Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

About Baku

BAKU is a Japanese Robata-style restaurant that showcases outstanding Sushi and innovative Robata and Yakatori cuisine.

4515 Sharon Rd
Charlotte, NC 28211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Yakitori, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 817-7173

Website:
http://www.baku-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Baku Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (24)
Special Occasion (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Romantic (12)
Authentic (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Business Meals (10)
Tapas (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Cozy (8)
Fun (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Casual (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
715 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 12, 2017

I looooove Baku! It's perfect for any special dining engagement. Come prepared to spend money because it isn't cheap but let the drinks flow, keep the food coming and you will leave so get happy and full. It is worth every penny!!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Went to Baku a second time to try the Omakase Tasting 150. It was great, I was served delicious food throughout. It was a pleasant experience. Grilled Shishito pepper with bonito flakes, very mild and tasty, salad with seared tuna, sea bass tempura, sweet grilled black cod, A5 wagyu steak with mushroom and 3 type of salts, rice with mushroom and dessert. Also, various sushi served fresh from the chef! Oishi! I was full after that, phew.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Excellent food. Had a wide variety of robots items as well as sushi and all was top quality!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Absolutely wonderful food from start to finish. The layout and decor is really cool too. Have only eaten here twice but it was fantastic both times! I'd say the food isn't cheap but it's also not overpriced either. Wish I lived closer, would definitely eat here a lot more often.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Disappointing. Nothing spectacular or particularly different. Prices were high for the quality. We can check that one off the list; no need to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Both the food and service were fantastic! I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This is a beautiful restaurant offering dishes that are so beautiful they are works of art. The dishes are a series of small servings to be shared with others at your table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Bad table and food cane out in a haphazard order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This is my third visit to Baku, but it will be my last. The food has changed considerably and is nothing special like it used to be. The noise made it impossible for a table of 5 to have a conversation. People seated beside one another even found it hard to talk. I planned a nice evening with friends in what I considered a nice restaurant, but was disappointed on all fronts. So-so food and no conversation! Good bye, Baku!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We went for restaurant week and got to try different options. I recommend the crispy brussel sprouts and the housemade ice cream. The calimari was not greasy, but had no flavor. The same with the steak.

The food is served as it's prepared, so your courses aren't always served in order.

It is very loud, so not the best place for conversation.

It is very pricy and the cuisine doesn't merit the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food just ok. My experiences here with food have been much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We went during Queens Feast; however the Restaurant Week menu didn't speak to us. We had the pork dumplings and titaki beef to start. The dumplings were good, but the titaki beef was a little odd. Not my favorite. I had the Chilean Sea Bass and he had the Skirt Steak. Both were good, but we left with a huge bill and still hungry. Overall, the service was good and the food was ok, but not worth the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Went during Queensfeast and had to go at 5:45 to get a table. Everything was fine and our server was great. I cannot wait to go back when I can take advantage of the full menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Inventive and tasty food. Love the presentation. Excellent service.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Restaurant week there was nowhere to sit as upstairs was closed for function they ran out of a number of items on menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 27, 2017

It was restaurant week so I understand that some things may not be the same but the food was mediocre at best. They were out of the wine and beer that I ordered and the service was just ok. For the price tag of this restaurant I would not recommend it at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Queens Fest brought us to BAKU for the first time. The food was very good, but one dish ( prawns ) took forever. When it got to the table there was exactly ONE prawn on the plate! ONE!!! Not very happy at all. Even though the festival is to sample new restaurants, it is still $35. One piece of shrimp...really?
With that said, the flavors of all the dishes were excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 27, 2017

I am a foodie. This was by far, the WORST restaurant I've been to in years!! I was annoyed that I actually spent money here. I will never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Service was excellent. Decor interesting. Food was very tasty. One gripe...tiger prawn and vegetable tempura (Queens feast week menu) only had one prawn in it. Mentioned it to our waiter. He apologized and said other people complained about it too. That's why I gave it a 4 star rating instead of a 5.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Excellent service and the food was fantastic. One of the best dinning experiences I have ever had.We had a group of 6 and everyone would agree...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 25, 2017

As usual, the food and service was excellent. Small plates are the way to go! Must have the dumplings!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 25, 2017

We attended Baku during restaurant week and it was very good. I'd read reviews regarding how hot it was in there, thinking it was an AC problem that they surely got fixed....Well, it was still very warm where we were seated, which was in the booth along the back wall. Our waiter, Reggie, was AWESOME! He was extremely attentive, but not annoying. For the most part the food was really good. The cons of dining was that my friend got the "Prawns" dish and there was ONE Prawn! The food also came out weird and our entrees did not come out together. I waited 10 minutes with my food in front of me before my friends' food came out. I'd go back, but wouldn't sit in a booth and would request up front that our food comes out together.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Food was great. Each item is brought out individually by different servers and not necessarily in correct order. Took awhile for each item to come out. We did go restaurant week but wasn't very crowded. Don't go hungry, will be waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Great food and Sake selection.
Friendly service.
I have eaten with large groups and date night.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We've visited Baku several times since it opened but our last two experiences have been a disappointment. The food and service are both lacking, especially considering the price.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 24, 2017

