About Bacchanalia

1198 Howell Mill Road
Atlanta, GA 30318
View Larger Map

Bacchanalia is Atlanta’s most celebrated restaurant featuring contemporary American cuisine from chefs/owners Anne Quatrano and Clifford Harrison. Expect incredibly fresh and flavorful choices with masterful preparation and presentation. Bacchanalia’s seasonal menu relies entirely on organic ingredients, many sourced from Anne and Clifford’s farm, so that diners can have an utterly unique dining experience each time they return. Bacchanalia offers a five-course prix fixe menu composed of a cold appetizer course, fish course, entrée course, cheese course and dessert course for $85 per person. The menu can also be ordered a la carte at the bar.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday from 5:30pm

Closed on Sundays

Cross Street:
between Huff Road & 14th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 365-0410 ext. 22

Website:
http://www.starprovisions.com/

Parking Details:
Self Parking offered in lot in front of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Anne Quatrano/Clifford Harrison

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

At Bacchanalia, expect incredibly fresh and flavorful choices with masterful preparation and presentation. Bacchanalia holds up to 90 guests with a private room that can be utilized to accommodate up to 20.

Bacchanalia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Atlanta / Georgia
Notable Wine List
Atlanta
Special Occasion
Atlanta
1 More
Contemporary American
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in West Midtown ›

special occasion (117)
fit for foodies (102)
romantic (88)
See All
notable wine list (59)
neighborhood gem (16)
hot spot (14)
good for groups (7)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1772 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5

Service and good was excellent.

Dined 4 days ago

Service and good was excellent.

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I have to say I had extremely high expec ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I have to say I had extremely high expectations for this restaurant. That being said, overall, the experience was very nice. Presentation was beautiful, decorations were nice. The first course fois gras was the best I've ever tasted... but the strawberry sauce and dehydrated strawberries on top were not special, in fact, kind of out of place. I ordered the snapper, my husband ordered the lamb two ways. His was very good, mine was not so much. I was shocked at the texture of the fish. There was what seemed to be a thick layer of fat on it, which was extremely difficult to chew through and not tasty at all. The beans and peas were good, but pretty salty, too. The wine list was tiny, like one type of wine tiny. Good thing the only sauvignon blanc they had was good, same with the cabernet. Also, don't go there thinking you're going to have an experience with cocktails.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch dining experience in Atlanta

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

We were visiting Atlanta for the weekend (from New York) and went to Bacchanalia to celebrate my husband's birthday celebration. Everything from the food, wine, service was impeccable. The creativity and balance of flavours in each dish was exquisite (notably, the strawberry foie gras appetizer, and beef entree were real stand-outs in our views). The choice of wine parings (with options for half glass and full glasses) were great (we find that with many fine dining restaurants the matched wines is usually too much and impedes enjoyment of the food, but by being able to adjust and have half glasses meant that we could enjoy the food and wine in balance/moderation). Even though it's a white table cloth restaurant, it was not pretentious or snobby. We loved the ambiance - classy and elegant, but still very chic and hip. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food flavor/texture combinatio ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Excellent food flavor/texture combinations and preparations. Great service and attention to detail

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never been disappointed. Always an ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

I've never been disappointed. Always and incredible dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Had a little trouble locating the restau ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Had a little trouble locating the restaurant. Abundant, well trained and responsive staff. With Jamie's knowledgeable help, menu offerings were understandable and appealing. Food and service were exceptional, timely, and very enjoyable. Hope to return soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

excellent food but the subtle pretentiou ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

excellent food but the subtle pretentiousness is off putting - while it achieves rave after rave review, Bacchanalia is a pretentious experience on the whole and not worth the high price: 1) why are we greeted with every course by a different waitron? yep,that is different but not necessary, 2) especially when one does not know to serve from the left and remove from the right....

