About Balzem

202 Mott Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Balzem is where you begin a tour of the northern Mediterranean coastline. From the celebrated culinary culture of Provence in Southern France to some of Italy's most elegant and refined cuisines such as in Campania, and reaching all the way to the light and carrying flavors of the Aegean coastline. Complete your journey with a selection of wine or beer from these cultural regions and other celebrated vineyards around the globe.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Wine Bar, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -5:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - Closing

Cross Street:
Spring

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(646) 837-7033

Website:
http://www.balzem.com/

Entertainment:
Music, ambiance

Catering:
Catering available

Parking Details:
Street parking and paid parking lots

Public Transit:
6 train Spring Street stop within 2 blocks

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call to discuss

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Balzem Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Romantic (6)
See All
Creative Cuisine (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Fun (6)
Casual (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Business Meals (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
124 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is, by far, the best place in the c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This is, by far, the best place in the city. The staff are incredibly accommodating and friendly, the food is absolutely exquisite and the atmosphere/location makes you feel alive. I'll literally eat here forever.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the food was good and we were se ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Overall the food was good and we were seated promptly after we showed up a little early for our reservation. My friend and I were dining and having great conversation and it seemed like the server/hostess kept rushing us throughout the dinner. They kept wanting to clear out plates and asking if we were done when there was clearly still food left on them. I understand the need to do that if there was a huge line out of the door, but that certainly wasn't the case. The food was good but it wasn't so memorable that it outweighed the "rushed" service we received. Considering that there are numerous restaurants in the city, I most likely won't be coming back and will try other ones where I can carry on a conversation at dinner and enjoy the company that I am with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Romantic, cozy spot...we enjoyed the bro ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Romantic, cozy spot...we enjoyed the brochettes for two (this is plenty of food for two people ) and the melon salad very much. The servers are very attentive and accommodating. We were in the area to see a show at the Bowery Ballroom and Balzem was perfect spot to grab small plates beforehand. Not overly expensive either so all around, i would absolutely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing, as always. I take all my client ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

amazing, as always. I take all my clients here when they come to town and they're endlessly impressed.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Tapas, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great as always, as were th ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food was great as always, as were the Pinot Noirs that waitress helped us pick out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, food, ambiance

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great service, food, ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Becoming one of my go to spots for dinne ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Becoming one of my go to spots for dinner with friends. Everything is so good! Love that they have a lot of app options for sharing, but great mains as well. Space is a little bit cramped, but it's cozy and I like that it makes it possible to fit more tables in the restaurant. Will definitely be going back again.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This place smells delicious and the food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This place smells delicious and the food does not dissapoint! Geat mix of small and large dishes, every single one a savory delight. If you are in the mood for excellent food at moderate prices, with gracious service, Balzem is your place!

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my girlfriend out for post birthd ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I took my girlfriend out for post birthday dinner dessert. The wait, with reservations was longer than expected, however the size and intimacy of the establishment provided a great couples experience over wine and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Really good food! The artichoke flat bre ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Really good food! The artichoke flat bread pizza was amazing!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Good service nice food I love the decor

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Good service nice food I love the decor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The hostess needs to be more polite/atte ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The hostess needs to be more polite/attentive. Service was okay. Food was okay.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The servers and host need to know their ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2016

The servers and host need to know their product better when simple inquiries are made. They work harder on the sale of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice ambience but the cost isn't worth w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Nice ambience but the cost isn't worth what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Had a double date. Food and service was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Had a double date. Food and service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was perfect for what I was looking fo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was perfect for what I was looking for. Light dinner to catch up with old friends. A little trendy. Decently priced. Dress up a little bit before a casual night out in West Village.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food but just bad service. Items or ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Good food but just bad service. Items ordered and never served. Drinks not billed on check, later added. Long waits for everything. Inattentive, overly busy staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

The flatbread was outstanding. Roasted e ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2016

The flatbread was outstanding. Roasted eggplant was good too. The noisy was deafening. Difficult to hear across the table. If you want a nice glass of wine or sangria and don't mind missing most of the conversation, this is the place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Good but not special. Food without any s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good but not special. Food without any special feeling, attention was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Came here for my birthday and absolutely ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Came here for my birthday and absolutely loved it! Perfect atmosphere and great place for sharing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very well portioned and del ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was very well portioned and delicious. The server kept checking up on us to see if we needed anything. The table was a little small for the amount of food we order, other than that it was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was catching up with friends I hadn't se ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Was catching up with friends I hadn't seen in years, the place was cute and the waitstaff attentive enough, but the restaurant itself is very tight and tables/chairs are set in a way that you can't really get through to go to-from the bathroom or to leave.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The staff treats you like family and you ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2016

