About Bar Louie - Minnetonka

12653 Wayzata Blvd
Minnetonka, MN 55305
View Larger Map

LOUIE'S STORY:Bar Louie is an eclectic urban bar with warm surroundings filled with nightlife photography, hand-laid mosaic tile, and accented with a stunning patio that features a full bar. Made famous for our handcrafted signature martinis, we also feature an exceptional selection of uniquely presented American food traditionally and regionally inspired, including small plates, burgers and sandwiches. While beer and wine connoisseurs will be impressed with our extensive selection of imports, microbrews and over 20 wines by the glass, cocktail drinkers will revel in signature martinis, mojitos and margaritas made from the highest quality ingredients, fresh fruit and hand squeezed juices.We are dedicated to always remaining a local bar that delivers unforgettable experiences to every guest. Whether gathering with friends or unwinding with a cocktail, Bar Louie guests have come to expect remarkable service and an exceptional experience that keeps them coming back.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Burgers

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Plymouth Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 545-2425

Website:
http://www.barlouieamerica.com/

Parking Details:
Inside the mall with valet on Thusday, Friday, Saturday.

Private Party Facilities:
For large parties of 8 or more and any special events such as holiday parties, company/business meetings/events, charity events, birthdays, anniversaries, rehearsal dinners, or any celebrations please call our service representative listed above.

Private Party Contact:
Celisse Lawson: 9525452425

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout

Special Events & Promotions:
For large parties of 8 or more and any special events such as holiday parties, company/business meetings/events, charity events, birthdays, anniversaries, rehearsal dinners, or any celebrations please contact our service representative listed above.

Restaurant Photos

Bar Louie - Minnetonka Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (15)
great for outdoor dining (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
See All
fit for foodies (5)
great for lunch (5)
neighborhood gem (3)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (3)
special occasion (2)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (2)
notable wine list (2)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
106 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined 4 days ago

Nice to have an option other than the typical chains. Delicious food and received great service!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4

Ahi tuna sandwich is great! Brunch items ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Ahi tuna sandwich is great! Brunch items were good too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, Service, Noise Level

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

The hamburgers were great and so was the roasted veggie flatbread pizza. Our waitress was very nice. I think her name was Coley. I find the noise level too loud. You can't hear each other over the music. Maybe turn down the music a little and then the evening would have been perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great craft tap beer selection and happy hour

Dined on April 26, 2016

Great beer selection with active bar scene. Good food, great burgers and fantastic outdoor patio. Tuesday night is burger night- $5.00

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Fair

Dined on April 22, 2016

The salmon sliders if right out of the oven--hot and fresh--is great. Unfortunately the staff does not serve them right away often. The service this Friday night was poor. This happens about half of the time. They were not busy and I frequently saw our server standing near the kitchen doing nothing. They need to focus on service and serving the food as soon as it is done. This could be a much better restaurant with a little work.

food3
ambience2
service3
value4

food is very good but the noise level is ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

food is very good but the noise level is a little too much for me

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Must be a happy hour hotspot

Dined on March 19, 2016

Really loud for dinner with many people who seemed over served in the bar area, being very loud and mouthy. Good was ok. Server was great. Music was so loud we had to tell order to server. We were there with a 7 year old. Maybe we will go back someday during lunch but it's not a family place at night even though they have a kids menu.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Consistently good restaurant

Dined on March 6, 2016

Salmon sliders are always great. They sat us in a quiet section as requested so friends and I could chat and celebrate a birthday.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

All of the food was better than expected ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

All of the food was better than expected. Not to say it was life-changing, but having a reasonable expectation then having it quietly exceeded is a good thing.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointing experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went with another couple on what appeared to be a pretty busy night. We ordered cocktails first, and it took nearly 10 minutes to get them. The server was frustrated with the bar, too. Great server, very personable. We ordered appetizers, and half of them arrived. We waited a fairly long time for the rest of them, started eating, and our food arrived! We told them we weren't ready for it, the server was apologetic, and the manager came over and apologized. Five minutes later, they were BACK AGAIN with our food! We again sent it back since we weren't done with our appetizers. Our server assured us that he would make sure we weren't getting "dead food" and we agreed that five minutes or more (if necessary on their end) would be good timing. They had clearly scraped the food off the plates, and put it back on the same plates. Ugh. Food tasted okay, nothing to write home about. I will say that their cocktails are delicious, so if I go back, it will be for drinks only (but at $11 for a martini, I'll have to make sure my drink loan is approved first!)

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Good Food, Great Service, OK Atmosphere

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great service and the food was good. Seating was a little frustrating as we were seated so close to other guests that it almost felt like we were dining together. It would have been much better if we could have gotten a normal booth.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food2
ambience4
service4
value5

Food

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

We got seated right away. The server was very nice. We came for the $5.00 burger night. Great price for burgers. We got our food in the quickest time ever. The problem - I asked for my burger to be medium - with some pink. Waitress acknowledged this. When my burger came - it was so well done I could barely cut it in half like I usually do. I didn't want to complain at the time because we were treating another couple for dinner and this was the first time out with them. I ate it and did not say anything. When we were almost done, my husband said was my burger well done - I said yes. That's when the other couple said theirs was too. I wish someone would have said something sooner so I would have complained to the server and gotten new orders.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was great! Can't remember his ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Our server was great! Can't remember his name though... So humorous and attentive to our demanding group celebrating 4 birthdays!! We sat in the large booth back next to the kitchen. Thanks for a fun and entertaining evening!

