About Barbuzzo Restaurant

Barbuzzo is a Mediterranean restaurant and bar located in the trendy Midtown Village area of center city. We serve small plates intended to share. With a wood-burning oven for pizzas & roasting, Barbuzzo’s menu features rustic, hand crafted regional fare such as: Grilled Octopus with fingerlings, roasted peppers & soppressata; Parsnip ravioli with duck ragu and roasted pears; Uovo Pizza with brussel leaves, guanciale, & truffle farm egg. Menu items range in price from $3 to $32. Barbuzzo has a full bar featuring Mediterranean wines, craft beers and cocktails. We have bar and counter seating overlooking the open kitchen available for walk ins.

110 S 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday to Saturday: 12pm-3pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
Sansom

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 546-9300

Website:
http://www.barbuzzo.com/

Parking Details:
Garage parking available on Sansom Street between 11th & 12th Streets.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Line - Walnut Locust Station

Executive Chef:
Marcie B Turney

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Barbuzzo Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (84)
Good for a Date (76)
Creative Cuisine (62)
See All
Hot Spot (60)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Fun (46)
Casual (46)
Special Occasion (40)
Tapas (39)
Romantic (36)
Cozy (36)
Great for Lunch (30)
Bar Seating (29)
Worth the Drive (27)
Local Ingredients (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good Vegetarian Options (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Authentic (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
People Watching (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Business Meals (20)
Late-night Find (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Open Kitchen (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Healthy (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Seasonal (13)
Quick Bite (13)
Wood Oven (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great Beer (7)
Organic (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Family Style (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (0)
Sort By:
S
3757 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

It was great but their AC was broken on a 90 D day and they have an open kitchen making it even hotter inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Starting our vacation with rose & a wonderful dinner. Started with the smoked trout tartine & the beet salad. Followed by the bucatini with scallops and my favorite the special sweet corn & ricotta ravioli. Ended with the best desert in Philly - The Budino. Can't wait to come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

We went there just for dessert...the salted caramel one and it was amazing! While we didn't have dinner the pizza looked really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Perfect in every way. Food is outstanding . Service awesome. We sat outside and it was wonderful

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The vegetables are all treasures and the pasta is absolutely inspired.

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Always have a wonderful meal and a great time here!!!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Barbuzzo lived up to its reputation as being a great place for interesting Italian food. Portions were larger than other places of similar caliber, and the menu selection was great. One of our party has Celiac's and is lactose intolerant and our server was very knowledgeable and helpful in guiding her to menu items that she could safely eat. We enjoyed everything and I will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 13, 2017

There is no better food of this type anywhere. Any palate. From meatballs to salads to exotic fare to pizza. Hard to go anywhere else.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Dishes were creative and very tasty. Each person in my party of 3 very much enjoyed her meal. My gin and tonic was appropriately strong. Could have offered bitters or simple syrup. I'm happy to have discovered this restaurant. I will return. Only complaint was that the restaurant was uncomfortably warm.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The food was yummy but the restaurant was noisy and tables were tight. There were two of us and we shared four plates; three plates would have been sufficient. The cheese platter was delicious as were the mussels and salads! We would definitely go back!!!

Tags: Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great neighborhood place - Little disappointed with the cheese plate

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The food is phenomenal; the service impeccable; and the signature dessert, the budino, sinfully delicious! I have dined at this restaurant several times and they managed to exceed expectations on each occasion.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great drinks,very accomodating as we got there early and the bartender was extremely friendly. We ended up eating at the bar. Food was amazing!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Friendly staff, and the food was amazing. Especially the Sheep's Milk Ricotta.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food and service. Noisier than we anticipated. Overall, great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A nice experience on a lovely evening! We were happy to have a table outside as the weather was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Once again, I had an amazing meal at Barbuzzo! Each course from the whipped ricotta to the Salted Caramel Bundino (both are musts) were delicious. By only complaints were that the bread with the whipped ricotta was burnt rather than just grilled, my martini was not a full glass, and the service was surprisingly not that great. Our waiter did not seem informed about the ingredients in certain dishes and non of the waitstaff seemed to be friendly or even smile. I do however appreciate how Barbuzzo was willing to accommodate me by putting the pork on the side of our dishes, since I do not eat red meat. Overall we had a great dinner and will definitely go back.

