About Bar Harbor

8164 Interlachen Rd
Lake Shore, MN 56468
View Larger Map

The classic Supper Club on beautiful Gull Lake. Steaks,Chops, Pasta and
Seafood served in a casual atmosphere

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm;
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(218) 963-2568

Website:
http://www.barharborsupperclub.com/

Executive Chef:
P.J. Severson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Brownie Sundae - Bar Harbor, Lake Shore, MN
Brownie Sundae - Bar Harbor, Lake Shore, MN

Bar Harbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Steakhouse
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked
Brainerd Lakes Area
Best Restaurants in Lake Shore ›

Scenic View (24)
Special Occasion (22)
Waterfront (22)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Romantic (17)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Casual (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Historic (6)
Cozy (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Business Meals (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Live Music (4)
Fireplace (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely fabulous food and drinks! We ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Absolutely fabulous food and drinks! We had the salmon and steak - every bite was fabulous. Drink menu is fun! Loved eating here!

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The entire dinner was disappointing. Se ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The entire dinner was disappointing. Service was slow. When we checked in, it seemed as though they did not have our reservation. They seated us (party of 6) in the bar area. The rest of the restaurant was mostly full, and the dining room tables were set with linen table cloths ,napkins and plates. Our table was in the bar area and they had to set it with plates and napkins after we were already seated - it was very distracting and on the verge of rude as they had to slide the items down to those sitting in the middle of the table. It took 10 minutes for the waitress to show up to take our drink order. It took another 20 minutes for our drinks to arrive (and we were seated 10 feet away from the bar). It was another 20 minutes after the drinks arrived that the waitress came over to take our appetizer order. It wasn't until halfway through the appetizers being eaten that the waitress came over and took our dinner order. The waitress never asked if we had any questions about the menu, didn't explain anything about the menu nor did she recommend anything. The food was mediocre. 3 people ordered steaks all to be cooked as "medium" - and all 3 were done at different levels - mostly on the more rare side. The steaks did not have much taste. The risotto that accompanied the Scallops was thick like paste and tasted only like fish/seafood. The dinner took over 2 hours to complete.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Beautiful location and views, attentive ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Beautiful location and views, attentive service, unique and enticing menu. Whether a special occasion or just an evening to relax, this place is worth the drive. Updated and lovely interior, yet a long history in the area.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Historic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food, Great Evening......anytime o ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great Food, Great Evening......anytime of year this is a special place.

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always an exceptional meal & great servi ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always an exceptional meal & great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and excellent food at Bar ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great service and excellent food at Bar Harbor! It was our first visit, and our server Mackenzie was wonderful! Her timing, knowledge of the menu, and friendly service made our dining experience a pleasure! We ordered the shrimp appetizer (in won ton wrapper) and enjoyed the unique take on firecracker shrimp. My husband had the steak on hash browns, which was an amazing combination of flavors plus a side of scallops (a bit underdone IMHO...a nice sear would have been nice), while I enjoyed the crab-stuffed lobster tail.

There was a group of women seated on the other side of the divider that raised the volume level for a while (they were having a good time), but all in all the ambience and noise-level were pleasant. We were too full for dessert but enjoyed our visit overall. We'll definitely be back the next time we're in the area!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Bar Harbor for a special night o ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We love Bar Harbor for a special night out. Make sure you get reservations - the hostess not overly open to try and fit you in on a short notice. Next time I will request to not be seated at the C-shaped booth --- it is way to long for good conversation. Normally love a booth but would prefer to have a table in this situation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely love the decor in the restaur ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Absolutely love the decor in the restaurant! Started out with the green bean appetizer and they were fresh and the sauce on them was light but super savory. Then had a cosmopolitan and it was not too strong, not too sweet and chilled just like a martini should be. The house salad did not disappoint, all veggies were fresh and crisp. Had the scallops and they were cooked perfect! Only disappointment....forgot to order a port wine with our amazing chocolate layer cake for dessert! Overall, this place did an amazing job from entering, to the service, to the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good but not as usual. Octoberfest ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Very good but not as usual. Octoberfest made a little louder than usual. Sat by bar not as nice as other end of dining room.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service provided from the waitress (Amy) ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Service provided from the waitress (Amy) was very good; the bar was jam-packed and slowed overall service considerably. It appeared they were under-staffed, which created considerable delays. The food was very good; we had the scallops (only three - seemed a bit skimpy), which were delicious, and the filet mignon, which was cooked to the medium rare specifications.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Historic building ~ gets better every vi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Historic building ~ gets better every visit. We visit once a year and it is great to see the same faces year after year (that says a great deal about a restaurant retaining staff).

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a good meal! Great ambiance. La ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Always a good meal! Great ambiance. Lake front views. Booths and tables. High tops and booths in the bar. Best Sesame Seared Ahi Tuna my family has ever had!! Piano bar... but not always in use. Great summer outdoor dining and bar with large gas fire pit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The scallops & truffle risotto is one of ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The scallops & truffle risotto is one of our favorite entrees, though the prime rib special is right up there as well! The bartender makes the best brandy old fashions & the service is great, Michala was our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It would be hard to pick just one thing ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 29, 2016

