About BALEENnaples

Pleasing to the palate and the eye alike, Baleen Naples mixes Old Florida charm with elegant candlelit elegance. Toes-in-the-sand dining takes place as Baleen spills out through the grand doors to the terrace with tables overlooking the sweeping beach and ends with a collection of tables for cocktails in the sand next to the fire pit. Whether seated in an indoor epicurean enclave or a barefoot beach table, visitors can indulge in three daily seating’s at Baleen Naples with options including a breakfast menu with a Gulf Coast twist on traditional favorites. With exceptional entrees and an extensive selection of wines the dinner menu is filled with local ingredients and beautifully composed dishes. Baleen Naples was named in the Top 100 outdoor dining destinations in the US on OpenTable and has received multiple awards to include Awards of Excellence with Wine Spectator and best outdoor restaurant with GulfShore Life magazine….

9891 Gulf Shore Drive
Naples, FL 34108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast / Daily 7:00 - 11:00am
Lunch / Daily 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner / Daily 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Champagne Brunch 11:00am-2:30pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 598-5707

Website:
http://www.laplayaresort.com/

Executive Chef:
John Sexton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us this Easter for our oceanfront, Easter buffet from 11:30am until 9:00pm.
We will offer a great seafood display, carve beef tenderloin and a roasted leg of lamb, as well as offer a pan seared flounder, trout and much more. We look forward seeing you at the restaurant.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Mark the Calendars for May 14th and join us for our oceanfront, Mother's Day buffet from 11:30am until 9:00pm.
We will offer an amazing cold seafood display, a carving station with beef tenderloin; blackened grouper, Lumb Crab Cakes and much more. We look forward seeing you at the restaurant

Private Dining

A private dining room overlooking the Gulf of Mexico while enjoying the cuisine of Baleen.

BALEENnaples Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (145)
Scenic View (126)
Great for Outdoor Dining (122)
See All
Special Occasion (84)
Romantic (79)
Good for Anniversaries (65)
Good for a Date (65)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Worth the Drive (40)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Notable Wine List (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Great for Lunch (26)
Fun (26)
People Watching (25)
Casual (23)
Great for Brunch (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Seasonal (16)
Cozy (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Business Meals (13)
Healthy (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Fireplace (9)
Authentic (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Family Style (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (2)
Historic (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2297 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was flavorless and terrible. Great ambience as usual and loved our server but food was so bad. Will go back for drinks and sunset but last several dining experiences were awful bc of food and many other better options for that price!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food in a great setting. Had the Turkey Club. Delicious!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Superb tuna tartare w/great sauce . . . Perfectly cooked black grouper w/excellent risotto cake. Spouse enjoyed very different lobster bisque + delicious snapper + keylime pie on price fixe menu but bit surprised on small portions compared to mine. Easily could share the tuna poke. Adriano very appropriate & attentive/ entertaining waiter.
Appreciated outside table on lowest level at beach, but not the oblivious groups who ran in front of us as sun set to block our view of it (mgmt should not allow people just getting pics to hang out in front of those dining). Great cosmo but $18 bit high for a cocktail. Unbelievable wine list.
Overall a great dining experience as usual but need to keep the non- dining crowd away from dining tables ( certainly room by the tables for cocktails for that crowd)

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

It was a great experience for a Birthday, or any other special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Valet: sucked, was way too busy. Took forever and cost money.

Hostess: rude, ignored the fact that I was standing right in front of her and finally 15 minutes later sat us.

Waiter: awkward and rude. Did not know to accommodate food restrictions with changing certain components in the meal.

Food: sample sized meals, weird seasoning and food just was in appealing.

