Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.44mi
  2. Distance: 3.98mi
  3. Distance: 4.57mi
  4. Distance: 5.04mi
  1. Distance: 2.44mi
  2. Distance: 3.98mi
  3. Distance: 4.57mi
  4. Distance: 5.04mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.44mi
  2. Distance: 3.98mi
  3. Distance: 4.57mi
  4. Distance: 5.04mi
  1. Distance: 2.44mi
  2. Distance: 3.98mi
  3. Distance: 4.57mi
  4. Distance: 5.04mi

About Back Bay Bistro

New American Menu serving cut to order Prime Rib, NY Strip Steaks and Flat Iron Steaks. Fresh local seafood, veal, chicken and pasta dishes. Entrees are served with choice of fresh sautéed vegetables and a baked potato or garlic mashed. Plus you will enjoy a family style salad and our own homemade focaccia bread and dipping oil. Come discover for your self why we were voted #1 New American and caterer by PHL 17 Jersey Shore Hot List. BYOB

1891 Bayshore Road
Villas, NJ 08251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:45pm, Saturday: 11:30am - 3:45pm, Sunday: 12:30pm - 3:45pm.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 8:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday: 8:00am - 11:30am, Sunday: 8:00am - 12:30pm.

Cross Street:
Woodland Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 889-8500

Website:
http://www.backbaybistro.com/

Entertainment:
You will hear sounds of Michael Buble, Frank Sinatra, Jimmy Durante, Ella Fitzgerald, Louis Armstrong and many more like artists.

Catering:
Catering weddings, private parties, special events, back yard BBQs and more.

Parking Details:
Parking on the South and North of Building.

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Delivery, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Back Bay Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Casual (18)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Good for Birthdays (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Romantic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
134 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Good family option. 7 of us went for Father's Day. Lots of options. Service is competent but they are severely understaffed. Be prepared to WAIT. BYOB with reasonable prices.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Guarantee delicious meal. Reasonable cost and good quality food. Presentation of food is always pleasant. Love their early bird specials. Affordable and great quality. Pleasant staff, very attentive.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food was excellent from start to finish -from the complimentary bread, the ala carte salad, the fried mozzarella appetizer, the prime rib and the crab cakes. The salad starts with fresh ingredients and the perfect touch of dressing. The mozzarella sticks were fresh, behemoths with a tasty crust and great marinara. I ordered the King cut prime rib. It was the largest King cut I've ever seen. It was perfectly prepared. My wife ordered the crab cake - she loved it. Her meal was part of an early-bird menu. It came with potatoes and vegetables and a dessert for less than $15. A very, very good deal if you like to eat early along with the blue hairs.

Our server was great. Food hit the table in quick succession. We were never left wanting. She smiled easily and was pleasant.

Now the down side. 99% of the time its the food or service that makes or breaks the experience. This restaurant was the 1%. Both bathrooms were inexcusably bad. I've been to dive bars that had cleaner bathrooms. Flies and gnats galore. The problem is that the bathrooms are practically in the kitchen.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Bring a sweater, the place was freezing. Bang, bang shrimp were the evenings special appy, need to work on that one, that's for sure. Broiled seafood combo was a big hit. We did not do dessert.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Love this restaurant and everything about it! Good and service and decor are top notch. Love Samantha!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Went for an anniversary dinner. The food was great, server was very polite and helpful, and the interior of the restaurant was very well designed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great dinner, good quality food for a reasonable price. We love the byob feature. Service was outstanding and we were seated at our reservation time.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Never Disappointed at Back Bay! 6:30pm dinner reservations on Memorial Day weekend at the shore can be crazy busy. Although not totally full, they were busy enough yet, the hostess and our server were pleasant and friendly. Ordered the sweet and sour shrimp appetizer that was scrumptious and more than enough for two people to share. One of us had the seafood pasta, the other a wonderful fish plate. Although we did not order dessert, we stayed for coffee and since it was a BYOB, you can't beat a dinner check for two people at $55 (pre-tip). Please check this little gem out next time you are in or near the Villas or Rio Grande area.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We have never been disappointed at this restaurant. Service & food are always 10

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

great i forgot how nice it was. food was excellent. some restaurants are noisy but back bay was quiet like we like it for our meals. we will have to remember to come more often and bring our friends with us.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Happy Mother's Day at the Bistro!

What can I say, we had reservations at the back bay Bistro for Mother's Day with three mom's, with our son, grandson & his in laws, the meals were excellent & our reservation met despite a crowded house. The Salmon, pork chop & filet were all expertly & deliciously prepared, the service outstanding & the free mommy's dessert just topping on the cake. Everyone left sated & satisfied a great choice for a special day, thank you!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great as always. Never a disappointment. Great good! Excellent wait staff. Pretty restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our food was not cooked properly and no cared when we told them. A medium rare prime rib came out brown and hard as a rock. We told the waitress and she said "oh I am sorry" but offered no resolutions. I left 3/4 of the meat and no one cared. The family style salad was horrible

