About Back Bay Harry's

142 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

We are thrilled to be apart of the South End/Back Bay neighborhood. Centrally located in the heart of the city, we focus on quality cooking, creative cocktails and great company. We look forward to having you in!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Wed: 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Thu: 11:30 am - 1:00 am
Fri: 11:30 am - 2:00 am
Sat: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am
Sun: 11:00 am -12:00 am

Cross Street:
Between Columbus Ave and Stanhope Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 424-6711

Website:
http://backbayharrys.com/

Parking Details:
We offer Valet Parking Thursday-Saturday from 5PM-12Midnight

Parking is also available at a wide-variety of parking garages around our location.

Public Transit:
The closest T-Stations are the Arlington stop on the Green Line and the Back Bay stop on the Orange Line.

Executive Chef:
Jason Santos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cocktail Receptions
Large Banquets
Business Meetings
Private Dining
Corporate Functions
Special Events
Rehearsal Dinners
Birthday Parties
Retirement Parties
Fundraisers
Holiday Parties

Specials

Theatre Discount

Thursdays - Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Theatre Discount

Thursdays - Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Seeing a theater show? Present us with your ticket stub and you'll recieve 15% off your food purchase!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Ticket must be for that days show. Alcohol not included. Special valid Jun 29, 2016 - Oct 29, 2016 on Thursdays - Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

It's true. We love a celebration. Our inviting (yet glamorous) and stylish (yet comfortable) ambiance provides the perfect backdrop for any event. We pride ourselves on our personalized service and attention to detail whether it be a corporate function or cocktail party.

Back Bay Harry's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Groups (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Business Meals (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Romantic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quick Bite (3)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Cozy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fun (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
273 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Creative menu, wonderful service great d ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Creative menu, wonderful service great drink menu. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu is limited but the choices were ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The menu is limited but the choices were very good. My wife made a meal of several appetizers while I enjoyed the strip steak. Our waitress could not have been more attentive or more pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitstaff was very attentive without bei ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Waitstaff was very attentive without being overbearing and knowledgeable about the menu, wine and beer lists. Very nice atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I was one member of a 6 person dining gr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I was one member of a 6 person dining group. Four of us ordered the same dish, and each person requested a different deviation from the menu description. All four dishes were delivered as requested. Thanks to our server and the kitchen staff for their attention to detail.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very solid brunch scene. Menu changes ar ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Very solid brunch scene. Menu changes around. Doughnuts and fries are fantastic.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This place is phenomenal - the food, dri ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This place is phenomenal - the food, drinks, atmosphere and service were outstanding. For a Saturday night meal with friends, this was a great place. It was relaxing and made us wish we could stay all night ordering cocktails. Great craft beer list (at very reasonable prices) and a great cocktail and wine list. Get the Korean Short Rib Tacos - you'll regret it if you don't.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Happy Hour, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, cocktails were original, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was great, cocktails were original, upbeat music on but not too loud. We could people watch or watch the pre-season pats game on two large flatscreens at the bar. No complaints and I'll definitely go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was excited for the Dine-Out Boston ex ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I was excited for the Dine-Out Boston experience since the food options appeared great - lots of succulent choices! I had ordered the Asian tuna ceviche, pork shank, and churro cheesecake. The Asian tuna ceviche smelled and tasted of fish sauce, very strong though plenty of fish. The pork shank was bathed in mashed peas and got cold really quickly, flavor was okay. The kitchen sent a replacement for an apple dessert because they ran out of the churro cheesecake and I didn't even get any notification of it until the waitress appeared with the apple dessert 15 minutes later (after asking if we wanted our dessert now and that was 15 mins ago). I know it's not the waitress' fault but I would appreciate an option of picking a different dessert. The service was average. We sat outside so it was alright, the inside looked much better! Wouldn't recommend the food we had for $38 (not including tip/tax).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Great food. I was with a friend I had no ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food. I was with a friend I had not seen in a year. She had never been to Back Bay Harry's and totally enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This time around, we were there for Rest ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This time around, we were there for Restaurant Week, although we dine at this establishment often for lunch. The clam chowder was outstanding! Hats off to the chef!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

The Dark Krystal drink is incredible! Be ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The Dark Krystal drink is incredible! Beautiful space. It was really warm in there on the night I was there. Not sure if the ac was broken but the fish and chips and lobster guacamole was fantastic!

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I came here during the Restaurant Week w ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I came here during the Restaurant Week with friends, without much expectations. The food was excellent, especially Lobster Guacamole for appetizer. Main course was just as good. I will definitely come back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went there with a few friends for restau ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Went there with a few friends for restaurant week. Dishes were a good size. I couldn't finish the dessert. We were in a booth so it was nice to have our own area to chat and catch up.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The tuna ceviche was amazing!!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The tuna ceviche was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Back Bay Harry's as part of D ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We went to Back Bay Harry's as part of Dine Out Boston (formerly Restaurant Week) because I liked the look of the menu they had posted online. Lots of interesting choices! The one sour note (and it ended up being a VERY sour note) was that when we were seated, even though there were many empty tables, we were placed next to a previously-seated 2-top. Not sure why we couldn't have had one table between us, as the entire section was handled by one waitress. Anyway, the pair sitting next to us contained a loud, obnoxious talker, which made the entire time there fairly unpleasant ambiance-wise. The food was good, but not good enough that I would go back there again. If a friend asked about the restaurant, I would warn them to be picky about how they were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

