About BALEENnaples

9891 Gulf Shore Drive
Naples, FL 34108
View Larger Map

Pleasing to the palate and the eye alike, Baleen Naples mixes Old Florida charm with elegant candlelit elegance. Beautiful chandeliers and soft mahogany furnishings set the tone for an elegant dining experience…. Toes-in-the-sand dining takes place as Baleen spills out through the grand doors to the terrace with tables overlooking the sweeping beach and ends with a collection of tables for cocktails in the sand next to the fire pit. Whether seated in an indoor epicurean enclave or a barefoot beach table, visitors can indulge in three daily seating’s at Baleen Naples with options including a breakfast menu with a Gulf Coast twist on traditional favorites. With exceptional entrees and an extensive selection of wines the dinner menu is filled with local ingredients and beautifully composed dishes. For the guest looking for light fare enjoy our bar menu in the cocktail section with an array of seafood selections as well as sandwiches and appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner:
Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Champagne Brunch 11:00am-2:30pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 598-5707

Website:
http://www.laplayaresort.com/

Executive Chef:
Carlos Torres

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Gulf Roast Pan Roast

Fridays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

PRIME RIB NIGHT

Sundays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Gulf Roast Pan Roast

Fridays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Florida Classic Revisited Bounties of Gulf of Mexico such as Grouper, Red Snapper, Crab and other local delicacies and local sustained seafood. Cost $38. Excludes Tax and Tip. The Pan Roast changes weekly, but is always with seafood from the Gulf Coast!. Special valid Jun 28, 2016 - Jul 31, 2016 on Fridays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM.
PRIME RIB NIGHT

Sundays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Prime Rib served with Horseradish Mashed Potatoes and Yorkshire Pudding (Popovers). Cost $35 Enjoy a glass of Argentinian Malbec from a 3 liter Magnum with that for only $10 per glass!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Great value for both the Prime Rib and the wine. Enjoy. Special valid Jul 3, 2016 - Jul 31, 2016 on Sundays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

A private dining room overlooking the Gulf of Mexico while enjoying the cuisine of Baleen.

BALEENnaples Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Southwest Florida
Outdoor Dining
Southwest Florida
Scenic View
Southwest Florida
7 More
American
Southwest Florida
Most Booked
Southwest Florida
Best Ambiance
Naples
Outdoor Dining
Naples
Romantic
Naples
Special Occasion
Naples
Most Booked
Naples
Best Restaurants in Naples ›

great for outdoor dining (162)
scenic view (151)
special occasion (132)
See All
romantic (124)
fit for foodies (74)
notable wine list (51)
great for lunch (44)
neighborhood gem (37)
good for groups (33)
great for brunch (27)
hot spot (23)
vibrant bar scene (15)
kid-friendly (9)
late-night find (8)
Sort By:
Newest
1856 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely amazing! Beautiful dining on ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Absolutely amazing! Beautiful dining on the patio, delicious food, wonderful servers, etc. It's the perfect date night spot. We loved it!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat at BALEENnaples about 10 times a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We eat at BALEENnaples about 10 times a year. I would highly recommend it and look forward to each time I eat there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was barely adequate Very disappoint ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Good was barely adequate

Very disappointing.

The shrimp appetizer should have been gargantuan.

The salad lacked dressing.

The mango mojito lacked mango

The chocolate cookie dessert tasted store bought.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Beautiful View., family from out of town ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Beautiful View., family from out of town totally enjoyed their

Brunch in Naples.... Everything was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Baleen is one of our favorite special oc ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Baleen is one of our favorite special occasion and business social restaurants. This particular occasion was with a young couple we hope join our office, and we thought the Baleen experience would help enhance the appeal! :) I think it did in fact make the tipping point. The food was very good, sitting on the verandah was pleasant as always, although unfortunately it had been raining, so all diners were under cover instead of scattered on the patio areas just beyond. But Baleen did not, and does not, disappoint!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful beachfront restaurant. Excell ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Beautiful beachfront restaurant. Excellent food. Service is usually impeccable. We had some issues. But the associate took responsibility. A must go to in Naplea

