Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Ayden Kitchen & Bar

Top Chef Canada Winner Dale Mackay and Co-Chef Nathan Guggenheimer welcomes you to Ayden Kitchen and Bar. Ayden Kitchen and Bar offers Canadian Comfort Cuisine and crafted cocktails by mixologist Christopher Cho.

265 3rd Ave S
Saskatoon, SK S7K 1M3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Canadian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(306) 954-2590

Website:
http://www.aydenkitchenandbar.com/

Catering:
Ayden Kitchen & Bar offers a variety of custom catering options - we'll work with you within your budget and size to ensure you get a fantastic dining experience for your group, event, or party.

Executive Chef:
Dale Mackay

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ayden Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (53)
Special Occasion (48)
Good for a Date (43)
See All
Creative Cuisine (40)
Local Ingredients (34)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Business Meals (30)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Hot Spot (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Fun (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Authentic (19)
Romantic (19)
Casual (17)
Comfort Food (15)
Healthy (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Seasonal (10)
People Watching (8)
Tapas (8)
Cozy (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great Beer (5)
Organic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

13th birthday dinner for our daughter. Jack made her feel welcome and looked after her very well. The food was excellent. Our starters were awesome. All of the mains were cooked to order and perfectly seasoned. Jacks recommendations were excellent. We will be back to check out Sticks and Stones as well as Little Grouse onto Prairie. Great place Dale!

Thank you for the hospitality!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

In terms of the food, Ayden Kitchen & Bar was the best dining out experience that my husband and I have ever had. Every item we ordered was unique and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

All around great restaurant . Would highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Got there a bit early and still got seated immediately. Great service and great food. Strong competitor to any of their neighbouring restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on October 8, 2017

What a great find!! We come annually when our group finishes a week long hunting trip and we return to the city.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

We found the restaurant very loud and the food was okay .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 5, 2017

I felt it was good. Not outstanding. Just good. Cool ambiance. It's loud, the acoustics aren't great you have to yell. Our server was really good. She kept forgetting water which was annoying. I was paying for 8 guests and $700 just fill my water glass. I did appreciate she let me know about the 18 percent tip already added, some restaurants don't do that. I would go again, it didn't feel it was outstanding by any means.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

The restaurant atmosphere and food menu was very appealing. We asked the fans to be turned down and our waiter did so impressed with that. Everything was very good food wise but the pork for two meals was very undercooked so both plates had to be returned. They cam back quickly but still not quite right but mostly all very tasty so would definitely go back again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on October 4, 2017

We very much enjoyed our evening at Ayden. We made a reservation for our first wedding anniversary, and we ended up being seated at a lovely quiet table. Service was excellent. Food was also very good, apart from one of our starters which just wasn't as flavourful (the trout taco). We also had the tartare starter, trout and pasta for mains, and the eclair for dessert. All excellent! This was our fourth time to Ayden and we will definitely be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

We so loved everything about this restaurant. The food is top. The service is excellent. I got to watch the kitchen Wow. Everything is plated perfectly.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

We had heard many things about the restaurant and were looking for a new and different dine
out evening with friends. Made our reservations early in hopes we may avoid the crowd noise and restaurant busyness . We felt we were sitting in too close quarters to diners on both sides of us and the seating was uncomfortable . For the cost of each of our meals we felt that the serving sizes were small and unimpressive ...actually left feeling still somewhat hungry . Glad we took the occasion to try out Adyens but it will be a one time dining experience for us .

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Service was very good. Appetizer was very good--had scallops and my son had the endive. The mains and dessert were disappointing. My pasta was dry and the pavlova was a big miss. I will not go again.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on September 27, 2017

We had booked Ayden for our larger corporate group (16 people) and were seated right in front of the kitchen. It is nice that you can see in the kitchen but it also allows us to keep tabs on our food. We got to the restaurant at 7, got our appetizers around 8, and didn't get our mains til 9 right before they basically shut the kitchen off. It seemed as though they pushed our large group order to the end as everyone who ordered after us got their food first. We kept watching food come out thinking that it was for our table but no, we were the very last table served and then the kitchen started to clean up and turn off their warming lamps.
Also- a number of people who ordered the steak said it was quite stringy and hard/grizzly. Unfortunate for over $40 each.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Delicious, fresh portions not overly large but every bite was delicious. Best trout I've ever had.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

My meal was great as usual,but I brought a couple in and his wife ordered the fish because there was no chicken left and the fish came to the table under cooked so she sent it back and it came back to the table.The cook said it was fully cooked and basically said it was cooked enough! I know if Dale was there that night it would have been dealt with better. We also had the wrong drinks brought to us twice

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great food and even better service!
The room is really well done and everyone that we came into contact with was courteous and knowledgeable.
A very enjoyable evening!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 23, 2017

