About Balaban's - Chesterfield

1772 Clarkson Rd
Chesterfield, MO 63017
View Larger Map

Balaban's continues the tradition of the Cental West End location with a new concept in Chesterfield. Balaban's operates full service restaurant and retail wine shop with the same classic dishes such as the Beef Wellington, Cucumber Bisque and Trout Pancake. All of the bottles on the Wine Spectator's award winning wine list are sold at a retail cost with a small $8 corkage fee.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Clarkson/Baxter

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, Visa

Phone Number:
(636) 449-6700

Website:
http://www.balabanswine.com/

Catering:
Full service on and off premise with delivery avaliable

Executive Chef:
Philip Stemmler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come join us for our monthly Sunday Wine Dinner
5 Course Dinner with an Appetizer Reception
Guests will be greeted with a Glass of Sparkling Wine

$110.00 per person (plus Tax and Gratuity)
Please call 636.449.6700 for Reservations

Specials

Guardian Wine Dinner 3/12/17

Sundays from 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Guardian Wine Dinner 3/12/17

Sundays from 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Guardian Wine Dinner 3/12/17. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 14, 2017 - Mar 12, 2017 on Sundays from 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Tue 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 4:00PM - 8:00PM

Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 4:00PM - 8:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Private Dining

Beautiful Tuscan inspired room presenting the perfect setting for your special occasion. Accommodating up to 90 individuals for lunch and dinner, 100 for more casual buffets and cocktails. The room may be modified for smaller groups. AV equipment is preset in the space.

Balaban's - Chesterfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (15)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Creative Cuisine (8)
See All
Happy Hour (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Casual (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Romantic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Authentic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Cozy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fun (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
227 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

They've stepped up their game on unique preparations & now deliver some real yumminess!!

If you're into wine they do have a very nice selection of bottles & can purchase a bottle to go along with dinner (although they charge corkage except on Monday nights, which is very odd when you're purchasing their bottle at retail!) There are not nearly enough wine choices by the glass especially since they consider themselves a wine bistro...that said everything we have tried food wise for any course has been extremely tasty & with good quality ingredients. If you were a regular at the original Balabans some choices might be somewhat different but still good...like the cucumber bisque & smoked trout pancake. It's tempting to keep repeating your favorites but even the nightly specials are terrific!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

A bit overpriced. The Eggs Benedict which are made to order were fantastic

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Disappointed. Previous visits had been very rewarding. This past Saturday, the team was not on their "A" game.

The restaurant was not crowded. It took a long time for the food to arrive, and when it arrived, some of the plates were cold. Never had experienced this before.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

not enough cheese for the price of fried cheese

not enough duck flavor, and eggrolls too small for the price

tile fish great

sides great

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love the food, it is always great. Service is normally very good. On this occasion it was horrible. Not sure what Waitress was focused on but it was not us. Forgot our salads, brought entrees (35 minutes into evening) then realized she had forgotten salads, generally terrible service. Will try again due to quality of food. Will not stay if same waitress gets our table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We took our kids for Sunday brunch in celebration of Valentine's Day. For $120, (which we expected & were completely fine with, had it lived up to expectations,) my husband had a plate of average beef stew. I found that a couple of my choices, WERE delicious, but, overall, the variety & quality was lacking... It would've been incredibly mediocre if we'd spent $50. Personal suggestion, skip it & hit Bristol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food and service was very good. Noise level approached unacceptable at times. Our server was very attentive without being intrusive. I definitely recommend this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Delicious food (fresh and clean kale, walnut and strawberry salad; scallops cooked perfectly; lobster ravioli beautifully created and delicious sauce).

