About BARcelona Tapas - Indianapolis

201 N Delaware
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

BARcelona Tapas prides itself on creating a traditional authentic Tapas Bar atmosphere. This includes a warm decor and the traditional hanging of Serrano hams and dried bacalaos. The service reflects a traditional tapas experience as you might find in Madrid, Barcelona or Sevilla. Small plates of food are prepared to order and delivered one or two at a time, as to encourage sharing of the plates and conversation together with great Sangria.

Barcelona Tapas Indianapolis is an open air restaurant when the weather is nice! Come and enjoy one of our two large patios or sit at the bar and enjoy a breeze through the restaurant on warm summer days.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Mediterranean, European

Hours of Operation:
Full Tapas Menu Served:

Monday through Thursday 11am to 10pm

Friday and Saturday 11am to 11pm

Sunday 4pm to 10pm



Sunday Sangria Brunch:

Sundays 10:30am to 2pm



All you can eat Tapas Lunch Buffet:

Monday through Friday 11am to 2pm



Two for Tuesdays menu:

Tuesday evenings 4pm to 10pm



Happy Hour Menu:

Monday through Friday 3pm to 6pm (bar area only)

Cross Street:
Corner of Delaware and Ohio

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 638-8272

Website:
http://www.barcelonatapas.com/

Entertainment:
Great Spanish Music piped in all day and night!

Catering:
Tapas Party at your home or office? We can do it! We accommodate everything from box lunches to full on-site catering and everything in-between! Please look at our website for more details or call 317-638-TAPA and ask for Michelle or Dennis to set up a delivery or full fledged Tapas Party with or without our Tapas Crew to serve it all for you!

Parking Details:
All surrounding streets are meeter parking on both sides. The meters are free after 9pm through the week. There is a parking garage on the Northwest corner of Ohio and Delaware, a parking garage on the south side of Ohio street between Delaware and Alabama, and a $3 honor lot just north of our building on Delaware which is open after 5pm weekdays and all weekends.

Public Transit:
There are numerous IndyGo bus stops on all streets surrounding us. Please see www.indygo.net/routes.htm for bus schedules.

Executive Chef:
Zachary Rohn

Private Party Facilities:
We have the space for you! Up to 30 of you - that is...... A seperate private dining room with large Barndoors that close, your own music and, of course, our "Party Platters" or simply choose from the Tapas Menu. Call us to help you make this a successful "private party" to remember. In the summer we also have a patio that can be reserved for parties which seats up to 25.

Private Party Contact:
Dennis Gurnell or Michelle Sirum: (317) 638-8272

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

BARcelona Tapas - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (22)
Casual (18)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fun (9)
Authentic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Family Style (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Romantic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Cozy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Spicy (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Vegan (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I always enjoy Barcelona. The food is v ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

I always enjoy Barcelona. The food is very consistent--I always order the roasted cauliflower, then switch up meats. This time, tried the tuna and it was just what I wanted--something light and healthy. We often get the empanadas, which are a favorite, too. The prices are reasonable and the food comes quickly. Now that I've been eating at BARcelona for 7 years (it was 7 years this weekend since first time I ate there!), I wish they'd make some updates. I like that the place has character, but some soft surfaces in the main dining area and bar would go a long way to make it warmer and absorb the noise. The red booths are hard and lumpy. I don't care for the restroom, it's usually a mess and dark. This restaurant is around because it's reliably good food, but I wish they'd do something to give it some love through the years. Literally, the only thing that's changed is they had red plastic Coke cups, then they went to Pepsi for awhile, not sure what they have now since I haven't had a soft drink there in a long time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Very good place for a casual, fun night ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Very good place for a casual, fun night out! Waiter really knew the menu and suggested great dishes. Food was very good!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Tapas, Good for Groups, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Happy we got a chance to go while we wer ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Happy we got a chance to go while we were visiting Indy. Great service, the food was excellent, and it had a fun vibe.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NIce friendly, casual atmosphere, good b ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 10, 2017

