About Baker House

327 Wrigley Drive
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
View Larger Map

Join us for casual, small plate dining & fireside cocktails in our decadently furnished 1885 mansion. In the spirit of the great lakefront "cottages" of yesteryear, the BAKER HOUSE has recreated a world of Gilded Age living where grand entertaining is experienced daily and lavish parties are thrown nightly. Sing along at the player piano in our music room, play poker in the game room, savor fine wine in our library and dine fireside in our parlor. Instead of traditional restaurant seating, guests are served in plush wing backed chairs and overstuffed fringed couches throughout the mansion. Our menu of small plates is conducive for lounging and sharing & features many regional items such as Wisconsin artisan cheese boards, savory charcuterie, seasonal fondues and heartier favorites like sirloin sliders and robust garden paninis. Situated on the East shore of Geneva Lake with panoramic views of the lake and Riviera. For an extra special evening, book a second floor mansion hotel suite!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: every Sunday 9:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner Hours September thru May: Thursday, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dinner Hours Memorial Day thru Labor Day: Everyday 4:00pm - 10:00pm

**PLEASE NOTE OUR NEW SMALL PLATES MENU!!

Cross Street:
Baker Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 248-4700

Website:
http://www.bakerhouse1885.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday nights feature Tom Stanfield on Piano, Trumpet & Vocals



Friday nights Carolyn Wehner on Piano & Jazz Vocals



Saturdays live piano with all the vintage classics

Catering:
We look to develop each event according to the needs of our clients so that the experience is amazing for all. Our Chef is versatile in most cooking styles with a preference for Contemporary American with a local flair but rest assured that each bite is delicious.

Parking Details:
We have our own private lot of 44 spaces of which we have dedicated 4 for our Hotel Guests and 1 for Handicap access.

Public Transit:
Aside from our pier and walk-up, drivers are all welcome, especially ones with two wheels.
(Trailers, RVs, Bi-Planes and Monster Trucks are asked to park in the public city lot just behind the House).

Private Party Facilities:
Each of our elegantly furnished Rooms (Dining, Library, Music, Game and Porch) is able to host various events as well as the recently renovated exterior garden terrace. Baker House in conjunction with the Bella Vista(Adjoining property) can also host events holding up to 250 people in their facility.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Edwards: 2622484700x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host many special custom events through out the property - weddings, re-Unions, corporate outings & retreats, seminars, engagements and anniversaries.

Restaurant Photos

  • Tapas Tower - Baker House, Lake Geneva, WI
  • Cocktail Party - Baker House, Lake Geneva, WI
  • Victorian Vapors - Baker House, Lake Geneva, WI
Tapas Tower - Baker House, Lake Geneva, WI
Cocktail Party - Baker House, Lake Geneva, WI
Victorian Vapors - Baker House, Lake Geneva, WI

Baker House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Lake Geneva
Best Food
Lake Geneva
Best Service
Lake Geneva
3 More
Best Ambiance
Lake Geneva
Best Value
Lake Geneva
Special Occasion
Lake Geneva
Best Restaurants in Lake Geneva ›

Special Occasion (17)
Scenic View (11)
Romantic (10)
See All
Great for Brunch (10)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Waterfront (8)
Historic (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Cozy (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
People Watching (4)
Fun (3)
Authentic (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Fireplace (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tapas (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
769 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Sunday brunch at The Baker House was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The Sunday brunch at The Baker House was outstanding! The food was all fresh and delicious! It was a beautiful setting and our while experience was perfect😁

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went there for brunch with dear friend ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I went there for brunch with dear friends to celebrate their marriage two days prior. It was a lovely location. Great ambiance. The history alone is worth going for but the food was great as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Cozy, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

After driving 2 hours we were hungry,we ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

After driving 2 hours we were hungry,we gave our name and were told it would be about 5 min.15 minutes later the hostess tried to seat us with a table of 18, we waited because she didn't check the book and confused us with another group. Overall a neat place but way overpriced for brunch.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Went for Sunday brunch. Great place. Tr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch. Great place. Try not to get stuck next to a large party you can't hear a thing with your group if you're in a small room.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been here twice now for champagn ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We have been here twice now for champagne brunch and have enjoyed it both times. The staff has a lot of fun and are very attentive. The food is yummy.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Need brunch! Very interesting. Food ver ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Need brunch! Very interesting. Food very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Gorgeous Victorian House with various se ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Gorgeous Victorian House with various seating options both inside and outside across from Lake Geneva. We went for Sunday brunch. Cost was approximately $32 per person and well worth it - a great variety of foods and desserts and excellent quality - no complaints here! I thought the waitstaff outfits needed a bit of updating - yes they fit the era but were a little dowdy. Overall EXCELLENT BRUNCH AND VENUE!

