Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.44mi
  2. Distance: 3.98mi
  3. Distance: 4.57mi
  4. Distance: 5.04mi
  1. Distance: 2.44mi
  2. Distance: 3.98mi
  3. Distance: 4.57mi
  4. Distance: 5.04mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.44mi
  2. Distance: 3.98mi
  3. Distance: 4.57mi
  4. Distance: 5.04mi
  1. Distance: 2.44mi
  2. Distance: 3.98mi
  3. Distance: 4.57mi
  4. Distance: 5.04mi

About Back Bay Bistro

New American Menu serving cut to order Prime Rib, NY Strip Steaks and Flat Iron Steaks. Fresh local seafood, veal, chicken and pasta dishes. Entrees are served with choice of fresh sautéed vegetables and a baked potato or garlic mashed. Plus you will enjoy a family style salad and our own homemade focaccia bread and dipping oil. Come discover for your self why we were voted #1 New American and caterer by PHL 17 Jersey Shore Hot List. BYOB

1891 Bayshore Road
Villas, NJ 08251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:45pm, Saturday: 11:30am - 3:45pm, Sunday: 12:30pm - 3:45pm.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 8:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday: 8:00am - 11:30am, Sunday: 8:00am - 12:30pm.

Cross Street:
Woodland Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 889-8500

Website:
http://www.backbaybistro.com/

Entertainment:
You will hear sounds of Michael Buble, Frank Sinatra, Jimmy Durante, Ella Fitzgerald, Louis Armstrong and many more like artists.

Catering:
Catering weddings, private parties, special events, back yard BBQs and more.

Parking Details:
Parking on the South and North of Building.

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Delivery, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Back Bay Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (23)
Casual (22)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Good for Groups (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Cozy (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Romantic (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Business Meals (5)
Authentic (4)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food but way too much. Ordered pasta and it was served in a bowl that could have been a family serving!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

A great authentic Italian dinner with various steaks chops and seafood options as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Had the whole family together and needed a table for 9 for dinner and the Back Bay Bistro delivered an excellent meal for all. Our server, Krysta was new and she was attentive and an excellent server. The food was great, our daughter had the penne pasta with vodka sauce & shrimp and she accidentally left her leftovers which we enjoyed the next day for dinner, mmm. Our neighborhood gem continues to deliver excellent food, service & satisfied customers. Thank you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Wonderful as always. Great food and service. Friend who was at back Bay for the first time loved it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Started out with not so great service, but ended with a fantastic meal. Would definitely come back again!

Tags: Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Waitress was so preoccupied, she delivered wrong entree to my fiancée, then when we ordered dessert, we asked for a coffee and a tea, these never arrived!

After we finished dessert she was no where to be found, although the dining room was almost empty by then. When she finally showed up with our check, she was clueless about the coffee and tea, but had adjusted the entree to what had actually been received!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Love everything about BBB. Sam is a wonderful server!

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I've been dining here for four or five years now. It's a nice place to go during the summer season when all of the restaurants on the barrier islands are crowded and don't take reservations. I've always been pleased with the food. In a prior review, I had indicated my disappointment with deterioration of the service, but this seems to have been corrected. The server was very attentive, and the wait time for food/drinks, etc. was not bad at all. We were seated at the exact time of our reservation. I'm glad to see that this neighborhood gem is back on top of its game.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I went there for prime rib, but they couldn't accommodate a rare prime rib. I believe it is a pre-prepped meal.I ordered the coconut shrimp for appetizer but they were out, so we ordered the shrimp cocktail. It was like it was purchased from bj's. no lemon, and not on ice. We had the pleasure of dining with 3 flys who would not go away. We were seated 1/2 hour Past our reservation time. My wife ordered the chicken Parmesan which was average but the side pasta was horrible. The sauce was not good, so she didn't eat it. We got the feeling that they were rushing us since there was a lot of people waiting and the restaurant did not have many 2 seated tables. I had to order the prime rib medium rare and it was a very generous piece but with a lot of fat. The waitress did not ask us if we would like dessert so I am not even sure if they offered it, nor were we offered coffee. The complimentary salad was the best part of the meal. I would not go there again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I LOVE BYOB restaurants. The meals are cooked fresh and consistently good! The service is above reproach, a rare quality of late!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Cape May dining at half the price. We will be back. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

