About B&O American Brasserie - Hotel Monaco

2 North Charles Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Housed in the historic B&O Building and named after the Baltimore & Ohio railroad, B&O American Brasserie features an approachable menu of brasserie fare. Guests can sip on hand crafted classic cocktails while enjoying top notch service. The eclectic menu features hand cut steaks, sustainable fish and many vegetarian options. The experience includes a bustling bar, an inviting lounge; an open kitchen all housed a beautiful dining room that evokes modern sophistication.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday, 7:00am - 10:30am
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
West Baltimore

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 692-6172

Website:
http://www.bandorestaurant.com/

Catering:
The B&O chef team caters all Hotel Monaco - Baltimore events. The Hotel Monaco has space that can accomodate groups 10-250 ppl. The Hotel Monaco is perfect for that private business meeting or a dream wedding.
Please contact our Director of Catering Randie Haber for details at
Randie.haber@hotelmonaco.com

Parking Details:
Guests can enjoy $7 valet parking
Metered street parking available

Public Transit:
Charm City Circulator, Purple route: Fayette Street stop

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private dining inquiries inside B&O American Brasserie please contact Events Coordinator Marissa Gossage at Marissa.gossage@bandorestaurant.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Bison Carpaccio - B&O American Brasserie - Hotel Monaco, Baltimore, MD
Bison Carpaccio - B&O American Brasserie - Hotel Monaco, Baltimore, MD

Specials

$15 Bottomless Mimosas

Saturdays and Sundays from 9:00 AM - 2:30 PM

50% Off All Wines

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

$15 Bottomless Mimosas

Saturdays and Sundays from 9:00 AM - 2:30 PM

Details

Choose from a variety of enticing flavors like Apricot, Grapefruit, Pineapple and more. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 9, 2016 - Dec 9, 2016 on Saturdays and Sundays from 9:00 AM - 2:30 PM.

50% Off All Wines

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

50% Off All Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. All Wine Bottles Half Price Every Tuesday Evening. Special valid Aug 9, 2016 - Dec 9, 2016 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Perfect for business events or social gatherings, B&O American Brasserie features an intimate lounge area downstairs for more of a relaxed experience along with a mezzanine level dining room for semi-private events.

B&O American Brasserie - Hotel Monaco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Good for a Date (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Casual (9)
Romantic (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Business Meals (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Cozy (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Historic (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Seasonal (4)
Authentic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Great Beer (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Healthy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1345 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Yym and would go back!The pork cheeks wa ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Yym and would go back!The pork cheeks was fabulous although would have been great to have slightly larger portions. Acorn squash had a surprising kick. We ordered the chicken sausage flatbread, which was filling but also tried the potato flatbread, which had subtle but potent spicy chilies. A nice treat including the Queen bee drink and the smooth hibiscus tea & lemonade

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The service was excellent and enjoyable. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The service was excellent and enjoyable. Very personable young lady. The food was good, the meatloaf, pork and scallops were enjoyed and when different sides were requested, they happily offered substitutes. The only complaint was the onion rings. They were overly tough and doughy. Very disappointing for $8. We will return. Have dined there in the past and think Sunday is not their best day. Would recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

My brother and I came in for Thanksgivin ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My brother and I came in for Thanksgiving dinner and had an amazing time.

We both ordered the pre fix menu and were not disappointed. Each course was well thought out and packed with flavor.

Our server was wonderful, and we even had the manager and Chef visit our table!

It was a beautiful evening filled with attentive staff and service. The ambiance was perfect and welcoming. The food and cocktails were flavorful, well balanced and beautifully executed.

I look forward to our next visit!!

Thanks for a great holiday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took a friend to B&O American Brasser ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We took a friend to B&O American Brasserie for Thanksgiving dinner. We had dined there three or four time in the past and had enjoyed the experience.

Our server was great and the cocktails ( The Queen Bee ) and dessert were terrific.

However, the dinner itself was really disappointing, dry, tasteless and very uninspired.

