About BALEENnaples

9891 Gulf Shore Drive
Naples, FL 34108
View Larger Map

Pleasing to the palate and the eye alike, Baleen Naples mixes Old Florida charm with elegant candlelit elegance. Beautiful chandeliers and soft mahogany furnishings set the tone for an elegant dining experience…. Toes-in-the-sand dining takes place as Baleen spills out through the grand doors to the terrace with tables overlooking the sweeping beach and ends with a collection of tables for cocktails in the sand next to the fire pit. Whether seated in an indoor epicurean enclave or a barefoot beach table, visitors can indulge in three daily seating’s at Baleen Naples with options including a breakfast menu with a Gulf Coast twist on traditional favorites. With exceptional entrees and an extensive selection of wines the dinner menu is filled with local ingredients and beautifully composed dishes. For the guest looking for light fare enjoy our bar menu in the cocktail section with an array of seafood selections as well as sandwiches and appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner:
Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Champagne Brunch 11:00am-2:30pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 598-5707

Website:
http://www.laplayaresort.com/

Executive Chef:
Carlos Torres

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Taste of Spain

Tuesdays - Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Gulf Roast Pan Roast

Fridays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

PRIME RIB NIGHT

Sundays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Taste of Spain

Tuesdays - Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Details
Come and taste 4 wines from Spain alongside the famous Spanish Pata Negra Iberico Ham and other Spanish Tapa dishes that will change weekly. Cost is $25 / person and includes the flight of 4 wines plus the spanish tapas sampling. Excludes Tax and Tip. Wines and tapas change weekly. Come and join us before sunset & Enjoy!. Special valid Jun 28, 2016 - Jul 28, 2016 on Tuesdays - Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM.
Gulf Roast Pan Roast

Fridays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Florida Classic Revisited Bounties of Gulf of Mexico such as Grouper, Red Snapper, Crab and other local delicacies and local sustained seafood. Cost $38. Excludes Tax and Tip. The Pan Roast changes weekly, but is always with seafood from the Gulf Coast!. Special valid Jun 28, 2016 - Jul 31, 2016 on Fridays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM.
PRIME RIB NIGHT

Sundays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Prime Rib served with Horseradish Mashed Potatoes and Yorkshire Pudding (Popovers). Cost $35 Enjoy a glass of Argentinian Malbec from a 3 liter Magnum with that for only $10 per glass!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Great value for both the Prime Rib and the wine. Enjoy. Special valid Jul 3, 2016 - Jul 31, 2016 on Sundays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

A private dining room overlooking the Gulf of Mexico while enjoying the cuisine of Baleen.

BALEENnaples Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Southwest Florida
Outdoor Dining
Southwest Florida
Scenic View
Southwest Florida
7 More
American
Southwest Florida
Most Booked
Southwest Florida
Best Ambiance
Naples
Outdoor Dining
Naples
Romantic
Naples
Special Occasion
Naples
Most Booked
Naples
Best Restaurants in Naples ›

great for outdoor dining (227)
scenic view (206)
special occasion (167)
See All
romantic (150)
fit for foodies (97)
notable wine list (63)
great for lunch (62)
neighborhood gem (50)
good for groups (42)
great for brunch (40)
hot spot (35)
vibrant bar scene (21)
kid-friendly (19)
late-night find (10)
Sort By:
Newest
1833 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining at BALEEN is ALWAYS an OUTSTANDIN ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Dining at BALEEN is ALWAYS an OUTSTANDING experience! Took a high school girlfriend to Naples for a girls weekend, and BALEEN was our first dinner. This restaurant NEVER waivers from outstanding! The fish special was Snapper, and it was prepared to perfection. Soup/Salad and dessert were all very tasty, but nothing ever tops the incredible sunsets. No two are ever the same...I have pictures every time I dine there to prove it! BALEEN is a destination that is a must if you are visiting Naples or if you live there. Don't miss it, just check on the time of sunset and plan your dinner so that you can see the true beauty of nature!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Breakfast selections are plentiful, many ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Breakfast selections are plentiful, many choices.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was fine. Food was delicious, ...

Dined 6 days ago

Everything was fine. Food was delicious, perhaps the best on the Paradise Coast. At over $400.00 for just four people I did find it a bit pricey but for special occasions---fine. The waiter was bragging about having over 2,000 different wine selections. When I ordered a bottle of Chianti on the menu he returned with quite an unbelievable story. He told us that particular bottle was on the 10th floor and the elevator was out. He said it was too far to take the stairs. REALLY FOLKS?? Why not just admit that you don't have it? Otherwise we love Baleens and will be back for the next birthday, anniversary, etc.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The outdoor seating gave us a view of th ...

Dined 7 days ago

The outdoor seating gave us a view of the ocean, with a tremendous sunset. The food was fantastic. Great wines.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We stayed at LA Playa for a girls weeken ...