Personable service

Huge wine selection

Cozy neighborhood restaurant

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in Chesterfield. Great food, great specials (the sea bass was incredible), wonderful wines. Always friendly service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The service was a bit slower on this visit but it was still a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Jasmine was very friendly and provided us with great suggestions. The food was well prepared and delicious. I wish I would have know about this place sooner.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Black bean soup was delicious, my wife liked her flatbread, but thought it was a small serving. Things really turned south when I started on my carpaccio and it was still frozen, as in solid with ice crystals. Our server, Alyssa, was wonderful, and the item was removed from the bill. How the kitchen staff allowed this to be served is baffling, but we were equally amazed that a manager and/or owner did not bother to speak with us about it. We've dined at Balaban's for many years and the overall experience has noticeably deteriorated over the last several years. Sadly, we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always a good meal. I had their truffle/mushroom ravioli special, it was delicious and very different. My friend devoured his corvina before I could get a taste. Wine is sold at retail with $8 corking fee, so fun to try different kinds.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

A very nice and worthwhile restaurant to visit. The food is great (all of the time) and the setting is terrific.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This was our first visit. We recently moved to Town & Country from the CWE. We are in search for someplace to satisfy our seafood cravings without having to drive into the city or Clayton every time. We read some past reviews of great seafood and wanted to try. Sad to say our visit didn't measure up to the other reviews.

Our waitress was pleasant and informed. We started by ordering 2 cocktails. About 5 minutes later we ordered calamari. The appitizer was delivered in about 5 minutes (still no drinks). We ordered the main course and soup/salad at that time. We finished the appetizer and received the 2nd course still without the drinks. She said they would be right out. When they took the soup bowl and salad plate we finally received the Manhattans. The main course was delivered at about the same time. (Note: There weren't more than 10 people in the whole place so I expected much faster bar service.)

My wife had a fresh fish dish and I had the cioppino. My dish was average. My wife's was overlooked.

The waitress was standing in the bar for about 10 minutes talking with the bartender and she didn't check on us during our meal. Another waitress filled our waters a couple times.

I finally walked over and asked her if we could get the bill.

The cost was about $20 less than I would spend at Blood & Sand, Oceana or 801 Fish and the quality, service and ambiance just wasn't there. Guess we need to continue to drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Went in for a quick lunch. I just wanted to try there cucumber soup and it was very very good it was very creamy it was really cool even though it was a very cold day it really hit the spot. There was very few people in the restaurant at the time. And I was surprised that they took such a long time to get the soup out. So we had the soup and had a sandwich and it was very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was very cold and uncomfortable in the main dining area. The service was excellent and the food was very tasty but expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food and atmosphere were perfect for New Year's Eve! The limited menu allowed you to choose from a selection for a three course meal, the portions were substantial, and everything was delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at Balabans.

The food is always good with an interesting menu and you can shop for your bottle of wine before your dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were very pleased with our meal and service. We definitely will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Although pricy, the food was outstanding. The sea bass over grains and vegetables was delicious.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Service was great. Entire staff attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The appetizers were very good.the service was not so good, we are the mean meal and came very late and very cold, my wife did not eat her dish , and my dish of scallop which was cold but they were stones in the rice , I asked fro the manager and I was told he went home.

Later after several complaints one of the waitress came and offer us vegetable and deserts as complement .

The waitress was on her 2nd day in the Restsurant.

The deserts were good

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I love the casual ambiance of this place. It allowed us to converse while enjoying great wine and food. Service was a little slow but food and drink were brought as ordered. Overall an enjoyable evening with a great wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Love dining at this place. Usually for lunch and sometimes a happy hour. Love the wine selection, as well. Always great wines to purchase and try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It was good but a little expensive. $214 for five. That includes Bloody Mary's and 20% tip.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My meal was fine but our guests had the bacon wrapped scallops and the bacon was nowhere close to being done- they both just ate around it. I ordered a glass of Malbec which was a featured wine of the evening and no one could find a bottle of it. I sat drinkless until I asked (for a second time) about it and finally ordered something else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Adriane is hands down the best bartender in St. Louis. We love this place, and as long as she's behind the bar we will keep returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We hadn't been to Balaban's in years. The menu is no longer tapas and the four of us enjoyed our entrees and apps. Everything was well presented and tasty. Our waitress was well-informed and made good suggestions when asked. The wine selection is great -- you walk through the wine aisles and pick what you want at any price point. The $8. corkage fee seemed fair since the wine markup wasn't terrible. We will go back for wine tastings and for dinner. Very fun.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Server was nice but not very knowledgeable about wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was good, with appealing presentation. I had the squash ravioli which was tasty, but very rich. The cucumber soup was delicious, but the portion (cup) small. Would prefer to be served or offered bread rather than to have to ask for it. Interesting menu, overall good and pleasant environment, and service, but on the pricey side for what you get. Price limits our visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This restaurant carries the name of an iconic Central West End restaurant, but is similar in name only. Location/architecture/decor aside, the ambiance (open, concrete floor, cafeteria/diner grade furniture) does not fit the price range of the menu. However, the most troubling aspect was the service. While the hostess was pleasant and quick to seat us, we waited approximately 5 minutes before a waiter across the restaurant directed a bus-boy/junior server to bring us water. After another 10 minutes of waiting for a waiter, we informed the hostess that we had yet to see anyone except the water server and that we were leaving the restaurant. She apologized, but offered nothing further. We found nothing to recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Yet another great experience. The bartender helped find a couple fantastic wines. We will be back!

