Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Bailey's Restaurant and Lounge

Bailey’s Prime Dining is the perfect blend of cuisine and culture.
What a wonderful way to spend evenings together with friends, or to unwind after a busy day of work while traveling in the Winnipeg area. An atmosphere rich in history, friendly service, sumptuous appetizers and entrees, fine wines and spirits await you. Whether it be your business luncheon or dinner, pre theatre reservations for dinner early, a special occasion to celebrate, or simply a dinner out on the town, make it Baileys.
Our menu is continental and very diverse. Features include top steaks from our Char Broiler, seafood, and specialties such as our signature rack of lamb. For those with a light appetite, there are many lighter fares to be enjoyed in the more casual setting of our lounge.

185 Lombard Ave.
Winnipeg, MB R3B 0W4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Steakhouse, English

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 944-1180

Website:
http://www.baileysprimedining.com/

Catering:
We will work with the host to design a menu and to provide the necessary services to meet their needs.

Parking Details:
There are indoor and outdoor parkades within walking distance together with street and surface parking. Please visit our website for exact location of parkades.

Public Transit:
Bailey's is located at Portage and Main which is at the heart of Winnipeg. There are public transit stops within walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Dave Bergquist

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bailey's Restaurant and Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

Noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (13)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
See All
Business Meals (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Romantic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Authentic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Casual (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
187 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing experience overall. Staff was friendly and helpful, the wine list was quite varied, service was impeccable and the food was absolutely delicious. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

What a wonderful time we had celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary at your restaurant. The staff went above and beyond making sure we were looked after for this special occasion.
Thank you to everyone!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

My wife loves coming here and sitting in the Winter Garden Room. this time we found it loud with two bigger parties on either side of us. because of these two parties, it seemed understaffed, with one young lady caring for all the tables.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Amazing experience! Excellent food, extremely knowledgeable staff. Great wine list!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Hi

This place is excellent from the lounge to the dining room upstairs. All staff was excellent, helpful, and recommended drinks and food and all was great. My husband especially was happy that the waiter asked before taking his drink away if it was OK. We had previously been at other establishments and people continually take the drink glasses away even when there was liquid in it. We use to go to another restaurant for his prime rib but my husband loves yours especially with the Yorkshire pudding as he states just like his Mom's. The chairs in the lounge are especially comfortable even with my husband's sore back. The costs involved were great also, especially that we each had an appetizer's and we still felt the end bill was an excellent price for all that we had.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had booked, and followed up with a call, for reservations for a quiet anniversary dinner. We were seated right beside the room with a wedding going on (which was surprisingly fairly quiet) and a group of 3 couples out for a "party". The rest of the restaurant was empty. The group of 6 were loud to start with and got progressively more so till by the time we started eating our mains we could no longer hear each other talk. I repeat - the rest of the restaurant was empty, and we were never offered a quieter table. The waiter didn't tell us about the special, was gruff "have you decided yet", not what I would expect in a restaurant of this caliber. Disappointing, we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Starter was calamari which was greasy and pre-frozen then ordered the rack of lamb, which arrived cold. Mashed potato was okay but the vegetables (large cut carrots and broccoli) was pretty much microwaved. Service was okay, nothing noteworthy. Overall disappointing and overpriced for what we had but offset by the grandiose establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Had the New York steak, was under-cooked and was difficult to eat. Wife and I asked for mushrooms and onions on the steak ($4 upcharge), waiter gave us a side order of mushrooms that was $6.50 in an effort to raise our bill higher.
Restaurant was empty, I think that people have caught on that the value (price for what you get) just isn't there.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Went with friends from Moncton NB. Everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We were celebrating my wife's Retirement & we had a very nice meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent food with good value. The server was excellent as well. Good selection of menu items as well as beverages.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food, great service, great ambiance. Easily accommodated my group of 12. Beautiful building and furniture. Bartender was very attentive and hilarious. Hope to return soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Baileys was a very nice place to dine. Relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff. Food was very good quality. It was nice that everything was included in the meal, salad, vegetables and choice of potatoes and rice. We will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Came for Father's Day dinner with a group of 6 (supposed to have been 8, but 2 were ill and stayed home). The food was amazing - my filet mignon was done to perfection. Chris L was the perfect server, and The Library was the perfect setting, nice and quiet enough to hear conversation. Ordered 2 meals to go for the 2 who couldn't make it - they were pleased with the taste and quality, just as we were. The experience surpassed and exceeded my expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Food and service are great. Parking in downtown Winnipeg is terrible. Need to allow extra time to find parking and then walk for 20 or 30 minutes to dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 9, 2017

we have been here several times and we consider one of our favorites

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My wife and I went here for our 40 wedding anniversary dinner with friends. I request a quiet table. There was a group of diners that was very loud and it disturbed us greatly. When we mentioned this to our waiter he stated there was nothing he could do for us. At restaurant of your quality and distinction should have been able to handle this type of complaint!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The meal was fantastic. Everything was perfect. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. It's one of our favourite restaurants in Winnipeg. It took longer then usual to get the check. Other than that it was wonderful. Thank you

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We went out for dinner prior to the Ballet. It was a fine way to begin a relaxed Friday evening. I really like the comfortable, traditional environment of Bailey's. One important difference from many places is that the noise is minimal, to that you can have a relaxed conversation with a great meal. I hope to keep enjoying Bailey's for many years to come.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 4, 2017

