Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About BANK

This Modern American restaurant is retro glamorous and modernly comfortable as it retains the existing millwork and character of the circa 1940s Farmers & Mechanics Bank building. The lobby is vast and impressive, and is ideal as a dynamic dining area for both formal meetings and casual eating. Modern American Cuisine means more than just dining: BANK Restaurant is about savor, experience, share, relax, & connect - an experience that is entirely in the hands of our guests. Whether you’re relaxing with colleagues over hot stone grilling in our plush lounge, or creating your own cocktail at the communal table with new friends, BANK Restaurant is the perfect spot to reconnect and refresh.

88 South 6th St
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
BANK Restaurant Hours of Operations: Breakfast: Monday-Friday 6:00am-11:00am Saturday-Sunday 7:00am-11:00am Breakfast Buffet: Saturday-Sunday 7am-11:00am Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00am-3:00pm and Saturday -Sunday 12:00pm - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday-Sunday 5:30pm-10:00pm BANK Lounge Hours of Operations: Monday-Thursday 11:00am-11:00pm Friday-Saturday 11:00am-12:00am Sunday 11:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Marquette

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 656-3255

Website:
http://www.bankmpls.com/

Public Transit:
Nicollet Mall Station

Executive Chef:
Fernando Jurado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Meetings, power dining, and intimate social gatherings will fit comfortably in one of our five plush private dining rooms. Our experienced staff will take care of your every need, and you and your guests can relax and enjoy your own custom menu or ordering off the main BANK menu.

BANK Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (13)
Business Meals (11)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Romantic (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Historic (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Cozy (4)
Healthy (4)
Private Room (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Casual (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Authentic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Scenic View (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great Beer (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1095 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

The food and service were wonderful. We had a Groupon, which made the price reasonable; normally it would have cost more.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Consistently great food, really enjoyed bringing friends to dinner here.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Beautiful venue for dining. We had a birthday luncheon with our team. The food was outstanding. Service was poor (slow, failed to check on us during our lunch). We will be back to this beautiful site.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Only worth going there if you can expense it to your employer. Not worth the basic cost of the Groupon for what you get. Will never go back.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Our waiter was not good. Hard to understand, never checked on how our food was and quickly dropped off the bill. Food took a long time to get. There were two of us. Fish tacos and a Walleye sandwich is what was ordered. The Walleye sandwich was WAY over cooked; looked like a burger. I have had better food there before, so I would still recommend. However, we were not impressed with the waiter.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The bank is a beautiful dining experience. The high ceilings, open atmosphere and dark wood accents give an old world feel. Obviously, as an old refurbished bank, they did a great job keeping with the theme. The vault is a space for the wine, the menu reflects liquid assets and the teller line set ups are still in tact. I noticed they also have lots of space for larger events, like a meeting or reception.

The food offers a bit of variety and lots of choices. We started off with the deviled egg quad and a goat cheese, prosciutto flatbread. Both were amazing! Each egg was topped differently with bacon, tomatoes, tuna, and chicken. The flatbread was sweet and flavorful, with a crunch from the crust. We also had salmon salad, truffle fries, sirloin entree and olive oil cake for dessert. They all were amazing, except for the salad, which was a bust. It had way too much dressing, which was very sweet and very little salmon for $22! The server was also helpful and did a special decoration with our dessert plate for the occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food was delicious and our server, Bart, was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

On a Friday night, the place was empty, nice waitress, but the kitchen was very slow. Food was just average, and expensive. Not on my list to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 27, 2017

This is a beautiful old building. The service was impeccable. The food was creative and delicious. The presentation was picture perfect. It was a great surprise as we had not heard much about it previously. We will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This is my 3 Rd try because we like the atmosphere and service so much.
All 3 of my meals were beautifully presented but truly mediocre in flavor and texture. Generally speaking I think meat and vegetables are over cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I am glad we had a Groupon as we did not feel the food was the equivalent of the prices. Getting a bottle of wine with the Groupon meal was very nice. The flank steak was not even as good as what we fixed last week at home with just S/P and on the grill for 8 minutes. Having to tip on the original pricing of the meal ($135) sent the value way down also. We told them at the start of the meal that this was a special occasion and we were not in a hurry. Surprise! The entrees arrived even before we had a chance to finish the shared appetizer...We won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Service was friendly but a little slow. Food was mediocre, but wine was good. Ambience was great! Loved the old bank look. Very clean and mostly quiet but I suppose they are catering to families staying at the Westin. 90's music was nice for my husband and I, but we thought it was an interesting choice for the overall vibe. It was great with the Groupon, and I would not go back and pay full price. There are better restaurants to pay full price at.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We enjoyed our tenth anniversary dinner at Bank, and we found the service to be excellent. Very knowledgeable, friendly and attentive waitstaff.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great food and service. Classy ambience in old bank and nice environment for conversation

