About Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant

925 E. Wells Street
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Bacchus offers contemporary American cuisine in a stylish, modern and sleek setting overlooking Lake Michigan in downtown Milwaukee. Boasting one of the city's most extensive wine lists and a menu that features seasonal, local ingredients. Several private rooms, including a beautiful glass-enclosed conservatory, are available for business and social occasions.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: Open for holidays, special occasions and private parties. Call for availability.

Cross Street:
Prospect Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 765-1166

Website:
http://www.bacchusmke.com/

Parking Details:
$4 for dinner.

Executive Chef:
Nick Wirth

Private Party Facilities:
Private Party Options Available

Private Party Contact:
Tricia Smith: 4147651166x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/category/bacchus for information on upcoming wine and author events!

Restaurant Photos

Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant
Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant
Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant
Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant
Spinach Salad
Sorbet Trio
Filet Mignon- Bourbon Peppercorn Cream, Sauteed Mushrooms, Potato Mousseline!
Roasted Beet Salad
PB&J
Spiced Brownie
Seared Fois Gras
Ahi Tuna With Avocado Creme
Sea Scallops
Seafood Ravioli
Braised Beef Short Rib
Spinich Salad
Buffalo Sweatbreads!!!!!!
Maine Lobster
Lobster Ravioletti
Alaskan Halibut
Bibb Lettuce Salad
Lamb Duo
Red Snapper
Chocolate Lava Cake with Vanilla Ice Cream
Watermelon And Baby Beet Salad
Ratitouille
Lamb Chops
Chalk Hill 2009 Cabernet
bacon ice cream
Chopped Romaine Salad
Molten Chocolate Cake With Hazelnuts
Pan-Roasted Chicken
Sheep Milk Ricotta Ravioli
Roasted New York Strip
Roasted Wild Salmon
Paté A Choux With Raspberry Pastry Cream
Chilled English Pea Soup
Spinach Risotto Fritters Served With A Truffled Fonduta
Sweet corn risotto
Scallop And Gnocchi
Hazelhut Lava Cake
Banana Split
Creamy Polenta With Morels And Asparagus
Lamb Ravioli
Groom Shiraz 2009 Barossa Valley
Sorbet

Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Wisconsin
Contemporary American
Wisconsin
Best Food
Milwaukee
3 More
Notable Wine List
Milwaukee
Romantic
Milwaukee
Contemporary American
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

special occasion (68)
notable wine list (56)
romantic (49)
See All
fit for foodies (46)
scenic view (18)
neighborhood gem (16)
good for groups (13)
great for brunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for lunch (4)
late-night find (3)
hot spot (3)
kid-friendly (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bacchus is a lovely city restaurant. It ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Bacchus is a lovely city restaurant. It is located in a gracious building with residences and a few offices included. There is a patio where patrons enjoy cocktails and it is open for groups. The restaurant is in a room with many windows to view the outdoors. But there is no wide "view" to speak of. The accent is on the food and it is very good. We've enjoyed the tasting menu and the wine pairings. Everything is delicious and the waitstaff is most efficient and friendly. They will discuss any dish with the customers. As much as possible is locally sourced. Wisconsin Cheeses, local vegetables. The preparation is perfect! We choose Bacchus each time we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

You can always expect and excellent meal ...

Dined 3 days ago

You can always expect and excellent meal and service. They never disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The halibut was fantastic!

Dined on June 19, 2016

The halibut was fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did the tasting menu. It was absolut ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We did the tasting menu. It was absolutely delicious and we were able to taste things that we would never have picked for ourselves. We were able to go outside our comfort zone with very little risk since their were 6 courses, and it totally paid off. Every course went above our expectations. Additionally the service was better than anywhere else!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Veal ravioli is a must!!!!!!!!! Cannot ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Veal ravioli is a must!!!!!!!!! Cannot go wrong with anything on the menu

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

OurservicebyDianeandGeoffwasoutstanding! ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

