About BALEENnaples

9891 Gulf Shore Drive
Naples, FL 34108
View Larger Map

Pleasing to the palate and the eye alike, Baleen Naples mixes Old Florida charm with elegant candlelit elegance. Beautiful chandeliers and soft mahogany furnishings set the tone for an elegant dining experience…. Toes-in-the-sand dining takes place as Baleen spills out through the grand doors to the terrace with tables overlooking the sweeping beach and ends with a collection of tables for cocktails in the sand next to the fire pit. Whether seated in an indoor epicurean enclave or a barefoot beach table, visitors can indulge in three daily seating’s at Baleen Naples with options including a breakfast menu with a Gulf Coast twist on traditional favorites. With exceptional entrees and an extensive selection of wines the dinner menu is filled with local ingredients and beautifully composed dishes. For the guest looking for light fare enjoy our bar menu in the cocktail section with an array of seafood selections as well as sandwiches and appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast / Daily 7:00 - 11:00am
Lunch / Daily 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner / Daily 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Champagne Brunch 11:00am-2:30pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 598-5707

Website:
http://www.laplayaresort.com/

Executive Chef:
John Sexton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

PRIME RIB NIGHT

Sundays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Gulf Roast Pan Roast

Fridays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Chef's Cut

Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Eight for Eight

Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Promotions

PRIME RIB NIGHT

Sundays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Prime Rib served with Horseradish Mashed Potatoes and Yorkshire Pudding (Popovers). Cost $35 Enjoy a glass of Argentinian Malbec from a 3 liter Magnum with that for only $8 per glass!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Great value for both the Prime Rib and the wine. Enjoy. Special valid Aug 7, 2016 - Sep 25, 2016 on Sundays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Gulf Roast Pan Roast

Fridays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Florida Classic Revisited Bounties of Gulf of Mexico such as Grouper, Red Snapper, Crab and other local delicacies and local sustained seafood. Cost $38. Excludes Tax and Tip. The Pan Roast changes weekly, but is always with seafood from the Gulf Coast!. Special valid Aug 5, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 on Fridays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Chef's Cut

Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

ENJOY OUR CHEF’S FAVORITE PRESENTATIONS FROM AROUND THE BUTCHER BLOCK FEATURING VARYING CUTS AND TREATMENTS OF OUR CHEF’S “DAY OFF” DELIGHTS. “THIS IS WHAT WE DO WHEN WE HAVE ALL DAY TO DO IT; AND FRIENDS AND FAMILY TO DO IT FOR”. Excludes Tax and Tip. Will change weekly as we have different chef's share their culinary favorites!. Special valid Aug 10, 2016 - Sep 28, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Eight for Eight

Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Details

ENJOY CULINARY DELIGHTS AND DRINK SPECIALS AT OUR OCEANFRONT BAR BALEEN AT LAPLAYA EVERY MONDAY THRU FRIDAY FROM FOUR TO EIGHT EACH AFTERNOON. WE WILL OFFER VARIOUS SMALL PLATES AND DRINK SPECIALS FOR EIGHT DOLLARS OR LESS. Excludes Tax and Tip. THE SELECTION WILL CHANGE WEEKLY. Special valid Aug 4, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 on Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 8:00 PM.

Private Dining

A private dining room overlooking the Gulf of Mexico while enjoying the cuisine of Baleen.

BALEENnaples Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Southwest Florida
American
Southwest Florida
Most Booked
Southwest Florida
4 More
Best Ambiance
Naples
Outdoor Dining
Naples
Romantic
Naples
Most Booked
Naples
Best Restaurants in Naples ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (101)
Scenic View (98)
Special Occasion (88)
See All
Romantic (84)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Notable Wine List (37)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Great for Lunch (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Hot Spot (14)
Late-night Find (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1882 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice place, excellent food and services ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Nice place, excellent food and services and magnificent view!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

everything was wonderful but was disappo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 3 days ago

everything was wonderful but was disappointed when the other couple we were dining with needed mosquito repellent and had to pay for it....most restaurants will have this for use of their guests dining and drinking.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful! I was introduced to Triple Ta ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful! I was introduced to Triple Tail fish and it was delicious. Pleased and surprised to have had the Exec. Chef visiting tables and asking how the food was. Karoly, our waiter was friendly,informative and professional.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and beautiful sunset. Fri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Excellent food and beautiful sunset. Friendly and attentive wait staff

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous dinner, service, ambience and o ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Fabulous dinner, service, ambience and of course..the sunset!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great setting on the beach. Beautiful ev ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great setting on the beach. Beautiful evening watching the sunset. Was very nice but waiter so obvious in attempts to drive up the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Great location on the beach. Great servi ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great location on the beach. Great service and food. Not inexpensive but worth it

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AWESOME WATER VIEWS!!! Service is always ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

AWESOME WATER VIEWS!!! Service is always great! Very classy upscale hotel and great for dining with special occasions!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

a very good restaurant to watch the Suns ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

a very good restaurant to watch the Sunset and enjoy a delicious meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Disappointed in the food. Wine and servi ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Disappointed in the food. Wine and service was great.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Always superb. Lobster in the mushroom r ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always superb. Lobster in the mushroom risotto was the tenderest

Lobster Imhave ever had.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I do not like the menu changes this past ...

vip
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I do not like the menu changes this past year. Had to keep asking to turn down the volume on the music; we would rather listen to the surf and talk with our friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

A memorable dining experience for my spe ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

