About Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Grove

189 The Grove Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90036
View Larger Map

Our full-service restaurant and bar features the freshest local ingredients we can find. From starters and salads to entrées and desserts, the expertly crafted menu has a seasonal focus. The full bar offers wine, specialty cocktails and beer, along with a selection of small plates.

Bar Verde is located on the 2nd floor overlooking the illustrious Grove at the historic Farmers Market in the heart of West Hollywood, California.

Sunset Hour is the time to be at Nordstrom’s Bar Verde. Held Monday through Friday from 4pm to 6:30pm, it’s the time to enjoy specialty appetizers priced at $5 along with $4 beers & $5 wines. Must-have small bites include Pimiento Cheese Dip served with Tuscan grilled bread and Tomato Braised Meatballs with chili infused tomato sauce.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday 11:00am - 9:00pm

Sunset Hour:
Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 6:30pm

Cross Street:
S. Fairfax Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 900-1610

Website:
http://shop.nordstrom.com/st/nordstrom-the-grove#restaurants`

Parking Details:
2 hour parking validated in the Grove parking structure

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies)

Special Events & Promotions:
For information on our specials and upcoming tasting menus, visit us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/barverdethegrove
Or follow us on Instagram: @barverdethegrove

Restaurant Photos

  • Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Grove
  • Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Grove
  • Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Grove
  • Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Grove
  • Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Grove
  • Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Grove
Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Grove
Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Grove
Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Grove
Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Grove
Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Grove
Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Grove

Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Grove Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5.0

service

5.0

ambience

5.0

noise

Quiet

0% would recommend it to a friend
Sort By:
Newest
88 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I can't say enough about the staff here. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

I can't say enough about the staff here. On multiple occasions, situations have arisen where they've gone well above and beyond the call off duty -- on their own initiative -- just to be of help. That much generosity of spirit from so many can't be mere coincidence -- and it always seems to be completely genuine. Kudos to the management for fostering that kind of climate. And, yeah, the food rocks too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. The food is amazing and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Love this place. The food is amazing and the workers are always very pleasant and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, love the ambiance. Great ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Great service, love the ambiance. Great place to eat and have a quiet conversation with a date. It has a very friendly aspect to it. Food is delicious and filling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great view of The Grove

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Lovely service, good food and a great view. Our waiter was wonderful. If the weather is nice, sit outside.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Servers -- and all the staff, for that m ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Servers -- and all the staff, for that matter --are consistently first rate and remarkably personable. A delicious new item, the Grilled Shrimp Linguine, is now giving my old standby fave, the Roasted Chicken & Avocado Salad, a run for its money. What am I gonna do?!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place does not disappoint. It is my ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

This place does not disappoint. It is my go to spot and have eaten here with various friends and acquaintances. It is consistently delicious. We've tried most, if not all the offerings over the years. I love them all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's very hard for me to resist ordering ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

It's very hard for me to resist ordering my fave Bar Verde menu item, Roasted Chicken And Avocado Salad, but I finally managed to break free and tried the Shrimp Pasta (new item). It was absolutely brilliant; and the service was wonderful as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great friendly restaurant

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

they include the calories so you know what you're eating! great pizza and soup

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful spot

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

I have eaten at Bar Verde many times and always look forward to another visit. The fish tacos are excellent and my pizza flat bread was outstanding. Cocktails are tasty and the wait staff work very hard to please. There is a plaza across the way and last time I saw a camel entertaining children. You can't go wrong with Bar Verde!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very cousy bar in the heart of The Grove

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

They are located on the second floor of the Nordstrom store, have an outside terrace with a beautifull view of The Grove. Food is very deliciuos, food presentation is very nice. Good for families, they have kids menu. Prices are not biting :). Would definately recomend to my friends.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the shrimp linguini. Little more sp ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

Had the shrimp linguini. Little more spice than anticipated, but nothing to worry about. Jeff (Geoff?) served me and he was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good place to eat after shopping

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

This is one of my favorite place to eat at the Grove. Good food, nice ambiance and good staff. I always comes back here after shopping at the Grove.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Can't stop raving. Can't stop going. Top ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2015

Can't stop raving. Can't stop going. Top dining choice at The Grove. Worth the trip even if you weren't already heading to The Grove. Love it!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVE THE STEAK

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2015

I had the Rib Eye steak, medium, MAGNIFICENT FLAVOR and PERFECT TEMPERATURE!!!...The Bohemian Sidecar Drink, also Faboulous!

This is my wife and my favorite place to dine when at the grove.

