Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.77mi
  2. Distance: 4.38mi
  3. Distance: 4.88mi
  4. Distance: 4.90mi
  1. Distance: 2.77mi
  2. Distance: 4.38mi
  3. Distance: 4.88mi
  4. Distance: 4.90mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.77mi
  2. Distance: 4.38mi
  3. Distance: 4.88mi
  4. Distance: 4.90mi
  1. Distance: 2.77mi
  2. Distance: 4.38mi
  3. Distance: 4.88mi
  4. Distance: 4.90mi

About Bar Harbor

The classic Supper Club on beautiful Gull Lake. Steaks,Chops, Pasta and
Seafood served in a casual atmosphere

8164 Interlachen Rd
Lake Shore, MN 56468
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm;
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(218) 963-2568

Website:
http://www.barharborsupperclub.com/

Executive Chef:
P.J. Severson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bar Harbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.6

ambience

4.9

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Scenic View (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Romantic (10)
Cozy (8)
Casual (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Family Style (5)
Historic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fireplace (4)
Authentic (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Healthy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
354 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service! The food was amazing and the wine was excellent! Will definitely return to Bar Harbor..

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Family Style, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Simply the best place for a casual fine dining experience. Great place for any occasion. Our server Amy was one of the best servers we have ever had. In you are in the area. Do not miss Bar Harbor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Everything was great! Food the best around lakes area! Fun special nite!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Always enjoy dining at Bar Harbor. Service is top notch, food is great, atmosphere is wonderful we have had a great time there every time. They were even able to fulfill my request for a window booth spot. Great place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

love it..............................................a

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great steaks, lobster, salads, bread and service. Great experience

Tags: Scenic View, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always great food and service, would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Bar Harbor is a nice place for my wife and I to go as a treat for special occasions.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food choices were excellent. The server was very friendly, efficient & familiar with the menu options which made the dining experience pleasant.ar Harbor Old Fashion cocktail was wonderful. Very enjoyable & relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Outstanding overall!! It made Valentine's Day even more special❤️❣❤️

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had a wonderful early Valentine's dinner. Food and service was excellent.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Probably the best meal I've had at BH and definitely the best meal I've had in the area. Seared Red Snapper not to be missed. Beautiful plating. New chef in place👍🏻

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wonderful food, service & ambiance. Always consistent in meals ordered of every selection never fails to be excellent.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This place serves it up best! Great food, excellent service and awesome atmosphere! Their bean appetizer is delicious, light and still full of amazing flavor. Their cocktails are on point, my go to is the their cosmopolitan. Ive had their steaks to their fish and every dish has delivered! Their food is always on point and this is a must try restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Fireplace, Romantic, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great ambience and food. Service excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went to BH for New Years Eve with a party of 16 and they did a great job.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food, good music, good service. I especially love that I can have a delicious, gluten-free dinner, as I have Celiac disease.

Tags: Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve Dinner! Love the supper club atmosphere with great food and friendly service at a leisurely pace. We enjoyed our appetizer of Escargot Stuffed Mushrooms, followed by Braised Short Ribs for my hubby and Surf & Turf with scallops for me. The 6oz sirloin was cooked medium-rare as requested and the scallops had a perfect sear. The only thing I might change is to substitute the awesome garlic mashed potatoes (which my hubby had with his dinner). Cocktails are top notch as well....we'll definitely be back next time we're in the area!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great find on Gull Lake. Close to everything, yet secluded. Great food and wonderful view.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was delicious, but the waitperson did not check back very often. I really enjoyed the live music.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Wonderful, traditional meal with nice portions. Server very attentive. House salad is awesome as were cocktails. Great place in winter for special occasions & for lakeside dinner in summer.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Since the 1970's this restaurant has been a special place for me! Great food and service! If you are in the Brainerd MN area, dine here and they will make you happy!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Absolutely fabulous food and drinks! We had the salmon and steak - every bite was fabulous. Drink menu is fun! Loved eating here!