NIce friendly, casual atmosphere, good bar. Unfortunately, stopping by for a cocktail or beer is all I would recommend this place for. The food is not great. A goat cheese dish I ordered consisted of spaghetti sauce with some goat cheese in the middle, served over pieces of toast. Steak was OK and was cooked to proper degree, but was served with a rich, overly-sweet sauce, as were the accompanying mushrooms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Always enjoy the food at Barcelona. Grea ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always enjoy the food at Barcelona. Great service too. We look forward to dining here when we are in Indy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was hoping for so much more from this ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I was hoping for so much more from this place but my friends and I all left rather disappointed and we'll never go back. This restaurant felt like a chain restaurant with mediocre food quality - not the upscale tapas bar presented online at all. I ended up with major stomach issues for 48 hours after eating a variety of tapas. The waitress was not very attentive nor friendly as she rushed; she seemed too busy making personal phone calls the whole time. It took a long time to get drinks and they were never brought out at the same time. Food quality was subpar, unfortunately.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

I have been going here for years - I am ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I have been going here for years - I am never disappointed! Our Servers - Alexa (at the Bar) and Robert (the teens sat at a separate table) were efficient, knowledgeable and personable. Since I live 45 minutes away, I don't get to eat there as often as I'd like but this was our 6th year of eating there as a family (usually with friends or family in tow) for New Year's Eve.

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food & drink quality has gone downhill. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food & drink quality has gone downhill. This used to be one of our favorite places, but on our last trip our food was sub-par and the sangria tasted watered down. We won't be back after this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Absolutely wonderful food and fun vibes! ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Absolutely wonderful food and fun vibes! A must-do in Indy.

Tags: Spicy, Tapas, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place. Outstanding food. Great ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Love this place. Outstanding food. Great atmosphere & service. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered a set of plates for the table ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We ordered a set of plates for the table of six and shared. All items were good. Lamb, mac and cheese, and calamari were outstanding. Decor is not fancy, but staff friendly and fast. Easy walk from Banker's Life or Circle Center.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Alwasys love this place for spanish tapa ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Alwasys love this place for spanish tapas. Not quite like spain, but great for Indiana!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Compared to Tapas in Spain, some dishes ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Compared to Tapas in Spain, some dishes are a bit disappointing . I can recommend the tuna and the goat cheese, the bacalau was also good. Overall it is americanized tapas especially some of the sauces. On the positive side, it is good for groups to share tapas and the wine is decently priced and of good quality. Some real wine glasses would be nice.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food as usual. We enjoy the ar ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent food as usual. We enjoy the artichokes and all the great small plate variety. For dessert the tres leches is great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have a late lunch and we wanted somet ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We have a late lunch and we wanted something light but delicious. The variety of tapas dishes fit the bill. The Sangria was great. The décor made me feel like I was in a tapas bar in Barcelona.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went in before the memorial circle light ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Went in before the memorial circle lighting- and waitress was great at keeping pace and on time to make it. Food great as well and had a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our experience at Barcelona Tapas is alw ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our experience at Barcelona Tapas is always a pleasant dining experience. It is actually our "go to".

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took the wife there for a lunch before ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I took the wife there for a lunch before the ISO as she has spent time in Spain. We both enjoyed it and will go back again. Our watress was very good and she helped on several dishes by knowing what was in them.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, , Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and server were great. We were seat ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food and server were great. We were seated to a large group (12+) of 20-something Anti-Trump Rally protesters who were very loud and very free with their opinions. This seating arrangement and their loud interactions put a damper on the overall experience. We had had reservations for several days in advance and wondered how we got seated next to such a group.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Food was good. Service was great. Atmo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was good. Service was great. Atmosphere a bit noisy due to acoustics. Everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. We had a party of 4 adults. Table ordered 3 drinks, plenty of food to fill us up, and we split 2 deserts. Total bill $80. Averages to $20 per person. Good value for a good, unique international meal with drinks and deserts. We will definitely be going again with friends !!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Sunday brunch is excellent, the French t ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Sunday brunch is excellent, the French toast is the best ever!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Casual, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful and energetic waitress! This i ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wonderful and energetic waitress! This is a fun casual eating experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was better than average. We were ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was better than average. We were first met by a disgruntled waiter but moved to a different section and received better service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was horrible. We assume that th ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was horrible. We assume that they use frozen food, microwave it and bring it to the table. Their concept has nothing to do with tapas unless they think putting a little amount of food on a regular size of a white plate is Spanish/ Mexican. We are very disappointed with the quality of good. Their food was not fresh, they do not even make the food there. Additionally, my sangiria was so served in a small water glass full of ice. Everything felt like left over food. Horrible! I would not go to this place again an I also would not recommend it to anyone. Sorry, Barcelona, but my experience was a wAste of money, you need to get a real chef, fresh ingredients, tapas plates and then call yourself a tapas restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

When we arrived, the restaurant was a li ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 9, 2016

When we arrived, the restaurant was a little noisy, requested an outside table. The staff was happy to oblige. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and made excellent recommendations after asking us a few questions. This was our first visit, but will not be our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Try the Salmon!!!!

