About BANK

88 South 6th St
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

This Modern American restaurant is retro glamorous and modernly comfortable as it retains the existing millwork and character of the circa 1940s Farmers & Mechanics Bank building. The lobby is vast and impressive, and is ideal as a dynamic dining area for both formal meetings and casual eating. Modern American Cuisine means more than just dining: BANK Restaurant is about savor, experience, share, relax, & connect - an experience that is entirely in the hands of our guests. Whether you’re relaxing with colleagues over hot stone grilling in our plush lounge, or creating your own cocktail at the communal table with new friends, BANK Restaurant is the perfect spot to reconnect and refresh.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
BANK Restaurant Hours of Operations: Breakfast: Monday-Friday 6:00am-11:00am Saturday-Sunday 7:00am-11:00am Breakfast Buffet: Saturday-Sunday 7am-11:00am Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00am-3:00pm and Saturday -Sunday 12:00pm - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday-Sunday 5:30pm-10:00pm BANK Lounge Hours of Operations: Monday-Thursday 11:00am-11:00pm Friday-Saturday 11:00am-12:00am Sunday 11:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Marquette

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 656-3255

Website:
http://www.bankmpls.com/

Public Transit:
Nicollet Mall Station

Executive Chef:
Fernando Jurado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • BANK, Minneapolis, MN
  • BANK, Minneapolis, MN
  • Salmon Mousse - BANK, Minneapolis, MN
  • Duck Confit Tostadas - BANK, Minneapolis, MN
  • Crab Cakes - BANK, Minneapolis, MN
  • 43 - BANK, Minneapolis, MN
  • Braised Short Rib - BANK, Minneapolis, MN
  • Beet Salad - BANK, Minneapolis, MN
BANK, Minneapolis, MN
BANK, Minneapolis, MN
Salmon Mousse - BANK, Minneapolis, MN
Duck Confit Tostadas - BANK, Minneapolis, MN
Crab Cakes - BANK, Minneapolis, MN
43 - BANK, Minneapolis, MN
Braised Short Rib - BANK, Minneapolis, MN
Beet Salad - BANK, Minneapolis, MN

Private Dining

Meetings, power dining, and intimate social gatherings will fit comfortably in one of our five plush private dining rooms. Our experienced staff will take care of your every need, and you and your guests can relax and enjoy your own custom menu or ordering off the main BANK menu.

BANK Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (11)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Groups (8)
See All
Historic (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Cozy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Romantic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Fun (3)
Private Room (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fireplace (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Casual (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
975 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding service, great French fries, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Outstanding service, great French fries, and a stellar turkey burger. Rates an A+.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It is a great place to eat. However, we ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 30, 2016

It is a great place to eat. However, we had to prod three times before the dessert course was served. Finally, we just requested it in a to go container.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Business lunch staple, great for meals w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Business lunch staple, great for meals with coworkers and clients.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Went here because it was one of the few ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Went here because it was one of the few places serving their standard menu on Thanksgiving. Very satisfied with the experience

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good was bland and meat was dry, overcoo ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Good was bland and meat was dry, overcooked. Dessert cake was dry and hard. Server accommodated us well by comping the two entrees. Wish we would have gone another place for thanksgiving dinner. Great cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

What a wonderful way to celebrate! Such ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

What a wonderful way to celebrate! Such a cool atmosphere without the pretentious staff one would expect in it. Our waiter, Bart, was AMAZING! Put up with all our shenanigans and even had a few tricks up his sleeve.

The drinks and food were fantastic. Perfectly timed to give us time to talk and not just shoving food in our mouths.

Thank you for a wonderful time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the Bank for ease of reservation ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We love the Bank for ease of reservations for large business group lunches. They always have the tables set, even with waters already poured.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Private Room, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy restaurant with beautiful archite ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Classy restaurant with beautiful architecture which adds to the ambiance. Food, wine and service are above average.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always love BANK. Food and service were ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Always love BANK. Food and service were great as usual! I bring business groups here all the time, the space is so cool - people want to come back, you will too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was in town for a conference and made ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

I was in town for a conference and made same day reservations online. When we arrived the dining room was closed for a special event so we were seated in a side room and were treated royally. It was quiet in our room and the food and drinks were done to perfection. It was pricey but it was nice.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Beautiful interior, but food was mediocr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Beautiful interior, but food was mediocre and way over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Horrible service! Will never go back! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Horrible service! Will never go back! We had breakfast. Server was abrupt and hurried. My omelet came out wrong twice. Hostess was aloof and not very customer oriented. I recommend that you bring in a customer service training team. Very disappointed to receive such poor service from an upscale hotel chain like the Westin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The decor is modern set in an old bank b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The decor is modern set in an old bank building. Service was attentive with a professional flare.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had to find our waiter to order and w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had to find our waiter to order and we were approached by someone looking for money from the street during our meal. Disappointing all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

The Bank was amazing. We were a part of ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The Bank was amazing. We were a part of five celebrating a very special occasion. They seated us immediately and offered drink service. The menu was outstanding! Two of us are vegetarian and we chose the vegetarian Wellington which was melt in your mouth good! Two had steaks that also received rave reviews and one had the pressed chicken which she loved. A couple could still manage dessert even though portions were wonderfully large and the cheesecake was a huge hit. Could not have found a more delicious, memorable dinner! Service was excellent and the ambiance beautiful. Really wonderful restaurant!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent food. This was the firs ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always excellent food. This was the first time I had been at BANK in a few months. The last time I went I was a little disappointed. I think they lost their head chef and it seemed to decline slightly. This time it was really outstanding . The food has come back and maybe even exceeded what it had been for a while. I am so happy to see this one of the best places to eat downtown Minneapolis again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BANK is a great place. I take out-of-tow ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