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 24, 2017

I was very disappointed at the slowness of the service we received this visit. We had to flash or server down multiple times to get what was needed, and it took an extremely long time - like 15 minutes- just to get the appetizer delivered to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

All 5 of my family ordered the filet mignon. It was good but slightly overcooked. We had the signature bread and deviled eggs for appetizers. Both were good, only wish our server had told us the deviled eggs came as 4, since there were 5 of us. A few of us had the truffle fries and thought they were great. We ordered the molten chocolate cake and espresso mousse for dessert. Both were good, but the "molten" cake was not so molten. Overall it we enjoyed the atmosphere, and our experience was good, but not great. The restaurant was not busy, and our service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Food and service were very good in unique setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Used Groupon and it was a good value, and a nice variety of food from the fixed price menu.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Poor service for what we expected to be a nice lunch date.
Restaurant menu was limited compared to what was listed on the website for the lunch menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was a special treat ! It was my daughter's college graduation celebration. I wanted a private dining for close family and this place was perfect. The ambiance, service, timeliness and attention to detail was superb! Thank you!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The food was very good. I had the shrimp tacos. Serving sizes perfect for lunch. Plenty of seating. I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food, great service and great atmosphere especially for a special occasion. Everything was top notch. Can be a little pricey but you will walk away pleased.

Tags: Tapas, Great Beer, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The decor of this former bank is gorgeous. The sound level is very quiet for a nice change of pace. The food is better than your average hotel restaurant. The service was very good and the waitress was very pleasant. The soup and sandwich was very flavorful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Celebrating a job accomplishment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Sunday Brunch was nothing more than scrambled eggs and your choice of meat with oatmeal or toast. The buffet was significantly lacking in variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We really enjoyed our evening meal at BANK. The food was very good, especially the shrimp appetizer. We had a Groupon with a price fixed menu so our price was very reasonable. The price would have been quite expensive if we had paid regular price for our meals. We ate at 6 PM on a Tuesday so the restaurant was not very busy and therefore not very noisy. That may be different on a busy night. Our waiter was outstanding and made us feel very comfortable and cared for. He even took us around to see areas of interest in the restaurant and suggested that we tour the private rooms and see all the historical photos.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The Bank is a good location for a quite business meeting

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This was my first time to Bank, and it was with a Groupon that helped find this terrific place. The ambience was very good, our server was awesome, and the food was excellent! It won't require a Groupon for me to return, that's for sure!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food was great, servicer, Bart, was awesome. The manager came over and brought us champagne for our anniversary, a very nice touch. Thank you Bank, we had a wonderful anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Server forgot my drink, halfway through meal she said it would be coming, but realized I had flagged another waiter to bring one to me.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I really love being in that old bank lobby and the room and the food is flexible enough for a quiet drink at the bar, a celebration in one of the private rooms, or a lively lunchtime crowd.

The food is always fresh and tasty.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Overall, the food was very good. Our server was new, but her trainer quickly jumped in to support and then take over the table. It seems like the restaurant should be busier on a weekend, it was not busy or crowded at all. A little on the pricey side for a family night out, but the food was tasty.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The servicee and food were amazing! Best salmon I've ever had.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Always have a wonderful lunch at BANK. Great selection and service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Amazing food, beautiful atmosphere and very pleasant staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

First time at BANK - the service was amazing as was the food and ambience. My boyfriend and I were seated in a big booth by the open kitchen, it was cozy and romantic. Our server was very friendly and took care of our every need. The appetizers we chose were the shrimp and deviled eggs, didn't know what to expect from the deviled eggs but wow, each one was topped with something different and the amount of shrimp we received was unexpected. Our meals were wonderful as well. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone and can't wait to go back!!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Used the Groupon deal - seemed like the overall "value" of that deal is over-priced at $130. For a total of $100 - price of groupon + tax + tip, we got an ok bottle of wine, a very good appetizer, two horrible steaks and a fantastic desert (Lava cake). Service was ok, restaurant was empty on a Saturday night. Prices are high for the quality of the fare - no wonder the place is empty on a Saturday night! During the 1.5 hours we were in the restaurant there were 8 occupied tables on our side of the bar. Seven of the 8 were couples using the Groupon deal. The hostess even assumed we were using a Groupon, even though we did not in anyway indicate this on the reservation - that should tell you something about the quality of the restaurant when they rely on the groupon deal for business. Would recommend to a friend with caveats.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Tasty and creative food. Our server was very attentive and friendly. Interesting and historic atmosphere..

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was great as usual. Service was surprisingly sub-par. I just thought they were slow over the lunch hour. Turns out, it runs into the dinner hour. They were not busy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.