Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Baker House

Join us for casual, small plate dining & fireside cocktails in our decadently furnished 1885 mansion. In the spirit of the great lakefront "cottages" of yesteryear, the BAKER HOUSE has recreated a world of Gilded Age living where grand entertaining is experienced daily and lavish parties are thrown nightly. Sing along at the player piano in our music room, play poker in the game room, savor fine wine in our library and dine fireside in our parlor. Instead of traditional restaurant seating, guests are served in plush wing backed chairs and overstuffed fringed couches throughout the mansion. Our menu of small plates is conducive for lounging and sharing & features many regional items such as Wisconsin artisan cheese boards, savory charcuterie, seasonal fondues and heartier favorites like sirloin sliders and robust garden paninis. Situated on the East shore of Geneva Lake with panoramic views of the lake and Riviera. For an extra special evening, book a second floor mansion hotel suite!

327 Wrigley Drive
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: every Sunday 9:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner Hours September thru May: Thursday, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dinner Hours Memorial Day thru Labor Day: Everyday 4:00pm - 10:00pm

**PLEASE NOTE OUR NEW SMALL PLATES MENU!!

Cross Street:
Baker Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 248-4700

Website:
http://www.bakerhouse1885.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday nights feature Tom Stanfield on Piano, Trumpet & Vocals



Friday nights Carolyn Wehner on Piano & Jazz Vocals



Saturdays live piano with all the vintage classics

Shhh- Maxwell Mansion's SpeakEasy is open on Fridays @9pm - See our FaceBook page for the weekly Pass phrase.

Catering:
We look to develop each event according to the needs of our clients so that the experience is amazing for all. Our Chef is versatile in most cooking styles with a preference for Contemporary American with a local flair but rest assured that each bite is delicious.

Parking Details:
We have our own private lot of 44 spaces of which we have dedicated 4 for our Hotel Guests and 1 for Handicap access.

Public Transit:
Aside from our pier and walk-up, drivers are all welcome, especially ones with two wheels.
(Trailers, RVs, Bi-Planes and Monster Trucks are asked to park in the public city lot just behind the House).

Private Party Facilities:
Each of our elegantly furnished Rooms (Dining, Library, Music, Game and Porch) is able to host various events as well as the recently renovated exterior garden terrace. Baker House in conjunction with the Bella Vista(Adjoining property) can also host events holding up to 250 people in their facility.

Private Party Contact:
Maureen Slater: (262) 248-4700

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host many special custom events through out the property - weddings, re-Unions, corporate outings & retreats, seminars, engagements and anniversaries.

Baker House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (12)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Romantic (8)
See All
Historic (8)
Waterfront (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Cozy (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Fireplace (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
People Watching (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
808 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

First time there. The food was great. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Great view over looking Lake Geneva. It was a very enjoyable experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Such a fun place for Sunday brunch. Yummy food and unlimited champagne.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Historic and beautiful mansion on Lake Geneva with delicious food on tables throughout the first floor! We celebrated our anniversary at brunch. The service was excellent and the food was delicuous. All homemade! The hostess, Maureen, was so pleasant and was happy to share the history of the mansion. We would highly recommend this to anyone! I'm going back for tea with the ladies!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Afternoon Tea, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent food! Very friendly staff. Nice atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The best brunch we've been to in a long time! The food was great, the restaurant is beautiful, and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. Our server did a super job of anticipating anything we needed without being overbearing.

