Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About BARcelona Tapas - Indianapolis

BARcelona Tapas prides itself on creating a traditional authentic Tapas Bar atmosphere. This includes a warm decor and the traditional hanging of Serrano hams and dried bacalaos. The service reflects a traditional tapas experience as you might find in Madrid, Barcelona or Sevilla. Small plates of food are prepared to order and delivered one or two at a time, as to encourage sharing of the plates and conversation together with great Sangria.

Barcelona Tapas Indianapolis is an open air restaurant when the weather is nice! Come and enjoy one of our two large patios or sit at the bar and enjoy a breeze through the restaurant on warm summer days.

201 N Delaware
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Mediterranean, European

Hours of Operation:
Full Tapas Menu Served:

Monday through Thursday 11am to 10pm

Friday and Saturday 11am to 11pm

Sunday 4pm to 10pm



Sunday Sangria Brunch:

Sundays 10:30am to 2pm



All you can eat Tapas Lunch Buffet:

Monday through Friday 11am to 2pm



Two for Tuesdays menu:

Tuesday evenings 4pm to 10pm



Happy Hour Menu:

Monday through Friday 3pm to 6pm (bar area only)

Cross Street:
Corner of Delaware and Ohio

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 638-8272

Website:
http://www.barcelonatapas.com/

Entertainment:
Great Spanish Music piped in all day and night!

Catering:
Tapas Party at your home or office? We can do it! We accommodate everything from box lunches to full on-site catering and everything in-between! Please look at our website for more details or call 317-638-TAPA and ask for Michelle or Dennis to set up a delivery or full fledged Tapas Party with or without our Tapas Crew to serve it all for you!

Parking Details:
All surrounding streets are meeter parking on both sides. The meters are free after 9pm through the week. There is a parking garage on the Northwest corner of Ohio and Delaware, a parking garage on the south side of Ohio street between Delaware and Alabama, and a $3 honor lot just north of our building on Delaware which is open after 5pm weekdays and all weekends.

Public Transit:
There are numerous IndyGo bus stops on all streets surrounding us. Please see www.indygo.net/routes.htm for bus schedules.

Executive Chef:
Zachary Rohn

Private Party Facilities:
We have the space for you! Up to 30 of you - that is...... A seperate private dining room with large Barndoors that close, your own music and, of course, our "Party Platters" or simply choose from the Tapas Menu. Call us to help you make this a successful "private party" to remember. In the summer we also have a patio that can be reserved for parties which seats up to 25.

Private Party Contact:
Dennis Gurnell or Michelle Sirum: (317) 638-8272

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

BARcelona Tapas - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (23)
Fun (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
See All
Authentic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Casual (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
People Watching (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Spicy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Cozy (3)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Business Meals (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
 (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Organic (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
1289 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The paella tasted like something I would make at home. It was bland and tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Meal was just OK. Nothing spectacular but nothing bad. We had the chicken wings & it was OK, kind of bland. Had the cauliflower & spinach - that was good! The garlic shrimp was also good. The pepper tuna tasted frozen & overcooked. Overall, not a bad experience but not a great one either.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

It had been several years since I was last in Indianapolis, and the food was as good as I remembered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was very good and the service was excellent... we will be going back again!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 7, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in town. Great selection of small plates. Highly reco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Went here for 23rd wedding anniversary dinner get-away day 😀👍. Waiter was excellent- helped us pick out apps and entrees- took time 2 explain and recommend! Great flavors! Unique tastes! Great place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Not nearly as good as the last time we went 2 years ago, decidedly average at best....very disappointing.

Tags: Bar Seating, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We have been coming here for years. Brunch was always one of our favorite times to come. The price went from 17.95 to 24.95. They said it was because they had more choices for Father's Day. We had already discussed that we thought there was less choices so that comment was a surprise. We thought most of the food was dry or had been sitting there so long it dried out. Won't be returning for brunch! Hopefully the dinner time tapas is still as delicious as it was and the prices haven't changed! Disappointing trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent food and service! Made my Father's Day celebration awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We weren't impressed at all by the food. Had three different things and none of them was particularly tasty. Two of the dishes (goat cheese and patatas bravas) seem to use the same canned sauced as base. The cod and potatoes cakes were mostly potatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The atmosphere and decor are nice. The lamb chops were good. All in all the food was good, but not like authentic Spanish food. We had asked that they stagger the tapas so we could eat them one at a time, but they brought them all out at once. I wouldn't recommend the potatas bravas if you're used to traditional.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 19, 2017

