About Bar Louie - Uptown

1348 Lagoon Ave.
Minneapolis, MN 55408
View Larger Map

LOUIE'S STORY:Bar Louie is an eclectic urban bar with warm surroundings, filled with nightlife photography, hand-laid tile artwork and other local architectural touches. Made famous for our handcrafted signature martinis, we also feature an exceptional selection of uniquely presented American food traditionally and regionally inspired, including small plates, burgers and sandwiches. While beer and wine connoisseurs will be impressed with our extensive selection of imports, microbrews and over 20 wines by the glass, cocktail drinkers will revel in signature martinis, mojitos and margaritas made from the highest quality ingredients, fresh fruit and hand squeezed juices.We are dedicated to always remaining a local bar that delivers unforgettable experiences to every guest. Whether gathering with friends or unwinding with a cocktail, Bar Louie guests have come to expect the remarkable service and reliable experiences from us that keep them coming back over and over again.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Burgers, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner: Daily: 11:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Girard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 824-1529

Website:
http://barlouieamerica.com/

Catering:
Call for catering details

Parking Details:
Big surface lot adjacent to our patio and 4 floors of parking right above us (enter from Lagoon Ave).

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
For large parties of 8 or more and any special events such as holiday parties, company/business meetings/events, charity events, birthdays, anniversaries, rehearsal dinners, or any celebrations please contact Ivette, 612-749-5916

Restaurant Photos

Flatbread
Mac and Cheese
four tacos
Berry Mojito
Loaded Tater Tots
Burger Sliders
Adobo Shrimp
Mojito
Spinach Artichoke Dip
Sangria
Beer Braised Mussels
Blackberry, Orange & Brie
Watermelon Margarita
Sesame Encrusted Seared Tuna
Chocolate Fudge Cake
Tempura Shrimp
Crispy Chicken Melt
Sesame Tuna Sandwich
Firecracker Flatbread
Louie Burger
Four Tacos Plate
Blackened Salmon Sliders
Honeydew
Bruschetta Pomodoro
Portabella Burger
Louie's Cosmo
Bacon Cheeseburger Sliders
Mango Mojito
 Hummus, Tapenade & Tzatziki
Mexican Sunrise
Philly Burger
Bavarian Pretzel Sticks
Rat Pack

Private Dining

The upper mezzanine can be reserved for groups of up to 200 with a full private bar.

Bar Louie - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Vibrant Bar Scene
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Hot Spot
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
1 More
Vibrant Bar Scene
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

great for outdoor dining (6)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (5)
See All
good for groups (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
neighborhood gem (4)
great for lunch (3)
special occasion (3)
great for brunch (2)
fit for foodies (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
48 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome venue! Great service!

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

Awesome venue! Great service!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We gathered to bid farewell to a co-work ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We gathered to bid farewell to a co-worker. The wait staff was excellent recommending drinks and favorites from the happy hour specials. He was very attentive as additional co-workers came in and he would soon arrive to get their drink and food orders. The food came out quickly and was very good. I plan to go back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

the food was good the waiter did wanna t ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

the food was good the waiter did wanna take the time to divide our give up like he should been done and I called a head of time telling them I was runing late when I got there they was giving the run a around bout my resatvation other than that the food and drinks was good

food1
ambience2
service3

Our food was absolutely horrible and the ...

Dined on December 21, 2015

Our food was absolutely horrible and the drinks were too expensive considering how mediocre they were.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent as well as the servic ...

Dined on November 28, 2015

Food was excellent as well as the service

food3
ambience3
service3

Would give higher rating if not so noisy ...

vip
Dined on October 6, 2015

Would give higher rating if not so noisy indoors . Can only eat outside on burger night.

food4
ambience5
service4

Great burgers and a very fun atmosphere ...

Dined on September 19, 2015

Great burgers and a very fun atmosphere for date night!

food4
ambience4
service4

Love Tuesday Burger night!

vip
Dined on September 1, 2015

Great place for burgers and outdoor dining! Indoors is too noisy. Music type is too loud for conversation.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4

Fun!

