Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.77mi
  2. Distance: 4.38mi
  3. Distance: 4.88mi
  4. Distance: 4.90mi
  1. Distance: 2.77mi
  2. Distance: 4.38mi
  3. Distance: 4.88mi
  4. Distance: 4.90mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.77mi
  2. Distance: 4.38mi
  3. Distance: 4.88mi
  4. Distance: 4.90mi
  1. Distance: 2.77mi
  2. Distance: 4.38mi
  3. Distance: 4.88mi
  4. Distance: 4.90mi

About Bar Harbor

The classic Supper Club on beautiful Gull Lake. Steaks,Chops, Pasta and
Seafood served in a casual atmosphere

8164 Interlachen Rd
Lake Shore, MN 56468
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm;
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(218) 963-2568

Website:
http://www.barharborsupperclub.com/

Executive Chef:
P.J. Severson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bar Harbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (48)
Scenic View (34)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Bar Seating (28)
Special Occasion (27)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Romantic (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Business Meals (14)
Casual (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fun (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Authentic (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Cozy (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Seasonal (7)
People Watching (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Live Music (6)
Healthy (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Great Beer (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Historic (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Sports (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Like many Minnesotans our family is third and fourth generation patrons. I am writing this review poised to catch the attention of those who may have experienced this venerable spot during the down period of a few years ago. Be assured the ownership and management have got this place back on all cylinders. If top shelf drinks are important to start your evening the mixologists rank among the best in the state. Table service is provided by seasoned pros, not summer kid help. The menu is twenty first century with a mid twentyith century super club foundation. Decent wine list in terms of selection and value. They maintain the famous early bird value menu. Next review will be from the spectacular patio.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Bar Seating, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Loyal customer for over 20 years. Bar Harbor is consistently extraordinary. Would recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was terrible. Food quality has gone down since last year. Dessert was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Sparkling service and very good food and drinks. Perhaps slightly underseasoned overall but tasty in any case. Great mixologist.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Beautiful setting - inside and out. This will forever be a favorite spot for us when visiting Nisswa. My only concern was service time. We waited more than an hour for our meal with no explanation. We will definitely continue to return when we are in town.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This has been one of our favorite places for years, but we won't be back. Our server was a sweet girl who must have been fairly new. One entree was wrong and she brought our wine out so late into the meal that we no longer wanted it. When she brought the tab she had charged us for the wrong entree, which was more than what we ordered. We asked her to adjust it and she sent out her manager. The manager actually challenged my husband over what he claimed to have ordered and said she didn't think she should refund the difference because he ate it. (He ate it because he didn't realize it was wrong until it was half gone and our server didn't check on us until our food was nearly gone, when she brought the too-late wine.) I was very offended by her challenge- like it was our plan to get out of paying $7 by inventing a scheme. I was fuming for over an hour. Shame on her for having such a poor attitude and for ruining Bar Harbor for us. We'll find somewhere else to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Wonderful ! Great food....hot rolls....super salad.....great steak....pasta & fish ! Service was really as good as you can get !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Anniversary dinner. Wonderful service from Darcy. Great view. Great food. Thx

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The only reason I took off a star for food was because they ran out of 2 of their 3 specials...otherwise everything was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Loved our dinner there. Be sure to have the crab cake! It was better than many I've had on the east coast.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food and great service. We enjoyed the view and the whole experience.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The music in the bar is terrific. Can't beat live music. Tonight we went for walleye and it was delicious. Good drinks and good friends.Hard to beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food is exceptional. Our waitress , Darcy, was attentive, friendly, and down-to-earth. Always nice to have a view of the lake and being from the cities , the prices for the same food is refreshing and, of course, easy on the wallet!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our FAVORITE place to eat!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was great! Our server Dani is so good and so nice! Don is a local favorite and he's greeting guests at their tables, he's such a nice addition to Bar Harbor! Beautiful view, it was an awesome way to wind down from a stressful week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Never disappointed with dining experiences at bar bar harbor. Great for date night, girls night and group dinners

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Absolutely wonderful meal at Bar Harbor. The finest restaurant in th Brainerd Lakes area! We had the Tomahawk streak for two. Great service and food!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent service, very professional and cordial. Maitre'd is impressive. cocktail and appetizers were tasty and generous. Entree was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, People Watching, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Perfect evening!! Love this place!! Everything was just wonderful 👍

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in the Brainerd Lakes area. Great seafood and steaks, wonderful views, good ambiance. Patio is a great option when the weather is warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

My favorite restaurant in the lakes area. Always the best food and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Seasonal, Organic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Fantastic food - Had the Filet Mignon with Lobster & another Filet with Scallops. This category of food is pricey, but you get what you pay for with this combination. It was so good, went back the very next night. EXCELLENT

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great food and restaurant! Servers were awesome. 10!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Outstanding food & service - love the ambiance. Amazed @ how updated property is for its age

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Very good high quality supper club. Steaks were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Ambiance was good, food was good but high priced for a steak which I've had better steak at Applebees, drinks were average. If it wasn't for the special occasion I'd find a cheaper option for 1/3 less the price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

It is the best place for dinner, this last Friday night was not busy due to graduations & parties, the food was fabulous, we had the stuff crab meat lobster, red potatoes, fresh oven baked bread & a large caesar salad, the waitress we had, Michelle (I probably have her name wrong) she was a spit fire with so much energy, she had time to joke around with us, service was surpurb...portions were large, it was my birthday , loved every minute!!❤️It

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Casual, Live Sports, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The food and the service were very good. The atomosphere is truly unique a perfect mix of elegant and water front.

Tags: People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Afternoon dining, menu was well rounded with some unique entrees. Great view of the lake

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Went there for anniversary dinner and was put into the bar area next to a giant table of drunk moms. Not very romantic. Live piano player was good. Food was excellent

Tags: Seasonal, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Casual, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Always a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

First visit here. Beautiful restaurant with very professional personnel. We enjoyed drinks at the bar and then were seated at a window seat booth for a wonderful dinner
Prime rib and walleye were our selections and both were amazing
Will definitely return next time we are in yhe area

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Service was very slow and inadequate for an upscale restaurant. The food was excellent though.

We had the Filet and the NY Strip and they were both cooked perfectly.

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We arrived for our 6:30pm reservation and asked to be seated in a window booth, which at the time had four empty booths. The older hostess headed toward a table and claimed she had no authority to seat us in a booth. We enjoyed our dinner; however in the 90 minutes we were in the restaurant the booth behind us remained empty. Very disappointing! Next time I will call to make the reservation and request a booth. Open Table would be wise to add a function to request a specific type of seating arrangements.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Had lunch with friends Saturday of Memorial Day Wknd. The Cobb salads were great as well as the Chicken Cobb salad. I had the crab cake & it was delicious--will definitely have it again. Very good service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Very high quality of food. Special of the day was prime rib. Crust and seasoning was outstanding. Fresh green bean cooked perfectly.
Server very knowledgeable of the food and choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We go often. Never disappointed

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We were celebrating our 45 wedding anniversary on the actual date 5/20. The reason we chose Bar Harbor is because we ate here on our honeymoon. We remembered that they did not have surf and turf back then. One of us ordered steak and one ordered lobster. We remembered that the steak was the best we have ever had. We were not disappointed this time! Everything was great. We have talked about now coming back every year on our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We were very pleased with our server Marsha, and the food was excellent. Thank you for a very nice night out.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.