About Azitra

Indian Culinary Nirvana

8411 Brier Creek Pkwy
Suite 101
Raleigh, NC 27617
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Indian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 70 West

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 484-3939

Website:
http://www.azitra.us/

Catering:
Please call the restaurant for more information.

Parking Details:
Ample parking.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Azitra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Authentic (17)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Casual (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Spicy (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Healthy (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Romantic (7)
Business Meals (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Vegan (5)
Fun (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Family Style (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Cozy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
457 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Arrived early (5pm) as we were starving! ..so we cancelled our 6:30pm Open Table reservations. They were very accommodating, friendly, happy that we came early. Lamb Saag & Leg of Lamb are our favorites. Split scallop appetizer which was large enough for a meal...perfectly grilled huge scallops. Interesting wine and liquor list. We went to Raleigh area specifically! to dine at Azitra...decided to shop and stay overnight since it's 2 + 1/2 hrs. drive each way!...well worth the trip. We are anxious to "do lunch" sometime soon as the prices are reasonable and the menu diverse. Chic decor!!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent experience, as always. Love the choices of vegetarian and non vegetarian selections.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great Indian food with a local twist. Lounge area for late night scene. Good place for business lunches.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Vegan, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We have eaten at Azitra many times and think it is the best Indian cuisine in the Triangle. Our food was delicious, as always. Beautifully prepared and served. Must have is a basket of Naan. I could eat that by itself and think it was a perfect meal! But with the lamb/broccoli dish I had (don't remember the name) it was a perfect compliment My husband had a salmon dish in a cream tomato sauce and he was also impressed. Just a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Small portions. Presentation was good, but value wasn't what it could be in terms of portions. Overall however, excellent food, good service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This restaurant was AMAZING! They staff was very friendly and had a smile on their faces everytime they came to our table. The atmosphere was welcoming and the food was extremely tasty. Our whole family wanted seconds!!!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I met a friend here for dinner on a Friday night. My friend is gluten free and dairy free, and the waitress helped her find a great dinner option. The food was delicious and we were able to sit and talk for hours without feeling rushed. My husband and I have also come here numerous times for dinner and have always loved it!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Romantic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

after reading the positive reviews by others i was disappointed to have such a forgettable experience. the service really was amateur and intermittent, and it was not as if the place was packed with other diners to take care of. food was ok, but nothing special, more like the indian food you get at the places that have the all you can eat buffet at lunch. not a soul said "thank you" as we left, truly a telling sign for any restaurant.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Entrees were delicious. Service was very poor, very slow to initially come to table, not friendly at all, manager greeted and conversed with tables around us repeatedly but never once stopped at our table. Waiter acted exasperated when we requested separate checks. Poor, Poor service. The only thing that would draw me back would be a strong craving for indian. Again, food was good. Poor service outweighed it!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I should have gotten the Indian Food!!! I got a salad and had a piece of salmon added to it, thinking it would come out as a salmon fillet.. I literally got maybe 2 oz of salmon that was shredded into my salad. It also came with apples. I had one apple slice.. My guest couldn't believe that I paid that much for the measley salad. Very disappointed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great taste but a tad spicier than I like

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was great, staff was warm and friendly. Service was slower and less attentive than we would have preferred but it was Valentines night. We do very much enjoy the food and we will look forward to returning!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went for Valentine's Day dinner. Table was ready, seated immediately. Server came to our table right away for drink orders. When we weren't ready to order a drink until we had decided on an entree, he allowed us the time to do this then came back. Drinks came quickly. Placed our entree order which also came within an excellent time frame to allow us to sit, enjoy our glass of wine, and chat. Food came with hot naan at the same time--not served before the meal so that it sits and gets cold before the food arrives. Presentation was excellent. Food was dynamite! There was spinach in my dish of rack of lamb which was outstanding, so much so that I ordered an extra portion of just spinach--not on the menu--which was given to me at no charge. Food is spot on, excellent quality, and absolutely delicious. Restaurant is so clean it glistens.

