Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

About Baku

BAKU is a Japanese Robata-style restaurant that showcases outstanding Sushi and innovative Robata and Yakatori cuisine.

4515 Sharon Rd
Charlotte, NC 28211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Yakitori, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 817-7173

Website:
http://www.baku-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Baku Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (32)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Creative Cuisine (25)
Tapas (24)
Tasting Menu (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Romantic (16)
Authentic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Fun (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Healthy (8)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Cozy (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Spicy (4)
Casual (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Seasonal (2)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
660 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

The food at Baku is on point. Great sushi, sake, and everything else. We loved the rice crispy treats and the wagyu tartare with quail egg that was on special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Baku originally opened and first chef owner was spectacular. However when the chef left it was not good. Food suffered.

New owners so we came back. Food is better but not what it originally was. Prices seem high relative to quality of items but not unreasonably high. The original Baku was very expensive but worth it as the food quality was exceptional.

We brought our own wine and server never opened any of the three bottles because she wasn't really attentive. I didn't mind opening my own. They did charge corkage despite not opening a single bottle or changing glasses once. 6x however the serving assistant brought wrong table food to our table and we corrected her 6x so we didn't get someone else's food. She eventually said it was her second day. Poor training or insufficient training to say the least.

All said it's a beautiful restaurant and we hope they fix some service issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

A unique dining experience. Food is delicious and varied and the style allows everyone to experience a diverse set of options

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food and service were excellent. Everything that we had from the appetizers to the Maki rolls were great. The upstairs bar also had music which was nice. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Reggie was great and very knowledgeable. The lounge was ver nice as well and the bartender was able to suggest certain drinks.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Baku was fantastic. the service was great and so was the ambiance. the food very creative, and wonderfully prepared. especially liked the grilled brussel sprouts which were out of this world. A bit pricey but worth it.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Loved it ! Great alternative to a traditional Mother's Day brunch

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

While we have been to Baku on several occasions, we found it odd that;
) I was able to make a reservation on April 9th for my husband's birthday thru Open Table - but the restaurant was NOT open on Sundays.
2) We received a call to confirm our Mother's Day reservation, of which we didn't have one.
We opted to go to Baku anyway and had a nice enough brunch
3) The service was less than par. We were unable to get a fork - server noted there was a shortage, what?
4) Raman was served late and without bowls or spoons
5) Waiter took forever to appear and explain menu for the day
6) It appeared like total chaos in the restaurant

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Authentic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything was great except the ambiance. They had a DJ upstairs playing Techno music. I think it was a bit much given the price of our dinner. Food and service was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Mother's Day on Saturday night

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We went for my husband's birthday. I think this is a you go once type of place, but, after that, you're good. When the say small plates, they mean it. The prices are very expensive. The food is really good, but, you really only get a bite or two of it for each menu item. Our service was terrible - we were seated for about 10 minutes before being greeted (mind you this was at 6:30 and the restaurant was empty). It took a long time before we ordered food. Then my husband ordered sushi (because the first two items he ordered were really small) and the sushi sat on the sushi bar for about 15 minutes before our waiter brought it over to us. The strand of lights on the sushi bar looked cheesy and the decore was nothing exciting. Again, food was good, but, we won't be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had an amazing dinner of 10 assorted small plates and rolls. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I've reviewed Baku before . Always terrific, but I noticed they removed the chicken meatballs from the menu. One of my favs. Maybe they will bring it back.
Can't wait to return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food has been consistently good and ambiance good for a date. Everything was positive but there was only one bathroom - could have one more- a wait .
Our Server, Joe was very attentive and explained all food items that we had a question about.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We have been enthusiastic fans of Baku since it opened, often choosing it for special occasion dining and when we have guests from out of town. This year, we took my son for the 4th year in a row for his birthday, but were rather disappointed to see that the quality of the service and overall experience has gone down, while the prices have stayed the same. No longer do they bring warm towels to the table before you dine. The menus were faded and worn from use, in fact, they were impossible to read in spots. Our server, while nice enough, seemed to be intentionally neglecting our table. Our water glasses stayed nearly empty for long periods before a refill was offered, and my cocktail sat sadly empty with its huge ice cube melting with no offer to replenish or offer another drink. The sushi was still outstanding, but considering the price and knowing we can also get outstanding sushi elsewhere in Charlotte for a better price and overall experience, we won't be returning to Baku for sushi. It was a disappointing experience, shared by everyone in my party who has dined at Baku many times since they opened. I hope they can polish up their act again because it's just feeling a bit worn and tarnished at the moment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great hostess and serving team! Good for a romantic date or friends or businesss celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Baku is my new favorite restaurant. The dining area was packed, but service did not suffer and was impeccable, and the food was absolutely delicious. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was amazing. The service was probably the worst I've ever experienced. He was truly awful, rude, unhelpful, slow,lazy and generally unprofessional. Such a shame, as the food is outstanding.

