Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Bailey's Restaurant and Lounge

Bailey’s Prime Dining is the perfect blend of cuisine and culture.
What a wonderful way to spend evenings together with friends, or to unwind after a busy day of work while traveling in the Winnipeg area. An atmosphere rich in history, friendly service, sumptuous appetizers and entrees, fine wines and spirits await you. Whether it be your business luncheon or dinner, pre theatre reservations for dinner early, a special occasion to celebrate, or simply a dinner out on the town, make it Baileys.
Our menu is continental and very diverse. Features include top steaks from our Char Broiler, seafood, and specialties such as our signature rack of lamb. For those with a light appetite, there are many lighter fares to be enjoyed in the more casual setting of our lounge.

185 Lombard Ave.
Winnipeg, MB R3B 0W4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Steakhouse, English

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 944-1180

Website:
http://www.baileysprimedining.com/

Catering:
We will work with the host to design a menu and to provide the necessary services to meet their needs.

Parking Details:
There are indoor and outdoor parkades within walking distance together with street and surface parking. Please visit our website for exact location of parkades.

Public Transit:
Bailey's is located at Portage and Main which is at the heart of Winnipeg. There are public transit stops within walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Dave Bergquist

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bailey's Restaurant and Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (9)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Groups (5)
See All
Quiet Conversation (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Romantic (3)
Cozy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Historic (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Authentic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
178 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We were celebrating my wife's Retirement & we had a very nice meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent food with good value. The server was excellent as well. Good selection of menu items as well as beverages.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food, great service, great ambiance. Easily accommodated my group of 12. Beautiful building and furniture. Bartender was very attentive and hilarious. Hope to return soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Baileys was a very nice place to dine. Relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff. Food was very good quality. It was nice that everything was included in the meal, salad, vegetables and choice of potatoes and rice. We will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Came for Father's Day dinner with a group of 6 (supposed to have been 8, but 2 were ill and stayed home). The food was amazing - my filet mignon was done to perfection. Chris L was the perfect server, and The Library was the perfect setting, nice and quiet enough to hear conversation. Ordered 2 meals to go for the 2 who couldn't make it - they were pleased with the taste and quality, just as we were. The experience surpassed and exceeded my expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Food and service are great. Parking in downtown Winnipeg is terrible. Need to allow extra time to find parking and then walk for 20 or 30 minutes to dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 9, 2017

we have been here several times and we consider one of our favorites

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My wife and I went here for our 40 wedding anniversary dinner with friends. I request a quiet table. There was a group of diners that was very loud and it disturbed us greatly. When we mentioned this to our waiter he stated there was nothing he could do for us. At restaurant of your quality and distinction should have been able to handle this type of complaint!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The meal was fantastic. Everything was perfect. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. It's one of our favourite restaurants in Winnipeg. It took longer then usual to get the check. Other than that it was wonderful. Thank you

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We went out for dinner prior to the Ballet. It was a fine way to begin a relaxed Friday evening. I really like the comfortable, traditional environment of Bailey's. One important difference from many places is that the noise is minimal, to that you can have a relaxed conversation with a great meal. I hope to keep enjoying Bailey's for many years to come.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 4, 2017

A large group meeting with clients, they were prepared, they were organized, they were timely, we were in and out in a reasonable amount of time for 10 people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was for our anniversary. Loved the food. Steak was perfect as with the lobster.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We enjoyed the evening. Good food, but not memorable.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Booked reservation for 6 for 1800. It took almost 20 minutes to get first drinks. Food did not arrive until 1920..about an hour.. this was a pre-theater booking... the reason we made a reservation for 1800.. to give us ample time to get our meal and leave the restaurant by 7:30. My guests, although wishing dessert and being offered by our waiter, could not due to the challenged/late delivery of our meal. Waiter was very gracious telling us 3 times that the food would be right out....then, sensing our disbelief and tension, disappeared until he actually had the food to deliver. Food was amazing...as usual, but being rushed through the eating process diminished the experience. We had advise the waiter of our Concert timeline upon our arrival. (he asked)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Pleasant atmosphere, well taken care of by very attentive and engaging staff. Very nice food at not too pricey levels.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great meal. Made a reservation for the dining room but ended up eating in the lounge and watched the Jet's game. Full menu available in lounge. Fantastic ambience.

