About Barbuzzo Restaurant

Barbuzzo is a Mediterranean restaurant and bar located in the trendy Midtown Village area of center city. We serve small plates intended to share. With a wood-burning oven for pizzas & roasting, Barbuzzo’s menu features rustic, hand crafted regional fare such as: Grilled Octopus with fingerlings, roasted peppers & soppressata; Parsnip ravioli with duck ragu and roasted pears; Uovo Pizza with brussel leaves, guanciale, & truffle farm egg. Menu items range in price from $3 to $32. Barbuzzo has a full bar featuring Mediterranean wines, craft beers and cocktails. We have bar and counter seating overlooking the open kitchen available for walk ins.

110 S 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday to Saturday: 12pm-3pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
Sansom

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 546-9300

Website:
http://www.barbuzzo.com/

Parking Details:
Garage parking available on Sansom Street between 11th & 12th Streets.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Line - Walnut Locust Station

Executive Chef:
Marcie B Turney

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Salted Caramel Budino - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Pan-Seared Gnocchi - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Budino - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Sangria - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Caciocavallo Stuffed Meatballs - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Tiramisu - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Sheep's Milk Ricotta - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Caciocavallo Stuffed Meatballs, house ground short rib and pork meatballs, Sicilian oregano, Calabrian chile & pickled pepper - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Grilled Octopus - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Salted Carmel Buddino - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
White Bean And Garlic Crostini - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Basil Lemonade - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Cheese Board - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
paccheri / rustic pork ragu / parmigiano reggiano - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Wyndridge Crafty Cider - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Ricotta And Orange Bread Pudding With Lavender Honey Ice Cream - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Steak Sandwich - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Shaved Brussel sprout salad - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Tufoli - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
orecchiette - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Trecce Pasta - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
orange chocolate - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Margherita Pizza - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Bone Marrow - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
House Made Chocolate - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Oregano & Chili Oil - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Chocolate - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Prosecco Chocolate - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Stuffed Meatballs - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Turkey Sandwich - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Tonnarelli Nero - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Roasted Bone Marrow - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Roasted Beet Salad - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Cavatappi Al Forno - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Pan seared gnocchi - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Grilled Prawns - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Burrata - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Gazpacho - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Salted Caramel Budino, with dark chocolate crust, vanilla bean caramel & sea salt  - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Grilled Chicken Sandwich - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Porchetta Sandwich - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Whole Wheat Cassarecce, yellow foot chantrelles, royal trumpet mushrooms, maitake mushrooms, tuscan kale, smoked ricotta salata  - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
"Maialino" prosciutto cotto, braised bacon, apple, gorgonzola, toasted chestnuts, rosemary - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Barbuzzo Burger - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Roasted Butternut Arancini, crispy butternut squash risotto balls, preserved lemon aioli, popped pumpkin seeds & grana padano - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Burrata & Grilled Broccolini, speck, marinated peppers, pumpkin seeds, pangrattato, warm prosciutto vinaigrette - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Sangria, Roja Spanish wine, brandy, citrus, rosemary - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Chicken Liver- Foie Mousse, Plum Jam, Marcona Almonds, Pear Aigre Doux, Crostini - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Uovo Pizza - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Trecce - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Lobster Ravioli - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Sheeps Milk Ricotta - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Asparago Pizza - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Barbuzzo Old Fashioned - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Warm Lancaster Apple & Raisin Bread Pudding - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Spring Pea Risotto - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Pappardelle With Pork Ragu - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Summer Peach Crostone - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Goat Cheese Plate - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Barbuzzo "Pig Popcorn" - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Roasted & Shaved Raw Radishes And White Bean Roasted Garlic Crostini - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Kale Salad With Oranges And Beets - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Rigatoni With Pork Ragu - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Campania Buffalo Mozzarella With Heirloom Tomatoes - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Ricotta With Fig, Black Pepper & Agave - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
tuna cavatelli w/ snow peas - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Sweetbread And Pecorino Ravioli - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Apple And Raisin Bread Pudding - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Roasted Beef Bone Marrow - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Sparkling Pinot - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Fideuá - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Uovo  - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Red Sangria - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Antipasti Plate - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Grilled Swordfish With Salsa Verde - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Sea Bass Branzino - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Restaurant Week - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Stripped Bass By Jen Carroll - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Fava Bean - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Roasted & Shaved Raw Radishes Crostini - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
strozzapreti - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Martini - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Tufoli Calabrese - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Pizza Margherita - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
sanguinello - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Pig Popcorn - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Lardo Pizza - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Old Fashioned - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Chocolate Espresso Tiramisu - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Sheeps' Milk Ricotta - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Vanilla Gelato - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Beaujolais Nouveau - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Seared Skuna Bay Salmon - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Grilled Mediterranean Octopus - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Ceci Il Forno - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Tricolore Salad - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Pizza - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Grilled Pork Spiedini - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Buffalo Mozzarella - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Cured Meats Cutting Board - Barbuzzo Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

