About Back Bay Bistro

1891 Bayshore Road
Villas, NJ 08251
View Larger Map

New American Menu serving cut to order Prime Rib, NY Strip Steaks and Flat Iron Steaks. Fresh local seafood, veal, chicken and pasta dishes. Entrees are served with choice of fresh sautéed vegetables and a baked potato or garlic mashed. Plus you will enjoy a family style salad and our own homemade focaccia bread and dipping oil. Come discover for your self why we were voted #1 New American and caterer by PHL 17 Jersey Shore Hot List. BYOB

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:45pm, Saturday: 11:30am - 3:45pm, Sunday: 12:30pm - 3:45pm.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 8:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday: 8:00am - 11:30am, Sunday: 8:00am - 12:30pm.

Cross Street:
Woodland Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 889-8500

Website:
http://www.backbaybistro.com/

Entertainment:
You will hear sounds of Michael Buble, Frank Sinatra, Jimmy Durante, Ella Fitzgerald, Louis Armstrong and many more like artists.

Catering:
Catering weddings, private parties, special events, back yard BBQs and more.

Parking Details:
Parking on the South and North of Building.

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Delivery, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Back Bay Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Neighborhood Gem
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Value
South Jersey Shore
2 More
Neighborhood Gem
South Jersey Shore
American
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Cape May ›

Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for Groups (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
See All
Great for Lunch (9)
Kid-friendly (7)
Special Occasion (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Romantic (2)
Casual (2)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Cozy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
85 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Never have been disappointed. Friendly a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Never have been disappointed. Friendly and good service. Great atmosphere. Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was very good. Portions were small, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Food was very good. Portions were small, the menu was pretty limited, could have used more vegetarian entrees

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We love this place. We have been here of ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We love this place. We have been here often and it is always consistent with food quality and service. It is unassuming but has a lovely ambiance. It is a BYOB so you can bring wine that you enjoy. Ample parking is a plus.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We absolutely love Back Bay Bistro. Have ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We absolutely love Back Bay Bistro. Have been there several times & have never been disappointed. Food is always excellent service is great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time there and both ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This was our second time there and both times service was not up to par. Takes forever to get a server to come and greet you and give specials. Then another long time before they come back to take order. Food comes out in a fair amount of time. I think they are understaffed. I book on Open Table and checked in but hostess never checked us in on her end. Probably will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Always worth the wait. Reservation 6:30 ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always worth the wait. Reservation 6:30 & seated by 6:45. Understandable given the small size of the place, but very popular. Great quality food, never a bad meal, or experience. A Gem @ the shore

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great hidden gem! Grab a bottle ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

What a great hidden gem! Grab a bottle of wine and get yourself a table here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to dine here. Service ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine here. Service and food excellent with new items to try. Always greeted with a smile!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Back bay Bistro several ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We have been to Back bay Bistro several times & have never been disappointed. Food is always fresh & delicious. New renovations are beautiful. Recommendations above 10.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Great food and great service! Had a nice ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great food and great service! Had a nice casual dinner. Love the BYOB!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall nice restaurant in the Villas. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Overall nice restaurant in the Villas. Was not aware it was a BYOB, but that did not detract from the food.

Service was fine, food was very good and they do give a military discount!

Will definitely go back to this restaurant.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Has the shore feeling with nice white ta ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Has the shore feeling with nice white table cloths. All dishes sampled were very good, not five star dining, but if you would like a good casual meal this is the place.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A great local BYOB. Friendly service, fl ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

A great local BYOB. Friendly service, flavorful well prepared entrees. Love their serving of salad and bread, also.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Bay Bay is a good local restaurant and i ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Bay Bay is a good local restaurant and it is also popular with summer visitors to the Cape May region. During the summer reservations are recommended for dinner. Good food, good service and fair prices. Sunday to Friday early bird specials are a great value and very popular.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food. Good price. Nice cozy plac ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Good food.

Good price.

Nice cozy place to have a late dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The flatbread and salad came with our en ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The flatbread and salad came with our entrees. We had veal piccata and chicken Marsala with pasta. Portions were generous: enough to take home and enjoy for lunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Back Bay Bistro is a year round locally ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Back Bay Bistro is a year round locally popular restaurant. Things I particularly like include their early bird specials, salad, bread and their service. Regular menu irens and prices are also pretty good. If you want to drive just a few minutes from downtown Cape May you will find the trip worthwhile.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The area surrounding the bistro is nothi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The area surrounding the bistro is nothing to write home about, but once you step inside be prepared for a treat. Friendly wait staff, fast service, well designed dining area, and an excellent menu await...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a very good meal there everything ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a very good meal there everything was excellent I don't have one complaint we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined there upon a recommendation and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We dined there upon a recommendation and were not disappointed. It is a BYOB (which is great). The service was very good and so was the food. We had one of the specials of the day appetizer. The mussels in a cream/white wine/tarragon sauce that was excellent. Our two seafood dinners were also very good (as was the salad). We would definitely dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Friendly neighborhood restaurant, you al ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Friendly neighborhood restaurant, you always can count on good food and great service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This was a last minute family dinner for ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This was a last minute family dinner for 8. They not only took care of us immediately, they could not have been more accommodating or professional. Service was terrific. Food was very well prepared and excellent. Don't be in a hurry. They cook every dish to order, so bring a bottle (BYOB), sit tight and enjoy the quaint atmosphere. Very much worth the trip. Glad we stumbled on it. Definitely plan on returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This is truly a hidden gem in the Villas ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

