About A'vert Brasserie

35 A LaSalle Rd
West Hartford, CT 06107
View Larger Map

Conveniently located in vibrant West Hartford Center, step into Avert and be whisked away to the brasseries and outdoor cafes lining the cobblestone streets of Lyon and Paris. The indulgence of traditional French comfort food is balanced by a modern, clean interpretation and an uncompromising devotion to the highest quality and locally-sourced ingredients. Avert is classic yet creative; inspired yet approachable. Experience old world European charm with a modern flair in a casual, relaxed environment.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm -10:00pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Dinner: Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(860) 904-6240

Website:
http://www.avertbrasserie.com/

Executive Chef:
David Borselle

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

A'vert Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (26)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Authentic (12)
Romantic (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Casual (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Cozy (7)
Fun (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Business Meals (6)
People Watching (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
241 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is fast becoming a favorite restaur ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

This is fast becoming a favorite restaurant of ours!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seated within 15 -20 minutes of reservat ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Seated within 15 -20 minutes of reservation. Server Patrick was attentive and mastered all the specials without hesitation. Food was was served timely and delicious.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I and another couple had din ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My wife and I and another couple had dinner at A'vert Brasserie. The food and service was tremendous. A road bump to the evening was that we had a set a reservation at 6:45 but we were not seated until 7:30. The wait staff acknowledged the issue and we were given a free round of drinks. My only real complaint was the noise level. It is very loud in A'vert and it was difficult to hear. Overall though I would definitely return...just plan on having a drink at the bar. A'vert is a small restaurant and tables don't always turn over as planned.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

My friend and I visited Avert for lunch ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

My friend and I visited Avert for lunch this week. The food was wonderful and the service made me feel as if I was a celebrity in a 5 star restaurant. We had a small issue with our wine and the manager actually came over, replaced the wine, and took it off our bill.

Overall, loved it. Can't wait to go back.

Only comment to consider, seating for two is very close to the next couple, which can make conversation difficult. There are so,e quieter seating areas, however

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had 3 diners, including a French woma ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We had 3 diners, including a French woman . Everyone was very pleased with all their dishes, including salads, appetizers and entrees. We will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was moderate to good. For a f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Everything was moderate to good. For a first time visitor, it struck me as a place where people with lots of disposable income can impress other people with lots of disposable income.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service - good selection ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great food and service - good selection of wines and entrees

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent in every way, as was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was excellent in every way, as was the wine we had; service was attentive except waiter forgot to offer and bring pepper for salad, and checked back only at the end of that course; if one sits too close to the door, it can be drafty on a cold night; noise level was quite high, though in a positive way, but certainly not a quiet restaurant. We would definitely go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great ambience and food with fantastic s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great ambience and food with fantastic service. Really let you relax between courses and had such a great time didn't realize we were there 4 hours. Most relaxing dinner I've had in a long time...cannot wait to go back again. Definitely on my list of favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful NYE dinner. Price Fixe NYE me ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful NYE dinner. Price Fixe NYE menu had many choices. We started with the beet salad and frog legs. have never had and have to say the dish was delicious. Beef Wellington and short-ribs were the entrees. Both were excellent. portions of both apps and entrees was generous.

Have had many nice evenings at Avert and highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dinner, great service. My only ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful dinner, great service. My only complaint was open table which told us the place was sold out and so we came earlier than we wanted and then it was half empty

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had early dinner on New Years Eve . The ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had early dinner on New Years Eve . The halibut special and the salmon were outstanding

. Service was courteous and efficient. Tables are close together. Bar area not overly loud. Nice ambiance . Nice place for a good meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

First time @ Avert on my birthday and NY ...

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 31, 2016

First time @ Avert on my birthday and NYE. Love, love, loved each and every course. I was most pleasantly surprised by the duck confit appetizer (was like an entree in itself!). And, the halibut entrees we both had were cooked to absolute perfection. Can't wait to return to try escargot and bouillabaisse!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my 8 years old out for lunch for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I took my 8 years old out for lunch for NYE celebration. We have never been to this restaurant before and I love French cuisine, so I picked the place. It is a bit cramped. A couple at the next table was literally elbow to elbow with us, but it turned out to be the greatest thing ever. They were such a charming old school couple! Somehow we ended up joining the conversation and enjoying our meal even more than I expected. The food was great. My son loved his pasta, I absolutely loved my scallops with asparagus, all 4 of them. Yep, the portions are small, very French style indeed, but delicious. My only disappointment was with our waiter. He was not exactly rude, but he could use extra training on how to treat customers the proper way.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I've dined here in the past and servers ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I've dined here in the past and servers have been extremely attentive. Our last experience did not feel this way. I felt that I had to constantly ask for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Very pleasant bistro style French restau ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Very pleasant bistro style French restaurant.

Had the scallops with a glass of Sancerre, which paired well with the scallops.

Tables are close together, but we were lucky enough to know the pair sitting beside us.

Friendly, pleasant, great French cuisine.

Love the bread.

