About BALEENnaples

Pleasing to the palate and the eye alike, Baleen Naples mixes Old Florida charm with elegant candlelit elegance. Toes-in-the-sand dining takes place as Baleen spills out through the grand doors to the terrace with tables overlooking the sweeping beach and ends with a collection of tables for cocktails in the sand next to the fire pit. Whether seated in an indoor epicurean enclave or a barefoot beach table, visitors can indulge in three daily seating’s at Baleen Naples with options including a breakfast menu with a Gulf Coast twist on traditional favorites. With exceptional entrees and an extensive selection of wines the dinner menu is filled with local ingredients and beautifully composed dishes. Baleen Naples was named in the Top 100 outdoor dining destinations in the US on OpenTable and has received multiple awards to include Awards of Excellence with Wine Spectator and best outdoor restaurant with GulfShore Life magazine….

9891 Gulf Shore Drive
Naples, FL 34108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast / Daily 7:00 - 11:00am
Lunch / Daily 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner / Daily 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Champagne Brunch 11:00am-2:30pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 598-5707

Website:
http://www.laplayaresort.com/naples-baleen-restaurant.aspx

Executive Chef:
John Sexton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

A private dining room overlooking the Gulf of Mexico while enjoying the cuisine of Baleen.

BALEENnaples Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (114)
Waterfront (111)
Great for Outdoor Dining (97)
See All
Special Occasion (77)
Romantic (68)
Good for a Date (62)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Worth the Drive (32)
Great for Lunch (29)
Notable Wine List (29)
Great for Brunch (27)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
People Watching (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Cozy (18)
Fun (17)
Casual (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Authentic (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Business Meals (11)
Healthy (11)
Seasonal (9)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Family Style (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Private Room (3)
Fireplace (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
2476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

Einen solch chaotischen Service haben wir in den 15 Jahren,die wir in Naples wohnen,noch nicht erlebt.Als regelmäßige Gäste beider Ritz Hotels und anderer Spitzenreistaurants sind wir doch besseres gewöhnt.
Das Essen selbst war ok für einen Sonntags Lunch.Der Kellner irrte mit meinen Ceviche durchs ganze Restaurant und es landete erst auf meinen mehrmaligen Zuruf hin an unserem Tisch.Die Weinkarte musste zweimal geordert werden,doch es vergingen quälend lange Minuten bis es zur Bestellung kam.
Der Gipfel von allem war jedoch das Valet Parking.Ich bekam als "Sonderpreis" 5 Dollar statt 12 berechnet mit dem Hinweis der Beschwerdemöglichkeit beim Manager.
Natürlich war damit das sonst übliche Trinkgeld hinfällig.
5 Sterne Hotel?Gewiss nicht!
Wir bleiben zufriedene Ritz Carlton Gäste eine Meile südlich.
Horst Halama

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

Intimate dining, beach view, excellent menu. Ana our server is always welcoming and competent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was fresh and delicious. The atmosphere was breathtaking with an amazing sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Cosimo our waiter was wonderful, food was good there was a mix up with the preparation and return of the entree. Cosimo and the manager made appropriate compensation, although the kitchen may need to review their process?

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Restaurant badly needs updating. We came for the view, windows were dirty and construction going on. Food was average, but pricey. Service was the one real positive

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 8, 2017

First they took a long time to greet us. Then the Ceviche appetizer tasted bad. The Lobster mac was too salty, and the price was really high for the quality of the food served.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Crafted Cocktails were excellent , entrees were full of flavor from the seafood pasta to the special corvina. Appetizers were delicious.
Always a great experience!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We went for early dinner but the food was very good however the sunset was better. The diners were all taking photos of the sunset.
Very nice.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Excellent, great food, great location on the gulf waters. Service was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western KY)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Wonderful food and service. Extensive wine list will please all wine drinkers.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 5, 2017

This was our first time at the restaurant and we couldn't have been more pleased. Baris our waiter was particularly attentive and paid attention to our needs. We ate outside at sunset and we got up between our appetizers and entrees to view a great sunset. Baris made sure our food didn't arrive until we were ready. A nice touch. The food was among the best we've had in Naples, presentation and taste were excellent. We trusted Baris's recommendations and were not disappointed. A great meal and a great dinning experience. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Baleen is a nice, casual hotel restaurant with a diverse menu. The outdoor dining is very nice, and the inside room is casual with a nice ambiance. There are some very good dishes on the dinner menu and the wine list is extensive. When staying at or near La Playa Beach Hotel, Baleen is a must for dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The restaurant was nice and the food was good, but king crab legs were very small and the blue point oysters were disappointing.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Always a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Poor atmosphere due to construction. 5 dollars to valet with no other parking option. Food is sub- par as well as service but great view of gulf.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great sunset view. Hotel currently under construction. Food and service not as good as it has been on past visits. We appreciated the vegan option on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Visited for breakfast. The service was impeccable. The view was breathtaking. The food was a bit pricey however it was delicious. We'd highly recommend to anyone visiting the Naples area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Checked in late, Baleen was totally accommodating. Great Grouper, and Grouper Tacos. Wonderful views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great experience at BALEEN! My husband and I stayed at Laplaya for a long weekend and we enjoyed two dinners, one lunch, and 2 breakfasts at BALEEN. All the food was great with perfect portions! Eating outside with a view of the beach was beautiful, especially during sunset! I would recommend bug spray if planning to eat outside at night, though! Dwayne Johnson (our waiter one of the nights, not The Rock!) was phenomenal and could not have been more welcoming! The manager, Courtney, was very present and was friendly and checked in with all tables! All the service we received was timed well and pleasant and again, great experience with the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Had lunch to celebrate our mother's 92nd birthday. Loved sitting out on the patio. Service was professional and polite. Food was good. I highly recommend Baleen and will definitely return on my next visit to Naples.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 28, 2017

