About Barbuzzo Restaurant

110 S 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Barbuzzo is a Mediterranean restaurant and bar located in the trendy Midtown Village area of center city. We serve small plates intended to share. With a wood-burning oven for pizzas & roasting, Barbuzzo’s menu features rustic, hand crafted regional fare such as: Grilled Octopus with fingerlings, roasted peppers & soppressata; Parsnip ravioli with duck ragu and roasted pears; Uovo Pizza with brussel leaves, guanciale, & truffle farm egg. Menu items range in price from $3 to $32. Barbuzzo has a full bar featuring Mediterranean wines, craft beers and cocktails. We have bar and counter seating overlooking the open kitchen available for walk ins.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday to Saturday: 12pm-3pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
Sansom

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 546-9300

Website:
http://www.barbuzzo.com/

Parking Details:
Garage parking available on Sansom Street between 11th & 12th Streets.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Line - Walnut Locust Station

Executive Chef:
Marcie B Turney

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Salted Caramel Budino
Budino
Caciocavallo Stuffed Meatballs
White Bean And Garlic Crostini
Basil Lemonade
Sheep's Milk Ricotta
Shaved Brussel sprout salad
Tufoli
orecchiette
Pan seared gnocchi
Burrata
Salted Carmel Buddino
Pizza
Grilled Prawns
Red Sangria
Pan-Seared Gnocchi
Sangria
Trecce Pasta
orange chocolate
Margherita Pizza
Bone Marrow
House Made Chocolate
Oregano & Chili Oil
Chocolate
Prosecco Chocolate
Stuffed Meatballs
Turkey Sandwich
Tonnarelli Nero
Roasted Bone Marrow
Roasted Beet Salad
Cavatappi Al Forno
Gazpacho
Salted Caramel Budino, with dark chocolate crust, vanilla bean caramel & sea salt
Grilled Chicken Sandwich
Porchetta Sandwich
"Maialino" prosciutto cotto, braised bacon, apple, gorgonzola, toasted chestnuts, rosemary
Whole Wheat Cassarecce, yellow foot chantrelles, royal trumpet mushrooms, maitake mushrooms, tuscan kale, smoked ricotta salata
Barbuzzo Burger
Burrata & Grilled Broccolini, speck, marinated peppers, pumpkin seeds, pangrattato, warm prosciutto vinaigrette
Roasted Butternut Arancini, crispy butternut squash risotto balls, preserved lemon aioli, popped pumpkin seeds & grana padano
Sangria, Roja Spanish wine, brandy, citrus, rosemary
Chicken Liver- Foie Mousse, Plum Jam, Marcona Almonds, Pear Aigre Doux, Crostini
Caciocavallo Stuffed Meatballs, house ground short rib and pork meatballs, Sicilian oregano, Calabrian chile & pickled pepper
Uovo Pizza
Trecce
Lobster Ravioli
Sheeps Milk Ricotta
Asparago Pizza
Barbuzzo Old Fashioned
Warm Lancaster Apple & Raisin Bread Pudding
Spring Pea Risotto
Summer Peach Crostone
Pappardelle With Pork Ragu
Tiramisu
Goat Cheese Plate
Barbuzzo "Pig Popcorn"
Roasted & Shaved Raw Radishes And White Bean Roasted Garlic Crostini
Kale Salad With Oranges And Beets
Rigatoni With Pork Ragu
Campania Buffalo Mozzarella With Heirloom Tomatoes
Ricotta With Fig, Black Pepper & Agave
paccheri / rustic pork ragu / parmigiano reggiano
tuna cavatelli w/ snow peas
Sweetbread And Pecorino Ravioli
Apple And Raisin Bread Pudding
Roasted Beef Bone Marrow
Fideuá
Sparkling Pinot
Uovo
Antipasti Plate
Grilled Swordfish With Salsa Verde
Restaurant Week
Sea Bass Branzino
Stripped Bass By Jen Carroll
Fava Bean
Roasted & Shaved Raw Radishes Crostini
strozzapreti
Martini
Tufoli Calabrese
Pizza Margherita
sanguinello
Pig Popcorn
Lardo Pizza
Chocolate Espresso Tiramisu
Old Fashioned
Sheeps' Milk Ricotta
Vanilla Gelato
Beaujolais Nouveau
Seared Skuna Bay Salmon
Grilled Mediterranean Octopus
Ceci Il Forno
Tricolore Salad
Grilled Pork Spiedini
Buffalo Mozzarella
Cheese Board
Cured Meats Cutting Board
Marciello Pizza
Bone Marrow with Radishes
sea salted dark chocolate caramels
Shrimp