Love the atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The mussels were terrific as usual! Also ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The mussels were terrific as usual! Also the trout was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was prompt and efficient . ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The service was prompt and efficient . The food was very good, excellent escargot and creme brûlée, but I don't recommend the bouillabaisse. The price point is good value for a French restaurant. The wine list is good but not outstanding. It is good enough that I plan to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This restaurant has reliably good food a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This restaurant has reliably good food and service.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, great atmosphere! We've be ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Amazing food, great atmosphere! We've been going there for a few years now and we've never been disappointed. Place can get pretty loud though which is fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I recommend this restaurant as a first e ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

I recommend this restaurant as a first experience to French cuisine. Excellent menu choices and a casual atmosphere. Also, great service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is very good here, got the steak fr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food is very good here, got the steak frites with Bernaise sauce and the filet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall a pleasant experience. We were ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Overall a pleasant experience. We were seated near a larger group who appeared to be over served based on their volume and the fact that one person fell off his chair. It was a minor distraction. The food was good. Service fine. I ordered a second glass of wine and instead of getting the same as I ordered initially I was brought (I think) a glass that was more expensive (that's what I was charged at least) and it came when I was almost finished my meal. Thinking back I wish I said something at the time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

There seems to be a disconnect at this p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

There seems to be a disconnect at this place between the food and the ambience. Although the food was very good French inspired offerings, there were a few things that made the evening less enjoyable than we would have liked. First, there was an extremely noisy beer tasting event going on at the bar. Since half of the restaurant is a bar, it was impossible to have a conversation because of the noise level. I wish when I had made the reservation, I had known about the planned event. Secondly, although the food was very tasty and nicely presented, and our waiter was very attentive, a piece of food was left out of one of our dishes - forgotten in the oven. When the omission was pointed out, this was quickly corrected, but it still was not presented as it should have been. Apologies were given, but a free dessert or other offering would have been appropriate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Had a night out with my family for a gre ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Had a night out with my family for a great dinner. Our first time to Avent and enjoyed the food, the wait staff was attentive and helpful when making our selections. Would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was mixed this time. The Duck C ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The food was mixed this time. The Duck Confit appetizer, my past favorite, was very disappointing. The confit was soggy - not crispy as it should be, and the frisse salad was limp and not fresh. On the other hand, the butternut squash soup was outstanding and my friend was very happy with her scallops. The waiter couldn't have been nicer, too.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful food, terrible noise level. In ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful food, terrible noise level. In what is an intimate bistro setting, we had to yell across the table in order to be heard by our friends on a recent Sunday evening visit when the bar scene was exceptionally vibrant. Had we known that there was little separation between bar and restaurant, we would not have chosen this restaurant to meet friends whom we hadn't seen for a while. On the other hand, the food was nicely prepared and presented (except for the escargots, which were rubbery) and as time wore on and the bar cleared, we found our dinner was a little more relaxed. We especially appreciated the glasses of bubbly offered in recognition of both couples' wedding anniversaries.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Went for brunch yesterday for the first ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Went for brunch yesterday for the first time. I got poached eggs and my boyfriend got the waffle. We both got the breakfast potatoes. Everything we had was amazing. Even the coffee was so good. We can't wait to go back for brunch again. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious. We had a special ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was delicious. We had a special, Coq au vin which my husband loved. I had filet mignon which was delicious but a bit under cooked. The cocktail was delicious but expensive. We had the deconstructed peach Bellini. The noise level is very high so this is not the place for a quiet conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Tasty food, but limited vegetarian optio ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Tasty food, but limited vegetarian options. A nice atmosphere. Seating is tight in some areas so hope you don't end up next to a group of people who are annoying.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food, service and ambiance in a fu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great food, service and ambiance in a fun setting in wonderful West Hartford, CT. Our party of four was very happy with the four different entrees we ordered. Desserts were amazing too. Fun, classy atmosphere without being stuffy.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappointing. Always great. Wou ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Never disappointing. Always great. Would recommend it to all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating 4 birthdays and had ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We were celebrating 4 birthdays and had left that message on the reservation. However, that was not acknowledged by the host or waitperson. The waitperson could have been a bit more attentive - I had to try to catch her attention too many times.

Even at lunch it was quite noisy.

The restaurant was very chilly and we had to ask for heat.

But the food was wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

All the food was delicious. However I ex ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

All the food was delicious. However I expected tastier escargot. It is a little too loud and the tables are tight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Always delicious and a wonderful experie ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Always delicious and a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a delicious meal with very attent ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Always a delicious meal with very attentive service. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of the best restaurants in W ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in West Hartford. The food, service and ambiance is superb. It is totally reminiscent of a neighborhood French brasserie!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here a few times, and the d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We have been here a few times, and the dishes are cooked and seasoned perfectly regardless of what we have gotten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time and we couldn't have been ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our first time and we couldn't have been happier. A very charming classic French Bistro. I could have been in Paris. Looking forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were at the restaurant for Sunday bru ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We were at the restaurant for Sunday brunch. We had very enjoyable dishes. The service was excellent and they had a special on wine which made the meal quite reasonable. All four of us would return on any Sunday.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.