About Balaban's - Chesterfield

1772 Clarkson Rd
Chesterfield, MO 63017
View Larger Map

Balaban's continues the tradition of the Cental West End location with a new concept in Chesterfield. Balaban's operates full service restaurant and retail wine shop with the same classic dishes such as the Beef Wellington, Cucumber Bisque and Trout Pancake. All of the bottles on the Wine Spectator's award winning wine list are sold at a retail cost with a small $8 corkage fee.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Clarkson/Baxter

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, Visa

Phone Number:
(636) 449-6700

Website:
http://www.balabanswine.com/

Catering:
Full service on and off premise with delivery avaliable

Executive Chef:
D.Scott Phillips

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Balaban's Proudly Presents:
Cakebread Wine Dinner
Sunday, July 31st @ 6:30pm

Come join us for our monthly Sunday Wine Dinner
5 Course Dinner with an Appetizer Reception
Guests will be greeted with a Glass of Sparkling Wine

$110.00 per person (plus Tax and Gratuity)
Please call 636.449.6700 for Reservations

Promotions

Five Course Prix Fixe Meal for $110.00

Sunday Aug 28, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Five Course Prix Fixe Meal for $110.00

Sunday Aug 28, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Five Course Prix Fixe Meal for $110.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Sunday Aug 28, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Tue 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 4:00PM - 8:00PM

Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 4:00PM - 8:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Private Dining

Beautiful Tuscan inspired room presenting the perfect setting for your special occasion. Accommodating up to 90 individuals for lunch and dinner, 100 for more casual buffets and cocktails. The room may be modified for smaller groups. AV equipment is preset in the space.

Balaban's - Chesterfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
St. Louis
American
St. Louis
Fit for Foodies
West County
1 More
Neighborhood Gem
West County
Best Restaurants in Chesterfield ›

Fit for Foodies (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
See All
Great for Brunch (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Groups (8)
Hot Spot (2)
Romantic (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
176 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, Friendly service and good wi ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, Friendly service and good wine. Value happy hour and great wine specials

Look forward to another visit soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was excellent, as always. The C ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our food was excellent, as always. The Cioppino was excellent as was the beef wellington. Our only complaint was that we were served the wrong salads. The service was okay but could have been more attentive

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Very good for a business lunch.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very good for a business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We always enjoy the dining and menu. Ju ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We always enjoy the dining and menu. Just hard to choose what to get. Only thing that wasn't perfect was a large group eating near us that made the noise level quite loud, and made normal conversation difficult.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fantastic! Really delicious ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was fantastic! Really delicious. The dishes we ordered were light so we felt great after dinner, satisfied without guilt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Fabulous food and service with an outsta ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fabulous food and service with an outstanding wine list.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. We liked browsing t ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was delicious. We liked browsing the wine racks to pick out our wine for dinner. We were a bit surprised at the corkage fee of $8 as other places that provide the same concept do not charge a corkage fee. But the food was outstanding and we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

wonderful, great food, smaller portions, ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

wonderful, great food, smaller portions, a little pricey but very nice

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good food. Service was stretched.

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very good food. Service was stretched.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

The food and service was very nice and b ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food and service was very nice and beautifully presented. The smoked trout appetizer is amazing as well as the cucumber bisque soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Nice variety on ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food and service. Nice variety on menu. Lots of wine selections. Very casual and accepting. Not overpriced. All around... Will definitely go back. And OPEN for lunch. Awesome flatbreads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

What a treat. Andrea was a perfect hoste ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

What a treat. Andrea was a perfect hostess and service specialist. Really great thing is if you want a full bottle of wine all you do is peruse their nice size retail area (complete with wine enthusiast to assist) and they charge you the retail price plus corking fee which is a lot less than paying for a bottle at other restaurants. Careful though, with it being less expensive you may just drink a wee bit more. Food was delicious from appetizers, small plates to full entrees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Friendly and always delicious, but the s ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Friendly and always delicious, but the space needs some acoustical dampening materials/surfaces.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Was not impressed by the food. The atmo ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Was not impressed by the food. The atmosphere made it somewhat difficult to enjoy dinner for two. However, the staff were very attentive and polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Best Fathers' Day Brunch for family and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Best Fathers' Day Brunch for family and friends!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very pleased with whole experience ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I was very pleased with whole experience. The brunch was excellent and Service was very warm and attentive. A bit noisy tho. Would definitely recommend this brunch to all my friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really liked the idea of Prix Fixe di ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We really liked the idea of Prix Fixe dinner and no corkage with a wine purchased from the store. The wine selection is very good and the food was very good. The service was fair to poor and it was not very crowded. The wait staff seemed to be more interested talking amongst themselves than paying attention to the clients. We had to battle to continually ask for things that should have been there, and it was slow as well. Dinner took well over 2 1/2 hours on a Monday night.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Always great

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

The food as usual was outstanding. The server very polite and professional

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Great Experience

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

As usual, Balaban's delivers on all aspects of dining - quality food, super wine list, excellent service. This is our neighborhood "go-to" spot, but it is also the kind of place you would find in Southern California - laid back atmosphere, friendly people, and a distinct farm-to-table inspiration in the menu. The portions are the size that encourage you to try several plates without fear of food over-load. They run a proper bar where you can get a proper mixed drink - no tonic, soda, or other mixers out of a gun - always out of a small bottle.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We both had different fish specials, an ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We both had different fish specials, and each one was phenomenal. Wine pairing was excellent We took the waitress's suggestion and had the small salads (the regular size salad is huge) garnished with pear, figs, and sliced Parmesan cheese. Excellent meal overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Balabans

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Very nice neighborhood restaurant. Food and wine were fabulous. Only complaint is the noise level. For this type of establishment it should not be so LOUD!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Service has deteriorated.

