Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.44mi
  2. Distance: 3.98mi
  3. Distance: 4.57mi
  4. Distance: 5.04mi
  1. Distance: 2.44mi
  2. Distance: 3.98mi
  3. Distance: 4.57mi
  4. Distance: 5.04mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.44mi
  2. Distance: 3.98mi
  3. Distance: 4.57mi
  4. Distance: 5.04mi
  1. Distance: 2.44mi
  2. Distance: 3.98mi
  3. Distance: 4.57mi
  4. Distance: 5.04mi

About Back Bay Bistro

New American Menu serving cut to order Prime Rib, NY Strip Steaks and Flat Iron Steaks. Fresh local seafood, veal, chicken and pasta dishes. Entrees are served with choice of fresh sautéed vegetables and a baked potato or garlic mashed. Plus you will enjoy a family style salad and our own homemade focaccia bread and dipping oil. Come discover for your self why we were voted #1 New American and caterer by PHL 17 Jersey Shore Hot List. BYOB

1891 Bayshore Road
Villas, NJ 08251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:45pm, Saturday: 11:30am - 3:45pm, Sunday: 12:30pm - 3:45pm.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 8:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday: 8:00am - 11:30am, Sunday: 8:00am - 12:30pm.

Cross Street:
Woodland Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 889-8500

Website:
http://www.backbaybistro.com/

Entertainment:
You will hear sounds of Michael Buble, Frank Sinatra, Jimmy Durante, Ella Fitzgerald, Louis Armstrong and many more like artists.

Catering:
Catering weddings, private parties, special events, back yard BBQs and more.

Parking Details:
Parking on the South and North of Building.

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Delivery, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Back Bay Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (14)
Casual (13)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Special Occasion (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Romantic (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Business Meals (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
121 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a wonderful meal at Back Bay Bistro with our favorite waitress Krysta. My husband got the prime rib and I got the blackened salmon special. We started off with steamed calms and shrimp cocktail. Salad, bread and dipping oil are complimentary. Potato and vegetable is included with your entrée. We topped off dinner with a slice of 'dark side of the moon' and coffee. This restaurant is BYOB and has cute décor especially during the holidays.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 11, 2017

clean friendly nice menu food quality price presentation all fine.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Painfully loud. If you must go, bring earplugs. I wish the owners would install some acoustical tiles. the food here is very good, but the atmosphere doesn't let you enjoy it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Three of us went on a dinner in the off season. There were probably 6 tables of diners, and plenty of wait staff, but the dinner took a really long time to arrive- so the issue must have been in the kitchen. All of us ordered the highly recommended crab cakes and they were ok- no filler, as advertised. The crab surely wasn't lump crab- just well picked special crab. The red pepper coulis that it was served on had an odd taste. And the broccoli side veggie was so overcome by garlic that it flavored the entire meal. So, while we really wanted to like this as a year-round place - all 3 agreed we would probably not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 30, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants! Never a disappointment! Always a pleasure from when I walk into the door. Presentation of food is wonderful. Customer Appreciation Nights are outstanding!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Vegan, Fun, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Highly recommend the breakfast. All very good and reasonably priced. Outstanding service. Already planning a return trip for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I must frequent this restaurant at least 4 times a month. In this area there are VERY few restaurants Iwould recommend that are consistently good. Actually, this may be the only one locally! The owner revamped the entire restaurant almost 2 years ago and did a fantastic job! The servers are friendly AND efficient. Give it a shot, you won't regret it!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food and service.
Casual Dress
BYOB
Try the crusted salmon it was excellent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Good food and attentive service. Generous portions. Casual dining with linen clothes and napkins. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Always good food and a very nice atmosphere. Check out the specials.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Ventured away from the touristy part of Cape May and found this mostly local restaurant with excellent Italian food, big portions and reasonable prices. I had excellent fried cheese and veal parmigiana. My wife had two big crab cakes with all lump meat and no filler. Delicious. Great local ice cream place -- Flecks -- just down the block for dessert.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went for breakfast on Presidents' Day weekend! Had a group of 12... reserved two tables of 6 and they accommodated by having them right next to each other! Awesome food! One of my favorite spots when heading down the shore

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great selections for Valentines Day. Great dinner. Delicious food. Wonderful dinner. Great service

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Seasonal, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very good meal. Friendly Staff. Would definitely return.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This is a cozy little restaurant with an elegant dinner service. The food is excellent! The menu offers something for everyone and the service is very good. Definitely worth the trip. Don't forget to BYOB.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Nice place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve! Beautifully decorated. Fantastic menu. Excellent service

