About BANK

88 South 6th St
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

This Modern American restaurant is retro glamorous and modernly comfortable as it retains the existing millwork and character of the circa 1940s Farmers & Mechanics Bank building. The lobby is vast and impressive, and is ideal as a dynamic dining area for both formal meetings and casual eating. Modern American Cuisine means more than just dining: BANK Restaurant is about savor, experience, share, relax, & connect - an experience that is entirely in the hands of our guests. Whether you’re relaxing with colleagues over hot stone grilling in our plush lounge, or creating your own cocktail at the communal table with new friends, BANK Restaurant is the perfect spot to reconnect and refresh.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
BANK Restaurant Hours of Operations: Breakfast: Monday-Friday 6:00am-11:00am Saturday-Sunday 7:00am-11:00am Breakfast Buffet: Saturday-Sunday 7am-11:00am Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00am-3:00pm and Saturday -Sunday 12:00pm - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday-Sunday 5:30pm-10:00pm BANK Lounge Hours of Operations: Monday-Thursday 11:00am-11:00pm Friday-Saturday 11:00am-12:00am Sunday 11:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Marquette

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 656-3255

Website:
http://www.bankmpls.com/

Public Transit:
Nicollet Mall Station

Executive Chef:
Fernando Jurado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • BANK, Minneapolis, MN
  • BANK, Minneapolis, MN
  • Salmon Mousse - BANK, Minneapolis, MN
  • Duck Confit Tostadas - BANK, Minneapolis, MN
  • Crab Cakes - BANK, Minneapolis, MN
  • 43 - BANK, Minneapolis, MN
  • Braised Short Rib - BANK, Minneapolis, MN
  • Beet Salad - BANK, Minneapolis, MN

Report a photo problem

Salmon Mousse - BANK, Minneapolis, MN
Duck Confit Tostadas - BANK, Minneapolis, MN
Crab Cakes - BANK, Minneapolis, MN
43 - BANK, Minneapolis, MN
Braised Short Rib - BANK, Minneapolis, MN
Beet Salad - BANK, Minneapolis, MN

Private Dining

Meetings, power dining, and intimate social gatherings will fit comfortably in one of our five plush private dining rooms. Our experienced staff will take care of your every need, and you and your guests can relax and enjoy your own custom menu or ordering off the main BANK menu.

BANK Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.7

ambience

4.0

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Historic (7)
See All
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Romantic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Private Room (3)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fireplace (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
1044 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

BANK typically delivers a wonderful busi ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

BANK typically delivers a wonderful business lunch experience but last visit missed the mark. Service was terribly slow, it took 10 minutes for our waiter to make an appearance and we were never checked on and I had to flag him down for the bill. That's the bad, the good was the quality of our lunches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Ordered a bottle of champagne and it was ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Ordered a bottle of champagne and it wasn't even put on ice. The bottle was simply placed on the table. There were Vikings fans watching the game but wasn't too loud. The restaurant is right off the hotel lobby so there was a lot of foot traffic through there. Overall the food was fine but the environment and service doesn't command the prices they charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Dinner reservation was at 8:15 for a tab ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Dinner reservation was at 8:15 for a table of 4. The restaurant was not very busy. Wait staff was great but the kitchen was a mess. We ordered our food and waited an hour and a half before we finally received our order. When we did get our food it was prepared very well so we had no complaints. The supervisor (Aaron Printz) and server addressed our table multiple times to apologize for the inconvenience and that this it was not normal for the restaurant to operate as it did. Service recovery was awesome, we will definitely be back to try again due to that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

I had dinner at Bank on New Year's Eve. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I had dinner at Bank on New Year's Eve. The food was very, very good. The wine was excellent. The service was great. The ambience was elegant. The music was like fingernails on a chalkboard.

The music was more appropriate for a college rave than an elegant restaurant. Not only was it ill fitting for the clientele, the scene and the date, the poor choice was amplified by the volume. What are you thinking? There were no kids there to appreciate that choice.

I could be wrong in my opinion and taste in music of course, but the proof is in the pudding. If most downtown restaurants are booked well in advance but I can walk in off the street on New Year's Eve and pick my table at Bank, something is wrong.