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We were hoping for a great dinner and su ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were hoping for a great dinner and sunset, and one out of two isn't bad. It was a rainy evening, but La Playa's back lawn and view of the gulf were still beautiful. The food was very creatively assembled and presented. I had a generous portion of large delicious scallops. Hubby enjoyed the catch of the day. Our service from waiter Cosimo was excellent; I would ask to be seated with him again. Even with the disappointing non-sunset, it was a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food at Baleen was absolutely delici ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food at Baleen was absolutely delicious and the setting is beautiful. My only quibble is the truly exorbitant wine prices - the markups were excessive and cast a slight pall over what was otherwise a great dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We celebrated my wife's birthday and the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday and the staff went the extra mile to make the night special. From a special rose as we sat down to a special desert, it was a wonderful evening enhanced by the high quality of the food and exceptional service.

The entire staff from the hostess to the support staff and our superb server (Cosimo) worked together to make our dining experience as outstanding as always.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice. Food and ambiance was excelle ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Very nice. Food and ambiance was excellent. Great view of the gulf and has a nice covered dining area with fans

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, lousy overpriced food. ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great atmosphere, lousy overpriced food. The experience starts with being the ONLY restaurant in Naples that charges you for parking. The view is beautiful, on the beach. this used to be a great place but since being bought by investors awhile back, the quality has gone way down hill. They started with a charge for parking, quality of food is lousy, wait staff missed details such as take all the ladies orders first. AT these prices there are way too many better options in Naples. We will not be back. It is a shame because it used to be a great place. Now I can see why tables are always avaialable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Beautiful water view, good food and serv ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Beautiful water view, good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful experience. The Sunset ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

What a wonderful experience. The Sunset of the Gulf from this location is outstanding !!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for my parents 60th wedding anniver ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Went for my parents 60th wedding anniversary. The food was good and pretty view, but the waiter was annoying. He was pushing the expensive wine on the list and when we picked the one we wanted they didn't have it. We got one we liked and he didn't seem to like it. He poured our first glass and never came to pour another until much later but the bottle was finished. I don't know if he had too many tables or maybe he was new. It kind of took away from the experience since it was a special night.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Loved our first visit to Baleen! Awesom ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Loved our first visit to Baleen! Awesome views and service was outstanding!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, great prix fixe menu, ou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Delicious food, great prix fixe menu, outstanding view, atentive service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Terrific place. First time there but not ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Terrific place. First time there but not the last. Highly recommend you ask for Baris as your wait staff. Impressive young man. All staff knew our name and our occasion. 😎

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Without question Baleen is an impressiv ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Without question Baleen is an impressive dining experience with incredible views of the beach and Gulf of Mexico. The food was outstanding but the portion sizes were very small. In addition to the small portion size the prices were very high even for this type of high end establishment, for example $25 for a glass of house Chardonnay. In closing I would recommend dining here but only if the correct expectation has been set.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

We went to BALEEN for our anniversary. I ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We went to BALEEN for our anniversary. It was the best place I had ever been to and I go to a lot of fine dining restaurants. You cannot compare it to another place. This is definitely the #1 top fine dining experience in the Florida area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous and the staff was ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food was fabulous and the staff was better. Great setting looking out over the the gulf. Cool fire pits to sit at after with a good whiskey and cigar.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining at BALEEN is ALWAYS an OUTSTANDIN ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Dining at BALEEN is ALWAYS an OUTSTANDING experience! Took a high school girlfriend to Naples for a girls weekend, and BALEEN was our first dinner. This restaurant NEVER waivers from outstanding! The fish special was Snapper, and it was prepared to perfection. Soup/Salad and dessert were all very tasty, but nothing ever tops the incredible sunsets. No two are ever the same...I have pictures every time I dine there to prove it!

BALEEN is a destination that is a must if you are visiting Naples or if you live there. Don't miss it, just check on the time of sunset and plan your dinner so that you can

see the true beauty of nature!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Breakfast selections are plentiful, many ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Breakfast selections are plentiful, many choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fine. Food was delicious, ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Everything was fine. Food was delicious, perhaps the best on the Paradise Coast. At over $400.00 for just four people I did find it a bit pricey but for special occasions---fine.

The waiter was bragging about having over 2,000 different wine selections. When I ordered a bottle of Chianti on the menu he returned with quite an unbelievable story. He told us that particular bottle was on the 10th floor and the elevator was out. He said it was too far to take the stairs. REALLY FOLKS?? Why not just admit that you don't have it?