We sat in the front room (looks like it was once the porch) so we had a great view of the lake. We'll definitely be back! :)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Beautiful, unique experience with delicious food! I will be coming back next time we're in town!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Went to brunch with family and was surprised at how great everything was pretty sure between all of us we tried everything they had to eat can't wait to go back again really a great place

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Everything was outstanding!! There is not one item I tasted that I wouldn't definetely have again!! Eager to go back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It is a very historic place, with beautiful interior design. We were warmly greeted given a tour of the restaurant and the various stations of food. They offer a variety of hats for both men and women to wear, of so desired. It is separated with breakfast items in the bar room, salads and desserts in the main hall, a chocolate fountain with various items for dipping in another room and hot dinner items in another. All the food was very good, especially the eggs benedict which was perfectly prepared. A bottomless glass of champagne is also offered.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Historic, Waterfront, People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We went for Sunday Brunch at the Baker House and it did not disappoint. The quality of the food was outstanding both in variety as well as taste. The crab cakes were wonderful as was the
bananas foster. We definately plan to go again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fantastic atmosphere. Casual guests. Wonderful , friendly, attentive staff. Coq au vin -- so delicious!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had heard good things,about the Baker House,which is why we choose, to celebrate, our daughter's 18th birthday. We had a 1:00 pm reservation, but had to wait, for over fifteen minutes,to be seated. It was awkard,waiting,as the hallway, filled with other guests, who also had to wait, along with the traffic ,of customers, trying to get into the bar area and then with the wait staff. While waiting,I heard two, separate guests ,talking about how they had not made reservations, but were seated. I felt, that they may have been the cause, of many of us, having to wait. We were very disappointed, in the food selection, as there were empty food trays and very poor selection. Some of the food trays,did get refilled,but others,did not. The fruit tray,had been picked over,leaving,only the less desirable fruit. We all commented,that for the price,$32.00 per person,we would have expected, much more of a choice and higher quality of food. I would recommend, cold shrimp, some sort of roast beef etc.,crepes,for the banana foster,pancakes etc. At one point, a manager,was touring, a large group of people, promoting the brunch, but this group,got in our way, of getting to the food areas. The best part ,of our experience,was the atmosphere,of the Baker House, but will not be returning or recommending this location,to others. The Baker House,is so rich,with history and charm, that it is unfortunate,to have management, seem to try to save money,by short changing, the customers,with such a low budget menu and to expect customers,to have to wiggle,through crowds and wait a long while,to be seated, even with a reservation. I am sending this message,privately,in hopes that my comments,will inspire,positive change.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Brunch: Good food, fun ambiance, good service, great location

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was interesting. We got to experience the nostalgia of an old house that is still beautiful and functioning, may not be everyone's cup of tea if you're not into history. The food was good, I liked the made to order omelet and the bananas foster French toast. I believe we paid more for the experience than the food, $32.00, could have gone to a cheaper brunch without the specialness of the house itself. I feel it was worth the price to experience it once, wouldn't necessarily go back there to eat.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

One of the best brunch experiences we've ever had: dining in a cozy room next to a fireplace, overlooking Lake Geneva. Food was fresh and classic; the made-to-order Eggs Benedict were luxurious. Service was warm, charming, attentive and the champagne glasses were kept full. We are really looking forward to going back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great Brunch. Great fun, ambience, and an excellent choice of brunch items. Definitely recommend to all. Really must go at least once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch. Everything about it was wonderful. The hostess and our waitress were both attentive and friendly. All of the food was delicious. We were never hurried so we really took our time, enjoyed the refilled champagne, and got to sample almost all of the food offerings. We were seated on the glassed in porch and were next to the window so we had a view over the lake. It got a little noisy from the table next to us, so we were glad it wasnt completely full while we were there.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had Sunday brunch at the Baker House. There was champagne and the waitress kept our glasses full. The food selection was great - there was an omelet bar, French toast and biscuits and gravy, among other breakfast dishes. There was also chicken and seafood items if you were hungry for lunch. They had a chocolate fountain with Belgium chocolate and an assortment of items to dip in the chocolate, including strawberries. There wasn't anything I tried that I didn't like. Everything was made from scratch and you could certainly tell - it was delicious.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Wonderful time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I did the Sunday brunch with three girlfriends for my birthday. They sat us at a table out on the enclosed porch looking out on Lake Geneva!! Food was fabulous and unlimited champagne. Can't wait to try their Saturday tea.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Celebrated a 50th Birthday and Wedding Anniversary with friends and it was wonderful! We were treated to a private room where we thoroughly enjoyed the champagne brunch, The food was plentiful and delicious with a large variety! Would recommend this for any occasion!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great ambience, great service, great experience. We come every year for brunch. So much fun!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The Sunday brunch at The Baker House was outstanding! The food was all fresh and delicious! It was a beautiful setting and our while experience was perfect😁