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Not Consistent Quality

Dined on December 27, 2015

I was at Bar Louie once before, and it was good, but on this visit, I was really disappointed. We had reservations at 7:15 on a Saturday evening. We were seated promptly, which was nice. The waiter greeted, maybe after five minutes. He brought our beverages promptly, and took our order soon thereafter. When our food arrived, I thought it looked unappetizing. After the waiter left, I noticed that the top of my bun was burnt. It was flipped over, so it seems to me that even if the cook didn't care, someone else would have seen it. The sandwich itself, along with the tator tots, was Luke warm. Disappointing.

food3
ambience3
service5

Good Enough

Dined on December 5, 2015

Good place for a drop in after shopping. Some food good, some not so good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience1
service2

Music is too loud. The server wrote down ...

Dined on October 31, 2015

Music is too loud. The server wrote down one thing for my order and entered something else. He put the correct item in and my date was done with her meal by the time my food came out. There wasn't any offer to compensate me for the inconvenience nor would they do anything for me when asked.

food3
ambience3
service4

Friday Night Happy Hour

Dined on October 30, 2015

Happy hour prices go until 7pm, which makes glasses of wine very affordable! The food here generally disappoints me. Based on the food descriptions I expect something good, but most items are lackluster. The restaurant was very loud.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

The happy hour prices are phenomenal and ...

vip
Dined on October 28, 2015

The happy hour prices are phenomenal and the flatbreads are tough to beat.

food4
ambience5
service5

Best service!!

Dined on October 28, 2015

Our server Crystal is the absolute best in the business. She is the reason we come back and continue to return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4

Food & Service

vip
Dined on October 28, 2015

I like your $5.00 Burger Night. We come often. This time our food came very quickly and everything was correct and tasted good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Food & Service

vip
Dined on October 20, 2015

I come here very often for the $5.00 burger night but there is usually something wrong with the order. This time most of the food was correct but my friend got her grilled chicken sandwich and it was cold. I had to flag down a server to let them know. They apologized and took the plate away and said they would make her a new order. She waited a little while and then her hot grilled chicken sandwich came but minus the fries. They needed to make her a new order of fries then too. By this time, the rest of us were done eating and she was just starting to eat hers. We come as a group and would like to eat together - not at different times. Hope the next time we come it will be better.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Ambience is great, food was great, we'll ...

Dined on October 11, 2015

Ambience is great, food was great, we'll be back!

food2
ambience3
service1

Disappointing Date Night

Dined on October 10, 2015

The number of tv's and site line to them was good, and the food was ok at this restaurant, but the service was terrible. We waited for our server for 10 minutes after being seated, and we had to flag her down to order more drinks and our main course. There was a ton of staff, but everyone seemed closed off and like they hated their jobs. Our food finally arrived at our table more than 40 minutes after the order was taken, and the restaurant was only about half full. There was no apology from our server, just a comment about wondering where our food was. I would not recommend eating here for dinner.

food1
ambience4
service1

Horrible experience

Dined on October 6, 2015

I won't be back. We came here with our two kids and the server forgot to put our dinner order in. Instead of admitting this and apologizing (which would have been the correct thing to do) he avoided us. It took two requests to get the manager over to our table. The whole experience was handled poorly and I will not be back.

food4
ambience4
service4

Food and Service

vip
Dined on September 29, 2015

Our food was very good and it came correct this time except that I didn't get the raw onions that I ordered for my burger. She did get it for me. The waitress was very friendly and explained everything to us as if this was our very first time to the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

First time at Bar Louie. Great wait staf ...

Dined on September 12, 2015

First time at Bar Louie. Great wait staff and excellent food and drinks!

food4
ambience4
service5

Nice place.

Dined on September 1, 2015

Our first visit - we enjoyed the food & service, but found the restaurant very loud. Conversation was difficult.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service3

Food

vip
Dined on August 25, 2015

My husband ordered a cheese (Swiss instead of cheddar) burger with tater tots. He got fries instead of tater tots. Manager came to ask if everything was OK so I told her about the error. She brought him an order of tater tots. When the bill came we were charged 75 cents for cheese. I asked why? She said because we substituted Swiss for cheddar. I said we've done this before and were never charged for the substitution. She refunded us the 75 cents. Otherwise the food tasted good and the waitress was friendly. We come most Tuesday evenings for the $5.00 burger night.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service3

Great happy hour and burgers on Tuesdays!

