About Bacchanalia

1198 Howell Mill Road
Atlanta, GA 30318
View Larger Map

Bacchanalia is Atlanta’s most celebrated restaurant featuring contemporary American cuisine from chefs/owners Anne Quatrano and Clifford Harrison. Expect incredibly fresh and flavorful choices with masterful preparation and presentation. Bacchanalia’s seasonal menu relies entirely on organic ingredients, many sourced from Anne and Clifford’s farm, so that diners can have an utterly unique dining experience each time they return. Bacchanalia offers a five-course prix fixe menu composed of a cold appetizer course, fish course, entrée course, cheese course and dessert course for $85 per person. The menu can also be ordered a la carte at the bar.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday from 5:30pm

Closed on Sundays

Cross Street:
between Huff Road & 14th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 365-0410 ext. 22

Website:
http://www.starprovisions.com/

Parking Details:
Self Parking offered in lot in front of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Anne Quatrano/Clifford Harrison

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Report a photo problem

Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA
Bacchanalia, Atlanta, GA

Private Dining

At Bacchanalia, expect incredibly fresh and flavorful choices with masterful preparation and presentation. Bacchanalia holds up to 90 guests with a private room that can be utilized to accommodate up to 20.

Bacchanalia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Romantic (43)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
See All
Good for a Date (35)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Notable Wine List (28)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Cozy (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Worth the Drive (19)
Tasting Menu (15)
Seasonal (10)
Business Meals (9)
Modern Decor (6)
Fun (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Authentic (4)
Organic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Historic (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (2)
 (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
 (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2086 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice evening. Great bottle of wine. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice evening. Great bottle of wine. Service was very good, thoughtful. Will go again...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an anniversary dinner at Bacchana ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

We had an anniversary dinner at Bacchanalia, and it exceeded our expectations. The 4 course dinners were outstanding, particularly with the wine selections (I had while my wife did not).NY Strip as good as I have had, and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I thought the food was fantastic, but ov ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

I thought the food was fantastic, but over-priced. I would not recommend for someone who's on a budget. But every course was mouth-watering and was served rapidly. The suggested wine pairings were spot on. Don't even get me started about the cheese - yum.

It is very quite in the restaurant and the service seems a little snooty, but that might be the atmosphere they are going for - flashback to cotillion days. Having said that, I thought the wait staff was very friendly and helpful.

If money isn't an issue, and you're looking for a delicious, fancy dinner, this is the place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food. Service was top notch. Wine ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food. Service was top notch. Wine was matched with food very well. Expensive to say the least but overall was worth the money.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We've been here before and had looked fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We've been here before and had looked forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Every bite was an experience

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Every bite was an experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fantastic!

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Impeccable food and service. Very clever ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Impeccable food and service. Very clever flavour combinations and pairings. Loved the little inter-course bites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as always

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Awesome as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Atlanta. The f ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Atlanta. The food and service is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My experience was great. Food was great, ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My experience was great. Food was great, servers were knowledgeable, atmosphere was cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bacchanalia was superb as always. It is ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Bacchanalia was superb as always. It is my restaurant of choice for those "special occasions." Excellent food, wonderful service and a warm ambiance. Thanks to all the staff at this Atlanta gem!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Eve dinner at Bacchanalia was, ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner at Bacchanalia was, as always, absolutely wonderful! This is our 14th year celebrating at Bacchanalia & I am already looking forward to our 15th!

The overall menu does change somewhat each year, but, when available, you can never go wrong with the crab fritter or any preparation of lamb offered. And the cheese cart is ALWAYS ridiculous for the frontage-ophiles!

Thank you for an absolutely perfect Christmas Eve dinner, Bacchanalia!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Flawless as usual. Accommodating to our ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Flawless as usual. Accommodating to our requests for menu alterations due to special diet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a wonderful dining experience. I ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Always a wonderful dining experience. Impeccable service, food, and ambience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bacchanalia is without question the best ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Bacchanalia is without question the best of the best in Atlanta. Every time I dine at Bacchanalia, I ask myself one question "Why don't I eat here more often"!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Keeps having a high standard. Food, ambi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Keeps having a high standard. Food, ambiance and service are high quality.

Prices are getting too expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service and a wonderful meal. Spe ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great service and a wonderful meal. Special dinner night!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dining experience! Try the cavia ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Amazing dining experience! Try the caviar + popcorn, and the spectacular lamb cleverly paired with a fruity Pinot noir. Spend the extra $10 for selection of cheeses and get your choice of five from their cart of 12. Service is great and they were very accommodating to our dietary restrictions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is absolutely one of the best resta ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This is absolutely one of the best restaurants we've been to. The taste is unique, but all dishes were absolutely delicious. This is quality food. We went there for our tenth anniversary, and we were completely blown away by the restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT!!! Looking forward to another ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 14, 2016

EXCELLENT!!! Looking forward to another wonderful experience in Bacchanalia.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Somewhat of a disappointment, compared t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Somewhat of a disappointment, compared to previous visits. Two of my four courses were good, two were just OK. My fish, while cooked perfectly, was lacking in taste. And the cheese course with a marinated pear seemed muddled, non distinct. Overall the food was good, not great which is what I would expect at this establishment and for the price. Ah well, win some......

