Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Redstone American Grill - MinnetonkaRedstone American Grill - Minnetonka
(1553)
$$$$
American | Minnetonka, Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Booked 33 times today
BacioBacio
(1033)
$$$$
Italian | Minnetonka, Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Booked 29 times today
Kona Grill - MinnetonkaKona Grill - Minnetonka
(208)
$$$$
American | Minnetonka, Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Booked 12 times today
Lakeshore Grill-Macy's - Ridgedale MallLakeshore Grill-Macy's - Ridgedale Mall
(287)
$$$$
American | Minnetonka, Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Booked 2 times today
Big Bowl RidgedaleBig Bowl Ridgedale
(556)
$$$$
Chinese | Minnetonka, Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Booked 12 times today
Ruscello - Nordstrom RidgedaleRuscello - Nordstrom Ridgedale
(206)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Minnetonka, Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Booked 9 times today
Spoon and StableSpoon and Stable
(1366)
$$$$
American | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 90 times today
AvenidaAvenida
(345)
$$$$
Latin / Spanish | Minnetonka, Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Booked 10 times today
CRAVE - West EndCRAVE - West End
(2583)
$$$$
American | St. Louis Park, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 35 times today
Manny's SteakhouseManny's Steakhouse
(4877)
$$$$
Steak | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 95 times today
Benihana - MinneapolisBenihana - Minneapolis
(1379)
$$$$
Japanese | Golden Valley, Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Booked 46 times today
The Bachelor FarmerThe Bachelor Farmer
(2527)
$$$$
Nordic | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 60 times today
6Smith6Smith
(1109)
$$$$
American | Wayzata / Long Lake, Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Booked 52 times today
Birch's on the Lake Brewhouse & SupperclubBirch's on the Lake Brewhouse & Supperclub
(541)
$$$$
Steak | Wayzata / Long Lake, Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Booked 45 times today
Butcher & the BoarButcher & the Boar
(2570)
$$$$
Steak | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 74 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Bar Louie - Minnetonka

LOUIE'S STORY:Bar Louie is an eclectic urban bar with warm surroundings filled with nightlife photography, hand-laid mosaic tile, and accented with a stunning patio that features a full bar. Made famous for our handcrafted signature martinis, we also feature an exceptional selection of uniquely presented American food traditionally and regionally inspired, including small plates, burgers and sandwiches. While beer and wine connoisseurs will be impressed with our extensive selection of imports, microbrews and over 20 wines by the glass, cocktail drinkers will revel in signature martinis, mojitos and margaritas made from the highest quality ingredients, fresh fruit and hand squeezed juices.We are dedicated to always remaining a local bar that delivers unforgettable experiences to every guest. Whether gathering with friends or unwinding with a cocktail, Bar Louie guests have come to expect remarkable service and an exceptional experience that keeps them coming back.

12653 Wayzata Blvd
Minnetonka, MN 55305
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Burgers

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Plymouth Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 545-2425

Website:
http://www.barlouieamerica.com/

Parking Details:
Inside the mall with valet on Thusday, Friday, Saturday.

Private Party Facilities:
For large parties of 8 or more and any special events such as holiday parties, company/business meetings/events, charity events, birthdays, anniversaries, rehearsal dinners, or any celebrations please call our service representative listed above.

Private Party Contact:
Celisse Lawson: (952) 545-2425

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area

Special Events & Promotions:
For large parties of 8 or more and any special events such as holiday parties, company/business meetings/events, charity events, birthdays, anniversaries, rehearsal dinners, or any celebrations please contact our service representative listed above.

