Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is permanently closed. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Fable KitchenFable Kitchen
(78)
$$$$
Canadian | Kitsilano, Vancouver
Booked 4 times today
MaenamMaenam
(1178)
$$$$
Thai | Kitsilano, Vancouver
Booked 11 times today
Trattoria Italian KitchenTrattoria Italian Kitchen
(199)
$$$$
Italian | Kitsilano, Vancouver
Booked 9 times today
Las MargaritasLas Margaritas
(139)
$$$$
Mexican | Kitsilano, Vancouver
Booked 5 times today
Mission RestaurantMission Restaurant
(56)
$$$$
Contemporary Canadian | Kitsilano, Vancouver
Booked 4 times today
BiBo Pizzeria con CucinaBiBo Pizzeria con Cucina
(252)
$$$$
Italian | Kitsilano, Vancouver
Booked 7 times today
Chi Modern Vietnamese KitchenChi Modern Vietnamese Kitchen
(8)
$$$$
Vietnamese | Kitsilano, Vancouver
Booked 4 times today
La Cigale French BistroLa Cigale French Bistro
(286)
$$$$
French | Kitsilano, Vancouver
Booked 4 times today
Bishop'sBishop's
(1116)
$$$$
Northwest | Kitsilano, Vancouver
Booked 7 times today
Blue Martini Jazz CafeBlue Martini Jazz Cafe
(30)
$$$$
Italian | Kitsilano, Vancouver
Booked 2 times today
Bistro PastisBistro Pastis
(1055)
$$$$
French | Kitsilano, Vancouver
Booked 15 times today
The Boathouse at Kits BeachThe Boathouse at Kits Beach
(1642)
$$$$
Seafood | Kitsilano, Vancouver
Booked 15 times today
Edible Canada at the MarketEdible Canada at the Market
(1201)
$$$$
Canadian | Granville Island, Vancouver
Booked 11 times today
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Granville IslandThe Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Granville Island
(714)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Granville Island, Vancouver
Booked 18 times today
Carlos O'Bryan's - KitsilanoCarlos O'Bryan's - Kitsilano
(1)
$$$$
Irish | Kitsilano, Vancouver
Booked 2 times today

About Permanently Closed - Baccano

1889 West 1st Avenue
Vancouver, BC V6J 5B8
View Larger Map

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Baccano Restaurante and Lounge is an ode to a simpler time and place. We’re taking the guess work out of enjoying a meal, keeping it easy with a our menu comprised of only the best and freshest local ingredients.

Food is best enjoyed with wine, or if you prefer, our cocktails are classics, with a strong leaning to Italy’s love affair with Prosecco and Campari.

Ambience is always the trick. We think we’ve struck the right chord with a warm and welcoming interior featuring handmade European tiles, distressed mirrors, alabaster, marble and dark woods. We’re inviting you to linger, call a friend to come over for another round and join you for dinner. Everyone is welcome.

But don’t just read about Baccano, to understand what we’re talking about, join us.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday – Friday:
Lunch: 11:30 – 3:00
Happy Hour: 3:00 – 6:00
Dinner: 5:00 – 10:00

Saturday - Sunday:
Brunch: 10:30 - 2:30
Happy Hour: 3:00 – 6:00
Dinner: 5:00 – 10:00

Monday: CLOSED

Cross Street:
First and Cypress

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(778) 379-6920

Website:
http://www.baccanovancouver.com/

Parking Details:
Metered street parking is available as well as a pay parking lot located via alley behind the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Zach Steele

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Baccano, Vancouver, BC
Baccano, Vancouver, BC
Sort By:
S
39 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and friendly service. Ingred ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great food and friendly service. Ingredients are very fresh.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I must say the food is absolutely wonder ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 17, 2016

I must say the food is absolutely wonderful. The chef is very talented!

