Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About BANK

This Modern American restaurant is retro glamorous and modernly comfortable as it retains the existing millwork and character of the circa 1940s Farmers & Mechanics Bank building. The lobby is vast and impressive, and is ideal as a dynamic dining area for both formal meetings and casual eating. Modern American Cuisine means more than just dining: BANK Restaurant is about savor, experience, share, relax, & connect - an experience that is entirely in the hands of our guests. Whether you’re relaxing with colleagues over hot stone grilling in our plush lounge, or creating your own cocktail at the communal table with new friends, BANK Restaurant is the perfect spot to reconnect and refresh.

88 South 6th St
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
BANK Restaurant Hours of Operations: Breakfast: Monday-Friday 6:00am-11:00am Saturday-Sunday 7:00am-11:00am Breakfast Buffet: Saturday-Sunday 7am-11:00am Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00am-3:00pm and Saturday -Sunday 12:00pm - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday-Sunday 5:30pm-10:00pm BANK Lounge Hours of Operations: Monday-Thursday 11:00am-11:00pm Friday-Saturday 11:00am-12:00am Sunday 11:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Marquette

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 656-3255

Website:
http://www.bankmpls.com/

Public Transit:
Nicollet Mall Station

Executive Chef:
Fernando Jurado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Meetings, power dining, and intimate social gatherings will fit comfortably in one of our five plush private dining rooms. Our experienced staff will take care of your every need, and you and your guests can relax and enjoy your own custom menu or ordering off the main BANK menu.

BANK Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Special Occasion (9)
Romantic (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Cozy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Historic (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Private Room (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Authentic (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vegan (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
1071 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Celebrating a job accomplishment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Sunday Brunch was nothing more than scrambled eggs and your choice of meat with oatmeal or toast. The buffet was significantly lacking in variety.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We really enjoyed our evening meal at BANK. The food was very good, especially the shrimp appetizer. We had a Groupon with a price fixed menu so our price was very reasonable. The price would have been quite expensive if we had paid regular price for our meals. We ate at 6 PM on a Tuesday so the restaurant was not very busy and therefore not very noisy. That may be different on a busy night. Our waiter was outstanding and made us feel very comfortable and cared for. He even took us around to see areas of interest in the restaurant and suggested that we tour the private rooms and see all the historical photos.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The Bank is a good location for a quite business meeting

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was my first time to Bank, and it was with a Groupon that helped find this terrific place. The ambience was very good, our server was awesome, and the food was excellent! It won't require a Groupon for me to return, that's for sure!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food was great, servicer, Bart, was awesome. The manager came over and brought us champagne for our anniversary, a very nice touch. Thank you Bank, we had a wonderful anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Server forgot my drink, halfway through meal she said it would be coming, but realized I had flagged another waiter to bring one to me.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I really love being in that old bank lobby and the room and the food is flexible enough for a quiet drink at the bar, a celebration in one of the private rooms, or a lively lunchtime crowd.

The food is always fresh and tasty.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Overall, the food was very good. Our server was new, but her trainer quickly jumped in to support and then take over the table. It seems like the restaurant should be busier on a weekend, it was not busy or crowded at all. A little on the pricey side for a family night out, but the food was tasty.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The servicee and food were amazing! Best salmon I've ever had.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Always have a wonderful lunch at BANK. Great selection and service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Amazing food, beautiful atmosphere and very pleasant staff.

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Private Room, Romantic, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

First time at BANK - the service was amazing as was the food and ambience. My boyfriend and I were seated in a big booth by the open kitchen, it was cozy and romantic. Our server was very friendly and took care of our every need. The appetizers we chose were the shrimp and deviled eggs, didn't know what to expect from the deviled eggs but wow, each one was topped with something different and the amount of shrimp we received was unexpected. Our meals were wonderful as well. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone and can't wait to go back!!!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Used the Groupon deal - seemed like the overall "value" of that deal is over-priced at $130. For a total of $100 - price of groupon + tax + tip, we got an ok bottle of wine, a very good appetizer, two horrible steaks and a fantastic desert (Lava cake). Service was ok, restaurant was empty on a Saturday night. Prices are high for the quality of the fare - no wonder the place is empty on a Saturday night! During the 1.5 hours we were in the restaurant there were 8 occupied tables on our side of the bar. Seven of the 8 were couples using the Groupon deal. The hostess even assumed we were using a Groupon, even though we did not in anyway indicate this on the reservation - that should tell you something about the quality of the restaurant when they rely on the groupon deal for business. Would recommend to a friend with caveats.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Tasty and creative food. Our server was very attentive and friendly. Interesting and historic atmosphere..

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was great as usual. Service was surprisingly sub-par. I just thought they were slow over the lunch hour. Turns out, it runs into the dinner hour. They were not busy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The place looked cool, but that was it. The food was what you'd expect from a 2.5 star restaurant brunch. The service was poor, took too long, and the wait staff had no real knowledge of the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

