Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.67mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.67mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About A'vert Brasserie

Conveniently located in vibrant West Hartford Center, step into Avert and be whisked away to the brasseries and outdoor cafes lining the cobblestone streets of Lyon and Paris. The indulgence of traditional French comfort food is balanced by a modern, clean interpretation and an uncompromising devotion to the highest quality and locally-sourced ingredients. Avert is classic yet creative; inspired yet approachable. Experience old world European charm with a modern flair in a casual, relaxed environment.

35 A LaSalle Rd
West Hartford, CT 06107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm -10:00pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Dinner: Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(860) 904-6240

Website:
http://www.avertbrasserie.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Damboise

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

A'vert Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (41)
Special Occasion (31)
Authentic (30)
See All
Bar Seating (26)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Casual (20)
Romantic (20)
Fun (19)
Happy Hour (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Cozy (14)
Local Ingredients (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Business Meals (8)
People Watching (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Healthy (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Seasonal (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
323 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

A'vert was a perfect place to celebrate my mother's 97th birthday and my wife's 70th Birthday.
The food was superb and the service impeccable and friendly. A'vert is as close to a true French bistro experience that you will find in the Hartford area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The hostess was amazingly accurate in predicting seat available and multi-tasking. The food was good, but it was surprisingly loud. Like, really loud enough to give my daughter a headache and her wanting to leave loud. Perhaps it was the acoustics for our table but it was not a relaxing, fine dining French food experience. It was a loud bar scene, good French food experience.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We felt abandoned by the waiter. Every step was slow, but probably within an acceptable range. After the appetizers were cleared, it was like we had become invisible. We finally managed to flag down the manager to ask where our entrees were. He went to the kitchen and told us they would be right out. Ten minutes later, they finally arrived. They were both delicious, but we couldn't enjoy them.

To his credit, the manager didn't charge for the entrees, but a special night out ended up being disappointing. I don't know if they were short-staffed, but we definitely felt like we were not important.

It's a good place normally, but I will not be going back any time soon. There are too many restaurants in the area to risk having this happen again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Worst dining experience we've ever had. Had to wait 45 minutes despite having a reservation. No seats for waiting, and no other restaurants to go to as everything was booked. This restaurant was greedy and overbooked themselves, and many parties in addition to mine were extremely upset and had to wait a very long time. The service only got worse once we sat down. It took forever to get our food, took forever to get our check, etc. The waitress was MIA, the manager came over but never offered an apology - only tried giving us excuses as to why we had to wait and wait and wait. The pork chop special was supposed to come with mashed potatoes but only came with a tiny drizzle of potato garnish. They treated us terribly, never apologized for all the mishaps, and they will never have our business again. We will let everyone we know to steer clear of this place. What a nightmare!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our meals were delicious and we loved the ambience. I felt like I was in a Paris cafe. Fun and special at the same time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food here is always deliciously French. We had an early (5pm) reservation on Mother's Day but it was still crowded and hence noisy, a draw back here. After appetizers we waited for the entree and were brought complimentary soup because the chef felt he overlooked my filet and started over. It was perfect when it arrived. Great service, great way to handle the situation. It's a favorite for lunch (quieter then) or dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful food which was ruined by a screaming child. The family did nothing and management acted as if it was a normal evening with someone yelling at the top of their lungs. I'm sorry but if I am spending the kind of money that I spent Saturday night you should not have to endure a screaming child.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Love this restaurant, always stop in when we are visiting our daughter in West Hartford. My favorite appetizer is the Fois gras, it's wonderful!!!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Fantastic; exceeded our expectations. We will be sure to return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This visit was for brunch. Had delicious Oeuf Poché (their version of Eggs Benedict). Enjoyed the meal and our pressed coffee.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Completely authentic. Service was phenomenal. Food was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

On recent visit our waiter Douglas was very helpful in selecting the right wines and best choices of food. He was also very attentive but not overnbearing. While noisy at times it was not unbearable. The duck I had was perfect as was my wife's salmon. The latter prepared just as she requested it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Although our server was kind, he was not very attentive. Our orders came out slowly and were nearly cold by the time they reached our table. Had our food reached the table in a reasonable amount of time, I believe it would have tasted much better. No one likes to feel neglected when they're spending their hard earned money on an extremely rare night out. I had been saving up to take my husband out for a special evening and I was disappointed that my hard work could not be spent on a better experience. For these unfortunate, reasons I'm giving it 3 stars. The good news is, I think these items are easily remedied and I hope other diners have a more palatable experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My wife and I dined at Avert to celebrate our 19th wedding anniversary. It was an outstanding experience! The service was welcoming and attentive, the charcuterie was delicious, and our main dishes--veal and chicken--were amazing. It was a memorable experience, and we'll definitely be back at Avert!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We arrived in time to enjoy the happy hour menu outside and remained in our seats through dinner. Nora was a wonderful server and we could not have been happier with muscles, frites, beet salad and duck which we split. Highly recommended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Family Style, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Birthday dinner, great experience, food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent dinner. All four of us enjoyed supurb appetizers, dinner, and dessert. It's a more a dual place and when busy can be on the loud side. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very attentive service, multiple staff attending to the customers need. Pleasant atmosphere, comfortable seating.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Food and ambiance make you think you are actually in France!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

