Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Americana

Our full-service restaurant and bar features the freshest local ingredients we can find. From starters and salads to entrées and desserts, the expertly crafted menu has a seasonal focus. The full bar offers wine, specialty cocktails and beer, along with a selection of small plates.

Bar Verde is located on the 3rd floor overlooking the illustrious Americana in downtown city center of Glendale California.

Sunset Hour is the time to be at Nordstrom’s Bar Verde. Held Monday through Friday from 4pm to 6:30pm, it’s the time to enjoy specialty appetizers priced at $5 along with $4 beers & $5 wines. Must-have small bites include Pimiento Cheese Dip served with Tuscan grilled bread and Tomato Braised Meatballs with chili infused tomato sauce.

102 Caruso Avenue
Glendale, CA 91210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday 11:00am - 8:00pm

Sunset Hour
Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 6:30pm

Cross Street:
Colorado

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(818) 664-7005

Website:
http://shop.nordstrom.com/st/nordstrom-at-the-americana-at-brand#restaurants

Parking Details:
Validation offered for The Americana parking garage

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bar Verde – Nordstrom at the Americana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
See All
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort by
S
95 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I was expecting excellence and got average. We had to flag our wait staffer for refills on water, etc. and no extras were offered, i.e. bread.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Great food and staff!! I always eat there. Will recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Everything was very satisfactory,our waitress was fantastic her name is Crystal, and the manager Mr. Chris was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2017

At last a great restaurant in Glendale! And yes I've been to Michael Mina's, and Din Tai Fung, ... The food is exceptional, and the service was great. Good drinks too! I did not expect it from a department store restaurant (even Nordstrom's). We tried it initially at dineLA, just on a lark, and then came back for one of their themed dinners (New Orleans menu). We'll definitely keep coming back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 18, 2017

This is a Hidden Gem! Who would think that you would find a restaurant with such outstanding food at Nordstrom's. Yes, it's a great department store, but it's not normally known as a place where you can find a great restaurant. But Bar Verde is a great restaurant. The food is amazing! Terrific variety, interesting choices, and taste that makes you want to come back every night. Do yourself a favor and check out Bar Verde at Nordstrom's. It's located on the 3rd floor directly across from the escalator exit. It has both indoor and outdoor seating. The outdoor seating gives you a bit of a view of the green and the fountain and allows you to hear a bit of music when it's being played on the Green.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Pretty basic place. More just for convenience if one is shopping at Nordstrom.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 21, 2017

It's a cute spot at the Americana worth trying...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The Cilantro Lime Chicken Tacos were absolutely wonderful! Perhaps the best Tacos I've had in a long, long time!!!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The food was delicious, so was dessert. We had about 9 of the dishes they were all very very good. Will definitely come again, wish I tried it sooner. Service was excellent and There is indoor or outdoor seating so I recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Visiting the Americana, Bar Verde is not the first place one would think of to eat. But when places like The Cheesecake Factory have a long wait, Bar Verde is a viable option because it is usually pretty easy to get a table and the service and menu selections are great. Situated on the 3rd floor of Nordstrom, the restaurant offers a nice view, a diverse selection of food and drink, and comfortable seating. If you have never been, you should try it! Some menu items are pricey, but everything tastes great no matter what you order.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

What a wonderful gem at the grove! Excellent food and service! Will def be back again!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

On the third floor of the Nordstrom store. Excellent service, very fresh ingredients, menu has something for everyone. Had a great Asian chicken salad. Came back next day with business team and we had dinner. Best roasted chicken I have had in years! If I lived in the area, this would be a favorite place to visit often.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was great but overall service is not satisfied.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Don't go out of your way. With so many other options at the Americana, Bar Verde might be good for a quick bite if shopping at Nordstroms but otherwise I'd dine elsewhere.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Everything was satisfactory, no complain

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Typically we eat outside on the patio - nice space and environment - but a private party had reserved the space. Inside seems a bit less special, but the service was good. With how busy all the restaurants can be at the Americana, Bar Verde is a super option for an enjoyable meal before a movie. A bit pricey for a family of 5, but it works for a 'special treat.'

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food and drinks are good but service was terrible!
The waitress was frazzled and food/drink took awhile to arrive considering that the restaurant was only 30% full. I've been here multiple times but this visit was very disappointing

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food. Great service. Great for kids. Quiet too not too busy. Love this place.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I love this place. It is my "go to" restaurant/bar. I have even celebrated 2 birthdays here because my friends know how much I love it! The managers and the bar tender give impeccable service. I have NEVER had a bad experience here! The food is amazing and the drinks are the icing on the cake!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This restaurant is fine for Nordstrom shoppers but the food is average and somewhat expensive. The seafood bouillabaisse was small, costly but not exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We went for Dine LA, arrived early for Happy Hour and will definitely be back. Great outside seating and good for groups or couples.
MUST TRY THE SHORT RIB TACOS on the Sunset Menu (HH). Also tried the cabernet sauvignon and the riesling - both were good.

