Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

JCT Kitchen and BarJCT Kitchen and Bar
(3789)
$$$$
American | West Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 84 times today
The OptimistThe Optimist
(3187)
$$$$
Seafood | West Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 102 times today
Miller UnionMiller Union
(2157)
$$$$
American | West Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 17 times today
Cooks & SoldiersCooks & Soldiers
(961)
$$$$
Basque | West Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 46 times today
MarcelMarcel
(288)
$$$$
Steakhouse | West Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 31 times today
O-Ku - AtlantaO-Ku - Atlanta
(279)
$$$$
Asian | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 21 times today
South City Kitchen MidtownSouth City Kitchen Midtown
(3942)
$$$$
Southern | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 63 times today
EccoEcco
(3178)
$$$$
European | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 48 times today
BOCADOBOCADO
(1351)
$$$$
Contemporary American | West Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 11 times today
Le FatLe Fat
(331)
$$$$
Vietnamese | West Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 22 times today
Eight Sushi LoungeEight Sushi Lounge
(265)
$$$$
Sushi | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 13 times today
Lure - AtlantaLure - Atlanta
(1667)
$$$$
Seafood | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 33 times today
Pasta da PulcinellaPasta da Pulcinella
(1611)
$$$$
Italian | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 28 times today
Nan Thai Fine DiningNan Thai Fine Dining
(1467)
$$$$
Thai | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 13 times today
5Church - Atlanta5Church - Atlanta
(297)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 26 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About Bacchanalia

Bacchanalia is Atlanta’s most celebrated restaurant featuring contemporary American cuisine from chefs/owners Anne Quatrano and Clifford Harrison. Expect incredibly fresh and flavorful choices with masterful preparation and presentation. Bacchanalia’s seasonal menu relies entirely on organic ingredients, many sourced from Anne and Clifford’s farm, so that diners can have an utterly unique dining experience each time they return. Bacchanalia offers a five-course prix fixe menu composed of a cold appetizer course, fish course, entrée course, cheese course and dessert course for $85 per person. The menu can also be ordered a la carte at the bar.

1198 Howell Mill Road
Atlanta, GA 30318
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday from 5:30pm

Closed on Sundays

Cross Street:
between Huff Road & 14th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 365-0410 ext. 22

Website:
http://www.starprovisions.com/

Parking Details:
Self Parking offered in lot in front of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Anne Quatrano/Clifford Harrison

Private Party Facilities:
At Bacchanalia, expect incredibly fresh and flavorful choices with masterful preparation and presentation. Bacchanalia holds up to 90 guests with a private room that can be utilized to accommodate up to 20.

Private Party Contact:
Frances Quatrano: (404) 365-0410 ext. 22

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Bacchanalia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
See All
Fit for Foodies (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Romantic (11)
Good for a Date (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Cozy (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
2106 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

First time in many years of regular visits that we were disappointed. The new space is great, the service was fine, but the food was just average -- other than the crab fritter, which is always excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Awesome as always, finest staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Always a wonderful experience, never disappoints.
Looking forward to trying the new location

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Red cow Parmesan cheese was outstanding; the service is always amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We've been going there for my wife's birthday. We love the food. The changes over the years have been good to keep the experience fresh and interesting. Last night, we felt that the wait staff seemed rushed. They were courteous but seemed hurried; this takes away from the overall experience where we were used to sitting down for 2+ hours and enjoying the evening. Last night was the first time we were in and out in under 2 hours.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The tasting menu was superb and unlike many other prix-fixed menus that designate only one or two options for each course, this one has four or more. It's definitely a splurge to do the menu and the wine pairings, but having the choice of a half glass per course helped, but totally worth it and would do it again (though can't do it too often w/o damaging the wallet and the waistline). Beautiful presentation and the flavors were amazing. Thanks for a wonderful evening and experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Best restaurant in Atlanta. Truly a culinary delight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I had noted on my OpenTable reservation that we were celebrating my husband's birthday, and he was wished happy birthday by the hostess upon our arrival. However, she must not have communicated this to our server/kitchen because our server never asked if we were celebrating a special occasion, and my husband didn't receive a special birthday dessert. This was disappointing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Not many gluten and dairy free options. They did make an effort but all I got was some sliced apple, an orange piece along with a sliced beet. Not worth the $95 price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent food and outstanding service all at a high price (which I was prepared).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had an early Valentine dinner. It was my husband's first time to the restaurant and we were both very pleased. The service is beyond excellent and the flavors are as well. The signature crab fritter is a must have. The quality of the experience makes this money well spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good food but expectations were probably too high.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were so excited to dine in this restaurant. We had read the great reviews and they far outweighed the negative. But after our dining experience we went back and read the negative and they were spot on. Our reservation was at 8:15. We arrived on time and were seated. It's a noisy environment but it wasn't awful. Our waiter arrived almost immediately. He set down the menu, explained the four courses took our cocktail order. Within a few minutes our drinks were in front of us and it everything switched into over drive. He spoke fast, he moved fast and he took our order quickly. We had not even finished our cocktail and the first course arrived. As soon as it was finished it was whisked away and the 2nd was placed in front of us. We both ordered 1/2 glass of wine they recommended and didn't even finish that until after our 3rd course which came about 15 minutes later. The 3rd is cheese so it is very small. At that time he took our drink order for our dessert. Dessert, drink and OUR CHECK all arrived together. It was exactly 9:15 on the dot when we finished. We were stunned. Our meal was $300 and we finished in 1 hour with the bill paid. We never asked for a check. We never relaxed over our food. It was a classic turn and burn. When we went back to read the reviews it seems this is the norm. While the food was good, it all happened so fast we didn't get to experience it. I have waited in line longer at a Chick fil A At lunch than this restaurant. Definitely no longer a top spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The high-end food options and service level, combined with the eclectic mid-century casual atmosphere creates a unique experience. The service is as good as it gets in Atlanta. The food choices are unique. At first view, may not meet the interests of all diners, but even the most unexpected items like the popcorn caviar and shot of cold parsley soup are wonderfully flavored and presented. This is a much visit for the refined diner in Atlanta.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Oh my lird the food here was So fine! Loved it love it. Had the a la carte lamb with another piece candied, the cheese selection was great and overall super. Service was intrusive but only had to tell the waiter to back off until we were ready once. Reservations was a bit of a joke as had a 645, asked if could make it 7pm, said no but restaurant never 2/3 full thruout dinner. Other than that super fine and will return

