About B&O American Brasserie - Hotel Monaco

2 North Charles Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Housed in the historic B&O Building and named after the Baltimore & Ohio railroad, B&O American Brasserie features an approachable menu of brasserie fare. Guests can sip on hand crafted classic cocktails while enjoying top notch service. The eclectic menu features hand cut steaks, sustainable fish and many vegetarian options. The experience includes a bustling bar, an inviting lounge; an open kitchen all housed a beautiful dining room that evokes modern sophistication.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday, 7:00am - 10:30am
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
West Baltimore

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 692-6172

Website:
http://www.bandorestaurant.com/

Catering:
The B&O chef team caters all Hotel Monaco - Baltimore events. The Hotel Monaco has space that can accomodate groups 10-250 ppl. The Hotel Monaco is perfet for that private business meeting or a dream weddig.
Please contact our Director of Catering Randie Haber for details at
Randie.haber@hotelmonaco.com

Parking Details:
Guests can enjoy $5 valet parking
Metered street parking available

Public Transit:
Charm City Circulator, Purple route: Fayette Street stop

Executive Chef:
Michael Ransom, Executive Chef

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
For private dining inquiries inside B&O American Brasserie please contact Events Coordinator Marissa Gossage at Marissa.gossage@bandorestaurant.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Bison Carpaccio
Bison Carpaccio

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Perfect for business events or social gatherings, B&O American Brasserie features an intimate lounge area downstairs for more of a relaxed experience along with a mezzanine level dining room for semi-private events.

B&O American Brasserie - Hotel Monaco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (39)
special occasion (28)
good for groups (22)
See All
romantic (20)
neighborhood gem (19)
vibrant bar scene (18)
great for lunch (17)
great for brunch (13)
hot spot (9)
notable wine list (5)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1301 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I always know I'll enjoy myself at the B ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 3 days ago

I always know I'll enjoy myself at the B&O Brasserie. I reccomend it often.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for lunch and had the chicken ca ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

We went for lunch and had the chicken caprese sandwich and the pear and arugula salad.

The chicken caprese is something I recommend to my friends to have here. In addition to the anticipated chicken and mozzarella, it comes with a tomato jam that is tasty, but what pushes it over the top is the balsamic syrup. This comes w/French fries that are fairly mundane, until you request a spicy aioli to dip them in.

The pear arugula salad was pretty, but a scant portion. The pears wear 4 small, thin, under-ripe slices. The greens were nice, but I would have preferred it dressed with their lemon dressing rather than the amaretto vinaigrette, which I couldn't distinguish as having any almond flavor. I didn't get any goat cheese, but didn't realize this until just now when I was referencing the menu to write the review. The praline prosciutto was outstanding, but a simple accent, not enough to qualify as a protein. The portion size was somewhere between a dinner meal size and a side salad, definitely not worth the $13 price tag.

Luckily, my friend and I halved the sandwich and salad so we could have some of each.

Ben was a great server, very friendly.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful setting and delicious food. Se ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful setting and delicious food. Service was good but not excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The acoustics in the upstairs area is VE ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The acoustics in the upstairs area is VERY loud. Difficult to hear person sitting across from me and it wasn't even crowded. Waiter was very good.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

I enjoyed the food. Great lunch spot and ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I enjoyed the food. Great lunch spot and looks like a great HH menu as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went for Sunday brunch. The drinks are p ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch. The drinks are pretty pricey but the food was good. Although they were out of turkey bacon and the waiter told us they are pretty much out of everything by Sunday. So if you want a chance to experience all they have to offer, don't go for Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Such a neat spot!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Such a neat spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visited this restaurant at the recommend ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Visited this restaurant at the recommendation of a friend for an anniversary dinner. We had an outstanding evening! Drinks were great, food was fabulous (I have a new favorite dish - Basted Scallops), service was excellent - all in all, a truly wonderful experience! We're already looking for opportunities to return to Baltimore to eat here again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting menu using somewhat unusual, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Interesting menu using somewhat unusual, if not popular, ingredients and garnishes. Although banquettes and some of the other furnishings are really nice and expensive, the tables themselves, the lighting is pedestrian.....these are easy fixes, it's a shame they don't pay attention to them.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food, reasonably priced. Can't judg ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good food, reasonably priced. Can't judge noise level since it was not busy. Would return.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a great brunch for two here while ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a great brunch for two here while visiting Baltimore from out of town. The food was delicious and the portion sizes were very large. They seemed understaffed or possibly experiencing some staffing issues while we were there, but our waitress was still attentive and very kind and the manager was also available and checking on tables consistently. Overall we really enjoyed our visit and would come back again.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