We will ONLY be offering a special $65 prix fixe menu for Valentine's Day. Our regular dinner menu will NOT be available. SOME PARTIES WILL BE SEATED IN OUR UPSTAIRS DINING AREA, WHICH IS NOT HANDICAP ACCESSIBLE. PLEASE MAKE A NOTE ON YOUR RESERVATION IF YOU REQUIRE A DOWNSTAIRS TABLE.

Barbuzzo Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (64)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Creative Cuisine (52)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Hot Spot (42)
Special Occasion (38)
Tapas (36)
Casual (36)
Fun (35)
Open Kitchen (35)
Cozy (32)
Authentic (31)
Romantic (28)
Bar Seating (27)
Great for Lunch (27)
Wood Oven (26)
Modern Decor (23)
Local Ingredients (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
People Watching (19)
Outstanding Value (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Comfort Food (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Notable Wine List (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Business Meals (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Seasonal (11)
Family Style (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Healthy (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Organic (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Great Beer (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3489 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Both the food and service was very good. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Both the food and service was very good. Would definitely go back to this restaurant. The server was very knowledgeable of the menu and was able to give great suggestions.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food tasted terrible. Portions were ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The food tasted terrible. Portions were tiny for an over priced plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Service was average. We were totally uni ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was average. We were totally unimpressed with the food. Many things were just warm but if you waited for server to check they would have been ice cold by the time they come back. Initially they brought the wrong arancini and when we told them there was no apology but a simple oh this is wrong. They cram you in like a can of sardines. I will say they did bring drinks quickly but of course, it drives the bill up. Best thing was salted caramel budino. Not sure I'll ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Reservations were at 5:30 on a Friday. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Reservations were at 5:30 on a Friday. A bit too dark and loud for our taste. Very crowded. The plates are small, the pizza was good, pasta was outstanding, and the beet salad was delicious. Bundini and gelato were very good. A bit pricy and very trendy as it took us a while to get reservations.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This was our second trip to Barbuzzo, th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our second trip to Barbuzzo, this time for lunch rather than dinner. Once again, we were verry happy with our experience. We got the cheese board, the meat board, a beet salad, and the chicken breast appetizer. All were delicious. Drinks were great too, as was the caramel budino for dessert. The service was very good. The only real downside (and it's not that big of a deal) is that seating is pretty tight in certain spots. We will be happy to go back when we get another chance!

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

EXCELLENT FOOD and drinks at an amazing ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

EXCELLENT FOOD and drinks at an amazing price! Just be prepared for tight tables and REALLY loud atmosphere

Tags: Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our meal at Barbuzzo's. The foo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We loved our meal at Barbuzzo's. The food was inventive and delicious. The cheese platter was astounding. Not a place where you expect a chef to display the most creativity, but this was a delightful gustatory adventure. The shaved winter root salad was heavenly, as was the signature dessert (which we split; it was plenty for two). I had the bronzino fillet. It tasted (felt) like it had been frozen, but it was fresh and not at all fishy. My dinner companion had the lamb shank which was a generous portion, and was cooked to the point where the meat just fell off the bone. (Tasty, but not for folks who want their meat cool in the center.) Our waitress was attentive and alert, and the cooks in the open kitchen all seemed engaged and enjoyed making meals for a very busy restaurant. Our only complaint would be how dim the place was. Early in the evening (before 7, I think) the lights became so dim we couldn't read the menus, and even seeing what was what on your plate was difficult. This was not a serious mar to a meal that we will likely remember for quite a while.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was amazing! The service, not s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The food was amazing! The service, not so much. It took a half hour for us to get our third course. When I asked our waiter when our food would be coming, he only said, "The food comes out as it is prepared". The problem was the table to the right of us, which was seated after us, got the same dish I ordered much sooner than I did. The table to the left of us, which was seated even later than the other table, got the same dish my husband ordered much sooner than he did. I was annoyed that the waiter didn't apologize for the significant delay, especially when somebody obviously made an error. The bussing staff was very good. It was only the waiter and the long wait we were unhappy with. Since it was our wedding anniversary, and we didn't want any unpleasant interactions, we chose not to complain to the waiter or to the manager that night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

