About BALEENnaples

9891 Gulf Shore Drive
Naples, FL 34108
View Larger Map

Pleasing to the palate and the eye alike, Baleen Naples mixes Old Florida charm with elegant candlelit elegance. Beautiful chandeliers and soft mahogany furnishings set the tone for an elegant dining experience…. Toes-in-the-sand dining takes place as Baleen spills out through the grand doors to the terrace with tables overlooking the sweeping beach and ends with a collection of tables for cocktails in the sand next to the fire pit. Whether seated in an indoor epicurean enclave or a barefoot beach table, visitors can indulge in three daily seating’s at Baleen Naples with options including a breakfast menu with a Gulf Coast twist on traditional favorites. With exceptional entrees and an extensive selection of wines the dinner menu is filled with local ingredients and beautifully composed dishes. For the guest looking for light fare enjoy our bar menu in the cocktail section with an array of seafood selections as well as sandwiches and appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast / Daily 7:00 - 11:00am
Lunch / Daily 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner / Daily 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Champagne Brunch 11:00am-2:30pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 598-5707

Website:
http://www.laplayaresort.com/

Executive Chef:
John Sexton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

PRIME RIB SUNDAY

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $45.00

Special valid Jan 2, 2017 - Mar 14, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Specials

PRIME RIB SUNDAY

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Prime Rib served with Horseradish Mashed Potatoes and Yorkshire Pudding (Popovers). Cost $35. Excludes Tax and Tip. Make your reservations in advance. Special valid Jan 1, 2017 - Mar 12, 2017 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM.

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

We will offer an amazing beach dinner for Valentine's Day that will one to remember for many years to come.

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $45.00

Special valid Jan 2, 2017 - Mar 14, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $45.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Come and join us for our Prefix dinner in Baleen. Please make reservations ahead. Special valid Jan 2, 2017 - Mar 14, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM.

Private Dining

A private dining room overlooking the Gulf of Mexico while enjoying the cuisine of Baleen.

BALEENnaples Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (83)
Great for Outdoor Dining (78)
Scenic View (76)
See All
Special Occasion (73)
Romantic (64)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Good for a Date (51)
Worth the Drive (36)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Notable Wine List (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Fun (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
People Watching (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Cozy (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Casual (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Business Meals (7)
Seasonal (7)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Authentic (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Fireplace (6)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Private Room (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Historic (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2154 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a pleasure to visit this venue. ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 2 days ago

Always a pleasure to visit this venue. Good food and atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Baleens at the end of our month ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We go to Baleens at the end of our month in Naples with great friends to commemorate our time here. It's a beautiful spot outside overlooking the beach. Food and drink are always excellent and service is top notch. Our fave spot in Naples!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My only complaint... the prices keep goi ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 2 days ago

My only complaint... the prices keep going up and are prohibitive for many local residents who come year-round... like me!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

COSIMO WAS THE BEST!!!! Perfect place fo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

COSIMO WAS THE BEST!!!! Perfect place for a romantic special occasion-- beautiful sunset. The service was excellent, and the food was incredible. LOVED everything.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced for average food for second y ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

Overpriced for average food for second year in a row.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

This was the first time in a long while ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

This was the first time in a long while we experienced less-than-great service at Baleen's. We'll be back, due to so many previous positive experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

We are used to NYC standard food! We hav ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We are used to NYC standard food! We have to Baleel for the 5th time over the last 2 weeks - this and Tulia are the only 2 that give us chef quality cuisine served very professionally and in a great ambience!

Keep it up.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing view of the sunset and ocean! O ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing view of the sunset and ocean! Our first visit and we definitely will be back next year because of the ambiance, food and service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Romantic, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing from the service to t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Very disappointing from the service to the food. Hot meal arrived cold. Waiter not very social. Also you have to pay for valet parking.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value4

Great food, beach setting. Delay in gett ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, beach setting. Delay in getting seated, even though we had a reservation.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Advice for gluten food was poor other th ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

Advice for gluten food was poor other than that every thing was great

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We went to watch the sunset. Made reserv ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We went to watch the sunset. Made reservations to have a view of the sunset and then a gaggle of folks who were having an office party went out on the lawn in front of us and spoiled the view,

The covered porch was no better,the noise level was very high.

The menu was very limited and it was hard to find something without an odd pairing of ingredients.

The side dishes we also limited, as were the appetizers.

Our waiter was stuffy and not very welcoming.

The chocolate cake was the highlight of the meal.

The best part was the ocean and sunset,but one can see that from many places along the coast.

Overall a disappointing dining experience . One doesn't mind paying for a great meal. This was not a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

A very pleasant lunch day with friends. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

A very pleasant lunch day with friends. The food was very good and the setting on the beach, lovely.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service by waitress. Staff see ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Terrible service by waitress. Staff seemed to have problems. Food was good when it eventually came after 45-1 hour wait and we were first in for lunch.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Delicious breakfast and view. Service f ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Delicious breakfast and view. Service friendly and inviting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic in every respect as usual!!!!! ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fantastic in every respect as usual!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very poor service and they wouldn't acco ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very poor service and they wouldn't accommodate food allergy

