About Barbuzzo Restaurant

110 S 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Barbuzzo is a Mediterranean restaurant and bar located in the trendy Midtown Village area of center city. We serve small plates intended to share. With a wood-burning oven for pizzas & roasting, Barbuzzo’s menu features rustic, hand crafted regional fare such as: Grilled Octopus with fingerlings, roasted peppers & soppressata; Parsnip ravioli with duck ragu and roasted pears; Uovo Pizza with brussel leaves, guanciale, & truffle farm egg. Menu items range in price from $3 to $32. Barbuzzo has a full bar featuring Mediterranean wines, craft beers and cocktails. We have bar and counter seating overlooking the open kitchen available for walk ins.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday to Saturday: 12pm-3pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
Sansom

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 546-9300

Website:
http://www.barbuzzo.com/

Parking Details:
Garage parking available on Sansom Street between 11th & 12th Streets.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Line - Walnut Locust Station

Executive Chef:
Marcie B Turney

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Salted Caramel Budino
Pan-Seared Gnocchi
Budino
Sangria
Caciocavallo Stuffed Meatballs
Tiramisu
Sheep's Milk Ricotta
Caciocavallo Stuffed Meatballs, house ground short rib and pork meatballs, Sicilian oregano, Calabrian chile & pickled pepper
Grilled Octopus
White Bean And Garlic Crostini
Basil Lemonade
Cheese Board
paccheri / rustic pork ragu / parmigiano reggiano
Wyndridge Crafty Cider
Shaved Brussel sprout salad
Tufoli
Ricotta And Orange Bread Pudding With Lavender Honey Ice Cream
Steak Sandwich
orecchiette
Pan seared gnocchi
Pizza
Burrata
Salted Carmel Buddino
Grilled Prawns
Red Sangria
Trecce Pasta
orange chocolate
Margherita Pizza
Bone Marrow
House Made Chocolate
Oregano & Chili Oil
Chocolate
Prosecco Chocolate
Stuffed Meatballs
Turkey Sandwich
Tonnarelli Nero
Roasted Bone Marrow
Roasted Beet Salad
Cavatappi Al Forno
Gazpacho
Salted Caramel Budino, with dark chocolate crust, vanilla bean caramel & sea salt
Grilled Chicken Sandwich
Porchetta Sandwich
Whole Wheat Cassarecce, yellow foot chantrelles, royal trumpet mushrooms, maitake mushrooms, tuscan kale, smoked ricotta salata
"Maialino" prosciutto cotto, braised bacon, apple, gorgonzola, toasted chestnuts, rosemary
Barbuzzo Burger
Roasted Butternut Arancini, crispy butternut squash risotto balls, preserved lemon aioli, popped pumpkin seeds & grana padano
Burrata & Grilled Broccolini, speck, marinated peppers, pumpkin seeds, pangrattato, warm prosciutto vinaigrette
Sangria, Roja Spanish wine, brandy, citrus, rosemary
Chicken Liver- Foie Mousse, Plum Jam, Marcona Almonds, Pear Aigre Doux, Crostini
Uovo Pizza
Trecce
Lobster Ravioli
Sheeps Milk Ricotta
Asparago Pizza
Barbuzzo Old Fashioned
Warm Lancaster Apple & Raisin Bread Pudding
Spring Pea Risotto
Pappardelle With Pork Ragu
Summer Peach Crostone
Goat Cheese Plate
Barbuzzo "Pig Popcorn"
Roasted & Shaved Raw Radishes And White Bean Roasted Garlic Crostini
Kale Salad With Oranges And Beets
Rigatoni With Pork Ragu
Campania Buffalo Mozzarella With Heirloom Tomatoes
Ricotta With Fig, Black Pepper & Agave
tuna cavatelli w/ snow peas
Sweetbread And Pecorino Ravioli
Apple And Raisin Bread Pudding
Roasted Beef Bone Marrow
Sparkling Pinot
Fideuá
Uovo
Antipasti Plate
Grilled Swordfish With Salsa Verde
Sea Bass Branzino
Restaurant Week
Stripped Bass By Jen Carroll
Fava Bean
Roasted & Shaved Raw Radishes Crostini
strozzapreti
Martini
Tufoli Calabrese
Pizza Margherita
sanguinello
Pig Popcorn
Lardo Pizza
Old Fashioned
Chocolate Espresso Tiramisu
Sheeps' Milk Ricotta
Vanilla Gelato
Beaujolais Nouveau
Seared Skuna Bay Salmon
Grilled Mediterranean Octopus
Ceci Il Forno
Tricolore Salad
Grilled Pork Spiedini
Buffalo Mozzarella
Cured Meats Cutting Board

