About Bacchanalia

1198 Howell Mill Road
Atlanta, GA 30318
View Larger Map

Bacchanalia is Atlanta’s most celebrated restaurant featuring contemporary American cuisine from chefs/owners Anne Quatrano and Clifford Harrison. Expect incredibly fresh and flavorful choices with masterful preparation and presentation. Bacchanalia’s seasonal menu relies entirely on organic ingredients, many sourced from Anne and Clifford’s farm, so that diners can have an utterly unique dining experience each time they return. Bacchanalia offers a five-course prix fixe menu composed of a cold appetizer course, fish course, entrée course, cheese course and dessert course for $85 per person. The menu can also be ordered a la carte at the bar.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday from 5:30pm

Closed on Sundays

Cross Street:
between Huff Road & 14th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 365-0410 ext. 22

Website:
http://www.starprovisions.com/

Parking Details:
Self Parking offered in lot in front of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Anne Quatrano/Clifford Harrison

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Gulf Crab Fritter
North Georgia Rainbow Trout
Wood Grilled Prime Ny Strip
Jamison Farm Lamb
Amuse
Prime NY Strip
Warm Valrhona Chocolate
Scallops
Coffee Semifreddo
Venison
Cranberry Cider
Seasalted Butter
Summerland Farm Egg
Gruyere Cheese Puffs
goat cheese
Maplebrook Farm Burrata
Madeleine Cookies
Loup De Mer
Prime Beef Tartare
Georgia White Shrimp (First Course)
Trefethen Cabernet Sauvignon
Kumamoto oysters
Sweet Grass Dairy Asher Blue, Arugala, Spiced Walnut
Feta
Georgia Apples
Lonzino
Pear Tart
Beef shortrib
Turnip Panacotta And Beetroot Balsamic Gelatine
Tomato Basil Muffins
Brown Turkey Fig
Taleggio
Capra Gia Fresh Goat Cheese
Game Bird Roulade
Pan Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras
veal sweetbreads
Ga September Wonder
Pre-Desert
Sprout Creek Toussaint
Soft Scrambled Farm Egg With Caviar
Corn Panna Cotta
Gazpacho
Beef Tartar
Coffee Desert
Red Snapper
Berkshire Pork Loin + Belly
Spiced Tres Leches (Dessert Course)
Jerusalem Artichoke Consommé
Hot Apple Cider
Frog's Leap Cabernet Sauvignon
Rocky Meadow Blue (Cheese Course)
Hamachi
Poached Duck Egg with Uni
Hazelnut Doughnut
Kumamoto Oysters, Sea Urchin, Chowder Custard, Caviar Chervil
Moscow Mule
Pheasant
Coffee flan
Pecorino Ginepro
Fresh Strawberries
Honey Panna Cotta
Bethel Heights Pinot
Chocolate Cake
intermezzo
Bellwether Farms Crescenza
Many Fold Farm Brebis
Radish Amuse
Confit Foie Gras Terrine
Rogue River Creamery Blue
Lemon Jelly Squares, Peppermint Marshmellows, Sage Chocolates
Goat Cheese Cake
Cheese Puff
Foie gras Torchon
Pastries
Veggie Gnocchi
Local Mangalitsa Pork
Manchester Farms Quail, Anson Mills Farro, Parsnip, Preserved Pears, Black Trumpet Mushroom
Local Berkshire Pork
Halibut
Fall Cider Intermezzo
Califlower Soup
Salad
Cranberry Soufflé
Beef Gazpacho
Pierre Robert
Multigrain Cracker
Nature's Harmony Georgia's Gold
Nantucket Bay Scallops & Maitake Mushrooms
Happy Birthday Dessert
Tangerine Soufflé
Citrus Salad
 Hawaiian Blue Prawns With Sugarcane, Tostones, Frisee, Yuzu Vinegar,
Pear Brown Butter Tart, Candied Walnuts, Dates, Cardamom Ice Cream
PNW Kumamoto Oysters
Baby Carrot, Chevre, Lava Salt Amuse Bouche
Hand Cut Farm Egg Pappardelle, Summerland Farm Cauliflower, Egg Yolk Emulsion, Shaved Perigord Black Truffles
Gnudi (ricotta Gnochi)
Apple Cider Smoothie
Post Desert :-)
Caramelised Banana & Butterscotch Pizza

Private Dining

At Bacchanalia, expect incredibly fresh and flavorful choices with masterful preparation and presentation. Bacchanalia holds up to 90 guests with a private room that can be utilized to accommodate up to 20.

