About Baku

4515 Sharon Rd
Charlotte, NC 28211
View Larger Map

BAKU is a Japanese Robata-style restaurant that showcases outstanding Sushi and innovative Robata and Yakatori cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Yakitori, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 817-7173

Website:
http://www.baku-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Baku Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (75)
special occasion (66)
romantic (42)
See All
hot spot (40)
good for groups (30)
notable wine list (20)
neighborhood gem (17)
vibrant bar scene (15)
late-night find (12)
great for lunch (7)
great for outdoor dining (7)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite restaurant in Charlotte..Alw ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Charlotte..Always a great experience!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was fantastic

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food and service was fantastic

food5
ambience5
service3

Food was excellent but Inside table was ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Food was excellent but Inside table was so warm asked turn the temperature down but they could??? Not sure why. Very noisy hard to have a conversation we have to ask three times again and again "what did you say?" "Sorry I can't hear say again!" Out hearing is fine just too noisy... :(

food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Had drinks, our waiter John was great, a ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Had drinks, our waiter John was great, appetizers were good, then we ordered dinner, one dinner came exceedingly fast but not the other. John went to look into it and apologized and said it would be right up, after 25 minutes I told John it was inexcusable at this point and didn't even want it as my date had finished hers do it would not get cold, 5 minutes later a " manager" with attitude brought it anyway like it was no big deal.... We had words and I didn't appreciate that he still expected me to accept it and didn't really feel it was an issue... They did end up coming the meal but it ruined an otherwise special occasion...

food2
ambience1
service2

The AC wasn't on and it got really hot i ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

The AC wasn't on and it got really hot inside the restaurant. We had to ask twice before anyone took us seriously and turned it on. We had a new waiter who had only been there 2 weeks. He didn't know much but was very nice. The manager never came to the table after we didn't eat 3 of the dishes ordered and complained about the heat. Overall, a pretty miserable evening that we quite expensive.

food5
ambience5
service5

First time there, and definately wont be ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

First time there, and definately wont be the last. Service was excellent, very attentive, more than accommodating it in adjusting orders and sides. Food was spot on delicious, Kentucky blue corn meal, corn bread; incredible, fried green tomatoes, excellent, porterhouse pork chop, prepared perfectly and very tasty. All six at table thoroughly enjoyed the entire dining experience. The desert was to die for; homemade donuts and soufflés were consumed as soon as the were served.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Mother's Day brunch! We will d ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fantastic Mother's Day brunch! We will definitely be back to experience more of the menu!

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Was very disappointing - ran out of plates, ran out of food, very limited variety of food choices, no dessert. However, the lady singing was great. We were surprised as dinner has been great on two occasions.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Pricey but delicious!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Pricey but delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely get the ice bowl and sake!

Dined on April 25, 2016

Definitely get the ice bowl and sake!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Happy I tried it

Dined on April 22, 2016

The service was very accommodating and informative. The waiter walked us through the menu and explained how dishes were served. We ordered several items, the NY strip was fantastic and so were the brussel sprouts. I know I said brussel sprouts but they were amazing. It is tapas style so come ready to eat and to share. The chicken meatballs weren't so good but the waiter even kind of warned us but we tried them anyway, so do yourself a favor and listen to your waiter. Overall the food was great, the wine list is a bit pricey but they have beer so it was easy to make the shift.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful and creative Japanese offering ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Wonderful and creative Japanese offerings. A special occasion place for us and we always enjoy the food, service and wine list.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Keeps getting better

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

We love Baku We just have stop ordering our favorites and sample all the other dishes

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

five2dine

Dined on April 14, 2016

Excellent for food sharing. We had terriffic servers, it was a nice Thursday evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4

Baku has a great Sunday brunch. While it ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Baku has a great Sunday brunch. While it is not inexpensive, it is well worth the money.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding-as usual

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Date night. Food was outstanding, excellent service. On the pricey side

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

NEVER FAILS

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

We've been to Baku many times, and the food is exciting. Looking forward to coming back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go and excellent ambiance

Dined on April 4, 2016

The restaurant did not disappoint.Being there my first time the food was excellent, everything we had was delicious. Need to go back there again. We had our great friends join us there who recommended it because they know we enjoy great food. Service was impeccable too.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Never use the Valet. The valet guy gave ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Never use the Valet. The valet guy gave our friends car key to another client and we had to drive him hone to get the spare keys. Very weird and unfortunate story.

food5
ambience5
service5

The brunch at Baku was a very nice chang ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The brunch at Baku was a very nice change from typical Easter fair. The menu was a sampling of their evening menu plus a la carter selections. The food was delicious.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite Find

Dined on March 25, 2016

This is my second time experiencing Baku; the first being during restaurant week though it quickly gained my loyalty with the quality of food and exceptional atmosphere. The staff is knowledgable and friendly and greatly add to the quality of the restaurant. The menu is imaginative and yet simple without pretension. I highly recommend any steak product as it's cooked perfectly and high quality. The fish is similar, all fresh and buttery in the various sushi options. The drink list is also top notch; the sake selection the best in town. The ambiance is unbeatable; a modern take on Asian chic, and thoughtfully assembled making this absolutely perfect for date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

The food and atmosphere rock!

