About Barbuzzo Restaurant

Barbuzzo is a Mediterranean restaurant and bar located in the trendy Midtown Village area of center city. We serve small plates intended to share. With a wood-burning oven for pizzas & roasting, Barbuzzo’s menu features rustic, hand crafted regional fare such as: Grilled Octopus with fingerlings, roasted peppers & soppressata; Parsnip ravioli with duck ragu and roasted pears; Uovo Pizza with brussel leaves, guanciale, & truffle farm egg. Menu items range in price from $3 to $32. Barbuzzo has a full bar featuring Mediterranean wines, craft beers and cocktails. We have bar and counter seating overlooking the open kitchen available for walk ins.

110 S 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday to Saturday: 12pm-3pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
Sansom

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 546-9300

Website:
http://www.barbuzzo.com/

Parking Details:
Garage parking available on Sansom Street between 11th & 12th Streets.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Line - Walnut Locust Station

Executive Chef:
Marcie B Turney

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

We will be offering Mother's Day Brunch on our second floor (NOT handicap accessible) from 10am-3pm. We will ONLY be offering a prix fixe menu that is $40pp for 3 courses. The regular menu will not be available.

Barbuzzo Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (84)
Fit for Foodies (74)
Creative Cuisine (71)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Special Occasion (48)
Cozy (43)
Romantic (42)
Hot Spot (41)
Casual (38)
Open Kitchen (35)
Tapas (34)
Bar Seating (33)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Fun (31)
Wood Oven (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Great for Lunch (29)
Good Vegetarian Options (26)
Authentic (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Modern Decor (23)
Outstanding Value (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Comfort Food (19)
People Watching (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Notable Wine List (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Healthy (11)
Quick Bite (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Seasonal (8)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Family Style (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Organic (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Vegan (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
3598 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was good. Lots of interesting selections done well. My chair was the worst chair that I've ever had to sit on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food and great atmosphere! I would highly recommend! Everything was delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food during wine week. Awesome service. Delicious overall.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Omg unreal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Wonderful and great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent food, especially the pizza and charcuterie board. Great service. Small plates

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always hard to get a reservation here, so very happy we found an opening. Be prepared for a tight fit, its not a big place. Service was nice and efficient. Food was great as usual and we ended up ordering two budinos - one of the best deserts in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My mom loved her burger and her sister loved her salad and the tiramisu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I've been here several times and never had a bad meal. In fact, I've never tried a dish I didn't like. Standouts from my most recent visit included the sheeps-milk ricotta starter, beet salad, octopus, and of course the budino (one of my favorite desserts in the city).

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was great, the food was fantastic. I got the Brussels sprouts, the ricotta and the lamb ragu. For dessert I got the salted caramel budino. My only complaint was that the table my friend and I were seated at was tiny, there was no room to move and I felt stuffed in a corner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Always great! Best meatballs ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

always good. best place to bring out of towners. Pizza fantastic!

Tags: Seasonal, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Fantastic food; noisy and cozy (tight) seating; very reasonable portion sizes - not to big or small; really great choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Delicious as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Always a favorite! We do not get a chance to get downtown as much as we would like anymore but this is always a must!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We enjoyed our cheese plate with a side of olives and the grilled vegetable sandwich. The salted caramel budino lived up to its reputation and was outstanding. We ate lunch at 12:30 on a Wednesday and the noise level was deafening Even our waitress lamented not being able to hear while we were ordering, so this is definitely not a place for a quiet date. The seating is rather cramped (we were at a two top) and in order for us or others at the two tops to exit, we were always being bumped into, or bumping them which is a little awkward. FYI, we liked the food, but the menu is not extensive so best to check it out before you go lest you are disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Absolutely my most favorite restaurant in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Extremely uncomfortable seating with very small tables. Only 2-3 tables when I got there, and received cold food. The $20 pizza I ordered was very ordinary with little meat on it - what a rip off! Won't come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I took my mother here for her birthday. Even with a busy atmosphere and high noise level, our waiter was extremely attentive and quick to respond to all of our questions and needs. Food is excellent - well-balanced flavors with creative choices (bone marrow) among classics (lamb shank). Our waiter recommended 2-3 dishes per person and this was a good amount. We left feeling full but not overstuffed. Prices were very affordable for the level of cuisine and service that we received. I would definitely recommend to friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food. Flavors were to die for!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My friends and I thoroughly recommend Barbuzzo. We shared the ricotta appetizer, the antipasti board, and pera pizza. Everything was delicious. Service was prompt and our server was very knowledgeable about the menu. Look forward to returning.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Took my adult son out for lunch, I came from N.J. and its worth the drive, great fresh menu, different items to choose from and good service. Been there a few times and I have never been disappointed. Actually in May we are having his rehearsal dinner catered upstairs.

Tags: Tapas, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Uovo pizza the best! Highlight of the meal

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Heard good things about Barbuzzo and decided to have lunch there. Seating is cramped and limited to reservations so be ready to either sit at the counter or wait. I had pasta which was $14. Husband had grilled veggie sandwich and salad [menu said fries]. Basic basic flavors, nothing worth the price. Service was delayed and overly casual for the price point. Dessert was $9, the highly-spoken-of budino. Was best part of meal but was only a custard parfait topped with unsweetened whipped cream. Won't be back. Shame, because it was so highly recommended.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service we enjoyed the meal immensely. The only downfall to the restaurant is the tight space afforded the diners. The food is creative and well presented and tasty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

They had no tomato juice to make bloody marys???????

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The meatballs were out of this world! Best pizza! Service is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Amazing food. Nice atmosphere. Really recommend the lamb shank and the gnocchi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I've eaten here alone twice while on business in Philly and both times I got the feeling the solo diner is bottom priority. Happily for Barbuzzo, they are always busy, but for me it impacted the service. Servers were distracted and pacing was off. But the food is excellent and so is the value (although they make up for it in the price of wine).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Small, a little loud and tight quarters but the food and service is excellent. Menu is wonderful. I'm an out of towner but would make it a "regular" if lived closer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Delicious food- great drinks-fun atmosphere. Went for an early dinner after a show & had a fantastic tapas meal. Love sharing & trying new foods.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I had heard rave reviews of the budino dessert, which was definitely well deserved and the best part of the meal! Otherwise, I had the brussels sprouts and the gnocchi, which were saturated in butter and not very flavorful. Also the restaurant is small and cramped, and the service was a bit rushed, and sometimes condescending. I heard you can order the budino to take away, which I might do next time rather than sitting and eating at the restaurant.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Disappointing sums it up. Of the four small plates we orders, only one was really good and three were so so. One dessert was good, the other just okay. If you like really small tables and enjoy being seated on top of other diners, Barbuzzo is fine. If you can tolerate dim lights, you'll like eating here. Finally, if you tolerate a high noise level from both music and conversation, this is your place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Hostess sent us to the table in the very back (where It was so dark We could not even read our menu) even though there were plenty of empty tables in the front. It was a 5:15pm reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

If you like city congestion it's your place. It was tough to schedule for the time we needed. Service was good. Food is fine, but definately nothing to write home about. Overall this is your typical small well overhyped city trendy place.

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent restaurant and worth the trip. One of the best desserts I have ever eaten!

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful meal. Our waiter Christopher was excellent. Been coming here for years and it never disappoints!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The tables were too crowded for comfort. I felt very cramped.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food and very reasonably priced.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.