About Back Bay Bistro

New American Menu serving cut to order Prime Rib, NY Strip Steaks and Flat Iron Steaks. Fresh local seafood, veal, chicken and pasta dishes. Entrees are served with choice of fresh sautéed vegetables and a baked potato or garlic mashed. Plus you will enjoy a family style salad and our own homemade focaccia bread and dipping oil. Come discover for your self why we were voted #1 New American and caterer by PHL 17 Jersey Shore Hot List. BYOB

1891 Bayshore Road
Villas, NJ 08251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:45pm, Saturday: 11:30am - 3:45pm, Sunday: 12:30pm - 3:45pm.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 8:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday: 8:00am - 11:30am, Sunday: 8:00am - 12:30pm.

Cross Street:
Woodland Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 889-8500

Website:
http://www.backbaybistro.com/

Entertainment:
You will hear sounds of Michael Buble, Frank Sinatra, Jimmy Durante, Ella Fitzgerald, Louis Armstrong and many more like artists.

Catering:
Catering weddings, private parties, special events, back yard BBQs and more.

Parking Details:
Parking on the South and North of Building.

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Delivery, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Back Bay Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Outstanding Value (8)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
See All
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Family Style (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Healthy (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
105 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

New Years Eve! Beautifully decorated. F ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve! Beautifully decorated. Fantastic menu. Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great New Years Eve dinner with deliciou ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great New Years Eve dinner with delicious food for a reasonable price

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My wife and I visit the Cape May area of ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife and I visit the Cape May area often and we checked the Open Table listing for the area and decided to give the Back Bay Bistro a try.....Great choice : ). For this Saturday evening (New Year's Eve), we made an early reservation for 6:15. Upon arrival we were greeted by the hostess and promptly seated in a nice quiet corner. Our server Macie, a sweet young lady, handed us our menus and offered to open our wine (BYOB). This evenings menu would be prix fixe, probably because it was New Year's Eve, otherwise the menu listed on their web-site is quite extensive. My wife chose their meat selection and I chose the salmon. Both were outstanding and more than enough to eat, as we needed doggie bags for what turned out to be a great lunch for us the next afternoon. Macie was also kind enough to let us take our dessert home as well.

The BBB was a good spot to kick off our New Years evening and will definitely be on our dining list when visiting the Cape May area in the future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Unexpected but terrific find for New Yea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Unexpected but terrific find for New Year's Eve. Full 4 course dinner for a fixed price & food was fabulous! Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, , Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place with tasty food. Great serv ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Nice place with tasty food.

Great service and well prepared food with fresh ingredients.

BYOB, so great value for a nice quality pasta and wine. Large portions that tasted great when taken home in a doggie bag for lunch the next day.

Good sauces.

Very friendly and helpful waitress.

Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We called last minute and were still able to get a nice meal for 5 at the last minute.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Casual, , Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We dine here often & always a pleasurabl ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We dine here often & always a pleasurable experience ❤️🎄❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the holiday décor, massive menu, gr ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Love the holiday décor, massive menu, great service, great value and BYOB!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Family Style,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I won't be a return customer. I had chic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I won't be a return customer. I had chicken parmigiana it was supposed to be lightly breaded it wasn't and was over cooked the side of linguine was over cooked and mushey. My wife had grilled chicken that was also over cooked and stringy. After about 4 bites she gave up on it. It was really the worst meal we have had in a long time. The waitress didn't inform us that bread and salad came with the dinner so we ordered bruschetta. When we overheard another waitress telling the table behind us about bread and salad included with the dinner I told the waitress if I knew that I wouldn't of ordered the bruschetta, I got no response so I just didn't push the issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Always a pleasure to dine here! Jessica ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine here! Jessica is the perfect hostess!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Early bird is a great deal. My husband l ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Early bird is a great deal. My husband loves the linguini and clams.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Have often stopped for Sunday breakfast ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Have often stopped for Sunday breakfast but decided to grsb dinner on s busy weekday. Arrived on Turkey night but too close to thanksgiving so chose from many other options.

Many dishes are served with house garlic mash potatoes- they were alright. I ordered prime rib (came with mash potatoes) and hubbie ordered the crab cakes ( advertised as 100 o/o crab! ). This also came with mashed pot's. A small side salad is $4.00 extra.

Although they make pizza and sandwiches there-- no garlic knots in the bread basket. Next time i will order pizza.

.

