About Baku

4515 Sharon Rd
Charlotte, NC 28211
View Larger Map

BAKU is a Japanese Robata-style restaurant that showcases outstanding Sushi and innovative Robata and Yakatori cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Yakitori, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm – 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 817-7173

Website:
http://www.baku-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Baku Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Tapas (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Romantic (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
People Watching (5)
Fun (4)
Authentic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Family Style (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Organic (1)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Casual (1)
Seasonal (1)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
541 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

awesome place and great bartenders/servi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 20, 2016

awesome place and great bartenders/service - food is outstanding, & sushi is on point

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dining experience in Charlotte. The ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Best dining experience in Charlotte. The ingredients and preparations can't be found anywhere else in town. The Robata grilled pork belly is a life changer. A bit spendy for routine visits, but worth every cent, every time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was very good. Wait staff was very ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was very good. Wait staff was very attentive and was very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentative service. Terrific food, perf ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Attentative service. Terrific food, perfectly prepared. Personal attention from the manager. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent small plates. Great specials. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Excellent small plates. Great specials. The servers really know the menu and make great recommendations. Portions are better for two to share versus four. Presentation is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice atmosphere and delicious food! Pric ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Nice atmosphere and delicious food! Pricy but worthy ☺

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit. We had heard some comp ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

First time visit. We had heard some complaints about quality of service, but our server was attentive and responsive to our requests. Food was attractively presented. The real test of a good Japanese restaurant is how the simpler dishes are done, like sliced sashimi. It was not bad here, but unremarkable. A few of the more "composed" items were better. Prices seemed a little high relative to quality of food. Nice ambience. We especially liked the upstairs lounge area. Parking was a challenge - absolutely no spaces anywhere around this campus of buildings on a Friday night, and therefore we were compelled to use the valet. Having said that, it was a pretty fun experience for Charlotte, and we would return. We are admittedly spoiled by recent visits to sushi bars in Vancouver, San Francisco, New York, Boston.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was great, but we were a little sur ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Food was great, but we were a little surpised to tell the server that we'd be enjoying several courses of small plates, only to have them all show up at practically the same time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was good, however overpriced for Ta ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was good, however overpriced for Tapas. Being generous, the Service was poor at best. The menu is very confusing. We explained to the waiter we had never been to the restaurant and he didn't explain the menu or process. When we asked for recommendations, the only items he mentioned were the most expensive items on the menu. No other food item was mentioned. Waiter never checked on us. Food runners never explained the food or the pairings that were accompanying. The managers were amazing. Waiter took our valet ticket from us and never returned....thankfully, the fire alarm went off and we could retrieve our car without our ticket. Confusing and disappointing evening would be how I highlight our experience

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The food is amazing - sushi, small plate ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food is amazing - sushi, small plates and dinners. Service needs a bit of help though. We were left alone at times for far too long. That left us waiting a very long time to order the next round of small plates or drinks. Our server also forgot to bring us things we requested. These service issues can be corrected if time is spent to correct them.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Fabulous could not be better Have been t ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Fabulous could not be better

Have been there 3 times during my 7 day stay in Charlotte

Tags: Vegan, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect birthday dinner with delicious f ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Perfect birthday dinner with delicious food! Hope to come back soon for a romantic date night.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was the place to be on a Saturday night! ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Was the place to be on a Saturday night! Perfect for a fun date night! Felt like I was in NYC! Great energy and experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had heard and read good things about Bak ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Had heard and read good things about Baku. Food was excellent and came out fast. Our service was exceptional and the server was very knowledgeable of the menu and helpful in making good recommendations. Trendy place, a bit noisy, but tolerable. Will definitely want to make reservations as we did or you will likely be waiting at the bar for quite a while. Although the food and service were excellent, the prices are a bit on the higher side, but worth the occasional visit. There were two of us, so we ended up ordering a number of different items and shared them versus ordering single entrees - would highly recommend our approach as it allows you to really experience the extensive menu. Would highly recommend the Nigiri as well as the Tiger Shrimp and Pork Belly skewers. Pork dumplings were also outstanding.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They were out of all the best items and ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 2, 2016

They were out of all the best items and we service was pretty poor. I had such a great first experience which made me sad, guess you have to catch the restaurant on a good night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Fantastic meal, great service, great dri ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Fantastic meal, great service, great drinks. We loved our meal at Baku! Everything we tasted was wonderful, and can't wait to go back! However, it is an expensive place, not for everyday meals, and not for young kids. Our mixed drinks were excellent and we stuck with them, as the wine list was very pricey, probably overpriced. Enjoy the restaurant but pass on the wine unless they have a special price deal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Charged the incorrect amount on the CC ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Charged the incorrect amount on the CC and it was never resolved in a timely manner. Gave the restaurant every opportunity to resolve the issue but they failed. Not only did I have to call after my date attempted on her own several times to have the restaurant correct the issue. We ended up having to call her personal bank. I advised anyone eating at Baku to check the CC or bank statement after any experiences at this restaurant. However, the service and food was indeed outstanding but incorrect billing screwed up the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Wonderful evening for date night with my ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful evening for date night with my husband and me. Service was fantastic--friendly, knowledgeable and attentive waiter. Food was amazing. Will definitely come back again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Modern Decor, Fun, Authentic, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here for the first time to cele ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We dined here for the first time to celebrate my husband's birthday! From the moment we walked in the door everyone was very attentive. The service, ambience, and food were all exceptional! This was our first but definitely not our last visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wide unique menu. One of my recent favor ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Wide unique menu. One of my recent favorite places. I consider a little pricey, $360 for 3 with bottle of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I have tried Baku several times now. It ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 25, 2016

