Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Balzem

Balzem is where you begin a tour of the northern Mediterranean coastline. From the celebrated culinary culture of Provence in Southern France to some of Italy's most elegant and refined cuisines such as in Campania, and reaching all the way to the light and carrying flavors of the Aegean coastline. Complete your journey with a selection of wine or beer from these cultural regions and other celebrated vineyards around the globe.

202 Mott Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Wine Bar, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -5:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - Closing

Cross Street:
Spring

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(646) 837-7033

Website:
http://www.balzem.com/

Entertainment:
Music, ambiance

Catering:
Catering available

Parking Details:
Street parking and paid parking lots

Public Transit:
6 train Spring Street stop within 2 blocks

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call to discuss

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Tue - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Balzem Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
See All
Romantic (5)
Tapas (5)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Authentic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort by
S
183 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (London)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing little spot with delicious food, great for sharing and wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

I loved the ambience of the place, but my friend got sick after eating the food. I feel very bad :(

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2017

The experience was definitely interesting. At first we were told to sit at the bar, but we had made a reservation and after clarifying that a couple times we got seated at a table. MAKE A RESERVATION. There were a few parties ahead of us that got turned away because they were booked for the night.
The restaurant is small, so get ready to cozy up to your neighbors, however, it is New York, so that's expected. After we were seating, our waiter came over and took drink orders, which came out pretty quick, but our food didn't come out for hour after ordering and we had to push back our plans for after dinner. They gave one of our appetizers to another table (it was an accident, but the table started eating it before we could have it brought back to our table). Once we did get our food, it made up for everything. The truffle mac-n-cheese is really good, but let it sit for a few minutes to let the cheese thicken up a bit, and the artichoke dip is beyond wonderful. The lamb chops weren't for me, but my boyfriend ate them within seconds, and the potato au gratin was amazing. The shrimp casserole was a little too liquidy but definitely satisfying.
Overall it was a good visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Great spot for a date. Absolutely enjoyed my time there. Will be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Great atmosphere and good food. Service wasn't great.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 13, 2017

The service was good and the truffle flatbread was very good. Remainder of the several apps we ordered were mediocre at best.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The food was good, not great. Overall experience was good. Waitress was pleasant but seemed inexperienced. Inside temperature was very cold and apparently we were the only ones not happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2017

loved the cute atmosphere and food. Service was really nice - a bit hit or miss, but fine. Food and wine were great. WOuld totally recommend

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Friendly service, eccletic menu, good value, pub by ambience, a little tight on seating and a little noisy. Good location. Would recommend

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Excellent service! Prices were very good!

The meAt balls were amazing. And the mushroom truffle oil flat bread is a must! Do not sit there, and not get it!!

We enjoyed the seared tuna and the baba gnouch as well!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

My boyfriend took here for my birthday and we had such a great time. Our waitress was so kind and took great care of us. The happy hour is a great find. $6 for wines and hummus. We had so much fun. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Balzem is a gem of a restaurant and one of my go-to’s when I have friends & family visiting. The food is really great (highlights are the mushroom/truffle oil flatbread, pesto pasta, hummus, & the truffle Mac & cheese!!) and the ambiance is relaxed and cool vibe. I also like the happy hour wines. It’s a great place to hang out and catch up over mezzes + drinks for hours; one of my favorites in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Stumbled across this place with a girlfriend. We shared for small plates and enjoyed rose by the glass. Great food, great service, great atmosphere.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

always good service and food. reliable, and the small plates are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I went to Balzem for the first time to have dinner with a friend. The ambiance of the restaurant is amazing, situated in a great neighborhood with a fun atmosphere. The food and wine was all amazing - would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a delicious spot in NoLita! I particularly loved the mushroom/truffle oil flatbread and the hummus - both were superb!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The host was very rude and in a hurry. Food was good though.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 21, 2017

This was my second visit to Balzem. The food was great, we had the babaganoush, and octopus for appetizers and the Brochette and Shrimp Carnival for entrees. My only complaint is that our server was sort of doubling as the host and took a long time to get around to us, but we just flagged and started ordering from a much more responsive server.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Tapas
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We had to wait 15 mins for our reservation. One dish was incorrect and another was forgotten

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

I was very pleasantly surprised with Balzem - its a great find! Food was fresh and delicious and the service was outstanding - very attentive and friendly. My friend and I each had a glass of wine, some appetizers (spicy feta dip and a burrata plate) and moules frites and soft shelled crabs. All completely delicious. Will definitely return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The food and the service were excellent!
We'll go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great, cozy atmosphere especially if you get seated near the windows. Awesome wine list! Went for brunch but the food was a bit disappointing. Would definitely go again for dinner though.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Delish with a cute view! Balzem had great food at great prices and an even better atmosphere!

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Busy but cozy place. The Octopus and Seared Tuna were cooked perfectly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

I came here with a group of colleagues for lunch. The food was good and it probably would have been great if had not to wait for almost an hour for our main course. We ate as quickly as we could and were not able to enjoy our meal as we had to go back to work.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere. Even though the service wasn't great, I'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Cute local bar with nice food. It has a nice indoor and outdoor area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Wonderful as always. Love this place for a glass of wine and MANY mezze!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Happy hour menu was very limited - only 3 small appetizer dish were available. Wine was fine but not many choices - only red, white wine and some beers. Ambiance was great and I like Nolita.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The restaurant had a nice vibe and the wait staff was pleasant. We ordered tapas. Most dishes were good including the ceviche and zucchini pancakes, however the octopus was very chewy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Cool place. I made a reservation for a big group they were super accommodating. There were a few hiccups here and there but overall everyone had a wonderful time and enjoyed the food.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Service was fast, the plasent vibes, nice chill spot.

Tags: Fun, Tapas, Good for a Date, Cozy, Happy Hour, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We were a large group and although we made a reservation, ended up at a table by the door which was both noisy and a bit drafty with all the comings and going. Food is totally delicious though and staff were lovely.

Tags: Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Lovely bartenders know their wine. Delicious food. Super cute and cozy. Open front with a table or two outside. Highly recommend!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Not overly memorable but ok for a quieter table serving good wine than the other rowdy places in the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Balzem was an excellent restaurant for the food and atmosphere. The lunch value was great. The cooking time was very long, however... I ordered the Quinoa Salad and Chicken Orzo soup. My friend had the burger. I would definitely come back here!

Tags: Healthy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Everything was on point! The food ...delish!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Made a last minute reservation because it was close to an event we were attending nearby and I am so happy to have found this gem!! Absolutely loved everything about it and the service was outstanding. Very friendly, inviting, and quick service. We were in town for 5 day exploring SoHo and surrounding areas with emphasis on food and wine exploration. Found Balzem on our last light and wish it had been sooner because I would have definitely gone back again!! Can't wait to be back in NYC again to go eat here!! Ambiance was awesome, very nice wine list, and the food was delicious!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I really liked it. It was a group of 10. They called me to confirm my reservation and everything was ready on time. The food was tasty however the portions a little small. Mimosas were very good and at a great price. The service was excellent, I guess our server was called Mika and he was super friendly and attentive. We enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Good food. Everything was delicious. Excellent salad, soup and spreads.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great ambiance and local eatery to have tapas, a glass of wine, and catch up with friends. We ran a little late for our reservation but we called and they kindly saved and kept our table for us until we got there for dinner. We got there and we're seated immediately for a nice evening.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.