Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

About Baku

BAKU is a Japanese Robata-style restaurant that showcases outstanding Sushi and innovative Robata and Yakatori cuisine.

4515 Sharon Rd
Charlotte, NC 28211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Yakitori, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 817-7173

Website:
http://www.baku-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Baku Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

Noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Fit for Foodies (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Fun (9)
Tapas (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Business Meals (7)
Authentic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Cozy (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Healthy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Romantic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort by
S
729 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent evening out with a female friend. Great service and excellent food!! Best sea bass I have ever had!!! Will definitely refer this place to friends, and will visit again soon!!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Food has decreased in quality, but it’s still a great place.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 7 days ago

Great place to unwind and share small plates with a table.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Food was very good to excellent except for the lamb and wagyu steak which were just pretty good. Steak was a bit fatty and lamb was bit overdone. Loves the food overall and the dining experience is very cool. Don't be in a hurry, food comes out fast or very slow depending on the dish ordered and what's going on in the kitchen. Kitchen seems to be a chaotic. So, some dishes came out waaaaay too slowly. Waiter was good and service overall was very good (not quite excellent) and ambiance is very cool. Would recommend it as I can be a bit picky. It was a fun experience and great tasting a lot of different types of foods among the three of us.

Tags: Late-night Find, People Watching, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Disappointed. Used to be a really cool place to get creative dishes. Always pricey but you didn't mind because the dishes were so tasty and fun to share. The menu has been greatly reduced and you can't really tell what you are ordering from the description. It is a small plate concept but my order came about 15 minutes before my husband's order so he just had to sit there and watch me eat. He ordered a $48 nigiri platter which consisted of a just few small pieces. I had a few pieces of tenderloin chunks with about half an asparagus and a sliced sweet potato that had a fuel taste to it. Our bill was over $100 and we left very hungry and unsatisfied. Baku used to offer some really impressive plates and the waiters were really good with suggestions and made the whole night a fun event. We were there on a Friday night at 7:00 and the restaurant was only half full and quiet. Now we know why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

Excelente barra de. Sushi y sashimi. Muy recomendable. Caro pero bueno

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Good location in the South Park area with an interesting name. Food is highly thought of and is priced to remind you in case you forget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 26, 2017

I took a party of four including my wife and my client. We asked the waiter, Joe if I recall correctly (been a couple weeks), and he was super. He happily took charge, learned about our preferences, allergies etc., and proceeded to select and bring out a variety of dishes to share over four courses. All the food was great, and this was echoed by the whole table not just me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Overpriced. Menu extremely weak. My order was just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 21, 2017

the menu is too large, complicated and disorganized. Very difficult understand and make appropriate selections.
Food is good, but small portions.
Wine list was not up to date and had missing items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

We chose the chef's menu which is a real treat if you enjoy trying new foods in authentic and creative ways. We had a part of six celebrating my wife's birthday. Our server was terrific, he explain the food as it was brought to us as we dined on several innovative dishes. If you are a foodie and like a real experience, Baku is for you. One of the best meals, if not the best, I have enjoyed this year.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Service and food was exceptional . We had the pork dumplings, Chilean See Bass skewers, steak skewers , king crab legs and brussel sprouts. All of the dishes were perfect. The presentation was beautiful, the sauces unique and the crab was delicious. Our sever was very prompt and helpful. We sat close to the sushi bar and the dishes they were sending out were incredible looking. The cocktails were very nice as well. Great place ! Well worth the money.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great, fresh sushi. So far, the best we’ve had in Charlotte. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Service was good the sushi didn’t taste fresh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 12, 2017

I looooove Baku! It's perfect for any special dining engagement. Come prepared to spend money because it isn't cheap but let the drinks flow, keep the food coming and you will leave so get happy and full. It is worth every penny!!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Went to Baku a second time to try the Omakase Tasting 150. It was great, I was served delicious food throughout. It was a pleasant experience. Grilled Shishito pepper with bonito flakes, very mild and tasty, salad with seared tuna, sea bass tempura, sweet grilled black cod, A5 wagyu steak with mushroom and 3 type of salts, rice with mushroom and dessert. Also, various sushi served fresh from the chef! Oishi! I was full after that, phew.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Excellent food. Had a wide variety of robots items as well as sushi and all was top quality!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Absolutely wonderful food from start to finish. The layout and decor is really cool too. Have only eaten here twice but it was fantastic both times! I'd say the food isn't cheap but it's also not overpriced either. Wish I lived closer, would definitely eat here a lot more often.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Disappointing. Nothing spectacular or particularly different. Prices were high for the quality. We can check that one off the list; no need to return.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Both the food and service were fantastic! I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This is a beautiful restaurant offering dishes that are so beautiful they are works of art. The dishes are a series of small servings to be shared with others at your table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Bad table and food cane out in a haphazard order.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This is my third visit to Baku, but it will be my last. The food has changed considerably and is nothing special like it used to be. The noise made it impossible for a table of 5 to have a conversation. People seated beside one another even found it hard to talk. I planned a nice evening with friends in what I considered a nice restaurant, but was disappointed on all fronts. So-so food and no conversation! Good bye, Baku!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We went for restaurant week and got to try different options. I recommend the crispy brussel sprouts and the housemade ice cream. The calimari was not greasy, but had no flavor. The same with the steak.

