About BARcelona Tapas - Indianapolis

201 N Delaware
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

BARcelona Tapas prides itself on creating a traditional authentic Tapas Bar atmosphere. This includes a warm decor and the traditional hanging of Serrano hams and dried bacalaos. The service reflects a traditional tapas experience as you might find in Madrid, Barcelona or Sevilla. Small plates of food are prepared to order and delivered one or two at a time, as to encourage sharing of the plates and conversation together with great Sangria.

Barcelona Tapas Indianapolis is an open air restaurant when the weather is nice! Come and enjoy one of our two large patios or sit at the bar and enjoy a breeze through the restaurant on warm summer days.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Mediterranean, European

Hours of Operation:
Full Tapas Menu Served:

Monday through Thursday 11am to 10pm

Friday and Saturday 11am to 11pm

Sunday 4pm to 9pm



Sunday Sangria Brunch:

Sundays 10:30am to 2pm



All you can eat Tapas Lunch Buffet:

Monday through Friday 11am to 2pm



Two for Tuesdays menu:

Tuesday evenings 4pm to 10pm



Happy Hour Menu:

Monday through Friday 3pm to 6pm (bar area only)

Cross Street:
Corner of Delaware and Ohio

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 638-8272

Website:
http://www.barcelonatapas.com/

Entertainment:
Great Spanish Music piped in all day and night!

Catering:
Tapas Party at your home or office? We can do it! We accommodate everything from box lunches to full on-site catering and everything in-between! Please look at our website for more details or call 317-638-TAPA and ask for Michelle or Dennis to set up a delivery or full fledged Tapas Party with or without our Tapas Crew to serve it all for you!

Parking Details:
All surrounding streets are meeter parking on both sides. The meters are free after 9pm through the week. There is a parking garage on the Northwest corner of Ohio and Delaware, a parking garage on the south side of Ohio street between Delaware and Alabama, and a $3 honor lot just north of our building on Delaware which is open after 5pm weekdays and all weekends.

Public Transit:
There are numerous IndyGo bus stops on all streets surrounding us. Please see www.indygo.net/routes.htm for bus schedules.

Executive Chef:
Zachary Rohn

Private Party Facilities:
We have the space for you! Up to 30 of you - that is...... A seperate private dining room with large Barndoors that close, your own music and, of course, our "Party Platters" or simply choose from the Tapas Menu. Call us to help you make this a successful "private party" to remember. In the summer we also have a patio that can be reserved for parties which seats up to 25.

Private Party Contact:
Dennis Gurnell or Michelle Sirum: 3176388272x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pincho De Pollo Y Chorizo
Gambas al Alioli
Brecol Rioja
Azul Martini
solomillo con cabrales
Capirote
Setas Salteadas Con Amontillado
queso de cabra al horno
Pincho de Maruno
tres leches
Bacalao
Montserrat Chocolate Brownie
Tortilla Espanola
Lemon Ginger Cocktail
Tres Quesos
gaspacho
Sangria
White Sangria
Alcachofas Fritas
Gazpacho
Fried Chorizo Stuffed Olives
Espinacas Con Garbanzos
Croquetas De Pollo Y Jamon
Atun
Mussels
Smorg
Calamaritos Fritos

BARcelona Tapas - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (26)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Romantic (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Notable Wine List (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was pretty good except for th ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was pretty good except for the Paella. It was very bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Way over priced, food was undercooked an ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 3 days ago

Way over priced, food was undercooked and nasty, service was awful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Sunday Brunch at BARcelona is probably t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Sunday Brunch at BARcelona is probably the best value in the city. Great food and very good service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Casual, Authentic, Good for Groups, Tapas, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Our waitress was friendly and the kitche ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our waitress was friendly and the kitchen quick. The tapas were good, the brownie dessert, yuk. The paella (we ordered two different types) were disappointing--wet, no crust, salty, lackluster seasoning. That said, we'll come back for tapas.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Celebrated my wife's birthday dinner at ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Celebrated my wife's birthday dinner at Barcelona and we were very pleased overall. Great food, great ambiance, and the pricing was more than reasonable. We live an hour away but we will definitely make an effort to visit again.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Romantic, Private Room, Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The tapas are excellent and the service ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The tapas are excellent and the service was great. However, the evening that we were there, the air conditioning wasn't working properly (and our server informed us that it hadn't been for some time).

It was uncomfortable hot which made our dining experience less than it could have been.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

The food was excellent

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

knowledgeable staff. Great menu. Good ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

knowledgeable staff. Great menu. Good recommendations from server. Great experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made reservations about a week in adva ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I made reservations about a week in advance, when we got to the restaurant there were only three other tables sat and the host sat us next in between two of the tables in the middle of the restaurant. I'm sure had we asked to move they would have been willing to but it was odd they placed us all close together.

The menu was a little intimidating, we had to ask the server a lot of questions but she was very nice and helpfully explained each subsection.

The prices ranged but honestly we thought they were fair. We didn't share our choices with the table but we each ordered two plates and it was plenty.

The drinks were very good too, a few of us got cocktails and a few beer on tap everything was great and came out pretty quickly. (The waitress told us what to steer clear of if we had a time limit which were mostly the rice dishes.)

