About Baku

4515 Sharon Rd
Charlotte, NC 28211
View Larger Map

BAKU is a Japanese Robata-style restaurant that showcases outstanding Sushi and innovative Robata and Yakatori cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Yakitori, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 817-7173

Website:
http://www.baku-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Baku Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
See All
Romantic (13)
Tapas (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Special Occasion (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Family Style (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (3)
Spicy (3)
Cozy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
570 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall a very good dining experience. T ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Overall a very good dining experience. The only blemish was getting service at the bar as they were woefully understaffed for the peak dining period. The bartenders were doing their best however. The Sea Bass was excellent!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

This is an amazing upscale restaurant, a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This is an amazing upscale restaurant, and great decor. The food was great, and the waitress was very nice. It is a little on the pricey end, but I do think you get your money worth.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Will be back!! All the food was ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Amazing! Will be back!! All the food was fantastic

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great waiter who took the time to explai ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great waiter who took the time to explain everything to us. At first they had us seated right when you walked into the main dining room but they were able to love us with no problem. We ordered a lot of different items to try the restaurant (sea bass, sushi, shrimp, tempura, salmon, soup and more). Everyone like something different but like other reviewers said - you don't get much and it is a little pricey. I doubt we will return for if we are in the mood for Japanese, we will go to Nikko's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was fantastic, our server was e ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was fantastic, our server was even better. The only downside is the inflated prices vs portion size. Expect to spend at least $100 per person, $150-200 each person to actually be full.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

great atmosphere and food. service margi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

great atmosphere and food. service marginal. Would recommend to friends. Our waiter seemed slow compared to other waiters in the restaurant at the time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Not as good as it has been in past

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Not as good as it has been in past

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Awesome dining experience. Fresh and inn ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Awesome dining experience. Fresh and innovative sushi, and memorable entrees and sides. Not to be missed if you're a foodie.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good. Our waiter was new, ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was very good. Our waiter was new, but He did good. $$$$ so be prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

My favorite restaurant with the freshest ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My favorite restaurant with the freshest seafood. All the staff is wonderful and the cocktails are great. Kudos to Jonathan, our server, for pointing us in the right direction with his menu suggestions. Try the ice bowl sashimi selection!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Timeliness of service is extremely slow ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Timeliness of service is extremely slow .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Enjoyable, but disappointing. The food i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Enjoyable, but disappointing. The food is quite good, but noticeably not as remarkable as before. The service was quite poor but his time. The server was caring for tables upstairs and downstairs. This is not possible to do and be consistently attentive to all your tables. There was an hour delay on getting some sushi rolls. I'm not sure what's going on, but there has been a change for the worse.

Not sure when we'll return. There is a growing list of options in Charlotte.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The food is amazing - everything was so ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food is amazing - everything was so flavorful. Our server,Anthony, was very pleasant - not pushy - but helpful and attended to all our needs. We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very knowledgeable staff- all recommenda ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Very knowledgeable staff- all recommendations were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the cocktails through the courses, ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

From the cocktails through the courses, everything was extremely creative and absolutely delicious. Every dish was an experience.

It pays to ask for recommendations, they really point you in the right direction.

Baku has become not only one of the best sushi restaurants in town, but one of the best overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food as always. Ice bowl of sashimi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Good food as always. Ice bowl of sashimi was perfect. Server was very efficient and patient, since we had a few new people with us. Still my favorite restaurant in Charlotte!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food. The four of us each orde ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Very good food. The four of us each ordered an item and we shared. Great fun. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food. Different. We will go back. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Good food. Different. We will go back. Top Chef.

Tags: Bar Seating, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had we known that Baku is a discotheque ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Had we known that Baku is a discotheque on Saturday nights, we wouldn't have made a reservation. Our plan was to enjoy good food, talk and relax. Instead we were yelling across the table to hear each other while the hired DJ belted out disco tunes at deafening decibels. While the food was delicious, as usual, the new "concept" made it unenjoyable, particularly at the prices they charge.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

awesome place and great bartenders/servi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 20, 2016

awesome place and great bartenders/service - food is outstanding, & sushi is on point

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dining experience in Charlotte. The ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Best dining experience in Charlotte. The ingredients and preparations can't be found anywhere else in town. The Robata grilled pork belly is a life changer. A bit spendy for routine visits, but worth every cent, every time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was very good. Wait staff was very ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was very good. Wait staff was very attentive and was very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentative service. Terrific food, perf ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Attentative service. Terrific food, perfectly prepared. Personal attention from the manager. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent small plates. Great specials. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Excellent small plates. Great specials. The servers really know the menu and make great recommendations. Portions are better for two to share versus four. Presentation is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice atmosphere and delicious food! Pric ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Nice atmosphere and delicious food! Pricy but worthy ☺

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit. We had heard some comp ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

