Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 1.18mi
  3. Distance: 1.31mi
  4. Distance: 1.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 1.18mi
  3. Distance: 1.31mi
  4. Distance: 1.37mi

About Balaban's - Chesterfield

Balaban's continues the tradition of the Cental West End location with a new concept in Chesterfield. Balaban's operates full service restaurant and retail wine shop with the same classic dishes such as the Beef Wellington, Cucumber Bisque and Trout Pancake. All of the bottles on the Wine Spectator's award winning wine list are sold at a retail cost with a small $8 corkage fee.

1772 Clarkson Rd
Chesterfield, MO 63017
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Clarkson/Baxter

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, Visa

Phone Number:
(636) 449-6700

Website:
http://www.balabanswine.com/

Catering:
Full service on and off premise with delivery avaliable

Executive Chef:
Philip Stemmler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come join us for our monthly Sunday Wine Dinner
5 Course Dinner with an Appetizer Reception
Guests will be greeted with a Glass of Sparkling Wine

$110.00 per person (plus Tax and Gratuity)
Please call 636.449.6700 for Reservations

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Tue 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 4:00PM - 8:00PM

Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 4:00PM - 8:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Private Dining

Beautiful Tuscan inspired room presenting the perfect setting for your special occasion. Accommodating up to 90 individuals for lunch and dinner, 100 for more casual buffets and cocktails. The room may be modified for smaller groups. AV equipment is preset in the space.

Balaban's - Chesterfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (24)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Casual (8)
Business Meals (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Authentic (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Fun (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Romantic (5)
Cozy (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Healthy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Tapas (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Consistently very good dishes and professional service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was amazing. Some loud people there (including kids) but it was early on a Thursday. I told the kid to stop pounding his table and his grandparents apologized. Not the restaurant's fault of course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent. 3rd or 4th time there. My wife had morel pasta. It was great. I had the BBQ salmon. Last week I had the duck. That was great too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Go quickly while they still have morel pasta! You do not want to miss it if you are a morel lover!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day Brunch. Excellent food and service. Chairs are not comfortable, noise level a bit much considering the place was not packed. The prime rib was a bit tough, the scrambled eggs were not great. I personally did not like the bacon and sausage links. Otherwise, WOW! Crab claws to kill for (some were over cooked but most were great), bacon and asparagus salad great, pineapple and cantaloupe as good as I have had, shelled shrimp and cocktail sauce excellent, bow tie pasta salad excellent, mixed grilled vegetables very good, salmon a bit over cooked. I think the bacon was oven baked and not to my taste but good quality bacon. Deserts were not to my taste. Price included mimosa, soda and coffee. Best brunch I've had in years including Bristol and Vin de Set. They should offer this Mother's Day brunch every Sunday!!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

the food is outstanding, with great pricing. best value in town

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome! Scallops, Duck, Morel
pasta. Great service!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Better oysters than I have had on either coast. Served perfectly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Service was excellent but slow.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The morel mushroom pasta is one of the best pasta dishes I've ever had. And the sangria is always phenomenally loaded with fresh fruit. I've been here multiple times and always have a fabulous meal with good service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I'm so happy to get the same Great Food that I used to have to drive twenty-five miles to the Central West End to get is only five minutes away in West County!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We sat for 5 minutes before a waitress came by (after me staring at the waitresses chatting at the bar area) and asked if anyone was taking care of us. After she started she was very good. I liked going over to pick out a bottle of wine, which was quite inexpensive, and the dessert of beignets was delicious.
Appetizer of charcuterie and cheese was mediocre at best. One meat (sliced salami which looked like it came from wal-mart, and 2 cheeses (One was brie, the other?) Pickled veggies and olives were fine.
The entrees were not good. My cioppino was at best adequate with the smallest mussels I have ever seen. The shrimp were large and the salmon was ok. Not a large bowl compared to other restaurants. The beef Wellington? In a word: horrendous. The original Balabans on Euclid was noted for its wellington. It's not an easy dish and not on many menus. Here, first attempt was sent back. Puff pastry wasn't even done. 2nd attempt was also not edible. Outside was done, inside dough still raw. Beef on both attempts was ordered medium rare and came medium well.
Sadly, Balabans on Euclid is closed. This reincarnation lacks the ambiance, service, and food consistency that we had come to expect from the original. Other than an inexpensive bottle of wine and the beignets, I seriously doubt we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 3, 2017

HERE FOR A BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION-GREAT FOOD, AS ALWAYS-SERVICE WAS NOT AS GOOD AS USUAL-SEEMED LIKE WAITRESS COULL USE AN UPDATE ON SERVING(ALTHOUGH SHE WAS NICE AND VERY FRIENDLY).

