Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Balzem

Balzem is where you begin a tour of the northern Mediterranean coastline. From the celebrated culinary culture of Provence in Southern France to some of Italy's most elegant and refined cuisines such as in Campania, and reaching all the way to the light and carrying flavors of the Aegean coastline. Complete your journey with a selection of wine or beer from these cultural regions and other celebrated vineyards around the globe.

202 Mott Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Wine Bar, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -5:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - Closing

Cross Street:
Spring

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(646) 837-7033

Website:
http://www.balzem.com/

Entertainment:
Music, ambiance

Catering:
Catering available

Parking Details:
Street parking and paid parking lots

Public Transit:
6 train Spring Street stop within 2 blocks

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call to discuss

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Tue - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Balzem Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (14)
Cozy (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
See All
Romantic (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Special Occasion (6)
Casual (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Business Meals (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We got the mezze platter which was great for two to share and a nice light dinner. Had a lovely light red wine. Super nice spot with friendly service and a nice Turkish cafe ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great for a big group! Staff was super accommodating. We ended up being there for a few hours and never felt rushed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Excellent Turkish and Mediterranean food. Order the Manti ( Turkish meat dumplings in yogurt sauce). Service was friendly and attentive. The place is rustic and cozy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Turkish dumplings were delicious. The place was quite cute and intimate.

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great ambiance and food. Loved the wine list and waiter was very intelligent will all the items.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Super cute spot! Service was a bit slow, but the food was great! We did a few tapas, a flat bread and some entrees to share. Great portions and selections!

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We are looking forward to going back to Balzem. We love the atmosphere and service was excellent! The food was very good as we ordered a bunch of mezze and couldn't finish it all.

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Meeting a friend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Brunch portions were a little on the small side (I had to order a side), but I love this local gem.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was delicious - get the zucchini pancakes! Wine list was fair.

Service was so slow and almost nonexistent - I didn't mind as much because I was having dinner with a friend I hadn't seen in a while but normally I would have been frustrated.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great service. Food is on the expensive side but that's expected in the city.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great place, will definitely be back! I made a last minute reservation via open table. Good crowd but the noise level wasn't to the point where you'd have trouble hearing the conversation at your own table. I had taken my mom while she was visiting for a birthday brunch. We had the avocado toast and the spinach and egg skillet - amazing! Our server was just fabulous as well - attentive but didn't hover. When she asked if we wanted dessert, we ordered the creme brulee and she brought it out with a little candle which was just perfect. All around a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This is, by far, the best place in the city. The staff are incredibly accommodating and friendly, the food is absolutely exquisite and the atmosphere/location makes you feel alive. I'll literally eat here forever.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Overall the food was good and we were seated promptly after we showed up a little early for our reservation. My friend and I were dining and having great conversation and it seemed like the server/hostess kept rushing us throughout the dinner. They kept wanting to clear out plates and asking if we were done when there was clearly still food left on them. I understand the need to do that if there was a huge line out of the door, but that certainly wasn't the case. The food was good but it wasn't so memorable that it outweighed the "rushed" service we received. Considering that there are numerous restaurants in the city, I most likely won't be coming back and will try other ones where I can carry on a conversation at dinner and enjoy the company that I am with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Romantic, cozy spot...we enjoyed the brochettes for two (this is plenty of food for two people ) and the melon salad very much. The servers are very attentive and accommodating. We were in the area to see a show at the Bowery Ballroom and Balzem was perfect spot to grab small plates beforehand. Not overly expensive either so all around, i would absolutely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

amazing, as always. I take all my clients here when they come to town and they're endlessly impressed.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Tapas, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food was great as always, as were the Pinot Noirs that waitress helped us pick out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great service, food, ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Becoming one of my go to spots for dinner with friends. Everything is so good! Love that they have a lot of app options for sharing, but great mains as well. Space is a little bit cramped, but it's cozy and I like that it makes it possible to fit more tables in the restaurant. Will definitely be going back again.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This place smells delicious and the food does not dissapoint! Geat mix of small and large dishes, every single one a savory delight. If you are in the mood for excellent food at moderate prices, with gracious service, Balzem is your place!

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I took my girlfriend out for post birthday dinner dessert. The wait, with reservations was longer than expected, however the size and intimacy of the establishment provided a great couples experience over wine and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Really good food! The artichoke flat bread pizza was amazing!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Good service nice food I love the decor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The hostess needs to be more polite/attentive. Service was okay. Food was okay.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2016

The servers and host need to know their product better when simple inquiries are made. They work harder on the sale of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Nice ambience but the cost isn't worth what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Had a double date. Food and service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was perfect for what I was looking for. Light dinner to catch up with old friends. A little trendy. Decently priced. Dress up a little bit before a casual night out in West Village.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Good food but just bad service. Items ordered and never served. Drinks not billed on check, later added. Long waits for everything. Inattentive, overly busy staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2016

The flatbread was outstanding. Roasted eggplant was good too. The noisy was deafening. Difficult to hear across the table. If you want a nice glass of wine or sangria and don't mind missing most of the conversation, this is the place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good but not special. Food without any special feeling, attention was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Came here for my birthday and absolutely loved it! Perfect atmosphere and great place for sharing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was very well portioned and delicious. The server kept checking up on us to see if we needed anything. The table was a little small for the amount of food we order, other than that it was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Was catching up with friends I hadn't seen in years, the place was cute and the waitstaff attentive enough, but the restaurant itself is very tight and tables/chairs are set in a way that you can't really get through to go to-from the bathroom or to leave.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2016

The staff treats you like family and you always feel so welcome and appreciated at Balzem!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Really enjoyed a delicious dinner and a great French wine (we tried for the first time) and a meet-up - with friends from England and Europe - in our beloved New York City! Great night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great spot in Soho and super reasonable pricing! Staff is extra friendly and accommodating...divine food — our favorite was the octopus and spicy feta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2016

We loved this neiborhood find, walking distance from our hotel. Mediterranean influence, great small plates, excellent service. We were, however, clearly the oldest patrons. No worry. We were welcomed warmly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 8, 2016

The restaurant was really cute and the service was good, but we were not impressed with the food. We started with hummus -- the hummus itself was fine but the pita was stale and flimsy. My husband ordered the pesto pasta and it was SUPER salty. I had the grilled lamb skewers; they were fine but not memorable and served with the same lame pita.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2016

Food was just ok for how expensive and small the portions are, I had high hopes because the space is welcoming. The manager was very friendly, however the hostess was incredibly rude and the service from the friendly manager was so slow. We had to remind the staff for our check 3 times- last time pulling the hostess away from personal friends. Go to Balaboosta instead- this spot isn't worth it when there are better restaurants to be had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.