Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About BANK

This Modern American restaurant is retro glamorous and modernly comfortable as it retains the existing millwork and character of the circa 1940s Farmers & Mechanics Bank building. The lobby is vast and impressive, and is ideal as a dynamic dining area for both formal meetings and casual eating. Modern American Cuisine means more than just dining: BANK Restaurant is about savor, experience, share, relax, & connect - an experience that is entirely in the hands of our guests. Whether you’re relaxing with colleagues over hot stone grilling in our plush lounge, or creating your own cocktail at the communal table with new friends, BANK Restaurant is the perfect spot to reconnect and refresh.

88 South 6th St
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
BANK Restaurant Hours of Operations: Breakfast: Monday-Friday 6:00am-11:00am Saturday-Sunday 7:00am-11:00am Breakfast Buffet: Saturday-Sunday 7am-11:00am Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00am-3:00pm and Saturday -Sunday 12:00pm - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday-Sunday 5:30pm-10:00pm BANK Lounge Hours of Operations: Monday-Thursday 11:00am-11:00pm Friday-Saturday 11:00am-12:00am Sunday 11:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Marquette

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 656-3255

Website:
http://www.bankmpls.com/

Public Transit:
Nicollet Mall Station

Executive Chef:
Fernando Jurado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Meetings, power dining, and intimate social gatherings will fit comfortably in one of our five plush private dining rooms. Our experienced staff will take care of your every need, and you and your guests can relax and enjoy your own custom menu or ordering off the main BANK menu.

BANK Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.7

ambience

4.2

value

3.4

noise

Quiet

75% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (14)
Business Meals (13)
Good for a Date (12)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Romantic (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Cozy (5)
Casual (4)
Fun (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1111 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We have eaten here before and have had prompt service, very good food and wanted to go back. Read reviews online on Saturday 9/23/17, and they were not all positive...in fact some were bad. Decided to go anyway and, once again, had great service, food was very good and best of all it was quiet. No idea why the discrepancy, but we'll go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Slow service while there were no customers. Food was meh. We ultimately left after appetizers and ate somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

I have such mixed feelings about our experience at Bank. I've wanted to go there for years, because I think the venue is really nice. We were there on a Tuesday night and the restaurant was almost empty. We ordered drinks; they came in 15 minutes. When the drinks came we ordered salads and our entrées. It took another 15-20 minutes to get the salads. After the salads were cleared from our table, it took 35-40 minutes to receive our entrées. During that time our server never came to check on us, give us an explanation, etc. Our booth faced the kitchen, and we could see that they were not one bit busy in there. Our food finally arrived (8:20 for a 7:00 reservation), and it was excellent (I had salmon, my husband had scallops). A minute or two after our food arrived, the manager came to us and apologized for how long we had waited and said they were not going to charge us for our main dishes (we really appreciated that!). When our server came back later, she said she was sorry, but gave no explanation, even when I fished. It was very odd. So, I loved the food and the ambiance, but I have no idea what went wrong with the service, which means that I would recommend this restaurant with some hesitation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Very crowded when we arrived because of a concert at US Bank stadium. We had reservation but were told 45 minutes to an hour to get food. What they meant was 45 minutes to an hour to order. Long night but food was good when we were finally served. Nice atmosphere!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

My wife and I made reservations for dinner before the U2 concert. We studied the menu online and were really looking forward to dinner. The place was gorgeous and pleasantly busy. We were promptly seated, given menus and then ... that's the last time we saw anyone. Not a joke. We waited 30 minutes. So, we left and went to a restaurant next-door. We've never done that before, ever. We are generally of good humor about that stuff (even a drink in our hands would have helped). But with the concert approaching and no one even acknowledging us, we felt we had no other option. Very frustrating.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We waited a half to have our drink order taken and an hour for our dinner order. We waited another 45 minutes to get our appetizers. At this point we told the person who dropped off our apps that we were leaving. No time to wait for the food. No one came to our table to let us know what was happening. No one came to apologize. I never write reviews but this experience was the worst I have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 7, 2017

BANK is always reliable. The food is good and reasonably priced and the service is usually prompt. The surroundings, being in an historic bank lobby make it an impressive locale for out of towners.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

I've been to Bank a couple times. I just love the space in the old marble bank lobby. Very impressive and elegant but with a comfortable feel. The food everytime I've been here has been exceptional and the service is outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Although it was quiet when we were there, Bank has a nice ambivalence and very good service. The food was delicious and the lighted bar top, large, cool looking, and inviting. It makes you want to take a seat and hang out. The restaurant has a hip vibe with an open kitchen along with comfy booths. I'm looking forward to return for another nice meal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Casual, Fun, Healthy, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Did a groupon for what they call Prix Fix
Calls for you to get up to a $20.00 appetizer and two entrees and one dessert and up to a $40.00 bottle of Wine. They bring you a smaller menu and not regular menu and you have a few basic appetizers to choose from and no prices on this one and a basic group of enteees like a chicken dish", beef roast, park loins or salmon. Then they gave us four choices of desserts and not on a menu and they were out of two. When we asked on the wine list they said we had three choices, a white Chardonnay, a Pinot Grigio or a red, and the Pinot was a super cheap wine. The server struggled with the meal and when she brought the bill, she said the value of the meal was $134 probably wanting you to tip at that level when the total should be about $50.00 value with their deceptive groupon