Dined 7 days ago

We stayed at LA Playa for a girls weekend. We ate outside for sunset dining. The view is spectacular. The food was wonderful. And they offer nightly features, which happened to be fresh locally caught seafood. It was outstanding. We tried the lobster macaronI and cheese. Incredible. Service good. Nice for a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant for any s ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant for any special occasion, or just to treat myself. The food and service is fabulous, and the view of the beach and Gulf incomparable. On this lunch visit, we had the Grouper tacos which are to die for!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An excellent dining experience at a firs ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

An excellent dining experience at a first class resort. I recommend anyone staying in the Naples, Florida area to make a reservation!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was really good. The waiter was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was really good. The waiter was also very nice. We wanted to sit outside but there were some type of mites on the table, so we decided to eat inside. The tables were a bit dusty and the vents needed to be clean, but overall, it was great. PS. I am somewhat OCD about cleanliness, so these types of things may not bother others. :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Good was delicious. This is must for qua ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Good was delicious. This is must for quality and sunset view

food2
ambience5
service2
value2

The view and ambiance was amazing! Love ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The view and ambiance was amazing! Love the location! We went for a sunset dinner for our anniversary. We both ordered steak and felt we'd had much better steaks for much less elsewhere. The cut of beef was good, it was tender, but the way it was prepared was really lacking. The carrot cake was delicious. I recommend going for drinks or dessert.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great location, stunning views of the gu ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great location, stunning views of the gulf. You can sit right on the beach and as visitors from the UK this was a real perk for us and made it really different and enjoyable. Menu is good, lots to choose from, very good standard of food too, so don't think you'll be paying more but getting less, that is not the case. Staff were friendly overall, gave us enough attention without being overbearing. Overall a great experience and well worth the visit. Would go back and recommend to others. Don't forget there's a $5 valet parking fee and you'll need to throw in a tip on top of that.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, outdoor eating, romance, special occasions, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

As usual a lovely place to dine. Comfort ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

As usual a lovely place to dine. Comfortable outdoor seating and a pleasing atmosphere . Service was somewhat less than the usual excellence , but good. Food was good not great. Portion size was fine for brunch but choices were unusual and heavy. Lunch choices were much more varied .

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience

Dined on June 10, 2016

We went to Baleen's for our 10 year anniversary. We had a great experience! The food and the service was absolutely amazing. We also had a breathtaking view of the sunset. I would recommend Baleen to anyone looking for combination of great food and ambience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly best dinning experience

Dined on June 8, 2016

The food was exceptional for quality, preparation and presentation. The wait staff and management were knowledgeable, friendly and had the unusual ability to be there whenever needed, but not in the least overbearing. We enjoyed two dinner meals and brunch, all with the same stellar result. The venue could not be more enjoyable rain or shine and we experienced both. Can't wait to return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was excellent but the server no ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

The food was excellent but the server not too attentive. It was our anniversary and the weather was not good, so the server could have made the experience better --especially for the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A good lively vibe for a rainy day lunch ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

A good lively vibe for a rainy day lunch. Food was good as always. Looking forward to next visit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

40th bday celebration

Dined on June 4, 2016

Baleen did a wonderful job accommodating our excited party of 9 as we gathered to celebrate our joint bdays. One of our friends couldn't make it and coordinated with the manager to have a round of drinks sent our way in her absence. The service was wonderful and the food was fabulous. But nothing could compete with the view. Being there for sunset felt magical-only making our night even more special. Wonderful experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When In Naples You Must Go To Baleen's

Dined on June 3, 2016

As I live in Naples I often go here. Perfect for any meal or happy hour. You could not be closer to the water. Only bad about Baleens is that they charge a $5.00 valet parking fee and expect a tip in addition to that.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting , great service , grea ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Beautiful setting , great service , great food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular Evening

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

We celebrated my brother and sister in laws 25th wedding anniversary on a glorious evening. The weather was perfect, the sunset sublime, the food fantastic! I often partake in Baleens when I am in Naples for special celebrations and I am never disappointed. Can't wait until my next special occasion!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Great Sunday