Tags: Cozy, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 25, 2017

There are better steak houses in Winnipeg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Service was friendly. Food was just ok. We were going to a show at the concert hall it was a convenient location to eat. I'm sorry but I wouldn't make the trip downtown for it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Bailey's has a very warm and inviting atmosphere; casual, tavern vibe downstairs with fine dining upstairs. The menu and wine list are extensive. Not cheap but not outragiously expensive either; very good value.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a great evening, the atmosphere was quiet, the food excellent, service the greatest. We have already recommended it to friends with plans to visit again in a few months.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Hi There
My husband and I are regulars to Bailey's I adore it. Unfortunately our last time there in the restaurant (was a group I brought) the food was cold and the feast which we always have was very skimpy. We had to ask a few times for drawn butter for the lobster and our drink orders were wrong.
In saying this I do love Baileys and hope it was just an off night.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was a busy evening with many diners. The waiter was excellent with service and attentiveness. All courses were served with great timing and were visually appealing. The meals were excellent, hot and well seasoned. Will be a dining out favorited for sure!

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2017

When we arrived at the restaurant, it took 5 minutes for someone to greet us, and then gave us a choice of being seated either outside the washrooms, or near the kitchen - both tables are situated so that the walkway is on one side, and a staircase on the other. We chose the kitchen, but this table was also located outside of a private dining room where there was a party taking place at the same time. The noise level was incredibly high, and there was constant traffic beside us the entire time we were there. There were kids running up and down the walkway, and the wine room was right beside our table, so there was constant traffic from staff going in and out of there as well. It was very loud, and it was extremely difficult to have a conversation with one another because we couldn't hear over the other noises. Where we were seated, in my opinion, should be "overflow" seating for people who don't have reservations. Between the servers convening beside our table, people going up and down the staircase, and the party that was going on, it was a very uncomfortable experience. This was our Valentine's Day dinner, and to say the least, we were incredibly disappointed. I made the reservation well in advance, and even specified that I would like a quiet table away from high traffic areas, specifically away from the kitchen. We were seated precisely where I had asked NOT to be seated. This is something that takes place in movies. It was like it was taken from the scene of a dark comedy.

We do not have the opportunity or the resources to go out for many dinners, and were very much looking forward to our experience that evening. We were deflated and disappointed while we were there, and left feeling the same way.

Needless to say, I highly doubt we will dine here again. If we are in a position to spend over $200 on dinner again, it will certainly be at a restaurant that will accommodate us and not offer us a seat outside the washrooms.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Enjoyed the entire experience, the decor is so rich and luxurious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The upstairs dining room is quieter than the lounge which is often very busy. A nice lunch for 4 friends getting re acquainted , food was good as always, service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We were visiting from Pennsylvania and read some reviews and decided to try it. It was 8pm and the diningroom was closed so we ate in the Lounge. Our waiter Dean was great providing promp, professional, friendly service. My husband had a reuban sandwich and declared it to be the best he has ever eaten. I ordered the Greek lamb chop special which was delicious. The place is historic and filled with old english charm. Highly recommended. If we are ever back in Winnipeg we will definitely eat there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Baily's restaurant and lounge is a great historical place. The food is amazing. A Greek spin on a lot of the food. Great service and decor. Baily's is a great place to converse. It is not too loud and you can hear what others are saying. Baily's is just an overall very comfortable dining experience with great food and service.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We had not been back to this location in a very long time, and were pleasantly surprised. Food was very good and the atmosphere was great. It was quiet and service was prompt. All the entrées we tried were excellent, including the rack of lamb and tenderloin. French onion soup was about the best I have had in a long time. we will definitely be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was very good as usual. Service was prompt and very professional. Ambience is so elegant. Despite the very noisy group seated close by, they were not "right on top of us" so we were able to carry on a conversation quite nicely. The surrounding plushness absorbs some of the extra noise.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 7, 2017

