About Back Bay Harry's

142 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

We are thrilled to be apart of the South End/Back Bay neighborhood. Centrally located in the heart of the city, we focus on quality cooking, creative cocktails and great company. We look forward to having you in!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Wed: 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Thu: 11:30 am - 1:00 am
Fri: 11:30 am - 2:00 am
Sat: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am
Sun: 11:00 am -12:00 am

Cross Street:
Between Columbus Ave and Stanhope Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 424-6711

Website:
http://backbayharrys.com/

Parking Details:
We offer Valet Parking Thursday-Saturday from 5PM-12Midnight

Parking is also available at a wide-variety of parking garages around our location.

Public Transit:
The closest T-Stations are the Arlington stop on the Green Line and the Back Bay stop on the Orange Line.

Executive Chef:
Jason Santos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cocktail Receptions
Large Banquets
Business Meetings
Private Dining
Corporate Functions
Special Events
Rehearsal Dinners
Birthday Parties
Retirement Parties
Fundraisers
Holiday Parties

Private Dining

It's true. We love a celebration. Our inviting (yet glamorous) and stylish (yet comfortable) ambiance provides the perfect backdrop for any event. We pride ourselves on our personalized service and attention to detail whether it be a corporate function or cocktail party.

Back Bay Harry's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (16)
Casual (14)
Bar Seating (13)
See All
Creative Cuisine (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Cozy (6)
Fun (6)
Business Meals (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Romantic (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (3)
Family Style (3)
Great Beer (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
312 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

Took my parents here, and BBH did not disappoint. Though I knew the food would be good, especially during brunch, the service was really what made the experience for them. Our waitress was very attentive, chatty and accommodating- my mother asked if we could get extra filling with our made-to-order jelly donuts (get those!) and she said it would absolutely be possible. An interesting selection of brunch items and good service--- would go back again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Feels very much like an unpopular Hotel bar where the staff are well aware you'll never be back - and in this case they nailed it. Boston has so many places much better than BBH. Food was good. We had oysters - fresh & delicious, calamari - exceptional lemon sauce and brie with cranberries - good/average. We sat at the bar for a good 5 minutes (only us and one other couple at the bar at the time and three barkeeps behind) without anyone even acknowledging us at 7:30 pm on a Saturday. The bar did fill up. Then there was the Brittany Spears Move playing at FULL Volume on a Saturday night which just isn't my idea of good bar experience. The two twenty-somethings out of the bar full seemed to be enjoying the movie. Cocktails were good and creative. Limited selection of craft beer. Perhaps just an off night.

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Back bay harry's was great all around, from the service to the food. Went on their Valentines themed night and the atmosphere was perfect, definitely a place I'd come back to.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was really excited to try Back Bay Harry's for Valentine's Day. The pre-fixed menu looked appealing.

While my boyfriend's food was fine, mine didn't sit well with me. The lobster corn chowder didn't taste right and the pan seared salmon lacked flavor. The chocolate cake was also served a bit cold.

As soon as we left, I ended up getting sick from what I can only assume was the lobster chowder.

Overall, I had a poor dining experience for the money and wouldn't recommend the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

A group of friends and I ate here for brunch this past Sunday. AMAZING. Hands down incredible. First off, good luck picking an item off the menu.. you will want all of it. We all got something different and shared a little. The waitress was great. Super nice and friendly and split our checks without any issues (hard to find that in Boston.) They played old school 90's music which made the brunch even more enjoyable. They also offer a very affordable "boozy brunch" special if you want a mimosa. I highly recommend this place! Great service and food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Lovely upscale bar. The food was delicious. More importantly the servers were personable and very helpful. Suggested the best cocktails! Will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Fun, Casual, Live Sports, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We went for brunch on a Sunday morning, the food was pretty good, lots of options for brunch including the sweeter things and healthier options like avocado toast with lox! We had guests from Florida and they enjoyed it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great little place in the back band Boston. Limited menu but everything was amazing. In the drink menu is enough to make you laugh very entertaining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Would have given 5 stars for value if there were a few more menu choices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I love it here every time. Great atmosphere!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Walked by this place dozens of times, but first time dining there. This was one of few places I was excited to try out the entire day before- just look at the menu, and you'll understand. Very creative food choices, from graham cracker crusted french toast to made-to-order jelly doughnuts (highly recommend). I don't think I would've been disappointed with anything on the menu. Ambiance was pretty typical of a casual, popular brunch spot, young patrons and modern decor.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food was very ordinary which surprised me because of the previous reviews. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Service was friendly and attentive, even though it is always busy at lunch. Interesting selection on the menu and the food was fresh and enjoyable.Love the burgers here and my friend really enjoyed the Grilled Avocado Salad.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Nice place with good food. The service was fast and pleasant, perfect for Business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Was a slow time, middle of the day. Food was excellent (especially the salad with grilled avocado and maple donuts). Service was a little slow, especially given the fact that there weren't many people there --- however, we were not in a rush... so it wasn't like we needed attention and it wasn't coming.

Worth going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was surprisingly good. I was also impressed with the beer selection. I'd definitely go here again on my next trip to Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We had a great meal and our server was super sweet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The waitress was excellent, as were the shrimp tacos and the salads. The only negative is that they serve coated French fries. So if you are a French fry purist, don't order them, but if you like the kind that are coated in some kind of mysterious batter, you will be fine.

