About Ayden Kitchen & Bar

265 3rd Ave S
Saskatoon, SK S7K 1M3
View Larger Map

Top Chef Canada Winner Dale Mackay and Co-Chef Nathan Guggenheimer welcomes you to Ayden Kitchen and Bar. Ayden Kitchen and Bar offers Canadian Comfort Cuisine and crafted cocktails by mixologist Christopher Cho.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Canadian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(306) 954-2590

Website:
http://www.aydenkitchenandbar.com/

Catering:
Ayden Kitchen & Bar offers a variety of custom catering options - we'll work with you within your budget and size to ensure you get a fantastic dining experience for your group, event, or party.

Executive Chef:
Dale Mackay

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ayden Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Fit for Foodies (36)
See All
Special Occasion (36)
Open Kitchen (33)
Local Ingredients (32)
Modern Decor (32)
Good for Groups (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Hot Spot (23)
Romantic (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Authentic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Fun (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Casual (14)
Business Meals (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Healthy (11)
Seasonal (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Cozy (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
People Watching (6)
Outstanding Value (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tapas (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
961 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome Thai chicken wings! Really enjo ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome Thai chicken wings! Really enjoyed the service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was the best food I have eaten! Eve ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined 7 days ago

This was the best food I have eaten! Every bite was absolutely mouthwatering. I would strongly recommend Ayden's to anyone!!

Tags: Vegan, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual it was excellent! Went planning ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 13, 2017

As usual it was excellent! Went planning on just having a burger, had their special burger instead, wow it was great but way too much for me. On other occasions have had their charcuterie, another great choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Bar Seating, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent great food every visit! They ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Consistent great food every visit! They never disappoint my palate !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's Eve 2016. The restaurant is v ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve 2016. The restaurant is very nice and the server was very good. Professional and friendly. The tuna poke was very good. The Risotto was el dente (Italian for lazy?), the sauce reminded me of cheese whiz. The beef dish was meh as well. The grilled portion was cold, freezing cold, and above that tasted quite bland. The crispy deep fried portion was ok however. Except for the large chunk of gristle. The potato and Brussel sprout accompaniments were both decent tasting. The chocolate desert was bad. Dark chocolate brownie with runny whipped cream and some sort of very unappealing lime sauce. Honestly Boston Pizza has more delicious dessert options. It's important to add that 4 courses with wine accompaniment and tip came to $450! Ridiculous amount of money for underwhelming food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Always excellent flavors and presentatio ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always excellent flavors and presentation. It's also fun to watch the chefs in action if near the kitchen. We had a lovely set menu on New Year's Eve and the quality of the ingredients was evident

Dedicated team

Fun experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Just one word: perfect! Great food, grea ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Just one word: perfect! Great food, great service!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but way too expensive for what ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Good food but way too expensive for what you get.

Korean Chicken dish was a couple breaded drumsticks with a sauce.... $28???

Probably not going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Tremendous evening. Our food was excelle ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Tremendous evening. Our food was excellent. Our server was knowledgeable and friendly; not overbearing nor gratuitous. Service was nicel paced. We felt comfortable and really enjoyed our evening. Thanks. We will be back.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Front room (bar area) is nice and open. ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Front room (bar area) is nice and open. Back area, especially the very back, I find a bit dark. We have been a few times and the food is consistently well prepared, well presented and great flavour. Wine service is good and easy (not intimidating) and wine selection is good. There is some local beer available and some nice cocktails.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We enjoyed a family lunch at Ayden over ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We enjoyed a family lunch at Ayden over the holidays with our extended family - great food and something for everyone in our group of teenagers, foodies and gluten-free dieters. Fun to watch the open kitchen but don't wear your best coat as the smell of the kitchen lingered on our clothes for hours after the lunch. We will definitely go back for dinner next time we are in Saskatoon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I got to the restaurant to find that my ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I got to the restaurant to find that my "OpenTable" reservation for 4 people, made three days prior, did not show up on their list. Had it been busy, I would have been really upset about a missing reservation. I showed the hostess my confirmation email and she brushed it off and said she could get us in, which was clearly not my point. If you're going to use a system, ensure it works so people aren't disappointed when they arrive.

