About Backstage Bistro (at Village Cinema)

Recently named the “Best Food option at the Village” and “a hidden gem” by the Idaho Statesman, Backstage Bistro is a hip casual wine bar and restaurant located upstairs at the Village Cinema. The menu offers a variety of delicious regional food, beer and wines at affordable prices with something available for every family member. The bistro, conveniently located within the cinema, is a perfect option for moviegoers as well. Whether you are on the run or would rather linger, we invite you to enjoy some of the classic well-dressed comfort food and local micro brews. Backstage Bistro’s circular centerpiece bar, giant screen HDTV and large comfortable booths is the perfect place to gather and meet with friends. The bistro’s roof-top outdoor patio has oversized sofas surrounding a warm fire pit as well as tables for dining alfresco while taking in breathtaking views of the dancing “Bellagio-style” fountains and concerts on the plaza below.

The Village at Meridian
3711 East Longwing Lane
Meridian, ID 83646
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
DINNER daily starting at 4pm
LUNCH Tuesday, Friday, Saturday starting at 11:00 am
BRUNCH Sunday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm
HAPPY HOUR daily 4-6pm

Cross Street:
N. Eagle Rd. & E. Fairview Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 995-2943

Website:
http://www.cinemawest.com/

Entertainment:
Located within the grand Village Cinema!

Parking Details:
Ample parking with a Valet option.

Executive Chef:
Tal Jude

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Backstage Bistro (at Village Cinema) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.5

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fun (5)
Casual (5)
See All
Quick Bite (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Romantic (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Authentic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tapas (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
126 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great service and atmosphere a bit pricey for what you get and limited menu options. We always live the service what keeps us coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 21, 2017

I was somewhat disappointed in the new menu selection. Seems a bit light on variety.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I absolutely love this restaurant! The staff is out of this world! Hands down the best service I have ever received. This is my first choice restaurant to visit in the Village. It's great for date nights and family nights. The food is always so fresh and delicious. I can't get enough. We will definitely continue frequenting this restaurant as long as we live here.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Cozy, People Watching, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Have been coming to here since it opened. Used to have a great menu, now limited options. The can present fabulous dinners, but menu limits what he can do.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I loved the food we purchased from Back Stage Bistro. We had the chicken sticks with sauce, yum! They were plated nicely and crispy delicious. We also had the coconut shrimp. It was absolutely delicious! Then we had the flatbread chicken bacon pizza thing. It was delicious! My husband who doesn't like vegetables ate it up! I drank it down with the mojito. It was a good night! Our waitress, an older lady with a great attitude, was very attentive and helpful!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food and fun atmosphere. Great for pre-theater dinner. Excellent, friendly service. Small tables for intimate dining, and large tables for groups. Highly recommend

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The entree was fine. The dessert was amazing. Our server (Tracy) was exceptional... friendly, informative, funny, knowledgeable, and prompt.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Fun place to hang out before or after a movie. Good drinks and appetizers.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We wanted dinner before our movie and were so disappointed. The place was freezing cold. I had to send a margarita back it was so bad. The appetizer was OK. We ordered the Philly Cheesesteak and it was so tough and full of gristle. We won't be going back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My only minor complaint is that the artichoke dip came out cold. It was Delicious. Main course was all excellent.

Need to expand menu a little. Somewhat limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Every time I have been there the service hasn't been great. This time during Breakfast with Santa it was good but the good is never worth the value. Inside the theater the food seems to be better. The restaurant has never impressed me. But it's a fun little tradition we started three years ago (which was the best year food wise) and we will probably keep doing it for the tradition but if somewhere else held it...I would be happier!!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We had breakfast with Santa. The kids loved it and had a great time. I was hoping that the food would have been better. Especially for the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Breakfast with Santa was fun. All was well except for the cold pancakes and our waitress kept forgetting things like a spoon for my coffee, I never did get my water and she brought my husband coffee instead of o.j.
Glad we did it once but probably will do the pics with Santa instead next year and not the breakfast.
That Santa is the best though!! We love him!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My family and I attend Breakfast with Santa for our second year. There were some issues last year, but we thought since it was their first year doing this event we would give them another chance. Once again, the food was cold and the service was disorganized. No one ever took our food or drink order, but they did bring us three plates of food eventually. Santa was awesome, but we won't be back next year.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 12, 2016

This was my first time eating at the restaurant, which is great if you want to grab dinner before a movie. I was disappointed that the menu was different than the one I viewed online. The menu was not as good in my opinion. The food was just okay, but expensive. I would recommend Yard house or Matador, which has better food for same price.