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I visited the Baker House for Sunday bru ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I visited the Baker House for Sunday brunch on 9/25/16 and again on 10/30/16 both times we were celebrating a 70th birthday. This is a truly unique restaurant that serves up both good food and an enjoyable experience. The staff and the service they provide is top notch. They are all pleasant and willing to please. They engage in conversation, and encourage you to stay and enjoy both the ambiance and the food, for as long as you like. I am thinking we will make the Baker House a regular destination even when we don't have a special occasion to celebrate. It is well worth the 2 hour round trip drive from Cary IL. The only suggestions I have is that I wish they served regular dinners during the week days as I'm not really into the small bites and expensive drinks. Also, both my reservations were made in advance through Open Table. I found the process not very user friendly. Just when I was ready to call to book in person, I was surprised to receive an email that said my reservation had gone through and was confirmed.

I did like the fact that they sent followup email reminders. While I didn't really need the reminder I felt better THEY knew we were coming! All in all a 6 star experience!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow! I was blown away by the ambiance, s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Wow! I was blown away by the ambiance, service, and the food!! Great place

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was great, the view was beautiful ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Dinner was great, the view was beautiful and service was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We hadn't gone for dinner but for the in ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We hadn't gone for dinner but for the interactive musical murder mystery theater, it was wonderful and the cast were fantastic. I still say Mrs. Ivory had more of a motive to poison BeBe than Mrs Hamilton and definitely had more of the moral fortitude to do it, but as our team mates from France (a wonderful young couple) supposed, the simple deduction was the answer. We will return for another attempted dissection of stratagems....in other words, it was fun for those that like solving mysteries.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUr first time at the Baker and we were ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

OUr first time at the Baker and we were really surprised with the lovely rooms, the great small plate options and the wonderful pianist. All in all a great experience - though I really hate wearing a hat! : )

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love this restaurant. We go every yea ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We love this restaurant. We go every year in August for my birthday during

the art show. The food is excellent along with the service. Our request to

sit on the porch and eat was met. It was such a beautiful view of the water.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for brunch again and it was fabulou ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went for brunch again and it was fabulous as always!!! Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful views but the food was not gre ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Beautiful views but the food was not great. There was a murder mystery and some bachelorette parties going on so service to us was not that great since we were not a part of it. Also expressed an interest in a dish but said I would hold off on ordering it. The waitress brought it out even though I hadn't ordered it. And it was very cold in there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

One-of-a-kind atmosphere and friendly st ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 5, 2016

One-of-a-kind atmosphere and friendly staff. LOVED the history behind the place and the dining areas. Enjoyed the toast to the sunset in the backyard with the other guests. Food was just so-so, definitely overpriced for what we got.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Such an excellent choice to eat here . F ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Such an excellent choice to eat here . Food was excellent and drinks good . I loved the touch of hats you could try on and have fun . The place is just beautiful with an outdoor area that had fire pits and a view of Lake Geneva . We WILL be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We recently went to this place for my hu ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We recently went to this place for my husband's birthday. It was an amazing experience!! They have lovely hats..yes I wrote it right..hats!! A very royal experience with great food.

I had a watermelon pizza and vegetables with spinach dip. My husband had a beef entre. It was perfect!

Hostess was very cute and polite. Good service!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want free champagne be there at s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 31, 2016

If you want free champagne be there at sun set. No need to bring hats, they are provided for you.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Not as great as it used to be. The food ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Not as great as it used to be. The food was mediocre at best. The atmosphere was still fun and an enjoyable time. Have to try it out to see the house and the fun hats.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Very nice location with a great view of ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very nice location with a great view of Lake Geneva. My wife and I had selected the restaurant for our last night of our vacation and were very much looking forward to dinner. Once we were seated we were a bit taken back by the limited menu. In particular, there were only 3 main courses (a chicken, beef and a fish). Given the narrow selections we were expecting each to be well executed which was not the case. The food was honestly very average with the only exception being the crème Brule which was good. Overall we would not recommend the restaurant to our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Enjoyed out dining experience at Baker H ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Enjoyed out dining experience at Baker House. I will say that the restaurant was not accommodating to kids. Wouldn't do pasta or grilled cheese or anything. Enjoyed the 8:00pm toast on the patio. Lovely ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

