About A'vert Brasserie

35 A LaSalle Rd
West Hartford, CT 06107
View Larger Map

Conveniently located in vibrant West Hartford Center, step into Avert and be whisked away to the brasseries and outdoor cafes lining the cobblestone streets of Lyon and Paris. The indulgence of traditional French comfort food is balanced by a modern, clean interpretation and an uncompromising devotion to the highest quality and locally-sourced ingredients. Avert is classic yet creative; inspired yet approachable. Experience old world European charm with a modern flair in a casual, relaxed environment.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm -10:00pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Dinner: Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(860) 904-6240

Website:
http://www.avertbrasserie.com/

Executive Chef:
David Borselle

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

A'vert Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (56)
special occasion (30)
neighborhood gem (29)
See All
vibrant bar scene (24)
romantic (21)
notable wine list (20)
hot spot (19)
great for lunch (15)
great for brunch (13)
great for outdoor dining (6)
good for groups (5)
late-night find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
153 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent choice for fine dining and si ...

Dined 2 days ago

Excellent choice for fine dining and simply a nice experience.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best French in Central Connecticut

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

In the land of Italian restaurants/pizzerias, this is a welcome addition. It really gives you the feel of a Paris bistro, and the menu follows. We had the charcuterie, cassoulet, papardelle, short ribs, and steak frites, and all were excellent. All desserts are excellent also.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Wasn't warned it was a buffet

Dined on May 8, 2016

I wouldn't have booked it if I'd known. Hate buffets

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice but the noise!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Nice place overall but the noise level! The acoustics are horrible -especially when it is busy. Everyone yelling at the top of their lungs to be hard over the din. That just aggravated the problem. I ws no more than 2 feet from my companion and I had no idea what she was saying at all. I saw her lips move and thats about it. Will management do something about this? I know they realize there's a problem as I've heard comments like this from others. Do something about it please!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious meal but the environment was a ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Delicious meal but the environment was a little too loud for us to enjoy fully.

food4
ambience5
service1

The food was decent and I enjoyed the me ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

The food was decent and I enjoyed the menu. The drinks are over priced and heavily, heavily iced so I found them to be a total rip off! Be wary of your check at the end because our waiter added on 4 desserts to our bill and, as a couple dining, we didn't even order 1, let alone 4!

food5
ambience5
service5

Our meals were outstanding.

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Our meals were outstanding.

food5
ambience2
service5

Food and service superb. Could be on the ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Food and service superb. Could be on the left bank of Paris. Great vibe but noise level approaches unbearable. A few ceiling noise panels would be money well spent.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A fine French find

Dined on April 28, 2016

When I get a yen for French bistro cuisine, A'vert is my first choice. While the active bar can be noisy, it's a happy vibe. The wine list offers interesting choices by the glass, as does the full list. Of course all the usual bistro fare is here: steak frites, trout almandine, cassoulet and escargot, but it's wonderful to also find the unusual but totally bistro items like sweetbreads and steak tartare. The choices in creating a cheese platter for appetizer or dessert have been carefully chosen too. The dessert menu is a bit limited in scope unless you're a chocolate fan (which I am), but were uniformly delicious. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

what a great birthday!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Our first visit and I was taking a chance because it was MY birthday and I wanted it to be special - it was. Food and service very good. Attentive waiter. Our other guests were pleased as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paris by Proxy

Dined on April 10, 2016

A Vert is like being in Paris!!!!! The food its classic , the decor is vintage brasserie . and the wine specials are great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Avert

Dined on April 10, 2016

Although the ambience is quite nice , the noise level on a Saturday night was out of control. It was impossible to hear the person sitting next to me, let alone the waiter . Loud is an understatement here!!!!!!!. We will not return for dinner that's for certain.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Ap ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Appetizers and entrees were excellent. Sorry but desserts were just OK. Overall wonderful experience.

food2
ambience1
service2

Bad experience with food and management.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Bad experience with food and management.

