Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant

Bacchus offers contemporary American cuisine in a stylish, modern and sleek setting overlooking Lake Michigan in downtown Milwaukee. Boasting one of the city's most extensive wine lists and a menu that features seasonal, local ingredients. Several private rooms, including a beautiful glass-enclosed conservatory, are available for business and social occasions.

925 E. Wells Street
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: Open for holidays, special occasions and private parties. Call for availability.

Cross Street:
Prospect Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 765-1166

Website:
http://www.bacchusmke.com/

Parking Details:
$4 for dinner.

Executive Chef:
Nick Wirth

Private Party Facilities:
Private Party Options Available

Private Party Contact:
Tricia Smith: (414) 765-1166

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/bacchus/ for information on upcoming wine and author events!

Bacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Romantic (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Modern Decor (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Local Ingredients (11)
Business Meals (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Scenic View (7)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Seasonal (4)
Historic (4)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Private Room (4)
Waterfront (4)
Cozy (3)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Casual (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1492 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

It couldn't have been a lovelier dining experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 20, 2017

First time at Bacchus and it was excellent. Hope to come back soon. Staff was excellent!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our food was stellar! Wine was great... service was friendly and had great suggestions. Very accommodating to our needs/wants. Just everything was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

For the last 5 years my fiancé and I have been going to Bartolottas restaurants every year for our birthdays and this was the first time we've been to Bacchus. The food, atmosphere and service was amazing. We will be back again!

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had not been to Bacchus in many years and were excited to return. Unfortunately we were underwhelmed. We were expecting the best in food and we were disappointed, especially with the mozzarella salad and the Wild Striped Bass entree. Both were just "ok." We felt it was not the fine dining experience we were hoping for, particularly at the prices we paid!

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 7, 2017

On Tuesday, March 7th I brought in a group of students in for a field trip from the Art Institute of Wisconsin culinary department. The overall experience matched up to what I had explained to my students of a fine dining restaurant experience. From the greet to the final departure it was fantastic! Being a restaurant manager of many years myself I was impressed! Our main server Diana was outstanding as well as her assistant. They even went above and beyond and provided us additional learning experiences in regards to wine service. The 5 course menu was also well worth the amount we paid. Props to the kitchen on their work that evening as well. I would highly recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Celebrating 2 birthdays & chose the 5 course tasting menu for all at the table...a great value & fun experience!
Highly recommended - this is a premier place & not just for Milwaukee - it can stand up to any city in the country.

It is consistent with high quality food & service. A wonderful choice for any event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great service, complimentary champagne for our anniversary which is always a treat, food was amazing as always. However, rated the ambiance a bit lower only because the lights were extremely bright in there which killed any sort of romantic mood that usually that restaurant allows. Was a bit odd for how bright it was and "off" for that atmosphere.

Tags: Disabled Access, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We did the 7 course pairing. Enjoyed all the wonderful wines and a great selection of courses. It was black truffle night so we had a few dishes topped with truffle, exquisite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The food was exquisite, in appearance and quality. The service was impeccable. Daniel was attentive, accommodating and knowledgeable. The food was expensive (we did a Chef's choice, 5-course, with wine pairing), but worth every penny. Cannot wait to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The filet was better than expected...exceptional flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great experience overall. Was my husbands birthday. Food was great. At the end we spent over $200 and then the offered a complimentary dessert. Unfortunately they charged us for it. Didn't notice until a week later when I was throwing out the receipt . They did refund us but it's something that was inconvenient and wish they could have been more cognizant. Mistakes happen... overall my favorite of all the bartolotta experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food. Well prepared! Good service! Easy parking! Pleasant servers! Great filet and roasted potatos!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Immediately disappointed by a stained tablecloth. Service was friendly but out of step. Specials for the evening were not described. Felt I was rushed in and rushed out. Will look for another upscale restaurant before returning.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Love Bartolottas but this first visit to this location was a disappointment. Food mixed - filet mignon was a disappointment and overcooked. Special rib eye was good. Sticky toffee pudding was meh. Not very good and also pricey. Wish we did Lake Park instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I first went to Bacchus for a nice dinner last Valentine's Day since then we have been several times for the wine pairing dinners, the Holiday Champagne Dinner, birthday dinners, and an outing with a group of friends. I have never been disappointed. The food and the service have been exceptional every time. This has quickly become our favorite restaurant and our repeat Valentine's Day dinner date yesterday did not disappoint. Bryant, the general manager, made sure to greet us and thanked us for being there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Authentic, Casual, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The lobster bisque was amazing but unfortunately when it came to the filet, it was a bit over cooked (I asked for medium). It came already sliced so I don't know if it sat under the heating lamps but it seemed pretty dried out. What should have been a moist filet was just dry and hard to get through unfortunately. I also added two scallops to my entree; what I received was laughingly tiny scallops. Disappointment to say the least for how much we spent on our meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food as you would expect. Prices were high as you would expect. Portions weren't very big. Didn't like the forced valet even though there was room in the lot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Bacchus restaurant used to be one of our favorite restaurants to eat dinner in Milwaukee. It is a place that I take business clients to, my wife and I would spend special occasions, or just a place to have a quiet dinner. I say “used to be one of our favorite restaurants” due to our experience on Tuesday.