OurservicebyDianeandGeoffwasoutstanding! Theselectionoffoodcoveredalltastes.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Bacc ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Bacchus, and had a fantastic time. The food was great, and the service was really remarkable... our server was knowledgeable, engaging and really made the experience fun. Thanks Bacchus!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our 50th wedding anniversary ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We went for our 50th wedding anniversary. We were seated between 8yr and 17yr anniversary celebrators. The next table was Baseball Commish Bud Selig. Pam our waitress made suggestions. I took all and was greatly pleased with each. Halibut for me and scallops for my lady. Dessert was lemony ice cream and raspberry torte. The spinach salad with a poached egg was great. The appetizer of lamb was super. The rom was jammed but orderly and lots of people greeting old friends. What a great place. Been there before will do again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food. Quiet crowd on a Saturda ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Delicious food. Quiet crowd on a Saturday evening and beautiful view of Lake Michigan.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ericka and Brian were fabulous. We were ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Ericka and Brian were fabulous. We were treated like royalty and given excellent dining suggestions (we asked for them). The food was beyond excellent and we enjoyed every moment and every morsel of our dining experience. One of the best meals I've ever had!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

We had a great meal, but compared to the ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a great meal, but compared to the other Bartolatta restaurants we have gone to, the service was spotty.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favourite Milwaukee place

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

The chef and all his team are very creative at Bacchus- one of the challenges is to take a vegetarian to an upscale restaurant and find the choices are limited. Never at Bacchus- they not only have a separate menu for vegetarians, the dishes offered on this are so good, I will forsake my pork belly loin starter for their mushroom papardelle, or the ramps or the risotto, or the soup...but the regular menu is too tempting- I enjoyed the seasonal soft-shell crab as well as the lamb meatballs and the pork loin! The service is great, and the only thing I wish they would do better is serve warm bread. But filling up on bread is not recommended here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very nice Friday evening dinner

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

A lovely Friday evening dinner for two. Nice room, food was very good, wine list is novel-like, with many nice choices. Service level was attentive. Room was quiet, but we were there as the restaurant opened. I can imagine it getting louder. Not inexpensive, but not over the top either. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, Bacchus delivers.

Dined on May 28, 2016

You do pay a good price for the food and service at Bacchus, but it is totally worth it. My husband said the lamb was the best he had ever eaten. And I love the foie gras, which is excellent, but the scallops were as well. And the dessert...coffee n donuts, to DIE FOR. Loved it. They were also great about our anniversary celebration, subdued and elegant. We will be back next year on our anniversary, if not sooner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Even with a full house the service was i ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Even with a full house the service was impeccable and the food was outstanding (as always).

food4
ambience3
service1

It was a very busy Saturday , but no exc ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

It was a very busy Saturday , but no excuse for such horrible service . We waited 20 minutes before our drink order was taken and we waited over 2 hours for our entrees. The wait staff basically ignored us and never apologized for the delays until we complained!

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Over priced and under delivered!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Way over priced and under delivered is what I would call my experience at Bacchus. Dinner was over 3.5 hours for 6 people. I am a foodie and would not go back. They comped us 2 of the 6 meals since our "food was not plated correctly". Really! So let's throw the group desserts - and they were just as bad. Way too much $$$ for such lousy food and service. Our group will not return.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent as usual

Dined on May 20, 2016

Bacchus is reliably excellent in menu and execution. not the most exotice of choices, nor the most price-friendly. Wait staff are super and chef's performance is always right on. While it verges on special occasion (due to price), the lively crowd (mostly locals) and business-casual attire make it a frequent dining destination as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place, always a great experience ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing place, always a great experience, A+++++ on all levels, can't wait to go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really top notch food.

Dined on May 7, 2016

This place hit a home run last Saturday. We went to celebrate Mothers day, a day early and everything was great! Huge wine list but still great selection at all price points! Id try to serve the wine just before food comes out to keep food hot but that was the one and only very small thing that could have been better. Even keeping the food back until the wine was poured? Apps were incredible, entrees were perfect. Every person was so happy and satisfied, hoping to return soon! Thank you for making my mom feel special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and excellent food

Dined on May 7, 2016

I have been to Bacchus before for business dinners. Brought our son for his birthday - as he is a cook at another popular restaurant in Milwaukee. We were all very impressed with the food and excellent service. We will return!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very likely the best restaurant in town, bar none.

Dined on May 3, 2016

Spectacular service without being intrusive. Friendly, warm, and informative. Food great beyond all expectation. Absolutely breathtaking. A premier dining experience. Highly, highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite was my wife's description of t ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Exquisite was my wife's description of the food. Thanks to chef Nic for sharing some extras to help us celebrate!

