About Bailey's Restaurant and Lounge

185 Lombard Ave.
Winnipeg, MB R3B 0W4
View Larger Map

Bailey’s Prime Dining is the perfect blend of cuisine and culture.
What a wonderful way to spend evenings together with friends, or to unwind after a busy day of work while traveling in the Winnipeg area. An atmosphere rich in history, friendly service, sumptuous appetizers and entrees, fine wines and spirits await you. Whether it be your business luncheon or dinner, pre theatre reservations for dinner early, a special occasion to celebrate, or simply a dinner out on the town, make it Baileys.
Our menu is continental and very diverse. Features include top steaks from our Char Broiler, seafood, and specialties such as our signature rack of lamb. For those with a light appetite, there are many lighter fares to be enjoyed in the more casual setting of our lounge.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Steakhouse, English

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 944-1180

Website:
http://www.baileysprimedining.com/

Catering:
We will work with the host to design a menu and to provide the necessary services to meet their needs.

Parking Details:
There are indoor and outdoor parkades within walking distance together with street and surface parking. Please visit our website for exact location of parkades.

Public Transit:
Bailey's is located at Portage and Main which is at the heart of Winnipeg. There are public transit stops within walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Dave Bergquist

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bailey's Restaurant and Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for a Date (15)
Business Meals (14)
See All
Good for Groups (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Historic (7)
Romantic (7)
Private Room (7)
Cozy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Authentic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Fireplace (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Casual (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Scenic View (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
149 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was very good as usual. Service was ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was very good as usual. Service was prompt and very professional. Ambience is so elegant. Despite the very noisy group seated close by, they were not "right on top of us" so we were able to carry on a conversation quite nicely. The surrounding plushness absorbs some of the extra noise.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had had a wonderful meal on Saturday ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had had a wonderful meal on Saturday night. It was not to loud ,

Our appetizers and meal were spaced out very well ,and we did not feel rushed in any way.

Will definitely be back.

Thanks Rick O

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

First visit, recommended by family membe ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 8, 2017

First visit, recommended by family member, met all expectations and then some. Made reservation for 2 instead of 3, and were seated immediately at a suitable table. Our waitress (sorry, can't remembwr her name) was very attentive, as were the other servers who kept our water glasses full and dishes cleaned off. Excellent feature drink (the one with Raspberry vodka shaken with pineapple and cranberry juice.) Excellent med rare prime Rib. One person had lamb chops for the first time - he loved it. Pleasantly surprised to have Hazelnut gelato dessert - amazing! Great carrot cake.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easy to book using website. Lovely set ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Easy to book using website. Lovely setting. Drinks delicious and all 4 meals scrumptous. Never rushed and enjoyed our time

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bailey's is a Winnipeg staple. My mother ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Bailey's is a Winnipeg staple. My mother and I went for dinner prior to an RMTC show. We were greeted by a really friendly young man and seated in their atrium-like dining room, lighting and service were perfect. Extensive menus options and generous serving size. My mother enjoyed her Cajun snapper and my prime rib was cooked perfectly (and huge!) Sadly I don't eat there often, because there are so many great restaurants in Winnipeg, but every time I do I make the note to come more often. Would recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a New Years Eve dinner with o ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed a New Years Eve dinner with our friends. Although I usually do not like a set menu, the entree choices were great, something for everyone. Our service was great and not rushed, we dined from 8:00 pm to 11:00 pm. We had not been back for a long time..... The meal, service and atmosphere were all lovely. I had forgotten how lovely this historical building is.

Thank You for a great evening, we will return.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were here for New Years Eve 2016, I m ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were here for New Years Eve 2016, I made reservations on Open Table but looked at the Menu prior to our reservation to see if there was a special menu for the occasion, I went on Bailey's website and found only their regular menu, I even double checked again closer to New Years just to make sure as it was our first time here and we were excited to try the menu.

We arrived and the place is nice inside, reminds me of an old Hollywood style, we went upstairs to the dining room, were seated and presented with a set menu for New Years! We asked if the regular menu was available and they said no but if you would like you can go downstairs to the lounge,I'm assuming we would get the regular menu there? We were already seated and water given so we didn't want to have to get up in front if everyone to move. The set menu did offer you deferent selections for your entree and dessert but everything else like appetizer plate, soup and salad was set.

