Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 1.18mi
  3. Distance: 1.31mi
  4. Distance: 1.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 1.18mi
  3. Distance: 1.31mi
  4. Distance: 1.37mi

About Balaban's - Chesterfield

Balaban's continues the tradition of the Cental West End location with a new concept in Chesterfield. Balaban's operates full service restaurant and retail wine shop with the same classic dishes such as the Beef Wellington, Cucumber Bisque and Trout Pancake. All of the bottles on the Wine Spectator's award winning wine list are sold at a retail cost with a small $8 corkage fee.

1772 Clarkson Rd
Chesterfield, MO 63017
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Clarkson/Baxter

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, Visa

Phone Number:
(636) 449-6700

Website:
http://www.balabanswine.com/

Catering:
Full service on and off premise with delivery avaliable

Executive Chef:
Philip Stemmler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come join us for our monthly Sunday Wine Dinner
5 Course Dinner with an Appetizer Reception
Guests will be greeted with a Glass of Sparkling Wine

$110.00 per person (plus Tax and Gratuity)
Please call 636.449.6700 for Reservations

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Tue 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 4:00PM - 8:00PM

Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 4:00PM - 8:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Private Dining

Beautiful Tuscan inspired room presenting the perfect setting for your special occasion. Accommodating up to 90 individuals for lunch and dinner, 100 for more casual buffets and cocktails. The room may be modified for smaller groups. AV equipment is preset in the space.

Balaban's - Chesterfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Fit for Foodies (12)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Casual (6)
Fun (5)
Business Meals (5)
Authentic (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Romantic (5)
Cozy (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Tapas (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Private Room (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
240 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was excellent and so was the service. I have ordered several of the menu items and recommend this restaurant to my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food! Love that we could pick a wine and have it that night! Gray spot and will definitely come back

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Easter brunch was absolutely wonderful! This is our third year attending, and will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very disappointing easter brunch. Tight tables and chairs with everyone bumping into one another's chairs in attempt to enjoy the buffet.
The ambiance was quite lacking.
Not a very good value for the price.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food list was short, and most items had the two ingredients I cannot eat. Our appetizer came out lukewarm, but would have been good hot. Our waitress was pretty lukewarm as well. The scallops were overcooked, and the grains they sat on were too salty. We chose to go here for our anniversary because we remembered going to it 16 years ago , when it was located in the Central West End , very fondly. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Returned to Balabans after far too long. The menu is always so interesting with very creative options. My wife and I decided to order apps and small plates. Loved the lobster ravioli and ordered a second helping. Also recommend the flatbreads, especially the goat cheese and bacon/prosciutto. Eggplant roulade was also a winner. Only meh was for the baked Gouda.
They have a great wine shop attached and you can buy a bottle at retail then pay $8 to uncork and serve. No room for desert but looked interesting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

decent food nothing spectacular. I thought it was a bit overpriced for the quality.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great menu. Delicious food with a great wine store to buy wine for the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 4, 2017

I was visiting St Louis and looking for a lunch spot when I found this restaurant. I did not know what to expect. Found it to be very nice, good food and will go back when in town again.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Really good food, a little noisy, eclectic atmosphere, maybe a little to industrial for my taste

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I will miss Balaban's when I move. The afternoon delight menu from 3-6 at the bar can't be beat. I love the bacon, pear, gargonzola flatbread. Adrianne was behind the bar and also took care of serving us when we decided to move to a table for dinner. We were well taken care of, as usual. Monday nights feature free corkage when you purchase a retail wine and a 3-course special. Everyone enjoyed their dishes and a few of my first time friends said they would be coming back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Outstanding from start to finish. Love the "buy your own" wine from the on-site store which, even with the corkage fee, saved us some money on some very good wines. Three of us had the red snapper with the red pepper sauce and loved it. The pork chop got rave reviews. We were relaxed and enjoyed our time, never feeling rushed.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

calamari great, service very good, wine great
salad very good

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 21, 2017

They've stepped up their game on unique preparations & now deliver some real yumminess!!
If you're into wine they do have a very nice selection of bottles & can purchase a bottle to go along with dinner (although they charge corkage except on Monday nights, which is very odd when you're purchasing their bottle at retail!) There are not nearly enough wine choices by the glass especially since they consider themselves a wine bistro...that said everything we have tried food wise for any course has been extremely tasty & with good quality ingredients. If you were a regular at the original Balabans some choices might be somewhat different but still good...like the cucumber bisque & smoked trout pancake. It's tempting to keep repeating your favorites but even the nightly specials are terrific!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

A bit overpriced. The Eggs Benedict which are made to order were fantastic

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Disappointed. Previous visits had been very rewarding. This past Saturday, the team was not on their "A" game.

