About BALEENnaples

Pleasing to the palate and the eye alike, Baleen Naples mixes Old Florida charm with elegant candlelit elegance. Toes-in-the-sand dining takes place as Baleen spills out through the grand doors to the terrace with tables overlooking the sweeping beach and ends with a collection of tables for cocktails in the sand next to the fire pit. Whether seated in an indoor epicurean enclave or a barefoot beach table, visitors can indulge in three daily seating’s at Baleen Naples with options including a breakfast menu with a Gulf Coast twist on traditional favorites. With exceptional entrees and an extensive selection of wines the dinner menu is filled with local ingredients and beautifully composed dishes. Baleen Naples was named in the Top 100 outdoor dining destinations in the US on OpenTable and has received multiple awards to include Awards of Excellence with Wine Spectator and best outdoor restaurant with GulfShore Life magazine….

9891 Gulf Shore Drive
Naples, FL 34108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast / Daily 7:00 - 11:00am
Lunch / Daily 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner / Daily 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Champagne Brunch 11:00am-2:30pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 598-5707

Website:
http://www.laplayaresort.com/naples-baleen-restaurant.aspx

Executive Chef:
John Sexton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

A private dining room overlooking the Gulf of Mexico while enjoying the cuisine of Baleen.

BALEENnaples Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (135)
Scenic View (134)
Great for Outdoor Dining (114)
See All
Special Occasion (87)
Romantic (73)
Good for a Date (65)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Notable Wine List (37)
Worth the Drive (35)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Great for Lunch (31)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Great for Brunch (27)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Fun (22)
People Watching (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Casual (18)
Cozy (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Authentic (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Business Meals (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Healthy (12)
Seasonal (11)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Family Style (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Fireplace (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Private Room (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

great place for outdoor eating and gorgeous views of the gulf!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 5 days ago

The food is too complicated and too many spices mixed up. There is a difference between the menu description of the dishes and what you have in your plate. We enjoyed the lobster cake, ceviche was poorly executed with 3 pieces of fish, tuna was great, chicken-pinable too weird, crème brûlée was a chocolat crème. Overall too expensive for the value but the real catch is the view and the location. So beautiful!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 5 days ago

So disappointed. It was our anniversary and I thought this restaurant would be fine dining. It's not. No table linens, and very noisy. Food was average and way over priced. We ordered a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc and they brought out a 2014. A little old and very expensive. We questioned the waiter about the year and he said that was the only year he had. Service was okay. Felt rushed. Won't go back. Poor value.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

We loved our dinner at Balleen. The food was delicious with great presentation. Our server was extremely knowledgeable and attentive. The view was outstanding. We sat outside and enjoyed a sunset and a wedding in the distance. This will be a go to every time we are in Naples.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Lovely night ! Only negative was some people close by were smoking.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Service was fantastic, Dwayne Johnson ( The other "Rock"!! Lol ) was superb , attentive and had all the the answers about the menu . I look forward to dining at Baleen in near future and will be requesting Dwayne as my waiter . As a side note the food was awesome and they catered to my wife's allergies without hesitation and she was grateful because the beet salad they came up with was amazing.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We visited Naples and I wanted to find the perfect spot for my husbands birthday dinner. I had researched restaurants and kept circling back to this one!
I made reservations for my husband's birthday & ended up having a few of our friends join us! Pricey restaurant, but good portion sizes, excellent food and the ambiance was superb!
Our waiter, Cosimo, was a friendly & answered questions, without hesitation, regarding the menu. Exceptional waiter! Would certainly recommend to anyone looking for a fine dining experience!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

It was a beautiful, elegant and friendly place. We enjoyed the food, service and the all around view. We would definitely come again. Thank you.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Very disappointed. The white umbrellas were very dirty looking. Everything looked old and warn out. Staff could have looked more enthusiastic and more appealing. My burger was great but my husband lobster had no taste and the lettuce was chopped to small . Everything really needs to be updated

