About Ayden Kitchen & Bar

265 3rd Ave S
Saskatoon, SK S7K 1M3
View Larger Map

Top Chef Canada Winner Dale Mackay and Co-Chef Nathan Guggenheimer welcomes you to Ayden Kitchen and Bar. Ayden Kitchen and Bar offers Canadian Comfort Cuisine and crafted cocktails by mixologist Christopher Cho.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Canadian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(306) 954-2590

Website:
http://www.aydenkitchenandbar.com/

Catering:
Ayden Kitchen & Bar offers a variety of custom catering options - we'll work with you within your budget and size to ensure you get a fantastic dining experience for your group, event, or party.

Executive Chef:
Dale Mackay

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ayden Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Saskatoon / Saskatchewan
Best Food
Saskatoon / Saskatchewan
Best Service
Saskatoon / Saskatchewan
5 More
Best Ambiance
Saskatoon / Saskatchewan
Best Value
Saskatoon / Saskatchewan
Special Occasion
Saskatoon / Saskatchewan
Most Booked
Saskatoon / Saskatchewan
Most Booked
Saskatoon
Best Restaurants in Saskatoon ›

Fit for Foodies (51)
Special Occasion (46)
Creative Cuisine (43)
See All
Open Kitchen (39)
Hot Spot (39)
Good for a Date (36)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Local Ingredients (33)
Modern Decor (31)
Good for Groups (27)
Romantic (26)
Authentic (24)
Fun (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Business Meals (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Comfort Food (14)
Casual (14)
Tasting Menu (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
People Watching (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Seasonal (8)
Healthy (8)
Cozy (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Outstanding Value (5)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Private Room (3)
Tapas (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
934 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I ordered the veggie burger (with option ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined 2 days ago

I ordered the veggie burger (with optional egg included) and chips, it was delicious. I never order anything veggie based, meatatarian here, but was curious about the veggie burger when I seen the menu earlier in the day. My intuition was spot on, and the burger was pretty spectacular. Its true, if done well enough, a veggie patty can make you look past the fact that its not a meat burger. Would definitely eat it again :)

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The rib eye was out of this world... ins ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

The rib eye was out of this world... insane. the wines by the glass are really well picked and they have a great selection. Overall an amazing meal and wonderful service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was late because I couldn't find parki ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I was late because I couldn't find parking, staff remained friendly even though I was late. Staff was very accommodating and knowledgeable. Food was very good and there was a large selection of drinks.

It is quite expensive, especially drinks but overall it was a very good experience

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love it there always good

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Love it there always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great dinner at Ayden's! Always ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Another great dinner at Ayden's! Always good food, drink and service. Love the creativity in the meals. Thanks again, keep it up!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was phenomenal and very unique. ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was phenomenal and very unique. Everything was cooked to perfection and left the palate completely tantalized. The wine was delicious and perfectly complimented our meals. The waitress was very helpful ensuring I would have gluten free options carefully tended to. Due to our 45-60 minute long wait for the meal (which I expected to be normal considering it was 7:30pm on a Friday night), the waitress graciously provided us with a complimentary dessert that was amazingly delicious and also gluten free. We left very satisfied with both the food and the service and will definitely return again soon.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing and unique tastes, the food will ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing and unique tastes, the food will not disappoint and I really enjoyed my cocktail as well. Arguably the best restaurant in town

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately there was a chef/cook who ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Unfortunately there was a chef/cook who was yelling out the orders so loudly it was disturbing. Also the desserts were terrible. We ordered two for the three of us. The carrot cake had booze in it -- which was not clearly indicated in the menu -- I am a recovering alcoholic -- so thankfully I took a small bite and realized I could not eat it!!! The tart was so tough we couldn't even get through it with a spoon.

On the plus side ... I have had the duck there a couple of times and it is incredible.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

I thought it was great! We went for a me ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I thought it was great! We went for a meal and drinks during the evening between a two day work conference. The steamed buns were to die for.

Our server was polite but painfully un-charismatic and had no personality. It made us feel a bit uncomfortable maybe even borderline unwelcome. The 18% on groups of 6+ left a bit of a poor taste, particularly when having it pointed out that it does not all go to the server. Ah well. I'll go again without a doubt. I find Saskatoon suffers in general as far as customer service goes...maybe it's just me - I found, when working in service in Saskatoon, that the customers are very nice but the other service people are inconsistent.

