About Bar Harbor

8164 Interlachen Rd
Lake Shore, MN 56468
View Larger Map

The classic Supper Club on beautiful Gull Lake. Steaks,Chops, Pasta and
Seafood served in a casual atmosphere

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm;
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(218) 963-2568

Website:
http://www.barharborsupperclub.com/

Executive Chef:
P.J. Severson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Brownie Sundae
Brownie Sundae

Bar Harbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Outdoor Dining
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Scenic View
Minneapolis - St. Paul
2 More
Steakhouse
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked
Brainerd Lakes Area
Best Restaurants in Lake Shore ›

scenic view (52)
special occasion (40)
great for outdoor dining (32)
See All
good for groups (19)
romantic (19)
neighborhood gem (17)
great for lunch (16)
fit for foodies (13)
hot spot (7)
notable wine list (6)
kid-friendly (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for brunch (5)
late-night find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
281 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is beautifully presented and delici ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food is beautifully presented and delicious. We went there 3 times within the week. The short ribs were the best I've ever eaten. Walleye was great and scallops were excellent. You just can't go wrong with this place. We were excited to treat our friends to a wonderful meal. Fast, friendly and efficient service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband wanted to take me somewhere w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

My husband wanted to take me somewhere with fine dining for my birthday while we were on vacation. I loved the live piano music and the atmosphere. The food was really good, but the service was slow. We were a party of 4 with my parents, but our waitress seemed overwhelmed with her other tables. She didn't return to see how we were doing until we were done eating and seemed very rushed. I did order dessert, but it took over 10 minutes to come. It didn't feel like a special occasion to me. Kind of a Bummer since we had A Reservation.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We were in Nisswa for a couple of nights ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We were in Nisswa for a couple of nights and wanted a nice place for dinner. There had been a huge rainstorm that day and they called a couple of hours before to let us know that their internet was out so they couldn't process credit cards. That wasn't a problem for us. The food was excellent and the view was beautiful even in the midst of a storm.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a fabulous time. The food was great ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Had a fabulous time. The food was great

Nikki was our waitress and she was superb!

I love your restaurant and bar!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We planned ahead and signed up for a res ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We planned ahead and signed up for a reservation at an earlier dinner time; 6pm. The food was wonderful; however, awfully spendy for the portion size.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Big city offering at the lake. Elegantl ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Big city offering at the lake. Elegantly appointed, classy, and a spectacular location just off of Gull Lake. Menu has all of the standards including more casual offerings like hamburgers. My steak was well prepared; my partner's Walleye was excellent. Drinks efficiently prepared. Service very good. No real inventive menu items but, maybe you don't need to be wowed when you're on a lake oriented vacation.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was simply superb! Every item ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was simply superb! Every item brought to the table was beautifully prepared and fantastic.

We dined for a few hours... had drinks, apps, entree, dessert! What a great evening!

AND the service was perfect!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice restaurant. My husband and I were s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Nice restaurant. My husband and I were staying at Breezy Point for the week so decided to try this place out. Food was good. Air vent in bar booth was a bit chilly, but we put the wine list over it and that took care of it! :). Wonderful scallops and risotto. Walleye was good, too. Thank you.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service a tad long between e ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food, service a tad long between entrees , getting check. Waitress never checked on water, wine up grade etc.

Food was excellent though.

We like the place!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was excellent, service was not. Pr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was excellent, service was not. Primary wait staff was unattentive and unavailable. Received better service from the bus staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

What a great place for cocktails and din ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

What a great place for cocktails and dinner. Love the bar and piano, wonderful drinks, the bartenders know how to make them! Dinner service was superb and the window table overlooking the lake was very nice. The Calamari is a great appetizer and the chili sweet sauce was a great change from the standard sauces served. Two of our diners had seafood pasta which was wonderful. Two of us ordered the scallops and risotto special. The cooks must have added more salt to the scallops and risotto after the chefs already did. Both way to salty for our tastes. Guess they need to do a bit more taste testing. Overall we will be returning.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We love bar harbor. We went twice in 3 ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We love bar harbor. We went twice in 3 nights up north! Great food and great view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Have dined at Bar Harbor 3 times in the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Have dined at Bar Harbor 3 times in the past month. Each experience was very good. Will dine there again in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything about our evening was perfect ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything about our evening was perfect!! The food, service, atmosphere, all of it!!!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our Dad there for Father's Day, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We took our Dad there for Father's Day, loved the atmosphere, food, service, etc. Perfect evening.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to dine inside or outside ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

A great place to dine inside or outside -- beautiful location

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great all around. Need to update gluten ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great all around. Need to update gluten free menu offers to include breads and desserts

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our entire extended family frequents BH ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our entire extended family frequents BH and have done so since the first iteration of BH. Food and service is usually reliable. But I requested a lake side table and we did not get one which was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Service was Great!

Food was Amazing!

Always a treat!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bar Harbor never disappoints! Simply Ama ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Bar Harbor never disappoints! Simply Amazing!!! The view of the lake is peaceful and the food is outstanding. The customer service you receive is top notch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location with a stunning lake view

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Bar Harbor was a real treat, with very classic "supper club" decor. The wait staff was super attentive. We tried the small plates, great for sharing, overall a very pleasant experience.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Ode to Bar Harbor................