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

excellent

Dined on April 22, 2016

We had our one year anniversary at Bacchus. the entire evening was one course after another of photo perfect plates of edible art. At our table there was a beautiful card, the chef came out to personally deliver two delectable pasta trays, on house, and dessert was sorbet lime, lemon and cherry with Happy anniversary written in chocolate across the plate. amazing dinner, amazing staff. We will visit again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Restaurant

Dined on March 30, 2016

This was the first time we had been at Bacchus. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience from beginning to end. All the staff were wonderful and the service was impeccable. The food was excellent. The menu has a nice variety and includes some rather unusual combinations. We enjoy trying different menu items. The atmosphere is understated and very classy. We would highly recommend Bacchus.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

If you are in Wisconsin

Dined on March 27, 2016

My petite filet mignon was cooked perfectly with a medley of sauteed mushrooms and a puree of potatoes. The Bartolotta restaurant group has yet to disappoint.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent Easter Brunch As usual awesome ❤️👍🏻 Potato Leek soup was great! Presentation of each plate wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience was exceptional. T ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Our dining experience was exceptional. The food was amazing, and our server cared for everything.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The porterhouse for two is outstanding!

Dined on March 4, 2016

This was honestly the best meal my fiance and I have had in Milwaukee. Bacchus far exceeded our expectations for a Bartolotta restaurant. The food, beverages and service were amazing! We will definitely be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Gem on the lake

Dined on February 27, 2016

I would highly recommend this to both groups and friends and family it is a beautiful location with outstanding food and great service at a decent price for a nice romantic night out.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service

Dined on February 20, 2016

Had a great meal to celebrate my wife's birthday last Saturday night. The servers were attentive but not overbearing. The food was excellent. We look forward to our next dinner at Bacchus.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite restaurants in Milwau ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Milwaukee, always get desert they are fantastic.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First timer

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was amazing, the server was on point, and the bar staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Wonderful experience hope to be back very soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great as always!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Returned for our 5th trip to Bacchus for Valentine's Day and were impressed as always. Great service, amazing food, this place has never disappointed! Looking forward to our next visit

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Food was great, Service was terrible

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was great however the service was terrible. Our reservation was at 8 and we seated at 8:15. They were busy so being a little late is understandable. However, after we sat down, we didn't have our drink order taken until 25 minutes later. The rest of the night was pretty much the same story.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great time as usuall

Dined on February 14, 2016

Once again my wife and I had a fantastic dinner at Bacchus.We keep coming back because we always have a wonderful experience and are never dissapointed with the food or the service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Valentine's Day Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was very good. Food portions are smaller as one would expect at a fine dining restaurant. Two apps and two entrees is the perfect amount of food. Service wasn't as good as I was expecting. Server lost the copy of my receipt and I received a call from Bacchus saying I didn't pay. After clearing the issue up over the phone everything was fine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Happy Valentine's Day

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

We returned to Bacchus for Valentine's Day, which is not always the best day to judge a restaurant. But Bacchus did not disappoint. The service was great; the tasting menu was wonderful and the wine pairings were perfect. Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as usual

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food is excellent. PLEASE try the veal ravioli. Best thing I ever ate. Not sure what I will do if the take it off the menu. Service is top notch. My wife and I enjoy Bacchus every time we get to go. Though it is expensive it is worth every penny. I tried a coconut mousse e this time and loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Good not great this time around

Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I have made Bacchus the site of our Valentine's Day dinner the past few years. The food and service is generally excellent. This year was good, but fell a little short for us & as a result we are going to try a different spot next year. To start it off, we were put at a table right near a doorway & between two booths. It seemed a bit odd, like it wasn't supposed to be there. Considering that the restaurant wasn't full we weren't sure why we were seated in such an odd place. I should mention for the benefit of the review that in general the tables at Bacchus are a little too close together for me, but I understand that the layout allows for maximum capacity which is important for a business. Our server took longer than expected to come over for the first time. Not unusual if the place was packed, but again it was not. Once she arrived, our server was very knowledgeable & helpful. My only complaint was in how she described the pasta special. It made it seem like it was house-made pasta with 24 hour roasted & pulled pork. I ordered it based on that, only to find that the pork was more of a ground pork in texture. The flavor was good, but the texture was odd and had me disappointed with my order. My wife had the scallops (her usual) and said they were amazing. We also had a cheese plate to start which was great, and our server was very helpful in selecting our cheeses. Finally, we shared a delicious bottle of Tempranillo (the wine list at Bacchus is fabulous!). Overall, a good night, but not great. I guess our expectations for Bacchus are high based on past experiences. I would still recommend Bacchus to anyone looking for a higher-end dining experience, especially if you appreciate a great wine list. I would just advise you to stick to the regular menu, particularly the steaks and scallops.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.