About BALEENnaples

9891 Gulf Shore Drive
Naples, FL 34108
View Larger Map

Pleasing to the palate and the eye alike, Baleen Naples mixes Old Florida charm with elegant candlelit elegance. Beautiful chandeliers and soft mahogany furnishings set the tone for an elegant dining experience…. Toes-in-the-sand dining takes place as Baleen spills out through the grand doors to the terrace with tables overlooking the sweeping beach and ends with a collection of tables for cocktails in the sand next to the fire pit. Whether seated in an indoor epicurean enclave or a barefoot beach table, visitors can indulge in three daily seating’s at Baleen Naples with options including a breakfast menu with a Gulf Coast twist on traditional favorites. With exceptional entrees and an extensive selection of wines the dinner menu is filled with local ingredients and beautifully composed dishes. For the guest looking for light fare enjoy our bar menu in the cocktail section with an array of seafood selections as well as sandwiches and appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast / Daily 7:00 - 11:00am
Lunch / Daily 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner / Daily 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Champagne Brunch 11:00am-2:30pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 598-5707

Website:
http://www.laplayaresort.com/

Executive Chef:
John Sexton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Gulf Roast Pan Roast

Fridays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Eight for Eight

Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $45.00

Special valid Aug 31, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Gulf Roast Pan Roast

Fridays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Florida Classic Revisited Bounties of Gulf of Mexico such as Grouper, Red Snapper, Crab and other local delicacies and local sustained seafood. Cost $38. Excludes Tax and Tip. The Pan Roast changes weekly, but is always with seafood from the Gulf Coast!. Special valid Aug 5, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 on Fridays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Eight for Eight

Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Details

ENJOY CULINARY DELIGHTS AND DRINK SPECIALS AT OUR OCEANFRONT BAR BALEEN AT LAPLAYA EVERY MONDAY THRU FRIDAY FROM FOUR TO EIGHT EACH AFTERNOON. WE WILL OFFER VARIOUS SMALL PLATES AND DRINK SPECIALS FOR EIGHT DOLLARS OR LESS. Excludes Tax and Tip. THE SELECTION WILL CHANGE WEEKLY. Special valid Aug 4, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 on Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 8:00 PM.

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $45.00

Special valid Aug 31, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $45.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Come and join us in September for our Prefix dinner in Baleen. Special valid Aug 31, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

A private dining room overlooking the Gulf of Mexico while enjoying the cuisine of Baleen.

BALEENnaples Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Southwest Florida
Outdoor Dining
Southwest Florida
Scenic View
Southwest Florida
6 More
American
Southwest Florida
Most Booked
Southwest Florida
Best Ambiance
Naples
Outdoor Dining
Naples
Romantic
Naples
Most Booked
Naples
Best Restaurants in Naples ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (81)
Scenic View (77)
Special Occasion (75)
See All
Romantic (69)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Notable Wine List (30)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Good for Groups (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Waterfront (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fireplace (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Casual (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1900 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

THE AMBIANCE IS OUTSTANDING BUT THE SERV ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined 6 days ago

THE AMBIANCE IS OUTSTANDING BUT THE SERVICE WAS VERY BAD. THE WAITER DID NOT TAKE CARE OF US WHEN THE RAIN BEGAN. WE HAVE TO MOVE INSIDE AND TAKE OUR DRINKS.

THE FOOD IS TERRIBLY SPICY AND HOT

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

We have found Baleens to be the best wat ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

We have found Baleens to be the best waterfront dining in Naples. It's a spectacular setting at sunset and after dinner you can enjoy their beachfront firepit if you are lucky enough to get a seat. Excellent food. Top notch service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best kitchen in town, in our opinion. W ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Best kitchen in town, in our opinion. We've been several times and enjoy it immensely each time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

As usual, my favorite brunch in Naples. ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

As usual, my favorite brunch in Naples. Environment, food and service in high standard quality. Really nice !

