About BANK

88 South 6th St
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

This Modern American restaurant is retro glamorous and modernly comfortable as it retains the existing millwork and character of the circa 1940s Farmers & Mechanics Bank building. The lobby is vast and impressive, and is ideal as a dynamic dining area for both formal meetings and casual eating. Modern American Cuisine means more than just dining: BANK Restaurant is about savor, experience, share, relax, & connect - an experience that is entirely in the hands of our guests. Whether you’re relaxing with colleagues over hot stone grilling in our plush lounge, or creating your own cocktail at the communal table with new friends, BANK Restaurant is the perfect spot to reconnect and refresh.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
BANK Restaurant Hours of Operations: Breakfast: Monday-Friday 6:00am-11:00am Saturday-Sunday 7:00am-11:00am Breakfast Buffet: Saturday-Sunday 7am-11:00am Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00am-3:00pm and Saturday -Sunday 12:00pm - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday-Sunday 5:30pm-10:00pm BANK Lounge Hours of Operations: Monday-Thursday 11:00am-11:00pm Friday-Saturday 11:00am-12:00am Sunday 11:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Marquette

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 656-3255

Website:
http://www.bankmpls.com/

Public Transit:
Nicollet Mall Station

Executive Chef:
Fernando Jurado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • BANK
  • BANK
  • Salmon Mousse
  • Duck Confit Tostadas
  • Crab Cakes
  • 43
  • Braised Short Rib
  • Beet Salad
BANK
BANK
Salmon Mousse
Duck Confit Tostadas
Crab Cakes
43
Braised Short Rib
Beet Salad

Private Dining

Meetings, power dining, and intimate social gatherings will fit comfortably in one of our five plush private dining rooms. Our experienced staff will take care of your every need, and you and your guests can relax and enjoy your own custom menu or ordering off the main BANK menu.

BANK Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Steakhouse
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

Great for Lunch (17)
Good for Groups (12)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Romantic (7)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Sort By:
Newest
961 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Bank was amazing. We were a part of ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The Bank was amazing. We were a part of five celebrating a very special occasion. They seated us immediately and offered drink service. The menu was outstanding! Two of us are vegetarian and we chose the vegetarian Wellington which was melt in your mouth good! Two had steaks that also received rave reviews and one had the pressed chicken which she loved. A couple could still manage dessert even though portions were wonderfully large and the cheesecake was a huge hit. Could not have found a more delicious, memorable dinner! Service was excellent and the ambiance beautiful. Really wonderful restaurant!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent food. This was the firs ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always excellent food. This was the first time I had been at BANK in a few months. The last time I went I was a little disappointed. I think they lost their head chef and it seemed to decline slightly. This time it was really outstanding . The food has come back and maybe even exceeded what it had been for a while. I am so happy to see this one of the best places to eat downtown Minneapolis again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BANK is a great place. I take out-of-tow ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

BANK is a great place. I take out-of-town guests here all the time. The food is excellent, and the character of the place is great. I love the vault and all the old timey BANK stuff. We were there on a Saturday night, and it was pretty empty which kind of worries me. But the food is excellent. I want to check out the Private Dining too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful, delicious meal. good recomme ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Wonderful, delicious meal. good recommendations from waiter. clean, cool, dark. sublime.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very attentive service from the very mom ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very attentive service from the very moment we arrived. With a group of 7 diners, we were lucky enough to have our own reserved room. We were able to converse easily without straining to hear what others were saying -- very quiet. Chairs were uber comfortable. Felt like we were in my dining room at home.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

this restaurant has a lot of potential b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

this restaurant has a lot of potential but it was a big let down. The food was WAY overpriced and lacked any real flavor or seasoning. There is a great design to the place with art-deco features and the view of the kitchen, and cozy booths. We sat in a booth with a view of the kitchen and all we saw was the cooks playing on their phones. We were there on a Saturday night and the place was so dead. I think we were the only diners there. A few people at the bar but that's it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

A well kept secret in downtown Minneapol ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

A well kept secret in downtown Minneapolis. And the best part for those of us driving downtown......you can used the valet for only $8, about 1/3 of the price of a daytime downtown ramp.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