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Baleen came highly recommended by a friend. The food quality and view exceeded expectations. Our server was excellent. We sat outdoors for a sunset dinner. All was great with the setting except that the ceiling fan above us was barely working. It turned out that the lack of air circulation made us more attractive to flies when our entrees arrived. I think we were the only table that had this issue. (We were the only table with a very slow fan.) We dealt with it for the 10 minutes or so that it took to eat the entree. When finished, the flies went away and we were able to enjoy the rest of our time at Baleen. Compliments to the chef for a fantastic signature grouper! Was it all worth the price? It was the most expensive meal ever for my wife & I (in 17 years), but the quality of the food, the view and the fact that we were on an overdue vacation; made it worth it! I'm thoroughly convinced that having a good fan above or a nice breeze outdoors, it would been a 10 out of 10-experience.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Waterfront, Healthy, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Very nice anniversary experience. Service was attentive. Food was excellent. My steak was prepared perfectly, a fact I cannot say about the two famous and popular sreak houses in the Naples area. The view did not enter the picture because of the rain. No sunset viewing. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Beautiful waterfront resort! Food, ambience and service excellent! Our bartender Vyes and our waiter Adriano were excellent and made our evening! We will return!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 12, 2017

I never send food back to the kitchen. But the first meal was unacceptable. The presentation of the second meal was lovely but unremarkable and overly expansive. My friend 's meal was good but not outstanding. The bread pudding was out standing.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food very mediocre. Gorgeous view, waiter was great but food big let down . All overcooked bland and uninspiring...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It was our wedding anniversary and they provided a rose for the table and provided complimentary desserts. The arugula salad, Lobster risotto and pork tenderloin were excellent and highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food was not great desert was very sad

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Our server was exceptional and the food was delicious, well prepared and presentation great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 8, 2017

My husband and I went to Baleen for Naples Restaurant Week. This is a week of prix fix menus with special pricing set up to benefit the Naples Humane Society. My husband and I were celebrating our 31st anniversary and his birthday. From beginning to end Baleen made our celebration enjoyable. The food was superb. I started with the Gazpacho, then had the Pork Maritsa, and finished with Coconut Vanilla Panna Cotta. My husband started with a roasted beet salad, then had a crusted Delmonico Steak and finished with a decedent Chocolate Mousse. Each course complimented the next. Sometimes it's the little touches that make a meal special. A long stem red rose on our Gulf side table! The happy anniversary and birthday wishes on our desserts. Thank you Baleen for making our evening memorable!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 6, 2017

They were not at fault for the dreadful weather- we had hoped for a beautiful sunset on the beach- but we had reason to be outraged by the prices of their drinks!
Our two guys ordered one of the specials- a delicious-sounding pork dish, which turned out to be inedible - dry and tasteless. The waiter graciously brought delmonico steak instead, but we were bitter about the situation. This restaurant is over-rated and should be avoided if there is no possibility of good weather and sitting outdoors

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Disappointed by pushy waiters. They aggressively pushed expensive wines at over $100 a bottle. Felt like I was at a used car lot.
After selecting a really good $60 bottle of wine that I liked service quickly fell off.
The food was disappointing, over cooked was my main complaint. I have eaten many times at The LaPlaya Club Restaurant upstairs and there is no comparison between the two. Would not go back to Baleen, nor recommend it to friends. Want to see the beach and get a good meal, try The Turtle Club down the street.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