The service level is really not the best. The service staffs are friendly but it seems like they lack proper training. They were extremely inefficient causing service to be very slow. It was not even a busy night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Expensive for what you actually get.

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Expensive for what you actually get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Service and food were great. The only c ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service and food were great. The only challenge is the room is quite noisy. Lots of hard edges.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and delicious food

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 10, 2016

The hostess/waitress was very friendly and attentive. When my guest's meal came, it was not what he ordered, so the hostess said we can have that dish at no cost and they made the dish my guest originally ordered within 10 mins. The food was very tasty, especially the squid ink pasta that they make in-house. The crispy pork cheek pasta was one of the tastiest pasta I ever had. I will definitely return soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our go-to place for great food in the neighborhood

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 29, 2016

This is a great option when looking for a high-value top notch meal in a comfortable neighborhood setting. Great service and a nice wine list, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch - Best French Toast...in the City ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Brunch - Best French Toast...in the City 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Might have been an off night for the kit ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Might have been an off night for the kitchen but 4 dishes were under-seasoned and unappetizing. Service was patchy and inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Great time! Food was excellent, and nic ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great time! Food was excellent, and nice atmosphere. Would definitely go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food! Fresh, great combinati ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Outstanding food! Fresh, great combinations, overall a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Excellent food and service. Unfortunately the room is too noisy. The hard surfaces bounce the sound around and it detracts from the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A gem in the neighbourhood

 
 (London)·Dined on April 10, 2016

First the service is friendly and very efficient. Wine recommendation was exactly what we were looking for. And the food was amazing. We liked it so much that we are going again Wednesday (twice in less than a week) to introduce this restaurant to a friend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food and if course the patio.

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Don't miss this get it had a rocky start but on its game now .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

we were celebrating my daughters 26th bi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 5, 2016

we were celebrating my daughters 26th birthday food,service, ambiance were fantastic . we will definitely return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service, great atmosphere

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Dinner was good and would have rated excellent if the portion sizes were a bit more generous and the meal warmer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Restaurant with Room for Improvement

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 27, 2016

I went there with my wife based on several reviews. I have to say that the value and quality of the food is outstanding. The should improve a little bit in the service because I think we were more or less forgotten maybe because the service staff was busy with a party of 10 people. Another thing that I think they should improve is on the noise level. I would have imagined that this type of place was going to be quiet, but it was quite noisy for a romantic dinner or date dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Great experience!

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Food was so delicious! The favorite of the night was the Vongole. Definitely a hidden gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Considering the restaurant was only 1/4 ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Considering the restaurant was only 1/4 full, it was hard to hear the others at our table. Food was very good but trying a bit too hard. I loved my scallop appetizer and short rib dinner, but others we less impressed with the lobster risotto. Caesar salad is tasty, but when combined with an entrée made for a meal that was too rich to digest. Server was excellent but the hostess was very blasé and didn't make you feel very welcome. I would try it again to see if maybe it was just a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

The service staff were very attentive an ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 11, 2016

The service staff were very attentive and patient with my dining companion and I. The food was excellent, the wine was great, and the ambiance was lovely. Very good value for your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

great service!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Incredibly accommodating staff and chefs! My friend was vegan and the waitress made sure to check if the chefs could prepare something vegan which they were able to - we were all quite grateful that they could make our girls night work out for everyone. Super friendly waitress. The table by the door is a bit chilly whenever the door opens, but otherwise amazing place!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Manu needs more selection

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 10, 2016

Food was ok here, service was good but would be better if more selection on the manu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful service, lovely food!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Wonderful service, lovely food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fairly limited menu, but everything we t ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Fairly limited menu, but everything we tried was very good. Service was polite and mostly attentive, but a bit slow on a busy night. I suspect that they're still working out some rough edges. Based on our first visit, this is definitely a place that we will return to soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice Find

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Another new great find in Vancouver. A sweet restaurant in a quaint neighbourhood. The food and wine were delicious. The service was friendly and very good. Overall a great new find, we will definitely be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

