About Barbuzzo Restaurant

Barbuzzo is a Mediterranean restaurant and bar located in the trendy Midtown Village area of center city. We serve small plates intended to share. With a wood-burning oven for pizzas & roasting, Barbuzzo’s menu features rustic, hand crafted regional fare such as: Grilled Octopus with fingerlings, roasted peppers & soppressata; Parsnip ravioli with duck ragu and roasted pears; Uovo Pizza with brussel leaves, guanciale, & truffle farm egg. Menu items range in price from $3 to $32. Barbuzzo has a full bar featuring Mediterranean wines, craft beers and cocktails. We have bar and counter seating overlooking the open kitchen available for walk ins.

110 S 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday to Saturday: 12pm-3pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
Sansom

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 546-9300

Website:
http://www.barbuzzo.com/

Parking Details:
Garage parking available on Sansom Street between 11th & 12th Streets.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Line - Walnut Locust Station

Executive Chef:
Marcie B Turney

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Barbuzzo Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (89)
Good for a Date (67)
Creative Cuisine (60)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Fun (49)
Casual (47)
Hot Spot (45)
Tapas (43)
Romantic (36)
Special Occasion (35)
Bar Seating (31)
Authentic (30)
Great for Lunch (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good Vegetarian Options (26)
Cozy (25)
Local Ingredients (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
People Watching (23)
Worth the Drive (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Business Meals (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Late-night Find (15)
Quick Bite (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Great Beer (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Seasonal (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Organic (5)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vegan (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
3848 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

We were seated immediately. Food came out in a timely fashion and they even went the extra step to provide cheese filled olives for my martini. Overall great experience, duck appetizer was amazing pappardelle pasta was good, I had higher expectations, but my date loved the steak. We were right in the front and had a great time chatting and people watching.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Barbuzzo is great if everyone orders there own food, but it's just as much fun to go with friends and share a lot of plates (maybe more fun?!). The food is creative and incredibly delicious. I wish there were one or two more purely vegetarian options.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Fun, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

This has been my favorite restaurant for the past 5 years. Always great food and love the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

I really enjoyed my food. We ordered:

-- Ricotta - very good, don't know that I need to order it again
-- Grilled Asparagus - Excellent
-- Stuffed Meatballs - Fantastic
-- White pizza with Brussel Sprouts - Unbelievably delicious, it was uniquely extraordianary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Make reservations! The food was very tasty and well thought out. The octopuss dish was mouth watering. Seared gnocchi was so tasty with a nice amount of butter.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined 6 days ago

I Heard great things about the restaurant and was excited to try it. Food service at all was underwhelming. Had the asparagus salad and the asparagus was very tough when we mentioned it to the waiter he said nothing then when he brought us our pizza he said he asked the cook for more asparagus...it was a nice gesture but that wasn't what we really wanted and a few were more tender but most were tough. The sauce on the salad was delicious ...the margherita pizza was so so. Not blown away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall the food was good but it wasn't great like I've heard. We went for restaurant week and the options were very limited (which you would expect for restaurant week) and not really anything special. I'd like to come back and try Barbuzzo again someday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

dined at Barbuzzo for restaurant week. the food was absolutely delicious, and authentic. fabulous dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Went for restaurant week lunch, was so impressed with the beet salad, the ricotta, the tufoli: SO much flavor!!! I wish there had been more pork on the tufoli, but what I had was amazing, and you can't beat the price. Also, the budino is worth its weight in gold; best thing I've ever eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was great, but we will never return as the noise level was the WORST that we had ever
encountered. Pity!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

The ambience was really nice! We had a reservation and were seated immediately. It was very busy late Saturday night, so I would recommend a reservation... or you will probably wait a while. However, I should note that it took about fifteen minutes for our waitress to see us. We were really thirsty and hungry, so that was sort of a bummer.

When we ordered, she was perfectly pleasant and attentive. The food came out relatively quickly. I ordered the Octopus... and I was expecting the traditional presentation that you would normally get from Greek restaurants. However, the octopus was cut up and placed within this salad of fennel, dill, potatoes, and a pureed white cannelli bean. I was sort of disappointed at first, especially since it was $15 and the serving was on a small plate. However, it was DELICIOUS! My boyfriend got a pizza, which he said was good. That was a solid value at $13, I think.

