Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About BARcelona Tapas - Indianapolis

BARcelona Tapas prides itself on creating a traditional authentic Tapas Bar atmosphere. This includes a warm decor and the traditional hanging of Serrano hams and dried bacalaos. The service reflects a traditional tapas experience as you might find in Madrid, Barcelona or Sevilla. Small plates of food are prepared to order and delivered one or two at a time, as to encourage sharing of the plates and conversation together with great Sangria.

Barcelona Tapas Indianapolis is an open air restaurant when the weather is nice! Come and enjoy one of our two large patios or sit at the bar and enjoy a breeze through the restaurant on warm summer days.

201 N Delaware
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Mediterranean, European

Hours of Operation:
Full Tapas Menu Served:

Monday through Thursday 11am to 10pm

Friday and Saturday 11am to 11pm

Sunday 4pm to 10pm



Sunday Sangria Brunch:

Sundays 10:30am to 2pm



All you can eat Tapas Lunch Buffet:

Monday through Friday 11am to 2pm



Two for Tuesdays menu:

Tuesday evenings 4pm to 10pm



Happy Hour Menu:

Monday through Friday 3pm to 6pm (bar area only)

Cross Street:
Corner of Delaware and Ohio

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 638-8272

Website:
http://www.barcelonatapas.com/

Entertainment:
Great Spanish Music piped in all day and night!

Catering:
Tapas Party at your home or office? We can do it! We accommodate everything from box lunches to full on-site catering and everything in-between! Please look at our website for more details or call 317-638-TAPA and ask for Michelle or Dennis to set up a delivery or full fledged Tapas Party with or without our Tapas Crew to serve it all for you!

Parking Details:
All surrounding streets are meeter parking on both sides. The meters are free after 9pm through the week. There is a parking garage on the Northwest corner of Ohio and Delaware, a parking garage on the south side of Ohio street between Delaware and Alabama, and a $3 honor lot just north of our building on Delaware which is open after 5pm weekdays and all weekends.

Public Transit:
There are numerous IndyGo bus stops on all streets surrounding us. Please see www.indygo.net/routes.htm for bus schedules.

Executive Chef:
Zachary Rohn

Private Party Facilities:
We have the space for you! Up to 30 of you - that is...... A seperate private dining room with large Barndoors that close, your own music and, of course, our "Party Platters" or simply choose from the Tapas Menu. Call us to help you make this a successful "private party" to remember. In the summer we also have a patio that can be reserved for parties which seats up to 25.

Private Party Contact:
Dennis Gurnell or Michelle Sirum: (317) 638-8272

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

BARcelona Tapas - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (29)
Casual (25)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Fun (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Authentic (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Family Style (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Romantic (7)
Great Beer (7)
Cozy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Live Sports (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Spicy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (0)
Sort By:
S
1258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

I am a frequent patron to tapas. I love the atmosphere, the colorful interior, friendly service, and most importantly, the fantastic food! I adore the Sangria Sunday Brunch!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent atmosphere, great food, and speedy service! We recently booked reservations for a group of 8 and were able to order an assortment of tapas and try almost everything on the menu! If you are a foodie, this place is for you. Also accommodating for picky eaters, although they will not have as much to choose from. Donte was our server and made sure to create an enjoyable, once in a lifetime experience for our party. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual, Tapas, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great service, good selection of plates. Nice long list of gluten free options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was outstanding, very friendly staff, great wine, quick service. Can't wait to try again.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Found on Open Table Night of, looked good so I booked for 5 @ 6:30. Was just enough off the main drag but close enough to walk if warmer.
3 of the guest were unfamiliar with Tapas style and left Loving it and the place.
Recommend it highly if in downtown Indy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food. Great service. We'll definitely be back when we're in Indianapolis again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Tapas, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Been wanting to try this restaurant for a lttle while. Good food fun to just pick and choose different types of things to share with the group.
It was rather loud but it is a very open design!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food lacked flavor and was overpriced for what we got. Drinks were average. Nothing to phone home about except for the excellent service we received.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Good as usual. You've got to try the goat cheese dip with bread and the meatballs!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Went as a friend get together and ended up very satisfied. Great for friends outing or the foodie looking for a little taste of everything. House cocktails were definitely top notch as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Tapas, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was good, especially the dates with goat cheese. Our server was cordial, though absent for periods at a time. The room was kind of loud for regular conversation. Details were missing like a paper towel holder in the men's room. Overall, we were very pleased and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was our first visit to BARcelona. We had a great waiter in this busy restaurant. We wanted to try tapas before we go to Barcelona at the end of the month. Our favorite tapas were the Setas Salteadas Con Amontillado ( sautéed mushrooms) and the Alcachofas Fritas (crispy Artichokes). Also enjoyed the Croquetas De Pollo Jamon (chicken and Serrano ham croquettes) although there were only 3 to an order when we had 4 people. We also shared the Paella Valencia and the Paella de Pollo Y Salchicha. These were good but not outstanding.
We really had a good experience at BARcelona and would recommend this tapas restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Wonderful service, great place for a group to share good food!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

