Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.77mi
  2. Distance: 4.38mi
  3. Distance: 4.88mi
  4. Distance: 4.90mi
  1. Distance: 2.77mi
  2. Distance: 4.38mi
  3. Distance: 4.88mi
  4. Distance: 4.90mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.77mi
  2. Distance: 4.38mi
  3. Distance: 4.88mi
  4. Distance: 4.90mi
  1. Distance: 2.77mi
  2. Distance: 4.38mi
  3. Distance: 4.88mi
  4. Distance: 4.90mi

About Bar Harbor

The classic Supper Club on beautiful Gull Lake. Steaks,Chops, Pasta and
Seafood served in a casual atmosphere

8164 Interlachen Rd
Lake Shore, MN 56468
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm;
Dinner: 5:00pm - Close

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(218) 963-2568

Website:
http://www.barharborsupperclub.com/

Executive Chef:
P.J. Severson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bar Harbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (53)
Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (43)
See All
Scenic View (39)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Worth the Drive (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Romantic (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Fun (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Authentic (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Casual (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
People Watching (14)
Seasonal (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Business Meals (11)
Live Music (11)
Cozy (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Healthy (5)
Great Beer (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Live Sports (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
457 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

First time back after the remodel, yes we are on the late show. Almost didn't recognize the restaurant. The decor is beautiful, the menu is classic and tasty, the wine list extensive, and the service great!

Definitely a plus for the lakes area!

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great view and food. Atmosphere was really fun and had a speak-easy vibe. Do recommend a reservation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here. Great view, expansive menu and great service. We had a relaxing dinner, with all courses. Our server was attentive, yet didn't rush us and gave excellent recommendations for drinks, food and desert. We had their crab cake for an appetizer which was enough for two and delicious. Our entrees included scallops and New York strip; both done to perfection. Truly a nice upscale restaurant in the Brainerd lakes area!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Bar Harbor is a legendary classic supper club in the Brainerd Lakes Country of Central Minnesota. We had never been there before, and decided to go for our anniversary. It was excellent. Service was attentive and friendly. I had forgotten that I had noted "Anniversary" on the reservation form where it asked whether it was a special occasion, and we got a free dessert. The wine list is not particularly large, but has good wines at all price points up to $175. Being on Gull Lake, the specialty is fish and seafood. It had rained in the afternoon and we could see the rainbow as we sat at our table by the window. Starter brussels sprouts were outstanding. Will definitely make an effort to go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The food was fabulous. We love seafood and the scallops were done to perfection served with parsnips, asparagus and served over risoto. The short rib was also done perfectly served over mashed potatoes with green beans and sauteed carrots. Also, a great salad accompanies entrees. We enjoyed both a caesar and a wedge salad. The timing was perfect as we never felt rushed nor did we have exceptionally long wait time between courses. The restuarant overlooks the marina and the northern part of Gull Lake.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Scenic View, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Would be all 5 star except there was a booth of young people next to us that were ....too loud.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Server was way to busy. Didnt ask do a second drink. We had to. Waited along time for food. Caesar salad was obvious done and sat for awhile. Food seemed a bit cool.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

With reservations we got right in. Our waitress very friendly and helpful. The food was wonderful with many options. We will be back soon. Thanks for a nice night out with clients.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

My husband's Ribeye(40.00) was gray inside and he asked for medium rare to medium. It was also gray in color on the outside. Ribeye should be most inside due to the father marbeling. My short rib was salty red wine glaze was salty and nothing special. The mashed potatoes had chunks of potato in them. The salads were great but the meals themselves not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Fabulous food and service. Loved the crab cake and the cocktails. Lobster and scallops were delicious. Ice cream grasshoppers for dessert. Loved it

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Do not put anchovies on Caesar salad. Just nasty😜

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great food.. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

We try to get to Bar Harbor several times a year and have done so for decades . We have been there for many of the changes over the years. My husband went there as a young man before it moved to the shore side of the highway. He loved it then and still does. We recently took some friends there for dinner and were impressed with the food and service. The men really loved the old fashion drinks. It's the place to go for a good meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Authentic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Long wait time for service. Extremely rude and unprofessional female manager...loudly scolded employees in front of customers, openly sneered at customers when asked questions. Second bad experience here, would not return since there are so many outstanding high end restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Overpriced. Underwhelming food. The atmosphere is nice but overall a waste of money.

Tags: Live Sports, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

The food was absolutely fabulous!! The ambiance, the piano bar, the views were all excellent. We have recommended Bar Harbor to all our friends and will definitely be back!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Our 45th anniversary, so we wanted a special evening. Everything was perfect....including our server who remembered our faces from 2 years prior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Once again, a great Walleye meal. Very accommodating for a child's meal for a toddler.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 31, 2017

My friend had walleye and loved it . I had a chopped salad and did not care for it. Crab cake was very good. Wish the wine by the glass had a few more selections.

