About Barbuzzo Restaurant

110 S 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Barbuzzo is a Mediterranean restaurant and bar located in the trendy Midtown Village area of center city. We serve small plates intended to share. With a wood-burning oven for pizzas & roasting, Barbuzzo’s menu features rustic, hand crafted regional fare such as: Grilled Octopus with fingerlings, roasted peppers & soppressata; Parsnip ravioli with duck ragu and roasted pears; Uovo Pizza with brussel leaves, guanciale, & truffle farm egg. Menu items range in price from $3 to $32. Barbuzzo has a full bar featuring Mediterranean wines, craft beers and cocktails. We have bar and counter seating overlooking the open kitchen available for walk ins.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday to Saturday: 12pm-3pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
Sansom

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 546-9300

Website:
http://www.barbuzzo.com/

Parking Details:
Garage parking available on Sansom Street between 11th & 12th Streets.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Line - Walnut Locust Station

Executive Chef:
Marcie B Turney

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Salted Caramel Budino
Budino
Caciocavallo Stuffed Meatballs
White Bean And Garlic Crostini
Basil Lemonade
Sheep's Milk Ricotta
Shaved Brussel sprout salad
Tufoli
orecchiette
Pan seared gnocchi
Burrata
Salted Carmel Buddino
Pizza
Grilled Prawns
Red Sangria
Pan-Seared Gnocchi
Sangria
Trecce Pasta
orange chocolate
Margherita Pizza
Bone Marrow
House Made Chocolate
Oregano & Chili Oil
Chocolate
Prosecco Chocolate
Stuffed Meatballs
Turkey Sandwich
Tonnarelli Nero
Roasted Bone Marrow
Roasted Beet Salad
Cavatappi Al Forno
Gazpacho
Salted Caramel Budino, with dark chocolate crust, vanilla bean caramel & sea salt
Grilled Chicken Sandwich
Porchetta Sandwich
"Maialino" prosciutto cotto, braised bacon, apple, gorgonzola, toasted chestnuts, rosemary
Whole Wheat Cassarecce, yellow foot chantrelles, royal trumpet mushrooms, maitake mushrooms, tuscan kale, smoked ricotta salata
Barbuzzo Burger
Burrata & Grilled Broccolini, speck, marinated peppers, pumpkin seeds, pangrattato, warm prosciutto vinaigrette
Roasted Butternut Arancini, crispy butternut squash risotto balls, preserved lemon aioli, popped pumpkin seeds & grana padano
Sangria, Roja Spanish wine, brandy, citrus, rosemary
Chicken Liver- Foie Mousse, Plum Jam, Marcona Almonds, Pear Aigre Doux, Crostini
Caciocavallo Stuffed Meatballs, house ground short rib and pork meatballs, Sicilian oregano, Calabrian chile & pickled pepper
Uovo Pizza
Trecce
Lobster Ravioli
Sheeps Milk Ricotta
Asparago Pizza
Barbuzzo Old Fashioned
Warm Lancaster Apple & Raisin Bread Pudding
Spring Pea Risotto
Summer Peach Crostone
Pappardelle With Pork Ragu
Tiramisu
Goat Cheese Plate
Barbuzzo "Pig Popcorn"
Roasted & Shaved Raw Radishes And White Bean Roasted Garlic Crostini
Kale Salad With Oranges And Beets
Rigatoni With Pork Ragu
Campania Buffalo Mozzarella With Heirloom Tomatoes
Ricotta With Fig, Black Pepper & Agave
paccheri / rustic pork ragu / parmigiano reggiano
tuna cavatelli w/ snow peas
Sweetbread And Pecorino Ravioli
Apple And Raisin Bread Pudding
Roasted Beef Bone Marrow
Fideuá
Sparkling Pinot
Uovo
Antipasti Plate
Grilled Swordfish With Salsa Verde
Restaurant Week
Sea Bass Branzino
Stripped Bass By Jen Carroll
Fava Bean
Roasted & Shaved Raw Radishes Crostini
strozzapreti
Martini
Tufoli Calabrese
Pizza Margherita
sanguinello
Pig Popcorn
Lardo Pizza
Chocolate Espresso Tiramisu
Old Fashioned
Sheeps' Milk Ricotta
Vanilla Gelato
Beaujolais Nouveau
Seared Skuna Bay Salmon
Grilled Mediterranean Octopus
Ceci Il Forno
Tricolore Salad
Grilled Pork Spiedini
Buffalo Mozzarella
Cheese Board
Cured Meats Cutting Board
Marciello Pizza
Bone Marrow with Radishes
sea salted dark chocolate caramels
Shrimp

Barbuzzo Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mediterranean
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Most Booked
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Center City ›

fit for foodies (237)
neighborhood gem (137)
hot spot (132)
See All
special occasion (103)
great for lunch (77)
romantic (76)
vibrant bar scene (57)
great for outdoor dining (36)
late-night find (34)
notable wine list (32)
good for groups (29)
great for brunch (14)
kid-friendly (11)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
3048 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We've been here several times and I've a ...

