Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 4/26
Time
8:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 10 times today
Special offers available. See details

BANK

3.9
1170 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Business Meals
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
This Modern American restaurant is retro glamorous and modernly comfortable as it retains the existing millwork and character of the circa 1940s Farmers & Mechanics Bank building. The lobby is vast and impressive, and is ideal as a dynamic dining area for both formal meetings and casual eating. Modern American Cuisine means more than just dining: BANK Restaurant is about savor, experience, share, relax, & connect - an experience that is entirely in the hands of our guests. Whether you’re relaxing with colleagues over hot stone grilling in our plush lounge, or creating your own cocktail at the communal table with new friends, BANK Restaurant is the perfect spot to reconnect and refresh.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
BANK Restaurant Hours of Operations:
Monday-Friday 6am-10pm
Saturday-Sunday 7am-10pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(612) 656-3255
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jasen Fontaine
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Marquette
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Nicollet Mall Station
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Meetings, power dining, and intimate social gatherings will fit comfortably in one of our five plush private dining rooms. Our experienced staff will take care of your every need, and you and your guests can relax and enjoy your own custom menu or ordering off the main BANK menu.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Mom will know just how much you appreciate her if you bring her to BANK for Mother's Day! Our Grand Buffet will feature a bevy of breakfast items, salads, quiche, ham, steak, crab mac & cheese, and an indulgent dessert buffet. $38/person ($15 for 11 and under), with a complimentary mimosa for Moms!

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 1170 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.9based on recent ratings
3.9
food
3.8
service
4.2
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Quiet
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

We ate the couch area which was great and had great service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter brunch, the food was mediocre and the price was high. For about 40.00 per person one expects a good selection of brunch items. Salad offered was just lettuce with croutons and 2 dressings, only had a few items on buffet, seems like it was hastily put together. Staff was very friendly and attentive, it was the food that was such a disappointment.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Food was without much taste. A nice setting with disappointing food. Sandwich bread was burnt. Meat was overcooked and tasteless. Cuban sandwich should have moisture and rich flavor - it didn't. Salad was also with little flavor. Size of portions was good but didn't matter as food was so poor. Best item served was French fries

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Located in the historic and classy lobby that was originally the mid-century banking floor. Started in the comfy barside seating and decided to be adventurous with their custom craft cocktails. Excellent and unique drinks. Moved over to a booth in the dining area that was quiet and comfortable. The hanger steak was perfectly cooked to order (medium rare) and was a quality cut at a good value. The salmon filet was savory and generous. We were too full for dessert but left very contented.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Fabulous retro vibe with an airy dining space. An oval bar is surrounded by tables and cozy lounge spaces. Our business lunch was top notch and I can see where this would be a great place for happy hour or dinner. Well prepared and presented entrées and a wine selection large enough to fill the original bank vault. A definite gem...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

After walking past the BANK many times, we decided to try it. The space is unique in a good way with really high ceilings and cool woodwork. The hotel lobby feeling takes away from the overall experience. Our server was find, but nothing exceptional. The food was good, but not worth the price.

A client was waiting to be seated and the manager of the restaurant was standing right there speaking with another employee and didn't acknowledge him, respond to him or get an employee to help him. Customer finally picked one of many empty tables and sat down without being seated. Multiple staff member were standing around talking or watching sports at the bar. Not the experience we were expecting and we don't plan to return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Normally a great place for business lunches. However, construction noise from the new adjacent Starbucks was a major distraction.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Great menu and excellent value. I have always had the best service here!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The food was pretty good, but the service needs improvement. Slow and seemingly inexperienced and awkward service. Slow to clear plates, etc. Also a simple order with two entrees and one side and the side was not timed to come at the same time. We ended up canceling the side. Maybe it’s a management issue? Bathroom key didn’t work and hostess manager not very helpful with that.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 10, 2018

We chose BANK because it was highly rated in Open Table. This is supposed to be an upscale place inside the Westin but it felt more like a glorified Crowne Plaza restaurant with an overpriced menu. Sorry to say, but that's how we'd summarize our experience.

We gave it one star for the following reasons:

- FOOD: the calamari app was OK but the hangar steak was inedible (ordered medium rare, but was heavily charbroiled) and the pan-seared scallops were set atop a soupy risotto with clumps of rice.

- SERVICE: No one was standing at the host station throughout the night to greet people. It seemed that whomever eventually noticed customers waiting at the podium (like us) would walk up to seat them. Our server was very kind and initially attentive but generally unavailable after bringing our entrees. We would've liked to return the inedible steak and order something else but by the time they came back to ask if we wanted dessert, it was too late. We'd understand if it were a busy night but there were a lot of empty tables around us.

- AMBIANCE: The restaurant's open space in the center of the hotel lobby is confusing for people to figure out how to navigate or understand how to differentiate what's reserved seating for dinner vs. casual self-service seating for drinks around the bar area. A group of women wandered around while shouting over patrons to the bartender, asking how they get seated or do they just sit wherever. One guy just cruised straight through the middle of the restaurant, wheeling his big suitcase past our table to quickly get to the hotel check-in desk on the other side of the lobby. It was all very distracting.

- VALUE: We had such a terrible experience overall and it was an expensive mistake (before tip, it was ~ $100 for 2 drinks, 1 app and 1 entree - the other entree was comped).