I had the ribeye steak and it was good, their side vegetables were also seasoned well and good and the mashed potatoes were decent, my partner had the pork medallions and when I asked how it was the reply I got was alright. Our server was an older gent and service was decent. The decor like I said reminded me of old Hollywood, I was disappointed to see dings in the wall and some splatter Marks, I thought if your going to market this as a nice restaurant it's important to make sure those things are taken care off, overall I have to say the place was pretty good, a bit on the pricey side though. I might return again but it wouldn't be in the forefront of my mind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food although it did take quit ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food although it did take quite a well for it to come out and the restaurant was nearly empty

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The staff was friendly and helpful. The ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The staff was friendly and helpful. The dining experience was as always the best. It is one of the topnotch restaurants in Winnipeg.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I loved the decor and the feel of the pl ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I loved the decor and the feel of the place! It really sets a mood for celebrating, the Christmas decorations were lovely! The food was great and so was the service. Would love to come back and explore the menu some more. The bathroom was freezing though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We went to celebrate a milestone birthda ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We went to celebrate a milestone birthday before attending the theatre. Service was great, meals fantastic

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We attended for a 40th birthday party an ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We attended for a 40th birthday party and had a private room (the library) for the 20 of us. The room and service could not have been better. I'd recommend this restaurant to anyone. They were able to accommodate gluten free dining and more severe food allergies.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the service was top notch. We ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I thought the service was top notch. We went prior to the opera and our food arrived in plenty of time to be able to walk to the concert hall after. The ambience was perfect. I forgot my wallet at home and the manager was very understanding and didn't make me feel like an idiot...even after my wife realized after all that she had her purse along the whole time! Very friendly, fantastic food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The only criticism I have is the time th ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The only criticism I have is the time the food took to get to our table.

Everything else was top notch, great place for making an impression.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is excellent, although I would have ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Food is excellent, although I would have liked to have been told AHEAD of time that a Caesar salad 'upgrade' (from tossed or soup) would cost $8 per person (I would have expected closer to $3-$4 per person). Service decent, friendly. Although there was a different server, when we arrived, who was smoking RIGHT outside the door (smoking by-laws NOT adhered to).

Restaurant is lovely with old wood paneling although carpets could be a bit cleaner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

There were six of us and everyone had an ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 6, 2016

There were six of us and everyone had an excellent meal. The service was top notch and Christoper did an excellent job of ensuring all our needs were met. Very, very impressed. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasant room. Food was not as tasty as ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Pleasant room. Food was not as tasty as in the past. Roast beef was well done rather than medium rare and had to be sent back. Rice was lacking flavour. Salmon was tasty and a generous portion. A restaurant of this caliber should make its own salad dressings, not using bottled salad dressings that contain sulfites and other preservatives.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Everything was great. Went there for ou ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Everything was great. Went there for our anniversary and our server went above expectation and was very personable.

Tags: People Watching, Private Room, Historic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bailey's did not live up to expectations ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Bailey's did not live up to expectations. Was looking for a relaxed evening but the service seemed designed to rush you in and out. Veal was overcooked. Lots of potential ... short on delivery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Attractive, formal setting but atmospher ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Attractive, formal setting but atmosphere was casual on a week night. Generous food portions and attentive service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Forgetful waiter was a real distraction. ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Forgetful waiter was a real distraction.

It was a really unusual service experience for such an established restaurant.

Food was very good, well presented. The decor will be a little dated for some people, but certainly the restaurant has kept its air of being a destination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

Fantastic service and great food. Very n ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Fantastic service and great food. Very nice cozy/intimate setting. Perfect for a date.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

this was our first visit and we didn't k ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 6, 2016

this was our first visit and we didn't know what to expect. we were seated quickly and our server was very knowledgeable and attentive. there is a large and varied wine list. the food was fabulous and the service friendly. this is a beautiful old building with an interesting history. just a little pricey but you absolutely get what you pay for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was outstanding as usual. I little ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Food was outstanding as usual. I little disappointed that there was no draft as the pull machines were apparently all under construction/maintenance. I would still recommend, but wasn't my best visit there as they usually have outstanding draft choices. Wine selected was Australian and a good choice.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have been to the restaurant several t ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We have been to the restaurant several times and always enjoy the warmth and character of the place.