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first time in the rest for ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This was our first time in the rest for Dinner. It's beach front and we could see the sunset from our table and the ambience was quiet/relaxing. The service was good too, attentive and knowledgeable (no unnecessary interruptions). We were celebrating my boyfriend's birthday, so he got a free dessert and it was delicious (no singing). It was kind of expensive, since the food was good but not out of the extraordinary. It is definitely a good place to have a date or a romantic dinner, is beachfront, so you can walk to the beach after the meal or sit by the firepit enjoying cocktails in the evening...

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Right on the beach, Baleen is a lovely r ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Right on the beach, Baleen is a lovely restaurant with outdoor seating where you can watch the sun set over the ocean. The food was fabulous and the drinks were innovative and delicious. Our wait staff was very attentive to all our needs. I would recommend Baleen for a special occasion or a romantic evening. When nightfall comes, tiki torches are lit and there is a lovely fireplace where you can sit and have cocktails or simply watch the sunset. We enjoyed our evening immensely.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We traveled about 45 minutes to Baleens ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We traveled about 45 minutes to Baleens and it was worth the trip. Very enjoyable dinner. Cocktails were original and we loved them. Nice relaxing area to enjoy cocktails and watch sun begin to set over beach. Sat for dinner as sun set. Spectacular view! Dinner was very good. Service was excellent. Desserts very good also. A very special night. Give it a try for a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely dinner with excellent service, ta ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Lovely dinner with excellent service, table setting, and unbeatable sunset gulf view.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant food was way overprice, ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This restaurant food was way overprice, a basic 1/2 bottle of wine was $40.00, you could buy it for $7.00 at total wines, yes I know that restaurants make money on their drinks but that was ridiculous. Service was good. Will never dine there again...note this is the only time I have ever written a bad review of any restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value1

Great view, wonderful staff. Menu has op ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great view, wonderful staff. Menu has options for different price ranges. They do charge for water, keep that in mind when $8.00 extra appears on your bill. Food tasted great and was enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had a reservation,"which we arrived a ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We had a reservation,"which we arrived an hour early to. We could not go into the building because of fire alarms. When we got inside we sat outside for a drink and what we thought would be a quick snack. An appetizer took 45 minutes to come to our table, during which the fire alarm went off again. When we finally got sat we ordered quite quickly, our order took over an hour to come to our table, with our soup taking 25 minutes. It was disappointing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

The restaurant should have never been op ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The restaurant should have never been open tonight. It was like Gordon Ramsey's kitchen nightmares. Never seen anything like it. Hopefully they clean up their act because we have gone here many times before without issues. Service was horrendous, management was horrendous, the chef must have left the kitchen. Let's hope they clean it up and it never happens again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

I was quite surprised that it was so dif ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I was quite surprised that it was so difficult to get a reservation at 5:30. We arrived at 5 just due to our time table and sat at the bar until 5:30 when we were guided through an empty restaurant to our table. We sat outside and the staff was extremely attentive when we thought we heard a creature in the bushes. Since it turned out be a cute , little bird we simply enjoyed it. That is until a fire alarm went off and we were forced to evacuate even our outdoor seating for at least 20( maybe 30) minutes until the all clear was given. We were then reseated but inside this time because we had gotten overheated sitting out on the lawn in the sun while we waited. Evacuating for safety is excellent and necessary but when the alarm went off again for 10 minutes or so we knew it was a faulty system. The staff gave us no explanation but told us we could remain seated. We spent the rest of our meal with the alarm going off over our heads making conversation less than ideal. These things happen with electronic systems and the staff was very apologetic for the inconvenience. Apologies were wonderful but a compensation such as a free drink, dessert or even a cup of coffee would have been appreciated. Our waiter was wonderful but clearly the management did not give him the freedom to offer this to their guests. I know this is a Naples favorite but this adventure did not impress me except for the beautiful view. I would go back just for that.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We went early for happy hour. Happy hou ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We went early for happy hour. Happy hour bar menu very limited.

They have a 3 course meal for $45. The choices were good. I had the skirt steak, and it was seasoned well. Extensive wine list.

There were 6 of us, and everyone was happy with their meal.