NOISE DARK SALTY-- that sums it up here! ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 12, 2017

NOISE DARK SALTY-- that sums it up here! My review won't matter because there's a two-month in advance reservation time line but I will provide it anyway. It is extremely noisy. We were seated in a dark corner in the back. And my food was way beyond salty. I mentioned how dark it was to the waitress and she said "lots of people say that" and I asked for an additional table candle and she said "we don't have any extra". I ordered the Branzino. Barely edible because it tasted as if a salt shaker fell on it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value4

Excellent meal and wonderful service. Ha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent meal and wonderful service. Had a lovely time there.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was a bit too salty for us, mainly ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was a bit too salty for us, mainly the polenta and gnocci. Excellent value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The food never disappoints!! Make you re ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food never disappoints!! Make you reservations early so you can get in!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would definitely go back to Barbuzzo. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I would definitely go back to Barbuzzo. The food was wonderful as was the service. The restaurant is extremely dark, however, and many people had to use the flashlight on their phones to read the menu. Too dark; but the food is worth it!

Tags: Bar Seating, Tapas, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Sharing plates, the recommended strategy ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Sharing plates, the recommended strategy, provides nice variety in flavorful, satisfying options. My wife and I (mid-60's) definitely skewed the age demographics. On a January midweek evening, the joint was jumping. The narrow space, hard surfaces and packed tables (plus the unnecessary music) contributed to a loud, high-energy experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Superb food at reasonable (but not cheap ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Superb food at reasonable (but not cheap) prices. Everything that my wife and I had was great, particularly our main courses, the stuffed meatballs and the bronzino. Ambiance is a bit too dark and crowded, but the quality of the food more than makes up for it. I'm anxious to go back soon to try other dishes on the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall, very good. The meatballs were ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Overall, very good. The meatballs were delicious, but one (of two) was really charred. The soup was very good. My husband ordered a pasta dish which was good, nothing special. The salted caramel budino lived up to the hype.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We were running 20 minutes late for our ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We were running 20 minutes late for our reservation and called to let them know. Above and beyond service they held our table. Food is always excellent (very rich though). Nice ambiance for a busy city restaurant. Only recommendation would be to improve the wine list. No Cabernet selections that aren't a blend? Try to hit this spot everytime I am in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, People Watching, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food and service. Expensive for a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and service. Expensive for a course menu.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

We went for New Year's Eve, it was a pri ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for New Year's Eve, it was a price fixe menu, $75 for 3 courses. I thought it was a little pricey, but the quality made up for it! Can't wait to go back and try other things. The staff was great, accommodating of dietary restrictions as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was amazing. Unbeknownst to ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was amazing. Unbeknownst to us (we didn't get a notification with our open table reservation), there was a fixed menu for New Years and we brought our young kiddos. The manger and lovely waitress did a wonderful job accommodating us. Thank you for a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our birthday lunch very much. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We enjoyed our birthday lunch very much. Waitress put a candle in our shared tiramisu without being asked. Food was very good--good for sharing. Atmosphere was cozy and comfy. I have already recommended it to others and will return when the opportunity presents itself.

Thank you!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, , Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The place has a good design to it, being ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The place has a good design to it, being very visually appealing. Moreover, the staff and the attention from all employees is outstanding, they make you feel welcomed at all times.