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The entire dinner was disappointing. Service was slow. When we checked in, it seemed as though they did not have our reservation. They seated us (party of 6) in the bar area. The rest of the restaurant was mostly full, and the dining room tables were set with linen table cloths ,napkins and plates. Our table was in the bar area and they had to set it with plates and napkins after we were already seated - it was very distracting and on the verge of rude as they had to slide the items down to those sitting in the middle of the table. It took 10 minutes for the waitress to show up to take our drink order. It took another 20 minutes for our drinks to arrive (and we were seated 10 feet away from the bar). It was another 20 minutes after the drinks arrived that the waitress came over to take our appetizer order. It wasn't until halfway through the appetizers being eaten that the waitress came over and took our dinner order. The waitress never asked if we had any questions about the menu, didn't explain anything about the menu nor did she recommend anything. The food was mediocre. 3 people ordered steaks all to be cooked as "medium" - and all 3 were done at different levels - mostly on the more rare side. The steaks did not have much taste. The risotto that accompanied the Scallops was thick like paste and tasted only like fish/seafood. The dinner took over 2 hours to complete.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Beautiful location and views, attentive service, unique and enticing menu. Whether a special occasion or just an evening to relax, this place is worth the drive. Updated and lovely interior, yet a long history in the area.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Historic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great Food, Great Evening......anytime of year this is a special place.

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always an exceptional meal & great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great service and excellent food at Bar Harbor! It was our first visit, and our server Mackenzie was wonderful! Her timing, knowledge of the menu, and friendly service made our dining experience a pleasure! We ordered the shrimp appetizer (in won ton wrapper) and enjoyed the unique take on firecracker shrimp. My husband had the steak on hash browns, which was an amazing combination of flavors plus a side of scallops (a bit underdone IMHO...a nice sear would have been nice), while I enjoyed the crab-stuffed lobster tail.

There was a group of women seated on the other side of the divider that raised the volume level for a while (they were having a good time), but all in all the ambience and noise-level were pleasant. We were too full for dessert but enjoyed our visit overall. We'll definitely be back the next time we're in the area!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We love Bar Harbor for a special night out. Make sure you get reservations - the hostess not overly open to try and fit you in on a short notice. Next time I will request to not be seated at the C-shaped booth --- it is way to long for good conversation. Normally love a booth but would prefer to have a table in this situation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Absolutely love the decor in the restaurant! Started out with the green bean appetizer and they were fresh and the sauce on them was light but super savory. Then had a cosmopolitan and it was not too strong, not too sweet and chilled just like a martini should be. The house salad did not disappoint, all veggies were fresh and crisp. Had the scallops and they were cooked perfect! Only disappointment....forgot to order a port wine with our amazing chocolate layer cake for dessert! Overall, this place did an amazing job from entering, to the service, to the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Always OUTSTANDING!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Very good but not as usual. Octoberfest made a little louder than usual. Sat by bar not as nice as other end of dining room.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Service provided from the waitress (Amy) was very good; the bar was jam-packed and slowed overall service considerably. It appeared they were under-staffed, which created considerable delays. The food was very good; we had the scallops (only three - seemed a bit skimpy), which were delicious, and the filet mignon, which was cooked to the medium rare specifications.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Historic building ~ gets better every visit. We visit once a year and it is great to see the same faces year after year (that says a great deal about a restaurant retaining staff).

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Always a good meal! Great ambiance. Lake front views. Booths and tables. High tops and booths in the bar. Best Sesame Seared Ahi Tuna my family has ever had!! Piano bar... but not always in use. Great summer outdoor dining and bar with large gas fire pit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The scallops & truffle risotto is one of our favorite entrees, though the prime rib special is right up there as well! The bartender makes the best brandy old fashions & the service is great, Michala was our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 29, 2016

It would be hard to pick just one thing that stood out, everything was excellent! We were so impressed that we went back again the next day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Lovely, lovely place. Beautiful and picturesque. Nice service, terrific bartender creating tasty and original cocktails. Food which rivals many places in the Twin Cities.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Our dining experience was above and beyond the expectations! The server, Randi, spoke to us as though we were locals/regulars! It was such a pleasant experience to have a casual conversation with her, she took interest in our visit, as well as our meal selections. The braised short ribs were amazing- no need to serve them with a knife! I had the Bar Harbor Bistro Steak and it was cooked to near perfection. The blue cheese they serve with it is on the stronger side, but very easy to push aside. Both meals were exceptional! The bartender, Dave, took the time to give the background on the pictures mounted on the wall. He wasn't required to do that- but he did it with ease and willingness! The Bar Harbor made our first 'weekend get-away' so memorable- thank you. We wish you much continued success!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Ordered steak Medium/Well and it came rare to medium/rare.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.