The staff treats you like family and you always feel so welcome and appreciated at Balzem!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Really enjoyed a delicious dinner and a ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Really enjoyed a delicious dinner and a great French wine (we tried for the first time) and a meet-up - with friends from England and Europe - in our beloved New York City! Great night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot in Soho and super reasonable ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great spot in Soho and super reasonable pricing! Staff is extra friendly and accommodating...divine food — our favorite was the octopus and spicy feta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great find in SOHO

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2016

We loved this neiborhood find, walking distance from our hotel. Mediterranean influence, great small plates, excellent service. We were, however, clearly the oldest patrons. No worry. We were welcomed warmly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was really cute and the s ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 8, 2016

The restaurant was really cute and the service was good, but we were not impressed with the food. We started with hummus -- the hummus itself was fine but the pita was stale and flimsy. My husband ordered the pesto pasta and it was SUPER salty. I had the grilled lamb skewers; they were fine but not memorable and served with the same lame pita.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Food was just ok for how expensive and s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2016

Food was just ok for how expensive and small the portions are, I had high hopes because the space is welcoming. The manager was very friendly, however the hostess was incredibly rude and the service from the friendly manager was so slow. We had to remind the staff for our check 3 times- last time pulling the hostess away from personal friends. Go to Balaboosta instead- this spot isn't worth it when there are better restaurants to be had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

I went with 2 girl friends and we shared ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2016

I went with 2 girl friends and we shared the 5 tapas sampler. Food was delicious and staff was extremely polite and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall we had a good time. Cute locatio ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Overall we had a good time. Cute location. Nice team. Food was ok. No disappointments but war also didn't find any dish that blew us away. Decently priced. If they will boost their menu with few higher quality dishes I believe they can make it in this competitive area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great food, service and atmosphere! What ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere! What more could you want.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised. I wasn't sure what ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2016

Pleasantly surprised. I wasn't sure what to expect and the food was delicious, the atmosphere was warm and inviting and everyone was very friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent mushroom and truffle flatbread ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Excellent mushroom and truffle flatbread, great burger and fries and a decent beer selection. I was more than happy with all aspects of our lunch at Balzem and we will definitely be back on a regular basis

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wow

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2016

the tapas were delicious, and the service was great. the staff spoke to you as if they knew you. it was very welcoming and did i mention the food was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were 4 and ordered a bunch of appetiz ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2016

We were 4 and ordered a bunch of appetizers and two orders of the kebabs (which say they are for two people to share) and I swear we could have gone out and ordered a pizza afterwards. I would order an entree next time- maybe the skewers were an appetizer to be shared??? Not enough food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

We had a wonderful experience at this re ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at this restaurant.

The food and the wine was excellent and the service was outstanding and very personal.

Thanks Lucas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Arrived just in time for their happy hou ...

vip
 (Buckinghamshire)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Arrived just in time for their happy hour (7 days a week from 5-7pm!) Ordered a bunch of small plates incl the hummus, roasted garlic eggplant dip, artichoke dip, branzini ceviche, zucchini pancake and a main - rib eye grilled brochette.

I would highly recommend the roasted garlic eggplant, artichoke dip and branzini ceviche (with arugula) - those were very unique and tasty and memorable.. They also paired well with a glass of red wine :)

Balzem is great for a girl's night out, a date night or a birthday. I would even venture bringing business clients to Balzem as well :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

lively neighborhood gem

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Balzem has delicious food, a lively and fun atmosphere and great service. We really enjoy it. It is small, so it can get quite loud--so if you don't like a noisy restaurant, this would not be the place for you. Our server was very helpful and attentive. Food is reasonably priced. As is the case with most NYC restaurants, the wine by the glass is a bit expensive. Overall a really good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for date night or girls night out

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Amazing find, Balzem has a great wine list with reasonable prices and lots of vegetarian tapas. Truffle and mushroom pizza was delicious! Would recommend against the sampler platter, was not as large as we thought it would be, better to buy apps individually.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good costumer service, but the food was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Good costumer service, but the food was not tasty at all. Sorry, but I would not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.