Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Back Bay Harry's

We are thrilled to be apart of the South End/Back Bay neighborhood. Centrally located in the heart of the city, we focus on quality cooking, creative cocktails and great company. We look forward to having you in!

142 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Wed: 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Thu: 11:30 am - 1:00 am
Fri: 11:30 am - 2:00 am
Sat: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am
Sun: 11:00 am -12:00 am

Cross Street:
Between Columbus Ave and Stanhope Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 424-6711

Website:
http://backbayharrys.com/

Parking Details:
We offer Valet Parking Thursday-Saturday from 5PM-12Midnight

Parking is also available at a wide-variety of parking garages around our location.

Public Transit:
The closest T-Stations are the Arlington stop on the Green Line and the Back Bay stop on the Orange Line.

Executive Chef:
Jason Santos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cocktail Receptions
Large Banquets
Business Meetings
Private Dining
Corporate Functions
Special Events
Rehearsal Dinners
Birthday Parties
Retirement Parties
Fundraisers
Holiday Parties

Private Dining

It's true. We love a celebration. Our inviting (yet glamorous) and stylish (yet comfortable) ambiance provides the perfect backdrop for any event. We pride ourselves on our personalized service and attention to detail whether it be a corporate function or cocktail party.

Back Bay Harry's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (22)
Casual (20)
Comfort Food (17)
See All
Great for Brunch (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Business Meals (10)
Fun (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Cozy (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Open Kitchen (5)
Great Beer (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Romantic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Live Sports (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Authentic (2)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Price. Quality. Service.
We live in the burbs and drive into city for the grilled avocado salad (with shrimp).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Boston marathon celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Went to Back Bay Harry's with friends after I finished the Boston Marathon. It was the perfect location near the finish line and my hotel and offered ideal post-race food. We all split nachos to start and they were delicious and much more upscale and thoughtfully-prepared with great fresh ingredients than most nacho dishes I've ever had. Then I ordered a big burger which really hit the spot after a hard 26.2 miles. Plus BBH had a plethora of drinks and I had earned some vino! If and when I get to race the Boston Marathon again I think I will make sure to make another reservation here for after!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

My husband & I came here for a delicious lunch after he ran the Boston Marathon! Our server was very sweet & attentive, getting him food asap! We enjoyed the spicy honey wings, back bay nachos, house-made falafel wrap & made to order maple doughnuts. Everything was really yummy!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Chose this spot based on word-of-mouth and found it "OK ". Nothing out of the ordinary (except for the homemade donuts). Service was also "OK ", some of the Front of House staff seemed to have a bit of difficulty with English (I.e. excuse me and just a minute).

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Had a quick dinner and it was wonderful!!

Tags: Great Beer, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great creative cocktails, matched with comfort food. Perfect for getting a group together on a Saturday night.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Back Bay Harry's is an outstanding place to dine, whether you're looking for a burger and fries to a gourmet meal. I highly recommend Back Bay Harry's The people are Top Shelf and so is the food...

Tags: Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Romantic, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Met up with some old college friends. Luckily it was during the St. Patrick's day parade so the entire Back Bay area was quiet. We had a lovely meal, great service and the food was delicious.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food and service were impeccable! We went for brunch and had a variety of sweet and savory options. The buttermilk fried chicken hash was perfectly cooked!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

A guaranteed wonderful neighborhood dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Mikey your waiter was awesome! This is a place I will return to dine!

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Food was excellent and portions were very generous!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Visited for Dine Out Boston. Hard to choose what to eat: everything on the menu sounded good. I had the crispy avocado taco appetizer (crispy, creamy avocado - yum!) and I asked the waitress to pick the entree for me: either the shrimp pasta or the fried chicken. She brought buttermilk fried chicken on a bed of mashed potatoes and spinach, accompanied by 2 donuts. Sounds bizarre but was delicious! and a large enough serving to be a hearty dinner the next day. Dessert was a key lime cheesecake. Much lighter than it sounds.

My dining companions also enjoyed their meals very much: shrimp appetizer and steak for one, tacos and salmon for the other. We all tasted each other's dishes and agreed they were excellent. And everyone had enough of their mains left over for a snack or a meal.

Service was quite good. The restaurant was not busy on a Monday night and we were not rushed out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was very nice, the food was so delicious, the desert was everything

Tags: Cozy, Live Sports, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Nice place in the city , food was good.
Not suitable for a intimate conversations noisy environment.
Waitress was sweet and very efficient.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great atmosphere. Food is very good. Service is Nice.

