HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 22 times today
Special offers available. See details

Balzem

4.5
205 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mediterranean
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem (10)
  • Cozy (9)
  • Tapas (7)
Balzem is where you begin a tour of the northern Mediterranean coastline. From the celebrated culinary culture of Provence in Southern France to some of Italy's most elegant and refined cuisines such as in Campania, and reaching all the way to the light and carrying flavors of the Aegean coastline. Complete your journey with a selection of wine or beer from these cultural regions and other celebrated vineyards around the globe.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mediterranean, Wine Bar, Tapas / Small Plates
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -5:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - Closing
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(646) 837-7033
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Catering available
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Spring
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street parking and paid parking lots
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
6 train Spring Street stop within 2 blocks
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Music, ambiance
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Please call to discuss
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun - Mon 5:00PM - 11:00PM
Tue - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

What 205 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5  based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.3
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Sofull (New York Area)
5.0  Dined 2 days ago

Love the atmosphere. Great zucchini pancakes and reasonably priced HH wines ($7) by the glass.

Report
Helpful
vipgoodeating (New York Area)
4.0  Dined 7 days ago

Picked this restaurant just hours before going into the neighborhood for an event. What a pleasant experience. The tables are closely spaced but makes for a lively atmosphere and intimate dining. The chicken orzo soup was delicious! Wish I lived nearby because I would definitely be taking that home often. Followed by brochette of varying meats, favorite being the rib eye. Nice dipping sauces and warm flatbread to wrap it all up in.
The waiter was very attentive and when we told him we had a time constraint he took extra care in making sure we got out in time and had everything we needed.
Such a nice spot. We left completely satisfied.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

Great food and service! I recommend the artichoke dip and phyllo rolls.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

It was good

Report
Helpful
Sofull (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on January 25, 2018

What a wonderful place. Gets super crowded and the tables are tiny, but you can overlook that after a few appies, a glass of wine and some conversation.

Report
Helpful
vipPaul (New York Area)
1.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

We were asked to leave after 1.5 hours because they had another reservation for the table. Really tacky.

Report
Helpful
Regina (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on January 14, 2018

Delicious menu. Something for everyone. One of my favorite go-to spots in Nolita. I come once per month!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
2.0  Dined on January 6, 2018

Food was pretty good - However I don’t think it was worth the amount paid for.
The experience was sub par:
1. We had 3-4 different waiters - several times each would ask the same question as the one before making it quite annoying.
2. Took a while for us to get our food and when we did, our main course was brought out before our appetizers
3. The door takes a while to shut and it was freezing with all the cold air blowing in.

The atmosphere was pretty cool - good music and nice vibes.

Probably wouldn’t go back - thought it was too expensive for the value.

Report
Helpful
vipOscarbar (Indiana)
5.0  Dined on January 1, 2018

Loved our server!

Report
Helpful
vipwingfwd (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Excellent service and great meal in a fun atmosphere

Report
Helpful
SamanthaU (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Maybe it was because it was New Year's Eve but my experience crossed it off my list of restaurants to return to :/

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Food was amazing! A bit pricy but the food, service and atmosphere make up for it.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
4.0  Dined on December 26, 2017

This is the place to come when you’re craving Itlain cuisine that’s not a carb explosion. Serving staff is friendly, welcoming, and attentive. I loved the meat ball dish.

Report
Helpful
HVHS (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on December 17, 2017

We had a group of 6 people for dinner. The appetizers were amazing - hummous and artichoke dip! The Lamb dishes were excellent and my daughter said her burger was the best she'd ever had.

Report
Helpful
vipeatingdownunder (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on December 16, 2017

Moderately priced tapas and decent happy hour (limited to certain wines and apps) The food was good except the Creme Brulee (terrible) Our waitress and service was wonderful!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on December 16, 2017

Awesome place, great food, perfect service
Loved the octopus and the tiramisu

Report
Helpful
vipDelicious (Vancouver)
2.0  Dined on December 13, 2017

The food was not great and was way overpriced. Poor service. Awkward seating. Would not recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
Ziza (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on December 9, 2017

Balzem is truly a neiborhood gem with a cozy ambiance and authentic and delicious Mediterranean fare! The staff was incredibly warm, and my friend and I comfortably lingered over brunch without any pressure. One of my favorites!

Report
Helpful
vipHolly (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on December 1, 2017

The chicken liver mousse and fried chicken starters were amazing! We also did the fried deviled eggs - compared to the other starters, this was less exciting and I would skip next time. We all did the Pig Out for our main. The spicy peanut noodles...so good. We also did broccoli and potatoes for sides. The broccoli was possibly the best I've ever had. The potatoes were also delish, but that broccoli.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on November 27, 2017

This was our 4th visit within the past 6 months and we had another great meal at Balzem in a warm, inviting ambiance. Loved the octopus , branzini ceviche and seared tuna appetizers and the lamb and chicken grilled brochette main courses were also excellent. The Happy Hour drink specials extend to 7 PM. Friendly competent service.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11