About BALEENnaples

9891 Gulf Shore Drive
Naples, FL 34108
View Larger Map

Pleasing to the palate and the eye alike, Baleen Naples mixes Old Florida charm with elegant candlelit elegance. Beautiful chandeliers and soft mahogany furnishings set the tone for an elegant dining experience…. Toes-in-the-sand dining takes place as Baleen spills out through the grand doors to the terrace with tables overlooking the sweeping beach and ends with a collection of tables for cocktails in the sand next to the fire pit. Whether seated in an indoor epicurean enclave or a barefoot beach table, visitors can indulge in three daily seating’s at Baleen Naples with options including a breakfast menu with a Gulf Coast twist on traditional favorites. With exceptional entrees and an extensive selection of wines the dinner menu is filled with local ingredients and beautifully composed dishes. For the guest looking for light fare enjoy our bar menu in the cocktail section with an array of seafood selections as well as sandwiches and appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast / Daily 7:00 - 11:00am
Lunch / Daily 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner / Daily 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Champagne Brunch 11:00am-2:30pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 598-5707

Website:
http://www.laplayaresort.com/

Executive Chef:
John Sexton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

A private dining room overlooking the Gulf of Mexico while enjoying the cuisine of Baleen.

BALEENnaples Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Southwest Florida
Romantic
Southwest Florida
American
Southwest Florida
2 More
Best Ambiance
Naples
Special Occasion
Naples
Best Restaurants in Naples ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (59)
Waterfront (57)
Special Occasion (55)
See All
Romantic (55)
Scenic View (54)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Good for a Date (35)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Notable Wine List (22)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Fun (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
People Watching (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Cozy (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Fireplace (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Casual (6)
Healthy (6)
Business Meals (5)
Authentic (5)
Seasonal (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1992 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food but even better atmosphere. On ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 2 days ago

Good food but even better atmosphere. On the beach overlooking the gulf.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

It was my husband's birthday and they c ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

It was my husband's birthday and they couldn't have been nicer. The food was delicious. The service was great and you couldn't beat the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing compares to the food, service an ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

Nothing compares to the food, service and atmosphere

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in Naples ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

One of my favorite restaurants in Naples. Can't beat the view!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food, pretty atmosphere , fabulous ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food, pretty atmosphere , fabulous service!!! Thanks to our waiter Cosimo..... he was a xcellwnt

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Restaurant is very good. The valet park ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Restaurant is very good. The valet parking charge is out of the norm for fine dining establishments in Naples. Basically it's not the $5 charge it's the principle. The Ritz doesn't even charge for valet parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

A very delightful lunch at Baleen. The f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

A very delightful lunch at Baleen. The food is very good, excellent service and a beautiful view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been to Baleen many times but alw ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

I have been to Baleen many times but always in season. It is beautiful inside with great

banquets complimented by the people - Dec 4th it was empty. Baleen sits on the Gulf at La Playa resort - great sight - Sat outside and enjoyed but there are mosquitos.

Food was very well prepared great atmosphere - excellent cocktails and wine list - Go there you will like it

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sat outside on the deck - wonderful plac ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 7 days ago

Sat outside on the deck - wonderful place to eat in Naples.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From start to finish, service and food w ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 7 days ago

From start to finish, service and food was fantastic! Had a fabulous dinner . Can't wait to go back again :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BAleen is a great restaurant with a good ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

BAleen is a great restaurant with a good vibe but I was disappointed in our server. He was somewhat aloof and arrogant and a little bit slow. Made a great dining experience less memorable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

I took my wife to Baleen to celebrate he ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I took my wife to Baleen to celebrate her 40th birthday. She said it felt like we were on vacation at a fancy resort in Mexico (her favorite place to travel)! Her filet mignon was so tender she could cut it with her fork. My citrus chicken was quite delicious and tender as well. The desserts were excellent.

I recommend Baleen if you can spare the expense for a special occasion. The highlight of our meal was watching the sun set over the ocean. Go early for patio seating - it fills up quickly!

