About A'vert Brasserie

35 A LaSalle Rd
West Hartford, CT 06107
View Larger Map

Conveniently located in vibrant West Hartford Center, step into Avert and be whisked away to the brasseries and outdoor cafes lining the cobblestone streets of Lyon and Paris. The indulgence of traditional French comfort food is balanced by a modern, clean interpretation and an uncompromising devotion to the highest quality and locally-sourced ingredients. Avert is classic yet creative; inspired yet approachable. Experience old world European charm with a modern flair in a casual, relaxed environment.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm -10:00pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Dinner: Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(860) 904-6240

Website:
http://www.avertbrasserie.com/

Executive Chef:
David Borselle

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

A'vert Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (41)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Romantic (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Hot Spot (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Scenic View (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Casual (3)
Authentic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fun (2)
Business Meals (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Cozy (1)
Healthy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Regrettably, the change in chef is telli ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Regrettably, the change in chef is telling. Service is wonderful, but some of the classics, like French Onion soup, and escargots were truly disappointing. The mussels were very good. The Braised Short Rib Bourguignonne was not portioned well, with a huge portion of meat, missing pearl onions and overloaded with lardons A disappointing experience for what is generally a fine restaurant. Hopefully, they will turn this around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

average food; terrible service with atti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

average food; terrible service with attitude t match. waiter never even mentioned the specials available. did not tell us that wine by the bottle was half price onSundays. took at least 10-15 minutes to clear plates and 15 mins to bring a cupo f coffee. entrée come minus any starch or veg. ( that never mentioned either). food quite ordinary for the high $. don't waste your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Food was really excellent! Service was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was really excellent! Service was very good (although we felt a bit rushed). Ambiance - the tables are too close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

I was visiting Hartford on business, fou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I was visiting Hartford on business, found Avert on OpenTable prior to my visit and made a reservation. I had a terrific steak frites meal, but noticed that the menu contained a number of other offerings that I would be happy to try should I gt back to Hartford. Service was flawless.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a solid meal. Went for mom's birt ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Always a solid meal. Went for mom's birthday. On these cooler afternoons the outside seating is nice if you can get a table. Inside can be a lil loud with the happy hour crowd (all week). Apps were good baked goat cheese, onion soup, and frisee salad were well done and tasty. For entree the bouillabaisse, roasted duck, and couscous were all cooked perfectly with great flavor. Simple and yummy is what I think of. Each ingredient shines with purpose and compliments the others. Good wine list with happy hour specials are a no brainer. Desserts were sweet and indulgent the winner were the profiteroles. One of best in area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The meal and service was wonderful. The ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The meal and service was wonderful. The chicken was delicious, and onion soup and salad great. Like a fine sidewalk bistro in Paris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I were having a date night, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

My wife and I were having a date night, and Avert is our favorite place to go. The food is always terrific, the wine list is really good (and it was 50% off on a bottle night), and the service is excellent. Our server, Bobby, was really good, friendly and courteous. We had a question about one of the cheeses we ordered and he and the GM, Dave, took extra care to make sure we were satisfied with our choices. I highly recommend the place, and for anyone who likes steak tartare, this is the place to go!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A slice of Paris in downtown West Hartfo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

A slice of Paris in downtown West Hartford with great food and service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for an early Sunday brunch -- we we ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Went for an early Sunday brunch -- we were the first ones there, but still great service and food. Love the French music!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It brings me back to our travels to Fran ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

It brings me back to our travels to France. It's just missing an Eiffel Tower ! The chef does outstanding authentic specials. We have yet to eat a regular menu item ! Great wine and dessert too! My only complaint is the noise level from the bar area. There was an exceptionally loud group ( one patron in particular) that sat on the other side of the partition that separates the dining and bar area which made conversation between my husband and I difficult on our last visit. Otherwise it was a perfect evening out!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Always great food and service. The burge ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Always great food and service. The burger is the best!!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, outstanding waitress. On ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Fantastic food, outstanding waitress. Only negative - too noisy, hard to have a conversation at the table without sitting right next to my friend. But overall, wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Authentically decorated French Bistro re ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Authentically decorated French Bistro restaurant with excellent cuisine and selection. The country pate and duck confit were especially good. Friendly service and pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good happy hour- lovely escargot and win ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good happy hour- lovely escargot and wines St good prices. Dinners were duck and also a scallop dish. Both unique and delicious. Inside was a bit loud. We ate outside on their front patio, quite nice. Made us think of a recent trip to France. My only comment is that it would be a more of an authentic Parisian bistro if the seats on the outside patio were lined up next to each other oriented with a view to the street scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good menu, great selection of Wines. Sta ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good menu, great selection of Wines. Staff is polite and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was delightful, the service exc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was delightful, the service excellent. The only minor blemish on the experience was that there was a noisy cocktail party of 40 people while we were there. Not anyone's fault! (And they all seemed to be having a great time!) Next time I will check ahead of time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Had a wonderful meal at A'vert. Our wait ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Had a wonderful meal at A'vert. Our waiter was attentive and made every effort to please. Unfortunately the noise level from the bar was so loud that it made conversation difficult (we were seated at the last booth at the back of the restaurant.) This was a good bye dinner for a dear friend and had I known it was going to be so loud, I would not have chosen this restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Overall the staff at Avert were very att ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Overall the staff at Avert were very attentive and helpful. We really enjoyed our appetizers of raw oysters and goat cheese. The steak was excellent but the fish special was just ok. Very good deserts.