Dined on July 22, 2015

The outdoor patio at Bar Louie surpassed my expectations. Great fireplace, good food, but the service was less than spectacular.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2

Service and Food

vip
Dined on June 9, 2015

I reserved a table away from the bar area because the noise level near the bar is way too loud to have a conversation. Hostess took us to a booth right next to the bar. I told her I had asked for a table away from the bar and pointed out to her there were tables available there. She wasn't sure and would ask and eventually gave us a table. Took quite awhile for a server to take our order. I requested the "Philly" with raw onions instead of grilled onions. My burger came with raw onions. I told the server about this. She said my husband got my order and switched our plates. Both the "Philly" burgers had grilled onions. I again voiced my complaint - she said she was sorry and would make me a new one. After this long wait to finally get our food, I didn't want to wait any longer, so I ate it as is. This isn't the first time they have made my burger wrong. It happens most of the time. I try to speak slowly and clearly when I place my orders and maybe the server writes it down correctly so maybe it's the kitchen people who don't read the substitution request. I enjoy coming for the $5.00 burger nite and will give them one more chance to get my order correct.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service3

Good prices, service so so

vip
Dined on May 22, 2015

Enjoyed sitting outside until someone started smoking. I asked for medium well burger and it was more on the rare side. I sent it back and was remade. Our server didn't come by very often so we flagged down other staff to order etc.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service2

I've been for lunch and happy hour. Foo ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2015

I've been for lunch and happy hour. Food was not memorable / very mediocre both times. Don't even remember what I had to eat for lunch except that I was impressed you could get a side of broccoli with your sandwich if looking for a healthier choice. I can't recommend the calamari. Ambiance is LOUD. Pleasant enough patio but they could do more to green up the space (next to a parking lot). $11 martinis seems a bit high for this place. Wasn't too busy either time (even Friday happy hour) so if you need to get in someplace without a reservation, this could work. I am sorry to be so negative but perhaps mgmt will make some improvements.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service3

Service and Food

vip
Dined on May 12, 2015

I come for the $5.00 burger night which I normally enjoy. I like the Philly burger but I don't like grilled onions. I always ask to substitute that for raw onions. Most of the time they do not hear me. The noise level is too loud. I then get my burger and have to tell them that it is not how I ordered it. Sometime, they offer to re-do it but after waiting a half hour for the original order, I do not want to wait another half hour for them to do it the right way that I requested in the first place, with raw onions - not grilled. Maybe next time I will hand write a note to the server so they understand how I want my burger fixed. It's also embarrassing to complain in front of my guests at my table.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience2
service1

Terrible service, average food.

vip
Dined on May 10, 2015

Service was terrible. Waited five minutes for hostess to show up and greet us. Food took over 25 minutes to arrive after ordering. During that time server never offered drink refills - had to ask after food arrived even though everyone's glasses were empty. Server removed a beer glass that wasn't empty. Some of the worst service we've seen recently in any restaurant.

food4
ambience2
service2

Not for Mother's Day

vip
Dined on May 10, 2015

Service was slow. Naked lady picture made my kids and mom uncomfortable. Not for special family gatherings. The VooDoo Chicken was good. The fish was good. The breakfast Tacos were good too.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service2

Menu changed

Dined on March 28, 2015

They had just introduced a new menu that week. They took away the avocado fries, the only reason we went there in the first place. Plus the server told us there was happy hour on Saturday, when in fact there wasn't. We probably wont be back.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience3
service2

Meh

vip
Dined on March 27, 2015

I was at the nearby Sheraton for work, and the mall restaurants were pretty much the only choices for dinner. Bar Louie was pretty much the only choice for sit down options...unless you wanted sushi...in the suburbs of Minneapolis, which I didn't - so Bar Louie it was. I had a hankering for a burger and ended up settling on a blue cheese burger. It wasn't bad - it just didn't really hit the spot. Also, burger whining time - why do places like this ask how you want your burger, and then not even come close? I asked for medium, and it was definitely well-done. Le sigh. Anyway, I thought the service was fine and the drinks were cold, but the food just didn't hit the spot this time.Meh...or so the Yelp stars go. I was at the nearby Sheraton for work, and the mall restaurants were pretty much the only choices for dinner. Bar Louie was pretty much the only choice for sit down options...unless you wanted sushi...in the suburbs of Minneapolis, which I didn't - so Bar Louie it was. I had a hankering for a burger and ended up settling on a blue cheese burger. It wasn't bad - it just didn't really hit the spot. Also, burger whining time - why do places like this ask how you want your burger, and then not even come close? I asked for medium, and it was definitely well-done. Le sigh. Anyway, I thought the service was fine and the drinks were cold, but the food just didn't hit the spot this time.

food4
ambience3
service5

Bar Louie Minnetonka

vip
Dined on March 25, 2015

Bar Louie at Ridgedale is a great spot to go after shopping or just in the neighborhood They have a burger special on Tuesday nights that can't be beat. It is very loud, so it's the perfect place to bring youngsters. Very casual atmosphere. The food is delicious. The staff is very accomodating. The bar is always busy. Basically, it's a sports bar with good food.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

fun happy hour spot

Dined on March 19, 2015

Great food, friendly service, and great happy hour specials. Would definitely go back!

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Tuesday dinner had couples, families, an ...

Dined on March 17, 2015

Tuesday dinner had couples, families, and groups. Music was a bit loud so had to speak up to be heard. Food and service was great.

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.