Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About BANK

This Modern American restaurant is retro glamorous and modernly comfortable as it retains the existing millwork and character of the circa 1940s Farmers & Mechanics Bank building. The lobby is vast and impressive, and is ideal as a dynamic dining area for both formal meetings and casual eating. Modern American Cuisine means more than just dining: BANK Restaurant is about savor, experience, share, relax, & connect - an experience that is entirely in the hands of our guests. Whether you’re relaxing with colleagues over hot stone grilling in our plush lounge, or creating your own cocktail at the communal table with new friends, BANK Restaurant is the perfect spot to reconnect and refresh.

88 South 6th St
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
BANK Restaurant Hours of Operations:
Monday-Friday 6am-10pm
Saturday-Sunday 7am-10pm

Cross Street:
Marquette

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 656-3255

Website:
http://www.bankmpls.com/

Public Transit:
Nicollet Mall Station

Executive Chef:
Jasen Fontaine

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Meetings, power dining, and intimate social gatherings will fit comfortably in one of our five plush private dining rooms. Our experienced staff will take care of your every need, and you and your guests can relax and enjoy your own custom menu or ordering off the main BANK menu.

BANK Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.6

ambience

4.1

value

3.4

Noise

Quiet

72% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Business Meals (8)
See All
Special Occasion (7)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Romantic (5)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort by
S
1153 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Superb, took my beautiful girlfriend out for a valentine's day dinner and we were both pleasantly surprised at the quality and taste of the cuisine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed the Valentine's dinner very much. Great date night, and the service was excellence!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful decor. Our server was great.
I ordered the scallops and they were sandy. I should have sent them back.
My husband had the filet and it was delicious.
I would try the restaurant again but would not order the scallops.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 5, 2018

Stayed open late after the Super Bowl and did an outstanding job under challenging circumstances!!! Food was excellent and environs very exciting!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Live Sports, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2018

Took forever to order, and then waited another 45min to get our food cold. Had to send back and wait for a reheat. Food comped, but you all need to know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 2, 2018

Service and food was wonderful. Prices for this Superbowl event were high.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2018

Private dining room for a small group was perfect. Service was fantastic and everyone enjoyed themselves.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 13, 2018

The service was slow it took 15 minutes each time to get water, drinks, and place an appetizer order. My wife's food came out cold and rubbery (she had scallops). The staff looked overwhelmed by having more than there average Saturday night.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2018

Food was good. Service was attentive. Music was a bit loud in volume but didn’t disturb us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Had a lovely meal. Well prepared and courses spaced nicely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 5, 2018

We have been to Bank several times and it's usually OK. This time the food was good but the service was slow which was surprising considering there were only 5 or 6 tables occupied on a Friday night. We had a Groupon so the value was tolerable but we probably won't be going back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2018

My husband and I have been here several times, at all different times of day and days of the week. This time, we decided we'll most likely never return. Every single time the service has been awesome, the food mediocre at best. In a foodie town like Minneapolis, and for the prices Bank charges there are just WAY too many other great options to waste our money here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2017

It was New Year's Eve, so not a typical night. The DJ was very loud, so it was great having a private "office" room for our dining where we could visit and party. The food was excellent, but service was very slow, and the wait staff did not check on us very often, but we chalked it up to NY Eve traffic and busy-ness. It was a great night!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Our server was depressed and had no interest in being there. He roller his eyes and huffed when we asked to order appetizers. He took forever bringing our orders and even delivered one of our friends dinner 15 minutes AFTER the rest of the table had our food! Worst service ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We dined on New Years Eve and didn't know that the only choice would be a fixed price menu. And, it was a "Gatsby theme" - so all of the servers and many of the guests were in flapper and 1920's attire; festive, but we had no idea. We were seated at the front of the restaurant and the constant flow of people coming in from outdoors meant it was FREEZING COLD...a number of us had to keep our coats on to stay warm. Food was delish and lovely. Drinks were good too. Service was efficient but not friendly. Seemed like he was a in a hurry to have us leave.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Over priced.
Had th smoked salmon. Barely enough to cover the bagel and one would have thought tomatoes and onion were jewels by the amount they gave as accompaniment. My family’s food wasn’t much better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Christmas Eve tradition to dine in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2017

My low rating is due to the slow service receiving our meal, a return visit from our server never occurred and we had to request the check twice. Lunch hour means one hour, not 1-1/2 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 16, 2017

I like Bank. The food is very good. We tried pork, steak and salmon and all were very good.
Bart our server was attentive and knowledgeable. One improvement for me would be to a small light on each table. This would bring some intimacy to the table that is lost with the very high ceiling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 13, 2017

Excellent ambiance with perfect music to start the evening followed by quiet enough to have a conversation. Food and wine was very good with an excellent selection list. Service was attentive, courteous and professional

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 7, 2017

We had a lovely time at Bank. We used a living social coupon which they happily accepted. We enjoyed an appetizer, two fantastic entrees and dessert. Our server Essie was very friendly and helpful. Yes, we will go there again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 6, 2017

I've eaten lunch at Bank many times. While the food is good, the service is consistently slow. The wait staff seems like they are spread thin.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Excellent food and dining experience! It was very quiet on Sunday night so we could visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 2, 2017

My husband and I did a staycation Downtown Mpls to do some Christmas shopping. It was a great time. I really enjoyed the craft cocktail list and my delicious salad. The server was awesome! I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Three members of my family and a good friend had a great lunch on Nov. 29. We all had different salads which we enjoyed. I had mixed greens with salmon. The Bank, of course, has this beautiful and historic space.

