About BANK

88 South 6th St
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

This Modern American restaurant is retro glamorous and modernly comfortable as it retains the existing millwork and character of the circa 1940s Farmers & Mechanics Bank building. The lobby is vast and impressive, and is ideal as a dynamic dining area for both formal meetings and casual eating. Modern American Cuisine means more than just dining: BANK Restaurant is about savor, experience, share, relax, & connect - an experience that is entirely in the hands of our guests. Whether you’re relaxing with colleagues over hot stone grilling in our plush lounge, or creating your own cocktail at the communal table with new friends, BANK Restaurant is the perfect spot to reconnect and refresh.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
BANK Restaurant Hours of Operations: Breakfast: Monday-Friday 6:00am-11:00am Saturday-Sunday 7:00am-11:00am Breakfast Buffet: Saturday-Sunday 7am-11:00am Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00am-3:00pm and Saturday -Sunday 12:00pm - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday-Sunday 5:30pm-10:00pm BANK Lounge Hours of Operations: Monday-Thursday 11:00am-11:00pm Friday-Saturday 11:00am-12:00am Sunday 11:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Marquette

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 656-3255

Website:
http://www.bankmpls.com/

Public Transit:
Nicollet Mall Station

Executive Chef:
Fernando Jurado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Meetings, power dining, and intimate social gatherings will fit comfortably in one of our five plush private dining rooms. Our experienced staff will take care of your every need, and you and your guests can relax and enjoy your own custom menu or ordering off the main BANK menu.

BANK Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (14)
Good for a Date (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
See All
Special Occasion (9)
Historic (8)
Romantic (8)
Cozy (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Casual (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Private Room (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vegan (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1055 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great as usual. Service was sur ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was great as usual. Service was surprisingly sub-par. I just thought they were slow over the lunch hour. Turns out, it runs into the dinner hour. They were not busy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The place looked cool, but that was it. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

The place looked cool, but that was it. The food was what you'd expect from a 2.5 star restaurant brunch. The service was poor, took too long, and the wait staff had no real knowledge of the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

I went to BANK expecting to have a roman ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

I went to BANK expecting to have a romantic dinner with good service and better food. The service was OK but had some glaring issues and the food was very marginal. This looked like a classy place from the website etc but we were surprised at the lack of professionalism. We were seated next to the kitchen and several wait staff were running fingers through their hair and then touching food, rubbing their faces and noses and then touching food. We kept a close eye on our plates to make sure they were handled better. We had two appetizers ( scallops and foie gras) and they were good. We had Sea Bass (ok) and Vegetable Wellington that was cold with a pastry shell that was damp. it was horrible and we left it uneaten. For over $200 I expected a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The service was terrible. There were two ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service was terrible. There were two of us dining. Drinks did not arrive until after appetizers were eaten. We ordered the exact same dinner. They got them both wrong. Ordered the filet mignon with a side of mushrooms. It was supposed to come with potatoes, green beans and crab soufflé. Both plates came out without green beans and crab soufflé. By the time our server checked back with us our meal was almost finished. The manager came to talk to us said he would bring out crab soufflé. We said we did not want it since we only had a few bites of our meal left. He said next time we came in he would take care of us. Then he came back around and said he wasn't going to be the manager in the next couple of weeks and handed us another person's card. Charged us the upcharge for the mushrooms and no discount for the missing portion of our meal. Had to argue to get a discount for our missing items. The server was harried and yelling at the manager on the floor. The food was cooked perfectly. Wish we had received our entire meal as listed on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

We visited Bank for the first time to ce ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We visited Bank for the first time to celebrate Valentine's Day. We had a very nice evening - we enjoyed the food, wine, ambiance, and service. We each enjoyed a poached pear salad that was a special for the evening, and an entrée. All dishes were prepared well, with good presentation and flavor. Portions were appropriate, and we left with a bit of leftovers to enjoy at home. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It was a wonderful date night. We got to ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was a wonderful date night. We got to take our time with the meal, sit in a quiet space, enjoy delicious food, and talk about the view. The look and feel of the space are worth the prices, and our waiter was wonderfully attentive.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Always being taken ca ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent service. Always being taken care of before you ask for it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It took 25 minutes for our appetizer, an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It took 25 minutes for our appetizer, and then we ended up getting it with our meals. Barely saw the waitress, and had to ask twice for refills on our beverages.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

One week before, we had both had the sal ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

One week before, we had both had the salmon and found it to be excellent. This time, however, I also ordered the salmon, and the edge tasted OLD. Mid-section was OK. Couldn't finish it so I took it home and refrigerated it for lunch the next day. This time, the entire remains tasted OLD. Very disappointing. Everything else was good, tho, including the Old-Fashioned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was great but the server real ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Everything was great but the server really took everything up a notch !!