They were out of the Bacalao, but when the waitress let the chef know that it was my favorite, and I was really disappointed; the chef made up some more by hand on the fly. Since we live an hour away, I was especially grateful and appreciative that they did that for me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Good food for the price. Service was a little shy, but I would return the next time I am in Indianapolis!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Would have been perfect if just slightly more comfortable chairs!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I picked BARcelona because it was late, I didn't want to drive, and it was only a block from my hotel. I am familiar with tapas restaurants and often dine at one in my home town.

The selection was more than adequate. I was surprised at the size of each order - the three tapas I ordered could easily have fed two where I am used to needing three tapas per person, so a big plus on value.

The three I ordered were tasty, but not extraordinary.

The spinach salad was everything it said in the menu, not over-dressed, and very filling, almost a meal in itself.

The sausages were nicely browned but not outstanding in flavor, more like a selection of high-end hotdogs.

The mussels were juicy with a really good, spicy broth that I soaked up with the giant croutons from my salad, but two of them were unopened. Even so there were more than enough that I could have shared.

The dark chocolate brownie suffered from dryness, possibly because by the time I ordered it the brownie was several hours old.

The beer I had was tasty, a seasonal from the Bell brewery. It was not what I ordered, though, as I had ordered the seasonal from Biers, a local brewery. It also did not arrive until well into my meal.

If I was back in Indianapolis I would like to give BARcelona a second try, earlier in the evening, to see if the service was better and the deserts gooier.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy, Tapas, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We really enjoyed our first visit here. Dine Indy was the reason we picked BARcelona Tapas! We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I have eaten tapas all over the world and I was very disappointed by this restaurant. It was overpriced for what it was. The food was not bad but it wasn't great. The croquettes order only came with three small balls. The cauliflower dish was good but it was in a weird broth that spoiled the dish. The crispy artichokes were very good and I would recommend that. The patatas bravas were not eventually cooked. If you know your tapas food, I wouldn't recommend this spot.
Service was nice and there is lot of seating available. Nice location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Really love the food here. Everything tasted amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The place was fun. I didn't like the food so well.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We went there after symphony. Our tables were ready quickly. The waitress greeted us very soon after we were seated; she was friendly and helpful. The tapas on the menu were quite varied. I chose gazpacho to start. It was a bit saltier than I like -- not sure if that was from added salt or impact of inclusion of something that was roasted, but taste otherwise was good, with nice texture. Fried artichokes were very good. Sausage was very filling, not all that tasty. My wife loved her lamb chops and the chocolate brownie dessert. This restaurant has a tendency to get noisy but we sat in a side room that was quieter than the main room. Barcelona has outside seating but it was closed as weather was very cold; looks like it would be fun to sit outside during warmer weather. Overall, a nice evening -- not spectacular -- but we will return to try other menu items.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Very much enjoyed the cuisine and the setting. Casual and comfortable. Very good food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Family Style, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I always enjoy Barcelona. The food is very consistent--I always order the roasted cauliflower, then switch up meats. This time, tried the tuna and it was just what I wanted--something light and healthy. We often get the empanadas, which are a favorite, too. The prices are reasonable and the food comes quickly. Now that I've been eating at BARcelona for 7 years (it was 7 years this weekend since first time I ate there!), I wish they'd make some updates. I like that the place has character, but some soft surfaces in the main dining area and bar would go a long way to make it warmer and absorb the noise. The red booths are hard and lumpy. I don't care for the restroom, it's usually a mess and dark. This restaurant is around because it's reliably good food, but I wish they'd do something to give it some love through the years. Literally, the only thing that's changed is they had red plastic Coke cups, then they went to Pepsi for awhile, not sure what they have now since I haven't had a soft drink there in a long time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very good place for a casual, fun night out! Waiter really knew the menu and suggested great dishes. Food was very good!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Tapas, Good for Groups, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Happy we got a chance to go while we were visiting Indy. Great service, the food was excellent, and it had a fun vibe.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 13, 2017

