Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Baker House

Join us for casual, small plate dining & fireside cocktails in our decadently furnished 1885 mansion. In the spirit of the great lakefront "cottages" of yesteryear, the BAKER HOUSE has recreated a world of Gilded Age living where grand entertaining is experienced daily and lavish parties are thrown nightly. Sing along at the player piano in our music room, play poker in the game room, savor fine wine in our library and dine fireside in our parlor. Instead of traditional restaurant seating, guests are served in plush wing backed chairs and overstuffed fringed couches throughout the mansion. Our menu of small plates is conducive for lounging and sharing & features many regional items such as Wisconsin artisan cheese boards, savory charcuterie, seasonal fondues and heartier favorites like sirloin sliders and robust garden paninis. Situated on the East shore of Geneva Lake with panoramic views of the lake and Riviera. For an extra special evening, book a second floor mansion hotel suite!

327 Wrigley Drive
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: every Sunday 9:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner Hours September thru May: Thursday, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dinner Hours Memorial Day thru Labor Day: Everyday 4:00pm - 10:00pm

**PLEASE NOTE OUR NEW SMALL PLATES MENU!!

Cross Street:
Baker Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 248-4700

Website:
http://www.bakerhouse1885.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday nights feature Tom Stanfield on Piano, Trumpet & Vocals



Friday nights Carolyn Wehner on Piano & Jazz Vocals



Saturdays live piano with all the vintage classics

Shhh- Maxwell Mansion's SpeakEasy is open on Fridays @9pm - See our FaceBook page for the weekly Pass phrase.

Catering:
We look to develop each event according to the needs of our clients so that the experience is amazing for all. Our Chef is versatile in most cooking styles with a preference for Contemporary American with a local flair but rest assured that each bite is delicious.

Parking Details:
We have our own private lot of 44 spaces of which we have dedicated 4 for our Hotel Guests and 1 for Handicap access.

Public Transit:
Aside from our pier and walk-up, drivers are all welcome, especially ones with two wheels.
(Trailers, RVs, Bi-Planes and Monster Trucks are asked to park in the public city lot just behind the House).

Private Party Facilities:
Each of our elegantly furnished Rooms (Dining, Library, Music, Game and Porch) is able to host various events as well as the recently renovated exterior garden terrace. Baker House in conjunction with the Bella Vista(Adjoining property) can also host events holding up to 250 people in their facility.

Private Party Contact:
Maureen Slater: (262) 248-4700

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host many special custom events through out the property - weddings, re-Unions, corporate outings & retreats, seminars, engagements and anniversaries.

Baker House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (8)
Scenic View (7)
Waterfront (7)
See All
Special Occasion (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Romantic (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Historic (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fireplace (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Private Room (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
People Watching (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Casual (1)
Authentic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
800 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It is a very historic place, with beautiful interior design. We were warmly greeted given a tour of the restaurant and the various stations of food. They offer a variety of hats for both men and women to wear, of so desired. It is separated with breakfast items in the bar room, salads and desserts in the main hall, a chocolate fountain with various items for dipping in another room and hot dinner items in another. All the food was very good, especially the eggs benedict which was perfectly prepared. A bottomless glass of champagne is also offered.

Tags: Historic, Waterfront, People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We went for Sunday Brunch at the Baker House and it did not disappoint. The quality of the food was outstanding both in variety as well as taste. The crab cakes were wonderful as was the
bananas foster. We definately plan to go again.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fantastic atmosphere. Casual guests. Wonderful , friendly, attentive staff. Coq au vin -- so delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had heard good things,about the Baker House,which is why we choose, to celebrate, our daughter's 18th birthday. We had a 1:00 pm reservation, but had to wait, for over fifteen minutes,to be seated. It was awkard,waiting,as the hallway, filled with other guests, who also had to wait, along with the traffic ,of customers, trying to get into the bar area and then with the wait staff. While waiting,I heard two, separate guests ,talking about how they had not made reservations, but were seated. I felt, that they may have been the cause, of many of us, having to wait. We were very disappointed, in the food selection, as there were empty food trays and very poor selection. Some of the food trays,did get refilled,but others,did not. The fruit tray,had been picked over,leaving,only the less desirable fruit. We all commented,that for the price,$32.00 per person,we would have expected, much more of a choice and higher quality of food. I would recommend, cold shrimp, some sort of roast beef etc.,crepes,for the banana foster,pancakes etc. At one point, a manager,was touring, a large group of people, promoting the brunch, but this group,got in our way, of getting to the food areas. The best part ,of our experience,was the atmosphere,of the Baker House, but will not be returning or recommending this location,to others. The Baker House,is so rich,with history and charm, that it is unfortunate,to have management, seem to try to save money,by short changing, the customers,with such a low budget menu and to expect customers,to have to wiggle,through crowds and wait a long while,to be seated, even with a reservation. I am sending this message,privately,in hopes that my comments,will inspire,positive change.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Brunch: Good food, fun ambiance, good service, great location