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Try the Salmon!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great meal and good service! T ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had a great meal and good service! The only thing that was a little less than perfect was the asparagus which was just lukewarm. The chicken wings are absolutely amazing, and the churros are the best ever, hands down!! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I took four teenage girls on Saturday ev ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I took four teenage girls on Saturday evening and they all loved it. We shared several dishes and one paella, as well as two desserts and we all happy and very full!! Loved the goat cheese and mushrooms.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and experience! Will definit ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great food and experience! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating 2 birthdays and had ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were celebrating 2 birthdays and had reserved a table for for 9. Everything was ready even as some of us arrived early. Our waitress was attentive and helpful with menu choices. She brought complimentary tres leches cakes for the birthday celebrants - a nice surprise. We all look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for the last day of Devour Downtown ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Went for the last day of Devour Downtown Indy after a round of golf with my wife. Temperatures were mild so we sat outside. Menu is outstanding with a number of favorites - the iconic goat cheese in tomato sauce, gambas and flan to name a few.

Tags: Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I am a frequent diner at Barcelona's and ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 4, 2016

I am a frequent diner at Barcelona's and usually have a wonderful experience with their brunch or dinner. It has been declining over the past year. On this particular day, we came at 12:30 excited for a birthday lunch for my friend (her restaurant choice). The buffet was not stocked at all during our visit. This means we were extremely limited on our dining choices. The usually fantastic curry chicken salad tasted more like mustard chicken salad, and there was not an option for hot food as the chafing dishes were empty. At peak lunch hour this is unacceptable. Although we received compensation for our horrible visit, we will not dine for lunch unless we arrive at opening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Went on a date for Devour Downtown.. The ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Went on a date for Devour Downtown.. The drinks were very expensive and the service was awful. We waited 45 minutes for one item that never came, then didn't get desert until we asked 3 times. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

This place is always just kind of odd. T ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This place is always just kind of odd. The devour downtown menu was excellent! Fantastic value and it was really tasty. The servers just always seem a little weird...not them personally but just the way things seem to flow with the operation. But the food was great and it is consistent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

We like Barcelona Tapas for the Sunday s ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We like Barcelona Tapas for the Sunday sangria brunch. The small plate orders from the kitchen are what we go for - the french toast is wonderful, the omelets are great, and the eggs benedict are tasty. The buffet line, however, seems to have suffered recently. We used to have a hard time eating everything we wanted from the kitchen because we'd load up at the buffet, but now I generally only take a couple of things (the curry chicken salad and tres leches cake are excellent). The atmosphere is fun, and the service has always been excellent. Go for the small plates from the kitchen, and you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was pretty good except for th ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Everything was pretty good except for the Paella. It was very bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Robert was awesome, great quick service, ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Robert was awesome, great quick service, perfect suggestions!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined here before going to the Need To B ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Dined here before going to the Need To Breathe concert at White River Park. Really good food with a large variety of options. We did the prix fixe menu plus some entree's and other appetizers which were all yummy and relatively healthy. I would highly recommend Barcelona Tapas for a couple's date night, small groups, and large groups because the atmosphere is festive, the service was top notch, the food was good, the portions lend to sharing and sampling, and the noise level is just right to allow jovial conversation without being intrusive to others' dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

2nd time and I was not impressed at all. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 27, 2016

2nd time and I was not impressed at all. Party of six and meal was not served "in order". 1/2 the party had their desert while the other half still had "main" courses coming out. Waited to minutes for order to be taken and the dining area was only 1/3 full. Disappointed considering all the other options in Indy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We tried the restaurant due to Devour Do ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We tried the restaurant due to Devour Downtown Indy. Was a nice way to sample several items for a lesser price. Needed more salt. The Marina & Goat cheese dip, the shrimp scampi and the flan were delicious. Other selections were average. Glad we didn't pay full price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.