About Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant

925 E. Wells Street
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Bacchus offers contemporary American cuisine in a stylish, modern and sleek setting overlooking Lake Michigan in downtown Milwaukee. Boasting one of the city's most extensive wine lists and a menu that features seasonal, local ingredients. Several private rooms, including a beautiful glass-enclosed conservatory, are available for business and social occasions.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: Open for holidays, special occasions and private parties. Call for availability.

Cross Street:
Prospect Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 765-1166

Website:
http://www.bacchusmke.com/

Parking Details:
$4 for dinner.

Executive Chef:
Nick Wirth

Private Party Facilities:
Private Party Options Available

Private Party Contact:
Tricia Smith: 4147651166x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/category/bacchus for information on upcoming wine and author events!

Restaurant Photos

Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Wisconsin
Best Food
Wisconsin
Notable Wine List
Wisconsin
8 More
Contemporary American
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Milwaukee
Best Food
Milwaukee
Best Service
Milwaukee
Best Ambiance
Milwaukee
Notable Wine List
Milwaukee
Romantic
Milwaukee
Contemporary American
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

special occasion (80)
romantic (68)
notable wine list (63)
See All
fit for foodies (47)
scenic view (21)
neighborhood gem (18)
good for groups (16)
hot spot (7)
great for brunch (7)
great for lunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1310 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Even with a full house the service was i ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Even with a full house the service was impeccable and the food was outstanding (as always).

food4
ambience3
service1

It was a very busy Saturday , but no exc ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

It was a very busy Saturday , but no excuse for such horrible service . We waited 20 minutes before our drink order was taken and we waited over 2 hours for our entrees. The wait staff basically ignored us and never apologized for the delays until we complained!

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Over priced and under delivered!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Way over priced and under delivered is what I would call my experience at Bacchus. Dinner was over 3.5 hours for 6 people. I am a foodie and would not go back. They comped us 2 of the 6 meals since our "food was not plated correctly". Really! So let's throw the group desserts - and they were just as bad. Way too much $$$ for such lousy food and service. Our group will not return.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent as usual

Dined on May 20, 2016

Bacchus is reliably excellent in menu and execution. not the most exotice of choices, nor the most price-friendly. Wait staff are super and chef's performance is always right on. While it verges on special occasion (due to price), the lively crowd (mostly locals) and business-casual attire make it a frequent dining destination as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place, always a great experience ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing place, always a great experience, A+++++ on all levels, can't wait to go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really top notch food.

Dined on May 7, 2016

This place hit a home run last Saturday. We went to celebrate Mothers day, a day early and everything was great! Huge wine list but still great selection at all price points! Id try to serve the wine just before food comes out to keep food hot but that was the one and only very small thing that could have been better. Even keeping the food back until the wine was poured? Apps were incredible, entrees were perfect. Every person was so happy and satisfied, hoping to return soon! Thank you for making my mom feel special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and excellent food

Dined on May 7, 2016

I have been to Bacchus before for business dinners. Brought our son for his birthday - as he is a cook at another popular restaurant in Milwaukee. We were all very impressed with the food and excellent service. We will return!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very likely the best restaurant in town, bar none.

Dined on May 3, 2016

Spectacular service without being intrusive. Friendly, warm, and informative. Food great beyond all expectation. Absolutely breathtaking. A premier dining experience. Highly, highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite was my wife's description of t ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Exquisite was my wife's description of the food. Thanks to chef Nic for sharing some extras to help us celebrate!

