About Bailey's Restaurant and Lounge

185 Lombard Ave.
Winnipeg, MB R3B 0W4
View Larger Map

Bailey’s Prime Dining is the perfect blend of cuisine and culture.
What a wonderful way to spend evenings together with friends, or to unwind after a busy day of work while traveling in the Winnipeg area. An atmosphere rich in history, friendly service, sumptuous appetizers and entrees, fine wines and spirits await you. Whether it be your business luncheon or dinner, pre theatre reservations for dinner early, a special occasion to celebrate, or simply a dinner out on the town, make it Baileys.
Our menu is continental and very diverse. Features include top steaks from our Char Broiler, seafood, and specialties such as our signature rack of lamb. For those with a light appetite, there are many lighter fares to be enjoyed in the more casual setting of our lounge.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Steakhouse, English

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 944-1180

Website:
http://www.baileysprimedining.com/

Catering:
We will work with the host to design a menu and to provide the necessary services to meet their needs.

Parking Details:
There are indoor and outdoor parkades within walking distance together with street and surface parking. Please visit our website for exact location of parkades.

Public Transit:
Bailey's is located at Portage and Main which is at the heart of Winnipeg. There are public transit stops within walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Dave Bergquist

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bailey's Restaurant and Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Value
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Romantic
Winnipeg / Manitoba
5 More
Special Occasion
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Food
Winnipeg
Best Value
Winnipeg
Romantic
Winnipeg
Special Occasion
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

special occasion (48)
romantic (39)
good for groups (36)
See All
notable wine list (19)
great for lunch (11)
fit for foodies (11)
neighborhood gem (11)
scenic view (9)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
113 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Not bad

Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice place, good service. We had to hunt for our server once but we weren't in a rush. The food was a bit of a mix. The seafood linguine and the chocolate cake were excellent, soup was good, prime rib was okay, potato was pretty tough though, like it was microwaved. The arm chairs were nice about 15 years ago I think. Plywood under the seat cushion is not very inspiring. Overall it was nice, like an old piece of silverware. It's still nice but has lost what once made it really excellent. Here's hoping for some polish!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

why have we not been back?

Dined on May 9, 2016

we have not been to bailey's for 30 years and after spending mothers day there I have no idea why? the food was exceptional the service terrific and it was fairly priced! we are coming back I assure you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Super High Quality

Dined on May 8, 2016

This restaurant offers the best at an affordable level. The quality of their meals is exceptional and the quality of their staff is first class. The ambience is absolutely charming and offers sort of a retro look that calms the soul. In addition they offer a divine wine list where everybody can fit their wallet size from 30 $ up to 2 350 $ a bottle... Something you don't find too often, Anyway great staff, great place, great food, congratulations! Some of the best steak I have had! and a super Veal !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Server Review

Dined on May 1, 2016

We found that our server was in a bit of a rush. He didn't seem very knowledgeable about the wine list.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of a Kind

Dined on April 30, 2016

Bailey's Restaurant is a wonderful place to come for any occasion. It allows you to just have a relaxing night out or invites you to celebrate a special event with family and friends. The staff was friendly and very attentive the entire time we were there. The food was very delicious, especially the carrot cake. And our steaks were done to perfection. Thank you for making our evening memorable. My husband and I will be back for sure!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on April 24, 2016

It's been awhile between visits to this iconic Winnipeg restaurant but we plan on going back often. I had forgotten how good the food, service and ambience was but it didn't disappoint. My wife and I had a truly wonderful night out. Well done Bailey's!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy a lunch, dinner or special ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Always enjoy a lunch, dinner or special occasion at Bailey's. Great service, ambience, food, drinks, etc. What is missing is an elevator for those of us getting on in age; this does hinder my organization from holding an event.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great Food

Dined on April 17, 2016

It was our anniversary dinner. The waiter was not the best, but usually the staff is fabulous. Food is always amazing. Will continue coming back although staff was not up to par this time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sophisticated Birthday Dining

Dined on April 14, 2016

My wife and I had our first date at Bailey's, and I chose it as a special place to take her for her birthday. It was perfect. With two friends we had a quiet and elegant dinner. The food was exceptional; my celiac friend had his special needs catered to; and our waiter, Patrick, was friendly, knowledgeable and sophisticated. Sadly, the main dining area is upstairs, and there is no elevator. We're senior citizens now, and climbing those stairs was serious business. We may not be able to manage much longer, which is a great pity.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still excellent

Dined on April 11, 2016

Sunday evenings are very quiet , perfect when you want a nice dinner without high noise levels. The food was fantastic, onion soup is always a favorite appetizer. I Have been going for years and never once had an unfavorable dinner experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

this is a really wonderful place. great ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

this is a really wonderful place. great service and and environment. we had a lovely family dinner before we attended a play. good value, lots of fun.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Andrew

Dined on April 2, 2016

We usually come here to the restaurant a few time a year, the overall restaurant experience is very good. Marco is very good. We also usually go down to the bar afterwards, and it never misses, the service in the bar is horrible, to the point where we actually left and went elsewhere. It has been like this the last 3-4 times we visited the bar.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1

Quality and taste of food did not justif ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Quality and taste of food did not justify the price. Service was poor. Our server spent little time with us and seemed distracted. Food was over salted. The decor was nice and I felt like I was dining in the 20's. This was contrasted sharply by the smooth, sax jazz from the 80's. Will not return.

food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food, atmosphere..not enough servers

Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was excellent, and staff were friendly. I feel as though you're either understaffed or they need a refresher course on waiting tables. We were there for 2 hours and I could only catch our waitress for a drink once..as did pretty much the rest of the table.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

does this place want to make money?

