About Bacchanalia

1198 Howell Mill Road
Atlanta, GA 30318
View Larger Map

Bacchanalia is Atlanta’s most celebrated restaurant featuring contemporary American cuisine from chefs/owners Anne Quatrano and Clifford Harrison. Expect incredibly fresh and flavorful choices with masterful preparation and presentation. Bacchanalia’s seasonal menu relies entirely on organic ingredients, many sourced from Anne and Clifford’s farm, so that diners can have an utterly unique dining experience each time they return. Bacchanalia offers a five-course prix fixe menu composed of a cold appetizer course, fish course, entrée course, cheese course and dessert course for $85 per person. The menu can also be ordered a la carte at the bar.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday from 5:30pm

Closed on Sundays

Cross Street:
between Huff Road & 14th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 365-0410 ext. 22

Website:
http://www.starprovisions.com/

Parking Details:
Self Parking offered in lot in front of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Anne Quatrano/Clifford Harrison

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Gulf Crab Fritter
North Georgia Rainbow Trout
Wood Grilled Prime Ny Strip
Jamison Farm Lamb
Amuse
Prime NY Strip
Warm Valrhona Chocolate
Scallops
Coffee Semifreddo
Venison
Cranberry Cider
Seasalted Butter
Summerland Farm Egg
goat cheese
Maplebrook Farm Burrata
Madeleine Cookies
Loup De Mer
Prime Beef Tartare
Georgia White Shrimp (First Course)
Trefethen Cabernet Sauvignon
Kumamoto oysters
Sweet Grass Dairy Asher Blue, Arugala, Spiced Walnut
Gruyere Cheese Puffs
Feta
Georgia Apples
Lonzino
Pear Tart
Beef shortrib
Turnip Panacotta And Beetroot Balsamic Gelatine
Tomato Basil Muffins
Brown Turkey Fig
Taleggio
Capra Gia Fresh Goat Cheese
Game Bird Roulade
Pan Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras
veal sweetbreads
Ga September Wonder
Pre-Desert
Sprout Creek Toussaint
Soft Scrambled Farm Egg With Caviar
Corn Panna Cotta
Gazpacho
Beef Tartar
Coffee Desert
Red Snapper
Berkshire Pork Loin + Belly
Spiced Tres Leches (Dessert Course)
Jerusalem Artichoke Consommé
Hot Apple Cider
Frog's Leap Cabernet Sauvignon
Rocky Meadow Blue (Cheese Course)
Hamachi
Poached Duck Egg with Uni
Hazelnut Doughnut
Kumamoto Oysters, Sea Urchin, Chowder Custard, Caviar Chervil
Moscow Mule
Pheasant
Coffee flan
Pecorino Ginepro
Fresh Strawberries
Honey Panna Cotta
Bethel Heights Pinot
Chocolate Cake
intermezzo
Bellwether Farms Crescenza
Many Fold Farm Brebis
Radish Amuse
Confit Foie Gras Terrine
Rogue River Creamery Blue
Lemon Jelly Squares, Peppermint Marshmellows, Sage Chocolates
Goat Cheese Cake
Cheese Puff
Foie gras Torchon
Pastries
Veggie Gnocchi
Local Mangalitsa Pork
Manchester Farms Quail, Anson Mills Farro, Parsnip, Preserved Pears, Black Trumpet Mushroom
Local Berkshire Pork
Halibut
Fall Cider Intermezzo
Califlower Soup
Salad
Cranberry Soufflé
Beef Gazpacho
Pierre Robert
Multigrain Cracker
Nature's Harmony Georgia's Gold
Nantucket Bay Scallops & Maitake Mushrooms
Happy Birthday Dessert
Tangerine Soufflé
Citrus Salad
 Hawaiian Blue Prawns With Sugarcane, Tostones, Frisee, Yuzu Vinegar,
Pear Brown Butter Tart, Candied Walnuts, Dates, Cardamom Ice Cream
PNW Kumamoto Oysters
Baby Carrot, Chevre, Lava Salt Amuse Bouche
Hand Cut Farm Egg Pappardelle, Summerland Farm Cauliflower, Egg Yolk Emulsion, Shaved Perigord Black Truffles
Gnudi (ricotta Gnochi)
Apple Cider Smoothie
Post Desert :-)
Caramelised Banana & Butterscotch Pizza

Private Dining

At Bacchanalia, expect incredibly fresh and flavorful choices with masterful preparation and presentation. Bacchanalia holds up to 90 guests with a private room that can be utilized to accommodate up to 20.

