About A'vert Brasserie

35 A LaSalle Rd
West Hartford, CT 06107
View Larger Map

Conveniently located in vibrant West Hartford Center, step into Avert and be whisked away to the brasseries and outdoor cafes lining the cobblestone streets of Lyon and Paris. The indulgence of traditional French comfort food is balanced by a modern, clean interpretation and an uncompromising devotion to the highest quality and locally-sourced ingredients. Avert is classic yet creative; inspired yet approachable. Experience old world European charm with a modern flair in a casual, relaxed environment.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm -10:00pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Dinner: Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(860) 904-6240

Website:
http://www.avertbrasserie.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Damboise

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

A'vert Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Romantic (15)
Authentic (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Casual (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Cozy (9)
Fun (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
People Watching (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of our favorite date night restauran ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

One of our favorite date night restaurants. Excellent food, we so happened to be there for half off bottles on wine so we indulged in a Textbook Cab to go with our meal. You will never be disappointed here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a delightful lunch. Excellent menu. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a delightful lunch. Excellent menu. Waitress fabulous & did not rush us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When I entered the restaurant on Friday ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

When I entered the restaurant on Friday night just before 6:00 pm, I was nearly blasted out the door by the noise level. We were seated in a booth in the back which I thought would be a little quieter, but it remained loud until close to 8 when I guess when the happy hour crowd left. Food was delicious but there was not a lot. Glad we had gotten apps otherwise would have left hungry. Server was attentive and apologized for the noise though we could barely hear him! Would go back if you improve the noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Our server was fantastic, the food was f ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Our server was fantastic, the food was fantastic, only thing was the restaurant was really loud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for the Valentine's Day pre-fix. We ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Went for the Valentine's Day pre-fix. We both have to say it was the best overall meal we have had there. good selection, great quality, good value and great service!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, though the Beef Wellingt ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food, though the Beef Wellington did not seem to have engaged the full energy of the kitchen. Wine (Guigal Cotes du Rhone) was pricey but worth every penny. Music, sometimes obtrusive at Avert, was toned down on this evening. Service, by Douglas, was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Incredible food. Expensive night. But we ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Incredible food. Expensive night. But well worth the experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife & I had lunch there yesterday, a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My wife & I had lunch there yesterday, after we had to cancel a dinner reservation for the previous evening due to snow. Fantastic food: croque monsieur, beet salad, mushroom soup. Nice tap selection, welcoming service. We'll definitely be back, this time for dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Relaxing brunch

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Relaxing brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was too salty.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

All around great time. Good buzz in the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

All around great time. Good buzz in the place. Very french bistro like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fish was very good. Perfectly cooked.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Fish was very good. Perfectly cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We went for a birthday lunch! We had bee ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We went for a birthday lunch! We had been there before for such an occasion and had a great time! This time it was just as good. We had short ribs which were wonderful. We also had seavscallops which were fabulous! It was a Monday so wine was half-price for a bottle. We tried a new Cabernet for us which was Annabela from Northern California. It was quite a treat. We each had one glass and took the rest of the bottle home. Our server, Nora, was an excellent server. We enjoyed her so much that we will ask her next time we're back; and we will be returning. We highly recommend this restaurant to you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall very good. The noise level was ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Overall very good. The noise level was too loud to enjoy good conversation though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Awesome food as always...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Awesome food as always...

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stopped here on our way to Northern C ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We stopped here on our way to Northern Connecticut. It was a great find. Reminiscent of popular French bistros, the decor was spot on.....black and white tile floors, bistro tables and a menu with both French and American offerings. It is a bit snug on the seating, but the food made up for it. My husband and I both had scallops which were delicious, and their wine special, a blend of grapes, which was surprisingly good. Service was attentive and timely. Totally enjoyed it!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and drinks

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hands down the best restaurant in WeHa. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Hands down the best restaurant in WeHa. Everything was delicious. I would recommend to everyone!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an excellent meal. We love the ap ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Always an excellent meal. We love the apps! Very nice atmosphere!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

After returning from a trip to Paris, I ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 19, 2017

After returning from a trip to Paris, I find myself craving an occasional croque Monsieur. Avert makes a good one!