We were in and out within 45 minutes and it was absolutely awful. Would not recommend to my worst enemy to go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

We were seated twenty five minutes late and they were kind of rude to us. It was better when we ate there four years ago. It felt chaotic and disorganized.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

Despite an 8:00 pm reservation, we had to wait an extra 20 minutes to be seated despite many available tables. Meal was over priced as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was very good and the subset view was lovely, but the service was horrible. We had 2 children with us and while we were able to put the order in early for the children they were finished eating before the adult even had an opportunity to order

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

Ordered lobster Cobb salad for $29. The salad was delicious but very little lobster for the money. It is a great spot. This was my first time and I will go back again.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food! Great Service and gorgeous sunset while you dine:)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Service is getting slower and slower. To long to get served from time of order

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Went tn Baleen for a nice quiet dinner on the beach. It was very windy and they had no plan for handling this issue even though being on the beach they must run into this quite a bit.
It wad overcrowded, very noisy and we put at a table that felt like we were in a hallway with all the traffic going by.
Service was excellent otherwise the food was fair and the ambiance was a zero.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We took our niece who was visiting and she loved it. Great meal, wine and ambiance

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Had guests from Canada in for a birthday dinner at Baleen's over the weekend. Servers were attentive with nice personalities and were able to make wonderful recommendations for dinner entrees. Everything from the lobster bisque soup to the crab cakes and salads were very tasty. Entrees included lobster risotto, the chef's grouper special and seared ahi tuna. All exceptional, no complaints at all. The birthday girl was sung to in Italian, given a rose shortly after arrival and a dessert on the house. Nice touch. The setting on the beach cannot be beaten. Well done Baleen's!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Always great food and top notch service at Baleen! The outdoor seating is our favorite with a front row seat to the beautiful Naples sunsets.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Absolutely amazing!! Gorgeous oceanfront property. Wonderful staff. Hostess Heather was a delight. Our waiter Nickola was one of the best waiters I've ever had. Wonderful experience.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Fabulous view. Food was ok. Not gourmet. But I don't think most people are there for the food. It's the view!! Excellent service. And not outrageously expensive. A must when visiting Naples.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Garay was a great waiter. Cold night out on the veranda but he served us well. Back very soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 15, 2017

You can't best the view of the gulf - gorgeous, except for coming on a cold day when you're forced inside. The noise level is deafening! Food mediocre.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Giving my name that res was made under I Checked in for lunch few minutes before lunch reservation time.
As it was very chilly & windy requested inside.
After about 7 minutes I was seated in nice booth & mentioned that my friend would
be arriving soon. After waiting 20 minutes I phoned friend to see when sher would arrive
She had been sitting outside on porch area entire time
The gal who seated me had seated her My friend gave my name as I did.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Too expensive for small size servings ! But wonderful view on the Vanderbilt Beach and outstanding hotel.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Fabulous food, service and view. First visit and will be back soon.

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Beautiful location overlooking turquoise Gulf waters. Our table was on the verandah in the shade but there are tables in the (hot) sun if you prefer. The food was fair to good. Service was fair;our waiter seemed a bit harried and forgot a couple of items. But all in all, a pleasant lunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our reservation was 7:00 so restaurant was unlikely to turn table over, yet we felt quite rushed by our waiter. The "Heirloom Tomato and Burrata" salad was disappointing in that there were only 2 small wedges of tomato and 2 tiny halved cherry tomatoes! Signature grouper was delicious but waiter/kitchen (?) had forgotten the green beans so they came out quite late and not sufficiently cooked. This is the busy season so these "blips" can be tolerated given the beauty of the outdoor setting and general quality of the food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Nadia is why we come back
She takes such good care of us in this beautiful place by the sea
Please take care of Nadi
Susann and Garry

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Baleen was extremely disappointing. Have dined there before and food was better.
WAY overpriced for the quality. Short ribs were dry, and were not hot. The lobster risotto was very runny and oddly seasoned. The seafood pasta was good but nothing particular spectacular. Baleen is living off an outdated reputation for being an excellent restaurant. Too many really, really good restaurants in Naples to return to Baleen.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Can't beat the ambiance- right on the water. Service was excellent. Food was delicious