WONDERFUL SERVER

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 31, 2016

WE HAD A TERRIFIC DINNER AT BACCANO'S. OUR SERVER WAS A LOVELY YOUNG WOMAN AND MADE THE EVENING VERY SPECIAL.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great date night atmosphere, friendly se ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 24, 2016

Great date night atmosphere, friendly service and delicious food! Perfect dine out experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very pleasant Kits surprise!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 24, 2016

Our group (6) went to Baccano for Dine Out and we were all very impressed with all 3 courses. The plates were delicious and had fantastic flavours. The service was top notch, but informal. The only complaint from the group was that is was quite noisy. We couldn't hear each other. Rugs or some sort of sound deadening is recommended.

We will definitely return to try out other menu items!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinning at Baccano

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 23, 2016

I would highly recommend Baccano to friends, great room lots of ambiance. The staff is amazing ,very knowledgeable about food and wine pairings.

Zack Steele the chef is simply amazing, all of the meals that we have experienced are top notch.

We have dined there several times and had a private function which was far above expectations. We had great feed back from everyone who attended, they have stated that they would return to dine at Baccano's . The vongole is a must try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizers came out quick but main took ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2016

Appetizers came out quick but main took over 30mins. But well worth the wait. Food here is excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great meal

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 21, 2016

Tasty crunchy salad and salmon that was perfectly cooked still moist and well seasoned with tasty accompaniments. Will come back again. Great service as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Grilled Salmon was the best I've eve ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 17, 2016

The Grilled Salmon was the best I've ever had. I didn't know it was possible for salmon to be grilled without tasting dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food, beautiful space, wonderful location

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 16, 2016

I was very impressed with Baccano. This new Kits restaurant has a great location with a nice patio and lovely indoor ambiance. It's an open, classy space I would definitely recommend to friends for a get together or a romantic dinner. The wine list has something for everyone's taste, all of the staff was knowledgable, attentive and kind, and the food was amazing. Creative and full of exciting flavor, I can't wait to go again to try some different items the menu has to offer!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, and the service exce ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 16, 2016

The food was great, and the service excellent. We will be back. Can't wait for the patio to open and also they have a great bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food and Service!

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 16, 2016

Baccano has resurrected into a restaurant with very good food. The staff worked hard to give excellent service as well. The Dine-Out Vancouver deal was amazing ~ great portions and beautiful food. The grilled salmon was out of this world...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Service

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 9, 2016

We decided to try this new restaurant on a Friday night. It was fairly empty when we arrived around 6:30, but filled up a bit as the evening progressed. The food was mediocre and overpriced for what we were getting. The decor was okay, but with the television above the bar showing a hockey game right in the dining area, we couldn't decide if it was more bistro or sports bar. On the plus side, our waitress was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Was hoping for just a bit more

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 18, 2015

I love small neighborhood restaurants. The ambience at this restaurant is great, the service was fine. What I did find lacking was the food. Love squid. The appetizer arrived on a way too hot plate and was way over cooked. The beet salad was bland. Some fresh herbs were needed to make it zing. My last complaint is that normally the house special is not the most expensive meal available. A bit of a shock when the bill came. My companions thought their dinners were good, the chicken could have been served with rice or something, but all thought there just wasn't enough flavour. I will probably try it again, but am hoping fo just a bit more.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous service fabulous food! I live u ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 9, 2015

Fabulous service fabulous food! I live upstairs and am finally excited to be able to dine downstairs again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

THE NEW BACCANO!!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 3, 2015

Was very happy with the food, service & new decor so were the three gals I was with & two of them are true foodies!

Staff was fantastic. Definitely going back. My new regular spot in the hood!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Worst french bistro. Avoid!

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2014

They charge 2 person party 15 percent service charge right away on the bill. The food was just plain bad. I can cook better at home myself, good thing they are closing down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.