About Back Bay Harry's

142 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

We are thrilled to be apart of the South End/Back Bay neighborhood. Centrally located in the heart of the city, we focus on quality cooking, creative cocktails and great company. We look forward to having you in!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Wed: 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Thu: 11:30 am - 1:00 am
Fri: 11:30 am - 2:00 am
Sat: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am
Sun: 11:00 am -12:00 am

Cross Street:
Between Columbus Ave and Stanhope Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 424-6711

Website:
http://backbayharrys.com/

Parking Details:
We offer Valet Parking Thursday-Saturday from 5PM-12Midnight

Parking is also available at a wide-variety of parking garages around our location.

Public Transit:
The closest T-Stations are the Arlington stop on the Green Line and the Back Bay stop on the Orange Line.

Executive Chef:
Jason Santos

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cocktail Receptions
Large Banquets
Business Meetings
Private Dining
Corporate Functions
Special Events
Rehearsal Dinners
Birthday Parties
Retirement Parties
Fundraisers
Holiday Parties

Promotions

$1 Oysters

Sundays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Theater Discount

Special valid Feb 29, 2016 - Jun 29, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

$1 Oysters

Sundays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details
Join us every Sunday for $1 Oysters! Starting at 3PM until supplies last. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 6, 2016 - Jul 3, 2016 on Sundays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.
Theater Discount

Special valid Feb 29, 2016 - Jun 29, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details
Seeing a theater show? Present us with your ticket stub and you'll recieve 15% off your food purchase!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Must be ticket for that day. Alcohol not included. Special valid Feb 29, 2016 - Jun 29, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

Private Dining

It's true. We love a celebration. Our inviting (yet glamorous) and stylish (yet comfortable) ambiance provides the perfect backdrop for any event. We pride ourselves on our personalized service and attention to detail whether it be a corporate function or cocktail party.

Back Bay Harry's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (23)
good for groups (22)
great for lunch (20)
See All
fit for foodies (16)
great for brunch (12)
vibrant bar scene (12)
special occasion (10)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (9)
romantic (7)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
notable wine list (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
244 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The food,service and ambiance were outst ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food,service and ambiance were outstanding.Highly recommend the fried chicken,calamari and the baked brie

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Went here for a work lunch with a reserv ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Went here for a work lunch with a reservation. Table was ready and we were in and out in about 60 minutes, which was exactly the time we had allotted.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Mothers Day Brunch!!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Mothers Day Brunch!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Solid Restaurant

Dined on May 7, 2016

I took my wife here for a date night. We were pleased with our evening. The hostess was friendly and very accommodating when I had to return because I left my credit card. Our server was attentive and friendly. She made sure we didn't need anything the entire time. I found the food to be good, nothing amazing. My wife ordered the nachos (definitely big enough for a meal) and I had the swordfish. We both enjoyed our food. They had a solid wine list and we were pleased with our bottle. I like the ambience and the large windows. The location is great too, in Back Bay, close to Copley.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Watered down drinks

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

The vodka had to be watered down. Martinis tasted like water with a lemon peel

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Not great food

Dined on April 12, 2016

My wife and I both ordered the same items (clam chowder and the grilled chicken sandwich). The chowder was okay, though the pieces of clam were enormous and required cutting. The chicken sandwich was 5 slices of overcooked chicken piled high in the bun. Not only was it hard to eat, but incredibly dry. We asked for cheese and Avocado to provide some moisture, received no apology, and 5 minutes later the waitress returned with two slices of american cheese and a hunk of avocado. Then we were charged $3 extra. My wife and I rarely have time to go out so this was a huge disappointment. Needless to say we will not return to BBH ever again.

food5
ambience5
service5

I loved my fried chicken

Dined on April 10, 2016

I loved my fried chicken

food4
ambience3
service3

Overall the food was very good. Kitchen ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Overall the food was very good. Kitchen was slow and some items were not as warm as they should be. We have been here a couple of times and have enjoyed our meal. Saturday night may not be their best night.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Love Back Bay Harry's! We have lunch mee ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Love Back Bay Harry's! We have lunch meetings at least once a month by request of the staff.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service2

Felt rushed. Food came out oddly fast. D ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Felt rushed. Food came out oddly fast. Drinks were sub par.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

We tried this place during restaurant week and were very impressed. The food was flavorful and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cute and service was great...