We were rather embarrassed that we brought our guest to such a mediocre meal for a holiday celebration. I doubt if we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Truly a fantastic restaurant! I am a tra ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Truly a fantastic restaurant! I am a travel blogger and we visited over Thanksgiving. While staying at the Hotel Monaco, we ended up eating breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the B&O Brasserie and loved everything. The service was terrific and the food was delicious. Everything was fresh and beautifully presented. We really enjoyed their special Thanksgiving holiday meal. We'd definitely go back again and highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I stayed at the Kimpton Monaco Hotel Nov ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I stayed at the Kimpton Monaco Hotel Nov. 21-22, 2016 and had dinner at the restaurant two nights in a row. The first night I ordered soup and pizza that were good and roasted beets salad that I took to go and did not try until the following day. That salad had literally a pound of salt in it and was absolutely inedible. The next night I ate there again (ordered something different this time) and mentioned about too salty salad from the night before to my waitress, and her reaction was "oh yes we know, and the kitchen has been informed". No " I am sorry or we should offer a refund, or can I offer you a free appetizer or a free drink to compensate for a bad experience" - nothing. I did not escalate it to the manager, but I hope that she/he is reading it now and would train your employees to react better to a legitimate complaint. I don't think I am coming back to your restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Mediocre at best, wasn't impressed with ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Mediocre at best, wasn't impressed with anything. Service was fine but food was marginal so would not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Maybe they were just having an off night ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Maybe they were just having an off night. Some of the dishes were delicious, some were just so-so. Our table was not served at the same time, one of our party had to wait almost 20 minutes after the rest of us were served and they forgot about the sides we ordered. Her dinner and the sides eventually came. They were very accommodating and apologetic for the mistakes and offered everyone free dessert, so that was very nice. The service was very good, I do not think the problems with the food had anything to do with the wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

My boss is very sensitive to noise and w ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 15, 2016

My boss is very sensitive to noise and we had a very loud table next to us talking about inappropriate things while we were conducting a business meeting.

The waitress tried her best, it was just unfortunate they didn't have another table that was more quiet, since we were spending quite a bit. Also the food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4

Can not describe how great the crab cake ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Can not describe how great the crab cakes were!!!! The service was fantastic and we could have never chosen a better place to celebrate my husband's birthday on our weekend trip to Baltimore.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and staff were amazing. Can't w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food and staff were amazing. Can't wait to come back again.

Tags: Private Room, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Organic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Fun, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drinks were AMAZING particularly the awa ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Drinks were AMAZING particularly the award winning Galavanter. My friend had to send her steak back twice (first time it was over cooked second time was way too rare). Appetizers were delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great service, interesting architecture, ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great service, interesting architecture, very mediocre food--trying too hard.

The pork belly was excellent, pasta good, chicken tough. Desserts not very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Service and the staff are great. Small ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Service and the staff are great. Small portions and limited menu but what they due they due well everything had a great flavor . A very good small crab cake ......

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The nine dollar very small bowl of butte ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The nine dollar very small bowl of butternut squash soup had whole cloves in it. It was not nice to bite into that. My friend's cobb salad was very small, not much to it at all. I do not like the new table and chairs, either. This is usually a very nice restaurant, but I feel as if it has gone down in the last month when I went there last. I can't even remember what I ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Little in the way of ambience, especiall ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Little in the way of ambience, especially if you expect something special in a historic spot. Hard surfaces, lots of clackety noise, and the "energetic" sound level and selection of music is not conducive to a nice date night for mature clients who are paying $100+ for two, and that with just a couple of draft beers.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The valet parking charged me $28 because ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The valet parking charged me $28 because we went 8 minutes over the 2 hour limit for dinner. Two hours is $7. Two hours and 8 minutes is $28.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

This was the spot my and husband and I c ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was the spot my and husband and I chose to celebrated our 22nd Anniversary. Hotel accommodations, food (dinner/breakfast), customer service, and atmosphere was a 5-star rating. We had a celebratory wonderful time!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff us top notch and joy filled, c ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The staff us top notch and joy filled, clearly they love their jobs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. Warm ambience. Season ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Excellent service. Warm ambience. Seasonal menu is a plus.

Tags: Avant/après une sortie au théâtre, De bonnes options pour les végétariens
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The crab cake at dinner was amazing and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The crab cake at dinner was amazing and other menu choices were intriguing. The cocktails were fun and tasty and the service was very good. Overall a very fun night.

