HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Backstage Bistro (at Village Cinema)

3.9
128 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Outdoor Dining (99)
  • Special Occasion (61)
  • Fit for Foodies (60)

Similar Restaurants

About

Recently named the “Best Food option at the Village” and “a hidden gem” by the Idaho Statesman, Backstage Bistro is a hip casual wine bar and restaurant located upstairs at the Village Cinema. The menu offers a variety of delicious regional food, beer and wines at affordable prices with something available for every family member. The bistro, conveniently located within the cinema, is a perfect option for moviegoers as well. Whether you are on the run or would rather linger, we invite you to enjoy some of the classic well-dressed comfort food and local micro brews. Backstage Bistro’s circular centerpiece bar, giant screen HDTV and large comfortable booths is the perfect place to gather and meet with friends. The bistro’s roof-top outdoor patio has oversized sofas surrounding a warm fire pit as well as tables for dining alfresco while taking in breathtaking views of the dancing “Bellagio-style” fountains and concerts on the plaza below.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, American, Gastro Pub
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
DINNER daily starting at 4pm
LUNCH Tuesday, Friday, Saturday starting at 11:00 am
BRUNCH Sunday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm
HAPPY HOUR daily 4-6pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(208) 995-2943
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Tal Jude
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
N. Eagle Rd. & E. Fairview Ave.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Ample parking with a Valet option.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Located within the grand Village Cinema!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 128 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.9  based on all time ratings
3.8
food
4.1
service
4.0
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
79% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Boise)
4.0  Dined on May 19, 2017

I always like this place, very convenient if you are going to a movie. With the warm weather the patio on the balcony is very nice.

Report
Helpful
SuperCritic (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on May 6, 2017

OK folks, so Idaho seems to have an endless supply of sketch-Mex, Chinese restaurants, and fast food....not much in between. So I tend to keep an eye out for anything different and also tend to be critical of their food even though the bar in Idaho is already so low.

Truth be told, this place has great atmosphere, outstanding service, and for a bistro the food was fantastic. The food was a little pricey for the portion but in retrospect given the fact that your mere steps from your movie or the rest of the village, it worth it.

It's a great place to get off the ground level away from the crowds, have some great food, relax, and regain your sanity for a few moments before braving the mall yet again.

Five stars!

Report
Helpful
Outonthetown (Boise)
4.0  Dined on April 14, 2017

Great service and atmosphere a bit pricey for what you get and limited menu options. We always live the service what keeps us coming back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Boise)
3.0  Dined on March 21, 2017

I was somewhat disappointed in the new menu selection. Seems a bit light on variety.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Boise)
5.0  Dined on February 17, 2017

I absolutely love this restaurant! The staff is out of this world! Hands down the best service I have ever received. This is my first choice restaurant to visit in the Village. It's great for date nights and family nights. The food is always so fresh and delicious. I can't get enough. We will definitely continue frequenting this restaurant as long as we live here.

Report
Helpful
Bryan (Boise)
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2017

Have been coming to here since it opened. Used to have a great menu, now limited options. The can present fabulous dinners, but menu limits what he can do.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Boise)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2017

I loved the food we purchased from Back Stage Bistro. We had the chicken sticks with sauce, yum! They were plated nicely and crispy delicious. We also had the coconut shrimp. It was absolutely delicious! Then we had the flatbread chicken bacon pizza thing. It was delicious! My husband who doesn't like vegetables ate it up! I drank it down with the mojito. It was a good night! Our waitress, an older lady with a great attitude, was very attentive and helpful!

Report
Helpful
greattime2 (Boise)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food and fun atmosphere. Great for pre-theater dinner. Excellent, friendly service. Small tables for intimate dining, and large tables for groups. Highly recommend

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Hawaii)
4.0  Dined on February 14, 2017

The entree was fine. The dessert was amazing. Our server (Tracy) was exceptional... friendly, informative, funny, knowledgeable, and prompt.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Boise)
4.0  Dined on January 12, 2017

Fun place to hang out before or after a movie. Good drinks and appetizers.

Report
Helpful
Birdie14 (Boise)
1.0  Dined on December 31, 2016

We wanted dinner before our movie and were so disappointed. The place was freezing cold. I had to send a margarita back it was so bad. The appetizer was OK. We ordered the Philly Cheesesteak and it was so tough and full of gristle. We won't be going back.

Report
Helpful
Fred (Portland)
4.0  Dined on December 30, 2016

My only minor complaint is that the artichoke dip came out cold. It was Delicious. Main course was all excellent.

Need to expand menu a little. Somewhat limited.

Report
Helpful
Ribread (Boise)
4.0  Dined on December 17, 2016

Every time I have been there the service hasn't been great. This time during Breakfast with Santa it was good but the good is never worth the value. Inside the theater the food seems to be better. The restaurant has never impressed me. But it's a fun little tradition we started three years ago (which was the best year food wise) and we will probably keep doing it for the tradition but if somewhere else held it...I would be happier!!

Report
Helpful
TS1931 (Boise)
3.0  Dined on December 10, 2016

We had breakfast with Santa. The kids loved it and had a great time. I was hoping that the food would have been better. Especially for the price.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Boise)
4.0  Dined on December 10, 2016

Breakfast with Santa was fun. All was well except for the cold pancakes and our waitress kept forgetting things like a spoon for my coffee, I never did get my water and she brought my husband coffee instead of o.j.
Glad we did it once but probably will do the pics with Santa instead next year and not the breakfast.
That Santa is the best though!! We love him!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Boise)
3.0  Dined on December 3, 2016

My family and I attend Breakfast with Santa for our second year. There were some issues last year, but we thought since it was their first year doing this event we would give them another chance. Once again, the food was cold and the service was disorganized. No one ever took our food or drink order, but they did bring us three plates of food eventually. Santa was awesome, but we won't be back next year.

Report
Helpful
FabFunke4 (Boise)
3.0  Dined on October 11, 2016

This was my first time eating at the restaurant, which is great if you want to grab dinner before a movie. I was disappointed that the menu was different than the one I viewed online. The menu was not as good in my opinion. The food was just okay, but expensive. I would recommend Yard house or Matador, which has better food for same price.

No croquettes were available, or pork belly😥

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on September 27, 2016

Great service, both servers and hosts!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Boise)
1.0  Dined on August 24, 2016

The fruit and cheese plate was a good, but difficult to mess that up. The directors cut burger wax small in proportion and the bun was very dried out. It took a long time to get the food and even longer to have the check picked up after we were finished eating.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Boise)
2.0  Dined on August 2, 2016

Every time i have visited your establishment it has seemed understaffed. We went out for a girls night so we planned dinner & drinks and a movie. We made a reservation ahead of time. We gave our selves 2 hours and plan to do drinks and appetizers. We were seated outside in the heat with no shade. Our server did not come to take our order for 20 + minutes and when our drink orders were placed it took another 30 minutes to get them. Our server kept telling us he would be back to take our food order and would not return for 20+ minutes. We were late to our movie due to the second drinks & food taking so long. The establishment was not full, just seemed to be understaffed. It was enjoyable to have dinner and drinks near the movie and the quality of the food /drinks were very good. The timing and lack of care of service was frustrating and disappointing.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7