Tags: Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Brunch at BBH was overall pretty good. My meal as well as the bites I had of my friends dishes were all good. Would definitely visit again for dinner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Took my parents here, and BBH did not disappoint. Though I knew the food would be good, especially during brunch, the service was really what made the experience for them. Our waitress was very attentive, chatty and accommodating- my mother asked if we could get extra filling with our made-to-order jelly donuts (get those!) and she said it would absolutely be possible. An interesting selection of brunch items and good service--- would go back again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Feels very much like an unpopular Hotel bar where the staff are well aware you'll never be back - and in this case they nailed it. Boston has so many places much better than BBH. Food was good. We had oysters - fresh & delicious, calamari - exceptional lemon sauce and brie with cranberries - good/average. We sat at the bar for a good 5 minutes (only us and one other couple at the bar at the time and three barkeeps behind) without anyone even acknowledging us at 7:30 pm on a Saturday. The bar did fill up. Then there was the Brittany Spears Move playing at FULL Volume on a Saturday night which just isn't my idea of good bar experience. The two twenty-somethings out of the bar full seemed to be enjoying the movie. Cocktails were good and creative. Limited selection of craft beer. Perhaps just an off night.

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Back bay harry's was great all around, from the service to the food. Went on their Valentines themed night and the atmosphere was perfect, definitely a place I'd come back to.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was really excited to try Back Bay Harry's for Valentine's Day. The pre-fixed menu looked appealing.

While my boyfriend's food was fine, mine didn't sit well with me. The lobster corn chowder didn't taste right and the pan seared salmon lacked flavor. The chocolate cake was also served a bit cold.

As soon as we left, I ended up getting sick from what I can only assume was the lobster chowder.

Overall, I had a poor dining experience for the money and wouldn't recommend the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

A group of friends and I ate here for brunch this past Sunday. AMAZING. Hands down incredible. First off, good luck picking an item off the menu.. you will want all of it. We all got something different and shared a little. The waitress was great. Super nice and friendly and split our checks without any issues (hard to find that in Boston.) They played old school 90's music which made the brunch even more enjoyable. They also offer a very affordable "boozy brunch" special if you want a mimosa. I highly recommend this place! Great service and food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Lovely upscale bar. The food was delicious. More importantly the servers were personable and very helpful. Suggested the best cocktails! Will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Fun, Casual, Live Sports, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We went for brunch on a Sunday morning, the food was pretty good, lots of options for brunch including the sweeter things and healthier options like avocado toast with lox! We had guests from Florida and they enjoyed it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great little place in the back band Boston. Limited menu but everything was amazing. In the drink menu is enough to make you laugh very entertaining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Would have given 5 stars for value if there were a few more menu choices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I love it here every time. Great atmosphere!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Walked by this place dozens of times, but first time dining there. This was one of few places I was excited to try out the entire day before- just look at the menu, and you'll understand. Very creative food choices, from graham cracker crusted french toast to made-to-order jelly doughnuts (highly recommend). I don't think I would've been disappointed with anything on the menu. Ambiance was pretty typical of a casual, popular brunch spot, young patrons and modern decor.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food was very ordinary which surprised me because of the previous reviews. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Service was friendly and attentive, even though it is always busy at lunch. Interesting selection on the menu and the food was fresh and enjoyable.Love the burgers here and my friend really enjoyed the Grilled Avocado Salad.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Nice place with good food. The service was fast and pleasant, perfect for Business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Was a slow time, middle of the day. Food was excellent (especially the salad with grilled avocado and maple donuts). Service was a little slow, especially given the fact that there weren't many people there --- however, we were not in a rush... so it wasn't like we needed attention and it wasn't coming.

Worth going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was surprisingly good. I was also impressed with the beer selection. I'd definitely go here again on my next trip to Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We had a great meal and our server was super sweet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The waitress was excellent, as were the shrimp tacos and the salads. The only negative is that they serve coated French fries. So if you are a French fry purist, don't order them, but if you like the kind that are coated in some kind of mysterious batter, you will be fine.

Tags: Modern Decor, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Reasonable price and friendly service. Would definitely go back. Just wish they had a normal drink menu with coffee.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Lovely time with family post holidays! The service was great and our meals were excellent.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The friend chicken dish was outstanding. It was tastey and tender. It was served over a bed of mashed potatoes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Excellent food - skirt steak and salmon - presented in a lovely and generous style. We were early (5:30) so ambiance and service were pleasant and efficient. I would definitely return - especially with the 15% discount through the Lyric Stage in Boston, just 1 block away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.