Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Ayden Kitchen & Bar

Top Chef Canada Winner Dale Mackay and Co-Chef Nathan Guggenheimer welcomes you to Ayden Kitchen and Bar. Ayden Kitchen and Bar offers Canadian Comfort Cuisine and crafted cocktails by mixologist Christopher Cho.

265 3rd Ave S
Saskatoon, SK S7K 1M3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Canadian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(306) 954-2590

Website:
http://www.aydenkitchenandbar.com/

Catering:
Ayden Kitchen & Bar offers a variety of custom catering options - we'll work with you within your budget and size to ensure you get a fantastic dining experience for your group, event, or party.

Executive Chef:
Dale Mackay

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ayden Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (39)
Good for a Date (39)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Fit for Foodies (37)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Open Kitchen (31)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Modern Decor (26)
Hot Spot (24)
Casual (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Romantic (16)
Fun (16)
Business Meals (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Authentic (12)
Seasonal (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Healthy (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
People Watching (7)
Cozy (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great Beer (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Private Room (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tapas (3)
Family Style (3)
Vegan (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
991 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant has been good in the past but they seem to have reached an even higher level of excellence. The meals we had were amazing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 6 days ago

Duck confit was outstanding. Scallop appetizer just right. Ventilation seemed much improved. Timely service. Solid performance.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on March 15, 2017

My husband and I have ate here 2x. Both times have blown us away. These chefs know exactly what they are doing! They change their menu constantly so there's always something new to try! Another huge plus, they make absolutely everything in house, pasta, bread hamburger etc!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Awesome food. Awesome atmosphere. Our server took good care of us

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fantastic food and service as always! I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I will be dreaming of the duck for months to come. Excellent feature cocktails. Can't wait to return

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fun, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Always great! Drinks are always fun and pair well with meals ...love the portion sizes...just right ...and great presentation!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food. Staff and kitchen very knowledgable about gluten sensitivities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Ayden's was a great meal and the service was prompt and friendly. I enjoyed the burger and the drink very much and would definitely return to try more items on their menu. The waitress Shannon was excellent and was attentive, friendly and professional without being intrusive. A great spot for an evening out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent, carefully crafted, and delicious meals - and yet everything seems so simple when it's brought to your plate. Everything is bursting with flavour and passion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fantastic food. Meals were excellent. Ambiance was great. Service - excellent Evening - a hit. Would visit again, in a heart-beat!

Tags: Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Lunch, Fun, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food is always excellent at Ayden's. The pasta with game meat sauce was a unique experience and absolutely delicious. The service was friendly, non-intrusive, and appropriately attentive. One of the best restaurants in Saskatoon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Tables are too tightly spaced in dining room and ambient noise level is high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We enjoy Ayden for the innovative food and local ingredients. The atmosphere is enjoyable because it is a local downtown restaurant that is NOT a chain restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The duck was amazing and we enjoyed the burgers. Didn't love the wings, but overall the meal was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Another amazing meal here. Service was excellent and the food was delicious. Highly recommended for a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Never had a bad meal. I had Thai wings and Ribeye steak and both were as good as I thought they would be...what a great restaurant for Saskatoon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Menu is very different but everything I have ever had there has been wonderful.
I was there on business though and it does get a little noisy. Nice if that's what you want but a challenge if you need to talk detail.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Healthy, Fun, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on February 5, 2017

