About Badger Crossing Pub & Eatery

909 Front St
Cashton, WI 54619
View Larger Map

Badger Crossing is a delightful find in a small town. We have a very diverse menu offering steaks from a local butcher, finger lickin' barbecued ribs, seafood, homemade soups, pizza cooked in a stone oven and many other surprising menu items!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Prime Rib, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 654-5706

Website:
http://www.badgercrossing.com/

Catering:
Customized catering for weddings, anniversaries and parties.

Parking Details:
Street parking as well as an open parking lot one block away.

Executive Chef:
Lyle Schaller

Private Party Facilities:
We offer an upstairs dining room with capacity for 50 people that can be rented for semi private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Lyle Schaller: 6084872911x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Badger Crossing Pub & Eatery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
La Crosse
Best Restaurants in La Crosse ›

neighborhood gem (8)
good for groups (6)
great for lunch (4)
See All
special occasion (4)
kid-friendly (3)
fit for foodies (3)
late-night find (2)
notable wine list (2)
hot spot (2)
scenic view (1)
romantic (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
16 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food nice place

Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I both had steaks and they were very good. Good service great atmosphere. Nice old building with a lot of history.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Been Disappointed

Dined on April 9, 2016

Since moving to the area, Badger Crossing has become our go-to location for a special night out and to take visiting family and friends. I have tried a variety of items on their menu and never been disappointed. A full salad bar comes with each dinner (includes a choice of 2 soups) and I'm fully when I leave or have leftovers to enjoy again the next day. The hostess station and the wait staff are very friendly and accommodating. I try to make a reservation if I know we're going on a Friday or Saturday since the wait can be quite long, but because the food and service is so good, they are also busy during the week and a reservation could be helpful. While you wait, there is a full bar where you can have something to drink, enjoy free popcorn and talk before being seated in the dining area. I highly recommend Badger Crossing in Cashton, WI!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always leave happy and full

Dined on January 30, 2016

We have dined at Badger Crossing several times since moving to the area in September, even taking our company president and peers on one occasion. Having been there that often, it means that not everything is always perfect but everything that's NOT perfect is taken care of with professionalism, concern and courtesy (keeping in mind that is how we try to behave as well). Badger Crossing's menu has plenty to choose from, the soup and salad bar is never a disappointment and I look forward to trying everything offered as time goes on.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Great find!

Dined on August 28, 2015

We were in the area for the Elroy-Sparta bike trial and tripadvisor.com advised this was a good place. It was!! We had the fish fry and our kids ate off the kids menu. Even the kids gave rave reviews (and they are picky.) I had the 3 piece Cod dinner and should have had 2 pieces. They were nice size pieces. Salad bar was tasty. Server was great! My daughter dropped her knife and from no where the server came over, said she heard the drop and asked what silverware needed to be replaced in a very kind manner. I have NEVER had that happen before. We got there around 5:15 and were able to be seated right away (due to reservations through opentable.com) however it got very busy by the time we left. Would highly recommend reservations (at least for Friday nights.) We will definitely go back when in the area again.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

Not good

vip
Dined on June 29, 2015

Overcooked pasta with a marinara sauce that tasted burnt. Any bottled, brand name sauce would have been far better. Mis-shapen meatballs completed the crude presentation. Stay away.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was a busy day for lunch dining. Onl ...

Dined on May 21, 2015

It was a busy day for lunch dining. Only one waitress was working. It took some time to get our drinks and food. We knew our waitress was doing her best to attend to each table. She kept up a pleasant and delightful attitude and apologized for the delay. When things slowed down she was able to spend time talking to us. We were in no hurry and enjoyed our dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Dining Experience

Dined on May 17, 2015

Salad Bar was superb. Had a good selection of foods to order. Prices were competitive for the area. Service was great and the food was superb. Would definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service5

Fish Fry Foodie Finds Failure!

Dined on April 24, 2015

We love the Fish Fry, and went with expectations of a great meal from other reviews written.. We found the eatery to be pleasant, the waitstaff fantastic, but not the fish fry. Way too greasy, and the salad bar run of the mill , there was nothing worth landing on my plate. 2 pieces $10.99, not the usual Fish Fry all you can eat, and not a potato pancake to be found on the offerings...Their Badger Fries were very good......but still would not recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful!!

Dined on April 4, 2015

the prime rib is superb! would highly recommend it, even if you aren't a big fan of prime rib. the wait staff is very attentive and cordial. salad bar was well stocked with a nice variety of items. everything tasted fresh. can't wait to go back!! kudos to the cute chef too!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service1

Food

Dined on January 2, 2015

THE FISH WAS WATERERY, ALMOST LIKE IT WAS STILL FROZEN AND NOT COOKED THOUGH.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A FAVORITE of ours!

Dined on December 14, 2014

My grown son took me here for my first visit a few years ago. Now that I moved back to the area, I go visit when I can. The last time I was there (last weekend), I brought along 2 local sisters and their husbands as well as a sister and her husband from New Mexico. We ALL found it to be a VERY pleasurable experience. The food was GREAT, the service was AWESOME and the overall experience was FANTASTIC!! And we even ran into the son who took me for my first visit who just happened to be there that same night!! THAT says it all!! :)

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

WOW !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dined on August 16, 2014

The service was great but dinner was outstanding!!!!! Prime rib was the best I have had in years, combined with the onions and mushrooms it was heaven. I always order the larger cut of prime rib where ever we eat and have no problem finishing it. This was so thick I could not finish the dinner and took home a piece large enough for lunch the next day.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service4

Cooking in Cashton!

Dined on April 27, 2014

Nice neighborhood restaurant...good food at a fair price. Appreciate having a nice wine glass!

food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable, relaxing, great food and serv ...

Dined on April 20, 2014

Enjoyable, relaxing, great food and service. Ice cream drinks were excellent!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat. night Prime Rib special

Dined on April 19, 2014

OMG the prime rib is to die for!! Highly recommend checking it out. The staff is the best, especially the cook and the owners...Nick, Deb & Tim Hundt. Took friends there for first time, pretty sure it will be a go-to spot for them from now on.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Almost perfect..

Dined on December 8, 2013

Our family greatly enjoyed the dining experience. The salad bar was amazing and the broccoli cheese soup was to die for (and I dont even like broccoli.) Even dining on one of the busiest nights, appetizers and food came out promptly, our steaks were done to perfection and potatoes were hot. The only opportunity was the children mentioned the fettuccine sauce was not up to par (and they are experts in this area). Would definitely return and recommend!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.