About Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Americana

102 Caruso Avenue
Glendale, CA 91210
View Larger Map

Our full-service restaurant and bar features the freshest local ingredients we can find. From starters and salads to entrées and desserts, the expertly crafted menu has a seasonal focus. The full bar offers wine, specialty cocktails and beer, along with a selection of small plates.

Bar Verde is located on the 3rd floor overlooking the illustrious Americana in downtown city center of Glendale California.

Sunset Hour is the time to be at Nordstrom’s Bar Verde. Held Monday through Friday from 4pm to 6:30pm, it’s the time to enjoy specialty appetizers priced at $5 along with $4 beers & $5 wines. Must-have small bites include Pimiento Cheese Dip served with Tuscan grilled bread and Tomato Braised Meatballs with chili infused tomato sauce.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday 11:00am - 8:00pm

Sunset Hour
Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 6:30pm

Cross Street:
Colorado

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(818) 664-7005

Website:
http://shop.nordstrom.com/st/nordstrom-at-the-americana-at-brand#restaurants

Parking Details:
Validation offered for The Americana parking garage

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Americana, Glendale, CA
  • Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Americana, Glendale, CA
  • Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Americana, Glendale, CA
  • Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Americana, Glendale, CA
Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Americana, Glendale, CA
Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Americana, Glendale, CA
Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Americana, Glendale, CA
Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Americana, Glendale, CA

Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Americana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Contemporary American
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Best Restaurants in Glendale ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Casual (3)
Good for a Date (3)
See All
Kid-friendly (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Romantic (2)
Cozy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Authentic (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
70 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great restaurant! Service was excellent ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great restaurant! Service was excellent by our server Kristin. Food was delicious! Would recommend the brussel sprouts from the appetizer menu. View was great too! Great place for a meal before a movie!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is a local gem... the managem ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This place is a local gem... the management is doing a great job! Keep it up!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, great waitress.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good food, great waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Upon our arrival we announced that we ha ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Upon our arrival we announced that we had reservations which the hostess acknowledged. She proceeded to take us to a table adjacent to a wait station. There were only about 3-4 parties in the entire restaurant so there plenty of seats available. I asked if we could sit in one of their empty booths which the hostess gladly accommodated us. I had the prosciutto and warm pear salad and my friend had the soup of the day with the cilantro/chicken tacos. They were fine and proportions were appropriate for lunch. Our server brought the bill shortly after we finished our meal. My friend asked the server before we get the bill could she have a cup of coffee and ordered a cup of tea. Usually they ask if we want anything else before the bill is brought. The server brought back the bill after our drinks were served and never returned for our payment. We finally had to ask the hostess to take our credit cards. Service was okay except the end....I don't know if she went on a break but customers shouldn't be left to fend for themselves!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good food with nice ambience. Our waitr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Good food with nice ambience. Our waitress was courteous, friendly, and had a pleasant sense of humor. I would definitely recommend this place, and look forward to coming back soon!

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best food at the Americans.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Best food at the Americans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Emily, our server, was very quick and at ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Emily, our server, was very quick and attentive without making us feel hurried.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Healthy, Wood Oven, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Solid meal in a nice setting at Bar Verd ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Solid meal in a nice setting at Bar Verde inside Nordstrom at the Americana. Food was all flavorful, fresh, and plated beautifully. Cilantro lime chicken tacos are great. Arugula flatbread was tasty, but probably too light for an entree if you're starving. Skirt steak was tender. Salted caramel cheesecake was sweet and fluffy, so no need to walk over to Cheesecake or Sprinkles. In hindsight, I wish I'd just ordered a couple more small plates vs the skirt steak.

We requested a table with a view, which we got, although only one side of the table can see the fountain so that's something to keep in mind. My only real gripe is that the front end of the meal moved a little slowly and out of order — the appetizer showed up, then our drinks, then the bread. Wrong order. Pretty minor in the grand scheme.