Barbuzzo Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mediterranean
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Most Booked
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Most Booked
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Center City ›

fit for foodies (204)
neighborhood gem (125)
hot spot (124)
See All
special occasion (97)
romantic (71)
great for lunch (64)
vibrant bar scene (48)
great for outdoor dining (35)
notable wine list (32)
late-night find (30)
good for groups (27)
great for brunch (12)
kid-friendly (8)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
3076 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love the pastas and unique cocktails, al ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Love the pastas and unique cocktails, always a great dining experience

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent cocktails, food, and service - ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent cocktails, food, and service - highly recommend this place for just about any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always enjoy Barbuzzo. We were seated u ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Always enjoy Barbuzzo. We were seated up front and there were many tables available in the restaurant. I would have preferred being seated a little deeper in the restaurant with tables available. Just my personal opinion but I would seat people by the door last. Still had a great experience and would continue to recommend this outstanding restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Barbuzzo is a neighborhood gem with exce ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

Barbuzzo is a neighborhood gem with excellent food and service .. everything about the place is top rated.. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu never changes. Our last time there ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Menu never changes. Our last time there--gets boring. Crowd very loud. Some service slow, especially in the beginning. This was our second and last visit.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Really disappointing experience. Had a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Really disappointing experience. Had a biz lunch here with a total of 5 of us crammed into a space that would barely fit 4. Had gratuity added with no mention of it to our check for 5 ppl. Since when is that considered a large party?

Few items on menu not available.

Dessert was good. But otherwise, think it's off my list for working lunches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

I dined with my son and we decided to tr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I dined with my son and we decided to try several different small plates. Each was different and all excellent with respect to size, flavor and presentation.

We felt comfortable to linger and talk. Staff was friendly and welcoming.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server's name was Angel and she was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our server's name was Angel and she was THE ABSOLUTE BEST! I definitely plan on returning soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Awesome! Cocktails and dinner were fabul ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Awesome! Cocktails and dinner were fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Barbuzzo was wonderful as always! Deli ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Barbuzzo was wonderful as always! Delicious food, great drinks and good service. Great way to celebrate my son's birthday!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not an ideal place if one wants to hold ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Not an ideal place if one wants to hold a converstion/ Too loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Meatballs & polenta

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Meatballs & polenta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waitress was rude and abrupt.....we ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our waitress was rude and abrupt.....we left after our first drink and a salad. We just didn't feel welcomed :( I usually spend $200.00 at a center city restaurant! Our bill was $32.00, we moved on and spent the rest down the street at a place where we were treated with respect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

My favorite restaurant in Philly! I took ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Philly! I took my friend here who was visiting from LA, and she let me know that it was one of her favorite meals EVER! The gnocchi, steak, and caramel dessert are my go-to favs.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, as always. Hostess unfriendl ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great food, as always. Hostess unfriendly, though server was pleasant. The antipasti plate makes for a thoroughly delicious shared appetizer. Enough for lunch for one person, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

consistently great. all parts of menu ne ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

consistently great. all parts of menu never fail. beer choices are adventurous

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely loved it-- one of the best me ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Absolutely loved it-- one of the best meals I have ever had! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good and the service was attent ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was good and the service was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Excellent food. Cheese board was divine, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent food. Cheese board was divine, only complaint was the actually wooden board itself. It sloped down so sometimes the food would roll and almost fall to the ground, and some of the accompaniments (honey on Gorgonzola etc) would drip off. Other than that, the wait staff was helpful and attentive, the noise level was fine (could hear my boyfriend, but couldn't hear the other couple sitting very close to us). The pizza and small plate of meatballs were so flavorful--absolutely delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Barbuzzo at the recommendatio ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We went to Barbuzzo at the recommendation of a friend. We made reservations well in advance, knowing that walk-in seating was highly unlikely. We were sat right away, however, the seating was cramped to the point that we felt that we were sitting at a table with another couple...definitely not private. Furthermore, I could barely fit between the two tables to sit down...and I am rather small. It was so uncomfortable, if there had not been seats at the bar, I would have wanted to leave.

I am glad we stayed...the food was quite good. It was fresh, and inventive, and reasonably priced. I don't know if I would make it a regular stop, mostly because of the atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

Barbuzzo, I love you, and let me count t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Barbuzzo, I love you, and let me count thee ways.

