About BALEENnaples

9891 Gulf Shore Drive
Naples, FL 34108
View Larger Map

Pleasing to the palate and the eye alike, Baleen Naples mixes Old Florida charm with elegant candlelit elegance. Beautiful chandeliers and soft mahogany furnishings set the tone for an elegant dining experience…. Toes-in-the-sand dining takes place as Baleen spills out through the grand doors to the terrace with tables overlooking the sweeping beach and ends with a collection of tables for cocktails in the sand next to the fire pit. Whether seated in an indoor epicurean enclave or a barefoot beach table, visitors can indulge in three daily seating’s at Baleen Naples with options including a breakfast menu with a Gulf Coast twist on traditional favorites. With exceptional entrees and an extensive selection of wines the dinner menu is filled with local ingredients and beautifully composed dishes. For the guest looking for light fare enjoy our bar menu in the cocktail section with an array of seafood selections as well as sandwiches and appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner:
Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Champagne Brunch 11:00am-2:30pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 598-5707

Website:
http://www.laplayaresort.com/

Executive Chef:
Carlos Torres

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

A private dining room overlooking the Gulf of Mexico while enjoying the cuisine of Baleen.

BALEENnaples Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Southwest Florida
Outdoor Dining
Southwest Florida
Scenic View
Southwest Florida
7 More
American
Southwest Florida
Most Booked
Southwest Florida
Best Ambiance
Naples
Outdoor Dining
Naples
Romantic
Naples
Special Occasion
Naples
Most Booked
Naples
Best Restaurants in Naples ›

great for outdoor dining (290)
scenic view (267)
special occasion (215)
See All
romantic (192)
fit for foodies (123)
great for lunch (86)
notable wine list (71)
neighborhood gem (55)
good for groups (54)
great for brunch (46)
hot spot (44)
vibrant bar scene (26)
kid-friendly (19)
late-night find (11)
 (6)
 (6)
 (5)
 (3)
 (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1810 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining on the beach to start off the sum ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

Dining on the beach to start off the summer season was wonderful.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful sunset dinner experience

vip
Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed cocktails before dinner at sunset on the outside patio . All of the servers were extremely friendly and attentive. We had the red snapper & signature Black grouper entrees. The Ceviche , shrimp & salad appetizers were good. Our server Cosimo was terrific as was Lucas the restaurant manager stopping by to ensure we were happy with our food & service. Overall a nice sunset evening dinner. The beach view is beautiful.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome experience

Dined 4 days ago

Awesome experience

food5
ambience5
service5

A beautiful quiet place to dine. Beauti ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

A beautiful quiet place to dine. Beautiful atmosphere right on the beach and delicious food with great service

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fine dining...Beautiful sunsets

Dined on May 22, 2016

A real gem. You have to be prepared to pay for it. but it is well worth the visit.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very unique brunch menu accompanied ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

A very unique brunch menu accompanied by a mimosa or a very well made Bloody Mary, all while enjoying a beautiful beachfront view, best describes Baleen on Sunday. We especially appreciated the remarkable service.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Very disappointing! Extremely noisy....a ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Very disappointing! Extremely noisy....and the food was served at a lukewarm temperature! Not special!!!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Birthday celebration

Dined on May 21, 2016

Baleens is a favorite of mine for a special occasion. The menu is terrific and the staff is happy to accommodate any special requests.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The view of the gulf from the outside se ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The view of the gulf from the outside seating is spectacular. The wait staff is well-trained and attentive (but not overly so). Food is excellent and presented elegantly. A bit pricey, but definitely worth it for special occasions.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

Dined on May 20, 2016

Everything was spot on. Food, service, views, couldn't have asked for more!!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Baleens is a beautiful place with fabulo ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Baleens is a beautiful place with fabulous view and fun wait staff. It has been our favorite spot in Naoles so far and are considering canceling reservations elsewhere tomorrow night and returning

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Will not go back. They charge $5.00 to p ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Will not go back. They charge $5.00 to park. Terrible policy. Food, service, view is all great. Great dining experience. Put additional $5.00 on the entrees. Very low class.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, good food, terrific view

