About Bacco Ristorante - Michigan

Bacco is a top-end modern Italian restaurant. There are more than 400 Italian wines to choose from on our wine list. Bacco Ristorante has received such awards as Top Table from Gourmet Magazine, Americas Top Restaurants from Zagat, The Award of Excellence from The Wine Spectator & Restaurant of the Year 2005 from Hour Detroit Magazine.

29410 Northwestern Highway
Southfield, MI 48034
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 356-6600

Website:
http://www.baccoristorante.com/

Catering:
Bacco Ristorante can cater parties in home or office up to 200 guests. Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is provided to all guests at Bacco Ristorante for both lunch and dinner.

Executive Chef:
Luciano Del Signore

Private Party Facilities:
Bacco Ristorante Can accommodate up to 70 guests in our private dining rooms for private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Alberto De Santis: (248) 356-6600

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Banana Cake, Banana Anglaise, Caramel Sauce, Bruleed Bananas - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
French Macaroons - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Grilled Octopus - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Tagliolini, White Truffle, Mascarpone, Barolo - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Osso Buco Alla Milanese - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Chocolate Cake - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Beet Carpaccio - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Arrosto di Maiale - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Insalata Americano - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
biscotti - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Burratta - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Pot de Creme - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Crostini, Grilled Scallions, Shaved Trumpet Mushrooms, Buffalo Mozzerella, Tomato Concasse - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Gaja Main Course. Braised Veal Cheek, Organic Michigan Polenta, Natural Jus, Roasted Cippolini - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Roasted Octopus, Cece Puree, Vin Cotto - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Pasta Alla Chitarra Abruzzese Saffron & Zucchine - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Pistachio Crusted Grouper With Cauliflower Puree And Orzo - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Strozzapreti Norcina - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Pappardelle Ai Funghi - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Faraona - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Push Up - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Filet - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Insalata Estiva - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Guinea Hen - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Linguine Agli Scampi - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Fried Calamari - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
The Quintessential... Chocolate Lava Cake - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Duo Di Quaglia - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Porcini Seared Scallops - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Spaghetti alla chitarra - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Gaja Lunch With Gaia Gaja 1St Course, Buffalo Mozzarella, Winter Truffle, Trumpet Mushroom Salad - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Housemade Natural Pork Sausage, Serving With Crispy Potatoes And Roasted Pepers - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Scamorzza - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Grouper - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Misto Di Pesce - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Gnocchi In Rabit Ragu And Crawfishh And Gitaur Cut Pasta - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Pasta With Spicy Duck Meatballs - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Chocolate Mokarabia Cake - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI
Olive Oil Cake - Bacco Ristorante - Michigan, Southfield, MI

Bacco Ristorante - Michigan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Business Meals (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
See All
Fit for Foodies (12)
Authentic (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Romantic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Healthy (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Cozy (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (2)
Organic (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
872 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always, Bacco exceeds in both LOVE fo ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

As always, Bacco exceeds in both LOVE for the Palate, and delightful service and accommodation to clientele. We had the stuffed pasta, Salmon, and Bronzino dishes, and ALL were sumptuous and heralded for presentation, taste, and all around enjoyment!

Chef Luciano, Agatha, and the Bacco team continue to make Magic for diners!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took a colleague here a business lunch. ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

Took a colleague here a business lunch. Pleasant experience overall. Food was delicious - I had the filet and my colleague, the whitefish. We both agreed our meals were prepared perfectly, seasoning on the filet was excellent - just enough to enhance the flavor but not overpowering , and cooked exactly to medium rare As requested. Presentation of the food was nicely done. We both had the arugula salad which was fresh and tasty - a decent size portion. Impeccable service our server Hiram. He was polite attentive to our needs watching our soft drink and water levels and appropriately checking in on us without being disruptive. We will for sure be back more often!

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another superb dinner at Bacco which rei ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Another superb dinner at Bacco which reinforces my belief that this is truly one of the top Italian restaurants in America. Food, hospitality, service all outstanding. We'll be back soon !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dining experience at Bacco was secon ...

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

The dining experience at Bacco was second to none, and the service was phenomenal. There is a reason why Luciano Del Signore is one of the best executive chefs/proprietors in the entire midwest.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NYE- All courses were exquisite!