The prices are high at Ayden but the quality far supersedes the cost. The location is great and walkable if you are staying from out of town and staying in the hotel area (i.e. Spadina area by Radisson, Bess, Saskatoon Inn, etc.). Definitely check this restaurant out. It's some of the best food I've had and all six of us present agreed.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We were very excited to go to Aydens. We ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were very excited to go to Aydens. We had all heard great things. In the end it was just ok. Mixed drinks were great. Charcuterie board was impressive but needed more variety to the many meats offered. Maybe a bit of cheese or variety of crackers.

One of our guests only got through a few bites of gnocchi saying it was way to rich and not loving the flavour. Pork belly and perogy dish was fatty and flavoured all the same - completely brown looking dish. One of our guests loved his burger.

Aydens is a carnivore restaurant for sure. They know their meat. Very savoury menu. Too heavy for our tastes.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

A good meal, great quality food, and goo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 10, 2016

A good meal, great quality food, and good Service. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good food and friendly and ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Consistently good food and friendly and attentive service. We have had the beef several times now and would highly recommend it if you are craving a good steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bar staff could be a little friendli ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The bar staff could be a little friendlier, but overall this place is outstanding. I hosted a business colleague from Toronto who felt the food taste and quality was as good as he's had anywhere in North America. So, well done Ayden!

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Some items were overly done, with either ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Some items were overly done, with either too much butter with the veggies, or too much salt or seasoning in the entrees. We are not fussy eaters at all, but I found myself drinking lots of water to combat the saltiness, and my wife thought the seasoning in her dish was too strong. On the plus side, most of the food was still quite tasty and nicely presented. Plus, the server recognized that my wife was not enjoying her meal, and she sent the manager over to make it right--- which he did. So, kudos for the service and commitment to customer satisfaction. The pumpkin dessert was fabulous too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I felt bad for asking to be moved to ano ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I felt bad for asking to be moved to another table. I could not converse with my date as It was too loud and he felt crowded. We did get moved to another table very quickly and that table was so much better. The lights were dimmed during the meal which I loved. The food, well it speaks for itself; was amazing!! Compliments to the Chef!!!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal, will be back soon

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wonderful meal, will be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, real dinning experience I r ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great food, real dinning experience I really enjoyed

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting and well executed menu and a ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Interesting and well executed menu and attentive service

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not from Saskatoon but I go here every t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Not from Saskatoon but I go here every time I'm in town at least once a trip, usually twice. Food is always great. Service isn't super consistent but overall good.

One gripe is that if you're going to say you are open (on Open Table) till 3 for lunch don't close your kitchen at 155. I'm fickle and the fact I planned on heading here thinking I had an hour for lunch, only to be told no, annoyed me. Doesn't sound like a big deal but you wasted my time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Had colleagues in from Vancouver. Not su ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Had colleagues in from Vancouver. Not sure what they were expecting from Saskatoon but Ayden blew them away. I always bring my out of town guests to Ayden

Tags: Late-night Find, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Passing through from Edmonton and Ayden ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Passing through from Edmonton and Ayden was our #1 choice for lunch. Excellent from top to bottom. I had a burger which was fantastic: probably the best I've ever had. My wife had the lamburger which was similarly excellent. We'll be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our evening at Ayden. ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We really enjoyed our evening at Ayden. The meals were all excellent and the waiter made some excellent recommendations. This is an amazing restaurant and Saskatoon is lucky to have it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were given an appetizer as our table ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We were given an appetizer as our table was 40 minutes late so that was a nice touch. I had the veggie burger and for 21 dollars it was atrocious. Wine menu fine but overpriced per glass. Service was good. Very busy restaurant. Last time I was there we were in a very noisy location. This time was better. Clothes smelled of kitchen next day. That is unfortunate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Another fabulous meal! Excellent servic ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Another fabulous meal! Excellent service. Staff treats you extra special! Duck is my favourite! Would recommend making a reservation to ensure you don't miss out!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant with urban flair and un ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great restaurant with urban flair and unique tasty food offerings!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had great service and a nice meal. Un ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had great service and a nice meal. Unique cocktails were delish!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I are regulars. The drink ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My husband and I are regulars. The drinks were awesome (as usual.... love that ginger gimlet). I tried the chicken and it was amazing... moist, smoky flavor with a delicious eggplant and rice pilaf! Amazing as usual. Never disappoints!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff were very friendly. The room w ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The staff were very friendly. The room was very drafty and there was a lot of noise coming from the lounge making it hard to hear. The trout dish that myself and my coworker had was amazing and cooked to perfection. My other coworker did not enjoy his steak. It was fatty and tasted poor. Overall we had a nice evening.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

Ventilation needs to be improved. If you ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Ventilation needs to be improved. If you are going out for supper you should not come out smelling like smokey grease. Perhaps a result of the steaks and burgers as a special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We would have like a bit more of a priva ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We would have like a bit more of a private table - we were right in the middle of the restaurant it seemed at a tiny table.

