About B&O American Brasserie - Hotel Monaco

2 North Charles Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Housed in the historic B&O Building and named after the Baltimore & Ohio railroad, B&O American Brasserie features an approachable menu of brasserie fare. Guests can sip on hand crafted classic cocktails while enjoying top notch service. The eclectic menu features hand cut steaks, sustainable fish and many vegetarian options. The experience includes a bustling bar, an inviting lounge; an open kitchen all housed a beautiful dining room that evokes modern sophistication.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday, 7:00am - 10:30am
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
West Baltimore

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 692-6172

Website:
http://www.bandorestaurant.com/

Catering:
The B&O chef team caters all Hotel Monaco - Baltimore events. The Hotel Monaco has space that can accomodate groups 10-250 ppl. The Hotel Monaco is perfect for that private business meeting or a dream wedding.
Please contact our Director of Catering Randie Haber for details at
Randie.haber@hotelmonaco.com

Parking Details:
Guests can enjoy $7 valet parking
Metered street parking available

Public Transit:
Charm City Circulator, Purple route: Fayette Street stop

Executive Chef:
Scott Hines

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private dining inquiries inside B&O American Brasserie please contact Events Coordinator Marissa Gossage at Marissa.gossage@bandorestaurant.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Perfect for business events or social gatherings, B&O American Brasserie features an intimate lounge area downstairs for more of a relaxed experience along with a mezzanine level dining room for semi-private events.

B&O American Brasserie - Hotel Monaco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Casual (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Historic (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Romantic (10)
Fun (9)
Cozy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great Beer (4)
Authentic (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Scenic View (3)
People Watching (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

A very popular bar/restaurant located in an elegant, historic building in center city Baltimore. It was very busy on the Thursday night I went there for dinner, but the staff was able to seat me quickly. I got butternut squash soup and french fries and a glass of wine; all delicious and reasonably priced. The waitress had to be reminded to bring my glass of wine, but in general the dinner went smoothly & I would certainly eat there again. Probably a bit noisy if you're wanting quiet conversation.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Based on our experience, I'd recommend making a reservation for dinner, in order to avoid a long wait, and avoiding the brunch altogether.

Regarding the "panning" of the brunch: The food was okay, but the service was incredibly slow. It was more than 45 minutes before we got anything besides orange juice and coffee (not even ice water). Our server forgot things, every time we asked, and had to be reminded. Probably not the server's fault, however, because it was clear that basic preparation had not been taken care of. For example, there was no salt/pepper on any of the tables.

There were no such problems during the dinner service. The difference was, as they say, "like night and day." The only problem with their dinner menu is the notable limitation of menu choices.

They comped us for the brunch, which was a nice gesture. So someone "backstage" must have been aware of whatever problems had been causing the delays. These problems are unknown to us. We speculated as to whether the server had simply forgotten to enter our order. At any rate, until they can get their act together, the brunch (at least on Saturdays) is not a positive feature of the Hotel Monaco experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a very nice mid week meal, and the chicken was excellent . I would get it again

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

A very casual-yet-upscale place with an excellent bar and wonderful craft cocktail menu. The layout is unique, with large parties being seated in an upstairs deck, while the bar and smaller tables are on the first floor.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food is amazing , beautiful Resturant, drinks are different but good will frequent again

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Was looking for a restaurant in the area of Royal Farms Arena and we chose the B&O. We are glad because the food and service ( Caroline was our server) was outstanding. Home made pappardelle noodles and scallops were awesome. Nothing to not like about our dinner. Valet parked for dinner and the show, so conveniently located.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised with B&O, it was a delicious meal from appetizer to desert. I have been craving the wagyu burger ever since. I will be returning back very soon!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is the kind of place where everything on the menu sounds good, but the serving sizes are tiny... The atmosphere is great, love the historic building and the amazing cocktails. But I'm not sure it's the most filling. The prices aren't bad for a nice date night, but keep in mind you'll probably need to add on an appetizer and/or dessert.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent meal, with knowledgeable, attentive -but not intrusive- service. Delicious food with exquisite presentation. Really nicely done. Made for a very nice Valentine's Day dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good to great food. Excellent service. Poor mixed drinks. Watered down. Poorly conceived. Vodka soda served in a high-ball with lots of ice. Moscow mule not served in coppper cup and made from a mix. Shoddy work.