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

I love Balabans but the last couple times we have eaten there, the service has been awful. One waitress told me they did not have a particular pasta and it turns out they did!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

No bread, meal portion was very small, s ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

No bread, meal portion was very small, salad was excellent, windows at the entry look like they have never been washed & food scraps on the floor around the tables-this was at 6:00pm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Mushrooms are back

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Look forward to Morel mushrooms every year and you don't disappoint! 15 years enjoying them at least 5 times per season!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Balabans used to be one of my faves now not so

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

I have been going to Balabans since their opening. One of my very favorites, great food, vibe, and most of all, great ownership/management/service. However now that at least 2 of the owner/managers have left, I fear Balabans is destined to fail. The service was sub-par and the attitude which was once "we will try accommodate to your needs and say yes", became one big "no" after the other. Even a couple of the "old" service folks stated that many of them were upset and thinking about leaving too. What a shame, there is still time to fix this, so do it, before it's too late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Great choice of wines and great food. Th ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Great choice of wines and great food. The Monday special of no corkage charges also is good to remember!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was only my second time at Balaban' ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

This was only my second time at Balaban's Chesterfield and I remembered how much I enjoyed it- great service, food and wine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's gotten better every time I visit. T ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

It's gotten better every time I visit. This visit was perfect for an intimate dinner with my wife and a close friend. I would do it again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food Can Make the Difference

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We expected a somewhat more elegant restaurant judging from the online menu. This is basically a wine store with wooden tables and chairs for dining. You can choose wine from the menu, or pick any bottle from the racks and have it served for $8 corkage. Our server was very good but had to work too many tables. The sea bass with crab, served over rice and asparagus was perfectly cooked. The beef wellington was prepared with a marvelous herb sauce.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Pleasantly surprised

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We headed over on Saturday as we had a gift card. Previously I had never really thought about Balaban's. We went with another couple and we all commented about how to good it was. The service was excellent. The place isn't huge but that only makes it that much better.

We had appetizers calamari and their special. Both were above average. The real surprise was our entree. Sole wrapped around crab. It was not smothered in some sauce but rather simple and the flavor was perfect. Another got the pork chop. It was lighted flowered but cooked perfect. Not over grilled or seasoned.

Price was less than Cafe Napoli, more comparable to Mia Sorella with a better wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Group dinner

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We brought a small group for dinner. They sat us in the wine room. The atmosphere was terrific. We were able to have great spirited conversation without worrying about disturbing any others. The food as usual was great. The service terrific as well. Great evening!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think every time we go to Balaban's th ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

I think every time we go to Balaban's the food is better! My wife had the Salmon special while I had the pan seared Grouper special. In both cases the fish was cooked perfectly. My Grouper came with a tomato chutney and was on a bed of rice and vegetables. The flavors were just remarkable. We shared a wine flight then ordered a bottle of what we liked best. Wine prices are reasonable and Tiffany was a great server. We also liked the new arrangements. The dining area has been expanded by raising a wine rack to free up floor space. Only reason I did not give all top ratings is that is a bit noisy. We could still talk just fine but overall noise is just a notch higher than we would like, but that never stops us in leaving Balaban's at the top of our list! Also always a great place to bring friends as the food is unique, wine excellent and service very attentive. Balaban's never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place! Service excellent...food w ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Great place! Service excellent...food wonderful. Good place to gather with friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great concept-- tired menu

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

The selection of reasonably priced wines in the retail section that can be brought to the table adds interest to the meal and allows for experimentation. The menu however is tired and some dishes like candied shrimp have no place on it. I recommend Balaban's for a first visit and hope to see a fresher more innovative menu soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Brunch Was Wonderful

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Another great brunch at Balaban's on Valentine's Day. Wonderful menu, good service and food quality. Already made our reservation for Easter!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is in Chesterfield?

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Chesterfield is such a suburban, family friendly neighborhood. Balaban's is right out of SoHo, Lincoln Park, Venice Beach, Austin's 6th Street without the pretension. The food, atmosphere, service is superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second time here and we had ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

This was our second time here and we had a great experience each time. The first time we ordered the Artisanal cheese plate, which we thoroughly enjoyed, as well as one of the yummy flatbreads. This time, we ordered the seasonal bruschetta which was wonderful and clam chowder which my husband enjoyed. I had the stuffed chicken which was had a crispy skin, and was stuffed with bacon and mushrooms and seasoned perfectly. The mashed potatoes and pan roasted vegetables were a perfect accompaniment. The portion size was just right. My husband thought his pork chop was quite tasty. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wow. Loved the fish specials. I had the ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Wow. Loved the fish specials. I had the salmon, and my wife had the grouper. Some of the best fish I've had outside of Portsmouth NH. We will definitely be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

My party and I had a wonderful time at B ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

My party and I had a wonderful time at Balabans! Our waitress, Adrienne, makes the best cosmos and Manhattans! The stuffed mushrooms and lobster stuffed ravioli are a must when you visit. We went on a Monday, which is their Balabargins night, you get a 3 course mean for $25, which is a pretty good deal! I'd definitely recommend it if you want an exquisite meal without spending a ton of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant experience

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

This was a wonderful restaurant and the service, food, etc. was beyond super. A very nice Sunday brunch

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.