Bacchanalia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Atlanta / Georgia
Notable Wine List
Atlanta
Special Occasion
Atlanta
1 More
Contemporary American
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in West Midtown ›

special occasion (127)
fit for foodies (108)
romantic (92)
See All
notable wine list (63)
neighborhood gem (17)
hot spot (14)
good for groups (14)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1804 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

I was so excited to try this restaurant, ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

I was so excited to try this restaurant, as I've been wanting to go since college. The service was extremely rushed - for a 4 course meal, we were out of there in 90 minutes or so. I would have preferred to have a leisurely meal. At one point, my plate was taken away before I was finished eating. And servers repeatedly came to see if I was done yet (I'm a pretty slow eater). Food was good, but with the service - I don't think we'll be back

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always impressive. Expensive but you de ...

Dined 3 days ago

Always impressive. Expensive but you definitely get your money's worth.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were outstanding. H ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food and service were outstanding. Highly recommend for anyone celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bacchanalia was everything I hoped it wo ...

Dined 6 days ago

Bacchanalia was everything I hoped it would be. I went with a few friends to celebrate my birthday, and it was the perfect fine dining experience. The ambiance was comfortable. The staff was knowledgable. The menu was diverse. From the foie gras, to the lamb, to the taleggio, to the soufflé, the food was fantastic, sophisticated, refined, and delicious. I will definitely return, and recommend Bacchanalia to everyone I know.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service were remarkable. One o ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food and service were remarkable. One of the best meals I've ever had! From the oysters through the menu to the incredible blueberry soufflé - all were excellent! The only thing that wasn't perfect was the seating. Chairs were not comfortable and the sheepskin covers actually seem kind of gross. How do you clean those things? A really incredible meal and a fun night! Thank you and I can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bacchanalia exceeded every expectation t ...

Dined on June 25, 2016

Bacchanalia exceeded every expectation that we had. The staff could not have been more courteous and their attention to detail was second to none. Courses were paired perfectly with wine, they were timed perfectly, and progressed and built on one another in the best way possible. The staff made every dish feel especially-made for us and they made it well-known that they were there to make our experience a great one. They did much more than just that. I feel confident in saying, this was not only the best meal, but also the best dining experience I have ever enjoyed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was the best in Atlanta and ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

The service was the best in Atlanta and the food was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food with so many great tastes ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

Fabulous food with so many great tastes and beautifully designed plates. Wish they had ala carte also. Some times we don't go because we don't feel like that much rich food. We had a beautiful evening with great company and superb food.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still one of the best dining experiences ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

Still one of the best dining experiences in Atlanta. Lovely food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous dining experience! Not an inexp ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Fabulous dining experience! Not an inexpensive outing, but definitely worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a wonderful environment. The ser ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

It was a wonderful environment. The server was amazing. Very knowledgeable about the menu and made a great recommendation for the Lamb which I've never had so I was greatly impressed. The portion size left much to be desired. Outside of that it was a great dining experience.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I had very high expectations since I had ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I had very high expectations since I had been wanting to try it for 15+ years. It was a nice evening. The service was great and the food was very good. A lot of the price is for the excellent service, but I thought the food would be a little more impressive. The tables are very close together so conversation with my husband wasn't easy. That was disappointing. Probably won't be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All courses were delicious. Excellent se ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

All courses were delicious. Excellent service. Very nice atmosphere.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was told that Bacchanalia is the best ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I was told that Bacchanalia is the best restaurant in Atlanta. After eating there, I'm sure my friend might be right. The meal was to die for. The service was impeccable. The ambiance was perfect for a great conversation. I went to celebrate closing a big contract and it was a restaurant worthy of this great accomplishment. Loved it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding dinner and great service and ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Outstanding dinner and great service and presentation. The chefs are artists

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an awesome anniversary celebratio ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

We had an awesome anniversary celebration! The selections for the prix fixe menu are awesome!!! We loved the oysters with caviar--such an added treat. Our selections included beef tartare and lobster salad as a first course, my second course was lamb, 3 ways, and the lamb belly was especially awesome. My spouse has NY strip steak--perfectly medium rare. We especially loved the cheese course, stating with the two choices that were local, one with peach, and we aren't cheese course fans, but we were absolutely won over! The palate cleanser of peach smoothie was a welcome and tasty surprise as was the dessert--blueberry soufflé. Especially loved that the soufflé was gluten free. So so delicious! The meal ended with two tiny coconut macaroons perfectly toasted and a house made chocolate with either saffron or cherry. The drink menu was awesome--excellent sazerac, traditionally made, and nice wine course recommendations. We will definitely go back!!

