About Bar Harbor

8164 Interlachen Rd
Lake Shore, MN 56468
View Larger Map

The classic Supper Club on beautiful Gull Lake. Steaks,Chops, Pasta and
Seafood served in a casual atmosphere

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm;
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(218) 963-2568

Website:
http://www.barharborsupperclub.com/

Executive Chef:
P.J. Severson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Brownie Sundae
Brownie Sundae

Bar Harbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Scenic View
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Steakhouse
Minneapolis - St. Paul
1 More
Most Booked
Brainerd Lakes Area
Best Restaurants in Lake Shore ›

scenic view (48)
special occasion (37)
great for outdoor dining (28)
See All
good for groups (17)
romantic (16)
neighborhood gem (16)
great for lunch (14)
fit for foodies (9)
notable wine list (8)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
270 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4

We love bar harbor. We went twice in 3 ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

We love bar harbor. We went twice in 3 nights up north! Great food and great view.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Have dined at Bar Harbor 3 times in the ...

Dined 7 days ago

Have dined at Bar Harbor 3 times in the past month. Each experience was very good. Will dine there again in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about our evening was perfect ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything about our evening was perfect!! The food, service, atmosphere, all of it!!!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our Dad there for Father's Day, ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We took our Dad there for Father's Day, loved the atmosphere, food, service, etc. Perfect evening.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A great place to dine inside or outside ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

A great place to dine inside or outside -- beautiful location

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great all around. Need to update gluten ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great all around. Need to update gluten free menu offers to include breads and desserts

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our entire extended family frequents BH ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Our entire extended family frequents BH and have done so since the first iteration of BH. Food and service is usually reliable. But I requested a lake side table and we did not get one which was disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on June 5, 2016

Service was Great! Food was Amazing! Always a treat!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bar Harbor never disappoints! Simply Ama ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Bar Harbor never disappoints! Simply Amazing!!! The view of the lake is peaceful and the food is outstanding. The customer service you receive is top notch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great location with a stunning lake view

Dined on June 3, 2016

Bar Harbor was a real treat, with very classic "supper club" decor. The wait staff was super attentive. We tried the small plates, great for sharing, overall a very pleasant experience.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ode to Bar Harbor................

Dined on May 28, 2016

WE celebrated our 56th wedding Anniversary with out children the evening of the 28th of May 2016. We enjoyed four delicious Plates; two of which were Sea Bass, one plate of Sea scallops and a well prepared plate of medium rare Prime Rib. We will make Bar Harbor our favorite place to bring our family and friends and not afraid to recommend to others who ask: "where can we go to enjoy a good dinner and also have excellent ambience",

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Memorial weekend 2016

Dined on May 28, 2016

BH- excellent waitress, great drinks/food, and great friends - what more do you want?

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bistro steak ... YUMMY!

Dined on May 15, 2016

If duck is the special of the evening ... order it! It is one of the best entrees I have ever eaten here. Tonight, however, it was the Bar Harbor Bistro Steak. That is my go to entree when I can't get the duck. It was grilled to the perfect medium rare and the blue cheese sauce and brandy peppercorn demi are yummy! DELICIOUSO!!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

A little pricey,and very noisy on a Satu ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

A little pricey,and very noisy on a Saturday night. Didn't seem to have many affordable dinner options,but just love the view!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

Everything about Bar Harbor is outstanding! Loves the meal choices along with the wine selection. The staff provided great service and was not rushing us through the dinner. If we want scenic views and the opportunity to enjoy your food and drink outdoors, they have an outstanding deck that overlooks Gull Lake. You must experience what Bar Harbor has to offer!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

great food

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was excellent as always however, the service that night seemed confused. While we had a reservation, two hosts didn't seem to know where to seat us. We sat a bit waiting for our server, then a different host came by apologizing, then took our drink order. Then another came by with drinks, then our server. She may have been new. However, the food was excellent!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5th Anniversary

Dined on April 17, 2016

I made reservations for our 5th anniversary together. The Bar Harbor was the most fabulous place for all my needs. I was walked through how to order fresh beautiful flowers that were set up on our beautifully set table. When we got there and I checked in I was told in front of my girlfriend that everything was set sir. We arrived early & had a drink in the bar. The floor manager then came to grab us & brand us to our special table. All was perfect. The night just got better & better. The food was some of the best we have ever had. Have to add they have a wonderful varied wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Had tuna appetizer and a house salad.... ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Had tuna appetizer and a house salad....wanted a small meal. It was great.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

crab cakes

Dined on March 26, 2016

wonderfully full of crab meat, wonderfully void of fillers.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Find

Dined on February 21, 2016

This place has been around since the 30s. The ambiance is just that. Dark hardwood, leather, 30s era fans (probably just for looks now) massive fireplace. The food was outstanding! Seriously top notch preparation and one of the best steaks I've had. Seems they may be a little under-staffed but really no hard complaints on the service. I recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Everyone in our party raved about their dinners!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Excellent food in a great setting. The staff was attentive. Well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu has many good choices. Several ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

The menu has many good choices. Several that we have tried were all very good. Our server was excellent. We have had nothing but good experiences at Bar Harbor restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

was pretty good but....