Will definitely keep coming back as long as they keep that steak!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I never have anything but raves to offer ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2015

I never have anything but raves to offer about Bar Verde. Great food, great view, great atmosphere, consistently excellent service from EVERYONE. Yep, same old same old :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special dining secret

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2015

This is not a well known spot because it is in Nordstrom-but, has a separate entrance. It is my favorite restaurant at the Grove.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Chic!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 25, 2015

It's the perfect spot overlooking the courtyard outside. Full bar with many wines to choose from. Food was not up par to the South Coast Nordstrom Cafe however the service was great.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Nice dinner overlooking The Grove

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2015

Great atmosphere on the balcony overlooking The Grove. The food was also very good (we loved the artichoke dip, the tuna asahi and the pizza) and the waiter adorable. Good point for showing the calories on the menu!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2015

Lovely dining room; nice view of the Grove. Our server Jeff was helpful with the menu and very pleasant. Two thumbs up for Jeff!!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great experience. Will be back!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 9, 2015

Great experience. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, and delicious food. More ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 24, 2015

Great service, and delicious food. More likely to come back more often

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

LOVED THE RIB EYE STEAK...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 11, 2015

Please DO NOT lose the Rib Eye from your menu. It was amazing...

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great View of the Grove

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 1, 2015

Bar Verde has a good, if limited, food selection. Their sandwiches and pizzas are reasonably prices, and they have a wide selection of cocktails.

Tags: late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Consistently great service; and I love m ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 26, 2015

Consistently great service; and I love me my Seared Chicken And Avocado Salad!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great concept and execution – glorious food

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 10, 2015

I've dined at Bar Verde numerous times, since we first discovered it in the Grove. The space is well designed, the outdoor seating area offers a view of the trees, the indoor space has an outstanding bar, and the restaurant caters to a varied clientele. The entrance is special, allowing easy access by elevator, accommodating the disabled, with exterior doors that open with the press of a button. The staff is knowledgable and attentive without being intrusive.

This time when torn between the thin crust pizza and the burger, the server helped me to decide. She said that the burger was very good. She was right. It came exactly as I ordered it, without a bun or sauce or salt fries, accompanied by salad with dressing on the side and a side of ketchup.

The burger itself was cooked exactly as specified – at the more done range of rare. It was perfection – a succulent patty that was well formed and lightly packed, topped with cheese and caramelized onions. Other than needing a bit of salt, from the Trudeau salt grinder (a welcome touch), it was missing nothing. Burgers aren't that difficult to do, but here in Los Angeles, it seems tricky to find one with the proper balance and texture (lightly but not firmly packed).

The Bar Verde burger was a welcome contrast to a downtown (DTLA) restaurant near the library which botched the job, at a higher price point.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The service was impeccable and the food ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 7, 2015

The service was impeccable and the food delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect for Night Out During the Week

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 18, 2015

Bar Verde is a great spot located within Nordstrom at The Grove. I cam here on a Tuesday evening and the service was great, food was delicious and décor was trendy. Will definitely recommend this place to friends! It was also great because our dining experience didn't take too long and my friend and I were able to get our shopping on!

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Date Place

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

The location is a bit strange--the restaurant is literally inside the Nordstrom on the second floor. This provides for a confusing ambiance, in that to your right, you may have a very nice second-story view out into the Grove Courtyard, and to your left you're looking into the women's coats and shoes section of the department store. I imagine this effect is abated if seated outside on the patio, rather than inside where we were.

Our dining experience was very good overall, especially on a major dining holiday, and really the only kinds of people who wouldn't be blown away are "foodie" snobs. If you aren't one, it's a good place, you can probably stop reading here. If you are, let's read on.

The service was impeccable. Friendly and attentive, the staff sat us immediately (despite being very late due to the parking situation, discussed later) and were never looking around for our cheerful waiter. I particularly liked that a Valentine's Day set menu was available, but wasn't forced down our throats. Food came on time, in perfect order and not too slow or quickly.

The food itself was good to very good, if not particularly memorable. We had the poke appetizer, the scallops entree, and the chocolate raspberry cake for dessert. The poke was fine and not fishy, nothing to write home about flavor-wise. The scallops were executed proficiently. The dessert was tasty, but tasted commercial. We had several cocktails, which were probably the highlight of the meal, well-mixed & interesting.