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

We haven't been to Baleen for Sunday brunch in a long time and with the season over, seemed like the thing to do. We have our favorite table (45 for 2 or 4) on the porch where we can watch all the beach folks, Skidoos, para-sailers and the passing scene. Eventhough it was 90 degrees, the breeze off the ocean made it feel like 78 with no sun. We started with the best bloody Mary in town - lots of flavor, minimal fire - I added a couple of drops - wife loved it as is with both lime and lemon hanging on the side. After a long time over the drinks, we found that they have a brunch menu with 3 courses in addition to the regular menu which we have found fabulous. And, of course, we could order one of the entrees, if that's all we wanted. We both had a brunch special entree - me the Pork Tenderloin wrapped in bacon with an ancho BBQ sauce over arugula for a nice bitter balance to the richness of the pork and sauce. Wife had the filet Benedict over a potato hash with a sinful Hollandaise - a more substantial arugula salad separated the 2 stacks of bennies. This worked out great - my pork was a modest entree and 1 of the bennies finished off my wife - guess who benefited from the 2d bennie so to speak. Without asking - filets came medium, well seasoned, with the poached eggs to medium. The prosciutto chip on the top of each added a nice textural element to the dish. Attentive service without being noticed. Even as we passed the 1 hour mark, the weather stayed great, the people watching interesting and when asked about dessert, thought for only 2 seconds and said - 2 more bloody Marys. All in all this was one of most relaxing times we can remember - no rush, great drinks, great food, great view with lot's of sighs and reminding ourselves how lucky we are.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining on the beach to start off the sum ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Dining on the beach to start off the summer season was wonderful.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful sunset dinner experience

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

We enjoyed cocktails before dinner at sunset on the outside patio . All of the servers were extremely friendly and attentive. We had the red snapper & signature Black grouper entrees. The Ceviche , shrimp & salad appetizers were good. Our server Cosimo was terrific as was Lucas the restaurant manager stopping by to ensure we were happy with our food & service. Overall a nice sunset evening dinner. The beach view is beautiful.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome experience

Dined on May 28, 2016

Awesome experience

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful dinner on the beach at sunset, ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Beautiful dinner on the beach at sunset, great food service and atmosphere......we'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A beautiful quiet place to dine. Beauti ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

A beautiful quiet place to dine. Beautiful atmosphere right on the beach and delicious food with great service

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fine dining...Beautiful sunsets

Dined on May 22, 2016

A real gem. You have to be prepared to pay for it. but it is well worth the visit.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very unique brunch menu accompanied ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

A very unique brunch menu accompanied by a mimosa or a very well made Bloody Mary, all while enjoying a beautiful beachfront view, best describes Baleen on Sunday. We especially appreciated the remarkable service.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Very disappointing! Extremely noisy....a ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Very disappointing! Extremely noisy....and the food was served at a lukewarm temperature! Not special!!!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Birthday celebration

Dined on May 21, 2016

Baleens is a favorite of mine for a special occasion. The menu is terrific and the staff is happy to accommodate any special requests.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The view of the gulf from the outside se ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The view of the gulf from the outside seating is spectacular. The wait staff is well-trained and attentive (but not overly so). Food is excellent and presented elegantly. A bit pricey, but definitely worth it for special occasions.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

Dined on May 20, 2016

Everything was spot on. Food, service, views, couldn't have asked for more!!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Baleens is a beautiful place with fabulo ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Baleens is a beautiful place with fabulous view and fun wait staff. It has been our favorite spot in Naoles so far and are considering canceling reservations elsewhere tomorrow night and returning

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Will not go back. They charge $5.00 to p ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Will not go back. They charge $5.00 to park. Terrible policy. Food, service, view is all great. Great dining experience. Put additional $5.00 on the entrees. Very low class.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, good food, terrific view

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Great service, good food, terrific view

food5
ambience5
service4

Great atmosphere, excellent food. Recom ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great atmosphere, excellent food. Recommend the lamb gnocchi and the lobster risotto highly!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Go for sunset, stay for the after dinner ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Go for sunset, stay for the after dinner fire pits in the sand.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2

I dine there often , usually the service ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I dine there often , usually the service and food are impeccable. On this occasion not so much. 30 minutes until we even placed our food order. Server did not know the specials, it seemed that he was making things up, finally he had to go back into the kitchen to find out , He came back with completely different items than what he originally told us When The fare finally arrived it was mediocre at best, the lobster salad sandwich did not taste like Maine lobster and when I picked the sandwich up the roll completely disintegrated in my hands, I had to eat it with a fork This visit was extremely disappointing . I brought a guest who had never visited Baleen before and was very excited about it, needless to say I do not think she will be returning anytime soon

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Not so great dinner but a spectacular view!

Dined on May 8, 2016

The restaurant location on the beach is stunning. There is plenty of places to sit and enjoy a cocktail before dinner. We watched a wedding ceremony take place there. We had an 8 pm reservation on a saturday night, we expected to be crowded. When we were seated we were greeted by our waiter and from then on it was a long wait for everything, drinks, appetizer, we got our dinner about an hour and 20 minutes later. I had a steak which was good but nothing out of the ordinary. My husband had the lobster risotto after the waiter said there was a good amount of lobster meat, equivalent to a lobster and half. That definitely was not the case. It was after 10 before we left and have no intentions going back. Naples offer many better restaurants for the money .

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing experience

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.