Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Baked in Kansas City

3.9
188 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
European
Top Tags:
  • Great for Brunch
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Great for Lunch

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Baked In Kansas City is a locally-owned bakery, bistro and bar featuring French style patisseries & desserts baked daily and full service breakfast & lunch served daily from 7am-2:30pm.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
European, French, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Now Open

7A.M.-3P.M.

Daily

Kitchen Hours are
7A.M.-2:30P.M.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(816) 561-2253
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Exec Chef Ashton King & Pastry Chef Joey Phillips
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Contact Baked In Kansas City for custom birthday cakes, wedding cakes, retirement cakes, organic artisan breads, sweet and savory breakfast patisseries for business meetings or special events and carry out or delivery quiches.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Clark
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Private Lot Directly Across Westport Road from our Building.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 188 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.9based on all time ratings
4.0
food
3.7
service
3.7
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on July 29, 2017

We were there for our first writer's group meeting. I think we were the only folks there (the power was out in the kitchen..so no food besides baked goods already available)...actually...I found it fairly perfect...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 27, 2017

The salads and sandwiches are delicious. The service was a bit slow.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 16, 2017

Seating organization wasn't very good, but they were busy and we were seated about the time of our reservation.

The food more than made up for the wait! We met friends for brunch and it was delicious! Their gravy is amazing - we will come back next time we are in KC!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 9, 2017

Loved the polenta bowl!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 8, 2017

The service at Baked was very good. The server was attentive, gave us plenty of time to look over the menu and made sure we had everything we needed once the meals were served. My criticism of this restaurant was the HUGE problem they have with GNATS!!! We spent a lot of time waving them off and trying to keep them from getting into our food. When I addressed the server about this problem, she said that they were very aware of it and that the gnats were drawn to all the sweets. I asked if they had tried to do anything to take care of the problem and she said they had sprayed several times but they kept coming back. It significantly detracted from our overall dining experience. It was our first time dining there and was for a birthday. A bit disappointing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 2, 2017

Went for brunch on a Sunday at 11. No problem getting in and seated right away with our reservation. Service was okay to start and then the food took quite a while, then our server vanished. I had the eggs Benedict and it was okay but nothing all that special, potatoes were the best part of the meal. I would recommend this place if you were running in to grab a baked good but expect to wait as time doesn't seem to be on their side.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 21, 2017

My 2 friends and I came for our regular birthday lunch to Baked in Kansas City. We sat near the window inside, as it was hot outside. I had a croissant sandwich , with the best croissant I have had for many years. Friends were happy with their meals. Two of us had flourless chocolate cake for dessert. Amazingly good. The baking tradition from Napoleons bakery lives on here. The wait staff was very sweet , attentive and responsive. Food came in a good amount of time. Like this place a lot, great place for lunch...

Patio outside is nice in the evening.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 11, 2017

Service was slow and food came out at the wrong temperature (cold sausage in the polenta breakfast bowl!) HOWEVER, once I pointed this out to the server, she immediately had a new dish made for me and discounted my meal. For that reason, I plan to give them another try as I found the dish to be very tasty the second time around.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 9, 2017

I think the food at Baked is great and have bragged on it to many people. However, I was a little disappointed this time. I ordered half sandwich/half salad. The flavor was great, but the sandwich was skimpy. Usually, the generous helping of chicken salad holds the bun way up. This time you couldn't see it when both bun halves were in place. It was also missing its garnish. We all have an off day now & then. Maybe this was theirs.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was fine, nothing special. Service was really slow, especially at the bakery.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 16, 2017

Food great, waiter service fine, but kitchen and/or wait help must have been slammed by Easter brunch crowd - waiter took too long to arrive and food took way too long to appear. I'll only go back for everyday eating and only in small group (less than 4).

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 16, 2017

Dined for easter brunch. Staff seemed stressed, orders were changed because they seemed to be low on food and running out of plates/mugs. However, we have been there before and it's been excellent. We were just disappointed for this experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2017

I would recommend any of the baked goods- the scone breakfast sandwiches are great and different than any other location.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Easter brunch here. The waitstaff was pretty slow based on how empty the restaurant was. However, we weren't really in a hurry so that didn't matter that much to us. Everyone was very nice and the food was delicious. We will definitely be returning

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 9, 2017

Awful service. Took an hour and a half to get our food.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 9, 2017

Drinks came quickly. Server acted as if we were bothering her. Food took a while. Quiche was cold, Nutella pancakes were cold. I would have sent the food back, but was afraid it wouldn't have mattered. Went to pay the check, a girl came to register, asked if we were checking out. I said "Yes." Her reply as she dropped my check, "I'll get your server." No one ever asked, "How was everything?" I would have told them. They didn't care! I won't go back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2017

Great baked goods, omelette was good but goat cheese quality seemed underwhelming.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 18, 2017

Went with my brother who is from out of town. Had a reservation. No wait on our reservation. Service was slow to greet us. We went for breakfast, ordered pretty simple things, omelet & Benedict. Waited over an hour for our food and staff hardly came over. Place was busy, but not when we came in and ordered. Plates were hot, but food was clearly under a heat lamp for quite some time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2017