Bar Louie - Minnetonka Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

1.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
0% would recommend it to a friend
Sort By:
S
92 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a great night at Bar Louie. I have never had a waitress handle a group of 10 so smoothly. She was amazing and incredibly attentive.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 17, 2017

They just cannot figure out how to cook a burger less than well done. Something was wrong with their thermostat and our rude, green haired waitressed just laughed when we told her it must be 85 degrees in here and she said "yea its hot and we cant fix it so"

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Hostess and service was terrible!!! We sat at our table for a good 15 minutes and had to flag down the hostess to see where our waitress was. We got a bunch of excuses, which is totally not acceptable and we ended up leaving. We will not be returning to this restaurant ever!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The space and lighting is pretty good and provides a nice ambient, festive environment, but what comes after with food, drink and service is very disappointing.

After being seated, we waited for about 15 minutes before seeing our server. Someone dropped off food at our table which looked great, but wasn't ours. After ordering, I had to get our own serving ware and napkins. The server couldn't recommend anything on the menu. We had to ask for ketchup and vinegar for fish and chips. Artichoke dip is with chips and not bread and came out cold. Ahi tuna wasn't cooked to medium as requested. Server left the menus and small plates all over the table through the whole meal. Completely amateur, embarrassing for my guests, and complete waste of a Friday night out! Avoid if you want decent service and good. Probably good for beer and chips at the bar.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The tater tots were extremely salty - unable to eat more than a couple. Recommend the cook lightly salt food and let customer add their own salt. The chicken sandwich bordered on being too salty.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Almost didn't book a rez when I read the reviews, but I had been here before and always liked it. We were seated immediately at our reservation time. They make the best mojitos in town and don't spare the rum and mint leaves like some places do. I don't usually do it, but the mojito was so good I had to have a second one! The Louie burger with grilled onions was very tasty and moist, and well done as I had asked. Liked the tatertots, tasty, crispy, and not greasy. Our waiter was friendly and efficient. The menu was diverse and interesting. Will definitely dine here again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Don't waste your time or money. The place was empty on a Friday night (manager said it was because it was Halloween weekend!). It was dead because it was horrible. We ordered a drink off of their drink menu we found online and neither the waitress or the bartender had no idea what it was or how to make it. One of our meals was cold and the other was missing the sauce from the sandwich (sandwich was delivered by the manager). Clearly no communication or training. Surprised the place is even open!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I treated a girlfriend to lunch for her birthday. We had a very private booth with great food, but when the chocolate birthday cake arrived, it was a WOW dessert. I'd highly recommend it for chocoholics.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We've been here many times and it seems every time, it goes down hill a little more. We came to try brunch and when we arrived, the place was almost empty and there was no hostess around. After she showed up, we were seated in a booth that was filthy. There was food all over the seats, so had to brush them off myself. The menus at the tables were dirty and sticky. Our server was friendly,but after our food was delivered, she didn't check back. I had to go and find her to tell her my order was incomplete. When a restaurant is empty, one would think the server would be very attentive. My husbands eggs Benedict was very disappointing. Very hesitant to go back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was my first time to Bar Louie in Minnetonka on 7/9/16. I made a reservation using OpenTable. When I arrived it was fairly empty and I asked for a booth. They weren't sure they could give me one, but then decided they would. The booth seats were dirty so I wiped them off as the hostess watched me. The beginning service was very good; he sold us on happy hour drinks and an appetizer, took our order in a timely manner. I had ordered the bruscetta appetizer because my young son was very hungry, but it came out with the rest of the meal. And, it was in a garish large martini glass with about a quart of the tomato mixture. All very flavorful, but cold, and entirely too much. Then my cousin received her salad without guacamole. The server had to refer to the menu to confirm it should come with guacamole and then went to the kitchen. She didn't get her guac for another 10 minutes. After we were done the server cleared and brought our checks, and I again had to remind him that my son's kids meal came with a sundae. Also, the women's bathroom's entire floor was very sticky. Overall we weren't impressed. I may come back one more time to try out the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 29, 2016

The restaurant was not ready for us but did go out of their way to fix that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Very loud! Service is good but so loud you can't hear a thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Nice to have an option other than the typical chains. Delicious food and received great service!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Horrible service especially on Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Ahi tuna sandwich is great! Brunch items were good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 3, 2016