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Great service, good food, terrific view

food5
ambience5
service4

Great atmosphere, excellent food. Recom ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great atmosphere, excellent food. Recommend the lamb gnocchi and the lobster risotto highly!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Go for sunset, stay for the after dinner ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Go for sunset, stay for the after dinner fire pits in the sand.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2

I dine there often , usually the service ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I dine there often , usually the service and food are impeccable. On this occasion not so much. 30 minutes until we even placed our food order. Server did not know the specials, it seemed that he was making things up, finally he had to go back into the kitchen to find out , He came back with completely different items than what he originally told us When The fare finally arrived it was mediocre at best, the lobster salad sandwich did not taste like Maine lobster and when I picked the sandwich up the roll completely disintegrated in my hands, I had to eat it with a fork This visit was extremely disappointing . I brought a guest who had never visited Baleen before and was very excited about it, needless to say I do not think she will be returning anytime soon

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Not so great dinner but a spectacular view!

Dined on May 8, 2016

The restaurant location on the beach is stunning. There is plenty of places to sit and enjoy a cocktail before dinner. We watched a wedding ceremony take place there. We had an 8 pm reservation on a saturday night, we expected to be crowded. When we were seated we were greeted by our waiter and from then on it was a long wait for everything, drinks, appetizer, we got our dinner about an hour and 20 minutes later. I had a steak which was good but nothing out of the ordinary. My husband had the lobster risotto after the waiter said there was a good amount of lobster meat, equivalent to a lobster and half. That definitely was not the case. It was after 10 before we left and have no intentions going back. Naples offer many better restaurants for the money .

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing experience

food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Big disappoinment

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Service was quite slow and disorganized starting with delivery of water. Tuna tartare appetizer was quite good. Husband enjoyed his wedge salad. My chef signature fish was tasteless. Husband enjoyed lobster risotto. Key lime pie was delicious. However, long waits between courses was inexcusable . Our waiter to make amends compted our wine and dessert. The final blow was the $5 valet fee; valet staff kept asking what make car; after several minutes--success- our car arrived. We will never go back.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Lovely location

Dined on May 6, 2016

The location is the best thing about the restaurant especially if a lovely sunset. Service is good although we were encouraged to buy a more expensive bottle of wine. One meal arrived luke warm - we had waited a while so had obviously been standing in kitchen. Food is good but not amazing. Set menu is best value.

Tags: outdoor eating, special occasions, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Not worth it

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

I was very disappointed with their change in valet parking which is now $5 plus tip. There is no other parking alternative and the meal is costly enough. Also $4 soda and iced tea is silly. I can go other places and enjoy more.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful setting

Dined on May 2, 2016

Wonderful setting

food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our favorite places! We e ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

This is one of our favorite places! We eat here regularly! Always good food and good service!!! Beautiful view for sunsets! Lobster risotto is amazing!!!!

food3
ambience5
service2

This was my third time eating here and w ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

This was my third time eating here and was disappointed. Appetizers and dessert were great but main course was just ok. Our waitress was sweet when attending to us but The wait staff seemed to forget about us after delivering our main course when we were finished we sat with our finished plates for over 25 minutes before our waitress came to see if we wanted dessert. Ambience and sunset were amazing as always. I won't cross the restaurant off my list yet.

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Outdoor dining at LaPlaya

Dined on May 1, 2016

Outdoor dining at Baleen was very enjoyable with ocean views and sunset. Service a bit slow but specials were very good. Martinis were substandard but wine list very impressive. One of the best ocean front dining spots in the Naples/Vanderbilt area.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Excellent food but.....