The restaurant was not crowded. It took a long time for the food to arrive, and when it arrived, some of the plates were cold. Never had experienced this before.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

not enough cheese for the price of fried cheese
not enough duck flavor, and eggrolls too small for the price
tile fish great
sides great

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love the food, it is always great. Service is normally very good. On this occasion it was horrible. Not sure what Waitress was focused on but it was not us. Forgot our salads, brought entrees (35 minutes into evening) then realized she had forgotten salads, generally terrible service. Will try again due to quality of food. Will not stay if same waitress gets our table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We took our kids for Sunday brunch in celebration of Valentine's Day. For $120, (which we expected & were completely fine with, had it lived up to expectations,) my husband had a plate of average beef stew. I found that a couple of my choices, WERE delicious, but, overall, the variety & quality was lacking... It would've been incredibly mediocre if we'd spent $50. Personal suggestion, skip it & hit Bristol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food and service was very good. Noise level approached unacceptable at times. Our server was very attentive without being intrusive. I definitely recommend this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Delicious food (fresh and clean kale, walnut and strawberry salad; scallops cooked perfectly; lobster ravioli beautifully created and delicious sauce).

Personable service

Huge wine selection

Cozy neighborhood restaurant

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in Chesterfield. Great food, great specials (the sea bass was incredible), wonderful wines. Always friendly service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The service was a bit slower on this visit but it was still a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Jasmine was very friendly and provided us with great suggestions. The food was well prepared and delicious. I wish I would have know about this place sooner.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Black bean soup was delicious, my wife liked her flatbread, but thought it was a small serving. Things really turned south when I started on my carpaccio and it was still frozen, as in solid with ice crystals. Our server, Alyssa, was wonderful, and the item was removed from the bill. How the kitchen staff allowed this to be served is baffling, but we were equally amazed that a manager and/or owner did not bother to speak with us about it. We've dined at Balaban's for many years and the overall experience has noticeably deteriorated over the last several years. Sadly, we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always a good meal. I had their truffle/mushroom ravioli special, it was delicious and very different. My friend devoured his corvina before I could get a taste. Wine is sold at retail with $8 corking fee, so fun to try different kinds.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

A very nice and worthwhile restaurant to visit. The food is great (all of the time) and the setting is terrific.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This was our first visit. We recently moved to Town & Country from the CWE. We are in search for someplace to satisfy our seafood cravings without having to drive into the city or Clayton every time. We read some past reviews of great seafood and wanted to try. Sad to say our visit didn't measure up to the other reviews.

Our waitress was pleasant and informed. We started by ordering 2 cocktails. About 5 minutes later we ordered calamari. The appitizer was delivered in about 5 minutes (still no drinks). We ordered the main course and soup/salad at that time. We finished the appetizer and received the 2nd course still without the drinks. She said they would be right out. When they took the soup bowl and salad plate we finally received the Manhattans. The main course was delivered at about the same time. (Note: There weren't more than 10 people in the whole place so I expected much faster bar service.)

My wife had a fresh fish dish and I had the cioppino. My dish was average. My wife's was overlooked.

The waitress was standing in the bar for about 10 minutes talking with the bartender and she didn't check on us during our meal. Another waitress filled our waters a couple times.

I finally walked over and asked her if we could get the bill.

The cost was about $20 less than I would spend at Blood & Sand, Oceana or 801 Fish and the quality, service and ambiance just wasn't there. Guess we need to continue to drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Went in for a quick lunch. I just wanted to try there cucumber soup and it was very very good it was very creamy it was really cool even though it was a very cold day it really hit the spot. There was very few people in the restaurant at the time. And I was surprised that they took such a long time to get the soup out. So we had the soup and had a sandwich and it was very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was very cold and uncomfortable in the main dining area. The service was excellent and the food was very tasty but expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food and atmosphere were perfect for New Year's Eve! The limited menu allowed you to choose from a selection for a three course meal, the portions were substantial, and everything was delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at Balabans.
The food is always good with an interesting menu and you can shop for your bottle of wine before your dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were very pleased with our meal and service. We definitely will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Although pricy, the food was outstanding. The sea bass over grains and vegetables was delicious.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Service was great. Entire staff attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The appetizers were very good.the service was not so good, we are the mean meal and came very late and very cold, my wife did not eat her dish , and my dish of scallop which was cold but they were stones in the rice , I asked fro the manager and I was told he went home.
Later after several complaints one of the waitress came and offer us vegetable and deserts as complement .
The waitress was on her 2nd day in the Restsurant.
The deserts were good

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I love the casual ambiance of this place. It allowed us to converse while enjoying great wine and food. Service was a little slow but food and drink were brought as ordered. Overall an enjoyable evening with a great wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Love dining at this place. Usually for lunch and sometimes a happy hour. Love the wine selection, as well. Always great wines to purchase and try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It was good but a little expensive. $214 for five. That includes Bloody Mary's and 20% tip.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My meal was fine but our guests had the bacon wrapped scallops and the bacon was nowhere close to being done- they both just ate around it. I ordered a glass of Malbec which was a featured wine of the evening and no one could find a bottle of it. I sat drinkless until I asked (for a second time) about it and finally ordered something else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.