About Baker House

327 Wrigley Drive
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
View Larger Map

Join us for casual, small plate dining & fireside cocktails in our decadently furnished 1885 mansion. In the spirit of the great lakefront "cottages" of yesteryear, the BAKER HOUSE has recreated a world of Gilded Age living where grand entertaining is experienced daily and lavish parties are thrown nightly. Sing along at the player piano in our music room, play poker in the game room, savor fine wine in our library and dine fireside in our parlor. Instead of traditional restaurant seating, guests are served in plush wing backed chairs and overstuffed fringed couches throughout the mansion. Our menu of small plates is conducive for lounging and sharing & features many regional items such as Wisconsin artisan cheese boards, savory charcuterie, seasonal fondues and heartier favorites like sirloin sliders and robust garden paninis. Situated on the East shore of Geneva Lake with panoramic views of the lake and Riviera. For an extra special evening, book a second floor mansion hotel suite!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: every Sunday 9:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner Hours September thru May: Thursday, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dinner Hours Memorial Day thru Labor Day: Everyday 4:00pm - 10:00pm

**PLEASE NOTE OUR NEW SMALL PLATES MENU!!

Cross Street:
Baker Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 248-4700

Website:
http://www.bakerhouse1885.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday nights feature Tom Stanfield on Piano, Trumpet & Vocals



Friday nights Carolyn Wehner on Piano & Jazz Vocals



Saturdays live piano with all the vintage classics

Catering:
We look to develop each event according to the needs of our clients so that the experience is amazing for all. Our Chef is versatile in most cooking styles with a preference for Contemporary American with a local flair but rest assured that each bite is delicious.

Parking Details:
We have our own private lot of 44 spaces of which we have dedicated 4 for our Hotel Guests and 1 for Handicap access.

Public Transit:
Aside from our pier and walk-up, drivers are all welcome, especially ones with two wheels.
(Trailers, RVs, Bi-Planes and Monster Trucks are asked to park in the public city lot just behind the House).

Private Party Facilities:
Each of our elegantly furnished Rooms (Dining, Library, Music, Game and Porch) is able to host various events as well as the recently renovated exterior garden terrace. Baker House in conjunction with the Bella Vista(Adjoining property) can also host events holding up to 250 people in their facility.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Edwards: 2622484700x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We host many special custom events through out the property - weddings, re-Unions, corporate outings & retreats, seminars, engagements and anniversaries.

Restaurant Photos

  • Tapas Tower
  • Cocktail Party
  • Victorian Vapors
Tapas Tower
Cocktail Party
Victorian Vapors

Baker House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Wisconsin
Great for Brunch
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Lake Geneva
5 More
Best Food
Lake Geneva
Best Service
Lake Geneva
Best Ambiance
Lake Geneva
Special Occasion
Lake Geneva
Most Booked
Lake Geneva
Best Restaurants in Lake Geneva ›

special occasion (26)
scenic view (24)
romantic (18)
See All
great for brunch (16)
neighborhood gem (12)
fit for foodies (10)
good for groups (8)
great for lunch (4)
notable wine list (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
749 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice location with a great view of ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice location with a great view of Lake Geneva. My wife and I had selected the restaurant for our last night of our vacation and were very much looking forward to dinner. Once we were seated we were a bit taken back by the limited menu. In particular, there were only 3 main courses (a chicken, beef and a fish). Given the narrow selections we were expecting each to be well executed which was not the case. The food was honestly very average with the only exception being the crème Brule which was good. Overall we would not recommend the restaurant to our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Enjoyed out dining experience at Baker H ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed out dining experience at Baker House. I will say that the restaurant was not accommodating to kids. Wouldn't do pasta or grilled cheese or anything. Enjoyed the 8:00pm toast on the patio. Lovely ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

While the atmosphere was fun the food wa ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

While the atmosphere was fun the food was terrible especially for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We were at Baker House over the weekend, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were at Baker House over the weekend, and we had a great time. The setting is wonderful, with the main dining room overlooking the lake for a lovely sunset view. The rest of the Victorian home is also interesting to explore and makes for great ambience. The service was very good and unobtrusive. We had the cheese plate, being in WI, which was very good. The quiche was a bit over cooked, but flavorful, and the chicken was nicely prepared and tasty. The beer & wine selections were also decent and reasonably priced. When in the area, we would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I want there for annivers ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My husband and I want there for anniversary . The service was good, we loved the decor and the atmosphere . Food good not super excellent . The pork was a bit dry. We did our dinner there.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice brunch experience. Good variety of ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Nice brunch experience. Good variety of food. Quaint atmosphere and our server Clare was awesome. One of us ordered juice and was told it was an additional charge. For $32 juice should have been included. Overall food was delicious and ambiance is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Baker House is a very historic and well ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Baker House is a very historic and well preserved home that has charm and elegance. We loved all of the hats to choose from! We had two bad experiences though, one in the bar, and one with the meal. The wine that was served was flat and old and once notified they quickly returned with new drinks. I ordered the chicken and I received two pieces, one was good, the other was raw - like it had not been cooked at all. I didn't notice it until I had already eaten the other piece and then wondered if I was going to get sick from food poisoning. Of course, they didn't charge us for my meal, but it ruined our evening as I was afraid I was going to get sick. I would go back again for the atmosphere, but would not order the chicken.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

