About Baker House

327 Wrigley Drive
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
View Larger Map

Join us for casual, small plate dining & fireside cocktails in our decadently furnished 1885 mansion. In the spirit of the great lakefront "cottages" of yesteryear, the BAKER HOUSE has recreated a world of Gilded Age living where grand entertaining is experienced daily and lavish parties are thrown nightly. Sing along at the player piano in our music room, play poker in the game room, savor fine wine in our library and dine fireside in our parlor. Instead of traditional restaurant seating, guests are served in plush wing backed chairs and overstuffed fringed couches throughout the mansion. Our menu of small plates is conducive for lounging and sharing & features many regional items such as Wisconsin artisan cheese boards, savory charcuterie, seasonal fondues and heartier favorites like sirloin sliders and robust garden paninis. Situated on the East shore of Geneva Lake with panoramic views of the lake and Riviera. For an extra special evening, book a second floor mansion hotel suite!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: every Sunday 9:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner Hours September thru May: Thursday, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dinner Hours Memorial Day thru Labor Day: Everyday 4:00pm - 10:00pm

**PLEASE NOTE OUR NEW SMALL PLATES MENU!!

Cross Street:
Baker Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 248-4700

Website:
http://www.bakerhouse1885.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday nights feature Tom Stanfield on Piano, Trumpet & Vocals



Friday nights Carolyn Wehner on Piano & Jazz Vocals



Saturdays live piano with all the vintage classics

Catering:
We look to develop each event according to the needs of our clients so that the experience is amazing for all. Our Chef is versatile in most cooking styles with a preference for Contemporary American with a local flair but rest assured that each bite is delicious.

Parking Details:
We have our own private lot of 44 spaces of which we have dedicated 4 for our Hotel Guests and 1 for Handicap access.

Public Transit:
Aside from our pier and walk-up, drivers are all welcome, especially ones with two wheels.
(Trailers, RVs, Bi-Planes and Monster Trucks are asked to park in the public city lot just behind the House).

Private Party Facilities:
Each of our elegantly furnished Rooms (Dining, Library, Music, Game and Porch) is able to host various events as well as the recently renovated exterior garden terrace. Baker House in conjunction with the Bella Vista(Adjoining property) can also host events holding up to 250 people in their facility.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Edwards: 2622484700x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We host many special custom events through out the property - weddings, re-Unions, corporate outings & retreats, seminars, engagements and anniversaries.

Restaurant Photos

Baker House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Wisconsin
Great for Brunch
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Lake Geneva
6 More
Best Food
Lake Geneva
Best Service
Lake Geneva
Best Ambiance
Lake Geneva
Best Value
Lake Geneva
Special Occasion
Lake Geneva
Most Booked
Lake Geneva
Best Restaurants in Lake Geneva ›

special occasion (16)
romantic (16)
great for brunch (13)
See All
neighborhood gem (11)
scenic view (10)
fit for foodies (7)
good for groups (4)
great for lunch (3)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
724 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Gem of Geneva

Dined on April 17, 2016

Perfect reflection of a bygone era with a flair of history with a wisp of fun. Well presented and delicious brunch options. Only wish that on a sunny day, the room we were in had a bit of real or faux light - the other rooms had preferred lighting

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service from Clare, unique ambianc ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Great service from Clare, unique ambiance, very good food during brunch

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must see

Dined on April 3, 2016

If you love lake Geneva the Baker House is a must see for Sunday brunch. Food, service, view and ambiance where the best!

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The Victorian decor has been fully resto ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

The Victorian decor has been fully restored to its original glory and creates an amazing scene, no matter which of the rooms you dine in.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Baker House

Dined on March 18, 2016

This is a very unique restreraunt! Very quaint! We were totally blow away! The only weird thing was that people would tour through as you were eating!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Lake Geneva pillar.

