About Bald Headed Bistro

201 Keith Street SW
Cleveland, TN 37311
View Larger Map

The Bald Headed Bistro, where the West meets the South, specializes in USDA Prime Aged Beef, fresh fish, lobster, and assorted exotic dishes such as elk. The Bald Headed Bistro also offers wood grilled pizzas and an award winning wine list that complements the varied food selections. For your convenience, the restaurant also offers wireless internet access.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Open Monday thru Saturday
Bar opens at 4:30 PM
Dining Room opens at 5:00 PM
Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
Inman

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 472-6000

Website:
http://www.baldheadedbistro.com/

Entertainment:
Weekend live music

Catering:
Contact special events coordinator at 423-473-4323 for details

Executive Chef:
Eric Fulkerson

Private Party Facilities:
Contact our Sales and Marketing Manager for details.

Private Party Contact:
Adam Lewis: (423) 473-4323

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Sales and Marketing Manager at 423-473-4323 for details.

Bald Headed Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for a Date (17)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Good for Birthdays (11)
Romantic (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Cozy (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Private Room (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fireplace (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (2)
Authentic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Scenic View (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Historic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
705 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent. Definitely a fancy place but ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent. Definitely a fancy place but always treats our 4 year old like he is one of the adults. Great evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came ready to be impressed, but the o ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

We came ready to be impressed, but the overall verdict is ho hum....the ambiance was great, food not outsanding and overpriced .Service was good but there were weird charges added the bill in the form of drinks that we did neither order or consume...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The whole dinning experience was amazing ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

The whole dinning experience was amazing we truly enjoyed ourselves Thank you !

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

FOOD WAS GREAT AS USUAL..BUT THE YOUNG L ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

FOOD WAS GREAT AS USUAL..BUT THE YOUNG LADY WHO WAS OUR WAITRESS WAS JUST WONDERFUL..

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is mediocre at best. The servic ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food is mediocre at best. The service is good along with the ambiance. What you're paying for here is overrated hype. I have had a comparable meal at Texas Roadhouse or Longhorn. I came here after being suggested as an alternative to Flemings and was told it was on par. That comparison couldn't have been less accurate. Trust me - If you're ready to drop $150+ on a meal for 2. Look elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The steak I ordered came out just barely ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The steak I ordered came out just barely warm. We have eaten at the Bald Headed Bistro many times in the past, but the food quality this time was very poor. I have recommended this restaurant many times, but will not do so after our latest experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

We eat at BHB perhaps once or twice a ye ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We eat at BHB perhaps once or twice a year for special occasions. The last two visits the food had declined badly. but we were prepared to give them another chance. I booked online having viewed the menu and chosen our meal, however on arrival we found the menu was not as on the website and many items were absent. The selection was so limited that I had two appetizers as there was no entree that I wanted as have eaten them before. My husband selected an appetizer which was an insult to anyone who likes good food. On ordering his entree he was advised that they had run out of venison so it had to be replaced with elk. The classic BHB specialty bread is now been replaced with small sweet rolls which can be bought/eaten every day ($0.99 a pkt at Aldi) My appetizer was nothing more than balls similar to mozzarella sticks which I can eat anywhere!! What happened to the specialty foods that used to be served? The server could not apologize enough; it was not his fault and he can only provide feedback to the Management and kitchen. Many of the items on their limited menu can be eaten at the majority of other restaurants at a third of the price. This is the third time and last time time that we are wasting our money. Cleveland can do far better than this!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

My husband and I were at the Bistro on a ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My husband and I were at the Bistro on a dinner date. Been there on multiple occasions. The service, dining room, and the food are amazing. We had the Prime Filet Mignon and it was "perfect." I would highly recommend the Bistro. We love it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server we had was outstanding. He h ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The server we had was outstanding. He had the perfect balance of attentiveness and privacy for our conversations. The food was at the usual standard we expect when going to BHB.

One thing I would point out was that this is the second consecutive time that I have ordered one of your prime steaks and it was well over cooked. My wife and I both ordered our steaks medium rare. Her steak was cooked perfectly, and mine was between medium and medium well. It was corrected quickly and without issue, but it was the second time in a row that this has happened. It seems that there must be some issue that should be addressed to avoid wasting such a good cut of meat.