Dined 5 days ago

We've been here several times and I've always rated everything 5 stars- It's one of our favorites, but we were there on Father's Day, not too crowded and the food was good, but not as great as we usually think. We will definitely go back, but not as impressed as usual and we took our grown children. They had never been there and said it was OK, not great also

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

The food was very good but I would not g ...

Dined 7 days ago

The food was very good but I would not go back because our server was rude. She seemed annoyed about me asking about the menu. Not kid friendly at all. Also there was no high chair for my 2kids.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super menu, food was very well prepared ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Super menu, food was very well prepared and plated. And the service was great, attentive but subtle. Ricotta appetizer was really really good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing food. Reasonably priced. Very pa ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Amazing food. Reasonably priced. Very packed close seating. Little bit loud but great meal

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I loved Barbuzzo. Can't wait to go back. ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

I loved Barbuzzo. Can't wait to go back. Every thing we had was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly enjoyed and great service ! A litt ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Truly enjoyed and great service ! A little slower though between each plate would have been perfect.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Barbuzzo came highly recommended and did ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Barbuzzo came highly recommended and did not disappoint. We both loved it - and the service was super friendly and knowledgeable too.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect as always

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Top restaurant in Philadelphia. Food and service are always great.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant

Dined on June 7, 2016

I come to Philly for business and ALWAYS make sure I dine at Barbuzzo’s at least once during my stay. The dishes are creative, made with fresh ingredients and on a healthy side. The food comes out really fast. My fav is grilled Mediterranean octopus. I highly recommend this place for dinner. Just wish that parking situation was easier...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Every dish was excellently crafted and p ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Every dish was excellently crafted and prepared. Next time I'm in Philly, will definitely go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

The setup was interesting. The lighting ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

The setup was interesting. The lighting was quite romantic. And the drinks here amazing

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding high quality food. Service w ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Outstanding high quality food. Service was fantastic. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Review

Dined on June 3, 2016

This was a great experience and I the Gnocchi was delicious!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

the beet salad was excellent. the pizza ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

the beet salad was excellent. the pizza begins to be on par with vetri pizza. very good sport in midtown.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

great lunch

Dined on June 1, 2016

I have been to this restaurant many times and really enjoy the food and service; however, it is really noisy!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

It's nice that they have outdoor seating ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

It's nice that they have outdoor seating available, if you don't mind the sidewalk. The pizzas are amazing! You cannot leave without ordering the Sheepsmilk Ricotta!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Barbuzzo - It keeps getting better and better

Dined on May 31, 2016

We came back for our 15th Anniversary and were thrilled that the food has constantly been improving. The most wonderful combinations of food and flavors keep us coming back and the most wonderful cocktails too. We come all the way from NY City to eat hear. We LOVE Barbuzzo

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a yummy lunch here of antipasto and ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Had a yummy lunch here of antipasto and a wild mushroom pizza. Service was very attentive, and ambience was attractive. We'd go there again when in Philly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Had a great date night here with delicious shared plates. Excellent recommendations from the waitress. Will definitely return when back in Philly!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

barbuzzo

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Excellent food with good variety. Steak sandwich was very good as were stuffed meatballs. Service was pleasant and efficient.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

My friend and I sat outside during a war ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

My friend and I sat outside during a warm evening for dinner. We shared the cheese board which was spectacular! We also shared the meatballs, which barbuzzo is known for. Being Italian, I normally don't order meatballs out, but they were delcious. We also tried the squid ink pasta and blackberry sorbet. Everything over all was well priced and tastey. I would definitely return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good

Dined on May 26, 2016

Had a good time here, excellent food. Especially like the salted Carmel and Sheeps milk ricotta

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We received the best service that were v ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

We received the best service that were very accommodating to our needs. the food was exceptional and their budino is possibly one of the best deserts in town.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Barbuzzo! The food is great espe ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

