About BALEENnaples

Pleasing to the palate and the eye alike, Baleen Naples mixes Old Florida charm with elegant candlelit elegance. Toes-in-the-sand dining takes place as Baleen spills out through the grand doors to the terrace with tables overlooking the sweeping beach and ends with a collection of tables for cocktails in the sand next to the fire pit. Whether seated in an indoor epicurean enclave or a barefoot beach table, visitors can indulge in three daily seating’s at Baleen Naples with options including a breakfast menu with a Gulf Coast twist on traditional favorites. With exceptional entrees and an extensive selection of wines the dinner menu is filled with local ingredients and beautifully composed dishes. Baleen Naples was named in the Top 100 outdoor dining destinations in the US on OpenTable and has received multiple awards to include Awards of Excellence with Wine Spectator and best outdoor restaurant with GulfShore Life magazine….

9891 Gulf Shore Drive
Naples, FL 34108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast / Daily 7:00 - 11:00am
Lunch / Daily 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner / Daily 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Champagne Brunch 11:00am-2:30pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 598-5707

Website:
http://www.laplayaresort.com/

Executive Chef:
John Sexton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Mark the Calendars for May 14th and join us for our oceanfront, Mother's Day buffet from 11:30am until 9:00pm.
We will offer an amazing cold seafood display, a carving station with beef tenderloin; blackened grouper, Lumb Crab Cakes and much more. We look forward seeing you at the restaurant

Private Dining

A private dining room overlooking the Gulf of Mexico while enjoying the cuisine of Baleen.

BALEENnaples Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (184)
Scenic View (163)
Great for Outdoor Dining (149)
See All
Special Occasion (101)
Romantic (99)
Good for Anniversaries (82)
Good for a Date (79)
Worth the Drive (48)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Great for Lunch (37)
Notable Wine List (36)
Fun (31)
Great for Brunch (29)
People Watching (28)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Hot Spot (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Casual (24)
Good for Groups (21)
Seasonal (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Business Meals (17)
Authentic (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Cozy (15)
Healthy (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Fireplace (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Family Style (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Private Room (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Historic (2)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
2371 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing dinner, beautiful restaurant on the beach, enjoyed a sunset and lovely evening !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

View is magnificient from anywhere on the outside porch, lover level and firepit area. Gracious servers, knowledgeable, and kind. Food is always consistently excellent. Day or night dining is always perfect!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

The location on the beach is beautiful, the chef's prix fixe menu was delicious and a great value. We had an 8:15 reservation, but weren't seated until 8:45. It seemed as though the hostess just forgot about us.

Tags: People Watching, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was overcooked and with little taste. Took for ever to get served. Offered us drinks as an apology which were watered down. Will not go back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

4 of us sat outside in order to watch the sunset, however it was very sunny and hot until it set. Our square table was too small but we were offered a round table which was better but we were right next to the door and the beach bar area which was awful!
Loud crowds dressed for the beach. The whole outside restaurant was exceptionally boisterous. We've been here before and never experienced such a noisy, beachy looking crowd.
Cosimo was our wonderful Italian waiter which was fun since our friends are Italian and they could converse in their native tongue. He was a fantastic waiter, catering to our needs in every way.
We ordered a nice wine but discovered afterwards that it was marked up by 3 times. We drove from Marco so it was quite a drive and I dont think it was worth it. Probably wont return, which is too bad since we always enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Baleen's is the pearl of Naples for watching sunset. The charm of the patio and dining room is unmatched. Our waiter Casimo was fantastic. The food is always amazing. I ordered the lamb shank, I was just a little disappointed in the portion of the lamb and massive amount of gnocchi. The wines by the glass were nice and tasted freshly opened.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant has a great view of the Ocean. BUT, you have to pay $5 for the valet. NO OTHER RESTAURANT OR HOTEL IN COLLIER COUNTY CHARGES FOR PARKING. I WILL NOT GO BACK TO BALEEN's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Right on the beach with multiple fire pit areas and a beautiful view. We had steaks, New York strip & filet, both were amazing.

Tags: Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Spent our 35th anniversary here for dinner. It never disappoints!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

This,was our second visit on our wedding anniversary. We dined outdoors and watched the sunset. The food was very good but the service was terrible - we will not return next year. Also paying $5 for valet service is too much for a high end restaurant.

