About Bacchus Bar and Bistro

6735 Quail Hill Pkwy
Irvine, CA 92603
View Larger Map

Hidden away in the Quail Hill Shopping Center is a hip neighborhood bar and bistro with an incredible wine shop, a warm and knowledgeable staff and live music. A place you want to bring family and friends to just hang out and celebrate life, nothing pretentious just affordable wine and great food. Bacchus offers over 400 different wines and 30 beers including draft brews. Their certified Sommelier, has a hunger to find the most amazing wines at affordable prices to complement Chef Charity's eclectic cuisine. With a small but ambitious kitchen,Chef creates food that is familiar yet current,and with her experience cooking for some of Orange Counties top restaurants, such as Aubergine, Sapphire Laguna, and Patina's Tangata, she has been influenced by the best. Fresh ingredients, along with her love of wine, she selects dishes that are a perfect complement to their incredible cellar selections. Her menu also includes a large Cheese and Charcuterie menu

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Wine Bar, Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Thursday & Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Sand Canyon at 405

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 502-4600

Website:
http://www.bacchusbarandbistro.com/

Entertainment:
We have live entertainment Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. We offer Contemporary, Classic Rock, Blues and R&B artists.

Parking Details:
Quail Hill Shopping Center

Public Transit:
405 Freeway and Sand Canyon

Executive Chef:
Charity Smith

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Spicy Shrimp - Bacchus Bar and Bistro, Irvine, CA
lobster roll - Bacchus Bar and Bistro, Irvine, CA
Veal Meat Balls - Bacchus Bar and Bistro, Irvine, CA
Pork Belly Sandwich - Bacchus Bar and Bistro, Irvine, CA
Prosciutto Pizza - Bacchus Bar and Bistro, Irvine, CA
The Seeker Wine - Bacchus Bar and Bistro, Irvine, CA
Red Potato & Rosemary Pizza  - Bacchus Bar and Bistro, Irvine, CA
Drunken Shrimp - Bacchus Bar and Bistro, Irvine, CA
Pate Plate - Bacchus Bar and Bistro, Irvine, CA
Bacchus Burger - Bacchus Bar and Bistro, Irvine, CA
Flatbread - Bacchus Bar and Bistro, Irvine, CA
Build Your Own Cheese & Charcuterie Board - Bacchus Bar and Bistro, Irvine, CA
Cubano - Bacchus Bar and Bistro, Irvine, CA
Braised Short Rib Over Roasted Root Vegetables Special - Bacchus Bar and Bistro, Irvine, CA
Smothered Chicken In Thyme Gravy Over Cheddar Biscuits Special - Bacchus Bar and Bistro, Irvine, CA
Spring Burrata Salad - Bacchus Bar and Bistro, Irvine, CA
Lilikoi Cake - Bacchus Bar and Bistro, Irvine, CA
Little Gems Salad With Cream Tarragon Dressing & Pancetta Lardon - Bacchus Bar and Bistro, Irvine, CA
Lamb Burger With Goat Cheese & Harissa, Housemade Pickles & Za'atar - Bacchus Bar and Bistro, Irvine, CA
Butterscotch Pot De Creme With Crispy Palmier Cookies - Bacchus Bar and Bistro, Irvine, CA

Bacchus Bar and Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

60% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Happy Hour (2)
See All
Dancing (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Tapas (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Live Music (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for a Date (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
62 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

first time to this cute wine bar. it was ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

first time to this cute wine bar. it was lively on Sat night with live entertainment. The wine selection was good and we enjoyed our cheese board. They were busy, so service was a little slow, but they were really nice.

Tags: Fun, Tapas, Dancing, Live Music, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent wine list! Food is fairly good ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent wine list! Food is fairly good. For gluten free eaters, ask for adjustments and be creative!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Lobster chorizo fondue was amazing, a mu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Lobster chorizo fondue was amazing, a must have if you go there. Beef tacos and lamb burger were also a hit with us. live music was a plus!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I love Baccus. We usually h ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and I love Baccus. We usually hit live classic rock night and the music is always good. Food is fantastic and service attentive. Great selection of beers and wines, sampler is a great way to go.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A nice location for a business meeting.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 1, 2016

I came without expectations and this place was great! I highly recommend. Wine and food selection are superb.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beer + Wine for friends gathering.

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 21, 2016

I like this place because I'm a beer drinker but my friends are wine drinkers. Not a ton of beers on tap but they had a huge selection of bottled beers. My friends liked their wines. Food was great, better than I was expecting and it was hard to choose, everything sounded good. Best bread pudding I've ever had. Also although the place was nearly full it wasn't noisy and we could easily carry on our conversation. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great environment if you're not in a hurry

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Very comfortable little place in the corner of the shopping center. Good selection of wine. Some craft beers, but not many to choose from. Staff is helpful, but more used to providing a bottle of wine and not bothering you for a while, as opposed to serving a meal, checking to make sure you got everything, and then providing you with a check at the end of the meal. We had to get up and track them down a couple of times. Food was good. Will definitely be back, but not if I'm short on time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

the Lamb burger is amazing

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 2, 2016

the Lamb burger is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The server was on point. It would have b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2016

The server was on point. It would have been preferred if our bills could have been divided, even with adding gratuity for each bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Sacrifice food for drink & live music

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 19, 2016

We've been coming to Bacchus many times as it is close to our neighborhood. Our main reason to come to Bacchus is to relax at the end of work week, have a good glass of wine or beer, light dinner, and to enjoy live music. This place is nice and cozy with good live music.