Baked goods are excellent! All of our breakfast items were prepared well and arrived to the table at the appropriate temperature. Only minor complaint, the back part of the restaurant is VERY dark. On a sunny day it was strange to be seated in such a dark area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2017

Great overall. Quite a few things on the menu that our friends want to have again or try because someone else in our group ordered it or order because there were too many things on menu that looked good. Hard to find good breakfast / brunch place that is so
good and also takes reservations. Easily one of our top two or three KC restaurants for breakfast or brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2017

Love this place....my new hangout spot...love it beautiful atmosphere and the staff was very helpful and welcomed me.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2017

I made a reservation for a group of around 8 young professionals that was meeting for breakfast. The management and staff went above and beyond to make sure that we were taken care of and had everything that we needed. Having tried other breakfast spots in earlier months for our meeting place, we did not expect such hospitality for our large group. Large groups seem to generally make staff grumpy, but not here! We felt so welcome and wanted. Will definitely be bringing my group back here for future meetings. Wonderful place, FANTASTIC food. Just, everything was terrific.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 5, 2017

I love brunch here!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 22, 2017

2nd time ordering spinach salad missing 2 key ingredients, biscuits & gravy cold, and soup was way too much meat to broth ratio.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2017

Brunch is not complete without their La Belle mimosa.... A must have!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 2, 2017

Quaint breakfast cafe. Enjoyed it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas Eve brunch for family.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 20, 2016

I love the food here, but service has been extremely slow on multiple occasions. Even when they are not crowded, expect to wait a long time. We went at brunch, didn't order apps, alcohol, or anything complicated and it took over an hour from start to finish.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 26, 2016

The server took about 10 minutes to greet us but after that provided great service. The food was delicious and the mimosas were generous for a very reasonable price.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 12, 2016

Fantastic bakery items! Service is slow to assist and cooks are inconsistent. If you get a great cook, brunch is enjoyable!! But you can't go wrong with their baked goods available in the case!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 6, 2016

I was celebrating brunch with a friend for her birthday. The food was great.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was great. Scene was fun.
Service was TERRIBLE. Took forever to get drinks. Longer to get food. We had to get up from the table and approach the server to pay because she was taking so long.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 14, 2016

I've made a reservation through the Open Table but there was nobody at the front door to check me in. There was a sign "Seat yourself". All of the tables had dirty dishes or has people sitting at them. I finally had to push some dishes aside and sit dow. It took a server a while to get to me even though there were only two other table in the whole establishment. I had a salmon club sandwich with sweet potato fries and they were decent. When the server brought my check, I was charged $2 more for my meal than was listed in the menu. I asked the server about it and she nonchalantly stated that there must be a mistake. I paid cash and asked for a copy or my receipt. She said that it's not possible to print another copy of the receipt since I paid cash. After this I asked to speak to a manager. It took him awhile to come out. He apologized for the mistake on the menu, but did nothing to get me to come back. I am a manager in a restaurant and I would offer a gift certificate, a discount or a free pastry. This manager did nothing of that sort.
This place is poorly staffed and poorly managed. It was a disappointing experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 8, 2016

Came in with high hopes. The waitress was nice. There were very few people in the restaurant when we ordered. It took a long time to get our food. My wife's pancakes were burned (they were comped) and my gravy tasted ok but it was lukewarm. The restaurant is poorly run and needs new management. Clearly it has potential...by the time we left there were a lot of people there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 2, 2016

Close to our hotel in Westport. Got immediate seatingon the patio. Did was pretty good. Waitress was great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 1, 2016

The selection of breakfast items was very good. The pancakes were not hot when served but tasted good. The Eggs Benedict was the best we have ever had. When we arrived, there were very few patrons there. It was quiet and had plenty of seating to choose from. By the time we were getting ready to leave, it was hard to hear each other because of the conversations at the other tables. The server was very nice but as she got more tables, we had to search for her to get our bill. We will always go early as this seems to be the best time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 18, 2016

We loved Baked! What a Westport treasure - ask for one of their specialty coffee drinks, but get it half-sweet!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 18, 2016

Baked is one of my favorites. The last two times I visited the preparation time was very slow. This time the food was warm when served, but the previous time it was not.

I truly think they have the best pancakes in the city...but when busy, it's a different experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 11, 2016

The portions were large enough to share for many appetites. The cranberry scone and ham sandwich was delicious, the potatoes crispy. The Challah bread French toast was fluffy and tasty. Everyone was pleased with their breakfast selections. The waitress did a pretty good job considering the size of the party.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 5, 2016

I have been to Baked in Kansas City twice for brunch; once on a quiet weekday and once on a busy weekend. When it isn't busy everything is lovely, but once things pick up on the weekend this restaurant can't handle it. We waited for our food for over an hour, and by the time it got to us it was mushy from sitting under a heat lamp. The servers were clearly in over their heads, and seemed to be working desperately with no hope of catching up.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5