About Ayden Kitchen & Bar

265 3rd Ave S
Saskatoon, SK S7K 1M3
View Larger Map

Top Chef Canada Winner Dale Mackay and Co-Chef Nathan Guggenheimer welcomes you to Ayden Kitchen and Bar. Ayden Kitchen and Bar offers Canadian Comfort Cuisine and crafted cocktails by mixologist Christopher Cho.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Canadian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(306) 954-2590

Website:
http://www.aydenkitchenandbar.com/

Executive Chef:
Dale Mackay

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Ayden Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Saskatchewan
Best Food
Saskatchewan
Best Service
Saskatchewan
5 More
Best Value
Saskatchewan
Fit for Foodies
Saskatchewan
Special Occasion
Saskatchewan
Most Booked
Saskatchewan
Most Booked
Saskatoon
Best Restaurants in Saskatoon ›

fit for foodies (128)
special occasion (103)
hot spot (74)
See All
good for groups (60)
romantic (46)
neighborhood gem (41)
great for lunch (33)
notable wine list (29)
vibrant bar scene (27)
late-night find (17)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
842 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great server and service . I am Vegan, ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great server and service . I am Vegan, chef prepared beautiful tasty entre for me . the others in our group ordered beef and veggie burgers and were very impressed . Looking forward to a return visit !

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A bit noisier than usual but that is jus ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

A bit noisier than usual but that is just a sign that people are enjoying themselves... Hard to complain about that.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Greeting was great. Our waitress was exc ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Greeting was great. Our waitress was excellent. Meal was rushed as mains arrived before appetizers were finished. Wine list seemed a bit over priced. Food is likely very subjective. Loved the asparagus but prefer scallops carmalized without corn meal coating. Enjoyed porkchop but less so the white skin in chicken dish. All in all a mixed experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

The food and cocktails were amazing.Some ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

The food and cocktails were amazing.Some of the flavours were unexpected but oh so good. The table service was very good,our server was patient and knowledgeable. Prices were very reasonable as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was great. Ambience is nice. Foo ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Service was great. Ambience is nice. Food was pretty good depending on what you ordered. Sausage appetizer was great while shrimp appetizer was ordinary. Fish main course was loved by all who ordered it while pork main course was ordinary. Special occasion prices so I had hoped everything would be great. Luckily, the guests of honor loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great atmosphere and great c ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere and great cocktails. What else could you ask for!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been here a handful of times & it ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I have been here a handful of times & it's always amazing! Great service, great food, love the atmosphere 😄

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It has been a while that i haven't eaten ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

It has been a while that i haven't eaten at a restaurant and enjoy every bites! I would come to Saskatoon just to try other item on the menu!! Food was awesome, service was as good as the meal, and the restaurant itself was very nice. A +++ Would recommend to anyone going to Saskatoon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very impressed with the food, service an ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Very impressed with the food, service and ambience. Took my husband there for his birthday. Enjoyed the Thai wings, trout and steak. Will definitely consider this for other special occasions. Plan to try the lunch menu and have already recommended to friends

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

We love the ambience at Aydens but for h ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We love the ambience at Aydens but for having a chef it is time to redo the menu a bit. The offerings change but very little and food wise it is getting less exciting than it was, we have been there probably 10 times since opening. Really the changes made are very little and if one was being very critical it is getting to be more high end McDonalds than a top drawer restaurant. They have kept the prices good and a fun, fun place and the bar is outstanding with awesome cocktails you won't find elsewhere. Would love to see them do some work on BC wines, don't mind the prices but should stick with the local theme there and support Osoyos wineries with some of the offerings not offered in the liquor store.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole evening at Ayden was marvelous ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The whole evening at Ayden was marvelous. Fascinating decor. Attentive service. Delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Oh so yummy. Loved our dinner there. M ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Oh so yummy. Loved our dinner there. My husband had the steak and I had the burger (no bun). Both were so delish! Definitely one of the best burgers I've had a restaurant in ages. Fun ambiance - yes it's loud but I actually like to have a conversation and not have the people sitting next to me hear what we're discussing. Great spot - a gem in Saskatoon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent cocktails, creative menu and f ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent cocktails, creative menu and fun, eclectic ambiance. The food was good, but I was not blown away. I am a foodie from the states and I feel like the execution of the dishes were close but none of the 6 dishes I tried really impressed me.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing. My sister and I trul ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Absolutely amazing. My sister and I truly enjoyed every morsel. The stuffed chicken is a must.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our favourite place in Saskatoon!

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food here is not matched by any other place I have visited in SK. Try the charcuterie board for an appetizer. The scallops and tuna are also outstanding. Go with the steak for an entre - you will be astounded! It is out of this world.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service and great deco ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food, great service and great decor. Love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Opulent Burgers

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

On a recent visit to Saskatoon, we stopped in at Ayden for an early Friday lunch. The restaurant filled up quickly and was moderately loud, but we received excellent service. Our water was regularly topped up and our meals came out quickly. My husband had the Chef's burger (a special that involved 45 day dry aged sirloin, bone marrow and a fried egg, to mention a few of the items) while I stuck with the classic burger with all the groceries (plus house cured bacon). The patties were extra juicy (cooked to medium rare) and very delicious. The house made soda of the day was Earl Grey, which was a nice touch. The burgers came with fresh salads and fries, and the presentation was excellent. We will definitely keep coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It's a great place to go for a grat meal

Dined on June 5, 2016

We have been before and it is always great. The charcuterie plate is amazing. We always get it. The chicken liver parfait on it is amazing. Everything we have had has been fantastic. Highly recommend it as a place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food and service but $$$

Dined on June 2, 2016

Our server was excellent and we were well treated the hole way thru . Appreciated that I was phoned the day before to remind too! Food was good ...most tasty were the prawns, asparagus and buttermilk pie . Not so successful were the scallops which had a weird sweet sauce underneath . My hubby's burger he said was meh...super greasy but he did ask for medium . Had theee most excellent cocktail though - try the limonade. Would go back but too pricy for a regular destination .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Food and Great Atmosphere

Dined on May 31, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious. Our server let us know that they only had 4 servings of their pasta left as soon as we arrived and thankfully she did as it was one of the most flavorful pasta dishes we have ever had. We had a seat close to the kitchen and were able to watch the kitchen staff prepare the food. There is a lot of care that goes in to preparing their food. I will be back there again when I am in Saskatoon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great evening

Dined on May 28, 2016

The whole evening was a success. The food was excellent and our waiter Billy T was fabulous. Extremely attentive, knowledgeable, friendly and always with a smile on his face.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great charcuterie!

