Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Grove

Our full-service restaurant and bar features the freshest local ingredients we can find. From starters and salads to entrées and desserts, the expertly crafted menu has a seasonal focus. The full bar offers wine, specialty cocktails and beer, along with a selection of small plates.

Bar Verde is located on the 2nd floor overlooking the illustrious Grove at the historic Farmers Market in the heart of West Hollywood, California.

Sunset Hour is the time to be at Nordstrom’s Bar Verde. Held Monday through Friday from 4pm to 6:30pm, it’s the time to enjoy specialty appetizers priced at $5 along with $4 beers & $5 wines. Must-have small bites include Pimiento Cheese Dip served with Tuscan grilled bread and Tomato Braised Meatballs with chili infused tomato sauce.

189 The Grove Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90036
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday 11:00am - 9:00pm

Sunset Hour:
Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 6:30pm

Cross Street:
S. Fairfax Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 900-1610

Website:
http://shop.nordstrom.com/st/nordstrom-the-grove#restaurants`

Parking Details:
2 hour parking validated in the Grove parking structure

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining

Special Events & Promotions:
For information on our specials and upcoming tasting menus, visit us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/barverdethegrove
Or follow us on Instagram: @barverdethegrove

Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Grove Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
See All
People Watching (6)
Casual (6)
Business Meals (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Romantic (1)
Cozy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Pleasant oasis inside Nordstrom's for a coffee or lunch while shopping. The food is very good and the menu offers a lot of choices. The service is always professional and courteous.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 11, 2017

His is our favorite neighborhood hangout!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always love going here the service is great and the location 👍🏾

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quick Bite, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Overall, everything was great, service, ambiance, patio seating. I just thought the dishes were not filling for the prices charged. Drinks were also good.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Service was excellent as always. It's just frustrating when they suddenly and inexplicably remove from the menu the very item that was literally the reason why we were there, and which was reportedly among the most popular. This has happened many times now since I started dining here. Ugh! Oh well. C'est la vie. Clearly it hasn't stopped me from returning, because, fortunately, there are always other great choices. The Spicy Shrimp Linguine was BRILLIANT! (On our previous few visits the shrimp was overcooked, so we had sent a message to the chef in advance this time.) Their Calamari was delicious and I enjoyed my Grilled Romaine Salad too. So I'll soon stop pining over the 86'd mussels; scallops; burrata in a jar; chicken & avocado salad with heirloom tomatoes, and so on....

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Casual, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Horribly slow, my drink was ready in 15 minutes, our food arrived after the table who were seated 10 minutes after us. Food mediocre. Desert ok.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Loved the food and the view. The service was not acceptable. Had to request refills, appetizer plates, or any need several times. We sat outside and the table and view were very nice. We ordered soup, salad, hamburger, and a flatbread for an appetizer. All the food was above average. I highly recommend the food and sitting outside when the weather is good.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Met a friend for dinner. Very impressed w/setting-atmosphere! Was a real treat..

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 6, 2017

MALE HOST WAS NOT FRIENDLY AND SINCE HE IS YOUR FIRST CONTACT IT IS AN IMPORTANT PART OF THE EXERIENCE

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Good neighborhood place. Solid. Good food. Solid service. Part of my regular rotation.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Recently discovered their calamari: slightly sweet chili sauce, with a medium pepper punch. Super delicious!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Bar Verde is the best addition to The Grove. Love the location, aesthetic, people and food. We make a regular stop of Bar Verde and can't get enough. Nikki is particularly a special part of the experience at BV.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I'm always bummed when they remove my faves from the menu, but at least it allows me to discover new items, including ones that had been there all along and that I had never given a try. Loving the Salmon Nicoise now. Very attractively presented, and tasty.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