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

excellent

Dined on April 22, 2016

We had our one year anniversary at Bacchus. the entire evening was one course after another of photo perfect plates of edible art. At our table there was a beautiful card, the chef came out to personally deliver two delectable pasta trays, on house, and dessert was sorbet lime, lemon and cherry with Happy anniversary written in chocolate across the plate. amazing dinner, amazing staff. We will visit again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Restaurant

Dined on March 30, 2016

This was the first time we had been at Bacchus. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience from beginning to end. All the staff were wonderful and the service was impeccable. The food was excellent. The menu has a nice variety and includes some rather unusual combinations. We enjoy trying different menu items. The atmosphere is understated and very classy. We would highly recommend Bacchus.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

If you are in Wisconsin

Dined on March 27, 2016

My petite filet mignon was cooked perfectly with a medley of sauteed mushrooms and a puree of potatoes. The Bartolotta restaurant group has yet to disappoint.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent Easter Brunch As usual awesome ❤️👍🏻 Potato Leek soup was great! Presentation of each plate wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience was exceptional. T ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Our dining experience was exceptional. The food was amazing, and our server cared for everything.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The porterhouse for two is outstanding!

Dined on March 4, 2016

This was honestly the best meal my fiance and I have had in Milwaukee. Bacchus far exceeded our expectations for a Bartolotta restaurant. The food, beverages and service were amazing! We will definitely be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Gem on the lake

Dined on February 27, 2016

I would highly recommend this to both groups and friends and family it is a beautiful location with outstanding food and great service at a decent price for a nice romantic night out.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service

Dined on February 20, 2016

Had a great meal to celebrate my wife's birthday last Saturday night. The servers were attentive but not overbearing. The food was excellent. We look forward to our next dinner at Bacchus.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite restaurants in Milwau ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Milwaukee, always get desert they are fantastic.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First timer

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was amazing, the server was on point, and the bar staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Wonderful experience hope to be back very soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great as always!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Returned for our 5th trip to Bacchus for Valentine's Day and were impressed as always. Great service, amazing food, this place has never disappointed! Looking forward to our next visit

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Food was great, Service was terrible

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was great however the service was terrible. Our reservation was at 8 and we seated at 8:15. They were busy so being a little late is understandable. However, after we sat down, we didn't have our drink order taken until 25 minutes later. The rest of the night was pretty much the same story.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great time as usuall

Dined on February 14, 2016

Once again my wife and I had a fantastic dinner at Bacchus.We keep coming back because we always have a wonderful experience and are never dissapointed with the food or the service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Valentine's Day Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was very good. Food portions are smaller as one would expect at a fine dining restaurant. Two apps and two entrees is the perfect amount of food. Service wasn't as good as I was expecting. Server lost the copy of my receipt and I received a call from Bacchus saying I didn't pay. After clearing the issue up over the phone everything was fine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Happy Valentine's Day

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

We returned to Bacchus for Valentine's Day, which is not always the best day to judge a restaurant. But Bacchus did not disappoint. The service was great; the tasting menu was wonderful and the wine pairings were perfect. Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as usual

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food is excellent. PLEASE try the veal ravioli. Best thing I ever ate. Not sure what I will do if the take it off the menu. Service is top notch. My wife and I enjoy Bacchus every time we get to go. Though it is expensive it is worth every penny. I tried a coconut mousse e this time and loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Good not great this time around

Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I have made Bacchus the site of our Valentine's Day dinner the past few years. The food and service is generally excellent. This year was good, but fell a little short for us & as a result we are going to try a different spot next year. To start it off, we were put at a table right near a doorway & between two booths. It seemed a bit odd, like it wasn't supposed to be there. Considering that the restaurant wasn't full we weren't sure why we were seated in such an odd place. I should mention for the benefit of the review that in general the tables at Bacchus are a little too close together for me, but I understand that the layout allows for maximum capacity which is important for a business. Our server took longer than expected to come over for the first time. Not unusual if the place was packed, but again it was not. Once she arrived, our server was very knowledgeable & helpful. My only complaint was in how she described the pasta special. It made it seem like it was house-made pasta with 24 hour roasted & pulled pork. I ordered it based on that, only to find that the pork was more of a ground pork in texture. The flavor was good, but the texture was odd and had me disappointed with my order. My wife had the scallops (her usual) and said they were amazing. We also had a cheese plate to start which was great, and our server was very helpful in selecting our cheeses. Finally, we shared a delicious bottle of Tempranillo (the wine list at Bacchus is fabulous!). Overall, a good night, but not great. I guess our expectations for Bacchus are high based on past experiences. I would still recommend Bacchus to anyone looking for a higher-end dining experience, especially if you appreciate a great wine list. I would just advise you to stick to the regular menu, particularly the steaks and scallops.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Outstanding restaurant. Delicious food, ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Outstanding restaurant. Delicious food, but small portions. Very nice bartolotta restaurant