A large group meeting with clients, they were prepared, they were organized, they were timely, we were in and out in a reasonable amount of time for 10 people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was for our anniversary. Loved the food. Steak was perfect as with the lobster.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We enjoyed the evening. Good food, but not memorable.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Booked reservation for 6 for 1800. It took almost 20 minutes to get first drinks. Food did not arrive until 1920..about an hour.. this was a pre-theater booking... the reason we made a reservation for 1800.. to give us ample time to get our meal and leave the restaurant by 7:30. My guests, although wishing dessert and being offered by our waiter, could not due to the challenged/late delivery of our meal. Waiter was very gracious telling us 3 times that the food would be right out....then, sensing our disbelief and tension, disappeared until he actually had the food to deliver. Food was amazing...as usual, but being rushed through the eating process diminished the experience. We had advise the waiter of our Concert timeline upon our arrival. (he asked)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Pleasant atmosphere, well taken care of by very attentive and engaging staff. Very nice food at not too pricey levels.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great meal. Made a reservation for the dining room but ended up eating in the lounge and watched the Jet's game. Full menu available in lounge. Fantastic ambience.

Tags: Cozy, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 25, 2017

There are better steak houses in Winnipeg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Service was friendly. Food was just ok. We were going to a show at the concert hall it was a convenient location to eat. I'm sorry but I wouldn't make the trip downtown for it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Bailey's has a very warm and inviting atmosphere; casual, tavern vibe downstairs with fine dining upstairs. The menu and wine list are extensive. Not cheap but not outragiously expensive either; very good value.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a great evening, the atmosphere was quiet, the food excellent, service the greatest. We have already recommended it to friends with plans to visit again in a few months.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Hi There
My husband and I are regulars to Bailey's I adore it. Unfortunately our last time there in the restaurant (was a group I brought) the food was cold and the feast which we always have was very skimpy. We had to ask a few times for drawn butter for the lobster and our drink orders were wrong.
In saying this I do love Baileys and hope it was just an off night.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was a busy evening with many diners. The waiter was excellent with service and attentiveness. All courses were served with great timing and were visually appealing. The meals were excellent, hot and well seasoned. Will be a dining out favorited for sure!

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2017

When we arrived at the restaurant, it took 5 minutes for someone to greet us, and then gave us a choice of being seated either outside the washrooms, or near the kitchen - both tables are situated so that the walkway is on one side, and a staircase on the other. We chose the kitchen, but this table was also located outside of a private dining room where there was a party taking place at the same time. The noise level was incredibly high, and there was constant traffic beside us the entire time we were there. There were kids running up and down the walkway, and the wine room was right beside our table, so there was constant traffic from staff going in and out of there as well. It was very loud, and it was extremely difficult to have a conversation with one another because we couldn't hear over the other noises. Where we were seated, in my opinion, should be "overflow" seating for people who don't have reservations. Between the servers convening beside our table, people going up and down the staircase, and the party that was going on, it was a very uncomfortable experience. This was our Valentine's Day dinner, and to say the least, we were incredibly disappointed. I made the reservation well in advance, and even specified that I would like a quiet table away from high traffic areas, specifically away from the kitchen. We were seated precisely where I had asked NOT to be seated. This is something that takes place in movies. It was like it was taken from the scene of a dark comedy.

We do not have the opportunity or the resources to go out for many dinners, and were very much looking forward to our experience that evening. We were deflated and disappointed while we were there, and left feeling the same way.

Needless to say, I highly doubt we will dine here again. If we are in a position to spend over $200 on dinner again, it will certainly be at a restaurant that will accommodate us and not offer us a seat outside the washrooms.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Enjoyed the entire experience, the decor is so rich and luxurious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The upstairs dining room is quieter than the lounge which is often very busy. A nice lunch for 4 friends getting re acquainted , food was good as always, service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We were visiting from Pennsylvania and read some reviews and decided to try it. It was 8pm and the diningroom was closed so we ate in the Lounge. Our waiter Dean was great providing promp, professional, friendly service. My husband had a reuban sandwich and declared it to be the best he has ever eaten. I ordered the Greek lamb chop special which was delicious. The place is historic and filled with old english charm. Highly recommended. If we are ever back in Winnipeg we will definitely eat there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Baily's restaurant and lounge is a great historical place. The food is amazing. A Greek spin on a lot of the food. Great service and decor. Baily's is a great place to converse. It is not too loud and you can hear what others are saying. Baily's is just an overall very comfortable dining experience with great food and service.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We had not been back to this location in a very long time, and were pleasantly surprised. Food was very good and the atmosphere was great. It was quiet and service was prompt. All the entrées we tried were excellent, including the rack of lamb and tenderloin. French onion soup was about the best I have had in a long time. we will definitely be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was very good as usual. Service was prompt and very professional. Ambience is so elegant. Despite the very noisy group seated close by, they were not "right on top of us" so we were able to carry on a conversation quite nicely. The surrounding plushness absorbs some of the extra noise.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 7, 2017

First visit, recommended by family member, met all expectations and then some. Made reservation for 2 instead of 3, and were seated immediately at a suitable table. Our waitress (sorry, can't remembwr her name) was very attentive, as were the other servers who kept our water glasses full and dishes cleaned off. Excellent feature drink (the one with Raspberry vodka shaken with pineapple and cranberry juice.) Excellent med rare prime Rib. One person had lamb chops for the first time - he loved it. Pleasantly surprised to have Hazelnut gelato dessert - amazing! Great carrot cake.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had had a wonderful meal on Saturday night. It was not to loud ,
Our appetizers and meal were spaced out very well ,and we did not feel rushed in any way.
Will definitely be back.
Thanks Rick O

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.