About B&O American Brasserie - Hotel Monaco

2 North Charles Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Housed in the historic B&O Building and named after the Baltimore & Ohio railroad, B&O American Brasserie features an approachable menu of brasserie fare. Guests can sip on hand crafted classic cocktails while enjoying top notch service. The eclectic menu features hand cut steaks, sustainable fish and many vegetarian options. The experience includes a bustling bar, an inviting lounge; an open kitchen all housed a beautiful dining room that evokes modern sophistication.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday, 7:00am - 10:30am
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
West Baltimore

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 692-6172

Website:
http://www.bandorestaurant.com/

Catering:
The B&O chef team caters all Hotel Monaco - Baltimore events. The Hotel Monaco has space that can accomodate groups 10-250 ppl. The Hotel Monaco is perfet for that private business meeting or a dream weddig.
Please contact our Director of Catering Randie Haber for details at
Randie.haber@hotelmonaco.com

Parking Details:
Guests can enjoy $5 valet parking
Metered street parking available

Public Transit:
Charm City Circulator, Purple route: Fayette Street stop

Executive Chef:
Michael Ransom, Executive Chef

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
For private dining inquiries inside B&O American Brasserie please contact Events Coordinator Marissa Gossage at Marissa.gossage@bandorestaurant.com

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Perfect for business events or social gatherings, B&O American Brasserie features an intimate lounge area downstairs for more of a relaxed experience along with a mezzanine level dining room for semi-private events.

B&O American Brasserie - Hotel Monaco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore / Maryland
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (63)
special occasion (52)
good for groups (42)
See All
romantic (41)
great for lunch (29)
neighborhood gem (28)
vibrant bar scene (27)
great for brunch (19)
hot spot (16)
late-night find (15)
notable wine list (12)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1282 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service4

The menu had fewer selections than I exp ...

Dined 3 days ago

The menu had fewer selections than I expected. The food combinations were unusual. It almost felt like the kitchen was doing their own version of CHOPPED with mixing bizarre ingredients. Nothing was "bad" just very weird. Pricey too

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good for breakfast

Dined 3 days ago

They said they were overbooked but I had a reservation. So they sat us down it never really filled up?? Breakfast was good we were satisfied. Not over the top decent good breakfast, service was fine.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service3

Fun place. Great food. In the beautiful ...

Dined 5 days ago

Fun place. Great food. In the beautiful Hotel Monaco. Great experience every time.

food4
ambience2
service2

The food was good and if you sit upstair ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food was good and if you sit upstairs it's not quiet but the noise from the bar is not bad. Crab cakes were good and the calamari was very good although somewhat spicy.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Took us immediately, server was attentiv ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Took us immediately, server was attentive without being obtrusive, not rushed although it was fairly crowded. The food was excellent, portions large and a very good value.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A modern gem in an historic crown

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Within the magnificent B&O headquarters building on Charles Street is the Hotel Monaco. Accompanying the re-purposed landmark is The B&O Brasserie. I've eaten there now 3 times, and plan on going back as often as I possibly can. The food is superbly prepared and presented, and the menu changes as often as possible to utilize changes in locally resourced foods. The wait staff are well trained and attentive without being intrusive. The setting is traditional yet modern. Baltimore has been developing into a first class restaurant city, and right in the lead is The Brasserie.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

With all the pub about the location/reno ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

With all the pub about the location/renovation/food, I thought hoped this place would be MUCH better. We ordered a charcuterie plate to share as an appetizer; that was good (wonder where they source the meats?) and the mostarda was decent as were the "pickled things" (as described on the menu). The plate could have used more of both. Things went downhill fast after that. We ordered the fish of the day and a vegetarian entree. The server was careful to explain to us that the chef elected to leave the skin on the locally sourced rockfish. S/he did that. Unfortunately it was also finished in the oven after searing, so the result was a soggy, rubbery skin that had to be discarded. It was served over a take on German potato salad -- warm roasted red potatoes with some vinegar and celery. meh. The roasted squash, wild rice and smoked mushroom entree also had problems, not least of which that it was neither fully cooked nor served with a spoon to 'scoop' since the skin was left on. It ended up being very hard to eat, and we left most of it.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We chose this restaurant for a birthday ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We chose this restaurant for a birthday dinner before going to see a show at the Hippodrome theater. The food was really delicious and there was a variety to choose from. Ambience was very nice - perfect for a special occasion dinner but definitely casual enough to keep us feeling comfortable. We were a little disappointed that the wine list did not include any sweeter wines - it would be nice if there were at least some options available. We noted in our reservation that a member of our party was allergic to shellfish, and we really appreciated the fact that the staff confirmed this with us at our arrival to make sure that that member of our party did not have any problems. Thank you for a great dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The cocktails at B&O are always amazing. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The cocktails at B&O are always amazing. This visit I was pleased to see they offer non-alcoholic "cocktails" that allow everybody to feel fancy and special toasting, even if they aren't planning to partake in booze.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Service was a little lacking