Dined on June 29, 2015

The shrimp lettuce wraps were absolutely scrumptious! Service was right on! Great ground level patio with water features and fire pits. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Fun Spot

Dined on April 11, 2015

I read some of the negative reviews and was a little nervous about going there. Took a chance and was pleasantly surprised. The food and service were great. Has a good variety of food offerings. A great location in the Uptown area and the abiance outside is terrific. If your looking for a fun place to go give Louie's a chance.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Success

Dined on March 7, 2015

Food was delicious and they handled serving a table of 10 very well. I will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Just Great

Dined on February 15, 2015

My wife and I enjoyed the scene, the service, and the food in Uptown Mpls. We are out of town a fair distance - we found the area easily navigable. End route, our server called us just to tell us our table was ready, 10 min. ahead of schedule! We sat in a U-booth off of the bar area. Pros: excellent service, great food, and signature drink variety - all very wonderful. Negatives: Being unfamiliar with Bar Louie, we followed the suggestion to dress snappy/ business casual. Being Valentine's Day, many were dressed, but a few were not. I'd update the profile. We were otherwise happy with the atmosphere and the space. Thanks, Bar Louie!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service3

Wrong day to try it.

Dined on February 1, 2015

It was Super Bowl Sunday, and the sound was turned way, way up, so we went elsewhere. We'll try it again.

food5
ambience4
service5

What A Night

Dined on January 24, 2015

Took my boyfriend's brother and his friends here for his birthday and it was the perfect spot. Our waiter was super friendly and offered great options off the menu for drinks and apps. He also checked in with us as more of our party arrived and then throughout the night to make sure we were well taken care of. In addition, we stayed well after eating and he continued to fill our waters and occasional check about more drinks or dessert. He was respectful at all times and it was good to know we were well taken care of all night. I highly recommend this place for a group as long as you make a reservation.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Girls night

Dined on January 24, 2015

Great buffalo flatbread and loaded tots! Lettuce wraps were way too salty.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Always great but original

Dined on November 8, 2014

They've got some staple items that are great - especially the burgers and of course the loaded potato tots with gardiniera (trust me). And then there's always some specials. It's a lively scene but we were able to get a table for 9 at 24 hours notice on a Friday night. Good service, great food and reasonably priced.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

stellar

Dined on October 10, 2014

A high school friend and I met up after not having seen each other in about a year. This was the perfect place for us to meet up and catch up. Our server was amazing, checking in at all the right time. She was patient and kind. I would absolutely recommend Bar Louie!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5

Great, fun place!

Dined on September 12, 2014

Bar Louie is a great place to eat, meet with friends or family and enjoy the tasty food and excellent service. The food was a little on the pricy side for what you get although we were in a big group and split the bill so the drinks may be skewing my view of the pricing. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Good food

Dined on September 10, 2014

The food was very good. The only issue I had was there were not many people in the restaurant at the time I went, however, the noise really carried so it was quite loud.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

vip
Dined on August 30, 2014

I sat at the bar and had a burger and fries. The bartender/server was friendly and attentive; he was good about providing soft drink refills without being asked. Food was fresh and tasty, I hope to return soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Noise Level

Dined on August 9, 2014

Great place, but the noise level (music) was too loud. We were having a hard time hearing our waitress and she was having a hard time hearing us. The music could have been lowered a notch or two!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Perfect pre-concert dinner spot

Dined on August 2, 2014

We sat outside and enjoyed good food and drinks and outstanding service. Was great spot to get together with friends before our concert. We'll be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4

washed out

vip
Dined on July 27, 2014

Ordered the tortilla soup, had to send back. Tasted like chicken, vegetables heated with hot water no seasoning at all.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

Great atmosphere

Dined on July 4, 2014

Had the Voodoo chicken, it was wonderful! Will come back just for this meal again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service1

Worst Service I've Experienced Ever

vip
Dined on June 29, 2014

I normally don't leave a review, but in this case I'm making an exception. We show up and the host doesn't take my name off the OpenTable reservation list which I barely catch in time. Following that, we get seated, and it takes ten minutes for our server to show up. Finally she shows up and takes our drink orders - only to disappear for a full fifteen minutes. During that time I watch her chat it up with another table and flirt with a fellow server before finally making it to the bar for the drink order. The place is not full. Following that she finally brings food, doesn't even check on us until the food is gone and that includes drink and even refilling water. Second two-cent tip I've left in my life. We will not be returning - ever.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience1
service1

It was a terrible experience

Dined on June 25, 2014

We were celebrating my son's 21 birthday. The service was terrible. 15 to 20 minute waits for ordering, long wait for food, long wait for check--even after requests. The waitress was crabby -- no smile. I asked to talk to the manager, our waitress was our manager and she told me "the service was just fine" and she was rude to me. Nothing special to honor my son--desert, drink or anything complementary.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Happy Hour!

