About A'vert Brasserie

35 A LaSalle Rd
West Hartford, CT 06107
View Larger Map

Conveniently located in vibrant West Hartford Center, step into Avert and be whisked away to the brasseries and outdoor cafes lining the cobblestone streets of Lyon and Paris. The indulgence of traditional French comfort food is balanced by a modern, clean interpretation and an uncompromising devotion to the highest quality and locally-sourced ingredients. Avert is classic yet creative; inspired yet approachable. Experience old world European charm with a modern flair in a casual, relaxed environment.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm -10:00pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Dinner: Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(860) 904-6240

Website:
http://www.avertbrasserie.com/

Executive Chef:
David Borselle

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

A'vert Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Connecticut
Best Restaurants in Hartford / West Hartford ›

Fit for Foodies (32)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Romantic (11)
Casual (9)
Fun (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Authentic (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (5)
People Watching (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
221 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I recommend this restaurant as a first e ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

I recommend this restaurant as a first experience to French cuisine. Excellent menu choices and a casual atmosphere. Also, great service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is very good here, got the steak fr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food is very good here, got the steak frites with Bernaise sauce and the filet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall a pleasant experience. We were ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Overall a pleasant experience. We were seated near a larger group who appeared to be over served based on their volume and the fact that one person fell off his chair. It was a minor distraction. The food was good. Service fine. I ordered a second glass of wine and instead of getting the same as I ordered initially I was brought (I think) a glass that was more expensive (that's what I was charged at least) and it came when I was almost finished my meal. Thinking back I wish I said something at the time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

There seems to be a disconnect at this p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

There seems to be a disconnect at this place between the food and the ambience. Although the food was very good French inspired offerings, there were a few things that made the evening less enjoyable than we would have liked. First, there was an extremely noisy beer tasting event going on at the bar. Since half of the restaurant is a bar, it was impossible to have a conversation because of the noise level. I wish when I had made the reservation, I had known about the planned event. Secondly, although the food was very tasty and nicely presented, and our waiter was very attentive, a piece of food was left out of one of our dishes - forgotten in the oven. When the omission was pointed out, this was quickly corrected, but it still was not presented as it should have been. Apologies were given, but a free dessert or other offering would have been appropriate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Had a night out with my family for a gre ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Had a night out with my family for a great dinner. Our first time to Avent and enjoyed the food, the wait staff was attentive and helpful when making our selections. Would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was mixed this time. The Duck C ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The food was mixed this time. The Duck Confit appetizer, my past favorite, was very disappointing. The confit was soggy - not crispy as it should be, and the frisse salad was limp and not fresh. On the other hand, the butternut squash soup was outstanding and my friend was very happy with her scallops. The waiter couldn't have been nicer, too.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful food, terrible noise level. In ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful food, terrible noise level. In what is an intimate bistro setting, we had to yell across the table in order to be heard by our friends on a recent Sunday evening visit when the bar scene was exceptionally vibrant. Had we known that there was little separation between bar and restaurant, we would not have chosen this restaurant to meet friends whom we hadn't seen for a while. On the other hand, the food was nicely prepared and presented (except for the escargots, which were rubbery) and as time wore on and the bar cleared, we found our dinner was a little more relaxed. We especially appreciated the glasses of bubbly offered in recognition of both couples' wedding anniversaries.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Went for brunch yesterday for the first ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Went for brunch yesterday for the first time. I got poached eggs and my boyfriend got the waffle. We both got the breakfast potatoes. Everything we had was amazing. Even the coffee was so good. We can't wait to go back for brunch again. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious. We had a special ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was delicious. We had a special, Coq au vin which my husband loved. I had filet mignon which was delicious but a bit under cooked. The cocktail was delicious but expensive. We had the deconstructed peach Bellini. The noise level is very high so this is not the place for a quiet conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Tasty food, but limited vegetarian optio ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Tasty food, but limited vegetarian options. A nice atmosphere. Seating is tight in some areas so hope you don't end up next to a group of people who are annoying.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food, service and ambiance in a fu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great food, service and ambiance in a fun setting in wonderful West Hartford, CT. Our party of four was very happy with the four different entrees we ordered. Desserts were amazing too. Fun, classy atmosphere without being stuffy.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappointing. Always great. Wou ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Never disappointing. Always great. Would recommend it to all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating 4 birthdays and had ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We were celebrating 4 birthdays and had left that message on the reservation. However, that was not acknowledged by the host or waitperson. The waitperson could have been a bit more attentive - I had to try to catch her attention too many times.

Even at lunch it was quite noisy.

The restaurant was very chilly and we had to ask for heat.

But the food was wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

All the food was delicious. However I ex ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

All the food was delicious. However I expected tastier escargot. It is a little too loud and the tables are tight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Always delicious and a wonderful experie ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Always delicious and a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a delicious meal with very attent ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Always a delicious meal with very attentive service. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of the best restaurants in W ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in West Hartford. The food, service and ambiance is superb. It is totally reminiscent of a neighborhood French brasserie!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here a few times, and the d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We have been here a few times, and the dishes are cooked and seasoned perfectly regardless of what we have gotten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time and we couldn't have been ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our first time and we couldn't have been happier. A very charming classic French Bistro. I could have been in Paris. Looking forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were at the restaurant for Sunday bru ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We were at the restaurant for Sunday brunch. We had very enjoyable dishes. The service was excellent and they had a special on wine which made the meal quite reasonable. All four of us would return on any Sunday.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Too noisy for enjoyment even on a Tuesda ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Too noisy for enjoyment even on a Tuesday night. Been there a number of times and will never go back since it is so loud you cannot even talk with people at your table and we were often in a booth

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Business dinner with colleagues. Looked ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Business dinner with colleagues. Looked for a good place in West Hartford that none of us had been to yet! We were all completely satisfied, from the service to the delicious food. The short ribs were delicious- large portion and tasty sauce. Would definitely come back again to try some more items.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an early dinner and found the foo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had an early dinner and found the food to be excellent. I had a lam steak and my wife had sea bass. both were cooked exactly as we wanted them. The service was very good and the wine list was more than we could review. Our waiter picked an excellent wine to go with our dinner. our only issue with our evening was the noise level, with the excellent bar that they have and very high ceilings the noise level was very loud. but we were able to manage it. my hearing aide have an app that allows me to control the volume along with base and treble, I was able to adjust enough to have a good evening. we will go back again..

