About Bacchanalia

1198 Howell Mill Road
Atlanta, GA 30318
View Larger Map

Bacchanalia is Atlanta’s most celebrated restaurant featuring contemporary American cuisine from chefs/owners Anne Quatrano and Clifford Harrison. Expect incredibly fresh and flavorful choices with masterful preparation and presentation. Bacchanalia’s seasonal menu relies entirely on organic ingredients, many sourced from Anne and Clifford’s farm, so that diners can have an utterly unique dining experience each time they return. Bacchanalia offers a five-course prix fixe menu composed of a cold appetizer course, fish course, entrée course, cheese course and dessert course for $85 per person. The menu can also be ordered a la carte at the bar.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday from 5:30pm

Closed on Sundays

Cross Street:
between Huff Road & 14th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 365-0410 ext. 22

Website:
http://www.starprovisions.com/

Parking Details:
Self Parking offered in lot in front of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Anne Quatrano/Clifford Harrison

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Gulf Crab Fritter
North Georgia Rainbow Trout
Wood Grilled Prime Ny Strip
Jamison Farm Lamb
Amuse
Prime NY Strip
Warm Valrhona Chocolate
Scallops
Coffee Semifreddo
Venison
Cranberry Cider
Seasalted Butter
Summerland Farm Egg
goat cheese
Maplebrook Farm Burrata
Madeleine Cookies
Loup De Mer
Prime Beef Tartare
Georgia White Shrimp (First Course)
Trefethen Cabernet Sauvignon
Kumamoto oysters
Sweet Grass Dairy Asher Blue, Arugala, Spiced Walnut
Feta
Georgia Apples
Pear Tart
Lonzino
Beef shortrib
Turnip Panacotta And Beetroot Balsamic Gelatine
Tomato Basil Muffins
Taleggio
Capra Gia Fresh Goat Cheese
Brown Turkey Fig
veal sweetbreads
Game Bird Roulade
Sprout Creek Toussaint
Ga September Wonder
Pre-Desert
Pan Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras
Soft Scrambled Farm Egg With Caviar
Corn Panna Cotta
Gazpacho
Beef Tartar
Coffee Desert
Red Snapper
Gruyere Cheese Puffs
Berkshire Pork Loin + Belly
Jerusalem Artichoke Consommé
Spiced Tres Leches (Dessert Course)
Hot Apple Cider
Frog's Leap Cabernet Sauvignon
Rocky Meadow Blue (Cheese Course)
Hamachi
Poached Duck Egg with Uni
Hazelnut Doughnut
Kumamoto Oysters, Sea Urchin, Chowder Custard, Caviar Chervil
Moscow Mule
Pheasant
Honey Panna Cotta
Chocolate Cake
Pecorino Ginepro
Coffee flan
Bethel Heights Pinot
Fresh Strawberries
intermezzo
Bellwether Farms Crescenza
Many Fold Farm Brebis
Radish Amuse
Confit Foie Gras Terrine
Rogue River Creamery Blue
Lemon Jelly Squares, Peppermint Marshmellows, Sage Chocolates
Goat Cheese Cake
Cheese Puff
Foie gras Torchon
Pastries
Veggie Gnocchi
Local Berkshire Pork
Manchester Farms Quail, Anson Mills Farro, Parsnip, Preserved Pears, Black Trumpet Mushroom
Local Mangalitsa Pork
Halibut
Salad
Fall Cider Intermezzo
Califlower Soup
Cranberry Soufflé
Beef Gazpacho
Pierre Robert
Multigrain Cracker
Nantucket Bay Scallops & Maitake Mushrooms
Nature's Harmony Georgia's Gold
Happy Birthday Dessert
Tangerine Soufflé
Citrus Salad
 Hawaiian Blue Prawns With Sugarcane, Tostones, Frisee, Yuzu Vinegar,
Pear Brown Butter Tart, Candied Walnuts, Dates, Cardamom Ice Cream
PNW Kumamoto Oysters
Hand Cut Farm Egg Pappardelle, Summerland Farm Cauliflower, Egg Yolk Emulsion, Shaved Perigord Black Truffles
Baby Carrot, Chevre, Lava Salt Amuse Bouche
Caramelised Banana & Butterscotch Pizza
Post Desert :-)
Apple Cider Smoothie
Gnudi (ricotta Gnochi)