Regular menu redeems experience.

Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen, Historic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I had reservations for a Valentine's Day dinner and I could not have made a poorer choice. The service was abysmal. There were only 3 tables occupied during our dinner and I had to flag down the Manager to get a server to our table Donald, the Manager was outstanding in his response and his service but everything else was horrible. The food quality was poor and the menu was very limited. This was a special occasion and I would recommend to everyone to avoid this restaurant at all costs. Its a shame that the Manager is the only good thing about the B&O Brasserie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We were going for Valentine's Day (a day early) but got Sat in the more informal bar like area. Not exactly the "nice" dinner ambience we were going for. But the food, as always, was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very cool atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Such a great spot! We had a wonderful experience! The general manager, James Williams, personally checked in on me and made me feel incredibly special.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This was my second time in this restaurant with a long gap in between and the menu has become more interesting over that time. Everything was a bit unusual but delicious. The Wagyu tartare and lamb noisettes were excellent and accompanied by vegetables that complemented the meat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised that the Baltimore Restaurant week menu was being offered. My wife and I both ordered from it and were very satisfied. The quality of the items was outstanding and the value terrific.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service. Restaurant was just the right level of crowded. Cocktails were excellent, wine list was solid, and though we had the price-fix restaurant week menu, everything was tasty and filling. Would definitely return. Our server was also excellent!

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I was disappointed with the food and look of the restaurant. The decor of the restaurant did not look as good as the online photos. Fish was good, rice was hard, tasted old. Food was not hot when it arrived to our table. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great food. Service a little spotty, the waitress seemed a bit overwhelmed. Otherwise wonderful evening.

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great food and we had very good service. We tried this during restaurant week and enjoyed the menu. Would recommend. Nice open atmosphere, interesting menu, good quality food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 13, 2017

After hearing so much about B & O, I decided to make a reservation for my husband's birthday. The space is gorgeous and I can see why people host private events here. Unfortunately, the food overall was unimpressive, which is especially disappointing considering the potential for this space to be gorgeous AND have great food. Hubby ordered from the restaurant week menu and I ordered from regular. Highlights included the toasted bread and honey ricotta (not the eggplant that was supposed to be the star of the dish-- oddly spiced and lacking in salt), hubby's vegetable pappardelle was good, and the potato flatbread could've been great had the potato been fully cooked. Dessert was unfortunately unimpressive as well. I wouldn't go again unless someone was hosting an event and I wasn't footing the bill. So much potential but the food left much to be desired. Service was decent as the eggplant dish was taken off our check and the dessert was switched out once we told our server that the dessert she recommended to us tasted like fruit cake screaming of candied orange peels (not the pear cake it's advertised to be). Unfortunately the flourless chocolate cake we got instead was reminiscent of a block of refrigerated fudge. To top it off, I'd mentioned when I was confirming the reservation that it was my husband's birthday and they said they'd add a candle to the dessert. No candle was on the dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Service was fantastic and so was the food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Enjoyed very much. The Sunday night meatloaf special was incredible. That, also with their ample selection of cocktails, is worth the visit at least once.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Historic, Cozy, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Nothing was bad, but that's about it. Everything at brunch was just underwhelming and not consistent. We went in for their hangover brunch and our server was very uninformed about the specials menu as well as the regular cocktail menu. Our first course of the oxtail disco fries and monkey bread was really good, but the second course was only ehh. Two people at our table got the double patty melt and one persons only had 1 patty. Another person ordered an over easy egg to go with the chicken and waffle and it came out over hard, no big deal except it took over almost 10 minutes for the new one to come back out. We also got one of the cocktails for 2 people which is a cool idea, but the mason jar it came out in was rusty and there's no good way to pour it. Plus it is served with a large cube in each glass but comes out on the rocks which just doesn't make sense, all you get in your glass is ice (that's a bit nit picky but it was just another thing that left us unimpressed). I would love to come back for dinner to see if the menu is better and service is more attentive.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Let me start by saying we had the prefix 5 course New Year's Eve dinner for $100 each. A restaurant in a hotel always has to work for approval. My boyfriend and I unexpectedly ended up in Baltimore for NYE, and wanted to find a romantic spot for a quality dinner. This wasn't quite it, the ambiance was way too bright. I'd say the food was much better than the place looked like it would be, which isn't typically the case. The service was great, beautiful presentation. Some of the dishes reached a bit too far (foie gras) but you definitely got your bang for your buck with the main courses. The pheasant dish I had was perfectly cooked and very sizable. The signature cocktails were one if the best parts of the meal. I also really enjoyed the oysters with caviar! I noticed a few couples came in hoping to order a la carte and couldn't which turned them off and inevitably away. I think they reached too high to appeal to the small fraction willing to pay a premium on the fly on NYE. The chocolate mouse was devine, if only I'd been hungry enough to eat it at that point in the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife and I had not been to the B&O since our daughter got married at the Hotel Monaco several years ago. We went for e a pre-show New Year’s Eve dinner and we not disappointed. Our options were a 5 course meal of a 3 course meal. So glad we both chose the 3 course meal. We never could have finished 5 courses. The food was superb and cooked to perfection. The beef we both had for the main course melted in our mouths. It was a wonderful experience. I heartily recommend the B&O to all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A fun spot with good food and cocktails. Small selection but everything is well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Service at the bar was the best! Thank you, Brendan! Fried catfish sandwich was out of this world, according to my dining companion. The flatbread of the day was rather boring. The cauliflower did not add anything - just boiled without seasoning. Grilled chicken was good and the crust was crispy just overall not memorable. I've had so many other dishes at B&O that are far better! All in all still a great lunch and we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