Dined on May 13, 2016

Walked into the restaurant and no one was the hostess stand for over 5 minutes. There was a private event going on downstairs and I had to ask one of the attendees there if they had rented out the whole restaurant because I did not see any servers or hostesses. Once I was seated though it was a pleasant experience

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

B&O has great modern American dishes and ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

B&O has great modern American dishes and cocktails. The menu can be a bit on the pricey side but it's not outrageous. My favorite part is the scene and the vibe inside the restaurant, a nice blend of classic and trendy. I'll definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Slow service

Dined on May 3, 2016

It took about 45 minutes to get our drinks and then we waited 30 more minutes to be able to put our food order in. After a total of an hour of waiting we asked the waitress if we could order and she told us she was busy and proceeded to go to the table next to us and take their order. I was not happy with the wait time or the waitress' attitude towards us. The food was good, but dinner took a lot longer than anticipated due to our waitress.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic Evening

Dined on April 30, 2016

Very pleasant staff who are super attentive without being suffocating. Food was great and so were the mixed drinks! Would definitely return for a special occasion!

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday dinner out!

Dined on April 23, 2016

A little pricey, but food was outstanding! Lovely ambiance and service was perfect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional attention to food and schedule needs.

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

My colleague and I had need for good food and fast service in order to get to BWI for our flight. The host and attending staff accommodated us with great food and rapid service that actually didn't seem rushed. This was amazing since the entire restaurant was packed. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Service was very slow. Food was average. ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Service was very slow. Food was average.i would not recommend this restaurant

food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent customer service!

Dined on April 15, 2016

Excellent customer service!

food5
ambience4
service5

Pork chop and scallops were delicious. S ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Pork chop and scallops were delicious. Service was attentive without being pushy. The restaurant was empty at 515 on a Tuesday but quickly filled up. Once full it was fairly noisy.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food, fun atmosphere

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was excellent and the atmosphere is relaxing. The restaurant has a nice energy level. I loved the contemporary decor. We went for brunch. The mimosas were outstanding and the crab cake sandwich was fantastic with minimal shell. I must recommend the banana pudding for dessert. It was heavenly and topped with melted marshmallow. I will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently Good

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

B&O Brasserie is consistently good. Although the menu is small there is something for everyone from chicken to lamb shanks to crab cakes to salads. Beautifully plated and tastefully prepared. Great unique drink menu and nice selection of beers and wines. Relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service3

Our family had Easter Brunch at this loc ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our family had Easter Brunch at this locations and left stuffed! The food was well prepared and the staff kept everything hot and fresh.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Easter brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Went here with friends for Easter brunch. It was a great value for the buffet, our waitress was very adept and considerate, and the food was good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent, from perfectly c ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was excellent, from perfectly cooked Ribeye steak to the fish special, topped off by delicious banana pudding. The server was pleasant and attentive. Highly recommended for a romantic days or a family dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was Great!

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Had lunch and dinner there this past weekend due to the bad weather that I hadn't planned for. No regrets on either. The burger was huge and one of the best I've had. Chicken entree at dinner was flavorful and filling. Great wine, great service. Whether in the dining room or at the bar, everything worked perfectly.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Lovely spot!

Dined on March 18, 2016

B&O has been on my list to go to for a while now, and I was not disappointed! Brendan Dorr, the bartender made me a scrumptious rye drink and the pit beef was to die for; I was with a group for a conference and they all thoroughly enjoyed their experience as well. I would mention that upon our arrival, the hostess was disgruntled that I asked to change my reservation from 4 to 6. He did not like that and let us know his displeasure. I don't ever want to go to a restaurant where I am made to feel I inconvenienced the staff. We should have just left, despite the restaurant not being busy. We were happy to have the two add-ons sit at a different spot, but instead we stood around for 10 minutes feeling out of place before we were seated. The ambience and service we received from Brendan was spectacular, so that made up for the original dislike of how we were treated.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

They were out of a few menu items. It wa ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

They were out of a few menu items. It was fine, but I'd probably try other places in the neighborhood before I would return. It was convenient to the hotel Monaco.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A mixed review

Dined on March 17, 2016

The bar and restaurant offer a chic atmosphere for the lower Charles St. Region. Our server was fantastic, friendly and not at all impatient or snobby. The menu prices are higher than I believe this neighborhood can command. The fondue appetizer was more of a cheese dip than an actual fondue, and not worth the $11 price. But overall, the atmosphere is relaxed, and offers a good spot to meet with friends for a few drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service - above and beyond

Dined on March 14, 2016

Outstanding service by our very attentive and charming waiter Jaymo.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

