About B&O American Brasserie - Hotel Monaco

Housed in the historic B&O Building and named after the Baltimore & Ohio railroad, B&O American Brasserie features an approachable menu of brasserie fare. Guests can sip on hand crafted classic cocktails while enjoying top notch service. The eclectic menu features hand cut steaks, sustainable fish and many vegetarian options. The experience includes a bustling bar, an inviting lounge; an open kitchen all housed a beautiful dining room that evokes modern sophistication.

2 North Charles Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday, 7:00am - 10:30am
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday, 4:30pm-6:30pm

Cross Street:
West Baltimore

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 692-6172

Website:
http://www.bandorestaurant.com/

Catering:
The B&O chef team caters all Hotel Monaco - Baltimore events. The Hotel Monaco has space that can accomodate groups 10-250 ppl. The Hotel Monaco is perfect for that private business meeting or a dream wedding.
Please contact our Director of Catering Randie Haber for details at
Randie.haber@hotelmonaco.com

Parking Details:
Guests can enjoy $7 valet parking
Metered street parking available

Public Transit:
Charm City Circulator, Purple route: Fayette Street stop

Executive Chef:
Scott Hines

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private dining inquiries inside B&O American Brasserie please contact Director of Catering Randie Haber at randie.haber@hotelmonaco.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Perfect for business events or social gatherings, B&O American Brasserie features an intimate lounge area downstairs for more of a relaxed experience along with a mezzanine level dining room for semi-private events.

B&O American Brasserie - Hotel Monaco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Romantic (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Casual (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great Beer (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1511 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Wonderful food. Excellent service and reasonable prices for a meal at a city restaurant. Will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Food was good but not delicious for our taste. Nice ambiance, very friendly and attentive staff, nice bar.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We had a fantastic experience! Would return in a heart beat! Food was delicious and drinks were perfect! Looking forward to going back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Got a reservation to celebrate a birthday for 9. Food was wonderful and it's conveniently located right next to the metro.

Tags: Great Beer, Romantic, Casual, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Soo was a phenomenal server. It's been a long time since I've had service like that. She was on fleek working our table & the room like a champ. I booked this for b4 our Cirque show & didn't even realize there was a great Happy Hour there. The pit beef sliders are great & that corn pudding is life changing. It had been awhile since we had been there. The burger was just okay especially for $18. The $5 pours of Champagne were legit. Really wanted to try a few desserts but we were too full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Seemed over priced for the very thin steak I got for $33...expected a more,substantial cut given it came with only potatoes and nothing else. I will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

We went here for restaurant week with friends. As a group, we were disappointed in 4/4 of the appetizers and 3/4 entrees, and 2/4 desserts we ordered... the drinks were okay, but nothing to write home about.

We feel that restaurant week is really a restaurant's time to shine to new potential patrons.... they did a poor job with the offerings selected and I am sorry to say that Baltimore has many better options and we would likely not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Restaurant week. We had a very good meal but didn't try the regular menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Very disappointing. Service was poor. Waitress couldn't answer simple questions concerning the food. After our order was taken no one came to our table unless we waved them down. My dish was serverd warm but barely. We had to find another waiter just to get water. We won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Restaurant was loud - was a little over priced but food was good and service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Horrible service. Excuses about not having the daily daily specials advertised on the menu, not having enough servers, horrendous. Manager ignored us, seated ourselves. Sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Hadn't been here in years and it was as good as the first time. It is located in a wonderful hotel, the Kimpton and it is still a destination restaurant, not just a run of the mill hotel restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Horrible experience, wife and I wanted a nice night out for our 4thAnniversary so we stayed at the Monaco Hotel and decided to have dinner here. We wasn't greeted by any waiter or waitress, she just walked up to us and said have you decided after 30min of just sitting. It was very loud, dirty and the food is not even average. My wife and I will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Went to B&O to start off a bachelor party. The host was very welcoming, our server Ben was very informed about all the offerings and made some excellent recommendations. All the drinks and dishes were fantastic but the duck wings were the standout. I have already recommended B&O to several local friends and will continue to do so.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We had a great meal and the manager James was top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Good food and great service, thanks Ben!

I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 19, 2017

This was my first time my guest and I have dined there. She ordered the sea bass, which was very bland. I ordered the crab cake which was pretty good. The asparagus was too oily and the over temperature of the food was barley warm.

Our experience was very disappointing.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Though inside one of BALTIMORE's historical and architectural treasures- the Hotel Monaco (formerly national headquarters of the famed B&0 railroad), this restaurant is the very opposite of a Baltimore treasure. Upon arrival, there was grating, unpleasant loud music. There was only one other couple in the restaurant and we all agreed that we might have to leave because of it. Turns out it couldn't be changed just shut off, which they did. The manager we interacted with seemed like a teenager, a very childlike person--not very professional--with a white pearl nose stud. But she did turn off the music. For an upscale restaurant downtown, inside a magnificent hotel, we were surprised at how very highly tattooed our waitress was (arm totally tattooed), complete with nose ring. The incongruity was striking.

The food arrived. The crispy black seabass looked very unappetizing. Two pieces of fish floating in broth (undermining its crispiness). The first bite was full of bones and tasted very fishy. I told the manager I was unable to eat it. So it was swapped. The next dish, pasta, however was tasty. But I received it after my husband was finished eating. His main course was an assortment of meats served bizarrely on a baking pan. We were not asked if we wanted dessert. Chairs were remarkably uncomfortable. The bill had an item we didn't eat. The food was surprising expensive.

