About Barbuzzo Restaurant

110 S 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Barbuzzo is a Mediterranean restaurant and bar located in the trendy Midtown Village area of center city. We serve small plates intended to share. With a wood-burning oven for pizzas & roasting, Barbuzzo’s menu features rustic, hand crafted regional fare such as: Grilled Octopus with fingerlings, roasted peppers & soppressata; Parsnip ravioli with duck ragu and roasted pears; Uovo Pizza with brussel leaves, guanciale, & truffle farm egg. Menu items range in price from $3 to $32. Barbuzzo has a full bar featuring Mediterranean wines, craft beers and cocktails. We have bar and counter seating overlooking the open kitchen available for walk ins.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday to Saturday: 12pm-3pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
Sansom

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 546-9300

Website:
http://www.barbuzzo.com/

Parking Details:
Garage parking available on Sansom Street between 11th & 12th Streets.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Line - Walnut Locust Station

Executive Chef:
Marcie B Turney

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Salted Caramel Budino
Pan-Seared Gnocchi
Budino
Sangria
Caciocavallo Stuffed Meatballs
Tiramisu
Sheep's Milk Ricotta
Caciocavallo Stuffed Meatballs, house ground short rib and pork meatballs, Sicilian oregano, Calabrian chile & pickled pepper
Grilled Octopus
Salted Carmel Buddino
White Bean And Garlic Crostini
Basil Lemonade
Cheese Board
paccheri / rustic pork ragu / parmigiano reggiano
Wyndridge Crafty Cider
Shaved Brussel sprout salad
Tufoli
Ricotta And Orange Bread Pudding With Lavender Honey Ice Cream
Steak Sandwich
orecchiette
Pizza
Trecce Pasta
orange chocolate
Margherita Pizza
Bone Marrow
House Made Chocolate
Oregano & Chili Oil
Chocolate
Prosecco Chocolate
Stuffed Meatballs
Turkey Sandwich
Tonnarelli Nero
Roasted Bone Marrow
Roasted Beet Salad
Cavatappi Al Forno
Pan seared gnocchi
Grilled Prawns
Burrata
Gazpacho
Salted Caramel Budino, with dark chocolate crust, vanilla bean caramel & sea salt
Grilled Chicken Sandwich
Porchetta Sandwich
Whole Wheat Cassarecce, yellow foot chantrelles, royal trumpet mushrooms, maitake mushrooms, tuscan kale, smoked ricotta salata
"Maialino" prosciutto cotto, braised bacon, apple, gorgonzola, toasted chestnuts, rosemary
Barbuzzo Burger
Roasted Butternut Arancini, crispy butternut squash risotto balls, preserved lemon aioli, popped pumpkin seeds & grana padano
Burrata & Grilled Broccolini, speck, marinated peppers, pumpkin seeds, pangrattato, warm prosciutto vinaigrette
Sangria, Roja Spanish wine, brandy, citrus, rosemary
Chicken Liver- Foie Mousse, Plum Jam, Marcona Almonds, Pear Aigre Doux, Crostini
Uovo Pizza
Trecce
Lobster Ravioli
Sheeps Milk Ricotta
Asparago Pizza
Barbuzzo Old Fashioned
Warm Lancaster Apple & Raisin Bread Pudding
Spring Pea Risotto
Pappardelle With Pork Ragu
Summer Peach Crostone
Goat Cheese Plate
Barbuzzo "Pig Popcorn"
Roasted & Shaved Raw Radishes And White Bean Roasted Garlic Crostini
Kale Salad With Oranges And Beets
Rigatoni With Pork Ragu
Campania Buffalo Mozzarella With Heirloom Tomatoes
Ricotta With Fig, Black Pepper & Agave
tuna cavatelli w/ snow peas
Sweetbread And Pecorino Ravioli
Apple And Raisin Bread Pudding
Roasted Beef Bone Marrow
Sparkling Pinot
Fideuá
Uovo
Red Sangria
Antipasti Plate
Grilled Swordfish With Salsa Verde
Sea Bass Branzino
Restaurant Week
Stripped Bass By Jen Carroll
Fava Bean
Roasted & Shaved Raw Radishes Crostini
strozzapreti
Martini
Tufoli Calabrese
Pizza Margherita
sanguinello
Pig Popcorn
Lardo Pizza
Old Fashioned
Chocolate Espresso Tiramisu
Sheeps' Milk Ricotta
Vanilla Gelato
Beaujolais Nouveau
Seared Skuna Bay Salmon
Grilled Mediterranean Octopus
Ceci Il Forno
Tricolore Salad
Grilled Pork Spiedini
Buffalo Mozzarella
Cured Meats Cutting Board