My wife had to wait over 10 minutes for our wine, after I had been served my cocktail. They couldn't find the wine. Once obtained, the waiter never offered a tasting of the wine, he just poured. It was a very expensive wine that should have been decantered. Our bread was stale and had to be replaced. Water glasses were never refilled. Our utensils were changed between a serving, but they removed the clean ones and left the dirty ones. We were never asked how the food was by the waiter. I had to wait over 15 minutes to receive my bill and only got it from the hostess when I left the table and searched her out. Our waiter was nowhere to be seen.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

Ridiculously overpriced for mediocre food, AND you have to pay for parking. However, beachfront dining is lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My wife and I took our daughter to BALEEN for her first visit. One diner tried the fixed price special menu. Her suggestion, stay with the main menu. The dishes were not as flavorful as those ordered from the main menu. The scallops were good, not the best I've had, could have used a better sear to form a "crustier" surface. The special fish of the day, black bass, with couscous was outstanding. The bread pudding was very good. The variation on key lime pie disappointed. The cappuccino was excellent, why so good? The expresso beans were tasty and the cream/milk frothed to perfection. The service was excellent, always there when you needed service but not intrusive nor did we feel watched. The ambiance was good considering we were on the porch which was crowded waiting for the sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Outstanding birthday dinner! Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Sitting feet away from the sand and fire pits was the perfect way to start off a Florida vacation! It's all about the waterfront atmosphere here. Food was good - had blackened tuna and steak - and service was attentive. Would be perfect if you could hit sunset time.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Lovely! Felt like we were on our honeymoon again. The lighting an ocean back drop was enough to help us relax and have a special night out:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Awesome place on the beach,beautiful sunset in addition great food and drink.The wait and service staff were friendly,helpful and knowledgeable

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Not worth it. Food was not well prepared nor a good value.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Perfect night out!...Great tables outside on beach patio and excellent service...food was delicious!! Always go back when we are in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Lovely setting beautiful furnishings, my snapper was not good? Really snapper in Florida should be fabulous. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 18, 2017

This was our 2nd night eating at the Baleen restaurant. We requested Milos, our server from the night before. Just like the first night, we dined outside during sunset but ordered all appetizers. We started with the Bayou Mussels which were superbly prepared and served with shallots, ham, tomato, white wine and tarragon sauce which was perfect for dipping bread. Then followed with six large Gulf shrimp and a Jumbo Lump Crab Cocktail divinely prepared with avocado, grilled corn, tomatoes and Rose Marie sauce and served with tortilla chips. We ended the night with dessert, espresso and zambucca while sitting in addarondeck chairs in front of an open fire pit on the beach. It doesn't get any better than this! Milos was the number one reason for our wonderful romantic dinning experience. After dinner he located and directed us to the fire pit and provided top of the line service throughout the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Fantastic night out while on vacation! My wife and I had drinks outside while watching dolphins play right off shore. Dinner was wonderful - we both had the price fixe dinner which wasn't cheap when you add drinks and tip, but we loved every minute of it. Our waitress Patti was very attentive and helpful. After dinner we took a nighttime stroll on the beach and sat on the chairs by the water. Whole thing was magical. Only thing missing was the famous sunsets (very cloudy evening) - so we're just going to have to go back!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I took a close friend to Baleen for her birthday! We had a great table outdoors, wonderful view, Good food and great service! Her complimentary dessert was a surprise, and delicious for both of us!! We will be back!!!