First time visit to the Baker House. We ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

First time visit to the Baker House. We really enjoyed the ambience. The sunset toast was excellent and we learned a little bit of history about the Bakers. Limited menu but very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I have been here a number of ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

My wife and I have been here a number of times over the past few years. The service, food and atmosphere is outstanding. We have recommended the restaurant to a number of our friends and neighbors. All have enjoyed their visit to the Baker. We plan on returning for New Years and our next anniversary.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MY husband and I did not have a good exp ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

MY husband and I did not have a good experience at Baker House. We were the only diners in the restaurant and waited for an hour for our dinner to be served. THe food was overpriced, pork was dry, and the menu was not the same one as the Internet. The place was itself very charming but the food terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

The baker house is one of best places in ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The baker house is one of best places in Lake Geneva. The staff is amazing. The food is amazing and it's an experience like non other

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience of dining at the Baker Ho ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our experience of dining at the Baker House was exceptional. The food was delicious and the service was outstanding. It is truly a place to experience a different approach than most places. We'd highly recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Baker House last year for Fat ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to Baker House last year for Fathers Day and was quite pleased. This year not so much. We asked if we could sit out on the porch as last year and was told no this was where we were sitting. The food was sparse and not so many selections as last year. Totally different environment I might give it a try once more but didn't feel it was worth $32 per person.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Great food off of a limited menu... Fun ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food off of a limited menu... Fun atmosphere. Air conditioning was set way too cold... covered the vents surrounding the table with pillows. Sunset toast in the evening was fun to be a part of.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

An unusual Victorian experience in 1890' ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

An unusual Victorian experience in 1890's mansion on east shire of Lake Geneva, WI. Servers in period garb, very good food at fair prices. Menu a bit limited but something for everyone. For a good local starter, try the beer cheese.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Use to be a favorite now the menu is dis ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Use to be a favorite now the menu is disappointing. Due to the limited menu we will be dining elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

I am still blown away by the beautiful a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I am still blown away by the beautiful architecture. The food and wine - FAB! Thank you

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get a better menus and don't put me in a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Get a better menus and don't put me in a group activity

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

We had a fantastic time, found info on ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We had a fantastic time, found info on the Web while searching for a place for brunch. Will be back again before summers end. Thanks Again!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Historic 1890's home with a spectacular ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Historic 1890's home with a spectacular view of Lake Geneva. Comfy decor and antiques set the stage for a Great Gatsby dinner experience. The server Serena was attentive and very charming. Don't miss the fondue offerings. The chocolate fondue is worth the drive! Great wine list and evening toast will have is coming back soon! Love the experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lots of potential but more staff training a must.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Lovely bar but the bartenders were easily overwhelmed. We sat early because we couldn't get another drink.

We ordered a bottle of wine so we wouldn't have to wait for drinks, but still received our appetizers before our wine and our server did not know proper wine service.

The menu was limited to only four entrees with no fish options which was disappointing, but the dishes we chose were very good.

Plates remained uncleared through out our meal then all finally stacked on the table after the check was dropped.

Great atmosphere with a friendly staff that need to be thoroughly trained to live up to the food and ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Wonderful place to celebrate our anniver ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary. Lots of fun surprises.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance is delightful! The house h ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The ambiance is delightful! The house has so much character! The food was delicious & reasonably priced; loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We so enjoyed our brunch at The Baker Ho ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We so enjoyed our brunch at The Baker House. Brent did everything and more to make our meal the best. The waitstaff was attentive.

the food was excellent!!! Such an assortment was provided!!!

It was my husband's birthday brunch, and Brent made sure that something special was done for him.

All in all, an outstanding time was had.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gem of Geneva

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Perfect reflection of a bygone era with a flair of history with a wisp of fun. Well presented and delicious brunch options. Only wish that on a sunny day, the room we were in had a bit of real or faux light - the other rooms had preferred lighting

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service from Clare, unique ambianc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Great service from Clare, unique ambiance, very good food during brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A must see

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

If you love lake Geneva the Baker House is a must see for Sunday brunch. Food, service, view and ambiance where the best!