Bacchanalia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Atlanta / Georgia
Fit for Foodies
Atlanta
Notable Wine List
Atlanta
3 More
Romantic
Atlanta
Special Occasion
Atlanta
Contemporary American
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in West Midtown ›

special occasion (141)
fit for foodies (120)
romantic (100)
See All
notable wine list (78)
neighborhood gem (24)
good for groups (16)
hot spot (14)
late-night find (4)
great for lunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1834 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great experience as usual

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 2 days ago

Great experience as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

bacchanalia was one of the best restaura ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

bacchanalia was one of the best restaurants I have ever been to. The staff were so friendly and he food is INCREDIBLE. The restaurant is not just a place to eat it was an experience. I went there for my birthday and the pastry chef for free made a cake!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined on Saturday evening. Our waiter ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

We dined on Saturday evening. Our waiter was a bit obnoxious. Intelligent but loud and rude.. not what we were expecting. All others we crossed paths with during our experience were unbelievable.. hostess, sommelier, cheese cart attendant. He ruined it a bit for us as to not being worth the money in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Amazing experience in every aspect!! Wil ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing experience in every aspect!! Will definitely go again

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bacchanalia is a dining experience all A ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

Bacchanalia is a dining experience all Atlantan's should try! Like restaurants I have been to in France, the pace is deliberate, the plating is handled with precision, and the entire staff is very knowledgeable about not just the menu items, but every bottle of wine on the menu. The flavor combinations and wine pairings were very well thought out. The price is fairly high; however, for a special occasion it is worth it every now and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our dinner at Bacchanalia was superb. (K ...

 
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Our dinner at Bacchanalia was superb. (Kudos, chefs! THE best dinner in Atlanta, for sure!) Great service and amazing food -- just an overall wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience.

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was amazing!!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our server was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This has been our favorite place to cele ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This has been our favorite place to celebrate any occasion, birthday, anniversary and valentine's day. The food is excellent and service impeccable.They really go the extra mile to make it a superb dining experience. We love the Prix fixe menu and they always give you several little extras like a taste of lobster bisque or macaroons in addition to dessert. Last time the chef didn't like the way the entree I ordered came out so they had me choose another entree and gave my husband and I an additional appetizer.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I ate here for the first ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband and I ate here for the first time a couple weeks ago and loved it. We ate on the later side of a Friday night so the restaurant wasn't crazy busy. The service was attentive but not intrusive and our meal was excellent. The tables aren't jammed right next to each other so you can actually have a conversation with your dinner companion without having to raise your voice and you don't hear your neighbors conversation. The meal was a bit of a splurge for us but honestly considering the quality of meal and the overall experience it was worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visit whenever in Atlanta....does not di ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Visit whenever in Atlanta....does not disappoint.

Hint to diners - put down those cell phones and enjoy the moment. Savor the 'total' dining experience that the staff wants to provide - don't rush through and don't 'poo-poo' the cheese course....really!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular service and solid food

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Spectacular service and solid food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

One of the best dinners I have had in ye ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

One of the best dinners I have had in years! The service and atmosphere were spot on. The evening we dined the menu was prix fixe and it was wonderful to get to taste so many yummy things.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bacchanalia never disappoints! The food ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Bacchanalia never disappoints! The food is "OFF THE HOOK" and the staff is SO knowledgeable!

The price fix menu always encourages me to try things I wouldn't otherwise try, and the serving size is PERFECT! I HIGHLY recommend this Westside treasure.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurant in Atlanta. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

One of the best restaurant in Atlanta. So glad they are offering a a la carte menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The standard for fine dining in ATL

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The standard for fine dining in ATL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a fabulous restaurant. We come b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This is a fabulous restaurant. We come back every big occasion we can. Aaaamazing food, service and just deeeeelicious. Outstanding! You ll love it. Its prix fixed 4 course $85 pp but you have wonderful unique choices for your courses. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good but not hitting the outstandin ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Very good but not hitting the outstanding level one would expect. Wine prices marked up to a level where you feel they are taking advantage Restaurant Eugene has far surpassed this Atlanta legend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Some of the best food I've eaten! Servi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Some of the best food I've eaten! Service was excellent. It is a little pricey, but that's ok when you a celebrating a special occasion like wedding anniversary. Only thing that could be improved is more space between tables to allow more private conversation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely amazing! Will go back again ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Absolutely amazing! Will go back again and again. Wish we had known about it sooner! I am a big foodie and food critic as well. I could find nothing that needed improving!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid food, good flavors. For being the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Solid food, good flavors. For being the number one rated restaurant in Atlanta, I wasn't impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Very intimate venue with very delicious ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Very intimate venue with very delicious dining options and an amazing wine list!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a fabulous restaurant for specia ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

This is a fabulous restaurant for special occasions and for people who love gourmet cooking with wine pairing and artistic food presentation. It is decadent!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived 30 minutes prior to our reser ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We arrived 30 minutes prior to our reservation and were immediately seated. I would have like a cocktail at the bar, but instead we were served at the table. That gave little time for us to enjoy the cocktail before the first course and the respective wine pairing(s). I felt a little rushed.