Dined on March 13, 2016

Baker house brings you back to the origin of lake Geneva , historically beautiful, fabulous food and a true "experience" . You feel like a character from the Titanic movie.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

Changed Chefs

Dined on March 6, 2016

We've been here several times. The food this time was not very good. Very "heavy" with cream, butter, and oil. We asked and they changed chefs. The new chef is Chef Larry is what we were told. The server also mentioned that the Baker House is moving towards a more "dinner theater" theme in the near future. So we did not bring up our food review to the staff. The ambiance, the bartender, the waitress was all good.

food4
ambience4
service3

The house itself is the best part of thi ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

The house itself is the best part of this restaurant. There are so many cool rooms with interesting things to look at. Lots of old pretty hats to wear during dinner - and yes they spray them- was kinda fun. We thought we were going for tapas, but they had a chef in town from Chicago who changed the menu. We had cheese fondue- yummy! -to start. We had the filet, duck, and salmon. Salmon is not my favorite so it was just ok. The other 2 were delicious! The drinks left a lot to be desired. Did not know how to make a good cosmo- tried twice. We ate on an actual roulette table. That was fun! Go for the ambience more than anything.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great setting, good (but not great) food

Dined on March 5, 2016

Baker House is an old house across the street from the lake. It is a very cool setting and the staff is dressed to suit the home. The service was very personal and friendly. The food was good but not outstanding.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Menu was substandard. No healthy options

Dined on February 28, 2016

The menu really was quite outdated.. The Salmon had a 1/2 thick mustard crust on it which honestly made it too rich to enjoy .. There were no healthy GF options available. So I opted for soup and salad for a dinner :(... service was very poor.. I was served and finished before my husband entree arrived.. very awkward.... left hungy and dissapointed..must have been an off night...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful, delicious night!

Dined on February 19, 2016

The best food, atmosphere, piano music and singing, all in a Victorian Manson. There wasn't a thing you couldn't like here. Feel free to select a hat off the wall, to wear and fit right in with the Victorian era. The food was as pretty to look at as it was delectable to eat. On a scale from 1-5 this is a 10! Don't miss a chance to experience this wonderful place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful view, relaxed atmostphere

Dined on February 7, 2016

This is the 2nd time we have enjoyed brunch here ( in our favorite spot on the porch) but all the rooms are beautiful all with a wonderful atmostphere. we love that we can get chef made eggs Benedict & omelet and "rooms" of other wonderful food , Irish stew, crab cakes ( I had crab cake Benedict) desserts....and champagne , we had mimosas. The waitstaff is attentive, also was informative on the history of the building. I recommend The Baker House highly for a wonderful relaxing brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

50/50 experience

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

We have been to Lake Geneva and the Baker House several times, we have even stayed there over the weekend before. We decided to do dinner this time. I'm not sure what was going on but several issues came up. They didn't have my husbands beer he wanted, no biggie, but it took them 15 minutes to tell him it was out. Then they forgot my wine, for 30 minutes. We kept getting apologies that the bar was backed up, but a beer and wine shouldn't take 30 minutes to get to the table, there is no mixing or special things involved. They gave me the red version of my wine when I wanted white, which they corrected. We were there an hour and half before I finally started begging for where our dinner was. We did have an appetizer before, but 1.5 hours for food is too long. When my husbands burger came it was so dry he couldn't eat it and didn't want to send it back because we had waited so long. It was also 18 dollars and didn't even include cheese, that was all 4 dollars extra which was ridiculous. This place is beautiful inside, and it had a nice piano player, but as many times as we come there service is always off. It's like they don't realize they will be busy? They need more servers so I don't have to beg for water and better bar staff to handle drink orders. Even when we come for a drink you wait a crazy amount of time and it's always the same excuse "they are backed up", well if you are always backed up maybe you should think about changing something. It shouldn't be a surprise on a Friday or Saturday night that you will be busy and you need more help. I also overheard another table asking if the fondue was good (which we had just had), and the server actually told them, "umm it's OK", the guy was so bewildered by the response I actually spoke up and said we had it and it was good. Just so weird for someone who works there to have a blase response... It is a fun place to go for a drink and wear a silly hat. But I wouldn't expect the best service.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

2 hour dinner

Dined on February 6, 2016

OK experience for first time. Food was good, nice wine list. Service was very slow. Waited almost 15 minutes before anyone came to our table, and after that had to ask for water numerous times, and again to order food. Reservations at 6:45, did not leave until a little after 9:00 pm. Sitting by the piano was nice, but very loud. Wouldn't have minded the expensive bill had the service been a little better and a little more attentive.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Champagne brunch