Overall, be prepared to order more than just one exclusive plate for yourself if you want to be full. The food was crafted very well and was incredibly tasty. Just don't come starving, or you'll have to wait a good chunk of time while hungry, and then have to order multiple things to satiate your hunger.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Awesome! Food was 5-star. From out of town and randomly tried it and will definitly returm next time we are in town!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our visit was during restaurant week, so the place was mobbed. The restaurant is small, cramped and very loud, so we opted to sit outside. Unfortunately, and no fault of the restaurant, the air reeked of sewage. I expected that the restaurant would want to turn tables quickly, but did not expect to receive the first course before getting water! The food was disappointing overall. It was okay, but not Philly Top 50 quality. I was not impressed and would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Wonderful food! Service was a not good with long wait for the second course. A little noisy but fun

Tags: Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We went for lunch during restaurant week, and the food was fantastic! The drinks were a little pricey, but very good quality. We would definitely dine here again!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Had 5:15 dinner reservations. Did not realize it was restaurant week which made it even more interesting. We both had the meatballs. They were DELICIOUS! They came with bread. Honestly I was full - that would be perfect for lunch. Next I had the chicken dish and my friend had the mushroom pizza. My dish was just ok, not nothing special. My friend said her pizza was just okay. The crust was good but the center was soggy, not firm. I had the tiramisu and she had the house dessert. They were both DELICIOUS! The atmosphere was energetic, especially by the time we left. The place is narrow so getting to the restroom was a bit of a feat as you had a very narrow walkway between the tables and the bar. Other than that I would recommend this place.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Excellent! Excellent! Highly recommended. Wish they were closer to where I live.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Wonderful food in a fun and hip setting. I would definitely return, particularly for the Salted Caramel Budino which was everything I had hoped for.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 14, 2017

A friend and I went for restaurant week. The food was delicious, but had more of an Italian vibe than it did Mediterranean. All in all, it was yummy, and I would go back again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The food is wonderful and so is the service. However, the noise level at peak times is so bad you cannot have a normal conversation. So go for the food but not for a relaxing time. Or go mid afternoon. There are no bad dishes: we especially like the vegetarian selections and the meatballs, go figure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

This visit we chose to sit outdoors to avoid the noisy main dining area. Cocktails were great (the Sanguinello is a favorite), the first courses were amazing - sheep ricotta and beet salad, and the service was good. And what is not to like about their signature dessert, budino!!! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Consistently outstanding and delicious with great food and service. Highly recommend!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We were there for restaurant week and the food was excellent.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Went here for Restaurant week. Portions were excellent size and selections were good. Dessert was amazing. Fiance said it was hands down the best thing she had ever tasted in her life. Dessert was the Budino

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Always have a great time here. One of my favorite restaurants in the city. Awesome restaurant week menu with a nice selection !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Delicious food and a great atmosphere! Would definitely go here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great Beer, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great night, great food, celebrating with great friends!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Really cute place with amazing food and drinks. Going in I knew it was going to be good, and it was better than expected.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was excellent. We were very displeased with our waitress, as well as the size of the portions given the price we paid. We waited entirely too long for our cocktails. Our waitress offered no explanation nor did she apologize We commented that we felt that seven tortellini was more of an appetizer than an entrée. Her response was a condescending eye roll, and asked if we wanted to see the menu and order something else. Our bill of over $120 was high considering what we received and the poor service given.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

A bit loud and a bit of a wait between drink orders. The food overall was excellent but the branzino was a bit salty.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Always so much fun - course after course of amazing food. Fun with four people willing to share because you get to try so much. Awesome night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Prompt seating. Very small compact place, intimate and cute. The anti- pasta was amazing fresh, healthy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great food and wine. Small space and tables close together. Loud but great! I would definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Wonderful food , lively atmosphere , great cocktails. Love sharing all the plates . Got to have the caramel budino!

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Overall the food was good. The Octopus salad was disappointing as there was barely any octopus and the dressing was too vinegary. The wine list was limited. The service was attentive. It was very noisy and the tables were VERY close together. I wouldn't recommend it for an intimate date evening, but it was lively even on a Wednesday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Upon walking into the restaurant, you are met with a bar to the left and tables to the right. Further back, you see an open kitchen with additional tables. The ambiance is dim but not overly so. The drink menu is diverse, so everyone in your party who has a preference should be able to find what they like. Our waiter was great and went over the restaurant's recommendation for 2-3 items off the menu per person due to having smaller servings. We ended up ordering 2 pasta dishes and 1 dessert, and it was the perfect portion for the 2 of us this evening. However, had I been with other friends or my fiance a minimum of 3-4 dishes would have been appropriate.

Barbuzzo defines family style a little differently; yes everything is placed in the center of your table for sharing however in addition to that dishes are brought out as soon as they are finished in the kitchen. My only comment about the serving method is that the tables are small so if you have a party of 2, realistically you will only be getting 2 dishes at a time unless you are seated at a 4 top table.

The pasta that we had was amazingly delicious as was the dessert and I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a nice place to eat in downtown.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The food was overly salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Great food. Just too loud to have a conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Disappointed
Service was the biggest fault. After drinks and appetizers we went across the street to Jamonera. Much better experience there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.