About Baked in Kansas City

706 Westport Road
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

Baked In Kansas City is a locally-owned bakery, bistro and bar featuring French style patisseries & desserts baked daily and full service breakfast & lunch served daily from 7am-2:30pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
European, French, American

Hours of Operation:
Now Open

7A.M.-3P.M.

Daily

Kitchen Hours are
7A.M.-2:30P.M.

Cross Street:
Clark

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 561-2253

Website:
http://www.bakedinkansascity.com/

Catering:
Contact Baked In Kansas City for custom birthday cakes, wedding cakes, retirement cakes, organic artisan breads, sweet and savory breakfast patisseries for business meetings or special events and carry out or delivery quiches.

Parking Details:
Private Lot Directly Across Westport Road from our Building.

Executive Chef:
Exec Chef Ashton King & Pastry Chef Joey Phillips

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Baked in Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Kansas City
Great for Brunch
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in 39th St / Westport / Midtown ›

great for brunch (13)
neighborhood gem (7)
great for lunch (6)
See All
fit for foodies (5)
good for groups (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
special occasion (3)
kid-friendly (2)
romantic (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
143 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was bad, the service awful and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was bad, the service awful and the ambience worse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I got the busciuts and gravy. I've defin ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I got the busciuts and gravy. I've definitely had better.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to dine in or grab a pastry ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great place to dine in or grab a pastry and go. I had a planned a day out to run errands and used OpenTable to make a reservation for brunch by myself--a rare treat. I ordered a perfectly executed, classic eggs benedict--eggs perfectly and beautifully poached easy-medium, with the yolk oozing out and melding with the lemon-tinged hollandaise sauce. Add the delicious ham and the huge, buttery, house-made English muffins and wonderful french fries on the side that it a very satisfying dish.

I also left with two boxes of delicious pastries. Don't leave without the espresso buttercream brownie. Not only was it visually appealing but it was a fantastic dessert to cap off my day of errands.

Service was great. My server was personable but professional, as well. I hope to dine here again soon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I love baked. the food is great, not ex ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I love baked. the food is great, not expensive and the variety is excellent. Isay that even though I consistently stay with the salmon blt. Baked goods are appetizing. I always take something home.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. Chicken salad was awesom ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very good food. Chicken salad was awesome ! Only thing I do not like ( I spoke of it on three occasions with my server) is that they NEVER have any soup other then tomato which is ok but nothing special. They do say they will be switching up the soups shortly after the new Chef gets trained on preparing all menu items. All and all the food is great !

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place, highly recommend! I would l ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great place, highly recommend! I would like to go back and try more items from the menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's been better

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We were placed in the back room directly next to the only other table in the room. Our order came out wrong and my date was left with no food while mine sat and my eggs for cold. I requested balsamic vinager and recieved a vingerette, we were never given refills, our water wasn't cold, I was never easiest if I'd like another beer and my English muffin was so stale that I couldn't cut it with the knife, my Brussel sprouts seem boiled and soggy in water. We've had much better service and much better food. They were not busy and we were u sure why we had such bad service.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

So-So

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was good but the service was slow. The wait staff forgot food items or said he would be back with the food/drink and never came back.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We were not impressed with this restaura ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were not impressed with this restaurant. It was mediocre. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

It's Good

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We've gone a couple of times for brunch. Hubby enjoys the sticky buns and French toast and I get the eggs bennie. It's good. A nice amount of black forest ham is yummy on the bennie, though the hollandaise is a bit too lemony. Overall, we like it.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Really enjoyed the food and the service!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Really enjoyed the food and the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious! Went here twice ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was delicious! Went here twice in 3 days and both times the food was amazing. The servers were also great, but both times it took a significant amount of time to get our food. The first time was 30 minutes and the second was probably 20. Regardless, I'm a fan and will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

40 + minutes for food is too long. I wil ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

40 + minutes for food is too long.