Tab came out to about $125 for the described meal and four drinks.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Quiet little restaurant nestled in the c ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Quiet little restaurant nestled in the corner of nordstroms. Loved it. Food was delicious, in fact craving more of it. Service was nice. Ambiance was very quiet. Went on a weekday lunch and filled with business people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

well created menu items and it was a ple ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 15, 2016

well created menu items and it was a pleasant change from the Nordstrom cafe at other locations.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything is satisfactory, but to get a ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Everything is satisfactory, but to get an Esspresso, I should leave the restaurant to go all the way down at street level to have an Espresso,it's kind of a-knowing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a small group get together at thi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had a small group get together at this restaurant which proves to be a convenient location in the Americana mall. We were happily surprised when the food was presented to us. The fish of the day was barramundi that was fresh and well prepared. The special cilantro lime chicken tacos appetizer was superbly made with very crispy tacos shell and delicious chicken inside. The Ahi tuna salad poke was fresh and smooth. We were not expecting such "fit for foodies" type restaurant within a Nordstrom store but will certainly visit this restaurant again when we're in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food and service for a Nordstrom re ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good food and service for a Nordstrom restaurant. Great summer cocktails. Service was very attentive but the place was pretty empty for Father's Day.

We picked this place because it was close to the movie theater in the mall.

Food was good but portions are on the smaller side.

I would come back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything is satisfactory

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Everything is satisfactory

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Well, the food was tasty; however, the s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Well, the food was tasty; however, the service could have used some improvement. For example, we asked for a treat (dessert) to share, she just brought one plate with the cake and no additional plates...

Also, it was a special occasion. Usually, when we go to a restaurant and we say we're celebrating a birthday, they provide a small treat (cake, cupcake, etc.) compliments of the house...

That might be a nice touch to consider...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

From the service to the ambiance, this N ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 16, 2016

From the service to the ambiance, this Nordstrom eatery really disappointed. I'm usually thrilled to eat at Nordstrom due to the service, quality, and healthy offerings. Truly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Nice and quiet place for food and drinks

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2016

Ideal place for dating or light dinner and drinks with friends. But I wish the closing time was much later, instead of the 10pm closing. Also, there must be a sign outside to direct customers to the bar since it's inside the mall. But not a bad place at all. Staff are very friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Where's the bread?

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 25, 2016

Our lunch of salmon was perfectly delicious, but where was the bread? Or bread sticks? Or flatbread? My waist appreciated the lack thereof, but considering the entree was $25, I would have appreciated some kind of carbs to go with it. Otherwise, our table looked pretty bare. Also, I was served my plate w/o a setup, so I did have to ask for fork/knife/napkin, etc., before I could dig in.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was satisfactory

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 10, 2016

Everything was satisfactory

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch with friends

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2016

The staff was helpful. The food was original and well presented. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable Lunch

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 21, 2016

First time there and a wonderful lunch! I had a delicious salad and great coffee. Service was great!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good! But don't go if hungry or in a hurry.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was our first time at Bar Verde. The restaurant itself was really great, and the service was good but somewhat slow. Our server was outstanding in all respects. The Scallops I ordered were delicious, but I think there could have been a few more than three of them on the plate for $25.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Stopped in for Valentines Weekend and th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Stopped in for Valentines Weekend and they had a killer special menu to celebrate the holiday. Service was fantastic, cocktails were tasty and food was even better. Great flavors, attentive service all in a department store! Nice work Nordstrom and Bar Verde.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

SALT CITY

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 12, 2015

We have been here many times and always (all 4 of us) ask for NO EXTRA salt on anything. They are know for there appetizer Tacos which we always get but today we had Salt Salt & more Salt tacos - all 4 of us. The meals also came out - one over cooked salmon and u Gusseted it SALT CITY ! - so we give up as we are always fighting there heavy hand with Salt. The manager is awesome and always takes food the off the bill because of this, but we Want to pay for food with a touch, a dab, a hint of salt but not enough to melt the snow on an entire highway in Alaska - Bummer

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Dinner and a movie.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 5, 2015