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great New Years Eve dinner with delicious food for a reasonable price

Tags: Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife and I visit the Cape May area often and we checked the Open Table listing for the area and decided to give the Back Bay Bistro a try.....Great choice : ). For this Saturday evening (New Year's Eve), we made an early reservation for 6:15. Upon arrival we were greeted by the hostess and promptly seated in a nice quiet corner. Our server Macie, a sweet young lady, handed us our menus and offered to open our wine (BYOB). This evenings menu would be prix fixe, probably because it was New Year's Eve, otherwise the menu listed on their web-site is quite extensive. My wife chose their meat selection and I chose the salmon. Both were outstanding and more than enough to eat, as we needed doggie bags for what turned out to be a great lunch for us the next afternoon. Macie was also kind enough to let us take our dessert home as well.
The BBB was a good spot to kick off our New Years evening and will definitely be on our dining list when visiting the Cape May area in the future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Unexpected but terrific find for New Year's Eve. Full 4 course dinner for a fixed price & food was fabulous! Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Nice place with tasty food.

Great service and well prepared food with fresh ingredients.

BYOB, so great value for a nice quality pasta and wine. Large portions that tasted great when taken home in a doggie bag for lunch the next day.

Good sauces.

Very friendly and helpful waitress.


Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We called last minute and were still able to get a nice meal for 5 at the last minute.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Casual, Outstanding Value, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We dine here often & always a pleasurable experience ❤️🎄❤️

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Love the holiday décor, massive menu, great service, great value and BYOB!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Family Style, Outstanding Value
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I won't be a return customer. I had chicken parmigiana it was supposed to be lightly breaded it wasn't and was over cooked the side of linguine was over cooked and mushey. My wife had grilled chicken that was also over cooked and stringy. After about 4 bites she gave up on it. It was really the worst meal we have had in a long time. The waitress didn't inform us that bread and salad came with the dinner so we ordered bruschetta. When we overheard another waitress telling the table behind us about bread and salad included with the dinner I told the waitress if I knew that I wouldn't of ordered the bruschetta, I got no response so I just didn't push the issue.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine here! Jessica is the perfect hostess!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Early bird is a great deal. My husband loves the linguini and clams.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Have often stopped for Sunday breakfast but decided to grsb dinner on s busy weekday. Arrived on Turkey night but too close to thanksgiving so chose from many other options.

Many dishes are served with house garlic mash potatoes- they were alright. I ordered prime rib (came with mash potatoes) and hubbie ordered the crab cakes ( advertised as 100 o/o crab! ). This also came with mashed pot's. A small side salad is $4.00 extra.

Although they make pizza and sandwiches there-- no garlic knots in the bread basket. Next time i will order pizza.
.
Server was very good.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wonderful my favorite place in cape may area, love the end cut prime rib with sauctie spinach and augartin patatos wife loves the grilled Samoan garlic mash and asparagus byob nice red bottle of wine or white and have a great evening! The Caesar salad and focha bread come with your meal ......... and then share a terrific desert maybe cheese cake? What else do you want! Thanks. For a great meal. Liv

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! Never disappointed. Food is outstanding! Always served hot. Always made to feel special from the moment I walk in the door. Excellent personal service. Jessica is an outstanding hostess and wait staff.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

As always food was excellent as was our server, Samantha. We love Back Bay Bistro

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very nice atmosphere. Quiet compared to many places. Great food. Early bird is a very good value. Pleasant staff.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Very good food reasonable prices clean excellent service

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Out of the way spot for shore dining. Food was tasty, staff attentive, prices reasonable.

Tags: Healthy, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This restaurant is one of our favorites!! Always delicious!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Never disappointed with food or service. A real gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Never have been disappointed. Friendly and good service. Great atmosphere. Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Food was very good. Portions were small, the menu was pretty limited, could have used more vegetarian entrees

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We love this place. We have been here often and it is always consistent with food quality and service. It is unassuming but has a lovely ambiance. It is a BYOB so you can bring wine that you enjoy. Ample parking is a plus.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We absolutely love Back Bay Bistro. Have been there several times & have never been disappointed. Food is always excellent service is great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 14, 2016

This was our second time there and both times service was not up to par. Takes forever to get a server to come and greet you and give specials. Then another long time before they come back to take order. Food comes out in a fair amount of time. I think they are understaffed. I book on Open Table and checked in but hostess never checked us in on her end. Probably will not go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.