About Bar Red

437 West Colfax Avenue
Denver, CO 80204
View Larger Map

Bar Red is located just east of Colfax and Glenarm, two blocks from the Colorado Convention Center and directly across Colfax from the Golden Triangle. Bar Red offers Authentic Italian cuisine. Happy hour from 4pm-7pm and dinner from 5pm to close. The menu was prepared by Chef de Cuisine Adrian Chidester. Chef Chidester spent time studying in Rome, where he was inspired by the minimalism of the dishes and emphasis on quality ingredients, and is motivated by carrying on the old world tradition of fresh, from-scratch cuisine. Bar Red also features occasional live music ranging from Jazz to Hip Hop, Open Mic nights and Karaoke, and there is never a cover charge. A semi-private lounge room is also available for large parties. The room has customizable seating and includes a working fireplace to complete the romantic, comfortable setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Saturday 4pm to close

Cross Street:
Glenarm or Tremont

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 573-0223

Website:
http://www.barreddenver.com/

Entertainment:
Monday Nights - Open Mic Night 8pm-12am
Tuesday Nights - Hip Hop Trivia & Karaoke
Friday Nights - Local Musician Live
Saturday Nights - Local Musician Live

Executive Chef:
Adrian Chidester

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monday Nights - Open Mic Night 8pm-12am
Tuesday Nights - Hip Hop Trivia & Karaoke
Friday Nights - Local Musician Live
Saturday Nights - Local Musician Live

Bar Red Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.7

ambience

3.3

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

50% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fun (1)
See All
Romantic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
25 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

great service, nice atmosphere, awesome ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

great service, nice atmosphere, awesome food and drinks!

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Fun, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This got a fairly good review on Yelp. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This got a fairly good review on Yelp. I was in for a conference and wanted to meet some friends for a drink. On a Friday night, it was nearly empty. The 2 servers (guess they weren't expecting a busy night) seemed fairly indifferent about getting our orders. Extra points for the bartender who made me a good mocktail on request. Seems like it was on its last legs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

This is more of a lounge/bar then a full ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2016

This is more of a lounge/bar then a full restaurant. They have limited drinks and a menu, however, everything we got to eat and drink was great! They are in a great location for the Denver theater, it was less than a 10 minute walk. I would definitely go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Not impressed. The service was poor, our ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Not impressed. The service was poor, our bill was wrong, and then they didn't check us in for our reservation despite us mentioning it to two different people that night. Definitely not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

This was a perfect choice for dinner bef ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was a perfect choice for dinner before the Cirque du Soleil show at the Pepsi Center. The food and service were excellent. I loved the upscale, funky, urban decor. Next time I will check out the scene downstairs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is fantastic -- authentic Itali ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food is fantastic -- authentic Italian. The Carbonara is the real deal -- which is really hard to find. Zach, the owner, made out evening exceptional. Service was excellent. Highly recommend it. And, they have a downstairs lounge for large parties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant on Colfax

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 3, 2016

I think the restaurant is in transition, as the menu on line was way larger than what we found in person. The food they had was very good, but less variety than what we were expecting. Also, their wine list was apparently in transition but what we had was good and reasonably priced. So....... if the trend continues, it bodes well, but it's always hard to say what the future brings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Disappointing, the staff really appeared ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Disappointing, the staff really appeared to be lost and dysfunctional. The food was OK but nothing to rave about. Their location is good, close to theaters and other activities. The interior is fun and inviting. They need some direction with management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We were there early on a Wednesday eveni ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2015

We were there early on a Wednesday evening, so we were the only ones there for most of the time. It was happy hour till 7, so the drinks were cheaper. The server/bartender was personable, helpful and efficient, and the food was great. The menu is somewhat limited due to the small kitchen, but they do a great job on what they offer. Business picked up a bit around 7.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second Time is a Charm

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 7, 2015

This was our second time to visit this restaurant and again we were not disappointed. The service was great and the food was very good. It does have a limited menu but you shouldn't have any problem finding something good to eat. We will go back again in the future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