We will not go back, nor recommend this place to anyone.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 2, 2018

So incredibly disappointed in my experience. I don’t even know where to start... I let the server know that o had food allergies as soon as we st down and she messed up big time. She was so sweet and kind, but not a good server. As a professional server you MUST know what I’m in the food that you are serving. I ordered an appetizer that I was told was safe for me to eat. I get the appetizer and start eating it, only to then be told that she made a mistake and that I could not have it. Long story short I spent a night in the hospital.
Also, when my steak entree came out incorrect they took the steak back into the kitchen, rinsed it with water, threw it back on the grill and brought it back out. The $42 steak that I ordered medium rare came BACK out very well done. At this point, I gave up and was done sending food back.
I will never be back and will tell all friends and family to steer clear.
Thanks for the $500 hospital stay.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

We’ve previously visited with better food quality but the service was predictably outstanding and personal ! Super ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Christie Jergens is an awesome chef who prepared our entrees perfectly. Wonderful ambiance! Generous portion sizes!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Great place for lunch: beautiful atmosphere, convenviently located off the skyway, and delicious salads!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 23, 2018

The restaurant had a sign that they were closed for a private party. After bothering a waitress who was busy, found they had a few tables reserved for us. Wine is overpriced for what they serve. The food was good, service adequate but not memorable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Outstanding Art Deco Moderne setting-on historic register. Sunday night was quiet, easy to park. Food good.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Went to bank for Valentine's Day. Service was great; however, my wife and I left hungry. Portions very small and the special was not worth $55 a person. I've had $50 steaks before and this was not one of them. The lobster tasted very good, but was very small. The clams were also a huge rip off.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Superb, took my beautiful girlfriend out for a valentine's day dinner and we were both pleasantly surprised at the quality and taste of the cuisine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We enjoyed the Valentine's dinner very much. Great date night, and the service was excellence!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Beautiful decor. Our server was great.
I ordered the scallops and they were sandy. I should have sent them back.
My husband had the filet and it was delicious.
I would try the restaurant again but would not order the scallops.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 4, 2018

Stayed open late after the Super Bowl and did an outstanding job under challenging circumstances!!! Food was excellent and environs very exciting!!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 4, 2018

Took forever to order, and then waited another 45min to get our food cold. Had to send back and wait for a reheat. Food comped, but you all need to know.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

Service and food was wonderful. Prices for this Superbowl event were high.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 29, 2018

Private dining room for a small group was perfect. Service was fantastic and everyone enjoyed themselves.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 13, 2018

The service was slow it took 15 minutes each time to get water, drinks, and place an appetizer order. My wife's food came out cold and rubbery (she had scallops). The staff looked overwhelmed by having more than there average Saturday night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 8, 2018

Food was good. Service was attentive. Music was a bit loud in volume but didn’t disturb us

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Had a lovely meal. Well prepared and courses spaced nicely.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 5, 2018

We have been to Bank several times and it's usually OK. This time the food was good but the service was slow which was surprising considering there were only 5 or 6 tables occupied on a Friday night. We had a Groupon so the value was tolerable but we probably won't be going back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 1, 2018

My husband and I have been here several times, at all different times of day and days of the week. This time, we decided we'll most likely never return. Every single time the service has been awesome, the food mediocre at best. In a foodie town like Minneapolis, and for the prices Bank charges there are just WAY too many other great options to waste our money here.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

It was New Year's Eve, so not a typical night. The DJ was very loud, so it was great having a private "office" room for our dining where we could visit and party. The food was excellent, but service was very slow, and the wait staff did not check on us very often, but we chalked it up to NY Eve traffic and busy-ness. It was a great night!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Our server was depressed and had no interest in being there. He roller his eyes and huffed when we asked to order appetizers. He took forever bringing our orders and even delivered one of our friends dinner 15 minutes AFTER the rest of the table had our food! Worst service ever!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We dined on New Years Eve and didn't know that the only choice would be a fixed price menu. And, it was a "Gatsby theme" - so all of the servers and many of the guests were in flapper and 1920's attire; festive, but we had no idea. We were seated at the front of the restaurant and the constant flow of people coming in from outdoors meant it was FREEZING COLD...a number of us had to keep our coats on to stay warm. Food was delish and lovely. Drinks were good too. Service was efficient but not friendly. Seemed like he was a in a hurry to have us leave.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Over priced.
Had th smoked salmon. Barely enough to cover the bagel and one would have thought tomatoes and onion were jewels by the amount they gave as accompaniment. My family’s food wasn’t much better

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Christmas Eve tradition to dine in the city.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 19, 2017

My low rating is due to the slow service receiving our meal, a return visit from our server never occurred and we had to request the check twice. Lunch hour means one hour, not 1-1/2 hours.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 16, 2017

I like Bank. The food is very good. We tried pork, steak and salmon and all were very good.
Bart our server was attentive and knowledgeable. One improvement for me would be to a small light on each table. This would bring some intimacy to the table that is lost with the very high ceiling.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 13, 2017

Excellent ambiance with perfect music to start the evening followed by quiet enough to have a conversation. Food and wine was very good with an excellent selection list. Service was attentive, courteous and professional

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 7, 2017

We had a lovely time at Bank. We used a living social coupon which they happily accepted. We enjoyed an appetizer, two fantastic entrees and dessert. Our server Essie was very friendly and helpful. Yes, we will go there again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 6, 2017

I've eaten lunch at Bank many times. While the food is good, the service is consistently slow. The wait staff seems like they are spread thin.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 3, 2017

Excellent food and dining experience! It was very quiet on Sunday night so we could visit.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
30