About Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant

Bacchus offers contemporary American cuisine in a stylish, modern and sleek setting overlooking Lake Michigan in downtown Milwaukee. Boasting one of the city's most extensive wine lists and a menu that features seasonal, local ingredients. Several private rooms, including a beautiful glass-enclosed conservatory, are available for business and social occasions.

925 E. Wells Street
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: Open for holidays, special occasions and private parties. Call for availability.

Cross Street:
Prospect Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 765-1166

Website:
http://www.bacchusmke.com/

Parking Details:
$4 for dinner.

Executive Chef:
Nick Wirth

Private Party Facilities:
Private Party Options Available

Private Party Contact:
Tricia Smith: (414) 765-1166

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/bacchus/ for information on upcoming wine and author events!

Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good for a Date (24)
Romantic (20)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Modern Decor (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Business Meals (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Scenic View (6)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Private Room (4)
Waterfront (4)
Fun (4)
Seasonal (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Historic (3)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Cozy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1480 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The filet was better than expected...exc ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

The filet was better than expected...exceptional flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Well prepared! Good service ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food. Well prepared! Good service! Easy parking! Pleasant servers! Great filet and roasted potatos!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Immediately disappointed by a stained ta ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Immediately disappointed by a stained tablecloth. Service was friendly but out of step. Specials for the evening were not described. Felt I was rushed in and rushed out. Will look for another upscale restaurant before returning.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Love Bartolottas but this first visit to ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Love Bartolottas but this first visit to this location was a disappointment. Food mixed - filet mignon was a disappointment and overcooked. Special rib eye was good. Sticky toffee pudding was meh. Not very good and also pricey. Wish we did Lake Park instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

My wife and I first went to Bacchus for ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I first went to Bacchus for a nice dinner last Valentine's Day since then we have been several times for the wine pairing dinners, the Holiday Champagne Dinner, birthday dinners, and an outing with a group of friends. I have never been disappointed. The food and the service have been exceptional every time. This has quickly become our favorite restaurant and our repeat Valentine's Day dinner date yesterday did not disappoint. Bryant, the general manager, made sure to greet us and thanked us for being there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Authentic, Casual, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster bisque was amazing but unfor ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

The lobster bisque was amazing but unfortunately when it came to the filet, it was a bit over cooked (I asked for medium). It came already sliced so I don't know if it sat under the heating lamps but it seemed pretty dried out. What should have been a moist filet was just dry and hard to get through unfortunately. I also added two scallops to my entree; what I received was laughingly tiny scallops. Disappointment to say the least for how much we spent on our meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food as you would expect. Prices ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food as you would expect. Prices were high as you would expect. Portions weren't very big. Didn't like the forced valet even though there was room in the lot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

The Bacchus restaurant used to be one of ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

The Bacchus restaurant used to be one of our favorite restaurants to eat dinner in Milwaukee. It is a place that I take business clients to, my wife and I would spend special occasions, or just a place to have a quiet dinner. I say “used to be one of our favorite restaurants” due to our experience on Tuesday.

We arrived for our reservation and were seated in the atrium area. The hostess provided us menus and the wine list. We waited for our server, but they never arrived. Being Valentine’s Day we attributed the delay to the restaurant being busy. However, there were still a number of open tables in our area and we saw couple after couple seated after us receive service, drinks, and even appetizers before we had met our waiter or even received water. After 15-20 minutes I had to approach the hostess stand to inform them that we haven’t been served yet. We again waited. By this point we had decided to just leave and I proceeded to call other restaurants for reservations. However, because it was Valentine’s Day all other restaurants were already booked, or we would have immediately left. Finally, our waiter arrived and apologized for the wait providing no reason for the delay. The manager visited our table shortly thereafter and apologized and told us if we stayed they would make it right and the service would better there forward. It was not. Throughout dinner we were left waiting for service to remove our finished plates for extended times, refill our empty water and drinks, and even waited an extended period of time with an empty table to receive just the menu to order desert. The service level never improved from the initial disappointment.

Perhaps this was a one off experience, but the potential of it not being an isolated experience will be a consideration for us in the future as we choose a place to go out to dinner, entertain clients, have private events catered, or when we recommend restaurants to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Fantastic food, cannot fault any of the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic food, cannot fault any of the cuisine. Service is beyond excellent. Although, really spendy. If you don't mind spending $35 for a piece of very tasty trout, then this is the place for you. For everybody else, learn to cook.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Awesome Valentines Day dinner❤️ Ravioli ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome Valentines Day dinner❤️

Ravioli veal awesome

Spinach pork belly egg salad awesome

Husband ordered Sea Bass excellent

I ordered Thai Chicken excellent except my stir fry veggies were a little too well done

Desserts were Key Lime and House Sorbets awesome 👍🏻Loved the Blood Orange 🍊 sorbet

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went to out the day bef ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My husband and I went to out the day before Valentine's Day to celebrate. It was perfect!! Our waiters were excellent and quite knowledgeable regarding suggestions for wine, drinks, dinner and dessert. It was our first time here and will not be our last. Our evening was perfect.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic. Bartolotta's always ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was fantastic. Bartolotta's always does a fabulous job, especially at Bacchus. Already looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Nantucket scallops were worth every p ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My Nantucket scallops were worth every penny. I'll be dreaming of them. Until we meet again. Pricy food and wine but special in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is excellent. We tried the gril ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food is excellent. We tried the grilled octopus at the bar while we waited for our table. We waited a little longer than expected (maybe 15 minutes) and they comped our drinks and appetizer. The service is perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Valentines Day early

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Valentines Day early

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I've been to several Bartolotta restaura ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I've been to several Bartolotta restaurants and this was my first time at Bacchus. I went with my 19 year old daughter and we both enjoyed the evening very much. The food and service were excellent and it is now one of my favorite Bartolotta restaurants!

