About Barbuzzo Restaurant

Barbuzzo is a Mediterranean restaurant and bar located in the trendy Midtown Village area of center city. We serve small plates intended to share. With a wood-burning oven for pizzas & roasting, Barbuzzo’s menu features rustic, hand crafted regional fare such as: Grilled Octopus with fingerlings, roasted peppers & soppressata; Parsnip ravioli with duck ragu and roasted pears; Uovo Pizza with brussel leaves, guanciale, & truffle farm egg. Menu items range in price from $3 to $32. Barbuzzo has a full bar featuring Mediterranean wines, craft beers and cocktails. We have bar and counter seating overlooking the open kitchen available for walk ins.

110 S 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday to Saturday: 12pm-3pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
Sansom

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 546-9300

Website:
http://www.barbuzzo.com/

Parking Details:
Garage parking available on Sansom Street between 11th & 12th Streets.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Line - Walnut Locust Station

Executive Chef:
Marcie B Turney

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

We will be offering Mother's Day Brunch on our second floor (NOT handicap accessible) from 10am-3pm. We will ONLY be offering a prix fixe menu that is $40pp for 3 courses. The regular menu will not be available.

Barbuzzo Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (86)
Fit for Foodies (84)
Creative Cuisine (79)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (64)
Special Occasion (52)
Hot Spot (50)
Cozy (47)
Romantic (42)
Casual (41)
Open Kitchen (40)
Tapas (38)
Fun (35)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Great for Lunch (32)
Worth the Drive (30)
Wood Oven (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Bar Seating (28)
Good Vegetarian Options (28)
Modern Decor (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
People Watching (23)
Authentic (23)
Local Ingredients (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Comfort Food (17)
Quick Bite (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Outstanding Value (15)
Healthy (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Seasonal (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Family Style (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Organic (5)
Vegan (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
3643 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely dinner as usual, we really enjoyed the pastas!

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food but way too noisy to hear conversation. Lights dimmed so low could not read menu.

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Food, beverages and ambience were great! Our server was also the bartender so we did not get very attentive service but had great time, nevertheless!! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

We always
Come here for desert and the service is always exceptional.
Never take the salted caramel bordino off the list.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

The food tastes amazing but the portion is small for the value. I enjoyed the energetic environment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Thanks to the hostess for ruining my anniversary. As always, the drinks and food were good but the attitude of the waitstaff really soured our special evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Barbuzzo's food was amazing as usual. It's one of my favorite restaurants in the city. However, on this visit our server was very slow. We had to wait 15 minutes before we were offered water. He had to reconfirm our order and the order of the table next to us. I had to request the dessert menu and the check. The bussers were doing a great job, but the waiter wasn't. Maybe he was covering extra tables that night. Also, we sat in the middle of the restaurant and it was very loud. We could barely have a conversation. They could use sound panels.

I will still go to Barbuzzo for the food, but this time my overall experience was not excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I love Barbuzzo- i have dined here before- while its hard to accommodate a large group of more then 4 they will do there best. It is a great date night place. the bartender could have been bit more friendly he poured the wrong wine (i order what he gave me a red) and give me a bit of attitude.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The salted caramel budino dessert was the highlight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Loved Barbuzzo! Steak tartar was amazing. Definitely would recommend any of their pizzas or pastas, so fresh! We were seated outside, which was a little crowded on the side walk BUT it was a holiday so we understood. Seemed a bit dark inside but very beautiful. Waitress was polite and had some great recommendations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The meal at barbuzzo was great - we got the ricotta, branzino, and the maiale pizza. Would recommend the branzino of the three. The bread with the ricotta was a little burnt but possible it is supposed to be like that. The branzino was cooked very well - skin perfectly crispy. The pizza could have had a bit more prosciutto but was overall very good and very very filling.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 13, 2017

I've been to Barbuzzo a handful of times and NEVER disappoints. The octopus is phenomenal, the pastas delightful, the ricotta to die for, and the budino is outright famous. I've worked in hospitality for many years and appreciate whole-heartedly the great service and interesting wine-list. Barbuzzo is not just a must-try, it's a "I must get try everything on this menu!" Go and enjoy - as with all of Marcie and Valerie's 13th Street spots. Amazing work!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Hot Spot, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Fun Delicious place to eat. We enjoyed our meal before the theater very much. We arrived late due to being stuck in traffic and they were so accommodating and gave us great service. We were out in plenty of time to make our play and we did not feel rushed. The tapas sharing plates were fun and delicious. We got the mediterranean olive plate, (great selection of olives) the stuffed meatballs (they were awesome) the bronzino (also awsesome) and the burrata which came with prosciutto which was delicious. Very different and tasty. We were full but split the perfect sweet dessert for a chocolate lover, four delicious pieces of candy from their candy shop. So good and just enough to finish the meal on a sweet note. Fun restaurant not the same old same old food fare. Plus it was delicious. Also we were surprised at our bill. I had one drink and the check we felt was very reasonable. Throughly enjoyed it!!!