I will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

It doesn't matter if you eat there on a ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

It doesn't matter if you eat there on a Thursday at 930a or Sunday at 930a, waiting 45 minutes for food is unacceptable.

I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Great variety! Love the large mimosas!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great variety! Love the large mimosas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Service

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

I had the Chef's Special. And other than the poached eggs being a little over cooked for my particular taste, it was very well presented and very tasty.We went for Sunday brunch and in spite of making reservations, there was still a 20 minute wait; so be prepared. They need a bigger waiting area. The wait staff is great, attentive, but not overbearing.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Recommend for dining outside

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

When my guest and I arrived, the staff walked by us multiple times without even a smile or "hello". We waited a good 5 mins at the "please wait to be seated" sign before someone even acknowledged us. It was uncomfortable and off-putting. Once we were finally seated we had decent service and food that was decent as well. The best part of the experience was just being able to eat outside on a incredibly gorgeous day. I'd eat there again but I'm still put off by the customer service.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Service needs some work. I always come b ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Service needs some work. I always come back for the food but the service is always sub par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Be careful when you go...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

My former roommate considered Baked to be the best place for him and his girlfriend.

I finally went with a friend, and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The Brussel sprouts, the mussels, the rosemary chicken...great! The dimly-lit booths were intimate and romantic. I've wanted to go back ever since!

But the hours changed. They now close at 3pm, which doesn't work so well for my schedule.

I finally suggested the place to another friend, and we met on Saturday for brunch. It was a nice day, so perhaps that caused it to be busy. My friend chose to sit inside. When I arrived, she was already waiting on a water refill (small glasses).

The server was friendly, and perhaps he was new. The nice weather had be forecasted correctly, so it should not have been a surprise. So, I'm wondering if the service is always an issue at brunch time...?

He kept running out of coffee. Once, we received the bottom of the pot. The next time, he split the rest of the pot between us, so we both had half cups. We had to ask repeatedly for creamer, for water.

I ordered a sandwich, a salad, and a side of fresh fruit. He assumed I meant the half sandwich/salad special, so that's what I got. It was an understandable mistake, but the sandwich was quite small and the half fell apart. I never received the side of fruit until I asked another member of staff. Then, after I finished my meal and the fruit, the server brought my fruit.

I will return again, but it won't be when they appear too busy. The server was friendly, but issues with water, coffee shortage, neglected creamer, not getting my side, etc...I was embarrassed in front of my friend after I'd suggested the place.

I did not penalize the server with my tip, since he was friendly and may have been overwhelmed, but I'll see on future visits if this is an ongoing issue.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

a super brunch

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I LOVE Baked, the food is great, bakery outstanding but sells out quickly. Service can be a little erratic, but that is part of the charm of the place. HOWEVER, lets please get the menu in shape. I love the Salmon BLT which is still listed on the menu as $10, but the actual charge is $13. I don't know about other items but this needs to be fixed. I could be really nasty every time, and argue, but it is not worth spoiling the experience. It really does not cost a lot to update the menu prices.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Avacado Benedict and Chicken Fried Steak

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I ordered the Avacado Benedict and to my surprise, the avacados were literally hard! I couldn't even cut them with a fork - wondering why the cook thought it was ok to put them on my dish? I would have respected them more if they just would have told me they didn't have any ripe ones! My friend had the chicken fried steak and it was very dry and had no flavor! It was obvious this place is lacking in quality control OR they just don't taste their own food! Maybe it's ok if you stick to the pastries. I had an almond crescent and it was descent although they were a little skimpy on the filling.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Decent Brunch Spot

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Nice spot! Indoor restaurant seating is a little dark and intimate for a casual brunch with a friend, but I suppose that might make it a perfect spot for hungover brunch. Food is delicious, although a bit greasy. (Again, great for hungover brunch!) Prices are reasonable, service was fine. Not my favorite spot, but I would definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Fine, but nothing to write home about

