About Backstage Bistro (at Village Cinema)

The Village at Meridian
3711 East Longwing Lane
Meridian, ID 83646
View Larger Map

Recently named the “Best Food option at the Village” and “a hidden gem” by the Idaho Statesman, Backstage Bistro is a hip casual wine bar and restaurant located upstairs at the Village Cinema. The menu offers a variety of delicious regional food, beer and wines at affordable prices with something available for every family member. The bistro, conveniently located within the cinema, is a perfect option for moviegoers as well. Whether you are on the run or would rather linger, we invite you to enjoy some of the classic well-dressed comfort food and local micro brews. Backstage Bistro’s circular centerpiece bar, giant screen HDTV and large comfortable booths is the perfect place to gather and meet with friends. The bistro’s roof-top outdoor patio has oversized sofas surrounding a warm fire pit as well as tables for dining alfresco while taking in breathtaking views of the dancing “Bellagio-style” fountains and concerts on the plaza below.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
DINNER daily starting at 4pm
LUNCH Tuesday, Friday, Saturday starting at 11:00 am
BRUNCH Sunday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm
HAPPY HOUR daily 4-6pm

Cross Street:
N. Eagle Rd. & E. Fairview Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 995-2943

Website:
http://www.cinemawest.com/

Entertainment:
Located within the grand Village Cinema!

Parking Details:
Ample parking with a Valet option.

Executive Chef:
Tal Jude

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Backstage Bistro (at Village Cinema) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

People Watching (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
See All
Fireplace (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Business Meals (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was my first time eating at the res ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 12, 2016

This was my first time eating at the restaurant, which is great if you want to grab dinner before a movie. I was disappointed that the menu was different than the one I viewed online. The menu was not as good in my opinion. The food was just okay, but expensive. I would recommend Yard house or Matador, which has better food for same price.

No croquettes were available, or pork belly😥

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great service, both servers and hosts!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Great service, both servers and hosts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The fruit and cheese plate was a good, b ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The fruit and cheese plate was a good, but difficult to mess that up. The directors cut burger wax small in proportion and the bun was very dried out. It took a long time to get the food and even longer to have the check picked up after we were finished eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Every time i have visited your establish ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Every time i have visited your establishment it has seemed understaffed. We went out for a girls night so we planned dinner & drinks and a movie. We made a reservation ahead of time. We gave our selves 2 hours and plan to do drinks and appetizers. We were seated outside in the heat with no shade. Our server did not come to take our order for 20 + minutes and when our drink orders were placed it took another 30 minutes to get them. Our server kept telling us he would be back to take our food order and would not return for 20+ minutes. We were late to our movie due to the second drinks & food taking so long. The establishment was not full, just seemed to be understaffed. It was enjoyable to have dinner and drinks near the movie and the quality of the food /drinks were very good. The timing and lack of care of service was frustrating and disappointing.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

I have been to Back Stage Bistro several ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 2, 2016

I have been to Back Stage Bistro several times and this time was my worst. The wait for food, missing food items, bill was wrong, food that didn't come at all. I will think before coming back again. To bad, I like some of the weight staff. They are overworked and not given what it ordered.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

I made a reservation because I like sitt ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 8, 2016

I made a reservation because I like sitting out on the deck when the band is playing. Open table didn't let me pick a table. When I arrived and told them I wanted an outside table I was told they were first come first serve. 1) Open table should tell me that upfront so I could at least show up early and try to get a table, NOT let me make a (no good reservation) 2) Otherwise if I have a reservation, and I show up, I should have first choice at any newly vacated table, not necessarily the first one that becomes vacant.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

We love the bistro for it's relaxed, cas ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 14, 2016

We love the bistro for it's relaxed, casual, but also upscale feel of this place. You will fine people in jeans and t shirts, but then also all dressed up for a fancy night out. We return often. Love that they happy hour menu available all day on Tuesdays. Also, a prefect place to go when you want to see a movie and not be rushed to get from restaurant to theater.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The balcony is a great place to enjoy ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 7, 2016

The balcony is a great place to enjoy a nice evening with friends, food, and beverages. Service is exceptional.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cool place to hang out before or after a movie

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 21, 2016

But I would not make this your primary dinner destination.