No croquettes were available, or pork belly😥

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Great service, both servers and hosts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The fruit and cheese plate was a good, but difficult to mess that up. The directors cut burger wax small in proportion and the bun was very dried out. It took a long time to get the food and even longer to have the check picked up after we were finished eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Every time i have visited your establishment it has seemed understaffed. We went out for a girls night so we planned dinner & drinks and a movie. We made a reservation ahead of time. We gave our selves 2 hours and plan to do drinks and appetizers. We were seated outside in the heat with no shade. Our server did not come to take our order for 20 + minutes and when our drink orders were placed it took another 30 minutes to get them. Our server kept telling us he would be back to take our food order and would not return for 20+ minutes. We were late to our movie due to the second drinks & food taking so long. The establishment was not full, just seemed to be understaffed. It was enjoyable to have dinner and drinks near the movie and the quality of the food /drinks were very good. The timing and lack of care of service was frustrating and disappointing.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 2, 2016

I have been to Back Stage Bistro several times and this time was my worst. The wait for food, missing food items, bill was wrong, food that didn't come at all. I will think before coming back again. To bad, I like some of the weight staff. They are overworked and not given what it ordered.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 8, 2016

I made a reservation because I like sitting out on the deck when the band is playing. Open table didn't let me pick a table. When I arrived and told them I wanted an outside table I was told they were first come first serve. 1) Open table should tell me that upfront so I could at least show up early and try to get a table, NOT let me make a (no good reservation) 2) Otherwise if I have a reservation, and I show up, I should have first choice at any newly vacated table, not necessarily the first one that becomes vacant.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 14, 2016

We love the bistro for it's relaxed, casual, but also upscale feel of this place. You will fine people in jeans and t shirts, but then also all dressed up for a fancy night out. We return often. Love that they happy hour menu available all day on Tuesdays. Also, a prefect place to go when you want to see a movie and not be rushed to get from restaurant to theater.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 7, 2016

The balcony is a great place to enjoy a nice evening with friends, food, and beverages. Service is exceptional.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 21, 2016

But I would not make this your primary dinner destination.
Bar looks cool and beer / cocktails were very good. But menu is limited and our meals did not impress. If you are looking for a place to hang out before or after a movie... it could be a lot of fun. For dinner... would keep looking.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2016

It took us over an hour to see our food. We ordered simple sandwiches so we could shop a bit before our movie time. Their valentines menu was WAY overpriced at 50 per person. The biggest problem they have here is competing with the food offerings with the theater VIP attendants. If you are going to offer food to both the restaurant and the theater, then have separate lines available for each so you're not catering to the VIP attendants over the restaurant ones.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Save your time any money and eat elsewhere in the Village. Service is awful and the food is so-so. Prices are okay but not for the quality and quanity. Most tables are for drinks and not dinner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 13, 2016

We ate the Valentines special dinner, it was amazing. The bar makes perfect bloody marys and the staff was the best I have ever encountered. The manager was extremely helpful and professional, she is a treasure for this businesses. Best Valentines experience ever.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on February 7, 2016

We have been to Backstage before, but it has not been the same since the it first opened. Every time we go the quality of the food is getting worse or maybe not worse rather it would appear as if corners are being cut. I am sorry to see this however it may simply be a matter of economics. Sorry Backstage Bistro, I hope you turn it around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 31, 2016

It felt like I was ordering a streak from the all you can eat food buffets, the waitress really talked up the steak as a good special, it looked sloppy and had no flavor, they decided to comp my drink I ordered, the thing is the drink was good the food was bad, perhaps my food should have been comped, just saying!!! The service was good, I will try the place one more time and I will reserve my final judgement till then.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 25, 2015

We went on Christmas Day for lunch. It was great that it was open on Christmas Day.

