Baku

4.4
834 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Tapas
BAKU is a Japanese Robata-style restaurant that showcases outstanding Sushi and innovative Robata and Yakatori cuisine.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Yakitori, Sushi
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(704) 817-7173
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking available
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Our Private Dining Room offers the chance for you and your guests to relax and enjoy our Izakaya inspired menu. For our guests, we provide our Omakase (Chef's Tasting) menu. This space allows us to accommodate up to 24 guests comfortably. We look forward to booking your next event at Baku.

View Private Dining Details
What 834 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Perfect, as always!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

This is a great restaurant for a special occasion meal. The plates are small but their quality is fantastic. Knowledgeable staff. Nice, dark & quiet ambiance. Great value for the price -- be ready to spend a bit if you really want to experience it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 7 days ago

Poor quality fish. Please don’t go here.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 7 days ago

Not as good as it used to be. Over cooked and the menu is being “changed”. So they were missing a few items. Felt a little dark and used. Won’t go back. It’s too bad!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 15, 2018

The food was pretty good although we were sat in the upstairs bar area and the table we were sat at were a “lounging area” and so the tables were very small and not very comfortable! For the amount of money and atmosphere I would’ve rather sat at a normal table. The waiter was nice but he clearly had too many tables but he was very apologetic.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

A very nice dining experience. All plates are designed to be shared so its more like ordering tapas than sushi or a solo meal. Tons of options and everything was delicious.

Very clean and elegant, but open floor plan doesn't provide any privacy and on a busy night I could see conversation being hard to hear.

Overall excellent and we'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great service and fantastic food, right in the heart of Charlotte's nicest neighborhood!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

We've been to Baku several times. On this visit we shared several dishes. The tempura shrimp were OK. Nothing outstanding. The teriyaki salmon was not as moist as before. The duck breast had an excellent spice rub. We would have enjoyed the chance to season with salt without making a special request. The idea that the chef will determine how the food should best be enjoyed is a little condescending. Diners are paying, in the case of Baku, top dollar and should have the option. The brussels sprouts were excellent. The best we've had anywhere. Finally, we were told the "menu is changing". We were then told all the dishes ("anything with a bone in it", some of the fish items). I would think that a high end restaurant could manage a menu shift without telling the diners a number of items are unavailable. You either have a new menu or you don't. Are we getting the left overs of what is still on the menu?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

David is a great server. Definitely knowledgeable and made the experience that much better. We sat upstairs. Drinks were excellent (manhattan for him Paloma for her). Pork belly is never a bad idea there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

The food is amazing. Absolutely the best sushi I’ve ever had. I highly recommend Baku! It could be a bit pricey for some. A meal for two with appetizers will cost around $100. But this is quality food to expect to pay less is ridiculous.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The good was good. The Sapporo Beer had a great taste and was nice and cold to drink.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Great food and service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2018

We had quality meal. David, our server was great, he knew what he was talking about and was detailed oriented. We were celebrating my boyfriend's birthday. It was great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

We celebrated my wife's 73rd birthday. Food was outstanding, though portions were small. Service was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

This is a great restaurant, the service and the food was excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Wonderful as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Great food and service. One of my favorite restaurants

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Menus left on the table for the whole meal, water glasses unfilled, raw salmon entree, brussell sprouts that were more singed leaves than actual brussels sprouts for $9. Sushi my companion had was fine and the wine was good