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Expected much more than what I've experi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Expected much more than what I've experienced. Overall quality of foods was not worth for the price. Service was mixed: actually, I had an odd reaction from one of the many servers who stared at me on my questions of names of food and other. It was weird for me to have a server looking at me for a few seconds with somewhat uncomfortable smile after my questions. Some foods were somewhat tasty, but overall, if the restaurant has 24 years of service, high reputation and quality ambiance in this type of restaurant, I expect more from the quality of foods. Disasspointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Excellent!! Recommend for anyone to try ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Excellent!! Recommend for anyone to try at least once.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Exquisite steak tartare. Special birthda ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Exquisite steak tartare. Special birthday treat. Outstanding service at the bar. A cut above all else in the ATL.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our thirty third wedding a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We celebrated our thirty third wedding anniversary and had an exceptional experience. The food was amazing but the service and staff are surpassed by no other. We truly felt special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

There is not enough good things to say a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

There is not enough good things to say about this restaurant. The food was out of this world, and was only matched by the superb service. I look forward to going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service. I was surprisingly ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Outstanding service. I was surprisingly full after the small portions. Loved the bites from the kitchen. One of them literally tasted like fall. The experience overall felt a bit rushed. I also picked the wine pairings to go with the dish and I wasn't sure about the sweet Riesling with the acidity and spice components of the fried crab ball. I had the lobster with my entree and it was good but I feel the chef could have done a bit more to make it stand out from other lobster dishes. It was a nice lobster prepared very well, but the preparation was too simple. It would have been impressive to have some parts of the lobster fried or maybe in a stew etc rather than just there with celery root and some sort of purée. Again the service was amazing and the staff was very knowledge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

We went for my early-December birthday, ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We went for my early-December birthday, as we have done for many years now... it's always good but this year the food was exceptional! With a multi-course tasting menu and two people you figure some dishes will be "meh" -- but everything was great. Hope this continues when they move to their new location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my wife her for her birthday. The ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Took my wife her for her birthday. The food was incredibly delicious and the service was the best ever!!. We loved the total experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Organic, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second experience here. That's what it ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Second experience here. That's what it is, an experience. A long evening of beautiful and delicious food, excellent service, and great drinks. Dinner here is always something to be remembered and talked about long after the night.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As an Atlanta native, I've heard about B ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

As an Atlanta native, I've heard about Bacchanalia for years. I've always wanted to try it, but was always hesitant because I was worried the experience wouldn't live up the hype. Well, for my grandmother's 80th birthday, I finally decided to try it. I'm so, so, SO happy I did. It didn't just live up to my lofty expectations, it surpassed them. Bacchanalia is one of my top two all-time favorite dining experiences, and my far and away Atlanta favorite. This restaurant is a sure fire home run for any special occasion. The creativity and ambiance will blow you away! Love, love, LOVE!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!!! Worth the trip.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great experience!!! Worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious dishes, beautifully presented.

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Delicious dishes, beautifully presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, service, and ambiance. A lit ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great food, service, and ambiance. A little hard to find but it is a nice cozy place after discovery. Prix Four but really, you have food at your table non-stop compliments of the chef. Great place for an anniversary or even to propose to your very special person. I will always remember that night.

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time here, and did not disappo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our first time here, and did not disappoint. Elegant dining atmosphere, but not pretentious. Lots of choices available on a prix fixe menu that allows you to customize your dinner experience, even if you're on a specific diet. Each course was rather tiny, but it all added up so that by the end, we were quite stuffed, surprisingly. And the food was sublime. Certainly not inexpensive (for the 2 of us it was about $300 with wine and tip), but for a very special occasion, I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bacchanialia was the highlight of our re ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Bacchanialia was the highlight of our recent trip to Atlanta. The setting is lovely; the service impeccable. The food is impressive, delicious, and very much worth the price. The prix fixe menu offers a wide range of flavors and textures, allowing the opportunity for a couple or small group to sample the best of fine dining. An incredible dining experience. So memorable!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service and presentation. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Impeccable service and presentation. I have worked for two James Beard award winning chefs and know the quality of a dining experience. This was my third visit and I am impressed with their consistency and knowledge. Do yourself a favor and enjoy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely magnificent food and service. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Absolutely magnificent food and service...well worth the price and waiting list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful romantic evening for my ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had a wonderful romantic evening for my 1 year anniversary. Everything about the meal was amazing, definitely do the prix fixe

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.