A memorable dining experience for my special birthday. My compliments to the chef in preparation of an extraordinary vegetarian dish.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We recently celebrated our wedding anniv ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We recently celebrated our wedding anniversary at Baleen. The food was very good, the views of the beach were magnificent and the service was excellent. Cosimo, our waiter, and the rest of the staff were professional and extremely attentive. Thank you, Baleen, for a wonderfully memorable dinner and evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waitstaff Patty was amazing and serv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our waitstaff Patty was amazing and service was extraordinary. Great location and view of the Gulf of Mexico. Food was also great but pricey. Would definitely dine at Baleen again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Love this place...service is wonderful . ...

vip
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Love this place...service is wonderful ...food is great...will be back

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a very special occasion for my ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was a very special occasion for my girlfriend's birthday. They did a wonderful job of preparation for our dinner, during our dinner, and followed up beautifully to send us home with smiles. It was well worth the expense…

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a perfect place to celebrate ou ...

vip
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was a perfect place to celebrate our aniversary. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our third time eating at Baleen ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was our third time eating at Baleen. Whenever we vacation in Naples it is a definite! It is our favorite restaurant in Naples.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Had a most enjoyable dining experience w ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Had a most enjoyable dining

experience with family service good ambiance good food good! Special place for special dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cosimo was our server. He was excellent ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Cosimo was our server. He was excellent and a pleasure to speak to. He reviewed the menu with us and we ordered what he suggested. It was phenomenal. My husband and I never get out since we have two small children, and the night was spectacular. We enjoyed every moment.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole experience was amazing. This w ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The whole experience was amazing. This was a very special place to celebrate our first anniversary.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful view, especially at sunset. F ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wonderful view, especially at sunset. Food was okay- definitely have had better in Naples but the view makes up for the food experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Loved it! Sunset was beautiful!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Loved it! Sunset was beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice experience. The only problem ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Very nice experience. The only problem was, after I explicitly told the waitress I was terribly allergic to crab, the food was delivered to our table by someone else, and I was given the dish with crab sauce on it. Too many people in the pecking order resulted in a near disaster! This should never happen in a first class restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Absolutely amazing! Beautiful dining on ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Absolutely amazing! Beautiful dining on the patio, delicious food, wonderful servers, etc. It's the perfect date night spot. We loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat at BALEENnaples about 10 times a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We eat at BALEENnaples about 10 times a year. I would highly recommend it and look forward to each time I eat there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was barely adequate Very disappoint ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Good was barely adequate

Very disappointing.

The shrimp appetizer should have been gargantuan.

The salad lacked dressing.

The mango mojito lacked mango

The chocolate cookie dessert tasted store bought.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Beautiful View., family from out of town ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Beautiful View., family from out of town totally enjoyed their

Brunch in Naples.... Everything was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Baleen is one of our favorite special oc ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Baleen is one of our favorite special occasion and business social restaurants. This particular occasion was with a young couple we hope join our office, and we thought the Baleen experience would help enhance the appeal! :) I think it did in fact make the tipping point. The food was very good, sitting on the verandah was pleasant as always, although unfortunately it had been raining, so all diners were under cover instead of scattered on the patio areas just beyond. But Baleen did not, and does not, disappoint!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful beachfront restaurant. Excell ...

vip
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Beautiful beachfront restaurant. Excellent food. Service is usually impeccable. We had some issues. But the associate took responsibility. A must go to in Naplea

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We were hoping for a great dinner and su ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were hoping for a great dinner and sunset, and one out of two isn't bad. It was a rainy evening, but La Playa's back lawn and view of the gulf were still beautiful. The food was very creatively assembled and presented. I had a generous portion of large delicious scallops. Hubby enjoyed the catch of the day. Our service from waiter Cosimo was excellent; I would ask to be seated with him again. Even with the disappointing non-sunset, it was a wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food at Baleen was absolutely delici ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food at Baleen was absolutely delicious and the setting is beautiful. My only quibble is the truly exorbitant wine prices - the markups were excessive and cast a slight pall over what was otherwise a great dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We celebrated my wife's birthday and the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday and the staff went the extra mile to make the night special. From a special rose as we sat down to a special desert, it was a wonderful evening enhanced by the high quality of the food and exceptional service.

The entire staff from the hostess to the support staff and our superb server (Cosimo) worked together to make our dining experience as outstanding as always.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice. Food and ambiance was excelle ...

 
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Very nice. Food and ambiance was excellent. Great view of the gulf and has a nice covered dining area with fans

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, lousy overpriced food. ...

vip
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great atmosphere, lousy overpriced food. The experience starts with being the ONLY restaurant in Naples that charges you for parking. The view is beautiful, on the beach. this used to be a great place but since being bought by investors awhile back, the quality has gone way down hill. They started with a charge for parking, quality of food is lousy, wait staff missed details such as take all the ladies orders first. AT these prices there are way too many better options in Naples. We will not be back. It is a shame because it used to be a great place. Now I can see why tables are always avaialable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Beautiful water view, good food and serv ...

vip
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Beautiful water view, good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful experience. The Sunset ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

What a wonderful experience. The Sunset of the Gulf from this location is outstanding !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for my parents 60th wedding anniver ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Went for my parents 60th wedding anniversary. The food was good and pretty view, but the waiter was annoying. He was pushing the expensive wine on the list and when we picked the one we wanted they didn't have it. We got one we liked and he didn't seem to like it. He poured our first glass and never came to pour another until much later but the bottle was finished. I don't know if he had too many tables or maybe he was new. It kind of took away from the experience since it was a special night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Loved our first visit to Baleen! Awesom ...

 
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Loved our first visit to Baleen! Awesome views and service was outstanding!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.