food4
ambience3
service3
value1

overpriced

Dined on January 3, 2016

Limited menu, even more limited if you do not like mushrooms. Some foods were excellent, my entree was warm, but not hot. My wife's was fine. Ordered a bottle of wine, and they were out of it, so I had to go over their extensive list a second time. Not bad, but not worth the money. There are other great restaurants in Milwaukee that you can get a great meal for the price you pay here.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

New Years

Dined on January 1, 2016

The food & service was top notch as always. It seemed apparent we were mildly rushed through dinner. My guess would be they needed the table for a later reservation since we were not staying the entire night given it was a special event night. Additionally, the downstairs dining area does not have as much to offer as the main dining area. It felt as if we were less important guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Birthday dinner at bacchus

Dined on December 30, 2015

Disappointed! .soup and salmon were too salty. Brought hubby to boast how great this restaurant was..his wagyu was sauce was overpowering.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Hands down our best overall dining exper ...

Dined on December 29, 2015

Hands down our best overall dining experience in Milwaukee. Thoughtful service, excellent pairing suggestions, and amazing food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Posh Atmosphere

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

Lovely decor with great service. Delicious veal chop done perfectly. Very nice bottle of Frank Family Zin at a reasonable price. Bacchus is a very nice, romantic dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for special night out

Dined on December 23, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed Bacchus when we dined on 12/22/15. Terrific wine list, and the 40oz steak for 2 was delicious, especially the bourbon peppercorn cream sauce! Wine list was extensive, and lots of variety with some wines that would be hard to find anywhere else. Loved the desserts too...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really enjoyed the local soft cheese suggested!

Dined on December 19, 2015

We ordered a local soft cheese as an appetizer and we really enjoyed it. We also loved the ribeye steak with the wild mushrooms.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Very pleased

vip
Dined on December 17, 2015

We selected this restaurant for a special evening while in Milwaukee for two days and were very pleased we did. The quiet elegant setting, valet parking, and downtown location near our hotel made for a very pleasant evening. The food was good to very good (some dishes were over-salted) though the slow and rather inattentive service does need attention. On balance, we likely would return if only to determine whether less than good service and heavy-handed salting are the norm.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

I experienced the coveted truffle tastin ...

vip
Dined on December 13, 2015

I experienced the coveted truffle tasting menu with the wine pairings. Oh my goodness! Every morsel was well thought and presented. My companion ordered the Wagyu steak which was excellently prepared medium. Prior to our dinner, we had the rare opportunity to meet and talk with owner Joe Bartolotta. I definitely look forward to my next dining experience with a Bartolotta restaurant.

food4
ambience5
service5

A classic

Dined on December 6, 2015

Dark tones, white tablecloths, 3 servers. Great food inky complaint is how meat heavy the menu is and how all the dishes, even the seafood, have pork in them. Also, very expensive

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely place

Dined on December 2, 2015

Great food and friendly service. Always consistent. The Venison was AMAZING!! Can't wait to eat there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1

Good food. Poor Service

Dined on November 29, 2015

We made reservations for a Saturday night and were shown to our table quickly. We waited over 20 minutes before being served water or being talked to by our waiter. After the long wait, the rest of dinner went OK. The food was excellent. After we finished the main course, the lack of attention continued. We were unable to order after dinner drinks, waited a while to get the check, and then waited over 30 minutes for waiters to pick-up our credit card while we watched them stocking the glasses for the next day. I don't think this is the norm base on the other tables.

food3
ambience5
service5

a dinner

Dined on November 28, 2015

Appetizers were flavorful and creative.Chicken entree was quite bland.Desserts were the highlight.Expected more for the money. The highlight was the service...outstanding

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.