About Bacco Ristorante - Michigan

Bacco is a top-end modern Italian restaurant. There are more than 400 Italian wines to choose from on our wine list. Bacco Ristorante has received such awards as Top Table from Gourmet Magazine, Americas Top Restaurants from Zagat, The Award of Excellence from The Wine Spectator & Restaurant of the Year 2005 from Hour Detroit Magazine.

29410 Northwestern Highway
Southfield, MI 48034
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 356-6600

Website:
http://www.baccoristorante.com/

Catering:
Bacco Ristorante can cater parties in home or office up to 200 guests. Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is provided to all guests at Bacco Ristorante for both lunch and dinner.

Executive Chef:
Luciano Del Signore

Private Party Facilities:
Bacco Ristorante Can accommodate up to 70 guests in our private dining rooms for private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Alberto De Santis: (248) 356-6600

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bacco Ristorante - Michigan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Special Occasion (24)
Business Meals (22)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Authentic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Romantic (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
People Watching (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fun (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Healthy (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Casual (3)
Cozy (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
973 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

Superlative Service. Charming location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

The meal and service were fantastic but the noise level and the closeness of the tables took away from the specialness of the occasion we were there to celebrate. Nothing about the atmosphere felt romantic. Great place for having a good time with special friends and family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed eating here for the first time. My wife and I had passed by several times and decided to finally try it. Great food and the service made us feel appreciated.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good food, nice atmosphere and god service. I had the four cheese ravioli and it was terrific.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

This was my first visit to Bacco Ristorante. My brother-in-law wanted to go their for his birthday after reading the chef was Michelin rated. Overall, the experience was great. Be prepared for the bill, however. Authentic Italian food was well prepared (I would pass over the Lake Superior Whitefish though) and beautifully presented. Our waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu and good with recommendations. The sommelier was very friendly and helpful. She made the experience that much more fun. The restaurant is a bit congested with tables and gets very loud when full. Its a good energy though as everyone is smiling and having a good time. I would recommend Bacco for a special occasion but be aware the total cost can quickly become quite high.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Excellent service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

My anticipation was over the top! I had heard of this restaurant and because I LOVE Italian food, the opportunity to go was a no brainer! Boy was I disappointed! I was celebrating my birthday with my fiance and the noise level was ridiculous; I could not hear him speak and he was sitting next to me. The service was poor; the server forgot the appetizer that I ordered. Once the my entree arrived at the table, it was piping hot but overcooked. My lamb chops were dry and so was the peas that accompanied them. Will I go back? not even on somebody else's dime!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

The pasta was good and “al dente” and home made, good for diner and Italian food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Starter Fritti Misti was light and elegant. Main course was a nightly special, pasta with venison ragu; a long simmered meat sauce similar to a bolognese sauce, with extraordinary texture and depth of flavor. The meal was finished with espresso and a complimentary plate of birthday cannoli (thank you Bacco). The wines by the glass were very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Food and service were what we expected. Both were very good. Food proportions were fair to the price and the service was attentive. Noise level was very high. Not the place for a quiet conversational meal. What was not expected was the over the top prices for wine. Out of a very extensive list, few bottles were under $100. Most were $200 and up. I'm very familiar with Italian reds and while some can be very pricey, there is still a huge selection of very fine reds that could be restaurant priced at $60 to $80 a bottle. Would not return for this reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We asked to be seated on the patio. A mild autumn night, attentive staff, outstanding food and just a wonderful server. We thoroughly enjoy dining at Bacco and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Birthday the service and food was spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 22, 2017

The ambiance and food is outstanding. Wendy was our server and she was excellent-- and there were several others who supported our dining experience in a great way.