I love Barbuzzo! The food is great especially the salted caramel budino dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were completely pleased with our dini ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

We were completely pleased with our dining experience at Barbuzzo! Yes, the restaurant is definitely cozy, not many soft things to absorb sound, but it completely lends to the experience. Our dinners were fantastic, served hot, and ample portions! Server was a dear, didn't hover but was there when you needed - she's got it down. Will definitely return when in the city next! (P.S. My date was my 14 year old foodie son!)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Good service and atmosphere. I had a med ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Good service and atmosphere. I had a medium Barbuzzo burger and my girlfriend had a veggie one. Both were delicious but I liked the veggie one more. The tables were a little too close to each other but maybe this is expected from a popular restaurant in center city. Overall, it was a very good dining experience and I recommend everyone to visit it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'd been waiting to try Barbuzzo for qui ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I'd been waiting to try Barbuzzo for quite some time as it's very popular and somewhat hard to get a reservation if you're not reserving in advance. I was finally able to do a late night dinner at 9:30 on a Saturday with 2 friends and it was just what we'd been waiting for. The restaurant was dimly lit and cozy, but not overly crowded even though it was at or close to capacity. My friends got a cheese and bread appetizer and pizzas, which they raved about. I got a gnocci dish which was perfect. They'd warned that the servings were small, but I felt mine was ample. My old fashioned was perfect and my friends were quite happy with the wine list. I'd like to go back for a date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply fabulous!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great Manhattans! We started with a cheese tray and olives which were just enough to whet the palate. We shared the beet salad, pizza And meatballs and every bite was delish. We topped the evening off with Salted caramel bordino and port wine. Simply Fabulous!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional all around!

Dined on May 20, 2016

I made reservations here because my girlfriend and I had been here when we celebrated six months, and we loved the food. I wanted to propose, so I reached out to the restaurant about that. The manager on duty for that evening, Allura, was so great about helping me pull everything off. I arrived later than expected, but she rolled with the punches and helped me make it a perfect night anyway! The food was great as always, and we enjoyed the non-alcoholic drinks that we were served as well. They even comped us a few items, which made us feel all that much more cared for! We would already be going back for the food, but the service has wowed us to a whole new level!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Finally was able to reserve a table at B ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Finally was able to reserve a table at Barbuzzo. So glad I persevered. My husband and I enjoyed several excellent dishes including the roasted and raw beet salad and the charred snap peas. So good, we could've ended the meal there (but glad we didn't!). Our server suggested a wonderful Italian red that complemented all the flavors on our plate perfectly. Great place and great service.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our 2nd reservation at BARBUZZO ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

This was our 2nd reservation at BARBUZZO the menu was changed since last year and although our favorite brussel spouts were not in season the other items were excellent. This place is always crowded as well as the other restaurants on 13th between Walnut and Chestnut the block is a real hot spot in Philly no matter what evening of the week.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

It was underwhelming. I expected better ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

It was underwhelming. I expected better food for the ratings it had gotten. We ordered a pizza and polenta salad amongst a few other small plates. The food was quite bland and not vibrant in flavor. The ambience was good and maybe go there for drinks. But not for the food. The service was good and our server was very attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and affordable

Dined on May 17, 2016

We loved the parsnip cannelloni with duck, the ricotta, and the branzino (white fish). But really, almost everything was outstanding. Might not have gotten the octopus or the burrata, in retrospect. But I'd highly recommend this charming place--don't miss it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Each plate that came out got better and ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Each plate that came out got better and better. Cocktails were delicious. Great food for the price!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

Very noisy and tables are crammed togeth ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Very noisy and tables are crammed together. Food was good, not great.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Only draw back is that it i ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food! Only draw back is that it is such a small place that the tables are right on top of each other.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food, loud room, but we are ol ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Delicious food, loud room, but we are old fogeys (who eat out!)

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

the seats were too tight. A right handed person.

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

The pizza we ordered took so long to be prepared and it came with the crust burnt. The cream on the desert was not the way it was before.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This is the third time we have been to ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

This is the third time we have been to Barbuzzo. Always delicious food and wonderful, warm and unfussy service. The Salted Caramel Budino dessert is to die for. It does tend to be noisy so if you want a quiet intimate dinner, this is not the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We liked and enjoyed all the dishes we ordered.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We liked and enjoyed all the dishes we ordered... Will come back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.