Dined on May 22, 2016

The charcuterie board at Ayden is one of the best we have had...quality and unique. This is a place with original servings so order plates to share because you will not want to miss out! The decor is original and fascinating. The noise level and rush were the only down side of our experience. The servers are almost running which creates a rushed ambience in a restaurant where you will want to savour the flavours. The hollering from the kitchen...a little over the top...creating an atmosphere of chaos instead of warm tranquility.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love Aydens!

Dined on May 17, 2016

So nice to have lunch with an old friend and be able to converse, was a quiet relaxed atmosphere. I had a chicken salad, best I've ever had, and the salad was great. My friend had nothing but compliments for the French onion soup, and everything she had. Our server was prompt and informative. Had maryanns for dessert that melted in my mouth. I actually expected it to cost a lot more, but $50 for a fantastic lunch is very reasonable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The entrees were fantastic - lamb and tr ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The entrees were fantastic - lamb and trout - very very good. Our appetizer wasn't great - had the scallops with cornmeal and the cornmeal didn't add anything to the dish. Desserts were very good as well. Great service. Overall a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

We were a bit disappointed that our dini ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We were a bit disappointed that our dining experience didn't quite live up to the hype. The limited menu should have been sufficient but it seemed every dish had some component that made it less interesting. In the end I had the veggie burger (I'm not a vegetarian) which was very good but $45 (tip included) for a burger and fries and glass of wine seemed excessive.. I really enjoyed watching the kitchen staff work in full view and our service was just 'ok'. Not sure I'll rush back.

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Impressive & Creative

Dined on May 13, 2016

Amazing cocktails, creative and tasty. Fabulous service. Expected a little more from the food. Unfortunately, a very large noisey group had a negative impact on the overall experience. I will try it again the next time I am in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was fresh, healthy serving size ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The food was fresh, healthy serving sizes, bustling atmosphere, great service. Nice spot for lunch or dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

Dined on May 10, 2016

We went to Ayden's for our 15th Anniversary and we were really impressed with the food and service. Our waitress was great. She even remembered that I had a nut allergy. This was my Hubby's first time and he was very impressed with the food and service. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on May 6, 2016

Our server was excellent from star to finish.. Food was delicious , overall great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

RWB

Dined on May 3, 2016

A first time visit recommended by friends..good table next to a larger group but proximaty did not spoil our experience. Starters were right size and excellent quality and creative..entries were again, the right size..more nouvelle cuisine, yet enough and again, exceptional quality.. A dining jewel for Saskatoon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great service!

Dined on May 3, 2016

I had the chicken dish with a mushroom based side which was so so good. I would recommend this place to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

Aydens

Dined on May 1, 2016

Over priced and extremely noisy, $25.00 for a hamburger and a bottle of okay wine was $80.00

food2
ambience5
service4
value2

My person experience.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Went there for the first time last Saturday with my boyfriend. We enjoy fine dining and especially enjoy eating local however we both found the food to be overly salty, I had the chicken he had the pork. The popcorn shrimp was delicious however I can get that anywhere. When we first arrived at 5pm we were the second people there and they sat us at this tiny tiny table against a wall half way into the bar or whatever that area is, we were not impressed however the man who was suppose to be our server happily sat us at a better table. The service was good but I did feel a little rushed to get my food order in, none the less our server was still more than deserving of a 20% tip. Excellent wine list, excellent atmosphere, mediocre food.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was wonderful and the staff was excellent!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We received quick service, due to the abundance of staff working that night - it was great to see! Food was excellent and it was a wonderful night!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Anniversary dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our 20th anniversary dinner and the food was amazing. Great service though the food did take quite a long time to arrive. Appetizer was one of the best I've had and a very tasty steak dinner. The only negatives were the noise, the long wait for food and it was quite smoky from the open kitchen. Did I mention how good the appetizer was?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best restaurant in town.

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food is phenomenal and the service was appropriately effortful without being over the top. It's a bit loud given the open concept feel the rooms have, but an impressive array of incredible food and drinks more than made up for occasionally having to raise your voice a little.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As always the food and drinks were amazi ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

As always the food and drinks were amazing. Overall the experience is and has always been wonderful. I can't wait until the next time!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Over50diners

Dined on April 27, 2016

Great location. First time for dinner. Excellent service. Outstanding charcuterie board, perfect for 4 to share. Gnocchi was a perfect size, very rich. The smoked chicken was very smoky, but moist. The accompaniments to the meal were delicious! The Lake Breeze Pinot Blanc was cool and crisp...excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice fries

Dined on April 26, 2016

Pleasant service with a satisfying lunch combo on a wooden platter. The wine is expensive at $14 for a 5oz glass of NZ pinot noir. The seats are hard and uncomfortable which makes it hard to relax. There are some softer bench-type seats too but these were not offered to a party of two. Some of the tables very close which,with all the hard surfaces,increases the noise level.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

service was outstanding and the food was ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

service was outstanding and the food was excellent!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.