About BANK

88 South 6th St
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

This Modern American restaurant is retro glamorous and modernly comfortable as it retains the existing millwork and character of the circa 1940s Farmers & Mechanics Bank building. The lobby is vast and impressive, and is ideal as a dynamic dining area for both formal meetings and casual eating. Modern American Cuisine means more than just dining: BANK Restaurant is about savor, experience, share, relax, & connect - an experience that is entirely in the hands of our guests. Whether you’re relaxing with colleagues over hot stone grilling in our plush lounge, or creating your own cocktail at the communal table with new friends, BANK Restaurant is the perfect spot to reconnect and refresh.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
BANK Restaurant Hours of Operations: Breakfast: Monday-Friday 6:00am-11:00am Saturday-Sunday 7:00am-11:00am Breakfast Buffet: Saturday-Sunday 7am-11:00am Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00am-3:00pm and Saturday -Sunday 12:00pm - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday-Sunday 5:30pm-10:00pm BANK Lounge Hours of Operations: Monday-Thursday 11:00am-11:00pm Friday-Saturday 11:00am-12:00am Sunday 11:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Marquette

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 656-3255

Website:
http://www.bankmpls.com/

Public Transit:
Nicollet Mall Station

Executive Chef:
Fernando Jurado

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Meetings, power dining, and intimate social gatherings will fit comfortably in one of our five plush private dining rooms. Our experienced staff will take care of your every need, and you and your guests can relax and enjoy your own custom menu or ordering off the main BANK menu.

BANK Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

great for lunch (19)
special occasion (18)
good for groups (13)
See All
fit for foodies (10)
romantic (9)
notable wine list (7)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
hot spot (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
953 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The BANK has everything one expects in a ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The BANK has everything one expects in a top notch restaurant: ambiance, a creative menu, and a superior wait staff that is knowledgeable about both the menu and the wine pairings.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graduation Party Success

Dined on May 13, 2016

The BANK was excellent. We had a large group of 11 that they had a side room all ready for us. It was a very special day as both my children were graduating college. The room was quiet and the food and drinks were excellent. We all had a chance to have wonderful conversation enjoying time as a family. Definitely the place to go for a small group gathering. Service was excellent as well. Everyone was very pleasant.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was cold. Long wait lines for the buffet. Selection of buffet options were limited. Definitely not worth the $40/per person cost. I will not go to the restaurant again and would never recommend it to anyone.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great! The historic buil ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Everything was great! The historic building is so interesting. It is a beautiful restaurant. Food was excellent as was the service. I will definitely go back again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to eat and have a business dinner

Dined on May 3, 2016

We were looking for good food and a place to discuss business. BANK met our needs and more. It was so beautiful and had a low noise level.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Lunch

Dined on May 3, 2016

Everything was very good but very expensive which is typical for a hotel restaurant.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Great Anniversary

Dined on April 30, 2016

We got married at the Westin a year ago and had our wedding brunch hosted at BANK. It was fantastic then and our anniversary dinner last weekend was more of the same. The ambiance and level of service, coupled with the first-rate food, makes BANK a definite go-to for anything from a casual brunch or dinner to a full-blown special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Fantastic Location

Dined on April 27, 2016

Went there for a business lunch. Food was good - loved the beautiful interior

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Sunday brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

We met some family & new friends at the Bank for brunch on a Sunday morning. I had heard that is was awesome. We all decided to have the buffet since I had heard that it was good. Our waiter was great at bringing drinks, etc., but didn't tell us that we could get an omelet cooked on site until we had all dished up. Our food was not hot at all, and barely warm. I was unhappy with that, but did not want to throw out a whole plate of food. The ambiance is great, but I would not recommend it for brunch. There are other places that are better.

food4
ambience5
service1
value4

Delicous but the food arrived 40 minutes late!

