About Azitra

Indian Culinary Nirvana

8411 Brier Creek Pkwy
Suite 101
Raleigh, NC 27617
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Indian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 70 West

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 484-3939

Website:
http://www.azitra.us/

Catering:
Please call the restaurant for more information.

Parking Details:
Ample parking.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Azitra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
See All
Spicy (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Business Meals (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Casual (5)
Vegan (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Romantic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fun (2)
Cozy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
483 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The four of us shared our appetizers and entrees. The lamb dishes were phenomenal. The grouper... a little overcooked. All in all...we'd visit the restaurant again. The server was patient and accommodating. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Easy...we are waaaayyyy to much! Everything was fantastic and the food was spot on.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Had a reservation for 4 on a Saturday evening and the place was hopping which was expected. It was a tad loud, but that's not a big deal for us, just throwing that out there. We were seated promptly and after ordering, our food came out pretty quickly. No complaints from our group, but there were no connoisseurs among us. I wish they showcased more local beers since there is such a vibrant craft brew scene in the area. My only complaint would be that they seemed to be rushing out out. Seemed that as soon as we finished, the staff wanted to clear the table and get us out. Could be a cultural thing... European and Brazilian restaurants are the opposite.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The staff was very receptive. They took time to explain menu items and accommodate our needs.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Drinks and food are wonderful. Everything I've tried has been tasty. Lots of menu options. Attentive staff. Hidden gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Incredible food, impeccable service, and great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Some friends and I decided on a last-minute outing this past weekend. We had quite a few options, but unanimously we voted Azitra for our dinner plans. Amazing food, friendly staff. We ordered chicken tikka masala, lamb vindaloo, goat biryani and paneer with an assortment of breads and shared family style. Everything was delicious. Price on target for the portion of food the offer... Highly recommend Anitra

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Spicy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Casual, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Always enjoy. Great food and service
The waitress was super sweet

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 25, 2017

What a great find. We were traveling out of RDU and saw this on OpenTable. Terrific Indian food at great values. Had their lunch special, 3 courses with drink for under $20. Wish I lived nearby as I'd go here every week.

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Phenomenal meal at a great price. We went for lunch and were very happy with everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Always delicious. Meals are consistent and fresh. Servings generous. Meals not over done. Rice was passable but a bit dry.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I've been coming to the restaurant for at least 5 years possibly more. I've never had a bad experience. Service and staff has always been top notch. I've told numerous friends and co workers about your restaurant. My family and I will continue to dine at this spot for many years to come. Thanks for the great food and service.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Healthy, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My fiance and I come here almost every weekend for Brunch! We love it, bring our family here almost every visit. The $17 3 course with drink Brunch, is...PERFECT!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had a party of eleven which included three small children. Our table was ready and waiting for us along with booster seats and high chairs. As usual, the service and food was amazing. Couldn't have asked for better. Not one complaint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food is amazing, mango martini is to die for. I would go there every week if I ca.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We had four different entrees and shared. From mild to spicy, each was flavorful, artfully presented, and we had just a morsel to take home!

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Stopped here because we were in the Briar Creek area for another event. Had seen some positive reviews. It exceeded our expectations. Will be going back even though it's a bit of a drive for us. Food was excellent and they have a decent wine selection and a nice cocktail list.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Best Indian food I've had outside of India! Our family of eight enjoyed a real feast for Mother's Day luncheon, following a momentous university graduation ceremony in Chapel Hill.

Chose this spot based on Open Table reviews and availability. Really exceeded expectations.

The samosa were so aromatic - we ordered a second portion. Other favorites - Gobhi Manchurian (cauliflower), chicken tikka masala, Paneer "Makhan Mar Ke" (our little ones loved this dish), and the desserts! Tried a bit of each: gulab jamun (it was still hot - so good!), kheer (everyone was surprised at how yummy this rice pudding was), kulfi - mango/pistachio ice cream.

Wish we lived in Raleigh, as we'd be regulars at this restaurant! Alas, we are D.C. based so will have to look forward to a much later future visit . If you ARE a local - get yourself to Azitra.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Love the very authentic flavors and the very reasonable portions that are not too big or too small. Sitting outside is very quaint and tranquil. We love fountain. The staff could not be more wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We selected a 5:30pm knowing it would not be crowded or too noisy so could enjoy the ambiance of the restaurant. Food was excellent and served in a timely manner. We will definitely come again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Perfect I Dian Resaurant. Service was fantastic. Cocktails, food and wine were excellent!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Spicy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was okay. The chicken tikka masala wasn't as good as I have had in other places, but the curried pepper chicken and lamb vindaloo were delicious. I think it's over priced...about $20.00/ entree. As delicious as the food was, I think there are better, less expensive Indian options in the Triangle. The service was really fast. We were done in 30 minutes, which would have been great for lunch, but too fast for a night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 24, 2017

One of the most authentic Indian restaurants out there in Research Triangle area.
I went yesterday for dinner with a few friends. We did book a table in advance from OpenTable since it was a friday evening.
We started with gobi machurian and dahi bhalla chat, followed it achaani vegetable, dal makhani, dal tadka, malai kofta(best part of the dinner) and some breads. Every one of us loved the food. They have really good desserts too, definitely try the gulabjamuns and ras malai. In drinks we kept it somewhat simple, with mango lassi and lemonades.

