About Back Bay Harry's

142 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

We are thrilled to be apart of the South End/Back Bay neighborhood. Centrally located in the heart of the city, we focus on quality cooking, creative cocktails and great company. We look forward to having you in!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Wed: 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Thu: 11:30 am - 1:00 am
Fri: 11:30 am - 2:00 am
Sat: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am
Sun: 11:00 am -12:00 am

Cross Street:
Between Columbus Ave and Stanhope Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 424-6711

Website:
http://backbayharrys.com/

Parking Details:
We offer Valet Parking Thursday-Saturday from 5PM-12Midnight

Parking is also available at a wide-variety of parking garages around our location.

Public Transit:
The closest T-Stations are the Arlington stop on the Green Line and the Back Bay stop on the Orange Line.

Executive Chef:
Jason Santos

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cocktail Receptions
Large Banquets
Business Meetings
Private Dining
Corporate Functions
Special Events
Rehearsal Dinners
Birthday Parties
Retirement Parties
Fundraisers
Holiday Parties

Promotions

$1 Oysters

Sundays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Theatre Discount

Thursdays - Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

$1 Oysters

Sundays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

$1 Oysters

Sundays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details
Join us every Sunday for $1 Oysters! Starting at 3PM until supplies last. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 6, 2016 - Jul 3, 2016 on Sundays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.
Theatre Discount

Thursdays - Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
Seeing a theater show? Present us with your ticket stub and you'll recieve 15% off your food purchase!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Ticket must be for that days show. Alcohol not included. Special valid Jun 29, 2016 - Oct 29, 2016 on Thursdays - Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.
$1 Oysters

Sundays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
We celebrate Sunday with $1 Oysters! Starts at 3PM and goes until supplies last. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2016 - Sep 25, 2016 on Sundays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

It's true. We love a celebration. Our inviting (yet glamorous) and stylish (yet comfortable) ambiance provides the perfect backdrop for any event. We pride ourselves on our personalized service and attention to detail whether it be a corporate function or cocktail party.

Back Bay Harry's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.2

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (24)
great for lunch (19)
neighborhood gem (19)
See All
fit for foodies (15)
vibrant bar scene (11)
great for brunch (9)
special occasion (8)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (6)
romantic (5)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
notable wine list (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
250 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience2
service4

Food was super average. I didn't even fi ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was super average. I didn't even finish my app or entree! Service was good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service, music and drinks! W ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food, service, music and drinks! What's more to say?

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place to watch the Pride parade. E ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great place to watch the Pride parade. Employees dressed up for the occasion and decorated the restaurant. Fun specials on the menu for the day. Service was excellent and not hurried. The food: I would say it that it was just OK. I'd like to go back and try a few different options. Overall, liked it a lot. Just wish we'd been bowled over by the food.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very good; maybe a bit over the top

Dined on June 10, 2016

Chose BBH's for 15% discount for Lyric Theatre ticketholders. Upscale bar setting. Friendly service. Eclectic menu. The core food was excellent, even if overly embellished. For example, the boneless fried chicken was out of this world, but the guacamole on top was a distraction. The pastry and filling in the spanakopita entrée was very good, but there was a sauce on top and another to the side, and something else going on underneath -- too busy. I highly recommend the battered cauliflower appetizer, more delicious without the dipping sauce. Even the butter that came with the warm fresh bread had more flavoring than necessary. (Mustard seed?) Overall, some great talent in the kitchen that perhaps is trying a bit too hard. You'll have a good meal at a decent price -- just consider having them put the sauces on the side.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not sure why it wasn't more crowded

Dined on June 3, 2016

Incredible service and great food options. Did I mention the Game of Thrones inspired cocktails? Everything exceeded expectations and I will definitely be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Evening Meal

Dined on June 1, 2016

We enjoyed the restaurant as it was not too noisy. Staff were friendly and attentive, so we enjoyed our evening and our meal. Would go back again if in Boston.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The food,service and ambiance were outst ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food,service and ambiance were outstanding.Highly recommend the fried chicken,calamari and the baked brie

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Went here for a work lunch with a reserv ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Went here for a work lunch with a reservation. Table was ready and we were in and out in about 60 minutes, which was exactly the time we had allotted.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Mothers Day Brunch!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Mothers Day Brunch!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Solid Restaurant

Dined on May 7, 2016

I took my wife here for a date night. We were pleased with our evening. The hostess was friendly and very accommodating when I had to return because I left my credit card. Our server was attentive and friendly. She made sure we didn't need anything the entire time. I found the food to be good, nothing amazing. My wife ordered the nachos (definitely big enough for a meal) and I had the swordfish. We both enjoyed our food. They had a solid wine list and we were pleased with our bottle. I like the ambience and the large windows. The location is great too, in Back Bay, close to Copley.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Watered down drinks

Dined on April 17, 2016

The vodka had to be watered down. Martinis tasted like water with a lemon peel

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Not great food

Dined on April 12, 2016

My wife and I both ordered the same items (clam chowder and the grilled chicken sandwich). The chowder was okay, though the pieces of clam were enormous and required cutting. The chicken sandwich was 5 slices of overcooked chicken piled high in the bun. Not only was it hard to eat, but incredibly dry. We asked for cheese and Avocado to provide some moisture, received no apology, and 5 minutes later the waitress returned with two slices of american cheese and a hunk of avocado. Then we were charged $3 extra. My wife and I rarely have time to go out so this was a huge disappointment. Needless to say we will not return to BBH ever again.

food5
ambience5
service5

I loved my fried chicken

Dined on April 10, 2016

I loved my fried chicken

food4
ambience3
service3

Overall the food was very good. Kitchen ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Overall the food was very good. Kitchen was slow and some items were not as warm as they should be. We have been here a couple of times and have enjoyed our meal. Saturday night may not be their best night.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Love Back Bay Harry's! We have lunch mee ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Love Back Bay Harry's! We have lunch meetings at least once a month by request of the staff.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service2

Felt rushed. Food came out oddly fast. D ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Felt rushed. Food came out oddly fast. Drinks were sub par.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food

Dined on March 11, 2016

We tried this place during restaurant week and were very impressed. The food was flavorful and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cute and service was great...

