Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.67mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.67mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About A'vert Brasserie

Conveniently located in vibrant West Hartford Center, step into Avert and be whisked away to the brasseries and outdoor cafes lining the cobblestone streets of Lyon and Paris. The indulgence of traditional French comfort food is balanced by a modern, clean interpretation and an uncompromising devotion to the highest quality and locally-sourced ingredients. Avert is classic yet creative; inspired yet approachable. Experience old world European charm with a modern flair in a casual, relaxed environment.

35 A LaSalle Rd
West Hartford, CT 06107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm -10:00pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Dinner: Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(860) 904-6240

Website:
http://www.avertbrasserie.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Damboise

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

A'vert Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (41)
Authentic (35)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Fit for Foodies (32)
Notable Wine List (29)
Bar Seating (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Casual (20)
Romantic (18)
Cozy (17)
Great for Brunch (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Fun (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Business Meals (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
People Watching (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Healthy (8)
Seasonal (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was excellent for both of us. The cruise is traditional French, and everything was perfectly prepared. Escargot were fabulous as were salads and entrees.
We found the seating too crowded, however. Too many tables too close to each other, which could be rectified by removing a couple tables. Challenging to get in and out of the seats as a result, and we could hear every word of conversations on either side of us. The acoustics in the restaurant also made it difficult to hear your partner. We probably would have enjoyed it more if we had dined at the bar. But we would go back given the quality of the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved the restaurant but it was dispiriting to get home and have an email from Open Table saying I had not shown up for my reservation!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Always great, brunch at Avert was near perfect. My poached eggs with ham were perfect, as was the duck rillettes. On a sunday, they were somewhat understaffed. We were ignored for quite a while. But management knew, and apologized.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We love the food, service and ambiance. Such a great restaurant with an awesome menu. they are constantly adding specials and new dishes for the season.
Sid Yip has done a great job with this place.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant is by far one of my favorites. Everything was perfect. It was a little noisy but it was a Saturday night so I'm not surprised. If people like French it's wonderful. I bring all my friends here. Excellent. GJ

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic food. The noise level was so high which gave me an excuse to sit so close to my girlfriend on their very comfortable bench.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Very time trying French cuisine and was amazed. The restaurant was louder than what I expected but the food and drinks made up for it. Not too laid back and not to dressy perfect for a date night or to just try something different.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Very disappointing! Came for Bastille Day and the food was horrible. I had been there before and it was good. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Consistently good evening at Avert. Great service and food. Scallops were excellent. Great wine selection and half price wine Sunday and Monday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We enjoyed our appetizers and cocktails but the waitress never returned to take our dinner order. After about 45 minutes of waiting, we moved on to another restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Wonderful service. Food always of the highest quality. Glad to "hear" the noise-level is being addressed. Looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Have dined at Avert many many times. This was not the best. Maybe because it was a Tuesday night?

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was my first time having dinner at this restaurant. It didn't disappoint. The fries were crispy and tasty as usual. My duck entre was great as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Had to wait close to 1/2 hour before somebody acknowledge our presence although servers walked around us but never made eye contact. It was never like this before.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We sat outside and enjoyed a leisurely lunch in the sunshine. Nora, our server, was attentive and sensitive to our needs, especially topping up our water often, as we were eating and enjoying a cocktail under the midday sun. My April in Paris cocktail was delightfully light and the pan-seared cod with bouillabaisse was wonderful. I felt $5 for one scoop of ice cream was too pricey, I should have checked the price before I ordered a 'small' dessert. My friend's decadent dessert of 3 large profiteroles for $8 was much better value in comparison. Overall, a great experience!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Very good! Love the charcuterie and fromagerie. I could eat just that and be content. The papardelle and steak frites were good. I thought I was in Paris for a few hours.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My only complaint was that the music was too loud. Also, southern California 70s rock didn't really match with the French Bistro vibe.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Amazing food and great service! The foie gras was incredible and their wine selection was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Avert was delicious and delightful in every way. The ambiance was charming and the music, decor and furnishings all conveyed the feeling of a French bistro. Our food was not only delicious but also fresh, very attractively presented and ample. I would recommend this wholeheartedly to anyone, especially for a special occasion. My friend and I had celebrated our birthdays and enjoyed our experience enormously. I also forgot to mention how gracious and helpful our server and hostess were, all in all, a perfect day for my friend and myself!

