About Baku

4515 Sharon Rd
Charlotte, NC 28211
View Larger Map

BAKU is a Japanese Robata-style restaurant that showcases outstanding Sushi and innovative Robata and Yakatori cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Yakitori, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 817-7173

Website:
http://www.baku-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Baku Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (48)
special occasion (43)
hot spot (28)
See All
romantic (27)
good for groups (17)
neighborhood gem (16)
notable wine list (13)
late-night find (8)
great for outdoor dining (7)
great for lunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
469 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal at Baku was amazing! We tried m ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our meal at Baku was amazing! We tried mostly seafood this time. Every bite was very well prepared and delicious!!! Our waiter Hugo was fabulous!!! When we come back, we are leaving our dining experience in his hands for food and wine selection. We have not only recommended Baku, but Hugo as a server to many of our friends already!!! Thanks for a superb meal and dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Extremely high price for what you get. W ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Extremely high price for what you get. Would not remommend

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was *phenomenal*! Everything we ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food was *phenomenal*! Everything we had was delicious but the standout to me was the pork belly. It is melt-in-your-mouth good. Very fresh-tasting and unusual sushi too. The restaurant is a little on the loud side for a date, but not so much that it's bothersome. It was busy so it took our waiter a while to come take our order, but he was gracious about it and very attentive once he came over. Loved it!

food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food. Smallish portions though ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food. Smallish portions though.

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The original brunch was sooo much better ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The original brunch was sooo much better. The new way they do brunch not impressed.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I found Baku to have excellent food and ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I found Baku to have excellent food and a good eclectic selection. Sushi and Tenderloin skewers were most mentionable. Wine was a little over priced but was good. Atmosphere was more like a moderately priced restaurant. I was a bit surprised by the prices vs. portions. Calamari was very good but a very small portion. Pricing was no reason to not return and the food is worth the occasional stop in but I definitely would go more often if the pricing were slightly more moderate.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed the eclectic fare ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the eclectic fare and felt the menu was full of unusual choices. The meal was beautifully presented. Our server, Reggie, outdid himself with his knowledge and complete descriptions of each course. Thanks to Baku for the delicious and ample dessert in honor of our anniversary. We are looking forward to dining at Baku again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a group or a couple. Goo ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Great place for a group or a couple. Good variations will please any palate. Don't skip dessert. The presentations are worth the calories.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My new favorite restaurant in Charlotte. ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

My new favorite restaurant in Charlotte. Best sushi I have had. Best grilled fish (grouper) I have ever had despite years living on both coasts. Excellent recommendations from our waiter. Oh, and desserts worth a visit just for those. I did not try their interesting drink menu as was driving.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Expensive price and terrible food!!!

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Our meal on a Friday night was absolutely awful. We ordered five small dishes to share and only one was acceptable, but not good. Overall the food was terrible. The prices were high as well. Our bill was $120.00 for small shared appetizers, but no alcohol or desert. Very disappointed!!!

food5
ambience2
service2
value1

Food was great and fresh but service was ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Food was great and fresh but service was rushed and atmosphere is very "club-like." I would give it another try with a group but too rushed to enjoy a date night. My husband and I ordered 5 plates and two drinks and were finished in less than an hour.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the roasted oysters, sweet corn, ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

We had the roasted oysters, sweet corn, portobello mushrooms, and ribeye and it was all top notch. The atmosphere was great as well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top restaurant in Charlotte. Great servi ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Top restaurant in Charlotte. Great service with impecable high quality eats.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Service was awesome. Really creative coc ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Service was awesome. Really creative cocktails were served pronto, and were half-price on the night we dined, so we splurged on two each through dinner and skipped the wine list. Our server was very knowledgable about an interesting and varied menu, explained related Japanese culinary terms/serving styles well, and answered questions helpfully. However, we did note his recommendations were invariably top price points, steering us up even after we said we had a friend's specific recommendation that we wanted to try as one item among several. But he did allow us to order serially, which is the way I prefer to do tapas-style menus. That clearly is extra work for the server, who remained cheerful throughout (and was appropriately rewarded for that essential to hospitality at tip time.) I would recommend that diners order either the mushroom or crab rice pot to have as an accompaniment to all dishes after appetizers. It is beautifully presented in a Japanese pot that will keep it warm as dining progresses. All the items we had were very interesting, and presentations were awesome. Simple fried grouper bites were offered with both a dipping sauce and a matcha-infused salt dip that made the dish unique and memorable. (Grouper, itself, also was top quality.) Butterfish with white asparagus in a shiso-infused sauce was delicate, tender and appropriately subtle. Diver scallops on plum sauce were perfectly grilled and tasty, but only two scallops even as a "small plate" seemed over-priced. It was then that we ordered the rice, after seeing it presented at a nearby table, and wished we had done so earlier, to have it to accompany our other main selections. We did not try the pork belly, as it is never a fav for one of us, nor the beef simply because of cost. All in all, Baku is a lovely special-occasion place for foodies if your budget is average, and a fun night out anytime for the deep-pocket set. Our dinner nudged $50 each, before tip.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite restaurant in Charlotte..Alw ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Charlotte..Always a great experience!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was fantastic