Dined on February 20, 2016

Went there for dinner, waiter stunned us. Ordered a beer and he brought a martini. Took the bread basket away with half the bread still in it. Drinks empty and he didn't offer to bring more. Paid and went downstairs to the bar, no one working there. Played pool for a bit and staff around but no one offered to bring drinks. Does this place want to make any money? Had to go drink at a different restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on February 15, 2016

We had an amazing dining experience here and our server was great! Would definitely recommend this place!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Valentine's Day Meal!

Dined on February 15, 2016

We went for Valentine's Day supper and had a fabulous meal. There was a 3 course dine about special on, and we each chose a different option from it. Both our meals were cooked to perfection. I tried my husband's steak and we both agreed it was one of the tastiest steaks we had ever had. The service was excellent - it's obvious they employ professional waiters. My only complaint (if I can even call it that) was the service was almost too efficient - I would like a little more time to linger between courses. It was an excellent experience. This was our first visit and we will definitely be back. I really can't rave about this place enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Had valentines dinner Was a great dinne ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Had valentines dinner Was a great dinner and the service was the best

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dine out Winnipeg offer

Dined on February 11, 2016

We took advantage of the Dine Out Winnipeg promotion that occurs every early February. Normally we try a different restaurant, but this time we decided upon our tried and true. We were not disappointed. Everything, the food, service, ambiance was top notch. We have visitors coming in March, and you can be assured we will be taking them to Bailey's

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

It was a very quiet the evening we went. ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

It was a very quiet the evening we went. Only 4 tables (including us). The building itself is beautiful. The food was okay. Not the best that we've had, but not the worst. Our waiter wasn't the friendliest. Considering there wasn't a lot of tables he didn't really spend any extra time with us or attending to our needs. Will we go back....probably not... just because this style of restaurant is not quite to our taste. We just wanted to try something new to us and needed something in that area of the city for a specific time.

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

group of 8

Dined on January 17, 2016

A group of us (8) went for our monthly dinner and Baileys was somewhere we had not been with all of us before and the reason we tried it was because in the summer my wife and I went and found it to be very enjoyable. The waiter was very good, friendly, attentive but the service was a tad slow and they had numerous large groups of 30+ but not a huge imposition as we enjoyed our company. Two complaints, the chicken was a little dry and my ribeye had no seasoning whatsoever so bland, otherwise everyone else seemed to enjoy their dinners etc. It is good value for what you get as you get a choice of soup or salad with each meal and most places these days charge extra for that. Prices are very reasonable and there is a very good selection of entrees.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome service and good food!

Dined on January 13, 2016

They sat us right away and were very attentive to anything we needed. The server was very knowledgeable of the menu. The food took quite a while in between courses but was worth the wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful time!

Dined on January 11, 2016

Our group of 9 was treated to a wonderful dinner. Everyone enjoyed their entree, whether they ordered seafood or beef. The service was top notch! Our server was engaging and very professional. I would definitely considered returning to Baileys to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Bailey's Experience

Dined on January 8, 2016

We went to Bailey's on Jan 8, 2016 for my birthday dinner. We had not been there in over 25 years. Pleasant surroundings and décor on the 2nd floor with window overlooking Portage and Main. Filet and Lobster was delish! Marco, our waiter was attentive and excellent. We will be back but will not wait so long. Highly recommended upscale dinner establishment!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was exceptionable and the fo ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

The service was exceptionable and the food sublime.

food2
ambience4
service3

It's been better

Dined on December 11, 2015

Took my staff for a Christmas lunch. Our mushroom soups were at best luke warm and the 3 Rubens were below par (usually more meat and sauerkraut). Would still go back but an unfortunaty day in the kitchen.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service2

