About Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant

925 E. Wells Street
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Bacchus offers contemporary American cuisine in a stylish, modern and sleek setting overlooking Lake Michigan in downtown Milwaukee. Boasting one of the city's most extensive wine lists and a menu that features seasonal, local ingredients. Several private rooms, including a beautiful glass-enclosed conservatory, are available for business and social occasions.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: Open for holidays, special occasions and private parties. Call for availability.

Cross Street:
Prospect Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 765-1166

Website:
http://www.bacchusmke.com/

Parking Details:
$4 for dinner.

Executive Chef:
Nick Wirth

Private Party Facilities:
Private Party Options Available

Private Party Contact:
Tricia Smith: 4147651166x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/bacchus/ for information on upcoming wine and author events!

Restaurant Photos

Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant
Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant
Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant
Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant
Spinach Salad
Sorbet Trio
Filet Mignon- Bourbon Peppercorn Cream, Sauteed Mushrooms, Potato Mousseline!
Roasted Beet Salad
PB&J
Ahi Tuna With Avocado Creme
Spiced Brownie
Seared Fois Gras
Sea Scallops
Seafood Ravioli
Braised Beef Short Rib
Spinich Salad
Buffalo Sweatbreads!!!!!!
Maine Lobster
Lobster Ravioletti
Alaskan Halibut
Bibb Lettuce Salad
Lamb Duo
Red Snapper
Chocolate Lava Cake with Vanilla Ice Cream
Watermelon And Baby Beet Salad
Ratitouille
Chalk Hill 2009 Cabernet
Lamb Chops
bacon ice cream
Chopped Romaine Salad
Molten Chocolate Cake With Hazelnuts
Pan-Roasted Chicken
Sheep Milk Ricotta Ravioli
Roasted Wild Salmon
Roasted New York Strip
Paté A Choux With Raspberry Pastry Cream
Chilled English Pea Soup
Spinach Risotto Fritters Served With A Truffled Fonduta
Scallop And Gnocchi
Sweet corn risotto
Banana Split
Hazelhut Lava Cake
Creamy Polenta With Morels And Asparagus
Lamb Ravioli
Groom Shiraz 2009 Barossa Valley
Sorbet

Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Wisconsin
Contemporary American
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Milwaukee
2 More
Notable Wine List
Milwaukee
Contemporary American
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

Special Occasion (68)
Notable Wine List (53)
Fit for Foodies (48)
See All
Romantic (44)
Scenic View (20)
Good for Groups (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1347 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ryane was our server and he was great! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 18 hours ago

Ryane was our server and he was great! Our experiences here have always been amazing and we can't wait to come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service in the restaurant ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and service in the restaurant and bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The quintessential American restaurant t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The quintessential American restaurant that does things the right way. Menu has a lot of middle-of-the-road choices, and a good number of options for those who want a new taste experience. Both paths lead to rewarding meals. Service was well-paced, especially when I ordered the six-course tasting menu (highly recommended!), while my wife had three. A perfect place for business dinners, special occasions, or just a very good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Bartollata's never disappoints- such a c ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Bartollata's never disappoints- such a culinary gem!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hard to find a quiet eating place for a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Hard to find a quiet eating place for a business meeting. This restaurant is perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really enjoyed the great food and serv ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I really enjoyed the great food and service my girlfriend and myself had at the restraurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We tried Bacchus for the first time on o ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We tried Bacchus for the first time on our second anniversary. They have a delicious menu and it was well worth the price

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and wine list. The service wa ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food and wine list. The service was excellent. I will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Due to a diet, I haven't dined out big t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Due to a diet, I haven't dined out big time in a long while. A mini vacation to Milwaukee and some dining research brought me to Bacchus. It is a beautiful spot in Milwaukee near the lake.

The winelist has some gems on it. Their big reds may be a little young, yet. They have a wide variety of varietals, however. I never thought of seeing DRC on a restaurant winelist in Wisconsin.

I'm a former vinophile and my date is not a heavy drinker, but they have NV Krug by the glass and it was reasonably priced. They graciously poured a serving in two glasses for us.

My date is a very picky eater, but saw foie gras on the menu and wanted to try it. I obliged even though fois gras is too rich for my palate. It was served breakfast style with Brioche French toast, bacon, maple syrup and a quail egg. Everything was properly cooked and well executed, but it just needed some acidity to balance the richness of the dish. The Krug paired pretty well with the dish, though.

I ordered a beet and melon salad. The beets were very fresh and the dish was plated artfully. I nearly drank the melon juice that was left.

For the mains my date ordered the chicken and I had the Waygu. The sweet potato hash on my plate was very tasty. The meat was cooked perfectly and seasoned very as well. Very nice and balanced dish.

My date's chicken was incredible. Bacchus' Madeira sauce was extremely rich and complex. I was floored by it. The chicken was cooked perfectly as well, major kudos.