If you can find a restaurant these days, where you can dine for lunch for two, including a cocktail each, and come away with a tab under $65.00...you're doing very well. The food wasn't stellar, but it was quite good, and that's good enough. The waiter, Jeff, was absolutely excellent, and our tip reflected his gracious and attentive service. It was a lovely lunch with a good friend, and those are the best days. The atmosphere was fine; we ate outside on the balcony overlooking the esplanade and found it quite quiet despite all the foot traffic below. I would recommend lunch here to anyone. Have never had dinner here, but I can't imagine it being any less than.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quick Bite, Outstanding Value, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I always enjoy the food, great location. From hostess to servers always nice service, best place to grab a meal at the grove.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Service was lacking and totally impersonal and anonymous. Food was ordinary and banal.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Overall was a great experience. Good service and food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

There are quite a few tables that sit right by the kitchen and it's very unsightly as well as disruptive when trying to enjoy a meal. In addition, the service could be improved - we were not checked on after receiving our meal and had to ask repeatedly for him to come back. we also had the unfortunate mishap where a server spilled several dishes and they broke near our feet - we asked to move to another table while they were cleaning up, but they never followed through on our request despite several other tables being empty.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The waitress stole our credit card the next day. That sucks though! Nordies what is up???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Waitress was super nice but seemed overworked. For the third time host didn't check me in on OpenTable. It took awhile for drinks. The main order was wrong but they comped us for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Our server Sydney was amazing. Great ambiance. Food was good

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Not surprisingly loud but wonderful food. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Beautiful to sit on the balcony overlooking The Grove. My cocktail was delicious. The menu is varied. Salads were very fresh. We finished with a great piece of caramel chocolate cake. Overall a very nice evening.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great food and value for dollar, but those tables near the kitchen are trying my patience

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Make sure to SPECIFICALLY request indoor seating when you book reservation if it is raining. Otherwise they seem to think it is ok to seat you outside with no cover (even though the rest of the restaurant is empty) and will have a hard time finding alternate seating for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I think the restaurant might have been short staffed...based on conversations I overheard, but either way I will not return to this restaurant when I go to The Grove. The evening started off on the wrong foot when the hostess did not provide the correct menus, so we didn't even have the entree menu & we ended up ordering "Apps, Small Bites, & Sandwiches". We asked if they have hot water for a bottle, the hostess said yes & walked away. It took a long time for our 1st round order, as well as all other orders. The food came & my burger was really good...but overall not good enough. I asked for the manager & he never came.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Server seemed distracted, asked that our sandwich be boxed and it was never brought back to the table, we didn't realize it until we got home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Food, when it came, was good, and the outdoor terrace overlooking the mall green was pleasant. bhe staff was helpful to my husband who has mobility problems.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Always have fun at Bar Verde!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Our food was awesome! Nothing disappointed except our waiter was a little spacey and often oblivious that he was actually at work. We had to ask to have our water glasses refilled and he rarely came by the table. Towards the end of our meal he seemed to have come alive a bit, perhaps he had some coffee or knew it was bill time so let's turn on the charm for that tip... Definitely go here for the food and the view/scenery, but not the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2016

fun evening, reasonably priced - the burrata appetizer was amazing - wish it was the size of a pizza! the server was very nice and helpful with the wine selection.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 8, 2016

It's very good food but small portions.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Our server went above and beyond. Brennan was so attentive and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Keep up the great work! It's my favorite restaurant

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 28, 2016

I Love Bar Verde and not because its inside my FAV store but because the people are ALWAYS so nice and catering. The Chef's are BOMB and the food and drinks always great!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Authentic, People Watching, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The servers here are the best! Even the ones that I had never seen there before, there's always a warmth and groundedness in their energy that I find remarkable. Kudos to the management for cultivating that so consistently. For lunch we always ask for a table outside, overlooking the green at The Grove. Very pleasant setting.... and the Shrimp Linguini rocks!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2016

I like their chicken lime salad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent dining inside the Nordstrom store in one of the most charming shopping malls in Beverly Hills. The location could hardly be better and the food is real top notch. I would definitely go again and enjoy other dishes.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was unacceptable and not to par for Nordstrom. Our daughter totally disliked and did not eat her food and waitress could care less and did not offer a replacement nor did she credit. Our food sucked and even their iced tea was awful. We are from Seattle and know what Nordstrom food should taste like- this restaurant does not in any capacity exemplify the food or the level of service that a Norstrom cafe or restaurant should perform at. Service was lousier than the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.