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BANK typically delivers a wonderful busi ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 18, 2017

BANK typically delivers a wonderful business lunch experience but last visit missed the mark. Service was terribly slow, it took 10 minutes for our waiter to make an appearance and we were never checked on and I had to flag him down for the bill. That's the bad, the good was the quality of our lunches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Ordered a bottle of champagne and it was ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Ordered a bottle of champagne and it wasn't even put on ice. The bottle was simply placed on the table. There were Vikings fans watching the game but wasn't too loud. The restaurant is right off the hotel lobby so there was a lot of foot traffic through there. Overall the food was fine but the environment and service doesn't command the prices they charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Dinner reservation was at 8:15 for a tab ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Dinner reservation was at 8:15 for a table of 4. The restaurant was not very busy. Wait staff was great but the kitchen was a mess. We ordered our food and waited an hour and a half before we finally received our order. When we did get our food it was prepared very well so we had no complaints. The supervisor (Aaron Printz) and server addressed our table multiple times to apologize for the inconvenience and that this it was not normal for the restaurant to operate as it did. Service recovery was awesome, we will definitely be back to try again due to that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

I had dinner at Bank on New Year's Eve. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I had dinner at Bank on New Year's Eve. The food was very, very good. The wine was excellent. The service was great. The ambience was elegant. The music was like fingernails on a chalkboard.

The music was more appropriate for a college rave than an elegant restaurant. Not only was it ill fitting for the clientele, the scene and the date, the poor choice was amplified by the volume. What are you thinking? There were no kids there to appreciate that choice.

I could be wrong in my opinion and taste in music of course, but the proof is in the pudding. If most downtown restaurants are booked well in advance but I can walk in off the street on New Year's Eve and pick my table at Bank, something is wrong.

It's a shame that the talents of the chef or the designer are not what I will be talking about regarding my experience at Bank.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Showed up on time. Ordered drinks and g ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Showed up on time. Ordered drinks and got them on time. Took our time ordering an appetizer as is our want. It arrived 60 minutes later . . . cold. (Our server said it was supposed to be "at room temperature". A flatbread?) We were told "the kitchen was in chaos". Elected not to take a chance on ordering an entree inasmuch as we had a commitment elsewhere that evening. Very bad experience at, heretofore, a very reliable restaurant. We'll not be banking on BANK again in the near, or perhaps distant, future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Excellent food well prepared excellent s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food well prepared excellent service convenient location and parking,

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming here for many years, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We have been coming here for many years, and the quality of the food has slipped to the point that I am not interested in coming back. I am not willing to pay the price for the meal I had or the portion size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

I have liked BANK in the past, but will ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I have liked BANK in the past, but will not return after our experience there. While the food was good, the service as unacceptably slow. After we were seated, we waited over 10 minutes and only when I got up and signaled the host stand did our server appear. After the main meal, our server presented the check without asking if we wished to have dessert. We had to go get him again and ask for a menu, and then waited another long time to get the dessert order taken. Simply inadequate service, especially when the restaurant was less than half full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We happened to visit on a Sunday, after ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We happened to visit on a Sunday, after the crowd left for the Vikings game. A bit laid back/slow. The big issue was we were not aware that the Sunday lunch menu was so limited. We had 3 of the 5 in our party that are Celiacs and there was not much to choose from. I have visited the Bank in the evening and it was MUCH better.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

We had our holiday party for work here a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had our holiday party for work here and when we arrived they set us up in a private room. It was really nice, the table was decorated beautifully. Our server was excellent and provided several recommendations throughout the course of the night.

The food was very good, but for the price it wasn't outstanding. Pretty good flavors, a few of us ordered Filet Mignon cooked medium. They were all a little over done. But the flavor was very good so it wasn't a huge deal. It seemed as though everyone enjoyed their meals. Appetizers, salads, entrees, dessert and wine were all pretty good.