Overall we had a nice time but the restaurant is a bit expensive and we would probably only go on a special occasion. The general attitude of those who have gone here that I know is that the restaurateur's other place, Treva, is superior.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The food here never fails! The atmospher ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food here never fails! The atmosphere is quaint, but the temperature tends to be a bit chilly inside. The Sunday brunch is delicious and very reasonably priced. I would highly recommend the French pressed coffee, French toast, and the shrimp omelette!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Avert offered a lively scene with the ba ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Avert offered a lively scene with the bar area happy hour finishing at 7:00 PM. The noise level made it very difficult to carry on a conversation. The meal was good but not great. The roast chicken was the best entree. The creme brulee desert was also a star.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great start, we got the window table we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great start, we got the window table we requested in the reservation. This provided a street view and reduced the noise level from around the bar and center of the restaurant and we were able to converse without too much volume. Would suggest sound absorbent materials - perhaps tablecloths and wall hangings. The food and service were both excellent. We always have a great experience here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Superb! Excellent craft cocktails compl ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Superb! Excellent craft cocktails complemented the world class tatar. It was a revelation-better than any I have eaten in Paris. Salads were subtle but try the truffle vinaigrette. Entrees made our taste buds pop, especially the sweetbreads and blood sausage. The Sancere selection perfectly complemented the dinner. Service was spot on. It was a a delightful evening. Merci beaucoup

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I find this Restuarant to be hit or miss ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I find this Restuarant to be hit or miss

I have had very good meals and not so

Recently visited and ordered scallops

I was disappointed with the scallop dish

The scallops were very small and actually inconsistent sizes with 4 out of 7 smaller than a nickel

Service was rushing us which is never good

The overall presentation and flavors was also not impressive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The food and service were excellent. Def ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food and service were excellent. Definitely will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Lovely French restaurant in West Hartfor ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Lovely French restaurant in West Hartford Center. French bistro decor, consistent with their menu. Excellent service compliments the superb food! Only criticism is the noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The service was great, including hostess ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The service was great, including hostess, inside server and outside server. The food has been wonderful in the past. Unfortunately this time everything we had was just ok. Maybe it was the Chef's night off it was Thursday.

We had duck and beef sandwich, onion soup, duck liver, mussels, seafood soup.

The rose wine was great as was the bread, we felt like we were in Paris again.

We will give it another try.

Sometimes the kitchen has a bad day🙁

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

There were 6 of us and we all enjoyed ou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

There were 6 of us and we all enjoyed our meals. Service was very good and the appearance of the restaurant is appealing. Only improvement - music was so loud we had to shout to hear each other across the table.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fresh, well-prepared food with a French ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fresh, well-prepared food with a French flare. Mac and cheese was delicious. Great cocktails and nice wine list. I had a friend who needed to sit in the dining area because of a bad back, but I longed to be part of the vibrant bar scene! Happy hour specials too! Next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely incredible food! The best chi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Absolutely incredible food! The best chicken I've ever had, truly. Great oysters, and very good Filet Mignon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was delicious, service was great. N ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was delicious, service was great.

Noise level was terrible & could not have normal conversation at my table. I would consider eating there again if I were alone at the bar or if I could sit at an outside table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food in an intimate setting - defi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great food in an intimate setting - definite worth the trip

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had wonderful service and delicious f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We had wonderful service and delicious food. It was hard to make a choice so we have to come

back for another selection and happy hour also sounds like fun. The drinks and wine selection are very good. Our waiter accommodated one of our group who had a food allergy. He loved

the restaurant and felt it was a very good choice (his first time there). My lobster salad was

very flavorful. Everyone was happy with their choices. We had a late lunch and the restaurant

was very comfortable and quiet (we eat inside).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A neighborhood bistro atmosphere. Fun an ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

A neighborhood bistro atmosphere. Fun and good food. Enjoyed my steak tartare and salad. My husband had the shortribs, He would have liked a bit more of the tasty sauce. I had the duck on a previous visit which was delightful. Definitely return again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We are regulars at Avert especially happ ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We are regulars at Avert especially happy hours.

We have always enjoyed sitting at the bar, friendly staff and clientele along with great food.

This particular evening Saturday, June 11 we arrived at 6:30 and seated on time.

Unfortunately a group of young men at the bar was so loud you had to yell to be understood each other more like a beer/sports bar.

Service staff was great, good wine great appetizers but, my wife and my friends wife each had a vegetable/shrimp dish on couscous lacking flavor in the couscous they asked for a little olive oil and after two ties of more mint flavored mayo and garlic aioli they gave up.

Management did give us two desserts on the house but all in all not a comfortable dining experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Really charming place with great food. W ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Really charming place with great food. Wish there had been a bit more interaction with the waiter (suggestions, etc.) but, generally, well taken-care of. Food was delicious, and we were able to enjoy a long lovely meal without feeling rushed. Hope I get a chance to go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

great french bistro...very special place

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

great french bistro...very special place...there are so many italian and burger and pizza joints that a french bistro w/ more traditional french menu is so welcome. Steak Frites is done right and the prices aren't cheap but they aren't out of line either...not too hard to get a table and the service was great. Will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We love the mussels here and the night we were there was half price wine night so all was good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We loved A'vert. We had a quiet lunch in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We loved A'vert. We had a quiet lunch inside since it was a hot day. Our special cocktails were unusual and good. I chose the soft shell crab since the season is drawing to a close. It was delicious and came with a nice salad. French bread and butter came right away with our cocktails. The staff was very knowledgeable and pleasant. The entrées were varied and I look forward to coming back for the moules/ frites and trying another cocktail. Happy hour is every day so that is also a plus. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choice for fine dining and si ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Excellent choice for fine dining and simply a nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife asked to be taken to A'vert for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

My wife asked to be taken to A'vert for her birthday and the restaurant did not disappoint. The menu offers a broad selection of entrees, along with great appetizers and desserts. The price was at the high end for the Hartford market, but was fair when compared with the quality of the meal. The atmosphere was innovative and actually reminded us of places we had dined in Paris.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.