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I went for Mother's day... I can't complain, it's just that the food was noting special. Overall it was ok but at this point i would say the city has so many yummy places for similar prices.
Staff was super friendly and the place was not crowded so we had a nice lunchtime.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Our server, Michael made the experience great. The food has always been great, but the service not. This time, I am delighted that all the staff was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Dined at Baku for their Mother’s Day brunch and was beyond disappointed in the quality of the food and the presentation. My husband and I met a group of friends there years ago and I seem to remember the food and ambience being a lot nicer. Needless to say, I was disappointed and will not return to this establishment. Too many other options in the Charlotte market for sub par menu options and disengaged service.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We eat out a good bit and are usually very satisfied with our restaurant choices. Love Roosters, Village Tavern, Toscana, Dolce, Cafe Monte, Good Food, Burton’s. We do not normally post reviews if the food was not great and just okay or mediocre, but feel compelled to give Baku a 1 star rating bc it was such a bad meal at such a high cost. After reading all of the 4 and 5 star reviews, we decided to book Baku for a reservation to celebrate Mother’s Day for 3 of us the night before. I don’t understand the great reviews!! Slow service, incorrect orders, and pathetic food. Our waiter encouraged us to get all tapas items and gave his suggestions. We were brought shrimp skewers instead of beef skewers, so finally the tenderloin/asparagus skewers we ordered around 8:00 arrived around 9:00 and were tough as nails-we were also never asked how we wanted them cooked. And I’m pretty sure we got charged for the shrimp skewers we never ordered. The tempura vegetables were not good and we could not bite into the mushrooms bc they were so tough. The waiter told us the fried chicken was great so we ordered it-it was really, really bland. My teenager gave the seafood soup a 3 on a scale of 10. The pork dumplings were fine but did not save the night b/c it was all so very, very bad....... wish Baku would refund our $150. I cannot figure out how they are in business with all of the great restaurants around. We wished we had kept our reservation at Bistro La Bon that we originally made, but decided to stay closer to home and try somewhere we had not been-Bistro La Bon would probably have cost us the same or more, but every meal there has always been worth the money. Not so at Baku. Would love my money back!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Early Mother’s Day dinner

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Not a good experience this time. Has been good in the past but this time the sushi was not fresh. My husband got very ill later that evening.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 29, 2018

It was just okay. I like O-Ku sushi much better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Great interactive dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Great experience! Amazing fish and great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Very nice meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Amazing selection. Three words. Salmon Belly Nigiri. I have had sushi in the best restaurants in LA, Vegas, NYC and here in Charlotte, and this might be the best tasting Nigiri I have ever had.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The service was spectacularly poor. We will not return. Very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

As usual outstanding. One of our favorites. The sake selection is outstanding. Try some you will like it. The sommelier offered great advice.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Food was pretty good, but our service was not. We had to wait for our server several times just to take a drink or food order. She was a little nosy in our conversation and injected her own experiences as if she was sitting at the table. No one asked her opinion. We had to ask to have empty dishes and glasses removed. Seemed very understaffed but not really concerned.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We frequent this place quite often and last night's experience was by far the worst. Had to return the pork belly twice and mushrooms came out uncooked. We spoke with the manager and they made things right. Hopefully this was just an off night for them.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Had a great meal and outstanding service!! Will definitely come back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Great experience. Used open table to find Sushi fairly close to hotel. Saw many good reviews on this place, and was not disappointed. The waiter made some recommendations for appetizers, rolls and desert, and they were all spot on. My customers were equally pleased.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The experience was quite lovely and overall the evening was very enjoyable. The food was prepared very nicely, and arrived at the table hot and ready to be enjoyed. Quiet, comfy surroundings and great staff interaction made the meal quite enjoyable. Would visit again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Service was great, food was good but way over priced. I've had dry aged ribeye steak that was much more tasty costed less. Ice bowl sashimi sampler was nothing special except for presentation was also way over priced, total of maybe 20 pieces for about $55-60. But it was a special occasion and had very attentive serve. 3.5/5 overall and I would go back again when I want to splurge on someone special.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

This was my first visit to Baku. It was a romantic birthday dinner and it was perfect. We sat upstairs. The atmosphere was fairly quiet. I enjoyed everything we ordered. Our server was very attentive and explained the menu very well. We ordered several dishes, my favorite was definitely the Tomahawk Steak and Crispy Brussel Sprouts. I will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
21