Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.
See affiliated restaurants ›
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Floataway CafeFloataway Cafe
(1215)
$$$$
American | Virginia Highland, Atlanta
JCT Kitchen and BarJCT Kitchen and Bar
(3668)
$$$$
American | West Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 82 times today
Cooks & SoldiersCooks & Soldiers
(866)
$$$$
Basque | West Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 61 times today
O-Ku - AtlantaO-Ku - Atlanta
(224)
$$$$
Asian | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 31 times today
MarcelMarcel
(203)
$$$$
Steakhouse | West Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 36 times today
Miller UnionMiller Union
(2084)
$$$$
American | West Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 29 times today
Eight Sushi LoungeEight Sushi Lounge
(220)
$$$$
Sushi | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 22 times today
The OptimistThe Optimist
(3046)
$$$$
Seafood | West Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 82 times today
BOCADOBOCADO
(1305)
$$$$
Contemporary American | West Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 23 times today
ZEN on TenZEN on Ten
(73)
$$$$
Thai | West Midtown, Atlanta
Le FatLe Fat
(298)
$$$$
Vietnamese | West Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 28 times today
do Restaurant at the Viewdo Restaurant at the View
(440)
$$$$
Pizzeria | West Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 9 times today
Better HalfBetter Half
(195)
$$$$
Contemporary Southern | West Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 4 times today
One Rooster Mongolian BarOne Rooster Mongolian Bar
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
American | West Midtown, Atlanta
Rosa Mexicano - AtlantaRosa Mexicano - Atlanta
(1246)
$$$$
Mexican | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 16 times today

About Bacchanalia

1198 Howell Mill Road
Atlanta, GA 30318
View Larger Map

Bacchanalia is Atlanta’s most celebrated restaurant featuring contemporary American cuisine from chefs/owners Anne Quatrano and Clifford Harrison. Expect incredibly fresh and flavorful choices with masterful preparation and presentation. Bacchanalia’s seasonal menu relies entirely on organic ingredients, many sourced from Anne and Clifford’s farm, so that diners can have an utterly unique dining experience each time they return. Bacchanalia offers a five-course prix fixe menu composed of a cold appetizer course, fish course, entrée course, cheese course and dessert course for $85 per person. The menu can also be ordered a la carte at the bar.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday from 5:30pm

Closed on Sundays

Cross Street:
between Huff Road & 14th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 365-0410 ext. 22

Website:
http://www.starprovisions.com/

Parking Details:
Self Parking offered in lot in front of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Anne Quatrano/Clifford Harrison

Private Party Facilities:
At Bacchanalia, expect incredibly fresh and flavorful choices with masterful preparation and presentation. Bacchanalia holds up to 90 guests with a private room that can be utilized to accommodate up to 20.

Private Party Contact:
Frances Quatrano: (404) 365-0410 ext. 22

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Bacchanalia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (44)
Romantic (39)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Fit for Foodies (34)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Good for a Date (30)
Notable Wine List (28)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Cozy (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Business Meals (9)
Seasonal (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Authentic (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fun (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Organic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Healthy (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Historic (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
 (1)
Quick Bite (1)
 (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2093 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had an early Valentine dinner. It was ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had an early Valentine dinner. It was my husband's first time to the restaurant and we were both very pleased. The service is beyond excellent and the flavors are as well. The signature crab fritter is a must have. The quality of the experience makes this money well spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but expectations were probably ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good food but expectations were probably too high.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We were so excited to dine in this resta ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were so excited to dine in this restaurant. We had read the great reviews and they far outweighed the negative. But after our dining experience we went back and read the negative and they were spot on. Our reservation was at 8:15. We arrived on time and were seated. It's a noisy environment but it wasn't awful. Our waiter arrived almost immediately. He set down the menu, explained the four courses took our cocktail order. Within a few minutes our drinks were in front of us and it everything switched into over drive. He spoke fast, he moved fast and he took our order quickly. We had not even finished our cocktail and the first course arrived. As soon as it was finished it was whisked away and the 2nd was placed in front of us. We both ordered 1/2 glass of wine they recommended and didn't even finish that until after our 3rd course which came about 15 minutes later. The 3rd is cheese so it is very small. At that time he took our drink order for our dessert. Dessert, drink and OUR CHECK all arrived together. It was exactly 9:15 on the dot when we finished. We were stunned. Our meal was $300 and we finished in 1 hour with the bill paid. We never asked for a check. We never relaxed over our food. It was a classic turn and burn. When we went back to read the reviews it seems this is the norm. While the food was good, it all happened so fast we didn't get to experience it. I have waited in line longer at a Chick fil A At lunch than this restaurant. Definitely no longer a top spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The high-end food options and service le ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The high-end food options and service level, combined with the eclectic mid-century casual atmosphere creates a unique experience. The service is as good as it gets in Atlanta. The food choices are unique. At first view, may not meet the interests of all diners, but even the most unexpected items like the popcorn caviar and shot of cold parsley soup are wonderfully flavored and presented. This is a much visit for the refined diner in Atlanta.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Oh my lird the food here was So fine! Lo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Oh my lird the food here was So fine! Loved it love it. Had the a la carte lamb with another piece candied, the cheese selection was great and overall super. Service was intrusive but only had to tell the waiter to back off until we were ready once. Reservations was a bit of a joke as had a 645, asked if could make it 7pm, said no but restaurant never 2/3 full thruout dinner. Other than that super fine and will return

