About Bald Headed Bistro

201 Keith Street SW
Cleveland, TN 37311
View Larger Map

The Bald Headed Bistro, where the West meets the South, specializes in USDA Prime Aged Beef, fresh fish, lobster, and assorted exotic dishes such as elk. The Bald Headed Bistro also offers wood grilled pizzas and an award winning wine list that complements the varied food selections. For your convenience, the restaurant also offers wireless internet access.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Open Monday thru Saturday
Bar opens at 4:30 PM
Dining Room opens at 5:00 PM
Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
Inman

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 472-6000

Website:
http://www.baldheadedbistro.com/

Entertainment:
Weekend live music

Catering:
Contact special events coordinator at 423-473-4323 for details

Executive Chef:
Eric Fulkerson

Private Party Facilities:
Contact our Sales and Marketing Manager for details.

Private Party Contact:
Adam Lewis: 4234734323x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Sales and Marketing Manager at 423-473-4323 for details.

Bald Headed Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
East Tennessee
Romantic
East Tennessee
Special Occasion
East Tennessee
4 More
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Special Occasion
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Cleveland ›

special occasion (32)
romantic (23)
notable wine list (14)
See All
good for groups (12)
fit for foodies (11)
neighborhood gem (10)
great for outdoor dining (6)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
628 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food and drinks. Great deal on h ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Amazing food and drinks. Great deal on happy hour martinis. Charcuterie app was killer. Get steak rare and please get the wedge.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, great service, awesome f ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great ambiance, great service, awesome food. Felt like I was in Colorado!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for a special occasion and uniqu ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went for a special occasion and unique food selections, and were not disappointed. Surprisingly the service rates even better. We have lived in many states and overseas for a few years and have dined at many establishments. All together this was an enjoyable dining experience , I am sure we will be back.

My one and only concern was the Elk,although buttery and delicious , it was marked as a Gluten Free dish. I dont know what the grain beneath the Elk was, I didn't recognize it.

We had the duck prosciutto as an appetizer, very delicious. My husband loved the beer mustard, I enjoyed the fig preserves and arugula that came with the plate. My husband had the bacon wrap dish, he enjoyed all of it, Quail, Venison and pork belly. The pork belly was a new experience for both of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were greeted immediately as we walked ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We were greeted immediately as we walked into the restaurant. The employees and servers were courteous and very friendly, the food was also top notch. I have recommended this restaurant to friends and family. I enjoyed my experience immensely.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique venue with excellent food and out ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Unique venue with excellent food and outstanding service. A bit pricey but it was half price wine bottle night which took away some of the price sting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife ordered the rock shrimp and grit ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My wife ordered the rock shrimp and grits, excellent. I ordered Game n Bacon, great meats, I might consider swapping out the fries side for asparagus or wilted spinach next time. Couldn't eat but 1/4 of the fries.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our 18th wedding anniversary and ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

It was our 18th wedding anniversary and there were only 6 tables in the whole restaurant when we got there and the manager saw it fit to place us next to the kitchen. The loudest place in the entire restaurant. Kitchen noise and server traffic drowned out what could have been memorable. I came for the wild game platter and I got a variation of it I guess but this time it came with french fries. My wife's filet was ordered well done and it was so burnt with char she could eat only a few bites. Thinking that a good desert could save our experience, there wasn't anything on the desert menu with really any chocolate. I liked the dim lights, the cocktails and our server was courteous. I had a much better experience on my 14th anniversary though.

Tags: romantic, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

The Kobe was okay but the filet mignon w ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The Kobe was okay but the filet mignon was much better tasting and priced better. Note the Kobe is $20 for every ounce and it's much better tasting in Japan. The cheese board meat selection was not good. Figs were phenomenal! Buy some to go!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always excellent food and service. A li ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Always excellent food and service. A little pricey, but worth it, especially for a special occasion. Natasha did a great job without overdoing it and made great recommendations.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good variety of food and wine choices. ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Good variety of food and wine choices. Appetizers and entrees were all excellent! Too full for dessert. Our server was outstanding - great service! Pleasant atmosphere. Will definitely dine here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I ordered th bone in ribeye which was no ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I ordered th bone in ribeye which was not as good as what you get at Longhorn . For sixty dollars this steak should've been one and half inch thick, it was barely half inch. At other fine Resturants their are one and one-half inch thick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

The server (Tanner) was fantastic. Very ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The server (Tanner) was fantastic. Very attentive and great personality. The atmosphere was great - relaxed and enjoyable. The food was excellent. This is a gem find for us and we will return.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose this restaurant (where we have ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We chose this restaurant (where we have had 2 previous great experiences) for a special celebration, and we were certainly not disappointed! It was surprisingly quiet for 8:30pm on a Friday night, so we had it almost to ourselves and the atmosphere couldn't have been more perfect! Though they no doubt were slowing things down for the night, our waiter was fantastic, the food was amazing, and not a detail from refills to splitting checks was forgotten or overlooked! Our whole party of 9 enjoyed every appetizer (baked goat cheese dip was a favorite!) and entree (from Lobster Risotto and Steak Diane to Pork Belly and Venison Chops!), and left raving about the place. Our only regret was not having room for dessert!