First time visit. We had heard some complaints about quality of service, but our server was attentive and responsive to our requests. Food was attractively presented. The real test of a good Japanese restaurant is how the simpler dishes are done, like sliced sashimi. It was not bad here, but unremarkable. A few of the more "composed" items were better. Prices seemed a little high relative to quality of food. Nice ambience. We especially liked the upstairs lounge area. Parking was a challenge - absolutely no spaces anywhere around this campus of buildings on a Friday night, and therefore we were compelled to use the valet. Having said that, it was a pretty fun experience for Charlotte, and we would return. We are admittedly spoiled by recent visits to sushi bars in Vancouver, San Francisco, New York, Boston.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was great, but we were a little sur ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Food was great, but we were a little surpised to tell the server that we'd be enjoying several courses of small plates, only to have them all show up at practically the same time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was good, however overpriced for Ta ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was good, however overpriced for Tapas. Being generous, the Service was poor at best. The menu is very confusing. We explained to the waiter we had never been to the restaurant and he didn't explain the menu or process. When we asked for recommendations, the only items he mentioned were the most expensive items on the menu. No other food item was mentioned. Waiter never checked on us. Food runners never explained the food or the pairings that were accompanying. The managers were amazing. Waiter took our valet ticket from us and never returned....thankfully, the fire alarm went off and we could retrieve our car without our ticket. Confusing and disappointing evening would be how I highlight our experience

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The food is amazing - sushi, small plate ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food is amazing - sushi, small plates and dinners. Service needs a bit of help though. We were left alone at times for far too long. That left us waiting a very long time to order the next round of small plates or drinks. Our server also forgot to bring us things we requested. These service issues can be corrected if time is spent to correct them.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Fabulous could not be better Have been t ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Fabulous could not be better

Have been there 3 times during my 7 day stay in Charlotte

Tags: Vegan, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect birthday dinner with delicious f ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Perfect birthday dinner with delicious food! Hope to come back soon for a romantic date night.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was the place to be on a Saturday night! ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Was the place to be on a Saturday night! Perfect for a fun date night! Felt like I was in NYC! Great energy and experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had heard and read good things about Bak ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Had heard and read good things about Baku. Food was excellent and came out fast. Our service was exceptional and the server was very knowledgeable of the menu and helpful in making good recommendations. Trendy place, a bit noisy, but tolerable. Will definitely want to make reservations as we did or you will likely be waiting at the bar for quite a while. Although the food and service were excellent, the prices are a bit on the higher side, but worth the occasional visit. There were two of us, so we ended up ordering a number of different items and shared them versus ordering single entrees - would highly recommend our approach as it allows you to really experience the extensive menu. Would highly recommend the Nigiri as well as the Tiger Shrimp and Pork Belly skewers. Pork dumplings were also outstanding.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They were out of all the best items and ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 2, 2016

They were out of all the best items and we service was pretty poor. I had such a great first experience which made me sad, guess you have to catch the restaurant on a good night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Fantastic meal, great service, great dri ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Fantastic meal, great service, great drinks. We loved our meal at Baku! Everything we tasted was wonderful, and can't wait to go back! However, it is an expensive place, not for everyday meals, and not for young kids. Our mixed drinks were excellent and we stuck with them, as the wine list was very pricey, probably overpriced. Enjoy the restaurant but pass on the wine unless they have a special price deal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Charged the incorrect amount on the CC ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Charged the incorrect amount on the CC and it was never resolved in a timely manner. Gave the restaurant every opportunity to resolve the issue but they failed. Not only did I have to call after my date attempted on her own several times to have the restaurant correct the issue. We ended up having to call her personal bank. I advised anyone eating at Baku to check the CC or bank statement after any experiences at this restaurant. However, the service and food was indeed outstanding but incorrect billing screwed up the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Wonderful evening for date night with my ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful evening for date night with my husband and me. Service was fantastic--friendly, knowledgeable and attentive waiter. Food was amazing. Will definitely come back again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Modern Decor, Fun, Authentic, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here for the first time to cele ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We dined here for the first time to celebrate my husband's birthday! From the moment we walked in the door everyone was very attentive. The service, ambience, and food were all exceptional! This was our first but definitely not our last visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wide unique menu. One of my recent favor ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Wide unique menu. One of my recent favorite places. I consider a little pricey, $360 for 3 with bottle of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I have tried Baku several times now. It ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 25, 2016

I have tried Baku several times now. It is not a place I personally would choose to dine. I go because it’s a go-to place for a friend of mine. The food itself is very tasty. The portions are ridiculously tiny for the price, even for tapa sized plates. I find the service to be a bit elitist. Little things like lacking ice in the water despite asking for it seemed to be a big request that I never actually got. So the food; my friend orders their favorites and we share. The diver scallop: excellent but you split one scallop. It was fabulous though. The raw oysters: I did not try them but my table mate loved them. The lamb chop: perfectly cook and the best item I ate. The calamari: tasty but again only got 1-2 bites. So after those four tiny plates, a few drinks and we were looking at a very pricey bill and still hungry. Now, I am not a big portion eater. I always rather have quality over quantity. But leaving hungry after spending almost $200 and having so/so service well, I just find it unfortunate.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.