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Simply phenomenal and such a great exper ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Simply phenomenal and such a great experience. Well worth the money!! All the food was prepared, cooked, and plated perfect! My wife is a chef and loves this place!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice evening. Great bottle of wine. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Very nice evening. Great bottle of wine. Service was very good, thoughtful. Will go again...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an anniversary dinner at Bacchana ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We had an anniversary dinner at Bacchanalia, and it exceeded our expectations. The 4 course dinners were outstanding, particularly with the wine selections (I had while my wife did not).NY Strip as good as I have had, and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I thought the food was fantastic, but ov ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I thought the food was fantastic, but over-priced. I would not recommend for someone who's on a budget. But every course was mouth-watering and was served rapidly. The suggested wine pairings were spot on. Don't even get me started about the cheese - yum.

It is very quite in the restaurant and the service seems a little snooty, but that might be the atmosphere they are going for - flashback to cotillion days. Having said that, I thought the wait staff was very friendly and helpful.

If money isn't an issue, and you're looking for a delicious, fancy dinner, this is the place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food. Service was top notch. Wine ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food. Service was top notch. Wine was matched with food very well. Expensive to say the least but overall was worth the money.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have been to this restaurant many tim ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We have been to this restaurant many times and have always been very happy with both the food and the service. The food remains excellent but we were very disappointed with the service, always having the impression that there was a "rush" to get to the end/go through the required (by the wait staff) motions established by the owners.

For example, the entrée had barely been served when we were asked how it was.

Example 2, we were asked very early in the process if we would like coffee/tea/after dinner drink.

Example 3, we were presented with our check before we asked for it to be delivered.

This is the type of restaurant where you expect the service to be excellent. It was not, indeed you would probably get better service at a chain restaurant than we received that night. It was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

We've been here before and had looked fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We've been here before and had looked forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Every bite was an experience

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Every bite was an experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fantastic!

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Impeccable food and service. Very clever ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Impeccable food and service. Very clever flavour combinations and pairings. Loved the little inter-course bites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as always

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Awesome as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Atlanta. The f ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Atlanta. The food and service is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My experience was great. Food was great, ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My experience was great. Food was great, servers were knowledgeable, atmosphere was cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bacchanalia was superb as always. It is ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Bacchanalia was superb as always. It is my restaurant of choice for those "special occasions." Excellent food, wonderful service and a warm ambiance. Thanks to all the staff at this Atlanta gem!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Eve dinner at Bacchanalia was, ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner at Bacchanalia was, as always, absolutely wonderful! This is our 14th year celebrating at Bacchanalia & I am already looking forward to our 15th!

The overall menu does change somewhat each year, but, when available, you can never go wrong with the crab fritter or any preparation of lamb offered. And the cheese cart is ALWAYS ridiculous for the frontage-ophiles!

Thank you for an absolutely perfect Christmas Eve dinner, Bacchanalia!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Flawless as usual. Accommodating to our ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Flawless as usual. Accommodating to our requests for menu alterations due to special diet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a wonderful dining experience. I ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Always a wonderful dining experience. Impeccable service, food, and ambience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Keeps having a high standard. Food, ambi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Keeps having a high standard. Food, ambiance and service are high quality.

