Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

About Baku

BAKU is a Japanese Robata-style restaurant that showcases outstanding Sushi and innovative Robata and Yakatori cuisine.

4515 Sharon Rd
Charlotte, NC 28211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Yakitori, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 817-7173

Website:
http://www.baku-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Baku Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (26)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Tapas (15)
Authentic (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Romantic (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Modern Decor (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fun (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Business Meals (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Cozy (5)
Casual (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Spicy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
688 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined a day ago

I've eaten at this several times so was aware of the menu but I've never experienced a dinner like I did on Monday
If you go and order several dishes for 2 you'll get it when the kitchen sends it out. 2 of us already sharing 2 plates along comes another then another then a long wait for the last one
It took 5-6 request for a bottle of wine before they found one in stock. Each request took time
Cocktails where spilled and not to order
It was not a pleasant evening
Manager spent more time at the hostess station than the diners
Kitchen ruled
Wait staff only answer was I'm sorry
So if you don't care what & when you get your drinks or food go to Baku
I'll doubt if I ever go back
I wish them well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was off ... food, service, atmosphere and price doesn't match value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was great and came out very fast! We got the salmon and NY strip and they both were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

Air conditioner was out, so you walked into a sweat box. Our server was extremely rude to us. It took over 25 minutes to get our drinks and they were made incorrectly. Our food came out in the wrong order and one item was like warm. We let a manager know immediately we were off to a rocky start. He said he would buy our drinks instead of making them correctly because he didnt know if they had the proper ingredients to make the drinks... weird! Didn't offer anything else, just bought the wrong drinks for us, which isn't what we wanted. Once we made the mistake of letting the manager know our server was even more rude to us, coming to the table only when he had to drop food off but wouldn't speak to us. Had to get other servers to refill our waters and such. Finally told the manager we wanted a new server all together and our server still came back, most likely to just be rude. The worst part is no other server ever came by our table after that, to check on us or to try to recover the situation. The food was excellent when it came out properly. However we had to also ask someone else for a fork and knife to eat the steak we ordered because of course our server wouldn't provide us with the things we needed. I wouldn't totally hold it against the restaurant because the other servers seemed to be very pleasant and friendly. Our server, Joe, was just down right a jerk! The manager dropped the ball with recovery as well. Would probably go back because the food was good and hope for working AC and that Joe isn't in the building.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

We went for Charlotte Restaurant Week and the the food and drinks were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The night we chose was in the middle of Queen City's Feast/Charlotte Restaurant Week. Despite the crowd, it was overall an amazing dinner. I'm extremely picky about sushi and have been to some of the best sushi restaurants in NYC and a few other cities. This one falls into my top 3, and that isn't easy. The Salmon Belly Nigiri was outstanding and melts in your mouth. It was our first dish and the perfect start and we actually ended with the same dish - it was that good, we had to have it twice. Most items are served as small plates and shareables, which is perfect for a date night with someone you love. We staggered our orders, which ensured that we didn't get too full and gave ourselves time between dishes. I think we had 5 "courses" total. Already planned out the items we need to order on our next visit, because there were so many items we wanted to try, but we just couldn't order everything. New favorite!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Our overall dining experience was terrible, the food was not good and overpriced. The portions were very little for the price. We left hungry. The AC seemed like it was not working, it was way too hot in there and we couldn't enjoy our food. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

Terribly overpriced. Very warm inside. Limited parking to force valet service. This place is trying too hard to be upscale dinning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

We went to Baku for restaurant week. It was our first time there. The food was delicious and the whole vibe was great. Only thing was our server didn't know the name of some drinks which for a nice restaurant I would have thought would have been a given. Overall very yummy. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Our group of three ate here on a Thursday night. Our server was amazing. He made great recommendations and gave just the right amount of attention. All of our meal was amazing...we loved the chicken wings, pork belly, toro, skirt steak, and pork dumplings. The only thing we weren't thrilled with was the duck breast. Their offering of ice cream at the end of the meal was perfect. We would definitely eat here again but it is very pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful artful authentic menu.
Our server Stephen was knowledgeable, friendly and engaging. He really knew the menu, flavors and origin of foods.
Highly recommend for a flavorful experience!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Baku probably has the best sushi in Charlotte. That's not the same level of praise as if we were in Seattle or Vancouver, say, but it's not nothing. The issue with Baku is price. It could easily cost more than $100 per person to feel satisfied at Baku, and I'm a small person with no need for quantity. I could expect & accept that amount in the aforementioned cities, or NY or Tokyo or Frankfurt, but we're not those cities. I suppose if they're getting it, more power to them. But most of the folks I know find other options for Sushi & Japnese cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was great however we had a party of 9 and the service was very slow. Waits of 15 or more minutes for drinks and long wait on food. We got items we did not order and some items were missing completely. I would suggest this is a good date night spot but not for large groups

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We had an 8pm reservation and felt rushed to order between the kitchen closed and then finish before closing. At 10:15, the waiter asked if we were finished with our waters so he could start cleaning up. I would definitely go back and order the rice crispy treat app, yellowtail sushi and NY strip ... with an earlier reservation.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Food is way over priced even for South Park. Since it changed owners everyone is complaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Sushi was really good but everything else that we ordered left much to be desired. The beignets are to die for... overrated and overpriced

