Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

Bacchus Bar and Bistro

4.8
72 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Wine Bar
Hidden away in the Quail Hill Shopping Center is a hip neighborhood bar and bistro with an incredible wine shop, a warm and knowledgeable staff and live music. A place you want to bring family and friends to just hang out and celebrate life, nothing pretentious just affordable wine and great food. Bacchus offers over 400 different wines and 30 beers including draft brews. Their certified Sommelier, has a hunger to find the most amazing wines at affordable prices to complement Chef Charity's eclectic cuisine. With a small but ambitious kitchen,Chef creates food that is familiar yet current,and with her experience cooking for some of Orange Counties top restaurants, such as Aubergine, Sapphire Laguna, and Patina's Tangata, she has been influenced by the best. Fresh ingredients, along with her love of wine, she selects dishes that are a perfect complement to their incredible cellar selections. Her menu also includes a large Cheese and Charcuterie menu
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Wine Bar, Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday: 11:30am - 9:00pm; Tuesday - Wednesday: 11:30am - 10:00pm; Thursday - Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm; Sunday: Temporarily Closed
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(949) 502-4600
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Charity Smith
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Sand Canyon at 405
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Quail Hill Shopping Center
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
405 Freeway and Sand Canyon
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
We have live entertainment Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. We offer Contemporary, Classic Rock, Blues and R&B artists.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 72 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Invited my friends and We went here for wine, food and jazz music. We got all that plus a lovely service. Will come back here again and recommend to other friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Service is always outstanding! Wine selection is fantastic. Such a fun place to go with my husband or bunch of friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

My wife and I had been wanted to try it and we were not disappointed. The wine options are outstanding. No huge marketed names but good boutique wines with plenty of flavor. They also have a wine market so you can taste, buy and take home. The bartender asked what I was looking for in a wine, I said bold and chewy red with oak and she asked if there was a price range i was confortable. I told her and she came with an excellent choice that was $10 under by amount, my experience is that they usually find something that is $10 over your ""comfortable amount". The plates are small so good for sharing and ordering a variety. We had spicy prawns (excellent!!) and they were not afraid of spicy, so if you can't stand much spicy, not for you. The main entrée was the Short Ribs over a cauliflower puree, wow, this nice and tender meat was a perfect compliment to the nice chewy, oaky cab. oh, and we finished off with a wonderful carrot cake.... We don't do dessert but we did this time and ate the whole thing.... we'll be back!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 15, 2017

Food is consistently good altough limited in choices. I love the wine collection and the live music.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Met there for Valentines day and it was perfect for light menu and great wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2017

Live band and fantastic service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 20, 2017

The music was great. The wine list is great. The offer interesting wine flights. The food was ok. We had the lobster fondue, the olive bread flatbread and the Brussels sprouts. The staff is very friendly, but very very slow. We sat for quite a while before our drinks were delivered. We waited quite awhile for food and even longer for the check. I guess it's nice not to have someone pushing you to eat or drink more but if we had wanted more we would have had pursued getting it. If I was going back I would only go for music and wine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 14, 2017

New owners and there are a few changes
- food menu more limited
- Open Table reservation no longer available
- reservations for parties of 6 or more only
( smaller parties can call 30 minutes ahead to hold a table, making it hard to plan ahead IMO)

The wine selection is good, we love the live music, the food offerings are ok ( not a restaurant though so come prepared ). This had been our goto place for an entertaining night out, and we will continue to return on occasion, but we may explore some of the other wine bars out there ( and there are plenty of them ).

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food but horrible service. Took forever just for them to bring us our waters. Took about an hour for food. The servers were not friendly. Cozy spot with good food and music and wine, if the service changed this place could be great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 6, 2016

I made a reservation online for 8 for a group that was in town on business. They didn't seem to realize that we had a reservation and had to figure out where to put our large group. Our table of 8 was given only one menu. We asked for more menus but no other menus were provided. After 15 minutes I got up and took some menus from the counter. The food and beverages were pretty good. I ordered a cheese plate, which included options for gluten free bread and gluten free crackers. There was a magician there that night, which was highly entertaining for our group. Some hiccups on service, but overall a good experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 19, 2016

first time to this cute wine bar. it was lively on Sat night with live entertainment. The wine selection was good and we enjoyed our cheese board. They were busy, so service was a little slow, but they were really nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent wine list! Food is fairly good. For gluten free eaters, ask for adjustments and be creative!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 20, 2016

Lobster chorizo fondue was amazing, a must have if you go there. Beef tacos and lamb burger were also a hit with us. live music was a plus!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2016

My wife and I love Baccus. We usually hit live classic rock night and the music is always good. Food is fantastic and service attentive. Great selection of beers and wines, sampler is a great way to go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2016

I came without expectations and this place was great! I highly recommend. Wine and food selection are superb.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2016

I like this place because I'm a beer drinker but my friends are wine drinkers. Not a ton of beers on tap but they had a huge selection of bottled beers. My friends liked their wines. Food was great, better than I was expecting and it was hard to choose, everything sounded good. Best bread pudding I've ever had. Also although the place was nearly full it wasn't noisy and we could easily carry on our conversation. We'll be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2016

Very comfortable little place in the corner of the shopping center. Good selection of wine. Some craft beers, but not many to choose from. Staff is helpful, but more used to providing a bottle of wine and not bothering you for a while, as opposed to serving a meal, checking to make sure you got everything, and then providing you with a check at the end of the meal. We had to get up and track them down a couple of times. Food was good. Will definitely be back, but not if I'm short on time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2016

the Lamb burger is amazing

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2016

The server was on point. It would have been preferred if our bills could have been divided, even with adding gratuity for each bill.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2016

We've been coming to Bacchus many times as it is close to our neighborhood. Our main reason to come to Bacchus is to relax at the end of work week, have a good glass of wine or beer, light dinner, and to enjoy live music. This place is nice and cozy with good live music.

