About B. Christopher's- Greensboro

201 N Elm St
Greensboro, NC 27401
View Larger Map

As you settle in for dinner here at B. Christopher’s, we want you to know that everything on this menu is fresh, hand-selected, and all-natural. This is “real food,” with no chemicals, trans fats, hormones, or pesticides. Just locally-raised, all-natural goodness. Our partnerships with friends at Iseley Farms and others are integral to your dining experience. Our fish is line-caught in deep water, served only hours after the take. And our meats are superb. Corn-fed, naturally-nurtured, wet-aged beef. Fresh chicken. Perfect chops. All prepared to perfection and served with conviction.
Thanks for coming over for dinner. Enjoy the freshness at The Great American Steakhouse, B. Christopher’s.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Friendly Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 274-5900

Website:
http://www.bchristophers.com/

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

B. Christopher's- Greensboro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
See All
Romantic (10)
Business Meals (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Private Room (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Casual (5)
Cozy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Bar Seating (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Healthy (1)
Authentic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
204 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Second visit in couple weeks. Very impr ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Second visit in couple weeks. Very impressed w food and service. I would recommend this restaurant

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking for a good meal. We were ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We were looking for a good meal. We were referred to B. Christopher's and I was very happy with our experience. The food was exceptional, cook perfectly. We all got steaks and there were as food as what you could get in NYC or anywhere else. Definitely a two thumbs up location

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Quality cuisine, tender steaks, awesome ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Quality cuisine, tender steaks, awesome atmosphere, and exceptional service from door to table.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner on New Years Eve. Fist time dini ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Dinner on New Years Eve. Fist time dining at B Christopher's. Steaks were good(restaurants bailiwick). Overall,over priced for quality of meal. Meal was good but not for what I paid. Ordered lobster bisque and petite filet. Lobster bisque was not the best nor the worst I've had. Thin on lobster. Filet was tender but dry. My wife ordered pear salad(excellent)a surf and turf, filet medallions and scallops(3 relatively small scallops). Scallops were tasty but small. Filet was very good. Under staffed. Waiter was good but over loaded. Had to rely on flagging down other staff for attention. Small issue with bill. Plan on $65-$85 per person. Doubtful if we will return.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was good and we enjoyed the exp ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was good and we enjoyed the experience with our friends. We especially enjoyed the fillet mignon. The lobster bisque soup was okay. We were seated near the front and on a cold night the area was cold each time the door was opened and guest entered the restaurant. We expressed our concern to our waiter who appeared concern, but no other seating was presented. Would return for a meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This was our first visit to the restaura ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our first visit to the restaurant and were celebrating New Years Eve. I had very high hopes as the location is unique and different. Unfortunately, this restaurant is not even in the ball park of Ruths Chris, Flemings, or many other fine dining establishments. I thought the view might be nice but because the low curtains cover the windows, you don't even get any view of the city. We had a 6:15 reservation and were seated immediately. I felt the decor was dated, the waitstaff a little sloppy looking and apparently unclear who were assigned what table. We were greeted and told specials by two different members in error. The presentation of the food was the worse I can ever remember. The plates/dishes looked like something at a local diner/cafeteria. I was shocked! And since presentation can go a long way, this really set the mood. We did order appetizers, drinks, and dinner. The appetizer was overcooked, our steaks (which they are known for) were overcooked as well. Not a horrible place and with some changes they may be able to make it work but this restaurant is not going to be around permanently I'm afraid. I only wish I had snapped some photos so share. For the price, I cannot recommend this restaurant and will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was fantastic and our waitress ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was fantastic and our waitress was excellent. Wish we could have sat in the front dining room as opposed to the back room just for the ambiance factor. It was our first time and we'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good but it was cold and not li ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was good but it was cold and not like it's been in the past. It was my 50th birthday dinner and I was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

First visit to Gso location. Very well ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 25, 2016

First visit to Gso location. Very well pleased. Attended Christmas Eve night. Great service and quality top drawer. Highly recommend

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I ate here for our first ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 24, 2016

