Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About BARcelona Tapas - Indianapolis

BARcelona Tapas prides itself on creating a traditional authentic Tapas Bar atmosphere. This includes a warm decor and the traditional hanging of Serrano hams and dried bacalaos. The service reflects a traditional tapas experience as you might find in Madrid, Barcelona or Sevilla. Small plates of food are prepared to order and delivered one or two at a time, as to encourage sharing of the plates and conversation together with great Sangria.

Barcelona Tapas Indianapolis is an open air restaurant when the weather is nice! Come and enjoy one of our two large patios or sit at the bar and enjoy a breeze through the restaurant on warm summer days.

201 N Delaware
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Mediterranean, European

Hours of Operation:
Full Tapas Menu Served:

Monday through Thursday 11am to 10pm

Friday and Saturday 11am to 11pm

Sunday 4pm to 10pm



Sunday Sangria Brunch:

Sundays 10:30am to 2pm



All you can eat Tapas Lunch Buffet:

Monday through Friday 11am to 2pm



Two for Tuesdays menu:

Tuesday evenings 4pm to 10pm



Happy Hour Menu:

Monday through Friday 3pm to 6pm (bar area only)

Cross Street:
Corner of Delaware and Ohio

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 638-8272

Website:
http://www.barcelonatapas.com/

Entertainment:
Great Spanish Music piped in all day and night!

Catering:
Tapas Party at your home or office? We can do it! We accommodate everything from box lunches to full on-site catering and everything in-between! Please look at our website for more details or call 317-638-TAPA and ask for Michelle or Dennis to set up a delivery or full fledged Tapas Party with or without our Tapas Crew to serve it all for you!

Parking Details:
All surrounding streets are meeter parking on both sides. The meters are free after 9pm through the week. There is a parking garage on the Northwest corner of Ohio and Delaware, a parking garage on the south side of Ohio street between Delaware and Alabama, and a $3 honor lot just north of our building on Delaware which is open after 5pm weekdays and all weekends.

Public Transit:
There are numerous IndyGo bus stops on all streets surrounding us. Please see www.indygo.net/routes.htm for bus schedules.

Executive Chef:
Zachary Rohn

Private Party Facilities:
We have the space for you! Up to 30 of you - that is...... A seperate private dining room with large Barndoors that close, your own music and, of course, our "Party Platters" or simply choose from the Tapas Menu. Call us to help you make this a successful "private party" to remember. In the summer we also have a patio that can be reserved for parties which seats up to 25.

Private Party Contact:
Dennis Gurnell or Michelle Sirum: (317) 638-8272

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

BARcelona Tapas - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (37)
Fun (22)
Casual (21)
See All
Authentic (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Bar Seating (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Cozy (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Family Style (7)
Great Beer (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Romantic (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
People Watching (4)
Spicy (4)
Live Sports (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Business Meals (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Historic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
 (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1277 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 19, 2017

It took our group of 8 about 2.5 hours for our meal, because service and then paying for our bill took longer than expected. Food tasted good though. Expected something for the birthday celebration, but there was no dessert or singing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day with the whole family and sharing the food. Definitely easy to please all the different tastes of our newly expanded family.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Enjoyed the Sunday brunch with my family! Tres Leches French toast was amazing. Highly recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful Mothers Day Brunch! Great service and delicious food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Delicious food, excellent service. I've never had a bad experience! Make sure to get a pitcher of delicious sangria along with the Paella Valencia! A must-have!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Cute place right in the middle of downtown! Highly recommended!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our second visit to this downtown Indy restaurant was as good as the first! We live 3 hours away, but coming here is a highlight of our annual trip to Indianapolis. Colorful Spanish-themed decor is so warm and authentic, and so are the tapas. We love the baked goat cheese, grilled sausages, and cod. This year we split the Tres Leches cake, and it was phenomenal! We wished we lived closer to this neighborhood gem.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had seven in our party and because it was so extremely loud in the restaurant, we had a difficult time visiting. That was disappointing because we were there for a special occasion.

Tags: Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Visited during Indy mini. Proms and graduations taking place also. Restaurant was full but was seated quickly after our open table reservation. Food was delicious as we expected and will return here for our 4th visit on future visits to Indianapolis.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great spot for trying new Spanish food and great wine! The service is excellent. Great summer time spot in Indy!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Grossly disappointed...volume way to loud to converse with those seated at my own table...food was average...Sangria was watered down....Would not recommend...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Delicious food. Arrived fast. Perfect to share. Good service.

Tags: Family Style, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food; fun to share food and drink with friends

Tags: Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 18, 2017

My favorite place in Indy, hands down. The food is authentic and the scene is colorful, warm, and fun inside.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great service and food at reasonable prices. Very tasty items on the menu and sizes of each dish were perfect for two. Since it was a Saturday night it was a little noisy but the tables were far enough apart to make it an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great service. Great food. Very loud on Saturday night...plan to use outdoor voice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our table was a two seater - small and cramped at the wall. The Tapas we choose were mediocre and I am being kind. (1) The Bread and Olive oil - skip. (2) Meat and Cheese platter was very good (waiter could have told us the history of the Jamon Ham); (3)Skip the Calamari - greasy, zero taste and the sauce did not compliment the dish. (4) Sausage Platter, again, history on the sausage would have been nice. The Spanish Chorizo saved the plate. Never of us finished the second sausage. It had literally no flavor.(5)( I loved the Cauliflower and Saffron and (6) high marks for the Shrimp in garlic sauce. The(7) Dessert Churros were not good at all - saturated in fat and over sugared...really tasteless except for what was mentioned. (8) The flan was excellent - less like traditional flan but the taste and creamy texture rounded out the dinner.

