About Bald Headed Bistro

201 Keith Street SW
Cleveland, TN 37311
View Larger Map

The Bald Headed Bistro, where the West meets the South, specializes in USDA Prime Aged Beef, fresh fish, lobster, and assorted exotic dishes such as elk. The Bald Headed Bistro also offers wood grilled pizzas and an award winning wine list that complements the varied food selections. For your convenience, the restaurant also offers wireless internet access.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Open Monday thru Saturday
Bar opens at 4:30 PM
Dining Room opens at 5:00 PM
Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
Inman

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 472-6000

Website:
http://www.baldheadedbistro.com/

Entertainment:
Weekend live music

Catering:
Contact special events coordinator at 423-473-4323 for details

Executive Chef:
Eric Fulkerson

Private Party Facilities:
Contact our Sales and Marketing Manager for details.

Private Party Contact:
Adam Lewis: 4234734323x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Sales and Marketing Manager at 423-473-4323 for details.

Bald Headed Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
East Tennessee
Romantic
East Tennessee
Special Occasion
East Tennessee
6 More
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Fit for Foodies
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Romantic
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Special Occasion
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Cleveland ›

special occasion (27)
romantic (19)
good for groups (11)
See All
fit for foodies (10)
neighborhood gem (9)
great for outdoor dining (7)
notable wine list (7)
hot spot (5)
kid-friendly (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
619 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good variety of food and wine choices. ...

Dined 6 days ago

Good variety of food and wine choices. Appetizers and entrees were all excellent! Too full for dessert. Our server was outstanding - great service! Pleasant atmosphere. Will definitely dine here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

I ordered th bone in ribeye which was no ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I ordered th bone in ribeye which was not as good as what you get at Longhorn . For sixty dollars this steak should've been one and half inch thick, it was barely half inch. At other fine Resturants their are one and one-half inch thick.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server (Tanner) was fantastic. Very ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The server (Tanner) was fantastic. Very attentive and great personality. The atmosphere was great - relaxed and enjoyable. The food was excellent. This is a gem find for us and we will return.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose this restaurant (where we have ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We chose this restaurant (where we have had 2 previous great experiences) for a special celebration, and we were certainly not disappointed! It was surprisingly quiet for 8:30pm on a Friday night, so we had it almost to ourselves and the atmosphere couldn't have been more perfect! Though they no doubt were slowing things down for the night, our waiter was fantastic, the food was amazing, and not a detail from refills to splitting checks was forgotten or overlooked! Our whole party of 9 enjoyed every appetizer (baked goat cheese dip was a favorite!) and entree (from Lobster Risotto and Steak Diane to Pork Belly and Venison Chops!), and left raving about the place. Our only regret was not having room for dessert! Can't wait to return to Cleveland to eat there again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Server Duncan was exceptional! An e ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Our Server Duncan was exceptional! An excellent meal, with excellent atmosphere and service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Each course was delivered to wrong perso ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Each course was delivered to wrong person. Had to ask different waiters for refills and other items during our meal. I have dined 4-5 times over past couple years and definitely not the experience as it one was.

food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Bald Headed Disapointment

Dined on April 30, 2016

Googled this for fine dinning and thought it would be a gem ! Very disappointed in the food quality . My wife had seared scallops -3 , came out with scallops on COLD grits ! Humm ! $32 My lobster carbonara with maybe 2oz. of watery lobster! Waiter told me Oh ! it comes with at least 6 oz. of lobster from the tail. HA ! For $29 should be taken off the menu ! Duck prosciutto with 4 paper thin 1 " slices not worth the effort to serve as an appit. and $12 poor. Foie gras ! another two bite appit. The chairs with the spindle backs were not comfortable ! Reading the reviews and items on the menu I thought it would be a great experience to have on out travel home from FL. and maybe to find and make it a regular stop ! Will be looking else where. Don't waist your time or money. The waiter was very pleasant and a good server !

