About Baku

4515 Sharon Rd
Charlotte, NC 28211
View Larger Map

BAKU is a Japanese Robata-style restaurant that showcases outstanding Sushi and innovative Robata and Yakatori cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Yakitori, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 817-7173

Website:
http://www.baku-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Baku Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Tapas (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Romantic (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Authentic (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Bar Seating (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Business Meals (7)
Cozy (6)
People Watching (6)
Fun (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Spicy (4)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Casual (3)
Family Style (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Live Music (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
606 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The staff was great, very inviting, frie ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

The staff was great, very inviting, friendly and helpful! The food was even better, served a la carte and came out in good timing, not to mention very delicious!

Tags: Vegan, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful but the sushi took fo ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was wonderful but the sushi took forever to be delivered. I think we waited at least 45 minutes aat least nd that's just not acceptable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food is Asian fusion to the MAX, expensi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Food is Asian fusion to the MAX, expensive but this is not an all you can eat buffet, it's all about the flavors, presentation and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Honestly restaurant underwhelmed. Servic ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Honestly restaurant underwhelmed. Service was below average at best. Fare was so-so. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Very slow service bar and drinks. Took 2 ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very slow service bar and drinks. Took 20 min to get a beer. Very annoying when your partners finished his drink before you received your beer

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Christopher was our waiter and was very ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Christopher was our waiter and was very friendly and kind! We had a wonderful meal and a great time!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bar staff was great, I would give them a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Bar staff was great, I would give them a 5 star. The waiter that we had during dinner, could have been the worst waiter I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious food. Great Service. I will vi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Delicious food. Great Service. I will visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food good music! Took a long time ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food good music! Took a long time for my salmon to come out when everyone else was done with their food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food but the atmosphere wasn't wha ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food but the atmosphere wasn't what I expected. The restaurant was very loud with club style music and the servers were all running around crazy! It felt rushed and impersonal. Might go back but only for food.

Tags: Late-night Find, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Dinned her for a third time, this time d ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Dinned her for a third time, this time during restaurant week. We were seated upstairs which is very lively, but may be a bit too loud for some people. Its definitely a more trendy feeling upstairs on a Saturday night. Music, bar and a lone tv in the corner. They did have the full menu available. We ordered pork belly and sea bass skewers, both were delicious. We also ordered the fried shrimp with wasabi dust and a spicy mayo dipping sauce. We also ended up order one of the queens feast sampler--Brussels sprouts, crispy calamari, and the salmon. All were good except the salmon was a bit over cooked for my taste. It can get pretty pricey. About $200 after tip with 4 alcohol beverages.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We have been several times to Baku and t ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have been several times to Baku and the food is always excellent. Really can't go wrong with any item. We thought the music was a bit too loud for our taste. Wait staff were excellent. Overall it was an excellent experience. Highly recommend

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The calamari was good but the rest of th ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The calamari was good but the rest of the meal was disappointing. Service was very disappointing. It has been good in the past, but I regret selecting Baku for restaurant week. Not in rush to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

My fiancé and I LOVE Baku! It was the sp ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My fiancé and I LOVE Baku! It was the spot of one of our first dates and we've been going back regularly ever since. The atmosphere is super romantic, the food is exceptional and the service is incomparable. The manager, Justin, goes out of his way to make sure his guests have an awesome experience and he always treats us like gold! I don't have enough good things to say about this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, , Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Fun, Tapas, Casual, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, People Watching, Live Music, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered sushi and the lobster roll we ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We ordered sushi and the lobster roll were very tiny. We have never seen any sushi rolls that tiny. So for the rolls to be so tiny and the cost of them were not good.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent Asian hot spot with a creative ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent Asian hot spot with a creative menu and an offering of hard-to-find drink options. Recommendation: try the Gold Sake, chilled. Sake was recommended by a knowledgeable server. Vegetarian options were there for my date and the portions and taste were on point. Ambiance works well for both a date and a group of friends or family. Show up around 8pm on a Friday or Saturday for a festive environment.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for restaurant week. Everything ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We went for restaurant week. Everything was delicious. We will return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food! We had the Baku salad and ed ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food! We had the Baku salad and edamame which had great flavor. Enjoyed watching my boyfriend try to eat everything with chopsticks :) the gyoza was one of the best things we had! Would definitely come back for those and the green tea creme brûlée!

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat in the lounge upstairs. It was ve ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We sat in the lounge upstairs. It was very loud and service was slow. The food was delicious. But the portions were so small it wasn't much of a value.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

The food was average but the service was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food was average but the service was good. Overall good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food!!! Wine list is a little ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Excellent food!!!

