About Baku

4515 Sharon Rd
Charlotte, NC 28211
View Larger Map

BAKU is a Japanese Robata-style restaurant that showcases outstanding Sushi and innovative Robata and Yakatori cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Yakitori, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 817-7173

Website:
http://www.baku-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Baku Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

70% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Romantic (23)
See All
Hot Spot (19)
Good for Groups (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
519 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was very good. The best meso so ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was very good. The best meso soup I've ever had. Sushi was very fresh tasting. Very nice ambiance...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

2nd visit for me, first for my husband. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

2nd visit for me, first for my husband. Our server LeAnn was fantastic. The meal was wonderful, we had the Chef's choice and only unsatisfied with 2 items. Not bad out of 12.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Baku has very good food, I would rate it ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Baku has very good food, I would rate it around a 4.5, however the service and attitude of the hostess staff needs improvement, I would not rate it better than a 3. The presentation of the meal is exceptional. The chefs really go above and beyond to present your meal in a delectable, visually impressive art form. Be prepared to spend a substantial amount for your meal, this is probably the most expensive meal that I have ever purchased. If a restaurant is going to charge in excess of $100 per person, they should rate 5 stars in all categories (which is not the case). The restaurant atmosphere needs improvement and the temperature is too warm for patrons.

For the dollar, I am sure that I could find a better restaurant to spend my money.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Great food and nice ambience. However fo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and nice ambience. However food portions were very small for the price.

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Ok.. we do like Baku, but there is alway ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Ok.. we do like Baku, but there is always a problem. When we walked in, the young guy standing behind the desk did not appear to happy to see us, and couldn't find our reservation. Then a girl standing nearby pointed to our name. oh, I got it.. we will seat you upstairs. I told him I prefer downstairs. Short one menu.. ask for another but he must have forgotten. Had to ask one of the waitresses.

It seems to me that the service used to have more personality. While the food was good, the service was dry.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was mostly excellent, the servi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was mostly excellent, the service was very good. The prices seemed a bit much, but the quality was high enough that it's probably justified. I'd say it's beyond the point of diminishing marginal returns for me, but might not be for you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Really good food and the waiter was resp ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Really good food and the waiter was responsive, but despite having reservations a table was not available when we arrived exactly at our reservation time and we had to wait a half hour to get a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

T o loud never got sat paid no attention ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

T o loud never got sat paid no attention to us at the hostess stand so we left

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was good here but the service w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was good here but the service was lacking. The hostesses were a bit rude and dismissive. We had a reservation but had to wait almost half an hour before being seated. Our server seemed way too busy bartending and waiting tables to really give us the attention he should have. I did enjoy the meal but the rest of the experience wasn't good enough to bring me back or recommend it to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was fine, portions were all appetiz ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was fine, portions were all appetizer size. I would call it Japanese tapas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Food as usual was very good. However, as ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food as usual was very good. However, as always, I leave Baku hungry. Small portion size at very expensive price.

When I spend well over $100 for my wife and I, I expect to not leave hungry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

For restaurant week, it seemed like very ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

For restaurant week, it seemed like very little food for a lot of money. Had one mixed drink with bar gin and it was $10. Over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The wine list needs work because several ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The wine list needs work because several are right off the Harris Teeter shelf and there is a

substantial difference in your price and that of Harris Teeter.

The bathrooms (women's) needs some repairs to the doors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I go to Baku for date nig ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

My husband and I go to Baku for date nights. It's always a great experience. The sushi is the best in Charlotte. It's fresh and has unique ingredients. The service is fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I may recommend this restaurant as a 1 t ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I may recommend this restaurant as a 1 time, special occasion spot. Everything was delicious, but you got so little for the price, it really isn't worth going to more than once. I got several plates, spent $50 before tip, and was still hungry when I left. If the food was more reasonably priced, I would definitely consider going again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

We had an awesome experience! Stacey our ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We had an awesome experience! Stacey our server was excellent! The food exquisite! Definitely coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my husband there for his birthday ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I took my husband there for his birthday dinner with friends. It was also Queens Feast. We LOVED IT! I can not say enough about the food, the service and overall experience. Although it was Queens Feast we did not use that menu. Instead our server (can not remember her name but SHE Rocked!!) said she could build us a menu for not much over the QF menu prices. What better way to enjoy the food than to let someone who works there pick your dishes. She did not disappoint, it was all wonderful. Loved their huge selection of Saki and great cocktails. We cant wait to go back and will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was restaurant week and the food stan ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

It was restaurant week and the food standards were not the same as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

We enjoyed our dining experience at Baku ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience at Baku. However, the air conditioning, although working, was not cool enough. To our server's credit, he did lower the temperature, and although somewhat cooler, the space was never completely comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My three girl friends and I went toBaku ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

My three girl friends and I went toBaku for dinner and our sever suggested doing the prefixed menu for restaurant week. The only items that were edible- avocado salad and Brussel sprouts. The dumplings and calamari were terrible, the salmon entree had the consistency of cat food and had a horrible after taste. We told our server we didn't enjoy the salmon and we clearly didn't eat it. The manager was close by when we told the server this and we saw them converse about what was wrong... He never came to back to the table to check on us or offer anything else for a substitution for the salmon. Instead, the sever brought our check (didn't ask if we wanted separate checks first and acted like it was a problem when we asked for them split). This was the worst $60+ I've ever spent. I will not return to Baku, regardless of the previous times I've been when I had a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Just go. It's a gem and a great example ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Just go. It's a gem and a great example of Charlotte's dining scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having dined here before i was excited t ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Having dined here before i was excited to return. I had a large party amd they were able to accommodate us which was great. Unfortunately things went downhill from there. The server was unable to keep up with the amount of tables he was assigned. The food was only okay,not anywhere near the quality i would expect for the price.