LOVE Baleen and the service was outstanding ... I didn't like the entree choices for Naples Restaurant Week and my dish was dry and tasteless so i had to send it back ... but that was my fault - I should have ordered off the regular menu! Great Value if you choose the $35 menu for NRW ... otherwise it's a little pricey - but so worth the AMBIANCE to literally 'sit on the sand' oceanfront!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Casual, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nürnberg)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great place with nice view!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Always a great time to have a good meal with friends at Baleen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Sadly, this will be our last trip to Baleen. Each time we have waited over 30 minutes for our reserved table and of course, directed to the bar. This last time, once seated, we waited another 30 minutes for a waiter, and only after flagging down one passing our table did we get service. He did take over and do a good job, but we were very frustrated. The good was fine...not great.
We had requested a special table for a very special anniversary dinner...never happened and when we inquired, they really didn't even seem to care. There are so many other high-end places we can spend our money, especially out of season, so we're done with Baleen. As the saying goes, fool me once shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me!
On a side note, I've used Open Table for many years and this is the first "bad" review I've ever written.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Everything was very good except the delmonico was a bit too fatty for me. I would stick with any of their fish dishes in the future.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Food was fantastic and service was spectacular , our waiter was so attentive but not bothering . View is spectacular we sat outside on the railing

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Our first time, and we tried the Naples Restaurant Week menu. Not enough variety.
Not impressed with that menu, although the venue was great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We enjoyed a lovely evening outside. The food was delicious, as usual. Service is always great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We still had to wait an hour after our reservation time. The hostess was amazing trying to handle the guests. When we finally were seated it was next to the register / where they place the dirty plates alot of interruptions while trying to enjoy the view. It was so bad that a lovely lady offered us free soup while we waited for our food. We were not impressed by the food at all. Willing to give it another try and time, just for the view.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We were so very disappointed with Baleen last evening. Since we started coming to Naples 7 years ago it has always been our favorite spot for a special evening out and the place we send everyone for a great evening. The setting is beautiful but the service has been going downhilll recently. Last night was a low point. We checked in almost 45 minutes early for an 8 pm reservation and were not seated until 8:50 and then only because we asked to speak to a manager. We were especially upset because we saw an 8:15 reservation get seated outside as several of us with 8:00 reservations sat waiting. We had checked on our table several times and were consistently told there were 5 tables ahead of us to be seated with 8:00 reservations. That number did not change after 30 minutes!! How were 5 other 8 pm reservations checked in before 7:15 and how did no tables get seated in 30 minutes?? Was the restaurant that overbooked? We definitely saw outside tables leave during our wait. More importantly, after we were finally seated, the service was the worst we have had almost anywhere. In defense of the manager, she did offer us free soup and a free glass of wine, but the waiter was totally unfriendly and largely MIA during our meal. Someone dropped a small appetizer at our table and we never even knew what it was or why we'd received it. By almost 10 pm, the restaurant was certainly not that busy. You would think the wait staff would be on top of their game when they knew people were waiting a long time to be seated. Overall, although the food was very good, the evening was a total disappointment, especially when the meal was not inexpensive. A special date night was more frustrating than enjoyable! Diners certainly deserve better than that. Sadly, one of our favorite restaurants has fallen off our list.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Dinning experience was wonderful. The Valet service was awful, very rude!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Cozy, Waterfront, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Baleen has delicious food beautifully presented while overlooking the Gulf of Mexico with exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Wife & I dined here in the evening. Was able to watch a nice sunset. There was a wedding /reception at the time. Did not interfere with our plans. Food was fantastic! I had the fish special which was incredible! Wife had a menu fish dish which was awesome as well. Bartenders mad a nice martini the way I like them.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Our waiter, Dwayne Johnson (seriously), was genuine, engaging and just the right side of ever present. I plan on going back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Lovely. Beautiful view and excellent waiter.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Exceptional service. Had a wonderful and relaxing dinner and evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great food and Chris is a great server! Had lots of fun!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

This restaurant is right on the beach and the view was incredible. We went for our anniversary and it was wonderful. We enjoyed the price fixed menu and it was a great valu and the food was delicious. I am gluten free and dairy free and they were great about substitutes, so I could enjoy the price fixed menu as well!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We were able to sit outside to enjoy the beautiful sunset! Bread served was not very tasty. Risotto seafood was very good.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary with a great seaside dinner! All was great except the charge for parking. With our total bill, a parking fee was insulting.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.