Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Balzem

Balzem is where you begin a tour of the northern Mediterranean coastline. From the celebrated culinary culture of Provence in Southern France to some of Italy's most elegant and refined cuisines such as in Campania, and reaching all the way to the light and carrying flavors of the Aegean coastline. Complete your journey with a selection of wine or beer from these cultural regions and other celebrated vineyards around the globe.

202 Mott Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Wine Bar, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -5:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - Closing

Cross Street:
Spring

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(646) 837-7033

Website:
http://www.balzem.com/

Entertainment:
Music, ambiance

Catering:
Catering available

Parking Details:
Street parking and paid parking lots

Public Transit:
6 train Spring Street stop within 2 blocks

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call to discuss

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Tue - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Balzem Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (14)
Casual (14)
Tapas (12)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Cozy (8)
Romantic (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (3)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Scenic View (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

This was my second visit to Balzem. The food was great, we had the babaganoush, and octopus for appetizers and the Brochette and Shrimp Carnival for entrees. My only complaint is that our server was sort of doubling as the host and took a long time to get around to us, but we just flagged and started ordering from a much more responsive server.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We had to wait 15 mins for our reservation. One dish was incorrect and another was forgotten

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

I was very pleasantly surprised with Balzem - its a great find! Food was fresh and delicious and the service was outstanding - very attentive and friendly. My friend and I each had a glass of wine, some appetizers (spicy feta dip and a burrata plate) and moules frites and soft shelled crabs. All completely delicious. Will definitely return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The food and the service were excellent!
We'll go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great, cozy atmosphere especially if you get seated near the windows. Awesome wine list! Went for brunch but the food was a bit disappointing. Would definitely go again for dinner though.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Delish with a cute view! Balzem had great food at great prices and an even better atmosphere!

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Busy but cozy place. The Octopus and Seared Tuna were cooked perfectly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

I came here with a group of colleagues for lunch. The food was good and it probably would have been great if had not to wait for almost an hour for our main course. We ate as quickly as we could and were not able to enjoy our meal as we had to go back to work.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere. Even though the service wasn't great, I'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Cute local bar with nice food. It has a nice indoor and outdoor area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Wonderful as always. Love this place for a glass of wine and MANY mezze!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Happy hour menu was very limited - only 3 small appetizer dish were available. Wine was fine but not many choices - only red, white wine and some beers. Ambiance was great and I like Nolita.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The restaurant had a nice vibe and the wait staff was pleasant. We ordered tapas. Most dishes were good including the ceviche and zucchini pancakes, however the octopus was very chewy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Cool place. I made a reservation for a big group they were super accommodating. There were a few hiccups here and there but overall everyone had a wonderful time and enjoyed the food.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Service was fast, the plasent vibes, nice chill spot.

Tags: Fun, Tapas, Good for a Date, Cozy, Happy Hour, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We were a large group and although we made a reservation, ended up at a table by the door which was both noisy and a bit drafty with all the comings and going. Food is totally delicious though and staff were lovely.

Tags: Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Lovely bartenders know their wine. Delicious food. Super cute and cozy. Open front with a table or two outside. Highly recommend!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Not overly memorable but ok for a quieter table serving good wine than the other rowdy places in the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Balzem was an excellent restaurant for the food and atmosphere. The lunch value was great. The cooking time was very long, however... I ordered the Quinoa Salad and Chicken Orzo soup. My friend had the burger. I would definitely come back here!

Tags: Healthy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Everything was on point! The food ...delish!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Made a last minute reservation because it was close to an event we were attending nearby and I am so happy to have found this gem!! Absolutely loved everything about it and the service was outstanding. Very friendly, inviting, and quick service. We were in town for 5 day exploring SoHo and surrounding areas with emphasis on food and wine exploration. Found Balzem on our last light and wish it had been sooner because I would have definitely gone back again!! Can't wait to be back in NYC again to go eat here!! Ambiance was awesome, very nice wine list, and the food was delicious!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I really liked it. It was a group of 10. They called me to confirm my reservation and everything was ready on time. The food was tasty however the portions a little small. Mimosas were very good and at a great price. The service was excellent, I guess our server was called Mika and he was super friendly and attentive. We enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Good food. Everything was delicious. Excellent salad, soup and spreads.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great ambiance and local eatery to have tapas, a glass of wine, and catch up with friends. We ran a little late for our reservation but we called and they kindly saved and kept our table for us until we got there for dinner. We got there and we're seated immediately for a nice evening.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great food- love the tapas options and wine selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was good - not amazing, but good for it's price point. There wasn't a dish I disliked. My overall issue was that the service was very slow - it took about 30 minutes to get our drinks and the bar wasn't even crowded (and they only offered 4 cocktails so it shouldn't have taken that long). But the staff was super nice and friendly - so overall not bad.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great place! Highly recommend it, for a dinner between friends or a date.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Fabulous food, will be on the pricey side, but really enjoyed the entire experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great service and service. Thank you for making a family dinner fit for all ages!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We got the mezze platter which was great for two to share and a nice light dinner. Had a lovely light red wine. Super nice spot with friendly service and a nice Turkish cafe ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great for a big group! Staff was super accommodating. We ended up being there for a few hours and never felt rushed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Excellent Turkish and Mediterranean food. Order the Manti ( Turkish meat dumplings in yogurt sauce). Service was friendly and attentive. The place is rustic and cozy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Turkish dumplings were delicious. The place was quite cute and intimate.

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great ambiance and food. Loved the wine list and waiter was very intelligent will all the items.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Super cute spot! Service was a bit slow, but the food was great! We did a few tapas, a flat bread and some entrees to share. Great portions and selections!

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We are looking forward to going back to Balzem. We love the atmosphere and service was excellent! The food was very good as we ordered a bunch of mezze and couldn't finish it all.

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Meeting a friend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Brunch portions were a little on the small side (I had to order a side), but I love this local gem.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Food was delicious - get the zucchini pancakes! Wine list was fair.

Service was so slow and almost nonexistent - I didn't mind as much because I was having dinner with a friend I hadn't seen in a while but normally I would have been frustrated.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great service. Food is on the expensive side but that's expected in the city.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.