Dined on June 14, 2014

The happy hour menu is amazing, and the outdoor seating is wonderful. Tons of room. The service was good, the bartender and waiter were always around. The food itself was awesome-I'd recommend their fries and flat breads!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

nice touch

vip
Dined on June 11, 2014

good addition to the neighborhood I think its totally rediculous to ask me to write a review longer than I wish to write.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service2

Great food with mediocre service

Dined on May 25, 2014

I'd chosen this as my birthday celebration with family, we are open to all kinds of experiences but this one was a mixed bag. When we arrived I asked if we could get seating on the patio and was told that OpenTable reservations aren't honored for the patio. Ok, fine. We were seated in the back of the restaurant and were the only people there. Nice, but it felt like we had been forgotten by the staff. We had great food, but it took forever to get our drinks and food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Recovery

Dined on May 25, 2014

Coming from a place just around the corner with poor service, this place was amazing. I recommend the bruschetta.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

Great Burgers

vip
Dined on May 20, 2014

Great for Tuesday night $5.00 burgers! Best to be outside. Very noisy inside.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

service

Dined on May 11, 2014

The service was great. Waitress was checking in frequently without being bothersome. Food was delish and very reasonable for the large portions. Tots are amazing!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Mother's Day

Dined on May 11, 2014

We had a terrific server and everyone loved their food, great experience!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3

Sunday Lunch

Dined on May 11, 2014

First time there - we were there for Sunday Lunch, so not sure about the late-night scene. It was not busy, but had to raise my hand to get more coffee. Very nice waiter, but not real attentive. Very nice, but not checking on us enough. Why is it when restaurants are NOT busy, the service is worse? Food was wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is my favorite!

Dined on April 26, 2014

This is one of my favorite bars in all in Minneapolis. It has great food, service and happy hour! Going on Thursday nights for their 5$ martini night is a must!

food4
ambience3
service1

Server

Dined on April 13, 2014

We could have had a better server. I had to flag him down 10 minute after we got our food so we could get some condiments. After that he never came back to see if we wanted anything else. We were going to stay and have a drink or two more but after being ignored for 45 minutes we got our check and left.

Tags: hot spot
food3
ambience3
service2

No excuse

Dined on April 12, 2014

I went here for a quick bite before hitting the clubs. If you go be very form about sitting downstairs. The person upstairs was always. Late. It took almost 10 mins to even ask if I wanted a Beer! Then another 10 to come back and tell me the beer that I ordered wasn't available. I ordered my food and it took a whopping 30 mins for it to arrive I was eating almost an hour after I arrived and my beer came 10 mins before my food. I left upset and disappointed. I topped the waiter cause I figured its hard enough. But I left a more snout the poor service on the receipt. There are a bunch of cool places next to this one. Find one of them. Good luck!

food4
ambience3
service4

Bring your outside voices

Dined on March 9, 2014

We came for an early Saturday dinner with friends (7:00). The booth was nice, service and food was very good, but the thumping background music was so loud that conversation (even among those in our booth) had to border on shouting. The large number of milling 20-somethings made it clear that this place caters to a party crowd later on, and the bar was obviously gearing up for that. The outside fire pits & seating looks amazing and we'll have to come back in warmer weather to check that out.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service1

Good food, horrible service Shaina

Dined on February 21, 2014

Just don't get served by this server Shaina. She will forget what you ordered. Won't write it down. My friend ordered Margarita and couldn't eat the meat that came with it, instead of changing it, she just tells him to put it on the side. Also forgets our fries, had to tell her to get pizza twice. She hardly ever checked on us. The experience was terrible. Please make sure you don't get served by Shaina.

food2
ambience1
service1

20-something pickup joint

Dined on February 17, 2014

This place is miserable if you're looking for a place to eat. The food is so-so. The service is poor. The atmosphere is loud. The clientele is obnoxious and distracting.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.