Dined on January 31, 2016

We make a point to go to the Baker House whenever we are visiting Lake Geneva. Truly a one of a kind place. The ambiance is the best, as it is on the lake and in an old Victorian home turned restaurant and b&b. This particular trip we were there for the champagne brunch, it was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Carolyn was terrific! Wonderful ambiance ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Carolyn was terrific! Wonderful ambiance (table 52); friendly server, good food, disappointing cocktails - we'll stick with wine next time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Baker Street a must dine location

Dined on January 24, 2016

We were entertained from the time we parked the car to the time we left the place. The signs in the parking lot made us laugh - will not spoil. We were greeted by a lively and accommodating host. Our waitress provided us the right balance of service and privacy. We were very happy with our meals but the ambiance of Baker House is the key. We say at a small table with two arm chairs. We were able to choose hats from a wide selection of conversation starters. The room decor allows the conversation to continue with many knick-knacks, books , a roulette table-table, etc. We topped it off with some chocolate fondue to end the evening. Highly recommend that you take time out to enjoy a night at the Baker House.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Schaefer

Dined on January 24, 2016

Beautiful mansion, thoughtfully decorated, friendly staff. We had a great romantic dinner Saturday night...so great, we went back for the Sunday brunch. Both experiences were great!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. In my opinio ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Excellent food and service. In my opinion, one of the best restaurants in the area. We had homemade pasta, fondue and the best chocolate cake. However, if you have a gluten allergy this may not be the place for you.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Vintage

Dined on January 23, 2016

Atmosphere was fun and made you feel like you were in the 1920's era with hats, and the tableware they served the food on and the tables with velvet couches and the piano music.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Brunch

Dined on January 10, 2016

Came to Baker House for brunch. Very nice variety of food offerings. Breakfast foods were pretty standard for brunch but very good. We appreciated lunch offerings that had a nice variety (not the normal carved beef). Our server was attentive and the ambiance was great. Would definitely come back.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Pleasantly Surprised!

Dined on January 10, 2016

I decided to take my husband to the Baker House for our get-away weekend. Upon reading some bad reviews I wasn't sure what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised! The house is absolutely beautiful and so picturesque with the snow falling. We arrived early and were seated right away in the porch area. Everything was beautifully decorated. We decided on the Prix Frei which was the 5 course meal. A lot of reviews stated they didn't get a lot of food but we did! So much we took a lot home. The meal took 3 hours of time so make sure you don't have plans so you can soak it all in. Overall we felt it was good for the money and a great culinary experience! We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing Dining

Dined on January 10, 2016

The bar was fantastic with a knowledgeable staff. Dinner was amazing, even though our server forgot to mention any specials. The lobster bisque is a must. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Not up to past expectations

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

We have dined at Baker House quite a few times and have often brought family and friends. Previous visits were always very nice - the menu is limited, but the house, service, and food always compensated. This visit was not up to expectations. Short staffing caused significant delays in getting drinks (1/2 hour to get a glass of wine) and food. As a result, the value of the visit was negatively impacted. My wife and I will likely return, but we will hold any recommendations until we are sure that this most recent visit was a one time event.

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great Ambiance!

Dined on January 1, 2016

The Baker House has great Ambiance! Lacking on service and organization. We had reservations at 6pm and was not seated until 6:45pm. The food was ok. The entertainment was fabulous! I would recommend to try at least once.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Brunch-Best Bloody Mary in Lake Geneva

Dined on December 27, 2015

We had Sunday brunch and it is outstanding. The biscuits and gravy are to die for. Chef Muhammad makes a mean omelette as well. Also I am on a quest for the best Bloody Mary on earth and as far as Lake Geneva goes The Baker House wins hands down. I have had one in multiple places including Popeyes( claim to have award winning NOT!). Baker House BM blows any in town away. Only issue was we had a table of ladies next to us that wanted the entire Resturant to hear their conversation- Obnoxious. Not the restaurants fault. Other than that is was great. Also sat on enclosed deck and it was really cool. Have to try the brunch-can't miss

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Very disappointed

Dined on December 27, 2015

Our waitress was very disappointing! We kept ordering bottles of wine and when we order our the last bottle she rolled her eyes and walked away and then came back and said they were out of all bottles of white wine. It was a Saturday night! How are you out of white wine. My husband and I order steak which was wonderful. Our plate had a small steak and the rest of the plate was covered in fries. It looked horrible and the fries tasted horrible. We both hungry which is very disappointing with how much money we spent.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Charming

