Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

Balaban's - Chesterfield

4.3
328 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Notable Wine List
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
Balaban's continues the tradition of the Cental West End location with a new concept in Chesterfield. Balaban's operates a full service restaurant and retail wine shop with classic dishes such as the Beef Wellington, Cucumber Bisque, and Trout Pancake. All of the bottles on the Wine Spectator's award winning wine list are sold at a retail cost with a small $8 corkage fee.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, French, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(636) 449-6700
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Philip Stemmler
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Balaban's offers full service catering for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with delivery available. Our private event space seats 80, and can accommodate up to 100 for a cocktail reception. Audio/visual equipment is available at no extra charge.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Clarkson/Baxter
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
A Metro Bus stop is located on Clarkson Road, just north of Balaban's.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Come join us for our monthly Sunday Wine Dinner.
We host a five-course dinner with wine pairings.
Guests will be greeted with a glass of sparkling wine and an appetizer reception

$110.00 per person (plus Tax and Gratuity)
Please call 636.449.6700 for Reservations
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Our beautiful Tuscan-inspired room is the perfect setting for your special occasion. Accommodating up to 90 individuals for lunch and dinner, 100 for more casual buffets and cocktails, the room may also be modified for smaller groups. AV equipment is available at no extra charge.

View Private Dining Details
What 328 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.1
service
3.9
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

We were there for Father’s Day brunch and the food was excellent. We were also impressed with how clean the area was including the rafters. If we had one constructive criticism, they were understaffed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Brunch for Father’s Day. Excellent food selection. Great service. Pleasant staff. In wonderful atmosphere surrounded by wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

We have four little kids and the hostess as well as the waitress were so accommodating to us. They volunteered to get our small kids food for us while we were there and even asked if they could sit with them while we went to the buffet. The service was incredible and incomparable! We will definitely be back for Sunday brunch. The food was the icing on the cake once we were won by service. Everything was delicious and there were so many different options, even for us being a pescatarian family. The salmon and the French toast were our favorites. They made Fathers Day brunch chaos non existent. Thanks Balaban’s!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Loved it all, especially our waitress, Amanda. Helpful, friendly, skilled. Many many thanks. Food was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Our server was very pleasant and friendly, but the overall service — the time it took from ordering our meal until we received it — was unusually slow. I wonder if the restaurant was short staffed Monday night?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Visited with friends from out of town who like to "dine". The food choice was varied and excellently prepared. The ability to select your own wine from an excellent selection and only pay a small corkage fee was a huge plus. We all enjoyed what we ordered plus the deserts (again, well above average). We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Delightful atmosphere and nice outdoor dining. Loved the food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother's Day Brunch was disappointing. Compared to many other brunches, Balaban's food selection and atmosphere was average at best, nothing special, very forgettable. "Made to Order" Omelette and Eggs Benedict were served cold. Expected so much more for the price. Only positives were good service from the waitress and drinks (Bloody Mary and Mimosa).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Had a wonderful Mother's Day Brunch. Food was great and the staff was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went for Mother's Day Brunch and the Staff was so great! Everyone was so nice and made sure we well taken care of. The food was very good and beautifully presented.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Phenomenal service on Mother’s Day for brunch. Highly recommend. The food was excellent and the people were extremely accommodating for our family with four young children!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We went to Balaban’s for our anniversary and had another fantastic meal. We haven’t been here for about a year since we live in IL, but it was just as we remembered. Everything was perfect from the wine to the crab cakes appetizer to the beet salad and cucumber bisque soup, and the main courses were awesome too. Even the pecan pie was excellent. This place is highly recommended!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Food and Service was Spectacular. The Honey Lemon Shrimp starter was sublime.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great food and great wine list. Can't figure out why on a Friday night at 8:45 the place was dead (only one other table, just finishing up). One of the wait staff decided to do some regularly scheduled cleaning of entire restaurant's silverware just a few tables over. He couldn't have made more noise if he tried. It was very annoying and telling of a possible lack of adequate staff training.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Great food, service a little slow.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

There was a group of 8 of us that sat in the wine room...loved it! It was very clean, cozy and quiet/private. The waiter was very nice and patient as we waited for 1 couple to join us. We were there beyond closing time but never felt rushed. The food was great, and they even had some good gluten free options. Thanks for a great night out without the kids!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Best Morel Mushroom Pasta in the world! Oysters appetizer and Halibut entree also top notch.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 24, 2018

I was very disappointed in this place after not having been here for some time. Walked in, wasn't greeted, no one was in the place and it seemed like an inconvenience for them to seat us after I told them I'd made a reservation. Took 20 mins. to be asked if we wanted something to drink and it was downhill from there. Restaurant became crowded with only one server. She wasn't in the best of moods that was clear each time she came to the table. The food was mediocre at best. Service was disappointedly poor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Excellent pairing of wine and food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Fantastic morel mushroom pasta dish - best I’ve had!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great retail wine selection with only an $8 corkage fee. You can take any leftover wine home with you. Good menu selections.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 11, 2018