This is truly a hidden gem in the Villas. The ambiance is elegant without the upscale pricing. Our food was good. My meal itself was mahi mahi with pineapple salsa to come also with asparagus, but instead had other seasonal vegetables, perhaps because asparagus is out of season in the summer. The salsa had pineapple in it but looked more like more mango, but that was fine with me and the fish was fresh. It still tasted delicious. The 3 of us dining together were not disappointed and would return again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a small restaurant in an unexpec ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This is a small restaurant in an unexpected place. Close enough to Cape May without the high prices. Hostess, wait staff were all very professional and welcoming. A house salad was served in a large bowl, plenty for two or three and was fresh, crisp and yummy. The fresh bread was delicious. My entree, prime rib was a but tough and over cooked for me but tasty nonetheless. My husband was very satisfied with his choice. Chocolate cake was incredible!

We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice little place off the beaten pa ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very nice little place off the beaten path. All 4 of us enjoyed our meals and everything was very fresh. Our server Jenna was very nice and attentive. Good find at the shore!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

One of my favorite restaurants. Always a ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants. Always a pleasure to dine here. Friends and family love it as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have visited Back Bay Bistro many tim ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We have visited Back Bay Bistro many times and have never been disappointed. This time we brought a friend who was visiting from Florida. She enjoyed her dinner and told us she wished she had a neighborhood Gem like BBB. Mussels Marinara was yummy, and the filets were tasty tender and juicy.

You can never go wrong at Back Bay.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a memorable experience. Food was ok. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Not a memorable experience. Food was ok. Atmosphere nice but very quiet for a full restaurant. Staff not engaged but service overall wasn't lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

A great place!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

All of the food is excellent! The salad is served family-style and is wonderful - very fresh and tasty. Prices are good, and it is BYO which makes it a really great value. We love Backbay Bistro!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were fine, nothing ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food and service were fine, nothing exceptional as far as I'm concerned. The place is decorated very nicely and was nothing like the outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Extremely disappointing

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We made reservations for 1:15pm on Labor Day. When we arrived there was only 3 other tables with people sitting at them. The waitress took us to a table and then we waited for about 15 minutes to reappear. Once she took our drink order, it was another 15 minutes for us to get our drinks.

We ordered our food off of the menu and 20 minutes later our food arrives. Out of the 4 of us, one of the entrees was wrong, my sandwich was extremely dry and salty and the others were just ok. We overheard other tables complaining that their meals were wrong too.

Service was awful, food was mediocre and the place has zero atmosphere. I would try it again, but the Back Bay Bistro left a bad taste in my mouth!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

The food was delicious, and the service ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was delicious, and the service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice salad and delicious bread with ever ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Nice salad and delicious bread with every entree. Lamb chop special was exceptional. Veal Marsala with vegetables hit the mark. Side dish choices facilitate a low carb meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious, service was great! W ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was delicious, service was great! Went with friends and we all selected different entres and all enjoyed our meals!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Funny, I don't see anything that applies ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Funny, I don't see anything that applies above - just great food and friendly folks...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is never disappointing , but th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The food is never disappointing , but the service could be more attentive. We had to get up from our table in search of our server twice to remind her of the refills we asked for salad,bread and drinks . Found her in the service area chatting with other workers.Time to hire more servers.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

Great taste and value

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Back Bay Bistro offers warm bread and a bowl of salad to share with each entree. Entrees are generous and seasoned well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and staff

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Love the delicious menu and atmosphere. Always top notch! Never a disappointment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice little neighborhood spot

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We decided to venture outside the central part of Cape May to try something new. Back Bay Bistro has a lovely interior, recently renovated, very clean, fresh and up to date. The food is solid fair, a nice varied selection with daily specials. They also have a separate take out window to make it easy for customers. Nice little spot if you are in the area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great meal good deal on thur 1 app 2 sal ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Great meal good deal on thur 1 app 2 salads 2 entrees 2 dessert for 42.99 awsome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.