The service was attentive throughout the meal was when it was time to pay, it took a little long. I headed for the restroom and our server was talking to the bartender.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Most of the meal was ok with the excepti ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Most of the meal was ok with the exception of hair in the dessert. Also, the manager came to see how we were doing and knocked my husband's red wine glass all over him. The replaced the wine, but we would've preferred to have it comp'ed. Overall...not a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Bacchus is one of our favorites, and as ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Bacchus is one of our favorites, and as requested for this special birthday, the table was set and the bubbly already chilling when we arrived. The food quality was a bit off from past visits, especially the sides. I ordered the chicken and it came with small heavy chewy dumplings and unrecognizable over cooked sautéed greens. Appetizers were good, and the others were satisfied with their entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Strongly recommended, excellent dining e ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Strongly recommended, excellent dining experience, food was an experience, the strawberry ginger soup was unlike an culinary experience I've had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good, but was less than my ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food was good, but was less than my expectations of Bartolotta's restaurants, particularly given the pricing. Top shelf prices demand top shelf food. Bacchus missed the mark. Service was outstanding - two servers keeping track of things but not hovering. The restaurant was a wonderful place for our anniversary dinner - quiet and intimate. Next time I'll select another Bartolotta's location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I chose Bacchus to celebrate my 10th wed ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I chose Bacchus to celebrate my 10th wedding anniversary with my wife. I was very pleased. The servers were very attentive to our needs and very polite. This was a nice contrast for my wife who often is providing for the needs of our 3 children and taking care of household. It was really nice to have it reversed for one evening.

The food was superb! I got the scallops, which were cooked to perfection and my wife and shared the Porter house steak. It was beautifully seared and crusted with salt. The cook on the inside was a perfect medium rare and so very tender.

Overall: We really enjoyed ourselves. Thank you for providing my wife with a wonderful dining experience. Bacchus will definitely be on list when thinking of celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We did the chef's tasting menu along wit ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We did the chef's tasting menu along with the wine pairings. Each of the courses was superb. The chef likes to surprise the guests so we didn't know what was coming. Our server asked us about any dislikes or allergies that the chef needed to aware of. We were happy with all of the courses.

Diver sea scallops

wrapped white & green asparagus

rabbit paparadelle

halibut

ribeye

chocolate and mocha beignets

The wine pairings were excellent also - sorry I don't remember all the wines.

A pricey dinner but the food and wine exceeded expectations. All of our servers - Amy, Josh and Bill took great care of us, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried to make pop music and songs like T ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Tried to make pop music and songs like Thriller to seem jazzy- weird. Server was very hesitant and gave long winded responses and descriptions that would have been nice but only if we asked for it. Restaurant was vacant and felt really stuffy. Got charged for 2 salads ($15 each) when I asked for a meal portion but the only difference was that it had 1 more egg. Food took quite some time and when it came out they didn't even have my salad right so had to redo it while everyone else ate. Their plates looked good at least but I definitely did not have a good experience

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Delicious appetizers were brought out fo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Delicious appetizers were brought out for us while we reminisced with our parents on their 58th Wedding Anniversary. Our dinners were perfection as was the service of the wait staff. The little added touch of the note card on the table wishing our parents a Happy Anniversary and the gelato that was brought out was much appreciated.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was incredibly slow (we waited 3 ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service was incredibly slow (we waited 30 minutes to order). The food was mediocre - I would've expected an exceptional meal for the price. The cocktails we're not well balanced, and while they have an extensive wine list, the reds offered by the glass were too young.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Extremely pricey. Not very busy. Excel ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Extremely pricey. Not very busy. Excellent wine menu. I ordered scallops appetizer. Good not great. Small portions. The asparagus side had 6 skinny pieces of asparagus that were rather bitter. My Main was Halibut which was prepared perfectly. Service was spot on when you needed them they were there. My dining companions had ravioli and steak. I was unimpressed with the stake. Too fatty and grizzley for my taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

My husband and I had a wonderful dining ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful dining experience at Bacchus. This was our 3 or 4th time eating there and we have never been disappointed. It is pricey but a good choice for those special occasions. And it has a great wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took visiting friends here for dinner ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We took visiting friends here for dinner. Everything was beyond our expectations. We had excellent wines, food and service.