Tags: Fun, Casual, , , Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The tapas were really good along with really great service. There were 6 of us for dinner and our bill was just over $100

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I am a frequent patron to tapas. I love the atmosphere, the colorful interior, friendly service, and most importantly, the fantastic food! I adore the Sangria Sunday Brunch!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent atmosphere, great food, and speedy service! We recently booked reservations for a group of 8 and were able to order an assortment of tapas and try almost everything on the menu! If you are a foodie, this place is for you. Also accommodating for picky eaters, although they will not have as much to choose from. Donte was our server and made sure to create an enjoyable, once in a lifetime experience for our party. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual, Tapas, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great service, good selection of plates. Nice long list of gluten free options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was outstanding, very friendly staff, great wine, quick service. Can't wait to try again.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Found on Open Table Night of, looked good so I booked for 5 @ 6:30. Was just enough off the main drag but close enough to walk if warmer.
3 of the guest were unfamiliar with Tapas style and left Loving it and the place.
Recommend it highly if in downtown Indy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food. Great service. We'll definitely be back when we're in Indianapolis again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Tapas, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Been wanting to try this restaurant for a lttle while. Good food fun to just pick and choose different types of things to share with the group.
It was rather loud but it is a very open design!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food lacked flavor and was overpriced for what we got. Drinks were average. Nothing to phone home about except for the excellent service we received.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Good as usual. You've got to try the goat cheese dip with bread and the meatballs!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Went as a friend get together and ended up very satisfied. Great for friends outing or the foodie looking for a little taste of everything. House cocktails were definitely top notch as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Tapas, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was good, especially the dates with goat cheese. Our server was cordial, though absent for periods at a time. The room was kind of loud for regular conversation. Details were missing like a paper towel holder in the men's room. Overall, we were very pleased and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was our first visit to BARcelona. We had a great waiter in this busy restaurant. We wanted to try tapas before we go to Barcelona at the end of the month. Our favorite tapas were the Setas Salteadas Con Amontillado ( sautéed mushrooms) and the Alcachofas Fritas (crispy Artichokes). Also enjoyed the Croquetas De Pollo Jamon (chicken and Serrano ham croquettes) although there were only 3 to an order when we had 4 people. We also shared the Paella Valencia and the Paella de Pollo Y Salchicha. These were good but not outstanding.
We really had a good experience at BARcelona and would recommend this tapas restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Wonderful service, great place for a group to share good food!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

They were out of the Bacalao, but when the waitress let the chef know that it was my favorite, and I was really disappointed; the chef made up some more by hand on the fly. Since we live an hour away, I was especially grateful and appreciative that they did that for me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Good food for the price. Service was a little shy, but I would return the next time I am in Indianapolis!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Would have been perfect if just slightly more comfortable chairs!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I picked BARcelona because it was late, I didn't want to drive, and it was only a block from my hotel. I am familiar with tapas restaurants and often dine at one in my home town.

The selection was more than adequate. I was surprised at the size of each order - the three tapas I ordered could easily have fed two where I am used to needing three tapas per person, so a big plus on value.

The three I ordered were tasty, but not extraordinary.

The spinach salad was everything it said in the menu, not over-dressed, and very filling, almost a meal in itself.

The sausages were nicely browned but not outstanding in flavor, more like a selection of high-end hotdogs.

The mussels were juicy with a really good, spicy broth that I soaked up with the giant croutons from my salad, but two of them were unopened. Even so there were more than enough that I could have shared.

The dark chocolate brownie suffered from dryness, possibly because by the time I ordered it the brownie was several hours old.

The beer I had was tasty, a seasonal from the Bell brewery. It was not what I ordered, though, as I had ordered the seasonal from Biers, a local brewery. It also did not arrive until well into my meal.

If I was back in Indianapolis I would like to give BARcelona a second try, earlier in the evening, to see if the service was better and the deserts gooier.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy, Tapas, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We really enjoyed our first visit here. Dine Indy was the reason we picked BARcelona Tapas! We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I have eaten tapas all over the world and I was very disappointed by this restaurant. It was overpriced for what it was. The food was not bad but it wasn't great. The croquettes order only came with three small balls. The cauliflower dish was good but it was in a weird broth that spoiled the dish. The crispy artichokes were very good and I would recommend that. The patatas bravas were not eventually cooked. If you know your tapas food, I wouldn't recommend this spot.
Service was nice and there is lot of seating available. Nice location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Really love the food here. Everything tasted amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The place was fun. I didn't like the food so well.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.