About BALEENnaples

Pleasing to the palate and the eye alike, Baleen Naples mixes Old Florida charm with elegant candlelit elegance. Toes-in-the-sand dining takes place as Baleen spills out through the grand doors to the terrace with tables overlooking the sweeping beach and ends with a collection of tables for cocktails in the sand next to the fire pit. Whether seated in an indoor epicurean enclave or a barefoot beach table, visitors can indulge in three daily seating’s at Baleen Naples with options including a breakfast menu with a Gulf Coast twist on traditional favorites. With exceptional entrees and an extensive selection of wines the dinner menu is filled with local ingredients and beautifully composed dishes. Baleen Naples was named in the Top 100 outdoor dining destinations in the US on OpenTable and has received multiple awards to include Awards of Excellence with Wine Spectator and best outdoor restaurant with GulfShore Life magazine….

9891 Gulf Shore Drive
Naples, FL 34108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast / Daily 7:00 - 11:00am
Lunch / Daily 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner / Daily 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Champagne Brunch 11:00am-2:30pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 598-5707

Website:
http://www.laplayaresort.com/naples-baleen-restaurant.aspx

Executive Chef:
John Sexton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

A private dining room overlooking the Gulf of Mexico while enjoying the cuisine of Baleen.

BALEENnaples Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (173)
Scenic View (153)
Great for Outdoor Dining (140)
See All
Special Occasion (104)
Romantic (97)
Good for a Date (81)
Good for Anniversaries (76)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Notable Wine List (43)
Great for Lunch (43)
Worth the Drive (42)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Great for Brunch (31)
People Watching (30)
Fun (29)
Hot Spot (26)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Casual (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Business Meals (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Healthy (17)
Seasonal (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Cozy (15)
Authentic (15)
Fireplace (9)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Family Style (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Private Room (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Music (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
2413 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

Lovely. Beautiful view and excellent waiter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and Chris is a great server! Had lots of fun!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

We were able to sit outside to enjoy the beautiful sunset! Bread served was not very tasty. Risotto seafood was very good.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

We were celebrating our anniversary with a great seaside dinner! All was great except the charge for parking. With our total bill, a parking fee was insulting.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

I have eaten there several times and this time it was perfect. We really enjoyed ourselves even though it was pouring rain.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We have dined many occasions in the past and had a wonderful experience. Unfortunately the menu has become generic, along with the food. Definitely will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My go to restaurant for out of town friends and we've never been disappointed. It's off-season so we enjoyed easy reservations, leisurely dining and an interesting and tasty fixed price menu.
Service was excellent with enough time between courses to enjoy each course and conversation.
We sat outside even though the evening was warm but we wanted the views and sounds of the Gulf and the sunset.
Now that I've been again I wonder why I don't go more often.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We were very disappointed in the food. The snapper did not taste fresh. My husband and our friend had the fish. Bad choice. I had the scallops which were good but only three. We are not wealthy people so this was suppose to be a treat but fell short of out expectations. It was not a pleasurable experience except the beach view. Sincerely. Gwen Murphy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Baleen is my favorite restaurant in all of Naples.
Our server Milos was awesome! I bring all of my out of town guests to Baleen because of the great service, excellent food and spectacular sunset view.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 18, 2017

What a great experience! The food was out of this world. Expensive but well worth It. I would highly recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Good food, good service, great view. Now, they charge for parking. What's up with that? Their prices are not low, and parking used to be a courtesy because you were eating at their restaurant after all. Cheap, cheap, cheap!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We had a very nice outdoor table with a wonderful beach view. Our service was exceptional and everyone enjoyed their food selections. Also, the Mojito and Bloody Mary cocktails were a great beginning to our meals. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Spent our anniversary here again love it! Vladimir was a wonderful host as well! Will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent food and service by Cosimo, beautiful sunset and great weather made it perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was very good, but Baleen is all about the view! The sunset we witnessed during our Mother's Day meal was absolutely fantastic!! The service was also very good. It made for a memorable Mother's Day for everyone in the family. I would highly recommend Baleen for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A Mother's Day tradition! This year was, by far, the best! Although it was a bit too windy to enjoy the outside seating, the drinks, food and service were wonderful! Our waiter, Chris, went above and beyond to help make our celebration memorable.

In the past, while I thought that Baleen was a great restaurant, mostly because of its outside seating along the beach, I had not been overly impressed with the food. This year, however, we enjoyed the full range, from seafood to beef; and our meals were really delicious!

Other pretty cool things included the ipad-drink/wine list and the LED lights inside the menus!