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My husband and I were having a Sat.date night before having to head "back north". Have always loved dining on the back porch especially at sunset. We were not able to be accommodated on the porch but were seated below on the lawn level which was still lovely and we did enjoy a beautiful sunset. There also happened to be a small wedding happening on the lawn. This was nice & we enjoyed the mellow music. We were warned that service might be slow but we were not in a rush. We both chose the prix fix which was a great value (3 courses for 45.) Everything was beautifully prepared. My salmon entree had an unexpected hot spiciness to it that I could have done without however. It was quite chilly & somewhat gusty that night. When we asked for a heater one was set up right away. Then while enjoying after dinner coffee it started to rain. We got up & moved to a covered area & I think our poor waiter thought we had left without paying! Bottom line... kudos to our waiter and the staff for doing all they could for us under trying circumstances. Of course we will go back... especially since we are all about the ambiance.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

What a joy to come off the beach and be served gulfside! Most of the Wait staff are attentive !

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Beach setting for breakfast on a perfect Naples morning - we are fortunate

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Wonderful meal. They really made us feel special. Outstanding wine list. Can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Beautiful location on the Gulf. Food and waiter were excellent. Problem with having long wait to get our food. Waiter apologized and gave us free wine and dessert. Otherwise, would highly recommend Baleen's.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We waited for an outside table and it was definitely worth the wait! Gorgeous setting right on the beach. You can not beat the view!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Another wonderful evening at Baleen. I have been to the restaurant numerous times since I've visited Naples over the last ten years, and always have lunch/and /or dinner at the restaurant.
It still hasn't disappointed me, but I missed the warm home made "Monkey bread" served in the past, and I thought there were fewer specials on their $45.00 prix fixe menu than in past years .I also thought the prixe fixe quote online was $35.00, but when asked the waiter told me I was wrong. It is still one of the most beautiful restaurant settings in Naples on a beautiful beach at sunset which makes it memorable.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Breakfast was good (expensive) Our dinner was terrible. The 6 oysters we got were lacking of any liquor from the oyster. Perhaps they had been sitting opened in the fridge all day. The raw tuna appetizer pieces of fish and some tasteless something holding the pieces together and dusted with nuts on top. Mine was 6 Quarter size paper thin slices of Venison with 2 tablespoonfuls of Arugula and oil and vinegar on it Sounds good but for what we paid not anywhere a good value . the 3 items plus 1 drink was. $98 plus tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Baleen is a major disappointment.
Although it has a beautiful outside restaurant, the food and service is mediocre.
It took over 25 minutes for our entrees to be brought to our table. The fish and fillet were semi-warm. The waitress disappeared after bringing our entrees and no one inquired if we were satisfied with our meals. We waited over 15 minutes after we finished our entrees with dirty plates remaining on our table. When we inquired about our waitress, another waiter volunteered to locate her. After five minutes, he returned and told us he would remove our dishes and apologized for not being able to locate her. He also retrieved our dessert but told us only our waitress could retrieve our bill. We continued to wait for our waitress. I finally went to the hostess and asked to speak to the manager. At that time, our waitress approached me and apologized stating she was assisting another waiter and that the manager would come and speak with me. The manager offered to reduce our bill by 50%.
There is no excuse for excessive waits, poor service, food that is semi-warm.
The manager needs to hire more servers and refresh employees training.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Arrived about 15 minutes before reservation time of 6:30. Told to go to the bar and come back to hostess closet to 6:30. Came back at 6:30 and waitress told me my reservation for a table outside as requested 3 weeks earlier was most likely not available for another 40 minutes. Told I could eat inside right away and being hungry we took an inside table.

Had lovely lady as a server but she was busy that evening and got lost a few times until we complained.
I have heard the restaurant has a preferred list of regulars which may have been the reason for out treatment.

The area has many fine restaurants so there is no reason to visit this one

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

It was wonderful! The salmon was amazing and the drinks were great. We stuck around for a cocktail at the beach fire pits and loved it. Will be returning!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fireplace, Waterfront, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The best sunset dinner setting, fabulous food, thank god since NYC pricing. Overall service only "good", wouldn't stop me from coming back but out of sync with prices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Celebrated our son from out of town's birthday. Food was excellent as always, the waiter very attentive and personal and personable...all in all, the excellent experience we've come to expect from Baleen...Recommend highly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.