Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Back Bay Harry's

We are thrilled to be apart of the South End/Back Bay neighborhood. Centrally located in the heart of the city, we focus on quality cooking, creative cocktails and great company. We look forward to having you in!

142 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Wed: 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Thu: 11:30 am - 1:00 am
Fri: 11:30 am - 2:00 am
Sat: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am
Sun: 11:00 am -12:00 am

Cross Street:
Between Columbus Ave and Stanhope Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 424-6711

Website:
http://backbayharrys.com/

Parking Details:
We offer Valet Parking Thursday-Saturday from 5PM-12Midnight

Parking is also available at a wide-variety of parking garages around our location.

Public Transit:
The closest T-Stations are the Arlington stop on the Green Line and the Back Bay stop on the Orange Line.

Executive Chef:
Jason Santos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cocktail Receptions
Large Banquets
Business Meetings
Private Dining
Corporate Functions
Special Events
Rehearsal Dinners
Birthday Parties
Retirement Parties
Fundraisers
Holiday Parties

Specials

Dollar Oysters

Sundays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Dollar Oysters

Sundays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Every Sunday, from 3 PM until supplies last, we serve $1 oysters!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 17, 2017 - Sep 17, 2017 on Sundays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

It's true. We love a celebration. Our inviting (yet glamorous) and stylish (yet comfortable) ambiance provides the perfect backdrop for any event. We pride ourselves on our personalized service and attention to detail whether it be a corporate function or cocktail party.

Back Bay Harry's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (16)
BarSeating (15)
ComfortFood (15)
See All
HandcraftedCocktails (12)
BusinessMeals (10)
Brunch (10)
NeighborhoodGem (10)
GoodForDates (9)
Fun (9)
QuickBite (8)
CreativeCuisine (8)
SundayLunch (8)
Foodies (8)
Groups (8)
Lunch (7)
ModernDecor (7)
PrePostTheatre (7)
Birthdays (7)
Cozy (6)
SpecialOccasions (6)
VibrantBarScene (6)
Anniversaries (6)
OpenKitchen (5)
HappyHour (4)
QuietConversation (4)
HotSpot (4)
GreatBeer (3)
LateNightFind (3)
Authentic (3)
Romance (3)
PeopleWatching (3)
AfternoonCoffee (2)
LiveSports (2)
Seasonal (2)
WorthTheDrive (1)
Healthy (1)
VegetarianOptions (1)
OutstandingValue (1)
Tapas (1)
TastingMenu (1)
FamilyStyle (1)
MolecularGastronomy (1)
WoodOven (1)
ChildFriendly (1)
Sort By:
S
346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The food was great, especially the Buffalo cauliflower.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Great time. Ended up eating at the bar. Really enjoyed it

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Back Bay Harry's was great! It was somewhat (and happily) quiet for a Saturday night, although it was a holiday weekend and people may have been out of town. The food was great and the drinks were phenomenal - there was one with jalapeno, cilantro, tequila and sparkling rose which was really delicious. I was there on a double date and the noise level was perfect for conversation. Pricing was moderate - certainly not cheap but nothing out of control either, especially for a restaurant downtown. All in all a great experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This would be a fine place to go for a drink at the bar if you want to catch whatever game happens to be on. The food was just okay and the service was extremely slow, which may be why there were many empty seats in the place on a Saturday evening.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food and service were great, but there was no air conditioning, it was hot and uncomfortable. Made the experience less enjoyable.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The waiter Anthony that was in training was awesome but the girl training him was cold, never smiled, she scolded Anthony in front of us because he asked her a question in front of us which in turn made us all feel bad for Anthony and embarrassed him and is. The trainer made us feel uncomfortable because she kept looking over at our table and whispering to another waitress.at the end when we finished eating she came and cleared our table and stated that she needed to clean table for the next party she did not let us enjoy and did not create a comfortable atmosphere. I put on receipt that If the tip was to go to Anthony we would have given him a great tip. We left her 5 dollars. She seemed very snobby and rude. She never showed any pleasantness and my burger was pink when I asked for well done

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Michael our server was wonderful. Attentive and patient.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for brunch on Mother's Day. Food was great! Started with the donuts, definitely a must! I had the shrimp burrito which was very good my husband had the chicken hash and seemed to enjoy it as well. My daughter had the blueberry pancakes with pecans and mango which were a bit sweet but tasty nevertheless. I'll be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Loved the clam chowder! Waitress was very helpful. Nice ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Best salmon burger I've ever had. Great service too.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This was our first time here for Brunch with friends. My friends had Bloody Marys and I am not usually a fan but tried a sip of theirs and it was terrific. I had the poutine - which was over tots that were the tastiest I have ever had. We all agreed we need to come back because there were so many great options on the menu, we wanted to try everything! I was so impressed with Brunch that I can't wait to try coming here for dinner as well.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent food and generous servings. Good wine list, too. Great for pre-theater dining. Our server was efficient, but not friendly.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was very good, service was fair. Despite having a reservation, we were seated at a small high top in a high traffic area. The hostess questioned us why we were seated there (another wait staff had seated us) but never came back to move us to a more appropriate table.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Pretty good brunch, with nice cocktails

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great atmosphere, food, drinks and service! Highly recommend!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Price. Quality. Service.
We live in the burbs and drive into city for the grilled avocado salad (with shrimp).