Bar looks cool and beer / cocktails were very good. But menu is limited and our meals did not impress. If you are looking for a place to hang out before or after a movie... it could be a lot of fun. For dinner... would keep looking.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

Competition with theatre

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2016

It took us over an hour to see our food. We ordered simple sandwiches so we could shop a bit before our movie time. Their valentines menu was WAY overpriced at 50 per person. The biggest problem they have here is competing with the food offerings with the theater VIP attendants. If you are going to offer food to both the restaurant and the theater, then have separate lines available for each so you're not catering to the VIP attendants over the restaurant ones.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Average at Best

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Save your time any money and eat elsewhere in the Village. Service is awful and the food is so-so. Prices are okay but not for the quality and quanity. Most tables are for drinks and not dinner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

We ate the Valentines special dinner, it ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 13, 2016

We ate the Valentines special dinner, it was amazing. The bar makes perfect bloody marys and the staff was the best I have ever encountered. The manager was extremely helpful and professional, she is a treasure for this businesses. Best Valentines experience ever.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meh

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on February 7, 2016

We have been to Backstage before, but it has not been the same since the it first opened. Every time we go the quality of the food is getting worse or maybe not worse rather it would appear as if corners are being cut. I am sorry to see this however it may simply be a matter of economics. Sorry Backstage Bistro, I hope you turn it around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Poor food

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 31, 2016

It felt like I was ordering a streak from the all you can eat food buffets, the waitress really talked up the steak as a good special, it looked sloppy and had no flavor, they decided to comp my drink I ordered, the thing is the drink was good the food was bad, perhaps my food should have been comped, just saying!!! The service was good, I will try the place one more time and I will reserve my final judgement till then.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

We went on Christmas Day for lunch. It w ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 25, 2015

We went on Christmas Day for lunch. It was great that it was open on Christmas Day.

I don't think they planned well though. From what I could see one server was handling the entire restaurant and it was busy. She did great though! The whole staff was great. The food delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not a very good hostess...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 19, 2015

The hostess had no idea what she was doing. She did not seem to understand how reservations worked. We watched numerous parties of the same size be seated before us with the same reservation time. She explained that the party that was our table was "taking a really long time. " we watched a party of the same size be seated and served their food before we were even seated. They had arrived 15 minutes after us. We were then seated at two round tables which were not meant for a party of four. We were not seated by our reservation time. I was very disappointed. By the time we were done with our meal Santa was no longer in the restaurant he was out visiting with the waiting parties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Breakfast with Santa

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 12, 2015

I loved that they hosted the Breakfast with Santa event. The staff was lovely to all the children and the Santa was phenomenal!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Santa breakfast

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 12, 2015

We attended the Santa breakfast and the food was pretty awful. It was a fun experience and we would do it again for that reason. I've had their food in the VIP theater previously and it was pretty good then. Guessing breakfast isn't their forte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

Awful customer service

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 14, 2015

Went in for a quick bite, waiter spilled iced water all over my daughter. Nothing was brought to help clean it up we had to use our napkins to clean it up. Food was awful, customer service worse. When never go again. Find it shocking It got good reviews

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Wonderful,friendly service!:)

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 24, 2015

I loved the view of how the fountains would practically dance to elegant music and how the lights would turn on at night on the balcony of the restaurant. This restaurant has a touch of class and is good for going out with a group or just treating yourself without breaking the bank. There are good views, great food, very friendly waiters and fire what else you need?!:)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our favorite "dinner and a movie" spot

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 18, 2015

My husband and I are never disappointed when we come here for date night. Terrence is an awesome server and they always take fantastic care of us. The food is great and the atmosphere is very relaxed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yummy!!!