It's a shame that the talents of the chef or the designer are not what I will be talking about regarding my experience at Bank.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Showed up on time. Ordered drinks and g ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Showed up on time. Ordered drinks and got them on time. Took our time ordering an appetizer as is our want. It arrived 60 minutes later . . . cold. (Our server said it was supposed to be "at room temperature". A flatbread?) We were told "the kitchen was in chaos". Elected not to take a chance on ordering an entree inasmuch as we had a commitment elsewhere that evening. Very bad experience at, heretofore, a very reliable restaurant. We'll not be banking on BANK again in the near, or perhaps distant, future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Excellent food well prepared excellent s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food well prepared excellent service convenient location and parking,

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming here for many years, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We have been coming here for many years, and the quality of the food has slipped to the point that I am not interested in coming back. I am not willing to pay the price for the meal I had or the portion size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

I have liked BANK in the past, but will ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I have liked BANK in the past, but will not return after our experience there. While the food was good, the service as unacceptably slow. After we were seated, we waited over 10 minutes and only when I got up and signaled the host stand did our server appear. After the main meal, our server presented the check without asking if we wished to have dessert. We had to go get him again and ask for a menu, and then waited another long time to get the dessert order taken. Simply inadequate service, especially when the restaurant was less than half full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We happened to visit on a Sunday, after ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We happened to visit on a Sunday, after the crowd left for the Vikings game. A bit laid back/slow. The big issue was we were not aware that the Sunday lunch menu was so limited. We had 3 of the 5 in our party that are Celiacs and there was not much to choose from. I have visited the Bank in the evening and it was MUCH better.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

We had our holiday party for work here a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had our holiday party for work here and when we arrived they set us up in a private room. It was really nice, the table was decorated beautifully. Our server was excellent and provided several recommendations throughout the course of the night.

The food was very good, but for the price it wasn't outstanding. Pretty good flavors, a few of us ordered Filet Mignon cooked medium. They were all a little over done. But the flavor was very good so it wasn't a huge deal. It seemed as though everyone enjoyed their meals. Appetizers, salads, entrees, dessert and wine were all pretty good.

Although we didn't hang out at the bar, that did look like a cool area. Overall I'd definitely recommend Bank Restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service, great French fries, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Outstanding service, great French fries, and a stellar turkey burger. Rates an A+.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It is a great place to eat. However, we ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 30, 2016

It is a great place to eat. However, we had to prod three times before the dessert course was served. Finally, we just requested it in a to go container.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Business lunch staple, great for meals w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Business lunch staple, great for meals with coworkers and clients.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Went here because it was one of the few ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Went here because it was one of the few places serving their standard menu on Thanksgiving. Very satisfied with the experience

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good was bland and meat was dry, overcoo ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Good was bland and meat was dry, overcooked. Dessert cake was dry and hard. Server accommodated us well by comping the two entrees. Wish we would have gone another place for thanksgiving dinner. Great cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

What a wonderful way to celebrate! Such ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

What a wonderful way to celebrate! Such a cool atmosphere without the pretentious staff one would expect in it. Our waiter, Bart, was AMAZING! Put up with all our shenanigans and even had a few tricks up his sleeve.

The drinks and food were fantastic. Perfectly timed to give us time to talk and not just shoving food in our mouths.

Thank you for a wonderful time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the Bank for ease of reservation ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We love the Bank for ease of reservations for large business group lunches. They always have the tables set, even with waters already poured.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Private Room, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy restaurant with beautiful archite ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Classy restaurant with beautiful architecture which adds to the ambiance. Food, wine and service are above average.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always love BANK. Food and service were ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Always love BANK. Food and service were great as usual! I bring business groups here all the time, the space is so cool - people want to come back, you will too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was in town for a conference and made ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

I was in town for a conference and made same day reservations online. When we arrived the dining room was closed for a special event so we were seated in a side room and were treated royally. It was quiet in our room and the food and drinks were done to perfection. It was pricey but it was nice.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Beautiful interior, but food was mediocr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Beautiful interior, but food was mediocre and way over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Horrible service! Will never go back! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Horrible service! Will never go back! We had breakfast. Server was abrupt and hurried. My omelet came out wrong twice. Hostess was aloof and not very customer oriented. I recommend that you bring in a customer service training team. Very disappointed to receive such poor service from an upscale hotel chain like the Westin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The decor is modern set in an old bank b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The decor is modern set in an old bank building. Service was attentive with a professional flare.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had to find our waiter to order and w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had to find our waiter to order and we were approached by someone looking for money from the street during our meal. Disappointing all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

