Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.67mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.67mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About A'vert Brasserie

Conveniently located in vibrant West Hartford Center, step into Avert and be whisked away to the brasseries and outdoor cafes lining the cobblestone streets of Lyon and Paris. The indulgence of traditional French comfort food is balanced by a modern, clean interpretation and an uncompromising devotion to the highest quality and locally-sourced ingredients. Avert is classic yet creative; inspired yet approachable. Experience old world European charm with a modern flair in a casual, relaxed environment.

35 A LaSalle Rd
West Hartford, CT 06107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm -10:00pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Dinner: Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(860) 904-6240

Website:
http://www.avertbrasserie.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Damboise

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

A'vert Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (26)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
See All
Authentic (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Romantic (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Casual (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Fun (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Cozy (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Business Meals (9)
People Watching (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Healthy (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort by
S
418 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Doesn't apply. Avert is always excellent, like all of Dorjans restaurants. If France is a culinary capital, avert is a sign pointing to the way. A GOOD SIGN.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

This traditional French bistro gets an "almost great" rating from both of us. Our server was very nice but seemed a bit disheveled and just this side of in the weeds. They had wonderful half price wine by the bottle (up to $70 bottles) which was a lovely surprise. The escargot were good, but the mussels in a white wine and Dijon sauce were wonderful! The short run beef bougignon was exclent, the half chicken less so. The atmosphere was lovely, classically French and predictably tight and a bit cramped.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was pretty subpar honestly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2017

French toast portion was huge. Ordered special soup, butternut squash. Too salty. They gladly offered an exchange and did not charge for it.

Service was very attentive.

A larger party near us was very noisy. Making conversation difficult

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2017

I had a birthday celebration at Avert with my husband, son and girlfriend. We were greeted but the hostess and seated immediately in a booth. The waitress had excellent knowledge of the menu and was very helpful in accommodating my GF/DF restrictions. The food was delicious and the timing of our courses was perfect. Despite the very large and loud celebratory party adjacent to us we enjoyed our evening. They did not have a gluten free/dairy free choice for dessert so they allowed me to bring in my own. They do charge a $2 plating fee per person but waived it because I had just an individual dessert. I have been once before and will go back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Second trip there. First was awesome. This was w my wife and kids. Party of 10 next to us so loud and f words.
Beef was great. Squash was not. Fries were burned. The noise level was really unpleasant for the cost of that trip.
I respectfully would not come again. I feel bad bc it was my wife’s birthday. Waiter was great. Appreciated his tolerance of the noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

I've been to Avert a few times now and absolutely love it. It's one of my fiance and my favorite spots for date night and it's a great place to meet up with friends. It's quiet, the food is fantastic and they are never rushing you out the door.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2017

"energetic" is not a good description of the noise level. "Noisy" is much better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 31, 2017

The food was delicious and beautifully plated. The service was perhaps the best I have ever had....except for my prior visits to Avert. A reliably wonderful place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2017

My only complaint is that it was so noisy we had a hard time talking and I found it exhausting .The food was wonderful and I especially appreciated our waiter who brought me peanut butter because I had the hiccups .

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Excellent food as always! Love the foie gras and charcuterie especially! Your crime brûlée is amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2017

We had out of town guests. They lved the food as did we. Wonderful service, a little loud but very comfortable and cozy in the back booth.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Organic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Great experience, the waiter, Chris L, was the Best of the Best - we really appreciated his fine service and friendly carriage. Food was as good as it gets.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

We love to meet friends for Sunday brunch. This past Sunday the restaurant was very crowded, but we seemed to have beaten the crowd when we were seated. Although our wait person was polite and seemingly attentive, our food took a very long time coming out of the kitchen. When it finally arrived, it was outstanding, as usual.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Our waiter and the kitchen staff prepared the meal perfectly - my diet is vegan and gluten free which often is a problem- not here! Highly recommend this French-inspired not-stuffy environment with fabulous staff and delicious well developed menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

Avert was amazing from start to finish. Table was tiny, but gave the ambiance of a cafe, food was spectacular, and our server (Mario) was helpful, attentive and entertaining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2017