Private Dining

At Bacchanalia, expect incredibly fresh and flavorful choices with masterful preparation and presentation. Bacchanalia holds up to 90 guests with a private room that can be utilized to accommodate up to 20.

Bacchanalia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Atlanta
Best Service
Atlanta
3 More
Notable Wine List
Atlanta
Special Occasion
Atlanta
Contemporary American
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in West Midtown ›

Special Occasion (103)
Romantic (77)
Fit for Foodies (76)
See All
Notable Wine List (55)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Groups (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Tasting Menu (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Cozy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Authentic (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Business Meals (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1873 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great experience

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Bacchanalia disappoints overall, especia ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Bacchanalia disappoints overall, especially considering the price point. While I shouldn't compare Bacchanalia to Michelin starred experiences, it wasn't even in the same ballpark. Service was awkward & lacking. Food was fine, however nothing was a stand out, not even their signature dishes. I would suggest going with no expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Outstanding food. The quality of the ser ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Outstanding food. The quality of the service you get is an A+. In addition, the wine selection is first class.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A good all-round dining experience. By f ...

 
 (County Durham)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

A good all-round dining experience. By far the best on our recent 14 day trip to the USA.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent meal and service. Can't wait t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Excellent meal and service. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

When you go to a place with a prix fixe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

When you go to a place with a prix fixe menu of 4 courses, the expectations start out fairly high...so if the critiques seem a bit harsh, it's because they're asking to be considered in that league. Great service is a minimum, and you need to feel the price is justified - regardless of add-ons like drinks, etc. At the price point they're asking, I just didn't see it. Our food and drinks were both fairly slow to arrive; the staff did not seem short-handed. Everything tasted delicious, was artfully plated, but the menu was mostly safe choices - minimal risk or inventiveness. My guest had a mocktail and I had a glass of wine and a kind of watered down cocktail. Add on a $40 tip, and the total bill came to more than another prix fixe fee...it seemed a bit excessive. I would have been perfectly satisfied (and leave a better review) If I could have left with about $100/head total, feeling like the value matched the high-quality food and well-educated staff, but the added cost stung a bit. Probably won't be returning.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Pretentious, overpriced place. Usually ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Pretentious, overpriced place. Usually people go to such places for that special, unique food and service experience. That would justify the high price you pay at the end. I saw none of it there. Right off the bat we asked our waiter for an orange fresh and he brought us one, but it was already sour. Weird, we just made it - he said. This morning...(!!!)

When I asked if they do a tasting menu with wine pairings he said yes, sure. I asked for one. Once I 've selected dished for the 4-course meal, he told me: by the way, we could also do a wine pairing with it! Really? Am I missing something here?

The ambiance was not there either. It was way too noisy. I had to speak louder than normal to be heard. A flock of waiters constantly flying around with eyes rolled out (it did not make the service better though); sofas, which clearly have seen better days, being somewhat shabby in certain spots. I felt like I came to a port tavern rather than to a fine dining establishment.

Then the food started to appear. We had Crab Fritter, Terrine of Foie Gras, followed by Jamison Lamb and Gulf Red Snapper, Tallegio and Bellamy Blue cheeses and Caramel Apple Souffle and Red Walnut desserts. The food was fine, pretty standard. There was nothing superb about it to justify the price. There is nothing to remember about it. Moreover, there are quite a few restaurants in Atlanta where you could have similar dishes for much less. The dessert was way too sweet. Could not have more than one byte. The bread was good, so were the wines (even though our waiter did not know some of their names). At least someone did their job right.