food3
ambience3
service5
value2

A French bistro in the neighborhood

Dined on April 8, 2016

Avert is the closest replica of a French bistro in the Hartford area. Like its French model, Avert is a bit more crowded and noisy than an American restaurant. And like many of its models, the food is good to very good. Two orders of coq a vin were good, but not exceptional, the John Dory special was very good, and the beet & roasted cauliflower cassoulet was dull (another reminder to never order a vegetarian meal at a French bistro). But unlike a true French bistro, Avert's service was friendly and engaging.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Live around the corner and can't believe ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Live around the corner and can't believe this was my first time eating at Avert. Went for brunch and had an incredible meal. Also went the night prior for drinks and the drinks and DJ were great. Will definitely be back soon!

food4
ambience3
service4

The food was delicious, the service was ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was delicious, the service was attentive but not intrusive, however, it was so loud that it was incredibly difficult to have a conversation. Would return on a night other than weekend or for lunch but not on a Friday or Saturday night!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOCAL BISTRO

Dined on March 27, 2016

GOOD FOOD, EXCELLENT SERVICE, CHARMING RESTAURANT IN WEST HARTFORD CENTER

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Disappointing

Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was actually quite disappointing. I've had much better escargot elsewhere and I actually sent the fois gras back. (FYI, I NEVER send food back!) I got pate instead -- also quite mediocre. The best thing was the pot de creme. The service was friendly, but that wouldn't be enough to get me to retun.

food2
ambience4
service4

I've been here before on a Saturday nigh ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

I've been here before on a Saturday night and the food was amazing, however, Tuesday night was a much different experience. I got the duck breast again bc it had been so good the first time. I ordered medium rare and it was very overcooked. The skin was dry, not crispy. The food was so disappointing this time around! Tables are small but service is great and drinks are good too!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, good service.

Dined on March 18, 2016

The beet couscous was very flavorful and the pear w/endive salad was plentiful. The Bordeaux was one of the best I've had.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Healthy, flavorful eatery

Dined on March 15, 2016

I ordered the swordfish special and asked them to accommodate my salt and fat restrictive diet. The swordfish was fresh and full of flavor without adding all the unnecessary fats and oils. It was overall outstanding!! I am looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good (casual) French cuisine

Dined on March 13, 2016

A group of 4 of us ate at A'vert on a Sunday evening for dinner. It was overall very enjoyable. Sunday night is 1/2-price on wine, so we all drank a nice bottle of Pouilly Fume. Bread was served to start, fresh French bread with crisp crust, and butter. We all had the A'vert salad, which was outstanding. Nothing too exotic, greens plus fennel, asparagus and a nice vinaigrette. Among us we had 4 different entrees: coq au vin, couscous, steak au poivre and striped bass. All were very good. Service was good, and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4

Excellent brunch for my wife's birthday. ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Excellent brunch for my wife's birthday. A'vert is one of her favorite places. Only issue I had was that I requested a nice table for her birthday and we were given the table adjacent to the entrance. It was a tiny table. It was cold outside and every time the door opens a nice freezing breeze would make kit very uncomfortable. I asked the someone if they had a solution, but they said no. I think a simple clip could have done it. Only issue we had.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great French Brasserie

Dined on March 6, 2016

This brasserie in West Hartford Center is worth a visit if you can't travel to Paris. The bar/restaurant was very crowded on Saturday night so it took about 20 minutes to be seated. We ordered a very French meal and it was wonderful. Cocktails to start were strong & creative - most included chartreuse (though did not say if green or yellow) The escargot were perfect - as good as any we've eaten anywhere in France. The entrees (sweetbreads and steak frites) were delicious. The cheese course was the perfect completion to our meal. The only course that wasn't perfect was the salad. We ordered the frisee salad with lardons & egg - the egg was fried hard sunny side up - it should have been poached with a very runny yolk - you're supposed to break the egg up so it blends with the salad dressing. Conversely, the lardons were undercooked - limp bacon chunks are not great. Service was attentive but not overbearing. Definitely worth a visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent mussels appetizer. Very fresh ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Excellent mussels appetizer. Very fresh mussels, not 'over done with garlic' like some restaurants. Seared scallops perfectly prepared with a light cream sauce. Again, not heavily creamed sauce like some places.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food - great selection of French w ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

Great food - great selection of French wine - can't miss with most, if not, all selections

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Doran Rocks It.