We enjoy the live music most of the time but we have to sacrifice for it with their limited food selection on their menu. The cheese board was good, most small veggies plates were good. Lobster grill cheese sandwich was terrible this time. The beef tacos were tiny and overpriced. It took a long time (20minutes) to get our food, but it was okay as we were enjoying the music and our drinks.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great Cheese boards & Wine

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 13, 2016

My wife and I are always looking to find those rare eating and wine specialty places in Southern California. Well, this place is, as one grandchild likes to say, "The Bomb dot com"! LOL The place is tucked away in a hidden strip mall. Once inside, we were immediately approached by one of the servers who asked if we could be helped and if we had Reservations, which we had. We had checked out the website before going so we had an idea of what the menu was like. However, the waiter/bartender took the time to explain how to order the cheese boards from a list you check-off on. So we went crazy and ordered the max of selections. We also ordered the lobster, chorizo fondue. Wow! and the wine list is diversified with wine flight offerings. Recommend this place highly. The staff is very attentive and friendly and we will go back to sample other items on the menu. For non-wine drinkers, they have craft beers and beer flights also available.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a romantic evening of wine and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Went for a romantic evening of wine and small bites. Wine flights and bottles were a little on the pricy side. Live entertainment was very good, food took a long time to come out. Kitchen seems to get overwhelmed very easily with orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great wine, beer, and food. Live guitari ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Great wine, beer, and food. Live guitarist/singer was very good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the wine flights

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 24, 2016

We decided to eat here because they would have entertainment. The band was good and we loved the cheese plate and the wine flights. It was great to try three different kinds of wine. The menu is limited, but good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The elegance and lighting

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 15, 2016

The elegance and lighting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing wine bar but disappointed they d ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 20, 2015

Amazing wine bar but disappointed they did not have my open table reservation. Showed them my open table reservation on app via phone to prove it. Ambiance and service is always great here. It's a hidden gem. Food is mediocre but wine selection is not bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

SnoodieFoodie recommends

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 17, 2015

Recommends: cheese & charcuterie board, savory bread pudding, oven roasted medjool dates, and pumpkin cheesecake. I would pass on the flatbread. The actual bread part is not very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quick and Kind Service

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 4, 2015

Delicious food. Not huge portions, which is nice and an amazing wine selection!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New fan

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 19, 2015

Although having only dined here once, I decided to book a table for a work dinner (my boss and several colleagues were visiting). I'd enjoyed the ambiance, the wine list and ecclectic menu so felt it would be a good choice but having not yet frequented I was a little dubious.

There were 7 of us in total and I'm pleased to report all enjoyed the experience, food and service. Vanessa was our primary server and she was fantastic - she was attentive and has a very pleasant demeanor. All the team that I've encountered here thus far have been great.

Thanks for a great evening! I'm a new fan and hopefully soon to be classified as a 'regular' :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great every time

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 14, 2015

Favorites are the Barely Buzzed coffee crusted cheese, Brussels sprouts and the Offering red blend gsm. Chef and Mom are awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A hot local spot

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 25, 2015

Staff is extreme friendly and wine selection is good.

Bill takes good care of his regulars. Be sure to get on his list.

Tom delivers hot wine and cold beers, never a dull moment on Tuesdays and Wednesday.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Such a great place!

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 18, 2015

Good selection of wine and nibbbles. The service is wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bacchus is very enjoyable, + the Food & the Wines

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 14, 2015

Very casual local spot that delights all senses. Come early for the selection of Happy Hour plates to the incredible list of wines that are unique to the area. Then stay a little longer to hear live music! The staff is very professional and attentive and provide exceptional service to the diners. Small kitchen but a very talented chef. Located in the Quail Hill Shopping Center, south of the 405, it is well worth going there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Mediocre

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 3, 2015

Was very disappointed with Bacchus. Came here for restaurant week with girlfriends on a Monday evening. The service was very slow as they did not anticipate many diners and did not staff properly. Also, they ran out of one of the three entree offerings by 7:00 which seemed strange for a planned 6:30 reservation. The wine bottle prices were offered at a 25% discount so that was a pleasant and welcome surprise. On top of the slow service (though always pleasant demeanor) the food when it arrived was lackluster at best. ended up with one of the two remaining entree offerings which was a mozzarella flatbread.....it was bland and the dough overworked. The beet salad was just ok BUT the chocolate bread pudding was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Saturday night dinner and entertainment

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2015

My wife and I visited Bacchus for the first time since they opened their kitchen. They have 4 small plate selections on the menu and we found all of very enjoyable. My only complaint is it took a long time for us to get the first small plate we ordered. While we were "comped" for this order, I think the waiter forgot our order. Of course he blamed it on the computer ordering system. Even though the service was not as good as it could be, our overall experience was enjoyable. To top off the good food and wine we had, the entertainment for the evening was a guitarist by the name of Don Brennan. His performance kept us engaged and was the reason we didn't walk out when our small plate order was delayed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Bacchus has a great wine list.

