About Ayden Kitchen & Bar

265 3rd Ave S
Saskatoon, SK S7K 1M3
View Larger Map

Top Chef Canada Winner Dale Mackay and Co-Chef Nathan Guggenheimer welcomes you to Ayden Kitchen and Bar. Ayden Kitchen and Bar offers Canadian Comfort Cuisine and crafted cocktails by mixologist Christopher Cho.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Canadian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(306) 954-2590

Website:
http://www.aydenkitchenandbar.com/

Executive Chef:
Dale Mackay

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Ayden Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Saskatchewan
Best Food
Saskatchewan
Best Service
Saskatchewan
6 More
Best Ambiance
Saskatchewan
Best Value
Saskatchewan
Fit for Foodies
Saskatchewan
Special Occasion
Saskatchewan
Most Booked
Saskatchewan
Most Booked
Saskatoon
Best Restaurants in Saskatoon ›

fit for foodies (111)
special occasion (97)
hot spot (68)
See All
good for groups (53)
romantic (43)
neighborhood gem (37)
great for lunch (30)
notable wine list (27)
vibrant bar scene (21)
late-night find (15)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
851 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food quality, flavour, and presentat ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food quality, flavour, and presentation was fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good food, interesting flavors, but fair ...

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Good food, interesting flavors, but fairly pricey, especially the wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

First time experience at Ayden Kitchen a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

First time experience at Ayden Kitchen and Bar was amazing! The scallops melted like butter with a delicious flavour. Loved the Gnocchi. My DH's burger was perfectly seasoned. Loved the signature cocktails. The gift of Warm Madeleine's was the perfect end to our celebratory meal! Service was outstanding.

Thank you Ayden Kitchen and Bar for a memorable time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and the service was a ...

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was great and the service was amazing. The noise level was WAY too loud though. We were seated right near the bar. The blenders, martini shaking and overall work behind the bar echoed through the room. I'm not sure how that could be improved - it's just the acoustics of the room I guess. If I come back, I would ask to be seated in a different room than the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

We arrived 20 minutes early for our tabl ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We arrived 20 minutes early for our table, expecting to have a drink at the bar, but were fortunate that our table, by the front window, was available then. I'm glad we sat up front as you can see - as others have noted - that the ventilation from the open kitchen isn't great inside. The food was fantastic - same pasta maker as at Little Grouse as they're co-owned. Good service and mains, and as a treat, we had the madeleines with a side of chocolate sauce. A small, but decadent, end to a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our third occasion to come to A ...

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This was our third occasion to come to Ayden Kitchen & Bar. Every time we have had excellent service, with excellent meals. There is a big enough variety on the menu to suit anyone's pallet, and the prices are very reasonable.

I find the staff very friendly and eager to answer questions, make suggestions or (help with the wine list).

The manager or assistant manager has always made a point of coming around as well, to ensure we have been properly looked after and attended to and that we have enjoyed our experience at Ayden's.

Although I have not had an opportunity to try the lunch menu I am sure it is just as enjoyable.

Keep up the good work & keep serving the great food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service. I find the ...

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent food and service. I find the meals are full of imagination and unique flavours and tastes. We sat in the middle of a very busy noisy area. Not the restaurants fault - people don't use their inside voice. When I went to the washroom after our meal, I noticed the back area only had two people and we should have asked to be located in a quieter spot since we have "old people" hearing. All in all a very enjoyable evening. Enjoyed the appetizers, main mail and the two desserts as well as the fancy drink recommended by our server.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

There were 4 of us dining together, and ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

There were 4 of us dining together, and we made a point of ordering 4 different meals so that we could take a bite of each dish! That was definitely a good idea. The food was simply delicious! The portions were HUGE - two of us could only eat about 1/2 of our meal. (Mind you, that was so we had room to order dessert!) The desserts were incredible! Our waitress was pleasant and efficient. Overall - service was great, food was great, tummies were full, and we rolled out of the restaurant with smiles on our faces : )

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food , busy, fun atmosphere , ...