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Boston marathon celebration

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Went to Back Bay Harry's with friends after I finished the Boston Marathon. It was the perfect location near the finish line and my hotel and offered ideal post-race food. We all split nachos to start and they were delicious and much more upscale and thoughtfully-prepared with great fresh ingredients than most nacho dishes I've ever had. Then I ordered a big burger which really hit the spot after a hard 26.2 miles. Plus BBH had a plethora of drinks and I had earned some vino! If and when I get to race the Boston Marathon again I think I will make sure to make another reservation here for after!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

My husband & I came here for a delicious lunch after he ran the Boston Marathon! Our server was very sweet & attentive, getting him food asap! We enjoyed the spicy honey wings, back bay nachos, house-made falafel wrap & made to order maple doughnuts. Everything was really yummy!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Chose this spot based on word-of-mouth and found it "OK ". Nothing out of the ordinary (except for the homemade donuts). Service was also "OK ", some of the Front of House staff seemed to have a bit of difficulty with English (I.e. excuse me and just a minute).

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Had a quick dinner and it was wonderful!!

Tags: Great Beer, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great creative cocktails, matched with comfort food. Perfect for getting a group together on a Saturday night.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Back Bay Harry's is an outstanding place to dine, whether you're looking for a burger and fries to a gourmet meal. I highly recommend Back Bay Harry's The people are Top Shelf and so is the food...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Romantic, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Met up with some old college friends. Luckily it was during the St. Patrick's day parade so the entire Back Bay area was quiet. We had a lovely meal, great service and the food was delicious.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food and service were impeccable! We went for brunch and had a variety of sweet and savory options. The buttermilk fried chicken hash was perfectly cooked!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

A guaranteed wonderful neighborhood dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Mikey your waiter was awesome! This is a place I will return to dine!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Food was excellent and portions were very generous!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Casual, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Visited for Dine Out Boston. Hard to choose what to eat: everything on the menu sounded good. I had the crispy avocado taco appetizer (crispy, creamy avocado - yum!) and I asked the waitress to pick the entree for me: either the shrimp pasta or the fried chicken. She brought buttermilk fried chicken on a bed of mashed potatoes and spinach, accompanied by 2 donuts. Sounds bizarre but was delicious! and a large enough serving to be a hearty dinner the next day. Dessert was a key lime cheesecake. Much lighter than it sounds.

My dining companions also enjoyed their meals very much: shrimp appetizer and steak for one, tacos and salmon for the other. We all tasted each other's dishes and agreed they were excellent. And everyone had enough of their mains left over for a snack or a meal.

Service was quite good. The restaurant was not busy on a Monday night and we were not rushed out.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was very nice, the food was so delicious, the desert was everything

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Live Sports, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Nice place in the city , food was good.
Not suitable for a intimate conversations noisy environment.
Waitress was sweet and very efficient.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great atmosphere. Food is very good. Service is Nice.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Brunch at BBH was overall pretty good. My meal as well as the bites I had of my friends dishes were all good. Would definitely visit again for dinner.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Took my parents here, and BBH did not disappoint. Though I knew the food would be good, especially during brunch, the service was really what made the experience for them. Our waitress was very attentive, chatty and accommodating- my mother asked if we could get extra filling with our made-to-order jelly donuts (get those!) and she said it would absolutely be possible. An interesting selection of brunch items and good service--- would go back again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Feels very much like an unpopular Hotel bar where the staff are well aware you'll never be back - and in this case they nailed it. Boston has so many places much better than BBH. Food was good. We had oysters - fresh & delicious, calamari - exceptional lemon sauce and brie with cranberries - good/average. We sat at the bar for a good 5 minutes (only us and one other couple at the bar at the time and three barkeeps behind) without anyone even acknowledging us at 7:30 pm on a Saturday. The bar did fill up. Then there was the Brittany Spears Move playing at FULL Volume on a Saturday night which just isn't my idea of good bar experience. The two twenty-somethings out of the bar full seemed to be enjoying the movie. Cocktails were good and creative. Limited selection of craft beer. Perhaps just an off night.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Back bay harry's was great all around, from the service to the food. Went on their Valentines themed night and the atmosphere was perfect, definitely a place I'd come back to.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was really excited to try Back Bay Harry's for Valentine's Day. The pre-fixed menu looked appealing.

While my boyfriend's food was fine, mine didn't sit well with me. The lobster corn chowder didn't taste right and the pan seared salmon lacked flavor. The chocolate cake was also served a bit cold.

As soon as we left, I ended up getting sick from what I can only assume was the lobster chowder.

Overall, I had a poor dining experience for the money and wouldn't recommend the restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

A group of friends and I ate here for brunch this past Sunday. AMAZING. Hands down incredible. First off, good luck picking an item off the menu.. you will want all of it. We all got something different and shared a little. The waitress was great. Super nice and friendly and split our checks without any issues (hard to find that in Boston.) They played old school 90's music which made the brunch even more enjoyable. They also offer a very affordable "boozy brunch" special if you want a mimosa. I highly recommend this place! Great service and food!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Lovely upscale bar. The food was delicious. More importantly the servers were personable and very helpful. Suggested the best cocktails! Will definitely be coming back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Fun, Casual, Live Sports, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We went for brunch on a Sunday morning, the food was pretty good, lots of options for brunch including the sweeter things and healthier options like avocado toast with lox! We had guests from Florida and they enjoyed it.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.