About Ayden Kitchen & Bar

265 3rd Ave S
Saskatoon, SK S7K 1M3
View Larger Map

Top Chef Canada Winner Dale Mackay and Co-Chef Nathan Guggenheimer welcomes you to Ayden Kitchen and Bar. Ayden Kitchen and Bar offers Canadian Comfort Cuisine and crafted cocktails by mixologist Christopher Cho.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Canadian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(306) 954-2590

Website:
http://www.aydenkitchenandbar.com/

Executive Chef:
Dale Mackay

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ayden Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Saskatoon / Saskatchewan
Most Booked
Saskatoon
Best Restaurants in Saskatoon ›

Fit for Foodies (97)
Special Occasion (84)
Hot Spot (68)
See All
Good for Groups (45)
Romantic (39)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Great for Lunch (27)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Open Kitchen (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Fun (14)
Authentic (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Casual (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Business Meals (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
People Watching (5)
Cozy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Private Room (2)
Historic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
896 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We both had the dry-aged rib eye steak, ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 5 days ago

We both had the dry-aged rib eye steak, rare. It was nicely marbled, prepared to perfection. I found the arugula salad a tad bitter, but my dining companion enjoyed it. The double baked potato was excellent, with a crisply seasoned jacket. We had started the evening with the charcuterie - fabulous assortment, chicken liver pate to die for - and paired it all with a Chateuneuf du Pape which turned out to be the right choice.

My complaints are these: Ayden seems to always have an exhaust problem with their open kitchen. When we arrived at 8 pm the air was already blue and heavy; when we went home the smell clung to our clothes. Second, the noise. Although this is a perennial problem in open kitchen restaurants, the kitchen staff here make no effort to reduce the noise, frequently shouting across to (or even arguing with) their fellow workers. Definitely not the spot for a business dinner unless your business is promoting rap stars or tractor pulls.

All in, with tip: $245.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a great meal. The service wasn't ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a great meal. The service wasn't spectacular but the server did have a lot of tables to take care of. Next time will ask to be in the middle of the restaurant as we were in the back and couldn't see the open kitchen. When my reservation was confirmed they asked if we were there for a special occasion and I said yes for an anniversary, but nothing was said at the restaurant, I thought they might do something but they didn't. Server did not even say her name.

Tags: Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fun, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Amazing food! Excellent service! I have ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food! Excellent service! I have always enjoyed every meal I've had there.,I would recommend this restaurant to anyone!

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was super good, we went for a birthday c ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined 6 days ago

Was super good, we went for a birthday celebration. The waitress recommended some really good appy and cocktail options

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always amazing, service alwa ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food is always amazing, service always fine. They called me ahead of time to say we could only stay at the table for two hours and that I found insulting, working in a restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Romantic, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed our lunch. The only negative ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

We enjoyed our lunch. The only negative is that the smell of the restaurant stayed on our clothes and was uncomfortable at the office in the afternoon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I had one night in Saska ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My daughter and I had one night in Saskatoon so we chose Ayden and were not disappointed! Cocktails were inventive and the food was excellent...fried chicken, gnocchi and the little blueberry donuts for dessert...all were great. Service and decor also well done. Great spot in dntn Saskatoon!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was my third visit. We enjoy the crea ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

It was my third visit. We enjoy the creative menu and eclectic atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was very average, and the prices ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Service was very average, and the prices were New York.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

One of my party got food poisoned. Was p ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

One of my party got food poisoned. Was puking and having tummy issue in the evening and the day after. The scallops smelled fishy, the chicken were a bit pink around the bone. Food flavour profile was also confusing. Will not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The dry aged rib eye is fantastic!!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The dry aged rib eye is fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and atmosphere, disappointed ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food and atmosphere, disappointed in the waitress for not knowing or being to explain the menu. For example she couldn't answer if the fried chicken was dark meat (thigh and drumstick) or white meat (breast). Instead of asking the kitchen, she just danced around the question.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Went here for our anniversary and ordere ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went here for our anniversary and ordered he burger well done and it arrived med rare. Waiter took the burger back and out a rush on my food but by the time it came out properly my husband had finished his meal so I ate alone. My food was comped by the waiter and we had a dessert given to us. It was really loud and smoky in the building. Still enjoyed my burger once it arrived just wish I could have eaten it with my husband instead I felt rushed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Great food as usual but there was a seri ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great food as usual but there was a serious problem with the ventilation. It was like standing near a fast food grease vent. Got worse as the evening went on. Could hardly breathe by the end of the meal and had to go outside for a breath of air. Clothes were so smelly we had to go straight home to change. Had to wash my hair immediately as well. The food was delicious but overall a poor experience. I'll choose another resto next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Always good.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We had exceptional service. The waitress ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had exceptional service. The waitress went above and beyond her job scope to see that we were looked after. We were brought a complimentary pasta due to a mistake in the kitchen. We were also given a complimentary desert as it was my birthday. Another server came to the table and sang. The chef came over to our table and asked about our dining experiences and if we enjoyed our meals. We were more than impressed with the entire evening at Ayden. We were visiting from Regina and this was our first visit. We will definitely be returning.

Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My food as amazing and I loved the ambia ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My food as amazing and I loved the ambiance in the restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been many times and obviously en ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We have been many times and obviously enjoy the restaurant but Saturday was terrible. The appies and mains came very fast--so the message is get out as fast as possible. The table was terrible.--dark and isolated and freezing cold. When we commented on the temperature it was adjusted momentarily then turned back down. Even the guys were cold. Then we ordered one dessert and coffee. Coffee never arrived but wrong dessert did. Then after mistake discovered it took so long that we asked for our bill and to forgo the dessert. The bill arrived with coffees still on but I just paid because it becoming an ordeal. Food was good but Zero ambience and poor service. A true disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Definitely enjoyed the food. Server was ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Definitely enjoyed the food. Server was particularly attentive & very nice. We were celebrating a birthday and they comped an order of their famous madelines - Very Awesome gesture!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Excellent service but Just didn't live u ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Excellent service but Just didn't live up to the hype, steak was over cooked and short rib special was all out by 6:45pm. My short rib special was the last one available and although well presented it lacked flavour and was not tender. My out of town guest's steak was over done.

Pretty expensive for an average meal!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Excellent burgers and appies. Staff were ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Excellent burgers and appies. Staff were very friendly, courteous and knowledgeable of the menu and recommending food and drink to order.

A great experience

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service, food was delicious an ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent service, food was delicious and cocktails were really fun. Wish the lighting had been a bit dimmer and that the prices were a little more in line with the Saskatoon market.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always a great meal when eating at Ayden ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Always a great meal when eating at Ayden's. Always take out of town clients, family and friends. Been impressed every time!

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Comfort Food, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service & fine dining. The dessert ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great service & fine dining. The desserts were amazing!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For all the hype I was disappointed. O ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

For all the hype I was disappointed. Our waitress was good but our starter was slow andour meal was alright

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Fantastic food and service. Great vibe a ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Fantastic food and service. Great vibe and location.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal and the waiter was e ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a great meal and the waiter was excellent. Unfortunately we had tickets for a movie so we literally had to eat and run. Next time we won't book anything else and stay longer. Great food in a relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was by far one of the best meals I' ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was by far one of the best meals I've had in a long, long time...and I eat out quite often! I was in Saskatoon visiting a friend who recommended the place. Amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic menu, value, and service. High ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fantastic menu, value, and service. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My colleague seemed to enjoy his food bu ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My colleague seemed to enjoy his food but I found my trout rather flat , not absolutely delicious as I was hoping for. Our service was very good - attentive polished and helpful but not too much not over the top - noticeable on a bad way

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a great time at Ayden as always. Th ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Had a great time at Ayden as always. The cocktails are exceptional and the food is very good, if maybe just a little overly meat-centric. But I think that's what Ayden has become known for. Our steak and our chef's burger was perfectly cook to order and the service was very friendly and efficient. This is one of our favourite places in the city even if we don't go all that often and treat it more as a special occasion kind of place. Highly recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food was amazing. excellent drink select ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

food was amazing. excellent drink selection. staff were friendly and accommodating. looking forward to a return visit soon.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I think Ayden is one of the best restaur ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I think Ayden is one of the best restaurants I have tried in Saskatoon. The menu is different and the food tasted fantastic. The service was great and it has a nice ambiance. 10/10

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Avoid the steak like the plague, it was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Avoid the steak like the plague, it was extremely greasy, fatty, and tough. The rest of the meal and appetizers were decent. The service was fast and generally good, but our server never even asked how we liked our meal, and when I complained about the fatty and tough nature of the steak (literally 1/3 of the $40 steak was fat), there was no apology or explanation or anything. I wouldn't recommend based on my experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I have been to Ayden's on visits to Sask ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I have been to Ayden's on visits to Saskatoon, I took my husband for the first time and I was not impressed where we were seated. We were put into a tiny corner at the front of the restaurant with no view to anything except the street, which isn't much of a view.

Food was still fantastic and our waiter was good, but seemed a bit rushed and agitated with us for some reason.....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food is tasty over all. If locally ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food is tasty over all. If locally source ingredients is important to you, they do it. The steak is amazing and never has let us down. The chicken is crispy but lacks real flavour. I hope they improve it because the overall entree could be a real winner. The appetizers are tasty. The restaurant is louder because of high ceilings. It's set up is impersonal. Typical of mainstream dining. The service was good. I've been there 4 times. 3 suppers, 1 lunch. I would go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We went to Aydens for my son's 15th birt ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We went to Aydens for my son's 15th birthday. Not only was the food & ambience awesome, the staff treated my boy so well. They even had a special little surprise for him.

Would we go again.... most definately.

The food & drink is awesome.

Thanks,

Mike

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ayden is always a good choice I have nev ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Ayden is always a good choice

I have never had a bad meal there and the Cocktails are amazing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good but wine priced ridiculous ...

 
 (Saskatoon)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was good but wine priced ridiculously 19 crimes cheapest sharaz st $80 which was out ofstock but told the 220 bottle was the next best shiraz. Just too expensive for wine. Not even comparable to higher class dining places in the city. We might have bought 3 bottles of wine fir our table but instead bought none. No excuse for charging that much for wine. Get real

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

The A/C was so cold i wish i worn a wi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The A/C was so cold i wish i worn a winter coat . It ruined the . The pork dish was . the chicken was so salty!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.