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Delicious food , busy, fun atmosphere , portion size a bit light for the $

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great server and service . I am Vegan, ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great server and service . I am Vegan, chef prepared beautiful tasty entre for me . the others in our group ordered beef and veggie burgers and were very impressed . Looking forward to a return visit !

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A bit noisier than usual but that is jus ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

A bit noisier than usual but that is just a sign that people are enjoying themselves... Hard to complain about that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Greeting was great. Our waitress was exc ...

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Greeting was great. Our waitress was excellent. Meal was rushed as mains arrived before appetizers were finished. Wine list seemed a bit over priced. Food is likely very subjective. Loved the asparagus but prefer scallops carmalized without corn meal coating. Enjoyed porkchop but less so the white skin in chicken dish. All in all a mixed experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The food and cocktails were amazing.Some ...

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food and cocktails were amazing.Some of the flavours were unexpected but oh so good.

The table service was very good,our server was patient and knowledgeable.

Prices were very reasonable as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Service was great. Ambience is nice. Foo ...

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Service was great. Ambience is nice. Food was pretty good depending on what you ordered. Sausage appetizer was great while shrimp appetizer was ordinary. Fish main course was loved by all who ordered it while pork main course was ordinary. Special occasion prices so I had hoped everything would be great. Luckily, the guests of honor loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, great atmosphere and great c ...

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere and great cocktails. What else could you ask for!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been here a handful of times & it ...

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I have been here a handful of times & it's always amazing! Great service, great food, love the atmosphere 😄

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It has been a while that i haven't eaten ...

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

It has been a while that i haven't eaten at a restaurant and enjoy every bites! I would come to Saskatoon just to try other item on the menu!! Food was awesome, service was as good as the meal, and the restaurant itself was very nice. A +++

Would recommend to anyone going to Saskatoon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very impressed with the food, service an ...

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Very impressed with the food, service and ambience. Took my husband there for his birthday. Enjoyed the Thai wings, trout and steak. Will definitely consider this for other special occasions. Plan to try the lunch menu and have already recommended to friends

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love the ambience at Aydens but for h ...

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We love the ambience at Aydens but for having a chef it is time to redo the menu a bit. The offerings change but very little and food wise it is getting less exciting than it was, we have been there probably 10 times since opening. Really the changes made are very little and if one was being very critical it is getting to be more high end McDonalds than a top drawer restaurant. They have kept the prices good and a fun, fun place and the bar is outstanding with awesome cocktails you won't find elsewhere. Would love to see them do some work on BC wines, don't mind the prices but should stick with the local theme there and support Osoyos wineries with some of the offerings not offered in the liquor store.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

The whole evening at Ayden was marvelous ...

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The whole evening at Ayden was marvelous. Fascinating decor. Attentive service. Delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oh so yummy. Loved our dinner there. M ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Oh so yummy. Loved our dinner there. My husband had the steak and I had the burger (no bun). Both were so delish! Definitely one of the best burgers I've had a restaurant in ages. Fun ambiance - yes it's loud but I actually like to have a conversation and not have the people sitting next to me hear what we're discussing. Great spot - a gem in Saskatoon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent cocktails, creative menu and f ...

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent cocktails, creative menu and fun, eclectic ambiance. The food was good, but I was not blown away. I am a foodie from the states and I feel like the execution of the dishes were close but none of the 6 dishes I tried really impressed me.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely amazing. My sister and I trul ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Absolutely amazing. My sister and I truly enjoyed every morsel. The stuffed chicken is a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favourite place in Saskatoon!