Server was very good.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Wonderful my favorite place in cape may ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wonderful my favorite place in cape may area, love the end cut prime rib with sauctie spinach and augartin patatos wife loves the grilled Samoan garlic mash and asparagus byob nice red bottle of wine or white and have a great evening! The Caesar salad and focha bread come with your meal ......... and then share a terrific desert maybe cheese cake? What else do you want! Thanks. For a great meal. Liv

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant! Never disappoint ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! Never disappointed. Food is outstanding! Always served hot. Always made to feel special from the moment I walk in the door. Excellent personal service. Jessica is an outstanding hostess and wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always food was excellent as was our ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

As always food was excellent as was our server, Samantha. We love Back Bay Bistro

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Very nice atmosphere. Quiet compared to ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very nice atmosphere. Quiet compared to many places. Great food. Early bird is a very good value. Pleasant staff.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food reasonable prices clean e ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Very good food reasonable prices clean excellent service

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Out of the way spot for shore dining. Fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Out of the way spot for shore dining. Food was tasty, staff attentive, prices reasonable.

Tags: Healthy, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is one of our favorites! ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This restaurant is one of our favorites!! Always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappointed with food or service. ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Never disappointed with food or service. A real gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never have been disappointed. Friendly a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Never have been disappointed. Friendly and good service. Great atmosphere. Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was very good. Portions were small, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Food was very good. Portions were small, the menu was pretty limited, could have used more vegetarian entrees

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We love this place. We have been here of ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We love this place. We have been here often and it is always consistent with food quality and service. It is unassuming but has a lovely ambiance. It is a BYOB so you can bring wine that you enjoy. Ample parking is a plus.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We absolutely love Back Bay Bistro. Have ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We absolutely love Back Bay Bistro. Have been there several times & have never been disappointed. Food is always excellent service is great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time there and both ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 14, 2016

This was our second time there and both times service was not up to par. Takes forever to get a server to come and greet you and give specials. Then another long time before they come back to take order. Food comes out in a fair amount of time. I think they are understaffed. I book on Open Table and checked in but hostess never checked us in on her end. Probably will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Always worth the wait. Reservation 6:30 ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always worth the wait. Reservation 6:30 & seated by 6:45. Understandable given the small size of the place, but very popular. Great quality food, never a bad meal, or experience. A Gem @ the shore

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great hidden gem! Grab a bottle ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

What a great hidden gem! Grab a bottle of wine and get yourself a table here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to dine here. Service ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine here. Service and food excellent with new items to try. Always greeted with a smile!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Back bay Bistro several ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 31, 2016

We have been to Back bay Bistro several times & have never been disappointed. Food is always fresh & delicious. New renovations are beautiful. Recommendations above 10.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Great food and great service! Had a nice ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great food and great service! Had a nice casual dinner. Love the BYOB!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steak - compliments to the chef

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great steak - compliments to the chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall nice restaurant in the Villas. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Overall nice restaurant in the Villas. Was not aware it was a BYOB, but that did not detract from the food.

Service was fine, food was very good and they do give a military discount!

Will definitely go back to this restaurant.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Has the shore feeling with nice white ta ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Has the shore feeling with nice white table cloths. All dishes sampled were very good, not five star dining, but if you would like a good casual meal this is the place.

Tags: Casual, , Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A great local BYOB. Friendly service, fl ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 14, 2016

A great local BYOB. Friendly service, flavorful well prepared entrees. Love their serving of salad and bread, also.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Bay Bay is a good local restaurant and i ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Bay Bay is a good local restaurant and it is also popular with summer visitors to the Cape May region. During the summer reservations are recommended for dinner. Good food, good service and fair prices. Sunday to Friday early bird specials are a great value and very popular.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food. Good price. Nice cozy plac ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Good food.

Good price.

Nice cozy place to have a late dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The flatbread and salad came with our en ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The flatbread and salad came with our entrees. We had veal piccata and chicken Marsala with pasta. Portions were generous: enough to take home and enjoy for lunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Back Bay Bistro is a year round locally ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Back Bay Bistro is a year round locally popular restaurant. Things I particularly like include their early bird specials, salad, bread and their service. Regular menu irens and prices are also pretty good. If you want to drive just a few minutes from downtown Cape May you will find the trip worthwhile.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The area surrounding the bistro is nothi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 13, 2016

The area surrounding the bistro is nothing to write home about, but once you step inside be prepared for a treat. Friendly wait staff, fast service, well designed dining area, and an excellent menu await...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a very good meal there everything ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a very good meal there everything was excellent I don't have one complaint we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined there upon a recommendation and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2016

We dined there upon a recommendation and were not disappointed. It is a BYOB (which is great). The service was very good and so was the food. We had one of the specials of the day appetizer. The mussels in a cream/white wine/tarragon sauce that was excellent. Our two seafood dinners were also very good (as was the salad). We would definitely dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.