Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 10 times today
Special offers available. See details

Balaban's - Chesterfield

4.3
308 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Casual
  • Notable Wine List
  • Special Occasion
Balaban's continues the tradition of the Cental West End location with a new concept in Chesterfield. Balaban's operates a full service restaurant and retail wine shop with classic dishes such as the Beef Wellington, Cucumber Bisque, and Trout Pancake. All of the bottles on the Wine Spectator's award winning wine list are sold at a retail cost with a small $8 corkage fee.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, French, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(636) 449-6700
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Philip Stemmler
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Balaban's offers full service catering for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with delivery available. Our private event space seats 80, and can accommodate up to 100 for a cocktail reception. Audio/visual equipment is available at no extra charge.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Clarkson/Baxter
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
A Metro Bus stop is located on Clarkson Road, just north of Balaban's.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Come join us for our monthly Sunday Wine Dinner.
We host a five-course dinner with wine pairings.
Guests will be greeted with a glass of sparkling wine and an appetizer reception

$110.00 per person (plus Tax and Gratuity)
Please call 636.449.6700 for Reservations
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Our beautiful Tuscan-inspired room is the perfect setting for your special occasion. Accommodating up to 90 individuals for lunch and dinner, 100 for more casual buffets and cocktails, the room may also be modified for smaller groups. AV equipment is available at no extra charge.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Fabulous Mother's Day Brunch , Sunday, May 13th, 10 - 3. Featuring complimentary glass of sparkling wine, Bloody Mary or Mimosa; Fritattas and Eggs Benedict to order; Hand Carved Prime Rib Roast; Hot Breakfast and Lunch Buffet; French Toast and much more.. $39 for adults; $15 for children under 12.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 308 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.1
service
3.8
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Great retail wine selection with only an $8 corkage fee. You can take any leftover wine home with you. Good menu selections.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 11, 2018

We went there for the morel mushroom pasta which was outstanding. The hearts of palm salad was also excellent. We had poor service which was a downer. I would still go back. We always like Balaban’s.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

While the food was delicious, the slow service was a surprise. When we arrived, there was no one to seat us as we stood for 5 minutes. There were only four other tables being served and it seems the wait staff (2 waitresses) was also doubling as bartenders. We had reservations for 6:15 and did not get out of the restaurant until 7:45 or so.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Food was very good but service was very slow on a not that busy Saturday night

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter Brunch
Food was outstanding. Many choices!
Our waiter was awesome and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

We love the food at Balaban’s. But as everyone knows you can have great food but the wait staff can ruin your meal. We love the wait staff at Balabans! Particularly Jazmine!! She is so personable and knowledgeable about the food and the wine! She always makes our experience enjoyable! It’s because of her and the delicious food that we became regulars at Balabans!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We use to go to Balaban's in Clayton, but this one is not the same. We ordered their specialty and everything was just okay. For the price of our meal, it was okay.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Great place for dinner but the brunch was way overpriced and very disappointing for the money.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Always a great experience! Their specials always add to an already excellent menu. Having a large retail wine selection with the $8 corkage makes for much nicer wine for a good price.
Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Food is always great - have not had a bad dinner there / everything fresh and different seafoods!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Always an enjoyable experience at Balaban's - hard to beat the excellent food and outstanding wine selection. Particularly, the wine is retail plus $8 corkage - so you get great wine for the price you typically pay for average wine at other restaurants.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We went on Valentine's, so it was a fixed menu, fixed price - so probably a little less value than a regular meal. While everything was still good, we have been there on a non-holiday and enjoyed it a little more. The waiter made a mistake on our order (they were of course very busy), but then he gave us a pour of an excellent, expensive wine to make up for it. We will definitely go back

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

This was Valentines Day 2018. We had reservations for 4 for at least two weeks. We arrived and were seated promptly except another chair had to be procured which took a few minutes. The table was not set for dinner—no wine glasses or plates on the table. Three sets of utensils were in evidence. Water was offered Ann poured. And then we waited. And waited. And waited. Finally after 20 minutes we flagged down a waiter and asked who our server was. He said he did not know as he was a temp, just working that night. He did ask other waiters on our behalf and finally, after much whispered confusion, a waiter was finally assigned. But we faced long waits for our courses to be delivered. And this was a prix fixed menu!! No fault of our waiter—she was obviously overwhelmed and overworked. To top it all off, the food was cold and very mediocre—not up to Balaban’s usual high standards. Not good for a special occasion meal that was $65 per person plus tax and gratuity. Let’s hope this instance was an anomaly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

We love their Eggplant Ratoule = it is awesome!! We have gone here for many years and love the place!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 27, 2018

SO noisy, the food is great but it really detracts from the experience when two people dining have to shout at each other to be heard above all the noise from other tables.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Appointment for lunch at 1:30. Place is very industrial in my opinion and bears no resemblance to old Balaban's which I favored for over 30 years. No ambiance unless you like to eat in a wine store. Drinks (Bloody Mary) were good. Food was fair. "Nothing to write home about.". A very ordinary experience. My first and probably last visit.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 16, 2018

It was so cold in the restaurant, even after we moved from the windows. We almost took it to go. The food was ok. The Broccoli Cheddar Cheese Soup had no flavor, got it to warm up, luke warm. We used to go to Balaban’s I’m the West End. Loved it...this left a lot to be desired.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Dinner here with family the Saturday before Christmas. Ambience wise - casual - you are eating in the front half of a retail wine store. It’s an interesting concept - very un-Chesterfield which was nice. Our server was knowledgeable and very good.