Food is of good value

THANKS!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were greeted in a friendly manner aft ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We were greeted in a friendly manner after about 5 minutes of standing waiting but the staff managed to accommodate our needs - I had made a reservation. Our waitress was slow to attend to us as were the other staff. We were left without drink refills for far too long. The ambiance was great - a genuine historic building and genuine furnishings.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Excellent food! One of the best restaura ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent food! One of the best restaurant meals I've had in a long time. Hadn't been there before but definitely will be back!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Private Room, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant was on the upper level of ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The restaurant was on the upper level of the building with many stairs to climb, could be a problem for some people.

The meal came with bread, and a pick of soup or salad. The food tasted good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

we had a lovely evening. The young lady ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 20, 2016

we had a lovely evening. The young lady serving us was pleasant and very attentive. Did her job very well,

We will definitely recommend to others.

Parking not so great tho.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. Great editing on by ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent as always. Great editing on by Marco! He ensured the evening was a success and memorable one.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience at Bailey's re ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had a great experience at Bailey's restaurant for my mom's birthday. She loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Place is getting a bit rough round the e ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Place is getting a bit rough round the edges. Dirty worn chairs, whole place could use a lick of paint. Considering the place was nearly empty the service was very slow. We had to call our waitress over on more than one occasion. The meal was just average, with some things ordered not arriving. Staff could use some training. On ordering another glass of wine the dregs of the old glass were poured into the new, I have never seen this done before in 40 years of dining.

The serving staff also are allowed to have their very long hair hanging down over the food.

We have been dining at Baileys restaurant and lounge for many years and have noticed a steady decline. We will try one more time, if no improvement we will not return. Winnipeg is full of good restaurants we can visit instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Very pleasant evening. We were the only ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Very pleasant evening. We were the only diners in the restaurant. No reservation was required. The service was excellent. The food was very good. I seldom eat beef, this was tenderloin with mushrooms and shallots, in a wine sauce. Very tasty, a generous portion. brought most of it home. Potatoes were pan fried with onions, délicieuses! Dessert was on the house. We were celebrating our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Relaxing atmosphere.

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 9, 2016

There were six of us celebrating our daughter's graduation. We had a lovely and relaxing meal. The food was good and the right amount for lunch. The server was friendly and came around occasionally to make sure we were enjoying our meal. The server asked if we wanted the bill or just wanted to stay awhile and enjoy our time together. We opted to stay a while and she ensured we had everything we needed, drinks, coffee, etc. We were not rushed at all. A very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place to Celibrate 25th Anniversary

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I went to Bailey's on Saturday night for our 25th Anniversary dinner. The last time we dined there was 25 years ago because we moved away when we were married in 1991. The occasion lived up to our memories since the meal was fantastic and the service was perfect. We ordered appetizers that tasted great and were just the right size. The entrees were nicely plated and served hot and fresh. We asked the server to take our picture which she did patiently and when she found out it was our anniversary, she brought out a special complimentary dessert.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Romantic and elegant evening out. Servic ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Romantic and elegant evening out. Service was excellent and server was very attentive. We enjoyed our meal. My husband had a Cesare salad and it was served on a nice plate with a rim. I had garden salad and it was served on a dessert dish, which was too small and did not allow me to mix it without it falling onto the table. Not sure why it wasn't served on the same plate rimmed dish as the Cesare salad. However we were not offered dessert or a second cup of coffee.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not bad

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice place, good service. We had to hunt for our server once but we weren't in a rush. The food was a bit of a mix. The seafood linguine and the chocolate cake were excellent, soup was good, prime rib was okay, potato was pretty tough though, like it was microwaved. The arm chairs were nice about 15 years ago I think. Plywood under the seat cushion is not very inspiring.

Overall it was nice, like an old piece of silverware. It's still nice but has lost what once made it really excellent. Here's hoping for some polish!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

why have we not been back?

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 9, 2016

we have not been to bailey's for 30 years and after spending mothers day there I have no idea why?

the food was exceptional the service terrific and it was fairly priced!

we are coming back I assure you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Super High Quality

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 8, 2016

This restaurant offers the best at an affordable level. The quality of their meals is exceptional and the quality of their staff is first class. The ambience is absolutely charming and offers sort of a retro look that calms the soul. In addition they offer a divine wine list where everybody can fit their wallet size from 30 $ up to 2 350 $ a bottle... Something you don't find too often,

Anyway great staff, great place, great food, congratulations! Some of the best steak I have had! and a super Veal !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server Review

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 1, 2016

We found that our server was in a bit of a rush. He didn't seem very knowledgeable about the wine list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.