Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Chino LatinoChino Latino
(2801)
$$$$
Global, International | Uptown, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 37 times today
Origami - UptownOrigami - Uptown
(73)
$$$$
Sushi | Uptown, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 6 times today
Uptown TavernUptown Tavern
(65)
$$$$
American | Uptown, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Stella's Fish Cafe & Prestige Oyster BarStella's Fish Cafe & Prestige Oyster Bar
(3048)
$$$$
Seafood | Uptown, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 54 times today
Lucia's Restaurant and Wine BarLucia's Restaurant and Wine Bar
(626)
$$$$
French American | Uptown, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Lake & IrvingLake & Irving
(478)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Uptown, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 23 times today
HeydayHeyday
(805)
$$$$
American | Uptown, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 19 times today
BarbetteBarbette
(708)
$$$$
French | Uptown, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 9 times today
Amore UptownAmore Uptown
(172)
$$$$
Italian | Uptown, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 7 times today
LibertineLibertine
(470)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Uptown, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 4 times today
Urban EateryUrban Eatery
(1003)
$$$$
American | Uptown, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 35 times today
moto-imoto-i
(726)
$$$$
Asian | Uptown, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 14 times today
French Meadow Cafe & Bluestem BarFrench Meadow Cafe & Bluestem Bar
(325)
$$$$
American | Uptown, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 4 times today
It's Greek To Me - MinneapolisIt's Greek To Me - Minneapolis
(69)
$$$$
Greek | Lyn-Lake, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 6 times today
Nico's Taco and Tequila BarNico's Taco and Tequila Bar
(210)
$$$$
Mexican | Uptown, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 12 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

About Bar Louie - Uptown

LOUIE'S STORY:Bar Louie is an eclectic urban bar with warm surroundings, filled with nightlife photography, hand-laid tile artwork and other local architectural touches. Made famous for our handcrafted signature martinis, we also feature an exceptional selection of uniquely presented American food traditionally and regionally inspired, including small plates, burgers and sandwiches. While beer and wine connoisseurs will be impressed with our extensive selection of imports, microbrews and over 20 wines by the glass, cocktail drinkers will revel in signature martinis, mojitos and margaritas made from the highest quality ingredients, fresh fruit and hand squeezed juices.We are dedicated to always remaining a local bar that delivers unforgettable experiences to every guest. Whether gathering with friends or unwinding with a cocktail, Bar Louie guests have come to expect the remarkable service and reliable experiences from us that keep them coming back over and over again.

1348 Lagoon Ave.
Minneapolis, MN 55408
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Burgers, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner: Daily: 11:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Girard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 824-1529

Website:
http://barlouieamerica.com/

Catering:
Call for catering details

Parking Details:
Big surface lot adjacent to our patio and 4 floors of parking right above us (enter from Lagoon Ave).

Private Party Facilities:
The upper mezzanine can be reserved for groups of up to 200 with a full private bar.

Private Party Contact:
John Dynia: (866) 614-2214

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For large parties of 8 or more and any special events such as holiday parties, company/business meetings/events, charity events, birthdays, anniversaries, rehearsal dinners, or any celebrations please contact Ivette, 612-749-5916

Sort By:
S
61 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This is a terrible establishment. I went to this location last Friday night. The bartender who looked like Tara Reid served me a terrible long island. I took one sip of the drink and the drink tasted like juice. She stated there are alcohol pour limits (I understand but the drink had no hint of alcohol!). I asked for a remake of the drink and she refused. I then urged that I didn't want the drink and was not paying for a drink that could be remade with less juice. The customer service at this place is terrible. Being a person of color I have never experienced anything more degrading then sitting at a bar and not being acknowledged until practically yelling to be served.

On top of the awful experience I called the Bar today to speak with the manager who is just as rude and disrespectful as this establishment expressing my concern about being charged initially 10.92 for a glass of juice and then the price changing to 8.82. He told me to never come to the establishment again.

Never in my life have I felt so disrespected and I am not the first person to feel this way. Numerous people have told me this place is very discriminative toward black people but I finally saw it for myself. I hope this place gets shut down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Sonny was my Server the last two times I've gone to Bar Louie's and he's very attentive to his customer but, not over bearing. The ambiance was outstanding! The only negative experience was that when exiting I believe it's ridiculous that you'd have to go all the way around to the other side to enter into the lobby where you pay for parking. My overall experience was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Went to Bar Louie for dinner with my girls to celebrate my birthday. The voodoo pasta is my favorite dish. Very nice environment, this was my second time visiting and my service was average this time however the first time service was excellent!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

A miserable experience. We went for my sisters bday. Had a reservation, but they didn't have our table ready until an hour after our reservation. We were served with dirty water glasses (had pieces of lemon left over on the rim of the glass), and our waitress served my sisters 21st bday martini in a short, plastic glass that was half full.

Miserable experience.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Part of our group's food came out late but they comp'd the entree and offered a free drink to the people who did not get their food timely which was nice. We had a large group but it was so loud that I could only converse with those sitting right next to me. Cool atmosphere but for a large group, may not be ideal if you actually want to talk to the people you came with.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Service toast was very slow. Hamburger meat tasted "funny". Tater tots were fabulous! So noisy we couldn't talk even though we were sitting right next to each other. Decidedly a 30's something establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 11, 2016

It was a great night for me and for my friends. S'mores martini are the best! :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My first time at this restaurant. The atmosphere and seating were great, but the waitress was awful. She asked us if we wanted our bill 3 times and looked at her watch each time. I finally gave her an eta for our departure. The food was ok, but the calamari and spinach dip were cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Not wonderful service, but the food and drinks were excellent!

