Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.67mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.67mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About A'vert Brasserie

Conveniently located in vibrant West Hartford Center, step into Avert and be whisked away to the brasseries and outdoor cafes lining the cobblestone streets of Lyon and Paris. The indulgence of traditional French comfort food is balanced by a modern, clean interpretation and an uncompromising devotion to the highest quality and locally-sourced ingredients. Avert is classic yet creative; inspired yet approachable. Experience old world European charm with a modern flair in a casual, relaxed environment.

35 A LaSalle Rd
West Hartford, CT 06107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm -10:00pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Dinner: Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(860) 904-6240

Website:
http://www.avertbrasserie.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Damboise

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

A'vert Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (32)
Authentic (28)
Fit for Foodies (28)
See All
Special Occasion (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Casual (16)
Romantic (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Business Meals (13)
Cozy (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
People Watching (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Fun (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Seasonal (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
383 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Very good food, service was great, but the noise from the bar area was overwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food was fabulous - looking forward to going back again soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

As native French speakers, we appreciated the opportunity to have some nice conversations in French with our waiter Georges. The chef was willing to modify items on the menu to our taste and expectations. Great authentic French dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2017

My colleagues and I just discovered A'vert Brasserie about a year ago (it's been around for 4 years) and it has become one of our favorites in West Hartford. The filet mignon and bearnaise sauce is probably the best I've EVER had (and I'm over 50 and love a good filet so I've had A LOT at some very fine places). The wine selection is quite extensive and very nice. The servers are friendly and knowledgeable. People in our party ordered the duck breast and scallops and all of the dishes were extremely well made and delicious. Thank you for being in West Hartford! I would highly recommend this restaurant if you want an excellent, well-priced meal.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Noisy. A $25.00 glass of wine poured out of a cruet into a regular red wine glass and never showed the bottle where the wine came from. Onion soup crock is smaller than what it used to be. A time before I had to wait well over 30 minutes before I was acknowledged. Feels we are cutting corner affecting the quality the restaurant used to have. I will give it a third try. If not improved it will be my last time there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Very disappointing. My friend and I arrived a bit early for our 8:30 pm reservation to celebrate her birthday. We were seated promptly, and 5 minutes later ordered still water from a server, from Albania, with whom we had a pleasant chat. He was new to me. I have enjoyed excellent meals at A'Vert on many occasions over the last few years, which is why I selected this restaurant to celebrate a special occasion with a friend when she stopped in to visit on her way from Manhattan to Boston. We waited 15 minutes for our water. The server agreed that the $36 bottle of wine we ordered must have been poorly corked, as it had gone to vinegar - an assessment he concurred with. It was another 15 minutes before he returned with a new bottle, and then took our dinner order. By then, the kitchen was out of the appetizer we had ordered. Pate was substituted for the pike quenelles. A crowd of loud beer drinkers developed behind us in the dining room around a seated group. We asked the server to have the crowd moved to the bar area. Instead, he moved our seats to the back of the restaurant. Our water glasses ran dry on several occasions. Dinner came after another lengthy wait, and chicken arrived rather than the lamb chops we had ordered. Asked how that happened, the server replied that he was confused. We waited another 30 minutes for the delicious lamb. The potatoes were very salty. Desert came, and while I was eating it, the server began to remove my plate. I had to pointedly asked him to move away. Meanwhile, the entire time we sat in the rear of the restaurant, wait staff repeatedly ducked to the back of the kitchen area as a group. They were giddy, and I wondered what they were up to back there. This was an expensive embarassment for me, and disturbing to my guest.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Took our granddaughter who is going to France to introduce her to French cuisine. Everything was perfect. Roast duck was as good as I had in Paris.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

You nice experience
Waiter very helpful and informative

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Wonderful ambiance, food and service. We will return. Georges is a very professional and friendly waiter!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great meal. Delicious salad starter with egg and pancetta- really good. Very nice and tender need bourguignon and very tasty trout almondine without a single bone.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Absolutely favorite French place!!
Food was INCREDIBLE and our service was great. Some reviews here mentioned service was not great. We had no complaints!! Our server was an absolute professional and gave us some good recommendations.
Anytime we are back in CT we will definitely be coming back!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We have visited this restaurant several times. The food has always been well prepared. The service is typically good, but the last time it was just average. They just didn't seem to come around very often and it took forever to order and leave. That may have just been our server. The menu is not very big, but a good selection whether you eat meat or are a veggie person. Sundays and Mondays half-price wines under $70 is a pretty good deal. The value to quality ratio is very good. It is, in my view, the best restaurant in West Hartford center.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Visited for my birthday dinner with family. The food was great as usual as were the cocktails. Love the ambience in this restaurant and the staff is flawless as usual. Makes you feel like you're truly in Europe!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was creatively presented, prepared just as we requested, the portions were reasonable, and the food was delicious. For starters, we shared a beet salad and we're glad that we split it as the portion was generous. For the entree, my wife, who is gluten intolerant, selected the trout almandine and she found it to be very "flavorful and moist." I chose the lamb and it was prepared just to my liking (medium) and it was still very tender. In sum, both our entrees were superb. For dessert we shared the Chocolate pot creme which was especially good for us chocolate lovers. While some french restaurants can be overpriced, A'vert Brasserie is a very good value. My only reservation was that the noise level, a la brasserie, is a bit high so it required raised voices to have a conversation. Otherwise, I/we highly recommend it.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We had a very nice meal. The server was great. However the noise level at 6:45 to 7:30 p.m. was unpleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Always enjoyable. Great service, fantastic food. A favorite WeHa place.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I have eaten at this restaurant several times. Noise level is very loud the food was excellent except for this last visit. The cocktails were terrible the food was terrible. The service excellent. I was very disappointed. August 5th 6:45 p.m. I ordered escargot which I have ordered many times in the past always excellent this time it was so rubbery over-cooked I sent it back the second time was barely digestible. The cocktails were awful the service again excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