Dined on February 25, 2016

Every bite of everything is perfect french. Cassoulet is like a trip to Gascony. They can't help the noise; people talk loud. On our visit in 2/23 a man was dying from choking. 3 tries with the old helmlich and he was ok, but it added to the noise. A lovely place!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent from start to finish

Dined on February 20, 2016

From the moment we were greeted by the hostess, our evening was as good as could be...foie gras app and pike quenelles were excellent, cassoulet was an excellent interpretation and short rib bourginon was spot on, server was excellent...well staffed and attentive, managers were clearly visible and working the floor...delicious and professional, thank you

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Incredible flavors

Dined on February 16, 2016

They have nailed it with he flavors in every dish I have gotten here. To me they are up there with Millwright's or Mill at 2t, while being a little less expensive. The service could've been slightly more attentive, but not bad, and they were certainly friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT NIGHT AT A'VERT

Dined on February 14, 2016

With the winds howling and the wind chill a frosty -40 degrees, we braved the elements to dine at A'vert. The warmth and enthusiasm of the staff made the outdoors a distant memory. We arrived early and went to the bar to await our table. Great list of cocktails and interesting draft beer. The bartender could not have been more engaging. He took time to describe the various cocktails and offer some suggestions to suit our taste. We were having such an enjoyable time that we were in no rush to be seated. Once seated, we tried to narrow down our dinner choices since ordering one of everything might have been a little over the top. But we did take advantage of the cheese and meat board ordering all of the 8 choices. At $24.00, it was a great value. Steaks were cooked perfectly, salads were fresh and tasty, and save room for dessert. In fact, the entire meal and wine were a great value. New York City quality, vibe, and menu for less than half the price. Can't wait to go back to my new favorite restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ooh la la

Dined on February 7, 2016

I've been here a few times, and I MUST order the goat cheese truffle honey croton each time. All entrees have been delicious as well!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4

Loooove it here! The food was amazing an ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Loooove it here! The food was amazing and love the atmosphere!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just terrific

Dined on February 6, 2016

First time eating here and all four of us in our party loved it! Every course was wonderful. Have been talking about it to everyone I talk to. Will be back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great authentic french "bistro."

Dined on February 6, 2016

This is a great find in West Hartford Center. Authentic french food with great service and a great menu of choices. It is one of my favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb!

Dined on January 29, 2016

From the moment we walked through the front door curtain and greetly warmly by the hostess, we were hooked. Happy hour was great & dinner even better. Will definitely return & recommend to friends. Can't wait!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Happy Birthday Celebration Place!

vip
Dined on January 20, 2016

I took my best friend here for her birthday! We had a great time. Her daughters had requested Champagne and a Cheese Tasting Platter for us which was a SURPRISE and both were wonderful! We each ordered and ate a seafood dish. The Cod with citrus buerre blanc sauce was so delicious. I had the Scallop Dish which disappointed me. Not that it wasn't good, BUT it didn't hold a candle to the previous preparation that A'vert had for this scallop dish. The prior version was so yummy that I told EVERYONE to get it. Although this preparation is tasty, I will not recommend this version to anyone. I would like A'vert to return to the previous preparation which was THE BEST Scallop Dish I have ever had. STILL, I LOVE this restaurant and recommend it highly to people that have not tried it yet....DO TRY IT.... just get the cod and not the scallops! :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Birthday Dinner

Dined on January 17, 2016

Second year in a row for birthday celebration for my partner and her twin sister. Great night out with wonderful food. Sunday night was 1/2 price wine by the bottle and we had a wonderful Rose'. Highly recommend this place !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I love A'vert

Dined on January 16, 2016

I had a wonderful meal at A'vert. The staff is always so kind and answer any questions. The food is godly! The only qualm was our table was squeezed in this tiny corner right next the the door and the draft was freezing! I have however eaten there before and all the other spots are delightful. Luck of the draw I suppose!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great table for two in the front windo ...

vip
Dined on January 15, 2016

A great table for two in the front window. Separated from the bar, so noise wasn't an issue. Our server did the best she could on a very busy night. But, go for the food. It's terrific and unique. The quenelle was fabulous and not something you can often find. Lobster sauce and crawfish? What's not to love. Frisee salad was more than enough and was well dressed with bacon/lardon and a fried egg. The cod fish was perfectly cooked and not often served with chorizo. I felt like I could have been back in New Bedford with my Portuguese friends. Well done on all accounts.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.