Tags: Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The suggested labels ("What would you re ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The suggested labels ("What would you recommend this restaurant for?") just don't describe Avert. It is lively, noisy, welcoming, with outstanding French and French-inspired dishes and impeccable and friendly service. Dishes are flavorful, well-prepared, attractively presented, and - make no mistake - rich. Duck is fall-off-the-bone tender and moist with crisp, melt-in-your-mouth skin; recent appetizer special salmon "blinis" had a lovely balance of thin-sliced cured salmon nestled on bite-size pancakes. Though options for vegetarians are limited, the primary entree, a couscous with seasonally-changing ingredients, is delicious and a lovely assortment of cheeses and other vegetable sides are also available. Portions are plentiful for a restaurant of this price and quality. We enjoy eating at Avert several times a year, and would do so much more often if we were not nearly an hour away! You can't go wrong unless you're counting calories.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Plain and simple......great restaurant a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Plain and simple......great restaurant and food! Service was friendly and knowledgeable. I will definitely recommend this restaurant to family and friends. Will be a returning customer.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The waitress was very attentive. Food c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The waitress was very attentive. Food could have been hotter. A tad expensive. But a nice West Hartford restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is always excellent and the service ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food is always excellent and the service is polite and prompt. Our waiter was attentive without hovering. My only complaint, and a very minor one at that, is that the martinis seemed somewhat smaller that my experience at comparable restaurants. They were excellent martinis though.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food never disappoints. Delicious, clas ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food never disappoints. Delicious, classic French Bistro cuisine.

Good wine list, and attentive service.

The only downside is that it is difficult to have much of a conversation because of the noise if we go at peak hours.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent meal. We received complimentar ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Excellent meal. We received complimentary glasses of champagne because we were celebrating our anniversary❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Regrettably, the change in chef is telli ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Regrettably, the change in chef is telling. Service is wonderful, but some of the classics, like French Onion soup, and escargots were truly disappointing. The mussels were very good. The Braised Short Rib Bourguignonne was not portioned well, with a huge portion of meat, missing pearl onions and overloaded with lardons A disappointing experience for what is generally a fine restaurant. Hopefully, they will turn this around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

average food; terrible service with atti ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

average food; terrible service with attitude t match. waiter never even mentioned the specials available. did not tell us that wine by the bottle was half price onSundays. took at least 10-15 minutes to clear plates and 15 mins to bring a cupo f coffee. entrée come minus any starch or veg. ( that never mentioned either). food quite ordinary for the high $. don't waste your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Food was really excellent! Service was ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was really excellent! Service was very good (although we felt a bit rushed). Ambiance - the tables are too close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

I was visiting Hartford on business, fou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 13, 2016

I was visiting Hartford on business, found Avert on OpenTable prior to my visit and made a reservation. I had a terrific steak frites meal, but noticed that the menu contained a number of other offerings that I would be happy to try should I gt back to Hartford. Service was flawless.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a solid meal. Went for mom's birt ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Always a solid meal. Went for mom's birthday. On these cooler afternoons the outside seating is nice if you can get a table. Inside can be a lil loud with the happy hour crowd (all week). Apps were good baked goat cheese, onion soup, and frisee salad were well done and tasty. For entree the bouillabaisse, roasted duck, and couscous were all cooked perfectly with great flavor. Simple and yummy is what I think of. Each ingredient shines with purpose and compliments the others. Good wine list with happy hour specials are a no brainer. Desserts were sweet and indulgent the winner were the profiteroles. One of best in area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The meal and service was wonderful. The ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The meal and service was wonderful. The chicken was delicious, and onion soup and salad great. Like a fine sidewalk bistro in Paris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I were having a date night, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2016

My wife and I were having a date night, and Avert is our favorite place to go. The food is always terrific, the wine list is really good (and it was 50% off on a bottle night), and the service is excellent. Our server, Bobby, was really good, friendly and courteous. We had a question about one of the cheeses we ordered and he and the GM, Dave, took extra care to make sure we were satisfied with our choices. I highly recommend the place, and for anyone who likes steak tartare, this is the place to go!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A slice of Paris in downtown West Hartfo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2016

A slice of Paris in downtown West Hartford with great food and service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for an early Sunday brunch -- we we ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Went for an early Sunday brunch -- we were the first ones there, but still great service and food. Love the French music!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It brings me back to our travels to Fran ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2016

It brings me back to our travels to France. It's just missing an Eiffel Tower ! The chef does outstanding authentic specials. We have yet to eat a regular menu item ! Great wine and dessert too! My only complaint is the noise level from the bar area. There was an exceptionally loud group ( one patron in particular) that sat on the other side of the partition that separates the dining and bar area which made conversation between my husband and I difficult on our last visit. Otherwise it was a perfect evening out!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Always great food and service. The burge ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Always great food and service. The burger is the best!!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.