Definitely a place to dine-in more often and worth the cost.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Arrived early (5pm) as we were starving! ..so we cancelled our 6:30pm Open Table reservations. They were very accommodating, friendly, happy that we came early. Lamb Saag & Leg of Lamb are our favorites. Split scallop appetizer which was large enough for a meal...perfectly grilled huge scallops. Interesting wine and liquor list. We went to Raleigh area specifically! to dine at Azitra...decided to shop and stay overnight since it's 2 + 1/2 hrs. drive each way!...well worth the trip. We are anxious to "do lunch" sometime soon as the prices are reasonable and the menu diverse. Chic decor!!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent experience, as always. Love the choices of vegetarian and non vegetarian selections.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great Indian food with a local twist. Lounge area for late night scene. Good place for business lunches.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Vegan, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We have eaten at Azitra many times and think it is the best Indian cuisine in the Triangle. Our food was delicious, as always. Beautifully prepared and served. Must have is a basket of Naan. I could eat that by itself and think it was a perfect meal! But with the lamb/broccoli dish I had (don't remember the name) it was a perfect compliment My husband had a salmon dish in a cream tomato sauce and he was also impressed. Just a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Small portions. Presentation was good, but value wasn't what it could be in terms of portions. Overall however, excellent food, good service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This restaurant was AMAZING! They staff was very friendly and had a smile on their faces everytime they came to our table. The atmosphere was welcoming and the food was extremely tasty. Our whole family wanted seconds!!!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I met a friend here for dinner on a Friday night. My friend is gluten free and dairy free, and the waitress helped her find a great dinner option. The food was delicious and we were able to sit and talk for hours without feeling rushed. My husband and I have also come here numerous times for dinner and have always loved it!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

after reading the positive reviews by others i was disappointed to have such a forgettable experience. the service really was amateur and intermittent, and it was not as if the place was packed with other diners to take care of. food was ok, but nothing special, more like the indian food you get at the places that have the all you can eat buffet at lunch. not a soul said "thank you" as we left, truly a telling sign for any restaurant.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Entrees were delicious. Service was very poor, very slow to initially come to table, not friendly at all, manager greeted and conversed with tables around us repeatedly but never once stopped at our table. Waiter acted exasperated when we requested separate checks. Poor, Poor service. The only thing that would draw me back would be a strong craving for indian. Again, food was good. Poor service outweighed it!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I should have gotten the Indian Food!!! I got a salad and had a piece of salmon added to it, thinking it would come out as a salmon fillet.. I literally got maybe 2 oz of salmon that was shredded into my salad. It also came with apples. I had one apple slice.. My guest couldn't believe that I paid that much for the measley salad. Very disappointed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great taste but a tad spicier than I like

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Found the baiter to be inattentive and invisible during our dining experience. Did not offer to refill drinks even once. This was Valentine's Day and they weren't completely booked up even. Perhaps it was just this one male waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was great, staff was warm and friendly. Service was slower and less attentive than we would have preferred but it was Valentines night. We do very much enjoy the food and we will look forward to returning!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went for Valentine's Day dinner. Table was ready, seated immediately. Server came to our table right away for drink orders. When we weren't ready to order a drink until we had decided on an entree, he allowed us the time to do this then came back. Drinks came quickly. Placed our entree order which also came within an excellent time frame to allow us to sit, enjoy our glass of wine, and chat. Food came with hot naan at the same time--not served before the meal so that it sits and gets cold before the food arrives. Presentation was excellent. Food was dynamite! There was spinach in my dish of rack of lamb which was outstanding, so much so that I ordered an extra portion of just spinach--not on the menu--which was given to me at no charge. Food is spot on, excellent quality, and absolutely delicious. Restaurant is so clean it glistens.

Tags: Spicy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great Food. Great service. Great Atmosphere. I enjoy eating at Azitra every visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

We go here all the time. The service is always consistent and the food is always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Best Indian food I've ever had, great service and creative cuisine.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.