Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Azitra

4.6
563 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Indian
Top Tags:
  • Authentic
  • Special Occasion
  • Good Vegetarian Options
Indian Culinary Nirvana
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Indian, Contemporary Indian, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(919) 484-3939
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please call the restaurant for more information.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Highway 70 West
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Ample parking.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Kosher, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 563 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined a day ago

What a wonderful dining experience! The food was amazing! The wait staff was attentive & took time to explain menu choices. The specialty cocktails were made very well & satisfying. The restaurant decor was casual but elegant. We were also celebrating a birthday and that diner was treated to a birthday dessert. I can’t wait to eat at Azitra again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Very good food! Great service! Casual relaxed atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Always amazing food with fantastic service xx

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Well prepared, authentic Indian cuisine choices. Nice ambiance, good service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Azitra is an outstanding restaurant featuring Traditional and contemporary Indian flavors and dishes. Unique at Azitra is a Tandoori Tenderloin of beef. Unusual that an Indian establishment to carry a beef dish but it is a great choice for a
choice less traditional option. We save Azitra for special occasions as it is always a treat.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

It's such a good idea to require reviews. That way you can waste a lot of time and ensure that people will never leave another review. Well done.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Good Indian food. A little pricey but consistent with prices at other Indian restaurants in the Triangle.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The Lamb Shank came very highly recommended and it was even better than promised. I went with spice level 3 would try 4 next time around. The meat was tender and a great portion size. My wife had the Crab dish spice level 2 and it was perfect for her tastes

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Delicious Food. Probably my favorite spot in Raleigh.
My husband put it best when he said “It’s the kind of food which as you eat, you’re already looking forward to having the left overs he next day.”

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Excellent selection of variety of dishes. Always high quality and nice presentation. Attentive and engaging service. There is also outside patio dining (with possibility to bring well-behaved dogs if management says OK, like during off-peak hours).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

ALWAYS. GOOD. This is my go - to Indian restaurant in Raleigh Durham area. I love their salad, naan, and goat curry. Also enjoy their Biryani, tikka masala, and seafood curry. They have good cocktails (my husband loves the Bombay kiss) and good beers on tap.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Food and service were excellent. The restaurant was very noisy with patron conversation, but thankfully the restaurant did not play music (or Muzak) on top of the ambient noise.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Awesome, our favorite spot for Indian food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Food choice and quality was excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Elegant indian with great wine selection

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Wonderful food as always! We celebrated a birthday, and the server surprised us by bringing out a delicious dessert.
A few people in our group also had some dietary restrictions/requests, and the restaurant was very accommodating.
Can’t wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

We always love eating at Azitra. The staff is wonderful and takes great care of us as soon as we walk in the door. My daughter was home for the Easter holiday with her boyfriend and wanted our family to go because her boyfriend loves food of all ethnicities. He was impressed as we knew he would be!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We took friends to dinner for their birthdays. They received lovely b'day wishes from staff (who were not waiting on our table) along with a free dessert. Great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

The menu went well beyond the typical Indian fare, and our waitress did a fantastic job of helping us put together a family-style meal for the six of us. I'll definitely be back for business, friends and family dinners!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Great variety, including tasty vegetarian options, which was the main objective for our guest.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Always an exceptional experience! The service and food are by far the best Indian experience in the state.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 9, 2018

We had a delicious lunch. The waiter made recommendations when asked. I was able to convey the amount of spiciness and my meal was perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Great food, Great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

We'd heard good things and read the reviews; also one of us is vegan. The menu is not huge (a good thing) and has novel items on it. Example: Shiitake, Leek Tikkis. We were very pleasantly surprised by the wine list, which is extensive with some very well known vintages and labels. Thoroughly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Great Experience! The manager was attentive, checking in to ensure that we were being served well. The food was authentic with the right flavoring of spices that makes Indian food the gem that it is in any culinary repertoire.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

we drive 2 + 1/2 hrs. each way JUST to dine there. Of course, we stay overnight near by.
Lamb Saag is not on the menu; but, they always create the dish especially for me. Husband enjoys the lamb shank...a huge portion of meat. It's the only Indian restaurant that does it perfectly. Service is impeccable! You wait for nothing...wine keeps getting poured when you least expect that service. Wine Spectator's awards line the entrance..since 2002.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

It was a wonderful experience at Azitra. Best among all the Indian Restaurants in the Triangle Area. Will be back with friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Third time visit. Very special place. Lunch menu is quite extensive with great choices. Lamb was out of this world. Not everyday fare perhaps but fare to remember.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Great good and service as usual. It was worth 40 minutes of drive. Will be back again when their Patio will open in Spring.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

One of the best kept secrets in Raleigh. The food is off the chart. I would encourage those who say they don’t like Indian cuisine to give Azitra a try as they will be pleasantly surprised.

Azitra also is able to customize to taste. Do you like more spicy and all vegetable or would you like beef? Try the Tandoori Tenderloin. Scallops are a smaller portion and fantastic.

The favorite for picky eaters is the Chicken Tika Masala.

Naan sampler for those not sure what bread to go with but my personal favorite is garlic naan.

For a cocktail, try Mumbai Rain. A sweet rum-based concoction.

Prices are higher than some restaurants but well worth it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Terribly disappointing. We had so looked forward to our dinner after having several great meals here a few years ago. Primary problem was service, but food did not live up to expectations either. One of my pet peeves in fine dining establishments is for the wait staff to bring food to the table, announce the name of the dish, and then wait for the guests to tell him/ her whose plate it is! This is inexcusable especially when the waiter took the time to review each person's order. Here our waiter did not deliver the food, but rather sent someone else who acted as though we we're inconveniencing him when we did not immediately know whose meal was whose just based upon a mumbeled name of the entree. Then to top it off, the chicken and salmon were over cooked and the lamb vindaloo was all sauce and hardly had any meat. Overall a very unpleasant experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Overall a great experience, excellent service, nice wine list and great food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Appetizers were ok...main course was very good. Will recommend this restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Very good food with a nice atmosphere.
It is a great place for lunch and dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Our food was very good but not great. We were underwhelmed. Maybe we will try something other than lamb mango and the lamb shank next time.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Me and my wife made reservations for valentines night. We were seated upon arrival. The waitress didn’t speak English very well, so there was a little trouble trying to explain exactly what we wanted. The food was too spicy after the waitress told us it was very mild. The waitress was not too attentive to our drinks and I had to ask for a refill. The lighting could have been a little dimmer. Another suggestion would be to play some jazz music while people are eating. Jazz music compliments the look of the restaurant. The conversations were so loud it sounded like I was in a high school cafeteria. The lamb chops were delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Wife and I went to Azitra for Valentines Day. It was our 2nd time there. It is a great atmosphere and even better food and service. All the staff wore red for the holiday and despite it being busier than our previous time, the service and food were still perfect! The seared scallops and crab tak a tak appetizers were the best apps I have had possibly ever. The cocktails were amazing and the main course was flawless. Cannot recommend enough!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Nice Indian food. Reminded us of food we enjoyed while living in Hong Kong. Well done. We plan to return soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Exceptional experience as always!! It could not have been any better!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
15