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food and service was fabulous. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 5, 2017

I loved the ambiance of the place. The food was good, especially the ice cream.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

My parents had tried this place on a recent visit to Philly and completely raved about the food, so I was excited to try it myself for a recent special occasion. I'm thrilled to say it didn't disappoint! The cocktails were really solid, the vegetable dishes were beautiful, and the one seafood option I tried (grilled octopus) was stunning. The one thing that left us a liiiittle cold, in comparison to everything else, was the asparagus pizza--the crust wasn't terribly well-flavored, and while the toppings were lovely, the kitchen's liberal hand with the truffle oil made that the dominant note. (Don't get me wrong, we happily consumed it and took home some leftovers that made a great cold-pizza dinner the next day. It was just the weakest dish among the several we tried.) While I sometimes find small plate/tapas/family style places a little grating for the high-price-to-small-portion ratio, I felt that Barbuzzo's offerings were much more generous than other trendy Center City spots with similar models. And: delicious. The fig bread pudding was hands-down the best dessert I've had this year.

Overall: very nice atmosphere, gorgeous food, and while it's not exactly budget-friendly, it felt like we absolutely got what we paid for. You'll definitely want to make a reservation, probably at least a week in advance--when booking on a Friday for a table the following Monday, there was precisely one time slot available.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Loved this place. Very cool vibe and amazing flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This was a last minute reservation on a holiday weekend and we were pleasantly surprised. I was not aware that the restaurant was a Tapas style restaurant when I made the reservation - not sure if the menu or Open Table indicated this. We were promptly seated and our waiter was VERY professional. He advised that the options on the menu were considered Tapas style and would serve 2 people, he suggested ordering two dishes each and then sharing. We were worried that we'd leave hungry as we were expecting a full meal, but this was not the case. The Tapas dishes were hearty and delicious - fresh w/ locally sourced ingredients and creative! We had an enjoyable meal, the ambiance was authentic and fun and the service was notable. I'd definitely try again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Authentic, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I have never had a bad experience at Barbuzzo, food is always delicious!

Tags: Hot Spot, Organic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Amazing food in a hip/fun setting. Best meal during a long ladies weekend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Anniversary was awesome and so special! The Budino never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Definitely didn't live up to the previous reviews. The Ovo pizza was burnt, had limited & inconsistent toppings, and the char overpowered the one grape and tiny amount of Gorgonzola on each slice (that was 1/4 of the pizza). Meatballs and pasta were ok, but not great. While the food was ok, it was nowhere near as good as expected based on previous reviews or based on pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I recently ate at the restaurant.We have eaten there in February and I liked it so much that I booked a reservation for my mother in-laws bday. It was very loud and unsettling.The kale salad was good, but very little goat cheese..The pasta with crab was very pedestrian too much separation of flavors.The orrichett dish was better last time. My son's margarit pizza was good. Overall, I didn't feel it was a good value for the food we ate..On the fence as to whether or not I'd come back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We arrived for lunch at noon when they opened so the restaurant was relatively quiet and not crowded. The noise level rose between 12:30-1:30 but there were still empty tables and we lingered and chatted until close to 2. Our waitress was accommodating and did not pressure us. The menu offerings were varied and interesting and we both enjoyed our selections. I ordered the Mediterranean sampler plate and it was excellent and quite large.

Tags: Tapas, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great pizza but they are squeezing in too many tiny tables and it is very loud. Might be better to go for lunch instead of dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great food. Atmosphere was good. We had a table right by the open window door and could catch all the outside activity. But very tight with the seating

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The menu is small but covers a wide range of Italian foods. Our group ordered a cheese flight, pizza, salad, and a sandwich. Everything was fresh, well prepared, and delicious. Not super high end, but not cheap either.

Atmosphere is casual and the location is pretty central.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We really enjoyed it, but ate too much!! We were recommended by a 20 something friend of my son's as a good bet for 4 moms. We loved it!

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I love the small tapas style options. Lots to choose from and great for sharing with friends. Go in with an open mind as some of the items seem a little offbeat and not appetizing but EVERYTHING was delicious

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Amazing food; great service! Fun place to go, but get there early or make a reservation. Will be returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 26, 2017

18th birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Barbuzzo never disappoints!
The second best pizza I've ever had!

Tags: Organic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We had a terrible experience
Food was awful , service was worse!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Food was delicious, make sure you eat the bundino. It was very noisy in the restaurant and tables were closer together than I would have liked. That being said, this is expected of a restaurant in a major city and so can't discredit them for having this issue. Only aspect of the restaurant I did not like was that it was much darker inside than I would have liked. At the first table we were seated at I needed the light off of my phone screen to read the menu. We asked the host to move to a table closer to the window, they were extremely accommodating. However, I did notice that the people that were seated at our old table had the same issue and were struggling to read the menu. All in all this place has wonderful food, a well decorated interior, and great service. If they turned up the lights just a tad they would be a 10/10 instead of a 9.9/10.

Tags: Quick Bite, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Special evening! Great food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

second time at Barbuzzo, good/interesting food and menu, solid wine/cocktail list, just a good casual spot in the middle of a vibrant stretch of 13th St

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.