About Ayden Kitchen & Bar

265 3rd Ave S
Saskatoon, SK S7K 1M3
View Larger Map

Top Chef Canada Winner Dale Mackay and Co-Chef Nathan Guggenheimer welcomes you to Ayden Kitchen and Bar. Ayden Kitchen and Bar offers Canadian Comfort Cuisine and crafted cocktails by mixologist Christopher Cho.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Canadian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(306) 954-2590

Website:
http://www.aydenkitchenandbar.com/

Executive Chef:
Dale Mackay

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Ayden Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Saskatchewan
Best Food
Saskatchewan
Best Service
Saskatchewan
10 More
Best Ambiance
Saskatchewan
Best Value
Saskatchewan
Fit for Foodies
Saskatchewan
Special Occasion
Saskatchewan
Most Booked
Saskatchewan
Best Overall
Saskatoon
Best Food
Saskatoon
Best Service
Saskatoon
Best Ambiance
Saskatoon
Most Booked
Saskatoon
Best Restaurants in Saskatoon ›

fit for foodies (130)
special occasion (95)
hot spot (75)
See All
good for groups (52)
romantic (44)
neighborhood gem (38)
notable wine list (32)
great for lunch (32)
vibrant bar scene (24)
late-night find (19)
 (4)
 (3)
 (3)
 (3)
great for brunch (2)
 (2)
 (2)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
820 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great charcuterie!

Dined on May 22, 2016

The charcuterie board at Ayden is one of the best we have had...quality and unique. This is a place with original servings so order plates to share because you will not want to miss out! The decor is original and fascinating. The noise level and rush were the only down side of our experience. The servers are almost running which creates a rushed ambience in a restaurant where you will want to savour the flavours. The hollering from the kitchen...a little over the top...creating an atmosphere of chaos instead of warm tranquility.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love Aydens!

Dined on May 17, 2016

So nice to have lunch with an old friend and be able to converse, was a quiet relaxed atmosphere. I had a chicken salad, best I've ever had, and the salad was great. My friend had nothing but compliments for the French onion soup, and everything she had. Our server was prompt and informative. Had maryanns for dessert that melted in my mouth. I actually expected it to cost a lot more, but $50 for a fantastic lunch is very reasonable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The entrees were fantastic - lamb and tr ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The entrees were fantastic - lamb and trout - very very good. Our appetizer wasn't great - had the scallops with cornmeal and the cornmeal didn't add anything to the dish. Desserts were very good as well. Great service. Overall a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

We were a bit disappointed that our dini ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We were a bit disappointed that our dining experience didn't quite live up to the hype. The limited menu should have been sufficient but it seemed every dish had some component that made it less interesting. In the end I had the veggie burger (I'm not a vegetarian) which was very good but $45 (tip included) for a burger and fries and glass of wine seemed excessive.. I really enjoyed watching the kitchen staff work in full view and our service was just 'ok'. Not sure I'll rush back.

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Impressive & Creative

Dined on May 13, 2016

Amazing cocktails, creative and tasty. Fabulous service. Expected a little more from the food. Unfortunately, a very large noisey group had a negative impact on the overall experience. I will try it again the next time I am in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was fresh, healthy serving size ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The food was fresh, healthy serving sizes, bustling atmosphere, great service. Nice spot for lunch or dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

Dined on May 10, 2016

We went to Ayden's for our 15th Anniversary and we were really impressed with the food and service. Our waitress was great. She even remembered that I had a nut allergy. This was my Hubby's first time and he was very impressed with the food and service. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on May 6, 2016

Our server was excellent from star to finish.. Food was delicious , overall great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

RWB

Dined on May 3, 2016

A first time visit recommended by friends..good table next to a larger group but proximaty did not spoil our experience. Starters were right size and excellent quality and creative..entries were again, the right size..more nouvelle cuisine, yet enough and again, exceptional quality.. A dining jewel for Saskatoon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great service!

Dined on May 3, 2016

I had the chicken dish with a mushroom based side which was so so good. I would recommend this place to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

Aydens

Dined on May 1, 2016

Over priced and extremely noisy, $25.00 for a hamburger and a bottle of okay wine was $80.00

food2
ambience5
service4
value2

My person experience.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Went there for the first time last Saturday with my boyfriend. We enjoy fine dining and especially enjoy eating local however we both found the food to be overly salty, I had the chicken he had the pork. The popcorn shrimp was delicious however I can get that anywhere. When we first arrived at 5pm we were the second people there and they sat us at this tiny tiny table against a wall half way into the bar or whatever that area is, we were not impressed however the man who was suppose to be our server happily sat us at a better table. The service was good but I did feel a little rushed to get my food order in, none the less our server was still more than deserving of a 20% tip. Excellent wine list, excellent atmosphere, mediocre food.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was wonderful and the staff was excellent!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We received quick service, due to the abundance of staff working that night - it was great to see! Food was excellent and it was a wonderful night!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Anniversary dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our 20th anniversary dinner and the food was amazing. Great service though the food did take quite a long time to arrive. Appetizer was one of the best I've had and a very tasty steak dinner. The only negatives were the noise, the long wait for food and it was quite smoky from the open kitchen. Did I mention how good the appetizer was?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best restaurant in town.