While service was good, the food was ho- ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

While service was good, the food was ho-hum. Another "farm to table" gastro pub menu that reads well but fails to deliver. Nothing at our table stood out, per se, except maybe the French fries. Son had the grilled cheese and tomato soup which sounded good on the menu, but pork belly confit was disgusting and the soup was maybe a step up from Campbell's. I had the arugula salad with a weird bacon brittle thing on top and the fish which had a warm new potato salad, new peas and corn shoot - the fish was overdone, and the surrounding items without much flavor. Husband had the scallops and said they were salty, and also over done but that the dish itself didn't work over all. None of us finished our food . Seemed to have a very happening bar scene though downstairs. Here's the thing - too many really good places in Baltimore to choose from and if you're gonna write a hip menu, then deliver. And, with the word 'brasserie" in the name and the restaurant being in Hotel Monaco - maybe, just maybe..a little bit of classic French food or even a French steak house theme would be a thought. Don't try to compete with surrounding gastro pubs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I had an important meeting planned that ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I had an important meeting planned that ended abruptly because the fire

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was a 6 out of 10. The brussel ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was a 6 out of 10. The brussel sprouts side dish were the star of the meal. I tried a piece of my companion's flatbread and it was ordinary at best. I got the strip steak dinner and it was drenched in sauce and the steak itself was full of bristle. Overall, the steak dinner was mediocre at best. I would not return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

My appetizer -- grilled octopus - arrive ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My appetizer -- grilled octopus - arrived cold and oversalted. With my entree, rockfish, at least the fish was pretty warm, but the bed of fingerling potatoes was just barely above room temperature. Fish seemed fresh. No one is trying very hard in this kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Amazing food! Innovative drinks! Phenome ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Amazing food! Innovative drinks! Phenomenal service! Caroline was our server and she was spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good. Resturant was very dead w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Food was good. Resturant was very dead when we went for dinner, and the host then walked us upstairs and sat us in a terrible location next to the kitchen. We declined that table and sat towards the balcony overlook. 10 minutes later still with us as the only diners upstairs, the host again tries to seat a couple at this terrible table, and they refuse also!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Nice change for lunch.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

If you're from Baltimore and you haven't been here you're missing out compared to the host of garbage spots around the Harbor. I work downtown and when I need a good lunch at quiet place B&O is my destination. The staff is very friendly with a West Baltimore flavor which may not be understood by out-of-towners but I assure you, the chef is on point as well as the staff.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall Experience

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The B&O continues to serve excellent food. Service in the dining room has outstanding. However our server in the bar seemed quite overwhelmed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The menu had fewer selections than I exp ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The menu had fewer selections than I expected. The food combinations were unusual. It almost felt like the kitchen was doing their own version of CHOPPED with mixing bizarre ingredients. Nothing was "bad" just very weird. Pricey too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Good for breakfast

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

They said they were overbooked but I had a reservation. So they sat us down it never really filled up?? Breakfast was good we were satisfied. Not over the top decent good breakfast, service was fine.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Fun place. Great food. In the beautiful ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Fun place. Great food. In the beautiful Hotel Monaco. Great experience every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The food was good and if you sit upstair ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was good and if you sit upstairs it's not quiet but the noise from the bar is not bad. Crab cakes were good and the calamari was very good although somewhat spicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Took us immediately, server was attentiv ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Took us immediately, server was attentive without being obtrusive, not rushed although it was fairly crowded. The food was excellent, portions large and a very good value.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A modern gem in an historic crown

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Within the magnificent B&O headquarters building on Charles Street is the Hotel Monaco. Accompanying the re-purposed landmark is The B&O Brasserie. I've eaten there now 3 times, and plan on going back as often as I possibly can. The food is superbly prepared and presented, and the menu changes as often as possible to utilize changes in locally resourced foods.

