Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.67mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.67mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About A'vert Brasserie

Conveniently located in vibrant West Hartford Center, step into Avert and be whisked away to the brasseries and outdoor cafes lining the cobblestone streets of Lyon and Paris. The indulgence of traditional French comfort food is balanced by a modern, clean interpretation and an uncompromising devotion to the highest quality and locally-sourced ingredients. Avert is classic yet creative; inspired yet approachable. Experience old world European charm with a modern flair in a casual, relaxed environment.

35 A LaSalle Rd
West Hartford, CT 06107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm -10:00pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Dinner: Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(860) 904-6240

Website:
http://www.avertbrasserie.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Damboise

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

A'vert Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
See All
Romantic (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Authentic (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Casual (14)
Fun (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Cozy (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
People Watching (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Healthy (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
284 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent. A well needed addition. Thought I was back along the Seine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Another fantastic meal, fabulous service and an experience that feels like you're truly dining in Paris!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food & service is superb! Every item on the menu is creative & scrumptious with visually beautiful preparation. Cocktails are delightful!! We went with dear friends for brunch & absolutely loved the entire experience. Will definitely recommend this gem to other friends. Can't wait to return!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We love this place. However, I said good as a review which is unfortunate as there are no nuance stars to add to the stars. The entrees are always good. We had the steak Frite, with the filet. The steak was perfectly cooked and the extra Hollendaise made my companion very happy. I had the day's special, grilled pork chop, which was fabulous. The escargot is always great. We have ordered salads on several different visits which are hit or miss at best. Because the last time we were there they were good, we ordered the same ones again. This time, the frisee with poached egg was medicore, not much taste and very little bacon with it. The greens salad was awful. It was soaked in less than pedestrian salad dressing. The lettuce was warm and wilted. The radishes tasted like they had been around for a couple of days. Our first serving of bread was delicious but the next serving was like hard tack. Our server was wonderful. Actually, all the servers and staff at this restaurant our five star. We will go back. We just won't order the salads.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Wonderful brasserie very good food and service, feels like Paris

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always a wonderful meal. Great atmosphere, impeccable service, well executed menu. We'll be back!

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I LOVE A'Vert! Especially when we used to be served by Will. The food is always superb, but the service has been less personal and amiable of late. It used to be that I'd tell people it was the place to get foie gras without worrying whether you knew HOW to say foie gras!! Still a special place to go though. Still my favorite French restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was excellent. The server was knowledgeable and prompt with being obsequious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Lovely. We had a great meal to celebrate our birthdays.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Our dinner last Monday was excellent. When you first opened you had veal sweetbreads on the menu but no longer. I asked our waiter about this and he said there was not much demand for this dish and it was removed. I understand that most people have never heard of riz de veau. Could you not offer it occasionally like once a week?

Philip Reynolds

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Went here for Brunch. If you have a reservation, you will get seated promptly. Food is great. Good selection of cocktails and Wine. Courteous staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My friend and I split the hanger steak and the duck breast and both were fantastic. I loved the decor and the place was noisy but I could hear my friend sitting across from the table so it wasn't an issue. I didn't not like our server but it wasn't that the service was poor. He just wasn't very friendly or happy. When I asked him to bring us two plates so we could share our dessert, he said he would bring a spoon. I told him that is not what I asked for and to bring two plates. Why would he argue with the customer? Strange.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was terrific and wine pairings were great. We felt like we were back in a Paris bistro. Service was the best we have had in a long time!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

All good, just noisey. Great scallops, steak and frites to die for.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food was excellent, as always. My wife really appreciates the coffee ( important to her). Service was pleasant and professional. The only negative, and I can hardly blame

the restaurant for this, was the fact that the restaurant was extremely crowded and noisy, making conversation difficult.
A'vert is a rarity in the Hartford area – a French restaurant, and a very good one at that.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great food but lower score because noise level is awful. Couldn't hear my dining partner so had to practically yell, which only added to the noise.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Good food friendly good service.
Problem is too loud!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Good food, service, atmosphere. Very hospitable: We stayed til we were finished chatting with no pressure.
One of our meals was undercooked; not only did they redo it, but the manager came out and apologized, and the chef did also. They made it all okay, and did so without making a big deal out of it. We all felt that our presence was appreciated, and that they really care about their food, i.e. that it's important to them and they want to get it right. I'd go back in a second.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We went for my fiance's birthday dinner and everything was fantastic! The food was amazing! The wine selection was great! I can't wait to come back!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

One of our favorite date night restaurants. Excellent food, we so happened to be there for half off bottles on wine so we indulged in a Textbook Cab to go with our meal. You will never be disappointed here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything was delicious with the exception of a bad oyster for my appetizer, but the manager apologized several times and removed it from the bill. From the French martini and escargot to the molten chocolate cake and glass of prosecco, this was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything was excellent except for the noodles and duck confit which was average

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had a delightful lunch. Excellent menu. Waitress fabulous & did not rush us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

When I entered the restaurant on Friday night just before 6:00 pm, I was nearly blasted out the door by the noise level. We were seated in a booth in the back which I thought would be a little quieter, but it remained loud until close to 8 when I guess when the happy hour crowd left. Food was delicious but there was not a lot. Glad we had gotten apps otherwise would have left hungry. Server was attentive and apologized for the noise though we could barely hear him! Would go back if you improve the noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our server was fantastic, the food was fantastic, only thing was the restaurant was really loud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went for the Valentine's Day pre-fix. We both have to say it was the best overall meal we have had there. good selection, great quality, good value and great service!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food, though the Beef Wellington did not seem to have engaged the full energy of the kitchen. Wine (Guigal Cotes du Rhone) was pricey but worth every penny. Music, sometimes obtrusive at Avert, was toned down on this evening. Service, by Douglas, was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Incredible food. Expensive night. But well worth the experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My wife & I had lunch there yesterday, after we had to cancel a dinner reservation for the previous evening due to snow. Fantastic food: croque monsieur, beet salad, mushroom soup. Nice tap selection, welcoming service. We'll definitely be back, this time for dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Relaxing brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

All around great time. Good buzz in the place. Very french bistro like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Fish was very good. Perfectly cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We went for a birthday lunch! We had been there before for such an occasion and had a great time! This time it was just as good. We had short ribs which were wonderful. We also had seavscallops which were fabulous! It was a Monday so wine was half-price for a bottle. We tried a new Cabernet for us which was Annabela from Northern California. It was quite a treat. We each had one glass and took the rest of the bottle home. Our server, Nora, was an excellent server. We enjoyed her so much that we will ask her next time we're back; and we will be returning. We highly recommend this restaurant to you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Overall very good. The noise level was too loud to enjoy good conversation though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Awesome food as always...

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We stopped here on our way to Northern Connecticut. It was a great find. Reminiscent of popular French bistros, the decor was spot on.....black and white tile floors, bistro tables and a menu with both French and American offerings. It is a bit snug on the seating, but the food made up for it. My husband and I both had scallops which were delicious, and their wine special, a blend of grapes, which was surprisingly good. Service was attentive and timely. Totally enjoyed it!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Hands down the best restaurant in WeHa. Everything was delicious. I would recommend to everyone!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Always an excellent meal. We love the apps! Very nice atmosphere!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.