My server Patrick was pure awesomeness!
He was very friendly and attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Do not believe them when they say it's ok to get a 2:30 spot for a brunch that ends at 3pm. It's just a bad idea altogether. We got there on the dot at 2:30pm and was greeted by the hostess saying our table is still occupied and we have to wait. We stood around for 15 minutes without anybody saying a single word to us. We were very hungry and got ready to move next door. I expressed my concern to the hostess since it was very close to 3 . I had not finished my sentence when she starts lecturing me and telling me she can't force people to leave. She was obviously inexperienced and didn't know any better. I asked for the manager who gracefully apologized for the incident. He gave us complimentary mimosas for the whole party which the waiter dropped on me. Had to drink a LOT of mimosas to calm myself after the scream I let go. They did take away the buffet before we were done eating. The lamb and ham were both dry. I'm hoping this doesn't happen often but I have to say that I will not go back for Easter brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

An awesome experience and superb Easter Brnch. Food was so creative and plenty of selection.
Great buzz and no lines for the buffet.menu was one of the best to make this occasion most memorable.
A real treat.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fabulous Easter Sunday brunch!
The most delicious scrambled eggs ever. We generally don't like buffets, but this one was a wonderful surprise.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I tried this restaurant the other day with some NYC guests. It was a bit of a disappointment. We had reservations and it took some time to get us seated. We were just standing around. The place was small and tables not well appointed. The seats themselves were uncomfortable. The food was fair at best. One of our guests ordered a special which was tough on the outside and raw on the inside. The rest of the dishes were nothing great. It was disappointing and not somewhere I would return again when there are so many choices in the area.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My friends and I enjoyed the atmosphere, food and wine for our dinner. However, it was noisy. It was hard to listen our waiter's explanation and we had to talk loudly. We try to have lunch next time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food was quite good, and the coq au vin in particular was really rich and tasty. But the service was pretty hit or miss - surprising given that we had a nice chat with the waiter at the start of the meal. He brought out the wrong 1st course for one us, which isn't a big deal. But then he disappeared for a long time and when I asked for coffee with dessert, it came after I was done. There were other glitches too.

This is our 2nd meal here, and both times the food was everything we hoped for.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Prix fixe menu athe week of 4/10 was super. Limited, but delightful choices with a reasonable price for this. The parsnip soup was excellent as was the caramel Chantilly dessert. We opted for coq au vin which was very tasty. I was told the chocolate cheesecake and the other 2 appetizers were equally fine offerings. I hope you continue offering this type of dinner periodically. Service was timely and friendly without being overbearing (thank you!).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The food is delicious! Never had a bad meal there. After all, it's all about the food!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Wonderful meal - parsnip soup outstanding, two fish dishes spot on. Not crowded on a Sunday night, we had very good service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My girlfriend took me out for an early birthday celebration. The service was prompt. We also observed how accommodating staff was with handicapped patrons. The food and atmosphere did not disappoint. I will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great food, excellent service and nice French Bistro ambiance. The noise level in this restaurant is very HIGH so if you are looking for quiet romantic you should consider this. Very nice menu and attentive staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Ambience is fun a la a French bistro. Food is always delicious and creative . Staff goes above and beyond to be attentive and friendly without being intrusive

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This time we tried fixed price 3 course meal. Both my husband and I opted for salmon tartar and fish - both dishes were absolutely delicious! The deserts were also extremely delicious!
A'vert never disappoints! We shall be back soon 😊👏

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Living in the area I have the good fortune to dine at several wonderful eating establishments. A'vert has always been my "go to" area restaurant, not only because the food is wonderful but it's friendly, convenient and cozy. Brunch on Sunday is a must and a bite at the bar during the week is reliable and the food always delicious and well-prepared. I wouldn't hesitate to go back anytime for any meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great spot for brunch! Menu covered breakfast & lunch items, even oysters before noon!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We selected Avert for our Anniversary Dinner. We had a Saturday 6:30 reservation. When we entered the restaurant the noise level was louder than a championship boxing match at Madison Square Garden. It took three tries to give our name to the hostess because of the noise. We were a few minutes early so we had to wait 5 minutes for our table and we almost walked out because of the noise. Fortunately, we stayed. The decor is like being in a Paris Bistro, very authentic although most tables are really crammed together. We were lucky in that we got the table all the way in the back, as far away as possible from the noise. The noise level died down a bit after 30 minutes and then increased again when we were finishing up. We had a GREAT server Lori who was cordial, attentive and knowledgeable. The food was TERRIFIC!! Pike Quenelles were classically prepared with a great version of lobster sauce. The seared Foie Gras was also great with a tasty puree and Calvados reduction. For entrees we had pan roasted sea scallops and roasted duck breast. The scallops had a nice sear and were cooked perfectly. The fennel puree was amazing. The duck breast was cooked as requested (rare) and was flavorful and tender. The sunchoke puree and accompanying sauce were excellent. They have a skillful saucier in the kitchen because the sauces and purees made a big difference in all our dishes. Deserts were good but I think next time I would opt for a cheese course instead. Our server made the evening very enjoyable and the General Manager did a great job of making sure everything went smoothly even though it was a Standing Room Only crowd. When we come back we're going to try for an early reservation, say 5:00-5:300 hoping to get ahead of the noise.
This is not the place for a quiet romantic dinner, but if you want excellent food in an atmosphere where you have to remind yourself that your not actually in a Paris Bistro, this is the place for you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 31, 2017

outstanding food and atmosphere , good vegetarian options also. Great service cozy

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Historic, Organic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

very good French cuisine, active environment, great service, will be returning soon for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in West Hartford! Never fails to impress!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent. A well needed addition. Thought I was back along the Seine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.