About Balaban's - Chesterfield

1772 Clarkson Rd
Chesterfield, MO 63017
View Larger Map

Balaban's continues the tradition of the Cental West End location with a new concept in Chesterfield. Balaban's operates full service restaurant and retail wine shop with the same classic dishes such as the Beef Wellington, Cucumber Bisque and Trout Pancake. All of the bottles on the Wine Spectator's award winning wine list are sold at a retail cost with a small $8 corkage fee.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Clarkson/Baxter

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, Visa

Phone Number:
(636) 449-6700

Website:
http://www.balabanswine.com/

Catering:
Full service on and off premise with delivery avaliable

Executive Chef:
D.Scott Phillips

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Balaban's Proudly Presents:
Cakebread Wine Dinner
Sunday, July 31st @ 6:30pm

Come join us for our monthly Sunday Wine Dinner
5 Course Dinner with an Appetizer Reception
Guests will be greeted with a Glass of Sparkling Wine

$110.00 per person (plus Tax and Gratuity)
Please call 636.449.6700 for Reservations

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Tue 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 4:00PM - 8:00PM

Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 4:00PM - 8:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Private Dining

Beautiful Tuscan inspired room presenting the perfect setting for your special occasion. Accommodating up to 90 individuals for lunch and dinner, 100 for more casual buffets and cocktails. The room may be modified for smaller groups. AV equipment is preset in the space.

Balaban's - Chesterfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
St. Louis
Best Restaurants in Chesterfield ›

Notable Wine List (17)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
See All
Casual (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Healthy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Fun (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Business Meals (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Romantic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Cozy (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
200 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My meal was fine but our guests had the ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My meal was fine but our guests had the bacon wrapped scallops and the bacon was nowhere close to being done- they both just ate around it. I ordered a glass of Malbec which was a featured wine of the evening and no one could find a bottle of it. I sat drinkless until I asked (for a second time) about it and finally ordered something else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Adriane is hands down the best bartender ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Adriane is hands down the best bartender in St. Louis. We love this place, and as long as she's behind the bar we will keep returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We hadn't been to Balaban's in years. T ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We hadn't been to Balaban's in years. The menu is no longer tapas and the four of us enjoyed our entrees and apps. Everything was well presented and tasty. Our waitress was well-informed and made good suggestions when asked. The wine selection is great -- you walk through the wine aisles and pick what you want at any price point. The $8. corkage fee seemed fair since the wine markup wasn't terrible. We will go back for wine tastings and for dinner. Very fun.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Server was nice but not very knowledgeab ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Server was nice but not very knowledgeable about wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Food was good, with appealing presentati ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was good, with appealing presentation. I had the squash ravioli which was tasty, but very rich. The cucumber soup was delicious, but the portion (cup) small. Would prefer to be served or offered bread rather than to have to ask for it. Interesting menu, overall good and pleasant environment, and service, but on the pricey side for what you get. Price limits our visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant carries the name of an i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This restaurant carries the name of an iconic Central West End restaurant, but is similar in name only. Location/architecture/decor aside, the ambiance (open, concrete floor, cafeteria/diner grade furniture) does not fit the price range of the menu. However, the most troubling aspect was the service. While the hostess was pleasant and quick to seat us, we waited approximately 5 minutes before a waiter across the restaurant directed a bus-boy/junior server to bring us water. After another 10 minutes of waiting for a waiter, we informed the hostess that we had yet to see anyone except the water server and that we were leaving the restaurant. She apologized, but offered nothing further. We found nothing to recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Yet another great experience. The barten ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Yet another great experience. The bartender helped find a couple fantastic wines. We will be back!

Tags: Tapas, Late-night Find, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Usually a great experience, and this nig ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Usually a great experience, and this night did not disappoint. Very noisy (not just "energetic") because of a centrally-placed birthday party---we moved from our table to the bar and were very happy we did. Great bartender on all fronts---she took our orders, provided wine recommendations and tasting, took care of our food orders and helped us select a bottle to take home for another day.

While the fish was a bit overcooked, the other dishes were perfect. Will definitely keep coming.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Creative menu, great server, excellent f ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Creative menu, great server, excellent food equals a superb meal. Largest and finest BLT I have ever had in my many years of searching out BLTs. Disappointed that the dining room was not very busy as this is a restaurant/wine store that I will visit often so I hope it stays active and profitable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Very nice place. Food was excellent but ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very nice place. Food was excellent but expect to pay at least $50/person. I would recommend though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Very enjoyable lunch! Both my friend a ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Very enjoyable lunch! Both my friend and I ordered tasty salmon sandwiches ; they were delicious. We both enjoyed the accompanying coleslaw as well. Service was great!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is Balaban's in name only: the cucu ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 10, 2016

This is Balaban's in name only: the cucumber bisque was not the same, there is no ambiance unless you like eating in a wine store. When someone younger addresses you as girls or honey it is not appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

We had never been before, and were very ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We had never been before, and were very surprised. Great Happy Hour, and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Slow start. Didn't know specials, barte ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Slow start. Didn't know specials, bartender covering dining room by herself.

