About Bar Louie - Minnetonka

12653 Wayzata Blvd
Minnetonka, MN 55305
View Larger Map

LOUIE'S STORY:Bar Louie is an eclectic urban bar with warm surroundings filled with nightlife photography, hand-laid mosaic tile, and accented with a stunning patio that features a full bar. Made famous for our handcrafted signature martinis, we also feature an exceptional selection of uniquely presented American food traditionally and regionally inspired, including small plates, burgers and sandwiches. While beer and wine connoisseurs will be impressed with our extensive selection of imports, microbrews and over 20 wines by the glass, cocktail drinkers will revel in signature martinis, mojitos and margaritas made from the highest quality ingredients, fresh fruit and hand squeezed juices.We are dedicated to always remaining a local bar that delivers unforgettable experiences to every guest. Whether gathering with friends or unwinding with a cocktail, Bar Louie guests have come to expect remarkable service and an exceptional experience that keeps them coming back.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Burgers

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Plymouth Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 545-2425

Website:
http://www.barlouieamerica.com/

Parking Details:
Inside the mall with valet on Thusday, Friday, Saturday.

Private Party Facilities:
For large parties of 8 or more and any special events such as holiday parties, company/business meetings/events, charity events, birthdays, anniversaries, rehearsal dinners, or any celebrations please call our service representative listed above.

Private Party Contact:
Celisse Lawson: 9525452425

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Takeout

Special Events & Promotions:
For large parties of 8 or more and any special events such as holiday parties, company/business meetings/events, charity events, birthdays, anniversaries, rehearsal dinners, or any celebrations please contact our service representative listed above.

Restaurant Photos

Burger Louie, Turkey
Sesame Tuna Sandwich
Bavarian Pretzel Sticks
Bacon Cheeseburger Sliders
Louie Burger
Bruschetta Pomodoro
Beer Braised Mussels
Firecracker Flatbread
Portabella Burger
Mexican Sunrise
Meatball Sub
4 Tacos Plate
Tempura Shrimp
Hummus, Tapenade & Tzatziki
Philly Cheeseburger
Blackened Salmon Sliders

Bar Louie - Minnetonka Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.6

ambience

3.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Fit for Foodies (3)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
116 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very disappointed. Made reservations vi ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very disappointed. Made reservations via Open Table for an 18th birthday. We were not able to get checked in for open table because it was seat yourself. Server was nice, but service was terrible. 20 minutes after we order we were told they were out of food to make that particular order. After reviewing the menu again and just ordering something simple we were told they were completely out of pasta.

You would think being we were the only table inside that it would not take 20 minutes to tell someone we are unable to make your order.

We asked our server for our check for drinks and left. I also, sent an email to customer service with a similar message and have had no response.

Poor management in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

I treated a girlfriend to lunch for her ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

I treated a girlfriend to lunch for her birthday. We had a very private booth with great food, but when the chocolate birthday cake arrived, it was a WOW dessert. I'd highly recommend it for chocoholics.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We've been here many times and it seems ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We've been here many times and it seems every time, it goes down hill a little more. We came to try brunch and when we arrived, the place was almost empty and there was no hostess around. After she showed up, we were seated in a booth that was filthy. There was food all over the seats, so had to brush them off myself. The menus at the tables were dirty and sticky. Our server was friendly,but after our food was delivered, she didn't check back. I had to go and find her to tell her my order was incomplete. When a restaurant is empty, one would think the server would be very attentive. My husbands eggs Benedict was very disappointing. Very hesitant to go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Took 40 minutes to get our food. Kitc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Took 40 minutes to get our food. Kitchen was backed up. One of the burgers was rare when they specifically said all are served medium. Staff was good about it though and compensated for issues with free dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

This was my first time to Bar Louie in M ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was my first time to Bar Louie in Minnetonka on 7/9/16. I made a reservation using OpenTable. When I arrived it was fairly empty and I asked for a booth. They weren't sure they could give me one, but then decided they would. The booth seats were dirty so I wiped them off as the hostess watched me. The beginning service was very good; he sold us on happy hour drinks and an appetizer, took our order in a timely manner. I had ordered the bruscetta appetizer because my young son was very hungry, but it came out with the rest of the meal. And, it was in a garish large martini glass with about a quart of the tomato mixture. All very flavorful, but cold, and entirely too much. Then my cousin received her salad without guacamole. The server had to refer to the menu to confirm it should come with guacamole and then went to the kitchen. She didn't get her guac for another 10 minutes. After we were done the server cleared and brought our checks, and I again had to remind him that my son's kids meal came with a sundae. Also, the women's bathroom's entire floor was very sticky. Overall we weren't impressed. I may come back one more time to try out the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

The restaurant was not ready for us but ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The restaurant was not ready for us but did go out of their way to fix that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service!