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I went there for brunch with dear friends to celebrate their marriage two days prior. It was a lovely location. Great ambiance. The history alone is worth going for but the food was great as well.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Cozy, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

After driving 2 hours we were hungry,we gave our name and were told it would be about 5 min.15 minutes later the hostess tried to seat us with a table of 18, we waited because she didn't check the book and confused us with another group. Overall a neat place but way overpriced for brunch.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Afternoon Tea, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch. Great place. Try not to get stuck next to a large party you can't hear a thing with your group if you're in a small room.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We have been here twice now for champagne brunch and have enjoyed it both times. The staff has a lot of fun and are very attentive. The food is yummy.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Need brunch! Very interesting. Food very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Gorgeous Victorian House with various seating options both inside and outside across from Lake Geneva. We went for Sunday brunch. Cost was approximately $32 per person and well worth it - a great variety of foods and desserts and excellent quality - no complaints here! I thought the waitstaff outfits needed a bit of updating - yes they fit the era but were a little dowdy. Overall EXCELLENT BRUNCH AND VENUE!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I visited the Baker House for Sunday brunch on 9/25/16 and again on 10/30/16 both times we were celebrating a 70th birthday. This is a truly unique restaurant that serves up both good food and an enjoyable experience. The staff and the service they provide is top notch. They are all pleasant and willing to please. They engage in conversation, and encourage you to stay and enjoy both the ambiance and the food, for as long as you like. I am thinking we will make the Baker House a regular destination even when we don't have a special occasion to celebrate. It is well worth the 2 hour round trip drive from Cary IL. The only suggestions I have is that I wish they served regular dinners during the week days as I'm not really into the small bites and expensive drinks. Also, both my reservations were made in advance through Open Table. I found the process not very user friendly. Just when I was ready to call to book in person, I was surprised to receive an email that said my reservation had gone through and was confirmed.
I did like the fact that they sent followup email reminders. While I didn't really need the reminder I felt better THEY knew we were coming! All in all a 6 star experience!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Wow! I was blown away by the ambiance, service, and the food!! Great place

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Dinner was great, the view was beautiful and service was outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We have now been at the Baker House several times. We love going there to eat. The food is always great and we always have a good time with the hats.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We hadn't gone for dinner but for the interactive musical murder mystery theater, it was wonderful and the cast were fantastic. I still say Mrs. Ivory had more of a motive to poison BeBe than Mrs Hamilton and definitely had more of the moral fortitude to do it, but as our team mates from France (a wonderful young couple) supposed, the simple deduction was the answer. We will return for another attempted dissection of stratagems....in other words, it was fun for those that like solving mysteries.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

OUr first time at the Baker and we were really surprised with the lovely rooms, the great small plate options and the wonderful pianist. All in all a great experience - though I really hate wearing a hat! : )

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We love this restaurant. We go every year in August for my birthday during
the art show. The food is excellent along with the service. Our request to
sit on the porch and eat was met. It was such a beautiful view of the water.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went for brunch again and it was fabulous as always!!! Can't wait to go back!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Beautiful views but the food was not great. There was a murder mystery and some bachelorette parties going on so service to us was not that great since we were not a part of it. Also expressed an interest in a dish but said I would hold off on ordering it. The waitress brought it out even though I hadn't ordered it. And it was very cold in there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 5, 2016

One-of-a-kind atmosphere and friendly staff. LOVED the history behind the place and the dining areas. Enjoyed the toast to the sunset in the backyard with the other guests. Food was just so-so, definitely overpriced for what we got.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Such an excellent choice to eat here . Food was excellent and drinks good . I loved the touch of hats you could try on and have fun . The place is just beautiful with an outdoor area that had fire pits and a view of Lake Geneva . We WILL be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.