The menu is so so limited and not very e ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The menu is so so limited and not very exciting--we ended up getting a few apps because the meal choices weren't so enticing -The service and ambience was superb but due to the limited menu we will not return again ---good grief

Ken

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Not as much of a private quiet dinner as ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Not as much of a private quiet dinner as I expected. Mostly high back tables and a bar room feel. Food was excellent though so for what it is, it is great. I felt a little rushed by the service but it was restaurant week so benefit of the doubt on that part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

we went for Boston Dine our week and cho ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

we went for Boston Dine our week and choose the fixed menu.

the food is pretty good and with very good portions. our appetizers were really tasty (lobster guacamole and herloom tomato salad with a very tasty mozzarella, and the entrees were amazing. unfortunately the dessert we wanted (cheesecake) has run out so we had their doughnuts which are very sweet. amazing bread.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice place to go

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Nice place to go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Our server was excellent. The food was f ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our server was excellent. The food was fantastic, just a little too expensive for what it was. I would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious food!!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Delicious food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Laid-back, neighborhood-type bar. Perfe ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Laid-back, neighborhood-type bar. Perfect for mellow Sunday downtown. Looks like great place to watch football in the fall, or to hang out after work. Will go back again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was super average. I didn't even fi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was super average. I didn't even finish my app or entree! Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Great food, service, music and drinks! W ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food, service, music and drinks! What's more to say?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to watch the Pride parade. E ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great place to watch the Pride parade. Employees dressed up for the occasion and decorated the restaurant. Fun specials on the menu for the day. Service was excellent and not hurried.

The food: I would say it that it was just OK. I'd like to go back and try a few different options.

Overall, liked it a lot. Just wish we'd been bowled over by the food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good; maybe a bit over the top

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Chose BBH's for 15% discount for Lyric Theatre ticketholders. Upscale bar setting. Friendly service. Eclectic menu. The core food was excellent, even if overly embellished. For example, the boneless fried chicken was out of this world, but the guacamole on top was a distraction. The pastry and filling in the spanakopita entrée was very good, but there was a sauce on top and another to the side, and something else going on underneath -- too busy. I highly recommend the battered cauliflower appetizer, more delicious without the dipping sauce. Even the butter that came with the warm fresh bread had more flavoring than necessary. (Mustard seed?) Overall, some great talent in the kitchen that perhaps is trying a bit too hard. You'll have a good meal at a decent price -- just consider having them put the sauces on the side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Not sure why it wasn't more crowded

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Incredible service and great food options. Did I mention the Game of Thrones inspired cocktails? Everything exceeded expectations and I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Evening Meal

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We enjoyed the restaurant as it was not too noisy. Staff were friendly and attentive, so we enjoyed our evening and our meal. Would go back again if in Boston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food,service and ambiance were outst ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food,service and ambiance were outstanding.Highly recommend the fried chicken,calamari and the baked brie

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Went here for a work lunch with a reserv ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Went here for a work lunch with a reservation. Table was ready and we were in and out in about 60 minutes, which was exactly the time we had allotted.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Mothers Day Brunch!!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Mothers Day Brunch!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid Restaurant

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I took my wife here for a date night. We were pleased with our evening. The hostess was friendly and very accommodating when I had to return because I left my credit card. Our server was attentive and friendly. She made sure we didn't need anything the entire time. I found the food to be good, nothing amazing. My wife ordered the nachos (definitely big enough for a meal) and I had the swordfish. We both enjoyed our food. They had a solid wine list and we were pleased with our bottle. I like the ambience and the large windows. The location is great too, in Back Bay, close to Copley.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Watered down drinks

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The vodka had to be watered down. Martinis tasted like water with a lemon peel

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Not great food

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

My wife and I both ordered the same items (clam chowder and the grilled chicken sandwich). The chowder was okay, though the pieces of clam were enormous and required cutting. The chicken sandwich was 5 slices of overcooked chicken piled high in the bun. Not only was it hard to eat, but incredibly dry. We asked for cheese and Avocado to provide some moisture, received no apology, and 5 minutes later the waitress returned with two slices of american cheese and a hunk of avocado. Then we were charged $3 extra.

My wife and I rarely have time to go out so this was a huge disappointment. Needless to say we will not return to BBH ever again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

I loved my fried chicken

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I loved my fried chicken

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall the food was very good. Kitchen ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Overall the food was very good. Kitchen was slow and some items were not as warm as they should be. We have been here a couple of times and have enjoyed our meal. Saturday night may not be their best night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Love Back Bay Harry's! We have lunch mee ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Love Back Bay Harry's! We have lunch meetings at least once a month by request of the staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Felt rushed. Food came out oddly fast. D ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Felt rushed. Food came out oddly fast. Drinks were sub par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Great food

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

We tried this place during restaurant week and were very impressed. The food was flavorful and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cute and service was great...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

The service was great and the food was fantastic! The atmosphere wasn't bad for a Thursday night for dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.