About BALEENnaples

9891 Gulf Shore Drive
Naples, FL 34108
View Larger Map

Pleasing to the palate and the eye alike, Baleen Naples mixes Old Florida charm with elegant candlelit elegance. Toes-in-the-sand dining takes place as Baleen spills out through the grand doors to the terrace with tables overlooking the sweeping beach and ends with a collection of tables for cocktails in the sand next to the fire pit. Whether seated in an indoor epicurean enclave or a barefoot beach table, visitors can indulge in three daily seating’s at Baleen Naples with options including a breakfast menu with a Gulf Coast twist on traditional favorites. With exceptional entrees and an extensive selection of wines the dinner menu is filled with local ingredients and beautifully composed dishes. Baleen Naples was named in the Top 100 outdoor dining destinations in the US on OpenTable and has received multiple awards to include Awards of Excellence with Wine Spectator and best outdoor restaurant with GulfShore Life magazine….

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast / Daily 7:00 - 11:00am
Lunch / Daily 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner / Daily 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Champagne Brunch 11:00am-2:30pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 598-5707

Website:
http://www.laplayaresort.com/

Executive Chef:
John Sexton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

PRIME RIB SUNDAY

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $45.00

Special valid Jan 2, 2017 - Mar 14, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Specials

PRIME RIB SUNDAY

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Prime Rib served with Horseradish Mashed Potatoes and Yorkshire Pudding (Popovers). Cost $35. Excludes Tax and Tip. Make your reservations in advance. Special valid Jan 1, 2017 - Mar 12, 2017 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM.

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $45.00

Special valid Jan 2, 2017 - Mar 14, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $45.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Come and join us for our Prefix dinner in Baleen. Please make reservations ahead. Special valid Jan 2, 2017 - Mar 14, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM.

Private Dining

A private dining room overlooking the Gulf of Mexico while enjoying the cuisine of Baleen.

BALEENnaples Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (111)
Great for Outdoor Dining (105)
Scenic View (99)
See All
Special Occasion (83)
Romantic (78)
Good for a Date (63)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Worth the Drive (42)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Notable Wine List (27)
Great for Lunch (26)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
People Watching (23)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Fun (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Casual (19)
Cozy (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Business Meals (13)
Seasonal (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Authentic (11)
Fireplace (11)
Local Ingredients (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Healthy (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Quick Bite (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Family Style (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Private Room (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Historic (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 2 days ago

Great evening from service, food, and setting. This was our second visit and it lived up to the high expectations we had after our first visit!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Highlight of our evenings out while in tge Naples area. Milos is the best waiter we've evere had...period!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was very slow and the portions were "sample" sized. We left HUNGRY and the meal was extraordinarily expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Baleen's has been a favorite Naples restaurant for their amazing Sunset Views, which is one of the most exclusive hotels in Naples offering a diverse menu that is always delicious. Sadly the service has declined. I understand they are under new management and the serving staff is sub-par. Our dining experience took over two hours, our first cocktails took about 20 minutes because the waiter didn't take our order at the time of our greeting, the first course plates were not cleared timely, coffee never came on time with the dessert. We discussed out time constraints and some of our guests had to leave before dessert was served to make the next engagement. Very disappointed in the inadequate servicing staff. Everyone was pleased with their meals.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

We ordered mussels and the quality was not good and the sauce just passable.

The veal was ok nothing memorable.

The device was excellent

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

A great date-night restaurant with amazing outdoor dining overlooking the gulf. Sadly, this time our meal was terrible. The fish was so overcooked that it was not edible. The server handled the issue well, allowing me to order something else and bringing out a fresh dinner for my husband. Will return but will order fish with caution. Seemed others had the same issue.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined 5 days ago

Visit and birthday

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent. Can't beat the view. Everything was just excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Hit with total confusion at hostess desk upon arrival. Waited over 30 minutes past reservation time to be seated. Grouper was highly recommended. Two of us ordered and it came out stone cold and tasteless as was the lobster risotto. Our waitress took the plates back to the kitchen where the grouper dishes were microwaved, returned hot and completely dried out and impossible to eat. The lobster risotto came back hot but the lobster pieces that were on the dish originally had disappeared and my husband was left with a bowl of rice. Waitress was very good and location was nice but that's it. Would not go back!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Only disappointment was the $5 charge for parking!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Baleen is one of, if not the best, places to have a nice lunch on the beach. Great food and service though not cheap. Very high quality experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We had a wonderful experience with delicious food and great wait staff. We will be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We ordered oatmill for breakfast that was coming with a bowl of fruit. We asked if we could have all berries. We were charged extra $20.00 for berries on our bill. They should have informed us at the time of order. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Big disappointment! We were promised fine dining with our toes in the sand when in reality we ate on an enclosed porch under heat lamps. Food was good. Eaten better meals for less though. Two thumbs down. When asking the hostess about the deception she agreed that open table is deceiving and quickly resumed finishing her text message. Not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a fabulous waiter, Cosimo, he made our night sooo fun, excellent food😀