Barbuzzo Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mediterranean
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Most Booked
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Hot Spot
Philadelphia
1 More
Most Booked
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Center City ›

Fit for Foodies (135)
Hot Spot (82)
Neighborhood Gem (81)
See All
Special Occasion (70)
Great for Lunch (50)
Romantic (47)
Late-night Find (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Groups (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Cozy (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Casual (12)
Wood Oven (12)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Fun (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Authentic (6)
Tapas (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Business Meals (3)
Seasonal (3)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3145 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice pork ragu on the pasta. Enjoyed the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Nice pork ragu on the pasta. Enjoyed the ricotta appetizer very much. Attentive service, courses well-timed. Odd that they open the door at exactly noon with 8 people with reservations standing in the sun on a narrow sidewalk outside a locked door. One couple left. I won't go there for a noon lunch hour again. By the time you are seated, watered, ordered, you are 15 min in. Most places open at 11 or 1130.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went for Restaurant Week and weren't dis ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went for Restaurant Week and weren't disappointed. Food was awesome even though the swordfish was a little salty. Service was great and the fact that they offered a wine pairing for the menu really helped!!! We'd go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great atmosphere and fantastic food! Hig ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great atmosphere and fantastic food! Highly recommend sitting at the chef's bar!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I tried it out during restaurant week an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

I tried it out during restaurant week and it did not disappoint. The whipped ricotta was AH-MAZING and the salted caramel budino is a MUST.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I treated my friends from New Orleans to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I treated my friends from New Orleans to Barbuzzo and they were impressed. The sheep's cheese appetizer and the Budino are particularly fantastic, but everything was good. Great food for middle-fancy price. Totally worth a visit!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Seasonal, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The service was stellar once I informed ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The service was stellar once I informed my server that I had to leave quickly. The grilled chicken was incredible tasty and I will always come back for the Budino!!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Tried this location for restaurant week ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Tried this location for restaurant week and we were blown away by how good everything tasted! We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was there during restaurant week. Foo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I was there during restaurant week. Food and service was wonderful but noise level intolerable.

Some acoustic treatment would control the dB level. This would make it much more pleasurable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had restaurant week dinner , I had gr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We had restaurant week dinner , I had grilled swordfish and it was phenomenal .

Handicap access good but little tight space to maneuver .

Service was truly and absolutely excellent .

Would recommend this restaurant without any hesitation to friends & family.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Unexpectedly went during Restaurant Week ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Unexpectedly went during Restaurant Week for lunch. So we had a 3 course lunch for just $20. Not only was the food delicious, but the service was attentive and quick even with a full restaurant. Another great meal at Barbuzzo.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We can't go back often enough. Barbuzzo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We can't go back often enough. Barbuzzo is always a favorite and always great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal with fresh ingredients an ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Excellent meal with fresh ingredients and creative pairings. Beet salad is outrageously satisfying and budino is divine! Great restaurant week value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went for restaurant week and the deal ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We went for restaurant week and the deal was amazing, everything was delicious! Can't go wrong. Sheeps milk ricotta.. the stuffed meatballs, fresh pasta, the dessert (budino) was also amazing

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They need to hire more waiters....and th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

They need to hire more waiters....and the food to salty

Tags: Open Kitchen, Vegan, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Great Restaurant Week experience. Good ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great Restaurant Week experience. Good service. Not rushed even thou restaurant was full. Excellent food. Salted Carmel Boudine was decadent!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fresh salads & the unique presentation o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Fresh salads & the unique presentation of food made our dining experience here nice. We will return for the fixin's soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I really enjoyed the atmosphere as well ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I really enjoyed the atmosphere as well as the service. The restaurant was however awfully warm and was extremely dark. The cocktails were perfect (very refreshing) the food however was burnt and our pizza was WAY too oily to enjoy.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We went for my fiance's anniversary. Th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We went for my fiance's anniversary. The restaurant is small with very tight seating. You feel almost on top of the table next to you and can hear everyone's conversations around you. Food is very good though and definatly worth the trouble