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Husband's 50th Birthday - A Night to Remember

Dined on April 28, 2016

This was our first dining experience at the Bald Headed Bistro. It was my husband's 50th birthday celebration and we had a small group of 10, family and close friends. I called the restaurant ahead of time and spoke with Drew with whom I arranged the wine and the dessert for the table, so things would flow smoothly. From the moment we entered the restaurant to the moment we said our goodbyes, we were treated with overwhelming exceptional attention and service. The two waiters assigned to our table could not have been any better or knowledgeable; they made our evening most enjoyable. They neither hovered nor left us hanging; it seemed just when we needed something, there they were. The food was absolute perfection, from the the flavor of the caesar salad with anchovies to the preparation and flavor of the entrees (all cooked exactly as requested) to the just-right quantity of sides and finally the decadent display and flavor of the oh-so tantalizing desserts. The 10 in our party all ordered different entrees and sides, and I had ordered 5 of the many desserts. Not one person had any complaints about any of it. Drew's selection of wine for the table was top notch. I really cannot say enough about the restaurant nor its staff. Some may find the prices a little high, but when you take into account the enter package, from location, ambiance, wine selection, quality and preparation of food and incredible staff, this is a must-attend restaurant for anyone in or near the Cleveland area, no matter what the occasion. You will not be disappointed !!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Suprisingly Excellent

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

We enjoyed a fabulous meal here. Service was wonderful (ask for Duncan), food was delicious. For a small town, this is a "big" restaurant and the locals should be grateful to have it at their fingertips. Whether you are enjoying a special occasion or want to hang out at a classy bar, this is the place to go!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Return

Dined on April 23, 2016

This was a return visit for one. They said it was as good as their first visit.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Steak Flavor

Dined on April 8, 2016

The over all experience was great but I found the filet to be quite bland and lacking spices of any kind. For the price it was not the best steak I have had.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Occasion or not

Dined on March 16, 2016

The average person only lays down 100.00 on a special occasion. I would like to visit your establishmental more often if you provided smaller meal options and a little better prices on your slower days. The food is great just get a little more creative to get us occasional clients in more often. It's good for your bottom line. Hope to hear from you soon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Joe w

Dined on March 12, 2016

Very good! Menu is very unique and also has very good traditional Steaks and Seafood. Always a pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dining and great atmosphere without the drive

Dined on March 11, 2016

I've been to BHB many times over the years--in fact, my mom threw my 30th birthday party there. This one experience takes the cake, though! My husband and I were celebrating our 16th wedding anniversary, a fact I noted in my reservation. We were greeted with happy anniversary wishes, seated immediately, and when our server (the wonderful Rachel!) arrived, she added her own well wishes. Now, obviously, servers work for their tips, but I really can't say enough about how wonderful our server was. She acted as if we were the most charming couple she'd ever met, and even if she was putting on an act (which I doubt), she still made us smile over and over. We had requested a private booth, and this was just what we got. We've had a pretty amazing marriage, and some pretty amazing anniversaries over the years, but this one takes the cake. The food was delicious, the drinks were perfect, and the service was sublime.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service2

What happened to the old BHB?

Dined on March 6, 2016

What happened to the old BHB?

food5
ambience5
service5

My filet was cooked perfectly, and with ...

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

My filet was cooked perfectly, and with roasted brussel sprouts are outstanding!! Our server was very knowledgeable and gave us the right amount of attention. The pace of the dinner was great too; i.e. adequate time between courses. Overall a great dining experience!!

food1
ambience1
service3

Steak was overcooked and chewy. Sent it ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

Steak was overcooked and chewy. Sent it back and got half off. Place has gone downhill. New menu is bad and both steaks we ordered came out badly. Wish we had gone somewhere else.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent and Gluten-free

Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was delicious. The staff were courteous. The atmosphere was relaxed and romantic. Best of all the chef made sure to cook my food on cleaned surfaces as I am celiac and cannot consume gluten. Overall excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Steaks were definitely undercooked even ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Steaks were definitely undercooked even for a couple which ordered them medium and medium rare. The waiters were very young, inexperienced, and slow to greet. The filet had great flavor while the ribeye had more fat than actual meat.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great resturant

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food & service! Great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Still a great place but not what it used to be

Dined on February 14, 2016

I am not sure if it was just due to a busy evening the last two times we have been here but it doesnt seem to be up to the level it used to be, still a great place to eat and get a fabulous steak but is just missing a few details they used to always hit

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4

Honestly between the stuck in the 90's s ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Honestly between the stuck in the 90's soundtrack and the taste of the food my wife and I would have been better off going to a generic steakhouse. The service was great. However, the food and atmosphere were not anywhere near what the price was. I've had better steak at an Applebee's than what we had here.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Unfortunately, we did not receive the co ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Unfortunately, we did not receive the correct drinks upon arrival and my child did not ever receive hers. Lack of communication between waitors. My food was missing elements that the distribution in menu told and the brussel sprouts were so oily with olive oil it coated my entire mouth, very unpleasant.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Good food, poor service

