About Bacco Ristorante - Michigan

29410 Northwestern Highway
Southfield, MI 48034
View Larger Map

Bacco is a top-end modern Italian restaurant. There are more than 400 Italian wines to choose from on our wine list. Bacco Ristorante has received such awards as Top Table from Gourmet Magazine, Americas Top Restaurants from Zagat, The Award of Excellence from The Wine Spectator & Restaurant of the Year 2005 from Hour Detroit Magazine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 356-6600

Website:
http://www.baccoristorante.com/

Catering:
Bacco Ristorante can cater parties in home or office up to 200 guests. Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is provided to all guests at Bacco Ristorante for both lunch and dinner.

Executive Chef:
Luciano Del Signore

Private Party Facilities:
Bacco Ristorante Can accommodate up to 70 guests in our private dining rooms for private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Alberto De Santis: 2483566600

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Cake
Burratta
biscotti
Pot de Creme
Banana Cake, Banana Anglaise, Caramel Sauce, Bruleed Bananas
Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras
French Macaroons
Grilled Octopus
Tagliolini, White Truffle, Mascarpone, Barolo
Osso Buco Alla Milanese
Beet Carpaccio
Arrosto di Maiale
Insalata Americano
Crostini, Grilled Scallions, Shaved Trumpet Mushrooms, Buffalo Mozzerella, Tomato Concasse
Gaja Main Course. Braised Veal Cheek, Organic Michigan Polenta, Natural Jus, Roasted Cippolini
Roasted Octopus, Cece Puree, Vin Cotto
Pasta Alla Chitarra Abruzzese Saffron & Zucchine
Pistachio Crusted Grouper With Cauliflower Puree And Orzo
Strozzapreti Norcina
Pappardelle Ai Funghi
Faraona
Push Up
Filet
Insalata Estiva
Guinea Hen
Linguine Agli Scampi
Fried Calamari
The Quintessential... Chocolate Lava Cake
Duo Di Quaglia
Porcini Seared Scallops
Spaghetti alla chitarra
Gaja Lunch With Gaia Gaja 1St Course, Buffalo Mozzarella, Winter Truffle, Trumpet Mushroom Salad
Housemade Natural Pork Sausage, Serving With Crispy Potatoes And Roasted Pepers
Scamorzza
Grouper
Misto Di Pesce
Gnocchi In Rabit Ragu And Crawfishh And Gitaur Cut Pasta
Pasta With Spicy Duck Meatballs
Chocolate Mokarabia Cake
Olive Oil Cake

Bacco Ristorante - Michigan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Italian
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Southfield ›

Special Occasion (37)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
See All
Notable Wine List (22)
Romantic (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Good for Groups (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
746 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding!!! One of the best restaur ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Outstanding!!! One of the best restaurants we have found in a long time. Everything was perfect. A beautiful night for dinner on the patio. Lindsey was an excellent server. The food and wine were sublime. My husband had the gnocchi special and I had tagliatelle with incredible mushrooms. Will absolutely return if in the area again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was good...not the best meal ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything was good...not the best meal I've ever had but the pasta was well prepared and the wait staff was polite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Agetha is a treasure. She is such an ass ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Agetha is a treasure. She is such an asset to your business.

Thank you

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, excellent service, in ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Outstanding food, excellent service, in a cosmopolitan dining setting.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was fantastic. The Fritt ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This restaurant was fantastic. The Fritti appetizer was visually delightful and good. Pasta is worthy, not pedestrian. And the steak, cooked to perfection, flavorful and the sauce was just right. Waiter was knowledgeable about food, preparation and wine, he made great suggestions. Would go there again in a heartbeat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service, food and atmosphere. ...