My husband and I ate here for our first time. We made reservations and arrived early. The hostess told us our table was not yet ready and asked us if we wanted to sit at the bar. I thought she meant for a drink but she meant for dinner. I told her that we wanted to sit in the dining area. We waited at the bar and got a drink. 5 minutes later she told us our table was ready. The restaurant was not very crowded and there were numerous tables that we saw open as we were being taken to our table. We were sat at a little table next to a room that had glass walls. There was a party dining in the room and we could see them and they us, as we ate. It was not a comfortable dining experience especially since our appetizers struggled to fit on the table with the bread, plates, and drinks. Our waiter didn't have much of a personality and didn't tell us his name. We asked for his opinion about what to order and went with his suggestions for the appetizer. We got the raw oysters to start, for the main I got the scallop risotto, and my husband the delmonico with brussel sprouts and corn brûlée. Before our food arrived another waiter came over and asked us if we would like to move to a booth located behind us, we said yes and were elated! After moving the experience was more pleasant. Another couple arrived after us and were sat at the same table that we previously were and we could hear them also complaining about the location of the table. My risotto was amazing! My husband however was not satisfied with his steak, I tried it and it was very tough. He didn't finish it and he asked me if I thought he should say anything and I told him I would write a review. The brussel sprouts and corn brûlée were also very good. I gave a rating of 4 due to the tough steak and odd initial sitting location but would give this restaurant another try for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Best steakhouse in Greensboro with excel ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Best steakhouse in Greensboro with excellent service!

Tags: Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were very helpful with my wife's wh ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 20, 2016

They were very helpful with my wife's wheelchair. The food was excellent, especially the steaks and both soups. Only minor complaint would be that with the table close the window the wait staff struggled with serving me from the right side without crossing in front of one of us.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Best restaurant in GSO! Food, service, ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Best restaurant in GSO! Food, service, and bar are the best around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took a group of customers to B Christo ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I took a group of customers to B Christopher's for dinner. The service was a little slow even though it wasn't crowded. The staff probably needs a little coaching and all will be good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Having dined at B. Christopher's many ti ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Having dined at B. Christopher's many times, I can confidently say this is a top notch restaurant in all aspects; food, service, ambiance. We have had only great and memorable experiences there consistently. Recently we had a private party there and while my expectations were high, they were exceeded. Chris and the staff went above and beyond to ensure the night was a special experience. My guests had only wonderful things to say about the evening. B. Christopher's continues to be our favorite in the Triad area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far the best steakhouse in Greensboro ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 5, 2016

By far the best steakhouse in Greensboro at very reasonable prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Delmonico steak is perfect! Worth ev ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The Delmonico steak is perfect! Worth every penny and the wait staff is almost on point

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and excellent service! Th ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service! The best steak house in town.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Greensboro's "hidden gems". From ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 1, 2016

One of Greensboro's "hidden gems". From steaks to pasta to seafood everything is FIRST CLASS.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Small and private but food and service w ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Small and private but food and service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A group of 6 of us dined here. We were s ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 24, 2016

A group of 6 of us dined here. We were staying in Greensboro for High Point Furniture market, and the food was absolutely delicious and we had an amazing server. Great job!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's expensive but the food is good. Ser ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 24, 2016

It's expensive but the food is good. Service is sometimes great, sometimes just good. Just a suggestion to buy some shades for the windows that are about 12 feet tall to help block out the street lights at night. It gives the restaurant a cold feeling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Customer Service Fail This was our firs ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Customer Service Fail

This was our first, and likely our last dining experience at B. Christopher's. Upon entering the restaurant, we were politely greeted by the hostess. After being seated we were less than welcomed by our server. To be honest, I do not remember her name as I do not think she ever mentioned it. She preceded to take our drink orders and was not terribly knowledgeable about the beer and wine list. I ordered what I thought would be a "dry" Rose' as this is how it was described on the menu. When it arrived it tasted more like a cheap white zin. When I asked our server about this she barely acknowledged my disappointment and merely pointed to the menu and stated it had a "dry finish"..... after going over the specials with us, she was unable to describe the cuts of steak in any detail. Our order arrived. My husbands order arrived 3-4 minutes after everyone else's dinner arrived. We were pleasantly surprised when the server delivering his plate asked him to cut into it, to make sure it was cooked to his liking. He ordered Medium Rare. When he cut in to it, it was a warm light pink center. He stated it was overcooked, but neither of the servers seemed to care. We were not sure why they asked, given their lack of concern with the answer.