The worst part i think of the entire evening is that the air conditioning seemed to be broken. The entire time there was a sweaty mess for our party and everyone else. The manager had to have seen our entire table fanning themselves for 2 hours and never came by the table to inquire. We asked multiple people working there about the ac and got the same answer...its on 65. I assure you it was not as i never felt even remotely comfortable there.

I think i will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Very nice place. Food was great. The u ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Very nice place. Food was great. The upstairs dinning was more of bar atmosphere with a bit of noise. We till had wonderful dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our meal at Baku was one od the nicest e ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Our meal at Baku was one od the nicest evenings in recent memory . Foe was terrific, service..perfect. Thank you Restaurant Week for letting us "discover" our new favorite spot.

We will definitely be back and back and back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only complaint I have is that it was ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The only complaint I have is that it was extremely warm inside the restaurant. We eventually moved upstairs where it was cooler but still not great. Other than that....the food, service and drinks were outstanding! Turn up the A/C!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a very knowledgeable waitress who ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a very knowledgeable waitress who schooled us on the Baku menu. That was very helpful. Our food was fabulous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server, Hugo, suggested that we forg ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our server, Hugo, suggested that we forgo the Queen's Feast menu and trust him to pick items for us within our price point. We were NOT disappointed! He brought us fabulous items and EVERYTHING was incredible. I would highly recommend Baku and Hugo for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from Joe. Delicious food a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great service from Joe. Delicious food as always. Some of the best flavors in Charlotte.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious but waiter seemed to ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was delicious but waiter seemed to rush us to order. Restaurant temperature was uncomfortably hot that evening. I needed my menu to fan throughout the dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

My wife and had friends in town. This w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My wife and had friends in town. This was also our first date night since our son was born. When we arrived we noticed that the air conditioning was not working and it was very hot inside the restaurant. The amount of food that you get for the price that you pay is ridiculously undersize ex: 1 sushi roll, containing eight pieces was over $20. The ice bowl claims to be sushi for 2 is 20 dollars, this means that two people get one piece of sushi each. We ordered mediocre items any service was slow. Slow service was not due to our server or waitress, it was due to understaffing. At the end of the night our bill was over $400. After dinner was over in the large bill was paid we went to a restaurant behind Baku for better service. I would not recommend this restaurant at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Crispy rice was amazing! Service honestl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Crispy rice was amazing! Service honestly wasn't amazing. We asked for help with the menu and the waiter didn't offer us much assistance on their specials, etc. Would come back because everything tasted great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

One of my most favorite meals ever. We'l ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

One of my most favorite meals ever. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was a regular at Baku, the hostess "ey ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I was a regular at Baku, the hostess "eye rolled" when I mentioned reserving a booth, after we were seated the room was exceptionally warm, we were than seated upstairs in the corner table which nice. The music was to loud to have a conversation and they will not turn down for the dinner crowd. Food was mediocre, chicken livers were served raw, we had to send back. Fiod was served warm, the kitchen was off Saturday. We spoke to the MOD before the food was served, he never came back over. We would have ordered more, but the there were several large bugs running in the walls, noticed by another table as well. The staff just ignored the bugs and reseated the table.

I contacted Baku in Sunday and have not heard back from them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Food came out too fast and we felt rushe ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food came out too fast and we felt rushed between courses

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Overall I like the restaurant. This is ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Overall I like the restaurant. This is the second time we have been there, but the first time was clearly better than the this second time. Most importantly, my wife called ahead to make a special mention that we were celebrating my birthday. She arranged to have a candle included on the dessert order. Unfortunately, this was completely overlooked.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

For me - this is the best restaurant in ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

For me - this is the best restaurant in Charlotte.

Its tapas meets asian - the idea of having asian small plates, each one of which is exquisitely prepared with great attention to detail, is unsurpassed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ordered a lot of the small plates and ap ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Ordered a lot of the small plates and appetizers. We ordered all at once because we thought they would come out when ready, but they all ended up coming out at once, which was ok, but not preferred. Our waiter was excellent and we felt very taken care of. Would come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant was so hot inside it impacted ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Restaurant was so hot inside it impacted the dining experience. We had to leave early

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

Food was over priced. Portion was small. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was over priced. Portion was small. Very mediocre service. Not good value overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

A friend and I went to Baku during resta ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

A friend and I went to Baku during restaurant week. We ordered an extra item (aside from the 3 courses on the special menu) and our bill was a little over $100.

The food was excellent, they bring the items as they are ready, so they were all fresh and hot. We had the pork belly appetizer, it was amazing. We had the calamari (superb), and avocado and soy salad (ok).

For entrees we had the chicken and salmon. The flavor of the salmon was exception, though medium was a little too underdone for me. My dinner companion loved it.

The service was also excellent, we had an early dinner before the restaurant was busy, and our waitress was EXTREMELY attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.