About Bacchanalia

1198 Howell Mill Road
Atlanta, GA 30318
View Larger Map

Bacchanalia is Atlanta’s most celebrated restaurant featuring contemporary American cuisine from chefs/owners Anne Quatrano and Clifford Harrison. Expect incredibly fresh and flavorful choices with masterful preparation and presentation. Bacchanalia’s seasonal menu relies entirely on organic ingredients, many sourced from Anne and Clifford’s farm, so that diners can have an utterly unique dining experience each time they return. Bacchanalia offers a five-course prix fixe menu composed of a cold appetizer course, fish course, entrée course, cheese course and dessert course for $85 per person. The menu can also be ordered a la carte at the bar.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday from 5:30pm

Closed on Sundays

Cross Street:
between Huff Road & 14th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 365-0410 ext. 22

Website:
http://www.starprovisions.com/

Parking Details:
Self Parking offered in lot in front of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Anne Quatrano/Clifford Harrison

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Gulf Crab Fritter - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
North Georgia Rainbow Trout - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Jamison Farm Lamb - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Wood Grilled Prime Ny Strip - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Amuse - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Prime NY Strip - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Warm Valrhona Chocolate - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Scallops - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Coffee Semifreddo - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Venison - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Cranberry Cider - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Seasalted Butter - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Summerland Farm Egg - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
goat cheese - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Maplebrook Farm Burrata - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Madeleine Cookies - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Loup De Mer - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Prime Beef Tartare - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Georgia White Shrimp (First Course) - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Trefethen Cabernet Sauvignon - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Kumamoto oysters - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Sweet Grass Dairy Asher Blue, Arugala, Spiced Walnut - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Feta - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Georgia Apples - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Pear Tart - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Lonzino - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Beef shortrib - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Turnip Panacotta And Beetroot Balsamic Gelatine - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Tomato Basil Muffins - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Taleggio - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Capra Gia Fresh Goat Cheese - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Brown Turkey Fig - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
veal sweetbreads - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Game Bird Roulade - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Sprout Creek Toussaint - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Ga September Wonder - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Pre-Desert - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Pan Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Soft Scrambled Farm Egg With Caviar - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Corn Panna Cotta - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Gazpacho - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Beef Tartar - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Coffee Desert - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Red Snapper - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Hamachi - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Poached Duck Egg with Uni - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Hazelnut Doughnut - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Kumamoto Oysters, Sea Urchin, Chowder Custard, Caviar Chervil - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Moscow Mule - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Jerusalem Artichoke Consommé - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Spiced Tres Leches (Dessert Course) - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Berkshire Pork Loin + Belly - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Pheasant - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Honey Panna Cotta - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Chocolate Cake - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Pecorino Ginepro - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Coffee flan - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bethel Heights Pinot - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Fresh Strawberries - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Hot Apple Cider - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Rocky Meadow Blue (Cheese Course) - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
intermezzo - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bellwether Farms Crescenza - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Many Fold Farm Brebis - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Radish Amuse - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Confit Foie Gras Terrine - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Rogue River Creamery Blue - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Lemon Jelly Squares, Peppermint Marshmellows, Sage Chocolates - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Goat Cheese Cake - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Cheese Puff - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Gruyere Cheese Puffs - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Foie gras Torchon - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Pastries - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Veggie Gnocchi - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Local Berkshire Pork - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Manchester Farms Quail, Anson Mills Farro, Parsnip, Preserved Pears, Black Trumpet Mushroom - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Local Mangalitsa Pork - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Halibut - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Salad - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Fall Cider Intermezzo - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Califlower Soup - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Frog's Leap Cabernet Sauvignon - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Cranberry Soufflé - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Beef Gazpacho - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Pierre Robert - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Multigrain Cracker - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Nantucket Bay Scallops & Maitake Mushrooms - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Nature's Harmony Georgia's Gold - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Happy Birthday Dessert - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Tangerine Soufflé - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Citrus Salad - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
 Hawaiian Blue Prawns With Sugarcane, Tostones, Frisee, Yuzu Vinegar, - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Pear Brown Butter Tart, Candied Walnuts, Dates, Cardamom Ice Cream - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
PNW Kumamoto Oysters - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Hand Cut Farm Egg Pappardelle, Summerland Farm Cauliflower, Egg Yolk Emulsion, Shaved Perigord Black Truffles - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Baby Carrot, Chevre, Lava Salt Amuse Bouche - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Caramelised Banana & Butterscotch Pizza - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Post Desert :-) - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Apple Cider Smoothie - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Gnudi (ricotta Gnochi)  - Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA

Private Dining

At Bacchanalia, expect incredibly fresh and flavorful choices with masterful preparation and presentation. Bacchanalia holds up to 90 guests with a private room that can be utilized to accommodate up to 20.

Bacchanalia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Atlanta / Georgia
Romantic
Atlanta
Contemporary American
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in West Midtown ›

Special Occasion (50)
Romantic (46)
Fit for Foodies (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for a Date (34)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Notable Wine List (27)
Cozy (22)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Modern Decor (8)
Seasonal (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Business Meals (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Healthy (5)
Authentic (5)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Organic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Private Room (3)
Historic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1914 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took my wife her for her birthday. The ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Took my wife her for her birthday. The food was incredibly delicious and the service was the best ever!!. We loved the total experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Organic, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second experience here. That's what it ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Second experience here. That's what it is, an experience. A long evening of beautiful and delicious food, excellent service, and great drinks. Dinner here is always something to be remembered and talked about long after the night.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As an Atlanta native, I've heard about B ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

As an Atlanta native, I've heard about Bacchanalia for years. I've always wanted to try it, but was always hesitant because I was worried the experience wouldn't live up the hype. Well, for my grandmother's 80th birthday, I finally decided to try it. I'm so, so, SO happy I did. It didn't just live up to my lofty expectations, it surpassed them. Bacchanalia is one of my top two all-time favorite dining experiences, and my far and away Atlanta favorite. This restaurant is a sure fire home run for any special occasion. The creativity and ambiance will blow you away! Love, love, LOVE!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!!! Worth the trip.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great experience!!! Worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious dishes, beautifully presented.

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Delicious dishes, beautifully presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, service, and ambiance. A lit ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great food, service, and ambiance. A little hard to find but it is a nice cozy place after discovery. Prix Four but really, you have food at your table non-stop compliments of the chef. Great place for an anniversary or even to propose to your very special person. I will always remember that night.

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time here, and did not disappo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our first time here, and did not disappoint. Elegant dining atmosphere, but not pretentious. Lots of choices available on a prix fixe menu that allows you to customize your dinner experience, even if you're on a specific diet. Each course was rather tiny, but it all added up so that by the end, we were quite stuffed, surprisingly. And the food was sublime. Certainly not inexpensive (for the 2 of us it was about $300 with wine and tip), but for a very special occasion, I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bacchanialia was the highlight of our re ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Bacchanialia was the highlight of our recent trip to Atlanta. The setting is lovely; the service impeccable. The food is impressive, delicious, and very much worth the price. The prix fixe menu offers a wide range of flavors and textures, allowing the opportunity for a couple or small group to sample the best of fine dining. An incredible dining experience. So memorable!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service and presentation. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Impeccable service and presentation. I have worked for two James Beard award winning chefs and know the quality of a dining experience. This was my third visit and I am impressed with their consistency and knowledge. Do yourself a favor and enjoy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely magnificent food and service. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Absolutely magnificent food and service...well worth the price and waiting list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful romantic evening for my ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had a wonderful romantic evening for my 1 year anniversary. Everything about the meal was amazing, definitely do the prix fixe

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As always, the food and service was fant ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

