About Baked in Kansas City

Baked In Kansas City is a locally-owned bakery, bistro and bar featuring French style patisseries & desserts baked daily and full service breakfast & lunch served daily from 7am-2:30pm.

706 Westport Road
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
European, French, American

Hours of Operation:
Now Open

7A.M.-3P.M.

Daily

Kitchen Hours are
7A.M.-2:30P.M.

Cross Street:
Clark

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 561-2253

Website:
http://www.bakedinkansascity.com/

Catering:
Contact Baked In Kansas City for custom birthday cakes, wedding cakes, retirement cakes, organic artisan breads, sweet and savory breakfast patisseries for business meetings or special events and carry out or delivery quiches.

Parking Details:
Private Lot Directly Across Westport Road from our Building.

Executive Chef:
Exec Chef Ashton King & Pastry Chef Joey Phillips

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Baked in Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Sunday Lunch (8)
Casual (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
See All
Cozy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Organic (2)
Healthy (2)
Live Sports (1)
Romantic (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
People Watching (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fun (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
170 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Baked goods are excellent! All of our breakfast items were prepared well and arrived to the table at the appropriate temperature. Only minor complaint, the back part of the restaurant is VERY dark. On a sunny day it was strange to be seated in such a dark area.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great overall. Quite a few things on the menu that our friends want to have again or try because someone else in our group ordered it or order because there were too many things on menu that looked good. Hard to find good breakfast / brunch place that is so

good and also takes reservations. Easily one of our top two or three KC restaurants for breakfast or brunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Love this place....my new hangout spot...love it beautiful atmosphere and the staff was very helpful and welcomed me.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Organic, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I made a reservation for a group of around 8 young professionals that was meeting for breakfast. The management and staff went above and beyond to make sure that we were taken care of and had everything that we needed. Having tried other breakfast spots in earlier months for our meeting place, we did not expect such hospitality for our large group. Large groups seem to generally make staff grumpy, but not here! We felt so welcome and wanted. Will definitely be bringing my group back here for future meetings. Wonderful place, FANTASTIC food. Just, everything was terrific.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I love brunch here!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

2nd time ordering spinach salad missing 2 key ingredients, biscuits & gravy cold, and soup was way too much meat to broth ratio.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Brunch is not complete without their La Belle mimosa.... A must have!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas Eve brunch for family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I love the food here, but service has been extremely slow on multiple occasions. Even when they are not crowded, expect to wait a long time. We went at brunch, didn't order apps, alcohol, or anything complicated and it took over an hour from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The server took about 10 minutes to greet us but after that provided great service. The food was delicious and the mimosas were generous for a very reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fantastic bakery items! Service is slow to assist and cooks are inconsistent. If you get a great cook, brunch is enjoyable!! But you can't go wrong with their baked goods available in the case!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I was celebrating brunch with a friend for her birthday. The food was great.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was great. Scene was fun.

Service was TERRIBLE. Took forever to get drinks. Longer to get food. We had to get up from the table and approach the server to pay because she was taking so long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I've made a reservation through the Open Table but there was nobody at the front door to check me in. There was a sign "Seat yourself". All of the tables had dirty dishes or has people sitting at them. I finally had to push some dishes aside and sit dow. It took a server a while to get to me even though there were only two other table in the whole establishment. I had a salmon club sandwich with sweet potato fries and they were decent. When the server brought my check, I was charged $2 more for my meal than was listed in the menu. I asked the server about it and she nonchalantly stated that there must be a mistake. I paid cash and asked for a copy or my receipt. She said that it's not possible to print another copy of the receipt since I paid cash. After this I asked to speak to a manager. It took him awhile to come out. He apologized for the mistake on the menu, but did nothing to get me to come back. I am a manager in a restaurant and I would offer a gift certificate, a discount or a free pastry. This manager did nothing of that sort.

This place is poorly staffed and poorly managed. It was a disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Came in with high hopes. The waitress was nice. There were very few people in the restaurant when we ordered. It took a long time to get our food. My wife's pancakes were burned (they were comped) and my gravy tasted ok but it was lukewarm. The restaurant is poorly run and needs new management. Clearly it has potential...by the time we left there were a lot of people there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Close to our hotel in Westport. Got immediate seatingon the patio. Did was pretty good. Waitress was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The selection of breakfast items was very good. The pancakes were not hot when served but tasted good. The Eggs Benedict was the best we have ever had. When we arrived, there were very few patrons there. It was quiet and had plenty of seating to choose from. By the time we were getting ready to leave, it was hard to hear each other because of the conversations at the other tables. The server was very nice but as she got more tables, we had to search for her to get our bill. We will always go early as this seems to be the best time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We loved Baked! What a Westport treasure - ask for one of their specialty coffee drinks, but get it half-sweet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Baked is one of my favorites. The last two times I visited the preparation time was very slow. This time the food was warm when served, but the previous time it was not.