It would be hard to pick just one thing that stood out, everything was excellent! We were so impressed that we went back again the next day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely, lovely place. Beautiful and pic ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Lovely, lovely place. Beautiful and picturesque. Nice service, terrific bartender creating tasty and original cocktails. Food which rivals many places in the Twin Cities.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Our dining experience was above and beyo ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Our dining experience was above and beyond the expectations! The server, Randi, spoke to us as though we were locals/regulars! It was such a pleasant experience to have a casual conversation with her, she took interest in our visit, as well as our meal selections. The braised short ribs were amazing- no need to serve them with a knife! I had the Bar Harbor Bistro Steak and it was cooked to near perfection. The blue cheese they serve with it is on the stronger side, but very easy to push aside. Both meals were exceptional! The bartender, Dave, took the time to give the background on the pictures mounted on the wall. He wasn't required to do that- but he did it with ease and willingness! The Bar Harbor made our first 'weekend get-away' so memorable- thank you. We wish you much continued success!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Ordered steak Medium/Well and it came ra ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Ordered steak Medium/Well and it came rare to medium/rare.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Two things: why are there loud children ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Two things: why are there loud children allowed in the bar area? The mother was oblivious to their behavior (large corner table). Also, the prime rib was excessively salty, the worst I've had there or anywhere else. That said, we love the place as our local favorite and look forward to our next visit. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Out for a family dinner after a day on t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Out for a family dinner after a day on the lake and it was fabulous! The food, especially the Bistro Steak was delicious and our server was prompt and friendly without being intrusive. The ambiance is casual but still has a wonderful old dinner club feel. I very much recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was great and the atmosphere ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Our dinner was great and the atmosphere and the view of the lake were spectacular. Thank You!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of the food continues to be ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The quality of the food continues to be excellent and atmosphere conducive to special occasions. We will definitely continue to use Bar Harbor for anniversaries, birthdays, and hosting people from out of town. Keep up the good work

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of four was celebrating two bi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Our group of four was celebrating two birthdays. The restaurant was not busy except for a much larger birthday group which was reflected in our wait service. We ordered our entrees and it took the server about 20 minutes to return to say they were out of that entree. Very disappointing. Our food did not come to our table without us asking the server to check on it; we waited an very long time for the entrees. We felt this was more of a management problem that an server problem. They only took reservations for last Monday night so management was well aware in advance of the number of patrons dining that evening. Management should have planned staffing much better. Unfortunately, our disappointment was reflected in our tips.

Tags: Modern Decor, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

We found Bar Harbor through Open Table j ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We found Bar Harbor through Open Table just browsing for a good place to have a business dinner. All six of us were very impressed with the food, service and especially the outdoor fire pit overlooking Gull Lake. The steaks were very good and the wine and scotch offerings excellent. I'd highly recommend Bar Harbor when visiting the Brainerd Lakes area.

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very odd flavored shrimp scampi was $26. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Very odd flavored shrimp scampi was $26.00 and the shrimp tails had to be peeled. Never had it like that before. Asked the waitress for more bread and she was reluctant to give us any...because we might waste it. WTH? Got 1 extra small, cold roll and wasted it to spite the rude waitress. $75.00 for two...never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

I've eaten at Bar Harbor many times over ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 5, 2016

I've eaten at Bar Harbor many times over the years, and always thought it was good food in a nice setting overlooking Gull Lake. I was very disappointed to see the new menu - very expensive! It is not a fine dining experience, so prices should not reflect fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent food and service ! At the las ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent food and service ! At the last minute had to increase the number from5 to 7 and they handled it easily.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual, Waterfront, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best walleye I have ever had. I would hi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Best walleye I have ever had. I would highly recommend to family and friends.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bar Harbor is an absolutely beautiful pl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Bar Harbor is an absolutely beautiful place! It was so unfortunate that the hostess was terribly rude. Not quite sure if it was our family she disliked...or just her job in general. The wait staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, which is to be expected for a $150 lunch. You may want to consider providing your hostess with a course in etiquette, especially when she is the first person representing your lovely restaurant that your valued guests will encounter.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Bar Harbor is thee place to eat in the G ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Bar Harbor is thee place to eat in the Gull Lake area. It is consistently the best place for dinner in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Loved the live piano bar. We chose to s ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Loved the live piano bar. We chose to sit in this area so we could enjoy the music.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great ambiance. Fantastic of harbor on ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great ambiance. Fantastic of harbor on Gull lake. Lots of history to this restraurant.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here on Friday with my family for m ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Came here on Friday with my family for my mom's birthday dinner, and the overall experience was just wonderful! Great service, incredible view, and such a fun atmosphere.. Would absolutely recommend to anyone who asks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic Service was...... ok ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was fantastic

Service was...... ok

Was a little loud

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This has been one of my favorite restaur ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 13, 2016

This has been one of my favorite restaurants since I was a child. I now have a family of my own and was so excited to share this experience with them. I have to say it was just as delicious as I remember it. My husband said it was the best Salmon he has ever had. Even the kids loved their meals!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

It was the highlight of our trip to the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 10, 2016

It was the highlight of our trip to the Brainerd Lakes area

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sophie was awesome. Not sure why you ca ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Sophie was awesome. Not sure why you can't split a plate in the kitchen. The food was all good but not quite as good as it used to be. Steaks, Lobster and salmon all were done nicely. The coffee rub on the rib eye seems to dry out the steak and it doesn't' t have the same flavor as when you start the steak... Still love this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

over priced, bad food!! If I'm going to ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 6, 2016

over priced, bad food!! If I'm going to spend my dollars the food better be good!! I don't mind paying for a nice meal but not for a racoon steak!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Awesome and delicious!

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Awesome and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never have had a bad meal there One of ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Never have had a bad meal there One of our favorites!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had out of town guests, so requested ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had out of town guests, so requested a table by the window which we got.

Both guests were VERY satisfied with the walleye, as was I.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.