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Food and service was fantastic

food5
ambience5
service3

Food was excellent but Inside table was ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Food was excellent but Inside table was so warm asked turn the temperature down but they could??? Not sure why. Very noisy hard to have a conversation we have to ask three times again and again "what did you say?" "Sorry I can't hear say again!" Out hearing is fine just too noisy... :(

food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Had drinks, our waiter John was great, a ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Had drinks, our waiter John was great, appetizers were good, then we ordered dinner, one dinner came exceedingly fast but not the other. John went to look into it and apologized and said it would be right up, after 25 minutes I told John it was inexcusable at this point and didn't even want it as my date had finished hers do it would not get cold, 5 minutes later a " manager" with attitude brought it anyway like it was no big deal.... We had words and I didn't appreciate that he still expected me to accept it and didn't really feel it was an issue... They did end up coming the meal but it ruined an otherwise special occasion...

food2
ambience1
service2

The AC wasn't on and it got really hot i ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

The AC wasn't on and it got really hot inside the restaurant. We had to ask twice before anyone took us seriously and turned it on. We had a new waiter who had only been there 2 weeks. He didn't know much but was very nice. The manager never came to the table after we didn't eat 3 of the dishes ordered and complained about the heat. Overall, a pretty miserable evening that we quite expensive.

food5
ambience5
service5

First time there, and definately wont be ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

First time there, and definately wont be the last. Service was excellent, very attentive, more than accommodating it in adjusting orders and sides. Food was spot on delicious, Kentucky blue corn meal, corn bread; incredible, fried green tomatoes, excellent, porterhouse pork chop, prepared perfectly and very tasty. All six at table thoroughly enjoyed the entire dining experience. The desert was to die for; homemade donuts and soufflés were consumed as soon as the were served.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Mother's Day brunch! We will d ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fantastic Mother's Day brunch! We will definitely be back to experience more of the menu!

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Was very disappointing - ran out of plates, ran out of food, very limited variety of food choices, no dessert. However, the lady singing was great. We were surprised as dinner has been great on two occasions.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Pricey but delicious!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Pricey but delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely get the ice bowl and sake!

Dined on April 25, 2016

Definitely get the ice bowl and sake!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Happy I tried it

Dined on April 22, 2016

The service was very accommodating and informative. The waiter walked us through the menu and explained how dishes were served. We ordered several items, the NY strip was fantastic and so were the brussel sprouts. I know I said brussel sprouts but they were amazing. It is tapas style so come ready to eat and to share. The chicken meatballs weren't so good but the waiter even kind of warned us but we tried them anyway, so do yourself a favor and listen to your waiter. Overall the food was great, the wine list is a bit pricey but they have beer so it was easy to make the shift.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful and creative Japanese offering ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Wonderful and creative Japanese offerings. A special occasion place for us and we always enjoy the food, service and wine list.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Keeps getting better

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

We love Baku We just have stop ordering our favorites and sample all the other dishes

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

five2dine

Dined on April 14, 2016

Excellent for food sharing. We had terriffic servers, it was a nice Thursday evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4

Baku has a great Sunday brunch. While it ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Baku has a great Sunday brunch. While it is not inexpensive, it is well worth the money.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding-as usual

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Date night. Food was outstanding, excellent service. On the pricey side

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

NEVER FAILS

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

We've been to Baku many times, and the food is exciting. Looking forward to coming back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go and excellent ambiance

Dined on April 4, 2016

The restaurant did not disappoint.Being there my first time the food was excellent, everything we had was delicious. Need to go back there again. We had our great friends join us there who recommended it because they know we enjoy great food. Service was impeccable too.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Never use the Valet. The valet guy gave ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Never use the Valet. The valet guy gave our friends car key to another client and we had to drive him hone to get the spare keys. Very weird and unfortunate story.

food5
ambience5
service5

The brunch at Baku was a very nice chang ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The brunch at Baku was a very nice change from typical Easter fair. The menu was a sampling of their evening menu plus a la carter selections. The food was delicious.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite Find

Dined on March 25, 2016

This is my second time experiencing Baku; the first being during restaurant week though it quickly gained my loyalty with the quality of food and exceptional atmosphere. The staff is knowledgable and friendly and greatly add to the quality of the restaurant. The menu is imaginative and yet simple without pretension. I highly recommend any steak product as it's cooked perfectly and high quality. The fish is similar, all fresh and buttery in the various sushi options. The drink list is also top notch; the sake selection the best in town. The ambiance is unbeatable; a modern take on Asian chic, and thoughtfully assembled making this absolutely perfect for date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

The food and atmosphere rock!

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

The food and atmosphere rock!

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Food tasted great, but was overpriced tapas

Dined on March 16, 2016

The food tasted great, but the price was 3x what I would expect for tapas. The waiter did note the portions would be small when we were reviewing the menu, and the food was good, but not worth the overall price. It was noted in the Open Table reservation that one of us had a food allergy and the waiter later admitted it was not communicated to him. It took over 10 minutes for someone to acknowledge us after we had been seated and it was not busy. It was a nice, one-time experience, we can say we tried it, but unless we want to pay an arm and a leg and go home hungry- we likely won't be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4

So you go to a Japanese restaurant and t ...

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

So you go to a Japanese restaurant and they are out of green tea. Need I say more?

food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice location. Very good food and s ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Very nice location. Very good food and service. Will be back again soon

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely an Excpetional Dining Experience!

Dined on March 12, 2016

Amazing food, exceptional presentation, gorgeous surroundings + inspired cocktails & an excellent wine list! Very pricey, but worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.