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

WE celebrated our 56th wedding Anniversary with out children the evening of the 28th of May 2016. We enjoyed four delicious Plates; two of which were Sea Bass, one plate of Sea scallops and a well prepared plate of medium rare Prime Rib. We will make Bar Harbor our favorite place to bring our family and friends and not afraid to recommend to others who ask: "where can we go to enjoy a good dinner and also have excellent ambience",

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Memorial weekend 2016

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

BH- excellent waitress, great drinks/food, and great friends - what more do you want?

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Bistro steak ... YUMMY!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

If duck is the special of the evening ... order it! It is one of the best entrees I have ever eaten here. Tonight, however, it was the Bar Harbor Bistro Steak. That is my go to entree when I can't get the duck. It was grilled to the perfect medium rare and the blue cheese sauce and brandy peppercorn demi are yummy! DELICIOUSO!!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A little pricey,and very noisy on a Satu ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

A little pricey,and very noisy on a Saturday night. Didn't seem to have many affordable dinner options,but just love the view!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Mother's Day Dinner

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Everything about Bar Harbor is outstanding! Loves the meal choices along with the wine selection. The staff provided great service and was not rushing us through the dinner. If we want scenic views and the opportunity to enjoy your food and drink outdoors, they have an outstanding deck that overlooks Gull Lake.

You must experience what Bar Harbor has to offer!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was excellent as always however, the service that night seemed confused. While we had a reservation, two hosts didn't seem to know where to seat us. We sat a bit waiting for our server, then a different host came by apologizing, then took our drink order. Then another came by with drinks, then our server. She may have been new. However, the food was excellent!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

5th Anniversary

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

I made reservations for our 5th anniversary together. The Bar Harbor was the most fabulous place for all my needs. I was walked through how to order fresh beautiful flowers that were set up on our beautifully set table. When we got there and I checked in I was told in front of my girlfriend that everything was set sir. We arrived early & had a drink in the bar. The floor manager then came to grab us & brand us to our special table. All was perfect. The night just got better & better. The food was some of the best we have ever had. Have to add they have a wonderful varied wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had tuna appetizer and a house salad.... ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Had tuna appetizer and a house salad....wanted a small meal. It was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

crab cakes

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

wonderfully full of crab meat, wonderfully void of fillers.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Find

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

This place has been around since the 30s. The ambiance is just that. Dark hardwood, leather, 30s era fans (probably just for looks now) massive fireplace. The food was outstanding! Seriously top notch preparation and one of the best steaks I've had. Seems they may be a little under-staffed but really no hard complaints on the service. I recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everyone in our party raved about their dinners!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Excellent food in a great setting. The staff was attentive. Well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The menu has many good choices. Several ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

The menu has many good choices. Several that we have tried were all very good. Our server was excellent. We have had nothing but good experiences at Bar Harbor restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

was pretty good but....

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

This was my first time to bar harbor. For some reason I couldn't get a reservation until 830 and there was only one reservation left (Valentine's day) but when we went there the place was pretty dead quiet, very few people there. Beautiful location and building. The food was good but I wouldn't say great for the price. And maybe it was because it was so late but we weren't even offered dessert, more rushed out the door. Not sure if I'll go back...been there done that...

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

All around a restaurant of excellence! W ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

All around a restaurant of excellence! We make sure to dine here every time we stay at Grandview Lodge. From the moment you walk in the door to the excellent service, (bar and restaurant) the food is amazing and the views of the lake are breathtaking. Our recent visit was for Valentine's Day dinner, it was dusk, and shortly after being seated, we were able see a group of deer walking across the frozen lake. It was an absolutely, gorgeous sight! Thank you Bar Harbor! 😊🍷

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best fine dining in the area. Food is v ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Best fine dining in the area. Food is very good. Service timing is always off and fairly inexperienced for the prices and fine dining they are going for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Amazing Experience Can't Wait To Come Back!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

My Fiance and I came up north to celebrate out three year anniversary at a romantic cottage in Brainerd. The owner recommended Bar Harbor for our romantic dinner. When we stepped into to beautiful entrance with a welcoming fireplace we knew this was a special place. We were seated by two families that were celebrating a birthday and the noise was a touch louder then we wanted but it was still a fantastic experience none the less. I would for sure recommend Bar Harbor. We cannot wait to come back in the summer to see the place in full bloom in the summer!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

0NE OF OUR ALL TIME FAVORITES YEAR AROUND

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

We love this place . Location, food, service, ambiance....it has it all going on.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highlybrecommend

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

We love Bar Hatbor! It's a go-to place for special occasions as well as when we have guests. We love the patio in the summer and most recently brought our Kinship Partner there for dinner to celebrate her 16th birthday. Great food. Great service. Elegant experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

ALWAYS have amazing food and top notch a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

ALWAYS have amazing food and top notch ambiance! One of my top favorite restaurants!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.