Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.44mi
  2. Distance: 3.98mi
  3. Distance: 4.57mi
  4. Distance: 5.04mi
  1. Distance: 2.44mi
  2. Distance: 3.98mi
  3. Distance: 4.57mi
  4. Distance: 5.04mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.44mi
  2. Distance: 3.98mi
  3. Distance: 4.57mi
  4. Distance: 5.04mi
  1. Distance: 2.44mi
  2. Distance: 3.98mi
  3. Distance: 4.57mi
  4. Distance: 5.04mi

About Back Bay Bistro

New American Menu serving cut to order Prime Rib, NY Strip Steaks and Flat Iron Steaks. Fresh local seafood, veal, chicken and pasta dishes. Entrees are served with choice of fresh sautéed vegetables and a baked potato or garlic mashed. Plus you will enjoy a family style salad and our own homemade focaccia bread and dipping oil. Come discover for your self why we were voted #1 New American and caterer by PHL 17 Jersey Shore Hot List. BYOB

1891 Bayshore Road
Villas, NJ 08251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:45pm, Saturday: 11:30am - 3:45pm, Sunday: 12:30pm - 3:45pm.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 8:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday: 8:00am - 11:30am, Sunday: 8:00am - 12:30pm.

Cross Street:
Woodland Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 889-8500

Website:
http://www.backbaybistro.com/

Entertainment:
You will hear sounds of Michael Buble, Frank Sinatra, Jimmy Durante, Ella Fitzgerald, Louis Armstrong and many more like artists.

Catering:
Catering weddings, private parties, special events, back yard BBQs and more.

Parking Details:
Parking on the South and North of Building.

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Delivery, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Back Bay Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (12)
Casual (9)
Comfort Food (4)
See All
Good for a Date (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Cozy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Romantic (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
187 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 22, 2017

This is second time there. First time food was so much better. This is byob.
Pot pie only fair , was not tasty. Service was slow. Meal comes with salad and dessert. Check had error too. Will try something else next time.
Nice folks, maybe just a bad nite. Will try again before we call it quits.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Food and service always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Back Bay Bistro is a locally popular restaurant worth visiting periodically. We dined there with family over the past weekend and the bread, salad and all 4 entrees. It did take longer than usual to receive our entrees, but that was not a real problem. Excellent server

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2017

I booked this restaurant when my boyfriend and I were down at the cape for vacation. The restaurant was no more than "okay". The meal came with bread and salad - both were great. However, we ordered appetizers before we were aware that the meal already came with this, so we would have appreciated knowing that prior to getting appetizers and two full dishes. For our mains, we both ordered pasta dishes. Both of our dishes were completed drenched in butter - the menu made it seem like a light, oil/butter/garlic sauce but it seemed like there was an entire stick of butter which deemed it inedible. There was a massive amount of food, though, so if you do go I would recommend ordering one or two dishes to share!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Always a great experience, service was great, for d was excellently!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2017

This was our third visit and Ashley has been our server on two of the visits - she does a great job!
Good food - very enjoyable visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

I have been to the Back Bay Bistro many times and have been disappointed in anything I have ordered.
Kiddos to the cook because he is excellent. Kind of disappointed in the face there was an additional charge for two vegetables rather than ordering a potato

Thank you!.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great food, large portions. The egg plant stacker appetizer is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

My wife and I were looking for a restaurant to go to at the last minute when we came across The Back Bay Bistro. If you go be prepared for large portions of great food. Our server was Ashley who did a fantastic job. I'd highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 26, 2017

We both had the broiled seafood combo on the early bird menu. Loved my salad- fresh and great house dressing. Flounder was okay (bland); shrimp and crab cake were delish! Great service. Really cute find in the Villas.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Bland and very greasy hash browns. Pool of oil under them. They tested like grease . Place is priced
Reasonably but I would
Spend more for better taste

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We had breakfast and the food and service were excellent. The restaurant is very clean and the kitchen will accommodate special requests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

The Food was excellent s always. However, when we arrived and spoke to the hostess and said we had a reservation through Open Table, she didn't have it in her system. I had to show her my confirmation on my cell phone as she insisted there was no reservation in the beginning when she went into her system
Tom

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great Meal, Great Service, all great!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine at Back Bay! Have been dining there since they opened.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Again our local favorite restaurant, Back Bay Bistro didn't leave us down for our group of 5. It's always nice to use Opentable to book our reservation, an option not available at most other local spots. The food is excellent, I especially liked the penne Vodka with Shrimp, mmm. Service superb and a good value overall.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Server was not very good , had to ask several times for missed items. She seem to disappear for long periods at times. Finally got the bill and she walked by it two times not picking it up. Eventually we just took it to the take out counter to pay. Wife said it was the best crab cake she ever had.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent experience, food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our Saturday night dinner reservation for a party of 4 was for 7:30 pm but we were not seated until close to 8 pm. The menu selections were good and the portion sizes were generous. However, all of our meals arrived at the table lukewarm. With so many good choices in Cape May (albeit pricier ones) I doubt we will back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The hostess Ann was friendly and professional . We were seated and at first the waitress Sam seem professional at first but then lost interest in her J-O-B quickly!! The garlic mashed potatoes were old but the salmon I ordered was cooked to perfection! So I would return to this restaurant but would have a different Waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Went for the early bird special and it didn't disappoint us. My husband got the chicken parmigiana and the portion was huge, very tasty and moist. Pasta served with it was a bit water logged and lacked sauce so he drained the pasta and requested additional sauce, problem solved ( but the kitchen needs to pay more attention to this side dish). I ordered the Scallops ( received 4 large ones) my baked potato and asparagus everything was cooked perfect ( hate soggy over cooked vegetables, pet peeve). Will definitely be returning.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Back Bay Bistro has become our go-to estaurant when at our Jersey shore home. Entrees include a yummy family style salad and flatbreads. Husband had one of the day's specials - scallops with crab imperial served en casserole with potato and vegetable. I had shrimp stuffed with crab meat with vegetable and applesauce, substituted for the usual potato.
A slice of carrot cake was large enough to share for dessert.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2017

