Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Ayden Kitchen & Bar

Top Chef Canada Winner Dale Mackay and Co-Chef Nathan Guggenheimer welcomes you to Ayden Kitchen and Bar. Ayden Kitchen and Bar offers Canadian Comfort Cuisine and crafted cocktails by mixologist Christopher Cho.

265 3rd Ave S
Saskatoon, SK S7K 1M3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Canadian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(306) 954-2590

Website:
http://www.aydenkitchenandbar.com/

Catering:
Ayden Kitchen & Bar offers a variety of custom catering options - we'll work with you within your budget and size to ensure you get a fantastic dining experience for your group, event, or party.

Executive Chef:
Dale Mackay

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ayden Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (135)
Creative Cuisine (122)
Special Occasion (118)
See All
Good for a Date (116)
Local Ingredients (111)
Good for Anniversaries (88)
Open Kitchen (77)
Hot Spot (76)
Handcrafted Cocktails (68)
Fun (63)
Modern Decor (62)
Romantic (62)
Good for Groups (62)
Worth the Drive (59)
Authentic (57)
Business Meals (56)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
Pre/post Theatre (50)
Casual (49)
Bar Seating (39)
Great for Lunch (35)
Comfort Food (33)
Healthy (32)
Notable Wine List (31)
Seasonal (28)
Cozy (28)
People Watching (25)
Tasting Menu (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Late-night Find (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Tapas (15)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Great Beer (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Organic (8)
Private Room (7)
Family Style (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Scenic View (3)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1076 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Recommended by a couple of friends & see why. The food & drinks were creative, very flavourful, amazing service. Had great conversations at the bar as we were a bit early for our reservation & loved the ambiance. We are from Calgary & Adyen rivals any of the great restaurants we have there. They even gave us a complimentary dessert as it was our Anniversary. Will be back next time we are in Saskatoon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

Ayden's is bold with creativity in food and cocktails. I find I either love my food or I don't at all, but that's not necessarily a downside. It takes a lot of guts to do what they are doing. You have to come with an open mind to new experiences with food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 5 days ago

Our server was very good - Anna. Smart and interesting, with good recommendations. We ate small plates with a lovely wine and it was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

Everything was pretty good but after having been there a few times it could be a bit better. We had one starter that came out served on half of the dish. It was bizarre. Why would a restaurant serve a dish on only half of the plate? The other half had nothing on it and just made me feel bad. The dish was chanterelle mushrooms and was nothing special. If you are going to serve something on only half of the plate the side with the food needs to be spectacular and it was not.
The other starter was the scallops and was good. Our mains were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

I noted on my reservation that we were coming for my wifes b day. Good food, better service, but they stuck us in a crappy spot up against the wall tucked in a nook even though I had a reservation and there was lots of space when we arrived. They have an open kitchen, but we wouldn't have known if we didn't see it on the way to our table. Bummer. Enjoyable, but felt like we missed out on the real experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 7 days ago

Great spot for business dinners with inspired dishes and great drinks list.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Unbelievably delicious. Aside from it being a tad loud this is probably one of the best places to eat I've ever been to and I rarely eat in.

Thank you again for such memorable tastes and quality :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Tapas, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 12, 2017

So when my wife and I found out we were going to be in Saskatoon overnight we made a reservation. We were keen to see how a MasterChef winner performed in real life. We were definitely not disappointed. I wore a jacket no tie over jeans and felt 5% over dressed. I started with the scallops. They were served with smoked salmon and a pea purée that was worth the price of admission on its own. The scallops were seasoned and cooked perfectly. My wife had the taco which was sort of deconstructed with the crunchy tortilla on the side. The trout was delicious. For mains I had the steak. It was served on a butcher block with a double baked potatoe which again was a highlight. I ordered rare and got slightly closer to med rare but it tasted great. My wife who to my knowledge has never eaten two full courses had the mushroom appy for a main. I didn't sample it but she loved it. On the advice of the waiter we tried the chocolate eclair for dessert. They have worked a sort of candied honey comb into the recipe. Wowza. Good stuff. Service was great. Overall they have captured all the best things you'd expect from a fine restaurant including food that rivals what I have had on 3 continents, and combined them with a cool casual vibe. As I said to my Dad the next night when I was describing the place; isn't it lovely when you go to a nice restaurant expecting a great meal, and you get just that.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

It was our first time at Ayden's and we will definitely return and bring more friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great food and atmosphere as always. We sat at the table facing the kitchen pass and really enjoyed seeing the meals come together and the interation between the kitchen staff and service staff - good entertainment!

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Way over priced for what is offered

Had the chicken and the beef - steak was cooked well and was far superior to the chicken which had an almost burnt crust, though still managed to be moist on the inside

The side offered with the chicken I didn't even eat - it was some sort of bitter greenery with virtually raw onions laying on top... it was served on a huge cutting board which made the portion seem small and randomly strewn about (maybe in an effort to make it seem larger?)

Water at the table was room temp - odd

Did not offer dessert at the end of the meal which is strange because based on the small amount of food I actually ate - I would have been interested in ordering dessert !

