Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Baked in Kansas City

Baked In Kansas City is a locally-owned bakery, bistro and bar featuring French style patisseries & desserts baked daily and full service breakfast & lunch served daily from 7am-2:30pm.

706 Westport Road
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
European, French, American

Hours of Operation:
Now Open

7A.M.-3P.M.

Daily

Kitchen Hours are
7A.M.-2:30P.M.

Cross Street:
Clark

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 561-2253

Website:
http://www.bakedinkansascity.com/

Catering:
Contact Baked In Kansas City for custom birthday cakes, wedding cakes, retirement cakes, organic artisan breads, sweet and savory breakfast patisseries for business meetings or special events and carry out or delivery quiches.

Parking Details:
Private Lot Directly Across Westport Road from our Building.

Executive Chef:
Exec Chef Ashton King & Pastry Chef Joey Phillips

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Baked in Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.4

ambience

3.5

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (8)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
See All
Casual (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Cozy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Healthy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Seasonal (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Romantic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
People Watching (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

My 2 friends and I came for our regular birthday lunch to Baked in Kansas City. We sat near the window inside, as it was hot outside. I had a croissant sandwich , with the best croissant I have had for many years. Friends were happy with their meals. Two of us had flourless chocolate cake for dessert. Amazingly good. The baking tradition from Napoleons bakery lives on here. The wait staff was very sweet , attentive and responsive. Food came in a good amount of time. Like this place a lot, great place for lunch...

Patio outside is nice in the evening.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Service was slow and food came out at the wrong temperature (cold sausage in the polenta breakfast bowl!) HOWEVER, once I pointed this out to the server, she immediately had a new dish made for me and discounted my meal. For that reason, I plan to give them another try as I found the dish to be very tasty the second time around.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I think the food at Baked is great and have bragged on it to many people. However, I was a little disappointed this time. I ordered half sandwich/half salad. The flavor was great, but the sandwich was skimpy. Usually, the generous helping of chicken salad holds the bun way up. This time you couldn't see it when both bun halves were in place. It was also missing its garnish. We all have an off day now & then. Maybe this was theirs.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Quick Bite, Casual, Comfort Food, Cozy, People Watching, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was fine, nothing special. Service was really slow, especially at the bakery.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food great, waiter service fine, but kitchen and/or wait help must have been slammed by Easter brunch crowd - waiter took too long to arrive and food took way too long to appear. I'll only go back for everyday eating and only in small group (less than 4).

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Dined for easter brunch. Staff seemed stressed, orders were changed because they seemed to be low on food and running out of plates/mugs. However, we have been there before and it's been excellent. We were just disappointed for this experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I would recommend any of the baked goods- the scone breakfast sandwiches are great and different than any other location.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Easter brunch here. The waitstaff was pretty slow based on how empty the restaurant was. However, we weren't really in a hurry so that didn't matter that much to us. Everyone was very nice and the food was delicious. We will definitely be returning

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Awful service. Took an hour and a half to get our food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Drinks came quickly. Server acted as if we were bothering her. Food took a while. Quiche was cold, Nutella pancakes were cold. I would have sent the food back, but was afraid it wouldn't have mattered. Went to pay the check, a girl came to register, asked if we were checking out. I said "Yes." Her reply as she dropped my check, "I'll get your server." No one ever asked, "How was everything?" I would have told them. They didn't care! I won't go back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great baked goods, omelette was good but goat cheese quality seemed underwhelming.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Went with my brother who is from out of town. Had a reservation. No wait on our reservation. Service was slow to greet us. We went for breakfast, ordered pretty simple things, omelet & Benedict. Waited over an hour for our food and staff hardly came over. Place was busy, but not when we came in and ordered. Plates were hot, but food was clearly under a heat lamp for quite some time.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Baked goods are excellent! All of our breakfast items were prepared well and arrived to the table at the appropriate temperature. Only minor complaint, the back part of the restaurant is VERY dark. On a sunny day it was strange to be seated in such a dark area.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great overall. Quite a few things on the menu that our friends want to have again or try because someone else in our group ordered it or order because there were too many things on menu that looked good. Hard to find good breakfast / brunch place that is so
good and also takes reservations. Easily one of our top two or three KC restaurants for breakfast or brunch.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Love this place....my new hangout spot...love it beautiful atmosphere and the staff was very helpful and welcomed me.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Organic, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I made a reservation for a group of around 8 young professionals that was meeting for breakfast. The management and staff went above and beyond to make sure that we were taken care of and had everything that we needed. Having tried other breakfast spots in earlier months for our meeting place, we did not expect such hospitality for our large group. Large groups seem to generally make staff grumpy, but not here! We felt so welcome and wanted. Will definitely be bringing my group back here for future meetings. Wonderful place, FANTASTIC food. Just, everything was terrific.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Casual, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I love brunch here!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