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was interesting. We got to experience the nostalgia of an old house that is still beautiful and functioning, may not be everyone's cup of tea if you're not into history. The food was good, I liked the made to order omelet and the bananas foster French toast. I believe we paid more for the experience than the food, $32.00, could have gone to a cheaper brunch without the specialness of the house itself. I feel it was worth the price to experience it once, wouldn't necessarily go back there to eat.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

One of the best brunch experiences we've ever had: dining in a cozy room next to a fireplace, overlooking Lake Geneva. Food was fresh and classic; the made-to-order Eggs Benedict were luxurious. Service was warm, charming, attentive and the champagne glasses were kept full. We are really looking forward to going back.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great Brunch. Great fun, ambience, and an excellent choice of brunch items. Definitely recommend to all. Really must go at least once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch. Everything about it was wonderful. The hostess and our waitress were both attentive and friendly. All of the food was delicious. We were never hurried so we really took our time, enjoyed the refilled champagne, and got to sample almost all of the food offerings. We were seated on the glassed in porch and were next to the window so we had a view over the lake. It got a little noisy from the table next to us, so we were glad it wasnt completely full while we were there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had Sunday brunch at the Baker House. There was champagne and the waitress kept our glasses full. The food selection was great - there was an omelet bar, French toast and biscuits and gravy, among other breakfast dishes. There was also chicken and seafood items if you were hungry for lunch. They had a chocolate fountain with Belgium chocolate and an assortment of items to dip in the chocolate, including strawberries. There wasn't anything I tried that I didn't like. Everything was made from scratch and you could certainly tell - it was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Wonderful time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I did the Sunday brunch with three girlfriends for my birthday. They sat us at a table out on the enclosed porch looking out on Lake Geneva!! Food was fabulous and unlimited champagne. Can't wait to try their Saturday tea.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Celebrated a 50th Birthday and Wedding Anniversary with friends and it was wonderful! We were treated to a private room where we thoroughly enjoyed the champagne brunch, The food was plentiful and delicious with a large variety! Would recommend this for any occasion!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great ambience, great service, great experience. We come every year for brunch. So much fun!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The Sunday brunch at The Baker House was outstanding! The food was all fresh and delicious! It was a beautiful setting and our while experience was perfect😁

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I went there for brunch with dear friends to celebrate their marriage two days prior. It was a lovely location. Great ambiance. The history alone is worth going for but the food was great as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Cozy, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

After driving 2 hours we were hungry,we gave our name and were told it would be about 5 min.15 minutes later the hostess tried to seat us with a table of 18, we waited because she didn't check the book and confused us with another group. Overall a neat place but way overpriced for brunch.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch. Great place. Try not to get stuck next to a large party you can't hear a thing with your group if you're in a small room.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We have been here twice now for champagne brunch and have enjoyed it both times. The staff has a lot of fun and are very attentive. The food is yummy.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Need brunch! Very interesting. Food very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Gorgeous Victorian House with various seating options both inside and outside across from Lake Geneva. We went for Sunday brunch. Cost was approximately $32 per person and well worth it - a great variety of foods and desserts and excellent quality - no complaints here! I thought the waitstaff outfits needed a bit of updating - yes they fit the era but were a little dowdy. Overall EXCELLENT BRUNCH AND VENUE!

