Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Redstone American Grill - MinnetonkaRedstone American Grill - Minnetonka
(1497)
$$$$
American | Minnetonka, Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Booked 54 times today
BacioBacio
(998)
$$$$
Italian | Minnetonka, Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Booked 27 times today
Kona Grill - MinnetonkaKona Grill - Minnetonka
(173)
$$$$
American | Minnetonka, Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Booked 14 times today
Big Bowl RidgedaleBig Bowl Ridgedale
(547)
$$$$
Chinese | Minnetonka, Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Booked 12 times today
Ruscello - Nordstrom RidgedaleRuscello - Nordstrom Ridgedale
(186)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Minnetonka, Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Booked 10 times today
Lakeshore Grill-Macy's - Ridgedale MallLakeshore Grill-Macy's - Ridgedale Mall
(268)
$$$$
American | Minnetonka, Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Booked 6 times today
AvenidaAvenida
(304)
$$$$
Latin / Spanish | Minnetonka, Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Booked 25 times today
CRAVE - West EndCRAVE - West End
(2529)
$$$$
American | St. Louis Park, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 60 times today
6Smith6Smith
(1014)
$$$$
American | Wayzata / Long Lake, Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Booked 61 times today
Butcher & the BoarButcher & the Boar
(2467)
$$$$
Steak | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 52 times today
Benihana - MinneapolisBenihana - Minneapolis
(1335)
$$$$
Japanese | Golden Valley, Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Booked 33 times today
Manny's SteakhouseManny's Steakhouse
(4779)
$$$$
Steak | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 65 times today
Spoon and StableSpoon and Stable
(1238)
$$$$
American | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 64 times today
Mill Valley KitchenMill Valley Kitchen
(2207)
$$$$
American | St. Louis Park, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 51 times today
The Bachelor FarmerThe Bachelor Farmer
(2461)
$$$$
Nordic | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 55 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Bar Louie - Minnetonka

LOUIE'S STORY:Bar Louie is an eclectic urban bar with warm surroundings filled with nightlife photography, hand-laid mosaic tile, and accented with a stunning patio that features a full bar. Made famous for our handcrafted signature martinis, we also feature an exceptional selection of uniquely presented American food traditionally and regionally inspired, including small plates, burgers and sandwiches. While beer and wine connoisseurs will be impressed with our extensive selection of imports, microbrews and over 20 wines by the glass, cocktail drinkers will revel in signature martinis, mojitos and margaritas made from the highest quality ingredients, fresh fruit and hand squeezed juices.We are dedicated to always remaining a local bar that delivers unforgettable experiences to every guest. Whether gathering with friends or unwinding with a cocktail, Bar Louie guests have come to expect remarkable service and an exceptional experience that keeps them coming back.

12653 Wayzata Blvd
Minnetonka, MN 55305
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Burgers

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Plymouth Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 545-2425

Website:
http://www.barlouieamerica.com/

Parking Details:
Inside the mall with valet on Thusday, Friday, Saturday.

Private Party Facilities:
For large parties of 8 or more and any special events such as holiday parties, company/business meetings/events, charity events, birthdays, anniversaries, rehearsal dinners, or any celebrations please call our service representative listed above.

Private Party Contact:
Celisse Lawson: (952) 545-2425

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area

Special Events & Promotions:
For large parties of 8 or more and any special events such as holiday parties, company/business meetings/events, charity events, birthdays, anniversaries, rehearsal dinners, or any celebrations please contact our service representative listed above.

Bar Louie - Minnetonka Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

2.9

service

3.0

ambience

3.3

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

0% would recommend it to a friend

Quick Bite (2)
Casual (2)
Bar Seating (2)
See All
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
S
132 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Have been to Bar Louie three times. The food and service is very good. Great place to stop for lunch or dinner when shopping at the mall.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a great night at Bar Louie. I have never had a waitress handle a group of 10 so smoothly. She was amazing and incredibly attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 17, 2017

They just cannot figure out how to cook a burger less than well done. Something was wrong with their thermostat and our rude, green haired waitressed just laughed when we told her it must be 85 degrees in here and she said "yea its hot and we cant fix it so"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Hostess and service was terrible!!! We sat at our table for a good 15 minutes and had to flag down the hostess to see where our waitress was. We got a bunch of excuses, which is totally not acceptable and we ended up leaving. We will not be returning to this restaurant ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Service was very slow. They forgot to make one of our meals & it finally came when the rest of us were all finished. How hard can it be to make a cheese quesadilla? Third time dining there & service was bad all 3 times. Food was fair to bad every time. Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Service very slow which was a shock because restaurant was not even close to full. Hamburger pre-formed and not cooked correctly - terrible. Only good thing was the meatball appetizer...not a very good experience overall - not recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The space and lighting is pretty good and provides a nice ambient, festive environment, but what comes after with food, drink and service is very disappointing.