Can't wait to return to Cleveland to eat there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Server Duncan was exceptional! An e ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Our Server Duncan was exceptional! An excellent meal, with excellent atmosphere and service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each course was delivered to wrong perso ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Each course was delivered to wrong person. Had to ask different waiters for refills and other items during our meal. I have dined 4-5 times over past couple years and definitely not the experience as it one was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Bald Headed Disapointment

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Googled this for fine dinning and thought it would be a gem ! Very disappointed in the food quality . My wife had seared scallops -3 , came out with scallops on COLD grits ! Humm ! $32

My lobster carbonara with maybe 2oz. of watery lobster! Waiter told me Oh ! it comes with at least 6 oz. of lobster from the tail. HA ! For $29 should be taken off the menu !

Duck prosciutto with 4 paper thin 1 " slices not worth the effort to serve as an appit. and $12 poor.

Foie gras ! another two bite appit.

The chairs with the spindle backs were not comfortable !

Reading the reviews and items on the menu I thought it would be a great experience to have on out travel home from FL. and maybe to find and make it a regular stop ! Will be looking else where. Don't waist your time or money.

The waiter was very pleasant and a good server !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

My Husband's 50th Birthday - A Night to Remember

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

This was our first dining experience at the Bald Headed Bistro. It was my husband's 50th birthday celebration and we had a small group of 10, family and close friends. I called the restaurant ahead of time and spoke with Drew with whom I arranged the wine and the dessert for the table, so things would flow smoothly. From the moment we entered the restaurant to the moment we said our goodbyes, we were treated with overwhelming exceptional attention and service. The two waiters assigned to our table could not have been any better or knowledgeable; they made our evening most enjoyable. They neither hovered nor left us hanging; it seemed just when we needed something, there they were. The food was absolute perfection, from the the flavor of the caesar salad with anchovies to the preparation and flavor of the entrees (all cooked exactly as requested) to the just-right quantity of sides and finally the decadent display and flavor of the oh-so tantalizing desserts. The 10 in our party all ordered different entrees and sides, and I had ordered 5 of the many desserts. Not one person had any complaints about any of it. Drew's selection of wine for the table was top notch. I really cannot say enough about the restaurant nor its staff. Some may find the prices a little high, but when you take into account the enter package, from location, ambiance, wine selection, quality and preparation of food and incredible staff, this is a must-attend restaurant for anyone in or near the Cleveland area, no matter what the occasion. You will not be disappointed !!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Suprisingly Excellent

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We enjoyed a fabulous meal here. Service was wonderful (ask for Duncan), food was delicious. For a small town, this is a "big" restaurant and the locals should be grateful to have it at their fingertips. Whether you are enjoying a special occasion or want to hang out at a classy bar, this is the place to go!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Return

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

This was a return visit for one. They said it was as good as their first visit.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak Flavor

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

The over all experience was great but I found the filet to be quite bland and lacking spices of any kind. For the price it was not the best steak I have had.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Special Occasion or not

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

The average person only lays down 100.00 on a special occasion. I would like to visit your establishmental more often if you provided smaller meal options and a little better prices on your slower days. The food is great just get a little more creative to get us occasional clients in more often. It's good for your bottom line. Hope to hear from you soon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Joe w

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Very good! Menu is very unique and also has very good traditional Steaks and Seafood. Always a pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining and great atmosphere without the drive

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

I've been to BHB many times over the years--in fact, my mom threw my 30th birthday party there. This one experience takes the cake, though! My husband and I were celebrating our 16th wedding anniversary, a fact I noted in my reservation. We were greeted with happy anniversary wishes, seated immediately, and when our server (the wonderful Rachel!) arrived, she added her own well wishes. Now, obviously, servers work for their tips, but I really can't say enough about how wonderful our server was. She acted as if we were the most charming couple she'd ever met, and even if she was putting on an act (which I doubt), she still made us smile over and over. We had requested a private booth, and this was just what we got.

We've had a pretty amazing marriage, and some pretty amazing anniversaries over the years, but this one takes the cake. The food was delicious, the drinks were perfect, and the service was sublime.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

What happened to the old BHB?