The wait staff are well trained and attentive without being intrusive. The setting is traditional yet modern. Baltimore has been developing into a first class restaurant city, and right in the lead is The Brasserie.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With all the pub about the location/reno ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

With all the pub about the location/renovation/food, I thought hoped this place would be MUCH better. We ordered a charcuterie plate to share as an appetizer; that was good (wonder where they source the meats?) and the mostarda was decent as were the "pickled things" (as described on the menu). The plate could have used more of both. Things went downhill fast after that.

We ordered the fish of the day and a vegetarian entree. The server was careful to explain to us that the chef elected to leave the skin on the locally sourced rockfish. S/he did that. Unfortunately it was also finished in the oven after searing, so the result was a soggy, rubbery skin that had to be discarded. It was served over a take on German potato salad -- warm roasted red potatoes with some vinegar and celery. meh.

The roasted squash, wild rice and smoked mushroom entree also had problems, not least of which that it was neither fully cooked nor served with a spoon to 'scoop' since the skin was left on. It ended up being very hard to eat, and we left most of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We chose this restaurant for a birthday ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We chose this restaurant for a birthday dinner before going to see a show at the Hippodrome theater. The food was really delicious and there was a variety to choose from. Ambience was very nice - perfect for a special occasion dinner but definitely casual enough to keep us feeling comfortable. We were a little disappointed that the wine list did not include any sweeter wines - it would be nice if there were at least some options available. We noted in our reservation that a member of our party was allergic to shellfish, and we really appreciated the fact that the staff confirmed this with us at our arrival to make sure that that member of our party did not have any problems. Thank you for a great dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The cocktails at B&O are always amazing. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The cocktails at B&O are always amazing. This visit I was pleased to see they offer non-alcoholic "cocktails" that allow everybody to feel fancy and special toasting, even if they aren't planning to partake in booze.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was a little lacking

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Walked into the restaurant and no one was the hostess stand for over 5 minutes. There was a private event going on downstairs and I had to ask one of the attendees there if they had rented out the whole restaurant because I did not see any servers or hostesses. Once I was seated though it was a pleasant experience

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

B&O has great modern American dishes and ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

B&O has great modern American dishes and cocktails. The menu can be a bit on the pricey side but it's not outrageous. My favorite part is the scene and the vibe inside the restaurant, a nice blend of classic and trendy. I'll definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Slow service

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

It took about 45 minutes to get our drinks and then we waited 30 more minutes to be able to put our food order in. After a total of an hour of waiting we asked the waitress if we could order and she told us she was busy and proceeded to go to the table next to us and take their order. I was not happy with the wait time or the waitress' attitude towards us. The food was good, but dinner took a lot longer than anticipated due to our waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Romantic Evening

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Very pleasant staff who are super attentive without being suffocating. Food was great and so were the mixed drinks! Would definitely return for a special occasion!

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner out!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

A little pricey, but food was outstanding! Lovely ambiance and service was perfect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional attention to food and schedule needs.

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

My colleague and I had need for good food and fast service in order to get to BWI for our flight. The host and attending staff accommodated us with great food and rapid service that actually didn't seem rushed. This was amazing since the entire restaurant was packed. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very slow. Food was average. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Service was very slow. Food was average.i would not recommend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Excellent customer service!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Excellent customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Pork chop and scallops were delicious. S ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Pork chop and scallops were delicious. Service was attentive without being pushy. The restaurant was empty at 515 on a Tuesday but quickly filled up. Once full it was fairly noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food, fun atmosphere

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was excellent and the atmosphere is relaxing. The restaurant has a nice energy level. I loved the contemporary decor. We went for brunch. The mimosas were outstanding and the crab cake sandwich was fantastic with minimal shell. I must recommend the banana pudding for dessert. It was heavenly and topped with melted marshmallow. I will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Consistently Good

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

B&O Brasserie is consistently good. Although the menu is small there is something for everyone from chicken to lamb shanks to crab cakes to salads. Beautifully plated and tastefully prepared. Great unique drink menu and nice selection of beers and wines. Relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our family had Easter Brunch at this loc ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our family had Easter Brunch at this locations and left stuffed! The food was well prepared and the staff kept everything hot and fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.