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Although lunch was loud and crowded, appreciated the very attentive waitstaff who let us linger well into the afternoon. The pasta dishes were excellent -- will definitely return to try the rest of the menu.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

It was good food, but I thought based on other reviews that it would be outstanding. The stuffed meatballs were great, but my burger had very little flavor and was dry. I think they might have slightly less interesting lunch options than at dinner, I'll have to come back, get dinner, have drinks, have dessert, but as of now, I'm not in a hurry to rush back for lunch again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great lunch experience. No rush. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 11, 2017

I would never miss an opportunity to dine at Barbuzzo. Food is consistently outstanding. Service is excellent.....I ordered a drink and it wasn't what I expected. Our waitress let me make another selection without hesitation. Overall a most enjoyable dining experience!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Love, love, love Barbuzzo! Can't get enough of it. Delicious food, always so fresh and incredible and the service is great also!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Really amazing food and good drink selection! Apps that stand out are sheeps milk ricotta and meatballs. Tables are set close to each other because space is small but definitely shouldn't deter. Save room for dessert - salted caramel budino is perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Had an excellent meal as usual. creative preparation and presentation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was excellent. Fairly noisy. Our waiter said he would make sure all our food didn't come at once. Of course, all our food came at once, so it was a choice of what to eat first before it got cold. I recommend Barbuzzo for the food, but make your server understand that you want to pace the delivery of your small plates.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent food and ambience. Would recommend a little more attention to service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Outstanding. Great lunch here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We love Barbuzzo! Everything we ordered - apps, salads, cocktails, pizzas, wine - was delicious. The wines by the glass included Gruner Veltliner - one of my favorite whites - and that is not easy to find. The place was packed when we arrived at 7pm and people were still streaming in when we left at 9pm. If we lived downtown we would definitely pop in for the 10:30pm happy hour - great deals on drinks! Tight seating, so don't go if you need privacy, but do go if you are looking for a fun and delicious meal.

Tags: People Watching, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Great ambiance, but the booth was SO small. I'm a small person and I barely fit with another couple seated next to us! Food was good, service was decent. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Food and service were great. Meatballs, lamb shank excellent. Drinks reasonable. Our third downtown dinner in tow week's and clearly our best. Seating a bit cramped but worth it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Heard so much about the great service we were looking forward to being well taken care of. We had a waiter who was cold and aloof and answered our questions about the menu with one word answers. Probably thought we were a tip loss since we brought in our own wine and asked for tap water.....by the way it was a birth year bottle brought in to celebrate my daughter's 25th birthday. She picked the restaurant because her colleagues insisted it was THE place to go for a special occasion....our waiter put a total damper on the evening and never made a fuss over her special night -- in fact when he brought the dessert he just plunked it down in front of us (I wasn't expecting them to sing, but a smile might have been appropriate). Also, the budino dessert that was highly touted is super sweet, so unless you like those kinds of desserts be forewarned.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Go for the food! Everything I have had is outstanding.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Service: Waiter was attentive as a colleague and I were busy chatting and neglecting to order. He did not hurry us and was right there when we were ready to order.
Food: Food was delivered quickly, was hot and delicious, and tasted authentic and homemade. We each had a pasta dish. I had the Tufoli, a pork ragu with zite and olive oil bread crumbs. the pork was tender and delicious and the bread crumbs added a little surprising crunch.
My colleague did not leave a morsel on his plate so I can only assume he enjoyed his meal too. He had the Campanelle, which looked and smelled amazing. Diners next to us had a mix of salads and veggie plates and they seemed to enjoy those too.
We did not partake in any drinks, but the wine selection was fairly extensive and the cocktail menu looked inviting.
Ambience: It was a beautiful spring day in Philadelphia, sunny and warm (in the high 60's). the Front windows were open, there was dining outside, which I would have enjoyed but there was construction (a scissor lift) going on right outside, not associated with the restaurant, which made it a little loud outside. Decor was rustic, lots of wood and dark colors. Music was loud but not overwhelming, my colleague and I could still hear each other perfectly. Tables were close together but with enough elbow room, I did not feel crowded.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food & drink selection was great. Waitress helped make wonderful choices on both food and drinks. We loved everything we had.
A bit to noisy. Tables so close together feels like your eating dinner with people you didn't come with. Bar was that crowded also. It is a restaurant everyone must try, it is that good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food was good but restaurant was crowded and noisy. The service was quick, no time was given between plates. It was like getting your soup salad and meal all at the same time. We felt very rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food is great and the Salted Caramel Budino is a MUST for dessert. That alone makes it worth it!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Barbuzzo came highly recommended and we were lucky to get a last minute reservation on a Saturday. The atmosphere was fantastic with a great vibe, maybe a little on the loud side for conversation. We shared several small plates and all were outstanding. Cocktails were on point. Plan ahead, get a reservation, and make sure to try it if you are in town.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

While I love the food and interesting choices offered, the setting is a difficult one for conversation - especially when there is a party of 2. The noise level can get extreme and the table top is quite small for the multiple dishes that often arrive at once.
For me personally, I would recommend the restaurant for groups, making their own level of noise.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Spicy, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My service was more than poor. I do enjoy the whole process of dining out and don't like to feel an afterthought or dismissed by my wait staff. I pay for the whole package.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We had a great meal. Very close quarters and pretty loud, but not uncomfortably so.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Excellent dinner and dessert. Space is very cramped.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The food is always complex and amazing - every time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We've been to barbuzzo many times and it is always exceptional.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2017

This place is amazing! I'm from out of town, working in Philly during the week every other week or so. I had been craving this place for a while but they are always booked if you don't book in advance. So I decided to make a reservation last week for just moi, and I made sure no matter what I would leave work on time to make it there.
Tonight I had the best salad with goat cheese, the second time I've had this dish. It's simply amazing. Tons of goat cheese. I also had the gnocchi. Soft and tender gnocchi. A few weeks ago when I visited I had the grilled octopus, also wonderful.
Another thing I love about this place is sitting at the chefs counter. Especially since I'm dining alone, I really love watching all the action. You can see the details and amount of care they put in. The chefs check every single dish they prepare to make sure they are seasoned and cooked properly. They pass on each dish as they are done to the server who would then bring the dish to your table. Each chef that passes a dish on takes the time to check the presentation, making sure there is no imperfections. I admire the level of quality and care they put in!
I will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.