About Barbuzzo Restaurant

Barbuzzo is a Mediterranean restaurant and bar located in the trendy Midtown Village area of center city. We serve small plates intended to share. With a wood-burning oven for pizzas & roasting, Barbuzzo’s menu features rustic, hand crafted regional fare such as: Grilled Octopus with fingerlings, roasted peppers & soppressata; Parsnip ravioli with duck ragu and roasted pears; Uovo Pizza with brussel leaves, guanciale, & truffle farm egg. Menu items range in price from $3 to $32. Barbuzzo has a full bar featuring Mediterranean wines, craft beers and cocktails. We have bar and counter seating overlooking the open kitchen available for walk ins.

110 S 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday to Saturday: 12pm-3pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
Sansom

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 546-9300

Website:
http://www.barbuzzo.com/

Parking Details:
Garage parking available on Sansom Street between 11th & 12th Streets.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Line - Walnut Locust Station

Executive Chef:
Marcie B Turney

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Barbuzzo Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (83)
Fit for Foodies (82)
Creative Cuisine (70)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Hot Spot (52)
Special Occasion (49)
Cozy (48)
Romantic (41)
Casual (40)
Fun (38)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Bar Seating (32)
Worth the Drive (32)
Open Kitchen (30)
Tapas (29)
Wood Oven (29)
Good Vegetarian Options (28)
Great for Lunch (27)
Modern Decor (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
People Watching (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Authentic (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Seasonal (13)
Healthy (13)
Business Meals (11)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Family Style (5)
Great Beer (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Organic (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (0)
Scenic View (0)
Sort By:
S
3674 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, delicious pizza, would go more often if we could get a reservation--they are always fully booked. Neighborhood gem.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

I have eaten here several times and recommend it regularly. I have never had a bad meal, and tonight was no different. And of course, we had the budino to finish it off. Bliss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

This was a great restaurant, I took a potential client to this for lunch… And it was very well received. Very nice cozy place to bring a few ladies. I would say that it is kind of tight in there so don't plan for big parties

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was excellent,and our waiter was wonderful. Helpful in explaining things-not pushy, always available. Definitely one of my favorites!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I have had plenty of 5 star experiences at Barbuzzo, but my visit this past weekend wasn't one of them. The restaurant was LOUD!! It is a small place and fills up quickly. But aside from the noise from the patrons (there was a party behind us that was screaming at times), we were seated close the bar, so the sound of the glasses/plates crashing against one another added to the noise. I like a vibrant scene - but this was over the top. The pacing of the food delivery was off as well. It took a while to get the first course and then nearly thirty minutes between when our starter and the pizza was delivered. We hadn't even finished the pizza when everything else (pasta, main course) came out. So, we weren't very hungry at that point. It is probably a good thing we weren't hungry as the octopus entree had three measly pieces of octopus in it. You get much larger portions of octopus in other restaurants' small plates/appetizers (i.e., Vernick, Wm Mulherin). It was mostly fennel, celery and cucumber - which is a bummer given the prices of the dish. We'll be back based on prior good experiences, but will probably not go on a weekend and definitely won't be ordering the octopus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Loved every second of it! My girlfriends and I ate outside in the early evening! We ordered olives, beet salad, and the sheeps milk ricotta to start with wine and sangria! We split a pizza, the mussels & the branzino. All were incredible, but the true standout was the mussels dish. The broth was a bit spicy, served with charred corn and sliced garlic and I could've drank the entire bowl. Another standout was the beet salad! In general, the outside was very fun & we could freely chat and laugh as loud as we pleased. Inside was dimly lit & very romantic. Both would've been great, however, for the occasion, outside suited my needs a bit more! I will be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Loved the place - great "not every day" type of food - very delicious - nice server - relatively small restaurant which makes it cozy

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Bring a flashlight and ear plugs. A tan menu background with small print in a cave like dwelling is challenging.
If it is true that you eat with your eyes first, we must have skipped the first course. It's a shame because the food was very good and in just the right proportions for sharing.
The noise level in this wooden crate was exceptionally loud.
Service was excellent and flow of entrees timely.
Correct the environment and it's a nice go to place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Campanille Neri VERY disappointing! The crab was barely discernible, the dish lacked flavor. Very poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had mothers day brunch the food was amazing. Service was good. I wil eat there again.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Some food was excellent, some was not good. A bit noisy but for the price is a great place with some interesting dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I had a business lunch meeting and we had the opportunity to dine outside since the weather was wonderful. The service was very professional, the food was amazing and the salted carmel dessert was memorable. I'll definitely be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 9, 2017