I have tried Baku several times now. It is not a place I personally would choose to dine. I go because it’s a go-to place for a friend of mine. The food itself is very tasty. The portions are ridiculously tiny for the price, even for tapa sized plates. I find the service to be a bit elitist. Little things like lacking ice in the water despite asking for it seemed to be a big request that I never actually got. So the food; my friend orders their favorites and we share. The diver scallop: excellent but you split one scallop. It was fabulous though. The raw oysters: I did not try them but my table mate loved them. The lamb chop: perfectly cook and the best item I ate. The calamari: tasty but again only got 1-2 bites. So after those four tiny plates, a few drinks and we were looking at a very pricey bill and still hungry. Now, I am not a big portion eater. I always rather have quality over quantity. But leaving hungry after spending almost $200 and having so/so service well, I just find it unfortunate.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value1

The food was very good. The best meso so ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was very good. The best meso soup I've ever had. Sushi was very fresh tasting. Very nice ambiance...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

2nd visit for me, first for my husband. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 19, 2016

2nd visit for me, first for my husband. Our server LeAnn was fantastic. The meal was wonderful, we had the Chef's choice and only unsatisfied with 2 items. Not bad out of 12.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Baku has very good food, I would rate it ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Baku has very good food, I would rate it around a 4.5, however the service and attitude of the hostess staff needs improvement, I would not rate it better than a 3. The presentation of the meal is exceptional. The chefs really go above and beyond to present your meal in a delectable, visually impressive art form. Be prepared to spend a substantial amount for your meal, this is probably the most expensive meal that I have ever purchased. If a restaurant is going to charge in excess of $100 per person, they should rate 5 stars in all categories (which is not the case). The restaurant atmosphere needs improvement and the temperature is too warm for patrons.

For the dollar, I am sure that I could find a better restaurant to spend my money.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Great food and nice ambience. However fo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and nice ambience. However food portions were very small for the price.

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Ok.. we do like Baku, but there is alway ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Ok.. we do like Baku, but there is always a problem. When we walked in, the young guy standing behind the desk did not appear to happy to see us, and couldn't find our reservation. Then a girl standing nearby pointed to our name. oh, I got it.. we will seat you upstairs. I told him I prefer downstairs. Short one menu.. ask for another but he must have forgotten. Had to ask one of the waitresses.

It seems to me that the service used to have more personality. While the food was good, the service was dry.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was mostly excellent, the servi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was mostly excellent, the service was very good. The prices seemed a bit much, but the quality was high enough that it's probably justified. I'd say it's beyond the point of diminishing marginal returns for me, but might not be for you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Really good food and the waiter was resp ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Really good food and the waiter was responsive, but despite having reservations a table was not available when we arrived exactly at our reservation time and we had to wait a half hour to get a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

T o loud never got sat paid no attention ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 31, 2016

T o loud never got sat paid no attention to us at the hostess stand so we left

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was good here but the service w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was good here but the service was lacking. The hostesses were a bit rude and dismissive. We had a reservation but had to wait almost half an hour before being seated. Our server seemed way too busy bartending and waiting tables to really give us the attention he should have. I did enjoy the meal but the rest of the experience wasn't good enough to bring me back or recommend it to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was fine, portions were all appetiz ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was fine, portions were all appetizer size. I would call it Japanese tapas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Food as usual was very good. However, as ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food as usual was very good. However, as always, I leave Baku hungry. Small portion size at very expensive price.

When I spend well over $100 for my wife and I, I expect to not leave hungry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

For restaurant week, it seemed like very ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2016

For restaurant week, it seemed like very little food for a lot of money. Had one mixed drink with bar gin and it was $10. Over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The wine list needs work because several ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The wine list needs work because several are right off the Harris Teeter shelf and there is a

substantial difference in your price and that of Harris Teeter.

The bathrooms (women's) needs some repairs to the doors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I go to Baku for date nig ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2016

My husband and I go to Baku for date nights. It's always a great experience. The sushi is the best in Charlotte. It's fresh and has unique ingredients. The service is fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I may recommend this restaurant as a 1 t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2016

I may recommend this restaurant as a 1 time, special occasion spot. Everything was delicious, but you got so little for the price, it really isn't worth going to more than once. I got several plates, spent $50 before tip, and was still hungry when I left. If the food was more reasonably priced, I would definitely consider going again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

We had an awesome experience! Stacey our ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2016

We had an awesome experience! Stacey our server was excellent! The food exquisite! Definitely coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my husband there for his birthday ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2016

I took my husband there for his birthday dinner with friends. It was also Queens Feast. We LOVED IT! I can not say enough about the food, the service and overall experience. Although it was Queens Feast we did not use that menu. Instead our server (can not remember her name but SHE Rocked!!) said she could build us a menu for not much over the QF menu prices. What better way to enjoy the food than to let someone who works there pick your dishes. She did not disappoint, it was all wonderful. Loved their huge selection of Saki and great cocktails. We cant wait to go back and will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was restaurant week and the food stan ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2016

It was restaurant week and the food standards were not the same as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

We enjoyed our dining experience at Baku ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience at Baku. However, the air conditioning, although working, was not cool enough. To our server's credit, he did lower the temperature, and although somewhat cooler, the space was never completely comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.