Dined on March 10, 2016

The service was great and the food was fantastic! The atmosphere wasn't bad for a Thursday night for dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous restaurant!! The salmon was co ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Fabulous restaurant!! The salmon was cooked to perfection, the chicken had a delightful white bbq sauce that was surprising and delicious. The chef is to be commended on his skills as well as originality in his craft. We will be visiting again.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

VDay Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

Our server Nicole was very helpful and attentive all night.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious choice

Dined on February 15, 2016

Dinner for 2 couples on Valentine's night was simply amazing. The atmosphere was great for a nice romantic Valentine's Day dinner. The drinks were tasty and the ambiance was very comfortable. We enjoyed the food and will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Went for brunch and it was great! They h ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went for brunch and it was great! They have little donut holes with dipping sauces that were gone in minutes!

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Near the Lyric Stage.

Dined on February 12, 2016

This was a good place to go in the neighborhood. The Nachos and drinks were interesting and fabulous. The steak was perfect, but the fried chicken a bit overdone. Worth a second try on another night.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great breakfast

Dined on February 7, 2016

Stopped here after staying at the Park Plaza. Had a great brunch, delicious Bloody Mary's. The apple cider french toast with Marscarpone was delicious!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Comfort food with a twist

Dined on February 6, 2016

I did not know what to expect given the menu, but was pleasantly surprised by how delicious and creative were the renditions of comfort food. Both the fried chicken and pork chop were really well done, generous in size and served with very tasty accompaniments. Cocktails are also excellent, and despite the remarkable lists of ingredients, hang together well. I will be back.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot

Dined on January 31, 2016

Charming restaurant with great food and service! Went with a large group for brunch and had a great time.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't Miss Brunch

Dined on January 31, 2016

Great food, great price. Plenty of breakfast or lunch options. And we found on street parking n Sunday.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2

Brunch was delicious. We arrived a few m ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Brunch was delicious. We arrived a few minutes early (before they opened) and the bartender wasn't overly nice or accommodating. It was freezing outside and we just happened to walk fast and arrive early. We simply asked to sit at the bar and have a drink while we wait. Didn't come to give us a drink until a few minutes after they officially opened...just a little surprised by that. He said he wasn't "set up," but we asked for mimosas and saw both champagne and OJ right on the bar...wouldn't have been difficult to quickly poor two glasses before the official opening time in our opinion. We then didn't receive menus for 15 minutes. Maybe we got an off day. Ambiance was lovely and food was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner before Blue Man Group

Dined on January 9, 2016

Excellent food and service. Family parked at Stuart St Garage and walked to BBH for dinner before Blue Man Group show. Dinner was awesome. Great flavors. Both kids and adults loved it. Anne our server took great care of us. Great night and would highly recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved my experience here. The staff wa ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

I loved my experience here. The staff was so welcoming and gracious (especially as we had a toddler with us). They were attentive and helpful, and the cocktails were simoly wonderful. One of my favorite places in the city for cocktails. Thanks for a wonderful experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice dinner. Excellent food

Dined on January 2, 2016

BBH is one of my "go to" places after work for drinks. I've had a few apps off the bar menu but this was my first time for dinner. The chipotle bisque was excellent. Fried chicken was great.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and reasonable prices! Ve ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

Delicious food and reasonable prices! Very personable staff. Would definitely come back!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good food and comfortable, too.

Dined on December 19, 2015

There have only been a few times when the food at Back Bay Harry's was less than stellar. Saturday night (December 19, 2015) was just incredible. The food was fresh and interesting. We had a friend with us as a guest and he was very impressed. The filet mignon was fantastic. The drinks were interesting and reasonably priced. We love this place.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our "go to" bar/restaurant

Dined on December 19, 2015

Harry's is our "go to" bar/restaurant in the Back Bay. The food, draft beers and mixed drinks are excellent, and the friendly service is excellent too. We keep coming back and always leave happy with the experience and we appreciate the reasonable cost. The Manager (Andrew) does a great job and has hosted a really fun party for 130 people for us. It is a neighborhood gem.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3

Good but nothing too special

Dined on December 19, 2015

Good but nothing too special

food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere was semi formal yet casual. ...

Dined on December 12, 2015

Atmosphere was semi formal yet casual. Service was attentive and the food was excellent. I recommend!!!

food5
ambience4
service5

Back Bay Harry's Never Disappoints

Dined on December 12, 2015

Went out with another couple Friday night. Each of us had something different, and everyone was quite pleased. The drinks were great as well.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful as usual annoyed by the menu c ...

Dined on November 25, 2015

Wonderful as usual annoyed by the menu changes though :/

food4
ambience4
service4

We the calamari and the pastrami chips w ...

Dined on November 21, 2015

We the calamari and the pastrami chips were terrific starters. I had the cider brined pork chop and it was very flavorful and cooked to perfection. Others at the table had the buttermilk fried chicken, filet mignonette au poivre and grilled Dalman, all were very pleased with their choices. Service was friendly and attentive. We had a wonderful evening at Back Bay Harry's!

food4
ambience5
service5

Burger was put in as medium rare but cam ...

Dined on November 21, 2015

Burger was put in as medium rare but came out s hockey puck Waitress was amazing

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.