Dined on April 11, 2016

Our organization has hosted many dinners in the private rooms in the evening and have always been impressed with the service and food. However, on Monday, the service was very poor and the food arrived 40 minutes late! It was a business lunch and everyone complained about the service. I know the waiter was always busy so feel you may have been short staffed that day? It was not the excellent service we have come to expect at the BANK.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice. Great menu selection

Dined on April 8, 2016

Very nice. Great menu selection

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I enjoyed our dining experience. When w ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

I enjoyed our dining experience. When we arrived the music level was so loud it was hard to hear across the table but at the request to our server, he offered to lower it enough we could hear. I appreciate the "energy" level but appreciate more the ability to hear my guest across the table. Thanks for the volume adjustment! We enjoyed the great meal!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2

My Hangar steak was a bit tough and the ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

My Hangar steak was a bit tough and the chicken tortilla soup is mediocre.

food4
ambience4
service4

We shared a great meal and the old bank ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We shared a great meal and the old bank building is lovely. Relatively loud room, but no complaints from us. Great bar, crab bisque, and scallops with risotto. Thank you, BANK!

food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Mediocre experience but cool building!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Our service was slow and the food was so-so for the price. It had a high price tag for being the hotel restaurant. They cannot accommodate anyone who doesn't drink alcohol with the exception of soda's but they do promote local breweries. I wouldn't pay this price again for what we experienced.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Waiter was not so good. Felt rushed, h ...

Dined on February 2, 2016

Waiter was not so good. Felt rushed, had to ask what the soup of the day was.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great lunch venue

Dined on January 26, 2016

I consistently meet clients/friends at Bank for lunch...their lunch menu is diverse and the food delicious, at good value. Dinnertime can be fairly empty, but the lunch crowd is fun and vibrant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun First Impression

vip
Dined on January 4, 2016

We brought a group of new company interns to the B.A.N.K. for their first lunch working with us. For some, this was their first dining experience in downtown Minneapolis. They all felt the atmosphere was fun and that they would return on their own to try other food. The way the french fries are presented with the burgers is fun and helps them remain warm and not get soggy. The person who had the turkey burger raved about the wonderful seasonings that had been used to flavor the meat. It was a great experience for these new, working adults.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience1
service1

Poor from the moment we walked in. In on ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Poor from the moment we walked in. In one hour we had an appetizer, a drink and both orders were either over or under done. Exceptionally poor service and food for the price.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Bank made New Years eve special for us!

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

We really enjoyed the ambiance. Although we stayed at the hotel before we've never done an "entree" or dinner at the restaurant, so we were really taking a chance at having a dinner there on New Year's eve. We invited two couples to join us. We were set up in one of their private conference rooms, by the way the table settings were beautifully decorated in silver and white. The presentation of all the entrees were beautiful and crafty. For the most part we really enjoyed our dinner. Our server seemed a bit off his game, but he was willing to fix his mistakes quickly. With that understanding, I won't go into detail. We will return and hopefully stay at the hotel!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Small portions and a poor experiment for ...

Dined on December 30, 2015

Small portions and a poor experiment for a "Cobb salad".

food4
ambience5
service4

Great ambience, good menu and very good ...

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

Great ambience, good menu and very good service. Definitely an experience that exceeds expectations, particularly given the fact that it is a hotel lobby restaurant

food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner, excellent wine and very ni ...

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

Great dinner, excellent wine and very nice ambience

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Especially amazing server.

Dined on December 26, 2015

What might have been an experience that was so-so for Christmas Day (not your most traditional family event), was made quite wonderful by our most fine server. He was knowledgeable, friendly, personable and gave us excellent recommendations for our selections. Overall, quite a dandy Christmas Evening dinner!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Bank Resturant

Dined on December 25, 2015

We enjoy The Bank restaurant on Christmas Day, they had a limited special menu for the day. Good choices, excellent food, beautifully presented, excellent service! The former bank in all its glory, 2 stories, gorgeous chandeliers, the bank vault is now the wine cellar - all in all a great experience, would surely recommend to anyone wanting a wonderful place to dine!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We don't take our clients there often en ...

Dined on December 22, 2015

We don't take our clients there often enough. very nice!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service4

Poor menu; bar menu only which was very ...

Dined on December 20, 2015

Poor menu; bar menu only which was very limited.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Ok, wouldn't go back.

Dined on December 19, 2015

Took forever to get our drinks. Our appetizer came out first. At least we had our water to wash it down. Two people ordered steaks and two people ordered scallops at our table. The steaks were cooked and seasoned well, however, the plating on the hanger steak was very odd. It was placed across a bed of French fries. These fries didn't look fresh cut, they looked like McDonald's fries. The steak itself should have been sliced to make it more presentable. The scallops were very good, but again, it was paired with soft boiled skin-on potatoes which I thought looked very bland and odd. We ordered refills on the drinks and they finally brought them out when we asked for the bill and needed to leave. Our server knew we were short on time when we arrived. Service really needs work.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

First time and last time here. High valet charges!