My wife and I love to eat out on vacation , traveling or just to get out of the house. We have eaten at corner bars, neighborhood gems and 5 star restaurants. Two things we do not do unless it's bad is complain about the food or send it back. I hate to complain because I don't want to ruin the night and I don't send food back because I want to eat with my wife.....not 15 minutes after she is done. We arrived at 6:27 pm and were seated at 6:33 for our 6:30 reservation. We ordered the fried zucchini appetizer plate which was deep fried to a nice golden crisp and had a very tasty dipping sauce. The salads that came with dinner were fine. We completed this course at 6:57 pm. We then waited for our entrees to finally come out 37 minutes later which is extremely long. My wife ordered chicken Marsala that was well cooked and had a nice helping of mushrooms and sauce. It was very good. I ordered the surf and turf. I asked for my filet to be prepared medium rare. When it finally came out I think the doom fell asleep at the wheel or used a blow torch. It was very crispy on the outside and close to well done inside. I brought this up to waitress and the hostess ( I believe she may be the owner). They were both extremely nice and offered to replace it. I stated earlier I dine for the experience with my wife and not to eat alone 15 minutes after her. Here is where my disappointment comes in......most good restaurants and owners would do one of the following:
Take the meal off or at a minimum 1/2 off
Offer a free alcoholic drink (they don't serve) or dessert for the couple free of charge
Offer to redo the meal to take home
My experience as I have only done this a few times in my life is that the meal is removed
I was give a $5.70 discount. Whoopeeeeeee
Are you kidding me
This was more insulting than if they did nothing
Overall I give 3 stars because of wait staff and promptness of seating

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Food is consistently good. The only complaint...the fried asparagus was not tasty. All the other food was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Excellent food from appetizer through dessert. Started with the Calamari mixed with olives and capers, house salad, chefs special of broiled scallops and shrimp with roasted red peppers and spinach over penne in a fresh creme sherry sauce. Finished with a piece of Jamaican rum cake and coffee. Our server, Samantha, was attentive, knowledgeable, and even took a few minutes, during a very busy service to chat and make sure we were enjoying our dinner. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Always great service and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Quite a find! Spotted on Open Table and will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Always a great place to dine. Love their mussels marinara and eggplant stacker. Salmon is always wonderful. Veal and shrimp and chicken piccata is served in a bowl with pasta and sauce. Not my favorite. Other people might like it. Rather have served on a plate with a baked potato

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The restaurant was a bit of a mess tonight - hoping it was related to broken fridge and not their usual performance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Good food but way too much. Ordered pasta and it was served in a bowl that could have been a family serving!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

A great authentic Italian dinner with various steaks chops and seafood options as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Had the whole family together and needed a table for 9 for dinner and the Back Bay Bistro delivered an excellent meal for all. Our server, Krysta was new and she was attentive and an excellent server. The food was great, our daughter had the penne pasta with vodka sauce & shrimp and she accidentally left her leftovers which we enjoyed the next day for dinner, mmm. Our neighborhood gem continues to deliver excellent food, service & satisfied customers. Thank you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Wonderful as always. Great food and service. Friend who was at back Bay for the first time loved it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Started out with not so great service, but ended with a fantastic meal. Would definitely come back again!

Tags: Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Waitress was so preoccupied, she delivered wrong entree to my fiancée, then when we ordered dessert, we asked for a coffee and a tea, these never arrived!

After we finished dessert she was no where to be found, although the dining room was almost empty by then. When she finally showed up with our check, she was clueless about the coffee and tea, but had adjusted the entree to what had actually been received!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Love everything about BBB. Sam is a wonderful server!

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I've been dining here for four or five years now. It's a nice place to go during the summer season when all of the restaurants on the barrier islands are crowded and don't take reservations. I've always been pleased with the food. In a prior review, I had indicated my disappointment with deterioration of the service, but this seems to have been corrected. The server was very attentive, and the wait time for food/drinks, etc. was not bad at all. We were seated at the exact time of our reservation. I'm glad to see that this neighborhood gem is back on top of its game.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I went there for prime rib, but they couldn't accommodate a rare prime rib. I believe it is a pre-prepped meal.I ordered the coconut shrimp for appetizer but they were out, so we ordered the shrimp cocktail. It was like it was purchased from bj's. no lemon, and not on ice. We had the pleasure of dining with 3 flys who would not go away. We were seated 1/2 hour Past our reservation time. My wife ordered the chicken Parmesan which was average but the side pasta was horrible. The sauce was not good, so she didn't eat it. We got the feeling that they were rushing us since there was a lot of people waiting and the restaurant did not have many 2 seated tables. I had to order the prime rib medium rare and it was a very generous piece but with a lot of fat. The waitress did not ask us if we would like dessert so I am not even sure if they offered it, nor were we offered coffee. The complimentary salad was the best part of the meal. I would not go there again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I LOVE BYOB restaurants. The meals are cooked fresh and consistently good! The service is above reproach, a rare quality of late!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Cape May dining at half the price. We will be back. Thanks!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.