As always, the food and service was fantastic. We have been dining here for many years and the experience is always wonderful. Don't miss the crab fritter!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing restaurant with Great food and p ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amazing restaurant with Great food and perfect service. Highly recommended

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall it was the 5 star experience we ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Overall it was the 5 star experience we expected. Very little to criticize. Veal sweetbreads were by far the best course. Crab fritter was solid as well. Only real downer were the chairs-not very comfortable. Price tag also hurt a little, but definitely worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our favorite restaurants in the U ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 2, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in the USA.Food was outstanding and so was the service.It is somewhat hidden but worth looking for.A must if you are in Atlanta!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and a unique location m ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Outstanding food and a unique location make this restaurant an upscale winner. The multi-course menu gives you the chance to try many amazing flavors. Wonderful wine list with a solid Sommelier. Our server was a little bit aloof, but the overall team was efficient. This is a special and somewhat expensive dinner out in a great part of Mid-Town. If rushed, eat at the fast and friendly bar. Great drinks and wine, cool upscale store in front.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Bacchanalia is the best. The food speaks ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Bacchanalia is the best. The food speaks for itself. The staff is well informed and incredibly welcoming. Bacchanalia offers the best of fine dining, without an unnecessarily pretentious atmosphere. There is no other place in Atlanta that I would want to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding items were the crab fritter, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Outstanding items were the crab fritter, the lobster w/ tarragon cream, the red snapper and best of all, the desserts! I'm starting to drool thinking of the perfect-in-every-way apple souffle with butterscotch ice cream and the churros with the cardomom flavor. Service was delightful as always. A lovely evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about our experience at Bacch ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Everything about our experience at Bacchanalia was exceptional. Our server, Leigh was knowledgable, friendly and appropriately attentive. The food was amazing, fresh, delicious and innovative. We had a corner table, as we requested that was quiet and cozy. It was the perfect dinner experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a one of a kind experience! Hi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This was a one of a kind experience! Highly recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were quite excited to go to this rest ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We were quite excited to go to this restaurant after seeing many good reviews. The décor was lovely, the wait staff was excellent and the sommelier was extremely knowledgeable. The food was well prepared and artistically presented. HOWEVER - we were still hungry when we walked out the door to go home. The portions are not just small, they are tiny. This is a wonderful approach to a meal if there are six or maybe seven little courses but four just simply was not enough food - and we are small people.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Phenomenal. My husband and I went to cel ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Phenomenal. My husband and I went to celebrate a birthday and Bacchanalia did not disappoint. The food was incredible but the ambience was great, too. I have felt stuffy/pretentious at other quality restaurants in town but not here. Even though we were getting exceptional food and service, we still felt comfortable and at ease. We had oysters to start--can't go wrong with raw oysters. The prix fixe meal has you choosing one starter, one entree, one cheese selection, and a dessert. I had the crab fritter, the lamb, the goat cheese, and the chocolate cake. My husband had the sweetbreads, the duck, the taleggio, and the cheesecake. The sweetbreads were incredibly rich, not really my thing, but the crab was perfect. The rest of the meal was also delicious. We chose to do the wine pairings suggested and it all went together nicely. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always a pleasure. We were celebrating ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Always a pleasure. We were celebrating an anniversary and Bacchanalia did not disappoint. Amazing service, beautiful food and we really enjoyed the little "gifts" sent out from the kitchen between courses.The restaurant was pretty and quiet (nice to be able to have a conversation) . I would definitely recommend for a special night out.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food, small portions, European ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent food, small portions, European dining experience. Take your wallet as it isn't cheap. Nice market attached to the restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Bacchanalia never disappoints! Great fo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Bacchanalia never disappoints! Great food, incredible service, and a really unique and interesting historic location. Keep up the great work and thanks to Anne and Cliff for keeping it authentic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This isn't called the nicest restaurant ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 11, 2016