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I visited the Baker House for Sunday brunch on 9/25/16 and again on 10/30/16 both times we were celebrating a 70th birthday. This is a truly unique restaurant that serves up both good food and an enjoyable experience. The staff and the service they provide is top notch. They are all pleasant and willing to please. They engage in conversation, and encourage you to stay and enjoy both the ambiance and the food, for as long as you like. I am thinking we will make the Baker House a regular destination even when we don't have a special occasion to celebrate. It is well worth the 2 hour round trip drive from Cary IL. The only suggestions I have is that I wish they served regular dinners during the week days as I'm not really into the small bites and expensive drinks. Also, both my reservations were made in advance through Open Table. I found the process not very user friendly. Just when I was ready to call to book in person, I was surprised to receive an email that said my reservation had gone through and was confirmed.
I did like the fact that they sent followup email reminders. While I didn't really need the reminder I felt better THEY knew we were coming! All in all a 6 star experience!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Wow! I was blown away by the ambiance, service, and the food!! Great place

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Dinner was great, the view was beautiful and service was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We have now been at the Baker House several times. We love going there to eat. The food is always great and we always have a good time with the hats.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We hadn't gone for dinner but for the interactive musical murder mystery theater, it was wonderful and the cast were fantastic. I still say Mrs. Ivory had more of a motive to poison BeBe than Mrs Hamilton and definitely had more of the moral fortitude to do it, but as our team mates from France (a wonderful young couple) supposed, the simple deduction was the answer. We will return for another attempted dissection of stratagems....in other words, it was fun for those that like solving mysteries.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

OUr first time at the Baker and we were really surprised with the lovely rooms, the great small plate options and the wonderful pianist. All in all a great experience - though I really hate wearing a hat! : )

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We love this restaurant. We go every year in August for my birthday during
the art show. The food is excellent along with the service. Our request to
sit on the porch and eat was met. It was such a beautiful view of the water.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went for brunch again and it was fabulous as always!!! Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Beautiful views but the food was not great. There was a murder mystery and some bachelorette parties going on so service to us was not that great since we were not a part of it. Also expressed an interest in a dish but said I would hold off on ordering it. The waitress brought it out even though I hadn't ordered it. And it was very cold in there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 5, 2016

One-of-a-kind atmosphere and friendly staff. LOVED the history behind the place and the dining areas. Enjoyed the toast to the sunset in the backyard with the other guests. Food was just so-so, definitely overpriced for what we got.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Such an excellent choice to eat here . Food was excellent and drinks good . I loved the touch of hats you could try on and have fun . The place is just beautiful with an outdoor area that had fire pits and a view of Lake Geneva . We WILL be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We recently went to this place for my husband's birthday. It was an amazing experience!! They have lovely hats..yes I wrote it right..hats!! A very royal experience with great food.
I had a watermelon pizza and vegetables with spinach dip. My husband had a beef entre. It was perfect!
Hostess was very cute and polite. Good service!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 31, 2016

If you want free champagne be there at sun set. No need to bring hats, they are provided for you.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Not as great as it used to be. The food was mediocre at best. The atmosphere was still fun and an enjoyable time. Have to try it out to see the house and the fun hats.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very nice location with a great view of Lake Geneva. My wife and I had selected the restaurant for our last night of our vacation and were very much looking forward to dinner. Once we were seated we were a bit taken back by the limited menu. In particular, there were only 3 main courses (a chicken, beef and a fish). Given the narrow selections we were expecting each to be well executed which was not the case. The food was honestly very average with the only exception being the crème Brule which was good. Overall we would not recommend the restaurant to our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Enjoyed out dining experience at Baker House. I will say that the restaurant was not accommodating to kids. Wouldn't do pasta or grilled cheese or anything. Enjoyed the 8:00pm toast on the patio. Lovely ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 8, 2016

While the atmosphere was fun the food was terrible especially for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were at Baker House over the weekend, and we had a great time. The setting is wonderful, with the main dining room overlooking the lake for a lovely sunset view. The rest of the Victorian home is also interesting to explore and makes for great ambience. The service was very good and unobtrusive. We had the cheese plate, being in WI, which was very good. The quiche was a bit over cooked, but flavorful, and the chicken was nicely prepared and tasty. The beer & wine selections were also decent and reasonably priced. When in the area, we would definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 2, 2016

My husband and I want there for anniversary . The service was good, we loved the decor and the atmosphere . Food good not super excellent . The pork was a bit dry. We did our dinner there.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.