About Barbuzzo Restaurant

110 S 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Barbuzzo is a Mediterranean restaurant and bar located in the trendy Midtown Village area of center city. We serve small plates intended to share. With a wood-burning oven for pizzas & roasting, Barbuzzo’s menu features rustic, hand crafted regional fare such as: Grilled Octopus with fingerlings, roasted peppers & soppressata; Parsnip ravioli with duck ragu and roasted pears; Uovo Pizza with brussel leaves, guanciale, & truffle farm egg. Menu items range in price from $3 to $32. Barbuzzo has a full bar featuring Mediterranean wines, craft beers and cocktails. We have bar and counter seating overlooking the open kitchen available for walk ins.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday to Saturday: 12pm-3pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
Sansom

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 546-9300

Website:
http://www.barbuzzo.com/

Parking Details:
Garage parking available on Sansom Street between 11th & 12th Streets.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Line - Walnut Locust Station

Executive Chef:
Marcie B Turney

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Barbuzzo Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mediterranean
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Most Booked
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Center City ›

fit for foodies (266)
neighborhood gem (150)
hot spot (149)
See All
special occasion (105)
great for lunch (88)
romantic (85)
vibrant bar scene (66)
late-night find (41)
notable wine list (41)
good for groups (34)
great for outdoor dining (31)
great for brunch (15)
kid-friendly (10)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3024 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Barbuzzo! The food is great espe ...

Dined 4 days ago

I love Barbuzzo! The food is great especially the salted caramel budino dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were completely pleased with our dini ...

Dined 5 days ago

We were completely pleased with our dining experience at Barbuzzo! Yes, the restaurant is definitely cozy, not many soft things to absorb sound, but it completely lends to the experience. Our dinners were fantastic, served hot, and ample portions! Server was a dear, didn't hover but was there when you needed - she's got it down. Will definitely return when in the city next! (P.S. My date was my 14 year old foodie son!)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Good service and atmosphere. I had a med ...

Dined 5 days ago

Good service and atmosphere. I had a medium Barbuzzo burger and my girlfriend had a veggie one. Both were delicious but I liked the veggie one more. The tables were a little too close to each other but maybe this is expected from a popular restaurant in center city. Overall, it was a very good dining experience and I recommend everyone to visit it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'd been waiting to try Barbuzzo for qui ...

Dined 6 days ago

I'd been waiting to try Barbuzzo for quite some time as it's very popular and somewhat hard to get a reservation if you're not reserving in advance. I was finally able to do a late night dinner at 9:30 on a Saturday with 2 friends and it was just what we'd been waiting for. The restaurant was dimly lit and cozy, but not overly crowded even though it was at or close to capacity. My friends got a cheese and bread appetizer and pizzas, which they raved about. I got a gnocci dish which was perfect. They'd warned that the servings were small, but I felt mine was ample. My old fashioned was perfect and my friends were quite happy with the wine list. I'd like to go back for a date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply fabulous!

Dined 6 days ago

Great Manhattans! We started with a cheese tray and olives which were just enough to whet the palate. We shared the beet salad, pizza And meatballs and every bite was delish. We topped the evening off with Salted caramel bordino and port wine. Simply Fabulous!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional all around!

Dined on May 20, 2016

I made reservations here because my girlfriend and I had been here when we celebrated six months, and we loved the food. I wanted to propose, so I reached out to the restaurant about that. The manager on duty for that evening, Allura, was so great about helping me pull everything off. I arrived later than expected, but she rolled with the punches and helped me make it a perfect night anyway! The food was great as always, and we enjoyed the non-alcoholic drinks that we were served as well. They even comped us a few items, which made us feel all that much more cared for! We would already be going back for the food, but the service has wowed us to a whole new level!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Finally was able to reserve a table at B ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Finally was able to reserve a table at Barbuzzo. So glad I persevered. My husband and I enjoyed several excellent dishes including the roasted and raw beet salad and the charred snap peas. So good, we could've ended the meal there (but glad we didn't!). Our server suggested a wonderful Italian red that complemented all the flavors on our plate perfectly. Great place and great service.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our 2nd reservation at BARBUZZO ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