The service was the weak link

Dined on November 28, 2015

The restaurant itself is lovely, with a real warmth and elegance, and the food was well prepared. My only real complaint is the service we received. Our waiter asked me if I would like a drink, and when I asked for water while I was thinking about what I would have, he left without asking my dining companion what she would like. I assumed she had ordered while I was in the powder room, but that was not the case. When he came back to take my order, it was like she wasn't there. We were not asked if we would like a second round of drinks when we were done our first, and for the most part we were ignored entirely, outside of dropping off our food. My companion heard him speak French to the table next to us near the end of our evening, and when she made a comment to him in French, he immediately went from indifferent to engaged. I watched his interactions with other tables, and they were much different from ours. I truly believe it is because we were two women diners, who unfortunately seem to have a reputation for being demanding and bad tippers. We were neither. I left my customary 20% tip, reluctantly, and mainly because I believed that if I had truly tipped according to the very mediocre service we had received, we would have only been feeding into his preconceived notion of women being less worthy of good service, and I believe he would have blamed the tip amount on the fact that we were two women, rather than as a result of his inattentive and indifferent attitude towards us. The food was of high quality, and the restaurant itself is beautiful, but the inexplicably bad service ruined what would have been a really lovely meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3

Don't Book online

Dined on November 14, 2015

Don't book online got there and they had no idea what i was talking about. She sent me into a room with another party thinking that i was with them. Food was grate greate service at the table. Would love to come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great find in Winnipeg

Dined on November 9, 2015

If you like the older established type of dining, where the room is warm, the ambiance is calming, the service is very professional and the food is fabulous....than this is for you!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food & excellent scotch on offer

vip
Dined on November 7, 2015

Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The ambiance was like something out of another era.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had a great dinner! We bo ...

Dined on October 2, 2015

My wife and I had a great dinner! We both noted how good our steaks were. We will come back again!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Bailey's Anniversary Dining

Dined on September 20, 2015

Looking for a late night dining experience was so easy with Bailey's. The food was fantastic! Peppercorn sauce for my steak was the best I've ever had! Just an enjoyable evening out!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice atmosphere, friendly staff and good food

Dined on September 18, 2015

Our waiter made us feel very comfortable, went over all the specials, and was super friendly. The food was delicious and the atmosphere is very elegant.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary dinner

Dined on September 10, 2015

Truly excellent in all aspects. Our waitress Taylor was extremely helpful in providing choices and was always nearby when needed. My wife and I would recommend this restaurant to all.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2

Beautiful but Expensive

Dined on July 31, 2015

The interior is beautiful, if a bit dark. The food is nothing exciting, but the flavours aren't bad. The service was a bit slow and brusque at times, but we were taken care of. Most of all I would say, it's not worth the price you end up paying.

food3
ambience3
service1

Service was a let down :(

Dined on July 29, 2015

This was my first time at Baileys and sadly the dining experience was a let down. Overall, we find that when you go to the more expensive restaurants the service is amazing and the servers are constantly up-selling items like drinks & desserts, and filling your water. We felt our service left a lot to be desired, even though the server seemed fairly friendly. I wouldn't recommend going to Baileys due to the high prices and unmatched quality/service - you would be better off to pick The Gates or Hermanos if you are looking for a special meal on the pricier side. Positives: - Very nice rooms - We had a whole room to ourselves - Delicious Steak (side dishes were "ok") Negatives: - Service (not asked if we wanted anything to drink, water glasses not refilled once, not checked on during the main course so we couldn't ask for more water, overall not very good and pretty slow) - Soup didn't have much flavour - Prawns were overcooked and very salty *Additional Note: Two women came in near the end of our meal and asked for a table for two. (There were so many tables all made up and ready to go in the room we were in and in the room that was beside us. In the entire time we were there, there was a maximum of four tables being used in the two rooms that we could see). The server told them that most of the tables are reserved and rather than seating them in one of the already made up tables she clears a table from earlier that evening and resets it and sits them there. It still doesn't make a lot of sense to us. Why weren't they seated at one of the many tables beside that one table? It was very odd and no way were the twenty tables all reserved.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our go to special occasion spots.

Dined on July 26, 2015

We love love love this restaurant, the servers are exceptional, they are there to make your evening amazing. We got married here and would not have changed a thing, best night ever!. Bailey's is our date night/ special occasion spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

Charming Place with a Lot of Character

Dined on July 22, 2015

I have been to Bailey's a few times and have found that the food is good but not exceptional. The service varies but is usually all right. This last time we felt very rushed with each course coming quickly on the heels of the previous one. There was no time to sit and enjoy the food or the atmosphere, this despite only one other party besides ours in the restaurant. I love the building and the atmosphere, but there are things that could improve.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

this reservation site did not connect wi ...

Dined on May 28, 2015

this reservation site did not connect with the restaurant they were full and had no record of this reservation. We waited until one reservation was a no show till we could be seated otherwise they were full

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

TheatrePlayFoodCritic4322

Dined on May 22, 2015

I was eating a Pre-Ballet dinner before watching the Royal Winnipeg Ballet at the MTC Theatre. I had an appetizer called Chicken Satay with a peanut sauce but I did not like the peanut sauce because the chicken tasted too peanuty. The second course of the dinner was a House salad which was very good. The main course of the dinner was Pork Medallions was outstanding where the ingredients on the pork flavoured the pork from while being cooked but my taste buds on my tongue enjoyed the flavours from the ingredients basted in the pork where the ingredients & the pork was like a half & half flavouring in your mouth & was excellent completion to the meal before going to watch theatre ballet.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.