Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant

Bacchus offers contemporary American cuisine in a stylish, modern and sleek setting overlooking Lake Michigan in downtown Milwaukee. Boasting one of the city's most extensive wine lists and a menu that features seasonal, local ingredients. Several private rooms, including a beautiful glass-enclosed conservatory, are available for business and social occasions.

925 E. Wells Street
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: Open for holidays, special occasions and private parties. Call for availability.

Cross Street:
Prospect Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 765-1166

Website:
http://www.bacchusmke.com/

Parking Details:
$4 for dinner.

Executive Chef:
Nick Wirth

Private Party Facilities:
Private Party Options Available

Private Party Contact:
Tricia Smith: (414) 765-1166

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/bacchus/ for information on upcoming wine and author events!

Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Romantic (37)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Notable Wine List (28)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Business Meals (17)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Scenic View (11)
Cozy (8)
Waterfront (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Authentic (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Private Room (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Historic (3)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Tapas (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1518 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

We arrived an hour before our reservation to enjoy the lovely bar area. We learned a lot about specialty drinks from Amber (one of the bar tenders). Following that we had a marvelous dinner which included 2 of my favorites: a beef carpaccio appetizer and a spinach salad featuring pork belly. This was followed by a beautifully prepared filet mignon. The wait staff was friendly, responsive to our requests and an actual delight to talk with.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely restaurant with very friendly wait staff. The prices are fairly high. The food is well presented, but just good, not great for the price. Good wine and delicious chocolate martinis! We walked from our hotel and it is very convenient to get to by foot from most hotels in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

always amazing - only slight disappointment was with the traffic of waitstaff behind my husbands seat; lots of bumping into him throughout the meal which was fairly annoying, but the service, food and ambiance in every other way was amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

The chefs must be excellent. The recipes were very creative and the preparation was perfect This goes for both the main course and the desserts . It was a little on the expensive side, and portions were not large, but the food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband took me here for our anniversary the food and service was outstanding! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great birthday celebration. Every staff member was friendly, helpful and efficient. The birthday dessert sorbet was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very good, but very small plate even per European standard.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We ate here for the Mother's Day Brunch and the food was fabulous! The service was great, they were very attentive and it was a great experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were in Milwaukee for Mothers Day weekend and I wanted to take my wife to a special place and we have always had wonderful meals at Bartolotta Restaurants. The server we had was very friendly and knowledgeable. But we waited awhile before water etc came, and it took quite awhile for our meal to come. My wife ordered the lamb which she said was wonderful. I ordered the filet and it came to the table warm, not what I would expect and told the server who said "I will tell them". I was not looking for a free meal, but no one came and check with us or give an explanation. You were not that busy so it was surprising that we had the slow service. Again the server was very good so do not know if it was the kitchen or what. I also fee the wine prices for the glass was high. We have a daughter in New York who we visit and we go to great steak places so we are used to paying high prices. My wife does disagree with me on the service but admits it was slow. I just feel that we did not get a good value for the price we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

From appetizer to dessert, the food was absolutely amazing. The 100 day dried ribeye is superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Made a reservation. Arrived a few minutes early (even though parking was difficult to find) and the hostess apologized that our table was not ready yet. We went to sit at the bar and ordered a drink and even before our drink arrived the hostess was able to seat us so we lost almost no time from when the reservation was made. The wait staff was extremely knowledgeable of the menu, wines, and inquired as to preferences. The staff stopped by multiple times, refilled water glasses without asking, and made sure we wanted for nothing. We did the Chef's tasting with wine pairings and it was an excellent experience! The wines were well paired with the food and it allowed us to try a variety of items/flavors to get a feel for the menu. While the servings were not large, we were very satisfied by the last course. I would especially recommend the bolognese and Chianti as they were exceptional! The dining area was not overly crowded and the atmosphere was very elegant and we could have a decent conversation without shouting or feeling like everyone could hear. I would not recommend if you are trying to save money or looking for a cheap meal (don't expect a 2 for $20 situation). However, you can expect good, quality food worth the prices. I would also not recommend if you are not used to wearing a suit or dressing up for your meals. The atmosphere seems to run to suit coats/sports coats for men and dresses or a nice pant/top outfit for women. I will be dining with Bacchus again as it was worth every penny we spent!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food as always was spectacular and the service was spot on we are repeat customer and plan to be back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 4, 2017

All personnel attentive, alert, knowledgeable, pleasant.

Food outstanding, wonderfully prepared and presented. Imaginative and varied menu.

Wines superb.