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Cheese options are excellent.
Escargots are tasty
The only place where we never ask for doggy bags because nothing is left on the plate to take home

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We have eaten here about 10 times. The last visit made me reluctant to return. Our waiter made snarky remarks about one of the diners being on the phone. He did not know she was working & had an urgent situation requiring attention. I found myself defending her. We told our waiter about a nut allergy several times. The person who did not have the allergy specifically said he wanted the salad that came with nuts & that he was not allergic to them. His salad came without nuts them. One appetizer did not appear before our main course so we told our waiter we no longer wanted it. He brought it just as we were finishing our entrees. It had walnuts on it so two of our party could not eat it. The salads tasted like they had been sitting under a heat lamp-soggy & warm. The mussels were & are consistently great with lots of delicious sauce to sop up with bread. Same with the escargot. However, four people were given five small baguette slices at a time and we had to keep asking for more bread, which exasperated our waiter and us. Is there a bread shortage we don't know about? I would rather spend another dollar or two per meal and get enough bread for everyone. One of our group ordered a pasta dish. He asked for some more grated cheese, which was visible on his pasta upon arrival. He was told that he was in a French restaurant not an Italian one and therefore could not get grated cheese. Condescension seemed the theme that evening. No one in our party drinks alcohol and it seemed our waiter was displeased with us drinking tap water.Our waiter seemed overwhelmed as the place got busier. I do not understand restaurants where waiters have tables all over the place rather than one specific section. It is more difficult to give good service when attention has to be randomly spread. He had tables outside while we were in the back inside. Avert is nicely decorated but there is nothing to muffle the sound so it gets very loud. Definitely hit or miss at Avert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Our food was outstanding, a true French cafe offering. The time between courses was slow so if you have a time limit please advise your server.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our first time and we enjoyed everything about the place. Food was delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Took my cousins for birthday celebration. Food was great as well as service. Bartender made great martinis

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Amazing food and wine. Excellent service
Wonderful atmosphere

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Our 2nd visit to Avert. Excellent food and enjoyable atmosphere. We'll be back!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Had the trout... just ok. Table for two was way too small

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great food, great service, great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The chicken was not very good, dry and tasteless. The sides on the plate were sparse. I'm not interested in going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Just an absolutely awesome place to eat with an incredible menu. Every dish has been prepared perfectly every times that we have been there. She's the manager really runs a tight ship and is very attentive to his patrons. Service is also impeccable. Desserts are out of this world. Surprisingly the meets are top-quality and cooked to perfection!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Amazing...been multiple time and it never disappoints!

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We went for a birthday dinner - 4 people. Atmosphere was great, food was delicious. We cannot wait to go back. Price was spot on for West Hartford.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Excellent as always. Service is professional. Cuisine is classic. Beverage are well designed. Half price bottle nite Sunday's and Monday's is great. Foie Gras perfectly prepared. House made pasta and deserts.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Food was amazing! Only downside was that we were seated next to a family who was so disruptive and distracting, but the servers handled them well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The service which is usually excellent was not very good, waited 45 min for hors d'oeuvres and then 30 min for our check. It took so long we did not get coffee or dessert. food was really good as always

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Service, Drinks, Apps were all great.

Two of us ordered Steak Frites (most common dish at a French Brasserie) pretty disappointing. It was a double whammy, poor quality steak (I get better at Costco) and worse than that, neither of us got it cooked to how we ordered it. It was late and we were hungry... West Hartford has a ton of dining choices, we'd return for Drinks and Apps (Escargot and Charcuterie) were delicious, will just pass on Entree's.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Food and service were very good. However, we ordered Campari and they were out of it, the first bottle of wine ordered was unavailable, the second bottle, indicated on the menu as a 2012, was in reality a 2014.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 24, 2017

I took the wife there for a date night. the service was excellent. We never had an empty glass. The server was candid with recs. She gave us ample time to enjoy both apps before the main came out. The food wasn't the best French ive had but it was a fine meal nonetheless. I would have no problem ordering the bourginon or duck breast again. Def the best charcuterie board in WeHa.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

A'vert was a perfect place to celebrate my mother's 97th birthday and my wife's 70th Birthday.
The food was superb and the service impeccable and friendly. A'vert is as close to a true French bistro experience that you will find in the Hartford area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The hostess was amazingly accurate in predicting seat available and multi-tasking. The food was good, but it was surprisingly loud. Like, really loud enough to give my daughter a headache and her wanting to leave loud. Perhaps it was the acoustics for our table but it was not a relaxing, fine dining French food experience. It was a loud bar scene, good French food experience.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.