About A'vert Brasserie

35 A LaSalle Rd
West Hartford, CT 06107
View Larger Map

Conveniently located in vibrant West Hartford Center, step into Avert and be whisked away to the brasseries and outdoor cafes lining the cobblestone streets of Lyon and Paris. The indulgence of traditional French comfort food is balanced by a modern, clean interpretation and an uncompromising devotion to the highest quality and locally-sourced ingredients. Avert is classic yet creative; inspired yet approachable. Experience old world European charm with a modern flair in a casual, relaxed environment.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm -10:00pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Dinner: Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(860) 904-6240

Website:
http://www.avertbrasserie.com/

Executive Chef:
David Borselle

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

A'vert Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (35)
neighborhood gem (23)
special occasion (19)
See All
great for lunch (16)
notable wine list (14)
vibrant bar scene (14)
hot spot (14)
great for brunch (11)
romantic (11)
great for outdoor dining (9)
good for groups (6)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
167 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was great, including hostess ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

The service was great, including hostess, inside server and outside server. The food has been wonderful in the past. Unfortunately this time everything we had was just ok. Maybe it was the Chef's night off it was Thursday.

We had duck and beef sandwich, onion soup, duck liver, mussels, seafood soup.

The rose wine was great as was the bread, we felt like we were in Paris again.

We will give it another try.

Sometimes the kitchen has a bad day🙁

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

There were 6 of us and we all enjoyed ou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

There were 6 of us and we all enjoyed our meals. Service was very good and the appearance of the restaurant is appealing. Only improvement - music was so loud we had to shout to hear each other across the table.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fresh, well-prepared food with a French ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fresh, well-prepared food with a French flare. Mac and cheese was delicious. Great cocktails and nice wine list. I had a friend who needed to sit in the dining area because of a bad back, but I longed to be part of the vibrant bar scene! Happy hour specials too! Next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely incredible food! The best chi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Absolutely incredible food! The best chicken I've ever had, truly. Great oysters, and very good Filet Mignon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was delicious, service was great. N ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was delicious, service was great.

Noise level was terrible & could not have normal conversation at my table. I would consider eating there again if I were alone at the bar or if I could sit at an outside table.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food in an intimate setting - defi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great food in an intimate setting - definite worth the trip

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had wonderful service and delicious f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We had wonderful service and delicious food. It was hard to make a choice so we have to come

back for another selection and happy hour also sounds like fun. The drinks and wine selection are very good. Our waiter accommodated one of our group who had a food allergy. He loved

the restaurant and felt it was a very good choice (his first time there). My lobster salad was

very flavorful. Everyone was happy with their choices. We had a late lunch and the restaurant

was very comfortable and quiet (we eat inside).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A neighborhood bistro atmosphere. Fun an ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

A neighborhood bistro atmosphere. Fun and good food. Enjoyed my steak tartare and salad. My husband had the shortribs, He would have liked a bit more of the tasty sauce. I had the duck on a previous visit which was delightful. Definitely return again!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We are regulars at Avert especially happ ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We are regulars at Avert especially happy hours.

We have always enjoyed sitting at the bar, friendly staff and clientele along with great food.

This particular evening Saturday, June 11 we arrived at 6:30 and seated on time.

Unfortunately a group of young men at the bar was so loud you had to yell to be understood each other more like a beer/sports bar.

Service staff was great, good wine great appetizers but, my wife and my friends wife each had a vegetable/shrimp dish on couscous lacking flavor in the couscous they asked for a little olive oil and after two ties of more mint flavored mayo and garlic aioli they gave up.

Management did give us two desserts on the house but all in all not a comfortable dining experience.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Really charming place with great food. W ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Really charming place with great food. Wish there had been a bit more interaction with the waiter (suggestions, etc.) but, generally, well taken-care of. Food was delicious, and we were able to enjoy a long lovely meal without feeling rushed. Hope I get a chance to go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

great french bistro...very special place

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

great french bistro...very special place...there are so many italian and burger and pizza joints that a french bistro w/ more traditional french menu is so welcome. Steak Frites is done right and the prices aren't cheap but they aren't out of line either...not too hard to get a table and the service was great. Will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We love the mussels here and the night we were there was half price wine night so all was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We loved A'vert. We had a quiet lunch in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We loved A'vert. We had a quiet lunch inside since it was a hot day. Our special cocktails were unusual and good. I chose the soft shell crab since the season is drawing to a close. It was delicious and came with a nice salad. French bread and butter came right away with our cocktails. The staff was very knowledgeable and pleasant. The entrées were varied and I look forward to coming back for the moules/ frites and trying another cocktail. Happy hour is every day so that is also a plus. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choice for fine dining and si ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Excellent choice for fine dining and simply a nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife asked to be taken to A'vert for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

My wife asked to be taken to A'vert for her birthday and the restaurant did not disappoint. The menu offers a broad selection of entrees, along with great appetizers and desserts. The price was at the high end for the Hartford market, but was fair when compared with the quality of the meal. The atmosphere was innovative and actually reminded us of places we had dined in Paris.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Best French in Central Connecticut

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

In the land of Italian restaurants/pizzerias, this is a welcome addition. It really gives you the feel of a Paris bistro, and the menu follows. We had the charcuterie, cassoulet, papardelle, short ribs, and steak frites, and all were excellent. All desserts are excellent also.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wasn't warned it was a buffet

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I wouldn't have booked it if I'd known. Hate buffets

