Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Back Bay Harry's

We are thrilled to be apart of the South End/Back Bay neighborhood. Centrally located in the heart of the city, we focus on quality cooking, creative cocktails and great company. We look forward to having you in!

142 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Wed: 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Thu: 11:30 am - 1:00 am
Fri: 11:30 am - 2:00 am
Sat: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am
Sun: 11:00 am -12:00 am

Cross Street:
Between Columbus Ave and Stanhope Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 424-6711

Website:
http://backbayharrys.com/

Parking Details:
We offer Valet Parking Thursday-Saturday from 5PM-12Midnight

Parking is also available at a wide-variety of parking garages around our location.

Public Transit:
The closest T-Stations are the Arlington stop on the Green Line and the Back Bay stop on the Orange Line.

Executive Chef:
Jason Santos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cocktail Receptions
Large Banquets
Business Meetings
Private Dining
Corporate Functions
Special Events
Rehearsal Dinners
Birthday Parties
Retirement Parties
Fundraisers
Holiday Parties

Specials

Dollar Oysters

Sundays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Dollar Oysters

Sundays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Every Sunday, from 3 PM until supplies last, we serve $1 oysters!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 17, 2017 - Sep 17, 2017 on Sundays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

It's true. We love a celebration. Our inviting (yet glamorous) and stylish (yet comfortable) ambiance provides the perfect backdrop for any event. We pride ourselves on our personalized service and attention to detail whether it be a corporate function or cocktail party.

Back Bay Harry's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Casual (8)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Business Meals (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Romantic (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Cozy (2)
Authentic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
357 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food during the Dine Out Boston restaurant week was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

We were looking forward to our meal at Back Bay Harry's after reading the menu online but we were very disappointed to see that the actual menu at the restaurant only had half the items listed. My salad was inedible due to it having red jalapeños scattered throughout. I had to send it back. My husband was equally disappointed with his clam chowder, too much milk, very little clams but his salmon was excellent but the vegetable pot pie that came with it was too spicy. The only good thing was the hostess seated us in the back where it was less noisy. This is a special place for the kind of people who regularly eat at Applebee's and Chilis but for people like us who expect more it was sad. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Former Jeffries restaurant. Newly appointed decor. Comfortable seating. Friendly staff. Good drinks. Went there with friends for restaurant week. Prix fix menu great. Fried oysters and watermelon salad were delish. Shrimp and grits also excellent. Only wish I had more!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The Chicken and Waffles was fantastic! Will definitely order it again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Back Bay Harry's service was prompt and attentive. Their cobb salad was great and there was numerous protein add-ons available. I added the fried-chicken on the side and didn't regret it. I ordered a cocktail as well and found it to be ok but not great considering the price point.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The steak tips and eggs Benedict served over home fries were excellent. The steak was cooked perfectly to order (medium rare) and was very tender. The asparagus was also excellent (fresh and tender but not overcooked). The "bucket of bubbles" Sunday special was also fun and a good deal (a bottle of Proseco served along with theee different fruit juices to mix as you choose) for $29. Great Sunday brunch spot!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Upscale beautiful place. Wonderful service, great food. What's not to like?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My grilled avocado salad was delicious--the steak tips were perfectly cooked. Excellent service. Friendly fun lively atmosphere--perfect for a business lunch or get together with friends.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The service wasn't great and it was a little dark and loud in the restaurant, but the food was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Delicious food. Helpful, friendly service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The food was great, especially the Buffalo cauliflower.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Great time. Ended up eating at the bar. Really enjoyed it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This is a great spot for a bite to eat, and also has a great bar area! I almost always get their Grilled Avocado salad which never disappoints. Service is sometimes hit or miss, food is almost always consistent. Great for groups, business lunch, date, girl's night out, etc...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Back Bay Harry's was great! It was somewhat (and happily) quiet for a Saturday night, although it was a holiday weekend and people may have been out of town. The food was great and the drinks were phenomenal - there was one with jalapeno, cilantro, tequila and sparkling rose which was really delicious. I was there on a double date and the noise level was perfect for conversation. Pricing was moderate - certainly not cheap but nothing out of control either, especially for a restaurant downtown. All in all a great experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This would be a fine place to go for a drink at the bar if you want to catch whatever game happens to be on. The food was just okay and the service was extremely slow, which may be why there were many empty seats in the place on a Saturday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food and service were great, but there was no air conditioning, it was hot and uncomfortable. Made the experience less enjoyable.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The waiter Anthony that was in training was awesome but the girl training him was cold, never smiled, she scolded Anthony in front of us because he asked her a question in front of us which in turn made us all feel bad for Anthony and embarrassed him and is. The trainer made us feel uncomfortable because she kept looking over at our table and whispering to another waitress.at the end when we finished eating she came and cleared our table and stated that she needed to clean table for the next party she did not let us enjoy and did not create a comfortable atmosphere. I put on receipt that If the tip was to go to Anthony we would have given him a great tip. We left her 5 dollars. She seemed very snobby and rude. She never showed any pleasantness and my burger was pink when I asked for well done