Barbuzzo Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mediterranean
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Most Booked
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Most Booked
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Center City ›

Fit for Foodies (171)
Neighborhood Gem (106)
Hot Spot (105)
See All
Special Occasion (85)
Romantic (57)
Great for Lunch (56)
Late-night Find (36)
Vibrant Bar Scene (35)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Groups (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Great for Brunch (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
3102 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was amazing and the service was ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing and the service was great! Our server gave us great advice as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous overall experience! Only compla ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Fabulous overall experience! Only complaint is that it's a bit dark 🙂

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fantastic! The uovo pizza, ri ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Absolutely fantastic! The uovo pizza, ricotta cheese dish and meatballs get me every time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too dark inside and too close to the nex ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Too dark inside and too close to the next table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Always good quality food and service. Wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always good quality food and service. Was a little put off that our reservation was at 5p, but the restaurant didn't even open the doors until 5:10p. Otherwise staff was friendly and accommodating, and the food tasted great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

THe food was fantastic, bit it was a hot ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

THe food was fantastic, bit it was a hot day and for some reason the AC wasn't working / effective

We were sweating throughout!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Preface: It was 96 degrees out at 7:30p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Preface: It was 96 degrees out at 7:30pm, and had been hot all day.

I am a returning customer, as Barbuzzo is one of my favorite restaurants for dates or to bring family/friends.

However, my recent trip, the restaurant was negligibly cooler than outside. There are no ceiling fans, which is fine if the AC is noticeably blowing. However, the AC wasn't keeping the restaurant cool. We asked the server if the AC was broke and she said it was working fine. My mother had to fan herself the whole night. I was also hot and sweating during the whole meal (I am a healthy - normal weight - 30 year old. I realize the format is an open kitchen, which adds to the heat, but we were closer to the door (away from the kitchen).

Additionally, it was extremely dim lighting. I understand dim lighting adds to ambiance, but both my parents, myself and several others I saw (when looking around the room) were using cell phones and candles from the table just to read the menu. The strain on the eyes, the inconvenience of using a phone and the distraction of seeing multiple cell phone lights around the room ruin the ambiance they are going for, in my opinion.

Otherwise, the food and drinks were great - as always!

Regards,

James

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Another great meal, both food, service a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Another great meal, both food, service and drinks were very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server was amazing! The prix fixe me ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our server was amazing! The prix fixe menu was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cool open kitchen