After being seated, we waited for about 15 minutes before seeing our server. Someone dropped off food at our table which looked great, but wasn't ours. After ordering, I had to get our own serving ware and napkins. The server couldn't recommend anything on the menu. We had to ask for ketchup and vinegar for fish and chips. Artichoke dip is with chips and not bread and came out cold. Ahi tuna wasn't cooked to medium as requested. Server left the menus and small plates all over the table through the whole meal. Completely amateur, embarrassing for my guests, and complete waste of a Friday night out! Avoid if you want decent service and good. Probably good for beer and chips at the bar.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The tater tots were extremely salty - unable to eat more than a couple. Recommend the cook lightly salt food and let customer add their own salt. The chicken sandwich bordered on being too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Almost didn't book a rez when I read the reviews, but I had been here before and always liked it. We were seated immediately at our reservation time. They make the best mojitos in town and don't spare the rum and mint leaves like some places do. I don't usually do it, but the mojito was so good I had to have a second one! The Louie burger with grilled onions was very tasty and moist, and well done as I had asked. Liked the tatertots, tasty, crispy, and not greasy. Our waiter was friendly and efficient. The menu was diverse and interesting. Will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Mac & Cheese arrived cold. Took a while to get server's attention to ask for the food to be warmed. Took quite a bit of time to for warmed food to arrive. Manager said that drink would be comp'd however when the bill arrived the drink was on the bill as well as charges for 2 orders of Mac & Cheese (guess the cold and warm versions).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Don't waste your time or money. The place was empty on a Friday night (manager said it was because it was Halloween weekend!). It was dead because it was horrible. We ordered a drink off of their drink menu we found online and neither the waitress or the bartender had no idea what it was or how to make it. One of our meals was cold and the other was missing the sauce from the sandwich (sandwich was delivered by the manager). Clearly no communication or training. Surprised the place is even open!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Meh. That's about how the food was and how the atmosphere was. The tables were super close together and the woman behind me kept touching me as she adjusted her coat.

My husband and I both had the Louie Burger. It was greasy and all you could taste was the cheese. Ours were both overcooked.

Tags: Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Bar drink - horrible. Seat yourself. No table service. The four of us left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Very disappointed. Made reservations via Open Table for an 18th birthday. We were not able to get checked in for open table because it was seat yourself. Server was nice, but service was terrible. 20 minutes after we order we were told they were out of food to make that particular order. After reviewing the menu again and just ordering something simple we were told they were completely out of pasta.
You would think being we were the only table inside that it would not take 20 minutes to tell someone we are unable to make your order.
We asked our server for our check for drinks and left. I also, sent an email to customer service with a similar message and have had no response.
Poor management in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I treated a girlfriend to lunch for her birthday. We had a very private booth with great food, but when the chocolate birthday cake arrived, it was a WOW dessert. I'd highly recommend it for chocoholics.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We've been here many times and it seems every time, it goes down hill a little more. We came to try brunch and when we arrived, the place was almost empty and there was no hostess around. After she showed up, we were seated in a booth that was filthy. There was food all over the seats, so had to brush them off myself. The menus at the tables were dirty and sticky. Our server was friendly,but after our food was delivered, she didn't check back. I had to go and find her to tell her my order was incomplete. When a restaurant is empty, one would think the server would be very attentive. My husbands eggs Benedict was very disappointing. Very hesitant to go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Took 40 minutes to get our food. Kitchen was backed up. One of the burgers was rare when they specifically said all are served medium. Staff was good about it though and compensated for issues with free dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was my first time to Bar Louie in Minnetonka on 7/9/16. I made a reservation using OpenTable. When I arrived it was fairly empty and I asked for a booth. They weren't sure they could give me one, but then decided they would. The booth seats were dirty so I wiped them off as the hostess watched me. The beginning service was very good; he sold us on happy hour drinks and an appetizer, took our order in a timely manner. I had ordered the bruscetta appetizer because my young son was very hungry, but it came out with the rest of the meal. And, it was in a garish large martini glass with about a quart of the tomato mixture. All very flavorful, but cold, and entirely too much. Then my cousin received her salad without guacamole. The server had to refer to the menu to confirm it should come with guacamole and then went to the kitchen. She didn't get her guac for another 10 minutes. After we were done the server cleared and brought our checks, and I again had to remind him that my son's kids meal came with a sundae. Also, the women's bathroom's entire floor was very sticky. Overall we weren't impressed. I may come back one more time to try out the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 29, 2016