Dined on March 10, 2016

The service was great and the food was fantastic! The atmosphere wasn't bad for a Thursday night for dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous restaurant!! The salmon was co ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Fabulous restaurant!! The salmon was cooked to perfection, the chicken had a delightful white bbq sauce that was surprising and delicious. The chef is to be commended on his skills as well as originality in his craft. We will be visiting again.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

VDay Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

Our server Nicole was very helpful and attentive all night.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious choice

Dined on February 15, 2016

Dinner for 2 couples on Valentine's night was simply amazing. The atmosphere was great for a nice romantic Valentine's Day dinner. The drinks were tasty and the ambiance was very comfortable. We enjoyed the food and will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Went for brunch and it was great! They h ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went for brunch and it was great! They have little donut holes with dipping sauces that were gone in minutes!

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Near the Lyric Stage.

Dined on February 12, 2016

This was a good place to go in the neighborhood. The Nachos and drinks were interesting and fabulous. The steak was perfect, but the fried chicken a bit overdone. Worth a second try on another night.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great breakfast

Dined on February 7, 2016

Stopped here after staying at the Park Plaza. Had a great brunch, delicious Bloody Mary's. The apple cider french toast with Marscarpone was delicious!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Comfort food with a twist

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

I did not know what to expect given the menu, but was pleasantly surprised by how delicious and creative were the renditions of comfort food. Both the fried chicken and pork chop were really well done, generous in size and served with very tasty accompaniments. Cocktails are also excellent, and despite the remarkable lists of ingredients, hang together well. I will be back.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Charming restaurant with great food and service! Went with a large group for brunch and had a great time.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't Miss Brunch

Dined on January 31, 2016

Great food, great price. Plenty of breakfast or lunch options. And we found on street parking n Sunday.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2

Brunch was delicious. We arrived a few m ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Brunch was delicious. We arrived a few minutes early (before they opened) and the bartender wasn't overly nice or accommodating. It was freezing outside and we just happened to walk fast and arrive early. We simply asked to sit at the bar and have a drink while we wait. Didn't come to give us a drink until a few minutes after they officially opened...just a little surprised by that. He said he wasn't "set up," but we asked for mimosas and saw both champagne and OJ right on the bar...wouldn't have been difficult to quickly poor two glasses before the official opening time in our opinion. We then didn't receive menus for 15 minutes. Maybe we got an off day. Ambiance was lovely and food was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner before Blue Man Group

Dined on January 9, 2016

Excellent food and service. Family parked at Stuart St Garage and walked to BBH for dinner before Blue Man Group show. Dinner was awesome. Great flavors. Both kids and adults loved it. Anne our server took great care of us. Great night and would highly recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved my experience here. The staff wa ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

I loved my experience here. The staff was so welcoming and gracious (especially as we had a toddler with us). They were attentive and helpful, and the cocktails were simoly wonderful. One of my favorite places in the city for cocktails. Thanks for a wonderful experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice dinner. Excellent food

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

BBH is one of my "go to" places after work for drinks. I've had a few apps off the bar menu but this was my first time for dinner. The chipotle bisque was excellent. Fried chicken was great.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and reasonable prices! Ve ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

Delicious food and reasonable prices! Very personable staff. Would definitely come back!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good food and comfortable, too.

vip
Dined on December 19, 2015

There have only been a few times when the food at Back Bay Harry's was less than stellar. Saturday night (December 19, 2015) was just incredible. The food was fresh and interesting. We had a friend with us as a guest and he was very impressed. The filet mignon was fantastic. The drinks were interesting and reasonably priced. We love this place.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our "go to" bar/restaurant

Dined on December 19, 2015

Harry's is our "go to" bar/restaurant in the Back Bay. The food, draft beers and mixed drinks are excellent, and the friendly service is excellent too. We keep coming back and always leave happy with the experience and we appreciate the reasonable cost. The Manager (Andrew) does a great job and has hosted a really fun party for 130 people for us. It is a neighborhood gem.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3

Good but nothing too special

Dined on December 19, 2015

Good but nothing too special

food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere was semi formal yet casual. ...

Dined on December 12, 2015

Atmosphere was semi formal yet casual. Service was attentive and the food was excellent. I recommend!!!

food5
ambience4
service5

Back Bay Harry's Never Disappoints

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

Went out with another couple Friday night. Each of us had something different, and everyone was quite pleased. The drinks were great as well.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful as usual annoyed by the menu c ...

vip
Dined on November 25, 2015

Wonderful as usual annoyed by the menu changes though :/

food4
ambience4
service4

We the calamari and the pastrami chips w ...

