Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.67mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.67mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About A'vert Brasserie

Conveniently located in vibrant West Hartford Center, step into Avert and be whisked away to the brasseries and outdoor cafes lining the cobblestone streets of Lyon and Paris. The indulgence of traditional French comfort food is balanced by a modern, clean interpretation and an uncompromising devotion to the highest quality and locally-sourced ingredients. Avert is classic yet creative; inspired yet approachable. Experience old world European charm with a modern flair in a casual, relaxed environment.

35 A LaSalle Rd
West Hartford, CT 06107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm -10:00pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Dinner: Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(860) 904-6240

Website:
http://www.avertbrasserie.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Damboise

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

A'vert Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Romantic (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Authentic (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Cozy (12)
Fun (12)
Casual (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
People Watching (7)
Business Meals (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Healthy (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort by
S
438 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2018

We came for New Year's Eve but have been here before. The Prix Fixe dinner looked very good but we elected to order off the regular menu. Even so, we had a festive meal. Great service - especially good on wine selection. Loved the mussels! Ate way too much but loved every minute!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Authentic, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Great way to celebrate NYE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Excellent food, drink and service. I would highly recommend for a group or an intimate dinner

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Food and service were great. Unfortunately, we were seated at a table for 2 in a very narrow space that was hard for people to get through on their way in and out and to and from the bathroom. This was a little annoying and disruptive and took away from the overall ambiance. It seems like they are trying to squeeze as many tables in as possible in a small space.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2017

As always- food was great. But we were totally rushed through our meal. Our entrees were served while apps were still on the table. Waiter of course blamed the kitchen but any server worth their salt would own it as their own.

Worst part was my wife’s steak was under cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2017

I've lived in CT for 4 years now, and while I don't go out to eat as often as I'd like to, this has been the best restaurant that I've been to in the area. The service, ambience and food were all fantastic. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Exquisite. Plain and simple. Chef Glazier creates dishes that leave you hungry to come back next time. The service at this establishment is excellent. We felt like we were treated like royalty by every staff member we had the pleasure of speaking with. A must try in West Hartford Center!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2017

We went with our friends who had gone the week before and they LOVED it, so asked us to join them. The food was amazing, and so was our server. I cannot wait to try Avert for dinner!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

We had an amazing dinner at a’VERT once again! The cocktails were well crafted and the food was beyond delicious. Our waitress was very attentive and went out of her way to make our night special after realizing we were celebrating. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2017

Brief but varied menu - good choices to be had.
Food was delicious, well explained when called for, and delivered promptly.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Definitely will visit this restaurant again.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

Food and service was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed the birthday dinner for my girlfriend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Merci pour un repas délicieux! Nous avons gouter une très bonne agneau avec épinards et de poisson. Une très bonne dégustation accompagner avec des bons vins, des bières et des desserts. Bien sur que nous pouvons recommandé le restaurant pour plusieurs occasions. Une expérience de bonne qualité avec une service agréable.

Tags: Business Meals, Spicy, Healthy, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Fantastic as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Food was excellent. Our server, Chris, was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2017

We went for lunch and everything that was brought to the table was first rate, from the bread to the dessert, we were very pleased and will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Awesome lunch with friends, food was really good and the pricing was extremely fair. Half price wine under 70 a bottle on Sundays-total treat. Our server, a sweet blond, was incredibly good. Will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

I'm French and I believe a French restaurant is only as good as its sauce. The béarnaise here was the worst I've ever had -- it was runny and absolutely tasteless. Hugely disappointing. I took my steak home to eat with my own béarnaise that I'd made at home.

Cocktails were underwhelming; each one on the menu either had way too much going on or not enough.

Service was lovely, although I heard a server tell a neighboring table that an affogato is always served with amaro in addition to espresso and ice cream, which is incorrect. It's also an Italian dessert, which seemed pretty out of place alongside the rest of the dessert menu. I'll probably be back because it's the only cute French spot in the area but seriously, they need to get the sauce situation together.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Never disappoints. Excellent charcuterie, frittes, and cassoulet. Our waitress was both knowledgeable and delightful.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

This is a very special restaurant. We discovered it by serendipity on mother’s day, when they have a remarkable buffet. Everything is tasty, beautifully French, the service is lovely. We live north of Boston and make a point of stopping on our way home from New Haven and Florida.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Doesn't apply. Avert is always excellent, like all of Dorjans restaurants. If France is a culinary capital, avert is a sign pointing to the way. A GOOD SIGN.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2017

This traditional French bistro gets an "almost great" rating from both of us. Our server was very nice but seemed a bit disheveled and just this side of in the weeds. They had wonderful half price wine by the bottle (up to $70 bottles) which was a lovely surprise. The escargot were good, but the mussels in a white wine and Dijon sauce were wonderful! The short run beef bougignon was exclent, the half chicken less so. The atmosphere was lovely, classically French and predictably tight and a bit cramped.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Food was pretty subpar honestly.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2017

French toast portion was huge. Ordered special soup, butternut squash. Too salty. They gladly offered an exchange and did not charge for it.