Waitress that took our table over was GREAT!!!

Charcuterie was fabulous.

Wait between apps and entree was long, not timed well.

Presentation on all was gorgeous.

Husband's dish was piping hot, mine cold. Obviously it waited for his. Owner/manager disagreed- stated it was warm.

Offered to replace, just done with a poor experience at that point.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Ok but nothing special, they really seem ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Ok but nothing special, they really seem to be more of a wine store than a restaurant. The simple items on the menu are probably the better choice, I tried the shrimp with pasta, and it was disappointing, wine list looked interesting but I was there for lunch, with a very small crowd, only 2 other tables were occupied.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Balaban's is always a great dining choic ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Balaban's is always a great dining choice. I have eaten there many times and it is always good.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Popped in on short notice, but got a tab ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Popped in on short notice, but got a table. Started with the heart of palm salad, which was very nice. Ordered the strip pasta and roasted chicken enters which were excellently prepared. Reasonable sized portions and delicious. Dessert was carrot cake, which is some of the best I have had! It was a nice evening and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the food- only issue is I hate hav ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Loved the food- only issue is I hate having to purchase a bottle of wine at their store & then being charged a $8.00 corkage fee.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was very good but not outstandi ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was very good but not outstanding. We love being able to pick out a wine from their inventory and only having to pay a corking fee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Balabans is always great!! We both love ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Balabans is always great!! We both love Balabans - will return again and again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i will start by saying that a friend who ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

i will start by saying that a friend who i've know for many years is a waitress there and i'm sorry to write this. that was without a doubt the worst dining experience i've had. we arrived @ 6:45p and all started well, very little business. but then the floodgates opened and you hear the chant of i'm so sorry we are understaffed. food was glacial pace. tables sitting near us got no service. the cherry on the top of this mess was the manager who sat in his office, windows fully exposing him playing fantasy football on computer. i mentioned the halibut had consistency of mashed potatoes, with out getting up he said he would mention that to kitchen. someone has spent a good bit of money investing in dining, they have thrown it down the drain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Great Sandwiches....

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great Sandwiches....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the retail wine store and being abl ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Love the retail wine store and being able to pick out a wine for dinner with a small corkage fee. Great wine selection. Great service. Will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, Friendly service and good wi ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food, Friendly service and good wine. Value happy hour and great wine specials

Look forward to another visit soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was excellent, as always. The C ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our food was excellent, as always. The Cioppino was excellent as was the beef wellington. Our only complaint was that we were served the wrong salads. The service was okay but could have been more attentive

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Very good for a business lunch.

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very good for a business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We always enjoy the dining and menu. Ju ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We always enjoy the dining and menu. Just hard to choose what to get. Only thing that wasn't perfect was a large group eating near us that made the noise level quite loud, and made normal conversation difficult.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fantastic! Really delicious ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was fantastic! Really delicious. The dishes we ordered were light so we felt great after dinner, satisfied without guilt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Fabulous food and service with an outsta ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fabulous food and service with an outstanding wine list.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. We liked browsing t ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was delicious. We liked browsing the wine racks to pick out our wine for dinner. We were a bit surprised at the corkage fee of $8 as other places that provide the same concept do not charge a corkage fee. But the food was outstanding and we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The food is always good here. For those ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food is always good here. For those that don't know, the restaurant is part of a wine store.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

wonderful, great food, smaller portions, ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 23, 2016

wonderful, great food, smaller portions, a little pricey but very nice

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good food. Service was stretched.

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very good food. Service was stretched.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

The food and service was very nice and b ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food and service was very nice and beautifully presented. The smoked trout appetizer is amazing as well as the cucumber bisque soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Nice variety on ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food and service. Nice variety on menu. Lots of wine selections. Very casual and accepting. Not overpriced. All around... Will definitely go back. And OPEN for lunch. Awesome flatbreads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

What a treat. Andrea was a perfect hoste ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 10, 2016

What a treat. Andrea was a perfect hostess and service specialist. Really great thing is if you want a full bottle of wine all you do is peruse their nice size retail area (complete with wine enthusiast to assist) and they charge you the retail price plus corking fee which is a lot less than paying for a bottle at other restaurants. Careful though, with it being less expensive you may just drink a wee bit more. Food was delicious from appetizers, small plates to full entrees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Friendly and always delicious, but the s ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Friendly and always delicious, but the space needs some acoustical dampening materials/surfaces.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Was not impressed by the food. The atmo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Was not impressed by the food. The atmosphere made it somewhat difficult to enjoy dinner for two. However, the staff were very attentive and polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Best Fathers' Day Brunch for family and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Best Fathers' Day Brunch for family and friends!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very pleased with whole experience ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 19, 2016

I was very pleased with whole experience. The brunch was excellent and Service was very warm and attentive. A bit noisy tho. Would definitely recommend this brunch to all my friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.