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We have stayed at La Playa Hotel and eat ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We have stayed at La Playa Hotel and eaten at Baleen many times and are usually very pleased. This night, my husband's birthday with friends, the food was unappetizing, not just below par. First course salad of arugula appeared to have spent 36 hours in refrigerator before being served to us-- wilted and saturated with dressing. The catch of the day, cobia, was tasteless -- could it have been frozen? Setting directly on Gulf of Mexico is lovely. Service was good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Our favorite restaurant in all of south ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in all of south west Florida, and perfect for a special occasion. Dinner with friends for an anniversary-amazing, perfect, from beginning to end!! Two of us had the pre-fixe...you will not be disappointed!!! Service is above anywhere around!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely FABULOUS! The meal was possi ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Absolutely FABULOUS! The meal was possibly the best I've ever had in Naples in 15 years. Food was creatively delicious and creatively plated and served. Our server was more than accommodating! Just a wonderful evening all the way around. Thank you to everyone at Baleen!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the first time in many visits we fou ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 27, 2016

For the first time in many visits we found the service sub par. No bread was brought to the table, glasses were not refilled and service was generally slow. Food was very good but turkey burger was dry and flavorless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Great views of Gulf, friendly staff, goo ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great views of Gulf, friendly staff, good food at a local beautiful hotel resort.

Tags: Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Romantic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit. It was a true pleasure ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

First time visit. It was a true pleasure! We had a wonderful waiter who was energetic, funny and knowledgable about the menu. He said Baleen's made the best Cosmo in Naples, and so I ordered. He was right! Smooth and not too sweet.

We booked for a party of 10 for 12/30.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in Naples. Amazing ocean fro ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Best place in Naples. Amazing ocean front views. Great food. Excellent service. Every time a guest comes into town this is the place I treat them to. They think it's me being just too nice.....shhh it's probably more of a treat for me as it is to them.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The service and food were impeccable . ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The service and food were impeccable . We knew it was pricey but it was a special occasion so we wanted to splurge - it was great for that experience but unless you want to "see and be seen" I think you could have as an enjoyable evening elsewhere for a better value. ( For example, the waiter kept suggesting wines at $20 a glass. And mandatory valet parking was $5. ) We were glad we went but probably won't go again. It depends on what sort of evening you want. We also went for the sunset and that didn't disappoint.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful as always cannot wait to back!

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Wonderful as always cannot wait to back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for a birthday celebration so we ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We went for a birthday celebration so were prepared to pay for fine dining. Unfortunately, the restaurant did not meet expectations.

The property has a very rare asset in Naples - a waterfront situation - and the owners who have paid a hefty price for it seem determined to extract a premium at every opportunity from their customers. Unfortunately, when dining there inside after dark, one doesn't benefit at all from that but just gets uncomfortable draughts as people come and go through the doors to the beachfront. The website portrays the decor as Old Florida but a fairer description would be sadly dated with no evidence of investment over the last 20 years. Also, as a hotel restaurant, the clientele is much more variable than typical in other Naples finer dining facilities so noise levels from children or groups can be annoying.

The food costs are certainly on the high side but the wine prices are particularly extortionate at around four times retail. Also, as mentioned by other reviewers, the list is out of date so our first choice of Sancerre was not available and we were persuaded to have an $80 bottle of so-so Pouilly Fume.

Our meals were very good, especially the grouper special. The main course took quite some time to come and the waiter was very apologetic but we were not in a hurry and never voiced any complaint about the delay. However, at the end of the meal the manager came along to say that he was deducting the entire cost of the wine from our bill to make up for wait. That was totally unexpected given our lack of concern about it but very welcome.

A final annoyance, registered by several already but to no effect, is the $5 charge for parking which has to be paid separately from the gratuity. Since one has no alternative but to go by car this leaves a bad taste at the end of the evening.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

I have been to Baleen before for our ann ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 21, 2016

I have been to Baleen before for our anniversary breakfast on the beach. It is a lovely spot. On this occasion, however, I realized how outrageously priced the drinks are. My sister and I ordered Tito's martinis straight up. Three drinks cost us $60, almost as much as our food for 3! The service was very spotty and it seemed as if most of the staff was in training. One waiter took our photo at sunset and never took the shot. The crowning blow was that we had the beach replenishment project right in front us us compete with the fumes and noise of an enormous dump truck and a sand plow right thru sunset and beyond. While that was not the restaurants fault, it seems that they might have apologized or offered a free cocktail or something to all of the diners who planned for a romantic & expensive sunset dinner experience.

Also the computers were down so our check for $200 came with no itemization and we had to request the details.