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Waiter was great. Food was subpar unfortunately. Could be great location if food better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Went there for a business dinner. Service was good by the food was average for the price. Should change it on Open Table to $$$ instead of $$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

The service and ambiance were both excellent. The wait staff were very attentive and professional. This is a very nice location for a client lunch meeting. The food was OK, and the prices were a little high for what similar lunches cost elsewhere downtown. I would certainly return for the ambiance, where it is easy to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Everything was fresh and prepared perfectly. Our server, Bart, was friendly and knowledgeable and recommended a fantastic wine. We won't hesitate to return when in the Twin Cities next.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Waitress was very pleasant and friendly...service was slow (drinks, appetizers, main course). I was not expecting this venue to be part of the main hotel lobby. Overall we had a great time catching up with old friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

The service, and food were incredible! We would definitely recommend to a friend.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food and service were wonderful. We had a Groupon, which made the price reasonable; normally it would have cost more.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Consistently great food, really enjoyed bringing friends to dinner here.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Beautiful venue for dining. We had a birthday luncheon with our team. The food was outstanding. Service was poor (slow, failed to check on us during our lunch). We will be back to this beautiful site.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Only worth going there if you can expense it to your employer. Not worth the basic cost of the Groupon for what you get. Will never go back.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Our waiter was not good. Hard to understand, never checked on how our food was and quickly dropped off the bill. Food took a long time to get. There were two of us. Fish tacos and a Walleye sandwich is what was ordered. The Walleye sandwich was WAY over cooked; looked like a burger. I have had better food there before, so I would still recommend. However, we were not impressed with the waiter.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The bank is a beautiful dining experience. The high ceilings, open atmosphere and dark wood accents give an old world feel. Obviously, as an old refurbished bank, they did a great job keeping with the theme. The vault is a space for the wine, the menu reflects liquid assets and the teller line set ups are still in tact. I noticed they also have lots of space for larger events, like a meeting or reception.

The food offers a bit of variety and lots of choices. We started off with the deviled egg quad and a goat cheese, prosciutto flatbread. Both were amazing! Each egg was topped differently with bacon, tomatoes, tuna, and chicken. The flatbread was sweet and flavorful, with a crunch from the crust. We also had salmon salad, truffle fries, sirloin entree and olive oil cake for dessert. They all were amazing, except for the salad, which was a bust. It had way too much dressing, which was very sweet and very little salmon for $22! The server was also helpful and did a special decoration with our dessert plate for the occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food was delicious and our server, Bart, was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

On a Friday night, the place was empty, nice waitress, but the kitchen was very slow. Food was just average, and expensive. Not on my list to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 27, 2017

This is a beautiful old building. The service was impeccable. The food was creative and delicious. The presentation was picture perfect. It was a great surprise as we had not heard much about it previously. We will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This is my 3 Rd try because we like the atmosphere and service so much.
All 3 of my meals were beautifully presented but truly mediocre in flavor and texture. Generally speaking I think meat and vegetables are over cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I am glad we had a Groupon as we did not feel the food was the equivalent of the prices. Getting a bottle of wine with the Groupon meal was very nice. The flank steak was not even as good as what we fixed last week at home with just S/P and on the grill for 8 minutes. Having to tip on the original pricing of the meal ($135) sent the value way down also. We told them at the start of the meal that this was a special occasion and we were not in a hurry. Surprise! The entrees arrived even before we had a chance to finish the shared appetizer...We won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Service was friendly but a little slow. Food was mediocre, but wine was good. Ambience was great! Loved the old bank look. Very clean and mostly quiet but I suppose they are catering to families staying at the Westin. 90's music was nice for my husband and I, but we thought it was an interesting choice for the overall vibe. It was great with the Groupon, and I would not go back and pay full price. There are better restaurants to pay full price at.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We enjoyed our tenth anniversary dinner at Bank, and we found the service to be excellent. Very knowledgeable, friendly and attentive waitstaff.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great food and service. Classy ambience in old bank and nice environment for conversation

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 24, 2017

I was very disappointed at the slowness of the service we received this visit. We had to flash or server down multiple times to get what was needed, and it took an extremely long time - like 15 minutes- just to get the appetizer delivered to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

All 5 of my family ordered the filet mignon. It was good but slightly overcooked. We had the signature bread and deviled eggs for appetizers. Both were good, only wish our server had told us the deviled eggs came as 4, since there were 5 of us. A few of us had the truffle fries and thought they were great. We ordered the molten chocolate cake and espresso mousse for dessert. Both were good, but the "molten" cake was not so molten. Overall it we enjoyed the atmosphere, and our experience was good, but not great. The restaurant was not busy, and our service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Food and service were very good in unique setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Used Groupon and it was a good value, and a nice variety of food from the fixed price menu.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Poor service for what we expected to be a nice lunch date.
Restaurant menu was limited compared to what was listed on the website for the lunch menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was a special treat ! It was my daughter's college graduation celebration. I wanted a private dining for close family and this place was perfect. The ambiance, service, timeliness and attention to detail was superb! Thank you!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The food was very good. I had the shrimp tacos. Serving sizes perfect for lunch. Plenty of seating. I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food, great service and great atmosphere especially for a special occasion. Everything was top notch. Can be a little pricey but you will walk away pleased.

Tags: Tapas, Great Beer, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The decor of this former bank is gorgeous. The sound level is very quiet for a nice change of pace. The food is better than your average hotel restaurant. The service was very good and the waitress was very pleasant. The soup and sandwich was very flavorful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.