About Barbuzzo Restaurant

110 S 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Barbuzzo is a Mediterranean restaurant and bar located in the trendy Midtown Village area of center city. We serve small plates intended to share. With a wood-burning oven for pizzas & roasting, Barbuzzo’s menu features rustic, hand crafted regional fare such as: Grilled Octopus with fingerlings, roasted peppers & soppressata; Parsnip ravioli with duck ragu and roasted pears; Uovo Pizza with brussel leaves, guanciale, & truffle farm egg. Menu items range in price from $3 to $32. Barbuzzo has a full bar featuring Mediterranean wines, craft beers and cocktails. We have bar and counter seating overlooking the open kitchen available for walk ins.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday to Saturday: 12pm-3pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
Sansom

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 546-9300

Website:
http://www.barbuzzo.com/

Parking Details:
Garage parking available on Sansom Street between 11th & 12th Streets.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Line - Walnut Locust Station

Executive Chef:
Marcie B Turney

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Barbuzzo Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (79)
Fit for Foodies (71)
Creative Cuisine (65)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Hot Spot (46)
Special Occasion (46)
Romantic (42)
Open Kitchen (36)
Cozy (35)
Casual (34)
Great for Lunch (33)
Fun (32)
Authentic (32)
Tapas (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Bar Seating (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Wood Oven (27)
Good Vegetarian Options (27)
Modern Decor (25)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Local Ingredients (24)
Outstanding Value (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Comfort Food (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
People Watching (15)
Quick Bite (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Business Meals (11)
Seasonal (11)
Healthy (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Family Style (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Organic (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great Beer (3)
Vegan (3)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
3568 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

The meatballs were out of this world! Best pizza! Service is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food. Nice atmosphere. Really recommend the lamb shank and the gnocchi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

I've eaten here alone twice while on business in Philly and both times I got the feeling the solo diner is bottom priority. Happily for Barbuzzo, they are always busy, but for me it impacted the service. Servers were distracted and pacing was off. But the food is excellent and so is the value (although they make up for it in the price of wine).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I had heard rave reviews of the budino dessert, which was definitely well deserved and the best part of the meal! Otherwise, I had the brussels sprouts and the gnocchi, which were saturated in butter and not very flavorful. Also the restaurant is small and cramped, and the service was a bit rushed, and sometimes condescending. I heard you can order the budino to take away, which I might do next time rather than sitting and eating at the restaurant.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Disappointing sums it up. Of the four small plates we orders, only one was really good and three were so so. One dessert was good, the other just okay. If you like really small tables and enjoy being seated on top of other diners, Barbuzzo is fine. If you can tolerate dim lights, you'll like eating here. Finally, if you tolerate a high noise level from both music and conversation, this is your place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Hostess sent us to the table in the very back (where It was so dark We could not even read our menu) even though there were plenty of empty tables in the front. It was a 5:15pm reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

If you like city congestion it's your place. It was tough to schedule for the time we needed. Service was good. Food is fine, but definately nothing to write home about. Overall this is your typical small well overhyped city trendy place.

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent restaurant and worth the trip. One of the best desserts I have ever eaten!

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful meal. Our waiter Christopher was excellent. Been coming here for years and it never disappoints!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The tables were too crowded for comfort. I felt very cramped.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food and very reasonably priced.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fantastic Valentine's Day dinner. Everything was delicious. The price was phenomenal. We were seated about 25 min after our reservation time...but it was a very busy night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a wonderful valentines dinner. The fix price menu was a bit pricey but the food was amazing and the service was great

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Unfortunately we were sat in the back next to the oven and our eyes burned the whole night. The gnocchi was greasy and the short rib could have been tastier - it was also the last to be served and not hungry by the time it came. Too long of a wait for our food. Way too crowded and needs more ventilation.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great menu with lots of "small dishes", comfortable environment, very tasty food. The waiter advised us to order two items each, which was definitely two much - three items for every two people would be a better balance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This was our first time at Barbuzzo, and we want to go back. The squash tortellini was the best of the dishes that we chose, but that is not to disparage any of them. The restaurant is tightly packed, so try to get a table next to the wall so you don't get bumped.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Always amazing! My girlfriend and I love Barbuzzo. Please never take the Uovo pizza off the menu. It's marvelous! Thanks again!