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Barbuzzo is one of my favorite restauran ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Barbuzzo is one of my favorite restaurants in Philly. This was my fourth time dining here. However, I was very disappointed in the caramel budino dessert. The layer of caramel was extremely thick. The overall taste was strange. I always come here for the caramel budino too and remembered the taste of the ingredients balancing much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Mmm such fun and delicious food! Carmel ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Mmm such fun and delicious food! Carmel bundino was yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fig pizza was great and sheep's milk ric ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Fig pizza was great and sheep's milk ricotta was delicious. waitress was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

I was in Philadelphia for one night and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I was in Philadelphia for one night and tried to find a well-reviewed "nice" restaurant. Several appealing options were closed for the Labor Day weekend, but Barbuzzo seemed like a good choice. I enjoyed my meal, but it wasn't anything especially special or memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food! Cinghiale pizza is amazing! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food! Cinghiale pizza is amazing! Enjoyed every plate.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant overall. The pizza was ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great restaurant overall. The pizza was huge and made from scratch. If you order the meatballs, you only get two. However, they were delicious and made from scratch as well. The Budino was out of this world for dessert. The table space could have been a little bigger. It was too tight even just for my husband and I.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is delicious. However, the waitress ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food is delicious. However, the waitress forgot to place my grandmother's order and her food never came until everyone else was already done eating!!! Pathetic.

Tags: Romantic, Wood Oven
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

The food was rich and delicious. We had ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was rich and delicious. We had the marrow, which was a hit. We also loved the meatballs and gnocchi. The sheep's milk ricotta was creamy and mild. However, the ambiance ruined the entire occasion. We made reservations and still were seated close to an aisle by the bar. People kept walking by, knocking our table and dishes on multiple occasions including the servers. It was overall an unpleasant dining experience because of this. The food was good, seating and ambiance atrocious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

The Pizza was very tasty as was the sala ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The Pizza was very tasty as was the salad. We sat outside because inside was very, very loud. Outside was nice thanks to great weather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

excellent food and very, very prompt ser ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

excellent food and very, very prompt service.. We didn't have to wait much at all--the waitress and assistants just kept showing up without any delay with the food and drink we had ordered. Food was absolutely delicious. Only possible criticism is that in my reservation, I had asked for a small birthday cake or token piece for my wife, but that never was offered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Way too noisy and so dark it was hard to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Way too noisy and so dark it was hard to read menus. Food was fine but overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The food was very good, but the ambiance ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The food was very good, but the ambiance was horrible. It was so dark you could barely see the people you ate with or the food. It was beyond noisy. I understand that loud mean vibrant, but this was ridiculous. I will not be back despite the quality of the food. I went to the sister restaurant and it was far better ambiance wide.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

The food was amazing and I am planning t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The food was amazing and I am planning to go back. The only thing we did not love that the tables were so close together that we felt like we were sitting on top of the people around us. It was very difficult to have a conversation, as all the conversations around us all blended together.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

overall very good. homemade ricotta amaz ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

overall very good. homemade ricotta amazing, but some of the food was way too salty - polenta was too salty to eat. very pricely and very loud.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We visited Barbuzzo for dessert after di ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We visited Barbuzzo for dessert after dinner nearby at Vintage. We had their chocolate sampler and the budino, which were both very good, and worth the special trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

B and I shared the cured meats and the a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

B and I shared the cured meats and the antipasti platters. Both excellent. Nice selection of beers. Delicious chilled apparatus soup. Very pleasant and accommodating service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Asparagus pizza was delicious- great bal ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Asparagus pizza was delicious- great balance of salt and savory. Hubby ordered the burger which was juicy. Great service. A little cramped, but overall, a sweet spot with tasty food and would come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall great experience. Lots of menu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Overall great experience. Lots of menu selections which made it difficult to choose. Open concept so it can get noisy and tables are very close to each other. Food was fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very creative food and an ever changing ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Very creative food and an ever changing menu. The prices were fair for center city but wines were a bit high. The noise level is not conducive to conversations. The experience was somewhat diminished when the server added six dollars to the price of our bottle of wine.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

While a little warm and claustrophobic i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

While a little warm and claustrophobic inside, the food is fantastic and service is excellent. The mussels were fresh and well seasoned. Though the octopus was tender, the flavor was lost with too many flavors competing for its attention. Their asparagus, truffle and white sauce brick oven pizza was divine. I would suggest dining outside if weather permits; you'll have more elbow room.

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great. Seating was a bit tight ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Food was great. Seating was a bit tight. Wine was not great. Not sure they store it properly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food. Get the salted caramel bud ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Amazing food. Get the salted caramel budino and the shaved asparagus pizza. The sheep's milk ricotta as an app is also to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Casual, Cozy, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.