About Baku

4515 Sharon Rd
Charlotte, NC 28211
View Larger Map

BAKU is a Japanese Robata-style restaurant that showcases outstanding Sushi and innovative Robata and Yakatori cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Yakitori, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 817-7173

Website:
http://www.baku-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Baku Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (40)
special occasion (40)
romantic (25)
See All
hot spot (23)
good for groups (16)
neighborhood gem (12)
notable wine list (9)
late-night find (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
488 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was delicious but waiter seemed to ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was delicious but waiter seemed to rush us to order. Restaurant temperature was uncomfortably hot that evening. I needed my menu to fan throughout the dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

My wife and had friends in town. This w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and had friends in town. This was also our first date night since our son was born. When we arrived we noticed that the air conditioning was not working and it was very hot inside the restaurant. The amount of food that you get for the price that you pay is ridiculously undersize ex: 1 sushi roll, containing eight pieces was over $20. The ice bowl claims to be sushi for 2 is 20 dollars, this means that two people get one piece of sushi each. We ordered mediocre items any service was slow. Slow service was not due to our server or waitress, it was due to understaffing. At the end of the night our bill was over $400. After dinner was over in the large bill was paid we went to a restaurant behind Baku for better service. I would not recommend this restaurant at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Crispy rice was amazing! Service honestl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Crispy rice was amazing! Service honestly wasn't amazing. We asked for help with the menu and the waiter didn't offer us much assistance on their specials, etc. Would come back because everything tasted great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

One of my most favorite meals ever. We'l ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

One of my most favorite meals ever. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food came out too fast and we felt rushe ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food came out too fast and we felt rushed between courses

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Overall I like the restaurant. This is ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Overall I like the restaurant. This is the second time we have been there, but the first time was clearly better than the this second time. Most importantly, my wife called ahead to make a special mention that we were celebrating my birthday. She arranged to have a candle included on the dessert order. Unfortunately, this was completely overlooked.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

For me - this is the best restaurant in ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

For me - this is the best restaurant in Charlotte.

Its tapas meets asian - the idea of having asian small plates, each one of which is exquisitely prepared with great attention to detail, is unsurpassed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ordered a lot of the small plates and ap ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Ordered a lot of the small plates and appetizers. We ordered all at once because we thought they would come out when ready, but they all ended up coming out at once, which was ok, but not preferred. Our waiter was excellent and we felt very taken care of. Would come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant was so hot inside it impacted ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

Restaurant was so hot inside it impacted the dining experience. We had to leave early

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

Food was over priced. Portion was small. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was over priced. Portion was small. Very mediocre service. Not good value overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

A friend and I went to Baku during resta ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

A friend and I went to Baku during restaurant week. We ordered an extra item (aside from the 3 courses on the special menu) and our bill was a little over $100.

The food was excellent, they bring the items as they are ready, so they were all fresh and hot. We had the pork belly appetizer, it was amazing. We had the calamari (superb), and avocado and soy salad (ok).

For entrees we had the chicken and salmon. The flavor of the salmon was exception, though medium was a little too underdone for me. My dinner companion loved it.

The service was also excellent, we had an early dinner before the restaurant was busy, and our waitress was EXTREMELY attentive.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I am glad I had read earlier reviews per ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I am glad I had read earlier reviews pertaining to food and service. We had a wonderful waitress who did explain that dishes come out at random times and not in order. Example - our side dishes ( mushroom rice pot and Brussel sprouts) came out first like appetizers. Though they were both excellent I would have enjoyed them with my spare ribs which came out last after everyone had gotten their food for a while. The ribs were some of the best I have had. The grouper on skewers were ok and a little spicey as were the chicken meatball skewers. My shrimp appetizer was very good. Salad was bland and would not order again. Martinis were excellent - we had pear and cucumber. Overall, our evening was enjoyable but it is fairly expensive. I don't really see the need for valet parking since the parking is right at the front door.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our party of two ate at Baku on a Friday ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our party of two ate at Baku on a Friday night. We were seated promptly for our reservation.

While our server was very good and knew the menu well, he was a little over the top with suggestions. When we tried to order our choice of a shrimp small plate, he said that he assured us that that was not the best shrimp plate, it was not good for the cost, and he insisted that we order a different one. He actually made it a little uncomfortable to disagree with him. Regardless, all the food was very good. Hard to say but, of all our five dishes, the shrimp was our least favorite and who knows if we would have liked the other better. For two people, we had two small plates and three larger entree plates. Everything was very good and well prepared. The atmosphere was dimly lit, lively, very nice.

We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It's my post birthday celebration with m ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It's my post birthday celebration with my good friends. The food was awesome. Nice ambience and good customer service. Definitely We will be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and ambiance! Love t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great food, service and ambiance! Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding service and a really great C ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Outstanding service and a really great Chef. The food is fresh and thoughtfully assembled.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was fabulous again!!! Food and Serv ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It was fabulous again!!! Food and Service was great and so were the mixed drinks!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our meal at Baku was amazing! We tried m ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our meal at Baku was amazing! We tried mostly seafood this time. Every bite was very well prepared and delicious!!! Our waiter Hugo was fabulous!!! When we come back, we are leaving our dining experience in his hands for food and wine selection. We have not only recommended Baku, but Hugo as a server to many of our friends already!!! Thanks for a superb meal and dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely high price for what you get. W ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Extremely high price for what you get. Would not remommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Excellent dinner, enjoyed every minute.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent dinner, enjoyed every minute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was *phenomenal*! Everything we ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was *phenomenal*! Everything we had was delicious but the standout to me was the pork belly. It is melt-in-your-mouth good. Very fresh-tasting and unusual sushi too. The restaurant is a little on the loud side for a date, but not so much that it's bothersome. It was busy so it took our waiter a while to come take our order, but he was gracious about it and very attentive once he came over. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food. Smallish portions though ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent food. Smallish portions though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The original brunch was sooo much better ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The original brunch was sooo much better. The new way they do brunch not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

