About Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant

925 E. Wells Street
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Bacchus offers contemporary American cuisine in a stylish, modern and sleek setting overlooking Lake Michigan in downtown Milwaukee. Boasting one of the city's most extensive wine lists and a menu that features seasonal, local ingredients. Several private rooms, including a beautiful glass-enclosed conservatory, are available for business and social occasions.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: Open for holidays, special occasions and private parties. Call for availability.

Cross Street:
Prospect Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 765-1166

Website:
http://www.bacchusmke.com/

Parking Details:
$4 for dinner.

Executive Chef:
Nick Wirth

Private Party Facilities:
Private Party Options Available

Private Party Contact:
Tricia Smith: 4147651166x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/bacchus/ for information on upcoming wine and author events!

Restaurant Photos

Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant
Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant
Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant
Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant
Spinach Salad
Sorbet Trio
Filet Mignon- Bourbon Peppercorn Cream, Sauteed Mushrooms, Potato Mousseline!
Roasted Beet Salad
PB&J
Ahi Tuna With Avocado Creme
Spiced Brownie
Seared Fois Gras
Sea Scallops
Seafood Ravioli
Braised Beef Short Rib
Spinich Salad
Buffalo Sweatbreads!!!!!!
Maine Lobster
Lobster Ravioletti
Alaskan Halibut
Bibb Lettuce Salad
Lamb Duo
Red Snapper
Chocolate Lava Cake with Vanilla Ice Cream
Watermelon And Baby Beet Salad
Ratitouille
Chalk Hill 2009 Cabernet
Lamb Chops
bacon ice cream
Chopped Romaine Salad
Molten Chocolate Cake With Hazelnuts
Pan-Roasted Chicken
Sheep Milk Ricotta Ravioli
Roasted Wild Salmon
Roasted New York Strip
Paté A Choux With Raspberry Pastry Cream
Chilled English Pea Soup
Spinach Risotto Fritters Served With A Truffled Fonduta
Scallop And Gnocchi
Sweet corn risotto
Banana Split
Hazelhut Lava Cake
Creamy Polenta With Morels And Asparagus
Lamb Ravioli
Groom Shiraz 2009 Barossa Valley
Sorbet

Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Wisconsin
Contemporary American
Wisconsin
Notable Wine List
Milwaukee
3 More
Romantic
Milwaukee
Special Occasion
Milwaukee
Contemporary American
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

Special Occasion (57)
Notable Wine List (46)
Fit for Foodies (40)
See All
Romantic (36)
Scenic View (19)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for a Date (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Business Meals (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Historic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Modern Decor (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1358 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service and award winning cuisine. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great service and award winning cuisine. The lounge bar is also a great place to stop anytime for a drink.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved our food and will be back again ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We loved our food and will be back again! My husband had the tasting menu and I had the filet and both were delicious!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I decided to celebrate our t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

My wife and I decided to celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary with dinner at Bacchus, the restaurant of choice for our first dinner as husband and wife in 2006. Bacchus is a very special restaurant, expensive, but well worth it.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bacchus is an outstanding selection for ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Bacchus is an outstanding selection for a date night or special occasion. Service is attentive without being overbearing, and the servers on each visit have been very welcoming and personable. We started sharing a small plate (rabbit ragout) and a salad (caprese with heirloom tomatoes), which were flavorful but at no risk of filling us prior to the mains. We selected filet mignon and bone-in veal chops as the mains, and finished up with a nice portion (not outrageous) of dessert - the sorbets were particularly delicious in each of the dishes.

Wine selection was good by the glass, and not outrageously priced . The bottle wine list is impressive, as are a number of the prices, but not out of line with the bottles offered. If you want to impress, this is a good place to do so.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went there for our Anniversary. I ha ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We went there for our Anniversary. I have been there before and thought ok. This time wow. The food was so good, the service grand and the whole experience has now put Bacchus on my list to go to again. The appetizer - Veal Ravioli was so good, I would get that as an entree. The desserts was so yummy also. The entrees were great. Overall I would rate this restaurant 5 stars.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bacchus is our destination for special o ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Bacchus is our destination for special occasions and once again did not disappoint. I ordered the veal and my spouse had the halibut -- both were fantastic. Wine list is extensive with many moderate priced selections. There were some service lapses, but I think this was a staffing issue as they were very busy on a Friday night -- servers are very knowledgable about the menu and wine list. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Bacchus service is always outstanding... ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Bacchus service is always outstanding...and the food was perfectly prepared and presented. Incredible wine list and full cocktail options made the before dinner conversations pleasurable...and the desserts are awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was superb. I will definitely come back to this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ryane was our server and he was great! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Ryane was our server and he was great! Our experiences here have always been amazing and we can't wait to come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They have very good vegetarian selection ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

They have very good vegetarian selection and unique dishes.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner for 4 was a wonderful evening tha ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Dinner for 4 was a wonderful evening thanks to the great service, ambiance and food at Bacchus. We enjoyed specialty cocktails, fine wine, starters, salads, entrees and desert.