Everything else about the meal was absolutely perfect. I was thrilled that you are offering some of the Van Winkle bourbons now.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a last minute save for our 7th ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was a last minute save for our 7th anniversary. We just moved to the area and had no idea where to go for a good steak. Everything about Bald Headed Bistro was great and far beyond our expections. Johnny was an awesome, attentive server. We will absolutely be back. Thank you for making our anniversary magical & perfect!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bread course: Bread was bland and taste ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Bread course: Bread was bland and tasteless.

Salad course: Was decent. The wedge salad was short of dressing.

Entrees: Of the two steak entrees, both were over cooked to well done, past the Med Rare that was ordered. The beef short ribs were extremely over cooked as well. Very dried out texture. The Salmon dish was good.

Service: The waiter did NOT come back to the table to ask if everything came out as expected.

Wine: The server poured the entire bottle into 4 glasses after the opening tasting, and immediately asked if we would like another bottle. NOT the way to serve wine at dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Awesome food and service. Great place fo ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Awesome food and service. Great place for a romantic date. I would highly recommend It.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and the waiter was ve ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Food was excellent and the waiter was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you BHB for a beautiful evening fo ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Thank you BHB for a beautiful evening for me and my wife of 53 years. All was just great and especially the help we received from our server, so kind and patient. We will be with you again and again as occasions arise. You provided for us a very special evening and we thank you all so very much!!!!!!!!!! Bob & Sandra Malone

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Casual, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at the BHB in the past and ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We have dined at the BHB in the past and always enjoyed our experience. It has been about a year since we last visited and we were quite disappointed in the experience this time around. Our service was GREAT, but the quality of the food has declined. Our warmed goat cheese appetizer was the best part of our meal. Several in our party ordered the chopped salad, petite filet, garlic mashed potatoes, and mushrooms. The salad was nothing to write home about and it has ALWAYS been my favorite in the past. My filet and mushrooms were COLD and both lacked flavor. Other guests in my party indicated there was too much pepper and/or other spices on their filet and scallops. We ordered dessert, an apple pie . . . which would have been better served warm versus cold. We were VERY disappointed this time around and are not sure we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We have been to the Birstro several time ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We have been to the Birstro several times over the last few years for special occasions and always love it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Service was excellent, food very good a ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Service was excellent, food very good and well presented and our waiter very knowledgeable. Stopped here 3 straight years on our way to FL and it has been consistently excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always!! Never have any com ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent as always!! Never have any complaints...can't go wrong here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had little time to stay and enjoy the su ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

had little time to stay and enjoy the surroundings of fire/wood trim, nice quiet booths, great food and appetizers.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great meal! Excellent service! I would ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great meal! Excellent service! I would definitely recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was amazed at so few people were dinin ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I was amazed at so few people were dining at the BHB on a Saturday night until I was served dinner. The appetizer was laughable, the Duck Prosciutto had 3 tiny pieces of duck that a newspaper could be read through they were so thin. Every dish served was over powered by the amount of garlic in each, and this masked the taste of each food item presented. There were huge cloves of garlic in all dishes. I cautiously ordered desert for fear that it would be full of garlic too. Much better food served when Mr. Jones owned the establishment. It was date night and one that will be unforgettable because the food was so bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Always pleased with everything about BHB ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Always pleased with everything about BHB! They do a great job. I would recommend them highly.

Tags: Late-night Find, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Wonderful atmosphere. ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great experience. Wonderful atmosphere. Servers are very professional and the food is always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have always enjoyed the Bald Headed Bi ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 12, 2016

I have always enjoyed the Bald Headed Bistro for it's gourmet food and fine dining atmosphere. I was a little disappointed the last visit. My salmon was VERY rare (the waiter didn't ask me how I wanted it cooked) and the sides were extra salty. I am usually a huge fan but not this time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice dining experience. Food was pr ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Very nice dining experience. Food was pretty pricey.

Server was excellent .Can get the same meal at Long Horn for a fraction of the price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Made dinner reservations for my mother's ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Made dinner reservations for my mother's 77th bday. Asked for a table outside. We were an hour late due to the time difference, but our table was waiting and PERFECT! There was live music which was awesome! The food was spot on! Great experience and worth our 3 hour round trip from Crossville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I tried this for the first t ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 24, 2016

My wife and I tried this for the first time on a date night and loved it. The service was first class and the food was outstanding. Plan on starting with an appetizer as the portions are on the small side but of high quality. While this was our first visit we will be coming back again. This is a great find for a small town. This is Jackson Hole WY in Cleveland TN. Great place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server didn't do the best describing ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The server didn't do the best describing the appetizers. I didn't care for it. I ordered the shrimp and grits which wasn't great. The shrimp were little popcorn shrimp. I ordered a beverage from the menu and was told not carried anymore. The after dinner I ordered another and was told the blender was broke.