Dined on February 15, 2016

This was my first time to bar harbor. For some reason I couldn't get a reservation until 830 and there was only one reservation left (Valentine's day) but when we went there the place was pretty dead quiet, very few people there. Beautiful location and building. The food was good but I wouldn't say great for the price. And maybe it was because it was so late but we weren't even offered dessert, more rushed out the door. Not sure if I'll go back...been there done that...

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

All around a restaurant of excellence! W ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

All around a restaurant of excellence! We make sure to dine here every time we stay at Grandview Lodge. From the moment you walk in the door to the excellent service, (bar and restaurant) the food is amazing and the views of the lake are breathtaking. Our recent visit was for Valentine's Day dinner, it was dusk, and shortly after being seated, we were able see a group of deer walking across the frozen lake. It was an absolutely, gorgeous sight! Thank you Bar Harbor! 😊🍷

food4
ambience5
service2

Best fine dining in the area. Food is v ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Best fine dining in the area. Food is very good. Service timing is always off and fairly inexperienced for the prices and fine dining they are going for.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing Experience Can't Wait To Come Back!

Dined on February 11, 2016

My Fiance and I came up north to celebrate out three year anniversary at a romantic cottage in Brainerd. The owner recommended Bar Harbor for our romantic dinner. When we stepped into to beautiful entrance with a welcoming fireplace we knew this was a special place. We were seated by two families that were celebrating a birthday and the noise was a touch louder then we wanted but it was still a fantastic experience none the less. I would for sure recommend Bar Harbor. We cannot wait to come back in the summer to see the place in full bloom in the summer!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

0NE OF OUR ALL TIME FAVORITES YEAR AROUND

Dined on January 24, 2016

We love this place . Location, food, service, ambiance....it has it all going on.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Highlybrecommend

Dined on January 24, 2016

We love Bar Hatbor! It's a go-to place for special occasions as well as when we have guests. We love the patio in the summer and most recently brought our Kinship Partner there for dinner to celebrate her 16th birthday. Great food. Great service. Elegant experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

ALWAYS have amazing food and top notch a ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

ALWAYS have amazing food and top notch ambiance! One of my top favorite restaurants!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice ambiance. Great food. A go to place

Dined on December 12, 2015

Bar harbor is one of our favorite places to go in the summer. We love sitting on the open deck in front by the waterside. The staff are always friendly and the food great! The also have a great outside bar. In the winter we like the lakeside booths. They also have a beautiful bar with occasional live music in that area. It is a nice "date night" place but also can also accommodate large groups too. They do a great job and are a very good dining place in the Brainerd Lakes area

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Always great!

Dined on December 6, 2015

We eat here a lot and are never disappointed. Something for everyone but do everything well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

My Girlfriend loved Bar Harbor.. She's l ...

Dined on November 11, 2015

My Girlfriend loved Bar Harbor.. She's looking forward to coming to Brainerd again soon so we can enjoy a Lovely Dinner again Food was outstanding we had Surf an Turf

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1

Our server did not pay much attention to ...

Dined on November 6, 2015

Our server did not pay much attention to us unfortunately. We were disappointed with our experience. We go here often and overall have had good experiences in the past.

food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on October 19, 2015

Dinner was great as always. Bar Harbor has been a favorite of my wife and me for many years and they always hit the mark. If I were to have any constructive criticism, it would be to find some friendlier hostesses. I have felt like I am putting them out by asking for a table - whether I had a reservation like I did this last time or not, like happened about a month ago.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Fun Piano Bar!

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

The piano player, Casey Cotton, was fabulous. He engaged the entire bar area and played a great mix of music. By far the best musician Bar Harbor has had in a long time!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

very pleased

Dined on October 16, 2015

Service and food were both great. Went with six people and all had a great time and loved their food. Had a booth by the window. Fire pit was on and made the atmosphere cozy. Great night! The hostess/manager , Noel, was exceptionally friendly and helpful

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant the ambiance, servi ...

Dined on October 15, 2015

Love this restaurant the ambiance, service and food are all excellent. second time my family and I have eaten here, during our stay at Grandview Lodge.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was wonderful.

Dined on October 14, 2015

But expensive!, and we do go to all the local restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

A fun evening at Bar Harbor

Dined on October 13, 2015

We had dinner with three friends and had a great window table overlooking Gull Lake. We have eaten at Bar Harbor before, indoor and outdoor. It has an excellent menu and service. On busy Summer evenings it can be a little noisy but we went this time in October and it was a lot quieter. (My personal preference). The prices were medium-high but not outrageous. The service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Great food, slow kitchen

Dined on October 11, 2015

As the title indicates, the food was outstanding and the wines were terrific. The kitchen was slow -- we waited 30 minutes between salad and entrée. And because of poor planning on someone's part, there was no bread AT ALL, so nothing to munch on while waiting. The best the server could offer was oyster crackers! Diners at a nearby table were more definitive about their unhappiness and somehow (!) a baguette was discovered for them. Our server was knowledgeable and can't be blamed for the slow kitchen and zero bread options.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.