Everything presented in a sophisticated, but not too pretentious, manner. Flavors always balanced beautiful.

We noticed a proclivity to rely on pork and fennel, but always done in harmony with the other flavors in the dish.

Beautiful building, beautiful view...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and service in the restaurant ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great food and service in the restaurant and bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The quintessential American restaurant t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The quintessential American restaurant that does things the right way. Menu has a lot of middle-of-the-road choices, and a good number of options for those who want a new taste experience. Both paths lead to rewarding meals. Service was well-paced, especially when I ordered the six-course tasting menu (highly recommended!), while my wife had three. A perfect place for business dinners, special occasions, or just a very good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Bartollata's never disappoints- such a c ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Bartollata's never disappoints- such a culinary gem!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hard to find a quiet eating place for a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Hard to find a quiet eating place for a business meeting. This restaurant is perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really enjoyed the great food and serv ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I really enjoyed the great food and service my girlfriend and myself had at the restraurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We tried Bacchus for the first time on o ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We tried Bacchus for the first time on our second anniversary. They have a delicious menu and it was well worth the price

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Super service and food. Top in Milwaukee ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Super service and food. Top in Milwaukee for high end dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and wine list. The service wa ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food and wine list. The service was excellent. I will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Due to a diet, I haven't dined out big t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Due to a diet, I haven't dined out big time in a long while. A mini vacation to Milwaukee and some dining research brought me to Bacchus. It is a beautiful spot in Milwaukee near the lake.

The winelist has some gems on it. Their big reds may be a little young, yet. They have a wide variety of varietals, however. I never thought of seeing DRC on a restaurant winelist in Wisconsin.

I'm a former vinophile and my date is not a heavy drinker, but they have NV Krug by the glass and it was reasonably priced. They graciously poured a serving in two glasses for us.

My date is a very picky eater, but saw foie gras on the menu and wanted to try it. I obliged even though fois gras is too rich for my palate. It was served breakfast style with Brioche French toast, bacon, maple syrup and a quail egg. Everything was properly cooked and well executed, but it just needed some acidity to balance the richness of the dish. The Krug paired pretty well with the dish, though.

I ordered a beet and melon salad. The beets were very fresh and the dish was plated artfully. I nearly drank the melon juice that was left.

For the mains my date ordered the chicken and I had the Waygu. The sweet potato hash on my plate was very tasty. The meat was cooked perfectly and seasoned very as well. Very nice and balanced dish.

My date's chicken was incredible. Bacchus' Madeira sauce was extremely rich and complex. I was floored by it. The chicken was cooked perfectly as well, major kudos.

The service was attentive throughout the meal was when it was time to pay, it took a little long. I headed for the restroom and our server was talking to the bartender.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Most of the meal was ok with the excepti ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Most of the meal was ok with the exception of hair in the dessert. Also, the manager came to see how we were doing and knocked my husband's red wine glass all over him. The replaced the wine, but we would've preferred to have it comp'ed. Overall...not a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Bacchus is one of our favorites, and as ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Bacchus is one of our favorites, and as requested for this special birthday, the table was set and the bubbly already chilling when we arrived. The food quality was a bit off from past visits, especially the sides. I ordered the chicken and it came with small heavy chewy dumplings and unrecognizable over cooked sautéed greens. Appetizers were good, and the others were satisfied with their entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Strongly recommended, excellent dining e ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Strongly recommended, excellent dining experience, food was an experience, the strawberry ginger soup was unlike an culinary experience I've had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good, but was less than my ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food was good, but was less than my expectations of Bartolotta's restaurants, particularly given the pricing. Top shelf prices demand top shelf food. Bacchus missed the mark. Service was outstanding - two servers keeping track of things but not hovering. The restaurant was a wonderful place for our anniversary dinner - quiet and intimate. Next time I'll select another Bartolotta's location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I chose Bacchus to celebrate my 10th wed ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I chose Bacchus to celebrate my 10th wedding anniversary with my wife. I was very pleased. The servers were very attentive to our needs and very polite. This was a nice contrast for my wife who often is providing for the needs of our 3 children and taking care of household. It was really nice to have it reversed for one evening.

The food was superb! I got the scallops, which were cooked to perfection and my wife and shared the Porter house steak. It was beautifully seared and crusted with salt. The cook on the inside was a perfect medium rare and so very tender.