The hamburgers were great and so was the roasted veggie flatbread pizza. Our waitress was very nice. I think her name was Coley. I find the noise level too loud. You can't hear each other over the music. Maybe turn down the music a little and then the evening would have been perfect.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 26, 2016

Great beer selection with active bar scene. Good food, great burgers and fantastic outdoor patio. Tuesday night is burger night- $5.00

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2016

The salmon sliders if right out of the oven--hot and fresh--is great. Unfortunately the staff does not serve them right away often. The service this Friday night was poor. This happens about half of the time. They were not busy and I frequently saw our server standing near the kitchen doing nothing. They need to focus on service and serving the food as soon as it is done. This could be a much better restaurant with a little work.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 29, 2016

food is very good but the noise level is a little too much for me

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Salmon sliders are always great. They sat us in a quiet section as requested so friends and I could chat and celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2016

All of the food was better than expected. Not to say it was life-changing, but having a reasonable expectation then having it quietly exceeded is a good thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We went with another couple on what appeared to be a pretty busy night. We ordered cocktails first, and it took nearly 10 minutes to get them. The server was frustrated with the bar, too. Great server, very personable. We ordered appetizers, and half of them arrived. We waited a fairly long time for the rest of them, started eating, and our food arrived! We told them we weren't ready for it, the server was apologetic, and the manager came over and apologized. Five minutes later, they were BACK AGAIN with our food! We again sent it back since we weren't done with our appetizers. Our server assured us that he would make sure we weren't getting "dead food" and we agreed that five minutes or more (if necessary on their end) would be good timing. They had clearly scraped the food off the plates, and put it back on the same plates. Ugh. Food tasted okay, nothing to write home about. I will say that their cocktails are delicious, so if I go back, it will be for drinks only (but at $11 for a martini, I'll have to make sure my drink loan is approved first!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great service and the food was good. Seating was a little frustrating as we were seated so close to other guests that it almost felt like we were dining together. It would have been much better if we could have gotten a normal booth.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 10, 2016

We got seated right away. The server was very nice. We came for the $5.00 burger night. Great price for burgers. We got our food in the quickest time ever. The problem - I asked for my burger to be medium - with some pink. Waitress acknowledged this. When my burger came - it was so well done I could barely cut it in half like I usually do. I didn't want to complain at the time because we were treating another couple for dinner and this was the first time out with them. I ate it and did not say anything. When we were almost done, my husband said was my burger well done - I said yes. That's when the other couple said theirs was too. I wish someone would have said something sooner so I would have complained to the server and gotten new orders.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 30, 2016

Our server was great! Can't remember his name though... So humorous and attentive to our demanding group celebrating 4 birthdays!! We sat in the large booth back next to the kitchen. Thanks for a fun and entertaining evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 5, 2015

Good place for a drop in after shopping. Some food good, some not so good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 31, 2015

Music is too loud. The server wrote down one thing for my order and entered something else. He put the correct item in and my date was done with her meal by the time my food came out. There wasn't any offer to compensate me for the inconvenience nor would they do anything for me when asked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 28, 2015

Our server Crystal is the absolute best in the business. She is the reason we come back and continue to return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 10, 2015

The number of tv's and site line to them was good, and the food was ok at this restaurant, but the service was terrible. We waited for our server for 10 minutes after being seated, and we had to flag her down to order more drinks and our main course. There was a ton of staff, but everyone seemed closed off and like they hated their jobs. Our food finally arrived at our table more than 40 minutes after the order was taken, and the restaurant was only about half full. There was no apology from our server, just a comment about wondering where our food was. I would not recommend eating here for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 29, 2015

Our food was very good and it came correct this time except that I didn't get the raw onions that I ordered for my burger. She did get it for me. The waitress was very friendly and explained everything to us as if this was our very first time to the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 12, 2015