2nd time ordering spinach salad missing 2 key ingredients, biscuits & gravy cold, and soup was way too much meat to broth ratio.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Brunch is not complete without their La Belle mimosa.... A must have!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Quaint breakfast cafe. Enjoyed it.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas Eve brunch for family.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I love the food here, but service has been extremely slow on multiple occasions. Even when they are not crowded, expect to wait a long time. We went at brunch, didn't order apps, alcohol, or anything complicated and it took over an hour from start to finish.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The server took about 10 minutes to greet us but after that provided great service. The food was delicious and the mimosas were generous for a very reasonable price.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fantastic bakery items! Service is slow to assist and cooks are inconsistent. If you get a great cook, brunch is enjoyable!! But you can't go wrong with their baked goods available in the case!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I was celebrating brunch with a friend for her birthday. The food was great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was great. Scene was fun.
Service was TERRIBLE. Took forever to get drinks. Longer to get food. We had to get up from the table and approach the server to pay because she was taking so long.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I've made a reservation through the Open Table but there was nobody at the front door to check me in. There was a sign "Seat yourself". All of the tables had dirty dishes or has people sitting at them. I finally had to push some dishes aside and sit dow. It took a server a while to get to me even though there were only two other table in the whole establishment. I had a salmon club sandwich with sweet potato fries and they were decent. When the server brought my check, I was charged $2 more for my meal than was listed in the menu. I asked the server about it and she nonchalantly stated that there must be a mistake. I paid cash and asked for a copy or my receipt. She said that it's not possible to print another copy of the receipt since I paid cash. After this I asked to speak to a manager. It took him awhile to come out. He apologized for the mistake on the menu, but did nothing to get me to come back. I am a manager in a restaurant and I would offer a gift certificate, a discount or a free pastry. This manager did nothing of that sort.
This place is poorly staffed and poorly managed. It was a disappointing experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Came in with high hopes. The waitress was nice. There were very few people in the restaurant when we ordered. It took a long time to get our food. My wife's pancakes were burned (they were comped) and my gravy tasted ok but it was lukewarm. The restaurant is poorly run and needs new management. Clearly it has potential...by the time we left there were a lot of people there.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Close to our hotel in Westport. Got immediate seatingon the patio. Did was pretty good. Waitress was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The selection of breakfast items was very good. The pancakes were not hot when served but tasted good. The Eggs Benedict was the best we have ever had. When we arrived, there were very few patrons there. It was quiet and had plenty of seating to choose from. By the time we were getting ready to leave, it was hard to hear each other because of the conversations at the other tables. The server was very nice but as she got more tables, we had to search for her to get our bill. We will always go early as this seems to be the best time.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We loved Baked! What a Westport treasure - ask for one of their specialty coffee drinks, but get it half-sweet!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Baked is one of my favorites. The last two times I visited the preparation time was very slow. This time the food was warm when served, but the previous time it was not.

I truly think they have the best pancakes in the city...but when busy, it's a different experience!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The portions were large enough to share for many appetites. The cranberry scone and ham sandwich was delicious, the potatoes crispy. The Challah bread French toast was fluffy and tasty. Everyone was pleased with their breakfast selections. The waitress did a pretty good job considering the size of the party.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 5, 2016

I have been to Baked in Kansas City twice for brunch; once on a quiet weekday and once on a busy weekend. When it isn't busy everything is lovely, but once things pick up on the weekend this restaurant can't handle it. We waited for our food for over an hour, and by the time it got to us it was mushy from sitting under a heat lamp. The servers were clearly in over their heads, and seemed to be working desperately with no hope of catching up.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 28, 2016

I was really disappointed in my meal, as was my husband. The polenta is my polenta breakfast bowl had no flavor at all and lacked the consistency of well prepared polenta. It gave the feeling of eating elmers glue. It was visually appealing, but lacked the taste to back it up. My husband potatoes were extremely salty for even a salt lover like me. Our server was fantastic and attentive, so no complaints there. I'd try Baked again but definitely not the polenta.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great breakfast spot in KC! Came here over the weekend and enjoyed everything we had. Definitely order the pecan rolls- you won't be disappointed!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 25, 2016

My first visit here was wonderful. Our server was attentive, but not intrusive. I was having lunch with an old friend I hadn't seen in sometime and although we stayed a little beyond closing time the staff were gracious and didn't rush us out. The food was fresh and good.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 25, 2016

We were celebrating my friend's birthday and our waiter didn't say or do one thing about it. We told him several times. He never fillled my friend's ice tea nor did he offer desert, we had to ask for the deserts. Then it seemed like he was going to forget to give us our ticket. Maybe he was just not having a great day but he wasn't the best. Otherwise everything else was the usual fine.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Eggs Benidict are excelent!! Service is very slow.
.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was bad, the service awful and the ambience worse.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.