About Bar Harbor

8164 Interlachen Rd
Lake Shore, MN 56468
View Larger Map

The classic Supper Club on beautiful Gull Lake. Steaks,Chops, Pasta and
Seafood served in a casual atmosphere

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm;
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(218) 963-2568

Website:
http://www.barharborsupperclub.com/

Executive Chef:
P.J. Severson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Brownie Sundae - Bar Harbor
Brownie Sundae - Bar Harbor

Bar Harbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Scenic View
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Steakhouse
Minneapolis - St. Paul
1 More
Most Booked
Brainerd Lakes Area
Best Restaurants in Lake Shore ›

Scenic View (63)
Special Occasion (60)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
See All
Romantic (33)
Good for Groups (30)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Great for Lunch (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Waterfront (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (4)
Historic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Live Music (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fireplace (1)
Cozy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
Newest
310 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The scallops & truffle risotto is one of ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined a day ago

The scallops & truffle risotto is one of our favorite entrees, though the prime rib special is right up there as well! The bartender makes the best brandy old fashions & the service is great, Michala was our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely, lovely place. Beautiful and pic ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely, lovely place. Beautiful and picturesque. Nice service, terrific bartender creating tasty and original cocktails. Food which rivals many places in the Twin Cities.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Our dining experience was above and beyo ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our dining experience was above and beyond the expectations! The server, Randi, spoke to us as though we were locals/regulars! It was such a pleasant experience to have a casual conversation with her, she took interest in our visit, as well as our meal selections. The braised short ribs were amazing- no need to serve them with a knife! I had the Bar Harbor Bistro Steak and it was cooked to near perfection. The blue cheese they serve with it is on the stronger side, but very easy to push aside. Both meals were exceptional! The bartender, Dave, took the time to give the background on the pictures mounted on the wall. He wasn't required to do that- but he did it with ease and willingness! The Bar Harbor made our first 'weekend get-away' so memorable- thank you. We wish you much continued success!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Ordered steak Medium/Well and it came ra ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

Ordered steak Medium/Well and it came rare to medium/rare.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Two things: why are there loud children ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Two things: why are there loud children allowed in the bar area? The mother was oblivious to their behavior (large corner table). Also, the prime rib was excessively salty, the worst I've had there or anywhere else. That said, we love the place as our local favorite and look forward to our next visit. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Out for a family dinner after a day on t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Out for a family dinner after a day on the lake and it was fabulous! The food, especially the Bistro Steak was delicious and our server was prompt and friendly without being intrusive. The ambiance is casual but still has a wonderful old dinner club feel. I very much recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of the food continues to be ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The quality of the food continues to be excellent and atmosphere conducive to special occasions. We will definitely continue to use Bar Harbor for anniversaries, birthdays, and hosting people from out of town. Keep up the good work

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of four was celebrating two bi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Our group of four was celebrating two birthdays. The restaurant was not busy except for a much larger birthday group which was reflected in our wait service. We ordered our entrees and it took the server about 20 minutes to return to say they were out of that entree. Very disappointing. Our food did not come to our table without us asking the server to check on it; we waited an very long time for the entrees. We felt this was more of a management problem that an server problem. They only took reservations for last Monday night so management was well aware in advance of the number of patrons dining that evening. Management should have planned staffing much better. Unfortunately, our disappointment was reflected in our tips.

Tags: Modern Decor, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

We found Bar Harbor through Open Table j ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We found Bar Harbor through Open Table just browsing for a good place to have a business dinner. All six of us were very impressed with the food, service and especially the outdoor fire pit overlooking Gull Lake. The steaks were very good and the wine and scotch offerings excellent. I'd highly recommend Bar Harbor when visiting the Brainerd Lakes area.

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very odd flavored shrimp scampi was $26. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Very odd flavored shrimp scampi was $26.00 and the shrimp tails had to be peeled. Never had it like that before. Asked the waitress for more bread and she was reluctant to give us any...because we might waste it. WTH? Got 1 extra small, cold roll and wasted it to spite the rude waitress. $75.00 for two...never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

I've eaten at Bar Harbor many times over ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I've eaten at Bar Harbor many times over the years, and always thought it was good food in a nice setting overlooking Gull Lake. I was very disappointed to see the new menu - very expensive! It is not a fine dining experience, so prices should not reflect fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent food and service ! At the las ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent food and service ! At the last minute had to increase the number from5 to 7 and they handled it easily.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual, Waterfront, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best walleye I have ever had. I would hi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Best walleye I have ever had. I would highly recommend to family and friends.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bar Harbor is an absolutely beautiful pl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Bar Harbor is an absolutely beautiful place! It was so unfortunate that the hostess was terribly rude. Not quite sure if it was our family she disliked...or just her job in general. The wait staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, which is to be expected for a $150 lunch. You may want to consider providing your hostess with a course in etiquette, especially when she is the first person representing your lovely restaurant that your valued guests will encounter.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Bar Harbor is thee place to eat in the G ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Bar Harbor is thee place to eat in the Gull Lake area. It is consistently the best place for dinner in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Loved the live piano bar. We chose to s ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Loved the live piano bar. We chose to sit in this area so we could enjoy the music.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great ambiance. Fantastic of harbor on ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great ambiance. Fantastic of harbor on Gull lake. Lots of history to this restraurant.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here on Friday with my family for m ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Came here on Friday with my family for my mom's birthday dinner, and the overall experience was just wonderful! Great service, incredible view, and such a fun atmosphere.. Would absolutely recommend to anyone who asks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic Service was...... ok ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was fantastic