It was great! Kyle, who told us he is usually a bartender, was our server that day! He was just wonderful! I have recently begun eating vegan. Although there was nothing on the menu labeled as such, I talked to Kyle about having the three vegetable sides put together as an entrée. He thought it would be a good combination and the Meal that was presented was beautiful to look at and was just delicious! It consisted of steamed Swiss chard, sautéed mushroons and a sautéed vegetable medley. The 3 people with me all thought it was fabulously presented and said they would definitely get that AND they are NOT Vegan! So YUMMY! The other 3 liked their individual meals very much (1. scallops, 2. Shrimp omelette, 3. butternut bisque and salad) We all said we would definitely come back!!!! We highly recommend this restaurant to you all!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Food was fantastic. Had a great time. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Went for restaurant week. Had the 30.17 meal and also items from regular menu. Service was great! Appetizers and soups great! The entrees and selection of entrees was poor the desserts were great. I had coq su vin which was dry and lacked sauce and was bone in. It was ok. Au gratin potatos ok. Partner had the duck which was superb for duck. The pate was eh. There were only like 5 entrees on the regular menu. The creme brûlée and the pot du chocolate was fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Service was pleasant and friendly, but very slow. Food OK. It felt like we were having dinner at Epcot. Nice place, pleasant service, but otherwise just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Beautiful food, delicious food and perfect ambiance.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Decided to try this French style bistro for a midweek dinner out. It was busy with a few large groups when we arrived so a bit noisy. The tables for two were sort of squeezed in it seemed. But once the groups left we could chat and really settle in for a delightful meal. Menu choices very good, i had salad and mussels...delicious. My husband had the escargots which is a treat. Service was good. French maid cocktail delicious. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Fabulous service, food and ambiance. Will definitely be back. Absolutely loved it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Perfect place for a Sunday night date. We showed up 2 hours before our reservation, were greeted graciously and seated outside. The service was attentive but not at all pretentious, the
food was outstanding, the entire experience was comfortable. I would go back again in a minute.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great spot for a friend get together! Everything we had was absolutely delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

As usual, Avert does not disappoint. It has been the favorite place for my wife and I to have a special night out for several years. Our server, Alexandria, was terrific as usual, and she always does a great job. The food is great, the wines are excellent, and it is still a great value!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great! Food was delicious, service was great, but a tiny bit too attentive at times. Such a nice place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2017

We come to A’vert as often as we can. It’s as if we were in a neighborhood bistro in Paris. And with a dearth of French restaurants outside of the Gold Coast, and in spite of I-84 traffic, it’s absolutely worth it. The food is traditionally bistro, locally sourced, superbly prepared and presented. The service staff is friendly and helpful, all adding up to a delightful dining experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Loved everything about this restaurant. Food, service, ambiance, simply everything as I said.
Wish I lived closer would love to make this restaurant a regular but will definitely be back.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The food was excellent! The staff was extremely accomadating. We loved the pike quenelles, the snails were yummy and the tartar is a “must order”! The entree steaks were perfectly cooked

We will return to try more delicious things on the menu. Thank you for a delightful evening.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

A consistently good, casual yet sophisticated place in a great location in West Hartford. We often go for brunch on Sunday. Uncomplicated, high-quality food and service.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

The dining experience was great. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very good food, service was great, but the noise from the bar area was overwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food was fabulous - looking forward to going back again soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

As native French speakers, we appreciated the opportunity to have some nice conversations in French with our waiter Georges. The chef was willing to modify items on the menu to our taste and expectations. Great authentic French dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2017

My colleagues and I just discovered A'vert Brasserie about a year ago (it's been around for 4 years) and it has become one of our favorites in West Hartford. The filet mignon and bearnaise sauce is probably the best I've EVER had (and I'm over 50 and love a good filet so I've had A LOT at some very fine places). The wine selection is quite extensive and very nice. The servers are friendly and knowledgeable. People in our party ordered the duck breast and scallops and all of the dishes were extremely well made and delicious. Thank you for being in West Hartford! I would highly recommend this restaurant if you want an excellent, well-priced meal.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Noisy. A $25.00 glass of wine poured out of a cruet into a regular red wine glass and never showed the bottle where the wine came from. Onion soup crock is smaller than what it used to be. A time before I had to wait well over 30 minutes before I was acknowledged. Feels we are cutting corner affecting the quality the restaurant used to have. I will give it a third try. If not improved it will be my last time there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent service, food is well prepared, onion soup is delicious. A bit noisy but that's because it's an open kitchen. We arrived 10 minutes prior to our reservation and were seated immediately. Arrive early to find parking on Saturdays.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Very disappointing. My friend and I arrived a bit early for our 8:30 pm reservation to celebrate her birthday. We were seated promptly, and 5 minutes later ordered still water from a server, from Albania, with whom we had a pleasant chat. He was new to me. I have enjoyed excellent meals at A'Vert on many occasions over the last few years, which is why I selected this restaurant to celebrate a special occasion with a friend when she stopped in to visit on her way from Manhattan to Boston. We waited 15 minutes for our water. The server agreed that the $36 bottle of wine we ordered must have been poorly corked, as it had gone to vinegar - an assessment he concurred with. It was another 15 minutes before he returned with a new bottle, and then took our dinner order. By then, the kitchen was out of the appetizer we had ordered. Pate was substituted for the pike quenelles. A crowd of loud beer drinkers developed behind us in the dining room around a seated group. We asked the server to have the crowd moved to the bar area. Instead, he moved our seats to the back of the restaurant. Our water glasses ran dry on several occasions. Dinner came after another lengthy wait, and chicken arrived rather than the lamb chops we had ordered. Asked how that happened, the server replied that he was confused. We waited another 30 minutes for the delicious lamb. The potatoes were very salty. Desert came, and while I was eating it, the server began to remove my plate. I had to pointedly asked him to move away. Meanwhile, the entire time we sat in the rear of the restaurant, wait staff repeatedly ducked to the back of the kitchen area as a group. They were giddy, and I wondered what they were up to back there. This was an expensive embarassment for me, and disturbing to my guest.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.