About B&O American Brasserie - Hotel Monaco

Housed in the historic B&O Building and named after the Baltimore & Ohio railroad, B&O American Brasserie features an approachable menu of brasserie fare. Guests can sip on hand crafted classic cocktails while enjoying top notch service. The eclectic menu features hand cut steaks, sustainable fish and many vegetarian options. The experience includes a bustling bar, an inviting lounge; an open kitchen all housed a beautiful dining room that evokes modern sophistication.

2 North Charles Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday, 7:00am - 10:30am
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday, 4:30pm-6:30pm

Cross Street:
West Baltimore

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 692-6172

Website:
http://www.bandorestaurant.com/

Catering:
The B&O chef team caters all Hotel Monaco - Baltimore events. The Hotel Monaco has space that can accomodate groups 10-250 ppl. The Hotel Monaco is perfect for that private business meeting or a dream wedding.
Please contact our Director of Catering Randie Haber for details at
Randie.haber@hotelmonaco.com

Parking Details:
Guests can enjoy $7 valet parking
Metered street parking available

Public Transit:
Charm City Circulator, Purple route: Fayette Street stop

Executive Chef:
Scott Hines

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private dining inquiries inside B&O American Brasserie please contact Director of Catering Randie Haber at randie.haber@hotelmonaco.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Perfect for business events or social gatherings, B&O American Brasserie features an intimate lounge area downstairs for more of a relaxed experience along with a mezzanine level dining room for semi-private events.

B&O American Brasserie - Hotel Monaco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Bar Seating (16)
Historic (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Casual (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Business Meals (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fun (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Romantic (8)
Cozy (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Authentic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
People Watching (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1471 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

I brought my clients here for dinner only because I was staying in the hotel and I assumed, based on my experience in other cities, a Monaco Hotel restaurant has to have its stuff together. I was dead wrong. Awful service which included a comment from our stressed-out-looking waitress (who looked like she was just handed a tray without training); "We have a big group upstairs so, I have no idea when your drinks or dinner will be ready. I have no control over the bar or the kitchen". Wow!! Really??
The food is decent for a quick bite and upstairs bar is perfect for an obnoxiously loud office staff happy hour.
Otherwise, avoid at all cost if your goal is to have a sophisticated dinner with a business associate.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

The server was barely present. We were a party of 7. 2 of my friends came about 10 minutes after we were seated and it took them 30 minutes to get water and utensils. After the server came over to take our order (30+ minutes), it took over 45 minutes for our food to come out. In the meantime, the server never came over to see how we were doing or explain the wait. My friend had to find her and inquire about the order twice! Highly disappointed in the service and the food didn't wow any of us. I expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We enjoyed this restaurant. Love that it is in a historic building. The atmosphere is lovely. Our food was good ,but not as good as it should have been for the price. $30 entries. Great place for specialty drinks. Service was also good. Not my favorite Baltimore restaurant, yet glad we tried it.

Tags: Historic, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is a hidden gem in downtown Baltimore. They had nice cocktails and the food was delicious.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Was intimidated by the menu and even had to google some of the ingredients on the menu. Ended up with the wagyu burger and it was amazing! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My daughter and I went to Easter brunch this past Sunday. They advertised as it being something special because of the holiday. The atmosphere was nothing special. It felt like a typical Sunday eating out. I would suggest offering a band or something holiday oriented to set the meal/experience apart from just another Sunday. Especially since the price was $40 per person for brunch.

The food was good and the service was good. Make B&O stand out! :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Overpriced food, temperature issues in the main room and service was not the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Amazing ambiance and service was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Looking for convenient and memorable dinner experience while visiting Baltimore's inner harbor for the evening. The choices in inner harbor were limited for us-too crowded with long wait times so this place seemed a better option. It's a short walk but worth it! Excellent food and service. The menu is limited for non-red meat eaters but kitchen is accommodating. We chose the flatbread with chicken sausage and the crab cake entree-plenty of food to share and excellent. Attention to detail, with delicious sauces. Loved it! Although we didn't drink any alcohol, the wine list is extensive and excellent. Mixed drinks sounded delicious! Would definitely come back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Fantastic food with an excellent wine list. The staff was professional and friendly. Their recommendation were spot on. We have been in Baltimore only 8 months, eat out often, and this may well have been the finest meal we've had. We will be back...often.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

food was very good. crab cake was excellent. the other people in my group all loved their food as well. My big issue was the ambience of the restaurant. No atmosphere what so ever. It was a Sunday night so it wasn't that busy but we all felt that the place looked run down and needed some upgrades . tables looked shabby. I hadn't been in several years but I've always felt that the food was good but the atmosphere was never quite right. They need to pay more attention to the actual restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Good ambiance, excellent cocktails, attentive service, been multiple times and haven't yet been disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food was delicious. Server was attentive but should have come by more often because we were her only table. Family with small screaming children were seated near which made for an unpleasant meal experience. Not the restaurants fault.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Fantastic meal as always. Was visited by the manager and chef as well as the supervisor, making sure everything was up to standard, which of course it was. Love this place and the excellent staff. 5 stars all day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food was poorly flavored, the gentleman behind the back counter was rude when I asked if he knew where the hostess was. The floor was understaffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Casual dining and quick in and out for a business lunch. Service is ok. Menu is limiting and should have more salad options.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