Tags: Spicy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great Food. Great service. Great Atmosphere. I enjoy eating at Azitra every visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Best Indian food I've ever had, great service and creative cuisine.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The best Indian food in triangle area by far...owners are the sweetest people you would ever meet... the food is to die for... THE BEST IN RALEIGH

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My husband and I had a good meal at Azitra -- the food was fresh, not overly seasoned, and well prepared. My only complaint was the service. Our server was completely impassive and inattentive. She took our order and then disappeared for the majority of our meal. Our appetizer and entrees were quickly tossed onto our table by a kitchen runner, who never paused to ask if we had everything we needed. Which we did not, as the glass of wine I ordered 30 minutes prior had yet to show up. Our original server did finally swing back by the table as we were finishing up to deliver the errant glass of wine, without so much as an apology for its excessive tardiness. In the meantime, our water glasses has gone unfilled for the entire duration of our meal, even as numerous wait staff dashed through the dining room carrying full pitchers. All in all, I left feeling ignored and somewhat ill-treated. The food was good, but I won't rush back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great service. Food is always good. It has a good ambience, easy to hold conversations. I've been here for business and pleasure. Bar in the back is nice as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was AMAZING. The service was incredible. We didn't know it was Indy Restaurant Week, which had its own special menu for $30 a person. It was perfect, including a 1st course, main course, and dessert. Again it was the best Indian food I've ever had.
My only two complaints are the noise level made it impossible to have a conversation for the first hour we were there, but as other diners left the noise went down and we could talk. Also we were seated at a table with a chair and a booth bench. The table was really tiny, even for 2 people. It would have been nicer to be a bit more comfortable. The bench was also lower than the chair making it a bit more awkward.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent food & service. This was our 2nd time there & LOVED it as much as the first time!! The only negative would be there was a child/infant in the dining room that wasn't very happy for quite a while....

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Everything was delicious and the presentations were uniformly attractive. Seasoning was outstanding. I love spice and the flavors we're both bold and subtle.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I will recommend to friends and family members and business partners. The food and service was simply excellent! It is worth the money and drive from Wake Forest.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Great Beer, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 17, 2017

This is one of my favorite go-to places. We go at least once a month and try new things everytime. If you like Indian and want an authentic experience - GO HERE! And they will be creative with you about things not on the menu!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Tapas, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Spicy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Staff was very friendly and attentive. They make wonderful recommendations and the food is consistently great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 2, 2017

First time there. Had a choice of Indian restaurants that were open on Mondays in the Raleigh area. I was very happy with all the food. Also, the staff in the front was outstanding. We found something to eat from the ages of 4 to 67. That is not always an easy thing for a seating of 12 people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The place to go if you love spicy Indian food in a modern setting. All 6 meals for our group were outstanding. A lovely place to start out New Years Eve celebrations☺

Tags: Spicy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Been here innumerable times... The food is always good. Had an especially great time this time around. We were celebrating NYE. Had great drinks and of course the food was excellent. Loved the chaat of the day and my staple, chicken tikka masala. We put in another order to go so we could enjoy the food next day. Place is usually quiet but noise level was moderate that evening due to occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food was delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Decent Indian food- more on the expensive side for what it is, but certainly enjoyable. The weekend brunch deal is a pretty great opportunity to try it out. Wine selection is also pretty solid for what I was expecting. Azitra can range from a nice family dinner to a nice venue for a date- I would recommend trying it.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Spicy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was great. Service was FAST. Almost too fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 14, 2016

my husband and adult son ran across the yelp reviews on Azitra and decided to try it. We were very pleased and would like to visit this restaurant next time we are in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Food was OK, but staff seemed annoyed to be there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Health sanitation score is only 90... and they ignored our birthday request - no dessert/acknowledgement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 1, 2016

This is a lovely restaurant with wonderful, fresh, spicy food. It's always a pleasure to dine here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food was fantastic and so were the wine choices. I would highly recommend Azitra as a choice worth making. We will be back there soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Vegan, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Amazing. The menu was awesome. We brought a friend who had never eaten Indian food. She loved it. Thank you so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent Indian food. We shared some different options, including lamb and chicken, all of which were very flavorful. We will certainly be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Overall I thought it was a good find for the money, with the only exception being out waitress. She kind of snubbed us throughout the meal, barely checked on us, and kept messing up our order. She seemed relieved when we left even though we were nothing but kind and (being vegan) I tried to ask questions about the menu and if substitutions could be made and was met with a very stern no. This is fine, but I do wish she were nicer about it. The food was great and very authentic burn your mouth an open your nose spicy (how I like it!). So I give it a 4/5 for the crabby waitress.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Authentic, Spicy, Vegan, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 18, 2016

What attracted us to Azitra was its recent inclusion on Open Table's top 10 restaurants in the area. I have to admit, we hadn't heard of Azitra before. We had a wonderful meal, loved the cauliflower appetizer, Gobhi Manchurian. The entrees, Eggplant Bhartha and Chicken Dhaba Handi were spicy and delicious. The atmosphere was simple and elegant, and the service was very professional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.