Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Ayden Kitchen & Bar

Top Chef Canada Winner Dale Mackay and Co-Chef Nathan Guggenheimer welcomes you to Ayden Kitchen and Bar. Ayden Kitchen and Bar offers Canadian Comfort Cuisine and crafted cocktails by mixologist Christopher Cho.

265 3rd Ave S
Saskatoon, SK S7K 1M3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Canadian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(306) 954-2590

Website:
http://www.aydenkitchenandbar.com/

Catering:
Ayden Kitchen & Bar offers a variety of custom catering options - we'll work with you within your budget and size to ensure you get a fantastic dining experience for your group, event, or party.

Executive Chef:
Dale Mackay

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ayden Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (45)
Special Occasion (35)
Creative Cuisine (34)
See All
Local Ingredients (32)
Good for a Date (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Worth the Drive (20)
Authentic (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Fun (19)
Open Kitchen (18)
Casual (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Romantic (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Cozy (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Business Meals (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Seasonal (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Healthy (7)
People Watching (5)
Tapas (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Great Beer (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1036 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined 3 days ago

Too expensive

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing! It was pricey, but you get what you pay for. Good quality ingredients and very interesting combinations. Definitely a yes.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant was strongly recommended to me and now I understand why. I've already recommended it to several people. The food was out of this world as was the wait staff. The only complaint might be it was noisy as we were there for a business meal and we're all a bit older. I imagine my younger self would laugh at me for saying that. I will be going back for sure noisy or not!!!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food especially the perogies! Awesome service from Laura!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Always delicious and never disappoints! Had company from Calgary and they were super impressed!! They travel a lot and eat out at many places this was a huge hit with them. I was really hoping to impress and you guys did not disappoint!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was really good. Ive never had food this fancy before

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on June 18, 2017

An wonderful night out at Ayden's this past Saturday - did tapas - just having appetizers and starters with cocktails. The food was sublime and service excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Not a fan, I recently has the burger on a stale bun and my wife had a veggie burger stone cold. The fries were good though. I just feel the price isn't worth it.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We went for my husband's birthday, and it was excellent. The food was amazing! The people were very friendly and the restaurant was gorgeous.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Wasn't crazy about our table location (just behind host stand).

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I've been to Ayden's several times and absolutely loved it when it first opened. However I was completely underwhelmed on my last visit, even sending some dishes back. When I couldn't get into Little Grouse (which is excellent) I thought I'd give them another try. I am delighted to say they seem to be back to their A game. Absolutely fabulous!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Service was outstanding! Food was great; wish it was a little less noisy, but it was made up for with the great tasting food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on June 8, 2017

I did not enjoy the crispy trout tacos, nor did another member of my party. My mother enjoyed the fish dinner. She said it was fantastic. My nephew loved the burger and fries said he wanted to come back. I also had popcorn prawns and they were great and we enjoyed an order of warm mandolin. I would like to try other menu options. I would not order fish tacos again. Too much sauce and texture of cabbage was funny. The sauce made fish soggy and all you could taste was the sauce nothing else.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Fantastic experience as always. Food was amazing and our server was awesome! So attentive and knowledgeable. This is why we keep coming back to Aydens.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We had a lovely dinner. Trout was great as well as the burger.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We went to Ayden because of its good reviews on line. Unfortunately the noise level was too high for us to be able to converse easily. And the chef likes salt way, way more than we do. We had to send our scallops back, as the extreme salt hurt our mouths. The chef said they were fine, but NO! However, he did redo them, and we enjoyed the dish when he did. The waitress and the manager were very accommodating - first class. If we were togo again I would specify "minimal salt."