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Of our 12 anniversaries, we have gone to ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Of our 12 anniversaries, we have gone to Bacchus for 6. It is always phenomenal food and service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is always terrific. Food was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The service is always terrific. Food was exceptional. You get what you pay for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was extremely memorable! We ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The service was extremely memorable! We went there for my boyfriend's birthday and the restaurant celebrated with us with a gorgeous dessert and birthday card. The wine was another exceptional component to dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We've been twice in the last month and t ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We've been twice in the last month and the food has been outstanding. They have a very friendly staff and attentive service without hovering. Ambiance is nice but we go for the food!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We will come again. The food was superb ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We will come again. The food was superb and the atmosphere was very romantic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Had an exceptional experience 2015 and 2 ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had an exceptional experience 2015 and 2016 unfortunately did not fill expectations. Food was good, but was not hot. Most annoying was the location of our table: get like a hall way and a constant draft made the evening not enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

We had a wonderful time at Bacchus. My w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a wonderful time at Bacchus. My wife agreed that the Old Fashions we had for cocktails were the best we have ever had. The service was impeccable and the ambience was fantastic. The only complaint we have is that my wife ordered the Filet Mignon cooked medium, and it was very rare. It looked like it had basically kissed the flat top and was then pulled off. My wife ate the steak, as the quality of meat was so good that she could eat it that way. Other than that we loved Bacchus and would recommend it to anyone looking for a pleasurable evening of fine dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It was my first time at Bacchus. It was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was my first time at Bacchus. It was everything I was expecting and more. The food was absolutely amazing—it blew my girlfriend and I away! The service was perfect, and the design of the place was beautiful.

The food is definitely worth the price.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you're looking to treat yourself to a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

If you're looking to treat yourself to a fine-dining experience, this is definitely one of the places in Downtown Milwaukee that you should consider. Great food, service, and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Bartolotta Restruants all have great ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The Bartolotta Restruants all have great food, great atmosphere and very over priced wine. We understand they have to mark up a bottle of wine two or three times what we would pay for it in a store. But the real shocker comes when you order by the glass and see how little you get, they should be embarrassed. If the staff would take the time to watch the customers face when they take the glass to the table they would see the disappointment their customer feels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Traveling thru Milwaukee we make any Bar ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Traveling thru Milwaukee we make any Bartolottas restaurants a must visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bacchus is always exceptional. The servi ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Bacchus is always exceptional. The service was great. The food was superb. The wine list is great. A wonderful evening was had by all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter, Daniel was outstanding. He r ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our waiter, Daniel was outstanding. He recommended three wine options, all with varying price points that would pair nicely with our meal. We also inquired about 3 times on the multiple chef specialties, and Daniel was so accommodating. Service was fantastic, wine was delicious, and food was outstanding. Highly recommend and will certainly return in the future. While this particular Bartolotta restaurant can certainly be pricey compared to others, the service and experience is worth every penny.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As vegetarians Bacchus is our go to date ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 17, 2016

As vegetarians Bacchus is our go to date spot. I love that they have a dedicated vegetarian menu. We had the carmalized cauliflower soup and pappardelle with mushrooms and brown butter most recently folowed by a wonderful chocolate confection.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have an annual business meal with a v ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We have an annual business meal with a very important client who absolutely loves this restaurant. My client and business colleagues enjoyed their meals and the wine recommended by your staff. Nick Wirth stopped by our table prior to our meal selections to provide insight and again after our dinner. We felt quite welcomed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful meal and a wonderful ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Always a wonderful meal and a wonderful experience because of the professional but fun staff

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We both ordered the tasting menu. The di ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We both ordered the tasting menu. The disappointment came in that each of six courses were just tiny versions of regular menu items. We were given a refreshing complimentary sorbet trio and champagne after dinner as a surprise for being our 30th wedding anniversary. Nice touch.

We've had tasting menus elsewhere who's chefs offered inspired and exception dishes highlighting their culinary expertise, not offered on their regular menu. Expected the same from Bacchus.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

The very best restaurant we have ever be ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The very best restaurant we have ever been to. We celebrated our 5 year anniversary and Bacchus made it very special. Their wine list is larger than their menu but that doesn't take away from the food. The food is very delicious and displayed well on the plates. And the service, so great and personal that I wish I could dine there more often. Though I cannot for it is 4 hours away, but I definitely recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always!!!!!!!!!!!!

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent as always!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bacchus is my go-to place to bring frien ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Bacchus is my go-to place to bring friends and loved ones. The food was excellent as usual and the service was fantastic. Always a pleasure to dine there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Positives: Service Time it took to get f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Positives:

Service

Time it took to get food/wine

Entrees (Sea Bass and Scallops)

Improvements Suggested:

The pear salad and octopus appetizer were very small/expsensive. I even asked about portion size of both and in no way was I given an idea of their actual size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I tend to go to Bacchus for very special ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I tend to go to Bacchus for very special occasions like birthdays and anniversaries. The service is first class and the food is always incredible. Bacchus is not inexpensive, however, it is a wonderful venue for those special occasions and special people in your life.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful time at Bacchus. Food wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Had a wonderful time at Bacchus. Food was excellent and service was impeccable. I only wish they would bring back the Porterhouse for two.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there early so it wasn't busy at ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We were there early so it wasn't busy at all. Ordered the braised rabbit, grilled octopus and veal ravioli as appetizers to share. The octopus was perfectly done, the rabbit tender and the ravioli flavorful. Had the cauliflower soup and for the entree, the wagyu steak. Everything was delicious.

The wine list is extensive. One of the widest I've seen anywhere in the area. Staff was attentive and knowledgeable.

Overall a great fine dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.