food3
ambience3
service1

Tartare was good although the base was b ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Tartare was good although the base was boring. Duck was very good but came out cold. NY Strip was good but also came out cold. When we sent the duck and NY strip back they just barely warmed up the same pieces. We had to send it back a second time to get them to remake it. That is an amateur move, not something you would expect at Bacchanalia.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Cheese course was excellent. Thought it ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Cheese course was excellent. Thought it was a little pricey. Now we can say we tried it once, but will go back to Floataway Cafe in the future.

food5
ambience5
service4

Beautiful. Did not realize it was only f ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Beautiful. Did not realize it was only fixed price menu.

food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Dissapointed

Dined on June 7, 2016

We've been going there for special occasions since it opened on Piedmont Road and for the amount of money we spent (over $350 for two), it was not nearly the value it has been before. We had to remind the servers for our cocktails after the first course had arrived. We also had to ask for a wine for our entrée. After the cheese course there was a least a 30 minute wait for dessert. This was not at a particularly busy day or time. The experience was ok, but not the top quality we had come to expect.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wedding proposal and Birthday.

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our service was great. The drinks were excellent along with each course. This dinning experience was one too remember. My proposal to my lady could not have been better. Truly a memorable evening for us!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Bach

Dined on June 3, 2016

Second visit here. Food was very good with a couple of exceptions. The green amuse Bouche is unappetizing and over-salted. Our courses were fine except for the most important entrees, beef was over smoky, duck breast very tough. Service from waiters was fine, but the place setter did not take the care to properly place silverware , unacceptable in a restaurant at this price point.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

This was a great evening -- service and food was superb. Go there!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Food top as service - ambience and vibe ...

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Food top as service - ambience and vibe left much to be desired as with wine list and pairing

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A Great Restaurant!

Dined on May 31, 2016

Bacchanalia lived up to it's lofty reputation with me! Having dined in several of the best restaurant's in the US and abroad, I found Bacchanalia to be right in line with the very best. Each course was outstanding in flavor, presentation and size. Will was an excellent host in explaining and delivering our meal along with a plethora of others who kept "pouring on" the service. We especially enjoyed the "gifts from the chef" served between/after courses. My one small critique is that the "cheese cart" choice was ok but not great. In the future, I would choose one of the cheese courses prepared by the kitchen. And, we will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top 3

Dined on May 28, 2016

My wife and I agreed that this was one of the top 3 restaurants that we have ever been to (we are in our 60s) and the other two were in Paris and the South of France.The entire experience from the menu selections, to the wine, to the very attentive staff, it was just an outstanding experience for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

On the whole, Bacchanalia lived close to ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

On the whole, Bacchanalia lived close to the hype. As a native son who's known the restaurant scene here for 30+ years, I've just never gotten around to checking out the much ballyhooed Bacchanalia. Our anniversary dinner presented a good reason to check it out before the pending move in-town (ETA December 2016). As many reviews stated, the food was superb, if served in smaller portions. We're both "foodies," so we're accustomed to this style (degustacion in Spain). We delighted in the surprise dishes to cleanse the taste buds between select dishes (except, well, the smoothie which didn't quite fit for either of us as we waited for the dessert). Confirming some of the other reviews, crab fritter and potato caviar were spectacular. As was the Grand Marnier souffle. I could eat 10 of those. The service was, well, meh. In other restaurants and restaurant scenes (Chicago, DC, London), $200+ pp scores a kind of warmth and charisma you would expect. We have it here in Atlanta - at other restaurants such as Bones. I was just taken aback by the dining experience that started off with more of a tacqueria feel than what Bacchanalia should be like, for that price point. Hoping it's improved in the new location.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

Service and good was excellent.