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was excellent and so was the service. I have ordered several of the menu items and recommend this restaurant to my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Amazing food! Love that we could pick a wine and have it that night! Gray spot and will definitely come back

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Easter brunch was absolutely wonderful! This is our third year attending, and will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very disappointing easter brunch. Tight tables and chairs with everyone bumping into one another's chairs in attempt to enjoy the buffet.
The ambiance was quite lacking.
Not a very good value for the price.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food list was short, and most items had the two ingredients I cannot eat. Our appetizer came out lukewarm, but would have been good hot. Our waitress was pretty lukewarm as well. The scallops were overcooked, and the grains they sat on were too salty. We chose to go here for our anniversary because we remembered going to it 16 years ago , when it was located in the Central West End , very fondly. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Returned to Balabans after far too long. The menu is always so interesting with very creative options. My wife and I decided to order apps and small plates. Loved the lobster ravioli and ordered a second helping. Also recommend the flatbreads, especially the goat cheese and bacon/prosciutto. Eggplant roulade was also a winner. Only meh was for the baked Gouda.
They have a great wine shop attached and you can buy a bottle at retail then pay $8 to uncork and serve. No room for desert but looked interesting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

decent food nothing spectacular. I thought it was a bit overpriced for the quality.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great menu. Delicious food with a great wine store to buy wine for the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 4, 2017

I was visiting St Louis and looking for a lunch spot when I found this restaurant. I did not know what to expect. Found it to be very nice, good food and will go back when in town again.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Really good food, a little noisy, eclectic atmosphere, maybe a little to industrial for my taste

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I will miss Balaban's when I move. The afternoon delight menu from 3-6 at the bar can't be beat. I love the bacon, pear, gargonzola flatbread. Adrianne was behind the bar and also took care of serving us when we decided to move to a table for dinner. We were well taken care of, as usual. Monday nights feature free corkage when you purchase a retail wine and a 3-course special. Everyone enjoyed their dishes and a few of my first time friends said they would be coming back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Outstanding from start to finish. Love the "buy your own" wine from the on-site store which, even with the corkage fee, saved us some money on some very good wines. Three of us had the red snapper with the red pepper sauce and loved it. The pork chop got rave reviews. We were relaxed and enjoyed our time, never feeling rushed.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

calamari great, service very good, wine great
salad very good

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 21, 2017

They've stepped up their game on unique preparations & now deliver some real yumminess!!
If you're into wine they do have a very nice selection of bottles & can purchase a bottle to go along with dinner (although they charge corkage except on Monday nights, which is very odd when you're purchasing their bottle at retail!) There are not nearly enough wine choices by the glass especially since they consider themselves a wine bistro...that said everything we have tried food wise for any course has been extremely tasty & with good quality ingredients. If you were a regular at the original Balabans some choices might be somewhat different but still good...like the cucumber bisque & smoked trout pancake. It's tempting to keep repeating your favorites but even the nightly specials are terrific!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

A bit overpriced. The Eggs Benedict which are made to order were fantastic

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Disappointed. Previous visits had been very rewarding. This past Saturday, the team was not on their "A" game.

The restaurant was not crowded. It took a long time for the food to arrive, and when it arrived, some of the plates were cold. Never had experienced this before.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

not enough cheese for the price of fried cheese
not enough duck flavor, and eggrolls too small for the price
tile fish great
sides great

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love the food, it is always great. Service is normally very good. On this occasion it was horrible. Not sure what Waitress was focused on but it was not us. Forgot our salads, brought entrees (35 minutes into evening) then realized she had forgotten salads, generally terrible service. Will try again due to quality of food. Will not stay if same waitress gets our table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We took our kids for Sunday brunch in celebration of Valentine's Day. For $120, (which we expected & were completely fine with, had it lived up to expectations,) my husband had a plate of average beef stew. I found that a couple of my choices, WERE delicious, but, overall, the variety & quality was lacking... It would've been incredibly mediocre if we'd spent $50. Personal suggestion, skip it & hit Bristol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food and service was very good. Noise level approached unacceptable at times. Our server was very attentive without being intrusive. I definitely recommend this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Delicious food (fresh and clean kale, walnut and strawberry salad; scallops cooked perfectly; lobster ravioli beautifully created and delicious sauce).

Personable service

Huge wine selection

Cozy neighborhood restaurant

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in Chesterfield. Great food, great specials (the sea bass was incredible), wonderful wines. Always friendly service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The service was a bit slower on this visit but it was still a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Jasmine was very friendly and provided us with great suggestions. The food was well prepared and delicious. I wish I would have know about this place sooner.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Black bean soup was delicious, my wife liked her flatbread, but thought it was a small serving. Things really turned south when I started on my carpaccio and it was still frozen, as in solid with ice crystals. Our server, Alyssa, was wonderful, and the item was removed from the bill. How the kitchen staff allowed this to be served is baffling, but we were equally amazed that a manager and/or owner did not bother to speak with us about it. We've dined at Balaban's for many years and the overall experience has noticeably deteriorated over the last several years. Sadly, we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always a good meal. I had their truffle/mushroom ravioli special, it was delicious and very different. My friend devoured his corvina before I could get a taste. Wine is sold at retail with $8 corking fee, so fun to try different kinds.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

A very nice and worthwhile restaurant to visit. The food is great (all of the time) and the setting is terrific.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.