About Bald Headed Bistro

201 Keith Street SW
Cleveland, TN 37311
View Larger Map

The Bald Headed Bistro, where the West meets the South, specializes in USDA Prime Aged Beef, fresh fish, lobster, and assorted exotic dishes such as elk. The Bald Headed Bistro also offers wood grilled pizzas and an award winning wine list that complements the varied food selections. For your convenience, the restaurant also offers wireless internet access.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Open Monday thru Saturday
Bar opens at 4:30 PM
Dining Room opens at 5:00 PM
Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
Inman

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 472-6000

Website:
http://www.baldheadedbistro.com/

Entertainment:
Weekend live music

Catering:
Contact special events coordinator at 423-473-4323 for details

Executive Chef:
Eric Fulkerson

Private Party Facilities:
Contact our Sales and Marketing Manager for details.

Private Party Contact:
Adam Lewis: 4234734323x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Sales and Marketing Manager at 423-473-4323 for details.

Bald Headed Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
East Tennessee
Best Ambiance
East Tennessee
Romantic
East Tennessee
3 More
Special Occasion
East Tennessee
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Cleveland ›

Special Occasion (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Romantic (10)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (4)
Private Room (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Fireplace (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Cozy (2)
Casual (2)
Seasonal (1)
Authentic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
648 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Thank you BHB for a beautiful evening fo ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Thank you BHB for a beautiful evening for me and my wife of 53 years. All was just great and especially the help we received from our server, so kind and patient. We will be with you again and again as occasions arise. You provided for us a very special evening and we thank you all so very much!!!!!!!!!! Bob & Sandra Malone

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Casual, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at the BHB in the past and ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We have dined at the BHB in the past and always enjoyed our experience. It has been about a year since we last visited and we were quite disappointed in the experience this time around. Our service was GREAT, but the quality of the food has declined. Our warmed goat cheese appetizer was the best part of our meal. Several in our party ordered the chopped salad, petite filet, garlic mashed potatoes, and mushrooms. The salad was nothing to write home about and it has ALWAYS been my favorite in the past. My filet and mushrooms were COLD and both lacked flavor. Other guests in my party indicated there was too much pepper and/or other spices on their filet and scallops. We ordered dessert, an apple pie . . . which would have been better served warm versus cold. We were VERY disappointed this time around and are not sure we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We have been to the Birstro several time ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We have been to the Birstro several times over the last few years for special occasions and always love it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Service was excellent, food very good a ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Service was excellent, food very good and well presented and our waiter very knowledgeable. Stopped here 3 straight years on our way to FL and it has been consistently excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always!! Never have any com ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent as always!! Never have any complaints...can't go wrong here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had little time to stay and enjoy the su ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

had little time to stay and enjoy the surroundings of fire/wood trim, nice quiet booths, great food and appetizers.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great meal! Excellent service! I would ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great meal! Excellent service! I would definitely recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was amazed at so few people were dinin ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I was amazed at so few people were dining at the BHB on a Saturday night until I was served dinner. The appetizer was laughable, the Duck Prosciutto had 3 tiny pieces of duck that a newspaper could be read through they were so thin. Every dish served was over powered by the amount of garlic in each, and this masked the taste of each food item presented. There were huge cloves of garlic in all dishes. I cautiously ordered desert for fear that it would be full of garlic too. Much better food served when Mr. Jones owned the establishment. It was date night and one that will be unforgettable because the food was so bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Always pleased with everything about BHB ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Always pleased with everything about BHB! They do a great job. I would recommend them highly.

Tags: Late-night Find, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Wonderful atmosphere. ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great experience. Wonderful atmosphere. Servers are very professional and the food is always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have always enjoyed the Bald Headed Bi ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 12, 2016

I have always enjoyed the Bald Headed Bistro for it's gourmet food and fine dining atmosphere. I was a little disappointed the last visit. My salmon was VERY rare (the waiter didn't ask me how I wanted it cooked) and the sides were extra salty. I am usually a huge fan but not this time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice dining experience. Food was pr ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Very nice dining experience. Food was pretty pricey.

Server was excellent .Can get the same meal at Long Horn for a fraction of the price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Made dinner reservations for my mother's ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Made dinner reservations for my mother's 77th bday. Asked for a table outside. We were an hour late due to the time difference, but our table was waiting and PERFECT! There was live music which was awesome! The food was spot on! Great experience and worth our 3 hour round trip from Crossville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I tried this for the first t ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 24, 2016

My wife and I tried this for the first time on a date night and loved it. The service was first class and the food was outstanding. Plan on starting with an appetizer as the portions are on the small side but of high quality. While this was our first visit we will be coming back again. This is a great find for a small town. This is Jackson Hole WY in Cleveland TN. Great place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server didn't do the best describing ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The server didn't do the best describing the appetizers. I didn't care for it. I ordered the shrimp and grits which wasn't great. The shrimp were little popcorn shrimp. I ordered a beverage from the menu and was told not carried anymore. The after dinner I ordered another and was told the blender was broke.