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Excellent food, try both the lobster roll and Chilean sea bass skewer. Very knowledgeable and pleasant waiter. Only nit was the hostess stand - not very welcoming coming or going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The AC was not running properly so it made eating sushi and hot soups unappetizing while it felt like it was a mere 85 inside, the server kept saying it was because people kept coming in and out of the restaurant, that wasn't that busy as it was a Sunday night. Food was excellent, service was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The dishes are always inventive and beautifully plated. Always flavorfull. Great chef specials.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Our chicken yakitori came to us undercooked. To our disappointment and surprise, no one apologized when we discreetly (ie, we spoke quietly and kindly so that the couples sitting adjacent to us would not hear) brought it to the attention of the person who came to bus some used dishes and to our server. It is a major issue when a restaurant serves you undercooked chicken. While something comped would be considered a reasonable gesture, to not even receive ANY acknowledgement on the part of the restaurant is disappointing at best.

We used to enjoy dining at this restaurant even though the value isn't the best - South Park prices for decent food and relatively small portions. A customer service experience to match the high price point would have easily redeemed this situation (after all, mistakes happen), but unfortunately, we were left with a bad taste in our mouth (literally and figuratively).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Tapas style food. Excellent presentation, excellent service. However expensive for very small portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Birthday Dinner

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 29, 2017

My boy moving to college- his favorite place.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Baku is my go-to restaurant for good fresh Japanese food. Nigiri and sashimi choices are limited but rolls are plentiful and creative. Don't like raw? Baku has numerous delicious cooked options--the tempuras are light and tasty. Sake list is extensive. Service is attentive--waitperson noticed my glance at the menu and came over to see if I wanted more food. I did. Finally, I can hear what my co-diners are saying.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Nice renovation, great food. Very friendly staff and management.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great service, and quality food. The atmosphere of the restaurant is very nice. Definitely coming back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We had a great experience while dining at Baku. There was a mistake with one of our appetizers and it was very late making it to the table (we were done with entrée) but without prompting, it was taken off our bill. All the food was delicious and our server very friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food at Baku is on point. Great sushi, sake, and everything else. We loved the rice crispy treats and the wagyu tartare with quail egg that was on special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Baku originally opened and first chef owner was spectacular. However when the chef left it was not good. Food suffered.

New owners so we came back. Food is better but not what it originally was. Prices seem high relative to quality of items but not unreasonably high. The original Baku was very expensive but worth it as the food quality was exceptional.

We brought our own wine and server never opened any of the three bottles because she wasn't really attentive. I didn't mind opening my own. They did charge corkage despite not opening a single bottle or changing glasses once. 6x however the serving assistant brought wrong table food to our table and we corrected her 6x so we didn't get someone else's food. She eventually said it was her second day. Poor training or insufficient training to say the least.

All said it's a beautiful restaurant and we hope they fix some service issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 24, 2017

A unique dining experience. Food is delicious and varied and the style allows everyone to experience a diverse set of options

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Reggie was great and very knowledgeable. The lounge was ver nice as well and the bartender was able to suggest certain drinks.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food and service were excellent. Everything that we had from the appetizers to the Maki rolls were great. The upstairs bar also had music which was nice. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Baku was fantastic. the service was great and so was the ambiance. the food very creative, and wonderfully prepared. especially liked the grilled brussel sprouts which were out of this world. A bit pricey but worth it.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Loved it ! Great alternative to a traditional Mother's Day brunch

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

While we have been to Baku on several occasions, we found it odd that;
) I was able to make a reservation on April 9th for my husband's birthday thru Open Table - but the restaurant was NOT open on Sundays.
2) We received a call to confirm our Mother's Day reservation, of which we didn't have one.
We opted to go to Baku anyway and had a nice enough brunch
3) The service was less than par. We were unable to get a fork - server noted there was a shortage, what?
4) Raman was served late and without bowls or spoons
5) Waiter took forever to appear and explain menu for the day
6) It appeared like total chaos in the restaurant

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything was great except the ambiance. They had a DJ upstairs playing Techno music. I think it was a bit much given the price of our dinner. Food and service was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We went for my husband's birthday. I think this is a you go once type of place, but, after that, you're good. When the say small plates, they mean it. The prices are very expensive. The food is really good, but, you really only get a bite or two of it for each menu item. Our service was terrible - we were seated for about 10 minutes before being greeted (mind you this was at 6:30 and the restaurant was empty). It took a long time before we ordered food. Then my husband ordered sushi (because the first two items he ordered were really small) and the sushi sat on the sushi bar for about 15 minutes before our waiter brought it over to us. The strand of lights on the sushi bar looked cheesy and the decore was nothing exciting. Again, food was good, but, we won't be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Mother's Day on Saturday night

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had an amazing dinner of 10 assorted small plates and rolls. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I've reviewed Baku before . Always terrific, but I noticed they removed the chicken meatballs from the menu. One of my favs. Maybe they will bring it back.
Can't wait to return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.