About Balaban's - Chesterfield

1772 Clarkson Rd
Chesterfield, MO 63017
View Larger Map

Balaban's continues the tradition of the Cental West End location with a new concept in Chesterfield. Balaban's operates full service restaurant and retail wine shop with the same classic dishes such as the Beef Wellington, Cucumber Bisque and Trout Pancake. All of the bottles on the Wine Spectator's award winning wine list are sold at a retail cost with a small $8 corkage fee.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Clarkson/Baxter

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, Visa

Phone Number:
(636) 449-6700

Website:
http://www.balabanswine.com/

Catering:
Full service on and off premise with delivery avaliable

Executive Chef:
D.Scott Phillips

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

Caymus / Mer Soleil Wine Dinner

Sunday Jun 26, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Caymus / Mer Soleil Wine Dinner

Sunday Jun 26, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Caymus / Mer Soleil Wine Dinner Sunday June 26, 2016 at 6:30pm *Five Course Wine Dinner perfectly paired with Selected Wines. Guests will be greeted with a Sparkling Wine and Appetizer Reception. $110.00 per person. Excludes Tax and Tip. Price excludes Tax and Gratuity. Special valid on Sunday Jun 26, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

Beautiful Tuscan inspired room presenting the perfect setting for your special occasion. Accommodating up to 90 individuals for lunch and dinner, 100 for more casual buffets and cocktails. The room may be modified for smaller groups. AV equipment is preset in the space.

Balaban's - Chesterfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
St. Louis
American
St. Louis
Fit for Foodies
West County
1 More
Neighborhood Gem
West County
Best Restaurants in Chesterfield ›

notable wine list (41)
neighborhood gem (33)
fit for foodies (29)
See All
great for brunch (19)
great for lunch (15)
special occasion (15)
good for groups (11)
romantic (9)
late-night find (4)
hot spot (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
159 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

Dined on May 2, 2016

The food as usual was outstanding. The server very polite and professional

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Great Experience

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

As usual, Balaban's delivers on all aspects of dining - quality food, super wine list, excellent service. This is our neighborhood "go-to" spot, but it is also the kind of place you would find in Southern California - laid back atmosphere, friendly people, and a distinct farm-to-table inspiration in the menu. The portions are the size that encourage you to try several plates without fear of food over-load. They run a proper bar where you can get a proper mixed drink - no tonic, soda, or other mixers out of a gun - always out of a small bottle.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We both had different fish specials, an ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We both had different fish specials, and each one was phenomenal. Wine pairing was excellent We took the waitress's suggestion and had the small salads (the regular size salad is huge) garnished with pear, figs, and sliced Parmesan cheese. Excellent meal overall

food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Balabans

Dined on April 22, 2016

Very nice neighborhood restaurant. Food and wine were fabulous. Only complaint is the noise level. For this type of establishment it should not be so LOUD!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Service has deteriorated.

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

I love Balabans but the last couple times we have eaten there, the service has been awful. One waitress told me they did not have a particular pasta and it turns out they did!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

No bread, meal portion was very small, s ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

No bread, meal portion was very small, salad was excellent, windows at the entry look like they have never been washed & food scraps on the floor around the tables-this was at 6:00pm

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mushrooms are back

Dined on April 2, 2016

Look forward to Morel mushrooms every year and you don't disappoint! 15 years enjoying them at least 5 times per season!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Balabans used to be one of my faves now not so

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

I have been going to Balabans since their opening. One of my very favorites, great food, vibe, and most of all, great ownership/management/service. However now that at least 2 of the owner/managers have left, I fear Balabans is destined to fail. The service was sub-par and the attitude which was once "we will try accommodate to your needs and say yes", became one big "no" after the other. Even a couple of the "old" service folks stated that many of them were upset and thinking about leaving too. What a shame, there is still time to fix this, so do it, before it's too late.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great choice of wines and great food. Th ...

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

Great choice of wines and great food. The Monday special of no corkage charges also is good to remember!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was only my second time at Balaban' ...

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

This was only my second time at Balaban's Chesterfield and I remembered how much I enjoyed it- great service, food and wine!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

It's gotten better every time I visit. T ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

It's gotten better every time I visit. This visit was perfect for an intimate dinner with my wife and a close friend. I would do it again and again.

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food Can Make the Difference

Dined on March 5, 2016

We expected a somewhat more elegant restaurant judging from the online menu. This is basically a wine store with wooden tables and chairs for dining. You can choose wine from the menu, or pick any bottle from the racks and have it served for $8 corkage. Our server was very good but had to work too many tables. The sea bass with crab, served over rice and asparagus was perfectly cooked. The beef wellington was prepared with a marvelous herb sauce.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised

Dined on February 28, 2016

We headed over on Saturday as we had a gift card. Previously I had never really thought about Balaban's. We went with another couple and we all commented about how to good it was. The service was excellent. The place isn't huge but that only makes it that much better. We had appetizers calamari and their special. Both were above average. The real surprise was our entree. Sole wrapped around crab. It was not smothered in some sauce but rather simple and the flavor was perfect. Another got the pork chop. It was lighted flowered but cooked perfect. Not over grilled or seasoned. Price was less than Cafe Napoli, more comparable to Mia Sorella with a better wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Group dinner

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

We brought a small group for dinner. They sat us in the wine room. The atmosphere was terrific. We were able to have great spirited conversation without worrying about disturbing any others. The food as usual was great. The service terrific as well. Great evening!