It took our group of 8 about 2.5 hours for our meal, because service and then paying for our bill took longer than expected. Food tasted good though. Expected something for the birthday celebration, but there was no dessert or singing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day with the whole family and sharing the food. Definitely easy to please all the different tastes of our newly expanded family.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Enjoyed the Sunday brunch with my family! Tres Leches French toast was amazing. Highly recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful Mothers Day Brunch! Great service and delicious food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Delicious food, excellent service. I've never had a bad experience! Make sure to get a pitcher of delicious sangria along with the Paella Valencia! A must-have!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Cute place right in the middle of downtown! Highly recommended!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our second visit to this downtown Indy restaurant was as good as the first! We live 3 hours away, but coming here is a highlight of our annual trip to Indianapolis. Colorful Spanish-themed decor is so warm and authentic, and so are the tapas. We love the baked goat cheese, grilled sausages, and cod. This year we split the Tres Leches cake, and it was phenomenal! We wished we lived closer to this neighborhood gem.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We had seven in our party and because it was so extremely loud in the restaurant, we had a difficult time visiting. That was disappointing because we were there for a special occasion.

Tags: Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Visited during Indy mini. Proms and graduations taking place also. Restaurant was full but was seated quickly after our open table reservation. Food was delicious as we expected and will return here for our 4th visit on future visits to Indianapolis.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great spot for trying new Spanish food and great wine! The service is excellent. Great summer time spot in Indy!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Grossly disappointed...volume way to loud to converse with those seated at my own table...food was average...Sangria was watered down....Would not recommend...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Delicious food. Arrived fast. Perfect to share. Good service.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food; fun to share food and drink with friends

Tags: Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 18, 2017

My favorite place in Indy, hands down. The food is authentic and the scene is colorful, warm, and fun inside.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great service and food at reasonable prices. Very tasty items on the menu and sizes of each dish were perfect for two. Since it was a Saturday night it was a little noisy but the tables were far enough apart to make it an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great service. Great food. Very loud on Saturday night...plan to use outdoor voice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our table was a two seater - small and cramped at the wall. The Tapas we choose were mediocre and I am being kind. (1) The Bread and Olive oil - skip. (2) Meat and Cheese platter was very good (waiter could have told us the history of the Jamon Ham); (3)Skip the Calamari - greasy, zero taste and the sauce did not compliment the dish. (4) Sausage Platter, again, history on the sausage would have been nice. The Spanish Chorizo saved the plate. Never of us finished the second sausage. It had literally no flavor.(5)( I loved the Cauliflower and Saffron and (6) high marks for the Shrimp in garlic sauce. The(7) Dessert Churros were not good at all - saturated in fat and over sugared...really tasteless except for what was mentioned. (8) The flan was excellent - less like traditional flan but the taste and creamy texture rounded out the dinner.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The tapas were really good along with really great service. There were 6 of us for dinner and our bill was just over $100

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I am a frequent patron to tapas. I love the atmosphere, the colorful interior, friendly service, and most importantly, the fantastic food! I adore the Sangria Sunday Brunch!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent atmosphere, great food, and speedy service! We recently booked reservations for a group of 8 and were able to order an assortment of tapas and try almost everything on the menu! If you are a foodie, this place is for you. Also accommodating for picky eaters, although they will not have as much to choose from. Donte was our server and made sure to create an enjoyable, once in a lifetime experience for our party. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual, Tapas, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great service, good selection of plates. Nice long list of gluten free options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was outstanding, very friendly staff, great wine, quick service. Can't wait to try again.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Found on Open Table Night of, looked good so I booked for 5 @ 6:30. Was just enough off the main drag but close enough to walk if warmer.
3 of the guest were unfamiliar with Tapas style and left Loving it and the place.
Recommend it highly if in downtown Indy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food. Great service. We'll definitely be back when we're in Indianapolis again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Tapas, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Been wanting to try this restaurant for a lttle while. Good food fun to just pick and choose different types of things to share with the group.
It was rather loud but it is a very open design!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food lacked flavor and was overpriced for what we got. Drinks were average. Nothing to phone home about except for the excellent service we received.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Good as usual. You've got to try the goat cheese dip with bread and the meatballs!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.