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Cool open kitchen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food lots of choices but very dim ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food lots of choices but very dim lighting. Was hard to read menu and see my food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Barbuzzo never disappoints. The food is ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Barbuzzo never disappoints. The food is seasonal, local, innovative and delicious. It is pretty loud and a bit chaotic, but that adds a bit to its charm. We had reservations on a Saturday night a 5 (when they opened), they were turning people without reservations away almost immediately, and by the time we left, every table was full. If you don't want to be disappointed, make reservations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We missed the sage ravioli.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We missed the sage ravioli.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Interesting and trendy restaurant. Good ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Interesting and trendy restaurant. Good food. Very crowded. Noisy. Attentive wait staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Noise level dangerous for your hearing! ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Noise level dangerous for your hearing! Waiters are working in a noise environment that woukd probably not be acceptable to OSHA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Both food and service outstanding. It's ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Both food and service outstanding. It's a bit loud; however, the first 2 points far exceed the downside of the noise. The meatballs and gnocchi, off the charts delicious. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Our party of two was seated promptly, an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Our party of two was seated promptly, and service was outstanding. All of the food we ordered was delicious, really fresh, and our server's recommendation of two dishes each, which we shared, was perfect. Unfortunately, because of the noise level, we won't be back. We are neither old nor hard of hearing, but conversation was virtually impossible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Barbuzzo is by far our favorite restaura ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Barbuzzo is by far our favorite restaurant in center philly. We go for all occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, and our waiter w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was delicious, and our waiter was extremely friendly, patient, and helpful. The asparago pizza was definitely the highlight!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I met my nephew at Barbuzzo for lunch. W ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I met my nephew at Barbuzzo for lunch. We were seated right away. I ordered the antipasti plate and he ordered a cheeseburger. Both were delicious. Our waiter was friendly and helpful, and didn't rush us. My nephew had tiramisu for dessert and I had a salted caramel something that was out of this world. The atmosphere was lively and fun. It's a little loud, but not obnoxiously so. I would recommend this restaurant for a lovely lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took 3 teenage kids for lunch. They love ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Took 3 teenage kids for lunch. They loved the pizza! Pasta not so much. I got the antipasto plate and it was delicious as were the specialty lemonades.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We needed a late night place to eat afte ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We needed a late night place to eat after walking all over the city all day. We found Barbuzzo through a Google search and made our way there. The food was EXCELLENT and we're very picky, always preferring "farm-to-table" which is exactly what Barbuzzo is. If we lived in Philly, we'd probably eat there every week!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"I have 5 tables to serve" said the nice ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

"I have 5 tables to serve" said the nice waitress. Really nice and she's right and it's not even her fault. Probably the management

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Love the pastas and unique cocktails, al ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Love the pastas and unique cocktails, always a great dining experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent cocktails, food, and service - ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Excellent cocktails, food, and service - highly recommend this place for just about any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always enjoy Barbuzzo. We were seated u ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Always enjoy Barbuzzo. We were seated up front and there were many tables available in the restaurant. I would have preferred being seated a little deeper in the restaurant with tables available. Just my personal opinion but I would seat people by the door last. Still had a great experience and would continue to recommend this outstanding restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Barbuzzo is a neighborhood gem with exce ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Barbuzzo is a neighborhood gem with excellent food and service .. everything about the place is top rated.. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu never changes. Our last time there ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Menu never changes. Our last time there--gets boring. Crowd very loud. Some service slow, especially in the beginning. This was our second and last visit.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Really disappointing experience. Had a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Really disappointing experience. Had a biz lunch here with a total of 5 of us crammed into a space that would barely fit 4. Had gratuity added with no mention of it to our check for 5 ppl. Since when is that considered a large party?

Few items on menu not available.

Dessert was good. But otherwise, think it's off my list for working lunches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

I dined with my son and we decided to tr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I dined with my son and we decided to try several different small plates. Each was different and all excellent with respect to size, flavor and presentation.

We felt comfortable to linger and talk. Staff was friendly and welcoming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server's name was Angel and she was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our server's name was Angel and she was THE ABSOLUTE BEST! I definitely plan on returning soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Awesome! Cocktails and dinner were fabul ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Awesome! Cocktails and dinner were fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Barbuzzo was wonderful as always! Deli ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Barbuzzo was wonderful as always! Delicious food, great drinks and good service. Great way to celebrate my son's birthday!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not an ideal place if one wants to hold ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Not an ideal place if one wants to hold a converstion/ Too loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Meatballs & polenta

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Meatballs & polenta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waitress was rude and abrupt.....we ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our waitress was rude and abrupt.....we left after our first drink and a salad. We just didn't feel welcomed :( I usually spend $200.00 at a center city restaurant! Our bill was $32.00, we moved on and spent the rest down the street at a place where we were treated with respect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

My favorite restaurant in Philly! I took ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Philly! I took my friend here who was visiting from LA, and she let me know that it was one of her favorite meals EVER! The gnocchi, steak, and caramel dessert are my go-to favs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, as always. Hostess unfriendl ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great food, as always. Hostess unfriendly, though server was pleasant. The antipasti plate makes for a thoroughly delicious shared appetizer. Enough for lunch for one person, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

consistently great. all parts of menu ne ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

consistently great. all parts of menu never fail. beer choices are adventurous

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is the best restaurant in Philadelp ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

This is the best restaurant in Philadelphia. The best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.