Dined on February 12, 2016

My husband and I went to the bhb to celebrate Valentine's Day . The host promptly sat us at our table and told us our server would be right with us. It was our sever's first night on the floor. She was very nice but not very informed about the food or bar menu. Never told us the specials, never asked if we wanted another drink from the bar. All our food came out at once. Needless to say, although the food tasted good, the service ruined what was suppose to be a romantic evening and made us really regret the $120.00 we spent over the course of the night .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We choose the BHB for all our special occasions!

Dined on January 29, 2016

The Bald Headed Bistro never disappoints! We have chosen this as our special occasion restaurant for the last 5 years! The menu and service are always exceptional and when you enter you will think you are dining in Jackson Hole, Wy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

food

Dined on January 27, 2016

the steak was terrible,bad ----- way over price--- also had salmon was average

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great first experience!

Dined on January 10, 2016

Our group thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The menu was varied and our server did a great job of explaining the specials. Service was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Romantic spot for special occasions.

Dined on January 8, 2016

The restaurant was beautifully decorated and the ambiance and lighting was perfect for a date night. The service was wonderful and the waiter was very knowledgeable regarding menu items. Unfortunately my appetizer and dessert far exceeded my entree in terms of flavor. Also, while the fresh ground pepper placed on the table was a nice touch it was rough on the nose and had to be removed.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointing

Dined on January 8, 2016

Very disappointed with this place. Had been a favorite of ours but not anymore. Service was not at all what we would expect from this caliber of restaurant. If you want to sell me a $72 steak make sure it's cooked properly. Seems they were more concerned with presentation than actually having good food. Spent $150 on dinner and wine and left hungry because steak was horrible. Doubt we will be back

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional

Dined on January 1, 2016

Overall a wonderful place and lovely atmosphere. The staff is exceptional and very professional. I would recommend to anyone

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Frequent customer

Dined on December 31, 2015

I ORDERED THE TYPICAL FILET AS ALWAYS AND EVEN AFTER PUTTING IT IN A TAKE HOME, I DECIDED TO LEAVE IT AT THE BISTRO. IF IT WASN'T GOOD ENOUGH TO EAT THERE IT DIDN'T MAKE SENSE TO TAKE WITH US. THE STEAK WAS EXTREMELY TOUGH AND DRY. THE WEDGE SALAD WAS LIMP AND SEEMED TO BE PREMADE AND MAYBE SAT TOO LONG. I'VE HAD THIS MEAL ALMOST EVERY VISIT, SO I HAD A BENCH MARK TO REFER BACK TO. WAITER ASKED SEVERAL TIMES TO GET ANOTHER STEAK AND SALAD BUT WE HAD WAITED ENOUGH ALREADY. I DON'T EXPECT DIFFERENT TREATMENT THAN ANYONE ELSE. WHEN WE SPEND $150.00 TO $200.00 EVERY VISIT I FEEL IT'S FAIR TO EXPECT THE BEST FOOD IN CLEVELAND. THANK YOU FOR SENDING THE REVIEW REQUEST. I BELIEVE THERE IS AN OPPORTUNITY WITH THE BISTRO BEING THE ONLY FINE DINING IN CLEVELAND. BRECK

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Marginal

Dined on December 31, 2015

Paid $50 a plate (x 2) for "filet" and lobster. Lobster was cold, chewy and tasted like overcooked prawn. Filet had a streak of fat/grisle in it which leads one to believe it wasn't a good filet cut. Service was marginal, even nonexistent most of the time. Server appeared to be new and inexperienced (I don't fault the person for that), but basic service like checking on water glasses being filled and ordering additional wine/drinks was terrible. There were a lot of servers in the place, which wasn't too busy at the time, so really no reason for bad service. Waited entirely too long between drinks. Seating was terrible, crowded together between other guests. Felt like being in a Golden Corral more than a nice upscale restaurant. Final kick in the pants was that we had a $300 gift card to spend on the meal (GIFT CARD= CASH) in any other place. Was told at first that the gift card couldn't be used for alcoholic drinks...WHAT?!? Took some conversation to get that one corrected, what a hassle though. It was my wife's birthday, which was noted when we made the online reservation (there is actually a spot on the online reservation form that asks if it is a special occasion)---Don't know why they ask because nothing was even mentioned about it. Years ago when the place was actually new and properly run, guests would receive a small complimentary piece of cake. Not any more I guess. Not complaining about not getting a free piece of cake, just the fact that nothing was mentioned about it. Overall spent well over $300 for a party of four, and was completely dissatisfied. Never again, many better places now in Cleveland to get a nice meal for much better value.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Missed the mark this time

