Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

About Baku

BAKU is a Japanese Robata-style restaurant that showcases outstanding Sushi and innovative Robata and Yakatori cuisine.

4515 Sharon Rd
Charlotte, NC 28211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Yakitori, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 817-7173

Website:
http://www.baku-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Baku Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (46)
Special Occasion (35)
Creative Cuisine (34)
See All
Romantic (26)
Tapas (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Authentic (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Hot Spot (21)
Modern Decor (20)
Tasting Menu (15)
Business Meals (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Fun (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Cozy (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
People Watching (5)
Spicy (5)
Healthy (5)
Casual (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Family Style (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Historic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
628 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

This was hands down one of the best meals I've had in charlotte! Our waiter was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly. The food was incredible! Get the pan seared prawn starter!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Not the same place it once was. Not sure if it's new ownership or just management, but way too noisy upstairs and down, and menu reduction/revision leaves fewer options. Food was ok, but not 10/10. Dined here since the place opened. Too loud to hear across the table. Food was slow to come out and 1/3 tables empty. Water glasses empty for long periods. Priced high, and at one time it was so unique and worth the trip. Sushi was great, but the overall noise level was so high it was not a fun night. You want techno with your sushi? Go upstairs. Not running back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was excellent and the food was amazing. Had the best waiter who was very knowledgeable and friendly. This was our first visit but will become a regular. I give them a 9 out of 10 stars. Just need to add more side dishes to choose from.....GREAT RESTAURANT!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Great location, but that's all it has going for it. Decor is plain.

Our waiter was pushy and arrogant saying that we need to keep ordering a lot of items because they are small and that eating there is an "experience". The place was nearly empty so our food arrived quickly. The snow crap roll tasted OK. The soft shell crab roll was tasteless and the seaweed wrap around the sushi was very chewy. The servings were very small, especially considering the price.

After we'd finished, our inattentive waiter returned and stared at us for 10 seconds or so seemingly expecting us to go into raptures over how wonderful everything was, but we've had far better sushi in Charlotte so that wasn't happening. The result was an awkward pause instead.

We had an experience there, but it was a bad one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

We went to Baku for a birthday and it was amazing! The small plates are great to share and we couldn't have better service. Great food, great service, and great drinks! Highly recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

A really wonderful meal and experience. Excellent service, atmosphere, and food.
A little bit of a wait despite the reservation but it was worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The kitchen was very very slow in preparing the food. A very bad experience. We will not return

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We were quite disappointed with our visit to Baku this time; the service was very slow and it took almost 30 minutes from the time we were seated and placed a drink order, to the drinks being delivered. Halfway through our meal, we asked them to close out our bill due to a 45 minute wait between tapas arriving. And, we had not been since they cut back on their menu which was also disappointing.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our second time dining at Baku, and this time we brought dear friends with us who were visiting from out-of-town, who also happen to appreciate excellent sushi. Food was fantastic! Just superb. Ambience is amazing, as was our waiter, Matt. Excellent service and genuine care about our experience all around. Highly recommend Baku! It's a culinary adventure!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Consistently my favorite restaurant in Charlotte. You can travel the world and never have authentic food like this as artfully prepared as you can here. Their sake menu is masturful. Their presentation and service wows us every time.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I go to Baku a lot. It's always great in every dimension. This time we had an older gentleman who was our server, and he seemed distracted and slightly bothered by the fact that we were there. One of our items came out very late, but it was sushi and the sushi bar was backed up so I understood that. Another non-sushi item never came out at all. Other than distracted, slightly disinterested service, the food was excellent as always. Definitely try the tuna rice crispy appetizer, and the scallop/duck pastrami foie gras. Unbelievable!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We did the Chef's tasting at $150 a person and we were all stuffed with the most wonderful food by the time we left. The service was extraordinary and the food was out of this world! Just an incredible restaurant all around!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This place has true Japanese Cuisine integrated with some Korean influences. Extensive sake and wine list.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 28, 2017

A great place for hospitality, innovative menu creations, Japanese inspired cuisine and outstanding Sushi Chefs.
-Bill