Dined on May 1, 2016

Let me begin by saying the ambiance, food and servers were outstanding! However, we had an 8:30pm reservation( not by choice) and were seated at 9:00pm and would have probably been later if we didn't ask about our table a couple of times. The 2 hostess need an etiquette course. There were at least three other parties complaining about their reservations.. One was for 8:00pm and still not seated at 9:00pm. Their time management is horrible! Some high end restaurants allow you up to 2 hours and then politely ask you to move to the bar or in this case other outdoor seating would be appropriate.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A-one all the way.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Everything about the dining experience was first class. It is our go to place for a special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were seated out on the lawn and that ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We were seated out on the lawn and that turned out to be very nice because it was a perfect evening. The food was excellent and our waiter was very nice and accommodating .

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Had lunch with some some dear friends we ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Had lunch with some some dear friends we hadn't seen in 25 years. It was perfect. Food was delicious. View was immaculate.. thank you

food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Too expensive

Dined on April 27, 2016

The setting is gorgeous however the meal was not worth $205.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Baleens delightful. The food is excelle ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Baleens delightful. The food is excellent and the ocean beautiful. Only two negatives--there is nothing to soften the setting sun (note the beach umbrellas up the beach a little, while the need to pay for valet parking seems excessively commercial. Still, our dinner tonight (we both had the wild Scottish salmon) was a treat and the ambience delightful.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful location overlooking the water

Dined on April 27, 2016

Great spot for watching the sunset! Food was very good but the dinner was more memorable for the location and view rather than for the food. Service was excellent

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2

We made a reservation for a party of 8 m ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

We made a reservation for a party of 8 months in advance- we waited well over 45 minutes to be seated and the hostesses were quite rude about it- they did nothing to apologize for our extended wait- once we were seated our table was lovely, the food was good but our mindset was if we were to ever go back again we'd make an earlier reservation- people just don't get up here in a reasonable amount of time

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening!

Dined on April 26, 2016

Our evening at Baleen, our first visit, was absolutely wonderful. Our waiter, Rob, could not have been more attentive, and the atmosphere and Gulf views were quite special. We are absolutely going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Great on the beach ambience, average food

Dined on April 24, 2016

On a beautiful evening, we were seated outside on the porch. The ambience was excellent and romantic. The food was expensive and average in quality - nothing special and poor seasoning. The service was very poor because it was extremely slow. We waited thirty minutes for a bottle of wine to be served after the order, and everything else was slow. Overall the experience was very good only because of the views and setting on the beach.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The view and food were relaxing.

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The view and food were relaxing.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best beachfront dining in Naples!

Dined on April 24, 2016

I've been to Turtle Club, Naples Beach Resort and Gumbo Limbo (at the Ritz-Carlton) and this blows them all away. The ambiance and food is just so much better than the others. I had the price fixe menu and it was delicious. But the regular menu also had a lot of great stuff on there. As with any Naples restaurant during the high tourist season, reservations are recommended and try to get there for the amazing sunset.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Gorgeous view, impeccable service, extre ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Gorgeous view, impeccable service, extremely friendly waitress, and great food! Perfect night out with friends watching the sunset! Can't wait to go back someday! What a treat!

food4
ambience4
service2
value1

Overbooking tables is bad for business.

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a reservation for six people at 8:15 PM . When we arrived and checked in with the hostess, she told us a table for six was in the process of paying and that we should be seated momentarily . Clearly, this was simply a stock answer . At 9:20 PM we were thinking about leaving and going to another restaurant, when we were told our table was finally available. When we complained to the manager about the length of our wait, he told us if we didn't like waiting we could just simply leave -- abruptly walking away as if we were bothering him for complaining. Perhaps we should've been offered complementary cocktails and an apology. Ever heard of customer service? Once we were finally seated, it took 15 minutes to get a wine menu and then 20 minutes to have someone take an order for our wine. The four friends we took to dinner who had never been to Baleen certainly were not impressed. In the future, we will take friends to Chops.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived at Bayleen in a sudden rain s ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

We arrived at Bayleen in a sudden rain shower which eliminated outdoor dining. Staff adjusted, accommodated quite a crowd inside, and gave the impression that they were very capable of managing this inconvenience. Food and service were wonderful. We had a great time. "noise" level added to the festive mood of so many gathered inside rather than outside as we had planned.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.