However, the plates are actually small and intended to be shared (a sort of "tapas" or "Petisco" sharing style), thus don't come in with the idea of having a large portion.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Wonderful meal. Warmth of the place hits ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful meal. Warmth of the place hits you when you draw back the curtain at the door. Great night--thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We had an excellent time at Barbuzzo. T ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had an excellent time at Barbuzzo. The food was outstanding, service was wonderful, and the ambiance was fantastic. We will be back to try more of the delicious sounding dishes!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Barbuzzo is a favorite restaurant of my ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Barbuzzo is a favorite restaurant of my daughter's so when visiting Philly I felt compelled to try it. Really delicious food, interesting cocktails, etc.

It was fun but I found it rather noisy - had a very young feel to it too.

Definitely need a reservation for this restaurant!

Tags: Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Our meal was pretty good. The soup was f ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our meal was pretty good. The soup was fine, the budino (really, why we went) scrumptious, the anti pasti middling at best, the noise level--and this was a late lunch--atrocious.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Came here to celebrate our engagement. F ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Came here to celebrate our engagement. Food and cocktails were excellent and great for sharing. We had the pear salad, stuffed meatballs, gnocchi and tiramisu. All delicious. Wait staff was friendly and attentive. The interior is a little cramped but we had the best spot tucked into the back corner where we felt cozy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We found this place based on Yelp review ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We found this place based on Yelp reviews since we were from out of town.

The best gnocchi ever!

My wife and I also ordered the roasted bone marrow, stuffed meatballs, and buduni. I've had roasted bone marrow before at different places. I recommend providing more bread for it and not to put it at the bottom of the plate.

However be warned the space is tight. We got a really cozy spot near the door. A lot of the other tables were also pretty tight. So you may experience people shuffling to their seats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

The food remains excellent but we were ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food remains excellent but we were rushed through 3 courses in one hour. The bill was deposited unasked for while we were midway through dessert. That is simply rude. Unfortunately it was a special occasion for which we had driven from out of town. Next time we will go to Fork where service is vastly superior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

We had the margarita pizza, grilled brea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had the margarita pizza, grilled bread, gnocci, and salted caramel budino. yums all the way to flavortown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

It was ok. Didn't really see what all t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

It was ok. Didn't really see what all the hype was about. Food was very good if overpriced. It's very cramped and tight in there though which really turned me off to the whole thing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Had all 3 adult children home for Holida ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Had all 3 adult children home for Holidays. Great dinner, all courses great for sharing. Wines by glass and beer selections are solid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Barbuzzo Is regarded as a destination re ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Barbuzzo Is regarded as a destination restaurant but I found it to be the caliber of a good neighborhood place. The cheese board was tasty and my wife's antipasti plate was excellent. But the tables are sized for kindergarteners and have almost no space between them. I also found the service to be lacking. The waiter was overwhelmed and we were an afterthought. And the pound cake bread pudding was nothing more than crumbled cake stuck in the oven and topped with what was purportedly lavender ice cream. Sounded good on the menu but was a leaden disappointment. As there are surprisingly few choices for lunch (for fine dining) in Center City, my experience at Barbuzzo was a real letdown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Friends get together. Pace of service wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Friends get together. Pace of service was great and good was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The antipasti platter for lunch never di ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The antipasti platter for lunch never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Been Here several times and the food is ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Been Here several times and the food is out of this world. The Salted Caramel Boudino is hands down the best dessert I've ever had. No sharing when it comes to that dessert, you'll need one all to your self.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious and cocktails wer ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food was delicious and cocktails were tasty - the tables were so close together though, and a couple of young college boys were sat in the small table next to us and totally ruined our date night vibe. We were headed to the orchestra, and they were headed to the Flyers game and were excited the server didn't card them... so there's that.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were very late, not accounting for th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We were very late, not accounting for the horrendous Philly traffic, but this place did hold our reservation (thank you!). It was recommended to us by a chef friend. We went as a family of four, two adult boys with us.

The ambience and service were good, the food uninspiring. It tasted fine, but not what was anticipated as a better place to eat in Philly. There are so many places to eat in Center City that I'm not sure I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a great choice for lunch or dinne ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Always a great choice for lunch or dinner. It's a little tight in the restaurant so get ready to be close with your neighbor but the food is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service. The orecchie ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Excellent food and service. The orecchiette was al dente and the sausage freshness came through.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.