Dined on November 21, 2015

We the calamari and the pastrami chips were terrific starters. I had the cider brined pork chop and it was very flavorful and cooked to perfection. Others at the table had the buttermilk fried chicken, filet mignonette au poivre and grilled Dalman, all were very pleased with their choices. Service was friendly and attentive. We had a wonderful evening at Back Bay Harry's!

food4
ambience5
service5

Burger was put in as medium rare but cam ...

Dined on November 21, 2015

Burger was put in as medium rare but came out s hockey puck Waitress was amazing

food4
ambience4
service1

Great Food - Snail Service

Dined on November 8, 2015

Recently took advantage of the Gilt City promotion here. The restaurant was maybe half full and our server explained that we would have multiple courses. The first came out in no time, and I noticed many other groups who sat right before us eating. The food was great, huevos rancheros, once we finished I watched as the table who had sat before us got their second course...and then finished that course. When they got their third course I was lucky enough to get my second course. The pattern continued with the remainder of our courses. I worked in restaurants for years, and I had a great view of the kitchen so I could clearly see that this was due to a major failing of the expediter and the chefs. There also seemed to be some interesting cliquey dynamics between the management and staff, and unfortunately my waiter suffered because of that. Overall I would never come back though the food was great, because the experience was miserable.

food3
ambience4
service2

Decent food, very quickly

Dined on November 8, 2015

My wife and I went to Back Bay Harry's this weekend to redeem a 4 course brunch deal I purchased online. Even being a little early for our reservation, we were seated promptly. Our server Daniel brought us our complimentary drinks and informed us of the set menu. The first course was brought out quickly, and it was quite tasty (I don't recall exactly what it was because I never actually saw a menu). While eating, our plates were cleared very quickly, and the next course was promptly brought out. I personally would have preferred more time to sit, relax, and enjoy the nice atmosphere of the restaurant. The second course was also pretty good, but it was an interesting combination of a salad and some sort of hash that contained what appeared to be cubed deli meat. Again, very quickly we were eating the next course, which was some french toast with a half-cooked, somewhat dry apple slice on top. The whipped cream and syrup were quite good on the toast. Somewhere around this time, I received a drink I had ordered. It was supposed to be some concoction with whiskey and egg whites, but what I got tasted exactly like the mimosa my wife had had. We pointed this out to the server, and he took it back and brought the correct drink. I don't really mind, but it was very clear he had no sense of what my drink would have looked like if correctly made. The final course was some tasty doughnuts with some sweet toppings in side dishes to add. The toppings were sloppily scraped into the dishes, but were all very good and went nicely with the doughnuts. Overall, the food was pretty good for the price of the deal I bought, but the service was very rushed. I would have preferred a more leisurely Sunday morning brunch, as opposed to the sit-down fast food I had.

food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, cool atmosphere. Great baked ...

Dined on November 8, 2015

Great food, cool atmosphere. Great baked brie app.

food5
ambience5
service4

A neighborhood gem for sure!

Dined on November 7, 2015

My husband, a friend and I enjoyed a wonderful pre-theater dinner at Back Bay Harry's last Saturday. They did a fantastic job of transforming the layout. The bar at the front is separated from the dining area at the back. Taniya Nayak's design is elegant yet comfortable. The music was low enough for us to enjoy a pleasant conversation. The service was gracious and attentive. Jason Santos' food was delicious, from the lamb appetizer special that we shared to my cider-brined pork chop, my husband's Berkeley burger and our friend's Kung Pao swordfish. She raved about her cocktail. The pedestrian bread was a minor disappointment. A basket of freshly baked artisan bread usually presages an extraordinary meal, and the bread at BBH didn’t prepare us for the excellent food to come.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Avocado salad was amazing!!

vip
Dined on November 6, 2015

I loved Back Bay Harry's. Jason Santos continues to innovate on both the menu and the atmosphere; what could have been just a salad was a grilled avocado salad with corn fresco and a fried egg? Delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food2
ambience1
service1

Bad service + whole experience fell a little flat

Dined on November 1, 2015

It seemed like Back Bay Harry's was trying too hard to be hip, so it wasn't a great place for brunch. It has sort of a weird industrial chic feel in the worst kind of way. The service was pretty bad and we had a hard time getting refills on water and coffee even though there were not many people there. Also, my friend is a vegetarian and ended up getting a few chunks of sausage in her vegetarian brunch item.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.