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is fast becoming a favorite restaur ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This is fast becoming a favorite restaurant of ours!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seated within 15 -20 minutes of reservat ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Seated within 15 -20 minutes of reservation. Server Patrick was attentive and mastered all the specials without hesitation. Food was was served timely and delicious.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I and another couple had din ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My wife and I and another couple had dinner at A'vert Brasserie. The food and service was tremendous. A road bump to the evening was that we had a set a reservation at 6:45 but we were not seated until 7:30. The wait staff acknowledged the issue and we were given a free round of drinks. My only real complaint was the noise level. It is very loud in A'vert and it was difficult to hear. Overall though I would definitely return...just plan on having a drink at the bar. A'vert is a small restaurant and tables don't always turn over as planned.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

My friend and I visited Avert for lunch ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

My friend and I visited Avert for lunch this week. The food was wonderful and the service made me feel as if I was a celebrity in a 5 star restaurant. We had a small issue with our wine and the manager actually came over, replaced the wine, and took it off our bill.

Overall, loved it. Can't wait to go back.

Only comment to consider, seating for two is very close to the next couple, which can make conversation difficult. There are so,e quieter seating areas, however

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Authentic, , Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had 3 diners, including a French woma ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We had 3 diners, including a French woman . Everyone was very pleased with all their dishes, including salads, appetizers and entrees. We will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was moderate to good. For a f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Everything was moderate to good. For a first time visitor, it struck me as a place where people with lots of disposable income can impress other people with lots of disposable income.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service - good selection ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great food and service - good selection of wines and entrees

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent in every way, as was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was excellent in every way, as was the wine we had; service was attentive except waiter forgot to offer and bring pepper for salad, and checked back only at the end of that course; if one sits too close to the door, it can be drafty on a cold night; noise level was quite high, though in a positive way, but certainly not a quiet restaurant. We would definitely go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great ambience and food with fantastic s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great ambience and food with fantastic service. Really let you relax between courses and had such a great time didn't realize we were there 4 hours. Most relaxing dinner I've had in a long time...cannot wait to go back again. Definitely on my list of favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ore fix menu for New Year's Eve was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The ore fix menu for New Year's Eve was excellent! I love this restaurant!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful NYE dinner. Price Fixe NYE me ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful NYE dinner. Price Fixe NYE menu had many choices. We started with the beet salad and frog legs. have never had and have to say the dish was delicious. Beef Wellington and short-ribs were the entrees. Both were excellent. portions of both apps and entrees was generous.

Have had many nice evenings at Avert and highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dinner, great service. My only ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful dinner, great service. My only complaint was open table which told us the place was sold out and so we came earlier than we wanted and then it was half empty

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time @ Avert on my birthday and NY ...

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 31, 2016

First time @ Avert on my birthday and NYE. Love, love, loved each and every course. I was most pleasantly surprised by the duck confit appetizer (was like an entree in itself!). And, the halibut entrees we both had were cooked to absolute perfection. Can't wait to return to try escargot and bouillabaisse!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had early dinner on New Years Eve . The ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had early dinner on New Years Eve . The halibut special and the salmon were outstanding

. Service was courteous and efficient. Tables are close together. Bar area not overly loud. Nice ambiance . Nice place for a good meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I took my 8 years old out for lunch for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I took my 8 years old out for lunch for NYE celebration. We have never been to this restaurant before and I love French cuisine, so I picked the place. It is a bit cramped. A couple at the next table was literally elbow to elbow with us, but it turned out to be the greatest thing ever. They were such a charming old school couple! Somehow we ended up joining the conversation and enjoying our meal even more than I expected. The food was great. My son loved his pasta, I absolutely loved my scallops with asparagus, all 4 of them. Yep, the portions are small, very French style indeed, but delicious. My only disappointment was with our waiter. He was not exactly rude, but he could use extra training on how to treat customers the proper way.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I've dined here in the past and servers ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I've dined here in the past and servers have been extremely attentive. Our last experience did not feel this way. I felt that I had to constantly ask for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Very pleasant bistro style French restau ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Very pleasant bistro style French restaurant.

Had the scallops with a glass of Sancerre, which paired well with the scallops.

Tables are close together, but we were lucky enough to know the pair sitting beside us.

Friendly, pleasant, great French cuisine.

Love the bread.

Love the atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The mussels were terrific as usual! Also ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The mussels were terrific as usual! Also the trout was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was prompt and efficient . ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The service was prompt and efficient . The food was very good, excellent escargot and creme brûlée, but I don't recommend the bouillabaisse. The price point is good value for a French restaurant. The wine list is good but not outstanding. It is good enough that I plan to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This restaurant has reliably good food a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This restaurant has reliably good food and service.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.