Dined on December 19, 2015

Quaint restaurant with outstanding views, delightful service, and superb ambiance. It was a brunch and if I am to be honest, the food selection for the $ could have been better. Needed a bigger variety.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ron's b-day

Dined on December 19, 2015

Need to expand the menu entrees the specials of the day were fantastic.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on December 18, 2015

We celebrated mother annoying vets army, our 33rd, at the Baker House - had a great salmon meal and a wonderful fondue. We took our granddaughters back for another cheese fondue and a chocolate fondue. It is a fun place. My wife enjoyed a great mixed drink and I had some great wine, Pennywise Petit Syrah. This will be our annual spot for our anniversary!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A REAL FIND!

Dined on December 13, 2015

Our group of four recently dined at Baker House for Sunday brunch. We all loved it! It is a charming restaurant with excellent food and service. We will definitely return for brunch sometime and also want to try dinner there. Highly recommend Baker House!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1

Disappointed

Dined on December 12, 2015

My husband and I had walked through this historic house and were very intrigued. We saw that it is listed in the top 5 restaurants in Lake Geneva. We made reservations and invited guests to join us. We were ignored when we entered. After waiting 30 minutes to get a club soda and glasses of wine, our waitress did not return for another 30 m minutes to take an order. The menu is extremely limited and we all had a hard time trying to find something. It took 40 minutes to get our meal and one of the fish dinners ordered came under cooked. NO one ever came back to inquire how our meal was so the dish did not even get sent back. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch spot

Dined on December 6, 2015

Brunch was delicious, service was great and the mansion is gorgeous.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Fabulous Food

Dined on December 5, 2015

The food and service was 5 star! Lobster bisque and short ribs with brussel sprouts were divine. Wine list was okay, the server however, did not know the list at all. She had to go ask someone about a wine, and never did give me an answer. The main dining area featured a piano player that made conversation impossible. Had to go to library area which was quaint. Perhaps too quaint. Had to suffer through an old couple seated by us kissing, and talking loudly, yuck! The Baker House is a great place for a fine meal, which is hard to find in Lake Geneva.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience5
service4

Wish there were more items on the menu. ...

vip
Dined on November 29, 2015

Wish there were more items on the menu. Needs a pasta dish. We ordered the short ribs and the pork shoulder and both were loved by my family.

food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing character and atmosphere

vip
Dined on November 29, 2015

We really enjoyed the unique character of this restaurant. We have appreciated the fact they gave us a hat when we arrived. We had a really good moment there with our little baby boy ;-)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Engaged!

Dined on November 27, 2015

I worked closely with Brent there to plan my proposal. The Baker House was helpful in assisting with everything I needed, complete with well timed roses, champagne, and an engaging pianist in Carolyn Wehner. Was the perfect start to our night and I'm now happily engaged. Definitely recommended for special occasions or a fun evening out. Don't forget about their collection of classy hats!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Quiet night

Dined on November 20, 2015

We were able to get there on a night when few people were there - snowstorm on the way. So we were able to get a hard-to-reserve seating by one of the fireplaces. No loud partiers were there and we had a great quiet and relaxing night. The Lobster Bisque was just a little thick, but yummy! even a real piece of lobster in the middle! The salad was very good, and the lamb shoulder a bit pricey at $28.00 we were able to split. One of the best meals we have had there. Menu a bit limited but still enough reasonable choices. A fun place to go on most nights - 1920's decor and style.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Quirky/Intriguing decor. Creative menu

Dined on November 15, 2015

Quirky/Intriguing decor. Creative menu

food1
ambience4
service1

Dont bother unless you are going for a d ...

Dined on November 8, 2015

Dont bother unless you are going for a drink at the bar. The menu is extremely limited and when they run out of their offerings, there are no substitutions. No seafood or fish available, no chicken, only one entree they could offer at 8:00 on a Saturday night. Not a very healthy menu and the service we had was below poor in the restaurant. Server didnt check in on us for 45 minutes. The bar service was good. Great drinks, but at a high price.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.