The food was excellent, my steak was done correctly, but was lukewarm at best! I was with two friends who were new to Saskatoon and it was the only issue I had with the meal itself. It took the waiter a bit to come take our order and the couple that came into the restaurant after us had their order taken and served before us. Not really impressed with that!

Overall, it was an ok visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ayden serves excellent food and drink. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Ayden serves excellent food and drink. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The décor is pleasing and the different table setups work well for anything from business meals, dates and/or family dinners. As well, the bar is a comfortable place for a cocktail.

I highly recommend Ayden.

Tags: , Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic and inventive food. ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Absolutely fantastic and inventive food. The staff was attentive and incredibly friendly. Would recommend this lovely place to all of my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Aydens was a great choice. Our meal and ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Aydens was a great choice. Our meal and service was excellent. The atmosphere was unique and comfortable. The food and service was top notch and we are looking forward to the next time we can dine out at Aydens.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our daughter had just moved home from tw ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Our daughter had just moved home from two years in California in May so we promised her that once she found a permanent job we would celebrate as a family at any restaurant of her choice. She landed an amazing job and we were excited to try out her number one choice! I implemented two rules for the evening: dress up nice and no phones allowed at the table (except for food photos). Ayden did not disappoint and neither did our kids! It was a wonderful family evening with great food, great conversation and lasting memories!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Took some friends out for supper. Ordere ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Took some friends out for supper. Ordered some appetizers, main courses and dessert. Service was spectacular and the food was delicious. Upscale dining at its best. 2nd time here and will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food, cozy atmosphere even tho ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Delicious food, cozy atmosphere even though we were right by the open kitchen, great service. Can't wait to go there again!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious! Small menu, good selec ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Always delicious! Small menu, good selection, we drove 2.5 hrs to eat there! Love the starters, and those chicken wings.... my word, they're heavenly!

YQRneedsyou❣️

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WHile the restaurant was very good, thou ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on December 13, 2016

WHile the restaurant was very good, though a touch expensive we were dissatisfied with the experience of having booked on line. We booked on line only to arrive at the restaurant, having walked there from our hotel on a very cold night, to find out that there was not a table for us. The employee stated that not infrequently the "open table" site confirmed reservations when no actual places existed. We offered a table that had been booked by others, but were politely told that we would have to be done eating by a certain time in order to vacate it for the group who were booked in properly. So instead of having a nice, leisurely, romantic, but expensive meal we felt somewhat rushed through an expensive meal. End result, restaurant was good but we could not enjoy it or our evening to the fullest, whereas the "Open Table" experience was poor such that I doubt we would use it again or recommend it.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our meals were top drawer, as always. Th ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Our meals were top drawer, as always. Thai wings, steak, pork buns, veggie burger and beef burger were on the slab this day. All very much enjoyed. Our meals took a very long time to come up, which is a first in roughly 15X times I have dined there in the past year. This was due to a large party being ahead of us. Without prompting, our waiter informed us that our entire meal would be comped in apology for this. Very gracious!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Healthy, , Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very rushed dinner everything came out a ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Very rushed dinner everything came out at once.... nice room, way to bright. Has potential to be great. I will give them a second try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Always love going to Ayden Kitchen & Bar ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Always love going to Ayden Kitchen & Bar! The food and drinks are awesome. It has a great ambiance and the service is awesome.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was awesome, food was amazing ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Everything was awesome, food was amazing. Only small complaint would be that it was pretty loud, hard to carry on convo

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I ordered the veggie burger (with option ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I ordered the veggie burger (with optional egg included) and chips, it was delicious. I never order anything veggie based, meatatarian here, but was curious about the veggie burger when I seen the menu earlier in the day. My intuition was spot on, and the burger was pretty spectacular. Its true, if done well enough, a veggie patty can make you look past the fact that its not a meat burger. Would definitely eat it again :)

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The rib eye was out of this world... ins ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The rib eye was out of this world... insane. the wines by the glass are really well picked and they have a great selection. Overall an amazing meal and wonderful service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was late because I couldn't find parki ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I was late because I couldn't find parking, staff remained friendly even though I was late. Staff was very accommodating and knowledgeable. Food was very good and there was a large selection of drinks.