Food was good but I didn't think it was worth the cost. Portions were too small for us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We have always loved our Ayden dinning e ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We have always loved our Ayden dinning experiences, the amazing service and incredible food but were very disappointed with the food during our last visit. My husband's beef entry was cold (although he didn't have the heart to complain) and my brussel sprout salad (an Ayden favourite) was served with so much roasted rutabaga (which was quite tough) I sent it back. Ayden graciously replaced the salad but unfortunately the second time it was so over dressed I couldn't eat it, and couldn't bear to complain again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We think Ayden's has the best food in to ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We think Ayden's has the best food in town right now. We eat out weekly, and because we eat grain-free it means we end up eating at some of the nicest places in town (Bliss, Calories, Truffles, etc.) Ayden's is knocking it out of the park. Thank you, Chef!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the best steak in my life! It was co ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Had the best steak in my life! It was cooked to perfection! Tender, full of flavour and cooked just the way I like it! A definite must try. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I went to Ayden for my bi ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 30, 2016

My husband and I went to Ayden for my birthday dinner. The food was delicious and service was great. The appetizer of popcorn shrimp was perfectly cooked and tasty. Mains were hot and tasty. Dessert was amazing. Our server was polite and professional. Although a bit noisy we enjoyed a wonderful meal.

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Aydens is my fave place for dinner so th ...

vip
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Aydens is my fave place for dinner so thought I'd try it for lunch. My guest enjoyed the burger, which was my first choice too, but I opted for the daily sandwich - an updated version of chicken salad. It didn't really rock my world but the bread was fantastic. A good lunch overall with great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I was really excited for this meal given ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on September 27, 2016

I was really excited for this meal given that I am rarely in Saskatoon and have seen this restaurant on multiple top restaurant lists. Absolutely disappointing experience. Had the duck to start, the duck was cooked very well but the puree on the plate had a fowl aftertaste which completely overpowered the duck. Based on the server's recommendation, I went with the fried chicken (why they recommend chicken after already having a poultry appetizer was a mystery). The chicken had zero seasoning or flavor too it. The potato salad side was reminiscent of Costco's potato salad. The beat slaw was tasty however. The server looked like he lacked experience and forgot my meal and didn't make any effort to engage and looked disinterested.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

It was great! Little loud but we were by ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on September 27, 2016

It was great! Little loud but we were by the kitchen and seeing every dish made up for it! Made our day was a group from work with 5 bdays in September came and you treated with a dessert. That was very special. Not many places do that for 1 birthday never mind 5. Your not going to leave hungry. Appies are filling too. I will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We both had the dry-aged rib eye steak, ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We both had the dry-aged rib eye steak, rare. It was nicely marbled, prepared to perfection. I found the arugula salad a tad bitter, but my dining companion enjoyed it. The double baked potato was excellent, with a crisply seasoned jacket. We had started the evening with the charcuterie - fabulous assortment, chicken liver pate to die for - and paired it all with a Chateuneuf du Pape which turned out to be the right choice.

My complaints are these: Ayden seems to always have an exhaust problem with their open kitchen. When we arrived at 8 pm the air was already blue and heavy; when we went home the smell clung to our clothes. Second, the noise. Although this is a perennial problem in open kitchen restaurants, the kitchen staff here make no effort to reduce the noise, frequently shouting across to (or even arguing with) their fellow workers. Definitely not the spot for a business dinner unless your business is promoting rap stars or tractor pulls.

All in, with tip: $245.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a great meal. The service wasn't ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We had a great meal. The service wasn't spectacular but the server did have a lot of tables to take care of. Next time will ask to be in the middle of the restaurant as we were in the back and couldn't see the open kitchen. When my reservation was confirmed they asked if we were there for a special occasion and I said yes for an anniversary, but nothing was said at the restaurant, I thought they might do something but they didn't. Server did not even say her name.

Tags: Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fun, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Amazing food! Excellent service! I have ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Amazing food! Excellent service! I have always enjoyed every meal I've had there.,I would recommend this restaurant to anyone!

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.