First of all....I absolutely hate being jammed into a small space against the wall!
Two....our main course was maybe 7 out of 10...we all had steak except one who had the perogies (6/10)
Three....we all had steak because the fish, chicken, pasta all had capers (yuck).
Four...the desert was a 2/10. One had the floureless tort, another the tart and ice-cream....both were dry not pretty looking.
So we were crammed I to a small space, with limited food options, had a mediocre meal, and a worse than Sara Lee dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent Service. The Executive Chef was very attentive with our requests. The food was to die for.
I loved the Menu, I recommend this restaurant to Friends & clients, it never disappoints.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very impressive list of cocktails. Best pork I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The prices are not cheap, but if one wants food of this quality, it is not out of line compared to many restaurants in many cities I have visited. Like many things are in life, "you get what you pay for". At Ayden's, the food is delicious, the menu items show creativity, and the staff is efficient and friendly. I really like the focus on using fresh local products and I enjoy watching the "organized frenzy" in the open kitchen. The cleavers on the wall might freak out some vegetarians, but they are a unique part of the decor. We'll be back!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Fun, Casual, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Nice meal yet again. Nice to have in Saskatoon. I don't have anything else to say.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I've been to Ayden many times and it never disappoints. Great food and experience!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We absolutely loved the ambiance of the restaurant and the food choices were amazing. The presentation of the food was also amazing. Loved it all. Our waitress was very knowledgeable and fun!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Enjoyed the modern hip energetic decor and atmosphere for date night with spouse. Reservation was on time and service was perfect and well timed! Being from the Atlantic coast very much enjoyed the fresh scallops in a unique mustard cauliflower appetizer as well as main courses of steak and double stuffed potato and the chicken cachiatore in a very nice bean and fresh veggie tomato sauce! Chocolate desert was perfect ending! Only complaint was price of full bottle of wine seemed higher than most. But well worth the cost for a perfect evening out pre-movie for a couple, or groups of friends, business associates. Will definitely return to sample other menu options!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Comfort Food, Healthy, Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We always find Aydens to be good quality food, reasonably priced, and good table service. We are repeat customers for this reason.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual, Vegan, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Awesome Thai chicken wings! Really enjoyed the service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was the best food I have eaten! Every bite was absolutely mouthwatering. I would strongly recommend Ayden's to anyone!!

Tags: Vegan, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 13, 2017

As usual it was excellent! Went planning on just having a burger, had their special burger instead, wow it was great but way too much for me. On other occasions have had their charcuterie, another great choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Bar Seating, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Consistent great food every visit! They never disappoint my palate !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve 2016. The restaurant is very nice and the server was very good. Professional and friendly. The tuna poke was very good. The Risotto was el dente (Italian for lazy?), the sauce reminded me of cheese whiz. The beef dish was meh as well. The grilled portion was cold, freezing cold, and above that tasted quite bland. The crispy deep fried portion was ok however. Except for the large chunk of gristle. The potato and Brussel sprout accompaniments were both decent tasting. The chocolate desert was bad. Dark chocolate brownie with runny whipped cream and some sort of very unappealing lime sauce. Honestly Boston Pizza has more delicious dessert options. It's important to add that 4 courses with wine accompaniment and tip came to $450! Ridiculous amount of money for underwhelming food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always excellent flavors and presentation. It's also fun to watch the chefs in action if near the kitchen. We had a lovely set menu on New Year's Eve and the quality of the ingredients was evident

Dedicated team
Fun experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Just one word: perfect! Great food, great service!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Good food but way too expensive for what you get.

Korean Chicken dish was a couple breaded drumsticks with a sauce.... $28???

Probably not going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Tremendous evening. Our food was excellent. Our server was knowledgeable and friendly; not overbearing nor gratuitous. Service was nicel paced. We felt comfortable and really enjoyed our evening. Thanks. We will be back.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Front room (bar area) is nice and open. Back area, especially the very back, I find a bit dark. We have been a few times and the food is consistently well prepared, well presented and great flavour. Wine service is good and easy (not intimidating) and wine selection is good. There is some local beer available and some nice cocktails.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We enjoyed a family lunch at Ayden over the holidays with our extended family - great food and something for everyone in our group of teenagers, foodies and gluten-free dieters. Fun to watch the open kitchen but don't wear your best coat as the smell of the kitchen lingered on our clothes for hours after the lunch. We will definitely go back for dinner next time we are in Saskatoon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I got to the restaurant to find that my "OpenTable" reservation for 4 people, made three days prior, did not show up on their list. Had it been busy, I would have been really upset about a missing reservation. I showed the hostess my confirmation email and she brushed it off and said she could get us in, which was clearly not my point. If you're going to use a system, ensure it works so people aren't disappointed when they arrive.

The food was excellent, my steak was done correctly, but was lukewarm at best! I was with two friends who were new to Saskatoon and it was the only issue I had with the meal itself. It took the waiter a bit to come take our order and the couple that came into the restaurant after us had their order taken and served before us. Not really impressed with that!

Overall, it was an ok visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Ayden serves excellent food and drink. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The décor is pleasing and the different table setups work well for anything from business meals, dates and/or family dinners. As well, the bar is a comfortable place for a cocktail.
I highly recommend Ayden.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.