Overall the food, and service were spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Amazing food and a fun atmosphere! This ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Amazing food and a fun atmosphere! This place never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We made reservations, luckily as some fo ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We made reservations, luckily as some folks that arrived after us and had to wait. Loved the server, she was very pleasant and attentive in helping us select items from the menu. The food was delicious. We will definitely come back again. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I can't count how many times I've been t ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I can't count how many times I've been to BARcelona--I always come back. The goat cheese and marinara dip was great like always (although bread was barely toasted this time). The steak with spinach and bleu cheese, and lamb with rioja, were both spot on as usual. I love the empanadas (wish they put a little more seasoned mayo for dipping on plate though). My favorite thing is the roasted cauliflower. The portion was bigger than usual (but a lot of tough stem and the leaves were still on) and not as browned/roasted as usual, but the broth was exactly as expected. This was the latest I'd dined here before, usually it's bustling on Friday around 7 p.m. By 9:45, it was very quiet except for the random pop music playing. To feel the vibrant energy, come after work or early evening. Good spot to pick if you have vegetarians in your group since there are many veg friendly options.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Don't let the exterior put you off, BARc ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Don't let the exterior put you off, BARcelona Tapas is a delightful choice for a casual meal at moderate prices. While not particularly conducive to an intimate romantic event, the quirky interior design and friendly/helpful staff provide a relaxing environs for a dinner alone or with a few friends. The tapas were excellent (especially the salmon), the paella was so-so, and the desert choices were very appealing. You definitely will want to taste the flan. I can't comment on the bar or the drinks, as we didn't order any beverages (other than water).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Not my first visit to this bit of Spain ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Not my first visit to this bit of Spain in downtown Indy. The atmosphere is bright and fun and the service is very good. The Tapas or small plate format works best with four or more people but my beloved and I managed to make it works for two. While our dinner was excellent, the real gem here is the Sunday Sangria Brunch. A $17.95 it is probably the best value in the city. Especially if one likes Sangria, which is included. Just go and have a great time. Try the goat cheese in tomato sauce and try the filet with blue cheese and reduction. OMG, difficult to find a better price of meat anywhere downtown.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Good food, not great, not bad. Salmon an ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Good food, not great, not bad. Salmon and meatball dishes were good. Bread and oil was just typical garlic bread. Had to ask for oil- came out in salad shaker. Bare midriff on our server was unappetizing. Uniform t-shirts would help. Could be cleaner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We were visiting Indianapolis with famil ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We were visiting Indianapolis with family, and we were from various states. All of us had a wonderful time and were impressed with the variety of these inspired plates. Being lactose intolerant, they even gave me a list of the different dishes it was safe for me to eat. That way we were all able to enjoy these delightful combinations without having to make changes. It's difficult being the problem child of the bunch, and this time I fit in.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very attentive, the atmos ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our server was very attentive, the atmosphere was perfect and the speed of service was amazing. Oh, and everything we put in our face was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were traveling to Indianapolis, from ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were traveling to Indianapolis, from a smaller city of Indiana. My husband is Spanish and I thought it was the opportunity to have food from home. WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT!!! I understand that ethnic food in the States is always "americanized" and we were ready for that. But not to that extend. It was not Spanish AT ALL, just the names. The croquetas were obviously not made with a bechamel, the jamon in it, we are still looking for it. The chorizo was a bradwurst sausage!!! Even the salad that was supposed to come with a sherry vinaigrette came with some creamy dressing, and looking for the Manchego in the salad was like looking for a needle in a haystack. In short, if you crave for Spanish food, don't go there and hang it there until you can go to Spain or to a real Spanish restaurant in Chicago, Washington or somewhere else! If you crave for good food, go to the steakhouses or Italian restaurants!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

This is a wonderful restaurant with grea ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

This is a wonderful restaurant with great food -nice people and a warm environment ! Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the restaurant has no air conditioning. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

the restaurant has no air conditioning. Definitely do go if you plan on sitting inside in the summer time. Some of the staff was not to eager to help either

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Food was great. Service was slow. I ge ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was great. Service was slow. I generally think of service as being slow when the wait staff doesn't even try to catch their patron's eyes as they walk through the room. If they are looking out and seeing you and nodding when you try to catch their eye, then you know that the waitstaff knows you want them. Our waitstaff had to be stopped in order to get their attention. For a tapas place, waitstaff needs to be very attentive because you order food in increments.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Date Night

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We have been to Barcelona Tapas many times and always had a wonderful experience! However, this experience was far different. Our waitress was not attentive, never asked us how our food was or if we needed anything, and would disappear for 15 -20 minute intervals when we were out of beverages and wanted to place an order. It was very disappointing as we were celebrating our one year wedding anniversary. We had our first date at Barcelona Tapas and wanted to enjoy it for this special occasion, but the poor service really put a damper on the enjoyable evening. The food and drinks were delicious as always and we will return, but hopefully will enjoy our time better!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

What Happened?