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Worst service ever - took the server 5 times to get the drinks right & they forgot one of our meals so we had to wait 30 mins for that, so we were all done eating by the time it arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great place for happy hour. Delicious martinis. Great appetizers fir 1/2 off. We'll definitely be back. Restaurant/ atmosphere was really cool. Great patio!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food was great! The drinks were awesome. $5 martinis for happy hour are a steal and the options were extensive. The hostess and server were subpar. It took a loooong time to get a drink from the bar and it wasn't that busy. I would go again, but without expectations of great service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Awesome venue! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 10, 2016

We gathered to bid farewell to a co-worker. The wait staff was excellent recommending drinks and favorites from the happy hour specials. He was very attentive as additional co-workers came in and he would soon arrive to get their drink and food orders. The food came out quickly and was very good. I plan to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2016

the food was good the waiter did wanna take the time to divide our give up like he should been done and I called a head of time telling them I was runing late when I got there they was giving the run a around bout my resatvation other than that the food and drinks was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2016

Great food, buffalo Flatbread is amazing! Burgers are fantastic! Martinis are what keeps me coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 20, 2015

Our food was absolutely horrible and the drinks were too expensive considering how mediocre they were.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 27, 2015

Food was excellent as well as the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 6, 2015

Would give higher rating if not so noisy indoors . Can only eat outside on burger night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 18, 2015

Great burgers and a very fun atmosphere for date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 1, 2015

Great place for burgers and outdoor dining! Indoors is too noisy. Music type is too loud for conversation.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 29, 2015

The shrimp lettuce wraps were absolutely scrumptious! Service was right on! Great ground level patio with water features and fire pits. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 11, 2015

I read some of the negative reviews and was a little nervous about going there. Took a chance and was pleasantly surprised. The food and service were great. Has a good variety of food offerings. A great location in the Uptown area and the abiance outside is terrific. If your looking for a fun place to go give Louie's a chance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 6, 2015

Food was delicious and they handled serving a table of 10 very well. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2015

My wife and I enjoyed the scene, the service, and the food in Uptown Mpls. We are out of town a fair distance - we found the area easily navigable. End route, our server called us just to tell us our table was ready, 10 min. ahead of schedule! We sat in a U-booth off of the bar area. Pros: excellent service, great food, and signature drink variety - all very wonderful. Negatives: Being unfamiliar with Bar Louie, we followed the suggestion to dress snappy/ business casual. Being Valentine's Day, many were dressed, but a few were not. I'd update the profile. We were otherwise happy with the atmosphere and the space. Thanks, Bar Louie!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 1, 2015

It was Super Bowl Sunday, and the sound was turned way, way up, so we went elsewhere. We'll try it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 23, 2015

Took my boyfriend's brother and his friends here for his birthday and it was the perfect spot. Our waiter was super friendly and offered great options off the menu for drinks and apps. He also checked in with us as more of our party arrived and then throughout the night to make sure we were well taken care of.
In addition, we stayed well after eating and he continued to fill our waters and occasional check about more drinks or dessert. He was respectful at all times and it was good to know we were well taken care of all night.
I highly recommend this place for a group as long as you make a reservation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 23, 2015

Great buffalo flatbread and loaded tots! Lettuce wraps were way too salty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 7, 2014

They've got some staple items that are great - especially the burgers and of course the loaded potato tots with gardiniera (trust me). And then there's always some specials. It's a lively scene but we were able to get a table for 9 at 24 hours notice on a Friday night. Good service, great food and reasonably priced.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 10, 2014

A high school friend and I met up after not having seen each other in about a year. This was the perfect place for us to meet up and catch up. Our server was amazing, checking in at all the right time. She was patient and kind. I would absolutely recommend Bar Louie!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 12, 2014

Bar Louie is a great place to eat, meet with friends or family and enjoy the tasty food and excellent service. The food was a little on the pricy side for what you get although we were in a big group and split the bill so the drinks may be skewing my view of the pricing. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 10, 2014

The food was very good. The only issue I had was there were not many people in the restaurant at the time I went, however, the noise really carried so it was quite loud.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 30, 2014

I sat at the bar and had a burger and fries. The bartender/server was friendly and attentive; he was good about providing soft drink refills without being asked. Food was fresh and tasty, I hope to return soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 8, 2014

Great place, but the noise level (music) was too loud. We were having a hard time hearing our waitress and she was having a hard time hearing us. The music could have been lowered a notch or two!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 2, 2014

We sat outside and enjoyed good food and drinks and outstanding service. Was great spot to get together with friends before our concert. We'll be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 27, 2014

Ordered the tortilla soup, had to send back. Tasted like chicken, vegetables heated with hot water no seasoning at all.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 3, 2014

Had the Voodoo chicken, it was wonderful! Will come back just for this meal again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 28, 2014

I normally don't leave a review, but in this case I'm making an exception.

We show up and the host doesn't take my name off the OpenTable reservation list which I barely catch in time. Following that, we get seated, and it takes ten minutes for our server to show up. Finally she shows up and takes our drink orders - only to disappear for a full fifteen minutes. During that time I watch her chat it up with another table and flirt with a fellow server before finally making it to the bar for the drink order. The place is not full. Following that she finally brings food, doesn't even check on us until the food is gone and that includes drink and even refilling water. Second two-cent tip I've left in my life. We will not be returning - ever.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2014

We were celebrating my son's 21 birthday. The service was terrible. 15 to 20 minute waits for ordering, long wait for food, long wait for check--even after requests. The waitress was crabby -- no smile. I asked to talk to the manager, our waitress was our manager and she told me "the service was just fine" and she was rude to me. Nothing special to honor my son--desert, drink or anything complementary.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 13, 2014

The happy hour menu is amazing, and the outdoor seating is wonderful. Tons of room. The service was good, the bartender and waiter were always around. The food itself was awesome-I'd recommend their fries and flat breads!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.