Our only disappointment was being fairly dressed up and watching diners come in in shorts and tee shirts...not all, but a little saddened that they didn't know better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Bacchus is a lovely city restaurant. It ...

vip
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Bacchus is a lovely city restaurant. It is located in a gracious building with residences and a few offices included. There is a patio where patrons enjoy cocktails and it is open for groups. The restaurant is in a room with many windows to view the outdoors. But there is no wide "view" to speak of. The accent is on the food and it is very good. We've enjoyed the tasting menu and the wine pairings. Everything is delicious and the waitstaff is most efficient and friendly. They will discuss any dish with the customers. As much as possible is locally sourced. Wisconsin Cheeses, local vegetables. The preparation is perfect! We choose Bacchus each time we are in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our first time at the restaur ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We enjoyed our first time at the restaurant. The ambiance was lovely, the music was at a nice level and did not obstruct our conversation. The food was prepared to our satisfaction. The wine list was a bit overwhelming with so many choices. The service was efficient but our waiter was not familiar with several wines. The halibut was very good with a nice presentation. We enjoyed the pork belly appetizer but curious if our server could have recommended some fan favorites. We were disappointed to learn we missed the happy hour although we arrived early- it was not mentioned by the hostess. However we had a few cocktails at the bar after dinner and thoroughly enjoyed them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

You can always expect and excellent meal ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

You can always expect and excellent meal and service. They never disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The halibut was fantastic!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The halibut was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We did the tasting menu. It was absolut ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We did the tasting menu. It was absolutely delicious and we were able to taste things that we would never have picked for ourselves. We were able to go outside our comfort zone with very little risk since their were 6 courses, and it totally paid off. Every course went above our expectations. Additionally the service was better than anywhere else!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Veal ravioli is a must!!!!!!!!! Cannot ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Veal ravioli is a must!!!!!!!!! Cannot go wrong with anything on the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OurservicebyDianeandGeoffwasoutstanding! ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

OurservicebyDianeandGeoffwasoutstanding! Theselectionoffoodcoveredalltastes.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Bacc ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Bacchus, and had a fantastic time. The food was great, and the service was really remarkable... our server was knowledgeable, engaging and really made the experience fun. Thanks Bacchus!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went for our 50th wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We went for our 50th wedding anniversary. We were seated between 8yr and 17yr anniversary celebrators. The next table was Baseball Commish Bud Selig. Pam our waitress made suggestions. I took all and was greatly pleased with each. Halibut for me and scallops for my lady. Dessert was lemony ice cream and raspberry torte. The spinach salad with a poached egg was great. The appetizer of lamb was super. The rom was jammed but orderly and lots of people greeting old friends. What a great place. Been there before will do again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Quiet crowd on a Saturda ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Delicious food. Quiet crowd on a Saturday evening and beautiful view of Lake Michigan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ericka and Brian were fabulous. We were ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Ericka and Brian were fabulous. We were treated like royalty and given excellent dining suggestions (we asked for them). The food was beyond excellent and we enjoyed every moment and every morsel of our dining experience. One of the best meals I've ever had!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal, but compared to the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a great meal, but compared to the other Bartolatta restaurants we have gone to, the service was spotty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

My favourite Milwaukee place

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The chef and all his team are very creative at Bacchus- one of the challenges is to take a vegetarian to an upscale restaurant and find the choices are limited.

Never at Bacchus- they not only have a separate menu for vegetarians, the dishes offered on this are so good, I will forsake my pork belly loin starter for their mushroom papardelle, or the ramps or the risotto, or the soup...but the regular menu is too tempting- I enjoyed the seasonal soft-shell crab as well as the lamb meatballs and the pork loin!

The service is great, and the only thing I wish they would do better is serve warm bread. But filling up on bread is not recommended here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice Friday evening dinner

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

A lovely Friday evening dinner for two. Nice room, food was very good, wine list is novel-like, with many nice choices. Service level was attentive. Room was quiet, but we were there as the restaurant opened. I can imagine it getting louder. Not inexpensive, but not over the top either. Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

As always, Bacchus delivers.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

You do pay a good price for the food and service at Bacchus, but it is totally worth it. My husband said the lamb was the best he had ever eaten. And I love the foie gras, which is excellent, but the scallops were as well. And the dessert...coffee n donuts, to DIE FOR. Loved it. They were also great about our anniversary celebration, subdued and elegant. We will be back next year on our anniversary, if not sooner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Even with a full house the service was i ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Even with a full house the service was impeccable and the food was outstanding (as always).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a very busy Saturday , but no exc ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

It was a very busy Saturday , but no excuse for such horrible service . We waited 20 minutes before our drink order was taken and we waited over 2 hours for our entrees. The wait staff basically ignored us and never apologized for the delays until we complained!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Over priced and under delivered!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Way over priced and under delivered is what I would call my experience at Bacchus. Dinner was over 3.5 hours for 6 people. I am a foodie and would not go back. They comped us 2 of the 6 meals since our "food was not plated correctly". Really! So let's throw the group desserts - and they were just as bad. Way too much $$$ for such lousy food and service. Our group will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent as usual

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Bacchus is reliably excellent in menu and execution. not the most exotice of choices, nor the most price-friendly. Wait staff are super and chef's performance is always right on. While it verges on special occasion (due to price), the lively crowd (mostly locals) and business-casual

attire make it a frequent dining destination as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.