Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Bailey's Restaurant and Lounge

Bailey’s Prime Dining is the perfect blend of cuisine and culture.
What a wonderful way to spend evenings together with friends, or to unwind after a busy day of work while traveling in the Winnipeg area. An atmosphere rich in history, friendly service, sumptuous appetizers and entrees, fine wines and spirits await you. Whether it be your business luncheon or dinner, pre theatre reservations for dinner early, a special occasion to celebrate, or simply a dinner out on the town, make it Baileys.
Our menu is continental and very diverse. Features include top steaks from our Char Broiler, seafood, and specialties such as our signature rack of lamb. For those with a light appetite, there are many lighter fares to be enjoyed in the more casual setting of our lounge.

185 Lombard Ave.
Winnipeg, MB R3B 0W4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Steakhouse, English

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 944-1180

Website:
http://www.baileysprimedining.com/

Catering:
We will work with the host to design a menu and to provide the necessary services to meet their needs.

Parking Details:
There are indoor and outdoor parkades within walking distance together with street and surface parking. Please visit our website for exact location of parkades.

Public Transit:
Bailey's is located at Portage and Main which is at the heart of Winnipeg. There are public transit stops within walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Dave Bergquist

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bailey's Restaurant and Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Romantic (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (8)
Business Meals (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Authentic (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Casual (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort by
S
204 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 3 days ago

We brought some friends that had never been there and now I believe they will also start going there for their special occasions. the food and the atmosphere are second to none. This is the reason, we keep coming back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Spent an evening celebrating our anniversary. Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 5 days ago

Our group of 12 enjoyed every aspect of the meal. Excellent management by the serving staff for a large group. The food is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 6 days ago

It’s a great reasturant with a nice ambiance. The food was fine but not spectacular. We would go back for the complete package, setting, decor, service but not for the food itself, as good food is easier to find then an old historical setting, which is what Baileys offers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 4, 2017

Not happy with my experience this weekend. I brought 3 colleagues that have never been, and it was not a good first impression for them. We were crammed in by a huge loud group of people, we couldn’t hear each other. There was later an altercation with this group that caused a huge scene. The server was then crying her eyes out while still serving other tables! It was a circus! The food was ok, disappointed that I never get offered the potato with onion pan fried it’s always only dry lemon roasted potatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. It was the best date venue I have ever been to. The service and presentation was exceptional. The history and the sheer presence of the building was amazing. I will hands down be back! We chose the Feast on the menu. Incredible!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Fantastic food, great service. Classy, enjoyable place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

It is difficult to write a review. Our experience could have been better. We are both seniors, and the steps to the restaurant area are challenging. This tainted our experience.
Thought the food was not exceptional, but very good. Good service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

Overall great dining experience. Food was tasty with good portions. Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Great ambience for a special dinner with extraordinary service. If you're looking for excellent food, service and atmosphere then look no further!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

We had known of Bailey's for decades but had never got around to trying it. A play's ending nearby at 6:15 was an excuse, and I'm glad we yielded to the temptation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Have always enjoyed dining at Bailey's for 30 years.
Never disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 11, 2017

I was expecting more from an establishment like Old Baileys. We were very disappointed with the food and the service. A beautiful evening that we expected turned out to be a disaster. Very very sad indeed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Over all we really enjoyed our evening at Bailey"s, wonderful food , ambiance and super service.
Would highly recommend Bailey's for a special evening or just a casual get together with the girl's or guy's you are sure to have a great time!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Had a good time, our server gave an excellent experience and the ambience was cozy. however felt we waited too long for our main entree. Would still recommend to others.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 30, 2017

The atmosphere was terrific and we had a wonderful waiter. We were also happy with our meals. Nice and hot and delicious. It will be very nice once the lift is in service....then the handicapped will be able to enjoy this terrific restaurant as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Everything was great from the atmosphere, to the ambiance, to the food, to the service. Best place to have an intimate dinner or a celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Amazing experience overall. Staff was friendly and helpful, the wine list was quite varied, service was impeccable and the food was absolutely delicious. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

What a wonderful time we had celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary at your restaurant. The staff went above and beyond making sure we were looked after for this special occasion.
Thank you to everyone!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

My wife loves coming here and sitting in the Winter Garden Room. this time we found it loud with two bigger parties on either side of us. because of these two parties, it seemed understaffed, with one young lady caring for all the tables.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Amazing experience! Excellent food, extremely knowledgeable staff. Great wine list!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Hi