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

NYE- All courses were exquisite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent. We had to take our main cour ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent. We had to take our main course home because one of our party was not feeling well. They packed everything in to go boxes and had our car pulled to the front door. All the food was just as good at home. Only missed the ambiance of the restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed – been here before – my fav ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Disappointed – been here before – my favorite dessert was taken off the menu – we went New Year's eve and were not given the free glass of champagne nor any bread

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Always a great experience full of new ta ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always a great experience full of new tastes and a good atmosphere. Service was a little slower due to NYE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Bacco was delicious as usual! My husban ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Bacco was delicious as usual! My husband is gluten free and they were eager to accommodate him. Their gluten free penne pasta is wonderful and really can't be discerned from regular pasta. We had Polipo, Veal marsala, an Italiano salad and penne with meat sauce. Everything was outstanding! Wonderful wine list too. The salad alone is worth the trip.

The dessert menu was disappointing because the only gluten free option was gelato. Maybe a nice creme brulee or a flourless chocolate cake might be options? If you have a vegan menu which I'm sure takes a great deal of planning, would it be difficult to add a few interesting gluten free options to the dessert menu? It seems that many more people are avoiding gluten now. Our server, Arthur, was very good!

The only real problem is the seating. As a party of 2, we were put at one of the small tables in the center of restaurant which meant that we essentially dined with the couple next to us. Not a total deal-breaker but it does give me pause when deciding where we'll go to dine. Perhaps remove one of the small tables and give us all more privacy and a more comfortable experience.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a consistently very good restaur ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is a consistently very good restaurant. The bar is a bit small, but well staffed. Food is very good and the kitchen is not upset at special orders or adjustments. Thanks.

Tags: People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food, as always, was excellent. Thi ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food, as always, was excellent. This is an outstanding restaurant. However, the waiter was below their standards. We didn't all order drinks, and it appeared that he assumed we wouldn't be worth a big check and thus, a large tip. From that point forward, he was indifferent, and inattentive. His loss - I always tip at least 20% and sometimes more for an outstanding experience. He had to settle for much less than that. I guess that we hit his expectations. Unfortunately, he didn't hit ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The place to go for fabulous Italian foo ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

The place to go for fabulous Italian food prepared by chefs who love food! The food is served by knowledgel and friendly staff who treat you like family. They can cover everything from a romantic evening for two to a large private party.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service; creative menu items our s ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great service; creative menu items our servor was excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For the reputation of this high-end Ital ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

For the reputation of this high-end Italian restaurant, the food was underwhelming. Not bad enough to send back, but not good enough to return. Too many excellent restaurants in the Detroit area these days to settle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Fantastic restaurant great food Noise le ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

Fantastic restaurant great food

Noise level too much

Great service would definitely return!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bacco, I believe, is the finest Italian ...

 
·Dined on December 13, 2016

Bacco, I believe, is the finest Italian restaurant in the Detroit metropolitan area. As close to authentic as one can get in the Midwest. Excellent wine list, great menu selections and the waitstaff has a very personal approach to customer satisfaction. Our company is Italian owned and all of the Expats come to Bacco for high end Italian cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great evening and a wonderful d ...

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

We had a great evening and a wonderful dinner. We also took the opportunity to speak with the sommelier for a 1/2 hour about the wonders of Piemontes wine.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are long time customers who love Bacc ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

We are long time customers who love Bacco. However, this evening was a big disappointment. The langustine and colimari were tasteless. My salmon looked fried and overcooked. It sat on layers of potato, cucumbers or sukini, onions that all tasted alike due to heavy seasoning and oil. My wife's dinner was equally disappoint ing. What has happened to this excellent restaurant?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Great spot for a sales meeting. Maybe no ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great spot for a sales meeting. Maybe not the best idea to go right during lunch because it was loud, but the food and service was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fantastic Vegan Menu. The meal w ...

 
·Dined on November 30, 2016

What a fantastic Vegan Menu. The meal was worth every penny!

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was delicious. Music was a bi ...

 
·Dined on November 29, 2016

Everything was delicious. Music was a bit loud since the room was pretty full and there was a lot of conversation, too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, great overall ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food, great service, great overall experience! Squash tortellini split as a starter was incredible. Server Mike was also a treat, very knowledgeable.