While I live here most of the time, I will never choose to go back unless for breakfast or lunch. The food is ok but not great and the drinks are so overpriced that it is not worth the experience. I can but 1.75 liters of Titos for $34 retail and find a queit place to enjoy the sunset.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Told them it was our 40th anniversary. N ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Told them it was our 40th anniversary. No acknowledgment the whole night. Waiter did not know anything about their advertised / emailed specials. Food was cold. Brought the wrong wine. Waiter reaching across us for everything. The big finale was the waiter brings my bill with a pen leaking ink. Wound up with black ink all over my hand and clothes. I informed the Manager (who was dressed very unprofessionally) and he had no response and just walked away. It is a shame their poor management ruins such a beautiful ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

LaPlaya's website makes it look as thoug ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 20, 2016

LaPlaya's website makes it look as though Baleen is an elegant restaurant, which it is not. It is far more casual than the photos show, and noisy. The service was poor - inattentive, and our waiter knew nothing about the different wines we asked him to describe. The food was good (except for the bread which was cheap, white bread) but overpriced considering the average ambiance and poor service. We were greatly disappointed and will not be back.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Baleen has it all. Ambiance, great food ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Baleen has it all. Ambiance, great food and service. Make sure you get there before dinner to view the sunset from the bar area. It as good as any in southwest Florida

We had some excellent hog fish(the special). Our friend had grouper and said it was excellent

Cocktails are imigantive and delicious ---generous size too

You won't be sorry if you spend an evening at Baleen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very surprised that you NOW charge a fee ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Very surprised that you NOW charge a fee ($5) for valet service.......not a good thing.....you eat lunch there spend money why a charge. The other hotels on Gulfshore waive that fee when you dine at one of their restaurants.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a great girlfriends lunch there. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We had a great girlfriends lunch there. Our last day in town so we wanted a special place with a waterfront view. Food was excellent, great ambience, service impeccable . It was a great last lunch out with friends. Will have to bring hubby here next time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All good except having to pay for parkin ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 13, 2016

All good except having to pay for parking to patronize the restaurant. Very greedy by new owners

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It's always a pleasure to dine at Baleen ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It's always a pleasure to dine at Baleen! It's one of the most beautiful spots in Naples.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always the best service. The wait staff ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Always the best service. The wait staff is first rate. Food is always wonderful. A little pricey but well worth the money.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My personal favorite in all of Naples fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

My personal favorite in all of Naples for the venue and service. The lobster risotto and salmon with forbidden rice are so very delicious. I did have the vegan entree and enjoyed that as well. The sunset is not to be missed from the elegant terrace on the beach, with a lower level that includes two very casual fire pits if you prefer not to sit at a table. After the sun sets there are torch lights everywhere that add to the ambience. We always meet the nicest people in the bar area or around the fire, and the staff is quietly attentive. I cannot say enough about Baleen's. You just have to go to experience it for yourself. I love a glass of Meieomi and my husband loves the Blackberry Bourbon Lemonade. Elena and Andrew at the high top tables deserve an extra tip...they are always smiling and happy to see you.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The view was wonderful. The meal was ve ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The view was wonderful. The meal was very expensive and very ordinary. My husband returned the fish special.

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

We live in Maui, so we're used to "touri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We live in Maui, so we're used to "touristy" restaurants. We went to Baleen on a recommendations from in laws to enjoy the view. Overall it was pretty good. I had the pre fixe menu with the fish entree. It was a little bland. However my husband had the lamb braised gnocchi which was delicious, as well as the muscles and the tuna tartare. Dessert was also delicious. The waiter Chris was great, the assisting servers were not as polished as the wait staff. Overall, it was a nice dinner with a great view. I'd recommend it for a special occassion as it's quite pricey, and we weren't even drinking.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Everything was amazing. !!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Everything was amazing. !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated my husband's birthday brunch ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Celebrated my husband's birthday brunch with our family today. The food was delicious and the service was fabulous. A perfect day and perfect celebration. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual food was delicious. We go often ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 6, 2016

As usual food was delicious. We go often for brunch and a few seasonal changes would be appreciated. The setting is lovely and you are never rushed. Service on this particular day was not as good as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, amazing views! Have been fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food, amazing views! Have been for both lunch and dinner and every time has been great!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is my favorite restaurant in naples! ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It is my favorite restaurant in naples! The view is beautiful and s great spot for watching. The sunset

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great dining experience with amazing vie ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great dining experience with amazing view. Outside dining was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.