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

The food and atmosphere rock!

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Food tasted great, but was overpriced tapas

Dined on March 16, 2016

The food tasted great, but the price was 3x what I would expect for tapas. The waiter did note the portions would be small when we were reviewing the menu, and the food was good, but not worth the overall price. It was noted in the Open Table reservation that one of us had a food allergy and the waiter later admitted it was not communicated to him. It took over 10 minutes for someone to acknowledge us after we had been seated and it was not busy. It was a nice, one-time experience, we can say we tried it, but unless we want to pay an arm and a leg and go home hungry- we likely won't be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4

So you go to a Japanese restaurant and t ...

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

So you go to a Japanese restaurant and they are out of green tea. Need I say more?

food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice location. Very good food and s ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Very nice location. Very good food and service. Will be back again soon

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely an Excpetional Dining Experience!

Dined on March 12, 2016

Amazing food, exceptional presentation, gorgeous surroundings + inspired cocktails & an excellent wine list! Very pricey, but worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal, only knock was dessert, average

Dined on March 11, 2016

Wife and I celebrated our anniversary here. The food and atmosphere were outstanding. It was on the hire end of our price range but we'd come back for another special occasion for sure. Our only knock was dessert, which was average in our opinion but the rest of the meal was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

Dined on March 8, 2016

All too often we only give feedback when it is negative. Our dinner was so spectacular that it deserved a moment of our time. Matt gave impeccable service, good recommendations, and we never lacked for anything. He was attentive without being overbearing, had a great knowledge of the dishes, and we will ask for him again. The food was absolutely incredible, and the experience was nothing short of amazing. Thank you to all involved who made our night so special. It was our first night out in years, and we spend almost every day in the service industry serving others, so the chance to be on the other side of the table was wonderful. We haven't stopped telling everyone how lovely it was.

food4
ambience4
service4

Hip and trendy, food doesn't disappoint

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Hip and trendy, food doesn't disappoint

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Poor service, overpriced food with no flavor.

Dined on February 29, 2016

Needless to say we made an excuse to get out of there. Husband and I are food snobs and this was just sub par. Paying for the decor not the food.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing, great ambiance.

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was amazing, great ambiance.

food5
ambience1
service5

The food and service were excellent. How ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food and service were excellent. However it was way too dark upstairs and there was a DJ playing uptempo dance type music way too loud. No one was dancing. Very odd.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a great place!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Besides the fact that the food is amazing, the drinks are scrumptious and the wait staff are so extremely helpful, the hostess went out of her way to make sure our Valentine's Date actually happened. We got a flat tire on the way to dinner and when I called to cancel our reservation, the hostess insisted on holding our table for us for what turned out to be almost an hour. They certainly didn't have to do that for us on such a busy night. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to everyone I know.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Try it. You'll like it.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Overall, worthy to go. My wife and I had a 8:45pm reservation on a Friday night. Baku was slow this Friday, about 1/3 full. Music was a little loud for the attendance. We were seated at a nice corner table/booth upstairs. Service was friendly and accommodating, although we had to repeat ourselves over the music while ordering. It's small plate style and on our second round, the waitress forgot to enter our vegetable orders (2 plates). When told, she quickly got it to us and comp'ed the plates. Good recovery! Food was very good. Great flavors and good portions. The sushi rolls were authentic. Overall price was on north of $45 / person, but knew that going in. We had three cocktails total. There are several fair priced plates and a few higher end sushi rolls. The one I had was worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on February 12, 2016

This was our first time at Baku and it was amazing. We had heard great reviews but honestly it was better than expected. The food, service and atmosphere were all great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Very delicious, we ordered five differen ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Very delicious, we ordered five different dishes and they all were amazing. However, the amount is very small for the price.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great time at Baku

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Restaurant week menu had favorites from menu. Petite Nigiri is great starter and value. Had petit filet mignon which was cooked to perfection medium-rare. Ginger orange creme brûlée was just the right dessert to end the evening - with a nice Port.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Overpriced. Underfed. Odd, unpredictable service.

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Didn't like that we were warned that our courses might come out separately in an unpredictable order. Isn't that why we go to a restaurant - to count on the chef and servers to provide a pleasant, unstressful meal for all diners to enjoy TOGETHER? Our courses did come out separately. The portions were TINY! Expensive! Tiny hot sake serving for $14. I'll go elsewhere from now on.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner to impress!!

Dined on February 6, 2016

This was the first time my wife and I have ever visited this wonderful foodie gem. Asian fusion with an American appetite. You have the choice to eat like a bird or gorge yourself like it was you last meal. My wife and I were seated up stairs and Tony was out waiter. He was knowledgeable and gave us just the right amount of service. He answered all of our questions and was there when we needed him. He was professional and personable. He will be our first request to serve us again. James was our bartender. He could read us as casual but celebratory guest and add the perfect touch of banter and professionalism. He made us feel like he was our own personal bartender. We will be back as soon as we can get away to dine with best restaurant in South Park!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Not what I expected.

Dined on February 6, 2016

Expensive for the quality of the food. Nice place, good dervice.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.