excellent food - very flavorful
great place for a date

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I went to BANK expecting to have a romantic dinner with good service and better food. The service was OK but had some glaring issues and the food was very marginal. This looked like a classy place from the website etc but we were surprised at the lack of professionalism. We were seated next to the kitchen and several wait staff were running fingers through their hair and then touching food, rubbing their faces and noses and then touching food. We kept a close eye on our plates to make sure they were handled better. We had two appetizers ( scallops and foie gras) and they were good. We had Sea Bass (ok) and Vegetable Wellington that was cold with a pastry shell that was damp. it was horrible and we left it uneaten. For over $200 I expected a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service was terrible. There were two of us dining. Drinks did not arrive until after appetizers were eaten. We ordered the exact same dinner. They got them both wrong. Ordered the filet mignon with a side of mushrooms. It was supposed to come with potatoes, green beans and crab soufflé. Both plates came out without green beans and crab soufflé. By the time our server checked back with us our meal was almost finished. The manager came to talk to us said he would bring out crab soufflé. We said we did not want it since we only had a few bites of our meal left. He said next time we came in he would take care of us. Then he came back around and said he wasn't going to be the manager in the next couple of weeks and handed us another person's card. Charged us the upcharge for the mushrooms and no discount for the missing portion of our meal. Had to argue to get a discount for our missing items. The server was harried and yelling at the manager on the floor. The food was cooked perfectly. Wish we had received our entire meal as listed on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We visited Bank for the first time to celebrate Valentine's Day. We had a very nice evening - we enjoyed the food, wine, ambiance, and service. We each enjoyed a poached pear salad that was a special for the evening, and an entrée. All dishes were prepared well, with good presentation and flavor. Portions were appropriate, and we left with a bit of leftovers to enjoy at home. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was a wonderful date night. We got to take our time with the meal, sit in a quiet space, enjoy delicious food, and talk about the view. The look and feel of the space are worth the prices, and our waiter was wonderfully attentive.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent service. Always being taken care of before you ask for it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It took 25 minutes for our appetizer, and then we ended up getting it with our meals. Barely saw the waitress, and had to ask twice for refills on our beverages.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

One week before, we had both had the salmon and found it to be excellent. This time, however, I also ordered the salmon, and the edge tasted OLD. Mid-section was OK. Couldn't finish it so I took it home and refrigerated it for lunch the next day. This time, the entire remains tasted OLD. Very disappointing. Everything else was good, tho, including the Old-Fashioned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Everything was great but the server really took everything up a notch !!

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 18, 2017

BANK typically delivers a wonderful business lunch experience but last visit missed the mark. Service was terribly slow, it took 10 minutes for our waiter to make an appearance and we were never checked on and I had to flag him down for the bill. That's the bad, the good was the quality of our lunches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Ordered a bottle of champagne and it wasn't even put on ice. The bottle was simply placed on the table. There were Vikings fans watching the game but wasn't too loud. The restaurant is right off the hotel lobby so there was a lot of foot traffic through there. Overall the food was fine but the environment and service doesn't command the prices they charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Dinner reservation was at 8:15 for a table of 4. The restaurant was not very busy. Wait staff was great but the kitchen was a mess. We ordered our food and waited an hour and a half before we finally received our order. When we did get our food it was prepared very well so we had no complaints. The supervisor (Aaron Printz) and server addressed our table multiple times to apologize for the inconvenience and that this it was not normal for the restaurant to operate as it did. Service recovery was awesome, we will definitely be back to try again due to that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I had dinner at Bank on New Year's Eve. The food was very, very good. The wine was excellent. The service was great. The ambience was elegant. The music was like fingernails on a chalkboard.

The music was more appropriate for a college rave than an elegant restaurant. Not only was it ill fitting for the clientele, the scene and the date, the poor choice was amplified by the volume. What are you thinking? There were no kids there to appreciate that choice.

I could be wrong in my opinion and taste in music of course, but the proof is in the pudding. If most downtown restaurants are booked well in advance but I can walk in off the street on New Year's Eve and pick my table at Bank, something is wrong.

It's a shame that the talents of the chef or the designer are not what I will be talking about regarding my experience at Bank.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Showed up on time. Ordered drinks and got them on time. Took our time ordering an appetizer as is our want. It arrived 60 minutes later . . . cold. (Our server said it was supposed to be "at room temperature". A flatbread?) We were told "the kitchen was in chaos". Elected not to take a chance on ordering an entree inasmuch as we had a commitment elsewhere that evening. Very bad experience at, heretofore, a very reliable restaurant. We'll not be banking on BANK again in the near, or perhaps distant, future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food well prepared excellent service convenient location and parking,

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We have been coming here for many years, and the quality of the food has slipped to the point that I am not interested in coming back. I am not willing to pay the price for the meal I had or the portion size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I have liked BANK in the past, but will not return after our experience there. While the food was good, the service as unacceptably slow. After we were seated, we waited over 10 minutes and only when I got up and signaled the host stand did our server appear. After the main meal, our server presented the check without asking if we wished to have dessert. We had to go get him again and ask for a menu, and then waited another long time to get the dessert order taken. Simply inadequate service, especially when the restaurant was less than half full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We happened to visit on a Sunday, after the crowd left for the Vikings game. A bit laid back/slow. The big issue was we were not aware that the Sunday lunch menu was so limited. We had 3 of the 5 in our party that are Celiacs and there was not much to choose from. I have visited the Bank in the evening and it was MUCH better.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had our holiday party for work here and when we arrived they set us up in a private room. It was really nice, the table was decorated beautifully. Our server was excellent and provided several recommendations throughout the course of the night.

The food was very good, but for the price it wasn't outstanding. Pretty good flavors, a few of us ordered Filet Mignon cooked medium. They were all a little over done. But the flavor was very good so it wasn't a huge deal. It seemed as though everyone enjoyed their meals. Appetizers, salads, entrees, dessert and wine were all pretty good.

Although we didn't hang out at the bar, that did look like a cool area. Overall I'd definitely recommend Bank Restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Outstanding service, great French fries, and a stellar turkey burger. Rates an A+.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 30, 2016

It is a great place to eat. However, we had to prod three times before the dessert course was served. Finally, we just requested it in a to go container.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Business lunch staple, great for meals with coworkers and clients.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Went here because it was one of the few places serving their standard menu on Thanksgiving. Very satisfied with the experience

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.