About Ayden Kitchen & Bar

265 3rd Ave S
Saskatoon, SK S7K 1M3
View Larger Map

Top Chef Canada Winner Dale Mackay and Co-Chef Nathan Guggenheimer welcomes you to Ayden Kitchen and Bar. Ayden Kitchen and Bar offers Canadian Comfort Cuisine and crafted cocktails by mixologist Christopher Cho.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Canadian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(306) 954-2590

Website:
http://www.aydenkitchenandbar.com/

Executive Chef:
Dale Mackay

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ayden Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Saskatoon / Saskatchewan
Best Food
Saskatoon / Saskatchewan
Best Service
Saskatoon / Saskatchewan
4 More
Best Ambiance
Saskatoon / Saskatchewan
Special Occasion
Saskatoon / Saskatchewan
Most Booked
Saskatoon / Saskatchewan
Most Booked
Saskatoon
Best Restaurants in Saskatoon ›

Fit for Foodies (112)
Special Occasion (95)
Hot Spot (64)
See All
Good for Groups (60)
Romantic (41)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Great for Lunch (33)
Notable Wine List (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Late-night Find (11)
Great for Brunch (8)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
869 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

For all the hype I was disappointed. O ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

For all the hype I was disappointed. Our waitress was good but our starter was slow andour meal was alright

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We had a great meal and the waiter was e ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great meal and the waiter was excellent. Unfortunately we had tickets for a movie so we literally had to eat and run. Next time we won't book anything else and stay longer. Great food in a relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic menu, value, and service. High ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic menu, value, and service. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My colleague seemed to enjoy his food bu ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

My colleague seemed to enjoy his food but I found my trout rather flat , not absolutely delicious as I was hoping for. Our service was very good - attentive polished and helpful but not too much not over the top - noticeable on a bad way

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a great time at Ayden as always. Th ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Had a great time at Ayden as always. The cocktails are exceptional and the food is very good, if maybe just a little overly meat-centric. But I think that's what Ayden has become known for. Our steak and our chef's burger was perfectly cook to order and the service was very friendly and efficient. This is one of our favourite places in the city even if we don't go all that often and treat it more as a special occasion kind of place. Highly recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food was amazing. excellent drink select ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

food was amazing. excellent drink selection. staff were friendly and accommodating. looking forward to a return visit soon.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I think Ayden is one of the best restaur ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I think Ayden is one of the best restaurants I have tried in Saskatoon. The menu is different and the food tasted fantastic. The service was great and it has a nice ambiance. 10/10

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Avoid the steak like the plague, it was ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Avoid the steak like the plague, it was extremely greasy, fatty, and tough. The rest of the meal and appetizers were decent. The service was fast and generally good, but our server never even asked how we liked our meal, and when I complained about the fatty and tough nature of the steak (literally 1/3 of the $40 steak was fat), there was no apology or explanation or anything. I wouldn't recommend based on my experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I have been to Ayden's on visits to Sask ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I have been to Ayden's on visits to Saskatoon, I took my husband for the first time and I was not impressed where we were seated. We were put into a tiny corner at the front of the restaurant with no view to anything except the street, which isn't much of a view.

Food was still fantastic and our waiter was good, but seemed a bit rushed and agitated with us for some reason.....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food is tasty over all. If locally ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food is tasty over all. If locally source ingredients is important to you, they do it. The steak is amazing and never has let us down. The chicken is crispy but lacks real flavour. I hope they improve it because the overall entree could be a real winner. The appetizers are tasty. The restaurant is louder because of high ceilings. It's set up is impersonal. Typical of mainstream dining. The service was good. I've been there 4 times. 3 suppers, 1 lunch. I would go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We went to Aydens for my son's 15th birt ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We went to Aydens for my son's 15th birthday. Not only was the food & ambience awesome, the staff treated my boy so well. They even had a special little surprise for him.

Would we go again.... most definately.

The food & drink is awesome.

Thanks,

Mike

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ayden is always a good choice I have nev ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Ayden is always a good choice

I have never had a bad meal there and the Cocktails are amazing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good but wine priced ridiculous ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was good but wine priced ridiculously 19 crimes cheapest sharaz st $80 which was out ofstock but told the 220 bottle was the next best shiraz. Just too expensive for wine. Not even comparable to higher class dining places in the city. We might have bought 3 bottles of wine fir our table but instead bought none. No excuse for charging that much for wine. Get real

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

The A/C was so cold i wish i worn a wi ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The A/C was so cold i wish i worn a winter coat . It ruined the . The pork dish was . the chicken was so salty!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

It was our first time to Ayden's - we wi ...

 
·Dined on July 26, 2016

It was our first time to Ayden's - we will be back!! Service and food were both outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Other than and overpriced wine list this ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Other than and overpriced wine list this is an exceptional spot highly recommended

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Place was nice. really good food, really ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Place was nice. really good food, really good value. I would go back in a heart beat

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was good however not enough table s ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was good however not enough table space for 2 and wasn't too entertained by server

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The food quality, flavour, and presentat ...

 
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The food quality, flavour, and presentation was fabulous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good food, interesting flavors, but fair ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Good food, interesting flavors, but fairly pricey, especially the wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

First time experience at Ayden Kitchen a ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

First time experience at Ayden Kitchen and Bar was amazing! The scallops melted like butter with a delicious flavour. Loved the Gnocchi. My DH's burger was perfectly seasoned. Loved the signature cocktails. The gift of Warm Madeleine's was the perfect end to our celebratory meal! Service was outstanding.

Thank you Ayden Kitchen and Bar for a memorable time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and the service was a ...