I've eaten at this several times so was aware of the menu but I've never experienced a dinner like I did on Monday
If you go and order several dishes for 2 you'll get it when the kitchen sends it out. 2 of us already sharing 2 plates along comes another then another then a long wait for the last one
It took 5-6 request for a bottle of wine before they found one in stock. Each request took time
Cocktails where spilled and not to order
It was not a pleasant evening
Manager spent more time at the hostess station than the diners
Kitchen ruled
Wait staff only answer was I'm sorry
So if you don't care what & when you get your drinks or food go to Baku
I'll doubt if I ever go back
I wish them well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Everything was off ... food, service, atmosphere and price doesn't match value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food was great and came out very fast! We got the salmon and NY strip and they both were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Air conditioner was out, so you walked into a sweat box. Our server was extremely rude to us. It took over 25 minutes to get our drinks and they were made incorrectly. Our food came out in the wrong order and one item was like warm. We let a manager know immediately we were off to a rocky start. He said he would buy our drinks instead of making them correctly because he didnt know if they had the proper ingredients to make the drinks... weird! Didn't offer anything else, just bought the wrong drinks for us, which isn't what we wanted. Once we made the mistake of letting the manager know our server was even more rude to us, coming to the table only when he had to drop food off but wouldn't speak to us. Had to get other servers to refill our waters and such. Finally told the manager we wanted a new server all together and our server still came back, most likely to just be rude. The worst part is no other server ever came by our table after that, to check on us or to try to recover the situation. The food was excellent when it came out properly. However we had to also ask someone else for a fork and knife to eat the steak we ordered because of course our server wouldn't provide us with the things we needed. I wouldn't totally hold it against the restaurant because the other servers seemed to be very pleasant and friendly. Our server, Joe, was just down right a jerk! The manager dropped the ball with recovery as well. Would probably go back because the food was good and hope for working AC and that Joe isn't in the building.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We went for Charlotte Restaurant Week and the the food and drinks were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The night we chose was in the middle of Queen City's Feast/Charlotte Restaurant Week. Despite the crowd, it was overall an amazing dinner. I'm extremely picky about sushi and have been to some of the best sushi restaurants in NYC and a few other cities. This one falls into my top 3, and that isn't easy. The Salmon Belly Nigiri was outstanding and melts in your mouth. It was our first dish and the perfect start and we actually ended with the same dish - it was that good, we had to have it twice. Most items are served as small plates and shareables, which is perfect for a date night with someone you love. We staggered our orders, which ensured that we didn't get too full and gave ourselves time between dishes. I think we had 5 "courses" total. Already planned out the items we need to order on our next visit, because there were so many items we wanted to try, but we just couldn't order everything. New favorite!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Our overall dining experience was terrible, the food was not good and overpriced. The portions were very little for the price. We left hungry. The AC seemed like it was not working, it was way too hot in there and we couldn't enjoy our food. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Food and service were good. Seating was tight and uninspiring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 21, 2017

This was only our second visit to Baku. We loved it so much the first time (great food, great service, great atmosphere) that we jumped at the chance to eat there again during restaurant week. What a mistake! First, we were seated in a back corner, which initially I liked, as thought it would be quiet and away from noise. However, it was behind the kitchen, so it was uncomfortably warm, about 10-15 degrees warmer than the main area, and was right next to a waiter station, which was very busy. Then, our waiter was terrible, acted like he didn't want to be there, made us feel like we were a burden to him that he had to wait on us. When I asked which wine out of 2 choices he would recommend, he said "whichever one we have" which wasn't helpful. We felt very rushed, he came and got the paid check before we got up from the table, which made us feel like we were expected to leave, and is also one of my husband's pet peeves. This seems to be typical of restaurant week, as it happened to us last time at a different restaurant. Very disappointed in Baku experience this time, especially the service. Will think twice before spending the money to eat there again, and for sure won't eat there during Queen's Feast!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Terribly overpriced. Very warm inside. Limited parking to force valet service. This place is trying too hard to be upscale dinning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We went to Baku for restaurant week. It was our first time there. The food was delicious and the whole vibe was great. Only thing was our server didn't know the name of some drinks which for a nice restaurant I would have thought would have been a given. Overall very yummy. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Our group of three ate here on a Thursday night. Our server was amazing. He made great recommendations and gave just the right amount of attention. All of our meal was amazing...we loved the chicken wings, pork belly, toro, skirt steak, and pork dumplings. The only thing we weren't thrilled with was the duck breast. Their offering of ice cream at the end of the meal was perfect. We would definitely eat here again but it is very pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Wonderful artful authentic menu.
Our server Stephen was knowledgeable, friendly and engaging. He really knew the menu, flavors and origin of foods.
Highly recommend for a flavorful experience!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Baku probably has the best sushi in Charlotte. That's not the same level of praise as if we were in Seattle or Vancouver, say, but it's not nothing. The issue with Baku is price. It could easily cost more than $100 per person to feel satisfied at Baku, and I'm a small person with no need for quantity. I could expect & accept that amount in the aforementioned cities, or NY or Tokyo or Frankfurt, but we're not those cities. I suppose if they're getting it, more power to them. But most of the folks I know find other options for Sushi & Japnese cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was great however we had a party of 9 and the service was very slow. Waits of 15 or more minutes for drinks and long wait on food. We got items we did not order and some items were missing completely. I would suggest this is a good date night spot but not for large groups

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.