I don't think they planned well though. From what I could see one server was handling the entire restaurant and it was busy. She did great though! The whole staff was great. The food delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 19, 2015

The hostess had no idea what she was doing. She did not seem to understand how reservations worked. We watched numerous parties of the same size be seated before us with the same reservation time. She explained that the party that was our table was "taking a really long time. " we watched a party of the same size be seated and served their food before we were even seated. They had arrived 15 minutes after us. We were then seated at two round tables which were not meant for a party of four. We were not seated by our reservation time. I was very disappointed. By the time we were done with our meal Santa was no longer in the restaurant he was out visiting with the waiting parties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 12, 2015

I loved that they hosted the Breakfast with Santa event. The staff was lovely to all the children and the Santa was phenomenal!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 12, 2015

We attended the Santa breakfast and the food was pretty awful. It was a fun experience and we would do it again for that reason. I've had their food in the VIP theater previously and it was pretty good then. Guessing breakfast isn't their forte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 14, 2015

Went in for a quick bite, waiter spilled iced water all over my daughter. Nothing was brought to help clean it up we had to use our napkins to clean it up. Food was awful, customer service worse. When never go again. Find it shocking It got good reviews

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 24, 2015

I loved the view of how the fountains would practically dance to elegant music and how the lights would turn on at night on the balcony of the restaurant. This restaurant has a touch of class and is good for going out with a group or just treating yourself without breaking the bank. There are good views, great food, very friendly waiters and fire what else you need?!:)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 18, 2015

My husband and I are never disappointed when we come here for date night. Terrence is an awesome server and they always take fantastic care of us. The food is great and the atmosphere is very relaxed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 29, 2015

Pleasantly surprised by the quality of food served at a restaurant that's attached to a cinema. We were visiting from California and decided to go out to dinner and a movie, what a perfect pairing at the Backstage Bistro at Village Cinema. Our waitress was great, cocktails were great, all of the food we ordered was fresh, flavorful, and cooked well. The best part was that it was a Tuesday, which is a "savings" promotion day at the Village and our movie tickets were only $5 a piece and at the Backstage Bistro happy hour runs all day plus they have a reduced price menu! We will be back on our next visit to Boise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 22, 2015

Hostess sat us at a table for 12 when we were only 2. When I asked about several other open tables for 2-4 she said those were for reservations. We had made a reservation, duh. She said they were for special requests. We were really uncomfortable where we were so we moved to the bar and watched every open table remain open as well as several other open up. If we were not going to a movie and had more time I would have left. Food was OK being that it is in a movie theater but nothing great. Nachos were on par with stadium fare. The wedge salad was pretty good. Fair price I suppose but we didn't finish either dish if that means anything.
Bartender was awesome and did a great job.
I will eat on the way to the movie next time and skip this experience. If you cant do it right, don't bother. This includes training your staff at front of house who basically created this bad review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 30, 2015

Our waitress, I believe her name was Tracy, was very accomodating and friendly. Her knowledge of the menu came in handy when making our final decisions on food, and she made sure that my father received the drink he wanted even though it was not found on the menu. My family loves their food, while I felt my burger could have used more bleu cheese. This wasn't a deal breaker by any means, though. Happy hour specials are hard to beat here!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 22, 2015

I took my wife to dinner and a movie for her birthday. Our last experience there was great. We had a nice prime rib dinner. This time my wife had the salmon which was dry and tasteless. I had the shrimp scampi. The pasta was way over cooked. They didn't offer us any bread and didn't carry grated parmesan cheese, Harvey's Bristol Cream or Southern Comfort.

The calamari appetizer was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2015

The Food and drink were wonderful in this restaurant in a movie theater. The service was excellent, the food delicious! Great date place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.