About Back Bay Harry's

142 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

We are thrilled to be apart of the South End/Back Bay neighborhood. Centrally located in the heart of the city, we focus on quality cooking, creative cocktails and great company. We look forward to having you in!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Wed: 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Thu: 11:30 am - 1:00 am
Fri: 11:30 am - 2:00 am
Sat: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am
Sun: 11:00 am -12:00 am

Cross Street:
Between Columbus Ave and Stanhope Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 424-6711

Website:
http://backbayharrys.com/

Parking Details:
We offer Valet Parking Thursday-Saturday from 5PM-12Midnight

Parking is also available at a wide-variety of parking garages around our location.

Public Transit:
The closest T-Stations are the Arlington stop on the Green Line and the Back Bay stop on the Orange Line.

Executive Chef:
Jason Santos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cocktail Receptions
Large Banquets
Business Meetings
Private Dining
Corporate Functions
Special Events
Rehearsal Dinners
Birthday Parties
Retirement Parties
Fundraisers
Holiday Parties

Promotions

Theatre Discount

Thursdays - Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

$1 Oysters

Sundays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Theatre Discount

Thursdays - Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Seeing a theater show? Present us with your ticket stub and you'll recieve 15% off your food purchase!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Ticket must be for that days show. Alcohol not included. Special valid Jun 29, 2016 - Oct 29, 2016 on Thursdays - Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

$1 Oysters

Sundays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

We celebrate Sunday with $1 Oysters! Starts at 3PM and goes until supplies last. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2016 - Sep 25, 2016 on Sundays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

It's true. We love a celebration. Our inviting (yet glamorous) and stylish (yet comfortable) ambiance provides the perfect backdrop for any event. We pride ourselves on our personalized service and attention to detail whether it be a corporate function or cocktail party.

Back Bay Harry's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
See All
Great for Lunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Romantic (2)
Scenic View (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food. I was with a friend I had no ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 2 days ago

Great food. I was with a friend I had not seen in a year. She had never been to Back Bay Harry's and totally enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The tuna ceviche was amazing!!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

The tuna ceviche was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Back Bay Harry's as part of D ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

We went to Back Bay Harry's as part of Dine Out Boston (formerly Restaurant Week) because I liked the look of the menu they had posted online. Lots of interesting choices! The one sour note (and it ended up being a VERY sour note) was that when we were seated, even though there were many empty tables, we were placed next to a previously-seated 2-top. Not sure why we couldn't have had one table between us, as the entire section was handled by one waitress. Anyway, the pair sitting next to us contained a loud, obnoxious talker, which made the entire time there fairly unpleasant ambiance-wise. The food was good, but not good enough that I would go back there again. If a friend asked about the restaurant, I would warn them to be picky about how they were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

The menu is so so limited and not very e ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The menu is so so limited and not very exciting--we ended up getting a few apps because the meal choices weren't so enticing -The service and ambience was superb but due to the limited menu we will not return again ---good grief

Ken

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Not as much of a private quiet dinner as ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Not as much of a private quiet dinner as I expected. Mostly high back tables and a bar room feel. Food was excellent though so for what it is, it is great. I felt a little rushed by the service but it was restaurant week so benefit of the doubt on that part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

we went for Boston Dine our week and cho ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

we went for Boston Dine our week and choose the fixed menu.

the food is pretty good and with very good portions. our appetizers were really tasty (lobster guacamole and herloom tomato salad with a very tasty mozzarella, and the entrees were amazing. unfortunately the dessert we wanted (cheesecake) has run out so we had their doughnuts which are very sweet. amazing bread.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice place to go

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Nice place to go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Our server was excellent. The food was f ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our server was excellent. The food was fantastic, just a little too expensive for what it was. I would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious food!!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Delicious food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Laid-back, neighborhood-type bar. Perfe ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Laid-back, neighborhood-type bar. Perfect for mellow Sunday downtown. Looks like great place to watch football in the fall, or to hang out after work. Will go back again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was super average. I didn't even fi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was super average. I didn't even finish my app or entree! Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Great food, service, music and drinks! W ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food, service, music and drinks! What's more to say?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to watch the Pride parade. E ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great place to watch the Pride parade. Employees dressed up for the occasion and decorated the restaurant. Fun specials on the menu for the day. Service was excellent and not hurried.

The food: I would say it that it was just OK. I'd like to go back and try a few different options.

Overall, liked it a lot. Just wish we'd been bowled over by the food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good; maybe a bit over the top

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Chose BBH's for 15% discount for Lyric Theatre ticketholders. Upscale bar setting. Friendly service. Eclectic menu. The core food was excellent, even if overly embellished. For example, the boneless fried chicken was out of this world, but the guacamole on top was a distraction. The pastry and filling in the spanakopita entrée was very good, but there was a sauce on top and another to the side, and something else going on underneath -- too busy. I highly recommend the battered cauliflower appetizer, more delicious without the dipping sauce. Even the butter that came with the warm fresh bread had more flavoring than necessary. (Mustard seed?) Overall, some great talent in the kitchen that perhaps is trying a bit too hard. You'll have a good meal at a decent price -- just consider having them put the sauces on the side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Not sure why it wasn't more crowded

