About Balzem

202 Mott Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Balzem is where you begin a tour of the northern Mediterranean coastline. From the celebrated culinary culture of Provence in Southern France to some of Italy's most elegant and refined cuisines such as in Campania, and reaching all the way to the light and carrying flavors of the Aegean coastline. Complete your journey with a selection of wine or beer from these cultural regions and other celebrated vineyards around the globe.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Wine Bar, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -5:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - Closing

Cross Street:
Spring

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(646) 837-7033

Website:
http://www.balzem.com/

Entertainment:
Music, ambiance

Catering:
Catering available

Parking Details:
Street parking and paid parking lots

Public Transit:
6 train Spring Street stop within 2 blocks

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call to discuss

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Balzem Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (14)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Romantic (10)
See All
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
109 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The servers and host need to know their ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The servers and host need to know their product better when simple inquiries are made. They work harder on the sale of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

It was perfect for what I was looking fo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was perfect for what I was looking for. Light dinner to catch up with old friends. A little trendy. Decently priced. Dress up a little bit before a casual night out in West Village.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food but just bad service. Items or ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Good food but just bad service. Items ordered and never served. Drinks not billed on check, later added. Long waits for everything. Inattentive, overly busy staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

The flatbread was outstanding. Roasted e ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The flatbread was outstanding. Roasted eggplant was good too. The noisy was deafening. Difficult to hear across the table. If you want a nice glass of wine or sangria and don't mind missing most of the conversation, this is the place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Good but not special. Food without any s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good but not special. Food without any special feeling, attention was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Came here for my birthday and absolutely ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Came here for my birthday and absolutely loved it! Perfect atmosphere and great place for sharing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very well portioned and del ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was very well portioned and delicious. The server kept checking up on us to see if we needed anything. The table was a little small for the amount of food we order, other than that it was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was catching up with friends I hadn't se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Was catching up with friends I hadn't seen in years, the place was cute and the waitstaff attentive enough, but the restaurant itself is very tight and tables/chairs are set in a way that you can't really get through to go to-from the bathroom or to leave.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The staff treats you like family and you ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The staff treats you like family and you always feel so welcome and appreciated at Balzem!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Really enjoyed a delicious dinner and a ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Really enjoyed a delicious dinner and a great French wine (we tried for the first time) and a meet-up - with friends from England and Europe - in our beloved New York City! Great night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighbourhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot in Soho and super reasonable ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great spot in Soho and super reasonable pricing! Staff is extra friendly and accommodating...divine food — our favorite was the octopus and spicy feta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great find in SOHO

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We loved this neiborhood find, walking distance from our hotel. Mediterranean influence, great small plates, excellent service. We were, however, clearly the oldest patrons. No worry. We were welcomed warmly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was really cute and the s ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The restaurant was really cute and the service was good, but we were not impressed with the food. We started with hummus -- the hummus itself was fine but the pita was stale and flimsy. My husband ordered the pesto pasta and it was SUPER salty. I had the grilled lamb skewers; they were fine but not memorable and served with the same lame pita.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Food was just ok for how expensive and s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Food was just ok for how expensive and small the portions are, I had high hopes because the space is welcoming. The manager was very friendly, however the hostess was incredibly rude and the service from the friendly manager was so slow. We had to remind the staff for our check 3 times- last time pulling the hostess away from personal friends. Go to Balaboosta instead- this spot isn't worth it when there are better restaurants to be had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

I went with 2 girl friends and we shared ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

I went with 2 girl friends and we shared the 5 tapas sampler. Food was delicious and staff was extremely polite and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall we had a good time. Cute locatio ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Overall we had a good time. Cute location. Nice team. Food was ok. No disappointments but war also didn't find any dish that blew us away. Decently priced. If they will boost their menu with few higher quality dishes I believe they can make it in this competitive area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great food, service and atmosphere! What ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere! What more could you want.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised. I wasn't sure what ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Pleasantly surprised. I wasn't sure what to expect and the food was delicious, the atmosphere was warm and inviting and everyone was very friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent mushroom and truffle flatbread ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Excellent mushroom and truffle flatbread, great burger and fries and a decent beer selection. I was more than happy with all aspects of our lunch at Balzem and we will definitely be back on a regular basis

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wow

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

the tapas were delicious, and the service was great. the staff spoke to you as if they knew you. it was very welcoming and did i mention the food was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were 4 and ordered a bunch of appetiz ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We were 4 and ordered a bunch of appetizers and two orders of the kebabs (which say they are for two people to share) and I swear we could have gone out and ordered a pizza afterwards. I would order an entree next time- maybe the skewers were an appetizer to be shared??? Not enough food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

We had a wonderful experience at this re ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at this restaurant.