nice dinner before a show at the Hippodrome. Great bar and food. Not our first time and we'll go back again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My friend and I went before seeing a show. The happy hour and mussles special were delicious! The service was great and fast with very friendly servers. We will definitely be going back to try some of the other dishes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay at the Monaco and had a great dinner experience at B&O. One entree was leaps and bounds better than the other but what really shined were the cocktails. I don't care if you are a strictly beer or wine drinker - get as many of the cocktails as your stomach/wallet can handle.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 26, 2016

It was very quaint. Went here with a group friend for lunch and gift exchange. The service was really nice. The food was only okay but nothing memorable. I would go back but it wouldn't be my preference

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent food,atmosphere and service. My colleague's and I come again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Very weird and inattentive service.

3 times our server asked us what we wanted then walked away before we could answer.

Meat over cooked for 2 of 4 dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The flatbreads were so spicy we could not eat them. Server never asked why we did not eat them & when I told her they were spicy she did nothing. Onion rings heavy batter not cooked! Main courses of pappardelle & ragu sauce not great. Crab cake was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Hostess was very pleasant but had a hard time finding a table that was available even though we had a reservation. Really the only problem was the waitress, the table next to us even admitted only leaving her a 2 dollar tip. She was not rude but communication and service was just very slow. It seemed the bar was also very slow or trying to multitask too much. Happen to see the bartender all over the place and always doing something. We ordered a second round of drinks and it took over 30 minutes. We did see our waitress checking to see if our drinks were ready more than three times and they were not.

The food was amazing and the brunch style drinks were amazing. I had an "eye opener". And we also had the breakfast pizza. All was amazing, with the exception of the waitress and slow bar. I would certainly go back again. If I happen to get a different waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very timely service on a busy night. Reservation was honored on time. Located in an architecturally, historic and beautiful building.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Waiter (Ben)

Was just awesome

Right amount of great service and talking

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The food was excellent - one of my favorite restaurant meals. I enjoyed the cauliflower, scallops, and the ice cream sandwich. Everything was fantastic, from flavor to texture to portions. Brava!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Food was shockingly bad! If this is one of Baltimore's best resteraunts then we are poorly served. Fatty meat sandwich with meager sauce and tasteless over-priced crab salad. YucK. Sooooo ashamed to have treated visitor from San Francisco to such a substandard lunch.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Yym and would go back!The pork cheeks was fabulous although would have been great to have slightly larger portions. Acorn squash had a surprising kick. We ordered the chicken sausage flatbread, which was filling but also tried the potato flatbread, which had subtle but potent spicy chilies. A nice treat including the Queen bee drink and the smooth hibiscus tea & lemonade