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Michael our server was wonderful. Attentive and patient.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for brunch on Mother's Day. Food was great! Started with the donuts, definitely a must! I had the shrimp burrito which was very good my husband had the chicken hash and seemed to enjoy it as well. My daughter had the blueberry pancakes with pecans and mango which were a bit sweet but tasty nevertheless. I'll be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Loved the clam chowder! Waitress was very helpful. Nice ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Best salmon burger I've ever had. Great service too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This was our first time here for Brunch with friends. My friends had Bloody Marys and I am not usually a fan but tried a sip of theirs and it was terrific. I had the poutine - which was over tots that were the tastiest I have ever had. We all agreed we need to come back because there were so many great options on the menu, we wanted to try everything! I was so impressed with Brunch that I can't wait to try coming here for dinner as well.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent food and generous servings. Good wine list, too. Great for pre-theater dining. Our server was efficient, but not friendly.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was very good, service was fair. Despite having a reservation, we were seated at a small high top in a high traffic area. The hostess questioned us why we were seated there (another wait staff had seated us) but never came back to move us to a more appropriate table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Pretty good brunch, with nice cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great atmosphere, food, drinks and service! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Price. Quality. Service.
We live in the burbs and drive into city for the grilled avocado salad (with shrimp).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Boston marathon celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Went to Back Bay Harry's with friends after I finished the Boston Marathon. It was the perfect location near the finish line and my hotel and offered ideal post-race food. We all split nachos to start and they were delicious and much more upscale and thoughtfully-prepared with great fresh ingredients than most nacho dishes I've ever had. Then I ordered a big burger which really hit the spot after a hard 26.2 miles. Plus BBH had a plethora of drinks and I had earned some vino! If and when I get to race the Boston Marathon again I think I will make sure to make another reservation here for after!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

My husband & I came here for a delicious lunch after he ran the Boston Marathon! Our server was very sweet & attentive, getting him food asap! We enjoyed the spicy honey wings, back bay nachos, house-made falafel wrap & made to order maple doughnuts. Everything was really yummy!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Chose this spot based on word-of-mouth and found it "OK ". Nothing out of the ordinary (except for the homemade donuts). Service was also "OK ", some of the Front of House staff seemed to have a bit of difficulty with English (I.e. excuse me and just a minute).

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Had a quick dinner and it was wonderful!!

Tags: Great Beer, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great creative cocktails, matched with comfort food. Perfect for getting a group together on a Saturday night.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Back Bay Harry's is an outstanding place to dine, whether you're looking for a burger and fries to a gourmet meal. I highly recommend Back Bay Harry's The people are Top Shelf and so is the food...

Tags: Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Romantic, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Met up with some old college friends. Luckily it was during the St. Patrick's day parade so the entire Back Bay area was quiet. We had a lovely meal, great service and the food was delicious.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food and service were impeccable! We went for brunch and had a variety of sweet and savory options. The buttermilk fried chicken hash was perfectly cooked!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

A guaranteed wonderful neighborhood dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Mikey your waiter was awesome! This is a place I will return to dine!

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Food was excellent and portions were very generous!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Visited for Dine Out Boston. Hard to choose what to eat: everything on the menu sounded good. I had the crispy avocado taco appetizer (crispy, creamy avocado - yum!) and I asked the waitress to pick the entree for me: either the shrimp pasta or the fried chicken. She brought buttermilk fried chicken on a bed of mashed potatoes and spinach, accompanied by 2 donuts. Sounds bizarre but was delicious! and a large enough serving to be a hearty dinner the next day. Dessert was a key lime cheesecake. Much lighter than it sounds.

My dining companions also enjoyed their meals very much: shrimp appetizer and steak for one, tacos and salmon for the other. We all tasted each other's dishes and agreed they were excellent. And everyone had enough of their mains left over for a snack or a meal.

Service was quite good. The restaurant was not busy on a Monday night and we were not rushed out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.