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food is phenomenal and the service was appropriately effortful without being over the top. It's a bit loud given the open concept feel the rooms have, but an impressive array of incredible food and drinks more than made up for occasionally having to raise your voice a little.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As always the food and drinks were amazi ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

As always the food and drinks were amazing. Overall the experience is and has always been wonderful. I can't wait until the next time!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Over50diners

Dined on April 27, 2016

Great location. First time for dinner. Excellent service. Outstanding charcuterie board, perfect for 4 to share. Gnocchi was a perfect size, very rich. The smoked chicken was very smoky, but moist. The accompaniments to the meal were delicious! The Lake Breeze Pinot Blanc was cool and crisp...excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice fries

Dined on April 26, 2016

Pleasant service with a satisfying lunch combo on a wooden platter. The wine is expensive at $14 for a 5oz glass of NZ pinot noir. The seats are hard and uncomfortable which makes it hard to relax. There are some softer bench-type seats too but these were not offered to a party of two. Some of the tables very close which,with all the hard surfaces,increases the noise level.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

service was outstanding and the food was ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

service was outstanding and the food was excellent!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Awesome but...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Almost everything was perfect, but to be seated by the kitchen for my romantic 61st birthday celebration?? Really!!!!!!! The food was outstanding and our service was great. It was VERY noisy but add the kitchen to the mix and we had to scream at each other to be beard. When making a reservation be sure to specify away from the kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our dinner here. We st ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner here. We started with the Thai wings but really didn't like them. I think it was just a flavour we weren't fans of, so we sent them back. For our entrées I had the Chicken and my husband had the burger. We both really enjoyed them. The burger was a bit greasy, but my husband said it didn't really bother him that much as he could wipe most of it away. The chicken was very smoky and tasted almost wild. Together with the sauerkraut and spaetzle it was delicious. I paired it with a German reasling and it was amazing. For dessert we shared the Madeleines and the buttermilk pie. I could have eaten multiple pieces of the pie it was so good. Like others have said there could be more of a selection of wines at different price points, a bottle was a bit out of our range since they started at $75. On a Saturday night it was packed so I'm glad I made a reservation. The atmosphere was great and service outstanding. There is a lot of hype about Ayden and I'm glad to say it isn't misplaced.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, meals hit/miss

Dined on April 23, 2016

Love the place, always get the beef. This time it was quite a bit greasier and a lot more fat on the cut. Still an enjoyable meal and atmosphere. Great cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food. Great service. Fantastic a ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Amazing food. Great service. Fantastic atmosphere. 12 out of 10.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything. Even my greeter wanted me to ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Everything. Even my greeter wanted me to be seated in a spot to experience the resto. The food was ridiculous...I never wanted my plate to end.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Worth the trip to Saskatoon!

Dined on April 19, 2016

Fantastic food, great service. What more could you want. The scallops were seared to perfection, the trout in a coconut milk broth was to die for, and special care was given to our guests with severe food allergies. Well worth the trip to Saskatoon! Looking forward to my next trip and meal!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Lunch

Dined on April 18, 2016

Great place for lunch! Get the Butcher Burger when it's offered.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place to spend an evening

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great cocktails, service and everything was cooked perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, service, menu

Dined on April 17, 2016

I will go back for sure. The service is wonderful and the menu is simple but full of variety. I'm also in love with how convenient it was to make a reservation online.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great vibe-great service

Dined on April 16, 2016

We really enjoyed our evening. The service was excellent and very attentive. The restaurant was super busy and no one was standing around wondering what to do. The food arrived pipping hot off of the pass. I wish we could have tried more items from the menu. We will be back to do that.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food and service!

food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Saskatoon Gem

Dined on April 13, 2016

My 2nd visit and this is quickly becoming my favorite Saskatoon restaurant. Always busy with a vibrant atmosphere and good service. Food is interesting and always tasty. Only negative would be that portions are a bit small and prices are high for a market like Saskatoon.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent!

Dined on April 12, 2016

Food was excellent and presented very well. Server was outstanding and very attentive and helpful. We ate in the lounge bar area and it was lively. Wine list very good.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

98th Birthday Dinner

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Once again we are so happy with the service, food, friendliness and atmosphere at this wonderful restaurant. I can't wait for my next visit to Saskatoon to enjoy the flavours again! My Grandmother loves coming here for her birthday!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant

Dined on April 10, 2016

We recently went to Ayden for a date night with friends of ours. Our food was very tasty and cooked perfectly. And the service was excellent. If you haven't been here you should give it a try!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Girls night out

Dined on April 10, 2016

Just the right mix of atmosphere, buzz, and chatter. Perfect for a small group, great food, and great service. Too bad we couldn't remember where we left the cars 😊

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Until I Return

Dined on April 3, 2016

Whether is an evening out with friends (as it was for me), or a hot date, Ayden can definitely entertain both. The idustrial feel and the buzz in the atmosphere was totally inviting. The food was perfect. My entire plate was bursting with flavour, and the pork was so tender. I can't wait to return and bring new friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not as good as it used to be

Dined on April 3, 2016

I've always loved Ayden but I was a little disappointed in my last trip. While the Thai wings were still AMAZING the scallops were cold and just okay tasting. In the past the scallops used to be out of this world. Our server was super friendly though and my friend had the porchetta which was awesome.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Wham Bam Thank You Mam, fast service for a large $

Dined on April 2, 2016

Some restaurants make you feel like you've entered a place where time stops and they are there to serve you and make an evening for you. Ayden's is not that place. The food is better than many places (and should be b/c it's more expensive than other places). We could have been in and out in 45 mins - and that included a beverage before our main course. This is our 5th visit and 3/5 have been fast service. 15 minutes after we've ordered is much too short of a time to be served. We had not even finished our drink yet. This restaurant is way over-rated. My trout was excellent as was my husband's chicken - but the other two guests had the steak (or should I say "the fat") and could barely find the beef. If you're in a hurry to catch a movie it's a place to go - but I don't think Ayden's is trying to be this kind of restaurant. Will try again in 6 months - maybe:(

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible Food

Dined on April 2, 2016

This is my second time eating here, visiting Saskatoon on business. Fantastic restaurant! Incredible menu and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food

Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was excellent. Only issues: our water glasses were refilled constantly, and the service was a bit rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.