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Good food, when it finally arrived. Ate on Saturday night, so of course it was busy. But does it take 50+ mins to make some sushi? Others around us arrived after us, ate, paid their checks, and left the restaurant. We only were served part of our meal, and waited, waited, and waited for the sushi. Have been to Baku a number of times, but will not be returning. They did take the sushi off the check, but not worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The service at Baku is absolutely terrible. While waiting for our table which we had a reservation for, we went to the bar for a glass of wine. There were only 2 other people at the bar, yet of the 3 bartenders - not one would even look up to ask us if we wanted a drink. After waiting 10 minutes one of them finally decided to help us. Then our table was ready and it took at least another 10 minutes to get our bill, after paying, I was given someone else's receipt and not my card, so tack on another 5 minutes to sort that out. Our waiter at our table was friendly - but MIA most of the night. This was my second visit and most likely my last.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was tasteless and not worth the hefty price, we won't be back. Very overrated. Decor very nice and cozy for dinner but food didn't live up to the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is a great Japanese style restaurant. House specials were awesome. Great service. Great food. Definitely wil eat here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I have to say I was utterly disappointed in Baku. The drinks we ordered were average at best.
It took over an hour after ordering for our food to come out, the waiter brought the wrong thing twice. The food was not good at all, we ordered sushi rolls; something you would think a Japanese restaurant would be known for.
The portions were so small I was still hungry. I will never go to this place again, you pay a small fortune for crappy food, tiny portions, and the kitchen has no idea how to manage high volume customers. Do yourself a favor and go to O-Ku for delicious food and significantly better service.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was a place I booked for a late Valentine's Date with my husband. I am a picky eater so he doesn't get to go to many places out of the ordinary. This place was great. I enjoyed my Jidori Chicken abreast and he loved the Wagyu Tataki Rolls; beef was atop bluefin tuna. Our server Jeffrey was great too! He was knowledgeable about the menu and made great recommendations. Baku is a good place for seafood lovers..remember Japan is an island, but there are selections for us none seafood eaters too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Sushi was very fishy. Not what I expect from a higher end restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Friday was our first trip to Baku. We had a horrible experience. The men at the table beside us were drunk, loud, and yelling the F-bomb every other word. We couldn't even talk they were so loud and obnoxious. it seemed to only get worse, as the one swearing cuss words, then broke his glass. Very expensive dinner to have to deal with that type of atmosphere. We complained to the waiter but there was nothing he could do -- he told us that the drunk guy was the owner. Wow. We immediately asked for our check. I hate I gave them any of my money. What a turn off. We will never go back.

We had the dumplings. Nicely hand made but were bland with no flavor. We also had the tuna which was decent but greasy??? Not worth the price.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The staff was great, very inviting, friendly and helpful! The food was even better, served a la carte and came out in good timing, not to mention very delicious!

Tags: Vegan, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was wonderful but the sushi took forever to be delivered. I think we waited at least 45 minutes aat least nd that's just not acceptable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food is Asian fusion to the MAX, expensive but this is not an all you can eat buffet, it's all about the flavors, presentation and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Honestly restaurant underwhelmed. Service was below average at best. Fare was so-so. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very slow service bar and drinks. Took 20 min to get a beer. Very annoying when your partners finished his drink before you received your beer

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Christopher was our waiter and was very friendly and kind! We had a wonderful meal and a great time!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Bar staff was great, I would give them a 5 star. The waiter that we had during dinner, could have been the worst waiter I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Delicious food. Great Service. I will visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food good music! Took a long time for my salmon to come out when everyone else was done with their food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food but the atmosphere wasn't what I expected. The restaurant was very loud with club style music and the servers were all running around crazy! It felt rushed and impersonal. Might go back but only for food.

Tags: Late-night Find, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Dinned her for a third time, this time during restaurant week. We were seated upstairs which is very lively, but may be a bit too loud for some people. Its definitely a more trendy feeling upstairs on a Saturday night. Music, bar and a lone tv in the corner. They did have the full menu available. We ordered pork belly and sea bass skewers, both were delicious. We also ordered the fried shrimp with wasabi dust and a spicy mayo dipping sauce. We also ended up order one of the queens feast sampler--Brussels sprouts, crispy calamari, and the salmon. All were good except the salmon was a bit over cooked for my taste. It can get pretty pricey. About $200 after tip with 4 alcohol beverages.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have been several times to Baku and the food is always excellent. Really can't go wrong with any item. We thought the music was a bit too loud for our taste. Wait staff were excellent. Overall it was an excellent experience. Highly recommend

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The calamari was good but the rest of the meal was disappointing. Service was very disappointing. It has been good in the past, but I regret selecting Baku for restaurant week. Not in rush to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My fiancé and I LOVE Baku! It was the spot of one of our first dates and we've been going back regularly ever since. The atmosphere is super romantic, the food is exceptional and the service is incomparable. The manager, Justin, goes out of his way to make sure his guests have an awesome experience and he always treats us like gold! I don't have enough good things to say about this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Fun, Tapas, Casual, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, People Watching, Live Music, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We ordered sushi and the lobster roll were very tiny. We have never seen any sushi rolls that tiny. So for the rolls to be so tiny and the cost of them were not good.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent Asian hot spot with a creative menu and an offering of hard-to-find drink options. Recommendation: try the Gold Sake, chilled. Sake was recommended by a knowledgeable server. Vegetarian options were there for my date and the portions and taste were on point. Ambiance works well for both a date and a group of friends or family. Show up around 8pm on a Friday or Saturday for a festive environment.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We went for restaurant week. Everything was delicious. We will return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food! We had the Baku salad and edamame which had great flavor. Enjoyed watching my boyfriend try to eat everything with chopsticks :) the gyoza was one of the best things we had! Would definitely come back for those and the green tea creme brûlée!

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.