I truly think they have the best pancakes in the city...but when busy, it's a different experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The portions were large enough to share for many appetites. The cranberry scone and ham sandwich was delicious, the potatoes crispy. The Challah bread French toast was fluffy and tasty. Everyone was pleased with their breakfast selections. The waitress did a pretty good job considering the size of the party.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 5, 2016

I have been to Baked in Kansas City twice for brunch; once on a quiet weekday and once on a busy weekend. When it isn't busy everything is lovely, but once things pick up on the weekend this restaurant can't handle it. We waited for our food for over an hour, and by the time it got to us it was mushy from sitting under a heat lamp. The servers were clearly in over their heads, and seemed to be working desperately with no hope of catching up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 28, 2016

I was really disappointed in my meal, as was my husband. The polenta is my polenta breakfast bowl had no flavor at all and lacked the consistency of well prepared polenta. It gave the feeling of eating elmers glue. It was visually appealing, but lacked the taste to back it up. My husband potatoes were extremely salty for even a salt lover like me. Our server was fantastic and attentive, so no complaints there. I'd try Baked again but definitely not the polenta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great breakfast spot in KC! Came here over the weekend and enjoyed everything we had. Definitely order the pecan rolls- you won't be disappointed!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 25, 2016

My first visit here was wonderful. Our server was attentive, but not intrusive. I was having lunch with an old friend I hadn't seen in sometime and although we stayed a little beyond closing time the staff were gracious and didn't rush us out. The food was fresh and good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 25, 2016

We were celebrating my friend's birthday and our waiter didn't say or do one thing about it. We told him several times. He never fillled my friend's ice tea nor did he offer desert, we had to ask for the deserts. Then it seemed like he was going to forget to give us our ticket. Maybe he was just not having a great day but he wasn't the best. Otherwise everything else was the usual fine.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Eggs Benidict are excelent!! Service is very slow.

.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Worst service ever. Food poisoning from the salmon benedict. If you are looking for a great brunch spot in westport go to Beer Kitchen instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was bad, the service awful and the ambience worse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 10, 2016

I got the busciuts and gravy. I've definitely had better.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great place to dine in or grab a pastry and go. I had a planned a day out to run errands and used OpenTable to make a reservation for brunch by myself--a rare treat. I ordered a perfectly executed, classic eggs benedict--eggs perfectly and beautifully poached easy-medium, with the yolk oozing out and melding with the lemon-tinged hollandaise sauce. Add the delicious ham and the huge, buttery, house-made English muffins and wonderful french fries on the side that it a very satisfying dish.

I also left with two boxes of delicious pastries. Don't leave without the espresso buttercream brownie. Not only was it visually appealing but it was a fantastic dessert to cap off my day of errands.

Service was great. My server was personable but professional, as well. I hope to dine here again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 26, 2016

I love baked. the food is great, not expensive and the variety is excellent. Isay that even though I consistently stay with the salmon blt. Baked goods are appetizing. I always take something home.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very good food. Chicken salad was awesome ! Only thing I do not like ( I spoke of it on three occasions with my server) is that they NEVER have any soup other then tomato which is ok but nothing special. They do say they will be switching up the soups shortly after the new Chef gets trained on preparing all menu items. All and all the food is great !

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great place, highly recommend! I would like to go back and try more items from the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 29, 2016

We were placed in the back room directly next to the only other table in the room. Our order came out wrong and my date was left with no food while mine sat and my eggs for cold. I requested balsamic vinager and recieved a vingerette, we were never given refills, our water wasn't cold, I was never easiest if I'd like another beer and my English muffin was so stale that I couldn't cut it with the knife, my Brussel sprouts seem boiled and soggy in water. We've had much better service and much better food. They were not busy and we were u sure why we had such bad service.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was good but the service was slow. The wait staff forgot food items or said he would be back with the food/drink and never came back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were not impressed with this restaurant. It was mediocre. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 1, 2016

We've gone a couple of times for brunch. Hubby enjoys the sticky buns and French toast and I get the eggs bennie. It's good. A nice amount of black forest ham is yummy on the bennie, though the hollandaise is a bit too lemony. Overall, we like it.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Really enjoyed the food and the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was delicious! Went here twice in 3 days and both times the food was amazing. The servers were also great, but both times it took a significant amount of time to get our food. The first time was 30 minutes and the second was probably 20. Regardless, I'm a fan and will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 3, 2016

40 + minutes for food is too long.