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my girlfriends birthday so decide ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

It was my girlfriends birthday so decided to celebrate it by going to bacchanalia. Told them it was my girlfriends birthday in advance and they treated us exceptionally wonderful. The food was one of the best I have tasted. I had the fritters for appetizer and it was so so good. Then came the ny strip cooked perfectly. I then had the lamp chopper cheese followed by the chocolate Charlotte. The staff is super attentive and knowledgeable. I usually come out of fine dining a little hungry but i was very full coming out. They give you little bite sized finger foods to eat while you wait and that was very good as well

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, knowledgeable and attentive ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, knowledgeable and attentive wait staff. Pricey for some but, for the most part, well worth it. Some have complained about the prix fixe menu but you can order a la carte if you simply ask.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Beautiful experience. celebrated our anniversary

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great experience. Exceptional service. Anticipated our needs before we even knew. Loved the food. Only thing I would recommend is possibly light background music. As parties came and left there was an eerie quiet at times in the restaurant and people around us felt they needed to whisper. Literally the only thing I could say could change. The rest is perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb everything

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Superb everything

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Caught up with a friend I'd not seen in 2 years

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

I was catching up with an old friend I hadn't seen in some time. This meant a lot of chatting and our waitress was incredible. When she came back we were still talking instead of being ready to order (which I understand could be annoying) and she was exceptionally accommodating. My friend had a lot of questions about the menu and she answered each of them thoroughly. She was warm, attentive (but not overly so) and made sure we didn't need a thing. She offered a few suggestions and the ones we followed were spot on. I believe her name is Jamie and she was outstanding. She honestly made the evening for us! There wasn't anything we tried that we didn't like (and we didn't get any of the same thing). Would recommend to anyone! We were also a little late and called ahead to let them know due to unexpected traffic (we're not from ATL) and they were very gracious about it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent. Service was perfect

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was perfect

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

Everything about the evening was outstanding. The service was attentive without interrupting the conversation. Food came out at a comfortable pace. Recommendations were spot on. The food was beautifully plated and delicious. While we had our favorites, they were preferences- it was all good. Enjoyed the amuse bouche. A true 5 Star Experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of a kind experience

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food is all delicious and the presentation makes every guest feel like the experience is completely customized for them.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was lacking

Dined on April 28, 2016

Went on a Thursday night for our anniversary. The food was fantastic but the service was not. We had to ask to get our waters refilled multiple times and the waiter didn't have time to stop and discuss drinks with us during the meal. Sad, considering the reputation. They did give us a nice anniversary dessert cupcake which was a nice touch. Service just not what we expected from such a well regarded spot

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first visit to Bacchanalia an ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

It was our first visit to Bacchanalia and we celebrated our wedding anniversary. A very enjoyable experience! The staff was very knowledgeable about everything and the food was the best. We highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to celebrate a special event ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Great place to celebrate a special event in your life.

food5
ambience5
service5

The most amazing dining experience. The ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

The most amazing dining experience. The staff is warm and gracias. The ambiance is phenomenal. The tables are spaced out so it'd not crowded and there is plenty of room for the staff to get by. Not noisy at all. Star Provisions is right by so you can shop a bit while waiting. The food is the best. Can't wait to go back.

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Service lacking

Dined on April 24, 2016

I have been to this restaurant several times and have always had excellent service. However, this visit was such a disapointment. Our glasses remained empty for several minutes and no one checked on us to see if we needed anything to drink. I finally had to flag a random server down. I had no idea who our server was, as we had several different people approach our table. It was a very special occasion, that was marred by the poor service. The food was good, but would have enjoyed much better service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant experience ever.

Dined on April 23, 2016

We consider ourselves foodies. We cook at home with top, fresh ingredients and with a variety of techniques, cultural influences and tastes. So when we go out, we want something that exceeds what we can do at home both in ingredients, technique and service. Bacchanalia far exceeded our expectations. From the exceptional service which is like watching an orchestrated ballet to each and every item ordered being better than the last, to the wine pairings that were perfect, everything was outstanding. This is a must for any foodie in or traveling through Atlanta. We will definitely being coming back. One tip... must make a reservation WELL in advance - we made ours 5 weeks prior.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gingersnaps

Dined on April 23, 2016

Quaint place with great service. A finely tuned kitchen that did not dissappoint in taste or artistry when it came to every plate's presentation. The only problem came at night, rhubarb did not make friends with my girlfriend's bowels.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience. Each course add ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great dining experience. Each course added something. The quantity was just right and the food had the right spices. Our server knew what to recommend. We loved that the kitchen was able to fit our dietary needs. I will definitely recommend for a date, birthday dinner or just a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