The AC was also broken, and we were melting. After our horrible server told us they were "working on it" for the first hour, the manager admitted it had been broken for 2 weeks and finally sat us elsewhere. I was actually mortified that we suggested it, as we were out with friends. Not good Baku. Not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Long review. Would not go back. A/C was broken and place was hot and packed. Took forever to get drinks and had to ask again for refills and water. Friends ordered 3 rolls which took nearly an hour to come out. We all had already received our food. They dropped off the wrong sushi rolls on our table and 5 minutes later came back, took them off our table and served them to another table.
Very expensive for what it is and slow service does not justify the price. The food is good and well presented, it just seemed like the restaurant wasn't prepared for a busy Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Poor service for large group

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Horrible management. Don't understand how this place stays in business. The food is average, overpriced. This place wants to be high end but simply cannot execute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The wife and I had a fantastic time.
We could have not picked a better place to celebrate our 45th anniversary.
The food was out of this world and had not experienced such a delicious variety of sushi and sashimi.
The presentation of all the dishes was great and the dessert was just a work of art.
Our server Jeffrey was very knowledgeable and attentive to our requests.
We recommend this place and we'll be back soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Excellent service by Reggie. The food was great too. We ordered mostly sushi and it was good but I don't know that it was special enough for the price. Glad we went but will probably stick to our go-to sushi spot in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Authentic Japanese food, great service, fair price!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I have always loved Baku. However, I have been experiencing inconsistencies in the past year. Today we got a great server and everything was on point with drinks and appetizers until we got to the sushi part. It took over 30 min to get the sushi, they were only 3 rolls. Then after the sushi came and finished eating it, our server disappeared for about 20 min when i was trying to get our check. Also, somehow the place noise reduction is off, there is ALWAYS LOUD people around the tables area on the second floor. Totally ruins the meal experience when I'm trying to eat but I have to listen to some drunk person celebrating something or fighting over their marriage ending.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It was great however our server was new the food runners were new .. luckily I have dined her before so I could tell my friends what was popular

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I loved the ambiance. It was loud at moments but it is so comfortable to be there and our waiter was sooo great. He asked if it was out first time there and began to show us the menu, checked in with us often. He was very knowledgeable and polite, always with a smile.
My husband and I will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The quality of the food at Baku is excellent. The service is awesome and quick. Get the sashmi ice boat and the Alaskan King Crab legs--the legs are individually cut and are easy to eat and delicious. Everything was outstanding!!

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Quality of sashimi was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Had a good dinner here recently. The space itself is very modern and chic and nicely decorated. Staff is friendly, warm and accommodating. While the food is good, it's a bit pricey for what it is, and it should be executed at a much higher level to confidently command those prices.
One thing you need to know is that this is NOT traditional Japanese food; it's more of a modern "take" on it. However, an overwhelming number of dishes on the menu are going for that "clever" factor and they fall flat in many areas. For example, the duck breast, while juicy and tender, had none of the flavor described on the menu (particularly the umeboshi honey); the kamameshi was made with too much broth and was a bit "gluey" (but the seasonings were spot on); the tempura was crispy only on the outermost layer - the rest was oily (but tasted good); and the chicken and spring onion robata contained only one small snippet of scallion (not spring onion). The pork belly robata, however, was the main stand-out of the evening: tender, melt-in-your-mouth, well-seasoned goodness. I could have eaten several more skewers! I would also recommend getting the dessert sampler; it's a beautful centerpiece-like sampling of several of the dessert items and fresh fruit. It's a great way to end the meal there and easily fed our 4-person group.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent place to go for date night of out with friends. Great creative menu, great atmosphere and great cocktails.

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was hands down one of the best meals I've had in charlotte! Our waiter was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly. The food was incredible! Get the pan seared prawn starter!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Not the same place it once was. Not sure if it's new ownership or just management, but way too noisy upstairs and down, and menu reduction/revision leaves fewer options. Food was ok, but not 10/10. Dined here since the place opened. Too loud to hear across the table. Food was slow to come out and 1/3 tables empty. Water glasses empty for long periods. Priced high, and at one time it was so unique and worth the trip. Sushi was great, but the overall noise level was so high it was not a fun night. You want techno with your sushi? Go upstairs. Not running back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The service was excellent and the food was amazing. Had the best waiter who was very knowledgeable and friendly. This was our first visit but will become a regular. I give them a 9 out of 10 stars. Just need to add more side dishes to choose from.....GREAT RESTAURANT!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great location, but that's all it has going for it. Decor is plain.

Our waiter was pushy and arrogant saying that we need to keep ordering a lot of items because they are small and that eating there is an "experience". The place was nearly empty so our food arrived quickly. The snow crap roll tasted OK. The soft shell crab roll was tasteless and the seaweed wrap around the sushi was very chewy. The servings were very small, especially considering the price.

After we'd finished, our inattentive waiter returned and stared at us for 10 seconds or so seemingly expecting us to go into raptures over how wonderful everything was, but we've had far better sushi in Charlotte so that wasn't happening. The result was an awkward pause instead.

We had an experience there, but it was a bad one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We went to Baku for a birthday and it was amazing! The small plates are great to share and we couldn't have better service. Great food, great service, and great drinks! Highly recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

A really wonderful meal and experience. Excellent service, atmosphere, and food.
A little bit of a wait despite the reservation but it was worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The kitchen was very very slow in preparing the food. A very bad experience. We will not return

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We were quite disappointed with our visit to Baku this time; the service was very slow and it took almost 30 minutes from the time we were seated and placed a drink order, to the drinks being delivered. Halfway through our meal, we asked them to close out our bill due to a 45 minute wait between tapas arriving. And, we had not been since they cut back on their menu which was also disappointing.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our second time dining at Baku, and this time we brought dear friends with us who were visiting from out-of-town, who also happen to appreciate excellent sushi. Food was fantastic! Just superb. Ambience is amazing, as was our waiter, Matt. Excellent service and genuine care about our experience all around. Highly recommend Baku! It's a culinary adventure!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.