Too many places to go eat at. I will not return to BHB

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Had heard about The Bald Headed Bistro b ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had heard about The Bald Headed Bistro but had never gone. Our 45th wedding anniversary gave it a try. Good food,little pricey but fair. Exellent service, we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall, it was an okay experience. Ser ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Overall, it was an okay experience. Service was outstanding! Food was okay but not worth the price. Had to send my wife's steak back twice and other guests steak once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

BHB has gone downhill. Selections of wil ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 12, 2016

BHB has gone downhill. Selections of wild game are not as good as before. Seafood menu not as extensive. Prices are ever higher. It used to be our favorite restaurant but not anymore. On the positive side, the service was excellent@

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our table of 6 was directly in front of ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our table of 6 was directly in front of the restaurant kitchen door. A little surprising considering I made the reservation 3 weeks in advance for a party of 6 (Special occasion - each couple were celebrating their anniversary. Each year we rent a limo fine dine then party the evening away) . Service was a little above average -which considering the price and claim of excellence was a little disappointing. Wine selection was good and seemed reasonable for the restaurant. Appetizers, salads and entrees were all above average but certainly not show stopping. Bar cocktails were okay (I ordered a Bulleit Rye Manhattan -someone must have those words while pouring vermouth into soda water). The desserts were really dull and boring. Really considering the fanfare - a little let down - we drove from Signal Mtn. If I had to choose between Ruths Chris or the Bald Headed Bistro - I would choose the chain over the local - sorry to say. Even though RC would have been a higher bill - I would still have ventured for the more expensive chain.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Amazing food and drinks. Great deal on h ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Amazing food and drinks. Great deal on happy hour martinis. Charcuterie app was killer. Get steak rare and please get the wedge.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, great service, awesome f ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great ambiance, great service, awesome food. Felt like I was in Colorado!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for a special occasion and uniqu ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went for a special occasion and unique food selections, and were not disappointed. Surprisingly the service rates even better. We have lived in many states and overseas for a few years and have dined at many establishments. All together this was an enjoyable dining experience , I am sure we will be back.

My one and only concern was the Elk,although buttery and delicious , it was marked as a Gluten Free dish. I dont know what the grain beneath the Elk was, I didn't recognize it.

We had the duck prosciutto as an appetizer, very delicious. My husband loved the beer mustard, I enjoyed the fig preserves and arugula that came with the plate. My husband had the bacon wrap dish, he enjoyed all of it, Quail, Venison and pork belly. The pork belly was a new experience for both of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were greeted immediately as we walked ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 8, 2016

We were greeted immediately as we walked into the restaurant. The employees and servers were courteous and very friendly, the food was also top notch. I have recommended this restaurant to friends and family. I enjoyed my experience immensely.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique venue with excellent food and out ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Unique venue with excellent food and outstanding service. A bit pricey but it was half price wine bottle night which took away some of the price sting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife ordered the rock shrimp and grit ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2016

My wife ordered the rock shrimp and grits, excellent. I ordered Game n Bacon, great meats, I might consider swapping out the fries side for asparagus or wilted spinach next time. Couldn't eat but 1/4 of the fries.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our 18th wedding anniversary and ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 28, 2016

It was our 18th wedding anniversary and there were only 6 tables in the whole restaurant when we got there and the manager saw it fit to place us next to the kitchen. The loudest place in the entire restaurant. Kitchen noise and server traffic drowned out what could have been memorable. I came for the wild game platter and I got a variation of it I guess but this time it came with french fries. My wife's filet was ordered well done and it was so burnt with char she could eat only a few bites. Thinking that a good desert could save our experience, there wasn't anything on the desert menu with really any chocolate. I liked the dim lights, the cocktails and our server was courteous. I had a much better experience on my 14th anniversary though.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

The Kobe was okay but the filet mignon w ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 28, 2016

The Kobe was okay but the filet mignon was much better tasting and priced better. Note the Kobe is $20 for every ounce and it's much better tasting in Japan. The cheese board meat selection was not good. Figs were phenomenal! Buy some to go!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always excellent food and service. A li ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Always excellent food and service. A little pricey, but worth it, especially for a special occasion. Natasha did a great job without overdoing it and made great recommendations.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good variety of food and wine choices. ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Good variety of food and wine choices. Appetizers and entrees were all excellent! Too full for dessert. Our server was outstanding - great service! Pleasant atmosphere. Will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I ordered th bone in ribeye which was no ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 11, 2016

