might order to serve 2 people. Had to keep ordering throughout the meal until we got full. Not impressed at all with the place.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice Place to gather...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our family second gathering at Barcelona Tapas and we have enjoyed it both times. It was a bit noisy but it was Mother's Day. I would recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Terrible Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

This restaurant was highly recommended as a Mother's Day Brunch spot and I have always wanted to try it so we did. The food was almost gone when we got there, the service was terrible (not the server's fault by the way). Had to take the brunch and couldn't order off the regular menu, which is understandable if there was food available in the buffet. They were clearly not ready for the crowd they received. This was very disappointing and because of this experience will probably not go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love it!

Dined on May 6, 2016

We eat here quite a bit but on this occasion we forced ourselves out of our usually menu choices. Our server actually chose most of our meal and it was as awesome as when we order our regular items. The special was a seafood bowl which was amazing. This seems to be one restaurant in Indiana that actually has reasonably priced delicious fresh seafood!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3

Would recommend the chicken wings, white ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Would recommend the chicken wings, white sangria, and large plates with sausage.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoying my friends.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Had lunch with 2 of my good friends Adriana and Fatima, everything was great, we really enjoy it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

A Fun Place Where Tapas is a Passion

Dined on April 30, 2016

I have eaten a lot of tapas; some done well, and some done very poorly. BARcelona definitely puts thought and passion into the food they serve. The atmosphere is casual and welcoming, and our server steered us in good directions as to what to order.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Efficient...and tasty!!

Dined on April 28, 2016

We needed to be in and out in an hour, so we notified our server early on. She was very accommodating, helping to keep the tapas flowing and guiding us in the selection of ones that would work for our palates and schedule.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service1

Very, very poorly managed restaurant. I ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Very, very poorly managed restaurant. I gave it three failed tries and I won't be back. There are so many great options in the Mass Ave area, go somewhere else.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Barcelona Tapas was an awesome restaurant!

Dined on April 23, 2016

From the point we met our server on, the experience was top notch! We enjoyed the ambience, food, and incredibly prompt and insightful service! The team was awesome! I live in Madrid Spain for 5 years and love the Tapas style of dining. Barcelona lived up to what I experienced in Spain and brought some fan favorites to the menu. If you ever need menu suggestions, I can share some more I missed. This was a truly genuine Tapas experience with an extremely knowledgeable and insightful server.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Tapas dishes were excellent and service ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Tapas dishes were excellent and service was really good. The restaurant can get noisy sometimes depending on the crowd. However we had a great time here and will definitely come back

food3
ambience3
service2

Food and portions (even for tapas) vs pr ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Food and portions (even for tapas) vs price is good but we've had much better quality. For example, the Serrano ham was like jerky. The paella, while different, was very good. Sangria was weak and we didn't even bother to finish the small pitcher.

food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Great find

Dined on April 20, 2016

Was looking for something other than a steak restaurant for a bunch of us from work. This fit the bill perfect! There were 7 of us so we ordered 3 of the tasting menus plus some additional dishes. Everything tastes great! The goat cheese was a group favorite as well as the tenderloin. Sone of the dishes took a while to come out of the kitchen but overall it was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great. A great place

Dined on April 19, 2016

The food was great. A great place

food5
ambience5
service5

Slightly expensive, but an amazing resta ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Slightly expensive, but an amazing restaurant. Different dining concept interesting decor and delicious food. Plenty of vegetarian options too!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, great food!

Dined on April 13, 2016

Service was excellent and the food was delicious, can't wait to go back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food at a reasonable price. Fried ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great food at a reasonable price. Fried artichokes was the best to me

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The only tapas place in town

Dined on March 28, 2016

It's hard to find a true Spanish restaurant in Indy, and I can't say for sure how authentic Barcelona is, but I still like it. They offer a wide array of hot and cold tapas. Unfortunately, the tortilla was not very good. Not enough egg, and unecessary addition of spinach. But many of the other ones were quite good. Each plate is small though, so you need to order a lot of them. Or get a paella or fideo -- just be prepared for the wait. This is a good place to go with a group so that you can try a lot of different dishes. I will definitely be frequenting this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday brunch was fully stocked and refr ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Sunday brunch was fully stocked and refreshed by the minute. It had a great selection of hearty dishes, light and fresh options, cheeses, meats, savory, and sweets. Coffee was extra, but I can't have breakfast or sweets without it.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Cool Place

Dined on March 20, 2016

Have the meatballs amazing. Everything they sat down was great , I was delighted and so was my hubby .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Barcelona Tapas Visit

Dined on March 13, 2016

Our reservation was for 9:30 p.m. We were a couple of min late but there were plenty of tables left. We ordered a glass of wine. Shared a cup of the Chef's choice soup-Carrot Soup..it was divine! So much flavor in a little cup! We shared a spinach salad-very good as well! We opted for three Tapas. Grilled Asparagus, Goat Cheese with Tomato Sauce and Grilled Salmon. Everything was so good. My favorite was the Goat Cheese with Tomato Sauce. This was served hot with toasted pieces of bread. The cheese was so creamy! It was very simple, yet complex. There was some chile pepper sprinkled on top. The heat went well with the creaminess of the cheese. For dessert, we shared bread pudding and flan with a cup of cafe con leche. Our waitress was very good, describing menu items and ingredients so we could really know what to expect. Outstanding! I would recommend Barcelona Tapas to anyone. There are so many creations, they will accommodate any palate!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, quick service