It's your basic bland hotel restaurant

Dined on March 13, 2016

It looked cute from the curb, so I had a Sunday brunch there. This is the exact same experience you would get eating at any restaurant in any hotel. Food so mild it won't upset anyone. Staff who don't enjoy their work. A menu of generic intranational foodstuffs with nothing above average or out of the ordinary. This is the definition of mediocrity.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

B&O Brasserie

Dined on March 11, 2016

I eat here fairly often for lunch since I work in the building. I love the food and it is so convenient. The service has really improved in recent months. Food comes up faster and one can now get in and out within a lunch hour. Happy hours are popular, although I don't get to attend often. I am pleasantly surprised with recent upgrades, and recommend it even more often than before.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Very nice place for a quiet meal.

Dined on March 5, 2016

The wait staff was very friendly and attentive. The dinner choices were good and the food was good, if not spectacular. There were several items of interest on the menu that might have been better, but my selection - a whole grains salad and flatbread pizza - was just average.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Pre-Concert Dinner was a Winner

Dined on March 4, 2016

Picked from reviews in Baltimore newspapers, and because it was in walking distance of the Hippodrome (concert venue). The staff was friendly, helpful, and very polished (timing, describing special dishes, checking on whether they carried a particular drink we asked about, etc.) and yet not obtrusive. The food was excellent. The charred octopus/green chorizo tacos were amazing, and I had a lamb shank with a bbq sauce reduction glaze that was excellent. Desserts were good, but not amazing. Since we said we were heading to a concert, they made sure we had bill before we needed to rush. The upper floor dining area is much quieter than the bar, which is nice--plenty of soft surfaces (carpet, upholstered chairs, drapes, etc.) help keep it quiet. We'd definitely go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Romantic

Dined on February 21, 2016

Went here while we were staying at the hotel Monaco - very convenient & great for romantic intimate settings

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Convenient location

Dined on February 21, 2016

My wife were in town for one night and stayed at the Hotel Monaco next door. We decided to dine here, because we couldn't get a reservation at other places, and the location was convenient. It turned out to be an enjoyable experience. My wife really enjoyed the tomato soup. The pumpkin cheesecake for dessert was delicious.

Tags: late-night find
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

hit or miss

Dined on February 20, 2016

i go here twice during my annual trip to Baltimore. Great bar. adult drinks, not too sweet which is my preference. my first trip was fine. not super crowded. service fine food good. 2nd trip not so much. Lovely, but not good server. took a very long time to get food. desserts took so long that we asked someone else to bring them to table. We saw them sitting and ready for at least 10 minutes. Server also screwed up payment and my debit card was charged twice. honest mistake, but a nuisance. would go once more and hope for improvement. interesting menu. order some kind of appetizer because for your $20-$30 entree you get nothing else.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on February 20, 2016

We went here for a birthday celebration. My friend had been there before but only had drinks and appetizers. We had a full dinner. The Brussels sprouts appetizer was incredible, then again, we love Brussels sprouts. My friend had the pork chop and loved it. I had the lamb shank and, it too, was delicious and perfectly cooked. Our cocktails were wonderful but hey do measure so they seemed a little small compared to places that "eye" it. However, they were wonderful so we didn't mind too much. Finally, we finished with the banana pudding and a chocolate dessert that were both wonderful. I really don't have anything negative to say. The entire experience was wonderful and really did feel like a celebration. While not inexpensive, everything was well worth the pricing. It was high quality, fine food that was priced accordingly though not excessively. It was well worth the price. The service was also excellent without being intrusive. I will be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Convenient if staying in the Hotel Monaco.

Dined on February 19, 2016

A good place for dinner after traipsing around Baltimore all day. A visit to the aquarium and Visionary Arts Museum was enough walking for us. We were staying at the Monaco, so this was a perfect place for dinner. Apparently a waitress failed to show so our waitress was harried and not a happy camper. The manager stepped in and was very helpful. Food was okay, but we would only return if we were overnighting at the hotel.

food5
ambience3
service3

The octopus tacos were amazing ! Overall ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

The octopus tacos were amazing ! Overall had a nice dinner but the service was slow.

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Valentine's Day 2016

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great restaurant! Loved the food and bar scene/cocktail selection. Our server was nice but not very attentive. We waited a while once seated for her to greet us and she rarely came by to check on us during the meal. I even had to get up a pour myself a water refill. Other than that it was an overall great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better than imagined!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Visited on Valentines Day outing to hotel. Very convenient to hotel. Food was excellent - my compliments to the chef! Presentation was beautiful; my girlfriend was over the moon. Her lamb shank was outstanding; tender, flavorful and presented like something from Bon Appétit. Drink selection was unique, with many cocktail combinations we've never heard or thought of. Price was moderate but reasonable given the high quality of the menu. Will visit again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.