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

I have been to Barcelona Tapas on previous occasions and was very impressed. The past two (one more than a year ago) have been a bit disappointing. The food has been very good on all occasions, however, it's pricey, and the amount spent vs. the amount received is disproportionately unfavorable. Lower the costs of tiny dishes, or, provide more would be my suggestion. Second, while the manager was very kind in seating us, service during this most recent visit was ridiculous. Fundamentals like remembering to bring what was ordered, listening to what was ordered, and, paying attention to the table were well below par. I would understand this if the place were packed and the waitress was juggling several tables, but there were fewer than 6 tables active in the entire place (it seemed) during our visit.

Lastly, the Sangria was water, and had no fruit.

Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Pre-race Dinner with Out of Town Friends

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a great time with some friends from out of town. The food was very good and the service was excellent. We have been to Barcelona Tapas a number of times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious food and great service! Thanks ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Delicious food and great service! Thanks for helping make our anniversary special!!!! Can't wait to visit again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and quite the bargain

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Dined as a party of two and scored a high-top in the bar area. Our server was polite and knowledgeable steering us to a moderately priced and exceedingly tasty carafe of red wine. We tried four tapas plates - marinated olives, baked goat cheese, grilled asparagus, garlic shrimp and lamp chops. We selected four plates to start, thinking that based on the price we would still be hungry and could order another plate or two later. While the lamb and shrimp were what we consider tapas-sized, the olives, asparagus and baked goat cheese could each feed a group of four quite easily. The price of each item did not hint at this. We asked our waiter about the plate size and he said, "well, this is mid-west tapas." And you know, I'm completely fine with that. I suppose you would rather have someone complain about too much food than too little. All four plates were delicious - especially the garlic shrimp and baked goat cheese - and I didn't leave hungry. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

This was our second visit. First time w ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

This was our second visit. First time we went for dinner this time lunch buffet. Would have liked to have seen more variety but what was on the buffet was very tasty. I did have to ask them to refill the goat cheese in marinara sauce, the staff was not keeping the items filled. I thought our party was very pleased with the curry chicken delicious and the mac and cheese was absolutely the best I have tasted. The value was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Baked goat cheese with spicy tomato sauc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Baked goat cheese with spicy tomato sauce was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Average experience

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Had reservations..seated in an area that was a small room that had large groups of 8-12 per party. So loud we couldn't hear each other talk. Waitress didn't write down our order and forgot one of the things we ordered. Also got the garlic bread but no olive oil like it said on the menu. Would have been helpful if had some guidance on how much food we might order to serve 2 people. Had to keep ordering throughout the meal until we got full. Not impressed at all with the place.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Nice Place to gather...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our family second gathering at Barcelona Tapas and we have enjoyed it both times. It was a bit noisy but it was Mother's Day. I would recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Terrible Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This restaurant was highly recommended as a Mother's Day Brunch spot and I have always wanted to try it so we did. The food was almost gone when we got there, the service was terrible (not the server's fault by the way). Had to take the brunch and couldn't order off the regular menu, which is understandable if there was food available in the buffet. They were clearly not ready for the crowd they received. This was very disappointing and because of this experience will probably not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We went for Mothers Day. When we made th ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mothers Day. When we made the reservations, the price was 17.99 for the brunch. When we got there, it was $10 more than advertised. For the food and service, the 17.99 would have been equitable. The napkin on the table had been rolled up wet and smelled disgusting!! I advised the manager who didn't even apologize. Pretty pathetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We love it!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We eat here quite a bit but on this occasion we forced ourselves out of our usually menu choices. Our server actually chose most of our meal and it was as awesome as when we order our regular items. The special was a seafood bowl which was amazing. This seems to be one restaurant in Indiana that actually has reasonably priced delicious fresh seafood!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would recommend the chicken wings, white ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Would recommend the chicken wings, white sangria, and large plates with sausage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Enjoying my friends.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Had lunch with 2 of my good friends Adriana and Fatima, everything was great, we really enjoy it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Fun Place Where Tapas is a Passion

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I have eaten a lot of tapas; some done well, and some done very poorly. BARcelona definitely puts thought and passion into the food they serve. The atmosphere is casual and welcoming, and our server steered us in good directions as to what to order.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Efficient...and tasty!!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We needed to be in and out in an hour, so we notified our server early on. She was very accommodating, helping to keep the tapas flowing and guiding us in the selection of ones that would work for our palates and schedule.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very, very poorly managed restaurant. I ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Very, very poorly managed restaurant. I gave it three failed tries and I won't be back. There are so many great options in the Mass Ave area, go somewhere else.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Barcelona Tapas was an awesome restaurant!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

From the point we met our server on, the experience was top notch! We enjoyed the ambience, food, and incredibly prompt and insightful service! The team was awesome! I live in Madrid Spain for 5 years and love the Tapas style of dining. Barcelona lived up to what I experienced in Spain and brought some fan favorites to the menu. If you ever need menu suggestions, I can share some more I missed.

This was a truly genuine Tapas experience with an extremely knowledgeable and insightful server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tapas dishes were excellent and service ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Tapas dishes were excellent and service was really good.

The restaurant can get noisy sometimes depending on the crowd. However we had a great time here and will definitely come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.