As for the Dine LA menu, there were enough of us that were able to sample the whole menu. Our favorites were the Brussels Sprouts and the Skirt Streak (steak in on the everyday dinner menu). Also their cheesecake was really tasty. We least liked the chicken option. It was dry and flavorless.

We were seated promptly and had good service. We even stayed past closing and they were super nice about it. No one came to start clearing our table or act in a way that made us feel rushed or like we were being kicked out.

We sat outside and had a really pretty view of the Americana. There were heaters above each table for cooler nights. Overall really good experience and will be back for more of those tacos and to try the rest of the menu.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Happy Hour, People Watching, Scenic View, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Very good experience, quiet enough to have conversation, no stress to leave quickly, excellent food and service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2016

It seemed a little weird to go thru a department store to get into a restaurant for a Holiday dinner but wow was it worth it! GREAT food! Attentive waitstaff. Ambiance. It had everything!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Surprisingly great food in the middle of Nordstrom's. I plan to go back and try the rest of the menu. It is a little loud but the service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Stopped in for a late lunch after arriving in town for business. Saw reviews and gave it a shot. I had the Asian chicken salad and it was very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great restaurant! Service was excellent by our server Kristin. Food was delicious! Would recommend the brussel sprouts from the appetizer menu. View was great too! Great place for a meal before a movie!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This place is a local gem... the management is doing a great job! Keep it up!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Good food, great waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Upon our arrival we announced that we had reservations which the hostess acknowledged. She proceeded to take us to a table adjacent to a wait station. There were only about 3-4 parties in the entire restaurant so there plenty of seats available. I asked if we could sit in one of their empty booths which the hostess gladly accommodated us. I had the prosciutto and warm pear salad and my friend had the soup of the day with the cilantro/chicken tacos. They were fine and proportions were appropriate for lunch. Our server brought the bill shortly after we finished our meal. My friend asked the server before we get the bill could she have a cup of coffee and ordered a cup of tea. Usually they ask if we want anything else before the bill is brought. The server brought back the bill after our drinks were served and never returned for our payment. We finally had to ask the hostess to take our credit cards. Service was okay except the end....I don't know if she went on a break but customers shouldn't be left to fend for themselves!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Good food with nice ambience. Our waitress was courteous, friendly, and had a pleasant sense of humor. I would definitely recommend this place, and look forward to coming back soon!

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Best food at the Americans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Emily, our server, was very quick and attentive without making us feel hurried.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Healthy, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Solid meal in a nice setting at Bar Verde inside Nordstrom at the Americana. Food was all flavorful, fresh, and plated beautifully. Cilantro lime chicken tacos are great. Arugula flatbread was tasty, but probably too light for an entree if you're starving. Skirt steak was tender. Salted caramel cheesecake was sweet and fluffy, so no need to walk over to Cheesecake or Sprinkles. In hindsight, I wish I'd just ordered a couple more small plates vs the skirt steak.

We requested a table with a view, which we got, although only one side of the table can see the fountain so that's something to keep in mind. My only real gripe is that the front end of the meal moved a little slowly and out of order — the appetizer showed up, then our drinks, then the bread. Wrong order. Pretty minor in the grand scheme.

Tab came out to about $125 for the described meal and four drinks.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Quiet little restaurant nestled in the corner of nordstroms. Loved it. Food was delicious, in fact craving more of it. Service was nice. Ambiance was very quiet. Went on a weekday lunch and filled with business people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 15, 2016

well created menu items and it was a pleasant change from the Nordstrom cafe at other locations.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Everything is satisfactory, but to get an Esspresso, I should leave the restaurant to go all the way down at street level to have an Espresso,it's kind of a-knowing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2016

We had a small group get together at this restaurant which proves to be a convenient location in the Americana mall. We were happily surprised when the food was presented to us. The fish of the day was barramundi that was fresh and well prepared. The special cilantro lime chicken tacos appetizer was superbly made with very crispy tacos shell and delicious chicken inside. The Ahi tuna salad poke was fresh and smooth. We were not expecting such "fit for foodies" type restaurant within a Nordstrom store but will certainly visit this restaurant again when we're in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good food and service for a Nordstrom restaurant. Great summer cocktails. Service was very attentive but the place was pretty empty for Father's Day.
We picked this place because it was close to the movie theater in the mall.
Food was good but portions are on the smaller side.
I would come back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Everything is satisfactory

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Well, the food was tasty; however, the service could have used some improvement. For example, we asked for a treat (dessert) to share, she just brought one plate with the cake and no additional plates...

Also, it was a special occasion. Usually, when we go to a restaurant and we say we're celebrating a birthday, they provide a small treat (cake, cupcake, etc.) compliments of the house...

That might be a nice touch to consider...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.