Although we didn't hang out at the bar, that did look like a cool area. Overall I'd definitely recommend Bank Restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service, great French fries, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Outstanding service, great French fries, and a stellar turkey burger. Rates an A+.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It is a great place to eat. However, we ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 30, 2016

It is a great place to eat. However, we had to prod three times before the dessert course was served. Finally, we just requested it in a to go container.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Business lunch staple, great for meals w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Business lunch staple, great for meals with coworkers and clients.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Went here because it was one of the few ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Went here because it was one of the few places serving their standard menu on Thanksgiving. Very satisfied with the experience

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good was bland and meat was dry, overcoo ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Good was bland and meat was dry, overcooked. Dessert cake was dry and hard. Server accommodated us well by comping the two entrees. Wish we would have gone another place for thanksgiving dinner. Great cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

What a wonderful way to celebrate! Such ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

What a wonderful way to celebrate! Such a cool atmosphere without the pretentious staff one would expect in it. Our waiter, Bart, was AMAZING! Put up with all our shenanigans and even had a few tricks up his sleeve.

The drinks and food were fantastic. Perfectly timed to give us time to talk and not just shoving food in our mouths.

Thank you for a wonderful time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the Bank for ease of reservation ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We love the Bank for ease of reservations for large business group lunches. They always have the tables set, even with waters already poured.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Private Room, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy restaurant with beautiful archite ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Classy restaurant with beautiful architecture which adds to the ambiance. Food, wine and service are above average.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always love BANK. Food and service were ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Always love BANK. Food and service were great as usual! I bring business groups here all the time, the space is so cool - people want to come back, you will too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was in town for a conference and made ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

I was in town for a conference and made same day reservations online. When we arrived the dining room was closed for a special event so we were seated in a side room and were treated royally. It was quiet in our room and the food and drinks were done to perfection. It was pricey but it was nice.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Beautiful interior, but food was mediocr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Beautiful interior, but food was mediocre and way over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Horrible service! Will never go back! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Horrible service! Will never go back! We had breakfast. Server was abrupt and hurried. My omelet came out wrong twice. Hostess was aloof and not very customer oriented. I recommend that you bring in a customer service training team. Very disappointed to receive such poor service from an upscale hotel chain like the Westin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The decor is modern set in an old bank b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The decor is modern set in an old bank building. Service was attentive with a professional flare.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had to find our waiter to order and w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had to find our waiter to order and we were approached by someone looking for money from the street during our meal. Disappointing all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

The Bank was amazing. We were a part of ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The Bank was amazing. We were a part of five celebrating a very special occasion. They seated us immediately and offered drink service. The menu was outstanding! Two of us are vegetarian and we chose the vegetarian Wellington which was melt in your mouth good! Two had steaks that also received rave reviews and one had the pressed chicken which she loved. A couple could still manage dessert even though portions were wonderfully large and the cheesecake was a huge hit. Could not have found a more delicious, memorable dinner! Service was excellent and the ambiance beautiful. Really wonderful restaurant!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent food. This was the firs ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always excellent food. This was the first time I had been at BANK in a few months. The last time I went I was a little disappointed. I think they lost their head chef and it seemed to decline slightly. This time it was really outstanding . The food has come back and maybe even exceeded what it had been for a while. I am so happy to see this one of the best places to eat downtown Minneapolis again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BANK is a great place. I take out-of-tow ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

BANK is a great place. I take out-of-town guests here all the time. The food is excellent, and the character of the place is great. I love the vault and all the old timey BANK stuff. We were there on a Saturday night, and it was pretty empty which kind of worries me. But the food is excellent. I want to check out the Private Dining too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful, delicious meal. good recomme ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Wonderful, delicious meal. good recommendations from waiter. clean, cool, dark. sublime.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very attentive service from the very mom ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very attentive service from the very moment we arrived. With a group of 7 diners, we were lucky enough to have our own reserved room. We were able to converse easily without straining to hear what others were saying -- very quiet. Chairs were uber comfortable. Felt like we were in my dining room at home.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

this restaurant has a lot of potential b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 19, 2016

this restaurant has a lot of potential but it was a big let down. The food was WAY overpriced and lacked any real flavor or seasoning. There is a great design to the place with art-deco features and the view of the kitchen, and cozy booths. We sat in a booth with a view of the kitchen and all we saw was the cooks playing on their phones. We were there on a Saturday night and the place was so dead. I think we were the only diners there. A few people at the bar but that's it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.