I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Always an excellent, authentic meal with good service!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We had a leisurely lunch with friends. Salads and appetizers great. Watermelon salad outstanding. Entrees were excellent except for mine. Server offered to bring a replacement but I said no though I couldn't eat the dish. This was an entree I have had there several times and enjoyed, so a surprise. Server took the item off our bill. Service was great and they did not push us out. Highly recommend. Many business types there too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I dine here frequently and they never disappoint. The food is always prepared perfectly and the service is awesome.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

From start to finish, our experience was top-notch! The moment we arrived, my wife was wished a happy birthday by the hostess as we were escorted to our table. Upon greeting us, our server Christine also made sure to wish her a happy birthday. The service was attentive, and the food impeccable! I would highly recommend Bacco for any special occasion, or any random night out. Thank you to all the staff that made this a night to remember.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent.
This was my first visit to this area and to Bacco. I had a long tiring business outing that day and was hungry and in the mood for good food. When I opened the door, I was pleasantly surprised. I was warmly greeted by Agatha and she promptly took to my table. Thank goodness I had on a collared shirt - this is an upscale dressy restaurant. I was greeted by the sommelier Matiana. She was welcoming and knowledgeable. She picked a great Italian wine to go with my meal. The waitress Elena was cordial and sweet. I ordered the watermelon and feta starter salad - delicious. I had the lamb dish as my main course. It was cooked to perfection and the side potatoes were delicate and crispy. The dessert dish was light and fresh. I had a fabulous time and would highly recommend this restaurant. I hope another opportunity arises for me to return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Best restaurant in southeast Michigan. Great food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Such a great restaurant and never disappoints! Italian food like you get in Italy...which means all fresh Italian ingrediants, not over sauced and true, authentic recipes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great atmosphere and awesome food. Love their chicken saltimbicca and pasta STROZZAPRETI NORCINA

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Perfect as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 26, 2017

It was a very special occasion and made the evening extra special

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We went last minute to celebrate my husband birthday! Excellent food and service! I would definitely go back again!

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Healthy, Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our server Elena was fantastic!! Very attentive staff - presentation of food was as wonderful as the taste!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Fantastic as always . The ambience and staff make you feel special. The food and presentation are exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Very good food and service, but overpriced and noisy

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Four of us had dinner at Bacco. The host was freindly and we were seated quickly according to our reservation. Our server was right there and did a wonderful job of waiting on our group. Everyone enjoyed the food they ordered to eat. It was not the usual fare that you might see at other Italian restuarants. My only negative is that it got so noisey in there I could not hear two of the other three people at my table when they spoke. As the restaurant became more full it became harder to communicate with our server.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Food was Great! Service and assistance from our waiter Michael was Outstanding! Need to go back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Stopped in for lunch while in town to visit friends. The food and service were top-notch. Every dish we had was cooked to perfection. We will definitely go again when we are back in town.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Our waiter Michael was spot on -Amazing! The food was delicious!
We will definitely be back!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food and service was great. We heard a lot about this place, first time visit. We'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great food, and good service. If you're not local and rich they stick you in the bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The main entre of mushroom pasta was soggy and lamb pasta was not worth it. We do not mind paying for good food but this bill was rediculous. I will never go again. Italian it was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Food was wonderful and the service was fantastic. Highly recommend for couples.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food as usual was terrific. But we had a very pushy waitress. She kept rushing us to order and I finally had to tell her to leave us alone for a few minutes while we chatted over wine. The she would come back and ask if we wanted another glass of wine when we already still had more than a half of a glass remaining. It's like she was pushing wine and to turn over the table.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Bacco is always a treat for lunch or dinner. This visit was a lunch get-together. Seating in their screened room was pleasant. There are daily specials as well as usual lunch menu. Great wine list. Pleasant service, some more attentive than others.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 26, 2017

my home away from home. they treat us like family. my husband is handicapped and they help make him feel welcome and comfortable

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Too stuffy thought the vibe was dated and ambiance old.
We love the new restaurants i.e. Seldon standard and mable grey-
Had been highly recommended
Food was ok not a wow and not a good value
Was really hoping for a better experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.