Prices are getting too expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Bacchanalia is without question the best ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Bacchanalia is without question the best of the best in Atlanta. Every time I dine at Bacchanalia, I ask myself one question "Why don't I eat here more often"!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and a wonderful meal. Spe ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great service and a wonderful meal. Special dinner night!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dining experience! Try the cavia ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Amazing dining experience! Try the caviar + popcorn, and the spectacular lamb cleverly paired with a fruity Pinot noir. Spend the extra $10 for selection of cheeses and get your choice of five from their cart of 12. Service is great and they were very accommodating to our dietary restrictions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is absolutely one of the best resta ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This is absolutely one of the best restaurants we've been to. The taste is unique, but all dishes were absolutely delicious. This is quality food. We went there for our tenth anniversary, and we were completely blown away by the restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT!!! Looking forward to another ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 14, 2016

EXCELLENT!!! Looking forward to another wonderful experience in Bacchanalia.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Somewhat of a disappointment, compared t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Somewhat of a disappointment, compared to previous visits. Two of my four courses were good, two were just OK. My fish, while cooked perfectly, was lacking in taste. And the cheese course with a marinated pear seemed muddled, non distinct. Overall the food was good, not great which is what I would expect at this establishment and for the price. Ah well, win some......

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Expected much more than what I've experi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Expected much more than what I've experienced. Overall quality of foods was not worth for the price. Service was mixed: actually, I had an odd reaction from one of the many servers who stared at me on my questions of names of food and other. It was weird for me to have a server looking at me for a few seconds with somewhat uncomfortable smile after my questions. Some foods were somewhat tasty, but overall, if the restaurant has 24 years of service, high reputation and quality ambiance in this type of restaurant, I expect more from the quality of foods. Disasspointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

My girlfriend and I went to Bacchanalia ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 8, 2016

My girlfriend and I went to Bacchanalia on a Wednesday night. The dinner experience was fine and the food was delicious. The problem was when we left. The valet returned my car with my keys on the ignition. What I did not notice at the time was that it was only my car key there - all my house keys which were attached to it with a key ring were missing. I realized that 40 minutes later when I got home and looked for my keys. It was already 10 o'clock and I was locked out of my own home. I called the restaurant immediately and they kept saying they don't have the keys and I must have lost them. I was 100% certain I had my keychain attached to my car key when the valet took my car. I had to drive all the way back in order to look for the mysteriously disappeared keys myself. When I got there and started looking, and 10 minutes later the valet shows up with the keys. By the time I got home it was already 12 o'clock - what a night!

Bottom line - don't use the valet parking!!! You might lose a thing or two.

A few days later, the manager of the restaurant valet company calls and says they will send a gift certificate for the inconvenience. Guess what - 2 months later and I still don't have one! I guess I must have lost that one too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Excellent!! Recommend for anyone to try ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Excellent!! Recommend for anyone to try at least once.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Exquisite steak tartare. Special birthda ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Exquisite steak tartare. Special birthday treat. Outstanding service at the bar. A cut above all else in the ATL.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our thirty third wedding a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We celebrated our thirty third wedding anniversary and had an exceptional experience. The food was amazing but the service and staff are surpassed by no other. We truly felt special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

There is not enough good things to say a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

There is not enough good things to say about this restaurant. The food was out of this world, and was only matched by the superb service. I look forward to going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service. I was surprisingly ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Outstanding service. I was surprisingly full after the small portions. Loved the bites from the kitchen. One of them literally tasted like fall. The experience overall felt a bit rushed. I also picked the wine pairings to go with the dish and I wasn't sure about the sweet Riesling with the acidity and spice components of the fried crab ball. I had the lobster with my entree and it was good but I feel the chef could have done a bit more to make it stand out from other lobster dishes. It was a nice lobster prepared very well, but the preparation was too simple. It would have been impressive to have some parts of the lobster fried or maybe in a stew etc rather than just there with celery root and some sort of purée. Again the service was amazing and the staff was very knowledge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

We went for my early-December birthday, ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We went for my early-December birthday, as we have done for many years now... it's always good but this year the food was exceptional! With a multi-course tasting menu and two people you figure some dishes will be "meh" -- but everything was great. Hope this continues when they move to their new location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my wife her for her birthday. The ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Took my wife her for her birthday. The food was incredibly delicious and the service was the best ever!!. We loved the total experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Organic, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second experience here. That's what it ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Second experience here. That's what it is, an experience. A long evening of beautiful and delicious food, excellent service, and great drinks. Dinner here is always something to be remembered and talked about long after the night.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As an Atlanta native, I've heard about B ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

As an Atlanta native, I've heard about Bacchanalia for years. I've always wanted to try it, but was always hesitant because I was worried the experience wouldn't live up the hype. Well, for my grandmother's 80th birthday, I finally decided to try it. I'm so, so, SO happy I did. It didn't just live up to my lofty expectations, it surpassed them. Bacchanalia is one of my top two all-time favorite dining experiences, and my far and away Atlanta favorite. This restaurant is a sure fire home run for any special occasion. The creativity and ambiance will blow you away! Love, love, LOVE!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.