Dined on May 26, 2016

Service and good was excellent.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Bacchanalia is a wonderful special occas ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Bacchanalia is a wonderful special occasion restaurant. This was the second time in just a few months. Service was outstanding and the special courses were great but because we were there recently some of the same things. I guess we are unusual because we returned in a few months than our last visit. This is a still not miss restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I have to say I had extremely high expec ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I have to say I had extremely high expectations for this restaurant. That being said, overall, the experience was very nice. Presentation was beautiful, decorations were nice. The first course fois gras was the best I've ever tasted... but the strawberry sauce and dehydrated strawberries on top were not special, in fact, kind of out of place. I ordered the snapper, my husband ordered the lamb two ways. His was very good, mine was not so much. I was shocked at the texture of the fish. There was what seemed to be a thick layer of fat on it, which was extremely difficult to chew through and not tasty at all. The beans and peas were good, but pretty salty, too. The wine list was tiny, like one type of wine tiny. Good thing the only sauvignon blanc they had was good, same with the cabernet. Also, don't go there thinking you're going to have an experience with cocktails.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch dining experience in Atlanta

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

We were visiting Atlanta for the weekend (from New York) and went to Bacchanalia to celebrate my husband's birthday celebration. Everything from the food, wine, service was impeccable. The creativity and balance of flavours in each dish was exquisite (notably, the strawberry foie gras appetizer, and beef entree were real stand-outs in our views). The choice of wine parings (with options for half glass and full glasses) were great (we find that with many fine dining restaurants the matched wines is usually too much and impedes enjoyment of the food, but by being able to adjust and have half glasses meant that we could enjoy the food and wine in balance/moderation). Even though it's a white table cloth restaurant, it was not pretentious or snobby. We loved the ambiance - classy and elegant, but still very chic and hip. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Did not Live up to the Hype

Dined on May 17, 2016

I live in Providence, RI, so I am used to going to the fine dining establishments of Providence, Boston, and Manhattan. Going by the reviews, I was anticipating Bacchanalia to be a restaurant of that caliber. I was misled. The ambiance was great. Soft lighting, quiet atmosphere, chairs that had high back support, a professional staff. The service was great. A waiter knowledgeable in wines, very attentive. All of the tell-tale signs of a quality restaurant were present. The food is what was lacking. I ordered the meritage wine. Something fruity that would go with my second course but not overpower my first course or my cheese. For a first course, I had the ricotta cavatelli. The pasta was underdone. The filling was fantastic, but if I am ordering a pasta dish, I would expect the pasta to not be doughy. Second course was the NY Strip. The crust on the steak was fantastic. It married so well with the sauce. Salty and smoky, crisp edge to go with the sweet sauce. I ordered it medium well. It came out medium. Not too big of a deal by itself, but it was a tough piece of meat. The flavors were good, but the texture of the interior of the meat was off. Cheese was the taleggio. The cheese was good, the hazelnuts and the honeycomb were great. The sauce was too hard, though, as if the sugar in it was cooked too hot. The taste was great, but the texture of the sauce was wrong. Dessert was the souffle. This was light and fluffy. Just enough chocolate sorbet. Just a hint of grand marnier. Great. I will not be back. If I am in Atlanta again, I will go to another establishment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food flavor/texture combinatio ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Excellent food flavor/texture combinations and preparations. Great service and attention to detail

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never been disappointed. Always an ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

I've never been disappointed. Always and incredible dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Had a little trouble locating the restau ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Had a little trouble locating the restaurant. Abundant, well trained and responsive staff. With Jamie's knowledgeable help, menu offerings were understandable and appealing. Food and service were exceptional, timely, and very enjoyable. Hope to return soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

excellent food but the subtle pretentiou ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

excellent food but the subtle pretentiousness is off putting - while it achieves rave after rave review, Bacchanalia is a pretentious experience on the whole and not worth the high price: 1) why are we greeted with every course by a different waitron? yep,that is different but not necessary, 2) especially when one does not know to serve from the left and remove from the right....

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my girlfriends birthday so decide ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

It was my girlfriends birthday so decided to celebrate it by going to bacchanalia. Told them it was my girlfriends birthday in advance and they treated us exceptionally wonderful. The food was one of the best I have tasted. I had the fritters for appetizer and it was so so good. Then came the ny strip cooked perfectly. I then had the lamp chopper cheese followed by the chocolate Charlotte. The staff is super attentive and knowledgeable. I usually come out of fine dining a little hungry but i was very full coming out. They give you little bite sized finger foods to eat while you wait and that was very good as well

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, knowledgeable and attentive ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, knowledgeable and attentive wait staff. Pricey for some but, for the most part, well worth it. Some have complained about the prix fixe menu but you can order a la carte if you simply ask.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Beautiful experience. celebrated our anniversary

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great experience. Exceptional service. Anticipated our needs before we even knew. Loved the food. Only thing I would recommend is possibly light background music. As parties came and left there was an eerie quiet at times in the restaurant and people around us felt they needed to whisper. Literally the only thing I could say could change. The rest is perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb everything

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Superb everything

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.