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a wonderful meal at Back Bay Bistro with our favorite waitress Krysta. My husband got the prime rib and I got the blackened salmon special. We started off with steamed calms and shrimp cocktail. Salad, bread and dipping oil are complimentary. Potato and vegetable is included with your entrée. We topped off dinner with a slice of 'dark side of the moon' and coffee. This restaurant is BYOB and has cute décor especially during the holidays.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 11, 2017

clean friendly nice menu food quality price presentation all fine.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Painfully loud. If you must go, bring earplugs. I wish the owners would install some acoustical tiles. the food here is very good, but the atmosphere doesn't let you enjoy it.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Three of us went on a dinner in the off season. There were probably 6 tables of diners, and plenty of wait staff, but the dinner took a really long time to arrive- so the issue must have been in the kitchen. All of us ordered the highly recommended crab cakes and they were ok- no filler, as advertised. The crab surely wasn't lump crab- just well picked special crab. The red pepper coulis that it was served on had an odd taste. And the broccoli side veggie was so overcome by garlic that it flavored the entire meal. So, while we really wanted to like this as a year-round place - all 3 agreed we would probably not return.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 30, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants! Never a disappointment! Always a pleasure from when I walk into the door. Presentation of food is wonderful. Customer Appreciation Nights are outstanding!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Vegan, Fun, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Highly recommend the breakfast. All very good and reasonably priced. Outstanding service. Already planning a return trip for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I must frequent this restaurant at least 4 times a month. In this area there are VERY few restaurants Iwould recommend that are consistently good. Actually, this may be the only one locally! The owner revamped the entire restaurant almost 2 years ago and did a fantastic job! The servers are friendly AND efficient. Give it a shot, you won't regret it!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food and service.
Casual Dress
BYOB
Try the crusted salmon it was excellent

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Good food and attentive service. Generous portions. Casual dining with linen clothes and napkins. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Always good food and a very nice atmosphere. Check out the specials.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Ventured away from the touristy part of Cape May and found this mostly local restaurant with excellent Italian food, big portions and reasonable prices. I had excellent fried cheese and veal parmigiana. My wife had two big crab cakes with all lump meat and no filler. Delicious. Great local ice cream place -- Flecks -- just down the block for dessert.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went for breakfast on Presidents' Day weekend! Had a group of 12... reserved two tables of 6 and they accommodated by having them right next to each other! Awesome food! One of my favorite spots when heading down the shore

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great selections for Valentines Day. Great dinner. Delicious food. Wonderful dinner. Great service

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Seasonal, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very good meal. Friendly Staff. Would definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This is a cozy little restaurant with an elegant dinner service. The food is excellent! The menu offers something for everyone and the service is very good. Definitely worth the trip. Don't forget to BYOB.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Nice place

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve! Beautifully decorated. Fantastic menu. Excellent service

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great New Years Eve dinner with delicious food for a reasonable price

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife and I visit the Cape May area often and we checked the Open Table listing for the area and decided to give the Back Bay Bistro a try.....Great choice : ). For this Saturday evening (New Year's Eve), we made an early reservation for 6:15. Upon arrival we were greeted by the hostess and promptly seated in a nice quiet corner. Our server Macie, a sweet young lady, handed us our menus and offered to open our wine (BYOB). This evenings menu would be prix fixe, probably because it was New Year's Eve, otherwise the menu listed on their web-site is quite extensive. My wife chose their meat selection and I chose the salmon. Both were outstanding and more than enough to eat, as we needed doggie bags for what turned out to be a great lunch for us the next afternoon. Macie was also kind enough to let us take our dessert home as well.
The BBB was a good spot to kick off our New Years evening and will definitely be on our dining list when visiting the Cape May area in the future.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Unexpected but terrific find for New Year's Eve. Full 4 course dinner for a fixed price & food was fabulous! Will definitely visit again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Nice place with tasty food.

Great service and well prepared food with fresh ingredients.

BYOB, so great value for a nice quality pasta and wine. Large portions that tasted great when taken home in a doggie bag for lunch the next day.

Good sauces.

Very friendly and helpful waitress.


Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We called last minute and were still able to get a nice meal for 5 at the last minute.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Casual, Outstanding Value, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We dine here often & always a pleasurable experience ❤️🎄❤️

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Love the holiday décor, massive menu, great service, great value and BYOB!!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Family Style, Outstanding Value
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I won't be a return customer. I had chicken parmigiana it was supposed to be lightly breaded it wasn't and was over cooked the side of linguine was over cooked and mushey. My wife had grilled chicken that was also over cooked and stringy. After about 4 bites she gave up on it. It was really the worst meal we have had in a long time. The waitress didn't inform us that bread and salad came with the dinner so we ordered bruschetta. When we overheard another waitress telling the table behind us about bread and salad included with the dinner I told the waitress if I knew that I wouldn't of ordered the bruschetta, I got no response so I just didn't push the issue.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine here! Jessica is the perfect hostess!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Early bird is a great deal. My husband loves the linguini and clams.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Have often stopped for Sunday breakfast but decided to grsb dinner on s busy weekday. Arrived on Turkey night but too close to thanksgiving so chose from many other options.

Many dishes are served with house garlic mash potatoes- they were alright. I ordered prime rib (came with mash potatoes) and hubbie ordered the crab cakes ( advertised as 100 o/o crab! ). This also came with mashed pot's. A small side salad is $4.00 extra.

Although they make pizza and sandwiches there-- no garlic knots in the bread basket. Next time i will order pizza.
.
Server was very good.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.