 
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was great and the service was amazing. The noise level was WAY too loud though. We were seated right near the bar. The blenders, martini shaking and overall work behind the bar echoed through the room. I'm not sure how that could be improved - it's just the acoustics of the room I guess. If I come back, I would ask to be seated in a different room than the bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

We arrived 20 minutes early for our tabl ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We arrived 20 minutes early for our table, expecting to have a drink at the bar, but were fortunate that our table, by the front window, was available then. I'm glad we sat up front as you can see - as others have noted - that the ventilation from the open kitchen isn't great inside. The food was fantastic - same pasta maker as at Little Grouse as they're co-owned. Good service and mains, and as a treat, we had the madeleines with a side of chocolate sauce. A small, but decadent, end to a great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our third occasion to come to A ...

 
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This was our third occasion to come to Ayden Kitchen & Bar. Every time we have had excellent service, with excellent meals. There is a big enough variety on the menu to suit anyone's pallet, and the prices are very reasonable.

I find the staff very friendly and eager to answer questions, make suggestions or (help with the wine list).

The manager or assistant manager has always made a point of coming around as well, to ensure we have been properly looked after and attended to and that we have enjoyed our experience at Ayden's.

Although I have not had an opportunity to try the lunch menu I am sure it is just as enjoyable.

Keep up the good work & keep serving the great food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service. I find the ...

 
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent food and service. I find the meals are full of imagination and unique flavours and tastes. We sat in the middle of a very busy noisy area. Not the restaurants fault - people don't use their inside voice. When I went to the washroom after our meal, I noticed the back area only had two people and we should have asked to be located in a quieter spot since we have "old people" hearing. All in all a very enjoyable evening. Enjoyed the appetizers, main mail and the two desserts as well as the fancy drink recommended by our server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

There were 4 of us dining together, and ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

There were 4 of us dining together, and we made a point of ordering 4 different meals so that we could take a bite of each dish! That was definitely a good idea. The food was simply delicious! The portions were HUGE - two of us could only eat about 1/2 of our meal. (Mind you, that was so we had room to order dessert!) The desserts were incredible! Our waitress was pleasant and efficient. Overall - service was great, food was great, tummies were full, and we rolled out of the restaurant with smiles on our faces : )

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food , busy, fun atmosphere , ...

 
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Delicious food , busy, fun atmosphere , portion size a bit light for the $

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great server and service . I am Vegan, ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great server and service . I am Vegan, chef prepared beautiful tasty entre for me . the others in our group ordered beef and veggie burgers and were very impressed . Looking forward to a return visit !

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A bit noisier than usual but that is jus ...

 
·Dined on June 23, 2016

A bit noisier than usual but that is just a sign that people are enjoying themselves... Hard to complain about that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Greeting was great. Our waitress was exc ...

 
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Greeting was great. Our waitress was excellent. Meal was rushed as mains arrived before appetizers were finished. Wine list seemed a bit over priced. Food is likely very subjective. Loved the asparagus but prefer scallops carmalized without corn meal coating. Enjoyed porkchop but less so the white skin in chicken dish. All in all a mixed experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The food and cocktails were amazing.Some ...

 
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food and cocktails were amazing.Some of the flavours were unexpected but oh so good.

The table service was very good,our server was patient and knowledgeable.

Prices were very reasonable as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Service was great. Ambience is nice. Foo ...

 
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Service was great. Ambience is nice. Food was pretty good depending on what you ordered. Sausage appetizer was great while shrimp appetizer was ordinary. Fish main course was loved by all who ordered it while pork main course was ordinary. Special occasion prices so I had hoped everything would be great. Luckily, the guests of honor loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, great atmosphere and great c ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere and great cocktails. What else could you ask for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been here a handful of times & it ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I have been here a handful of times & it's always amazing! Great service, great food, love the atmosphere 😄

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It has been a while that i haven't eaten ...

 
·Dined on June 14, 2016

It has been a while that i haven't eaten at a restaurant and enjoy every bites! I would come to Saskatoon just to try other item on the menu!! Food was awesome, service was as good as the meal, and the restaurant itself was very nice. A +++

Would recommend to anyone going to Saskatoon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very impressed with the food, service an ...

 
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Very impressed with the food, service and ambience. Took my husband there for his birthday. Enjoyed the Thai wings, trout and steak. Will definitely consider this for other special occasions. Plan to try the lunch menu and have already recommended to friends

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love the ambience at Aydens but for h ...

 
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We love the ambience at Aydens but for having a chef it is time to redo the menu a bit. The offerings change but very little and food wise it is getting less exciting than it was, we have been there probably 10 times since opening. Really the changes made are very little and if one was being very critical it is getting to be more high end McDonalds than a top drawer restaurant. They have kept the prices good and a fun, fun place and the bar is outstanding with awesome cocktails you won't find elsewhere. Would love to see them do some work on BC wines, don't mind the prices but should stick with the local theme there and support Osoyos wineries with some of the offerings not offered in the liquor store.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

The whole evening at Ayden was marvelous ...

 
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The whole evening at Ayden was marvelous. Fascinating decor. Attentive service. Delicious food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oh so yummy. Loved our dinner there. M ...

 
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Oh so yummy. Loved our dinner there. My husband had the steak and I had the burger (no bun). Both were so delish! Definitely one of the best burgers I've had a restaurant in ages. Fun ambiance - yes it's loud but I actually like to have a conversation and not have the people sitting next to me hear what we're discussing. Great spot - a gem in Saskatoon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent cocktails, creative menu and f ...

 
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent cocktails, creative menu and fun, eclectic ambiance. The food was good, but I was not blown away. I am a foodie from the states and I feel like the execution of the dishes were close but none of the 6 dishes I tried really impressed me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.