Go to look at the glorious hotel, but don't eat at the B&0 Brasserie. It's just a block of the densest collection of restaurants in Baltimore--the Harborplace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The menu is limited and some of the offerings were simply not appealing. For example, bad idea to use catfish for fish and chips. The flavor is too overpowering. There was one large thick filet to which the batter did not adhere. Plus the fish was undercooked. For a hotel restaurant that should have universallly appealing items on the menu, this was a fail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Good food, great service. Attention is needed for noise abatement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 2, 2017

drinks were great. eric the bartender was very knowledgeable and energetic about his spirits that were offered.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 31, 2017

This once was a real gem, great food, creative menu. Boy has it fallen on hard times. When you can't serve an edible steak for $33, why would anyone want to eat there?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We were taking my girlfriend out for her birthday and we wanted to go somewhere different. I had a burger, and it was by far the best burger I have ever had. The s'mores dessert was absolutely heavenly. Everything was excellent. We will be going back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food was very good even though a little pricey. But the cocktails are what I know I'll be returning for whenever possible! A very creative selection. Something else that was memorable... every seat was comfortable - the waiting area, the tables, the high tables, the bar. It was something small but very noticeable to me especially because of the number of terrible bar seats I've experienced. Overall a very comfortable, enjoyable experience with good food and great drinks.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Only issue was they were out of Tuesday special at 8 that seemed a little odd but the rest of the night went well and the menu was good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We often stay in the Hotel Monaco and knowing that we dont have to leave the building to get a top notch dinner is great. Food is always good. Service is always good. We love it there. Thank you for making our anniversary great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The appetizers were really good but wouldn't recommend ordering the white fish it had zero flavor and tasted like it was sitting in sink water. But the service was very good and the drinks were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 16, 2017

There wasn't enough staff to cover the guests so that made it difficult to manage our party of 8. 1 of my guest mentioned that our waitress Sue was rude when asked about entree recommendations. I'm pretty sure the manager and/or owner pitched in. In addition, the food was not seasoned very well, some main course items came out before appetizers and some items were forgotten all together (the waitress/waiter had to be reminded about what was missing). This was my birthday dinner so I was pretty disappointed.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This is an excellent lunch place in downtown Baltimore if you're looking for a business lunch or take someone out as a favor. The food is always good. Service is also excellent.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I could have made a better omelet. Sorry mom. Rough mother's day.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Awesome dining experience! Can't wait to go again

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 11, 2017

This was our second trip back to the B&O and we were really looking forward to it since it had been a year and a half since our first one. We were immediately disappointed that the brussel sprouts were no longer part of the menu. The gluten free options were also much more limited than I had remembered. I will say that the oysters were the most tasty I have ever had but geez - the market price was $28 for 6 of them. Other oysters were marketed at $3 each which is what I thought I was getting. Ours meals were just OK and the cocktail was not as good as I had remembered it being. The service was impeccable as expected but with one appetizer, 2 entrees, a drink and a glass of wine, the $128 check was not commensurate with the quality of the meal except for the oysters. I don't know if we'll go back again as there are so many lovely places to eat in Baltimore. Maybe if they bring the brussel sprouts back in the fall....

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Delicious food and friendly efficient service. The scallops were excellent and the dessert very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was exquisite, but you pay for what you get. Service and atmosphere were fine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I have never received worst service at a restaurant -- and we had a baby with us which usually gets some attention. No one came to get our order and when they did, it was done in a rude and rushing way. 3 of us got the crab and asparagus salad for brunch ($15) which turned out to be nothing more than bad-tasting potato salad -- the crab was imperceptible. I would NEVER go back or recommend this to anyone. The restaurant did volunteer to take 30% off the bill but this was a birthday party which was ruined by the neglectful attitude to service and the disappointment in the food. It was hard not to feel scammed. I can't believe the Hotel Monaco would want to be associated with such a substandard enterprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food with multiple options for brunch and dessert.mgood service.
Only problem was the noise level, elevated because of large parties and multiple children.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We chose B&O as it was only blocks from the circus, but what a find! My wife and I shared 6 items from the small plate menu. Each was a success! The Jersey Quail &
gin braised lamb ribs were particularly succulent. Without prompting, the kitchen brought out our selections 2 at a time; a great way to enjoy each dish and a leisurely dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We were visiting from out of town and celebrated my husband and sons birthday while staying at the hotel. I called ahead of time and the manager, Donald, was super accommodating and wonderful in general. I had my children and they put us upstairs away from the bar area. Donald was kind enough to send out desserts for the boys and made us feel very special. All the food was great. I highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 24, 2017

I brought my clients here for dinner only because I was staying in the hotel and I assumed, based on my experience in other cities, a Monaco Hotel restaurant has to have its stuff together. I was dead wrong. Awful service which included a comment from our stressed-out-looking waitress (who looked like she was just handed a tray without training); "We have a big group upstairs so, I have no idea when your drinks or dinner will be ready. I have no control over the bar or the kitchen". Wow!! Really??
The food is decent for a quick bite and upstairs bar is perfect for an obnoxiously loud office staff happy hour.
Otherwise, avoid at all cost if your goal is to have a sophisticated dinner with a business associate.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The server was barely present. We were a party of 7. 2 of my friends came about 10 minutes after we were seated and it took them 30 minutes to get water and utensils. After the server came over to take our order (30+ minutes), it took over 45 minutes for our food to come out. In the meantime, the server never came over to see how we were doing or explain the wait. My friend had to find her and inquire about the order twice! Highly disappointed in the service and the food didn't wow any of us. I expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.