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Our waiter Melos was absolutely amazing. He went above and beyond the call of duty which made our dinning experience extremely memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great place. My personal favorite in Naples. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Spicy, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Even after "season" and on a Monday evening, an outdoor table was a wait--so we took a high top table in the porch (first come, first served). It was exactly what we were looking for. Our server was attentive and helpful. I particularly enjoyed picking out a bottle of wine using their iPad to select type, region, boldness, etc. Our entrees were fabulous. We ordered a pasta and a risotto dish, as well as roasted/caramelized Brussels sprouts. Yum! My partner did not have leftovers but I enjoyed the same meal the following evening. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter Brunch and sat on the verandah. There were a few black flies flying around - normal for an outdoor venue. Less than an hour into our brunch we were swarmed by a multitude of these black flies. They were so bad that the whole verandah cleared out. They were in our drinks, food, etc. The waiter said that this time of year this happens. Well for $105 per adult for brunch - ridiculously high- they should have forewarned us and asked if we wanted to sit outside and what might take place. For a restaurant of this caliber, this is completely unacceptable. It will be a long time before I venture back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was beautiful. Pro's great location, service was attentive and pleasant, many food selections - delicious trout, fresh pasta, beef tenderloin. Con's - seafood was disappointing- frozen shrimp was soft and bland, oysters were warm so only ate one and it was not good, the stone crabs were small and rubbery.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Baleen is located in the posh La Playa Hotel right on the beach in Naples.
After valet parking, entrance is through a pretty lobby and the restaurant is a lovely spot with a feel food atmosphere.
We went for Eater Brunch and enjoyed our a la cart eggs benedict. (A great looking buffet was also offered for those with bigger appetites).
The service was pleasant and efficient and we did not have a long wait for our food.
A bit pricey but not unreasonable given the overall experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We have always loved Baleen but this experience was disappointing. Food was surprisingly sub par....grouper was not fresh and other seafood dishes were heavy handed with too much sauce and unappealing presentation. Service was slow. Ambience is terrific but not worth it if the food doesn't measure up.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was my first visit to Baleen. My wife and I sat outside overlooking the gulf. It was beautiful. The service was wonderful and the food was delicious. I look forward to going back. There is a little lack of privacy when you sit outside but it is well worth it (hotel guests are walking around).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

It's the most beautiful setting. Food is good, not great. High priced. And so strange that they gave my husband an Amuse Bouche but not me seems because I did not order off the prix fix, but I was actually paying more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Baleens was excellent as usual. Dinner was magnificent and the view of the sunset is a perfect backdrop for a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

What an amazing place...
We have made our reservation like two months in advance and even though we have to wait more than an hour for a nice table outside.
Our Italian server, Adriano, gave us more than a great service: he was great, he recommended us some specialties, the water and the desert was on him and he was absolutely fantastic. Congrats, Baleen, for hiring people like Adriano: he gave us a really special and relaxing experience.
And, of course, the decoration, ambience, the fire pit area, the sunset view... everything was so well organized to enjoy every minute there.
We'd love to come back soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Friday of Easter weekend their Computer went down and they were totally lost from hostess to the bar and from the waiter to the wine. 75 minutes to get an entree, were asked 3 times to confirm our order and they put us in a hastily set up table on the walkway to the beach when there were other better tables available . Was THE go to place for us to bring guests to our home here in FL but will think twice now...
It would have been nice to have an explanation and maybe an apology for bad service. Their total lack of a backup plan or any plan at all was eye opening.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The setting was perfect and the service was good. However, the food was expensive and very mediocre. I ordered quinoa crusted salmon salad and the only quinoa I could see was just a few specks on the top of the salmon! Three of us ordered this dish and we all agreed that the salmon was overcooked. The wine, King Crawford Sauvignon Blanc, was extortionate ($14 per glass) - you can buy this in Costco for $8:69 per bottle at the moment! I know you have to make a profit, but ...... really?! Dessert (creme brulee) was excellent and a decent sized portion. I think Baleen are trading on their fantastic location and not concentrating on the quality of the food and the value for money.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary and my birthday along with one daughter and one granddaughter. Food and service were excellent. One server saw my daughter taking a sunset photo and offered to take a photo of the group for us. It was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Baleen has their own barrel aged Bourbon old Fashioned that is wonderful! The restaurant and bar seating outside overlooks the beach and is very inviting. Spent an entire afternoon lazing on the bar deck watching the water, enjoying lunch, and sipping on a drink. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 10, 2017

You pay for the view the food is so bad omg I can't believe it bad food and expensive just go to to drink something never order food

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We had guests from the North. We wanted to see sunset while dining from a beachfront restaurant. Sun, clouds, sea and Baleens all cooperated to make it happen perfectly. T

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We were seated next to the door that the wait staff used to enter and exit the patio. We were interrupted continually throughout our meal. Service was friendly and professional but it took too long for our initial service contact. Finally someone said "have you been taken care of yet?" She took our order but service was slow.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.