First time here and it was outstanding! Will definitely look forward to returning

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 25, 2017

great place for outdoor eating and gorgeous views of the gulf!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food is too complicated and too many spices mixed up. There is a difference between the menu description of the dishes and what you have in your plate. We enjoyed the lobster cake, ceviche was poorly executed with 3 pieces of fish, tuna was great, chicken-pinable too weird, crème brûlée was a chocolat crème. Overall too expensive for the value but the real catch is the view and the location. So beautiful!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We loved our dinner at Balleen. The food was delicious with great presentation. Our server was extremely knowledgeable and attentive. The view was outstanding. We sat outside and enjoyed a sunset and a wedding in the distance. This will be a go to every time we are in Naples.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 24, 2017

So disappointed. It was our anniversary and I thought this restaurant would be fine dining. It's not. No table linens, and very noisy. Food was average and way over priced. We ordered a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc and they brought out a 2014. A little old and very expensive. We questioned the waiter about the year and he said that was the only year he had. Service was okay. Felt rushed. Won't go back. Poor value.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Lovely night ! Only negative was some people close by were smoking.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Service was fantastic, Dwayne Johnson ( The other "Rock"!! Lol ) was superb , attentive and had all the the answers about the menu . I look forward to dining at Baleen in near future and will be requesting Dwayne as my waiter . As a side note the food was awesome and they catered to my wife's allergies without hesitation and she was grateful because the beet salad they came up with was amazing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We visited Naples and I wanted to find the perfect spot for my husbands birthday dinner. I had researched restaurants and kept circling back to this one!
I made reservations for my husband's birthday & ended up having a few of our friends join us! Pricey restaurant, but good portion sizes, excellent food and the ambiance was superb!
Our waiter, Cosimo, was a friendly & answered questions, without hesitation, regarding the menu. Exceptional waiter! Would certainly recommend to anyone looking for a fine dining experience!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

It was a beautiful, elegant and friendly place. We enjoyed the food, service and the all around view. We would definitely come again. Thank you.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Very disappointed. The white umbrellas were very dirty looking. Everything looked old and warn out. Staff could have looked more enthusiastic and more appealing. My burger was great but my husband lobster had no taste and the lettuce was chopped to small . Everything really needs to be updated

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Baleen came highly recommended by a friend. The food quality and view exceeded expectations. Our server was excellent. We sat outdoors for a sunset dinner. All was great with the setting except that the ceiling fan above us was barely working. It turned out that the lack of air circulation made us more attractive to flies when our entrees arrived. I think we were the only table that had this issue. (We were the only table with a very slow fan.) We dealt with it for the 10 minutes or so that it took to eat the entree. When finished, the flies went away and we were able to enjoy the rest of our time at Baleen. Compliments to the chef for a fantastic signature grouper! Was it all worth the price? It was the most expensive meal ever for my wife & I (in 17 years), but the quality of the food, the view and the fact that we were on an overdue vacation; made it worth it! I'm thoroughly convinced that having a good fan above or a nice breeze outdoors, it would been a 10 out of 10-experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Waterfront, Healthy, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food is good
Dining at the sunset is awesome
Service is great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Four of us enjoyed a delicious Brunch, to celebrate Father's Day. Our waiter Cosmo, was hilarious and despite the stormy weather, the ocean view on the terrace, was magnificent. Must go again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Very nice anniversary experience. Service was attentive. Food was excellent. My steak was prepared perfectly, a fact I cannot say about the two famous and popular sreak houses in the Naples area. The view did not enter the picture because of the rain. No sunset viewing. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Beautiful waterfront resort! Food, ambience and service excellent! Our bartender Vyes and our waiter Adriano were excellent and made our evening! We will return!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 12, 2017

I never send food back to the kitchen. But the first meal was unacceptable. The presentation of the second meal was lovely but unremarkable and overly expansive. My friend 's meal was good but not outstanding. The bread pudding was out standing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food very mediocre. Gorgeous view, waiter was great but food big let down . All overcooked bland and uninspiring...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It was our wedding anniversary and they provided a rose for the table and provided complimentary desserts. The arugula salad, Lobster risotto and pork tenderloin were excellent and highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food was not great desert was very sad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Our server was exceptional and the food was delicious, well prepared and presentation great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.