This was our 2nd reservation at BARBUZZO the menu was changed since last year and although our favorite brussel spouts were not in season the other items were excellent. This place is always crowded as well as the other restaurants on 13th between Walnut and Chestnut the block is a real hot spot in Philly no matter what evening of the week.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

It was underwhelming. I expected better ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

It was underwhelming. I expected better food for the ratings it had gotten. We ordered a pizza and polenta salad amongst a few other small plates. The food was quite bland and not vibrant in flavor. The ambience was good and maybe go there for drinks. But not for the food. The service was good and our server was very attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and affordable

Dined on May 17, 2016

We loved the parsnip cannelloni with duck, the ricotta, and the branzino (white fish). But really, almost everything was outstanding. Might not have gotten the octopus or the burrata, in retrospect. But I'd highly recommend this charming place--don't miss it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Each plate that came out got better and ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Each plate that came out got better and better. Cocktails were delicious. Great food for the price!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

Very noisy and tables are crammed togeth ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Very noisy and tables are crammed together. Food was good, not great.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Only draw back is that it i ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food! Only draw back is that it is such a small place that the tables are right on top of each other.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food, loud room, but we are ol ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Delicious food, loud room, but we are old fogeys (who eat out!)

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

the seats were too tight. A right handed person.

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

The pizza we ordered took so long to be prepared and it came with the crust burnt. The cream on the desert was not the way it was before.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This is the third time we have been to ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

This is the third time we have been to Barbuzzo. Always delicious food and wonderful, warm and unfussy service. The Salted Caramel Budino dessert is to die for. It does tend to be noisy so if you want a quiet intimate dinner, this is not the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We liked and enjoyed all the dishes we ordered.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We liked and enjoyed all the dishes we ordered... Will come back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful dining experience. Plate porti ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Plate portions a bit small for price but very tasty (maybe I just wished there were more because it was tasty). Salted caramel budino is out of this world!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Took Mom to dinner for Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food, both of us enjoyed very much. Mom liked the light by the front window at 5pm and the noise level was good for her. She had never been and really enjoyed it.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing as always. Reserve early unless ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Amazing as always. Reserve early unless you want to try your chances at the bar seating (which isn't bad). Outdoor seating is available in good weather. Space is small but inviting. Don't miss the sheep's milk ricotta or the salted caramel budino (pudding)!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

so so

Dined on May 6, 2016

other than the dessert the food was not great. burnt meatballs, not much octopus on the platter, not very appealing meat charcuterie... good server though...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Food!

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Spent a long weekend in Philly and had this place on my list of recommended places to try. We couldn't get a reservation for Friday so instead went to dinner Thursday night. Let's just say that we enjoyed it so much we came back the next day for lunch and brought friends. Everything we had from the starters to the pizza was outstanding. We can't imagine going back to Philly without trying to get in to Barbuzzo for another meal! Pat runs quite the operation there.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Disappointing .

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

I have been going to Barbuzzo from their start and this is the first time I was disappointed. The menu has changed and even old favorites remaining on the menu do not cut it, compared to the standard they set. Food was just OK and service were below average. They even put a 20% tip on the bill.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Got the grilled calamari, which was incredible, stuffed meatballs, also a must-get, and a special dish that consisted of homemade pappardelle with a lemon, mint pesto sauce. Everything was enjoyed to the last bite. Especially the salted caramel dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3

Great atmosphere. Some dishes disappoint ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great atmosphere. Some dishes disappointing. Table was small and uncomfortable seating.