Nice decor, good service - food is highly over rated and over priced for what it is and I've been to some high class restaurants across Canada, this one is nothing to write home about

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Ayden fully justified its well-deserved reputation, which is quite a feat given the extent of that reputation. The charcuterie board was a dream, almost all local and house produced. We lavished the praise on to the point where we were invited to visit the prep area, and indeed, we can verify that most everything, including cured meats and pickled items, is made in-house.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Overall was a great experience. Only complaint was the music - weird techno music very early in the evening. Didn't really seem fitting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

I had a friend come in from Calgary. I thought I'd take her to Ayden's since it is unique to Saskatoon. I had chicken on my mind and ordered the fried chicken, but I don't think I'd order that again. Our server was fantastic. Always have had great service there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great cocktail list and service as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Amazing. I recommend splurging and ordering appetizers, main course and dessert. The steak was delicious. If it's still in season, try the Pavlova for dessert. The wine is a bit pricey but it's good quality. The only complaint I have is that the temperature of the restaurant was a bit chilly - I believe the A/C was on and it had recently cooled down outside.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

We began our meal with an appetizer. We had the scallops and we shared. Should have had one each. Only two scallops but perfectly cooked. For the main course, we had the Trout and the smoked chicken breast. My husband's one complaint about the fish was that there wasn't enough food on his plate. I agree. Just two very small fillets. They could have had more sides to balance the lightness of the fish. My breast was large enough and very beautifully cooked. We had dessert as well. He tried the chocolate éclair. Fantastic. I had the pavlova. While they very lightly sweetened the fruit so it would be tart, the whipped cream/mousse like portion of the pavlova was extremely sweet, even offset by the seasonal fruit All our food was perfectly cooked and seasoned. The desserts were large enough that we could have shared. If we return, I would order my dessert at the same time as my entrée. Appetizer and entrée came very quickly. Dessert took another 20 minutes when ordered after the meal was eaten. It IS pricey though. I had coffee, my husband had one beer. Bill was $116 before tip. Food great but I'm not sure it was worth that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great food and a fun atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Since Ayden Kitchen & Bar has been on the scene it has consistently been excellent. We always enjoy how the menu is kept updated & seasonal. The attentive & knowledgeable staff adds to the experience by ensuring guests have a great overall visit! We always recommend Ayden Kitchen & Bar for any occasion as it never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

The food was excellent. The staff was attentive, warm, welcoming and happy. The asparagus was delicious and complimented the pork dish well. The Sweet Madeleines and chocolate dip were a perfect ending to the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

I was very disappointed that during our entire visit, which was our first time, the restaurant was empty and yet we were placed on the bar side with zero ambiance. I appreciated the online reservation, but would have been nice to know what table is being booked. I also think the prices are outrageous for the amount of food served.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Took my girlfriend here for her birthday, had no problems booking a table. Our server Erica was awesome and very friendly. Good food but expensive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on July 25, 2017

There was a group of 7 of us and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Main course food was good.
Dessert was a disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 18, 2017

I read about this restaurant in I believe the WestJet in flight magazine and as I am originally from Saskatoon and travel back fairly often made sure I tried it out. I brought 5 business associates from across Canada and the US and they were as impressed as I was. I have already told all of my family in Saskatoon that they need to try Ayden's out!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Very hip restaurant. Quality and inventiveness of the food, using local ingredients, are outstanding. This restaurant could easily fit into the New York City or Washington, DC food scene...but it's in Saskatoon...a real find.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on July 17, 2017

As usual the food and experience was f'n awesome. Though this is all that needs to be said it says I need to use 50 characters which is silly.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Ayden continues to impress as it grows from refreshing new kid on the block to steadfast go-to.
Both front and back of house now have a solid footing and regularly exceed expectations. We've had many great meals there, each seemingly better than the last.
We're happy to recommend Ayden to friends and family, and look forward to many more memorable evenings there ourselves.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Healthy, Disabled Access, People Watching, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on July 13, 2017

A fantastic, extrememly tasty meal with the ambiance that made it feel welcoming and open. Just simpy very, very good! Excellent!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fun, Disabled Access, Authentic, Organic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent menu and presentation. Saskatoon is lucky to have Dale Mackay 's talents. We have been to Vancouver restaurants Lumiere, DB Bistro and his restaurant on Thurlow and Smythe.
Equal to top Vancouver restaurants. Prices also equivalent.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was our 45th Anniversary, so a great place to have our special dinner.
The food and presentation was awesome!!
Good service too!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 7, 2017

First time here two years ago was wonderful. Had to bring my spouse and they definitely did not disappoint. Limited choice on the menu does not equal limited taste!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Appetizers were great. Main course was not so good. Steak was tough and no flavour. Save your money and go to the cut for a great steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Wanted to enjoy a meal quickly before a show. Service was very good and food arrived quickly. It was all delicious. Excellent Cocktails too

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Took our sister-in-law to Aydan for a birthday dinner. The server was excellent and helpful. She replaced a cocktail that didn't go over well with one of us, for free. Our meals were well plated, healthy, fresh and with a generous amount of food. Menu was diverse with some options for all tastes. The tables are just big enough and closer together but the servers and people can move freely and conversations didn't seem to travel from other people's tables. The noise level was fairly loud but ok. Both husbands have hearing issues (tinnitus)and loud restaurants can be difficult for them but they were able to hear the conversation even with the background noise. We were all impressed with the homemade sausages that we sampled. Wow, they were sausage perfection! Perfect skin, juicy, flavorful, cooked to perfection. Saskatchewan has plenty of good sausage makers but these made by Ayden kitchen and bar were A+++! Our party of 4 had cocktails, sausage sampler plate, our meals and two shared desserts and 2 coffees for a little over $300.00. I would eat here again for sure. One more thing, it is an open kitchen to the restaurant which I am not fond of if they do not keep their cooking odors under control. My clothing did not smell of any cooking odors and the restaurant does not smell of cooking odors in an offensive way. Very clean.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Excellent service and food. Best perogies I've ever eaten. Everyone in our party was extremely happy with there meal.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Went to Ayden to celebrate my child's 17th birthday, great food, good service, nice setting. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised at the speed of the service and quality and food taste. Found the tables a bit close for private conversations

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Too expensive

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food was amazing! It was pricey, but you get what you pay for. Good quality ingredients and very interesting combinations. Definitely a yes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.