It is quite expensive, especially drinks but overall it was a very good experience

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love it there always good

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Love it there always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great dinner at Ayden's! Always ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Another great dinner at Ayden's! Always good food, drink and service. Love the creativity in the meals. Thanks again, keep it up!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was phenomenal and very unique. ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was phenomenal and very unique. Everything was cooked to perfection and left the palate completely tantalized. The wine was delicious and perfectly complimented our meals. The waitress was very helpful ensuring I would have gluten free options carefully tended to. Due to our 45-60 minute long wait for the meal (which I expected to be normal considering it was 7:30pm on a Friday night), the waitress graciously provided us with a complimentary dessert that was amazingly delicious and also gluten free. We left very satisfied with both the food and the service and will definitely return again soon.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing and unique tastes, the food will ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing and unique tastes, the food will not disappoint and I really enjoyed my cocktail as well. Arguably the best restaurant in town

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately there was a chef/cook who ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Unfortunately there was a chef/cook who was yelling out the orders so loudly it was disturbing. Also the desserts were terrible. We ordered two for the three of us. The carrot cake had booze in it -- which was not clearly indicated in the menu -- I am a recovering alcoholic -- so thankfully I took a small bite and realized I could not eat it!!! The tart was so tough we couldn't even get through it with a spoon.

On the plus side ... I have had the duck there a couple of times and it is incredible.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

I thought it was great! We went for a me ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I thought it was great! We went for a meal and drinks during the evening between a two day work conference. The steamed buns were to die for.

Our server was polite but painfully un-charismatic and had no personality. It made us feel a bit uncomfortable maybe even borderline unwelcome. The 18% on groups of 6+ left a bit of a poor taste, particularly when having it pointed out that it does not all go to the server. Ah well. I'll go again without a doubt. I find Saskatoon suffers in general as far as customer service goes...maybe it's just me - I found, when working in service in Saskatoon, that the customers are very nice but the other service people are inconsistent.

The prices are high at Ayden but the quality far supersedes the cost. The location is great and walkable if you are staying from out of town and staying in the hotel area (i.e. Spadina area by Radisson, Bess, Saskatoon Inn, etc.). Definitely check this restaurant out. It's some of the best food I've had and all six of us present agreed.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We were very excited to go to Aydens. We ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were very excited to go to Aydens. We had all heard great things. In the end it was just ok. Mixed drinks were great. Charcuterie board was impressive but needed more variety to the many meats offered. Maybe a bit of cheese or variety of crackers.

One of our guests only got through a few bites of gnocchi saying it was way to rich and not loving the flavour. Pork belly and perogy dish was fatty and flavoured all the same - completely brown looking dish. One of our guests loved his burger.

Aydens is a carnivore restaurant for sure. They know their meat. Very savoury menu. Too heavy for our tastes.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

A good meal, great quality food, and goo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 10, 2016

A good meal, great quality food, and good Service. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good food and friendly and ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Consistently good food and friendly and attentive service. We have had the beef several times now and would highly recommend it if you are craving a good steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bar staff could be a little friendli ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The bar staff could be a little friendlier, but overall this place is outstanding. I hosted a business colleague from Toronto who felt the food taste and quality was as good as he's had anywhere in North America. So, well done Ayden!

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Open Kitchen,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Some items were overly done, with either ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Some items were overly done, with either too much butter with the veggies, or too much salt or seasoning in the entrees. We are not fussy eaters at all, but I found myself drinking lots of water to combat the saltiness, and my wife thought the seasoning in her dish was too strong. On the plus side, most of the food was still quite tasty and nicely presented. Plus, the server recognized that my wife was not enjoying her meal, and she sent the manager over to make it right--- which he did. So, kudos for the service and commitment to customer satisfaction. The pumpkin dessert was fabulous too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I felt bad for asking to be moved to ano ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I felt bad for asking to be moved to another table. I could not converse with my date as It was too loud and he felt crowded. We did get moved to another table very quickly and that table was so much better. The lights were dimmed during the meal which I loved. The food, well it speaks for itself; was amazing!! Compliments to the Chef!!!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal, will be back soon

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wonderful meal, will be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.