Service was very attentive.

A larger party near us was very noisy. Making conversation difficult

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2017

I had a birthday celebration at Avert with my husband, son and girlfriend. We were greeted but the hostess and seated immediately in a booth. The waitress had excellent knowledge of the menu and was very helpful in accommodating my GF/DF restrictions. The food was delicious and the timing of our courses was perfect. Despite the very large and loud celebratory party adjacent to us we enjoyed our evening. They did not have a gluten free/dairy free choice for dessert so they allowed me to bring in my own. They do charge a $2 plating fee per person but waived it because I had just an individual dessert. I have been once before and will go back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Second trip there. First was awesome. This was w my wife and kids. Party of 10 next to us so loud and f words.
Beef was great. Squash was not. Fries were burned. The noise level was really unpleasant for the cost of that trip.
I respectfully would not come again. I feel bad bc it was my wife’s birthday. Waiter was great. Appreciated his tolerance of the noise.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

I've been to Avert a few times now and absolutely love it. It's one of my fiance and my favorite spots for date night and it's a great place to meet up with friends. It's quiet, the food is fantastic and they are never rushing you out the door.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2017

"energetic" is not a good description of the noise level. "Noisy" is much better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 31, 2017

The food was delicious and beautifully plated. The service was perhaps the best I have ever had....except for my prior visits to Avert. A reliably wonderful place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2017

My only complaint is that it was so noisy we had a hard time talking and I found it exhausting .The food was wonderful and I especially appreciated our waiter who brought me peanut butter because I had the hiccups .

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Excellent food as always! Love the foie gras and charcuterie especially! Your crime brûlée is amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2017

We had out of town guests. They lved the food as did we. Wonderful service, a little loud but very comfortable and cozy in the back booth.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Organic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Great experience, the waiter, Chris L, was the Best of the Best - we really appreciated his fine service and friendly carriage. Food was as good as it gets.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

We love to meet friends for Sunday brunch. This past Sunday the restaurant was very crowded, but we seemed to have beaten the crowd when we were seated. Although our wait person was polite and seemingly attentive, our food took a very long time coming out of the kitchen. When it finally arrived, it was outstanding, as usual.

Tags: Great for Brunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Our waiter and the kitchen staff prepared the meal perfectly - my diet is vegan and gluten free which often is a problem- not here! Highly recommend this French-inspired not-stuffy environment with fabulous staff and delicious well developed menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

Avert was amazing from start to finish. Table was tiny, but gave the ambiance of a cafe, food was spectacular, and our server (Mario) was helpful, attentive and entertaining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2017

It was great! Kyle, who told us he is usually a bartender, was our server that day! He was just wonderful! I have recently begun eating vegan. Although there was nothing on the menu labeled as such, I talked to Kyle about having the three vegetable sides put together as an entrée. He thought it would be a good combination and the Meal that was presented was beautiful to look at and was just delicious! It consisted of steamed Swiss chard, sautéed mushroons and a sautéed vegetable medley. The 3 people with me all thought it was fabulously presented and said they would definitely get that AND they are NOT Vegan! So YUMMY! The other 3 liked their individual meals very much (1. scallops, 2. Shrimp omelette, 3. butternut bisque and salad) We all said we would definitely come back!!!! We highly recommend this restaurant to you all!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Food was fantastic. Had a great time. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Went for restaurant week. Had the 30.17 meal and also items from regular menu. Service was great! Appetizers and soups great! The entrees and selection of entrees was poor the desserts were great. I had coq su vin which was dry and lacked sauce and was bone in. It was ok. Au gratin potatos ok. Partner had the duck which was superb for duck. The pate was eh. There were only like 5 entrees on the regular menu. The creme brûlée and the pot du chocolate was fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Service was pleasant and friendly, but very slow. Food OK. It felt like we were having dinner at Epcot. Nice place, pleasant service, but otherwise just OK.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.