Our thanks to the bar and kitchen staffs...but mostly, thanks, Chris! You are an excellent waiter, who knows his menu, knows his wine and mostly, knows how to enjoy his guests.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our server Cosimo was fantastic...efficient, humorous and spot on with recommendations. Took my mom for special Mother's Day dinner (dad came too), and she loved it. I had triple tail fish as a special...it was awesome!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Absolutely AWESOME as usual. The best in Naples!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Sunset view is amazing. Wonderful every time we are fortunate enough to be visiting Naples.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Nice location for a relaxed lunch with clients. Menu selections and service were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We had a fabulous meal and a very beautiful night at Baleen. The Chef is amazing!
The service was excellent .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We always love our experience....food is over the top delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Very Nice. Had to wait 15 minutes for reservation however gave us an exclusive table. Waiter excellent. Food served was like "end of meal" not hot. I did not not want to be be annoyed with returning not hot food. So I did not register a complaints simply Excepted food. Very good. Awesome atmosphere. Lovely!

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great evening! We will be back! Thank you so much!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We all had the special hog fish

Best meal we have ever had at Baleen

Service was great

Sunset was priceless

See you in the fall

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 9, 2017

You can sit outside near the beach and watch the sun set...what else do I need to say? We had a very romantic night. The food was spectacular.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great meal as usual, beautiful view, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We have been visiting Naples in May for the past 18 years and typicaly have a Sunday breakfast,lunch or champagne brunch.
Something has changed - not the pricing,but the quality of the Sunday Brunch.

Champagne is regular sparkeling wine ( after we asked for it )strangest French Onion Soup we have ever seen - plain broth with some onion pieces floating in it.

Flat ,dry pieces of mignorettes with a well done egg on top of it."Highlight was the Key Lime Pie.All this for a mere $ 34 pP

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Always a good experience. Excellent staff.
Can't beat the setting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Fantastic ambiance. Service robotic and tired( end of season?). Food mediocre . Great wine selection. Would definitely recommend for ambiance though...

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We have been to this restaurant many times. The ambience is great and eating outside is a must. This time the food was average and is unusual. We were with good friends and enjoyed the evening but they need to focus on food preparation.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Was mi wife birthday and as soon we got the table the server show up with a flower for her and he said happy birthday to her the surprise in her face was price less, we order a ceviche as a appetizer and was not good but our server he was on top he offer something else that was good and since them we have a good time and the biggest plus was a desert with the happy birthday and a candle she was so happy for that. we are so happy to went to baleen for that especial occasion

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We chose Baleen to spend our 28th wedding anniversary. We were quite disappointed with the quality of the food. Hard, stale rolls were delivered to our table, followed by my French Onion Soup, a small bowl of only broth with onions - no bread or cheese. My husband's lobster bisque was good. Entrees were good but not great. Dessert was exceptionally delicious, the only high spot of the meal.

What a shame to have such a beautiful waterfront view, but have lower quality food at very expensive prices. We frequent the Grill Room at the Ritz Carlton and are accustomed to paying higher prices for high quality food, but this was not even in the same ballpark.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I've never been here before. I expected from the prices that it would knock my socks off. The service was friendly but, slow. The food was no big deal. I had a fish sandwich which was only that, plus heavy greasy breading. The bun was stale but nicely toasted. My wife had a caesar salad with shrimp. Nicely cooked shrimp with too much dressing on the salad. She loved her Cosmopolitan ($14). The view is nice outside. I really expected more.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Service very slow for a late Sunday brunch at 2:30 pm. Didn't have a server stop by our table for 20 minutes since we sat. I had to request someone 2 times to come take our drink and lunch order. Unfortunately that set the tone for the remainder of the time. Wasn't busy, not an excuse. Beautiful view on patio seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We've been going to Baleens for more than 9 years and it used to be our favorite place to dine in Naples. Over that time the quality of the food has been hit or miss, however, the atmosphere made up for it. Last Saturday we took visiting friends and it was such a disaster, we will NEVER return. Prices are up and quality is down. A wedding was going on in the area that usually host tasteful cocktail hours; music and bridal party speaches were loud and distracting. The server promised everything and delivered nothing. Had to ask three times for lemons for water and olive oil for bread, which arrived just before dessert. Our guests paid for the dinner and I was embarrassed that we took them there. Never going back and recommend that no one else does either. Have an overpriced drink, watch the sunset, then leave to dine elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our waiter was great and the food was very good. The setting was beautiful on the patio.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Best food and location in Naples, with excellent service from Rob and a restaurant manager who goes that extra mile to keep her customers happy . Thank you Jill.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Amazing dinner, beautiful restaurant on the beach, enjoyed a sunset and lovely evening !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

View is magnificient from anywhere on the outside porch, lover level and firepit area. Gracious servers, knowledgeable, and kind. Food is always consistently excellent. Day or night dining is always perfect!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.