First visit, recommended by family member, met all expectations and then some. Made reservation for 2 instead of 3, and were seated immediately at a suitable table. Our waitress (sorry, can't remembwr her name) was very attentive, as were the other servers who kept our water glasses full and dishes cleaned off. Excellent feature drink (the one with Raspberry vodka shaken with pineapple and cranberry juice.) Excellent med rare prime Rib. One person had lamb chops for the first time - he loved it. Pleasantly surprised to have Hazelnut gelato dessert - amazing! Great carrot cake.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had had a wonderful meal on Saturday night. It was not to loud ,
Our appetizers and meal were spaced out very well ,and we did not feel rushed in any way.
Will definitely be back.
Thanks Rick O

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Easy to book using website. Lovely setting. Drinks delicious and all 4 meals scrumptous. Never rushed and enjoyed our time

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Bailey's is a Winnipeg staple. My mother and I went for dinner prior to an RMTC show. We were greeted by a really friendly young man and seated in their atrium-like dining room, lighting and service were perfect. Extensive menus options and generous serving size. My mother enjoyed her Cajun snapper and my prime rib was cooked perfectly (and huge!) Sadly I don't eat there often, because there are so many great restaurants in Winnipeg, but every time I do I make the note to come more often. Would recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We enjoyed a New Years Eve dinner with our friends. Although I usually do not like a set menu, the entree choices were great, something for everyone. Our service was great and not rushed, we dined from 8:00 pm to 11:00 pm. We had not been back for a long time..... The meal, service and atmosphere were all lovely. I had forgotten how lovely this historical building is.
Thank You for a great evening, we will return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were here for New Years Eve 2016, I made reservations on Open Table but looked at the Menu prior to our reservation to see if there was a special menu for the occasion, I went on Bailey's website and found only their regular menu, I even double checked again closer to New Years just to make sure as it was our first time here and we were excited to try the menu.
We arrived and the place is nice inside, reminds me of an old Hollywood style, we went upstairs to the dining room, were seated and presented with a set menu for New Years! We asked if the regular menu was available and they said no but if you would like you can go downstairs to the lounge,I'm assuming we would get the regular menu there? We were already seated and water given so we didn't want to have to get up in front if everyone to move. The set menu did offer you deferent selections for your entree and dessert but everything else like appetizer plate, soup and salad was set.
I had the ribeye steak and it was good, their side vegetables were also seasoned well and good and the mashed potatoes were decent, my partner had the pork medallions and when I asked how it was the reply I got was alright. Our server was an older gent and service was decent. The decor like I said reminded me of old Hollywood, I was disappointed to see dings in the wall and some splatter Marks, I thought if your going to market this as a nice restaurant it's important to make sure those things are taken care off, overall I have to say the place was pretty good, a bit on the pricey side though. I might return again but it wouldn't be in the forefront of my mind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent food although it did take quite a well for it to come out and the restaurant was nearly empty

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The staff was friendly and helpful. The dining experience was as always the best. It is one of the topnotch restaurants in Winnipeg.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I loved the decor and the feel of the place! It really sets a mood for celebrating, the Christmas decorations were lovely! The food was great and so was the service. Would love to come back and explore the menu some more. The bathroom was freezing though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We went to celebrate a milestone birthday before attending the theatre. Service was great, meals fantastic

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We attended for a 40th birthday party and had a private room (the library) for the 20 of us. The room and service could not have been better. I'd recommend this restaurant to anyone. They were able to accommodate gluten free dining and more severe food allergies.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.