About Azur

425 Grinnell Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Conveniently located in the heart of old Key West, AZUR Restaurant is the locals" and visitors' favorite for creative, Mediterranean cuisine. Whether you choose our shaded terrace or the cool blue dining room, please join us for a hearty breakfast featuring a few new twists, an al fresco lunch by the waterfall, or an intimate dinner with offerings including old favorites and new creations. AZUR is within walking distance of most guest houses and hotels, and also has free parking. For a completely unique dining experience in Old Town, AZUR is a must on your list of innovative-chef restaurants in Key West.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Spanish, African

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 3:00pm, Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner nightly : 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Fleming St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 292-2987

Website:
http://www.azurkeywest.com/

Catering:
Please contact Jose either at 305-395-1381 or at jose@azurkeywest.com for all your catering needs. Thank you!

Parking Details:
Parking is available in front of the restaurant on Grinnell St.

Executive Chef:
Michael Mosi. Drew Wenzel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Jose either at 305-395-1381 or at jose@azurkeywest.com for all your catering needs. Thank you!

Azur Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (28)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Cozy (17)
Romantic (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Authentic (16)
Casual (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Tapas (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Healthy (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Fun (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Private Room (2)
Vegan (2)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
715 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic breakfast great service potato pancakes great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful meal. Try the tasting plate appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and atmosphere is exceptional in this intimate local restaurant. Attentive wait staff. Quiet accommodation made it possible for us all to hear one another and enjoy a very pleasant evening. The unfortunate note is that our orders were all brought out totally confused. We made do by sharing and everything was delicious.

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Azur offers many small plates that could work as a meal for those with a smaller appetite. The plates vary and offer a variety of protein, vegetarian, and snacks. There are also a number of salads that easily accompany the small plates. Although the wine list is not extensive it does offer some nice quality bottles.

Tags: Disabled Access, Healthy, Authentic, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

As usual, Azur delivers good food, great atmosphere and good service;

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Nice quiet place. Fast service great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

What a great experience..Had the Mezza..dates, eggplant, cauliflower and grav lax..gnocchi 2 ways..can't go wrong here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Went for my birthday, what great place! The food was fresh and outstanding and the waiter was attentive. Would definitely recommend Azur to my best friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The food was great...started w/ the charred octopus app, awesome! We were six people, some of us got fish, some gnocchi, and others chicken. When the food arrived there was complete silence because we were just LOVING it all! Great place, make sure to add it to your list of Key West favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We dined outside at Azur and had a wonderful experience. I had a unique and delicious swordfish and my husband loved his Israeli coucous. One thing we wish we'd known: There is onsite parking! That's a treasure in Key West. While we tried this restaurant on a whim, it felt as if we were there for a very special occasion. The staff was very friendly and efficient. We will return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food had great flavors! Service was fine. It was raining so we could not enjoy the outside seating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We go to Azul every time we visit Key West and we enjoy it every time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Go there. Go there. Go there. Did I already say Go there?? Food was unbelievable. Service top notch. Selections perfect. Only two minor issues: I had requested - as part of my Open Table reservation -,that we be seated outside, weather permitting. Well it was a beautiful night, we arrived early and were placed inside 😕. Seats were good ones but not outside and frankly if you take the time to include your preferences (they were asked!) at the time you make the reservation you shouldn't have to do it upon check in. Also we were seated next to a woman who was talking loudly throughout our meal. I suspect either she or her dining partner were deaf but it truly was unpleasant. We continued on because our food was soooo delicious. Husband had the Key West Shrimp app, I had the Mozzarella and Tomato Salad - outstanding!! And the Almost Plate Pork Tenderloin was the best ever!! Again, Go There. You will thank me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We will eat here again when we return to key west in one year. Very friendly waiters and knowledgeable. Comfortable. Wine and beer only, think cocktails would be a nice addition.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The outside seating was wonderful. The appetizers and dessert were delicious but the main course was just OK for me. Our service was not that great; people who came in after us got service faster and the server seemed to pay more attention to them. I'm glad we tried it and would go back for the appetizers and a glass of wine.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always good here, with specials that are always clearly and thoroughly explained by the waitstaff. Atmospheric. Nice area near the garden. Friendly. Busy, but you never feel rushed. Very good fish. Nice appetizer selection. The wines by the glass could be a bit more interesting.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Two weeks later, my wife and I returned. Same quality, same wonderful service. Not my favorite table location, but someone has to sit near the kitchen. There are advantages, the different aromas, the attentiveness of the passing staff. The price, a bit noisier, but NOT prohibatively bad. I still feal that the food is so unique, so good, I know we'll be back again before we leave.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on February 8, 2017

So, how many times can I say "fabulous?" My friend said she had a headache, and when I called to cancel, the host, Rudi, said "why not come on over?" His manner was so great, that I said "yes, why not? I'm on my way" I had the fish special it was grouper, don't recall if it called strawberry, snowy or something else, but it was prepared flawlessly, which to me means "not overcooked" There was careful detail on the presentation, particularly impressed with the pared asparagus, the flavors were amazing. Another favorite are their oysters. Their mignonette is done just right, not too much of any one thing, usually I like my oysters w/o any

accompaniment, but since they do it right, it's a great touch. Delicate, not overwhelming. So hard to find these days...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Consistently excellent! Michael, chef/owner goes out of his way to charm the palette and his clientele.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Living up to its reputation, Azur pressented itself as a perfect place for a delightful lunch. Good food, good wine, great ambience, fine service,

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great food and service

The octopus appetizer was as good as we've ever eaten!

