Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Balzem

Balzem is where you begin a tour of the northern Mediterranean coastline. From the celebrated culinary culture of Provence in Southern France to some of Italy's most elegant and refined cuisines such as in Campania, and reaching all the way to the light and carrying flavors of the Aegean coastline. Complete your journey with a selection of wine or beer from these cultural regions and other celebrated vineyards around the globe.

202 Mott Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Wine Bar, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -5:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - Closing

Cross Street:
Spring

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(646) 837-7033

Website:
http://www.balzem.com/

Entertainment:
Music, ambiance

Catering:
Catering available

Parking Details:
Street parking and paid parking lots

Public Transit:
6 train Spring Street stop within 2 blocks

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call to discuss

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Tue - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Balzem Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Cozy (11)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Romantic (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Casual (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Healthy (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Fun (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
151 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Cool place. I made a reservation for a big group they were super accommodating. There were a few hiccups here and there but overall everyone had a wonderful time and enjoyed the food.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was fast, the plasent vibes, nice chill spot.

Tags: Fun, Tapas, Good for a Date, Cozy, Happy Hour, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Not overly memorable but ok for a quieter table serving good wine than the other rowdy places in the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Balzem was an excellent restaurant for the food and atmosphere. The lunch value was great. The cooking time was very long, however... I ordered the Quinoa Salad and Chicken Orzo soup. My friend had the burger. I would definitely come back here!

Tags: Healthy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Everything was on point! The food ...delish!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Made a last minute reservation because it was close to an event we were attending nearby and I am so happy to have found this gem!! Absolutely loved everything about it and the service was outstanding. Very friendly, inviting, and quick service. We were in town for 5 day exploring SoHo and surrounding areas with emphasis on food and wine exploration. Found Balzem on our last light and wish it had been sooner because I would have definitely gone back again!! Can't wait to be back in NYC again to go eat here!! Ambiance was awesome, very nice wine list, and the food was delicious!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I really liked it. It was a group of 10. They called me to confirm my reservation and everything was ready on time. The food was tasty however the portions a little small. Mimosas were very good and at a great price. The service was excellent, I guess our server was called Mika and he was super friendly and attentive. We enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Good food. Everything was delicious. Excellent salad, soup and spreads.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great ambiance and local eatery to have tapas, a glass of wine, and catch up with friends. We ran a little late for our reservation but we called and they kindly saved and kept our table for us until we got there for dinner. We got there and we're seated immediately for a nice evening.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great food- love the tapas options and wine selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was good - not amazing, but good for it's price point. There wasn't a dish I disliked. My overall issue was that the service was very slow - it took about 30 minutes to get our drinks and the bar wasn't even crowded (and they only offered 4 cocktails so it shouldn't have taken that long). But the staff was super nice and friendly - so overall not bad.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Great place! Highly recommend it, for a dinner between friends or a date.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Fabulous food, will be on the pricey side, but really enjoyed the entire experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great service and service. Thank you for making a family dinner fit for all ages!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We got the mezze platter which was great for two to share and a nice light dinner. Had a lovely light red wine. Super nice spot with friendly service and a nice Turkish cafe ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great for a big group! Staff was super accommodating. We ended up being there for a few hours and never felt rushed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Excellent Turkish and Mediterranean food. Order the Manti ( Turkish meat dumplings in yogurt sauce). Service was friendly and attentive. The place is rustic and cozy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Turkish dumplings were delicious. The place was quite cute and intimate.

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great ambiance and food. Loved the wine list and waiter was very intelligent will all the items.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Super cute spot! Service was a bit slow, but the food was great! We did a few tapas, a flat bread and some entrees to share. Great portions and selections!

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We are looking forward to going back to Balzem. We love the atmosphere and service was excellent! The food was very good as we ordered a bunch of mezze and couldn't finish it all.

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Meeting a friend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Brunch portions were a little on the small side (I had to order a side), but I love this local gem.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was delicious - get the zucchini pancakes! Wine list was fair.

Service was so slow and almost nonexistent - I didn't mind as much because I was having dinner with a friend I hadn't seen in a while but normally I would have been frustrated.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great service. Food is on the expensive side but that's expected in the city.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great place, will definitely be back! I made a last minute reservation via open table. Good crowd but the noise level wasn't to the point where you'd have trouble hearing the conversation at your own table. I had taken my mom while she was visiting for a birthday brunch. We had the avocado toast and the spinach and egg skillet - amazing! Our server was just fabulous as well - attentive but didn't hover. When she asked if we wanted dessert, we ordered the creme brulee and she brought it out with a little candle which was just perfect. All around a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This is, by far, the best place in the city. The staff are incredibly accommodating and friendly, the food is absolutely exquisite and the atmosphere/location makes you feel alive. I'll literally eat here forever.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Overall the food was good and we were seated promptly after we showed up a little early for our reservation. My friend and I were dining and having great conversation and it seemed like the server/hostess kept rushing us throughout the dinner. They kept wanting to clear out plates and asking if we were done when there was clearly still food left on them. I understand the need to do that if there was a huge line out of the door, but that certainly wasn't the case. The food was good but it wasn't so memorable that it outweighed the "rushed" service we received. Considering that there are numerous restaurants in the city, I most likely won't be coming back and will try other ones where I can carry on a conversation at dinner and enjoy the company that I am with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Romantic, cozy spot...we enjoyed the brochettes for two (this is plenty of food for two people ) and the melon salad very much. The servers are very attentive and accommodating. We were in the area to see a show at the Bowery Ballroom and Balzem was perfect spot to grab small plates beforehand. Not overly expensive either so all around, i would absolutely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

amazing, as always. I take all my clients here when they come to town and they're endlessly impressed.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Tapas, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food was great as always, as were the Pinot Noirs that waitress helped us pick out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great service, food, ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Becoming one of my go to spots for dinner with friends. Everything is so good! Love that they have a lot of app options for sharing, but great mains as well. Space is a little bit cramped, but it's cozy and I like that it makes it possible to fit more tables in the restaurant. Will definitely be going back again.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This place smells delicious and the food does not dissapoint! Geat mix of small and large dishes, every single one a savory delight. If you are in the mood for excellent food at moderate prices, with gracious service, Balzem is your place!

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I took my girlfriend out for post birthday dinner dessert. The wait, with reservations was longer than expected, however the size and intimacy of the establishment provided a great couples experience over wine and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Really good food! The artichoke flat bread pizza was amazing!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Good service nice food I love the decor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The hostess needs to be more polite/attentive. Service was okay. Food was okay.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2016

The servers and host need to know their product better when simple inquiries are made. They work harder on the sale of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Nice ambience but the cost isn't worth what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.