I found Baku to have excellent food and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I found Baku to have excellent food and a good eclectic selection. Sushi and Tenderloin skewers were most mentionable. Wine was a little over priced but was good. Atmosphere was more like a moderately priced restaurant. I was a bit surprised by the prices vs. portions. Calamari was very good but a very small portion. Pricing was no reason to not return and the food is worth the occasional stop in but I definitely would go more often if the pricing were slightly more moderate.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We thoroughly enjoyed the eclectic fare ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the eclectic fare and felt the menu was full of unusual choices. The meal was beautifully presented. Our server, Reggie, outdid himself with his knowledge and complete descriptions of each course. Thanks to Baku for the delicious and ample dessert in honor of our anniversary. We are looking forward to dining at Baku again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a group or a couple. Goo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great place for a group or a couple. Good variations will please any palate. Don't skip dessert. The presentations are worth the calories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My new favorite restaurant in Charlotte. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

My new favorite restaurant in Charlotte.

Best sushi I have had. Best grilled fish (grouper) I have ever had despite years living on both coasts. Excellent recommendations from our waiter. Oh, and desserts worth a visit just for those. I did not try their interesting drink menu as was driving.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Expensive price and terrible food!!!

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our meal on a Friday night was absolutely awful. We ordered five small dishes to share and only one was acceptable, but not good. Overall the food was terrible. The prices were high as well. Our bill was $120.00 for small shared appetizers, but no alcohol or desert. Very disappointed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Food was great and fresh but service was ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Food was great and fresh but service was rushed and atmosphere is very "club-like." I would give it another try with a group but too rushed to enjoy a date night. My husband and I ordered 5 plates and two drinks and were finished in less than an hour.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value1

We had the roasted oysters, sweet corn, ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had the roasted oysters, sweet corn, portobello mushrooms, and ribeye and it was all top notch. The atmosphere was great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top restaurant in Charlotte. Great servi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Top restaurant in Charlotte. Great service with impecable high quality eats.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was awesome. Really creative coc ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Service was awesome. Really creative cocktails were served pronto, and were half-price on the night we dined, so we splurged on two each through dinner and skipped the wine list.

Our server was very knowledgable about an interesting and varied menu, explained related Japanese culinary terms/serving styles well, and answered questions helpfully. However, we did note his recommendations were invariably top price points, steering us up even after we said we had a friend's specific recommendation that we wanted to try as one item among several. But he did allow us to order serially, which is the way I prefer to do tapas-style menus. That clearly is extra work for the server, who remained cheerful throughout (and was appropriately rewarded for that essential to hospitality at tip time.)

I would recommend that diners order either the mushroom or crab rice pot to have as an accompaniment to all dishes after appetizers. It is beautifully presented in a Japanese pot that will keep it warm as dining progresses. All the items we had were very interesting, and presentations were awesome. Simple fried grouper bites were offered with both a dipping sauce and a matcha-infused salt dip that made the dish unique and memorable. (Grouper, itself, also was top quality.) Butterfish with white asparagus in a shiso-infused sauce was delicate, tender and appropriately subtle. Diver scallops on plum sauce were perfectly grilled and tasty, but only two scallops even as a "small plate" seemed over-priced. It was then that we ordered the rice, after seeing it presented at a nearby table, and wished we had done so earlier, to have it to accompany our other main selections. We did not try the pork belly, as it is never a fav for one of us, nor the beef simply because of cost.

All in all, Baku is a lovely special-occasion place for foodies if your budget is average, and a fun night out anytime for the deep-pocket set. Our dinner nudged $50 each, before tip.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

My favorite restaurant in Charlotte..Alw ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Charlotte..Always a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was fantastic

vip
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Food and service was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent but Inside table was ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Food was excellent but Inside table was so warm asked turn the temperature down but they could??? Not sure why.

Very noisy hard to have a conversation we have to ask three times again and again "what did you say?" "Sorry I can't hear say again!" Out hearing is fine just too noisy... :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Had drinks, our waiter John was great, a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Had drinks, our waiter John was great, appetizers were good, then we ordered dinner, one dinner came exceedingly fast but not the other. John went to look into it and apologized and said it would be right up, after 25 minutes I told John it was inexcusable at this point and didn't even want it as my date had finished hers do it would not get cold, 5 minutes later a " manager" with attitude brought it anyway like it was no big deal.... We had words and I didn't appreciate that he still expected me to accept it and didn't really feel it was an issue... They did end up coming the meal but it ruined an otherwise special occasion...

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

The AC wasn't on and it got really hot i ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

The AC wasn't on and it got really hot inside the restaurant. We had to ask twice before anyone took us seriously and turned it on. We had a new waiter who had only been there 2 weeks. He didn't know much but was very nice. The manager never came to the table after we didn't eat 3 of the dishes ordered and complained about the heat. Overall, a pretty miserable evening that we quite expensive.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

First time there, and definately wont be ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

First time there, and definately wont be the last. Service was excellent, very attentive, more than accommodating it in adjusting orders and sides. Food was spot on delicious, Kentucky blue corn meal, corn bread; incredible, fried green tomatoes, excellent, porterhouse pork chop, prepared perfectly and very tasty. All six at table thoroughly enjoyed the entire dining experience. The desert was to die for; homemade donuts and soufflés were consumed as soon as the were served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Mother's Day brunch! We will d ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Fantastic Mother's Day brunch! We will definitely be back to experience more of the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Was very disappointing - ran out of plates, ran out of food, very limited variety of food choices, no dessert. However, the lady singing was great. We were surprised as dinner has been great on two occasions.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.