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Had been wanting to go here for a while and decided to give it a try. The place was very easy to reach via Charm City Circulator stop being right across the street. The restaurant itself was nice and airy with multi floors. It seemed to have plenty of room and space between tables so you didn't feel on top of each other (very much appreciated). The upper floor seemed to be the more happening area, but that could have been due to the party going on upstairs. Everyone seemed professional for the most part, but the dress of the staff was very casual. Sometimes this did come through in their work ethic as well. They were incredibly friendly, patient, and helpful.

The food was good to even great, but not super. The prices were a tad bit high, especially for some of the cocktails if you ask me, but I feel that way almost all the time now-a-days. You could easily see where they were preparing the food, which is sometimes appreciated and sometimes not. On the other hand it might have also only been a final prepping stage area instead.

Would we go back there? I would like to think yes, if only to give it one more try. I must say that while I enjoyed it, it wasn't as great as I thought it would be and expected just a little bit more out of this. Good effort though and good food. You will not be disappointed by taste. Seems like a good place to have happy hour with friends

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The service was excellent and enjoyable. Very personable young lady. The food was good, the meatloaf, pork and scallops were enjoyed and when different sides were requested, they happily offered substitutes. The only complaint was the onion rings. They were overly tough and doughy. Very disappointing for $8. We will return. Have dined there in the past and think Sunday is not their best day. Would recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My brother and I came in for Thanksgiving dinner and had an amazing time.

We both ordered the pre fix menu and were not disappointed. Each course was well thought out and packed with flavor.

Our server was wonderful, and we even had the manager and Chef visit our table!

It was a beautiful evening filled with attentive staff and service. The ambiance was perfect and welcoming. The food and cocktails were flavorful, well balanced and beautifully executed.

I look forward to our next visit!!

Thanks for a great holiday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We took a friend to B&O American Brasserie for Thanksgiving dinner. We had dined there three or four time in the past and had enjoyed the experience.

Our server was great and the cocktails ( The Queen Bee ) and dessert were terrific.

However, the dinner itself was really disappointing, dry, tasteless and very uninspired.

We were rather embarrassed that we brought our guest to such a mediocre meal for a holiday celebration. I doubt if we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Truly a fantastic restaurant! I am a travel blogger and we visited over Thanksgiving. While staying at the Hotel Monaco, we ended up eating breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the B&O Brasserie and loved everything. The service was terrific and the food was delicious. Everything was fresh and beautifully presented. We really enjoyed their special Thanksgiving holiday meal. We'd definitely go back again and highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I stayed at the Kimpton Monaco Hotel Nov. 21-22, 2016 and had dinner at the restaurant two nights in a row. The first night I ordered soup and pizza that were good and roasted beets salad that I took to go and did not try until the following day. That salad had literally a pound of salt in it and was absolutely inedible. The next night I ate there again (ordered something different this time) and mentioned about too salty salad from the night before to my waitress, and her reaction was "oh yes we know, and the kitchen has been informed". No " I am sorry or we should offer a refund, or can I offer you a free appetizer or a free drink to compensate for a bad experience" - nothing. I did not escalate it to the manager, but I hope that she/he is reading it now and would train your employees to react better to a legitimate complaint. I don't think I am coming back to your restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Mediocre at best, wasn't impressed with anything. Service was fine but food was marginal so would not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Maybe they were just having an off night. Some of the dishes were delicious, some were just so-so. Our table was not served at the same time, one of our party had to wait almost 20 minutes after the rest of us were served and they forgot about the sides we ordered. Her dinner and the sides eventually came. They were very accommodating and apologetic for the mistakes and offered everyone free dessert, so that was very nice. The service was very good, I do not think the problems with the food had anything to do with the wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 15, 2016

My boss is very sensitive to noise and we had a very loud table next to us talking about inappropriate things while we were conducting a business meeting.

The waitress tried her best, it was just unfortunate they didn't have another table that was more quiet, since we were spending quite a bit. Also the food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.