I will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 31, 2016

It doesn't matter if you eat there on a Thursday at 930a or Sunday at 930a, waiting 45 minutes for food is unacceptable.

I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great variety! Love the large mimosas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 20, 2016

I had the Chef's Special. And other than the poached eggs being a little over cooked for my particular taste, it was very well presented and very tasty.We went for Sunday brunch and in spite of making reservations, there was still a 20 minute wait; so be prepared. They need a bigger waiting area. The wait staff is great, attentive, but not overbearing.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 27, 2016

When my guest and I arrived, the staff walked by us multiple times without even a smile or "hello". We waited a good 5 mins at the "please wait to be seated" sign before someone even acknowledged us. It was uncomfortable and off-putting. Once we were finally seated we had decent service and food that was decent as well. The best part of the experience was just being able to eat outside on a incredibly gorgeous day. I'd eat there again but I'm still put off by the customer service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Service needs some work. I always come back for the food but the service is always sub par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 27, 2016

My former roommate considered Baked to be the best place for him and his girlfriend.

I finally went with a friend, and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The Brussel sprouts, the mussels, the rosemary chicken...great! The dimly-lit booths were intimate and romantic. I've wanted to go back ever since!

But the hours changed. They now close at 3pm, which doesn't work so well for my schedule.

I finally suggested the place to another friend, and we met on Saturday for brunch. It was a nice day, so perhaps that caused it to be busy. My friend chose to sit inside. When I arrived, she was already waiting on a water refill (small glasses).

The server was friendly, and perhaps he was new. The nice weather had be forecasted correctly, so it should not have been a surprise. So, I'm wondering if the service is always an issue at brunch time...?

He kept running out of coffee. Once, we received the bottom of the pot. The next time, he split the rest of the pot between us, so we both had half cups. We had to ask repeatedly for creamer, for water.

I ordered a sandwich, a salad, and a side of fresh fruit. He assumed I meant the half sandwich/salad special, so that's what I got. It was an understandable mistake, but the sandwich was quite small and the half fell apart. I never received the side of fruit until I asked another member of staff. Then, after I finished my meal and the fruit, the server brought my fruit.

I will return again, but it won't be when they appear too busy. The server was friendly, but issues with water, coffee shortage, neglected creamer, not getting my side, etc...I was embarrassed in front of my friend after I'd suggested the place.

I did not penalize the server with my tip, since he was friendly and may have been overwhelmed, but I'll see on future visits if this is an ongoing issue.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 21, 2016

I LOVE Baked, the food is great, bakery outstanding but sells out quickly. Service can be a little erratic, but that is part of the charm of the place. HOWEVER, lets please get the menu in shape. I love the Salmon BLT which is still listed on the menu as $10, but the actual charge is $13. I don't know about other items but this needs to be fixed. I could be really nasty every time, and argue, but it is not worth spoiling the experience. It really does not cost a lot to update the menu prices.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 21, 2016

I ordered the Avacado Benedict and to my surprise, the avacados were literally hard! I couldn't even cut them with a fork - wondering why the cook thought it was ok to put them on my dish? I would have respected them more if they just would have told me they didn't have any ripe ones! My friend had the chicken fried steak and it was very dry and had no flavor! It was obvious this place is lacking in quality control OR they just don't taste their own food! Maybe it's ok if you stick to the pastries. I had an almond crescent and it was descent although they were a little skimpy on the filling.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Nice spot! Indoor restaurant seating is a little dark and intimate for a casual brunch with a friend, but I suppose that might make it a perfect spot for hungover brunch. Food is delicious, although a bit greasy. (Again, great for hungover brunch!) Prices are reasonable, service was fine. Not my favorite spot, but I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our dining experience at Baked was ok, though there is little to highlight. I was happy to have gone their, but will likely not be going again. To me, it seems the restaurant/bakery is not quite sure what it is or what it wants to be. While the menu has a nice variety and the food itself was good, the ambiance and service seem to be a bit in the air.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.