Otherwise we love Baleens and will be back for the next birthday, anniversary, etc.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The outdoor seating gave us a view of th ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The outdoor seating gave us a view of the ocean, with a tremendous sunset. The food was fantastic. Great wines.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We stayed at LA Playa for a girls weeken ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We stayed at LA Playa for a girls weekend. We ate outside for sunset dining. The view is spectacular. The food was wonderful. And they offer nightly features, which happened to be fresh locally caught seafood. It was outstanding. We tried the lobster macaronI and cheese. Incredible. Service good. Nice for a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

This is my favorite restaurant for any s ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant for any special occasion, or just to treat myself. The food and service is fabulous, and the view of the beach and Gulf incomparable.

On this lunch visit, we had the Grouper tacos which are to die for!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent dining experience at a firs ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

An excellent dining experience at a first class resort. I recommend anyone staying in the Naples, Florida area to make a reservation!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was really good. The waiter was ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was really good. The waiter was also very nice. We wanted to sit outside but there were some type of mites on the table, so we decided to eat inside. The tables were a bit dusty and the vents needed to be clean, but overall, it was great. PS. I am somewhat OCD about cleanliness, so these types of things may not bother others. :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good was delicious. This is must for qua ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good was delicious. This is must for quality and sunset view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The view and ambiance was amazing! Love ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The view and ambiance was amazing! Love the location! We went for a sunset dinner for our anniversary. We both ordered steak and felt we'd had much better steaks for much less elsewhere. The cut of beef was good, it was tender, but the way it was prepared was really lacking. The carrot cake was delicious. I recommend going for drinks or dessert.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Great location, stunning views of the gu ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great location, stunning views of the gulf. You can sit right on the beach and as visitors from the UK this was a real perk for us and made it really different and enjoyable. Menu is good, lots to choose from, very good standard of food too, so don't think you'll be paying more but getting less, that is not the case. Staff were friendly overall, gave us enough attention without being overbearing.

Overall a great experience and well worth the visit. Would go back and recommend to others. Don't forget there's a $5 valet parking fee and you'll need to throw in a tip on top of that.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, outdoor eating, romance, special occasions, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

As usual a lovely place to dine. Comfort ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

As usual a lovely place to dine. Comfortable outdoor seating and a pleasing atmosphere . Service was somewhat less than the usual excellence , but good. Food was good not great. Portion size was fine for brunch but choices were unusual and heavy. Lunch choices were much more varied .

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great dining experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We went to Baleen's for our 10 year anniversary. We had a great experience! The food and the service was absolutely amazing. We also had a breathtaking view of the sunset. I would recommend Baleen to anyone looking for combination of great food and ambience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly best dinning experience

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The food was exceptional for quality, preparation and presentation. The wait staff and management were knowledgeable, friendly and had the unusual ability to be there whenever needed, but not in the least overbearing. We enjoyed two dinner meals and brunch, all with the same stellar result. The venue could not be more enjoyable rain or shine and we experienced both. Can't wait to return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent but the server no ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The food was excellent but the server not too attentive. It was our anniversary and the weather was not good, so the server could have made the experience better --especially for the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A good lively vibe for a rainy day lunch ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

A good lively vibe for a rainy day lunch. Food was good as always.

Looking forward to next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

40th bday celebration

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Baleen did a wonderful job accommodating our excited party of 9 as we gathered to celebrate our joint bdays. One of our friends couldn't make it and coordinated with the manager to have a round of drinks sent our way in her absence. The service was wonderful and the food was fabulous. But nothing could compete with the view. Being there for sunset felt magical-only making our night even more special. Wonderful experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When In Naples You Must Go To Baleen's

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

As I live in Naples I often go here. Perfect for any meal or happy hour. You could not be closer to the water. Only bad about Baleens is that they charge a $5.00 valet parking fee and expect a tip in addition to that.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful setting , great service , grea ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Beautiful setting , great service , great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular Evening

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We celebrated my brother and sister in laws 25th wedding anniversary on a glorious evening.

The weather was perfect, the sunset sublime, the food fantastic!

I often partake in Baleens when I am in Naples for special celebrations and I am never disappointed.

Can't wait until my next special occasion!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.