Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant

Bacchus offers contemporary American cuisine in a stylish, modern and sleek setting overlooking Lake Michigan in downtown Milwaukee. Boasting one of the city's most extensive wine lists and a menu that features seasonal, local ingredients. Several private rooms, including a beautiful glass-enclosed conservatory, are available for business and social occasions.

925 E. Wells Street
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: Open for holidays, special occasions and private parties. Call for availability.

Cross Street:
Prospect Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 765-1166

Website:
http://www.bacchusmke.com/

Parking Details:
$4 for dinner.

Executive Chef:
Nick Wirth

Private Party Facilities:
Private Party Options Available

Private Party Contact:
Tricia Smith: (414) 765-1166

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/bacchus/ for information on upcoming wine and author events!

Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (22)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
See All
Romantic (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Business Meals (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Scenic View (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Waterfront (2)
Authentic (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1553 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful restaurant. Among the best high end restuarants in Milwaukee. Superb wine list. Great service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Tenderloin for two was a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 13, 2017

The server was very professional and an excellent server, very polite, and attentive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 10, 2017

My husband, parents and I were in Milwaukee for a Packers game and found this place by the Marriott recommendation email. Bar is lovely and great selection of drinks and wine. I read about the Chef's Tasting menu and we decided to go for that. It was awesome! We loved everything and the Wisconsin cheese board at the end was amazing. We had such a great experience. Erika, our server, was delightful and very knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Excellent meal and very knowledgeable staff. The staff was very friendly but not obtrusive.
Would definitely recommend

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had most of the place to ourselves. Did the 5 course chefs menu and it was phenominal. A memorable night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Delicious food and autsanding service at very elegant restaurant. We enjoyed everthing. Thank you.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 5, 2017

The limited menu speaks to Bacchus' commitment to quality. The service was very attentive. Each course was a culinary delight. The wine list expansive.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The only reason we went here for our anniversary is because I had $225 in gift cards for it. We still had to cough up a $20 so there'd be enough for a tip since the service was fine. The food and drinks were fine EXCEPT I HAD TO SPIT OUT AT LEAST 3 MOUTHFULS OF STEAK because it was either too raw or fatty/gristly to swallow. The flavors were good and mashed potatoes were outstanding but $245 for a dinner for two is way over the top for a porterhouse steak for two with mashed potatoes (& an additional side of potatoes), mushrooms and asparagus, some tiny fried shrimp thing over grits, a chunk of aged cheese, a few pieces of bread, 2 cocktails and 3 glasses of wine. Also, they were aware that it was our 27th wedding anniversary and both waitstaff congratulated us and then one of them gave us a lame card from the restaurant - not even a small gift card to use on another date or a nice dessert to split or something. Another downer was I didn't like the choices of vegetables they had and asked if they could give me a side of cooked carrots or green beans but she said they didn't have any! The menu was very lacking in choices as well...We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We had a lovely experience. The service and atmosphere were outstanding. The staff made us feel very special for our anniversary. It was perfect! Thank you.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 25, 2017

everything was the best! Food, service, ambiance-all exceptional. We had the 5 course, fixed price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary here. Our first time at Bacchus, (although we have dined at many of the other Bartolotta restaurants). We enjoyed a 7-course chef's tasting menu. Fantastic! Our team of servers were attentive, friendly, and thoughtful. When we were seated at our table, a lovely handwritten place card acknowledging our special day was waiting. As a special surprise, in addition to the dessert course, they brought an assortment of delicious handmade sorbets served on a plate with Happy Anniversary piped onto the perimeter of the plate in chocolate. We enjoy outstanding food and exceptional service. The staff and food quality scored top marks in both categories.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Phenomenal food, excellent service, great atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere and gracious service but the food is unbelievably expensive especially considering the gourmet portions. Tasty and nice just too expensive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

We celebrated our 31st wedding anniversary at Bacchus. The staff was friendly and helpful from the very beginning. They gave us an anniversary card as well as a glass of champagne to start the evening off. Our servers were Ryan and Moses. The service was phenomenal. They were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. We chose the tasting menu with one wine pairing. (had to drive home) Each course was better than the previous. We had only considered Bacchus because we had been to the Young Guns dinner at the Rumpus Room and found information on Bacchus. The Young Guns dinner was an excellent experience as well. (Sous Chef's took the center stage at the Young Guns dinner) Bacchus is not as expensive as it could be and is truly a fine dining experience. We will be back. Hat's off to the chefs - especially David!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had the 7-course tasting option, and it was incredible. The chef prepared delicious course after course! The serving sizes were just right, as we left after 7 courses and weren't uncomfortably full.
Highly recommend this.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