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Service was excellent and great atmosphere. Beat salad was excellent. I found my pasta and polenta over salted. I believe it would have been a must come back if it wasn't for the over salted food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Early Valentine's Day dinner. Food was great. Service was great. Would come back again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Consistently excellent; have never been disappointed with a meal here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tapas, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always a pleasure dining at Barbuzzo! The food is delicious, service is excellent and prices are reasonable! We tried a few new dishes and enjoyed them, and then decided to take dessert to go. We'll be back in the future for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The ambiance is wonderful, but they need to work on their service and food arrangements a little more. The pizza was all right, but the salad was pretty tasteless. What WAS pretty awesome was the bone marrow dish - get that if you're in the mood for a more unique experience! In general, the cuisine is quite far from Mediterranean proper, so just FYI, don't set your expectations in that direction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Always Excellent cuisine & service. The cheese & charcuterie boards are always amazing. The vegetable dishes unique & savory. We had the meatballs & short rib, both were delicious. The cauliflower & leeks with cheese saucy so so good. The root vegetable salad was light & refreshing. Specialty cocktails are always great. Brady, the bartender always gives my husband & I exceptional service. We prefer to dine at the bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Always great. Never disappointed. Food is always fresh and tasty. Wonderful pizza also.

Drinks are top notch. Would recommend this place over and over.

We have been here many times. Sitting at the bar is great also.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Been to the restaurant many of time. Everything has always been great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 7, 2017

5:00 reservation and we were seated immediately. We had theater tickets and told our server. Since this was tapas food it was served as soon as it was ready. The food was excellent for sharing. We did not feel rushed and enjoyed the experience. I certainly will return.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Simply outstanding in every respect. Delicious food that is inventive without being precious. Dining in Philadelphia does not get any better than this.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always delish! We love the octopus, pizza, gnocchi & meatballs

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great wAitress who recommended perfect bottle of wine. Beet salad an Brussels sprouts and short rib dishes delicious. Pork ragú too smoky and disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing food!!! Definitely going back next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was great, but unfortunately we got there a little late and we felt kind of rushed out. The waitress tried to be polite and attentive but it just didn't seem like we were welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I can always count on Barbuzzo for a great meal. The tables are definitely close together but to me that is part of the experience. Unfortunately this visit we were placed right in the front of the restaurant by the door and though they have a curtain around the door it didn't exactly go to the door so our table was FREEZING. It was bone chilling every time the door opened. We were just unlucky with our seat but it really wasn't a great experience. Besides that the food and service was great!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The salted caramel dessert is one of the best ones I've ever had! The pizza and the sheep's milks ricotta appetizer were also great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

A good meal for restaurant week. Tasty beet salad, good chicken and budino.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Incredible meal and incredible service. I can't believe it took me so long to get here; I won't let that much time til my next visit. The budino is completely worth the hype.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Delicious food and great ambiance. Some portion sizes were large (meatball starter) and some were smaller than expected (gnocci) but delicious and definitely will return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Went for restaurant week and had a great lunch. Tight quarters and very little moving room within the restaurant, but who comes for that anyway. The sheep's milk ricotta is very delicious and well flavored. I loved the balsamic mixed in with it. Had the swordfish as my entree and again very delicious and tender. Lots of flavors in the sauce and loved that the fish came on a skewer. I was surprised that the raved about salted caramel budino was way too sweet and could not be finished, but the tiramisu was the shining star of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Not my first time -- or my last. Get the meatballs, the pizza, and the budino.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Went during restaurant week- food was delicious and portions were full sized. My friends' chicken was outstanding. Meatballs were a,so great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great little restaurant. The tables ate very close together. Sitting at the bar and eating would be a great option. The food is amazing. The portions were perfect and the price was just right. It gets very loud

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Magnifico! Service and food were great. Heard great things and was not disappointed.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Chef Marcie Turney does no wrong in my life. Barbuzzo is perfect every time.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Went for restaurant week. It was a great way to try multiple items off the menu. The gnocchi is incredible. I picked two different reds to try off the wine list which were superb. The service was great. The ambiance was okay. They place is tiny, sort of reminds you of a NYC restaurant, but I would definitely go again!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 31, 2017

I took advantage of restaurant week with a friend. The food was great, ambiance causal and rustic, with a lot of happy noises. The only small issue was that it was pretty dark, and hard to read the menu or see what the dish looks like. Had to use a flashlight, but it was great overall!

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We loved the food but felt very cramped throughout the whole experience. Tables are packed in pretty tightly. If we go back again we'll be sitting at the bar rather than a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Yum! Accidentally went here for restaurant week and we're pleasantly surprised by the portions. Food ambiance were great. A tad too much salt though.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food--fresh ingredients and creative dishes. Well organized and efficient staff.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have been to Barbuzzo several times. We just can't stay away. The service is always excellent. The food is top notch. We have our favorites but everything we have tried is delicious. The prices are very reasonable for what you get. You will not leave hungry. Highly recommend for friends or a date night.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My boyfriend and I came here (for the second time) to enjoy restaurant week and, wow did we make a good choice! To start, the complimentary sheep's milk cheese with toasted bread was delectable. Then, my generous kale pesto salad was popping with flavor and color. For an entree, the swordfish was not only soaked with flavor, but was an extra special treat because it only is on the menu during restaurant week. The budino for dessert was so rich but also amazing. Overall, I think Barbuzzo is honestly one of, if not, the best restaurant in Philly.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.