About Bar DKDC

964 South Cooper St.
Memphis, TN 38104
View Larger Map

International Street Food / Rum Bar/ Vintage Photo Booth / Soul Music. Bar- DKDC restaurant menu of small plates is inspired by international street food. Small plates come out alongside specialty libations / cocktails. Bar DKDC represents the next chapter for Chef Karen B. Carrier…
Street Food was a natural step, not only because the genre melds with her eclectic culinary tastes, but also because in many places street food is the essence of local cuisine. The menus read like an adventurous backpacker’s food diary- changing every five weeks focusing on street food from a different city or country each time. You might enjoy Oaxacan Mexican street food one month and weeks later you’ll be transplanted to the Caribbean and on to the Tapas Bars in Spainor to the melting pot of Asian Street Food.

Home of The Vintage Photo Booth and Dj Dropout Boogie / Music of the 50’s &60’s every first Friday and Saturday of each Month.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar open until 2:30am


We are also happy to open on days or holidays when we are ordinarily closed for private parties!

Cross Street:
Young Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 272-0830

Website:
http://www.bardkdc.com/

Executive Chef:
Karen B. Carrier

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bar DKDC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

5.0

value

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
See All
Romantic (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
33 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Bar DKDC is a unique dining experience t ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Bar DKDC is a unique dining experience that everyone should try! The food is fabulous! The service is excellent! And the atmosphere is warm and welcoming. It ha s become one of my favorite places to dine in Memphis. Highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a great little place - interest ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This was a great little place - interesting menu and delicious food. Portions were reasonable; bar options were good; environment was a lot of fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Cool vibe. Amazing small plates. Delic ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Cool vibe. Amazing small plates. Delicious flavors. Perfect presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

BarDKDC does not disappoint

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

I always enjoy eating here. The menu is often changing. It is a neat environment. The food is always favorable and i have yet to be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hidden Treasure?

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

Went to Bar DKDC and initially was unsure of what to expect.. small place with sparse crowd - but I was early (6:30). Then I ordered and some of the most wonderful food that I have ever experienced was eloquently served at my table. I love, love the small plate spots that are popping up and this is one that must not be missed! The food is simply awesome! The service was outstanding.. I will be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gem in Cooper Young

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 29, 2015

What a great place to go for some really great drinks and delectable eats...

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Restaurant!

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 24, 2015

It was a wonderful restaurant and would recommend you try it!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot for local music

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 8, 2015

DKDC has a fun menu of small plates that will please everyone and is a fabulous place to sit and enjoy music in an intimate setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Amy LaVere fan

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 12, 2015

What a treat to be able to sit in the intimate atmosphere of Bar DKDC and hear Amy Lavere play while having drinks and dinner. This was a great Memphis Music Experience with delightful small plate local food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

LOUD

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 8, 2015

this was our 2nd trip there after our 1st trip for new years. it was much louder this time and really hard to hear the people across from us, we had a party of 6. I went back this time for the food because it was sooooo good the 1st time but it had a serious drop off this time. everyone's selections were cold when they came out as if they were sitting in the pickup window for some time. I will say if they would add 2 more on staff to handle the tables this wouldn't be a problem, just not enough staff to handle a full house.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Griff

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 17, 2014

It's the second time I've been there. It is a great place wit wonderful food and drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great food and drinks

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 8, 2014

We really enjoyed the food. It was all rally good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Returned and disappointed

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 2, 2014

I love so much about this unique little gem and was really looking forward to the mediterranean cuisine. The waitress marked the dishes that were not being offered because this was the last night for this cuisine. Poor start. Our food came....my salad was lacking the figs, blood oranges, instead mostly lettuce with a few orange slices. No olives in the mix either. Hummus didn't even rival commercial hummus, which I barely tolerate. And nothing is better than homemade hummus. The chicken was very nice, and maybe 3 good bites...hiss, boo. I was just getting warmed up with dish that I truly liked. The waitress did tell us that the kitchen was running low on ingredients because Mediterranean was coming to a close.... whimper minus the bang!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

A+

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 20, 2014

Original and delicious cocktails. Food was plentiful and also delicious. Bartender was very helpful in creating celebratory shooters for my friend's birthday. Our waitress might be the nicest human being I've ever met. Fun photo booth. Great experience, will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Large tapas

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

We ordered 6 tapas to make a dinner but these tapas were so large & filling that we ended up takng some home. Loved the wings. Wish the shrimp were larger -seasoning was great but size of shrimp was, well shrimps small.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Just one complaint...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on January 11, 2014

Neat menu, delicious food, energetic atmosphere, hip decor, but AWFUL seating. Seriously, spring for some real chairs. It's no fun to eat steak frites - or anything that isn't a finger food - perched on a stool. We were so uncomfortable trying to sit and eat. We were basically hunched over a coffee table. I'm glad we went and I'd go back if a group was dying to go; otherwise the seating alone is bad enough to make me stay away.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

ole Do WAS THE ONE...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on January 1, 2014

ole DO (last restaurant at this location) was MUCH BETTER! TOO SMALL FOR THIS TYPE OF SETTING..