I ordered th bone in ribeye which was not as good as what you get at Longhorn . For sixty dollars this steak should've been one and half inch thick, it was barely half inch. At other fine Resturants their are one and one-half inch thick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

The server (Tanner) was fantastic. Very ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 11, 2016

The server (Tanner) was fantastic. Very attentive and great personality. The atmosphere was great - relaxed and enjoyable. The food was excellent. This is a gem find for us and we will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose this restaurant (where we have ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2016

We chose this restaurant (where we have had 2 previous great experiences) for a special celebration, and we were certainly not disappointed! It was surprisingly quiet for 8:30pm on a Friday night, so we had it almost to ourselves and the atmosphere couldn't have been more perfect! Though they no doubt were slowing things down for the night, our waiter was fantastic, the food was amazing, and not a detail from refills to splitting checks was forgotten or overlooked! Our whole party of 9 enjoyed every appetizer (baked goat cheese dip was a favorite!) and entree (from Lobster Risotto and Steak Diane to Pork Belly and Venison Chops!), and left raving about the place. Our only regret was not having room for dessert!

Can't wait to return to Cleveland to eat there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Server Duncan was exceptional! An e ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Our Server Duncan was exceptional! An excellent meal, with excellent atmosphere and service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each course was delivered to wrong perso ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Each course was delivered to wrong person. Had to ask different waiters for refills and other items during our meal. I have dined 4-5 times over past couple years and definitely not the experience as it one was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Bald Headed Disapointment

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Googled this for fine dinning and thought it would be a gem ! Very disappointed in the food quality . My wife had seared scallops -3 , came out with scallops on COLD grits ! Humm ! $32

My lobster carbonara with maybe 2oz. of watery lobster! Waiter told me Oh ! it comes with at least 6 oz. of lobster from the tail. HA ! For $29 should be taken off the menu !

Duck prosciutto with 4 paper thin 1 " slices not worth the effort to serve as an appit. and $12 poor.

Foie gras ! another two bite appit.

The chairs with the spindle backs were not comfortable !

Reading the reviews and items on the menu I thought it would be a great experience to have on out travel home from FL. and maybe to find and make it a regular stop ! Will be looking else where. Don't waist your time or money.

The waiter was very pleasant and a good server !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

My Husband's 50th Birthday - A Night to Remember

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 28, 2016

This was our first dining experience at the Bald Headed Bistro. It was my husband's 50th birthday celebration and we had a small group of 10, family and close friends. I called the restaurant ahead of time and spoke with Drew with whom I arranged the wine and the dessert for the table, so things would flow smoothly. From the moment we entered the restaurant to the moment we said our goodbyes, we were treated with overwhelming exceptional attention and service. The two waiters assigned to our table could not have been any better or knowledgeable; they made our evening most enjoyable. They neither hovered nor left us hanging; it seemed just when we needed something, there they were. The food was absolute perfection, from the the flavor of the caesar salad with anchovies to the preparation and flavor of the entrees (all cooked exactly as requested) to the just-right quantity of sides and finally the decadent display and flavor of the oh-so tantalizing desserts. The 10 in our party all ordered different entrees and sides, and I had ordered 5 of the many desserts. Not one person had any complaints about any of it. Drew's selection of wine for the table was top notch. I really cannot say enough about the restaurant nor its staff. Some may find the prices a little high, but when you take into account the enter package, from location, ambiance, wine selection, quality and preparation of food and incredible staff, this is a must-attend restaurant for anyone in or near the Cleveland area, no matter what the occasion. You will not be disappointed !!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Suprisingly Excellent

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 28, 2016

We enjoyed a fabulous meal here. Service was wonderful (ask for Duncan), food was delicious. For a small town, this is a "big" restaurant and the locals should be grateful to have it at their fingertips. Whether you are enjoying a special occasion or want to hang out at a classy bar, this is the place to go!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Return

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 23, 2016

This was a return visit for one. They said it was as good as their first visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak Flavor

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 8, 2016

The over all experience was great but I found the filet to be quite bland and lacking spices of any kind. For the price it was not the best steak I have had.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Special Occasion or not

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 16, 2016

The average person only lays down 100.00 on a special occasion. I would like to visit your establishmental more often if you provided smaller meal options and a little better prices on your slower days. The food is great just get a little more creative to get us occasional clients in more often. It's good for your bottom line. Hope to hear from you soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.