 
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Fantastic service, food and atmosphere. I cannot say enough about this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and the meal were over the t ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The service and the meal were over the top! The Sommelier came to the table and discussed the extensive wine list. My companion noted what she was looking for in a wine and his choice was excellent! One of the best restaurants I've been to in a while!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed the dining experie ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience. We started with martinis at the bar and there were lots of "regulars", which is a good indication that the restaurant has a good reputation. The staff were friendly and attentive. We had the stuffed zucchini flowers which were a special and they were fantastic. As was the grilled octopus. Loved the fish. The quail was good but a bit salty for my taste. All in all a lovely evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had not been to Bacco in a while. I wa ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I had not been to Bacco in a while. I was comforted to know the service and food were as excellent as I remembered. It was a Monday night so not very busy, but that was fine with me. It was an anniversary dinner. Our reservation was honored and our server was excellent. He explained the specials and let us relax. This restaurant is not embarrassed to charge, but the food is well prepared, attractive and you feel you are getting something for the money. The wine list is good. I had to order wine by the glass as my wife doesn't drink . The wine I selected was very good though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our whole experience--the servi ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We loved our whole experience--the service was wonderful, from Agata making sure we were happy and our server who was knowledgeable and competent. The food was delicious. We loved the pasta special-a crepe-like dish with a creamy filling. We wanted to lick the plate. The gnocchi was amazing and the branzino could not have been fresher. We had a delicious wine that made the meal perfect. It was just a great evening at Bacco and it was so nice to be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful dining experience - menu, fo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

A wonderful dining experience - menu, food, service. Main dining room is very loud, however we enjoyed dinner in a very comfortable booth in the intimate bar area. The tenderloin steak and the veal chop were excellent, followed by an outstanding tiramisu! Truly worthy of superlatives.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good place but service was very slow

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Good place but service was very slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

This place lived up to their reputation ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This place lived up to their reputation 100+%!!! The food, the service, the atmosphere ... Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was generally good my steak was wel ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Food was generally good my steak was well done vs Med. Was offered new one but didn't want to wait

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Outstanding Service

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Our first visit was outstanding. Beautiful acoustic guitar music , amazing entrees, very friendly, informative service. Thanks for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our very favorite restaurants!

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I have been going to Bacco for years and we never grow tired of the great food and wonderful service. We especially appreciate the spot-on wine recommendations as we like to try new bottles we've never had before.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and ambiance very good. However, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Service and ambiance very good. However, even with the special anniversary pricing, food was over priced. Braised short ribs were dry and tasted like a pot roast without gravy.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Another great Bacco experience!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Bacco Ristorante is one of the best restaurants in the Detroit area. My wife and I have eaten there many times. The occasion for this visit was our anniversary. We chose Bacco because we knew that it would not disappoint--and we were right. Everything about Bacco is outstanding. The dining room is beautiful (although there is bar area seating and an outdoor area too). Our waiter was very attentive and personable, without being intrusive. We brought our own wine, which he recognized as an outstanding bottle and told the sommelier about. The sommelier came to our table and visited with us about the wine and helped to make our dinner even more special. The food was a delight. My wife had the saltimbocca; which she pronounced as superb. I eat very little meat anymore but made an exception for the veal chop. Bacco is expensive but illustrates the maxim that "you get what you pay for". I would rather eat at Bacco's occasionally and have a wonderful experience than to eat at a cookie cutter Italian restaurant with little to no originality or quality cuisine. Try Bacco Ristorante. You will not be sorry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Asked to be moved from the close, loud, ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Asked to be moved from the close, loud, and smelly bar area. The patio was more like fine dining, although not the sacred dining room. Food was good, always is. Overpriced, yes, with virtually no ambiance. As the years have passed, this restaurant has failed to keep up with itself or other restaurants in the same price/quality genre . This is where pharm reps take MDs. Boo-hoo!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We decided to try Bacco for our annivers ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We decided to try Bacco for our anniversary this year and we were so impressed. Our food was excellent (we tried every course and dessert) but I was most impressed with our service. Our server was extremely attentive as was everyone else working there. The manager stopped by our table a couple of timers and even sent over some truffles for our anniversary celebration. This will be the restaurant we return to again and again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was amazing. Great food. Excellent ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

It was amazing. Great food. Excellent service.

A definite treat. Thank u!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent!

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Always excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OK, but could we get real on the prices?