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

I think every time we go to Balaban's th ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

I think every time we go to Balaban's the food is better! My wife had the Salmon special while I had the pan seared Grouper special. In both cases the fish was cooked perfectly. My Grouper came with a tomato chutney and was on a bed of rice and vegetables. The flavors were just remarkable. We shared a wine flight then ordered a bottle of what we liked best. Wine prices are reasonable and Tiffany was a great server. We also liked the new arrangements. The dining area has been expanded by raising a wine rack to free up floor space. Only reason I did not give all top ratings is that is a bit noisy. We could still talk just fine but overall noise is just a notch higher than we would like, but that never stops us in leaving Balaban's at the top of our list! Also always a great place to bring friends as the food is unique, wine excellent and service very attentive. Balaban's never disappoints!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place! Service excellent...food w ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Great place! Service excellent...food wonderful. Good place to gather with friends.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great concept-- tired menu

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

The selection of reasonably priced wines in the retail section that can be brought to the table adds interest to the meal and allows for experimentation. The menu however is tired and some dishes like candied shrimp have no place on it. I recommend Balaban's for a first visit and hope to see a fresher more innovative menu soon.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Brunch Was Wonderful

Dined on February 14, 2016

Another great brunch at Balaban's on Valentine's Day. Wonderful menu, good service and food quality. Already made our reservation for Easter!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is in Chesterfield?

Dined on February 13, 2016

Chesterfield is such a suburban, family friendly neighborhood. Balaban's is right out of SoHo, Lincoln Park, Venice Beach, Austin's 6th Street without the pretension. The food, atmosphere, service is superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

This was our second time here and we had ...

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

This was our second time here and we had a great experience each time. The first time we ordered the Artisanal cheese plate, which we thoroughly enjoyed, as well as one of the yummy flatbreads. This time, we ordered the seasonal bruschetta which was wonderful and clam chowder which my husband enjoyed. I had the stuffed chicken which was had a crispy skin, and was stuffed with bacon and mushrooms and seasoned perfectly. The mashed potatoes and pan roasted vegetables were a perfect accompaniment. The portion size was just right. My husband thought his pork chop was quite tasty. We will definitely be back!

food5
ambience4
service4

Wow. Loved the fish specials. I had the ...

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Wow. Loved the fish specials. I had the salmon, and my wife had the grouper. Some of the best fish I've had outside of Portsmouth NH. We will definitely be back soon.

food5
ambience5
service5

My party and I had a wonderful time at B ...

Dined on February 1, 2016

My party and I had a wonderful time at Balabans! Our waitress, Adrienne, makes the best cosmos and Manhattans! The stuffed mushrooms and lobster stuffed ravioli are a must when you visit. We went on a Monday, which is their Balabargins night, you get a 3 course mean for $25, which is a pretty good deal! I'd definitely recommend it if you want an exquisite meal without spending a ton of money.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant experience

Dined on January 17, 2016

This was a wonderful restaurant and the service, food, etc. was beyond super. A very nice Sunday brunch

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Decent, but overpriced

Dined on January 16, 2016

Made reservations for my husband, daughter and I... Friday night dinner. We'd not been before, but reviews were good and I love trying different places. Was surprised how small the seating area was... Over 1/2 of the space consumed by wine storage. Service was very good. Ordered stuffed chicken for me; husband ordered lamb chops and flatbread for the daughter. Food was good, but nothing special... Overpriced certainly. I wouldn't go back for dinner. Atmosphere much more appropriate for a lunch crowd.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Just "OK".....

Dined on January 9, 2016

I found Balaban's to be just "OK", with mismatched chairs and tables, a lot of noise, and an eclectic clientele from a dress code perspective. We hadn't been out in the evening for a while and didn't see the value in what they were charging. The ambiance was missing, and that is worth a lot. The food was OK, but only OK, with the ribeye being way too fatty. It wasn't worth what we paid. I would go back to this restaurant if they make some basic improvements to soundproofing, chairs and tables, and the like.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wow-Outstanding New Years Dinner!

Dined on January 1, 2016

Could not have asked for a more-wonderful meal-outstanding food, wonderful service, and 5 minutes from home. Limited menu because of the holiday but the selections were all exceptional and we tried three of them. I had the Hearts of Palm salad which is on the regular menu and as always was delicious. But what put the meal over the top was the sweet potato gnocchi and Elk loin entrée-melted in your month. The meal was topped off with three dessert choices-my selection was the carrot cake-yum yum! Balaban's always has great food and drink-but the chef really made the evening one to remember!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

evening out

Dined on January 1, 2016

My husband and I went for the Balabash on New Years Eve. The food was very good. The Bone-in Pork chop was very tender and had a delicious maple bacon glaze. The chocolate mousse cake was a wonderful way to finish the evening. We would definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Group Lunch Score!

