HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Baked in Kansas City

3.9
188 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
European
Top Tags:
  • Great for Brunch
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Great for Lunch

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Baked In Kansas City is a locally-owned bakery, bistro and bar featuring French style patisseries & desserts baked daily and full service breakfast & lunch served daily from 7am-2:30pm.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
European, French, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Now Open

7A.M.-3P.M.

Daily

Kitchen Hours are
7A.M.-2:30P.M.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(816) 561-2253
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Exec Chef Ashton King & Pastry Chef Joey Phillips
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Contact Baked In Kansas City for custom birthday cakes, wedding cakes, retirement cakes, organic artisan breads, sweet and savory breakfast patisseries for business meetings or special events and carry out or delivery quiches.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Clark
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Private Lot Directly Across Westport Road from our Building.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 188 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.9  based on all time ratings
4.0
food
3.7
service
3.7
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on July 29, 2017

We were there for our first writer's group meeting. I think we were the only folks there (the power was out in the kitchen..so no food besides baked goods already available)...actually...I found it fairly perfect...

Report
Helpful
viptallyho (Kansas City)
3.0  Dined on July 27, 2017

The salads and sandwiches are delicious. The service was a bit slow.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Oklahoma City)
4.0  Dined on July 16, 2017

Seating organization wasn't very good, but they were busy and we were seated about the time of our reservation.

The food more than made up for the wait! We met friends for brunch and it was delicious! Their gravy is amazing - we will come back next time we are in KC!

Report
Helpful
Dobbie (Kansas City)
4.0  Dined on July 9, 2017

Loved the polenta bowl!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
2.0  Dined on July 8, 2017

The service at Baked was very good. The server was attentive, gave us plenty of time to look over the menu and made sure we had everything we needed once the meals were served. My criticism of this restaurant was the HUGE problem they have with GNATS!!! We spent a lot of time waving them off and trying to keep them from getting into our food. When I addressed the server about this problem, she said that they were very aware of it and that the gnats were drawn to all the sweets. I asked if they had tried to do anything to take care of the problem and she said they had sprayed several times but they kept coming back. It significantly detracted from our overall dining experience. It was our first time dining there and was for a birthday. A bit disappointing.

Report
Helpful
CatherineA (Kansas City)
3.0  Dined on July 2, 2017

Went for brunch on a Sunday at 11. No problem getting in and seated right away with our reservation. Service was okay to start and then the food took quite a while, then our server vanished. I had the eggs Benedict and it was okay but nothing all that special, potatoes were the best part of the meal. I would recommend this place if you were running in to grab a baked good but expect to wait as time doesn't seem to be on their side.

Report
Helpful
vipyellowfinch (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on June 21, 2017

My 2 friends and I came for our regular birthday lunch to Baked in Kansas City. We sat near the window inside, as it was hot outside. I had a croissant sandwich , with the best croissant I have had for many years. Friends were happy with their meals. Two of us had flourless chocolate cake for dessert. Amazingly good. The baking tradition from Napoleons bakery lives on here. The wait staff was very sweet , attentive and responsive. Food came in a good amount of time. Like this place a lot, great place for lunch...

Patio outside is nice in the evening.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
3.0  Dined on June 11, 2017

Service was slow and food came out at the wrong temperature (cold sausage in the polenta breakfast bowl!) HOWEVER, once I pointed this out to the server, she immediately had a new dish made for me and discounted my meal. For that reason, I plan to give them another try as I found the dish to be very tasty the second time around.

Report
Helpful
cheryl (Kansas City)
3.0  Dined on June 9, 2017

I think the food at Baked is great and have bragged on it to many people. However, I was a little disappointed this time. I ordered half sandwich/half salad. The flavor was great, but the sandwich was skimpy. Usually, the generous helping of chicken salad holds the bun way up. This time you couldn't see it when both bun halves were in place. It was also missing its garnish. We all have an off day now & then. Maybe this was theirs.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
4.0  Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was fine, nothing special. Service was really slow, especially at the bakery.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
19