No restaurant sign

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We were looking for a 'Bank' sign and therefore couldn't find the restaurant at first. Once we found it, we enjoyed our experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The BANK has everything one expects in a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The BANK has everything one expects in a top notch restaurant: ambiance, a creative menu, and a superior wait staff that is knowledgeable about both the menu and the wine pairings.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graduation Party Success

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The BANK was excellent. We had a large group of 11 that they had a side room all ready for us. It was a very special day as both my children were graduating college. The room was quiet and the food and drinks were excellent. We all had a chance to have wonderful conversation enjoying time as a family. Definitely the place to go for a small group gathering. Service was excellent as well. Everyone was very pleasant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was cold. Long wait lines for the buffet. Selection of buffet options were limited. Definitely not worth the $40/per person cost. I will not go to the restaurant again and would never recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Everything was great! The historic buil ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Everything was great! The historic building is so interesting. It is a beautiful restaurant. Food was excellent as was the service. I will definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat and have a business dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

We were looking for good food and a place to discuss business. BANK met our needs and more. It was so beautiful and had a low noise level.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Everything was very good but very expensive which is typical for a hotel restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A Great Anniversary

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We got married at the Westin a year ago and had our wedding brunch hosted at BANK. It was fantastic then and our anniversary dinner last weekend was more of the same. The ambiance and level of service, coupled with the first-rate food, makes BANK a definite go-to for anything from a casual brunch or dinner to a full-blown special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Location

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Went there for a business lunch. Food was good - loved the beautiful interior

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Sunday brunch

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We met some family & new friends at the Bank for brunch on a Sunday morning. I had heard that is was awesome. We all decided to have the buffet since I had heard that it was good. Our waiter was great at bringing drinks, etc., but didn't tell us that we could get an omelet cooked on site until we had all dished up. Our food was not hot at all, and barely warm. I was unhappy with that, but did not want to throw out a whole plate of food.

The ambiance is great, but I would not recommend it for brunch. There are other places that are better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicous but the food arrived 40 minutes late!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Our organization has hosted many dinners in the private rooms in the evening and have always been impressed with the service and food.

However, on Monday, the service was very poor and the food arrived 40 minutes late! It was a business lunch and everyone complained about the service. I know the waiter was always busy so feel you may have been short staffed that day? It was not the excellent service we have come to expect at the BANK.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

Very nice. Great menu selection

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Very nice. Great menu selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed our dining experience. When w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

I enjoyed our dining experience. When we arrived the music level was so loud it was hard to hear across the table but at the request to our server, he offered to lower it enough we could hear. I appreciate the "energy" level but appreciate more the ability to hear my guest across the table. Thanks for the volume adjustment! We enjoyed the great meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My Hangar steak was a bit tough and the ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

My Hangar steak was a bit tough and the chicken tortilla soup is mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

We shared a great meal and the old bank ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We shared a great meal and the old bank building is lovely. Relatively loud room, but no complaints from us. Great bar, crab bisque, and scallops with risotto. Thank you, BANK!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Mediocre experience but cool building!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Our service was slow and the food was so-so for the price. It had a high price tag for being the hotel restaurant. They cannot accommodate anyone who doesn't drink alcohol with the exception of soda's but they do promote local breweries. I wouldn't pay this price again for what we experienced.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Waiter was not so good. Felt rushed, h ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Waiter was not so good. Felt rushed, had to ask what the soup of the day was.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Great lunch venue

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

I consistently meet clients/friends at Bank for lunch...their lunch menu is diverse and the food delicious, at good value. Dinnertime can be fairly empty, but the lunch crowd is fun and vibrant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fun First Impression

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 4, 2016

We brought a group of new company interns to the B.A.N.K. for their first lunch working with us. For some, this was their first dining experience in downtown Minneapolis. They all felt the atmosphere was fun and that they would return on their own to try other food. The way the french fries are presented with the burgers is fun and helps them remain warm and not get soggy. The person who had the turkey burger raved about the wonderful seasonings that had been used to flavor the meat. It was a great experience for these new, working adults.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Poor from the moment we walked in. In on ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Poor from the moment we walked in. In one hour we had an appetizer, a drink and both orders were either over or under done. Exceptionally poor service and food for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Bank made New Years eve special for us!