Seated at the Chef's Table aka right in front of the kitchen, we were able to spectate several preparations, which will come in handy for my next visit. We ordered a bottle of Cava (Let the bubbles flow!), and started with the beet and kale salad. This salad was the perfect start to the evening. Light, healthy, with grapefruit and a little goat cheese to warm up the palate. I'll confess I already love the beet and goat cheese combo, but the finely chopped kale kept the dish earthy and a little a more humble.

The Aspargo pizza was a no brainer for us (truffles, FTW), and this white pizza offered shaved asparagus, cheese and a truffled farm egg. It was reminiscent of a pizza we enjoyed at Las Vegas's Due Forni called the Tartufo. I could have benefited from having it sliced into more than four gigantic pieces, but it was so creamy, rich, and truffley I didn't care.

After a few glasses of bubbly, we came to dessert. The man loves salted caramel, one of the reasons we came to Barbuzzo in the first place were the several pictures from our fellow Yelpers of the Salted Caramel Budino. This dessert was the perfect mix of caramel, salt, and creamy sweetness. He said it might have even been the best thing he has ever eaten. Suffice it to say, dessert went quickly, and we finished the meal completely and utterly satisfied.

Barbuzzo is easy on my Top 3 in Philadelphia now, and I plan on returning several more times. Thank you for the wonderful meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We attempted to get reservations for din ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We attempted to get reservations for dinner at Barbuzzo to celebrate our anniversary. The only available time slot was 9:30 so we decided to eat dinner elsewhere and just get dessert at Barbuzzo. We were seated at a tiny table. I was literally bumping elbows with the man beside me and could hear our neighbors conversation better than my husband's. As soon as we were seated the waiter told us that we were not allowed to have a table for dessert and we woul have to leave as soon as we were done. We offered to move to the bar instead but were told we could stay this time. While the Salted Carmel Budino was delicious the atmosphere and service was off putting. If you are looking for a romantic dinner, this probably is not the spot.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

Barbuzzo totally lived up to its good re ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Barbuzzo totally lived up to its good reviews. I would definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic menu. You cannot go wrong with ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Fantastic menu. You cannot go wrong with anything you choose.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Pizza (Pera) was by far the best thing w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Pizza (Pera) was by far the best thing we ordered, followed by the cheese board. We ordered one plate too many for 2 people (we had 4, should have had 3) but we enjoyed the varied choices. Definitely would go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is top class. Had a minor issue wit ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food is top class. Had a minor issue with server that hostess handled with class

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Good food, sat outside great night. Love ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Good food, sat outside great night. Loved the drinks, grilled octopus was terrific b

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been here several times and I've a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We've been here several times and I've always rated everything 5 stars- It's one of our favorites, but we were there on Father's Day, not too crowded and the food was good, but not as great as we usually think. We will definitely go back, but not as impressed as usual and we took our grown children. They had never been there and said it was OK, not great also

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was very good but I would not g ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was very good but I would not go back because our server was rude. She seemed annoyed about me asking about the menu. Not kid friendly at all. Also there was no high chair for my 2kids.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Super menu, food was very well prepared ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Super menu, food was very well prepared and plated. And the service was great, attentive but subtle. Ricotta appetizer was really really good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food. Reasonably priced. Very pa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Amazing food. Reasonably priced. Very packed close seating. Little bit loud but great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I loved Barbuzzo. Can't wait to go back. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I loved Barbuzzo. Can't wait to go back. Every thing we had was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Truly enjoyed and great service ! A litt ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Truly enjoyed and great service ! A little slower though between each plate would have been perfect.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Barbuzzo came highly recommended and did ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Barbuzzo came highly recommended and did not disappoint. We both loved it - and the service was super friendly and knowledgeable too.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect as always

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Top restaurant in Philadelphia. Food and service are always great.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I come to Philly for business and ALWAYS make sure I dine at Barbuzzo’s at least once during my stay. The dishes are creative, made with fresh ingredients and on a healthy side. The food comes out really fast. My fav is grilled Mediterranean octopus. I highly recommend this place for dinner. Just wish that parking situation was easier...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Every dish was excellently crafted and p ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Every dish was excellently crafted and prepared. Next time I'm in Philly, will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The setup was interesting. The lighting ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The setup was interesting. The lighting was quite romantic. And the drinks here amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding high quality food. Service w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Outstanding high quality food. Service was fantastic. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Review

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This was a great experience and I the Gnocchi was delicious!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.