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good experience

Dined on April 29, 2016

Good experience overall...wish half stars were available. It's a small, crowded restaurant, and it gets loud. Service was short and to the point, but kind. We had a party of five, and tried a number of items on the menu. There were some bright spots: the pizza was awesome, meatballs and ricotta are must haves, and butternut squash ravioli and pappardelle were good. Squid pasta was a miss, and the bone marrow, risotto, steak tartare and crostini were okay. Cocktails were good and we had two decent bottles of wine. Sadly, we got the last bottle of Syrah, but weren't made aware of it until we went to order a second bottle. Too bad, because it was delicious! Overall, we had a good time and would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Birthday Dinner

Dined on April 28, 2016

Been reading much about the ladies who run 13th street. Had to finally check out one of the restaurants and we were so glad we did. Excellent new addition to Philly restaurant scene.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

I really liked the brussels sprouts pizz ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

I really liked the brussels sprouts pizza

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great

Dined on April 25, 2016

We got the meatballs, mussels and buratta. The mussels were underwhelming, but everything else was phenomenal!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Was a wonderful Sunday night dinner. We' ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Was a wonderful Sunday night dinner. We've been several times and never disappointed!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

every dish is more amazing that you time ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

every dish is more amazing that you time from pizza to pasta to fish to polenta you want to try it all - the wines are great to try too as are the cocktails - this is by far the best tapas style restaurant in the city in my opinion - trump Amada by far....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

The reviews had led me to believe we wer ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The reviews had led me to believe we were in for something special. Well, if by special one means sitting elbow to elbow with other diners, barely hearing each other, and not being able to read the menu because of the "dim ambience lighting" (I am not kidding; we had to turn on the flashlight app on our phones to read the menu), then yep, we sure had a special time. The food wasn't bad..but it wasn't anything 'special' to write home about, either. Quite frankly, I've had much better pizza and salad at places like Joe's pizza, for a fraction of the price (and I could see what I was eating!) Oh, and the beer! SO overpriced, and served in a small wineglass???!!! Seriously? I think with the way they poured it, they could easily get three "glasses" out of a bottle. This was a special occasion for myself and my out of town best friend. Good thing the other places we went to that weekend held up to expectation, because I almost lost all cred as the go to gal for places to eat with this place. Not going back.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice restaurant and great food:

Dined on April 23, 2016

some of the best mussels I have ever had in a pleasant atmosphere

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Yummy

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

First visit. Very pleasant impression. Ambiance is rustic, modern. Vibe is nice but quite loud. Service is excellent. The most important - FOOD is very good. Not everything we've tried was to our liking, but what we liked was absolutely the magnet to bring us back. Tasted: Lamb tongue (special) A+, Polenta w. vegatables B-, Octopus B-, Beet salad w. Kale A+ and Asparagus/egg Pizza A++++. Beer, Sherry and Sangria were excellent. Conclusion : visit again ASAP. P.S. Came back the next day for lunch. Tasted Chef's bar plate A+, soup A++, pasta A, ricotta A- and budino for dessert was on the house (thank you guys!) for such a quick return : ). Wonderful experience again. At this point we think this place is one of the very best in Philly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

LOVE this place!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Each time I go, the food impresses both me and my guests. My only complaint (if you can call it that) is that the restaurant is very small. This means you are very close to he strangers at the table next to you and it can be difficult to get a reservation. In the past it hasn't been an issue, but this time I had difficulty getting the attention of my waitress several times. Considering how small the restaurant is, there was really no good excuse (each time she was talking with her co-workers).

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Top notch. This tiny place consistency g ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Top notch. This tiny place consistency generates great food in a fun, casual environment. Plates made for sharing. Don't miss the amazing pizzas. The cuisine is on par with the best eateries. Make sure you make a point to try it.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

nice place for lunch

Dined on April 20, 2016

good food, creative, service was excellent and we sat there a long while, but a bit noisy,

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food

Dined on April 19, 2016

The selection of foods fit any palate but definitely appeals to any foodie. Best meal I've had in Philadelphia yet.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the menu and small plate concept. E ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Love the menu and small plate concept. Excellent bar/cocktail menu - like the local beer selections too. Lots of attention to detail in food preparation and presentation. Attentive, cordial, and knowledgeable service. Dined on a weeknight and now know why it's difficult to get a reservation on the weekend - must book early! Will definitely return. Very, very good dining experience for me and my guest. Cheers!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome meal and atmosphere

Dined on April 19, 2016

It was a great place for lunch. Would be an awesome date spot. Not super cheap but the food and service were both great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.