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Grouper special was excellent. Mezzi appetizer was fair. Our waiter was top notch, upbeat and so excited about the menu and flavors that we couldn't help but be excited to try all the dishes. He and the food were highlights. Lowlights are that the place is tired and worn out- could use a spruce up for the prices they charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Have eaten here many times over the years and food is always top notch and have best espresso in town. Unfortunately this meal the kitchen was not up to par. Two special fish dishes were fantastic but kitchen must have left gnocchi sitting on the counter because the sauce was cold and the gnocchi was merely warm. Was not busy so must have been one of the nights when he owners were not in the house

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Excellent atmosphere. Good for a romantic dinner out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food and service were exceptional. Mezze plates were unusual and delicious. Loved the dates, cauliflower, eggplant and artichokes. The yellowtail snapper and snowy grouper were perfectly cooked and sauced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This is my 2nd time here. The servers and staff are really nice, the food was really good. A lot of options for meat eaters and vegetarians... only wine and beer

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Almost a true European Five star. Compared to most American restaurants, portions are less, but more than ample; presentation is everything, and taste is, well, gastronomic. Services is quite, unseen, but always there when needed. Dress is casual, yet nice. For most diners, myself included, most menu items had to be explained, as they were not only "Mediterranean" in flavor, they were "Mediterranean" in in linguistics. Be not afraid to question each menu item, we found everything we ordered to be excellent (as a table of 5, we had the chance to order many different items). Their wine list is limited, but so are the number of tables, thus one shouldn't expect too much. We certainly will be back. This is not inexpensive by any means, but one left with a warm feeling, price and all.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Vegan, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Organic, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

As usual, a fine dining experience. Good food, great atmosphere

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Very unique with a total (including appetizer and desserts) of 8 items (not counting wine) each being absolutely delicious.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I travel for a living go to many restaurants some good.

Your restaurant food was not just good the food had lots of flavor, we both enjoyed every part of our meal

Good Job Azur

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Food was exquisite; service was deplorable. This was our first Key West visit and we plan to return, but will not come to this restaurant. It was the only place we experienced slow and indifferent, although the food was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The service was excellent. The food was wonderful. I don't usually order a steak when I'm out because my husband is a grill master but we were on vacation and it sounded good. My steak was cooked perfectly! My husband had Osso buco and it was tender and delicious. I would highly recommend this place as one of the best in Key West.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We had dinner there in the heavy winds but the patio was fine. The homemade gnocchi was excellent. Out only complaint is that we felt rushed. We were in and out in 35 minutes and had a drink, then 2 courses.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We stopped in for dinner before the theatre and had a lovely meal. The ambience of the place late afternoon was not quite the romantic setting we would have liked, but everything else was spot on. The service was excellent, the food superb. The octopus was prepared with better than most I've had - crisp on the outside from the char, tender but not spongy inside. My fiancé had a tuna carpaccio which was delicious. The fishes we had were also amazing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Beef brisket gnocchi over-salted, otherwise great. Appetizer set particularly good and good value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Lovely spot. Off the beaten path. Carnivore and gluten free vegans can eat together and enjoy

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I always get the Caesar salad with shrimp for lunch--it's dressed just right, not too heavy, lettuce fresh and shrimp nicely grilled. My friends had the four small mezza plates -- creative, delicious tastes of delightful things. I'm getting that next time! We love breakfast and dinner at Azur.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Delicious brunch! Key Lime Pie French Toast - yum. Will return for dinner.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 8, 2017

As usual, Azur was GREAT! It is one of our favorite restaurants in Key West and is certainly are favorite for breakfast or brunch. We recommend this restaurant highly. Great ambience, wonderful staff and just a pleasant place to dine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The ambiance here is wonderful. The music playing was current, unobtrusive, and the perfect volume. When we were there the Jack Johnson Pandora station was playing. This place offers a mezzes (appetizer) sampler - 4 for $14. The fried cauliflower, gravlax. Artichokes, and stuffed dates were excellent and well presented. The lamb shank and gnocchi were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Had a wonderful meal, very nice atmosphere.

Food was really good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Variety of foods from Mediterranean, good quality and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Azur is a wonderful restaurant with outstanding food and wait staff. We go there most Sundays after church for breakfast. Everyone greets us with smiles and are so accommodating. We recommend this restaurant highly. It is the best breakfast in town as well as a great place for lunch and dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful New Years Eve dinner location. Wait staff attentive not intrusive, did not rush us thru meal, small setting yet plenty of room, they made us feel special on a special night with their very friendly staff.

4 course creative offerings along with decent portions. It was pricy but understood it was NYE. The meal here is always well prepared and a variety of options. A new local favorite

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Cozy, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I was extremely disappointed at the food considering what I paid for this meal. I will mention that it was New Year's Eve. Despite that, I don't see how any restaurant could sleep well at night knowing that they gouge their customers the way they did to me, just because its a holiday. I hardly ever post anything negative about a business because I'm a pretty patient individual. However, after signing my bill for almost $300 for two people, I found it quite hard to bite my tongue. To their credit, I will say that the one bright spot was the service. The wait staff was incredible, and very attentive to our needs.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was not good and way overpriced. Steak was thin and mostly fat. Creme brûlée tasted like chemicals- inedible.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

From the first moment you come in, the staff makes you feel very welcomed. Eventhough I booked the restaurant an hour prior to us arriving, they were able to accommodate. Great appetizers, great main dishes and desert. We did not feel rushed, although the place filled up withing half hour of us arriving

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

An exceptionally pleasing afternoon. Good food, interesting menu, excellent service, fine wine. A perfect lunch!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

A Mediterranean delight! The tapas (mezza) are fun! The Entrees are superb-super wine selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Love this restaurant! The food is inventive and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.