We enjoy the live music most of the time but we have to sacrifice for it with their limited food selection on their menu. The cheese board was good, most small veggies plates were good. Lobster grill cheese sandwich was terrible this time. The beef tacos were tiny and overpriced. It took a long time (20minutes) to get our food, but it was okay as we were enjoying the music and our drinks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2016

My wife and I are always looking to find those rare eating and wine specialty places in Southern California. Well, this place is, as one grandchild likes to say, "The Bomb dot com"! LOL The place is tucked away in a hidden strip mall. Once inside, we were immediately approached by one of the servers who asked if we could be helped and if we had Reservations, which we had. We had checked out the website before going so we had an idea of what the menu was like. However, the waiter/bartender took the time to explain how to order the cheese boards from a list you check-off on. So we went crazy and ordered the max of selections. We also ordered the lobster, chorizo fondue. Wow! and the wine list is diversified with wine flight offerings. Recommend this place highly. The staff is very attentive and friendly and we will go back to sample other items on the menu. For non-wine drinkers, they have craft beers and beer flights also available.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2016

Went for a romantic evening of wine and small bites. Wine flights and bottles were a little on the pricy side. Live entertainment was very good, food took a long time to come out. Kitchen seems to get overwhelmed very easily with orders.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 30, 2016

Great wine, beer, and food. Live guitarist/singer was very good as well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 23, 2016

We decided to eat here because they would have entertainment. The band was good and we loved the cheese plate and the wine flights. It was great to try three different kinds of wine. The menu is limited, but good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 15, 2016

The elegance and lighting

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 19, 2015

Amazing wine bar but disappointed they did not have my open table reservation. Showed them my open table reservation on app via phone to prove it. Ambiance and service is always great here. It's a hidden gem. Food is mediocre but wine selection is not bad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2015

Recommends: cheese & charcuterie board, savory bread pudding, oven roasted medjool dates, and pumpkin cheesecake. I would pass on the flatbread. The actual bread part is not very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 3, 2015

Delicious food. Not huge portions, which is nice and an amazing wine selection!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 18, 2015

Although having only dined here once, I decided to book a table for a work dinner (my boss and several colleagues were visiting). I'd enjoyed the ambiance, the wine list and ecclectic menu so felt it would be a good choice but having not yet frequented I was a little dubious.

There were 7 of us in total and I'm pleased to report all enjoyed the experience, food and service. Vanessa was our primary server and she was fantastic - she was attentive and has a very pleasant demeanor. All the team that I've encountered here thus far have been great.

Thanks for a great evening! I'm a new fan and hopefully soon to be classified as a 'regular' :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2015

Favorites are the Barely Buzzed coffee crusted cheese, Brussels sprouts and the Offering red blend gsm. Chef and Mom are awesome.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2015

Staff is extreme friendly and wine selection is good.
Bill takes good care of his regulars. Be sure to get on his list.
Tom delivers hot wine and cold beers, never a dull moment on Tuesdays and Wednesday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2015

Good selection of wine and nibbbles. The service is wonderful!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 13, 2015

Very casual local spot that delights all senses. Come early for the selection of Happy Hour plates to the incredible list of wines that are unique to the area. Then stay a little longer to hear live music! The staff is very professional and attentive and provide exceptional service to the diners. Small kitchen but a very talented chef. Located in the Quail Hill Shopping Center, south of the 405, it is well worth going there.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 2, 2015

Was very disappointed with Bacchus. Came here for restaurant week with girlfriends on a Monday evening. The service was very slow as they did not anticipate many diners and did not staff properly. Also, they ran out of one of the three entree offerings by 7:00 which seemed strange for a planned 6:30 reservation. The wine bottle prices were offered at a 25% discount so that was a pleasant and welcome surprise. On top of the slow service (though always pleasant demeanor) the food when it arrived was lackluster at best. ended up with one of the two remaining entree offerings which was a mozzarella flatbread.....it was bland and the dough overworked. The beet salad was just ok BUT the chocolate bread pudding was tasty.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 24, 2015

My wife and I visited Bacchus for the first time since they opened their kitchen. They have 4 small plate selections on the menu and we found all of very enjoyable. My only complaint is it took a long time for us to get the first small plate we ordered. While we were "comped" for this order, I think the waiter forgot our order. Of course he blamed it on the computer ordering system. Even though the service was not as good as it could be, our overall experience was enjoyable. To top off the good food and wine we had, the entertainment for the evening was a guitarist by the name of Don Brennan. His performance kept us engaged and was the reason we didn't walk out when our small plate order was delayed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 14, 2015

Good wine and tasty bites. Great after work spot, but NOT a place for full dinner. Really really like this place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 12, 2014

We went because I won a $50 gift card to go there. It is nice & the servers are nice, but service was slow & prices are high for wine. Food prices were reasonable & the lamb burger was delicious. For the 2 of us, 1 bottle of Chardonnay, 1 appetizer, 2 sandwiches & 1 dessert, was $88. Nice live music.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 22, 2014

Looking for something different? This place offers a place to enjoy a number of wines, share appetizers and snall plates and an opportuity to hear some great music.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 29, 2014

Cam here about a month ago for the first time, had some co-workers in town and went back. Nice to say the experience was just as great as the first time. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly. Food is fantastic, had some cheeses and a couple of flat breads...next time will try to save room for dessert as they looked great. Can't wait to come back again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 25, 2014

Wife and I were looking for a local place with live music and we found a place within 5 miles that we had no idea was there. Great selection of wines and cheeses

Report
Helpful
1
2