A wonderful meal with attentive staff! We did the tasting menu and the staff was very accommodating of my husband's tree nut allergy. The food was beautiful and delicious and we even got a special treat as we were celebrating our anniversary! We are waiting for a menu change to go back and eat more food put out by this amazing chef.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 10, 2017

I always love this place for a special occasion. The tasting menu with the wine pairing is always something special.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Had a wonderful anniversary dinner here. Can't say enough about the service! The staff is top notch and they know their stuff. Dinner was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Amazing food, amazing service. This is my absolute favorite restaurant. Every dish is brilliantly put together to create exciting and innovative taste combinations. Though expensive, I have never felt like I failed to get my money's worth here. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome, are happy to make any accommodations you want, and are very knowledgeable about every menu item. If you want the best Milwaukee has to offer, I cannot recommend Bacchus enough.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We were last in your venue in 1984 when we dined at the Fleur de Lis. We plan to get back in less than 33 years next time! :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We had the 5 course tasting menu and the food was absolutely excellent! In addition, every wine pairing was extremely good as well. However, there simply was not enough food served. For example, 2 tortellinis in one course is simply not enough. I am a 125 pound woman and I left hungry.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Ryan and Josh were fantastic. The food was great. This is our wedding anniversary go to restaurant and it does not disappoint. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Stumbled across this restaurant as we were taking a walk and quickly changed our reservation. We received a warm welcome and it just kept getting better. I strongly suggest the 7 course tasting menu with the accompanied beverage tasting.
Out of this world and I am beyond picky!
I will not miss a visit anytime I am in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was my second time dining at Bacchus. Not quite as enchanting as the first visit, but that is because our waiter on that first occasion was spectacular, while this fellow was competent. Food was amazing, wine list solid. Will be returning.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We adore this place for way too many reasons. Our favorite restaurant in Milwaukee. Hands down!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The atmosphere , food and service are always exceptional. The level of service is noteworthy because it does not matter when you come; the staff is always attentive and helpful. I don't think I have ever had a dish that was not done to perfection. It's a Wisconsin treasure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Wonderful service from a knowledgeable waiter who was helpful and interesting. Food was excellent, view from patio was beautiful and we enjoyed a fantastic meal. Location of our first anniversary dinner 31 years ago (when restaurant was Fleur-de-lis) the Bacchus team provides an elegant service with top notch food. We haven't lived in Wisconsin for over 30 years but Milwaukee should be proud of this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We did the tasting menu. The Scallops were amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Wonderful and personal service..

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Fantastic service, and the food was outstanding. I'll be coming back here any chance I can get.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We drove in from Mukwonago, dinner with friends, celebrating my birthday. Everything was perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Outstanding service and amazing food! Bacchus is a real gem in Milwaukee!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We arrived an hour before our reservation to enjoy the lovely bar area. We learned a lot about specialty drinks from Amber (one of the bar tenders). Following that we had a marvelous dinner which included 2 of my favorites: a beef carpaccio appetizer and a spinach salad featuring pork belly. This was followed by a beautifully prepared filet mignon. The wait staff was friendly, responsive to our requests and an actual delight to talk with.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Lovely restaurant with very friendly wait staff. The prices are fairly high. The food is well presented, but just good, not great for the price. Good wine and delicious chocolate martinis! We walked from our hotel and it is very convenient to get to by foot from most hotels in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

always amazing - only slight disappointment was with the traffic of waitstaff behind my husbands seat; lots of bumping into him throughout the meal which was fairly annoying, but the service, food and ambiance in every other way was amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The chefs must be excellent. The recipes were very creative and the preparation was perfect This goes for both the main course and the desserts . It was a little on the expensive side, and portions were not large, but the food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My husband took me here for our anniversary the food and service was outstanding! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great birthday celebration. Every staff member was friendly, helpful and efficient. The birthday dessert sorbet was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very good, but very small plate even per European standard.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.