FINEST DINING

Dined on April 21, 2016

Bacchanalia serves prix fixe dinners with several choices per course. Each course is moderate in size, elegantly presented, and preceded by a silverware change. The dress is officially business casual, but most men wore coats with no ties. Parking is by valet. I suggest a review of the menu before visiting to plan the wine choice, etc.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Very Nice

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

We have enjoyed dining at Bacchanalia in the past. The food is delicious and the service good. This time, although we had read that you can now order a only three courses off the menu, we were told there is only prixe fixe menu and we had to order it all up front. We knew that is how it always had been in the past so thought maybe the smaller menu was not working. We ordered our meal but made sure that the server knew that we did not want to be rushed and wanted space between courses or we would never be able to enjoy the food or eat everything. We were assured that it would be fine and we had all the time in the world. Once the food started coming out it was a constant delivery to the table. We barely put our fork down before the next thing arrived. The food was good but we could not come up for air and felt rushed. Although this restaurant gets great reviews, a one hour dinner does not make a fine dining experience. I doubt we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, Not for everyone.

Dined on April 19, 2016

it was my wife's birthday and i thought i would take her on a fine dining experience. It was the first time for both of us to eat at a super high end, michelin star level restaurant. The food was amazing, and so was the service. Ambiance was good, even though i felt the loghts couldve been turned a little more higher. The food portions were adequate for fine dining, but not for a huge belly like mine. The taste was immaculate for me, but not everything was perfect for my wife. I would certainly recommend bacchanalia to my few rich friends, but not to everyone. Maybe for special occasions.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 15, 2016

The meal was very delicious. We were extremely disappointed in the Malbec that we ordered. It was a 2011, but undrinkable as it was too tannic even after airing for a solid 30 minutes. We were disappointed that such a fine restaurant would offer a subpar wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A foodie's dream

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

We came to Bacchanalia to celebrate my niece's birthday. From the moment we stepped in to be checked in, we knew the place was special. This is the quintessential perfect restaurant for a foodie. Not only is the menu intriguing but the service is flawless - our waiter was attentive and offered navigation to the menu of choices. The texture and the balance of flavors are all on point. We loved the four course meal - the portions were just right. The staff were so service oriented - it was truly a remarkable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

more than a dinner out.

Dined on April 15, 2016

We had a gift card for about 3 years but since we live in Brunswick it had to be planned and getting the evening we wanted had to be planned but it was so worth waiting. It was definitely a dining experience not just a dinner. From oysters from SC to coconut cream pie. it was more than what we expected and perfect in every way.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointing second visit.

Dined on April 14, 2016

Had a fabulous meal at Bacchanalia three years ago--wonderful food and superb service. We brought two additional friends with us on our recent return visit based on this experience and were embarrassed that we had talked it up so much before going. I cant say anything was exceptional and the fish served was so salty that it was inedible. Unfortunately, the service matched this--we had to ask to place our order and had on multiple occasions to refill our own wine glasses. Not at all what I'd expect from a restaurant of this supposed caliber.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Reservation at 9:30

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

We arrived at the restaurant a few mins earlier for our 9:30 reservation and from the moment we were handed our menus, we felt rushed by our waiter and the staff at the restaurant. My problem with this is that we are paying $85 for a preset 4-course tasting menu and the restaurant and we should have time to enjoy this meal appropriately. Furthermore, the restaurant should set a different closing time if they do not want to entertain guests after 9:30pm. The food was good but we took (2) of our courses to go. It is very unfortunately that we did not get to enjoy our meal in its entirety at the restaurant.

food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Disappointing food, excellent service.