More like a slider affair then a upscale foodie place. ..Biscuit with Chicken looked a bit like Chick-fil-A.

Hot Dog was kinda like I chiwawa !

Good for the mid-town folks and their buddies with a decent amount of drafts.

Great Drink Menu for hard liquors

Very Good service but limited menu.

Very uncomfortable seating in tiny chairs...I'm small; and good back, but you don't sit long if you are on a small Round chair in the middle of the room.

I'd come back for pre-dinner drinks...Not food.. Alchemy would be the one for those choices...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

DKDC had lots if great food

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on December 29, 2013

DKDC had lots if great food choices, and nice cocktail selections. The band kicked in, making dinner conversation a little tough, but not a big issue since we knew one was scheduled. The server had to switch out mid-dining to cover the door, but the very busy bartender managed to take great care of us. Fun new place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

What does that say?

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on November 23, 2013

Could not read the menu. Really, the font on the menu was very frustrating. Hard to determine what each item was. No real seats available, had to sit at a coffee table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Good but not great

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on October 19, 2013

We enjoyed our meal although the shrimp app we ordered wasn't very good, everything else was. The service was very slow but they kept mentioning a huge party at Beauty Shoppe next door. So, not great that the next door restaurant group was slowing down our meal but it is what it is. We might try again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Disappointing

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on October 5, 2013

I love the concept of small plates, but unfortunately the execution at DKDC (I tried 5 different plates) is mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Menu changes need to be advertised

 
·Dined on September 26, 2013

I took a group of out of towners to this place at the suggestion of my son. I looked at the restaurant's menu before going to make sure that I thought it was appropriate. I was very surprised to arrive and find that only Asian food was being served because the menu had changed and had not been updated on their website. I had chosen not to go to an Asian restaurant, so I was disappointed and a bit uncomfortable when one of my guests said, "wow, I have no idea if I will like anything on this menu." Apparently one needs to c

all to find out what is being served.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

review

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 13, 2013

Service was great. The food was great. The only thing was the Beef and Broccoli.... the meat was really fatty and we were not able to eat it :/ Maybe just a one time thing.... but overall was good :)

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

A great Place for Sharing

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 4, 2013

The food was fantastic yet a little pricey for the portions. The menu was of the asian variety this time and it did not disappoint. The gouza, short ribs and the red coconut curry was fantastic. Overall fun, eclectic neighborhood gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Interesting little restaurant

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 11, 2013

Very small, but well done interior. Unique decor. Food was very good, but the cocktails were a little disappointing. Fried oysters were delicious. Service was a little slow and we were not checked in for drink refills enough. Would go back though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

What Alchemy Wanted To Be

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 29, 2013

Great tapas, lots of variety, superb drinks. No pretentious staff. Nothing on the menu over about 9-10 bucks, and all dishes were a great portion for sharing before a night on the town. Will gladly repeat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

AMAZING

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 22, 2013

I'd add that you should go all the time, but then I wouldn't be able to get a table. .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First time at Bar DKDC was a hit!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 21, 2013

I was catching up with a good friend of mine, and we had a lovely time eating a delicious fried egg sandwich and 'Ain't Nothing But a Chicken Wing'. Drinks were on point as well. I would recommend anyone to check out an amazing gem in Cooper Young! It's a wonderful place.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

2nd time was a charm, just like 1st

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 8, 2013

menu changed to new orleans style from first visit and was great. fun and creative. small plates and great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Tuesday night at Bar DKDC

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 5, 2013

Food was great. Service was great. Made great suggestions on menu choices since it was our 1st time. Specialty drinks very tasty also!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Ambiance

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 1, 2013

Sat at the bar and enjoyed the drinks and ambiance. The staff was extremely friendly. Great first impression. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

funky & creative

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 1, 2013

fun, creative food. small plates with great prices. good vibe. we will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Neat concept

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 6, 2013

I love the concept of street food with menu changing to reflect a different country each month! The food was good, reasonably priced and most of it was easy to share, which is what is encouraged. My only complaint was the amount of liquor poured into those teensy weensy glasses, which didn't make the pour seem any bigger than the splash that it was. I know liquor drives the sales, not food, but maybe a larger pour would have kept us longer & we would have eaten more instead of leaving to go have "bigger" drinks elsewhere. Just my thought.... Good luck, we'll try again!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.