Dined on December 15, 2015

I needed a place for my group of 12 to have a holiday luncheon, and Balaban's turned out to be a great selection. Most of us had not been there before, but now plan to go back, as there were several menu selections we're anxious to try! Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their lunch, from the chicken pot pie special to the beet salad and cheese plate. The waitress was accommodating, and the casual setting was perfect, with (unexpected) racks of wine on display nearby for purchase.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service3

Meh

Dined on December 5, 2015

This was our second dining experience at Balaban's. Unfortunately, it did not measure up to the first. There was one server for approximately 12 tables. Even though, we had decent service. We each ordered a glass of wine which was good. I liked the Evermore Poit Noir from Washington state. I ordered a pear and fig salad. The salad greens were fresh and crisp. However, there was very little dressing on the salad. I could taste it on only one bite. My husband ordered the scallops. His entree consisted of 6 small scallops, a few vegetables and a small serving of rice. I ordered the lamb chops. My entree consisted of two correctly cooked lamb chops, two green beans, a mushroom slice, a few slices of a white vegetable and a serving of mashed potatoes. I asked for my wine to be served with my meal. I received it as I was finishing. The server/table ratio may have impacted this aspect. Both of us thought the meal was not a good value. We spent $93.00 for two glasses of wine, one salad, and two entrees. Overall, the entrees were average in flavor and the portion size was small.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening

Dined on November 18, 2015

Jasmine was superb as always and the Red Snapper was really good. A good time was had by all!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience

Dined on November 17, 2015

My friend and I had a great experience. Lots of food options for lunch at reasonable prices. We sat and visited and were not rushed at all. Enough food to take home even.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

Brunch

Dined on November 15, 2015

The french toast is a must have. The restaurant is very small but the brunch buffet was quite scrumptious and if you drink wine, they had quite the selection of wine.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Wife and I both had fish specials, which ...

Dined on November 14, 2015

Wife and I both had fish specials, which were excellent. One was Grouper and the other Res Snapper. The chef seasoned them beautifully and put them on a bed of fresh vegetables and rice. The service was excellent. We like to have a glass of wine before dinner and were not rushed to order. Of course the wine was also excellent. There is no way not to find a good wine as the corkage fee is a reasonable $8 and they can chill a bottle in a few minutes. Only downside is that it can get a bit noisy when full, but we can still carry a conversation with no problem.

food5
ambience4
service5

Interesting and unique restaurant scene

vip
Dined on November 11, 2015

Discovered Balaban's by reading about where to buy wines. Was pleasantly surprised to find the dining room and wine store in the same space. It was a quiet mid-week night, not busy at all. The server was very attentive and informative. Enjoyed picking my wine from the racks at a reasonable price and being charged a modest corkage fee. The food (filet steak and fish entrée) were excellent, every bite--I actually walked over and complimented the chef. Definitely going back even though we live 50 miles distant. Had our table not been wobbly, I'd have given the night straight "5s" (-:

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4

Great food, good staff, but not very busy.

Dined on November 8, 2015

it is a nice reminder as to how great Balabans was down in CWE. We had brunch and the quality was great, fresh and tasty. I am surprised as to the lack of a crowd, but with that quality I see the crowds following.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Balaban's a wine market with great food

Dined on November 7, 2015

Pick out your bottle of wine (in the market or in reserve), find a spot, and enjoy the food specials. Really has a local neighborhood hang out atmosphere with great variety and pricing on wines. Honestly you will pay twice as much for almost any bottle you pick out...and do yourself a favor by ordering one of their daily specials. From fish to steak we sampled several and they were all great!

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Food and service very good. Noise very high.

vip
Dined on November 4, 2015

Food and service were very good. We were there on a on Thursday night. The noise level was extremely high. It prevented us from having much of a conversation. One of our party had been there before and she said she did not remember the noise being that loud on previous visit. Not sure I would go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was excellent

Dined on October 28, 2015

Food was excellent

food5
ambience5
service5

BBQ Salmon - Yum

vip
Dined on October 26, 2015

We went earlier this week and I had the cucumber bisque followed by the BBQ Salmon. Somehow, these two just really go together! Our waitress recommended a perfect wine pairing with the salmon. My husband had the beef wellington - both dishes were prepared perfectly. The service was excellent. Extensive wine selection both by the bottle and by the glass. My husband loves scotch, and they have a great selection. I recommend this restaurant to all of my friends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice and clean...Brunch buffet was good. ...

Dined on October 25, 2015

Nice and clean...Brunch buffet was good. Hade made eggs Benedict brought to your table...awesome..fresh and delicious!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.