Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 12 times today
Special offers available. See details

Balzem

4.6
229 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mediterranean
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Good for a Date
  • Fun
Balzem is where you begin a tour of the northern Mediterranean coastline. From the celebrated culinary culture of Provence in Southern France to some of Italy's most elegant and refined cuisines such as in Campania, and reaching all the way to the light and carrying flavors of the Aegean coastline. Complete your journey with a selection of wine or beer from these cultural regions and other celebrated vineyards around the globe.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mediterranean, Wine Bar, Tapas / Small Plates
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -5:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - Closing
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(646) 837-7033
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Catering available
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Spring
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street parking and paid parking lots
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
6 train Spring Street stop within 2 blocks
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Music, ambiance
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Please call to discuss
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun - Mon 5:00PM - 11:00PM
Tue - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

What 229 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Excellent wine served at happy hour and the mushroom truffle flatbread was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Loved it here! Went for a girls' night book club. One of the few neighborhood spots that takes reservations, which is amazing! Cozy inside and really nice with the front windows open too. Its a cute neighborhood so you feel like you are part of the lively scene. Wonderful service with attentive staff and DELICIOUS menu! Reasonably priced too. This is one of my new favorites!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

We loved it.. It was a nice experience, the service was optimum and caring.. We loved the food; the bread was amazing. I loved the chicken and we had Tiramisu and couple of wines. Overall, I would love to go back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The food at Balzem is terrific!! Cozy ambience and great service. We’ll definitely be back for another great dinner experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Great food and ambiance. Server was nice but not very attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

The food and ambiance was excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Balzem is a fun place for a late dinner. We made a reservation for 10pm and were given a good table in the middle of the room. Draft beers hit the spot as did the selections we made from the menu. Highly recommend the mushroom and prosciutto flatbread, the meatballs, capresse and the babaganoosh. We also had a lovely and fresh salad with amazing salad dressing. Service is warm and attentive. A great place!
It is pretty noisy when full, which it must be much of the time, so don’t go expecting quiet conversation!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Really great menu, and the perfect date night spot. Highly recommend the phyllo wraps, and mushroom truffle pizza, fantastic. Nice wine list as well, decent all around pricing for NYC. Would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Amazing food and people. Loved it all! Will be back soon

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Amazing service! Can’t wait to go back again!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Had a dinner with a friend. We shared the Mushroom flatbread which was basically pizza but it was tasty. The ceviche which was small and just ok and the prosciutto wrapped cheese. Then my friend had the fish fillet which was bland , like you couldn't even taste salt or pepper on it and I had the shrimp which was also pretty bland. We paid over $70 a person with just one drink and no dessert which was not worth it

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Italiani a New York abbiamo scoperto questo posto grazie a open table. Abbiamo preso due antipasti e un piatto a testa, vino rosso e abbiamo speso 190 dollari. Non siamo rimasti contenti della scelta perché abbiamo preso un vino rosso cabernet che ha lasciato un fondo polveroso nel bicchiere. Abbiamo fatto notare questa cosa ai camerieri che ci hanno risposto che il fenomeno si è verificato sempre per tutte le bottiglie aperte. Abbiamo fatto presente che il fenomeno non è normale e che il vino così non è bevibile. Nessun accorgimento è stato preso nei nostri confronti.
Il servizio in generale non ci è piaciuto perché non cambiano le posate e sono frettolosi. Una persona non aveva ancora finito il pasto e il piatto le è stato comunque portato via. Il locale era quasi vuoto ... forse avevano fretta di chiudere.
Segnalo che il cibo è buono e ben cucinato, quindi è un peccato che tutto sia rovinato dal servizio.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

lost count of the number of visits, love this place. Consistently great food & wine, fun atmosphere, friendly staff & beautiful decor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