After hearing that this is one of the top places to eat in Canada, we were looking forward to trying it out. We had a large group (9) and the wait staff did a good job of getting drinks and serving the group in a timely manner....one of our group did have to wait a significantly longer time for her food than everyone else and the kitchen was out of the chicken which two of our group wanted to order but other than that, the evening went smoothly. I tried the veg burger and it was amazing....the trout was excellent as well although that diner wished there was a bit of bread or some othe staple with it as he wasn't quite satisfied. All in all, a little pricey but worthwhile for the quality and experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We went to Ayden Kitchen and Bar for our 5th anniversary. We both had the rib eye steak, medium rare, and it was truly fabulous. They surprised us with a complimentary dessert in honour of our anniversary which we really enjoyed. We did find the restaurant to be fairly noisy, but manageable. The cost of wine, however, was rather exponential. Normally we order a bottle when we are out, but opted for a glass this time. That said, we would highly recommend it for the creative food ideas and the quality of the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Overall food was good, a little on the pricier side but was a nice night out. We had the popcorn prawns and Thai wings for starters, followed by the pasta and beef for mains. Overall everything was very tasty and would rate this restaurant among some of our favourites. The tables are a little close together however that seems to be the norm now in a lot of restaurants. Would go again for a special night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Excellent and creative food. Enjoyed every bite.
Unfortunately much too loud for normal conversation at our table.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We sat by the window and the air conditioner seemed to be blowing under the table. It was quite cold. The music in this corner seemed way too loud to hear each other talk. The floor was not swept under the table by the wall. Service was good. The food was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Steak as great but chicken was undercooked. Overall OK but pricey for the quality

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had dinner there on a Saturday night. There were 10 in our party ranging in age from 70-10 years old. The food was fantastic and the service was second to none. Our server treated us extremely well and was very knowledgeable about the specials and the menu. I loved the decor and the cocktails were delightful! I will definitely be back. Thanks for a great experience.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Awesome, great food! Excellent location! Looking forward to returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I've been to Ayden three times and each time the food has been great. Very tasty and presented well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great, Great, Great. Great food, Great service, Great Drinks, Great Chef, Great Kitchen and staff, Great dinner, Great experience Great Night. The T&B drink is highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We were fairly disappointed with our experience over all. From the cramped seating and small tables to the loudness to the food.
My wife's fish meal looked like soup and she wasn't impressed at all. My steak was ok but not worth the price. I'd highly doubt we would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had an amayzing meal . The tables are close together so there is a community type feel to the restaurant, but you can still have an intimate conversation if warranted. The wait staff is very knowledgable about the product. The tuna was so tender and balanced in flavours. We ordered the special with beef / bone marrow/ asperagus /smoked mushrooms and pickled chanterelle mushrooms. The smoke on the mushroom wasn't overwhelming and complimented the slightly sour flovour of the chanterelles. The bone marrow added a lovely richness to the meal . One of the best meals to date . Thank you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Beautifully presented and tasty food, knowledgeable and friendly waitstaff. However, noisy with an overpriced wine list

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

We hadn't dined there before and it was fantastic. Knowledgeable staff, fantastic food, and tasty drinks. Loved it!

Tags: Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Overpriced,overhyped,lousy service.
Their motto should be,with wine starting at 50.00 dollars
"Home of the hundred dollar burger"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

The food was amazing and perfect portion sizes! The cocktail list was great and had such variety with something for everyone with all flavours and taste buds on the list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on August 29, 2017

So amazing and good
Drinks to die for
Food something simple as wings were amazing
Love love love the hostess and staff
Definitely come back

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, People Watching, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Fun, Romantic, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

this was our second date. we arrived early, were greeted graciously by the hostess, entertained nicely with some excellent cocktails and service by the two bartenders until our table was avaiable. there we received wonderful service in a lovely atmosphere.
the food was delicious. we had the Scallops starterand the baked diefenbaker Lake trout. all were terrific!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Cozy, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent food but very noisy and I felt we were being rushed by the server…who was very nice but it was as if she wanted us to eat up and leave asap.

For e.g. She served things at inappropriate times…when we hadn’t even finished...she always seemed in a rush. We had to ask for more water.
I wouldn't likely return to Ayden but would try another place if I ever travelled to Saskatoon again.

beth

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

After a few visits, Ayden's is a bit underwhelming. The rib eye steak is over priced. It was tasty but I know I can get a better steak for (at least) 15 bucks less (it was suprisingly fatty/gristle filled for the cost - but maybe thay comes with the territory - the steak itself was fairly large). The side portions seem small for what you pay, although the side dishes (potatoe and argula salad in this case) were delicious. The atmosphere is unique and fun, we've had good service there during our visits. The seating is a bit cramped in spots. We visited once in the winter and had a table near the door, it wasn't pleasant. Honestly the restaurant itself has a lot of hype because of the story behind it, but it's just too expensive comparatively. For two people we cleared 100 bucks pretty easily with ordering the beef, chicken and two drinks. An interesting experience but not one I will likely pay for again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Absolutely wonderful food . Unique flavours and good options across the board.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Went there for anniversary date and it was very good. Food was really good and quick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Again fabulous food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 23, 2017

I took my wife here celebrating the kids being at grandmas for the night! Food was outstanding! All fresh, local ingredients done in such a simple yet delicious way. The service was excellent and our server was very helpful. Would recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.