About Bacco Ristorante - Michigan

29410 Northwestern Highway
Southfield, MI 48034
View Larger Map

Bacco is a top-end modern Italian restaurant. There are more than 400 Italian wines to choose from on our wine list. Bacco Ristorante has received such awards as Top Table from Gourmet Magazine, Americas Top Restaurants from Zagat, The Award of Excellence from The Wine Spectator & Restaurant of the Year 2005 from Hour Detroit Magazine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 356-6600

Website:
http://www.baccoristorante.com/

Catering:
Bacco Ristorante can cater parties in home or office up to 200 guests. Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is provided to all guests at Bacco Ristorante for both lunch and dinner.

Executive Chef:
Luciano Del Signore

Private Party Facilities:
Bacco Ristorante Can accommodate up to 70 guests in our private dining rooms for private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Alberto De Santis: 2483566600

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Cake
Burratta
biscotti
Pot de Creme
Banana Cake, Banana Anglaise, Caramel Sauce, Bruleed Bananas
Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras
French Macaroons
Grilled Octopus
Tagliolini, White Truffle, Mascarpone, Barolo
Osso Buco Alla Milanese
Beet Carpaccio
Arrosto di Maiale
Insalata Americano
Crostini, Grilled Scallions, Shaved Trumpet Mushrooms, Buffalo Mozzerella, Tomato Concasse
Gaja Main Course. Braised Veal Cheek, Organic Michigan Polenta, Natural Jus, Roasted Cippolini
Roasted Octopus, Cece Puree, Vin Cotto
Pasta Alla Chitarra Abruzzese Saffron & Zucchine
Pistachio Crusted Grouper With Cauliflower Puree And Orzo
Strozzapreti Norcina
Pappardelle Ai Funghi
Faraona
Push Up
Filet
Insalata Estiva
Guinea Hen
Linguine Agli Scampi
Fried Calamari
The Quintessential... Chocolate Lava Cake
Duo Di Quaglia
Porcini Seared Scallops
Spaghetti alla chitarra
Gaja Lunch With Gaia Gaja 1St Course, Buffalo Mozzarella, Winter Truffle, Trumpet Mushroom Salad
Housemade Natural Pork Sausage, Serving With Crispy Potatoes And Roasted Pepers
Scamorzza
Grouper
Misto Di Pesce
Gnocchi In Rabit Ragu And Crawfishh And Gitaur Cut Pasta
Pasta With Spicy Duck Meatballs
Chocolate Mokarabia Cake
Olive Oil Cake

Bacco Ristorante - Michigan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Italian
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Southfield ›

Special Occasion (36)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Notable Wine List (23)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Romantic (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Good for a Date (6)
Authentic (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
756 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What I would expect for one of the top 1 ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

What I would expect for one of the top 11 Italian restaurants in the Detroit area. The service was excellent and the food was phenomenal.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Bacco for special occasions, so ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We love Bacco for special occasions, so it is a shame that we do not visit more frequently as it is so close to us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Every thing was excellent. The only miss ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Every thing was excellent. The only miss was, I told the host it was my wife's birthday. She said it was noted. But there was no acknowledgement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent Service, Outstanding Food ... ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Excellent Service, Outstanding Food ... very customer centric ... great personalized service! A little pricey but worthy of a special occasion

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We heard about the fundraiser for the ea ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We heard about the fundraiser for the earthquake in Italy which was why we came to eat at Bacco Restaurante. We thought that was pretty cool. Our bucatini was delicious but would have been nice to have a little bread with it. Our caprese salad was served with grape tomatoes & tiny chunks of cheese. It was tasty but personally like it with a larger tomato & chunk of fresh mozzarella. The other salads were better presented. Outside eating was nice & easy to converse as compared to inside which was very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We thought it was very expensive and the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We thought it was very expensive and the food was just okay. I had veal scaloppini and the piece was very thick- it should have been thin. I only had 2 pieces of veal. Another person ordered veal scaloppini limon and said it was just okay. It should be excellent for how expensive it is. We had a delicious spaghetti dish and our dessert (profiteroles) was very good. It was a nice atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Agetha is a gem! She is a wonderful asse ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Agetha is a gem! She is a wonderful asset to your business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly attentive service. Excellent fo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Friendly attentive service. Excellent food. For most people it would be a special occasion restaurant because of the price structure

Tags: Business Meals, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Bacco is one of the premier dining exper ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Bacco is one of the premier dining experiences in metro-Detroit. Excellent atmosphere paired with excellent food. The service and attention to detail made our experience very special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding. Elaina was fantastic. Coul ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Outstanding. Elaina was fantastic. Could not have been more accompanying and attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!!! One of the best restaur ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Outstanding!!! One of the best restaurants we have found in a long time. Everything was perfect. A beautiful night for dinner on the patio. Lindsey was an excellent server. The food and wine were sublime. My husband had the gnocchi special and I had tagliatelle with incredible mushrooms. Will absolutely return if in the area again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was good...not the best meal ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything was good...not the best meal I've ever had but the pasta was well prepared and the wait staff was polite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Agetha is a treasure. She is such an ass ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Agetha is a treasure. She is such an asset to your business.

Thank you

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, excellent service, in ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Outstanding food, excellent service, in a cosmopolitan dining setting.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was fantastic. The Fritt ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This restaurant was fantastic. The Fritti appetizer was visually delightful and good. Pasta is worthy, not pedestrian. And the steak, cooked to perfection, flavorful and the sauce was just right. Waiter was knowledgeable about food, preparation and wine, he made great suggestions. Would go there again in a heartbeat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service, food and atmosphere. ...