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

For the area, and the overall quality of the food, was shocked at the prices. Not a ton of choices in the local area and apparently they know that. Very few bottles under 100 for wine. Unless you have an unlimited expense account, best to go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

I had the Chilean Sea Bass - it was outs ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

I had the Chilean Sea Bass - it was outstanding. Was served wrapped in parchment paper - which the server peeled back to reveal a delicious filet, steamed with asparagus. Loved every bite!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Average food, patio looked nice for sum ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Average food, patio looked nice for summer but inside didn't have much atmosphere. Not my first choice to return because nothing really stood out. For Italian, Cantoro's in Plymouth blows it out of the water

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great place best pasta

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Great place best pasta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was not the same as last time.

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I hadn't been there in a little while. It was okay, but the menu was very limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great Dining Experience as always

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Everything with our Bacco Experience was first class as it always is. This is a must try place for a great Italian experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service and great food, but th ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Excellent service and great food, but the food was quite salty for a first time experience. May not be the norm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great place

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Back Again!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

First time to Bacco's was over 12 years ago and it was just okay--we felt the food needed a little more flavor. This time the food was exceptional, the pasta, the veal and the filet were superb! Great service and awesome ambiance! Only suggestion--season the calamari a bit, they are too bland!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Service - Great Food!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

This was my first time dining at Bacco, I took my Mom here for her Birthday. The staff did a wonderful job taking good care of us, and the food was delicious! The atmosphere was calming.. we sat by the window which was especially nice.

There are not a lot of menu options, but everything we did order was just wonderful! I would highly recommend this restaurant for a special occassion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our favorite Detroit area restaurant

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Every meal is a revelation at Bacco! We enjoyed the house smoked sausage and gnocchi for appetizers. The gnocchi are so light and delicious, we always order a portion to share with the table and the servers will always split for your guests to enjoy as a first course. Fabulous wine list, and if you visit during white truffle season, you are in for an amazing treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Non dairy soups are so light and healthy ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

Non dairy soups are so light and healthy

Even a soup like potato and leek without a roux was so yummy ..

Vegan selection is also pretty good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I think I just picked a bad night to att ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

I think I just picked a bad night to attend. There was a very large round table next to our table with a family of four children ranging in age from 5 to 10. Mom dad grandma grandpa. Must've been a special occasion to take for kids that young to this nice of a restaurant. Needless to say it was very very loud. Again, I probably don't think this is the norm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another Wonderful Evening at Bacco

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Enjoyed another superb dinner at Bacco last Saturday which confirmed that my previous visit a month earlier was not a fluke. Greeting, warmth of the staff, service, quality of food and ambience were all superb. I only rated value at 3 stars because Bacco is not cheap - and it should NOT be. It is very fairly priced. They serve truly authentic Italian food using the finest ingredients and there is no short cut way to do this effectively without some additional cost being incurred. If you want cheap "Italian" you have many other choices, but if you want truly premium and genuine Italian food this is the place.

I am already counting the days to my next visit....simply wonderful !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We haven't been to Bacco for a while, but decided to revisit. We had an outstanding dinner! The Caprese salad was tasty with wonderful heirloom tomatoes. My wife thoroughly enjoyed her lettuce salad. A shared dish of Cavatelli with wild mushrooms was giving off a compelling truffle oil scent, and the pasta was excellent, clearly home-made. As a first plate, they kindly split it for two and the portions were perfect. We had two different veal dishes for our entrees, Scallopini and Medallions, again both top-notch. We finished off with a serving of Salted Caramel Gelato and a chocolate concoction whose name escapes me, but it's about second from the bottom....multi-layered, with orange zest and dark chocolate. A fantastic dinner with great service! One tip....ask for Italian bread....the only mis-step was dry, seemingly re-warmed focaccia.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We had an amazing dinner at Bacco. Our server Benjamin was awesome, along with the other staff. Everyone was very attentive.

The food was amazing! From the small plate to our entrees to dessert. There wasn't anything else we could've asked for. We will be returning to this gem

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spicy seafood broth with Quinoa!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

The dish above is amazing. Very complex taste. The Chilean sea bass with the granny smith apple garnish and sauce is heavenly. Our waitress, is not someone we are familiar with, is not very friendly. We can hardly squeeze a smile from her. Other than that, everything is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

I was expecting much more, it was just a ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

I was expecting much more, it was just an ok experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.