The quality was incredible. Next time, I will make sure we have the cocktail at the bar before we agree to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was truly a dining experience, not ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was truly a dining experience, not just a dinner. Staff was beyond helpful, but still gave us an ideal amount of privacy to enjoy ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Having dined at here several times befor ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Having dined at here several times before, I went there to introduce the restaurant to young an up and coming chef that had recently spent a year in a popular Fourth Ward restaurant. I was feeling like I had done it before. I was really caught by surprise at how great this restaurant really continues to be. Bacchanalia is the bar by which a restaurant of this style should be try to achieve. I had dined in Buckhead, Decatur and Fourth Ward all in the same week and just think Bacchanalia shines above everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to have dinner with a friend. The f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Went to have dinner with a friend. The food was quite good but the service was not. We ordered a wine pairing to go with our meal, but the server forgot to bring the wine that went with the first course (a nice Sauternes). While waiting for my second course I told her I wanted to try the wine anyway and she obliged, but then decided on her own that I did not want the wine that came with my second course, a Pinot Noir. This wine went well with my dish but when drunk alone had a bitter aftertaste. The server also thought that Darjeeling was the name of a herbal tea. When she brought the bill she had included an extra glass of wine, although my friend did not drink the Sauternes.

Considering the amount of money I paid, I would have expected a more professional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We visit for every special occasion and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We visit for every special occasion and the staff never dissapoints. The food is phenomenal and the ambiance is charming.

Thank you for making our 10th wedding anniversary truly special.

L.Burnett

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The services were not so good as has bee ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The services were not so good as has been. Our server wound not listen to us and made his own decision. And they do not know how to brew black tea. Not sure I will make another visit although I use to eat there often.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I was so excited to try this restaurant, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I was so excited to try this restaurant, as I've been wanting to go since college. The service was extremely rushed - for a 4 course meal, we were out of there in 90 minutes or so. I would have preferred to have a leisurely meal. At one point, my plate was taken away before I was finished eating. And servers repeatedly came to see if I was done yet (I'm a pretty slow eater).

Food was good, but with the service - I don't think we'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Always impressive. Expensive but you de ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Always impressive. Expensive but you definitely get your money's worth.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were outstanding. H ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food and service were outstanding. Highly recommend for anyone celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bacchanalia was everything I hoped it wo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Bacchanalia was everything I hoped it would be.

I went with a few friends to celebrate my birthday, and it was the perfect fine dining experience. The ambiance was comfortable. The staff was knowledgable. The menu was diverse. From the foie gras, to the lamb, to the taleggio, to the soufflé, the food was fantastic, sophisticated, refined, and delicious.

I will definitely return, and recommend Bacchanalia to everyone I know.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were remarkable. One o ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food and service were remarkable. One of the best meals I've ever had! From the oysters through the menu to the incredible blueberry soufflé - all were excellent! The only thing that wasn't perfect was the seating. Chairs were not comfortable and the sheepskin covers actually seem kind of gross. How do you clean those things?

A really incredible meal and a fun night! Thank you and I can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We ate at Bacchanalia for our wedding an ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We ate at Bacchanalia for our wedding anniversary. Great restaurant with awesome service and great food. We were especially impressed by the extras that the kitchen would bring out in between courses. Very friendly, accommodating, and professional staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bacchanalia exceeded every expectation t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Bacchanalia exceeded every expectation that we had. The staff could not have been more courteous and their attention to detail was second to none. Courses were paired perfectly with wine, they were timed perfectly, and progressed and built on one another in the best way possible. The staff made every dish feel especially-made for us and they made it well-known that they were there to make our experience a great one. They did much more than just that. I feel confident in saying, this was not only the best meal, but also the best dining experience I have ever enjoyed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was the best in Atlanta and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The service was the best in Atlanta and the food was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food with so many great tastes ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Fabulous food with so many great tastes and beautifully designed plates. Wish they had ala carte also. Some times we don't go because we don't feel like that much rich food.

We had a beautiful evening with great company and superb food.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still one of the best dining experiences ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Still one of the best dining experiences in Atlanta. Lovely food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous dining experience! Not an inexp ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Fabulous dining experience! Not an inexpensive outing, but definitely worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.