Tags: Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Exception food in a very nice location. Short handed staff this time of year made for some slow service. However, the experience was wonderful and we will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great setting, wonderful menu, food was delicious, and great wait staff !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

This last time it was very good. The time before, service was awful, food was okay.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 25, 2017

I made reservations for two and we ended up bringing our 10 month old. After waiting to be acknowledged by the hostess, she informed us that we could not have a high chair at a window booth but told us we could use a booster seat. We told her we could sit elsewhere as we did not request any special seating and that a booster seat was not an option for our infant. She walked away and approached a server who we could over hear answering 'um, no! It's in the way of a fire escape.' The hostess came back and said that she could not seat us at the booth. I had to be quite direct in telling her that we did not need the window booth but we did need a place to sit that allows us to use a high chair.
I'm really not sure what the fuss was but we were eventually seated at a table in the back of the restaurant. We were then greeted by Randi, our server, who was amazing! She was very sweet to the baby and did not make us feel awful for bringing her. Randi was very attentive and turned out experience around. Randi gets all 5 stars and we will be back because of her. The food was also amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

The food and service was good but we had vodka gimlets and asked for olives and filberts which we got. When we asked for more olives she said that we'd be charged $1.00-$1.50 for them. So we didn't order extra olives. When we got our bill they charged us $1.00 a piece for the olives we did get for our drinks on top of the drink charge!!! Who charges for olives?? Would never order them again or else I'll bring my own filberts and olives!!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Beautiful view of Gull Lake with delicious food and great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 23, 2017

BH was highly recommended by a friend of my father in-law and it did not disappoint. From the rolls to the classic dessert of brownies and ice cream every dish was delicious. I had the surf and turf with the shrimp option and that was absolutely delicious. We pretty much closed down the restaurant. Will definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at Bar Harbor on our recent vacation. We ordered Filet Mignon and Lobster. Both were delicious. We had a lovely view from our booth and the service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2017

True fine dining experience in the Brainerd Lakes area for foodies. Good menu variety. Top quality steaks, seafood preparations very good. Beautiful view from the dining room and large patio. We've been there many times, a miss is pretty rare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Fabulous food and ambiance!! But we needed our winter coats in August, at the far cornerback booth in the main Resturant!! Freezing!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Have been a customer for years. I was born in Brainerd. My parents started at the old Bar Harbor Edith all the great bands. Will continue to frequent this establishment every time I am in Brainerd.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Live Music, Casual, Good for Groups, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Hot Spot, People Watching, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

I don't know what the previous reviewer was thinking but the scallops were probably the best I've ever eaten. Fabulous restaurant! Haven't been there for 25 years and so much has changed but the food has always and continues to be outstanding. One of the highlights of our vacation.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Grandsons Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We were there celebrating my birthday with one of our daughters, who hadn't been there before, and three of our grandchildren (teenagers). The service and food were great, and, of course, you can't beat the view of Gull Lake from the dining room. While it has been a while since we've been there, we will be going there more often, based on service and food we received.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Casual, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This was our fourth time at Bar Harbor. There are several class restaurants in the Nisswa/Gull Lake area but Bar Harbor is hard to pass up. whether going by boat or on shore, you'll find a variety of food and excellent service.
The outdoor area by the boat docks is more the hamburger/wings type of menu where inside, year-round, the menu has a lot of class to it. Sadly, the walleye which two in our party ordered was not finished. Other than that everything was just as anticipated with excellent food and drink.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Bar Harbor was well worth the drive. The food was flavorful and plated nicely. We loved the lobster add on!!💜I would come back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Wonderful as always 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Wonderful evening of excellent service, food & ambience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 28, 2017

What a joke!
We arrived on time and were created promptly at the door. This is where the good service ended. We were told by the host, and older gentleman who that our table was ready he was then distracted by another customer. He proceeded to help the other customer and then he leftthe host stand to get a manger. Meanwhile another group had arrived behind us. Another hostess, a young gal arrived back at the host stand made eye contact with us and then turned away to the computer. The manager arrived helped the man who barged in front of us, helped the group behind us and then asked us if we had been helped. We finally got a table. This whole ordeal took 6 minutes!
Finally seated we looked over the menu and choose our selections....and waited and waited and waited. I had just closed my menu because we were going to get up and leave when the server showed up. We told her we were ready for the whole order to be taken because we had been here a while. We got a simple "sorry". She took the order and left.

While we chatted we over heard the server behind us tell tlthe table about the specials....never heard any of that from our server.
Food arrived and it was mediocre at best. I had to get up and walk over to another table and get silverware because it was cleared after the salad course and never replaced. The food is So over priced. The scallops were $30 and you got 3. There was a puddle of curry on the bottom....which it said nothing of the sort on the menu. My husband hates curry. But he couldn't send it back because no one came by to check on us.

We had better service for lunch earlier that day at Zorbas and they don't even have servers. What a total disappointment. Don't go, don't waste your money!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Bar Harbor has a long standing reputation and tradition on Gull Lake. There have been many changes since 1938, but in my opinion the latest and greatest upgrade has been the best. Kudos to John Allen and his staff for breathing new life and vigor into a classic supper club in the Brainerd Lakes area.

Tags: Fun, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Service was excellent, food superb,
One of our favorite places to take friends and family.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.