great ambiance. Had NCAA game on a TV (nice surprise). Staff attentive and food good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our group of 6 all enjoyed the food and drinks. We shared two small plates and got a flatbread pizza for an appetizer and then everyone tried different things from the menu for entree. Everyone was pleased with their meals. I had the scallops which were cooked perfectly and surrounded by root vegetables that were a really nice accompaniment. The Queen B cocktail was refreshing and was the perfect start. The servers were attentive, knew the menu and made good recommendations.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Anyone who can make roasted squash and lentils taste that good deserves a solid review. And the desert was out of this world.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We were late for our 730 reservation. They held the table, but were slow at the time. Arrival experience very good, host friendly and helpful, friendly but not very attentive for a slow night. Wine list short and uninspired. Menu offerings very creative, ribeye tasty but not great quality. Sunday special meatloaf good, but not great. Key lime pie average at best, but pot de creme very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My family and i really enjoyed this restaurant. Our waiter Jay was charming, efficient and fun. Food was very good and atmosphere is lovely.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was good but not great, our server seemed like she was trying to rush us, and the decor of the restaurant was super outdated. I felt like I was out at a restaurant that was really cool like 15 years ago. I can think of a lot of other places that are way more worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent time! food and drinks were wonderful and the service was great.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Good overall, service a little off today. Ask for upstairs seating.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The food was very good, the service excellent, and we were thrilled that there was an interesting gluten-free, vegetarian option that wasn't just vegetables.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 28, 2017

More than just casual local Baltimore cuisine; crab cakes and oysters are on the menu but there are other delicious options. This restaurant never disappoints.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Very tasty flat bread pizza!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 25, 2017

arrived on a saturday for lunch but very few items being serves for this meal. mostly brunch items. wine was good though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 24, 2017

A very popular bar/restaurant located in an elegant, historic building in center city Baltimore. It was very busy on the Thursday night I went there for dinner, but the staff was able to seat me quickly. I got butternut squash soup and french fries and a glass of wine; all delicious and reasonably priced. The waitress had to be reminded to bring my glass of wine, but in general the dinner went smoothly & I would certainly eat there again. Probably a bit noisy if you're wanting quiet conversation.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Not only did we have an excellent meal but the staff was friendly and very accommodating. Great service and excellent overall experience - we'll be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Based on our experience, I'd recommend making a reservation for dinner, in order to avoid a long wait, and avoiding the brunch altogether.

Regarding the "panning" of the brunch: The food was okay, but the service was incredibly slow. It was more than 45 minutes before we got anything besides orange juice and coffee (not even ice water). Our server forgot things, every time we asked, and had to be reminded. Probably not the server's fault, however, because it was clear that basic preparation had not been taken care of. For example, there was no salt/pepper on any of the tables.

There were no such problems during the dinner service. The difference was, as they say, "like night and day." The only problem with their dinner menu is the notable limitation of menu choices.

They comped us for the brunch, which was a nice gesture. So someone "backstage" must have been aware of whatever problems had been causing the delays. These problems are unknown to us. We speculated as to whether the server had simply forgotten to enter our order. At any rate, until they can get their act together, the brunch (at least on Saturdays) is not a positive feature of the Hotel Monaco experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food and service were very good

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We had a very nice mid week meal, and the chicken was excellent . I would get it again

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 21, 2017

A very casual-yet-upscale place with an excellent bar and wonderful craft cocktail menu. The layout is unique, with large parties being seated in an upstairs deck, while the bar and smaller tables are on the first floor.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food is amazing , beautiful Resturant, drinks are different but good will frequent again

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Was looking for a restaurant in the area of Royal Farms Arena and we chose the B&O. We are glad because the food and service ( Caroline was our server) was outstanding. Home made pappardelle noodles and scallops were awesome. Nothing to not like about our dinner. Valet parked for dinner and the show, so conveniently located.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised with B&O, it was a delicious meal from appetizer to desert. I have been craving the wagyu burger ever since. I will be returning back very soon!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is the kind of place where everything on the menu sounds good, but the serving sizes are tiny... The atmosphere is great, love the historic building and the amazing cocktails. But I'm not sure it's the most filling. The prices aren't bad for a nice date night, but keep in mind you'll probably need to add on an appetizer and/or dessert.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent meal, with knowledgeable, attentive -but not intrusive- service. Delicious food with exquisite presentation. Really nicely done. Made for a very nice Valentine's Day dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good to great food. Excellent service. Poor mixed drinks. Watered down. Poorly conceived. Vodka soda served in a high-ball with lots of ice. Moscow mule not served in coppper cup and made from a mix. Shoddy work.

Regular menu redeems experience.

Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen, Historic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.