Overall: We really enjoyed ourselves. Thank you for providing my wife with a wonderful dining experience. Bacchus will definitely be on list when thinking of celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We did the chef's tasting menu along wit ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We did the chef's tasting menu along with the wine pairings. Each of the courses was superb. The chef likes to surprise the guests so we didn't know what was coming. Our server asked us about any dislikes or allergies that the chef needed to aware of. We were happy with all of the courses.

Diver sea scallops

wrapped white & green asparagus

rabbit paparadelle

halibut

ribeye

chocolate and mocha beignets

The wine pairings were excellent also - sorry I don't remember all the wines.

A pricey dinner but the food and wine exceeded expectations. All of our servers - Amy, Josh and Bill took great care of us, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried to make pop music and songs like T ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Tried to make pop music and songs like Thriller to seem jazzy- weird. Server was very hesitant and gave long winded responses and descriptions that would have been nice but only if we asked for it. Restaurant was vacant and felt really stuffy. Got charged for 2 salads ($15 each) when I asked for a meal portion but the only difference was that it had 1 more egg. Food took quite some time and when it came out they didn't even have my salad right so had to redo it while everyone else ate. Their plates looked good at least but I definitely did not have a good experience

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Delicious appetizers were brought out fo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Delicious appetizers were brought out for us while we reminisced with our parents on their 58th Wedding Anniversary. Our dinners were perfection as was the service of the wait staff. The little added touch of the note card on the table wishing our parents a Happy Anniversary and the gelato that was brought out was much appreciated.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was incredibly slow (we waited 3 ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service was incredibly slow (we waited 30 minutes to order). The food was mediocre - I would've expected an exceptional meal for the price. The cocktails we're not well balanced, and while they have an extensive wine list, the reds offered by the glass were too young.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Extremely pricey. Not very busy. Excel ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Extremely pricey. Not very busy. Excellent wine menu. I ordered scallops appetizer. Good not great. Small portions. The asparagus side had 6 skinny pieces of asparagus that were rather bitter. My Main was Halibut which was prepared perfectly. Service was spot on when you needed them they were there. My dining companions had ravioli and steak. I was unimpressed with the stake. Too fatty and grizzley for my taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

My husband and I had a wonderful dining ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful dining experience at Bacchus. This was our 3 or 4th time eating there and we have never been disappointed. It is pricey but a good choice for those special occasions. And it has a great wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took visiting friends here for dinner ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We took visiting friends here for dinner. Everything was beyond our expectations. We had excellent wines, food and service.

Our only disappointment was being fairly dressed up and watching diners come in in shorts and tee shirts...not all, but a little saddened that they didn't know better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Bacchus is a lovely city restaurant. It ...

vip
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Bacchus is a lovely city restaurant. It is located in a gracious building with residences and a few offices included. There is a patio where patrons enjoy cocktails and it is open for groups. The restaurant is in a room with many windows to view the outdoors. But there is no wide "view" to speak of. The accent is on the food and it is very good. We've enjoyed the tasting menu and the wine pairings. Everything is delicious and the waitstaff is most efficient and friendly. They will discuss any dish with the customers. As much as possible is locally sourced. Wisconsin Cheeses, local vegetables. The preparation is perfect! We choose Bacchus each time we are in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our first time at the restaur ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We enjoyed our first time at the restaurant. The ambiance was lovely, the music was at a nice level and did not obstruct our conversation. The food was prepared to our satisfaction. The wine list was a bit overwhelming with so many choices. The service was efficient but our waiter was not familiar with several wines. The halibut was very good with a nice presentation. We enjoyed the pork belly appetizer but curious if our server could have recommended some fan favorites. We were disappointed to learn we missed the happy hour although we arrived early- it was not mentioned by the hostess. However we had a few cocktails at the bar after dinner and thoroughly enjoyed them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

You can always expect and excellent meal ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

You can always expect and excellent meal and service. They never disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The halibut was fantastic!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The halibut was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We did the tasting menu. It was absolut ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We did the tasting menu. It was absolutely delicious and we were able to taste things that we would never have picked for ourselves. We were able to go outside our comfort zone with very little risk since their were 6 courses, and it totally paid off. Every course went above our expectations. Additionally the service was better than anywhere else!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Veal ravioli is a must!!!!!!!!! Cannot ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Veal ravioli is a must!!!!!!!!! Cannot go wrong with anything on the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OurservicebyDianeandGeoffwasoutstanding! ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

OurservicebyDianeandGeoffwasoutstanding! Theselectionoffoodcoveredalltastes.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Bacc ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Bacchus, and had a fantastic time. The food was great, and the service was really remarkable... our server was knowledgeable, engaging and really made the experience fun. Thanks Bacchus!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.