This was a special occasion and it felt like one, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome, the waiter was ver ...

 
·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food was awesome, the waiter was very knowledgeable and the place was very nice.. Only complant is the noise level. I recommend eating here!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Saturday night date with my wife. Great ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Saturday night date with my wife. Great food and outstanding service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Best Italian in Detroit area hands down

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Best Italian in Detroit area hands down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was lovely experience. Caring an ...

 
·Dined on November 8, 2016

This was lovely experience. Caring and attentive staff.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bacco, as always, was delightful. The se ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Bacco, as always, was delightful. The service and food quality are exceptional. The fresh truffles grated at the table were an added pleasure. Presentation and taste, superb.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bacco is our go to restaurant for high-e ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Bacco is our go to restaurant for high-end dinners. As usual, they were top-notch.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. The homemade ...

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

Excellent food and service. The homemade pasta we both had was delicious. High end Italian dining. I recommend it for special occasions.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bacco service is wonderful, they have a ...

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

Bacco service is wonderful, they have a great valet service, the wait staff is professional, and the food is very good.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Wonderful service, food was a excellent, ...

 
·Dined on November 1, 2016

Wonderful service, food was a excellent, a little noisy from the special occasions but well worth it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, , Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The greeted us like he knew us when we w ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

The greeted us like he knew us when we walked in which was nice. Our waiter was incredible. Food and wine were just perfect. This was our special anniversary dinner. I would definitely go there whenever I have a chance. Simply amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luciano Del Senore is a brilliant chef. ...

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

Luciano Del Senore is a brilliant chef. Our waitress was so knowledgeable and friendly that she made the experience even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is the star. Strozzapretti Nor ...

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

The food is the star. Strozzapretti Norcina is amazing. Enjoy.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

My wife and I went on a Saturday. I made ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

My wife and I went on a Saturday. I made the reservation that morning so I could only get a 5:30 seating. The meal and service was very good but slightly expensive. ($195.00 with 4 glasses of wine). We were leaving at 7:00 and the place was full. I would recommend Bacco for a special occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing Wagyu beef. The service is excel ...

 
·Dined on October 18, 2016

Amazing Wagyu beef. The service is excellent. I have known Bacco very well and it has become our favorite Italian restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Outstanding Wine List, great food pairin ...

 
·Dined on October 6, 2016

Outstanding Wine List, great food pairing and fantastic food!

Tags: Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Organic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sommelier, Patrick chose a wonderful ...

 
·Dined on October 4, 2016

The Sommelier, Patrick chose a wonderful bottle of red for our table. He graciously took a photograph of us for our special occasion. I recommend that you ask him for suggestions and feel free to share the price range that you have in mind.

That said, the four of us had long finished munching on the four, small crostini presented to us before any more bread or dishes of food appeared. My friend and I ordered the Germoglio salad. We both agreed that the addition of so many golden raisins overwhelmed any other flavor nuances of Pecorino cheese or other ingredients. It was far too sweet.

At some point, another server appeared with a basket of bread. We were each given a choice of one item, and one item only. She never returned to ask it we wanted more throughout the meal.

The entrees arrived. My chicken ravioli in Palamino sauce was good, however my companion found his Porcini pasta far too salty for his palate. Our other friends were left with uninspiring salads.

All in all, the best menu items I found were in the housemate gelato. The coffee was hot, fresh and strong too.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Had after dinner drinks (amaro) at the b ...

 
·Dined on September 29, 2016

Had after dinner drinks (amaro) at the bar. Andrew made it a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our experience at Bacco was not quite as ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our experience at Bacco was not quite as good as expected. We chose this restaurant for a birthday celebration as a couple, thinking that it would be a wonderful place to have a romantic quiet dinner. We were seated in the back by the bar, which was a bad spot to have a romantic dinner first of all. The food and service were very good. Our waiter, Arthur was wonderful at suggesting dinner selections and making accommodations for special meals, but the noise level by the bar was loud and interfered with our quiet dinner. It is hard these days to find any restaurant where you can have a nice quiet dinner so that you can hear each other talk and we thought this was going to be the place to enjoy that.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.