The food and the wine was excellent and the service was outstanding and very personal.

Thanks Lucas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Arrived just in time for their happy hou ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Arrived just in time for their happy hour (7 days a week from 5-7pm!) Ordered a bunch of small plates incl the hummus, roasted garlic eggplant dip, artichoke dip, branzini ceviche, zucchini pancake and a main - rib eye grilled brochette.

I would highly recommend the roasted garlic eggplant, artichoke dip and branzini ceviche (with arugula) - those were very unique and tasty and memorable.. They also paired well with a glass of red wine :)

Balzem is great for a girl's night out, a date night or a birthday. I would even venture bringing business clients to Balzem as well :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

lively neighborhood gem

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Balzem has delicious food, a lively and fun atmosphere and great service. We really enjoy it. It is small, so it can get quite loud--so if you don't like a noisy restaurant, this would not be the place for you. Our server was very helpful and attentive. Food is reasonably priced. As is the case with most NYC restaurants, the wine by the glass is a bit expensive. Overall a really good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for date night or girls night out

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Amazing find, Balzem has a great wine list with reasonable prices and lots of vegetarian tapas. Truffle and mushroom pizza was delicious! Would recommend against the sampler platter, was not as large as we thought it would be, better to buy apps individually.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good costumer service, but the food was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Good costumer service, but the food was not tasty at all. Sorry, but I would not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

consistently fantastic

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

ambiance, service, food, attention... my favorite spot in nolita and one of my favorites in the city. grab a pre-dinner negroni at epistrophy (cash only!) next door.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were amazing

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

The food and service were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

really liked it good food great wine!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

was a really nice find. the people great the food great and the wine excellent.. greta fun and very relaxed. nice place to hang out with friends and family

coming back for easter with a whole group !

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Neighborhood favorite

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

We started with the Artichoke and Proscuitto pizza - always deliscious and good to share.

The lamb chops are juicy and very flavorful, the Steak Frites is a generous size, the potato gratin is yummy. My husband always has the chicken skewers but sides are required with this dish. The menu has good options.

We love Medhi!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for a date

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

Great menu. Truffle Mac and cheese, amen. Reserved a table for two and they saved us the best one in the place, up front by the window. Will come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a great spot to take my mom and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

This was a great spot to take my mom and her friend-- hip but not overwhelming, and quiet enough to have a good conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great price for being in nyc. The food t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Great price for being in nyc. The food tasted great but it wasn't a new taste to me as I love trying new food and flavors. Very attentive service as well. I'd recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

fantastic French Bistro, excellent food and wine

 
 (Raum Hamburg)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

great service, cozy atmosphere, fantastic Tapas style dishes (the Manti is a must) and delicious Brochette. Our favourite restaurant in New York.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tasty food, good value

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Balzem was a great find. The food is very tasty and the staff were helpful - especially as we were early for our reservation.

The service was good - and the server gave us recommendations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place, we have tried it twice and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

Great place, we have tried it twice and with friends and kids, they make it very comfy, great wine list and they will do recommendations if needed. loved the ambience and he menu as well as the decor. Price wise also good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the poached egg!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Love the poached egg!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worth a visit

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Loved the uniqueness - downtown local hangout feel of the place...

Great food and value priced...

Efficient and friendly service...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very mediocre

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 21, 2015

Reasonable atmosphere with very low price quality rating. Nothing creative or outstanding about Balzem. A "me too" quasi Mediterranean/middle eastern cuisine without any punch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Excellent Services and Great food!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

Really impressed with the service at Balzem. The hostess and waiter were both accommodating and friendly. My brother and I really enjoyed all the dishes we ordered. Try the proscruitto wrapped mozzarella! will definitely be returning and already recommended the place to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.