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 29, 2015

Pleasantly surprised by the quality of food served at a restaurant that's attached to a cinema. We were visiting from California and decided to go out to dinner and a movie, what a perfect pairing at the Backstage Bistro at Village Cinema. Our waitress was great, cocktails were great, all of the food we ordered was fresh, flavorful, and cooked well. The best part was that it was a Tuesday, which is a "savings" promotion day at the Village and our movie tickets were only $5 a piece and at the Backstage Bistro happy hour runs all day plus they have a reduced price menu! We will be back on our next visit to Boise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bad from the start

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 22, 2015

Hostess sat us at a table for 12 when we were only 2. When I asked about several other open tables for 2-4 she said those were for reservations. We had made a reservation, duh. She said they were for special requests. We were really uncomfortable where we were so we moved to the bar and watched every open table remain open as well as several other open up. If we were not going to a movie and had more time I would have left. Food was OK being that it is in a movie theater but nothing great. Nachos were on par with stadium fare. The wedge salad was pretty good. Fair price I suppose but we didn't finish either dish if that means anything.

Bartender was awesome and did a great job.

I will eat on the way to the movie next time and skip this experience. If you cant do it right, don't bother. This includes training your staff at front of house who basically created this bad review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Always a nice time!

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 30, 2015

Our waitress, I believe her name was Tracy, was very accomodating and friendly. Her knowledge of the menu came in handy when making our final decisions on food, and she made sure that my father received the drink he wanted even though it was not found on the menu. My family loves their food, while I felt my burger could have used more bleu cheese. This wasn't a deal breaker by any means, though. Happy hour specials are hard to beat here!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Second Time Around Not Good

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 22, 2015

I took my wife to dinner and a movie for her birthday. Our last experience there was great. We had a nice prime rib dinner. This time my wife had the salmon which was dry and tasteless. I had the shrimp scampi. The pasta was way over cooked. They didn't offer us any bread and didn't carry grated parmesan cheese, Harvey's Bristol Cream or Southern Comfort.

The calamari appetizer was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Great food in an unlikely spot!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2015

The Food and drink were wonderful in this restaurant in a movie theater. The service was excellent, the food delicious! Great date place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food, awesome service

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 16, 2015

The food was really good, but the service was awesome. We will totally go back

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

VIP GREAT WAY TO SEE MOVIE, ENJOY THE FOOD,

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 12, 2015

BEEN DOING THE BISTRO FOR PAST TWO AND A HALF YEARS. ALWAYS DO A MOVIE IN VIP. FUN EXPERIENCES. HAS BECOME A WEEKLY RITUAL FOR MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch was fabulous

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 10, 2015

Came here for Mother's Day. Every dish was delicious. Service was attentive and prices were fair .

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

lovely atmosphere, disappointing everything else

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 10, 2015

we had an 815pm reservation. when we arrived we requested an outdoor table on the balcony. hostess told us there were none available but that there should be in 30 minutes so we sat at the bar to wait. my boyfriend stuck his head outside and saw 4 open tables...when we did get seated (outside at least) it was a full 20 minutes before anyone came to our table. i think our server was very new. no apology for the wait. did not engage us in conversation at all despite our efforts. we ordered an app (mac and cheese which was tasty). it came out but no one brought us silverware. when they did, my fork had a chunk of food stuck on it. my boyfriend ordered a chicken Caesar and a burger. about 15 minutes after we ordered someone who was not our server asked if he wanted the salad out first. he said yes and less than a minute later they came out with both of them at the same time. they said they could go put the burger back under the vents...which by the way, the burger was about the size of a mcdonalds happy meal burger and was charred enough to look like a hockey puck. during our meal, no one checked on us. overall, it was a very disappointing experience. the food WAS decent and the view there is great. it was prom weekend so maybe they were just understaffed and overworked. not sure we will be back though for anything other than cocktails. our bill was $60 after tip (we stil left 20%) for some mac and cheese, a tiny burger and a salad and one drink each.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

A great place for a light meal before the show.