The Bank was amazing. We were a part of ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The Bank was amazing. We were a part of five celebrating a very special occasion. They seated us immediately and offered drink service. The menu was outstanding! Two of us are vegetarian and we chose the vegetarian Wellington which was melt in your mouth good! Two had steaks that also received rave reviews and one had the pressed chicken which she loved. A couple could still manage dessert even though portions were wonderfully large and the cheesecake was a huge hit. Could not have found a more delicious, memorable dinner! Service was excellent and the ambiance beautiful. Really wonderful restaurant!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent food. This was the firs ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always excellent food. This was the first time I had been at BANK in a few months. The last time I went I was a little disappointed. I think they lost their head chef and it seemed to decline slightly. This time it was really outstanding . The food has come back and maybe even exceeded what it had been for a while. I am so happy to see this one of the best places to eat downtown Minneapolis again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BANK is a great place. I take out-of-tow ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

BANK is a great place. I take out-of-town guests here all the time. The food is excellent, and the character of the place is great. I love the vault and all the old timey BANK stuff. We were there on a Saturday night, and it was pretty empty which kind of worries me. But the food is excellent. I want to check out the Private Dining too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful, delicious meal. good recomme ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Wonderful, delicious meal. good recommendations from waiter. clean, cool, dark. sublime.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very attentive service from the very mom ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very attentive service from the very moment we arrived. With a group of 7 diners, we were lucky enough to have our own reserved room. We were able to converse easily without straining to hear what others were saying -- very quiet. Chairs were uber comfortable. Felt like we were in my dining room at home.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

this restaurant has a lot of potential b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 19, 2016

this restaurant has a lot of potential but it was a big let down. The food was WAY overpriced and lacked any real flavor or seasoning. There is a great design to the place with art-deco features and the view of the kitchen, and cozy booths. We sat in a booth with a view of the kitchen and all we saw was the cooks playing on their phones. We were there on a Saturday night and the place was so dead. I think we were the only diners there. A few people at the bar but that's it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

A well kept secret in downtown Minneapol ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 13, 2016

A well kept secret in downtown Minneapolis. And the best part for those of us driving downtown......you can used the valet for only $8, about 1/3 of the price of a daytime downtown ramp.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

No restaurant sign

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 3, 2016

We were looking for a 'Bank' sign and therefore couldn't find the restaurant at first. Once we found it, we enjoyed our experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The BANK has everything one expects in a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2016

The BANK has everything one expects in a top notch restaurant: ambiance, a creative menu, and a superior wait staff that is knowledgeable about both the menu and the wine pairings.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graduation Party Success

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2016

The BANK was excellent. We had a large group of 11 that they had a side room all ready for us. It was a very special day as both my children were graduating college. The room was quiet and the food and drinks were excellent. We all had a chance to have wonderful conversation enjoying time as a family. Definitely the place to go for a small group gathering. Service was excellent as well. Everyone was very pleasant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was cold. Long wait lines for the buffet. Selection of buffet options were limited. Definitely not worth the $40/per person cost. I will not go to the restaurant again and would never recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Everything was great! The historic buil ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Everything was great! The historic building is so interesting. It is a beautiful restaurant. Food was excellent as was the service. I will definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat and have a business dinner

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2016

We were looking for good food and a place to discuss business. BANK met our needs and more. It was so beautiful and had a low noise level.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 3, 2016

Everything was very good but very expensive which is typical for a hotel restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A Great Anniversary

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We got married at the Westin a year ago and had our wedding brunch hosted at BANK. It was fantastic then and our anniversary dinner last weekend was more of the same. The ambiance and level of service, coupled with the first-rate food, makes BANK a definite go-to for anything from a casual brunch or dinner to a full-blown special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Location

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 27, 2016

Went there for a business lunch. Food was good - loved the beautiful interior

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.