 
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Fantastic service, food and atmosphere. I cannot say enough about this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and the meal were over the t ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The service and the meal were over the top! The Sommelier came to the table and discussed the extensive wine list. My companion noted what she was looking for in a wine and his choice was excellent! One of the best restaurants I've been to in a while!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed the dining experie ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience. We started with martinis at the bar and there were lots of "regulars", which is a good indication that the restaurant has a good reputation. The staff were friendly and attentive. We had the stuffed zucchini flowers which were a special and they were fantastic. As was the grilled octopus. Loved the fish. The quail was good but a bit salty for my taste. All in all a lovely evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had not been to Bacco in a while. I wa ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I had not been to Bacco in a while. I was comforted to know the service and food were as excellent as I remembered. It was a Monday night so not very busy, but that was fine with me. It was an anniversary dinner. Our reservation was honored and our server was excellent. He explained the specials and let us relax. This restaurant is not embarrassed to charge, but the food is well prepared, attractive and you feel you are getting something for the money. The wine list is good. I had to order wine by the glass as my wife doesn't drink . The wine I selected was very good though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our whole experience--the servi ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We loved our whole experience--the service was wonderful, from Agata making sure we were happy and our server who was knowledgeable and competent. The food was delicious. We loved the pasta special-a crepe-like dish with a creamy filling. We wanted to lick the plate. The gnocchi was amazing and the branzino could not have been fresher. We had a delicious wine that made the meal perfect. It was just a great evening at Bacco and it was so nice to be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful dining experience - menu, fo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

A wonderful dining experience - menu, food, service. Main dining room is very loud, however we enjoyed dinner in a very comfortable booth in the intimate bar area. The tenderloin steak and the veal chop were excellent, followed by an outstanding tiramisu! Truly worthy of superlatives.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good place but service was very slow

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Good place but service was very slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

This place lived up to their reputation ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This place lived up to their reputation 100+%!!! The food, the service, the atmosphere ... Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was generally good my steak was wel ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Food was generally good my steak was well done vs Med. Was offered new one but didn't want to wait

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Outstanding Service

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Our first visit was outstanding. Beautiful acoustic guitar music , amazing entrees, very friendly, informative service. Thanks for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our very favorite restaurants!

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I have been going to Bacco for years and we never grow tired of the great food and wonderful service. We especially appreciate the spot-on wine recommendations as we like to try new bottles we've never had before.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and ambiance very good. However, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Service and ambiance very good. However, even with the special anniversary pricing, food was over priced. Braised short ribs were dry and tasted like a pot roast without gravy.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Another great Bacco experience!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Bacco Ristorante is one of the best restaurants in the Detroit area. My wife and I have eaten there many times. The occasion for this visit was our anniversary. We chose Bacco because we knew that it would not disappoint--and we were right. Everything about Bacco is outstanding. The dining room is beautiful (although there is bar area seating and an outdoor area too). Our waiter was very attentive and personable, without being intrusive. We brought our own wine, which he recognized as an outstanding bottle and told the sommelier about. The sommelier came to our table and visited with us about the wine and helped to make our dinner even more special. The food was a delight. My wife had the saltimbocca; which she pronounced as superb. I eat very little meat anymore but made an exception for the veal chop. Bacco is expensive but illustrates the maxim that "you get what you pay for". I would rather eat at Bacco's occasionally and have a wonderful experience than to eat at a cookie cutter Italian restaurant with little to no originality or quality cuisine. Try Bacco Ristorante. You will not be sorry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Asked to be moved from the close, loud, ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Asked to be moved from the close, loud, and smelly bar area. The patio was more like fine dining, although not the sacred dining room. Food was good, always is. Overpriced, yes, with virtually no ambiance. As the years have passed, this restaurant has failed to keep up with itself or other restaurants in the same price/quality genre . This is where pharm reps take MDs. Boo-hoo!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We decided to try Bacco for our annivers ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We decided to try Bacco for our anniversary this year and we were so impressed. Our food was excellent (we tried every course and dessert) but I was most impressed with our service. Our server was extremely attentive as was everyone else working there. The manager stopped by our table a couple of timers and even sent over some truffles for our anniversary celebration. This will be the restaurant we return to again and again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was amazing. Great food. Excellent ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

It was amazing. Great food. Excellent service.

A definite treat. Thank u!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent!

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Always excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OK, but could we get real on the prices?

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

For the area, and the overall quality of the food, was shocked at the prices. Not a ton of choices in the local area and apparently they know that. Very few bottles under 100 for wine. Unless you have an unlimited expense account, best to go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

I had the Chilean Sea Bass - it was outs ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

I had the Chilean Sea Bass - it was outstanding. Was served wrapped in parchment paper - which the server peeled back to reveal a delicious filet, steamed with asparagus. Loved every bite!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Average food, patio looked nice for sum ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Average food, patio looked nice for summer but inside didn't have much atmosphere. Not my first choice to return because nothing really stood out. For Italian, Cantoro's in Plymouth blows it out of the water

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great place best pasta

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Great place best pasta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was not the same as last time.

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I hadn't been there in a little while. It was okay, but the menu was very limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great Dining Experience as always

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Everything with our Bacco Experience was first class as it always is. This is a must try place for a great Italian experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service and great food, but th ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Excellent service and great food, but the food was quite salty for a first time experience. May not be the norm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great place

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.