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food here is not matched by any other place I have visited in SK. Try the charcuterie board for an appetizer. The scallops and tuna are also outstanding. Go with the steak for an entre - you will be astounded! It is out of this world.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, great service and great deco ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food, great service and great decor. Love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Opulent Burgers

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

On a recent visit to Saskatoon, we stopped in at Ayden for an early Friday lunch. The restaurant filled up quickly and was moderately loud, but we received excellent service. Our water was regularly topped up and our meals came out quickly. My husband had the Chef's burger (a special that involved 45 day dry aged sirloin, bone marrow and a fried egg, to mention a few of the items) while I stuck with the classic burger with all the groceries (plus house cured bacon). The patties were extra juicy (cooked to medium rare) and very delicious. The house made soda of the day was Earl Grey, which was a nice touch. The burgers came with fresh salads and fries, and the presentation was excellent. We will definitely keep coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's a great place to go for a grat meal

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We have been before and it is always great. The charcuterie plate is amazing. We always get it. The chicken liver parfait on it is amazing. Everything we have had has been fantastic. Highly recommend it as a place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good food and service but $$$

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Our server was excellent and we were well treated the hole way thru . Appreciated that I was phoned the day before to remind too!

Food was good ...most tasty were the prawns, asparagus and buttermilk pie . Not so successful were the scallops which had a weird sweet sauce underneath . My hubby's burger he said was meh...super greasy but he did ask for medium . Had theee most excellent cocktail though - try the limonade.

Would go back but too pricy for a regular destination .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic Food and Great Atmosphere

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious. Our server let us know that they only had 4 servings of their pasta left as soon as we arrived and thankfully she did as it was one of the most flavorful pasta dishes we have ever had. We had a seat close to the kitchen and were able to watch the kitchen staff prepare the food. There is a lot of care that goes in to preparing their food. I will be back there again when I am in Saskatoon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The whole evening was a success. The food was excellent and our waiter Billy T was fabulous. Extremely attentive, knowledgeable, friendly and always with a smile on his face.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great charcuterie!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The charcuterie board at Ayden is one of the best we have had...quality and unique. This is a place with original servings so order plates to share because you will not want to miss out! The decor is original and fascinating. The noise level and rush were the only down side of our experience. The servers are almost running which creates a rushed ambience in a restaurant where you will want to savour the flavours. The hollering from the kitchen...a little over the top...creating an atmosphere of chaos instead of warm tranquility.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I love Aydens!

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

So nice to have lunch with an old friend and be able to converse, was a quiet relaxed atmosphere. I had a chicken salad, best I've ever had, and the salad was great. My friend had nothing but compliments for the French onion soup, and everything she had. Our server was prompt and informative. Had maryanns for dessert that melted in my mouth. I actually expected it to cost a lot more, but $50 for a fantastic lunch is very reasonable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The entrees were fantastic - lamb and tr ...

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The entrees were fantastic - lamb and trout - very very good. Our appetizer wasn't great - had the scallops with cornmeal and the cornmeal didn't add anything to the dish. Desserts were very good as well. Great service. Overall a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were a bit disappointed that our dini ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We were a bit disappointed that our dining experience didn't quite live up to the hype. The limited menu should have been sufficient but it seemed every dish had some component that made it less interesting. In the end I had the veggie burger (I'm not a vegetarian) which was very good but $45 (tip included) for a burger and fries and glass of wine seemed excessive.. I really enjoyed watching the kitchen staff work in full view and our service was just 'ok'. Not sure I'll rush back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Impressive & Creative

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Amazing cocktails, creative and tasty. Fabulous service. Expected a little more from the food. Unfortunately, a very large noisey group had a negative impact on the overall experience. I will try it again the next time I am in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fresh, healthy serving size ...

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

The food was fresh, healthy serving sizes, bustling atmosphere, great service. Nice spot for lunch or dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Anniversary

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

We went to Ayden's for our 15th Anniversary and we were really impressed with the food and service. Our waitress was great. She even remembered that I had a nut allergy. This was my Hubby's first time and he was very impressed with the food and service. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Our server was excellent from star to finish.. Food was delicious , overall great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

RWB

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

A first time visit recommended by friends..good table next to a larger group but proximaty did not spoil our experience. Starters were right size and excellent quality and creative..entries were again, the right size..more nouvelle cuisine, yet enough and again, exceptional quality..

A dining jewel for Saskatoon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great service!

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

I had the chicken dish with a mushroom based side which was so so good. I would recommend this place to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.