A great experience would alway recommend this location!!!!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We didn't realize how far off of Cape Cod this restaurant was... definitely a restaurant for the locals. The food was good, the restaurant was clean, bright and comfortable. We went to dinner early because we had five children with us and one of them being a baby, we called to say we were running late but still received attitude from the hostess who was too busy chatting the locals she knew & left us standing with a crying baby. Our waitress was very militant. The complimentary salad was delicious.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food was fantastic and service very good but it was extremely loud could not hear others at our table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Very nice place to dine. Atmosphere is wonderful, very clean, and food is delicious. I highly recommend the Bistro!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Food was pretty mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Excellent meal and fast friendly service. Stopped in for the early seating and both of our meals were outstanding. We thought the portions would have been small because of the price but we ended up taking food home! We had a very nice relaxing dinner! We come here at least once a year when on vacation and will definitely be back.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The food here is amazing!! This service is superb! Don't miss this gem of a restaurant!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Third or fourth visit. We always have a great meal here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food was delicious. The servings are enormous, and splitting a meal might be a smart option if you don't want to deal with leftovers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Both the food and service were very good. We had an early dinner so noise was not an issue. Everyone working at Back Bay Bistro is cordial and professional.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great food and service!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Came here with family on vacation. Drove from downtown Cape May. Food was very good, well worth the drive to the Villas. Server could have visited more frequently, but nothing that ruined an otherwise great meal. Prices are very reasonable. Will definitely be back next year!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good family option. 7 of us went for Father's Day. Lots of options. Service is competent but they are severely understaffed. Be prepared to WAIT. BYOB with reasonable prices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Guarantee delicious meal. Reasonable cost and good quality food. Presentation of food is always pleasant. Love their early bird specials. Affordable and great quality. Pleasant staff, very attentive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food was excellent from start to finish -from the complimentary bread, the ala carte salad, the fried mozzarella appetizer, the prime rib and the crab cakes. The salad starts with fresh ingredients and the perfect touch of dressing. The mozzarella sticks were fresh, behemoths with a tasty crust and great marinara. I ordered the King cut prime rib. It was the largest King cut I've ever seen. It was perfectly prepared. My wife ordered the crab cake - she loved it. Her meal was part of an early-bird menu. It came with potatoes and vegetables and a dessert for less than $15. A very, very good deal if you like to eat early along with the blue hairs.

Our server was great. Food hit the table in quick succession. We were never left wanting. She smiled easily and was pleasant.

Now the down side. 99% of the time its the food or service that makes or breaks the experience. This restaurant was the 1%. Both bathrooms were inexcusably bad. I've been to dive bars that had cleaner bathrooms. Flies and gnats galore. The problem is that the bathrooms are practically in the kitchen.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Bring a sweater, the place was freezing. Bang, bang shrimp were the evenings special appy, need to work on that one, that's for sure. Broiled seafood combo was a big hit. We did not do dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Love this restaurant and everything about it! Good and service and decor are top notch. Love Samantha!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Went for an anniversary dinner. The food was great, server was very polite and helpful, and the interior of the restaurant was very well designed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great dinner, good quality food for a reasonable price. We love the byob feature. Service was outstanding and we were seated at our reservation time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Never Disappointed at Back Bay! 6:30pm dinner reservations on Memorial Day weekend at the shore can be crazy busy. Although not totally full, they were busy enough yet, the hostess and our server were pleasant and friendly. Ordered the sweet and sour shrimp appetizer that was scrumptious and more than enough for two people to share. One of us had the seafood pasta, the other a wonderful fish plate. Although we did not order dessert, we stayed for coffee and since it was a BYOB, you can't beat a dinner check for two people at $55 (pre-tip). Please check this little gem out next time you are in or near the Villas or Rio Grande area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We have never been disappointed at this restaurant. Service & food are always 10

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

great i forgot how nice it was. food was excellent. some restaurants are noisy but back bay was quiet like we like it for our meals. we will have to remember to come more often and bring our friends with us.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Happy Mother's Day at the Bistro!

What can I say, we had reservations at the back bay Bistro for Mother's Day with three mom's, with our son, grandson & his in laws, the meals were excellent & our reservation met despite a crowded house. The Salmon, pork chop & filet were all expertly & deliciously prepared, the service outstanding & the free mommy's dessert just topping on the cake. Everyone left sated & satisfied a great choice for a special day, thank you!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

All in all this place is very good and a total asset to the Villas community.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great as always. Never a disappointment. Great good! Excellent wait staff. Pretty restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our food was not cooked properly and no cared when we told them. A medium rare prime rib came out brown and hard as a rock. We told the waitress and she said "oh I am sorry" but offered no resolutions. I left 3/4 of the meat and no one cared. The family style salad was horrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a wonderful meal at Back Bay Bistro with our favorite waitress Krysta. My husband got the prime rib and I got the blackened salmon special. We started off with steamed calms and shrimp cocktail. Salad, bread and dipping oil are complimentary. Potato and vegetable is included with your entrée. We topped off dinner with a slice of 'dark side of the moon' and coffee. This restaurant is BYOB and has cute décor especially during the holidays.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 11, 2017

clean friendly nice menu food quality price presentation all fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Painfully loud. If you must go, bring earplugs. I wish the owners would install some acoustical tiles. the food here is very good, but the atmosphere doesn't let you enjoy it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.