My daughter and I dined at A’vert Brasserie prior attending a show at the Bushnell. The waiter was fantastic. He took extra time to explain many dishes and help us order. This was my teenage daughter’s first experience with French food and she was a bit nervous. The food was amazing and now she can’t wait to try more. We had a wonderful dinner that we will long remember. (The show was good too!).

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great for lunch. Excellent food, highly recommend. Had the salad and the charcuterie

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Just an awesome meal. I had the half chicken which was so moist and succulent, one of the best I've had anywhere. My wife's trout cording to her was a 10. And as always the desserts are absolutely delectable. We love This place and try to get back at least once a week because that's how good it is. No other restaurants in West Hartford can touch the creativity that they offer and so many different menu variations.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The food was excellent for both of us. The cruise is traditional French, and everything was perfectly prepared. Escargot were fabulous as were salads and entrees.
We found the seating too crowded, however. Too many tables too close to each other, which could be rectified by removing a couple tables. Challenging to get in and out of the seats as a result, and we could hear every word of conversations on either side of us. The acoustics in the restaurant also made it difficult to hear your partner. We probably would have enjoyed it more if we had dined at the bar. But we would go back given the quality of the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Loved the restaurant but it was dispiriting to get home and have an email from Open Table saying I had not shown up for my reservation!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Always great, brunch at Avert was near perfect. My poached eggs with ham were perfect, as was the duck rillettes. On a sunday, they were somewhat understaffed. We were ignored for quite a while. But management knew, and apologized.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We love the food, service and ambiance. Such a great restaurant with an awesome menu. they are constantly adding specials and new dishes for the season.
Sid Yip has done a great job with this place.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This restaurant is by far one of my favorites. Everything was perfect. It was a little noisy but it was a Saturday night so I'm not surprised. If people like French it's wonderful. I bring all my friends here. Excellent. GJ

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Fantastic food. The noise level was so high which gave me an excuse to sit so close to my girlfriend on their very comfortable bench.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very time trying French cuisine and was amazed. The restaurant was louder than what I expected but the food and drinks made up for it. Not too laid back and not to dressy perfect for a date night or to just try something different.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very disappointing! Came for Bastille Day and the food was horrible. I had been there before and it was good. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Consistently good evening at Avert. Great service and food. Scallops were excellent. Great wine selection and half price wine Sunday and Monday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We enjoyed our appetizers and cocktails but the waitress never returned to take our dinner order. After about 45 minutes of waiting, we moved on to another restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Wonderful service. Food always of the highest quality. Glad to "hear" the noise-level is being addressed. Looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Have dined at Avert many many times. This was not the best. Maybe because it was a Tuesday night?

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was my first time having dinner at this restaurant. It didn't disappoint. The fries were crispy and tasty as usual. My duck entre was great as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Had to wait close to 1/2 hour before somebody acknowledge our presence although servers walked around us but never made eye contact. It was never like this before.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We sat outside and enjoyed a leisurely lunch in the sunshine. Nora, our server, was attentive and sensitive to our needs, especially topping up our water often, as we were eating and enjoying a cocktail under the midday sun. My April in Paris cocktail was delightfully light and the pan-seared cod with bouillabaisse was wonderful. I felt $5 for one scoop of ice cream was too pricey, I should have checked the price before I ordered a 'small' dessert. My friend's decadent dessert of 3 large profiteroles for $8 was much better value in comparison. Overall, a great experience!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Very good! Love the charcuterie and fromagerie. I could eat just that and be content. The papardelle and steak frites were good. I thought I was in Paris for a few hours.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My only complaint was that the music was too loud. Also, southern California 70s rock didn't really match with the French Bistro vibe.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Amazing food and great service! The foie gras was incredible and their wine selection was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Avert was delicious and delightful in every way. The ambiance was charming and the music, decor and furnishings all conveyed the feeling of a French bistro. Our food was not only delicious but also fresh, very attractively presented and ample. I would recommend this wholeheartedly to anyone, especially for a special occasion. My friend and I had celebrated our birthdays and enjoyed our experience enormously. I also forgot to mention how gracious and helpful our server and hostess were, all in all, a perfect day for my friend and myself!

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Cheese options are excellent.
Escargots are tasty
The only place where we never ask for doggy bags because nothing is left on the plate to take home

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.