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on June 1, 2017

My husband and I had an amazing dinner. We loved the ambience and decor, the service was excellent, and the food was outstanding. We are excited about moving to Saskatoon, and even happier that there are dining options like Ayden's Kitchen.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Great dinner with awesome food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The service was outstanding. Very professional staff with attention to detail.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Salt and more salt , food was just awful

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Always good

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were very disappointed in our meals. The service was good but that was about it. The price of wine is out of touch with reality. We wanted to have the burgers that looked amazing. We were told they had no more buns so we said that was fine. We wanted our burgers medium well, they came overcooked tasting like crumbled dried up meat. I was really disappointed in myself that we did not complain at the time. We were visiting with a friend and it seemed that we just let it go. Maybe it was a bad night but wow, I can do better with my eyes closed.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always a favourite. The flavour combinations are amazing every time. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, and observing the food preparation in the kitchen adds to that. The burgers were perfect and the steak was tender and juicy.
Leaving a jug of water on the table would be a good idea, especially when it's busy.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This place never fails to impress me. We chose to create our own "family style" tasting menu and it worked so well. From welcome, to service to quality of the meal there was no disappointment. Can't wait to travel back to Saskatoon again but this time for Little Grouse.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Family Style, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The food was great, the selection was limited. We were disappointed by the minimal Canadian wine/beer options.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Every bite brings a perfect combination of ingredients, each one of them play a roll to give an amazing unique flavour in the overall dish. I'll be back and will recommend it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Had a very good time, was impressed that our table was ready with a high hair, only observation is that we had an early reservation because we had a child so felt we were being rushed just a little, but nothing we could not handle.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Fantastic meal! The green beans were delicious!!!!!!! O

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent meal, fantastic hand-crafted cocktails by talented bar staff. Able to accommodate challenging dietary restrictions.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Amazing. Staff was so friendly and food was delicious.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It was my husband's 30th surprise dinner on Saturday and I was so impressed with the entire experience. I've been to Ayden before and always really enjoyed it but it had been quite a while since I'd been there.

The service from the moment we walked in on Saturday, to the moment we walked out, was fantastic. Our server was attentive, very pleasant and never left us waiting. She was quick to offer more drinks and checked on us without interfering with our birthday celebration. She was friendly and professional.

The food was phenomenal and for a table of 11, we were impressed that everyone's dish arrived at the exact same time. A few people had the fish, a few of us had the pasta and the others, the butcher block burger. Everyone raved about their meal. I also had the ginger gimlet and it was one of the best cocktails I've had. We were pleasantly surprised that a small dessert with a lit candle came out for my husband at the end of the meal. It was a nice touch and not one many restaurants do.

Thanks for a great evening at Ayden!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Amber brought us a special birthday treat on the house and the chef prepared a wonderful cheese and nut plate to go with our port.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My husband and I recently tried out Ayden for a special night out. We had an awful table, shoved up against a wall and my husband's back against a coat rack. The table next to us was so close, and the "gentleman" had obscene language and belched repeatedly at the table, which kind of killed any mood.
The interior is beautifully done, and our two starters were tasty (the tuna and scallops). My husbands main, the pork chop, was wonderful, but my chicken schnitzel was so doused with mustard that I could hardly taste anything else. I ate less than half.

I felt that for $110, the overall experience would need to have been a bit better. The food I would give 4/5, and our server was lovely. But just due to us being shoved in a dark awkward corner, and how expensive the food was, I'm not sure we'd return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Loved the food! Great vibe! Will definitely go back again and recommend to friends!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Pretty loud really, but a nice place overall. Will go back again!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Aydens is amazing each and every time. Service is spectacular and the food is even better!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Ayden Kitchen & Bar provided great food in a modern setting. The appetizers, particularly the scallops, were outstanding, as were our cocktails. We shared the Rib Eye for our main course and while it didn't stand out from the same dish at other restaurants, it was perfectly cooked. Our server was excellent, providing the right level of attention throughout and was very pleasant. At the end of the meal we were presented with a lovely serving of madeleines in honour of my wife's birthday, which was a nice surprise, and a fantastically tasty end to the evening.
I found the restaurant a little on the loud side, but it would only be an issue if I was trying to have a serious conversation or meeting.
I look forward to returning the Ayden and giving some of the items on their Snacks Menu a try. Do yourself a favour, order one of their cocktails - you won't be disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on April 1, 2017

As always, extremely impressed with Ayden Kitchen and Bar. The service is second to none and the food is outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Waitress mixed up one of our orders so had to wait longer. And noise level was high. Food was amazing!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on March 31, 2017

So good! Worth the drive from Regina. We will be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.