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We really enjoyed the ambiance. Although we stayed at the hotel before we've never done an "entree" or dinner at the restaurant, so we were really taking a chance at having a dinner there on New Year's eve. We invited two couples to join us. We were set up in one of their private conference rooms, by the way the table settings were beautifully decorated in silver and white. The presentation of all the entrees were beautiful and crafty. For the most part we really enjoyed our dinner. Our server seemed a bit off his game, but he was willing to fix his mistakes quickly. With that understanding, I won't go into detail. We will return and hopefully stay at the hotel!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Small portions and a poor experiment for ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Small portions and a poor experiment for a "Cobb salad".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great ambience, good menu and very good ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

Great ambience, good menu and very good service. Definitely an experience that exceeds expectations, particularly given the fact that it is a hotel lobby restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great dinner, excellent wine and very ni ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

Great dinner, excellent wine and very nice ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Especially amazing server.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

What might have been an experience that was so-so for Christmas Day (not your most traditional family event), was made quite wonderful by our most fine server. He was knowledgeable, friendly, personable and gave us excellent recommendations for our selections. Overall, quite a dandy Christmas Evening dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Bank Resturant

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We enjoy The Bank restaurant on Christmas Day, they had a limited special menu for the day. Good choices, excellent food, beautifully presented, excellent service! The former bank in all its glory, 2 stories, gorgeous chandeliers, the bank vault is now the wine cellar - all in all a great experience, would surely recommend to anyone wanting a wonderful place to dine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We don't take our clients there often en ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 22, 2015

We don't take our clients there often enough. very nice!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Poor menu; bar menu only which was very ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

Poor menu; bar menu only which was very limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Ok, wouldn't go back.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

Took forever to get our drinks. Our appetizer came out first. At least we had our water to wash it down. Two people ordered steaks and two people ordered scallops at our table. The steaks were cooked and seasoned well, however, the plating on the hanger steak was very odd. It was placed across a bed of French fries. These fries didn't look fresh cut, they looked like McDonald's fries. The steak itself should have been sliced to make it more presentable. The scallops were very good, but again, it was paired with soft boiled skin-on potatoes which I thought looked very bland and odd. We ordered refills on the drinks and they finally brought them out when we asked for the bill and needed to leave. Our server knew we were short on time when we arrived. Service really needs work.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

First time and last time here. High valet charges!

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

First time and last time at Bank. Service was very good. Food was good but not excellent. Biggest disappointment was with the valet service. We told the valet we were eating at Bank and going to a play. He told us we could have the waitress add $8 to our ticket for the valet costs. He never moved our car. It was stilling sitting at the curb where we parked it when we arrived to pick it up after the play. This is when the valet told us it was a $20 parking fee for over 3 hours. We needed to pay an extra $12 to him. My husband paid, tipped, and then the valet handed us our keys. Did not even walk us to the car and open the door. What a waste of a very expensive charge of $20 to park from 6-10. Fool me once. There are too many really good restaurants in Minneapolis that do not over charge for poor valet service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful food, great service, the acous ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Wonderful food, great service, the acoustics were perfect for conversation despite the restaurant being full. We will go again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner before the Guthrie

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

I was surprised the restaurant was in the lobby of the Westin. Not a romantic vibe but more of a bar scene. Best and most private booths are facing the kitchen. Tortilla soup was cold and lacked any flavor. Scallops with smashed potatoes were excellent. The salmon looked like a hockey puck and was supposed to be Med rare. Overall would not recommend or go back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Always a Great Lunch!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on November 12, 2015

Have loved BANK since it opened. I haven't been there for several months because of a work location move, but was able to get back in there last week. Still love the food, and the staff remembered me - not only do they have staff that stay there, but they are also amazing at their jobs! Can't say enough great things about BANK!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.