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

food, service and noise level

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We come for the $5.00 burger night which we feel is a great value. Our server was really good. She had lots of tables to wait on but always would come and check on us to see if we needed anything or let us know when our order would be coming. The only problem we had was the noise level was way too loud. We could not even talk across the table. There were a few tables of 6 or more people who just talked way too loud so it was not enjoyable for us to dine out that night. This was the loudest it has ever been for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Nice to have an option other than the typical chains. Delicious food and received great service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible service especially on Mother's ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Horrible service especially on Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Ahi tuna sandwich is great! Brunch items ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Ahi tuna sandwich is great! Brunch items were good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food, Service, Noise Level

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

The hamburgers were great and so was the roasted veggie flatbread pizza. Our waitress was very nice. I think her name was Coley. I find the noise level too loud. You can't hear each other over the music. Maybe turn down the music a little and then the evening would have been perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great craft tap beer selection and happy hour

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Great beer selection with active bar scene. Good food, great burgers and fantastic outdoor patio. Tuesday night is burger night- $5.00

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Fair

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The salmon sliders if right out of the oven--hot and fresh--is great. Unfortunately the staff does not serve them right away often. The service this Friday night was poor. This happens about half of the time. They were not busy and I frequently saw our server standing near the kitchen doing nothing. They need to focus on service and serving the food as soon as it is done. This could be a much better restaurant with a little work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

food is very good but the noise level is ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

food is very good but the noise level is a little too much for me

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

Must be a happy hour hotspot

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Really loud for dinner with many people who seemed over served in the bar area, being very loud and mouthy. Good was ok. Server was great. Music was so loud we had to tell order to server. We were there with a 7 year old. Maybe we will go back someday during lunch but it's not a family place at night even though they have a kids menu.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Consistently good restaurant

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Salmon sliders are always great. They sat us in a quiet section as requested so friends and I could chat and celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

All of the food was better than expected ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

All of the food was better than expected. Not to say it was life-changing, but having a reasonable expectation then having it quietly exceeded is a good thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Disappointing experience

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We went with another couple on what appeared to be a pretty busy night. We ordered cocktails first, and it took nearly 10 minutes to get them. The server was frustrated with the bar, too. Great server, very personable. We ordered appetizers, and half of them arrived. We waited a fairly long time for the rest of them, started eating, and our food arrived! We told them we weren't ready for it, the server was apologetic, and the manager came over and apologized. Five minutes later, they were BACK AGAIN with our food! We again sent it back since we weren't done with our appetizers. Our server assured us that he would make sure we weren't getting "dead food" and we agreed that five minutes or more (if necessary on their end) would be good timing. They had clearly scraped the food off the plates, and put it back on the same plates. Ugh. Food tasted okay, nothing to write home about. I will say that their cocktails are delicious, so if I go back, it will be for drinks only (but at $11 for a martini, I'll have to make sure my drink loan is approved first!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Good Food, Great Service, OK Atmosphere

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great service and the food was good. Seating was a little frustrating as we were seated so close to other guests that it almost felt like we were dining together. It would have been much better if we could have gotten a normal booth.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

We got seated right away. The server was very nice. We came for the $5.00 burger night. Great price for burgers. We got our food in the quickest time ever. The problem - I asked for my burger to be medium - with some pink. Waitress acknowledged this. When my burger came - it was so well done I could barely cut it in half like I usually do. I didn't want to complain at the time because we were treating another couple for dinner and this was the first time out with them. I ate it and did not say anything. When we were almost done, my husband said was my burger well done - I said yes. That's when the other couple said theirs was too. I wish someone would have said something sooner so I would have complained to the server and gotten new orders.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value5

Our server was great! Can't remember his ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Our server was great! Can't remember his name though... So humorous and attentive to our demanding group celebrating 4 birthdays!! We sat in the large booth back next to the kitchen. Thanks for a fun and entertaining evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not Consistent Quality

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

I was at Bar Louie once before, and it was good, but on this visit, I was really disappointed. We had reservations at 7:15 on a Saturday evening. We were seated promptly, which was nice. The waiter greeted, maybe after five minutes. He brought our beverages promptly, and took our order soon thereafter.

When our food arrived, I thought it looked unappetizing. After the waiter left, I noticed that the top of my bun was burnt. It was flipped over, so it seems to me that even if the cook didn't care, someone else would have seen it. The sandwich itself, along with the tator tots, was Luke warm.

Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Good Enough

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

Good place for a drop in after shopping. Some food good, some not so good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Music is too loud. The server wrote down ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Music is too loud. The server wrote down one thing for my order and entered something else. He put the correct item in and my date was done with her meal by the time my food came out. There wasn't any offer to compensate me for the inconvenience nor would they do anything for me when asked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Friday Night Happy Hour

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on October 30, 2015

Happy hour prices go until 7pm, which makes glasses of wine very affordable! The food here generally disappoints me. Based on the food descriptions I expect something good, but most items are lackluster. The restaurant was very loud.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The happy hour prices are phenomenal and ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on October 28, 2015

The happy hour prices are phenomenal and the flatbreads are tough to beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Best service!!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on October 28, 2015

Our server Crystal is the absolute best in the business. She is the reason we come back and continue to return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food & Service

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on October 28, 2015

I like your $5.00 Burger Night. We come often. This time our food came very quickly and everything was correct and tasted good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food & Service

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on October 20, 2015

I come here very often for the $5.00 burger night but there is usually something wrong with the order. This time most of the food was correct but my friend got her grilled chicken sandwich and it was cold. I had to flag down a server to let them know. They apologized and took the plate away and said they would make her a new order. She waited a little while and then her hot grilled chicken sandwich came but minus the fries. They needed to make her a new order of fries then too. By this time, the rest of us were done eating and she was just starting to eat hers. We come as a group and would like to eat together - not at different times. Hope the next time we come it will be better.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Ambience is great, food was great, we'll ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

Ambience is great, food was great, we'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Disappointing Date Night

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

The number of tv's and site line to them was good, and the food was ok at this restaurant, but the service was terrible. We waited for our server for 10 minutes after being seated, and we had to flag her down to order more drinks and our main course. There was a ton of staff, but everyone seemed closed off and like they hated their jobs. Our food finally arrived at our table more than 40 minutes after the order was taken, and the restaurant was only about half full. There was no apology from our server, just a comment about wondering where our food was. I would not recommend eating here for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Horrible experience

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on October 6, 2015

I won't be back. We came here with our two kids and the server forgot to put our dinner order in. Instead of admitting this and apologizing (which would have been the correct thing to do) he avoided us. It took two requests to get the manager over to our table. The whole experience was handled poorly and I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Food and Service

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 29, 2015

Our food was very good and it came correct this time except that I didn't get the raw onions that I ordered for my burger. She did get it for me. The waitress was very friendly and explained everything to us as if this was our very first time to the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

First time at Bar Louie. Great wait staf ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

First time at Bar Louie. Great wait staff and excellent food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 1, 2015

Our first visit - we enjoyed the food & service, but found the restaurant very loud. Conversation was difficult.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 25, 2015

My husband ordered a cheese (Swiss instead of cheddar) burger with tater tots. He got fries instead of tater tots. Manager came to ask if everything was OK so I told her about the error. She brought him an order of tater tots. When the bill came we were charged 75 cents for cheese. I asked why? She said because we substituted Swiss for cheddar. I said we've done this before and were never charged for the substitution. She refunded us the 75 cents. Otherwise the food tasted good and the waitress was friendly. We come most Tuesday evenings for the $5.00 burger night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great happy hour and burgers on Tuesdays!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2015

The outdoor patio at Bar Louie surpassed my expectations. Great fireplace, good food, but the service was less than spectacular.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Service and Food

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 9, 2015

I reserved a table away from the bar area because the noise level near the bar is way too loud to have a conversation. Hostess took us to a booth right next to the bar. I told her I had asked for a table away from the bar and pointed out to her there were tables available there. She wasn't sure and would ask and eventually gave us a table. Took quite awhile for a server to take our order. I requested the "Philly" with raw onions instead of grilled onions. My burger came with raw onions. I told the server about this. She said my husband got my order and switched our plates. Both the "Philly" burgers had grilled onions. I again voiced my complaint - she said she was sorry and would make me a new one. After this long wait to finally get our food, I didn't want to wait any longer, so I ate it as is. This isn't the first time they have made my burger wrong. It happens most of the time. I try to speak slowly and clearly when I place my orders and maybe the server writes it down correctly so maybe it's the kitchen people who don't read the substitution request. I enjoy coming for the $5.00 burger nite and will give them one more chance to get my order correct.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Good prices, service so so

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 22, 2015

Enjoyed sitting outside until someone started smoking. I asked for medium well burger and it was more on the rare side. I sent it back and was remade. Our server didn't come by very often so we flagged down other staff to order etc.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.