Wine list is a little pricey but a very good restaurant with a nice ambience

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I really enjoyed this restau ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 25, 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed this restaurant and it had an amazing restaurant week special. Our favorite was the pork dumplings and we splurged and had the green tea creme brele. Both excellent.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is one of the best restaurants in C ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants in Charlotte. An absolute gem with incredible food, management and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was GREAT service was great way ove ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Food was GREAT service was great way over priced I left starving had to go eat at Treehouse

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

We received service from the bartender u ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We received service from the bartender upstairs. He was very nice and helpful and even taught my date how to use chopsticks. The food was great and the environment was very comfortable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was alright but I'm not sure I' ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The food was alright but I'm not sure I'd go back again as the food seems to be on a downward trend from the last couple of times we've dined at Baku. It can get pretty pricey for food that tastes mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I love Baku. It is no surprise it has be ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I love Baku. It is no surprise it has been named one of Charlotte's top restaurants. We went for restaurant week and the portions were perfect, the flavor was amazing, the service was exactly what you would hope for with a top restaurant. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome and the service was ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The food was awesome and the service was good too I will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Very delicious food, but some dishes ove ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very delicious food, but some dishes overpriced :(

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Family Style, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our first time back under the n ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was our first time back under the new ownership after a lackluster meal a few years ago. Wow! The folks from Yama have really improved the food! Our waiter was a little gruff; I think he was displeased to be working during Restaurant Week, never mind the fact that we ordered additional items from the regular menu. However, everyone else we interacted with was very friendly and attentive, so I won't let him ruin our experience. The spicy tuna rice cake (not the proper name) was outstanding, as was the NY Strip, hamachi with truffle, and a number of other items we tried. Atmosphere was lively and fun. Definitely will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This was my final dining experience at B ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was my final dining experience at Baku. Unfortunately it was not just one or two things that made our experience miserable but several. The first problem we encountered was noise - we were seated upstairs where a DJ was playing extremely loud music and we requested on three separate occasions they lower the volume to no avail. We were unable to have a conversation and the rest of the diners were obviously having a similar issue because everyone had to speak loudly to be heard - the din was so loud one of my guests had to turn off her hearing aids. We were told that they were unable to accommodate our request. Ridiculous.

The wine we ordered for our meal did not arrive until mid-meal. One of my guests received her second course with the first and one never received her second and subsequent third course until after the rest of us finished our meal. The food was okay, but portions were small and the dumplings were over cooked and chewy as a result. When serving the dumplings one of my guests had oil spilled into her lap.

Our server was rude and obviously did not care about our overall dining experience - if so he would have taken measures to do something about the noise and would have been proactive by checking on us periodically to recognize that we had not received our wine and courses.

I feel that Baku has gotten too big for their britches and they truly do not care about the customer experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We went for our very first time here dur ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We went for our very first time here during restaurant week and was totally blown away with the quality and selection of food. The service was on point, we sat upstairs and Brian was our server, he went above and beyond. Very attentive and helped with guiding us through the menu. I cant wait to go back!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week. All the food was brough ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Restaurant week. All the food was brought at once except one entree and it was so rare we couldn't eat it, it was also very stringy ny strip which was disappointing. The server was very sparse, lots of tables. Brussel sprouts were perfect and delicious and the cocktails were ok but pricey. It was disappointing the last impression we had was the stringy super rare (blue) steak to end with.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Went for Queen Feast because we got to g ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Went for Queen Feast because we got to go on a rare date night, I've always wanted to eat here, and everywhere else was booked.

Will definitely be returning. Everything we had (7 courses shared and wine) was incredible. Food was fresh, vibrant, fragrant, bursting with flavor and incredible textures.

Service was exceptional and staff was on point. Professional, polite, courteous and in great spirits.

Price came out on the higher end with wine and everything even with a special menu, but worth the price for special occasion. I wouldn't give it super high marks on the "value" scale, but I wouldn't say that you don't get what you pay for either. It was an incredible experience over all.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Not impressed at all. My reservation ask ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Not impressed at all. My reservation asked for quiet table. I realize this is a louder than normal restaurant but I was perplexed at how many different tables they could've sat us down at and they chose the only one next to a very loud and drunken group. I asked to be moved and literally pointed to a quieter 2 seater available but it was not offered. They had "other reservations coming" ...um so my reservation is less important?? The food was so so and once the waiter knew it was our first time there he proceeded to say "oh you're in for a treat, we have a lot of good food and we bring it as soon as it's cooked." Lolll well ya I should hope so! Anyways my wife ended up sitting on the same side of the tavke as me so that we could hear each other. Overall, it's not that great, it's overpriced, service sucks. I think they don't have an identity as a restaurant...they're doing too much. I wouldn't go again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Overall a very good dining experience. T ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Overall a very good dining experience. The only blemish was getting service at the bar as they were woefully understaffed for the peak dining period. The bartenders were doing their best however. The Sea Bass was excellent!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

This is an amazing upscale restaurant, a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This is an amazing upscale restaurant, and great decor. The food was great, and the waitress was very nice. It is a little on the pricey end, but I do think you get your money worth.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Will be back!! All the food was ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Amazing! Will be back!! All the food was fantastic

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great waiter who took the time to explai ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great waiter who took the time to explain everything to us. At first they had us seated right when you walked into the main dining room but they were able to love us with no problem. We ordered a lot of different items to try the restaurant (sea bass, sushi, shrimp, tempura, salmon, soup and more). Everyone like something different but like other reviewers said - you don't get much and it is a little pricey. I doubt we will return for if we are in the mood for Japanese, we will go to Nikko's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was fantastic, our server was e ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was fantastic, our server was even better. The only downside is the inflated prices vs portion size. Expect to spend at least $100 per person, $150-200 each person to actually be full.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.