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Victorian decor has been fully resto ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The Victorian decor has been fully restored to its original glory and creates an amazing scene, no matter which of the rooms you dine in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Baker House

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

This is a very unique restreraunt! Very quaint! We were totally blow away! The only weird thing was that people would tour through as you were eating!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous Lake Geneva pillar.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Baker house brings you back to the origin of lake Geneva , historically beautiful, fabulous food and a true "experience" . You feel like a character from the Titanic movie.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Changed Chefs

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We've been here several times. The food this time was not very good. Very "heavy" with cream, butter, and oil. We asked and they changed chefs. The new chef is Chef Larry is what we were told. The server also mentioned that the Baker House is moving towards a more "dinner theater" theme in the near future. So we did not bring up our food review to the staff.

The ambiance, the bartender, the waitress was all good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

The house itself is the best part of thi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

The house itself is the best part of this restaurant. There are so many cool rooms with interesting things to look at. Lots of old pretty hats to wear during dinner - and yes they spray them- was kinda fun. We thought we were going for tapas, but they had a chef in town from Chicago who changed the menu. We had cheese fondue- yummy! -to start. We had the filet, duck, and salmon. Salmon is not my favorite so it was just ok. The other 2 were delicious! The drinks left a lot to be desired. Did not know how to make a good cosmo- tried twice. We ate on an actual roulette table. That was fun! Go for the ambience more than anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great setting, good (but not great) food

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Baker House is an old house across the street from the lake. It is a very cool setting and the staff is dressed to suit the home. The service was very personal and friendly. The food was good but not outstanding.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Menu was substandard. No healthy options

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The menu really was quite outdated.. The Salmon had a 1/2 thick mustard crust on it which honestly made it too rich to enjoy .. There were no healthy GF options available. So I opted for soup and salad for a dinner :(... service was very poor.. I was served and finished before my husband entree arrived.. very awkward.... left hungy and dissapointed..must have been an off night...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

A wonderful, delicious night!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

The best food, atmosphere, piano music and singing, all in a Victorian Manson. There wasn't a thing you couldn't like here. Feel free to select a hat off the wall, to wear and fit right in with the Victorian era. The food was as pretty to look at as it was delectable to eat. On a scale from 1-5 this is a 10!

Don't miss a chance to experience this wonderful place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view, relaxed atmostphere

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

This is the 2nd time we have enjoyed brunch here ( in our favorite spot on the porch) but all the rooms are beautiful all with a wonderful atmostphere. we love that we can get chef made eggs Benedict & omelet and "rooms" of other wonderful food , Irish stew, crab cakes ( I had crab cake Benedict) desserts....and champagne , we had mimosas. The waitstaff is attentive, also was informative on the history of the building. I recommend The Baker House highly for a wonderful relaxing brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

50/50 experience

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We have been to Lake Geneva and the Baker House several times, we have even stayed there over the weekend before. We decided to do dinner this time. I'm not sure what was going on but several issues came up. They didn't have my husbands beer he wanted, no biggie, but it took them 15 minutes to tell him it was out. Then they forgot my wine, for 30 minutes. We kept getting apologies that the bar was backed up, but a beer and wine shouldn't take 30 minutes to get to the table, there is no mixing or special things involved. They gave me the red version of my wine when I wanted white, which they corrected. We were there an hour and half before I finally started begging for where our dinner was. We did have an appetizer before, but 1.5 hours for food is too long. When my husbands burger came it was so dry he couldn't eat it and didn't want to send it back because we had waited so long. It was also 18 dollars and didn't even include cheese, that was all 4 dollars extra which was ridiculous. This place is beautiful inside, and it had a nice piano player, but as many times as we come there service is always off. It's like they don't realize they will be busy? They need more servers so I don't have to beg for water and better bar staff to handle drink orders. Even when we come for a drink you wait a crazy amount of time and it's always the same excuse "they are backed up", well if you are always backed up maybe you should think about changing something. It shouldn't be a surprise on a Friday or Saturday night that you will be busy and you need more help. I also overheard another table asking if the fondue was good (which we had just had), and the server actually told them, "umm it's OK", the guy was so bewildered by the response I actually spoke up and said we had it and it was good. Just so weird for someone who works there to have a blase response... It is a fun place to go for a drink and wear a silly hat. But I wouldn't expect the best service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

2 hour dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

OK experience for first time. Food was good, nice wine list. Service was very slow. Waited almost 15 minutes before anyone came to our table, and after that had to ask for water numerous times, and again to order food. Reservations at 6:45, did not leave until a little after 9:00 pm. Sitting by the piano was nice, but very loud.

Wouldn't have minded the expensive bill had the service been a little better and a little more attentive.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Champagne brunch

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We make a point to go to the Baker House whenever we are visiting Lake Geneva. Truly a one of a kind place. The ambiance is the best, as it is on the lake and in an old Victorian home turned restaurant and b&b. This particular trip we were there for the champagne brunch, it was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Carolyn was terrific! Wonderful ambiance ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Carolyn was terrific! Wonderful ambiance (table 52); friendly server, good food, disappointing cocktails - we'll stick with wine next time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.