The restaurant was not ready for us but did go out of their way to fix that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Very loud! Service is good but so loud you can't hear a thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 7, 2016

We come for the $5.00 burger night which we feel is a great value. Our server was really good. She had lots of tables to wait on but always would come and check on us to see if we needed anything or let us know when our order would be coming. The only problem we had was the noise level was way too loud. We could not even talk across the table. There were a few tables of 6 or more people who just talked way too loud so it was not enjoyable for us to dine out that night. This was the loudest it has ever been for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Nice to have an option other than the typical chains. Delicious food and received great service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Horrible service especially on Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Ahi tuna sandwich is great! Brunch items were good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 3, 2016

The hamburgers were great and so was the roasted veggie flatbread pizza. Our waitress was very nice. I think her name was Coley. I find the noise level too loud. You can't hear each other over the music. Maybe turn down the music a little and then the evening would have been perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 26, 2016

Great beer selection with active bar scene. Good food, great burgers and fantastic outdoor patio. Tuesday night is burger night- $5.00

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2016

The salmon sliders if right out of the oven--hot and fresh--is great. Unfortunately the staff does not serve them right away often. The service this Friday night was poor. This happens about half of the time. They were not busy and I frequently saw our server standing near the kitchen doing nothing. They need to focus on service and serving the food as soon as it is done. This could be a much better restaurant with a little work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 29, 2016

food is very good but the noise level is a little too much for me

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Really loud for dinner with many people who seemed over served in the bar area, being very loud and mouthy. Good was ok. Server was great. Music was so loud we had to tell order to server. We were there with a 7 year old. Maybe we will go back someday during lunch but it's not a family place at night even though they have a kids menu.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Salmon sliders are always great. They sat us in a quiet section as requested so friends and I could chat and celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2016

All of the food was better than expected. Not to say it was life-changing, but having a reasonable expectation then having it quietly exceeded is a good thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We went with another couple on what appeared to be a pretty busy night. We ordered cocktails first, and it took nearly 10 minutes to get them. The server was frustrated with the bar, too. Great server, very personable. We ordered appetizers, and half of them arrived. We waited a fairly long time for the rest of them, started eating, and our food arrived! We told them we weren't ready for it, the server was apologetic, and the manager came over and apologized. Five minutes later, they were BACK AGAIN with our food! We again sent it back since we weren't done with our appetizers. Our server assured us that he would make sure we weren't getting "dead food" and we agreed that five minutes or more (if necessary on their end) would be good timing. They had clearly scraped the food off the plates, and put it back on the same plates. Ugh. Food tasted okay, nothing to write home about. I will say that their cocktails are delicious, so if I go back, it will be for drinks only (but at $11 for a martini, I'll have to make sure my drink loan is approved first!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great service and the food was good. Seating was a little frustrating as we were seated so close to other guests that it almost felt like we were dining together. It would have been much better if we could have gotten a normal booth.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 10, 2016

We got seated right away. The server was very nice. We came for the $5.00 burger night. Great price for burgers. We got our food in the quickest time ever. The problem - I asked for my burger to be medium - with some pink. Waitress acknowledged this. When my burger came - it was so well done I could barely cut it in half like I usually do. I didn't want to complain at the time because we were treating another couple for dinner and this was the first time out with them. I ate it and did not say anything. When we were almost done, my husband said was my burger well done - I said yes. That's when the other couple said theirs was too. I wish someone would have said something sooner so I would have complained to the server and gotten new orders.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 30, 2016

Our server was great! Can't remember his name though... So humorous and attentive to our demanding group celebrating 4 birthdays!! We sat in the large booth back next to the kitchen. Thanks for a fun and entertaining evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 27, 2015

I was at Bar Louie once before, and it was good, but on this visit, I was really disappointed. We had reservations at 7:15 on a Saturday evening. We were seated promptly, which was nice. The waiter greeted, maybe after five minutes. He brought our beverages promptly, and took our order soon thereafter.
When our food arrived, I thought it looked unappetizing. After the waiter left, I noticed that the top of my bun was burnt. It was flipped over, so it seems to me that even if the cook didn't care, someone else would have seen it. The sandwich itself, along with the tator tots, was Luke warm.
Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 5, 2015

Good place for a drop in after shopping. Some food good, some not so good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 31, 2015

Music is too loud. The server wrote down one thing for my order and entered something else. He put the correct item in and my date was done with her meal by the time my food came out. There wasn't any offer to compensate me for the inconvenience nor would they do anything for me when asked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2015

Happy hour prices go until 7pm, which makes glasses of wine very affordable! The food here generally disappoints me. Based on the food descriptions I expect something good, but most items are lackluster. The restaurant was very loud.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.