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Incredible service and great food options. Did I mention the Game of Thrones inspired cocktails? Everything exceeded expectations and I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Evening Meal

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We enjoyed the restaurant as it was not too noisy. Staff were friendly and attentive, so we enjoyed our evening and our meal. Would go back again if in Boston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food,service and ambiance were outst ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food,service and ambiance were outstanding.Highly recommend the fried chicken,calamari and the baked brie

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Went here for a work lunch with a reserv ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Went here for a work lunch with a reservation. Table was ready and we were in and out in about 60 minutes, which was exactly the time we had allotted.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Mothers Day Brunch!!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Mothers Day Brunch!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid Restaurant

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I took my wife here for a date night. We were pleased with our evening. The hostess was friendly and very accommodating when I had to return because I left my credit card. Our server was attentive and friendly. She made sure we didn't need anything the entire time. I found the food to be good, nothing amazing. My wife ordered the nachos (definitely big enough for a meal) and I had the swordfish. We both enjoyed our food. They had a solid wine list and we were pleased with our bottle. I like the ambience and the large windows. The location is great too, in Back Bay, close to Copley.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Watered down drinks

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The vodka had to be watered down. Martinis tasted like water with a lemon peel

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Not great food

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

My wife and I both ordered the same items (clam chowder and the grilled chicken sandwich). The chowder was okay, though the pieces of clam were enormous and required cutting. The chicken sandwich was 5 slices of overcooked chicken piled high in the bun. Not only was it hard to eat, but incredibly dry. We asked for cheese and Avocado to provide some moisture, received no apology, and 5 minutes later the waitress returned with two slices of american cheese and a hunk of avocado. Then we were charged $3 extra.

My wife and I rarely have time to go out so this was a huge disappointment. Needless to say we will not return to BBH ever again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

I loved my fried chicken

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I loved my fried chicken

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall the food was very good. Kitchen ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Overall the food was very good. Kitchen was slow and some items were not as warm as they should be. We have been here a couple of times and have enjoyed our meal. Saturday night may not be their best night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Love Back Bay Harry's! We have lunch mee ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Love Back Bay Harry's! We have lunch meetings at least once a month by request of the staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Felt rushed. Food came out oddly fast. D ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Felt rushed. Food came out oddly fast. Drinks were sub par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Great food

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

We tried this place during restaurant week and were very impressed. The food was flavorful and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cute and service was great...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

The service was great and the food was fantastic! The atmosphere wasn't bad for a Thursday night for dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous restaurant!! The salmon was co ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Fabulous restaurant!! The salmon was cooked to perfection, the chicken had a delightful white bbq sauce that was surprising and delicious. The chef is to be commended on his skills as well as originality in his craft. We will be visiting again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

VDay Dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Our server Nicole was very helpful and attentive all night.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious choice

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Dinner for 2 couples on Valentine's night was simply amazing. The atmosphere was great for a nice romantic Valentine's Day dinner. The drinks were tasty and the ambiance was very comfortable. We enjoyed the food and will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for brunch and it was great! They h ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Went for brunch and it was great! They have little donut holes with dipping sauces that were gone in minutes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Near the Lyric Stage.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

This was a good place to go in the neighborhood. The Nachos and drinks were interesting and fabulous. The steak was perfect, but the fried chicken a bit overdone. Worth a second try on another night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great breakfast

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Stopped here after staying at the Park Plaza. Had a great brunch, delicious Bloody Mary's. The apple cider french toast with Marscarpone was delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Comfort food with a twist

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

I did not know what to expect given the menu, but was pleasantly surprised by how delicious and creative were the renditions of comfort food. Both the fried chicken and pork chop were really well done, generous in size and served with very tasty accompaniments. Cocktails are also excellent, and despite the remarkable lists of ingredients, hang together well. I will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Charming restaurant with great food and service! Went with a large group for brunch and had a great time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Don't Miss Brunch

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Great food, great price. Plenty of breakfast or lunch options. And we found on street parking n Sunday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was delicious. We arrived a few m ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Brunch was delicious. We arrived a few minutes early (before they opened) and the bartender wasn't overly nice or accommodating. It was freezing outside and we just happened to walk fast and arrive early. We simply asked to sit at the bar and have a drink while we wait. Didn't come to give us a drink until a few minutes after they officially opened...just a little surprised by that. He said he wasn't "set up," but we asked for mimosas and saw both champagne and OJ right on the bar...wouldn't have been difficult to quickly poor two glasses before the official opening time in our opinion. We then didn't receive menus for 15 minutes. Maybe we got an off day. Ambiance was lovely and food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Excellent dinner before Blue Man Group

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Excellent food and service. Family parked at Stuart St Garage and walked to BBH for dinner before Blue Man Group show. Dinner was awesome. Great flavors. Both kids and adults loved it. Anne our server took great care of us. Great night and would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved my experience here. The staff wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

I loved my experience here. The staff was so welcoming and gracious (especially as we had a toddler with us). They were attentive and helpful, and the cocktails were simoly wonderful. One of my favorite places in the city for cocktails. Thanks for a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.