This isn't called the nicest restaurant in the city for no reason. The tables were spread out, the service was impeccable, and I didn't feel out of place even though I've definitely never been anywhere as nice as this. They answered all of my questions and I left feeling full and glad that I got to experience lots of different flavors. Thanks Bacchanalia!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fish was over cooked. sent it back, came ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 9, 2016

fish was over cooked. sent it back, came back still too dry. the server was most times overbearing, spoke too fast and was "in our face".

good wine list. unremarkable otherwise. that said, friend had beef and said its delicious, but not so remarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The food was excellent, but the service ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was excellent, but the service was very slow. The waiter came immediately to welcome us, and said he would be back for drink orders, but it was nearly 20 minutes before he returned. Then, he wanted to explain the menu before taking the drink order. I asked for a refill on water, and 20 minutes later, we had to flag down another waiter to get the water. The food and wine are very good, but way over priced compared to other top Atlanta restaurants, You could maybe overlook the cost, or maybe not, if the service was superior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

The food was delicious and beautiful, an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was delicious and beautiful, and the wine pairings were inspired.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I went with my boyfriend for our anniver ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I went with my boyfriend for our anniversary dinner. All the staff were extremely friendly and much more lighthearted than at other fine dining places I've been too which was refreshing. It just seemed like a more natural interaction.

The food itself was actually not quite the quality I was expecting but I also liked the dishes that my boyfriend chose a lot more than I did mine. His foie gras was like sweet sweet butter and his cheese course was like spring rain encapsulated, it was so refreshing.

I got the crab fritter because it came highly recommended but I didn't like the sauce that was at the bottom of my plate that much, it was very acidic and seemed a little too watery for a deep fried fritter. My duck main course was pretty disappointing. It was the smallest piece of duck and I couldn't taste any duck even when I ate some! The mushrooms on the plate were also a little over salted, an issue I had with some of their other dishes as well. However, the dish had many components and when you combined them together it came together perfectly and wiped away any complaints I had with the individual components.

There were also several bite sized extra interspersed throughout the meals, amouse bouches(?), that were really good and I think those really made the meal because the flavor in them was amazing.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The premier Atlanta meal....

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The premier Atlanta meal....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Was far too expensive given the quality ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Was far too expensive given the quality of the food. Was good but not great for the price.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I'll stick with Bones and Eugene. This ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 4, 2016

I'll stick with Bones and Eugene. This was my first experience with Bacchanalia which is odd as I consider myself a foodie. The Service Manager had a difficult task in managing an out of control loud bunch at the large center table and failed. Pouring more alcohol for a table that is ruining the evening for guests including F-Bombs, occasional fight songs, etc. was a bad choice. Perhaps this could explain why a restaurant with such spectacular food and service had severable empty tables

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

A true dining experience!! Best ever! Wi ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 4, 2016

A true dining experience!! Best ever! Will definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

rushed service

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

rushed service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

The food was a huge disappointment after ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The food was a huge disappointment after hearing rave reviews for years. Not sure if there has been a change in chef but the food was just boring tasting though beautifully presented and with excellent service. For the price, I would recommend many other Atlanta restaurants before this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

What a lovely overall experience. The s ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 28, 2016

What a lovely overall experience. The service was exceptional - well managed and flowed beautifully. An intricate part of the experience. The setting has memorable character - the rennovaters greatly respected the "bones" of the original building.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Historic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you want to be in this class of resta ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 28, 2016

If you want to be in this class of restaurant the bar is set very high. The food is good, service is good, Wine list is good. Problem is "good" doesn't justify $160 a person. Chops Lobster bar is better on all points. This is my experience in many of the restaurants in this district.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Great experience

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Bacchanalia disappoints overall, especia ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Bacchanalia disappoints overall, especially considering the price point. While I shouldn't compare Bacchanalia to Michelin starred experiences, it wasn't even in the same ballpark. Service was awkward & lacking. Food was fine, however nothing was a stand out, not even their signature dishes. I would suggest going with no expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.