While the atmosphere was fun the food wa ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 8, 2016

While the atmosphere was fun the food was terrible especially for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We were at Baker House over the weekend, ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were at Baker House over the weekend, and we had a great time. The setting is wonderful, with the main dining room overlooking the lake for a lovely sunset view. The rest of the Victorian home is also interesting to explore and makes for great ambience. The service was very good and unobtrusive. We had the cheese plate, being in WI, which was very good. The quiche was a bit over cooked, but flavorful, and the chicken was nicely prepared and tasty. The beer & wine selections were also decent and reasonably priced. When in the area, we would definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I want there for annivers ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 2, 2016

My husband and I want there for anniversary . The service was good, we loved the decor and the atmosphere . Food good not super excellent . The pork was a bit dry. We did our dinner there.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice brunch experience. Good variety of ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Nice brunch experience. Good variety of food. Quaint atmosphere and our server Clare was awesome. One of us ordered juice and was told it was an additional charge. For $32 juice should have been included. Overall food was delicious and ambiance is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Baker House is a very historic and well ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Baker House is a very historic and well preserved home that has charm and elegance. We loved all of the hats to choose from! We had two bad experiences though, one in the bar, and one with the meal. The wine that was served was flat and old and once notified they quickly returned with new drinks. I ordered the chicken and I received two pieces, one was good, the other was raw - like it had not been cooked at all. I didn't notice it until I had already eaten the other piece and then wondered if I was going to get sick from food poisoning. Of course, they didn't charge us for my meal, but it ruined our evening as I was afraid I was going to get sick. I would go back again for the atmosphere, but would not order the chicken.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

First time visit to the Baker House. We ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2016

First time visit to the Baker House. We really enjoyed the ambience. The sunset toast was excellent and we learned a little bit of history about the Bakers. Limited menu but very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I have been here a number of ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2016

My wife and I have been here a number of times over the past few years. The service, food and atmosphere is outstanding. We have recommended the restaurant to a number of our friends and neighbors. All have enjoyed their visit to the Baker. We plan on returning for New Years and our next anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MY husband and I did not have a good exp ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 23, 2016

MY husband and I did not have a good experience at Baker House. We were the only diners in the restaurant and waited for an hour for our dinner to be served. THe food was overpriced, pork was dry, and the menu was not the same one as the Internet. The place was itself very charming but the food terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

The baker house is one of best places in ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The baker house is one of best places in Lake Geneva. The staff is amazing. The food is amazing and it's an experience like non other

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience of dining at the Baker Ho ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our experience of dining at the Baker House was exceptional. The food was delicious and the service was outstanding. It is truly a place to experience a different approach than most places. We'd highly recommend it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Baker House last year for Fat ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to Baker House last year for Fathers Day and was quite pleased. This year not so much. We asked if we could sit out on the porch as last year and was told no this was where we were sitting. The food was sparse and not so many selections as last year. Totally different environment I might give it a try once more but didn't feel it was worth $32 per person.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Great food off of a limited menu... Fun ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food off of a limited menu... Fun atmosphere. Air conditioning was set way too cold... covered the vents surrounding the table with pillows. Sunset toast in the evening was fun to be a part of.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

An unusual Victorian experience in 1890' ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 19, 2016

An unusual Victorian experience in 1890's mansion on east shire of Lake Geneva, WI. Servers in period garb, very good food at fair prices. Menu a bit limited but something for everyone. For a good local starter, try the beer cheese.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Use to be a favorite now the menu is dis ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Use to be a favorite now the menu is disappointing. Due to the limited menu we will be dining elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

I am still blown away by the beautiful a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 12, 2016

I am still blown away by the beautiful architecture. The food and wine - FAB! Thank you

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get a better menus and don't put me in a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Get a better menus and don't put me in a group activity

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

We had a fantastic time, found info on ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 5, 2016

We had a fantastic time, found info on the Web while searching for a place for brunch. Will be back again before summers end. Thanks Again!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Historic 1890's home with a spectacular ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Historic 1890's home with a spectacular view of Lake Geneva. Comfy decor and antiques set the stage for a Great Gatsby dinner experience. The server Serena was attentive and very charming. Don't miss the fondue offerings. The chocolate fondue is worth the drive! Great wine list and evening toast will have is coming back soon! Love the experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.