Dined on December 13, 2015

First time and last time at Bank. Service was very good. Food was good but not excellent. Biggest disappointment was with the valet service. We told the valet we were eating at Bank and going to a play. He told us we could have the waitress add $8 to our ticket for the valet costs. He never moved our car. It was stilling sitting at the curb where we parked it when we arrived to pick it up after the play. This is when the valet told us it was a $20 parking fee for over 3 hours. We needed to pay an extra $12 to him. My husband paid, tipped, and then the valet handed us our keys. Did not even walk us to the car and open the door. What a waste of a very expensive charge of $20 to park from 6-10. Fool me once. There are too many really good restaurants in Minneapolis that do not over charge for poor valet service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food, great service, the acous ...

Dined on December 12, 2015

Wonderful food, great service, the acoustics were perfect for conversation despite the restaurant being full. We will go again soon!

food2
ambience1
service2

Dinner before the Guthrie

Dined on November 14, 2015

I was surprised the restaurant was in the lobby of the Westin. Not a romantic vibe but more of a bar scene. Best and most private booths are facing the kitchen. Tortilla soup was cold and lacked any flavor. Scallops with smashed potatoes were excellent. The salmon looked like a hockey puck and was supposed to be Med rare. Overall would not recommend or go back.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a Great Lunch!

Dined on November 12, 2015

Have loved BANK since it opened. I haven't been there for several months because of a work location move, but was able to get back in there last week. Still love the food, and the staff remembered me - not only do they have staff that stay there, but they are also amazing at their jobs! Can't say enough great things about BANK!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5

Satisfaction Guaranteed

vip
Dined on November 11, 2015

I'vc been wanting to try the B.A.N.K for some time. The food was very good. I will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4

interesting place

vip
Dined on November 11, 2015

it did look like a Bank inside. Pretty quiet when we were there or I would have liked to have sat & watched the chef's cook.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

nice

Dined on November 10, 2015

Wait staff was attentive without being intrusive. Menu was nice. Portion size is adequate but not overwhelming. I enjoyed the decor which is from the 30's. It's a big room and can be noisy. We were there on a quiet night. Booths in the back are quieter and more private.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

We had a very nice evening at Bank becau ...

Dined on November 3, 2015

We had a very nice evening at Bank because our server was wonderful. The food was ok but not anything that was melt in your mouth delicious. Our first steak was chewy with a lot of grisel . The server was happy to replace it and the second was much better. She also paid for our Port wine to make up for the bad steak.

food4
ambience3
service3

It's a hotel restaurant.........

Dined on October 25, 2015

Overall, we had a good dinner. Our booth faced the kitchen, and that was our view the entire dinner. The food was good, but not outstanding, and I felt like I had a good dinner at a nice hotel restaurant. Prices were appropriate.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food1
ambience2
service1

nonexistent service

vip
Dined on October 20, 2015

Terrible service - first of all had to find someone who could/would seat us. Once we found them we were essentially left sitting there with menus for 10-15 minutes at which point we just walked out. Never again...

food2
ambience4
service5

Great place for drinks just to see the i ...

vip
Dined on October 17, 2015

Great place for drinks just to see the interior of the building, but the food was just mediocre. Won't return. (Service was great!!)

food3
ambience3
service5

Somewhat of a let down

Dined on October 11, 2015

First I want to acknowledge that our server was outstanding!! He knew the menu and he knew how to make it work for customers. My Caesar salad was very good and the deviled eggs were good but a bit too salty for some. The entree menu is uninspiring. They apparently are trying to dial back what had been considered a menu that was too aggressive for Midwestern palates but they went all the way to bland and common place. My wife made her meal out of appetizers and salad while I had the hanger steak with fries which while not bad could have been matched by a burger . The restaurant was virtually empty on a Saturday night and without full seating the space is cavernous and left you feeling you were in an a banquet hall alone. We were looking for a special date night dinner and The Bank just missed the mark. The wonderful service could not overcome an overall less than inspiring experience.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.