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

What happened to the old BHB?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

My filet was cooked perfectly, and with ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

My filet was cooked perfectly, and with roasted brussel sprouts are outstanding!!

Our server was very knowledgeable and gave us the right amount of attention. The pace of the dinner was great too; i.e. adequate time between courses.

Overall a great dining experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak was overcooked and chewy. Sent it ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Steak was overcooked and chewy. Sent it back and got half off. Place has gone downhill. New menu is bad and both steaks we ordered came out badly. Wish we had gone somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Excellent and Gluten-free

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was delicious. The staff were courteous. The atmosphere was relaxed and romantic. Best of all the chef made sure to cook my food on cleaned surfaces as I am celiac and cannot consume gluten. Overall excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks were definitely undercooked even ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Steaks were definitely undercooked even for a couple which ordered them medium and medium rare. The waiters were very young, inexperienced, and slow to greet. The filet had great flavor while the ribeye had more fat than actual meat.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great resturant

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food & service! Great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still a great place but not what it used to be

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I am not sure if it was just due to a busy evening the last two times we have been here but it doesnt seem to be up to the level it used to be, still a great place to eat and get a fabulous steak but is just missing a few details they used to always hit

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Honestly between the stuck in the 90's s ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Honestly between the stuck in the 90's soundtrack and the taste of the food my wife and I would have been better off going to a generic steakhouse. The service was great. However, the food and atmosphere were not anywhere near what the price was. I've had better steak at an Applebee's than what we had here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Unfortunately, we did not receive the co ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Unfortunately, we did not receive the correct drinks upon arrival and my child did not ever receive hers. Lack of communication between waitors. My food was missing elements that the distribution in menu told and the brussel sprouts were so oily with olive oil it coated my entire mouth, very unpleasant.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Good food, poor service

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

My husband and I went to the bhb to celebrate Valentine's Day . The host promptly sat us at our table and told us our server would be right with us. It was our sever's first night on the floor. She was very nice but not very informed about the food or bar menu. Never told us the specials, never asked if we wanted another drink from the bar. All our food came out at once. Needless to say, although the food tasted good, the service ruined what was suppose to be a romantic evening and made us really regret the $120.00 we spent over the course of the night .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We choose the BHB for all our special occasions!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

The Bald Headed Bistro never disappoints! We have chosen this as our special occasion restaurant for the last 5 years! The menu and service are always exceptional and when you enter you will think you are dining in Jackson Hole, Wy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

the steak was terrible,bad ----- way over price--- also had salmon was average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Great first experience!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Our group thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The menu was varied and our server did a great job of explaining the specials. Service was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Romantic spot for special occasions.

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

The restaurant was beautifully decorated and the ambiance and lighting was perfect for a date night. The service was wonderful and the waiter was very knowledgeable regarding menu items. Unfortunately my appetizer and dessert far exceeded my entree in terms of flavor. Also, while the fresh ground pepper placed on the table was a nice touch it was rough on the nose and had to be removed.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Disappointing

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

Very disappointed with this place. Had been a favorite of ours but not anymore. Service was not at all what we would expect from this caliber of restaurant. If you want to sell me a $72 steak make sure it's cooked properly. Seems they were more concerned with presentation than actually having good food. Spent $150 on dinner and wine and left hungry because steak was horrible. Doubt we will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Exceptional

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Overall a wonderful place and lovely atmosphere. The staff is exceptional and very professional. I would recommend to anyone

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Frequent customer

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

I ORDERED THE TYPICAL FILET AS ALWAYS AND EVEN AFTER PUTTING IT IN A TAKE HOME, I DECIDED TO LEAVE IT AT THE BISTRO. IF IT WASN'T GOOD ENOUGH TO EAT THERE IT DIDN'T MAKE SENSE TO TAKE WITH US. THE STEAK WAS EXTREMELY TOUGH AND DRY. THE WEDGE SALAD WAS LIMP AND SEEMED TO BE PREMADE AND MAYBE SAT TOO LONG. I'VE HAD THIS MEAL ALMOST EVERY VISIT, SO I HAD A BENCH MARK TO REFER BACK TO. WAITER ASKED SEVERAL TIMES TO GET ANOTHER STEAK AND SALAD BUT WE HAD WAITED ENOUGH ALREADY.

I DON'T EXPECT DIFFERENT TREATMENT THAN ANYONE ELSE. WHEN WE SPEND $150.00 TO $200.00 EVERY VISIT I FEEL IT'S FAIR TO EXPECT THE BEST FOOD IN CLEVELAND.

THANK YOU FOR SENDING THE REVIEW REQUEST. I BELIEVE THERE IS AN OPPORTUNITY WITH THE BISTRO BEING THE ONLY FINE DINING IN CLEVELAND.

BRECK

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.