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our dining experience at Baked was ok, though there is little to highlight. I was happy to have gone their, but will likely not be going again. To me, it seems the restaurant/bakery is not quite sure what it is or what it wants to be. While the menu has a nice variety and the food itself was good, the ambiance and service seem to be a bit in the air.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

So-so

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food is beyond amazing everytime I go to Baked. However, the service is less than desirable. To get someone to wait on you and consistently get what you need it appears they need to hire more staff.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

The bakery is great

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

The bakery is great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Brunch

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Best brunch I've had in a while. Delicious food, charming place, friendly service. We will certainly be back.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good choice

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Baked is our favorite brunch place! It's always yummy and my picky eaters in the family can always find something they love.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

I was looking for a place to get brunch before attending an event at The Foundry. Baked in Kansas City was absolutely an amazing find! I made reservations in advance (which I recommend) and when we arrived our table was the only empty one. The food was spectacular and the mimosa was delicious (and a big portion!). We were very happy with our visit and will be going back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious brunch

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

It took a while for me to be greeted and sat by the hostess. The small restaurant was bustling at 1 pm for Sunday brunch. I was glad my party of four had made a reservation. All food ordered was very good. I could taste the wheat bread was homemade from the density and rich flavor. A place I would revisit with my family.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Delicious Food and Quaint

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

The food was delicious with lots and lots of fun choices! Service was spectacular. Couldn't complain about one thing. We usually go to Blue Stem for Sunday brunch. We will have trouble decided which to pick next time!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Not your ordinary bun!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

Love a delicious hamburger on a brioche bun. Waaay better than plain-old, plain-old. My companion was floating away from ecstasy over the eggs Benedict. A fine time we had.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Exceeded my expectations

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

I would recommend this place to anyone. Everything from our cinnamon roll to quiche was spectacular. I only wish we had tried it sooner!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yes, Yes, YES!!!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

I was a little disappointed that Baked in Kansas City isn't open for dinner. I went there for dinner during Restaurant Week and it was excellent. That aside, this place is amazing for brunch. The food was delicious, the service fast and friendly, and the desserts we took home were out of this world. I'd definitely recommend trying out their brunch and make sure you take something home from their pastry case. You'll be glad you did.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Something different in Westport

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

Had some snafus with service and timing, but nice menu choices. Told drink would be "on the house" but still showed on bill. Yes, they removed it after I said something. Waitress seemed to be preoccupied and there may have been only one other table!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Amazing food but our waitress was slow a ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

Amazing food but our waitress was slow and hidden and we were one of the only tables in the place. We are gonna go back though because food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Awsome Breakfast Selections

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 2, 2015

The food is fantastic! The steak & egg breakfast sandwich is amazingly prepared. Pare it with the house salad for your side.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was fantastic, I have been 3 ti ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 29, 2015

The food was fantastic, I have been 3 times now and every time the food just great. Out server, Kelsey, was wonderful and very helpful. Today I had the smoked turkey club, a recommendation from the chef, and it did not disappoint. I would give 6 stars if I could.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrible atmosphere

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

We had reservations and were seated right next to the hostess stand. And I mean right next to the hostess stand, it was basically touching the table, and people were crowded around it. There shouldn't even be a table here to begin with. We decided not to stay when told it would be a 2 hour wait (really?) for another table. The layout was choppy, very dark and dingy for a breakfast restaurant. I would not recommend going here if you want a nice cheery place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Baked Goods on Sale!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 30, 2015

We love dining on the tapas menu and sharing the plates, but then around 8pm the baked goods go on sale for 1/2 price & we stock up for breakfast and other needs for the week. Such a great deal and we love them! we will continue to return to Baked!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I had a confirmed reservation, a handy r ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 25, 2015

I had a confirmed reservation, a handy reminder on my mobile and they had an OPEN sign in the window.

So- Happy Memorial Day! Why did you confirm if you aren't even there?!

A travel-day back home (opposite direction) for both couples' cars. Not too happy with you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.