The view was outstanding. Great view of the sunset.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

am sad to say I was very disappointed wi ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

am sad to say I was very disappointed with our experience. The service was way below average, it was a struggle just to keep our water glasses full! Took our daughter there to celebrate her birthday, and while the view was spectacular, everything else was not. It was like there were too many people running around, but no one knew who was supposed to be doing what! At the end of the meal they brought my daughter a dessert and the writing said "happy anniversary " the waiter just kinda laughed it off like no big deal! He should have never brought it to the table! I felt like he was pretty "checked out" for the whole meal. Needless to say we won't be returning anytime soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Good was good but salty. We had the mus ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Good was good but salty. We had the mussels, lamb gnocchi and seafood pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The setting on the beach is one of the b ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The setting on the beach is one of the best in Naples. Menu is good. My seafood pasta needed more seafood. My wife's lobster was very good. Prices are high but value is good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We ordered three salads and the grilled ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We ordered three salads and the grilled shrimp on two were cold and cooked earlier in the day with three salad dressings tasteless. The salmon had no flavor. This is the third time we visited and the view excellent but food very disappointing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice place, excellent food and services ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Nice place, excellent food and services and magnificent view!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

everything was wonderful but was disappo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

everything was wonderful but was disappointed when the other couple we were dining with needed mosquito repellent and had to pay for it....most restaurants will have this for use of their guests dining and drinking.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful! I was introduced to Triple Ta ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Wonderful! I was introduced to Triple Tail fish and it was delicious. Pleased and surprised to have had the Exec. Chef visiting tables and asking how the food was. Karoly, our waiter was friendly,informative and professional.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and beautiful sunset. Fri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Excellent food and beautiful sunset. Friendly and attentive wait staff

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous dinner, service, ambience and o ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Fabulous dinner, service, ambience and of course..the sunset!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great setting on the beach. Beautiful ev ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great setting on the beach. Beautiful evening watching the sunset. Was very nice but waiter so obvious in attempts to drive up the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Great location on the beach. Great servi ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great location on the beach. Great service and food. Not inexpensive but worth it

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AWESOME WATER VIEWS!!! Service is always ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

AWESOME WATER VIEWS!!! Service is always great! Very classy upscale hotel and great for dining with special occasions!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

a very good restaurant to watch the Suns ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

a very good restaurant to watch the Sunset and enjoy a delicious meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Disappointed in the food. Wine and servi ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Disappointed in the food. Wine and service was great.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Always superb. Lobster in the mushroom r ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always superb. Lobster in the mushroom risotto was the tenderest

Lobster Imhave ever had.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I do not like the menu changes this past ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I do not like the menu changes this past year. Had to keep asking to turn down the volume on the music; we would rather listen to the surf and talk with our friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

A memorable dining experience for my spe ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

A memorable dining experience for my special birthday. My compliments to the chef in preparation of an extraordinary vegetarian dish.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We recently celebrated our wedding anniv ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We recently celebrated our wedding anniversary at Baleen. The food was very good, the views of the beach were magnificent and the service was excellent. Cosimo, our waiter, and the rest of the staff were professional and extremely attentive. Thank you, Baleen, for a wonderfully memorable dinner and evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waitstaff Patty was amazing and serv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our waitstaff Patty was amazing and service was extraordinary. Great location and view of the Gulf of Mexico. Food was also great but pricey. Would definitely dine at Baleen again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Love this place...service is wonderful . ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Love this place...service is wonderful ...food is great...will be back

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a very special occasion for my ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was a very special occasion for my girlfriend's birthday. They did a wonderful job of preparation for our dinner, during our dinner, and followed up beautifully to send us home with smiles. It was well worth the expense…

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a perfect place to celebrate ou ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was a perfect place to celebrate our aniversary. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our third time eating at Baleen ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was our third time eating at Baleen. Whenever we vacation in Naples it is a definite! It is our favorite restaurant in Naples.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Had a most enjoyable dining experience w ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Had a most enjoyable dining

experience with family service good ambiance good food good! Special place for special dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cosimo was our server. He was excellent ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Cosimo was our server. He was excellent and a pleasure to speak to. He reviewed the menu with us and we ordered what he suggested. It was phenomenal. My husband and I never get out since we have two small children, and the night was spectacular. We enjoyed every moment.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole experience was amazing. This w ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The whole experience was amazing. This was a very special place to celebrate our first anniversary.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.