Too many places to go eat at. I will not return to BHB

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Had heard about The Bald Headed Bistro b ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had heard about The Bald Headed Bistro but had never gone. Our 45th wedding anniversary gave it a try. Good food,little pricey but fair. Exellent service, we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall, it was an okay experience. Ser ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Overall, it was an okay experience. Service was outstanding! Food was okay but not worth the price. Had to send my wife's steak back twice and other guests steak once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

BHB has gone downhill. Selections of wil ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 12, 2016

BHB has gone downhill. Selections of wild game are not as good as before. Seafood menu not as extensive. Prices are ever higher. It used to be our favorite restaurant but not anymore. On the positive side, the service was excellent@

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our table of 6 was directly in front of ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our table of 6 was directly in front of the restaurant kitchen door. A little surprising considering I made the reservation 3 weeks in advance for a party of 6 (Special occasion - each couple were celebrating their anniversary. Each year we rent a limo fine dine then party the evening away) . Service was a little above average -which considering the price and claim of excellence was a little disappointing. Wine selection was good and seemed reasonable for the restaurant. Appetizers, salads and entrees were all above average but certainly not show stopping. Bar cocktails were okay (I ordered a Bulleit Rye Manhattan -someone must have those words while pouring vermouth into soda water). The desserts were really dull and boring. Really considering the fanfare - a little let down - we drove from Signal Mtn. If I had to choose between Ruths Chris or the Bald Headed Bistro - I would choose the chain over the local - sorry to say. Even though RC would have been a higher bill - I would still have ventured for the more expensive chain.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Amazing food and drinks. Great deal on h ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Amazing food and drinks. Great deal on happy hour martinis. Charcuterie app was killer. Get steak rare and please get the wedge.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, great service, awesome f ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great ambiance, great service, awesome food. Felt like I was in Colorado!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for a special occasion and uniqu ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went for a special occasion and unique food selections, and were not disappointed. Surprisingly the service rates even better. We have lived in many states and overseas for a few years and have dined at many establishments. All together this was an enjoyable dining experience , I am sure we will be back.

My one and only concern was the Elk,although buttery and delicious , it was marked as a Gluten Free dish. I dont know what the grain beneath the Elk was, I didn't recognize it.

We had the duck prosciutto as an appetizer, very delicious. My husband loved the beer mustard, I enjoyed the fig preserves and arugula that came with the plate. My husband had the bacon wrap dish, he enjoyed all of it, Quail, Venison and pork belly. The pork belly was a new experience for both of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were greeted immediately as we walked ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 8, 2016

We were greeted immediately as we walked into the restaurant. The employees and servers were courteous and very friendly, the food was also top notch. I have recommended this restaurant to friends and family. I enjoyed my experience immensely.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique venue with excellent food and out ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Unique venue with excellent food and outstanding service. A bit pricey but it was half price wine bottle night which took away some of the price sting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife ordered the rock shrimp and grit ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2016

My wife ordered the rock shrimp and grits, excellent. I ordered Game n Bacon, great meats, I might consider swapping out the fries side for asparagus or wilted spinach next time. Couldn't eat but 1/4 of the fries.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our 18th wedding anniversary and ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 28, 2016

It was our 18th wedding anniversary and there were only 6 tables in the whole restaurant when we got there and the manager saw it fit to place us next to the kitchen. The loudest place in the entire restaurant. Kitchen noise and server traffic drowned out what could have been memorable. I came for the wild game platter and I got a variation of it I guess but this time it came with french fries. My wife's filet was ordered well done and it was so burnt with char she could eat only a few bites. Thinking that a good desert could save our experience, there wasn't anything on the desert menu with really any chocolate. I liked the dim lights, the cocktails and our server was courteous. I had a much better experience on my 14th anniversary though.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

The Kobe was okay but the filet mignon w ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 28, 2016

The Kobe was okay but the filet mignon was much better tasting and priced better. Note the Kobe is $20 for every ounce and it's much better tasting in Japan. The cheese board meat selection was not good. Figs were phenomenal! Buy some to go!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.