I would have liked to give it 3.5 stars but you cant. The food was pretty good and the service was ok. Everybody was very nice but not around when you need it. The place was not that busy, about 1/3 full. I had to ask for ketchup because they dont have any on the table and did not bring any or ask if I wanted some with my fries. By the time I got it fries were a little cold. I am glad the place was not full because if they had been it would have been very noisy. So all in all not bad.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The restaurant is located inside Nordstr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 22, 2015

The restaurant is located inside Nordstrom's and my wife and I went there because all the other restaurants are booked. It was a very pleasant experience with a well-stocked bar and excellent for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Nice lunch, surprising location

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 17, 2015

Had a nice lunch here recently. Lovely restaurant on the 3rd floor of Nordstrom. This is less crowded than other restaurants at the Americana, the food is very good, and they have a nice patio. Service was very good. Our food came out quickly, which was perfect for a business lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

They don't have esspresso in premises

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 8, 2015

They don't have esspresso in premises

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gleaming over Americana

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 31, 2015

Ambiance, service, noise level -- excellent choice for small and big groups. The view is fantastic and inviting. Perfect spot for any occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Their bread pudding was marvelous, and t ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 25, 2015

Their bread pudding was marvelous, and the other entrée was excellentl

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another enjoyable experience

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 12, 2015

This has become our go-to dining experience in Glendale. It is reasonably priced, each to reach, has excellent service, and is always accommodating. On this occasion, our group of 8 could not tolerate the heat, so we asked to move inside. They found a table, had everything perfect, and brought our food without any delay.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Service

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 15, 2015

Excellent Service, My first choice in Glendale. Friendly staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoyable!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 25, 2015

Tasty & Fresh food always enjoyable at Bar Verde! Thank you for a great lunch. We will be back!

All Nordstrom should have a Bar Verde to keep up with the times!!

Love this place😃

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice spot for a meal

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 13, 2015

My family and I were shopping at Nordstrom at the Americana and wanted to find a place to eat. We decided on Bar Verde because it is located inside the store which made it easy for us. Overall, the experience was great. The food was good and had many options at a very reasonable calorie count. You don't see that at many places. The only reason I gave service a 4 out of 5 is because the waitress forgot my soup order. It was not a big deal since I ended up being fine with the complimentary bread and my entree. This is definitely a great option for when you are at the Americana and will be at this store.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Good food, bad service

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 9, 2015

Enjoyed the food, but the staff was not helpful and our waiter was not attentive. He claimed he was the only one there, but we saw other staff that was available. Will not be going back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

A different experience

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 19, 2015

We have dined her multiple times, and usually the service and food are great. This time, we ran into a few problems. we had reservations, but were required to wait to sit. They originally told us we would have to wait 2 minutes, but we did not actually sit for 20. We ordered drinks quickly, but then waited nearly 20 minutes for the drinks. The food had a similar delay. Just for a quick lunch experience, we spent two hours at the restaurant without appetizers or dessert. This has not been our experience at this restaurant on prior occasions, an d I suspect they were simply short-staffed. However, it is very unlike Nordstroms.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

First off shopping and dining all at the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 24, 2015

First off shopping and dining all at the same place just couldn't get better!! The food was amazing! Our server gave us a fabulous suggestion. We had the short-rib sandwich with sea salt fries. A nice bottle of Prosecco to finish it off. Plates are great for sharing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentine's Dinner

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2015

My wife and I had dinner here on Valentines Day. I picked this location because it was close to the movie theater. To my surprise this restaurant was a great find. The food and serve were surprisingly very good. I would go back again for lunch and/or dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Valentine's day

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2015

The restaurant did a great job on one of the busiest holidays of the year, service was good, food was great and the ambiance was perfect for the night we wanted. Would go back and recommend

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Hidden Gem in Nordstroms

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 25, 2015

This restaurant is inside of Nordstroms on the 3rd in the Americana. The bar looked nice - worth stopping back in. There was plenty of seating, but we chose to sit outside since it was a nice night. They had heat lamps. The service was attentive and friendly, although they were waiting around for us to finish our dish and would pick it up as soon as we took the last bite. There were also kids running around, but I guess that's what you get when in a mall area. Food was great. Glad it was a part of DineLA.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.