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

We have been to Baleen several times and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We have been to Baleen several times and it is always a wonderful experience. The food is delicious and the service welcoming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cosimo was our waiter and did and excell ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Cosimo was our waiter and did and excellent job. Very attentive and attuned to our needs. Will definitely go back to Baleen.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had some friends from out of town vis ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We had some friends from out of town visiting and we wanted to take them somewhere special. It was a warm night so we sat outside. All the torches were lit and it was a clear night with a full moon. The food and service were impeccable. However, next time I want to get there at 5:30 so we can see some of the water before it gets dark.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Baleen always impresses! The service, t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Baleen always impresses! The service, the food, the ambiance, and of course, the sand, surf and sunset all make for a memorable evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best water front restaurant / place to g ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Best water front restaurant / place to get a sundowner in Naples.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I had placed my reservation 10-14 days p ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I had placed my reservation 10-14 days prior to dining. Hostess immediately attempted to seat me inside in a booth in the dining room. You come to BahLEEN for outside dining only. None of their guests want a seat inside including us. I have dining at this restaurant 5-7 times in the last 12 months most recently twice in November. I told the hostess that we wanted a seat outside and that we would wait. We were told that it would be 30 minutes and to have a seat in the bar. Once we were seated we were seated outside however against the back wall. Overall experience was less than anticipated. Food was good. If your guests make a reservation on Open Table weeks ahead they expect to have a positive experience and not be forced into the worst table in the restaurant. I have recommended this restaurant for years and I am less likely to do so from this point on.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great view at sunset. All three of us d ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great view at sunset. All three of us dining thought our food was below average. Risotto was ok, the special prime rib was bland with broccoli. Service was good. Thought it would be a great meal for the price but the food is much better pretty much everywhere else. Too bad as such a pretty setting! Will not return.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Cosimo is the best!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Cosimo is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic, the service was ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was fantastic, the service was outstanding and the view was breathtaking! Will definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was terrific. Company, food, ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Everything was terrific. Company, food, service, atmosphere. Nothing about which to complain. Expensive but excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Creative cuisine , great waterfront bea ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Creative cuisine , great waterfront beachfront dining

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the restaurant was good and food excelle ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

the restaurant was good and food excellent. The bar had no waiters and we had to go to the bar to get drinks and clean our own table. It was annoying to have to pay for parking when dining at their facility and they have the only parking garage that requires valet. not a good impression.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Shrimp cocktail had s funny taste, not c ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Shrimp cocktail had s funny taste, not cold & crunchy, and not as large as noted on menu (12U).

Server Daniel forgot to put in my husbands order and only my fish came out! Thankfully, manager redid my order but both dishes only barely warm.

Beautiful setting.

Tags: Seasonal, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

It's a big premium to pay for a sunset d ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 5, 2017

It's a big premium to pay for a sunset dinner. Food was OK. Service was OK. Wine list overpriced versus comparable restaurants. Great sun-set view though. There are better values in Naples than Baleen. We've been there many times but we can no longer justify the disconnect between prices and what you get for it thus we won't be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

This was one of my all time favorite res ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This was one of my all time favorite restaurants , I was very disappointed I made reservations in October . When we got there I was informed we were eating inside by the kitchen because it was at least a 90 mn wait for the outside . I sat and ate dinner looking at an empty table . I thought this is the last time this place gains my business.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Excellent food, service, perfect outdoor ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Excellent food, service, perfect outdoor dining! Highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Scenic View, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, , Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was delicious once again. We lo ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Our food was delicious once again. We loved our entrees. I had grouper my husband had tuna.

Once again we left feeling very happy. How can you not! The view was spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were very disappointed with the ambia ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We were very disappointed with the ambiance and the quality of the food. We were unable to sit outside (part of the draw of the venue), despite several empty tables there. Despite that, we were excited when we saw the menu selections. My husband had to send his dinner back as it was inedible - extremely salty and extremely spicy. My dinner was only mediocre. Appetizers and salad were good, but dinner was a letdown. Our server was very good and attentive. We will not try this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

It was the perfect last stop on our trav ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 2, 2017

It was the perfect last stop on our travels back home. Recommended by a friend and was extremely pleased with the service, food, and perfect waterfront setting.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got there at 1:00 and the staff was d ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We got there at 1:00 and the staff was dismantling a large Christmas tree right by hostess stand. All eight people in our party were very surprised this would happen mid day on New Year's Day in front of patrons. Gulf views are great and the reason we chose this place. I also feel charging 5 dollars to valet park is over the top, valet was also over whelmed with cars

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

From Valet parking to the espresso every ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 1, 2017

From Valet parking to the espresso everything was delightful. We had the Sunday Champagne Brunch. My wife's steak and poached eggs were perfect.

Unlimited Bloody Mary's, Champagne or Mimosas for $35.00 per person! Amazing value!

Plus the view on the Beach!

Would go back again and again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Party of 5. We really really love this p ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Party of 5. We really really love this place for its view and ambiance! We came for lunch and we will return! The lunch menu is very limited. Honestly my Caesar salad ($13.00) was a very small side salad! We had 2 hungry girls with us who had delicious kids chicken fingers ( but only 2 ) and great hot French fries! My husband had a mediocre burger and they were out of the aioli. Another had the pork nachos that were ok to start but quickly the cheese for too cool and it looked like mush! Hence no longer very appetizing

The tab with just one coffee/2 teas was $100. Perhaps some more generous size portions and comp the coffee for missing an advertised ingredient in the burger!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Was a favorite of ours for years and las ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Was a favorite of ours for years and last night was terrible.

Understand they are under new MGT

We ordered some nice wines and they never came.

Dinner arrived and we asked for waiter and after 10 min he showed and scrambled to get bottles.

Table next to us we're have even more issues.

It's to bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.