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Nice but the noise!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Nice place overall but the noise level! The acoustics are horrible -especially when it is busy. Everyone yelling at the top of their lungs to be hard over the din. That just aggravated the problem. I ws no more than 2 feet from my companion and I had no idea what she was saying at all. I saw her lips move and thats about it. Will management do something about this? I know they realize there's a problem as I've heard comments like this from others. Do something about it please!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious meal but the environment was a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Delicious meal but the environment was a little too loud for us to enjoy fully.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was decent and I enjoyed the me ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The food was decent and I enjoyed the menu. The drinks are over priced and heavily, heavily iced so I found them to be a total rip off! Be wary of your check at the end because our waiter added on 4 desserts to our bill and, as a couple dining, we didn't even order 1, let alone 4!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

Our meals were outstanding.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Our meals were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service superb. Could be on the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Food and service superb. Could be on the left bank of Paris. Great vibe but noise level approaches unbearable. A few ceiling noise panels would be money well spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

A fine French find

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

When I get a yen for French bistro cuisine, A'vert is my first choice. While the active bar can be noisy, it's a happy vibe. The wine list offers interesting choices by the glass, as does the full list. Of course all the usual bistro fare is here: steak frites, trout almandine, cassoulet and escargot, but it's wonderful to also find the unusual but totally bistro items like sweetbreads and steak tartare. The choices in creating a cheese platter for appetizer or dessert have been carefully chosen too. The dessert menu is a bit limited in scope unless you're a chocolate fan (which I am), but were uniformly delicious. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

what a great birthday!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Our first visit and I was taking a chance because it was MY birthday and I wanted it to be special - it was. Food and service very good. Attentive waiter. Our other guests were pleased as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paris by Proxy

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

A Vert is like being in Paris!!!!! The food its classic , the decor is vintage brasserie . and the wine specials are great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Avert

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Although the ambience is quite nice , the noise level on a Saturday night was out of control. It was impossible to hear the person sitting next to me, let alone the waiter . Loud is an understatement here!!!!!!!. We will not return for dinner that's for certain.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Ap ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Appetizers and entrees were excellent. Sorry but desserts were just OK. Overall wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Bad experience with food and management.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Bad experience with food and management.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

A French bistro in the neighborhood

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Avert is the closest replica of a French bistro in the Hartford area. Like its French model, Avert is a bit more crowded and noisy than an American restaurant. And like many of its models, the food is good to very good. Two orders of coq a vin were good, but not exceptional, the John Dory special was very good, and the beet & roasted cauliflower cassoulet was dull (another reminder to never order a vegetarian meal at a French bistro). But unlike a true French bistro, Avert's service was friendly and engaging.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Live around the corner and can't believe ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Live around the corner and can't believe this was my first time eating at Avert. Went for brunch and had an incredible meal. Also went the night prior for drinks and the drinks and DJ were great. Will definitely be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious, the service was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was delicious, the service was attentive but not intrusive, however, it was so loud that it was incredibly difficult to have a conversation. Would return on a night other than weekend or for lunch but not on a Friday or Saturday night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

LOCAL BISTRO

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

GOOD FOOD, EXCELLENT SERVICE, CHARMING RESTAURANT IN WEST HARTFORD CENTER

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was actually quite disappointing. I've had much better escargot elsewhere and I actually sent the fois gras back. (FYI, I NEVER send food back!) I got pate instead -- also quite mediocre. The best thing was the pot de creme. The service was friendly, but that wouldn't be enough to get me to retun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

I've been here before on a Saturday nigh ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

I've been here before on a Saturday night and the food was amazing, however, Tuesday night was a much different experience. I got the duck breast again bc it had been so good the first time. I ordered medium rare and it was very overcooked. The skin was dry, not crispy. The food was so disappointing this time around! Tables are small but service is great and drinks are good too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great food, good service.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The beet couscous was very flavorful and the pear w/endive salad was plentiful. The Bordeaux was one of the best I've had.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Healthy, flavorful eatery

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

I ordered the swordfish special and asked them to accommodate my salt and fat restrictive diet. The swordfish was fresh and full of flavor without adding all the unnecessary fats and oils. It was overall outstanding!! I am looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good (casual) French cuisine

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

A group of 4 of us ate at A'vert on a Sunday evening for dinner. It was overall very enjoyable. Sunday night is 1/2-price on wine, so we all drank a nice bottle of Pouilly Fume. Bread was served to start, fresh French bread with crisp crust, and butter. We all had the A'vert salad, which was outstanding. Nothing too exotic, greens plus fennel, asparagus and a nice vinaigrette. Among us we had 4 different entrees: coq au vin, couscous, steak au poivre and striped bass. All were very good. Service was good, and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent brunch for my wife's birthday. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Excellent brunch for my wife's birthday. A'vert is one of her favorite places. Only issue I had was that I requested a nice table for her birthday and we were given the table adjacent to the entrance. It was a tiny table. It was cold outside and every time the door opens a nice freezing breeze would make kit very uncomfortable. I asked the someone if they had a solution, but they said no. I think a simple clip could have done it. Only issue we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great French Brasserie

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

This brasserie in West Hartford Center is worth a visit if you can't travel to Paris. The bar/restaurant was very crowded on Saturday night so it took about 20 minutes to be seated. We ordered a very French meal and it was wonderful. Cocktails to start were strong & creative - most included chartreuse (though did not say if green or yellow) The escargot were perfect - as good as any we've eaten anywhere in France. The entrees (sweetbreads and steak frites) were delicious. The cheese course was the perfect completion to our meal.

The only course that wasn't perfect was the salad. We ordered the frisee salad with lardons & egg - the egg was fried hard sunny side up - it should have been poached with a very runny yolk - you're supposed to break the egg up so it blends with the salad dressing. Conversely, the lardons were undercooked - limp bacon chunks are not great.

Service was attentive but not overbearing. Definitely worth a visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent mussels appetizer. Very fresh ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Excellent mussels appetizer. Very fresh mussels, not 'over done with garlic' like some restaurants. Seared scallops perfectly prepared with a light cream sauce. Again, not heavily creamed sauce like some places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.