Food wise - high marks for the flatbreads and salads. Excellent! The “Christmas Soup” was very good and the cucumber bisque was ok (our mistake for ordering a cold soup in cold weather)

Main courses - this is where There was some unevenness: crab cakes (from the appetizer menu - these were served basically raw in the middle - they appear to be rolled in panko bread crumbs and deep fried - so at least this batch was a wet gummy center of crab cake batter.

Grilled scallops were ok; a bit over spiced with a spice mixture for our taste. Chicken parmigiana was good.

Overall I would return; a bit pricey but other than the crab cakes everything was reasonably well done - those they need to work on though.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 22, 2017

We enjoyed our server! She has helped us before, and the service is consistently good. We had lunch combos, which were delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2017

We were blown away by the Balabargain Monday. Great fish great pork great wine. No corkgage on retail wine from their shop. Just a great way to spend Monday. Not a bad way to spend Saturday at 1-3 PM for their wholsaler curated wine tasiting and lunch. Yummy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 17, 2017

Birthday brunch was good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 14, 2017

Great restaurant. It’s been quite a while since last visit, but despite the 50-mile trip it was well worth it. We had the Cajun Shrimp Pasta special and the Pork Medallions. Both were excellent as were the appetizer, salad, and dessert. Every item on the plate: entree and sides were wonderfully seasoned and perfectly cooked. Combined with picking a reasonably priced wine off the in-restaurant store shelf, it was a perfect dinner experience. Signed up for the Phelps Wine Dinner on Jan 28th-can’t wait!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Balaban’s is always top notch. Great food and service and, of course, fabulous wine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Saturday night at 5:30pm. One other couple in the place so it was super quiet. When we left around 6:45pm it was picking up and by then almost full. We were going to the symphony. Nice wine list. Food was above average. Our waitress, Jasmine, was a gem. Love her. She gave us great recommendations. Nice big salads. Entrees were not outstanding but tasty and nice sized portions. Not too big and not too small, just right. Really extensive menu which will have us coming back for more. The wine, the extensive menu, the service and the quiet atmosphere will have us coming back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Everything was delicious and in point! Consistently great food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 8, 2017

I haven’t been to Balaban’s in many years. I was pleasantly surprised. We enjoyed the oysters, eggplant roulade, smoked trout, and a flatbread. The oysters were well chilled with good quality sauces. The eggplant roulade was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 27, 2017

The Monday small plates and wine were excellent. We enjoyed the evening. Strongly recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Balaban's is a combination wine store and restaurant. The wine selection in the main store is excellent, but their back room stock is special. The wine prices are competitive with wine stores rather than other restaurants and the corkage fee is only $8. The food is always well prepared, innovative, and delicious. There are typically specials available in addition to the regular menu. When the restaurant is busy, it can get noisy. The food is worth it though. The service is always friendly and competent. I have been there many times and expect to continue to be a regular.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 13, 2017

Nice little place....food & service good. Yummy kale salad.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 24, 2017

Mostly good. I was just a bit surprised at the slow service, considering that there were not many tables during our stay. The servers were very nice though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 22, 2017

Excellent cocktail,wine and beer lists. The menu was creative and had a good range of choices. Many appetizers were big enough for the entree. Would city me back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 19, 2017

Went with a buddy in town for business. Overall we were very pleased and would be back. As odd as it may sound, the cucumber bisque was extremely refreshing and I would get it again for sure. Beef Wellington was also wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 14, 2017

I love the blue plate specials and I really love the trout pancake!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 10, 2017

The quiche and tenderloin was outstanding! Everything was fresh and delicious. Nice variety.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 8, 2017

Food was ok, some things were great others not so much. For the prices, it should be a lot more impressive. There were only 3-4 tables filled on a Friday night. Didn't really need a reservation, place was not busy, maybe that should have been a warning sign for us. My son loved the beef wellington and the candied pecan shrimp was good. Everything else was just so-so.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 1, 2017

Salads were excellent, entrees average. Really noisy, hard to have a conversation with one other couple. Go early if you don't want to shout all through dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 30, 2017

Love the option to get a bottle of wine off the rack and pay a small corkage fee. Great food. Will definitely try one if their winemaker dinners in the future.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 26, 2017

Food is always spot on! Had a great time sharing played of many choices. Love this place! What a great to have in West County!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 21, 2017

This was our first time at this restaurant. The food was overall very good. Service was slow as it was a week night and they only had a bartender and one wait staff, but there were only 6 tables of patrons. Portions were generous. Go for the food not for the ambience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 14, 2017

Another great meal. The Monday night special is outstanding. Three courses for $25. Choose from 3/4 items per course. No corkage fee for wine bought at retail.
I'm not suggesting you only go on Mondays. Everyday is a great meal.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8