In conclusion: as for such a hi-end dining establishment as Bacchanalia positions itself, it should step up in service and, what's even more important, in creativity of its dishes. Right now it is just another restaurant with a heavy price tag and fairly standard food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The host when greeted at the door was ex ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The host when greeted at the door was extremely unfriendly, and placed an initial bad taste in my mouth. The food was great, but will not be dining here again because of the very rude host. I hope the chef realizes the impact of first greet to the last. On that note the bar tender was very professional and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

It was great in every way. The only dish ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

It was great in every way. The only dish I didn't prefer was the burrata. I love burrata and I couldn't taste it. Too overwhelmed with other favours; especially the base. But it could've just been me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my wife here for our 5 yr wedding ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I took my wife here for our 5 yr wedding anniversary. Bacchanalia is very nice and very expensive. Wealthy people wouldn't feel the sting as badly so I did see other couples and business men and women there that were more at ease and probably frequent this restaurant. The food is very good and you do leave full because it is a full 4 course event. Coming from a more humble upbringing I licked my silverware clean after the first course thinking I'd save them for the rest. Nope, they bring you more so no worries. They brought out a sort of shot glass of some chilled leak soup but I didn't have a spoon and wasn't sure I should just shoot it so it just sat there until I asked a server what was expected. Situations like this were frequent so my wife had a good laugh at me. All things considered, it was a great evening out. Lastly my server was extremely knowledgeable about the menu and was very professional. The staff do a very good job.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is off the charts, and everyb ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

This place is off the charts, and everybody knows it. This is the first time I took my wife to this place, after 7 years living in Atlanta, and I wonder why did we wasted so much time.

Bacchanalia is on the back of a nice shop (check it out too), which makes the place even more intimate. Lights are deemed down and service is on point.

The best part is the food. The food here is just spectacular! We did the prix fix menu ($85 each) and had the Crab Fritters and a small pasta (forgot the name) as apps. Both were delicious. Then as entrees we had the Maple Leaf Duck and the NY Steak; the steak was much better than the duck (I think they need to cook it a little more). Third round and the cheese with honey is very very good (almost as good as Carroll Street Cafe's). I did not love my dessert (chocolate cake) but my wife loved hers (blueberry something).

Yes it's expensive but worth it once in a while!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An iconic Atlanta restaurant with a grea ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

An iconic Atlanta restaurant with a great reputation and my wife and I were delighted to spend our anniversary here. The service and attention was amazing. The food delicious. And the whole experience was topped off with a surprise gift for our celebration. You can't go wrong with a night at Bacchanalia. A truly incredible culinary experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

We knew that this was an expensive resta ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We knew that this was an expensive restaurant & limited menu, but we were over charged by approx $45....glad we checked our bill! The food was very good and I loved the special bites that came between courses.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

One of our favorite special date night s ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

One of our favorite special date night spots in Atlanta! Delicious and courses are spaced nicely. Wine list is thorough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great time as always, till next time Bac ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great time as always, till next time Bacchanalia! I love coming here!

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experienced lived up to its reputati ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The experienced lived up to its reputation. Food can only be so good and they absolutely achieved best taste. The surprise is a slight but outstanding twist on presentation and flavors. A wonderful departure from the expected bite. Each new dish/serving was exciting.

The wines were over the top. We let them pick our wines per course and had them written down so we could try to find them. Really...over the top!!

It could not have been better. Pretty pricey, even if you are expecting it.