Ate breakfast there the next day and that was a bit of a different feel. The wait staff seemed flustered, the food was good but not as warm as it should have been.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a wonderful waiter--a young man w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We had a wonderful waiter--a young man working on his doctorate at Peabody--who was intelligent, articulate, attentive and didn't try to upsell. My husband and I each had the swordfish entree, which was perfectly cooked and absolutely delicious, over smashed potatoes with peas and corn shoots.

My only complaint was the uncomfortable chairs, which had no lower back support. However, I understand that the restaurant would be getting new furniture this week, so hopefully that will mean more comfortable chairs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Just an absolutely amazing experience. T ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Just an absolutely amazing experience. The manager/Somm even went as far to allow us to sample some local Bourbon as we were visitors to the city. Really was just a next level experience

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Hot Spot, Cozy, Bar Seating, Tapas, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great potential and a cool space but sta ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great potential and a cool space but staffing was not adequate. One server for our table of 9 + 2 other tables. Food took a long time to come out and by the time it was time to go the table still was not cleared. During another visit, I put in a to go order which were sliders and cheese plate ... It took 30 minutes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

The restaurant lacks any decorative touc ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The restaurant lacks any decorative touch and was very loud. The food was good and the menu had lots of options for brunch. I was disappointed that they not have more drink options-e.g., chai tea. The service was slow and not very attentive. The maitre d, however, was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Delicious meal from beginning to end and ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Delicious meal from beginning to end and great service. Everything was wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

when I go to a restaurant for dinner, th ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 1, 2016

when I go to a restaurant for dinner, the portions must be enough so that I do not leave hungry. That is the cardinal rule. B&O failed here. The flavor was very good, the menu had lots of enticing choices. The portions were unacceptably small. Even after dessert (usually no more than a mouthful) I was not satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was very good. Service was fast. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Food was very good. Service was fast. I ordered breakfast. My order was on the table within 5 minutes. A little pricey but okay. One thing this restaurant has going for it is parking across the street. Street parking is Baltimore is like trying to find snail's teeth. Luckily, right across the street, there is metered parking.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a nice dinner here last evening. Sea ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Had a nice dinner here last evening. Seated right away. Host was very nice and the server super attentive. Menu, though brief, was very good. Mushroom Flatbread was an excellent choice for an appetizer - portion was perfect for four people and it was absolutely delicious. Food was consistent with a good american brasserie. The decor was nice and somewhat unique - definitely added to the experience. Would visit again.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Comfort Food, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I happened upon this place while I was s ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 20, 2016

I happened upon this place while I was serving jury duty downtown. It's nice inside, and the staff are friendly and helpful. I had the brandade and the pappardelle, both of which were very good. I probably could have been full with just the entree also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were welcomed in with open arms. The ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We were welcomed in with open arms. The host and the wait staff were appropriately attentive. The food was very good. The location of the Resturant is impressive . Check out the hotel when you are there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

All was delicious, conscientious staff, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2016

All was delicious, conscientious staff, quick with food delivery to table but beautiful presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food..great service. The menu was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great food..great service. The menu was comprehensive and included unique sandwiches and soups not found at other restaurants...Excellent restaurant.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The boss was efficient and warm without ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2016

The boss was efficient and warm without being intrusive, helped a lot the quality of service, congratulations. Standard service. Good american food. Come-and-go ambiance, which is understandable since we are in an hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We went there to celebrate 2 birthdays f ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 16, 2016

We went there to celebrate 2 birthdays for lunch. Good food and nice place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Decent portions, friendly staff, good f ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Decent portions, friendly staff, good food, good value.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food, and the best bartenders in B ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food, and the best bartenders in Baltimore. They not only make world-class drinks, they tell you -- if you ask -- how they make them taste so good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef prepared my scallops perfectly, ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The chef prepared my scallops perfectly, seared but not over cooked. My husband's crab cake was one of the best he had. The cocktails unique and yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The house made Jerky should not be misse ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The house made Jerky should not be missed. It was so amazing that we ordered a "to go" order. The crafted cocktails were amazing. Other favorites were the French fries and the Scallop entree. Service was amazing as well!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Indifferent service

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Indifferent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.