Dined on March 5, 2016

We went here twice in two weeks. The host and server remembered us and provided great service. The food, as always, was sent out extremely quick, and was great. No concerns or problems.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Jaded NYer's take on BARcelona Tapas

Dined on March 1, 2016

The atmosphere felt right for a Tapas restaurant and the beer list was impressive. I have eaten Tapas around the world and found the food to be average. We had 5 tapas and Pallia and nothing stood out. All fine but nothing amazing. However, the tres leches cake was excellent. That said, my associate thought everything was great.

food1
ambience2
service4
value2

No more Barcelona!

Dined on February 26, 2016

My husband and I were searching for a great paella and chose Barcelona Tapas. We were very disappointed with the seafood paella. The dish was very salty and seafood sparse. The sauce had little flavor and did not even resemble the paella I remember when dining in Valencia, Spain. So our search continues. . .

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Options and Great Atmosphere

Dined on February 21, 2016

There were so many options on the menu that I could hardly decide on what to get. The dishes that I selected were delicious and I am sure that one really couldn't go wrong with any of the selections. Our server was extremely attentive and explained how everything worked since it was our first time in the restaurant. I am familiar with Spanish culture and enjoyed the fact that the restaurant decor and menu selections truly reflected what you might actually find in Spain. There was even a bar with soccer and other sports playing for those that are more interest in that atmosphere. I am definitely going to go back to BARcelona Tapas and would recommend it to anyone and everyone.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great experience

Dined on February 21, 2016

I took my daughter there with with friends for her 16th birthday celebration and it was great! It was so fun for them to try all the different foods. It is very conducive to conversation. The waitress was great too and made it really special with one of her favorite desserts, tres Leches! good value as well. Everyone was stuffed and we had 5 people and the total bill was 130ish.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Spain in downtown Indy

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

A fun spot for tapas, and numerous Spanish dishes Good prices, very friendly staff! Open Sunday!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a wonderful time on Valentine's D ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a wonderful time on Valentine's Day this year. This was my partner's and my second date location and we love it.

food4
ambience4
service5

Came on a double date for Valentine's Da ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Came on a double date for Valentine's Day and had a great experience. Food was good and our server was awesome. Quick and polite service with good recommendations. It was our first visit but we will be back sooner rather than later!

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Sunday Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

Took advantage of the Sunday Brunch on Valentines Day. All the food was very good and we had a fun experience. The only drawback was the buffet area wasn't consistently filled. There were several items on each trip that were not refilled. The toppings for the Churros were hard and should have been refreshed. Overall it was a good experience.

food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Just ok

Dined on February 13, 2016

Table was extremely small, looked to be an older resteraunt, cracked floors etc. Food was pretty good, I was hoping for better.

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Food was great, service was not.

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in Indianapolis. However, the service was extremely lacking on Saturday afternoon. The manager who sat us was great, our server was not. I ordered a drink from my server which I did not receive from her. I asked another server to get it for me, which she did. I waited so long for a re-fill, I had to go up to the bar and wait to get her attention. They were not busy. She never checked on us to see if we even enjoyed our food. I would understand if it was a busy Friday or Saturday night and they were packed. Instead, it was 3 pm on a Saturday and there were three other tables in the building. I'll be back again but I was disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service a bit out of the ordinary!

Dined on February 12, 2016

If you are looking for something a bit different or even if you aren't, you really should try BARcelona Tapas! The idea of eating at a Tapas bar is that you order multiple plates of food in smaller portions. You experience multiple flavors, a little at a time. Great food, conversation make for a wonderful evening! Our food was excellent. The atmosphere was family friendly, lively and pleasant. Our server was knowledgeable, helpful and friendly! My wife and I enjoyed our evening and commented on how much fun it would be to have a few more people with us! Will definitely return!

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Pretty good

Dined on February 11, 2016

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday. The food was good. Our server did a good job explaining everything on the menu. She was slow but we had a good experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Close to Barcelona

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

The menu selections were on point with what you would find in a Barcelona Tapas restaurant. Many of them came very close to replicating the experience. However, the paella was very disappointing. It was wet and saucy. Not like the paella you get in Spain. Overall, a good find for a midwestern city.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Devour Menu

Dined on February 7, 2016

One of my favorite things at Barcelona Tapas, especially on the devour menu, is the flan. It is typically traditional flan, this time it was flan with a peppermint sauce and it was not the same consistency as normal. Everything else was great as always but I would really enjoy just having the regular flan. Also the Churros, which I ordered instead of the flan because of the peppermint sauce, the ones that were not filled were very hard and crunchy, the strawberry ones were amazing as usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.