We arrived for our reservation and were seated in the atrium area. The hostess provided us menus and the wine list. We waited for our server, but they never arrived. Being Valentine’s Day we attributed the delay to the restaurant being busy. However, there were still a number of open tables in our area and we saw couple after couple seated after us receive service, drinks, and even appetizers before we had met our waiter or even received water. After 15-20 minutes I had to approach the hostess stand to inform them that we haven’t been served yet. We again waited. By this point we had decided to just leave and I proceeded to call other restaurants for reservations. However, because it was Valentine’s Day all other restaurants were already booked, or we would have immediately left. Finally, our waiter arrived and apologized for the wait providing no reason for the delay. The manager visited our table shortly thereafter and apologized and told us if we stayed they would make it right and the service would better there forward. It was not. Throughout dinner we were left waiting for service to remove our finished plates for extended times, refill our empty water and drinks, and even waited an extended period of time with an empty table to receive just the menu to order desert. The service level never improved from the initial disappointment.

Perhaps this was a one off experience, but the potential of it not being an isolated experience will be a consideration for us in the future as we choose a place to go out to dinner, entertain clients, have private events catered, or when we recommend restaurants to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fantastic food, cannot fault any of the cuisine. Service is beyond excellent. Although, really spendy. If you don't mind spending $35 for a piece of very tasty trout, then this is the place for you. For everybody else, learn to cook.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Awesome Valentines Day dinner❤️
Ravioli veal awesome
Spinach pork belly egg salad awesome
Husband ordered Sea Bass excellent
I ordered Thai Chicken excellent except my stir fry veggies were a little too well done

Desserts were Key Lime and House Sorbets awesome 👍🏻Loved the Blood Orange 🍊 sorbet

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My husband and I went to out the day before Valentine's Day to celebrate. It was perfect!! Our waiters were excellent and quite knowledgeable regarding suggestions for wine, drinks, dinner and dessert. It was our first time here and will not be our last. Our evening was perfect.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was fantastic. Bartolotta's always does a fabulous job, especially at Bacchus. Already looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My Nantucket scallops were worth every penny. I'll be dreaming of them. Until we meet again. Pricy food and wine but special in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food is excellent. We tried the grilled octopus at the bar while we waited for our table. We waited a little longer than expected (maybe 15 minutes) and they comped our drinks and appetizer. The service is perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Valentines Day early

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I've been to several Bartolotta restaurants and this was my first time at Bacchus. I went with my 19 year old daughter and we both enjoyed the evening very much. The food and service were excellent and it is now one of my favorite Bartolotta restaurants!

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Of our 12 anniversaries, we have gone to Bacchus for 6. It is always phenomenal food and service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The service is always terrific. Food was exceptional. You get what you pay for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The service was extremely memorable! We went there for my boyfriend's birthday and the restaurant celebrated with us with a gorgeous dessert and birthday card. The wine was another exceptional component to dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We've been twice in the last month and the food has been outstanding. They have a very friendly staff and attentive service without hovering. Ambiance is nice but we go for the food!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We will come again. The food was superb and the atmosphere was very romantic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 6, 2017

My wife and I, along with other couples we bring, have been coming to Bacchus for several years now. We have tried their special wine pairing dinners and spent many birthday, anniversary, and date night evenings there. Last night Bacchus put together a special/private whiskey and bourbon pairing dinner together for our friend who was celebrating a new job. It was absolutely nothing short of amazing. Every dinner I've had there I leave telling myself, "That was the best meal I've ever had in life". This is no exaggeration ladies and gentlemen. Bacchus offers by far, the best dining experience money can buy. The servers are of the utmost professional, and knowledgeable staff I have ever had the pleasure of dining with. You're never rushed, yet never waiting for your drinks/food, timing is impeccable. Really, I don't know how they do it, especially if your trying the chef's tasting with multiple courses, the food is ALWAYS the right temperature, cooked to perfection, and ready by the time your done enjoying the last course. And the food itself........the chef's are nothing short of magicians. Everything on the plate is perfectly cooked, perfectly seasoned, and perfectly paired with the other items in the meal. And I can't forget the bartender, we had several whiskey/bourbon cocktails with our pairing dinner last night. One was a bourbon drink that had a singed piece of rosemary (I believe) that gave off a smoky scent/taste that went with our wagyu steak course, incredible. It's almost not fair that Bacchus is this good. I've tried other 4/5 star restaurants in Milwaukee, and they cannot duplicate what you experience at Bacchus. Hats off to not only the chefs but the entire staff as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had an exceptional experience 2015 and 2016 unfortunately did not fill expectations. Food was good, but was not hot. Most annoying was the location of our table: get like a hall way and a constant draft made the evening not enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a wonderful time at Bacchus. My wife agreed that the Old Fashions we had for cocktails were the best we have ever had. The service was impeccable and the ambience was fantastic. The only complaint we have is that my wife ordered the Filet Mignon cooked medium, and it was very rare. It looked like it had basically kissed the flat top and was then pulled off. My wife ate the steak, as the quality of meat was so good that she could eat it that way. Other than that we loved Bacchus and would recommend it to anyone looking for a pleasurable evening of fine dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was my first time at Bacchus. It was everything I was expecting and more. The food was absolutely amazing—it blew my girlfriend and I away! The service was perfect, and the design of the place was beautiful.

The food is definitely worth the price.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

If you're looking to treat yourself to a fine-dining experience, this is definitely one of the places in Downtown Milwaukee that you should consider. Great food, service, and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The Bartolotta Restruants all have great food, great atmosphere and very over priced wine. We understand they have to mark up a bottle of wine two or three times what we would pay for it in a store. But the real shocker comes when you order by the glass and see how little you get, they should be embarrassed. If the staff would take the time to watch the customers face when they take the glass to the table they would see the disappointment their customer feels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Traveling thru Milwaukee we make any Bartolottas restaurants a must visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Bacchus is always exceptional. The service was great. The food was superb. The wine list is great. A wonderful evening was had by all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.