Tags: Organic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 27, 2017

Everything was great until we got dessert. It was supposed to be the molten lava cake but it was served to us uncooked (cold and hard)
We brought it to the waiters attention and he took it back and brought us one that was cooked. He said there was a new trainee in the kitchen.......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Food was pretty good, but expensive for what you got. It wasn't very busy and service was slow. The pictures make the dining area appear more grand than it was. I was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 23, 2017

While the dinning experience was very nice, the food is priced too high for the quality of ingredients they are using. The seared salmon salad is merely a piece of farm raise salmon on a bed of spinach leaves. Not worth the $22 price. Would have been better if it was Sockeye or Coho salmon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 18, 2017

If I would have realized it was in a hotel lobby, I would not have invited out of town guests. People carrying luggage past our table was not the atmosphere I was expecting after seeing such elegant looking pictures.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Open Table,

Thank you so much for the opportunity to give you feedback on our experience.

I needed to make a last minute time change and add another person to the dining group. I tried to make the change online but it wouldn’t take. I tried calling the restaurant directly and I couldn’t reach anyone for 45 minutes. Once I was able to get in contact with someone it was very easy to do what I needed to do.

My boss arrived with his party on time and was shown to a small room. Not expected but really great as they continued to discuss business during lunch. Lunch however was a different issue. They were seated and it took a while to get their orders taken. Food was slow, food was good but only adequate nothing that stood out. Wait staff was friendly enough but he thought there may have only been two people in the downstairs area given the amount of time they had to wait for everything. It put them behind schedule getting back to the office which is unacceptable for our time line.

We will not be coming back, nor recommending your facility for business lunches.

Thank you for the opportunity to give you feedback that can help us both on the future.

Kathy A. Morales-Mayfield
612-330-3363

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 4, 2017

As a guest at the hotel, we thought it would be nice to have dinner in their restaurant. The food was very good, with some creativity in both content and flavor profiles. Price was a bit high. Not unexpected in a downtown hotel. Service was so-so, and it was not crowded. The bar area in the center of the large room had the only ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 4, 2017

We dined here for a business dinner. The wait staff could be heard blatantly saying that they didn't want to wait on our table, which I don't know why since the place was almost empty. We were a group of 9, but we were very polite and professional group. Every steak but mine was seriously overcooked to the point that medium rare steaks were well done. The food was overpriced and covered in sauces. My steak was cooked correctly but it was tough and it was a filet. Lastly, the temperature in the restaurant was flaming hot. I am perpetually cold and I thought I was going to die of heat exhaustion in there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 4, 2017

We had a groupon which I like to buy to make us get out of our comfort zone on dinning at the same old places we like. It was a pre-fixed menu which said it included a bottle of wine up to $40. The only bottle we could pick was their house wine which retails for less than $9. The food was not hot and the well, not that great. When we make the 45 min drive into Minneapolis, it is a special night out. The food was not special at all. Cool venue though.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 25, 2017

I liked my meal and the service was great but my coworkers didn't all agree. Some said their food was so/so but we all agreed the place is beautiful and the party room was a nice surprise

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 19, 2017

We go here every year for our anniversary. We actually had our rehearsal dinner here and they treated us remarkably well, much better than any of the other places we looked at. We will continue to go back there every year. Great food. Great service.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Sooo delicious! We used a Groupon, excellent and plentiful choices. Attentive service enhanced the delightful meal!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Hot Spot, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The staff was great and had great recommendations for food choices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 5, 2017

You can tell Bank has a chef with a point of view. Both our entries were distinctive. I had chicken, my date pork. I very much appreciated the portions which were sized for an appetite and very eye pleasing. This is a place that takes it’s reduction sauce seriously which I also admire. Every bite was bursting with complex flavor and the food was served piping hot. I can’t tell you how depressing it is to get a wonderful looking and smelling main dish that you then find only slightly warm because it was sitting too long. No problem here. This is a top dollar place and in general delivers on all counts. The staff were friendly with personality to make you feel like they care about you. Right sized portions that are hearty but don’t overwhelm. Also and this is important, we used a groupon for our dinners. I’ve been to other places where you order off the regular menu but have to use a “special” separate dinner set up just for your Groupon. In other words SECOND class. NOT so at Bank. We ordered what we wanted off their regular menu and then were groupon discounted. Wonderful. And the bottle of wine included with the deal was not swill but very nice. Bank didn’t mess with us there either. I will go back.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 4, 2017

This was a great place for a work happy hour, if your group is around 10 people it's perfect. We had a great time, and will definitely come back.
Live music on Wednesdays is wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.