A winner in all ways.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I had the wagyu bavette steak while my girlfriend had the filet mignon. Both were incredible. Staff was very friendly and efficient. I intend to come here again.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Bacchus is always a treat. We were celebrating my wife's and my daughter's birthday so we decided to splurge at Bacchus. It was pricey for a family of five, but it was an experience that my girls will never forget. The service was perfect. Not too much, not too little. Cheese course was amazing. Thank you for a great night and memory.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very disappointing. It took over 25 mins before someone acknowledge us. The waitress stood at the table next to us talking to them most of the time. Hardly acknowledged us. After dinner we went to a different restaurant for dessert and a glass wine.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Bachus is always a great choice of place to dine, meet a friend or spend a holiday. The service is excellent, the food is outstanding and the ambience is of highest class! Total enjoyment!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is our Easter tradition. It is bright and the staff is so well-trained that you are truly able to enjoy the conversation. The "pick one from each" provides wide variety. The food is always good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Our server was wonderful and the food delicious
A thoroughly enjoyable dinner in a lovely restaurant

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our appetizer, salads, and entrees. We appreciated the assistance in choosing a good wine to go with our dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My wife and I attend Bacchus on special occasions............ Wedding Anniversaries, celebrations, etc

The wait staff is always gracious, understanding and polite.

Price is high, food good, portions reasonable, ALL staff connected with the restaurant are very accommodating :-)

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We had an amazing meal at Bacchus this week. The striped bass with coconut curry sauce was fantastic with its crispy skin and spring rolls. Our usual favorites of the tuna tartare appetizer and spinach salad we up to their normal high standards.

Bacchus did not disappoint and we will go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This was the best meal we ever had at this restaurant. 2 of us had the 5 course but the chef still gave a taste of some to the third. The waitress was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This was our first time here and decided on the Tasting Menu. The food was good as was the service but nothing special. They knew it was our 25th anniversary and I was a bit surprised they did nothing for it. Bigger concern was the food was just alright, nothing special, makes me wonder if the regular menu is any better. Given that, the price point seems a bit high.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 24, 2017

It couldn't have been a lovelier dining experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 20, 2017

First time at Bacchus and it was excellent. Hope to come back soon. Staff was excellent!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our food was stellar! Wine was great... service was friendly and had great suggestions. Very accommodating to our needs/wants. Just everything was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

For the last 5 years my fiancé and I have been going to Bartolottas restaurants every year for our birthdays and this was the first time we've been to Bacchus. The food, atmosphere and service was amazing. We will be back again!

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had not been to Bacchus in many years and were excited to return. Unfortunately we were underwhelmed. We were expecting the best in food and we were disappointed, especially with the mozzarella salad and the Wild Striped Bass entree. Both were just "ok." We felt it was not the fine dining experience we were hoping for, particularly at the prices we paid!

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 7, 2017

On Tuesday, March 7th I brought in a group of students in for a field trip from the Art Institute of Wisconsin culinary department. The overall experience matched up to what I had explained to my students of a fine dining restaurant experience. From the greet to the final departure it was fantastic! Being a restaurant manager of many years myself I was impressed! Our main server Diana was outstanding as well as her assistant. They even went above and beyond and provided us additional learning experiences in regards to wine service. The 5 course menu was also well worth the amount we paid. Props to the kitchen on their work that evening as well. I would highly recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Celebrating 2 birthdays & chose the 5 course tasting menu for all at the table...a great value & fun experience!
Highly recommended - this is a premier place & not just for Milwaukee - it can stand up to any city in the country.

It is consistent with high quality food & service. A wonderful choice for any event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great service, complimentary champagne for our anniversary which is always a treat, food was amazing as always. However, rated the ambiance a bit lower only because the lights were extremely bright in there which killed any sort of romantic mood that usually that restaurant allows. Was a bit odd for how bright it was and "off" for that atmosphere.

Tags: Disabled Access, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We did the 7 course pairing. Enjoyed all the wonderful wines and a great selection of courses. It was black truffle night so we had a few dishes topped with truffle, exquisite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The food was exquisite, in appearance and quality. The service was impeccable. Daniel was attentive, accommodating and knowledgeable. The food was expensive (we did a Chef's choice, 5-course, with wine pairing), but worth every penny. Cannot wait to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The filet was better than expected...exceptional flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great experience overall. Was my husbands birthday. Food was great. At the end we spent over $200 and then the offered a complimentary dessert. Unfortunately they charged us for it. Didn't notice until a week later when I was throwing out the receipt . They did refund us but it's something that was inconvenient and wish they could have been more cognizant. Mistakes happen... overall my favorite of all the bartolotta experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food. Well prepared! Good service! Easy parking! Pleasant servers! Great filet and roasted potatos!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Immediately disappointed by a stained tablecloth. Service was friendly but out of step. Specials for the evening were not described. Felt I was rushed in and rushed out. Will look for another upscale restaurant before returning.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Love Bartolottas but this first visit to this location was a disappointment. Food mixed - filet mignon was a disappointment and overcooked. Special rib eye was good. Sticky toffee pudding was meh. Not very good and also pricey. Wish we did Lake Park instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.