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 5, 2015

The Bistro is the undiscovered gem of the Village in Meridian. Good food, great service and a terrific happy hour value. please don't tell anyone. :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

could be excellent

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 28, 2015

The evening we dined we had no where to be. Which was good since it took 10 mins to get water. The server was quite knowledgeable of the menu and guided us to the perfect choice. The salmon was a bit dry but the overall dish worked.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Love Backstage

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 28, 2015

Great patio dining. Love having Open Table do the legwork.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Awesome place for a date or just drinks

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 28, 2015

Great combination of style and fun. Great for a date or just some drinks and a quick bite before a movie. The food ranges from awesome simple burgers to gourmet entrees that are amazing! We've really enjoyed ourselves there regardless of occasion. The booths provide the best view of the restaurant in addition to privacy. Also ask for their server Terrance, he does a great job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

at the Bistro

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2015

(1) ask for a booth got a very small table people kept bumping into the back of my chair as they was passing me (2) ask for a soda with dinner didn't receive at all the waiter never acknowledge he might have made a mistake nor apologize I didn't order wine since I was driving and wine will impairs me fast since I am not a drinker this is why I had ordered a soda (3) the busboy kept asking me too take my plate away when I was not done eating I felt rushed (4) it was my first time at your establishment and I know it was valentines day and you were busy the food was very wonderful best chicken alfredo I think i have ever had in my life my complements to the chef dessert wonderful can taste all the flavors also my wife is a chef and she praised about our dessert (gelato) she told me it was just like it was being made in Italy she was very impressed my wife food was also wonderful she claims no complaints with food (4) the 3 reasons I wrote above is why I left a 10% tip generally I would have left at least 20%- 25% but both of us thought we could have better service also hostess called 4 times too comfirm reservations a little excessive. I felt if I did not answer the phone I would have lost my reservation. once I was in a middle of meeting where I had to stop my presentation to answer this call not very professional. would I recommend the bistro I am not sure yet food and dessert was wonderful but service for us was lacking

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Good potential - Poor execution

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2015

At time of reservation and subsequent confirmation call, Valentines Day; I noted this was our first visit to BB, we don't get out very often because we have 4 little kids, so, I would like it to be special.

I must separate the waiting staff from the mgmt/hostess seating:

The wait staff was professional and competent.

However, Mgmt/Hostess sat us in a place that should not even have a table, against the wall between veranda door & wait station, zero ambiance....really. It would have been better to sit at the bar. I commented immediately, how about one of these other places, 5 open tables, and was told they were reserved. Over the next 1.5 hours nobody sat in those locations, I tried to keep positive, but it was irritating.

Food was good, prime rib was good, but the meat completely covered the potatoes, a little wierd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

A tad irritated with seating...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2015

We made reservations for Valentine's Day. When we arrived, we were sat at a tall table that was long and had other guests sitting at it (kind of like a bar). We inquired about the SEVERAL empty tables and asked if we could move because I am short and the tall tables are very uncomfortable. We were told that we had to have picked out a table online when making our reservation and that the empty tables were reserved for other guests arriving shortly. We explained that we weren't give the opportunity to pick a table out when making the reservation and the hostess said she would talk to the manager because "that wasn't very good customer service". We were at the restaurant for 45 minutes and the manager never came to apologize...and even more irritating was the fact that all 5 empty tables remained empty the entire time we were there.

The food is good and we will return, but I certainly won't bother to make reservations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

Valentines Dinner at the Backstage Bistro!

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 14, 2015

As usual, our visit to the Backstage Bistro on Valentines Day was generally great! A special Valentines Day Menu was offered with good & unique main courses. Service was a bit slow. It seemed that the staff wasn't quite sure what they needed to do. Other than that, we enjoyed our visit immensely.

The Bistro's version of mozzarella sticks is to die for!!! After enjoying these at the Bistro, you will never have mozzarella sticks at any other restaurant. Hands down, they are the best!!!

We highly recommend the Backstage Bistro! Go, have a great dinner, good drinks, then enjoy a movie! You will enjoy it all!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Steve, Marketing, Sales Leasing Executive

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 25, 2015

The Bistro is has great ambiance and cocktails and beers, the food thou has declined the last three times we have been there. To the point of having to return the Salmon Crusted ?? ... which I have never done before.

Probably will only come for drinks before or after a movie.... also they never asked to exchange or trade it for anything or buy our drinks.

Also on a side note, made reservation three days in advance and had to sit elsewhere?

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Great find in the Village, best food there!

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 11, 2015

If you make a reservation for after 9:00 they need to accommodate you for however long your dinner takes, not cut you off at 10pm just because they want to close and get out of there, especially since they take reservations as late as 10:00 pm.

I love the servers, especially Kevin and Terrance!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.