The food is served as it's prepared, so your courses aren't always served in order.

It is very loud, so not the best place for conversation.

It is very pricy and the cuisine doesn't merit the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food just ok. My experiences here with food have been much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We went during Queens Feast; however the Restaurant Week menu didn't speak to us. We had the pork dumplings and titaki beef to start. The dumplings were good, but the titaki beef was a little odd. Not my favorite. I had the Chilean Sea Bass and he had the Skirt Steak. Both were good, but we left with a huge bill and still hungry. Overall, the service was good and the food was ok, but not worth the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Went during Queensfeast and had to go at 5:45 to get a table. Everything was fine and our server was great. I cannot wait to go back when I can take advantage of the full menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Inventive and tasty food. Love the presentation. Excellent service.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Restaurant week there was nowhere to sit as upstairs was closed for function they ran out of a number of items on menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 27, 2017

It was restaurant week so I understand that some things may not be the same but the food was mediocre at best. They were out of the wine and beer that I ordered and the service was just ok. For the price tag of this restaurant I would not recommend it at all.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Queens Fest brought us to BAKU for the first time. The food was very good, but one dish ( prawns ) took forever. When it got to the table there was exactly ONE prawn on the plate! ONE!!! Not very happy at all. Even though the festival is to sample new restaurants, it is still $35. One piece of shrimp...really?
With that said, the flavors of all the dishes were excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 27, 2017

I am a foodie. This was by far, the WORST restaurant I've been to in years!! I was annoyed that I actually spent money here. I will never go back!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Service was excellent. Decor interesting. Food was very tasty. One gripe...tiger prawn and vegetable tempura (Queens feast week menu) only had one prawn in it. Mentioned it to our waiter. He apologized and said other people complained about it too. That's why I gave it a 4 star rating instead of a 5.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Excellent service and the food was fantastic. One of the best dinning experiences I have ever had.We had a group of 6 and everyone would agree...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 25, 2017

As usual, the food and service was excellent. Small plates are the way to go! Must have the dumplings!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 25, 2017

We attended Baku during restaurant week and it was very good. I'd read reviews regarding how hot it was in there, thinking it was an AC problem that they surely got fixed....Well, it was still very warm where we were seated, which was in the booth along the back wall. Our waiter, Reggie, was AWESOME! He was extremely attentive, but not annoying. For the most part the food was really good. The cons of dining was that my friend got the "Prawns" dish and there was ONE Prawn! The food also came out weird and our entrees did not come out together. I waited 10 minutes with my food in front of me before my friends' food came out. I'd go back, but wouldn't sit in a booth and would request up front that our food comes out together.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Food was great. Each item is brought out individually by different servers and not necessarily in correct order. Took awhile for each item to come out. We did go restaurant week but wasn't very crowded. Don't go hungry, will be waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Great food and Sake selection.
Friendly service.
I have eaten with large groups and date night.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We've visited Baku several times since it opened but our last two experiences have been a disappointment. The food and service are both lacking, especially considering the price.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 24, 2017

I've eaten at this several times so was aware of the menu but I've never experienced a dinner like I did on Monday
If you go and order several dishes for 2 you'll get it when the kitchen sends it out. 2 of us already sharing 2 plates along comes another then another then a long wait for the last one
It took 5-6 request for a bottle of wine before they found one in stock. Each request took time
Cocktails where spilled and not to order
It was not a pleasant evening
Manager spent more time at the hostess station than the diners
Kitchen ruled
Wait staff only answer was I'm sorry
So if you don't care what & when you get your drinks or food go to Baku
I'll doubt if I ever go back
I wish them well

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.