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 15, 2015

Good wine and tasty bites. Great after work spot, but NOT a place for full dinner. Really really like this place.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Nice but expensive wine

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 13, 2014

We went because I won a $50 gift card to go there. It is nice & the servers are nice, but service was slow & prices are high for wine. Food prices were reasonable & the lamb burger was delicious. For the 2 of us, 1 bottle of Chardonnay, 1 appetizer, 2 sandwiches & 1 dessert, was $88. Nice live music.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Great music, good food and a fun evening!

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 23, 2014

Looking for something different? This place offers a place to enjoy a number of wines, share appetizers and snall plates and an opportuity to hear some great music.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time and wasn't disapointed

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 30, 2014

Cam here about a month ago for the first time, had some co-workers in town and went back. Nice to say the experience was just as great as the first time. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly. Food is fantastic, had some cheeses and a couple of flat breads...next time will try to save room for dessert as they looked great. Can't wait to come back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Live Music Thu - Sat

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 26, 2014

Wife and I were looking for a local place with live music and we found a place within 5 miles that we had no idea was there. Great selection of wines and cheeses

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great find

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 13, 2014

Was searching for a place central for my friend's birthday and couldnt have found a better place. Its in a shopping center so plenty of parking. Ordered the cheese plate, pork belly tacos, mozzarella pizza, goat cheese panna cotta. Loved the tacos the best. For drinks I had the chardonnay flight and it was good. Would definitely come back, they also had live music which started at 730 pm. It was more of R&B jazz than jazz but I liked it!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delightful !!

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 28, 2014

We really enjoyed the live music on Friday night. Cozy hideaway great staff!!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wine - music

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 13, 2014

I have enjoy Bacchus Bistro a number of times. What attracted to this place initially was the live music. There are not all that many places on South OC that have good music. This place does - Thurs- Sat. I have seen several people there that I've heard before and discovered a number of others. To go along with that, very nice wine selection and some choice entrees, starters and cheese selections.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

EGHoop

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 1, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at the restaurant. It was my first visit. I only went to see the guitar player. However, the service was top notch, excellent food, and I will come back. I had the arugula salad, flatbread pizza, mixed nuts and two glasses of white wine that the server recommended...all delicious! And the guitar player never disappoints!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

very nice local pub

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 13, 2014

This is a nice wine bar and store, good to meet people after work or friends for wine and lite dining. Wine selection is upscale for the area and the food is fresh and good

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Saving for another occasion!

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 19, 2014

We were set on a quiet dinner and did not anticipate the crowd and the small selection of dinner items.

However, it was nice to see the atmosphere and will return for a different kind of afternoon/evening!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Service Very Poor

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 21, 2014

Only 1 server for whole restaurant. Food was cold. Refills of water didn't exist. Worst of all, a 6oz pour is only 4oz. We had 4 glasses of wine from the same bottle and she was still serving from the same bottle. So, be careful!!!!! We didn't appreciate the dishonesty.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Hidden Gem

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 9, 2014

Tried this hidden gem in Irvine for an escape from a tough workday. Extensive wine list at fairly reasonable prices. Excellent build-your-own cheese board for starters. The lobster grilled cheese sandwich was delicious. We'll definitely be heading back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food, Great Wine, Great Music

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 1, 2014

This was the second time my wife & I had gone to Bacchus. We enjoyed ourselves so much the first time, it was a no-brainer to head over there again.Their meat & cheese menu is amazing, everything they have on it is mouth-watering if you're a cheese lover. Their wine list is very comprehensive, one of the only places with more than 2 or 3 Syrahs to select from, which is nice. I've seen some complaints about slow service, but my wife and I rather enjoyed not being hassled by the wait staff every few minutes, reminded us of our time in Italy. We spent a few hours there and didn't even realize it, which to me is a mark of a great restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Bacchus

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2014

It's a place that doesn't serve dinner regularly so we should have not booked reservations for Valentine's day there.

The service was bad, the food was just ok. I have never had filet mignon and the wait staff didn't ask how you would like it prepared. I was told that all the meat was being served medium rare unless we wanted something different. They don't have diet coke only regular coke and they don't carry any non-alcoholic beers . My boyfriend doesn't drink so that was disappointing as well. It was a very disappointing dinner overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.