Service was...... ok

Was a little loud

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This has been one of my favorite restaur ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This has been one of my favorite restaurants since I was a child. I now have a family of my own and was so excited to share this experience with them. I have to say it was just as delicious as I remember it. My husband said it was the best Salmon he has ever had. Even the kids loved their meals!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

It was the highlight of our trip to the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

It was the highlight of our trip to the Brainerd Lakes area

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sophie was awesome. Not sure why you ca ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Sophie was awesome. Not sure why you can't split a plate in the kitchen. The food was all good but not quite as good as it used to be. Steaks, Lobster and salmon all were done nicely. The coffee rub on the rib eye seems to dry out the steak and it doesn't' t have the same flavor as when you start the steak... Still love this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

over priced, bad food!! If I'm going to ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

over priced, bad food!! If I'm going to spend my dollars the food better be good!! I don't mind paying for a nice meal but not for a racoon steak!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Awesome and delicious!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Awesome and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never have had a bad meal there One of ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Never have had a bad meal there One of our favorites!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had out of town guests, so requested ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had out of town guests, so requested a table by the window which we got.

Both guests were VERY satisfied with the walleye, as was I.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and drinks and wine list are first ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food and drinks and wine list are first rate. MacKenzie is a terrific server. The food takes awhile to come out of the kitchen but is worth the wait. Steaks, fish, appetizers and salads are terrific. If you are seated near a large group of golfers or fishermen or other celebrants it can get a little loud. I was surprised not to be greeted by dock crew on a weekend night at a place which is so well prepared to serve the boating public.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is an annual tradition to celebrate ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is an annual tradition to celebrate our deceased parents. This was their favorite "Up North" dinning experience and we always took them there on my mother's birthday in July. We have been going there since the sixties and have seen the changes over the years. The past three years have been the best. The commitment, by the new owner, is fantastic. The new marina dockage, the beautiful interior and outside seating area are great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First visit and it was exceptional. Fro ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

First visit and it was exceptional. Front desk help needs some training. Had a reservation and the young lady seemed "confused" on a table location and dragged out seating us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is beautifully presented and delici ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food is beautifully presented and delicious. We went there 3 times within the week. The short ribs were the best I've ever eaten. Walleye was great and scallops were excellent. You just can't go wrong with this place. We were excited to treat our friends to a wonderful meal. Fast, friendly and efficient service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband wanted to take me somewhere w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband wanted to take me somewhere with fine dining for my birthday while we were on vacation. I loved the live piano music and the atmosphere. The food was really good, but the service was slow. We were a party of 4 with my parents, but our waitress seemed overwhelmed with her other tables. She didn't return to see how we were doing until we were done eating and seemed very rushed. I did order dessert, but it took over 10 minutes to come. It didn't feel like a special occasion to me. Kind of a Bummer since we had A Reservation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We were in Nisswa for a couple of nights ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We were in Nisswa for a couple of nights and wanted a nice place for dinner. There had been a huge rainstorm that day and they called a couple of hours before to let us know that their internet was out so they couldn't process credit cards. That wasn't a problem for us. The food was excellent and the view was beautiful even in the midst of a storm.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a fabulous time. The food was great ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Had a fabulous time. The food was great

Nikki was our waitress and she was superb!

I love your restaurant and bar!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We planned ahead and signed up for a res ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We planned ahead and signed up for a reservation at an earlier dinner time; 6pm. The food was wonderful; however, awfully spendy for the portion size.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Big city offering at the lake. Elegantl ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Big city offering at the lake. Elegantly appointed, classy, and a spectacular location just off of Gull Lake. Menu has all of the standards including more casual offerings like hamburgers. My steak was well prepared; my partner's Walleye was excellent. Drinks efficiently prepared. Service very good. No real inventive menu items but, maybe you don't need to be wowed when you're on a lake oriented vacation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was simply superb! Every item ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was simply superb! Every item brought to the table was beautifully prepared and fantastic.

We dined for a few hours... had drinks, apps, entree, dessert! What a great evening!

AND the service was perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice restaurant. My husband and I were s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Nice restaurant. My husband and I were staying at Breezy Point for the week so decided to try this place out. Food was good. Air vent in bar booth was a bit chilly, but we put the wine list over it and that took care of it! :). Wonderful scallops and risotto. Walleye was good, too. Thank you.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service a tad long between e ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food, service a tad long between entrees , getting check. Waitress never checked on water, wine up grade etc.

Food was excellent though.

We like the place!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was excellent, service was not. Pr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was excellent, service was not. Primary wait staff was unattentive and unavailable. Received better service from the bus staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

What a great place for cocktails and din ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

What a great place for cocktails and dinner. Love the bar and piano, wonderful drinks, the bartenders know how to make them! Dinner service was superb and the window table overlooking the lake was very nice. The Calamari is a great appetizer and the chili sweet sauce was a great change from the standard sauces served. Two of our diners had seafood pasta which was wonderful. Two of us ordered the scallops and risotto special. The cooks must have added more salt to the scallops and risotto after the chefs already did. Both way to salty for our tastes. Guess they need to do a bit more taste testing. Overall we will be returning.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.