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Simply phenomenal and such a great experience. Well worth the money!! All the food was prepared, cooked, and plated perfect! My wife is a chef and loves this place!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Very nice evening. Great bottle of wine. Service was very good, thoughtful. Will go again...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We had an anniversary dinner at Bacchanalia, and it exceeded our expectations. The 4 course dinners were outstanding, particularly with the wine selections (I had while my wife did not).NY Strip as good as I have had, and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I thought the food was fantastic, but over-priced. I would not recommend for someone who's on a budget. But every course was mouth-watering and was served rapidly. The suggested wine pairings were spot on. Don't even get me started about the cheese - yum.

It is very quite in the restaurant and the service seems a little snooty, but that might be the atmosphere they are going for - flashback to cotillion days. Having said that, I thought the wait staff was very friendly and helpful.

If money isn't an issue, and you're looking for a delicious, fancy dinner, this is the place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food. Service was top notch. Wine was matched with food very well. Expensive to say the least but overall was worth the money.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We have been to this restaurant many times and have always been very happy with both the food and the service. The food remains excellent but we were very disappointed with the service, always having the impression that there was a "rush" to get to the end/go through the required (by the wait staff) motions established by the owners.
For example, the entrée had barely been served when we were asked how it was.
Example 2, we were asked very early in the process if we would like coffee/tea/after dinner drink.
Example 3, we were presented with our check before we asked for it to be delivered.

This is the type of restaurant where you expect the service to be excellent. It was not, indeed you would probably get better service at a chain restaurant than we received that night. It was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We've been here before and had looked forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Every bite was an experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Impeccable food and service. Very clever flavour combinations and pairings. Loved the little inter-course bites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Awesome as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Atlanta. The food and service is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My experience was great. Food was great, servers were knowledgeable, atmosphere was cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Bacchanalia was superb as always. It is my restaurant of choice for those "special occasions." Excellent food, wonderful service and a warm ambiance. Thanks to all the staff at this Atlanta gem!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner at Bacchanalia was, as always, absolutely wonderful! This is our 14th year celebrating at Bacchanalia & I am already looking forward to our 15th!

The overall menu does change somewhat each year, but, when available, you can never go wrong with the crab fritter or any preparation of lamb offered. And the cheese cart is ALWAYS ridiculous for the frontage-ophiles!

Thank you for an absolutely perfect Christmas Eve dinner, Bacchanalia!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Flawless as usual. Accommodating to our requests for menu alterations due to special diet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Always a wonderful dining experience. Impeccable service, food, and ambience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Keeps having a high standard. Food, ambiance and service are high quality.
Prices are getting too expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Bacchanalia is without question the best of the best in Atlanta. Every time I dine at Bacchanalia, I ask myself one question "Why don't I eat here more often"!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great service and a wonderful meal. Special dinner night!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Amazing dining experience! Try the caviar + popcorn, and the spectacular lamb cleverly paired with a fruity Pinot noir. Spend the extra $10 for selection of cheeses and get your choice of five from their cart of 12. Service is great and they were very accommodating to our dietary restrictions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This is absolutely one of the best restaurants we've been to. The taste is unique, but all dishes were absolutely delicious. This is quality food. We went there for our tenth anniversary, and we were completely blown away by the restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Bacchanalia always delivers! It has been around forever and helped jumpstart the Atlanta foodie scene. Though it has many competitors, Bacchanalia still takes its role as elder stateswoman seriously. Always on our list and we will keep coming back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 14, 2016

EXCELLENT!!! Looking forward to another wonderful experience in Bacchanalia.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Somewhat of a disappointment, compared to previous visits. Two of my four courses were good, two were just OK. My fish, while cooked perfectly, was lacking in taste. And the cheese course with a marinated pear seemed muddled, non distinct. Overall the food was good, not great which is what I would expect at this establishment and for the price. Ah well, win some......

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.