This place is excellent from the lounge to the dining room upstairs. All staff was excellent, helpful, and recommended drinks and food and all was great. My husband especially was happy that the waiter asked before taking his drink away if it was OK. We had previously been at other establishments and people continually take the drink glasses away even when there was liquid in it. We use to go to another restaurant for his prime rib but my husband loves yours especially with the Yorkshire pudding as he states just like his Mom's. The chairs in the lounge are especially comfortable even with my husband's sore back. The costs involved were great also, especially that we each had an appetizer's and we still felt the end bill was an excellent price for all that we had.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had booked, and followed up with a call, for reservations for a quiet anniversary dinner. We were seated right beside the room with a wedding going on (which was surprisingly fairly quiet) and a group of 3 couples out for a "party". The rest of the restaurant was empty. The group of 6 were loud to start with and got progressively more so till by the time we started eating our mains we could no longer hear each other talk. I repeat - the rest of the restaurant was empty, and we were never offered a quieter table. The waiter didn't tell us about the special, was gruff "have you decided yet", not what I would expect in a restaurant of this caliber. Disappointing, we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Starter was calamari which was greasy and pre-frozen then ordered the rack of lamb, which arrived cold. Mashed potato was okay but the vegetables (large cut carrots and broccoli) was pretty much microwaved. Service was okay, nothing noteworthy. Overall disappointing and overpriced for what we had but offset by the grandiose establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Had the New York steak, was under-cooked and was difficult to eat. Wife and I asked for mushrooms and onions on the steak ($4 upcharge), waiter gave us a side order of mushrooms that was $6.50 in an effort to raise our bill higher.
Restaurant was empty, I think that people have caught on that the value (price for what you get) just isn't there.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Went with friends from Moncton NB. Everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We were celebrating my wife's Retirement & we had a very nice meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent food with good value. The server was excellent as well. Good selection of menu items as well as beverages.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food, great service, great ambiance. Easily accommodated my group of 12. Beautiful building and furniture. Bartender was very attentive and hilarious. Hope to return soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Baileys was a very nice place to dine. Relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff. Food was very good quality. It was nice that everything was included in the meal, salad, vegetables and choice of potatoes and rice. We will go back

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Came for Father's Day dinner with a group of 6 (supposed to have been 8, but 2 were ill and stayed home). The food was amazing - my filet mignon was done to perfection. Chris L was the perfect server, and The Library was the perfect setting, nice and quiet enough to hear conversation. Ordered 2 meals to go for the 2 who couldn't make it - they were pleased with the taste and quality, just as we were. The experience surpassed and exceeded my expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Food and service are great. Parking in downtown Winnipeg is terrible. Need to allow extra time to find parking and then walk for 20 or 30 minutes to dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 9, 2017

we have been here several times and we consider one of our favorites

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My wife and I went here for our 40 wedding anniversary dinner with friends. I request a quiet table. There was a group of diners that was very loud and it disturbed us greatly. When we mentioned this to our waiter he stated there was nothing he could do for us. At restaurant of your quality and distinction should have been able to handle this type of complaint!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The meal was fantastic. Everything was perfect. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. It's one of our favourite restaurants in Winnipeg. It took longer then usual to get the check. Other than that it was wonderful. Thank you

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We went out for dinner prior to the Ballet. It was a fine way to begin a relaxed Friday evening. I really like the comfortable, traditional environment of Bailey's. One important difference from many places is that the noise is minimal, to that you can have a relaxed conversation with a great meal. I hope to keep enjoying Bailey's for many years to come.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 4, 2017

A large group meeting with clients, they were prepared, they were organized, they were timely, we were in and out in a reasonable amount of time for 10 people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was for our anniversary. Loved the food. Steak was perfect as with the lobster.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We enjoyed the evening. Good food, but not memorable.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Booked reservation for 6 for 1800. It took almost 20 minutes to get first drinks. Food did not arrive until 1920..about an hour.. this was a pre-theater booking... the reason we made a reservation for 1800.. to give us ample time to get our meal and leave the restaurant by 7:30. My guests, although wishing dessert and being offered by our waiter, could not due to the challenged/late delivery of our meal. Waiter was very gracious telling us 3 times that the food would be right out....then, sensing our disbelief and tension, disappeared until he actually had the food to deliver. Food was amazing...as usual, but being rushed through the eating process diminished the experience. We had advise the waiter of our Concert timeline upon our arrival. (he asked)

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.