We have two young children at home and because of this, we are limited as to how often we are able to enjoy a "date night" with friends. When we are able to get out for a night we appreciate great service to go along with our large tab. We did not complain while at the restaurant as we did not want to bring down the atmosphere at the table. But we were terribly disappointed. As business owners, our hope is that B. Christopher's can learn from their poor reviews and work a little harder to make their guest feel special while dining at their fine establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

This was a first visit to B. Christopher ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was a first visit to B. Christopher. We went for the steak and will return! Steaks we cooked perfectly and were melt-in-your-mouth delicious!! We started with wonderful oysters on the half and the spinach salad. Bacon dressing could be improved upon, but it didnt ruin the salad. Sides were a bit small to share (brussels were outragously good / mushrooms were yummy/ green beans also yummy) but we had enough to eat overall. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The experience was great. Soft shell cr ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The experience was great. Soft shell crab were perfectly cooked. The steak were excellent. The service was on par for a restaurant of this caliber.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoy supporting small businesses and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 29, 2016

I enjoy supporting small businesses and was happy to find B. Christopher's in a plethora of chain restaurants. I was thrilled to find that they serve wet aged steaks. They are not common and my favorite treatment. Tables are well spaced and allow for quiet conversation. Wonderful, friendly service adds to a great experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great and knowledgeable service by our w ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great and knowledgeable service by our waiter, Bryan! Very professional and knowledgeable!!! Thank you. We'll be back soon! Henk & Lauren Drenth

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent as always! Whole fried flounde ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent as always! Whole fried flounder is amazing with the Thai chili sauce and the steak my husband had was cooked perfectly. We received great service and liked that the manager came by to check on us as well. Don't miss out on this gem!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had an excellent meal! Steaks cooked as ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Had an excellent meal! Steaks cooked as ordered and the whole fish was awesome. Best restaurant in Greensboro hands down.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

B. Christophers is a nice looking place. ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 20, 2016

B. Christophers is a nice looking place. The menu is traditional american steak house, which is great for me. I had the filet mignon and the temperature was a perfect medium rare. They also serve fresh oysters on the half-shell, which is rare in NC due to the food safety laws they have. But as an oyster lover it was great to see. We had a dozen and they were deliscious (and local, although I can't remember the name). Last, but not least, the pricing for food and wine was reasonable for the great quality. We had a wonderful experience and I would recommend it if you are downtown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food.

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a shaky start here, because after ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had a shaky start here, because after being seated no server showed up at out table. We were just about to get up and leave when a very nice waitress came over, apologized, and we enjoyed the rest of the meal. We had the goat cheese turnover appetizer and it was excellent. We ordered the Porterhouse for two. We asked for medium rare and it was a little closer to medium but had excellent flavor. We shared the mashed potatoes and Brussel sprouts which were included in the price of the steak. The serving size of the sides was really a little too small for two people and next time we would probably order at least one more. Enjoyable restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

An excellent steak restaurant! However, ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

An excellent steak restaurant! However, the chef should offer more choices than "rare, medium rare, and well-done." A perfect steak should be cooked somewhere between rare and medium rare, and a perfect chef (and waiter) should strive to meet his customer's wishes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The steak was great along with the mushr ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The steak was great along with the mushrooms. The tuna was done perfectly as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent steak, perfectly cooked, and g ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent steak, perfectly cooked, and good choice of wines (although most a bit pricey)

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an absolutely wonderful meal and ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We had an absolutely wonderful meal and service from beginning to end. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service.

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great quality food. High end prices but ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great quality food. High end prices but worth every dollar. Large portions. Great service. Clean.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal. Service was excell ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always a great meal. Service was excellent.

Food was expertly prepared and steaks were perfect.

Great Dirty Martini

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my third time eating here, unfo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was my third time eating here, unfortunately this was not our best experience. I ordered a bottle of wine from the menu and 10 minutes later was told that they no longer had that wine available, however could offer me another bottle at a "higher" price than the bottle that I had picked out. Huh? After I picked a different bottle our waitress spilled wine all over the tablecloth while pouring our bottle of wine. No biggie we said. Then we placed our order and after 20 minutes, the staff showed up with our entrees....totally forgot our salad and soup orders. We said never mind bringing them and that we would just have the main course. The food was good but really wanted the soup. I'm sure that we will return at some point to try it again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.