Tags: Modern Decor, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Reasonable price and friendly service. Would definitely go back. Just wish they had a normal drink menu with coffee.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Lovely time with family post holidays! The service was great and our meals were excellent.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The friend chicken dish was outstanding. It was tastey and tender. It was served over a bed of mashed potatoes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Excellent food - skirt steak and salmon - presented in a lovely and generous style. We were early (5:30) so ambiance and service were pleasant and efficient. I would definitely return - especially with the 15% discount through the Lyric Stage in Boston, just 1 block away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

My husband and I were in Boston for a few days to shop. We wanted to walk to the restaurant, and our hotel was close by. Back Bay Harry's not only has a terrific name, but it's a lively, welcoming place. The server was professional and friendly, and added to our enjoyment of the evening. A young man (a manager perhaps) came by to say hello. We enjoyed the place very much, and would certainly recommend it to others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Amazing experience, brought my best friend for her birthday with a group and everyone loved it. Food was great and service was top notch. Definitely a hidden gem.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was our fourth or fifth visit to Back Bay Harry's. The food is always very good. The ambiance is very attractive. And the service is good, if somewhat slow. We look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

My friend and I came here while st a conference and staying at the Lowe's hotel next door. The food was good and the prices fair for Boston.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 5, 2016

New employee lunch. Perfect venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had a large group and everyone enjoyed the meal. Cocktail menu was festive and fun. We'll definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Celebrated my daughter's 33rd birthday there with the family. The food was very good for a causal dinner with a comfortable venue. Our server was excellent making for a enjoyable birthday dinner.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Came here with a girlfriend for brunch one Sunday. We had the special where they give you a bottle of champagne and three different types of juice. We had orange juice, pineapple juice, and grapefruit juice. Our food was excellent, and the service was fine even though it was very busy. They had great brunch cocktails also!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Came in for a quick meal before a show. Service and ambiance were good. I had fried chicken which was good. My wife had chicken focaccia which was dry and disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We got a last minute Open Table reservation, sat at a high-top at the bar and thoroughly enjoyed a Red Blend from WA at a reasonable price. We have been going to Jason's restaurants for years and continue to be impressed by his creativity (i.e. Caesar Salad with Feta and Cous-Cous). Service was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Enjoyed the Califlower! The waitress was very helpful with her suggestions! Kodus to your Team!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Creative menu, wonderful service great drink menu. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The menu is limited but the choices were very good. My wife made a meal of several appetizers while I enjoyed the strip steak. Our waitress could not have been more attentive or more pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Waitstaff was very attentive without being overbearing and knowledgeable about the menu, wine and beer lists. Very nice atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2016

I was one member of a 6 person dining group. Four of us ordered the same dish, and each person requested a different deviation from the menu description. All four dishes were delivered as requested. Thanks to our server and the kitchen staff for their attention to detail.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Very solid brunch scene. Menu changes around. Doughnuts and fries are fantastic.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

This place is phenomenal - the food, drinks, atmosphere and service were outstanding. For a Saturday night meal with friends, this was a great place. It was relaxing and made us wish we could stay all night ordering cocktails. Great craft beer list (at very reasonable prices) and a great cocktail and wine list. Get the Korean Short Rib Tacos - you'll regret it if you don't.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Happy Hour, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was great, cocktails were original, upbeat music on but not too loud. We could people watch or watch the pre-season pats game on two large flatscreens at the bar. No complaints and I'll definitely go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I was excited for the Dine-Out Boston experience since the food options appeared great - lots of succulent choices! I had ordered the Asian tuna ceviche, pork shank, and churro cheesecake. The Asian tuna ceviche smelled and tasted of fish sauce, very strong though plenty of fish. The pork shank was bathed in mashed peas and got cold really quickly, flavor was okay. The kitchen sent a replacement for an apple dessert because they ran out of the churro cheesecake and I didn't even get any notification of it until the waitress appeared with the apple dessert 15 minutes later (after asking if we wanted our dessert now and that was 15 mins ago). I know it's not the waitress' fault but I would appreciate an option of picking a different dessert. The service was average. We sat outside so it was alright, the inside looked much better! Wouldn't recommend the food we had for $38 (not including tip/tax).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food. I was with a friend I had not seen in a year. She had never been to Back Bay Harry's and totally enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2016

This time around, we were there for Restaurant Week, although we dine at this establishment often for lunch. The clam chowder was outstanding! Hats off to the chef!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The Dark Krystal drink is incredible! Beautiful space. It was really warm in there on the night I was there. Not sure if the ac was broken but the fish and chips and lobster guacamole was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2016

I came here during the Restaurant Week with friends, without much expectations. The food was excellent, especially Lobster Guacamole for appetizer. Main course was just as good. I will definitely come back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Went there with a few friends for restaurant week. Dishes were a good size. I couldn't finish the dessert. We were in a booth so it was nice to have our own area to chat and catch up.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The tuna ceviche was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 24, 2016

We went to Back Bay Harry's as part of Dine Out Boston (formerly Restaurant Week) because I liked the look of the menu they had posted online. Lots of interesting choices! The one sour note (and it ended up being a VERY sour note) was that when we were seated, even though there were many empty tables, we were placed next to a previously-seated 2-top. Not sure why we couldn't have had one table between us, as the entire section was handled by one waitress. Anyway, the pair sitting next to us contained a loud, obnoxious talker, which made the entire time there fairly unpleasant ambiance-wise. The food was good, but not good enough that I would go back there again. If a friend asked about the restaurant, I would warn them to be picky about how they were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The menu is so so limited and not very exciting--we ended up getting a few apps because the meal choices weren't so enticing -The service and ambience was superb but due to the limited menu we will not return again ---good grief

Ken

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.