First time at Bar Louie. Great wait staff and excellent food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 1, 2015

Our first visit - we enjoyed the food & service, but found the restaurant very loud. Conversation was difficult.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 25, 2015

My husband ordered a cheese (Swiss instead of cheddar) burger with tater tots. He got fries instead of tater tots. Manager came to ask if everything was OK so I told her about the error. She brought him an order of tater tots. When the bill came we were charged 75 cents for cheese. I asked why? She said because we substituted Swiss for cheddar. I said we've done this before and were never charged for the substitution. She refunded us the 75 cents. Otherwise the food tasted good and the waitress was friendly. We come most Tuesday evenings for the $5.00 burger night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 22, 2015

I've been for lunch and happy hour. Food was not memorable / very mediocre both times. Don't even remember what I had to eat for lunch except that I was impressed you could get a side of broccoli with your sandwich if looking for a healthier choice. I can't recommend the calamari. Ambiance is LOUD. Pleasant enough patio but they could do more to green up the space (next to a parking lot). $11 martinis seems a bit high for this place. Wasn't too busy either time (even Friday happy hour) so if you need to get in someplace without a reservation, this could work. I am sorry to be so negative but perhaps mgmt will make some improvements.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 12, 2015

I come for the $5.00 burger night which I normally enjoy. I like the Philly burger but I don't like grilled onions. I always ask to substitute that for raw onions. Most of the time they do not hear me. The noise level is too loud. I then get my burger and have to tell them that it is not how I ordered it. Sometime, they offer to re-do it but after waiting a half hour for the original order, I do not want to wait another half hour for them to do it the right way that I requested in the first place, with raw onions - not grilled. Maybe next time I will hand write a note to the server so they understand how I want my burger fixed. It's also embarrassing to complain in front of my guests at my table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 10, 2015

Service was terrible. Waited five minutes for hostess to show up and greet us. Food took over 25 minutes to arrive after ordering. During that time server never offered drink refills - had to ask after food arrived even though everyone's glasses were empty. Server removed a beer glass that wasn't empty. Some of the worst service we've seen recently in any restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 10, 2015

Service was slow. Naked lady picture made my kids and mom uncomfortable. Not for special family gatherings. The VooDoo Chicken was good. The fish was good. The breakfast Tacos were good too.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2015

I was at the nearby Sheraton for work, and the mall restaurants were pretty much the only choices for dinner. Bar Louie was pretty much the only choice for sit down options...unless you wanted sushi...in the suburbs of Minneapolis, which I didn't - so Bar Louie it was.

I had a hankering for a burger and ended up settling on a blue cheese burger. It wasn't bad - it just didn't really hit the spot. Also, burger whining time - why do places like this ask how you want your burger, and then not even come close? I asked for medium, and it was definitely well-done. Le sigh.

Anyway, I thought the service was fine and the drinks were cold, but the food just didn't hit the spot this time.Meh...or so the Yelp stars go. I was at the nearby Sheraton for work, and the mall restaurants were pretty much the only choices for dinner. Bar Louie was pretty much the only choice for sit down options...unless you wanted sushi...in the suburbs of Minneapolis, which I didn't - so Bar Louie it was.

I had a hankering for a burger and ended up settling on a blue cheese burger. It wasn't bad - it just didn't really hit the spot. Also, burger whining time - why do places like this ask how you want your burger, and then not even come close? I asked for medium, and it was definitely well-done. Le sigh.

Anyway, I thought the service was fine and the drinks were cold, but the food just didn't hit the spot this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 25, 2015

Bar Louie at Ridgedale is a great spot to go after shopping or just in the neighborhood They have a burger special on Tuesday nights that can't be beat. It is very loud, so it's the perfect place to bring youngsters. Very casual atmosphere. The food is delicious. The staff is very accomodating. The bar is always busy. Basically, it's a sports bar with good food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.