What a find!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2015

You might just walk by thinking this was a no go, but that would be a mistake! We went in and we given the option to be seated downstairs in a brick walled basement with the entrance to the original tunnels that were used during prohibition and a lovely fire place. The owner Zach could not be nicer as well as his entire staff. The food was good and it definitely is a "cool" place to go. My 8 year old wanted to make sure I stressed that.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

When we got there no one was there and m ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 11, 2015

When we got there no one was there and maybe an hour later a couple showed up. That was about it for the evening. The menu was a little strange. We ended up all ordering the same thing since nothing was really appetizing. The bartender was friendly but it took him a while to make drinks even though no one was there. Would want to come back on a busy evening to see if it is any different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great food at BarRed

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 26, 2015

Early dinner of artichoke dip, lasagna and Italian saga plate --- all of it freshly-prepared and absolutely delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Hidden gem!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 2, 2015

We had a great time at Bar Red. We weren't sure what to expect, but our server mixed up wonderful libations! The chef came out to check on how everything tasted, and our group ordered quite a variety off the menu. All delicious. We had to rush out to see a show at the DCPA but our server was so fun she got us all a round of desserts shots right before we headed out. She was accommodating as well with our use of Restaurant.com coupons. Can't wait to go back! Thanks Bar Red.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Will not ever be back- my friend and I w ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2015

Will not ever be back- my friend and I were the only two customers there and we waited forever for subpar food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Passable food, lousy service

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2015

This is really a very small bar that happens to serve Italian food, which looked and tasted like it came straight out of the microwave. Also, our server was very inattentive. After we ordered he literally never even looked over at our table. I finally had to yell across the room at him to please bring our check over.

In his defense, they had a lot of people come in at once, and he did take 20% off our bill for the inconvenience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

A pleasant surprise

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2015

I expected bar kitchen quality food but was served an excellent Italian meal. I ordered the asparagus antipasti and the linguini with pancetta. Am planning on returning to try another dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A Pleasant Surprise

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 2, 2015

As usual, we would not have found this restaurant without OpenTable. We are glad we did though. We got there ahead of their busy period so getting a table was not a problem. They had some great happy hour specials and we really like the flatbread pizza we ordered. There were drink specials and although I am writing this review several months later, I do remember that we had some great drinks at really great prices. It is not a big place by any means so unless you book through OpenTable, you may be standing for a while.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Cool place

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2015

The food is great, their specialty cocktails are fantastic, the ambience is cool and most importantly the servers and managers work very hard to make sure everyone is satisfied.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A total surprise!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2015

We arrived for Valentine's Day and at first blush this little place, in a random location (behind a strip club) turned out to be wonderful! Flamenco guitar, ambiance with table clothes, and 5 course Italian (unique) meal - definitely will go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tiny space great good!!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 13, 2014

Went to celebrate a special occasion was shocked at how small the dinning area was, but we received excellent service with absolute amazing food and drinks. Will defiantly be going back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The sausage and polenta was delicious. T ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2014

The sausage and polenta was delicious. The service was very strange.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Great food and service

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 28, 2014

BaRed is a small, cozy restaurant which has two levels to it; tables and a bar upstairs and more of a lounge type atmosphere downstairs. We started with small plates. The antipasto was very good and fresh as well as the margarhita pizza. We split the Bianca pasta for dinner and it was also very good. Cocktails were enjoyable nice and fresh ingredients. Crème brulee for dessert hit the spot. The service was exceptional, they were very attentive to us. Would definitely recommend spending an evening at BaRed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

BaRed - Waiting to be discovered

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 23, 2014

BaRed is a new little club that will be a neighborhood go-to once it is discovered. That may take a little time because they are off the beaten path in downtown Denver. But, they are located just three blocks south of the Denver Pavilions off of Tremont and Colfax. They have a regular bar upstairs with leather couches, a fireplace and large screen TVs downstairs. The food was surprisingly well portioned and tasty. The drinks were likewise very good. They also have a Happy Hour with their Mixology Cocktails and a few food items featured. The service was outstanding. Angelo made us feel very welcome and explained everything clearly. We plan to return to BaRed in the future, perhaps with friends.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

GREAT service

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 12, 2014

Very cool place, great location and service! We were there very early before a show at the Paramount and it was a great treat. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.