BANK is a great place. I take out-of-town guests here all the time. The food is excellent, and the character of the place is great. I love the vault and all the old timey BANK stuff. We were there on a Saturday night, and it was pretty empty which kind of worries me. But the food is excellent. I want to check out the Private Dining too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful, delicious meal. good recomme ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Wonderful, delicious meal. good recommendations from waiter. clean, cool, dark. sublime.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very attentive service from the very mom ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very attentive service from the very moment we arrived. With a group of 7 diners, we were lucky enough to have our own reserved room. We were able to converse easily without straining to hear what others were saying -- very quiet. Chairs were uber comfortable. Felt like we were in my dining room at home.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

this restaurant has a lot of potential b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 19, 2016

this restaurant has a lot of potential but it was a big let down. The food was WAY overpriced and lacked any real flavor or seasoning. There is a great design to the place with art-deco features and the view of the kitchen, and cozy booths. We sat in a booth with a view of the kitchen and all we saw was the cooks playing on their phones. We were there on a Saturday night and the place was so dead. I think we were the only diners there. A few people at the bar but that's it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

A well kept secret in downtown Minneapol ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 13, 2016

A well kept secret in downtown Minneapolis. And the best part for those of us driving downtown......you can used the valet for only $8, about 1/3 of the price of a daytime downtown ramp.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

No restaurant sign

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 3, 2016

We were looking for a 'Bank' sign and therefore couldn't find the restaurant at first. Once we found it, we enjoyed our experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The BANK has everything one expects in a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2016

The BANK has everything one expects in a top notch restaurant: ambiance, a creative menu, and a superior wait staff that is knowledgeable about both the menu and the wine pairings.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graduation Party Success

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2016

The BANK was excellent. We had a large group of 11 that they had a side room all ready for us. It was a very special day as both my children were graduating college. The room was quiet and the food and drinks were excellent. We all had a chance to have wonderful conversation enjoying time as a family. Definitely the place to go for a small group gathering. Service was excellent as well. Everyone was very pleasant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was cold. Long wait lines for the buffet. Selection of buffet options were limited. Definitely not worth the $40/per person cost. I will not go to the restaurant again and would never recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Everything was great! The historic buil ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Everything was great! The historic building is so interesting. It is a beautiful restaurant. Food was excellent as was the service. I will definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat and have a business dinner

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2016

We were looking for good food and a place to discuss business. BANK met our needs and more. It was so beautiful and had a low noise level.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 3, 2016

Everything was very good but very expensive which is typical for a hotel restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A Great Anniversary

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We got married at the Westin a year ago and had our wedding brunch hosted at BANK. It was fantastic then and our anniversary dinner last weekend was more of the same. The ambiance and level of service, coupled with the first-rate food, makes BANK a definite go-to for anything from a casual brunch or dinner to a full-blown special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Location

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 27, 2016

Went there for a business lunch. Food was good - loved the beautiful interior

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Sunday brunch

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 24, 2016

We met some family & new friends at the Bank for brunch on a Sunday morning. I had heard that is was awesome. We all decided to have the buffet since I had heard that it was good. Our waiter was great at bringing drinks, etc., but didn't tell us that we could get an omelet cooked on site until we had all dished up. Our food was not hot at all, and barely warm. I was unhappy with that, but did not want to throw out a whole plate of food.

The ambiance is great, but I would not recommend it for brunch. There are other places that are better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicous but the food arrived 40 minutes late!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 11, 2016

Our organization has hosted many dinners in the private rooms in the evening and have always been impressed with the service and food.

However, on Monday, the service was very poor and the food arrived 40 minutes late! It was a business lunch and everyone complained about the service. I know the waiter was always busy so feel you may have been short staffed that day? It was not the excellent service we have come to expect at the BANK.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

Very nice. Great menu selection

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Very nice. Great menu selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed our dining experience. When w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2016

I enjoyed our dining experience. When we arrived the music level was so loud it was hard to hear across the table but at the request to our server, he offered to lower it enough we could hear. I appreciate the "energy" level but appreciate more the ability to hear my guest across the table. Thanks for the volume adjustment! We enjoyed the great meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My Hangar steak was a bit tough and the ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2016

My Hangar steak was a bit tough and the chicken tortilla soup is mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

We shared a great meal and the old bank ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We shared a great meal and the old bank building is lovely. Relatively loud room, but no complaints from us. Great bar, crab bisque, and scallops with risotto. Thank you, BANK!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Mediocre experience but cool building!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Our service was slow and the food was so-so for the price. It had a high price tag for being the hotel restaurant. They cannot accommodate anyone who doesn't drink alcohol with the exception of soda's but they do promote local breweries. I wouldn't pay this price again for what we experienced.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Waiter was not so good. Felt rushed, h ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 2, 2016

Waiter was not so good. Felt rushed, had to ask what the soup of the day was.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Great lunch venue

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2016

I consistently meet clients/friends at Bank for lunch...their lunch menu is diverse and the food delicious, at good value. Dinnertime can be fairly empty, but the lunch crowd is fun and vibrant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fun First Impression

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 4, 2016

We brought a group of new company interns to the B.A.N.K. for their first lunch working with us. For some, this was their first dining experience in downtown Minneapolis. They all felt the atmosphere was fun and that they would return on their own to try other food. The way the french fries are presented with the burgers is fun and helps them remain warm and not get soggy. The person who had the turkey burger raved about the wonderful seasonings that had been used to flavor the meat. It was a great experience for these new, working adults.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.