We went there for the morel mushroom pasta which was outstanding. The hearts of palm salad was also excellent. We had poor service which was a downer. I would still go back. We always like Balaban’s.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

While the food was delicious, the slow service was a surprise. When we arrived, there was no one to seat us as we stood for 5 minutes. There were only four other tables being served and it seems the wait staff (2 waitresses) was also doubling as bartenders. We had reservations for 6:15 and did not get out of the restaurant until 7:45 or so.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Food was very good but service was very slow on a not that busy Saturday night

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter Brunch
Food was outstanding. Many choices!
Our waiter was awesome and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

We love the food at Balaban’s. But as everyone knows you can have great food but the wait staff can ruin your meal. We love the wait staff at Balabans! Particularly Jazmine!! She is so personable and knowledgeable about the food and the wine! She always makes our experience enjoyable! It’s because of her and the delicious food that we became regulars at Balabans!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We use to go to Balaban's in Clayton, but this one is not the same. We ordered their specialty and everything was just okay. For the price of our meal, it was okay.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Great place for dinner but the brunch was way overpriced and very disappointing for the money.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Always a great experience! Their specials always add to an already excellent menu. Having a large retail wine selection with the $8 corkage makes for much nicer wine for a good price.
Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Food is always great - have not had a bad dinner there / everything fresh and different seafoods!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Always an enjoyable experience at Balaban's - hard to beat the excellent food and outstanding wine selection. Particularly, the wine is retail plus $8 corkage - so you get great wine for the price you typically pay for average wine at other restaurants.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We went on Valentine's, so it was a fixed menu, fixed price - so probably a little less value than a regular meal. While everything was still good, we have been there on a non-holiday and enjoyed it a little more. The waiter made a mistake on our order (they were of course very busy), but then he gave us a pour of an excellent, expensive wine to make up for it. We will definitely go back

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

This was Valentines Day 2018. We had reservations for 4 for at least two weeks. We arrived and were seated promptly except another chair had to be procured which took a few minutes. The table was not set for dinner—no wine glasses or plates on the table. Three sets of utensils were in evidence. Water was offered Ann poured. And then we waited. And waited. And waited. Finally after 20 minutes we flagged down a waiter and asked who our server was. He said he did not know as he was a temp, just working that night. He did ask other waiters on our behalf and finally, after much whispered confusion, a waiter was finally assigned. But we faced long waits for our courses to be delivered. And this was a prix fixed menu!! No fault of our waiter—she was obviously overwhelmed and overworked. To top it all off, the food was cold and very mediocre—not up to Balaban’s usual high standards. Not good for a special occasion meal that was $65 per person plus tax and gratuity. Let’s hope this instance was an anomaly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

We love their Eggplant Ratoule = it is awesome!! We have gone here for many years and love the place!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 27, 2018

SO noisy, the food is great but it really detracts from the experience when two people dining have to shout at each other to be heard above all the noise from other tables.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Appointment for lunch at 1:30. Place is very industrial in my opinion and bears no resemblance to old Balaban's which I favored for over 30 years. No ambiance unless you like to eat in a wine store. Drinks (Bloody Mary) were good. Food was fair. "Nothing to write home about.". A very ordinary experience. My first and probably last visit.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 16, 2018

It was so cold in the restaurant, even after we moved from the windows. We almost took it to go. The food was ok. The Broccoli Cheddar Cheese Soup had no flavor, got it to warm up, luke warm. We used to go to Balaban’s I’m the West End. Loved it...this left a lot to be desired.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Dinner here with family the Saturday before Christmas. Ambience wise - casual - you are eating in the front half of a retail wine store. It’s an interesting concept - very un-Chesterfield which was nice. Our server was knowledgeable and very good.

Food wise - high marks for the flatbreads and salads. Excellent! The “Christmas Soup” was very good and the cucumber bisque was ok (our mistake for ordering a cold soup in cold weather)

Main courses - this is where There was some unevenness: crab cakes (from the appetizer menu - these were served basically raw in the middle - they appear to be rolled in panko bread crumbs and deep fried - so at least this batch was a wet gummy center of crab cake batter.

Grilled scallops were ok; a bit over spiced with a spice mixture for our taste. Chicken parmigiana was good.

Overall I would return; a bit pricey but other than the crab cakes everything was reasonably well done - those they need to work on though.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 22, 2017

We enjoyed our server! She has helped us before, and the service is consistently good. We had lunch combos, which were delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2017

We were blown away by the Balabargain Monday. Great fish great pork great wine. No corkgage on retail wine from their shop. Just a great way to spend Monday. Not a bad way to spend Saturday at 1-3 PM for their wholsaler curated wine tasiting and lunch. Yummy.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9

Tweets by Balaban's - Chesterfield