About Bacco Ristorante - Michigan

29410 Northwestern Highway
Southfield, MI 48034
View Larger Map

Bacco is a top-end modern Italian restaurant. There are more than 400 Italian wines to choose from on our wine list. Bacco Ristorante has received such awards as Top Table from Gourmet Magazine, Americas Top Restaurants from Zagat, The Award of Excellence from The Wine Spectator & Restaurant of the Year 2005 from Hour Detroit Magazine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 356-6600

Website:
http://www.baccoristorante.com/

Catering:
Bacco Ristorante can cater parties in home or office up to 200 guests. Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is provided to all guests at Bacco Ristorante for both lunch and dinner.

Executive Chef:
Luciano Del Signore

Private Party Facilities:
Bacco Ristorante Can accommodate up to 70 guests in our private dining rooms for private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Alberto De Santis: (248) 356-6600

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bacco Ristorante - Michigan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for a Date (22)
Fit for Foodies (17)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Authentic (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Business Meals (13)
Romantic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Private Room (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Healthy (2)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (2)
Vegan (2)
Casual (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
885 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

A good stan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

We go there often and Bacco is one of our favorite restaurants. The vegan menu has changed and seems much less inspired than the prix fixe menu they used to have. The service was neglectful for the first time ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent, authentic Italian food and the best owners, management and wait staff of any restaurant I have been too. Been many times and have never been disappointed. The octopus appetizer is absolutely delicious and you can never go wrong with any of the pasta dishes. I have something different each time I go...it's a great menu. Top off your dinner by clearing your palate with a trio of sorbets! Treat yourself and give Bacco a try. It's amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The seating is very cramped.. kept getting bumped by people walking through

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Once again a delicious meal, started with a caprese salad and pan seared scallops with truffle oil. Both dishes very fresh and you can never go wrong with truffle oil. The veal chop was grilled perfectly and the veal marsala was very tender. Our waiter Arthur made the meal complete with his impeccable service, a true professional. His assistant kept our water full and table clean. Worth the drive as we came from Bay City.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

They make their own pasta in house, and grow their own tomatoes for their sauces in the warmer months; fantastic food!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I've been to Bacco many times, & it never disappoints. It may actually get better & better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great will return again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The place is a gem and general manager Jared goes out of his way to welcome you into the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 24, 2017

excellent service. The best veal dishes we have ever had!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great experience from valet to valet. Will definitely return as this was our first visit!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Our server Lindsay was friendly and attentive throughout the evening. She made sure we weren't rushed through each course and kept our glasses full. The food was great as usual. I had the brussell sprout appetizer which was more of a salad - best I've had so far; Milanese for the main course - a sizeable portion made well along with arugula salad as well as pappardelle pasta with lamb ragu - all were delicious and I would order all of them again. The Sommelier guided us through their extensive wine list and we ended up with a very good bottle for the evening. Overall this was a perfect environment, with good food and service that enabled us to enjoy our business mtg.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 13, 2017

As always, Bacco exceeds in both LOVE for the Palate, and delightful service and accommodation to clientele. We had the stuffed pasta, Salmon, and Bronzino dishes, and ALL were sumptuous and heralded for presentation, taste, and all around enjoyment!

Chef Luciano, Agatha, and the Bacco team continue to make Magic for diners!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Took a colleague here a business lunch. Pleasant experience overall. Food was delicious - I had the filet and my colleague, the whitefish. We both agreed our meals were prepared perfectly, seasoning on the filet was excellent - just enough to enhance the flavor but not overpowering , and cooked exactly to medium rare As requested. Presentation of the food was nicely done. We both had the arugula salad which was fresh and tasty - a decent size portion. Impeccable service our server Hiram. He was polite attentive to our needs watching our soft drink and water levels and appropriately checking in on us without being disruptive. We will for sure be back more often!

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Another superb dinner at Bacco which reinforces my belief that this is truly one of the top Italian restaurants in America. Food, hospitality, service all outstanding. We'll be back soon !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The dining experience at Bacco was second to none, and the service was phenomenal. There is a reason why Luciano Del Signore is one of the best executive chefs/proprietors in the entire midwest.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I especially love the soup!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

NYE- All courses were exquisite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent. We had to take our main course home because one of our party was not feeling well. They packed everything in to go boxes and had our car pulled to the front door. All the food was just as good at home. Only missed the ambiance of the restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Disappointed – been here before – my favorite dessert was taken off the menu – we went New Year's eve and were not given the free glass of champagne nor any bread

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always a great experience full of new tastes and a good atmosphere. Service was a little slower due to NYE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Bacco was delicious as usual! My husband is gluten free and they were eager to accommodate him. Their gluten free penne pasta is wonderful and really can't be discerned from regular pasta. We had Polipo, Veal marsala, an Italiano salad and penne with meat sauce. Everything was outstanding! Wonderful wine list too. The salad alone is worth the trip.