It's so good, i had to go back the next night to try even more

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Casual, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Tables to confining and the atmosphere just ok...walked across the street to Terici and had desert and a glass of wine. Much better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I made reservations based on the reviews i read. The dining experience was way better than anticipated. The sound level for business meeting was appropriate. The food was out of this world, Not one bad fork full. The Octopus was best ever tasted and the gnocchi and skirt steak was awesome! The four of us loved tasting all the different foods. And then to finish it off with the Salted Caramel desert - oh boy was that good! A New FAVORITE.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Casual, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was good but not extraordinary. Portions were small and our server did not provide guidance It would have been helpful to be told that the cheese board serves 2 and it too small for a group or 4.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Had a wonderful time at this restaurant. Shared 7 plates with 4 people and it was plenty. Good wine, friendly service. Fast pace atmosphere. Worth going and going back. Just make sure you have reservations in advance. We went early evening and by time we left the place was packed. Enjoy!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great tastes and choices of food. Liked the smaller plates. Great for sharing. Very crowded and noisy with trendy vibe. Getting a reservation can be difficult for weekends. Dining midweek may be better.

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Fresh, local ingredients. Open kitchen. great presentation and taste.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great meal. Meatballs were great. Drinks were great. Budin dessert is a must have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Loved everything except the lighting was too dark. Would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I took my Admins out for lunch at Barbuzzo to celebrate them. Both loved every minute of it. Food was great, service not intrusive and ambiance just really nice and comfy. Great spot

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food is delicious, I have liked everything I tried on the menu. Service was really good despite it being crowded. Food comes out quickly. The Feta cheese or Ricotta cheese dishes are delicious. The homemade pasta is also fantastic and the pizza is really really really good.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Casual, Modern Decor, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was amazing!!! Order the salted caramel budino it's amazing!!! Seating is cramp and the noise level was loud, it was a busy Saturday evening.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Awesome food as always, can't wait to go back! The veggie options are incredible, they had some great beers on tap/bottle/can!

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

High praises for Barbuzzo, indeed! We dined here pre-theater (the Forrest Theatre is a 5 min walk away). This tapas style restaurant offers creative tapas and outstanding service. My husband and I shared 4 tapas: the charcuterie board (wonderful selection of meats), the grilled asparagus, early spring salad and a chorizo pizza. All were delicious. The flavors in the asparagus and salad were complex. When asked about the ingredients, the server was able to explain the various unusual ingredients. This small neighborhood restaurant was bustling and somewhat noisy but okay since there was only 2 of us. There is seating on the sidewalk outside as well. Will definitely be returning and sharing my recommendation with others. Well done, Barbuzzo!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We enjoyed a terrific meal here recently before heading to nearby Lantern Theater - great vegetarian and pasta options. I know they'll never do this but I'd love to see the restauranteurs renovate to make the seating a bit more comfortable and less crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Lovely dinner as usual, we really enjoyed the pastas!

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2017

My boyfriend and I came here for a last minute bite. We were able to get a reservation within 15 minutes of coming there and they sat us right down as we got in. We started off with the cheese plate which was good. The we split the aspargus dish and the gnocchi. Gnocci was definitley my favorite ! Great spot ... definitely coming back!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Excellent food, service and ambience

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Good food but way too noisy to hear conversation. Lights dimmed so low could not read menu.

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Food, beverages and ambience were great! Our server was also the bartender so we did not get very attentive service but had great time, nevertheless!! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We always
Come here for desert and the service is always exceptional.
Never take the salted caramel bordino off the list.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The food tastes amazing but the portion is small for the value. I enjoyed the energetic environment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Thanks to the hostess for ruining my anniversary. As always, the drinks and food were good but the attitude of the waitstaff really soured our special evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Barbuzzo's food was amazing as usual. It's one of my favorite restaurants in the city. However, on this visit our server was very slow. We had to wait 15 minutes before we were offered water. He had to reconfirm our order and the order of the table next to us. I had to request the dessert menu and the check. The bussers were doing a great job, but the waiter wasn't. Maybe he was covering extra tables that night. Also, we sat in the middle of the restaurant and it was very loud. We could barely have a conversation. They could use sound panels.

I will still go to Barbuzzo for the food, but this time my overall experience was not excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I love Barbuzzo- i have dined here before- while its hard to accommodate a large group of more then 4 they will do there best. It is a great date night place. the bartender could have been bit more friendly he poured the wrong wine (i order what he gave me a red) and give me a bit of attitude.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The salted caramel budino dessert was the highlight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Loved Barbuzzo! Steak tartar was amazing. Definitely would recommend any of their pizzas or pastas, so fresh! We were seated outside, which was a little crowded on the side walk BUT it was a holiday so we understood. Seemed a bit dark inside but very beautiful. Waitress was polite and had some great recommendations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The meal at barbuzzo was great - we got the ricotta, branzino, and the maiale pizza. Would recommend the branzino of the three. The bread with the ricotta was a little burnt but possible it is supposed to be like that. The branzino was cooked very well - skin perfectly crispy. The pizza could have had a bit more prosciutto but was overall very good and very very filling.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.