In sum, I found it to be a great date spot. A bit on the pricier side for what it is and fair warning--if you go on a holiday, parking is an absolute nightmare at the Grove. But if you're looking for a convenient, classy, inoffensive place to take a new romantic interest (who will be the focus of your evening, not the food) then this place is perfect.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great food in L.A. is so hard to find. This is it!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 13, 2015

Great food in L.A. is so hard to find. This is it! The Chicken Sandwich with bacon jam dressing was so spectacular. The fresh greens and fresh bread made it all work.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved this restaurant. Sit out on the de ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 8, 2015

Loved this restaurant. Sit out on the deck and watch the people and hear the activities in The Grove

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything about Bar Verde is right. Ser ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 6, 2015

Everything about Bar Verde is right. Servers are so warm and genuine and generous of spirit. Outdoor setting overlooking the green at the Grove is awesome. I haven't really tapped their wine menu because I generally bring my own; but my fave dish, Seared Chicken And Avocado, somehow seemed even better than usual this time. I love going there.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 30, 2015

Bar Verde is a hidden gem! Great spot to have lunch or dinner without the long wait. Though the ambiance is quiet, the food is delicious and makes up for it. The service is great and everyone is really friendly. The must try items on the menu are the Crispy Chicken Lime Taco Appetizers and the Sea Salt Caramel Cheesecake! These will not disappoint!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Farm to plate food with a great view of The Grove!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 28, 2015

Came here for Dine LA. Great spot on the 2nd floor of Nordstrom. Must sit on the outdoor terrace for the view of The Grove and people watching. We were here for dinner, probably a much better time would be at lunch. Service was great, everyone was really friendly and attentive. Food was good. The apps we ordered were chicken lettuce cups (which were out of this world!). I would go back just to have these again. Also ordered the beef tartar which was served minced on bread. Pretty good. The entrées were ordered were the duck and salmon. The duck isn't on the regular menu, which it should be. So tender, it melted in your mouth. The salmon was also good. We ordered the carrot cake and cheesecake for dessert. Cheesecake was excellent, carrot cake was a flop. Was as dry as a sock. We had to send it back and get the chocolate mousse cake, which the server was so kind to bring us. Would probably go back for lunch, but in no rush to return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Nice Surprise

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 25, 2015

I was looking for a place in the Grove I hadn't previously been to. The hosts were nice. We had a drink at the bar while we waited, It wasn't the best manhattan I'd ever had, my friends specialty cocktail was awesome though. We didn't have to wait too long, for a table outdoors. This place must be completely sound proof, because we didn't even realize there was a band playing, until we were seated. Amy was our server. She was so accommodating, knowledgeable and super friendly. I ordered the Salmon. WOAH! Well cooked, well seasoned, not dry, Wild Caught, just yummy! Sides were just as delicious. our courses were well paced. We had this Chocolate dessert that was ridiculous. So rich and decadent. So I rushed home and told my husband we HAVE to go again. So maybe this date night Bar Verde will see us again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Service and bar

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 24, 2015

This place has an amazing view!

My server was not the best, really affected my overall experience. He seemed really annoyed the entire time, very sarcastic, and gave the impression that he didn't care; so much to the point that myself and my friends began to turn to other servers for simple tasks such as water refills because he made us feel uncomfortable.

The bar is beautiful but the bartender could not provide me with a relatively simple Cocktail that was not on the list during a time where there were only 2 other tables at the restaurant. The bar was not accomodating, so I proceeded to order a cocktail from the list only to find out they were out of the ingredients to make this cocktail on the list.

Overall I would not write this restaurant off. Maybe I went at on bad day at a bad time, but I will say that this is not the hotspot food and cocktails. Great view though!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

We Just Love to Keep Coming

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 7, 2015

This place is a wonderful place for dinner.

Simple yet VERY tasty menu and incredibly fresh ingredients make the food here amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

horrible experience

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 23, 2014

I took four people who had never been to the restaurant before. My whole group asked if they had just opened. It turned out to be one of the worst experiences.

Everything that could go wrong certainly did, plus the service was terrible and slow as can be. My soup came after everyone was done eating. I was a totally embarrassed by that evening and will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

overrated

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 20, 2014

I had high hopes for this place I had heard nothing but good things but I was super disappointed. The scallops were very salty almost to the point of being inedible but I didn't want to case a fuss so I ate them. I ended up spending $90 and I wish I could get my money back and go get 180 tacos from jack in a box.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Amazing eatery

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 26, 2014

We don't get tired of this place. Amazing food in this hidden gem.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 23, 2014

Love this place and we keep coming...Food is great and sitting was a breeze...

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.