Dined on December 24, 2015

Usually a pricey but very good dining experience with excellent food. However it felt like they weren't fully staffed and prepared some food in advance of our Christmas Eve dinner. It's too expensive to have that kind of experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food are always exceptional ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

Service and food are always exceptional !!

food5
ambience5
service5

Always Very Good!

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

Our most recent visit was with friends. We had a long, leisurely meal. All of us had the chopped salad; it was excellent. We all had some type of steak cooked to varying degrees of doneness as requested. The service was good, attentive but not interruptive. Of course we'll be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

BHB

Dined on December 7, 2015

We have been several times, usually special occasions and it is one of our favorite places. We have never been disappointed. Excellent food and service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Restaurant

Dined on November 20, 2015

This was our first visit to the Bald Headed Bistro and I am sure we'll be back. The service was excellent, the food was outstanding and the ambiance was perfect. We were impressed with the food selections and the food profiles of both of our dishes worked perfectly. The chef is truly creative and understands how to get the most out of a meal and everything was cooked perfectly. If you are looking for a complete, satisfying dining experience this is the place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2

Limited menu, and overpriced. Wine sele ...

Dined on November 12, 2015

Limited menu, and overpriced. Wine selection overpriced. One in our group received his entre significantly undercooked, even compared with the menu. When the entre was returned for additional cooking, it came back significantly overcooked. He did not complain as a courtesy in order not to make a scene. Service was very slow, and sporadic. Restaurant was not more than 1/2 to 3/4 full.

food2
ambience2
service2

Thoroughly disappointing.

Dined on November 1, 2015

BHB is positioned as a high-end game restaurant and has the prices to prove it - alas, the quality falls far short. The food was mediocre at best. It took four requests to get bread - even after another table seated 10-15 minutes after us had theirs. A pork belly dish, rather than slow-cooked until gelatinous on the inside and crispy on the outside, was brute-force-smash-seared until dry and rock-hard. We were there for an anniversary dinner (the restaurant knew this) and, with TONS of other open tables, seated a couple with a mid-tantrum toddler right next to us. That was fun. The restaurant is part of a strip mall so that's not great, but it does manage to eke some charm out of a dreadful space by recreating a Jackson, Wyoming log cabin. Lots of taxidermy - some of it a little too dusty...gross. The only redeeming part of the evening was our very kind young waiter. Nice kid. Even though the staff isn't nearly well-trained enough to justify these prices.

food2
ambience5
service5

Not as good as past visits, but great service

Dined on October 17, 2015

I was at the Bald Headed Bistro on Oct. 7, 2015 with 8 of my girlfriends. I had their 14 oz ribeye ($35), which was wonderful. The meat was very tender and tasty and cooked just right (medium-rare.) I think everybody enjoyed their meal & the atmosphere though it is pricey. I had been there maybe 4-5 times before this visit and had enjoyed it every time so when some friends asked to meet us somewhere for dinner, I suggested the BHB. We ate there on Oct. 17, 2015 with a 7 p.m. reservation. Since I enjoyed the ribeye so much before, I ordered it again only this time my meat (ordered medium-rare again) was very over done & very tough & hard to chew. Our waitress stopped by to see how everything was and after I told her, she insisted that I send it back. When the waitress brought out the 2nd steak, she stood by to make sure that it was cooked correctly. This time it was still raw in the middle (very rare.) I asked the waitress to ask them to put it back on to cook for something under a minute on each side. She again waited for me to check the steak when she brought it back and this time it looked good, however the flavor was nowhere near as good as the Oct. 7th steak. With my husband’s help, I ate about ½ the steak & brought the rest home for leftovers but just can’t bring myself to eat it. Still, every restaurant can have a bad night and I guess we hit on one of those. For their prices though, I would expect NO bad nights. One additional comment is that their wine & coattail selections are limited. I’m not sure I will be back, for the price if nothing else.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.