The dessert menu was disappointing because the only gluten free option was gelato. Maybe a nice creme brulee or a flourless chocolate cake might be options? If you have a vegan menu which I'm sure takes a great deal of planning, would it be difficult to add a few interesting gluten free options to the dessert menu? It seems that many more people are avoiding gluten now. Our server, Arthur, was very good!

The only real problem is the seating. As a party of 2, we were put at one of the small tables in the center of restaurant which meant that we essentially dined with the couple next to us. Not a total deal-breaker but it does give me pause when deciding where we'll go to dine. Perhaps remove one of the small tables and give us all more privacy and a more comfortable experience.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is a consistently very good restaurant. The bar is a bit small, but well staffed. Food is very good and the kitchen is not upset at special orders or adjustments. Thanks.

Tags: People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food, as always, was excellent. This is an outstanding restaurant. However, the waiter was below their standards. We didn't all order drinks, and it appeared that he assumed we wouldn't be worth a big check and thus, a large tip. From that point forward, he was indifferent, and inattentive. His loss - I always tip at least 20% and sometimes more for an outstanding experience. He had to settle for much less than that. I guess that we hit his expectations. Unfortunately, he didn't hit ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The place to go for fabulous Italian food prepared by chefs who love food! The food is served by knowledgel and friendly staff who treat you like family. They can cover everything from a romantic evening for two to a large private party.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great service; creative menu items our servor was excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 16, 2016

For the reputation of this high-end Italian restaurant, the food was underwhelming. Not bad enough to send back, but not good enough to return. Too many excellent restaurants in the Detroit area these days to settle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Fantastic restaurant great food

Noise level too much

Great service would definitely return!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Bacco, I believe, is the finest Italian restaurant in the Detroit metropolitan area. As close to authentic as one can get in the Midwest. Excellent wine list, great menu selections and the waitstaff has a very personal approach to customer satisfaction. Our company is Italian owned and all of the Expats come to Bacco for high end Italian cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We had a great evening and a wonderful dinner. We also took the opportunity to speak with the sommelier for a 1/2 hour about the wonders of Piemontes wine.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We are long time customers who love Bacco. However, this evening was a big disappointment. The langustine and colimari were tasteless. My salmon looked fried and overcooked. It sat on layers of potato, cucumbers or sukini, onions that all tasted alike due to heavy seasoning and oil. My wife's dinner was equally disappoint ing. What has happened to this excellent restaurant?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great spot for a sales meeting. Maybe not the best idea to go right during lunch because it was loud, but the food and service was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 30, 2016

What a fantastic Vegan Menu. The meal was worth every penny!

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Everything was delicious. Music was a bit loud since the room was pretty full and there was a lot of conversation, too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food, great service, great overall experience! Squash tortellini split as a starter was incredible. Server Mike was also a treat, very knowledgeable.

This was a special occasion and it felt like one, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food was awesome, the waiter was very knowledgeable and the place was very nice.. Only complant is the noise level. I recommend eating here!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Saturday night date with my wife. Great food and outstanding service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Best Italian in Detroit area hands down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 8, 2016

This was lovely experience. Caring and attentive staff.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Bacco, as always, was delightful. The service and food quality are exceptional. The fresh truffles grated at the table were an added pleasure. Presentation and taste, superb.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Bacco is our go to restaurant for high-end dinners. As usual, they were top-notch.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Excellent food and service. The homemade pasta we both had was delicious. High end Italian dining. I recommend it for special occasions.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Bacco service is wonderful, they have a great valet service, the wait staff is professional, and the food is very good.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Wonderful service, food was a excellent, a little noisy from the special occasions but well worth it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The greeted us like he knew us when we walked in which was nice. Our waiter was incredible. Food and wine were just perfect. This was our special anniversary dinner. I would definitely go there whenever I have a chance. Simply amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Luciano Del Senore is a brilliant chef. Our waitress was so knowledgeable and friendly that she made the experience even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The food is the star. Strozzapretti Norcina is amazing. Enjoy.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My wife and I went on a Saturday. I made the reservation that morning so I could only get a 5:30 seating. The meal and service was very good but slightly expensive. ($195.00 with 4 glasses of wine). We were leaving at 7:00 and the place was full. I would recommend Bacco for a special occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Amazing Wagyu beef. The service is excellent. I have known Bacco very well and it has become our favorite Italian restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Outstanding Wine List, great food pairing and fantastic food!

Tags: Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Organic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.