My wife guarded the frig, with the bakery take home of Chocolate Chess Pie. Simply amazing!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Baachanalia is my favorite restaurant fo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Baachanalia is my favorite restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to celebrate a special occas ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The vegetarian options are very less and ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The vegetarian options are very less and too small of a quantity for the cost

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Amazing as always! Favorite place to eat ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Amazing as always! Favorite place to eat in Atlanta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

2nd best meal I ever had, but comes @ a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

2nd best meal I ever had, but comes @ a price. Couldn't do that every week, but would like to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Would recommend. Hands down one of the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Would recommend. Hands down one of the best restaurants in Atlanta. The servers were highly knowledgeable regarding the cuisine as well as the extensive beverage menu. The service was exceptional. It was made clear as soon as we sat down that they were there to make sure our experience exceeded expectations. The food deserves 5 stars. The presentation, taste, and portion size combine to make a culinary masterpiece. The ambiance makes this place ideal for special occasions. We will be going back.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Organic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place for a special occasion. Gr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A great place for a special occasion. Great service.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic restaurant. The foie gras was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fantastic restaurant. The foie gras was incredible. The crab fritter was so meaty. The lamb might have been one of the best lamb dishes we ever had. All of us were fighting with each other to taste each other's dishes! Can't wait to go back when I'm in Atlanta again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent fine dining experience. The s ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent fine dining experience. The service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible service and amazing food! Eve ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Incredible service and amazing food! Every course was phenomenal for me and my wife. Each dish is well thought out and perfectly cooked. Bacchanalia is well deserving of its stellar reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another special experience at one of the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Another special experience at one of the best restaurants in the ATL. Dining at Bacchanalia is not just about the food, it is about experiencing the heights of visual and sensual culinary creations. This restaurant is perfect in every way. We enjoyed a special treat from the chef of a pasta dish that was unlike anything we had ever tried before. The presentations were gorgeous and the service impeccable except for a misstep regarding tap water poured on our sparkling waters and the cheese presentation when no one had ordered it.

Every time we dine at Bacchanalia we remind ourselves to return again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were fantastic. Server ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food and service were fantastic. Server provided excellent recommendations. Environment was slightly "stuffy". It was a Monday night and many tables were open, so it would have been nice not to have other tables say within 2 feet of us with all of the open room. Overall was a fantastic dinner experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved everything about it. Wish it had t ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Loved everything about it. Wish it had the option for an additional course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

potions of food was not worth the price ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

potions of food was not worth the price paid, I ordered duck, I am not sure what I got but it was not warm and under cooked (leg) and had no taste at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Very good food, the experience is worth ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very good food, the experience is worth the price, the oysters were to die for. It's also super, super dark. Like, the table next to us used their phones to read the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Sumptuous - experience it yourself. Bes ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Sumptuous - experience it yourself. Best food in Atlanta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

this was an amazing experience that my w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

this was an amazing experience that my wife and I will never forget. great chef and great staff as well. all I can say is "WELL DONE"

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience for our anni ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wonderful dining experience for our anniversary. We felt pampered by all the wait staff. Special presentation for our anniversary, but all around us were given something extra from the kitchen. Food was delicious and presentation was lovely.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

All it's cracked up to be!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

All it's cracked up to be!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bacchanalia is a unique, indulgent dinin ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Bacchanalia is a unique, indulgent dining experience that absolutely lives up to its reputation. We returned for an anniversary dinner a few years after our first dinner at Bacchanalia and the service and food were just as outstanding as we remembered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience as usual

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great experience as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

bacchanalia was one of the best restaura ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

bacchanalia was one of the best restaurants I have ever been to. The staff were so friendly and he food is INCREDIBLE. The restaurant is not just a place to eat it was an experience. I went there for my birthday and the pastry chef for free made a cake!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very special evening with exquisite food ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Very special evening with exquisite food! Wolfgang Puck would have been proud of the food, service and atmosphere - and I have had the pleasure of experiencing his high standards and talents!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined on Saturday evening. Our waiter ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We dined on Saturday evening. Our waiter was a bit obnoxious. Intelligent but loud and rude.. not what we were expecting. All others we crossed paths with during our experience were unbelievable.. hostess, sommelier, cheese cart attendant. He ruined it a bit for us as to not being worth the money in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.