My favorite tapas restaurant with great wine and ambiance! Highly recommend it

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

hip and fun, super-friendly and welcoming. Though small, and packed, the service is calm and patient. The wait staff is warm and helpful. Waiter brought tastes of 3 different wines with graciousness, and seemed genuinely pleased when we found the right one. Food is delicious---well prepared and authentic. Consistent with the atmosphere and ethos, the food is simple and high-quality, not fussy or overwrought--and delicious. The crowd is great to look at, yet thoroughly interested in who they were with, not in being seen. Great atmosphere and fun evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Loved our meal at Balzem! The food was excellent, and the service was equally great! I will definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

I went to Balzem for an evening out with family. All of the employees were extremely friendly, and the food was incredible. The servings were generous of incredibly delicious food. I also enjoyed my special cocktail!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The lamb was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Caught up with an old friend here and the setting was ideal: warm, friendly, easy-going/no stress. The service was warm and attentive and the food was fresh and delicious. We can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The food is very flavorful, delicious, exquisite. There's a nice, cozy ambiance to the restaurant. The music is very good. We would definitely return and recommend to others.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Great but different Mediterranean dishes. Exceptional soups, salads and lamb. This is a great value for a quality meal in a cool and fun atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Awsome, very nice vibe, fast courteous service, menu and specials explained up front, drink order taken immediately and the food was great! The pricing and value excellent. I will definitely go again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Balzem is a great SoHo lunch place if you want something a little bit different. Reasonably priced for the area and EXCELLENT food. Generally a pretty quiet and relaxed atmosphere compared to other restaurants in the area. Great salads, great fries. My only complaint was the service; they seemed to be trying to do the entire restaurant and bar with one server, so things like water refills and getting a check took awhile. But should definitely be on your SoHo list for business or pleasure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Love the atmosphere. Great zucchini pancakes and reasonably priced HH wines ($7) by the glass.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Wonderful experience. The service is great and the food was super delicious. Definitely recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Picked this restaurant just hours before going into the neighborhood for an event. What a pleasant experience. The tables are closely spaced but makes for a lively atmosphere and intimate dining. The chicken orzo soup was delicious! Wish I lived nearby because I would definitely be taking that home often. Followed by brochette of varying meats, favorite being the rib eye. Nice dipping sauces and warm flatbread to wrap it all up in.
The waiter was very attentive and when we told him we had a time constraint he took extra care in making sure we got out in time and had everything we needed.
Such a nice spot. We left completely satisfied.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Great food and service! I recommend the artichoke dip and phyllo rolls.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

It was good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2018

What a wonderful place. Gets super crowded and the tables are tiny, but you can overlook that after a few appies, a glass of wine and some conversation.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 19, 2018

We were asked to leave after 1.5 hours because they had another reservation for the table. Really tacky.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

Delicious menu. Something for everyone. One of my favorite go-to spots in Nolita. I come once per month!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Food was pretty good - However I don’t think it was worth the amount paid for.
The experience was sub par:
1. We had 3-4 different waiters - several times each would ask the same question as the one before making it quite annoying.
2. Took a while for us to get our food and when we did, our main course was brought out before our appetizers
3. The door takes a while to shut and it was freezing with all the cold air blowing in.

The atmosphere was pretty cool - good music and nice vibes.

Probably wouldn’t go back - thought it was too expensive for the value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 1, 2018

Loved our server!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Excellent service and great meal in a fun atmosphere

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Maybe it was because it was New Year's Eve but my experience crossed it off my list of restaurants to return to :/

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Food was amazing! A bit pricy but the food, service and atmosphere make up for it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 26, 2017

This is the place to come when you’re craving Itlain cuisine that’s not a carb explosion. Serving staff is friendly, welcoming, and attentive. I loved the meat ball dish.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 17, 2017

We had a group of 6 people for dinner. The appetizers were amazing - hummous and artichoke dip! The Lamb dishes were excellent and my daughter said her burger was the best she'd ever had.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Moderately priced tapas and decent happy hour (limited to certain wines and apps) The food was good except the Creme Brulee (terrible) Our waitress and service was wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Awesome place, great food, perfect service
Loved the octopus and the tiramisu

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6