My wife and I had dinner with another couple. The rice in the paella was little undercooked, but the different tapas were fantastic. Our waiter was very attentive and did a great job. Most tables were full, but the crowd wasn't too boisterous. Parking was available close by (street meter and parking garage).

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 10, 2017

NIce friendly, casual atmosphere, good bar. Unfortunately, stopping by for a cocktail or beer is all I would recommend this place for. The food is not great. A goat cheese dish I ordered consisted of spaghetti sauce with some goat cheese in the middle, served over pieces of toast. Steak was OK and was cooked to proper degree, but was served with a rich, overly-sweet sauce, as were the accompanying mushrooms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always enjoy the food at Barcelona. Great service too. We look forward to dining here when we are in Indy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I was hoping for so much more from this place but my friends and I all left rather disappointed and we'll never go back. This restaurant felt like a chain restaurant with mediocre food quality - not the upscale tapas bar presented online at all. I ended up with major stomach issues for 48 hours after eating a variety of tapas. The waitress was not very attentive nor friendly as she rushed; she seemed too busy making personal phone calls the whole time. It took a long time to get drinks and they were never brought out at the same time. Food quality was subpar, unfortunately.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I have been going here for years - I am never disappointed! Our Servers - Alexa (at the Bar) and Robert (the teens sat at a separate table) were efficient, knowledgeable and personable. Since I live 45 minutes away, I don't get to eat there as often as I'd like but this was our 6th year of eating there as a family (usually with friends or family in tow) for New Year's Eve.

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food & drink quality has gone downhill. This used to be one of our favorite places, but on our last trip our food was sub-par and the sangria tasted watered down. We won't be back after this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Absolutely wonderful food and fun vibes! A must-do in Indy.

Tags: Spicy, Tapas, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Love this place. Outstanding food. Great atmosphere & service. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We ordered a set of plates for the table of six and shared. All items were good. Lamb, mac and cheese, and calamari were outstanding. Decor is not fancy, but staff friendly and fast. Easy walk from Banker's Life or Circle Center.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Alwasys love this place for spanish tapas. Not quite like spain, but great for Indiana!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Compared to Tapas in Spain, some dishes are a bit disappointing . I can recommend the tuna and the goat cheese, the bacalau was also good. Overall it is americanized tapas especially some of the sauces. On the positive side, it is good for groups to share tapas and the wine is decently priced and of good quality. Some real wine glasses would be nice.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent food as usual. We enjoy the artichokes and all the great small plate variety. For dessert the tres leches is great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We have a late lunch and we wanted something light but delicious. The variety of tapas dishes fit the bill. The Sangria was great. The décor made me feel like I was in a tapas bar in Barcelona.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Went in before the memorial circle lighting- and waitress was great at keeping pace and on time to make it. Food great as well and had a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.