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I would not recommend this restaurant. The service was extremely poor. We waited for a table for 35 minutes past our reservation and sat at a table in the bar area for 30 minutes with no one asking us if we would like a drink. We finally went to the bar and ordered on our own. The food is overpriced, especially when there are so many other great restaurants in this area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Beautiful view of the Beach as we enjoyed a delicious lunch and drinks on our anniversary. Our server was so accommodating and friendly. She even brought two roses and a special anniversary dessert as a surprise!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Special lunch with my sister. We were allowed to relax and take our time. We sat out on the porch and enjoyed the gulf breeze. Food was great. Service was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent ocean views since we were lucky to get an outdoor table. The most winning part of the place was the waterfront location. Some items on the breakfast were very good (croissant and corned beef hash).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was not of the quality that I have been accustomed to at Baleen

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Beautiful view delicious food. Service was very good. Tables are well positioned for a view of the sunset. We especially loved the "s'mores" kit for after dinner by the fireplace on the beach. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Scenic View, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Wonderful time at Baleens! Can't beat the ambiance sitting outside by the beach.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

PARTY OF 7 Arrived promptly at 1:15 for open table res.but the patio table hostess offered (on a 80 degree sunny day) did not have an umbrella.(only table out on patio area!) We saw another available table and asked and opted to wait for it to be bussed and prepared. We asked and waited and asked and waited for ice waters while the available empty table needed to be cleared. No waters came (asked hostess who seemed interested in helping and 2 waitstaff people but still no waters!) Also the table wasn't getting bussed until almost 2pm! I actually had to go back to hostess table and ask why it hadn't been bused! ( honestly thinking they plain forgot) I asked for ice waters again too! Finally waters arrived at 210pm after we were seated!

This is always my "go to" with friends! Our wait staff ( especially Lissett ) were prompt pleasant and awesome! But honestly they all seemed way pre occupied! Yes it was busy at 1:15 but by 2pm it wasn't as busy! Food is always reliable and good! Unfortunately we were not attended to more promptly and professionally. Thank God the ambiance is always a real relaxing pleasure! So despite the slowness for securing a table and more importantly our lack of hydration on a hot sunny day we enjoyed ourselves, as usual, as this is a frequent stop for us! (8-10 times a year!)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Cozy, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 12, 2017

From the valet parking to the greeting by the hostess to the waiter service to the attention by all the staff. my wife and I were completely satisfied celebrating our 51st. Wedding Anniversary at Bayleen. We and our guests thoroughly enjoyed your hospitality and the recognition of Our Day. Thank you so much and we will return again soon.

Jim & Pat Riehman

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Spicy, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Happy Hour, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Naples love the staff we go every time we come to the area

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I love this place, the food and view are awesome. However, we had a reservation for 12:45pm and were not seated until 2pm! Yes, it is high season and Sunday Brunch, but when I checked in I was told the wait would be around 10 minutes. This was embarrassing for me as I was entertaining clients! We had drinks at the bar, but if the wait was going to be over an hour they should have been honest and we would have gone elsewhere. I was very disappointed and the service once seated was just Ok.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We come regularly during November, Feb. March & April. We have never been disappointed!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good as always.

Waited a little too long for our meal this time

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always a great view, tourists and familiar faces. Food is delicious and fresh.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I had the chicken, it's was ok. I have a shellfish allergy so my options are limited. My husband had a fish special with seafood. He was was very good. We sat outside but couldn't see the ocean at night. The atmosphere was ok a little noisy.

Service was good. I would recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 10, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants. For some reason, Sunday the service was slow. It was worth the wait tho.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great menu well prepared. Great setting on the beach. Would absolutely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

My grouper was excellent in taste but cold. I sent it back and it came back lukewarm so I had to eat quickly. We were offered a free dessert. When you pay $45 for an entree, you should expect the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I had a birthday party there, was amazing. Great food, great location and great service! Definitely will come back for more!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Service was terrible. Food sharply downhill from previous years. Whole experience was quite negative

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Very expensive for what we received in food. Everything is ala carte. And you have to pay parking after spending $$$$ there!

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I did not know our reservation was a special occasion. When I made it via Open Table I was asked by our confirmation caller if it was and I said no. It turns out that our friends dining with us were about to celebrate their 54th wedding anniversary. Our wait staff asked, they spoke up and it rolled out from there with a rose and complimentary dessert. Thank you. I have returned to your restaurant for three years with various friends., just for the pleasure of dinner with you. Thanks for making our recent dining extra special.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Everything about this place is impressive. We were greeted warmly by several people before we were quickly escorted to a perfect table outside so we could enjoy the sunset while dining. Dwayne was our waiter. He was fantastic! The meals and the wine were perfect. We all loved the experience as something truly special!!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The staff was amazingly friendly and attentive and our waiter was super nice and had a great sense of humor.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Always a "can't miss" as far as food, atmosphere, view, auro of it all! A favorite!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Food was good and service was good. Great view of the water.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 6, 2017

It was my daughters 29 th birthday. We had a great time and loved our waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Service was extremely slow and the quality of the food was mediocre.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 6, 2017

If the manager is aware that two immature girls are telling reservation-made patrons to go sit at the bar we'll call u (tables a lot more empty than filled ) and seating people that walked in then deciding to seat us half hour later, that's an issue.

We highly reco HB s on the Gulf . Great food and employees very prof.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Magnificent sunsets, great food and excellent service! How can you go wrong?

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Overpriced for the portions received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Nydia is the best. Excellent service. Very nice to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent service, good food, great view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful. Simply wonderful. Great views, ood food and attentive staff. Our to go place in north Naples

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Baleen is first class ... start to finish. Never fails to amaze!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.