Tags: Tapas, Late-night Find, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Usually a great experience, and this night did not disappoint. Very noisy (not just "energetic") because of a centrally-placed birthday party---we moved from our table to the bar and were very happy we did. Great bartender on all fronts---she took our orders, provided wine recommendations and tasting, took care of our food orders and helped us select a bottle to take home for another day.

While the fish was a bit overcooked, the other dishes were perfect. Will definitely keep coming.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Creative menu, great server, excellent food equals a superb meal. Largest and finest BLT I have ever had in my many years of searching out BLTs. Disappointed that the dining room was not very busy as this is a restaurant/wine store that I will visit often so I hope it stays active and profitable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very nice place. Food was excellent but expect to pay at least $50/person. I would recommend though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Very enjoyable lunch! Both my friend and I ordered tasty salmon sandwiches ; they were delicious. We both enjoyed the accompanying coleslaw as well. Service was great!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 10, 2016

This is Balaban's in name only: the cucumber bisque was not the same, there is no ambiance unless you like eating in a wine store. When someone younger addresses you as girls or honey it is not appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We had never been before, and were very surprised. Great Happy Hour, and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Slow start. Didn't know specials, bartender covering dining room by herself.

Waitress that took our table over was GREAT!!!

Charcuterie was fabulous.

Wait between apps and entree was long, not timed well.

Presentation on all was gorgeous.

Husband's dish was piping hot, mine cold. Obviously it waited for his. Owner/manager disagreed- stated it was warm.

Offered to replace, just done with a poor experience at that point.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Ok but nothing special, they really seem to be more of a wine store than a restaurant. The simple items on the menu are probably the better choice, I tried the shrimp with pasta, and it was disappointing, wine list looked interesting but I was there for lunch, with a very small crowd, only 2 other tables were occupied.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Balaban's is always a great dining choice. I have eaten there many times and it is always good.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Popped in on short notice, but got a table. Started with the heart of palm salad, which was very nice. Ordered the strip pasta and roasted chicken enters which were excellently prepared. Reasonable sized portions and delicious. Dessert was carrot cake, which is some of the best I have had! It was a nice evening and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Loved the food- only issue is I hate having to purchase a bottle of wine at their store & then being charged a $8.00 corkage fee.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was very good but not outstanding. We love being able to pick out a wine from their inventory and only having to pay a corking fee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Balabans is always great!! We both love Balabans - will return again and again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

i will start by saying that a friend who i've know for many years is a waitress there and i'm sorry to write this. that was without a doubt the worst dining experience i've had. we arrived @ 6:45p and all started well, very little business. but then the floodgates opened and you hear the chant of i'm so sorry we are understaffed. food was glacial pace. tables sitting near us got no service. the cherry on the top of this mess was the manager who sat in his office, windows fully exposing him playing fantasy football on computer. i mentioned the halibut had consistency of mashed potatoes, with out getting up he said he would mention that to kitchen. someone has spent a good bit of money investing in dining, they have thrown it down the drain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great Sandwiches....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Love the retail wine store and being able to pick out a wine for dinner with a small corkage fee. Great wine selection. Great service. Will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food, Friendly service and good wine. Value happy hour and great wine specials

Look forward to another visit soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.