Dined on April 11, 2016

Our waitress was excellent, however the food was not. Too many ingredients in each course. It was as if the chef threw in everything he/she could think of to be creative, leaving me with a confused/conflicted palatte. The steak and red snapper were served cooler than room temperature. The cheese course was so busy it was difficult to appreciate the depth of flavor of our choices. Will never go back, although I give kudos to the wait staff.

food5
ambience2
service3

The food was incredible, however a resta ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was incredible, however a restaurant of this caliber is about the entire experience. The biggest hindrance to thoroughly enjoying the meal was the ridiculous close proximity of the tables to one another. It was impossible to ignore the diners on either side of us since they were about two feet away. When the wait staff would move in between our tables to serve, I felt as though my wine might accidentally be knocked over because they were that close. For paying $300+ for a meal with my spouse, I expect to have some privacy. I could understand limited space in New York City, but not Atlanta. The wait staff were very friendly and professional. However, they were not as polished as one would expect, contributing to the lack of "wow factor" of our overall experience. The food was truly remarkable. The wine pairings made the flavors all the more exceptional. The crab fritter was a standout favorite. The pastry chef is incredible! Overall, we will return if adjustments are made to the ambience and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for a special occasion

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Food and service were great, as usual. The crab fritter appetizer continues to be our favorite item on the menu. Our only criticism is that the wait between the courses -- especially between the first and second courses -- was quite long. We waited so long for the second course that we started discussing how long it was taking. We didn't experience such long waits when we dined there several weeks ago with a larger party. But overall a great meal for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and amazing food!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great service and amazing food!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Put this restaurant on your list of places to eat.

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food and cocktails were outstanding. The service was impeccable. I highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stupendous, as advertised

Dined on April 8, 2016

I've been hearing about this restaurant forever and it's frequently ranked at the top of lists for special occasions. (I last came for lunch in 1994 when it was on Piedmont Ave. That doesn't even count.). I have to say as a birthday dinner it was well worth it. The prixe fix menu offered some fine choices. Loved the cheese plate, the chocolate cake dessert was sublime, the little samplers were fun, the duck I selected was beautifully plated and tasty to boot. My wife's lobster appetizer was better than my still excellent crab. The service was attentive but not overbearing. And afterwards, Star Provisions provided us free multigrain bread that would have otherwise been dumped. Nice bonus!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Solid Restaurant in Atlanta

Dined on April 2, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner at Bacchanalia. Great service, great ambiance, solid food and libations. Went with the prix fixe ("fixed price" or set meal/set menu) and it was somewhat different than most I've had. The 4 course set menu included an appetizer, an entree, a featured cheese dish(unique), and then dessert. Interspersed into the evening were random, creative "snacks." I would have to say that the food, while solid, didn't really stick out too much. I've had foie gras done in numerous ways. This was the most simple. A bit of foie gras with small strawberry slivers on top. Much of the rest of the menu didn't really strike me as creative but it was all-in-all solid. The food was tasty and presented well, but I understood why there was yet to be a Michelin star given to this establishment. I also was a bit thrown off by the fact that while there was one "main" server assigned, we saw 3-4 different individuals who came through to present varying dishes. It led to confusion when we needed certain things. I also started my meal with what came out to be a little less than a dram of single malt scotch. The libations menu was extensive and there were some solid wine offerings. I want to say that what we received for the price was solid food, but nothing spectacular that would make me ever come back. I feel like for each dish we chose for the prix fixe, I can name at least one restaurant that does something similar except far better at less of a price. That being said, if we strike it up as the cost being for the beautiful ambiance, then I suppose it works. Special occasions would be nice and if you let them know that it is a special occasion, they seem to go above and beyond to make it nice. If it's for an everyday dinner, I might go elsewhere. I do appreciate the restaurant but do hope that there will be a push to bring it to the next plateau especially via creativity. I probably will never go back, but i'm glad I had this dining experience to say that I did try it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

The experience is ALWAYS phenomenal! Del ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

The experience is ALWAYS phenomenal! Delicious food, excellent service, and a wonderful place overall. This is our 4th time and we will make it a 5th real soon. 👍🏽

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we had was amazing

Dined on March 30, 2016

We have been trying to make it to bacchinalia for a couple years now and it was worth the wait. We did the tasting menu and wine pairing not cheap but well worth it. The caviar and potatoes were sublime and the duck was cooked perfectly. I highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys masterfully thought up and prepared food, not your typical over priced steak or sushi.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.